View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

16-06-2015, 08:01 AM
I think it's your other half, but I'm not 100% certain on that.

Regrettably, I'm led to believe it means your "before anyone else". Jesus f***ing wept.

Another one based on trains - folk who leave toilet doors open after they've used it. Barry mate, we'd all love that ****ty smell wafting about the place on our way to work.:rolleyes:

16-06-2015, 09:11 AM
I particularly dislike the smokers out there who simply throw away their cigarette ends wherever they happen to be (most of them?), as if litter laws do not apply to smokers and finding a litter bin/ashtray somewhere is really not necessary ... come to think of it, you can add the chewing gum gang to my "pet peeves" as they seem mostly to also just spit out their chewed chewing gum any old place they feel like ...

and, living in Berlin, I hate with a passion all the so-called graffiti "artists" ...

(May well all have been posted before as I've just noticed this is Pet Peeves IV ...)

16-06-2015, 09:29 AM
People who go swimming in pairs, swim up the pool in a pair chatting getting in my way :grr:

16-06-2015, 09:50 AM
When you look for a smiley for a post they're never in the same place on the smiley page so you have to search through them all - a few times.
Can they not be fixed or in alphabetical order? :grr:

16-06-2015, 01:19 PM
People who think their pets are humans -
A women at my work today is complaining that her dog isn't allowed to come in and use our treadmill in the gym. Like that's a reasonable request to make.
1/ it's a dog, not a people.
2/ you're not even a member of the gym so why would you even think your dog would be?
3/ walk your dog on the street, maybe then you wouldn't be so bloody fat as well.

People who walk in a random zig zag pattern along the pavement. Just walk in a straight line, you're not a battleship trying to evade a torpedo......get out my bloody way!

16-06-2015, 01:22 PM
When you go to the McDonalds drive through and order a meal, then they ask, do you want a bag with that. Nah, it's ok mate, just you take aim and launch that large fries randomly about the car when I get up to the collection window. They might as well be asking if I want my drink in a cup or just to lap it out the guys hands at the collection window.

liamh2202
16-06-2015, 02:02 PM
When you go to the McDonalds drive through and order a meal, then they ask, do you want a bag with that. Nah, it's ok mate, just you take aim and launch that large fries randomly about the car when I get up to the collection window. They might as well be asking if I want my drink in a cup or just to lap it out the guys hands at the collection window.

Always refuse a bag save the money. You will get your burger and drink. Then your fries will appear in a bag as they have to be for hygiene. I do it all the time haha. On another note .. Remember when a drive thru was actually fast food. Now I find you have to park and wait most of the time

scousehibby
17-06-2015, 11:15 AM
Dog owners who don't pick up the dog s**t

scousehibby
17-06-2015, 11:17 AM
Jokers who walk with a swagger.
Heya good to see another scouser here. Are you a red or blue?

Godsahibby
17-06-2015, 12:13 PM
I particularly dislike the smokers out there who simply throw away their cigarette ends wherever they happen to be (most of them?), as if litter laws do not apply to smokers and finding a litter bin/ashtray somewhere is really not necessary ... come to think of it, you can add the chewing gum gang to my "pet peeves" as they seem mostly to also just spit out their chewed chewing gum any old place they feel like ...

and, living in Berlin, I hate with a passion all the so-called graffiti "artists" ...

(May well all have been posted before as I've just noticed this is Pet Peeves IV ...)

Ive walked past cars a couple of times at lights or parked up with their windows open and boys finishing off a fag. When they flick it out the window I do take great pleasure in picking it up flicking it back in and telling them i think you dropped this mate. It did get me in bother once but was worth it.

17-06-2015, 12:57 PM
Heya good to see another scouser here. Are you a red or blue?

Red mate, originally from Edge Lane\Old Swan. You still in Liverpool?

scousehibby
17-06-2015, 12:58 PM
Red mate, originally from Edge Lane\Old Swan. You still in Liverpool?
Great! I'm a red meself. No I'm in Edinburgh. Been here since 2012. I'm from Everton/Kirkdale.

17-06-2015, 01:01 PM
Great! I'm a red meself. No I'm in Edinburgh. Been here since 2012. I'm from Everton/Kirkdale.

Good lad, been here myself since 92, go back every month to see my Dad.

scousehibby
17-06-2015, 01:03 PM
Hehe I'm female [emoji12] You're practically a local then hey. I've only got my brother left in Liverpool. Rest of the family have passed on.

17-06-2015, 01:05 PM
Hehe I'm female [emoji12] You're practically a local then hey. I've only got my brother left in Liverpool. Rest of the family have passed on.

Ahaha sorry luv!

scousehibby
17-06-2015, 01:07 PM
Ahaha sorry luv!
No probs mate [emoji106]

Godsahibby
17-06-2015, 02:03 PM
People hijacking threads wish pish love ins about Liverpool!

liamh2202
17-06-2015, 02:05 PM

Is an Everton red known as a glory hunter down there? :p

17-06-2015, 02:09 PM
Is an Everton red known as a glory hunter down there? :p

Not if they can remember the 60's.

17-06-2015, 02:27 PM
I particularly dislike the smokers out there who simply throw away their cigarette ends wherever they happen to be (most of them?), as if litter laws do not apply to smokers and finding a litter bin/ashtray somewhere is really not necessary ...

It's the ones at bus stops that really do my tits in. Having a fag, see the bus coming, then they start smoking as quickly as the possibly can so as not to waste any, then throw it on the ground......there's a bin about a metre and a half from them. Utter ********s.

17-06-2015, 02:35 PM
It's the ones at bus stops that really do my tits in. Having a fag, see the bus coming, then they start smoking as quickly as the possibly can so as not to waste any, then throw it on the ground......there's a bin about a metre and a half from them. Utter ********s.

You should be grateful that they made the bus arrive. As any smoker will testify, if you're waiting on a bus and you light up - you know exactly what's going to happen! :greengrin

17-06-2015, 02:38 PM
People hijacking threads wish pish love ins about Liverpool!

liamh2202
17-06-2015, 02:45 PM
Not if they can remember the 60's.

I'm happy to take your word on that,, I'm a young pup lol

17-06-2015, 04:10 PM
Holywood Scottish accents, really grips my ****.

17-06-2015, 04:19 PM

Do you mean Holyrood or Hollywood?

People who can't be bothered to check their spelling before posting.

17-06-2015, 06:22 PM
Do you mean Holyrood or Hollywood?

People who can't be bothered to check their spelling before posting.

People who know what you mean but still have a compulsive need to be a clever Dick.

17-06-2015, 06:31 PM

Aww naw. :boo hoo:

18-06-2015, 05:39 PM
People that finish a rant with "I for one blah blah" expecting everyone to agree with them.

Galahibby
18-06-2015, 06:04 PM

Gerard Butler!!! WTF's happened to his accent? He's a bit affected!

18-06-2015, 08:24 PM
People that interrupt and finish your sentence.

18-06-2015, 08:40 PM
Gerard Butler!!! WTF's happened to his accent? He's a bit affected!

The worst 'Transatlantic' accent has to be Graeme McDowell.

An utterly bizarre accent that sounds neither Northern Irish or American.

18-06-2015, 08:47 PM
You should be grateful that they made the bus arrive. As any smoker will testify, if you're waiting on a bus and you light up - you know exactly what's going to happen! :greengrin

On the subject of buses does my nut in these folk that can't queue for a bus. They mill about at near the front of the queue and then cause a big rammy when the bus arrives.

18-06-2015, 08:51 PM
On the subject of buses does my nut in these folk that can't queue for a bus. They mill about at near the front of the queue and then cause a big rammy when the bus arrives.

But they don't get on before me!!!

18-06-2015, 10:14 PM
Nutters like Charlton Heston who blamed the Columbine Massacre on the manufacturers of long coats because they can conceal guns. :crazy:

(That incident is obviously much more than a pet peeve but I use it as an extreme example of the mad kind of people who deflect the obvious blame).

wpj
19-06-2015, 06:01 PM

A London peeve are people who board a train or tube before everyone is out of the doors. Very nippy and the source of many a push and shove (bag to nuts is always a handy option)

19-06-2015, 08:47 PM
Couples snogging each other's faces off in public. Get a room ffs!

19-06-2015, 11:43 PM
Young females that could represent Scotland in The World Swearing Championships, just stop it please.

20-06-2015, 12:14 PM
People who drive cars and swing out before taking a corner like they're driving an articulated lorry with two trailers on it.

20-06-2015, 12:27 PM
The use of the word "so" when not required. E.g. "That's so not cool."

21-06-2015, 08:51 AM
There's an advert for aftershave just now with the phrase -

"what makes the ocean, makes the man"

What? That just doesn't mean anything. Nonsense.

speedy_gonzales
21-06-2015, 04:41 PM
There's an advert for aftershave just now with the phrase -

"what makes the ocean, makes the man"

What? That just doesn't mean anything. Nonsense.

No worse than a placard I saw at yesterday's 'Pride' march;

"Genitals do not define my gender!",,,erm,,I think they do, they may not however define your sexuality!

21-06-2015, 05:44 PM

"Genitals do not define my gender!",,,erm,,I think they do, they may not however define your sexuality!

:hijack:, but that's a :worms:, worthy of a thread of its own in the close season. :greengrin

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_gender

Anyways, back to the thread....

21-06-2015, 06:00 PM

Is there not a recognised difference between gender and sex? Sex being anatomical and gender being concerned with social and cultural behaviours and actions based on the sex.

They are often used interchangeably but there is a distinction.

21-06-2015, 06:23 PM
Is there not a recognised difference between gender and sex? Sex being anatomical and gender being concerned with social and cultural behaviours and actions based on the sex.

They are often used interchangeably but there is a distinction.

My sociology lecturer used to bang on about that at Uni if someone got it wrong.

Sex = Anatomical
Gender = Socially constructed

Apparently anyway.

21-06-2015, 06:29 PM
My sociology lecturer used to bang on about that at Uni if someone got it wrong.

Sex = Anatomical
Gender = Socially constructed

Apparently anyway.

When I was a lad, gender had naff-all to do with sex. It was a means of classifying nouns. There are 4 genders in those terms, Masculine, Feminine, Common and Neuter.

Godsahibby
22-06-2015, 11:36 AM
Seen it a lot the last couple of days with the talk of Celtic looking at Allan. It is people who comment about Celtic taking all the tallent in Scottish football, stealing all the best players yet will post on another thread or comment that we should go out and sign the boy from Queens / Falkirk / Raith / Dundee (delete where applicable). :confused::confused:

You cant have it both ways, complaining about better and bigger clubs taking your players to improve their team and theyn going out and doing the same thing to smaller teams. Thats football.

22-06-2015, 11:50 AM
Seen it a lot the last couple of days with the talk of Celtic looking at Allan. It is people who comment about Celtic taking all the tallent in Scottish football, stealing all the best players yet will post on another thread or comment that we should go out and sign the boy from Queens / Falkirk / Raith / Dundee (delete where applicable). :confused::confused:

You cant have it both ways, complaining about better and bigger clubs taking your players to improve their team and theyn going out and doing the same thing to smaller teams. Thats football.On the flip side though ..how often do you hear the celtic hierarchy bleating on about there being no competition in Scottish football ..perhaps one of the reasons being that its because they do snap up the best available talent ..:agree:

22-06-2015, 12:31 PM
On the flip side though ..how often do you hear the celtic hierarchy bleating on about there being no competition in Scottish football ..perhaps one of the reasons being that its because they do snap up the best available talent ..:agree:

Agreed. No problem with the our players signing for Aberdeen, Arabs, or going south, etc.
The OF sign our players and don't even play them. Part of their exercise is to just weaken the opposition.
As I've said before, Celtic (and formally RFC) act like the spoilt brat in the nursery who wants ALL the toys.

22-06-2015, 02:02 PM
The methadone queue of gaunt wasted oxygen thieves I regularly see.

Godsahibby
22-06-2015, 02:11 PM
Agreed. No problem with the our players signing for Aberdeen, Arabs, or going south, etc.
The OF sign our players and don't even play them. Part of their exercise is to just weaken the opposition.
As I've said before, Celtic (and formally RFC) act like the spoilt brat in the nursery who wants ALL the toys.

They dont even play them? That is a bit of a myth from the old days is it not! Maybe years ago this happened. I'm sure Darius Adamcuk (sp) signed for the old rangers and they never played him but lately they all get a game. Correct me if I am wrong but I cannot think of a player who has moved from a team in Scotland to Celtic who hasn't had a regular game? Griffiths, Stokes, Mckay-Steven, Armstrong, Brown, Mulgrew. I can think of Zaluska but he was never going to be first choice.

Celtic will complain about not being any competition, nothing to do with them signing the best players, it is becuase they are a FAR bigger club, they want to move on and compete with the top clubs in Europe but because of where they are they are being left beind financially.

22-06-2015, 03:58 PM
Laddies serving in Tescos or wherever who call you "bud". What the hell is that all about?!?

22-06-2015, 04:56 PM
Laddies serving in Tescos or wherever who call you "bud". What the hell is that all about?!?

No idea bud. :dunno:

22-06-2015, 05:10 PM
TV programmes such as 'The only way is Essex', 'Made in Chelsea' etc and the culture they represent. So glad that I don't mix with anyone like the characters in these shows. Tossers.

22-06-2015, 06:05 PM
People that eat like pigs !!! I CANNOT stand noisey eaters their is simply no need to eat like one.

I honestly kid you not if im dating a burd il ask right away dead pan if she eats like a pig or not. Pretty laid back in life but i simply refuse to eat in the same room as a noisy eater. Actually makes me mad thinking about it now.

22-06-2015, 06:38 PM
People that eat like pigs !!! I CANNOT stand noisey eaters their is simply no need to eat like one.

I honestly kid you not if im dating a burd il ask right away dead pan if she eats like a pig or not. Pretty laid back in life but i simply refuse to eat in the same room as a noisy eater. Actually makes me mad thinking about it now.

Does that strategy not run the risk of chasing off nice girls who despite possessing quiet, refined eating habits, might take offence at being asked so directly if they eat like a pig? :greengrin

liamh2202
22-06-2015, 06:41 PM

Annoys me more when they call me sir. But I think that's a forces thing

22-06-2015, 06:47 PM
Laddies serving in Tescos or wherever who call you "bud". What the hell is that all about?!?Happened to me in Tescos too, until I became weiser 😜

22-06-2015, 10:30 PM
The never-ending line of dumb American 'comedy' sitcoms laced with forced canned laughter. :brickwall
('Cheers' & 'Friends' excluded)

22-06-2015, 11:54 PM
TV programmes such as 'The only way is Essex', 'Made in Chelsea' etc and the culture they represent. So glad that I don't mix with anyone like the characters in these shows. Tossers.

:agree: Along with the general dumbing down of everything.

23-06-2015, 06:34 AM
Can you explain that using words that are easier to understand please?

Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk

23-06-2015, 07:11 AM

Jade Goody started it, now it's seen as a badge of honour.

Joey Essex has made millions from it - he's clearly playing the part of a thicko and folk love it.

23-06-2015, 08:38 AM
Jade Goody started it, now it's seen as a badge of honour.

Joey Essex has made millions from it - he's clearly playing the part of a thicko and folk love it.

:agree: It does my head in, career idiots getting given a status that people want to aspire to.

Godsahibby
23-06-2015, 09:35 AM
Runner / Joggers around Ediburgh, in particular those who wear the blue 'EMF' t-shirt. Seems to be every runner you see out wears the t-shirt they got for taking part in the Edinburgh marathon. We get it guys, you ran it well done. Surely you have another t-shirt you can wear. What did you wear before taking part in it.

23-06-2015, 08:45 PM
Gumtree..... Or more particularly those twats who sell something and leave it being advertised ...... Why not bloomin' delete the advert and mark it sold???! Heck some folk even go and edit the advert to say SOLD..... why????!

24-06-2015, 04:04 AM
Folk that say "I'm not going to lie" before they say a sentence.

24-06-2015, 04:05 AM
Those that use the word much in the wrong place, e.g. "Bitter much"

24-06-2015, 05:23 AM
Folk who say 'would you like a nice cup of tea" well yer no going to say "would you like a crap cup of tea" are ye !!

24-06-2015, 08:43 AM
Folk that say "I'm not going to lie" before they say a sentence.

Or "No offence, but..." before saying something that will clearly offend.

24-06-2015, 08:50 AM
Folk who lie and can't remember what they said so change their stories but you can remember exactly what they said first time around.

24-06-2015, 08:51 AM
If you've been to the moon,I've been twice type of people.

24-06-2015, 10:09 AM

If you've been to Tenerife, they've been to elevenerife. Hate that!

24-06-2015, 10:37 AM

This but in a medical context...and hypochondriac drama queens.

A recent example said to me in all seriousness - "Ma tooth's been hurtin for ages...it's probably bone cancer".

24-06-2015, 11:24 AM
Folk who say 'would you like a nice cup of tea" well yer no going to say "would you like a crap cup of tea" are ye !!

Not a peeve but I always find it funny when shop assistants say "Would you like a wee bag with that?"
I always want to reply "No thanks but one that's big enough to hold my purchase would be nice"

Also people who say they'll sing you a 'wee song' and end up singing a medium size or big one.

24-06-2015, 11:34 AM
Not a peeve but I always find it funny when shop assistants say "Would you like a wee bag with that?"
I always want to reply "No thanks but one that's big enough to hold my purchase would be nice"

Also people who say they'll sing you a 'wee song' and end up singing a medium size or big one.Or "would you like a wee hand with that" ....no thanks, Ive got two already...

24-06-2015, 12:03 PM
If you've been to Tenerife, they've been to elevenerife. Hate that!

:agree: there is a fella in my local who is like that. Dear god he drives you mad!

24-06-2015, 01:50 PM
:agree: there is a fella in my local who is like that. Dear god he drives you mad!

There's 2 fellas in my local like that

24-06-2015, 01:53 PM

24-06-2015, 01:56 PM

:aok: :greengrin

24-06-2015, 02:41 PM
Or "would you like a wee hand with that" ....no thanks, Ive got two already...

I always expect Jeremy Beadle to appear!

Galahibby
24-06-2015, 05:53 PM
Tractor drivers :grr:

24-06-2015, 09:38 PM
I always expect Jeremy Beadle to appear!

:tsk tsk: :greengrin

EH6 Hibby
24-06-2015, 10:08 PM
People that press both the up and down buttons when waiting on the lift then when the lift stops they look in and say "oh, are you going up?" Then let the lift go and wait for the next one. Happens in my work every day.

25-06-2015, 05:37 AM
:aok: :greengrin

:aok::greengrin:thumbsup:

wpj
25-06-2015, 10:46 AM
Beards with the mustache bit missing, donna get that!

25-06-2015, 11:10 AM
Beards with the mustache bit missing, donna get that!

Donna sounds like an interesting girl! ;-)

wpj
25-06-2015, 11:16 AM
Exactly my point 😊 edited now

25-06-2015, 01:24 PM
The price of food in a railway station - dear Lord....

Sent from a phone

25-06-2015, 01:25 PM
Crisps sold in Grab Bags. Why can't I just get a normal size pack.

Sent from a phone

25-06-2015, 01:26 PM
Edinburgh Airports 'new' security hall. Angry, aggressive staff, over-sensitive screening and a rubbish system for bag scanning.

Sent from a phone

25-06-2015, 01:27 PM
Edinburgh airport drop off and taxi area. An embarrassing rip-off.

Sent from a phone

25-06-2015, 01:41 PM

Sent from a phone

Get yourself a BITE card (if it still exists).

25-06-2015, 01:46 PM

Sent from a phone

The price of stuff when you're at an event - pies at Easter Road, scran or a pint at a gig, etc.

Basically when a company is blatantly and unashamedly fleecing you for stuff that you can pick up for a fraction of the price in the supermarket.

I'm at the point now where I just don't buy it but it's a pain in the hoop not having the choice without breaking principle.

25-06-2015, 03:51 PM

Get that all the time. Buddy. No buddy of mine. Plus what are you doing tonight. Mind your own business.

Service has gone right downhill.

25-06-2015, 09:42 PM
Different people in the pub every ****** week asking me and my English mate if we are here on holiday or working.

25-06-2015, 09:47 PM
People who wear sunglasses in the swimming pool on holiday, or worse people who wear a hat and sunglasses in the swimming pool.

25-06-2015, 09:49 PM
Different people in the pub every ****** week asking me and my English mate if we are here on holiday or working.

Which one is it, out of interest?

25-06-2015, 09:54 PM
Which one is it, out of interest?

A working holiday :-)

25-06-2015, 11:00 PM
:aok::greengrin:thumbsup:

Mixu62
26-06-2015, 03:52 AM
A few work bogs ones:
When the cleaners replace the bog roll but fail to leave a trailing edge hanging out of the dispenser, resulting in untold loss of productivity while I birl it round and round trying to find it.
Those guys who just have to direct their "stream" striaght into the water rather that against the sides, resulting in a thunderous noise that is just so .....what's the word.....
Those guys who don't know how a lock works
The volume of those air hand dryers - it's deafening

26-06-2015, 07:16 AM
Get that all the time. Buddy. No buddy of mine. Plus what are you doing tonight. Mind your own business.

Service has gone right downhill.

A few work bogs ones:
When the cleaners replace the bog roll but fail to leave a trailing edge hanging out of the dispenser, resulting in untold loss of productivity while I birl it round and round trying to find it.
Those guys who just have to direct their "stream" striaght into the water rather that against the sides, resulting in a thunderous noise that is just so .....what's the word.....
Those guys who don't know how a lock works
The volume of those air hand dryers - it's deafening

And those new Dyson blade ones, how the heck do you wash and dry your coupon???

Also folk who post with multi-quotes EVERY time they post.... Yeah it's a great wee tool when the posts are closely linked.... But every single time?! It's just plain lazy :grr:

Godsahibby
26-06-2015, 07:39 AM
The young team these days rocking skinny jogging bottoms. What the fks that about.

26-06-2015, 09:38 AM
The young team these days rocking skinny jogging bottoms. What the fks that about.

Usually the same guys who spend an unholy amount of time with their hands down the front of said jogging bottoms clawing away at their baws.

26-06-2015, 09:48 AM
Usually the same guys who spend an unholy amount of time with their hands down the front of said jogging bottoms clawing away at their baws.And a lot of the time in front of Women & bairns ...clarty *******s ...

SuperAllyMcleod
27-06-2015, 07:31 PM

Yep, scripted reality has got to be the worst thing TV has ever come up with. Some of the women in my family are deluded and lap it up - despite me asking why people would have that sort of conversation in front of more than one camera crew? There's always at least two camera angles for every conversation!

I can only last two minutes before I have to leave the room.

And count to ten.

28-06-2015, 01:26 AM
The expression 'just for s**** and giggles'. Meaningless & used by folk to pretend they're being something they're not.

28-06-2015, 07:56 AM
Footballers who throw themselves to the ground, squealing and rolling about 'in agony' when they're bumped into, but are the first to leave the studs showing or go down someone's Achilles.

refs (in all sports) who apply the rules differently for each team.

Clive tyldsley. No, we don't all support the English team, we'd far rather hear a fair and balanced commentary thanks.

people who seem to have a problem with giving way to the right on a roundabout, and give dirty looks at you for daring to impede their progress as you follow the Highway Code.

people who are incapable of parking a car properly. It's not that hard, if you're struggling, practise. And when you get out, have a quick check and adjust it rather than just abandoning it.

shop assistants who stand and blether as one of their colleagues is trying to deal with a huge queue.

Godsahibby
28-06-2015, 07:56 AM
With it being transfer season any talk of new players has to be accompanied by what role said player can play or what player role we need. Of course I blame Football Manager for the sudden requirement in the Hibs midfield of a Deep Lying Play maker or why Lewis Stevenson will never be a Complete Wing Back or can Jason Cummings really play the False 9 role,

28-06-2015, 09:24 AM
Drivers who think putting their indicator on gives them the right to change lane regardless of whether there is room or not.

28-06-2015, 09:32 AM
Drivers who put on their hazard lights when illegally parked and disrupting the flow of traffic like they're some kind of cloaking device.

28-06-2015, 10:08 AM
Not a common occurrence so can't really say it's something that grates on me. But my car broke down recently on ferry road, as anyone would do I stuck my hazards on and called for assistance. While I was waiting for the assistance, people were going past in their cars tooting their horns and making angry gestures at me as if I'd stopped there because I wanted to. Really pissed me off. Did it not cross their mind that I may actually have broken down?

28-06-2015, 10:40 AM
Trying to book a hotel room for 2 Adults and 3 kids . Good grief

28-06-2015, 10:43 AM

:agree: it's brutal.

28-06-2015, 01:27 PM

My youngest is still wee enough to sneak in to a 2+2. Not sure how long I'll get away with it though.

Going abroad is a nightmare as well - last time I looked at it they were trying to give me 2 separate rooms for the 5 of us.

28-06-2015, 02:21 PM
People who say "do you know who I am" or "you don't realise who you are dealing with here"

28-06-2015, 02:24 PM
When trying on shoes and asking for a size 9, the assistant returns and says sorry no size 9 so brought you an 8 1\2 and a 91\2 to try!

28-06-2015, 02:24 PM
When trying on shoes and asking for a size 9, the assistant returns and says sorry no size 9 so brought you an 8 1\2 and a 91\2 to try!

"They're a small 9"

Do they use different tape measures like?

28-06-2015, 03:54 PM
Food served on boards or some other stupid innovative platter, ffs just put it on a plate so I can eat it as I wish.

28-06-2015, 04:46 PM
My youngest is still wee enough to sneak in to a 2+2. Not sure how long I'll get away with it though.

Going abroad is a nightmare as well - last time I looked at it they were trying to give me 2 separate rooms for the 5 of us.

Haha , not sure if you are taking the piss :-)
That's exactly what I have done this year. 2 apartments in Lanzarote. I really hope they are next door :greengrin
Leave tomorrow :-)

28-06-2015, 04:48 PM
Food served on boards or some other stupid innovative platter, ffs just put it on a plate so I can eat it as I wish.

Aw man. That really bugs me.
Huge burger that big that it needs a spear to hold it up and they serve it on a wee bit of wood or even worse , a roof tile :greengrin

28-06-2015, 04:56 PM

Boozy Cow (formerly Amicus Apple) is particularly bad for this.

Went in the other week with the missus, 2 burger and chips served on 1 foil baking tray with a bit greaseproof paper on it. When I asked for a plate to decant it onto they looked at me like I had 2 heads.

28-06-2015, 05:19 PM
Boozy Cow (formerly Amicus Apple) is particularly bad for this.

Went in the other week with the missus, 2 burger and chips served on 1 foil baking tray with a bit greaseproof paper on it. When I asked for a plate to decant it onto they looked at me like I had 2 heads.

You must have expected it though. As soon as you walk in there you can see it's no really a regular plates kind of place.

Decent cocktails in there.

28-06-2015, 05:27 PM
People (usually loud annoying twats) who within 1 minute of meeting you for the first time tell you that you're quiet, as if it's a terrible character trait. Just because I've not rattled off my life story in the short space of time we've met doesn't mean I'm quiet, the fact that you're saying that means that you're a bellend though.

28-06-2015, 05:40 PM
You must have expected it though. As soon as you walk in there you can see it's no really a regular plates kind of place.

Decent cocktails in there.

I expected it even more.because I sold them the stupid ****ing things in the 1st place! I at least expected my own baking tray.

Another is guys in.football changing rooms who shower with their boxers on or don't shower at all and put on clothes whilst still minging and go.to the boozer post game. You're in.your 20s mate, having another guy see your ***** for a couple of minutes in a communal shower doesn't make you homosexual.

28-06-2015, 05:59 PM
Haha , not sure if you are taking the piss :-)
That's exactly what I have done this year. 2 apartments in Lanzarote. I really hope they are next door :greengrin
Leave tomorrow :-)

I'm not mate - 3 kids in my house as well. Wife doesn't like the 2 room thing - we don't believe they'll give us 2 together no matter how much they promise us.

28-06-2015, 06:00 PM
I expected it even more.because I sold them the stupid ****ing things in the 1st place! I at least expected my own baking tray.

Another is guys in.football changing rooms who shower with their boxers on or don't shower at all and put on clothes whilst still minging and go.to the boozer post game. You're in.your 20s mate, having another guy see your ***** for a couple of minutes in a communal shower doesn't make you homosexual.

Do folk do that?! Never in my 37 years have I seen that!

No doubt the wee cock crew are the ones that wear trousers that go above their ankles with no socks.

28-06-2015, 06:31 PM

Only ever seen that when I worked for a wee while with the Gurkas but they supposedly do it out of religious grounds. Still weird to see a grown man showering in his pants though.

Galahibby
28-06-2015, 08:33 PM
Wow, this thread has really brought home to me what an intolerant grumpy cow I must be. Don't think I've ever commented so much on a thread in all the years I've been on here. But have I mentioned the lazy, ignorant *******s who load up their cars at the supermarket and then just walk their trolley a few feet from their own car and then just drive away and leave it to roll into someone else's car? Or worse almost, the ones who push it to within a few feet of the trolley park then just shove it in the general direction and then bugger off! You've taken it most of the way FFS, just put it back properly!

28-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Pub food where the nenu says it comes with blah,blah,blah normally listing 3 or 4 things that make it sound quite good,then when it comes at least one or two are missing.

28-06-2015, 09:05 PM
Still laughing at laddies showering in their pants.

28-06-2015, 09:05 PM
Folk that say O. M. G.

28-06-2015, 09:18 PM
Tin hat on: Gay guys showing their affection for each other by kissing in public.

28-06-2015, 09:22 PM
Tin hat on: Gay guys showing their affection for each other by kissing in public.

This should be fun! ;-)

28-06-2015, 09:35 PM
tin hat on: Gay guys showing their affection for each other by kissing in public.

o. M. G

28-06-2015, 10:56 PM

Any permutation of genders showing their affection for each other by kissing in public. :sick:

29-06-2015, 09:01 AM

Go on then, I'll bite. Why specifically "gay guys"?

29-06-2015, 09:08 AM
Go on then, I'll bite. Why specifically "gay guys"?

Wasn't trying to get a bite mate,it genuinely turns my stomach to see, it just does. Do I have the same problem with other people kissing in public no not really that doesn't bother me.Just one of those things I can't accept, nothing sinister in my post.My nephew is gay as are a few guys and girls I used to work with and still count as friends they know my feelings on this and it doesn't bother them really.

29-06-2015, 09:19 AM
Wasn't trying to get a bite mate,it genuinely turns my stomach to see, it just does. Do I have the same problem with other people kissing in public no not really that doesn't bother me.Just one of those things I can't accept, nothing sinister in my post.My nephew is gay as are a few guys and girls I used to work with and still count as friends they know my feelings on this and it doesn't bother them really.

I find that very hard to believe and think it's far more likely that they simply haven't told you how much your attitude and others like it does bother them. However, I could be wrong and, as you know them and I don't, it's not really any of my business.

Kudos for your honesty, but I suppose it's this, apparently hardwired, discrimination that has to change if we're all ever to be truly treated as equal. That will probably take many, many generations though.

29-06-2015, 09:26 AM
I find that very hard to believe and think it's far more likely that they simply haven't told you how much your attitude and others like it does bother them. However, I could be wrong and, as you know them and I don't, it's not really any of my business.

Kudos for your honesty, but I suppose it's this, apparently hardwired, discrimination that has to change if we're all ever to be truly treated as equal. That will probably take many, many generations though.

If you knew my nephew you would know he tells me how it is exactly. He just laughs and accepts that different generations see things differently sometimes. I don't accept the hardwired discrimination tag though.

29-06-2015, 09:32 AM
If you knew my nephew you would know he tells me how it is exactly. He just laughs and accepts that different generations see things differently sometimes. I don't accept the hardwired discrimination tag though.

How would you describe it? I probably haven't described it very well, but for me it's either hardwired (instinctive if you like) reaction or a conscious choice. I could be wrong, but I'm guessing you're not saying you make a conscious choice to discriminate against gay men?

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 09:51 AM

I think straight people get more upset than gay people over gay rights. Surely if everyone is to be treated equally then you have the same right not to like it as other people have the right to like it . one peeve for me is people who are to ready to be offended. Same goes with pussy footing around religion . I must say I had to applaud the Aussie prime ministers statement i read this week .basically telling all incomers that if they want to be in aus they live the aus way. If not they can use the freedom as gives them to move somewhere else in the world

29-06-2015, 10:05 AM
I think straight people get more upset than gay people over gay rights. Surely if everyone is to be treated equally then you have the same right not to like it as other people have the right to like it . one peeve for me is people who are to ready to be offended. Same goes with pussy footing around religion . I must say I had to applaud the Aussie prime ministers statement i read this week .basically telling all incomers that if they want to be in aus they live the aus way. If not they can use the freedom as gives them to move somewhere else in the world

That will be the same made up statement that Britain First likes to post on facebook every other week then?

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 10:13 AM
That will be the same made up statement that Britain First likes to post on facebook every other week then?

No idea I'm not on Facebook bud I'll try find a link I read it on.. Either way I agree with it. I'm sure me saying that will touch the nerves of the previous mentioned easily offended people .

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 10:16 AM

Just googled it , it is indeed a hoax.

29-06-2015, 10:17 AM
No idea I'm not on Facebook bud I'll try find a link I read it on.. Either way I agree with it. I'm sure me saying that will touch the nerves of the previous mentioned easily offended people .

It's made up and spread on the internet by a racist organisation to try and normalise their own views. I guess those of us who don't like extreme right wing groups are easily offended then. We'll all look away.

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 10:22 AM
It's made up and spread on the internet by a racist organisation to try and normalise their own views. I guess those of us who don't like extreme right wing groups are easily offended then. We'll all look away.

This is about agreeing with the contents of a speech (made up I now accept) I never knew who released it. Its funny how people go on about letting people live as they wish but if your views are that you should be able to live without having these views forced down your neck that is wrong.

29-06-2015, 10:27 AM
This is about agreeing with the contents of a speech (made up I now accept) I never knew who released it. Its funny how people go on about letting people live as they wish but if your views are that you should be able to live without having these views forced down your neck that is wrong.

I actually think you are trolling here so I'll just ignore anything else you come out with.

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 10:30 AM
I actually think you are trolling here so I'll just ignore anything else you come out with.

Not trolling . just don't agree with you

29-06-2015, 10:34 AM
On the subject of facebook, I hate it when folk share things that are fundamentally wrong or made up (McDonald's chicken nuggets not being made of chicken, for example, or anything by Britain First), or the 'Share this and you will get good luck' posts. Are folk mental? How can a bit of code give them luck? Fannies.

29-06-2015, 10:34 AM

I'd say that's nonsense. There may well be some straight people who get more upset about certain gay rights issue than some gay people, but I wouldn't say it's the majority.

I would agree that everybody has the same rights not to like something, but everybody also has the same rights to challenge prejudice and discrimination wherever they see it. Without people willing to stand up and exercise that right, whether it be on their own behalf or on behalf of others who are straight/gay/white/black/brown/male/female/Muslim/Christian etc. we'd be in a very dark place.

liamh2202
29-06-2015, 10:39 AM
I'd say that's nonsense. There may well be some straight people who get more upset about certain gay rights issue than some gay people, but I wouldn't say it's the majority.

I would agree that everybody has the same rights not to like something, but everybody also has the same rights to challenge prejudice and discrimination wherever they see it. Without people willing to stand up and exercise that right, whether it be on their own behalf or on behalf of others who are straight/gay/white/black/brown/male/female/Muslim/Christian etc. we'd be in a very dark place.

The gay rights thing was personal experience. My friends who are gay get more upset by people getting offended on their behalf than anything else. They like being treated the same in our group of friends as everyone else.. Some of my mates get ripped for being fat, ginger, the girls you pull and them occasionally for being gay, its the way we all like it. No discrimination . all treated equal. But then you get other people saying it is wrong. That is all I meant .

29-06-2015, 10:50 AM
The gay rights thing was personal experience. My friends who are gay get more upset by people getting offended on their behalf than anything else. They like being treated the same in our group of friends as everyone else.. Some of my mates get ripped for being fat, ginger, the girls you pull and them occasionally for being gay, its the way we all like it. No discrimination . all treated equal. But then you get other people saying it is wrong. That is all I meant .

That, I get... you're talking about a circle of friends who know each other.

if I was on a bus and someone was sitting ripping the pish out of someone for being gay or fat or a ginger I'd say something (and I have in the past).... I'd be discriminating against gays if I didn't :agree:

29-06-2015, 11:22 AM

Ah right, fair enough. I thought you meant it more in relation to the discrimination chat on here but it's not quite the same thing...although I'm half expecting someone to say that their pet peeve is ginger people kissing in public.

speedy_gonzales
29-06-2015, 12:02 PM
...although I'm half expecting someone to say that their pet peeve is ginger people kissing in public.
You've taken that too far,,,,put me right off my lunch!
(Before anyone takes offence, I'm allowed,
The ginger is strong in this one, it's just the same as Graham Norton saying queer or Ice Cube using the 'N' word!)

29-06-2015, 12:32 PM
The ginger is strong in this one, it's just the same as Graham Norton saying queer or Ice Cube using the 'N' word!)

Is Graham Norton gay? I'd never have guessed.

29-06-2015, 12:42 PM
Pulled this from another thread.... thanks gents, you're bang on the money :aok:

Yup. Desperate playground stuff. It wouldn't be so depressing if this wasn't the usual standard of political discourse in Scotland since the referendum.

Absolutely correct.
The standard of debate and discourse is utterly abysmal. personally I feel that if people are not willing to talk about issues and just lapse into clichéd garbage (using language like RedTory, SNPBad, labourBad, quisling etc) then they're not worth listening to.
I find it absolutely incredible that my SNP pals are completely unwilling to criticize bad legislation from the Scottish Government like the upcoming Named Person plans which are an atrocious, invasive and unworkable mess.
"Must not criticize the party and all that" which I find utterly bizarre.

29-06-2015, 12:49 PM

I'd say you were more auburn...or is your avatar not a recent pic? :greengrin

29-06-2015, 03:56 PM
People who take more than a reasonable amount of time at a cash machine when there are other people waiting. I reckon the maximum you should be there for is 60 seconds and I'm being generous with that. 99 times out of 100 you know in advance that you're going to the cashline so, when you find yourself there, it shouldn't come as a surprise that it's asking you for your PIN, whether you want to check your balance, how much you want to withdraw and whether you want a receipt slip. What are people doing at these things?

Also, people who ask you for the answer to a question and then don't believe you when you tell them. If you weren't going to believe my answer, why did you waste both our time asking the question and having me answer it?!?

Finally (linked to the above), people (usually partners) who think that their mum or dad know the answer to absolutely everything there has ever been to know. This is particularly annoying when it results in the sentence, "my mum/dad said the same as you". Aye, they did - cos it's the ******* answer!

29-06-2015, 05:16 PM
Shop assistants with zero product knowledge.

EH6 Hibby
29-06-2015, 06:18 PM
Any permutation of genders showing their affection for each other by kissing in public. :sick:

The ones that can't walk around a supermarket or sit on a bus in the middle of the day without constantly kissing each other do my head in.

29-06-2015, 06:42 PM
On a similar point, guys wandering along the street with their gf's/wives that feel the need to feel their partners Jimmy Carters!

29-06-2015, 07:08 PM
Customers who think they can say or do whatever they want because they're the customer. The customer is NOT always right.

29-06-2015, 07:35 PM
Customers who think they can say or do whatever they want because they're the customer. The customer is NOT always right.

Agree totally and have enjoyed telling many a guest exactly that.

29-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Customers that threaten to call their lawyer. Guess what Einstein, you can't afford your forty quid bill so we all know you've not got a ****ing lawyer.

Also , the "you can't have a contract/direct debit over the phone brigade". Yes you can you ****wit.

And, the clowns who tell you they're going to do you for theft for taking a direct debit, when you've billed them exactly what they're due, on the right date, with the right notice. Good luck with that one, I can see Plod dropping everything to deal with your case.

29-06-2015, 09:00 PM
People who take more than a reasonable amount of time at a cash machine when there are other people waiting. I reckon the maximum you should be there for is 60 seconds and I'm being generous with that. 99 times out of 100 you know in advance that you're going to the cashline so, when you find yourself there, it shouldn't come as a surprise that it's asking you for your PIN, whether you want to check your balance, how much you want to withdraw and whether you want a receipt slip. What are people doing at these things?

Also, people who ask you for the answer to a question and then don't believe you when you tell them. If you weren't going to believe my answer, why did you waste both our time asking the question and having me answer it?!?

Finally (linked to the above), people (usually partners) who think that their mum or dad know the answer to absolutely everything there has ever been to know. This is particularly annoying when it results in the sentence, "my mum/dad said the same as you". Aye, they did - cos it's the ******* answer!

I think a lot of folk trust someone else with their Pin and card. You get a whole flat nominating one of their number to do an ATM run. Likewise home helps and care staff with their elderly clients cards. It all serves to hold up the queue.

29-06-2015, 10:30 PM
The current McDonalds advert, vomit inducing stuff!

29-06-2015, 11:00 PM
The current McDonalds advert, vomit inducing stuff!

McDonalds bacon roll, had one today for the 1st time in years.... If I didn't have brown sauce on it I would have fired it in the bin. Do none of their senior management ever consider tasting their own produce? :confused:

30-06-2015, 01:29 PM
Folk who are relentlessly 'glass half-empty', or always look at why things can't change or happen. I don't know how these folk get themselves through life.

30-06-2015, 01:46 PM
Folk who are relentlessly 'glass half-empty', or always look at why things can't change or happen. I don't know how these folk get themselves through life.

The chance to vote NO every couple of decades keeps them going.

:duck:

30-06-2015, 03:21 PM
The chance to vote NO every couple of decades keeps them going.

:duck:

Aw Naw !😊

30-06-2015, 03:51 PM
People on social media who have the snp logo or 'the 45' as part as their profile picture. Give it a rest, seriously.

30-06-2015, 04:18 PM
Guys that feel the need to take photos on their phones every 5 mins on a night out.

30-06-2015, 04:29 PM
People on social media who have the snp logo or 'the 45' as part as their profile picture. Give it a rest, seriously.

Eh...naw!

30-06-2015, 06:26 PM
Guys that feel the need to take photos on their phones every 5 mins on a night out.

Live in the moment for a second rather than viewing everything through a phone screen.

30-06-2015, 06:46 PM

Anyone who does that. It's something my wife does, really, really bugs me.

30-06-2015, 09:46 PM

Remember this days/nights in the 90s when you could go out make an arse of yourself and bag off with an ugly bird and there was no evidence in the morning (other than your mates trying to recall how ugly she was)?

They were the days. Must be pish nowadays.

30-06-2015, 09:57 PM
Remember this days/nights in the 90s when you could go out make an arse of yourself and bag off with an ugly bird and there was no evidence in the morning (other than your mates trying to recall how ugly she was)?

Sure your mates wouldn't have done that. :whistle:

30-06-2015, 09:59 PM
Sure your mates wouldn't have done that. :whistle:

They were always much more drunk than me. Lightweights.

30-06-2015, 10:41 PM

A coyote's breakfast? :wink:

01-07-2015, 05:42 AM

https://twitter.com/wewantplates

01-07-2015, 01:20 PM
They were always much more drunk than me. Lightweights.

Think that's still the case mate!

03-07-2015, 11:50 AM
Folk that have that ridiculous whistle noise on their phone everytime they receive a txt.

03-07-2015, 01:38 PM
Folk that have that ridiculous whistle noise on their phone everytime they receive a txt.

Ha. I just got a text about 30 seconds before reading this. It's the standard Samsung noise and I can't be arsed changing it.

People who stare at the logo on my US Polo assn clothes. I know what you're thinking but it isn't so stop it!

03-07-2015, 01:41 PM
Shop assistants that can't count. Something costs me say £5.60 so I hand over £11 to avoid a pocket full of smash, they then tie themselves in knots trying to work it out.

03-07-2015, 04:32 PM
People who tell you "oh you can't call it/say that anymore it's racist.

03-07-2015, 04:34 PM
People who are so poor that all they have is money.

03-07-2015, 04:34 PM
Over zealous upselling.

03-07-2015, 04:36 PM
My wife throwing perfectly good bread out because it's a couple of days old.

04-07-2015, 09:36 AM
People who document their lives on social media. Why not just live your life instead of broadcasting every thought that goes through your head?

04-07-2015, 10:47 AM
People who document their lives on social media. Why not just live your life instead of broadcasting every thought that goes through your head?

People who document my life on their social media.

05-07-2015, 11:44 AM
'Sponsored stories' at the bottom of every newspaper article.

Sent from a phone

05-07-2015, 11:46 AM

Couldn't agree more!!

Sent from a phone

05-07-2015, 08:51 PM

Not just their own lives but their wee kids. I don't care that your 6 week old baby **** itself for ****s sake. I don't give a flying one! :grr:

06-07-2015, 09:34 AM
Not just their own lives but their wee kids. I don't care that your 6 week old baby **** itself for ****s sake. I don't give a flying one! :grr:

Its even worse whilst they are pregnant, the daily updates of stuff being bought or "I'm craving this" ffs give it a rest

06-07-2015, 10:16 AM

I ended up quitting Facebook over that ****, posting pictures of your dinner and your kid with food over it's face. Cheeky nandos etc.

06-07-2015, 05:59 PM
When down south - shops, bars etc that kick up a fuss when you hand them a Scottish note. Why can none of them realise that it's legal tender? I'm down south frequently and I'd say about 80-90% of the time I at least get a funny look when handing over a Scottish note.

On that note (no pun intended) what is the point of Scottish notes?

06-07-2015, 06:31 PM
When down south - shops, bars etc that kick up a fuss when you hand them a Scottish note. Why can none of them realise that it's legal tender? I'm down south frequently and I'd say about 80-90% of the time I at least get a funny look when handing over a Scottish note.

For a long time fake Scottish notes were used as people wouldn't know what they look like, watermarks etc. Hence why no one will accept them.

06-07-2015, 06:31 PM
Its even worse whilst they are pregnant, the daily updates of stuff being bought or "I'm craving this" ffs give it a rest

06-07-2015, 07:00 PM
For a long time fake Scottish notes were used as people wouldn't know what they look like, watermarks etc. Hence why no one will accept them.

Back in the 1950's, old Scottish pound notes were larger and kinda looked like an English five pound note.

I'm sure in those days some Scots found change very beneficial :wink:

06-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Its even worse with ulster bank notes.

06-07-2015, 08:14 PM

They're not actuallu legal tender,they are legal currency but acceptance is a choice of the individual. I am in England every month and just use either an ATM in England or a HSBC/Nat West one in Edinburgh before I go which both dispense English notes. I can't be ersed arguing the toss anymore.

liamh2202
06-07-2015, 08:18 PM
They're not actuallu legal tender,they are legal currency but acceptance is a choice of the individual. I am in England every month and just use either an ATM in England or a HSBC/Nat West one in Edinburgh before I go which both dispense English notes. I can't be ersed arguing the toss anymore.

100℅ spot on. No one has to accept the notes as its just a promise token to pay 5 English pounds to the bearer. I use them in Pompey and they always hold them up to the light. They don't like when I do the same with the change to wind them up lol

07-07-2015, 07:14 AM
Are Barrs glass bottles of juice still a litre sized bottle in England? If so, WTF is that all about when their only 750ml here. Forget scottish notes, you see the look on the guy in the shops face when you take the ginger bottle back lol.

07-07-2015, 09:56 AM
Are Barrs glass bottles of juice still a litre sized bottle in England? If so, WTF is that all about when their only 750ml here. Forget scottish notes, you see the look on the guy in the shops face when you take the ginger bottle back lol.

That's because the litre bottle doesn't fit in your jacket pocket without ripping it. Especially when your copy of the Racing Post is already in there.

07-07-2015, 02:54 PM

Not seen a glass bottle of juice in a long time down here!

07-07-2015, 03:21 PM
Folk who change they way they speak according to how important they think the other person is. I appreciate that many people will have their everyday 'normal' way of speaking and then maybe a professional/telephone voice.

What made me post is listening to a colleague who is currently in flat-out arse licking mode to a client, speaking to him as if he was a toddler only using bigger words. She has various levels of sookiness depending on the "importance" of the person on the other end of the line. Does she not realise that people see right through this and think she's ridiculous?

The same colleague also automatically recites everything she knows (or thinks she does) about any subject that arises to show how clever she is - again she often ends up looking like a cretin.

Be yourself hen FFS! If your a decent person and/or are good at what you do professionally then people will respect you for it. Trying to impress often has the opposite result, with a little knowledge being a very dangerous thing.

And breath...

08-07-2015, 02:18 PM
Sheer incompetence.

Worse when it's sheer incompetence that I then need to fix.

08-07-2015, 02:31 PM
People who nonchalantly drive at 50pmh or less on the City by-pass totally unaware of the mayhem & havoc behind them as other drivers juggle to get a space in the passing lane.

A hanging offence, IMO. :brickwall

08-07-2015, 05:20 PM
Folk that do puns on message boards.

Galahibby
08-07-2015, 07:29 PM
Aldi checkout staff. What's their effing hurry?! Even if there's no-one behind you, they fling your stuff through like it's about to burn through their hands. Then if there is someone behind you, they start firing their stuff through before they even hand you your change. Nae need.

08-07-2015, 07:55 PM
Today's peeve the @rse of a van driver that thought he had the right of way when it was clear the lane he was in on the roundabout was shut and the fact I let the car in front in before turning right in my own clear lane was worth his blowing his horn at me.

Sent from my Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70F using Tapatalk

speedy_gonzales
08-07-2015, 11:01 PM
Today's peeve the @rse of a van driver that thought he had the right of way when it was clear the lane he was in on the roundabout was shut and the fact I let the car in front in before turning right in my own clear lane was worth his blowing his horn at me.
Drum Brae by any chance?
Seen some shocking driving there over the last week.
Coming down Drum Brae heading over towards Meadow Place Road, car two lanes over to my left decides as St John's is closed he is now going to go right and head towards Maybury,,,no idea how there wasn't an accident as he cut EVERYBODY up regardless of what lane they were in!

09-07-2015, 01:55 AM
Not being able to sleep... :yawn2:

09-07-2015, 06:53 AM
The Kia cee'd.

Probably nothing wrong with the actual car, it just has a really, really stupid name.

09-07-2015, 06:57 AM
These stick figure families you see on the back of car windows.

09-07-2015, 07:31 AM
Folk cutting you up at sherrifhall roundabout - mainly at the millerhill junction going to the A7. They toot the horn at you for being in the correct lane!

Caversham Green
09-07-2015, 08:10 AM
Moving away from motoring for a bit ...

Gimmicky news reports - one example is where the reporter walks off screen to the left, then it cuts to him walking on screen from the right in a completely different location.

Also, sections in programmes like Football Focus where they put in 'clever' little tricks like messing with the colour or switching to different camera angles for no reason. One recent interview had the words appearing on the screen one at a time as the interviewee said them all in different fonts and colours. And the montages they put on where someone recites poetry in a portentous voice or they play a bit of music that is sometimes, but not always, relevant to the subject.

All pointless and not nearly as clever as they think it is.

09-07-2015, 08:37 AM
News readers/reporters who can't speak English. This mornings example was "... for 6 consecutive years in a row..."

Weather "girls" who think there is a place called "Northren England" or "the Northren Isles"

09-07-2015, 11:53 AM
Static shocks when closing car doors on warm days (e.g. Astras are guilty of this).

Girls that suddenly becoming huge sports enthusiasts because the 6 nations/Andy Murray is on.

95% of football chat I see on facebook.

Scottish public bus drivers' attitude (generally speaking).

Wimbledon commentator (I think it's Andrew Castle).

People who "absolutely love" a band that have been around for years and can name 4 songs.

Littering.

09-07-2015, 12:43 PM
Aldi checkout staff. What's their effing hurry?! Even if there's no-one behind you, they fling your stuff through like it's about to burn through their hands. Then if there is someone behind you, they start firing their stuff through before they even hand you your change. Nae need.

What is that all about? It's also compounded by the tiny area in which they place your shopping after scanning the barcode. You basically have to pack your bag on the floor.

Dan Sarf
09-07-2015, 01:12 PM
Folk that do puns on message boards.

They should be punished.

09-07-2015, 01:25 PM
They should be punished.

Or punched.

Dan Sarf
09-07-2015, 01:31 PM
Or punched.

Preferably by a pundit.

09-07-2015, 03:17 PM
Preferably by a pundit.

... or a puny punk.

Dan Sarf
09-07-2015, 04:16 PM
... or a puny punk.

Punctiliously, I hope.

09-07-2015, 05:37 PM
People who pick their noses in public toilets and think it's Ok to smear their findings all over the walls. Why would you do that?

09-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Just a note on the difference between Bank of England v other UK notes.....

BofE notes are Legal Tender whereas the rest are Lawful Tender. As Scouse pointed out, no one is actually obliged to accept the latter.

That is MY pet peeve. They should all be the of equal status under the law or should be replaced by a national currency (i.e. NOT BofE)

09-07-2015, 06:36 PM
People who let their kids run riot in a pub or restaurant!

09-07-2015, 07:53 PM
People who don't understand how they actually want their steak cooked, then when it turns up exactly as requested they send it back as wrong.

09-07-2015, 07:55 PM
Hotel guests who think the room key card holds their personal information, mainly due to scaremongering emails that have done the rounds.

09-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Not a peeve but a favourite,shoplifters who thought you couldn't stop them as they hadn't left the store.

09-07-2015, 08:16 PM
Drum Brae by any chance?
Seen some shocking driving there over the last week.
Coming down Drum Brae heading over towards Meadow Place Road, car two lanes over to my left decides as St John's is closed he is now going to go right and head towards Maybury,,,no idea how there wasn't an accident as he cut EVERYBODY up regardless of what lane they were in!
Close - Calder Road. Fair play though. Bloke today (clearly a Hibby) not racing but gesturing me through correctly[emoji106]

Transmitted mentally from my cortex

09-07-2015, 10:47 PM
The Wahanda tv ad with the daft cow with the guitar.

Dave the weirdo on the moneysupermarket advert, excuse my French but, wtf?

Dav1986
09-07-2015, 10:49 PM
People who let their kids run riot in a pub or restaurant!

As someone who has worked in restaurants for years as a manager and a waiter, this. A hundred times this.

They also tend to be the families that leave their table and surrounding area an absolute state and say 'sorry for the mess' without even leaving a tip. Makes it easier to stomach cleaning up such a mess when you are left a tip at least.

Also on restaurants... people who come in and try to seat themselves even though there is a host, host stand and sign saying please wait to be seated 👊👊 usually trying to walk past the queue aswell!!

09-07-2015, 10:59 PM
Pre-recorded telemarketing ads on the phone.
How utterly rude.

10-07-2015, 07:35 AM
Not a peeve but a favourite,shoplifters who thought you couldn't stop them as they hadn't left the store.

Tales from the hometown, Scouse?

10-07-2015, 08:05 AM
Folk who do something wrong and then complain about getting pulled up for it, like it's the person pulling them up that's the bad guy.

10-07-2015, 09:09 AM
Elephant Racing on the motorway (a lorry taking an age to overtake)

10-07-2015, 10:16 AM
Tales from the hometown, Scouse?

Nope the Edinburgh institution that was Jenners before HOF ruined it.

10-07-2015, 10:17 AM

Even worse when they do that on the overtaking lanes on the A9 and no-one else gets past.

10-07-2015, 10:54 AM
Walking poles. Seriously they do absolutely nothing but erode paths.

Nothing worse than seeing someome trying use poles to balance whilst going over a tricky bit of ground and leaning all their weight on them. 1st of all it's dangerous, if that poles gives you are hitting the deck with nothing to break your fall. Secondly the way you are standing makes you look like a 13 year old dancing with a pretty girld trying to hide the fact he has a semi.

10-07-2015, 01:14 PM

Yesterday on the M8 round about the Showcase Cinema area, I was in the inside lane doing about 50 mph. A lorry leading the stream of traffic in the outside lane was doing about 45 mph and getting no faster, annoying the traffic behind. No way I could move out to allow traffic to merge from the slip road aheaad and I wasn't going to break violently to let them come on ahead of me or to allow the outside lane traffic to pass me so I could move to the outside lane, so I accelerated a bit to get passed quickly. Obviously, I had to overtake the lorry on the inside, but it was chugging slowly with no indication of moving into the inside lane. The lorry driver blasted his horn for about ten seconds and flashed his lights like a maniac. OK I had to perform an illegal action but it was a reaction to a situation that seemed the right thing to do. I thought the 'professional' driver was out of order to react like he did and not read the situation. If I'd taken his ground, I could have understood his reaction.

10-07-2015, 04:40 PM

I always thought that was the case :confused:

liamh2202
10-07-2015, 04:42 PM
Yesterday on the M8 round about the Showcase Cinema area, I was in the inside lane doing about 50 mph. A lorry leading the stream of traffic in the outside lane was doing about 45 mph and getting no faster, annoying the traffic behind. No way I could move out to allow traffic to merge from the slip road aheaad and I wasn't going to break violently to let them come on ahead of me or to allow the outside lane traffic to pass me so I could move to the outside lane, so I accelerated a bit to get passed quickly. Obviously, I had to overtake the lorry on the inside, but it was chugging slowly with no indication of moving into the inside lane. The lorry driver blasted his horn for about ten seconds and flashed his lights like a maniac. OK I had to perform an illegal action but it was a reaction to a situation that seemed the right thing to do. I thought the 'professional' driver was out of order to react like he did and not read the situation. If I'd taken his ground, I could have understood his reaction.

I don't actually think its illegal to 'undertake' mate .. As long as it can't be classed as dangerous and you aren't speeding

liamh2202
10-07-2015, 04:44 PM
From Highway Code - 268
Do not overtake on the left or move to a lane on your left to overtake. In congested conditions, where adjacent lanes of traffic are moving at similar speeds, traffic in left-hand lanes may sometimes be moving faster than traffic to the right. In these conditions, you may keep up with the traffic in your lane even if this means passing traffic in the lane to your right. Do not weave in and out of lanes to overtake. -

10-07-2015, 04:56 PM
So Jim, reading the actual rule shows you're in the clear :D

10-07-2015, 04:59 PM
Walking poles. Seriously they do absolutely nothing but erode paths.

Nothing worse than seeing someome trying use poles to balance whilst going over a tricky bit of ground and leaning all their weight on them. 1st of all it's dangerous, if that poles gives you are hitting the deck with nothing to break your fall. Secondly the way you are standing makes you look like a 13 year old dancing with a pretty girld trying to hide the fact he has a semi.

I've got a group of mates here in Switzerland and we go relatively often on group hikes. Nothing excessive, just nice hikes.

There's these 2 girls who INSIST on these stupid walking poles. Going downhill especially, it's completely illogical. If you take a fall you'll need your hands to break it, right? Not if they're holding on to some dickhead poles you won't.

They also think there's some sort of science behind them, like they've bought North Face poles and that justifies them moaning like little girls.

Suffice to say I am not shy in hiding my utter disdain for them.

10-07-2015, 07:51 PM
Sticking with my walking gripes:

People who hack away at live wood to build a fire. It's disrespectful, it's unnecessary and it won't burn.

People who litter and try to justify it. Yes I know an Apple core will degrade eventually but it's a Munro summit in March, it's cold and it's going to look unsightly for some time. Take it away with you and put it in the bin you manky barsteward.

Competitive walkers. The guys who try to race you up mountains or along paths or bore you to death with how many Munros they have climbed, walks they have completed etc etc. Or who mouth off about how 'commercialised' the Southern Highlands has become and how they won't even entertain the notion of venturing south of Torridon these days. Or how it simply has to be North Face gear for us. Bore off.

10-07-2015, 09:18 PM
I always thought that was the case :confused:

Nope,if you've concealed the item and passed all till points making no attempt to pay and are on your way through or at the door you're fair game. We used to weigh up the offender first,far easier to contain someone before they leave if you think they will give you bother. The PF had no problem with it.

10-07-2015, 11:25 PM
I don't actually think its illegal to 'undertake' mate .. As long as it can't be classed as dangerous and you aren't speeding

But i would imagine you WOULD be charged with driving without due care and attention... :greengrin

11-07-2015, 07:36 AM
From Highway Code - 268 Do not overtake on the left or move to a lane on your left to overtake. In congested conditions, where adjacent lanes of traffic are moving at similar speeds, traffic in left-hand lanes may sometimes be moving faster than traffic to the right. In these conditions, you may keep up with the traffic in your lane even if this means passing traffic in the lane to your right. Do not weave in and out of lanes to overtake. -

Anything you read in the Highway Code could be classed as 'Best' or 'Safe' practice advice.

It's not law.