View Full Version : Pet Peeves IV

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

01-07-2018, 12:29 PM
When the taxi driver rings your doorbell at 04:30 in the morning to take you to the airport and you've no ****ing clue why because your company didn't let you know you're needed to do a flight to Corfu but managed to book you a taxi.

01-07-2018, 02:11 PM
The ‘we’re happy so we’ll spoil things for everyone else’ brigade.

Was down at Portobello beach yesterday, just myself and my daughter. We got a nice spot and it was great. There was a wee group playing volleyball, some folk walking their dogs, bairns playing and having fun, old folk sitting looking content with ice creams and others just walking and enjoying a nice day.

There was almost an audible intake of breath when we heard the loud, braying voices approaching. The faux middle class voice of a mother who scolds her child so everyone can hear but doesn’t actually tell them off. ‘Ben please don’t kick sand at that dog’, ‘now what have we learned Ben?, ‘Ben, Ben darling please leave that mans towel alone if you don’t mind’, ‘are we going to learn from this Benny?’. Then Mummy, Ben, who I took to be Dad and 4 other kids spread themselves out and started running amok, whilst others kids were playing and having fun this crew were like a hurricane tearing through the beach; all played out to Mothers life lessons soundtrack. The final straw was when Daddy produced a rugby ball and Ben and siblings lined up about 40 yards apart and started kicking it to each other with inevitable results. At least 3 people or their stuff got hit in the 1st 2 minutes and very soon people who had been quietly enjoying each other’s company and watching the world go by started to pack up and move on. I’m not sure if it occurred to this family that on a busy beach they suddenly found themselves with acres of space to themselves.

Bens lesson for the day was probably that behaving in an ignorant, arrogant and self entitled manner gets you exactly what you want.

01-07-2018, 03:11 PM
The ‘we’re happy so we’ll spoil things for everyone else’ brigade.

Was down at Portobello beach yesterday, just myself and my daughter. We got a nice spot and it was great. There was a wee group playing volleyball, some folk walking their dogs, bairns playing and having fun, old folk sitting looking content with ice creams and others just walking and enjoying a nice day.

There was almost an audible intake of breath when we heard the loud, braying voices approaching. The faux middle class voice of a mother who scolds her child so everyone can hear but doesn’t actually tell them off. ‘Ben please don’t kick sand at that dog’, ‘now what have we learned Ben?, ‘Ben, Ben darling please leave that mans towel alone if you don’t mind’, ‘are we going to learn from this Benny?’. Then Mummy, Ben, who I took to be Dad and 4 other kids spread themselves out and started running amok, whilst others kids were playing and having fun this crew were like a hurricane tearing through the beach; all played out to Mothers life lessons soundtrack. The final straw was when Daddy produced a rugby ball and Ben and siblings lined up about 40 yards apart and started kicking it to each other with inevitable results. At least 3 people or their stuff got hit in the 1st 2 minutes and very soon people who had been quietly enjoying each other’s company and watching the world go by started to pack up and move on. I’m not sure if it occurred to this family that on a busy beach they suddenly found themselves with acres of space to themselves.

Bens lesson for the day was probably that behaving in an ignorant, arrogant and self entitled manner gets you exactly what you want.

I hate these type of people, think they're better than everybody so everyone else must accommodate them and put ip or shut up... You can tell these types a mile off as you hear them calling out their children names louder than anyone else. Example, Tobias, Tobias come here please or Lolly, Lolly, dont do that come and sit with mummy and daddy. Just **** off you ****s and take your brat kids with you as well.

01-07-2018, 06:25 PM
Cling film boxes. Stuff's been around for ****ing years and the packaging is still rubbish.

02-07-2018, 09:24 AM
Another hotel one.

People (my wife)who take far too long reading the beakfast menu. FFS . It's a fairly basic menu in most places and you have most likely been looking forward to it since you went to bed the night before so you know what you are having.

They'll read it for ages while the waiter stands there thinking "another clown" then order a full Scottish/English.

02-07-2018, 04:38 PM
Another hotel one.

People (my wife)who take far too long reading the beakfast menu. FFS . It's a fairly basic menu in most places and you have most likely been looking forward to it since you went to bed the night before so you know what you are having.

They'll read it for ages while the waiter stands there thinking "another clown" then order a full Scottish/English.

Breakfast is for wimps. :greengrin

02-07-2018, 05:11 PM
The importance some folk give to the view from their hotel room.

02-07-2018, 09:12 PM
Cling film boxes. Stuff's been around for ****ing years and the packaging is still rubbish.https://youtu.be/6k64CzEbR4g

(you may lose the will to live before you get to the good bit)

Mixu62
03-07-2018, 01:44 AM
Another packaging one, this time on toiletries/bathroom products. Do the makers of this stuff not realise that most of the time the consumer will be trying to open a new shampoo bottle/shower gel/mouthwash with wet hands?!! It's all peel here, tear there and the worst offenders are those ones where you're meant to twist the nozzle anti-clockwise to make a pump bottle work.....and it just doesn't!

03-07-2018, 08:53 AM
Pavement parkers, I understand the reason why in some neighbourhoods folk have to get two wheels on the pavement in order to enable sufficient space on the road. This is quite normal where the opposite side of the street also has cars parked. What I hate is the four wheels on the pavement merchants who don’t care about prams or wheelchairs getting past.

03-07-2018, 09:53 AM
Pavement parkers, I understand the reason why in some neighbourhoods folk have to get two wheels on the pavement in order to enable sufficient space on the road. This is quite normal where the opposite side of the street also has cars parked. What I hate is the four wheels on the pavement merchants who don’t care about prams or wheelchairs getting past.

You're right. It's bad for the pavement as well by dislodging paving slabs which then require repair.

But it's clear from the amount of vehicles you see doing this that the authorities don't give a flying one.

03-07-2018, 10:04 AM
You're right. It's bad for the pavement as well by dislodging paving slabs which then require repair.

But it's clear from the amount of vehicles you see doing this that the authorities don't give a flying one.

The footway parkers should be made to pay for the reinstatement of them whether it be broken flagstones or depressed blacktop.Footways are not designed for wheel loads.

Jay
03-07-2018, 10:43 AM

When i was a childminder this was my biggest bugbear. Council vans were the worst. I often phoned the police or council about it. The drivers couldnt give a toss that i was having to take a buggy and young walkers on the main road to get round their vans. If it was a car i used to push the buggy through the space and hit the mirrors or scratch the car deliberately. I had many an argument with irate owners..

03-07-2018, 08:38 PM
For those concerned about pavement parking:

https://www.scottishlegal.com/article/views-sought-on-transport-scotland-bill

04-07-2018, 04:32 PM
People that enjoy DIY.

Specifically the ****s who instead of getting work done as soon as possible decide to drag it out month after month turning the hammering, drilling, banging, sawing into modern day Chinese torture methods without giving so much as a baker's **** for the neighbours.

05-07-2018, 06:29 AM
Agreed! The guy next door to me is constantly at it and the best part is that his house is a ****hole, his garden is a building site. They were sitting in the back garden getting some sun next to the kitchen sink the other day.

A couple of years ago he built a concrete monstrosity for a shed and the whole thing came tumbling down after a few days.

06-07-2018, 12:20 PM
Being on the outside of an "in" joke.

06-07-2018, 07:28 PM
Men that take karaoke seriously.

06-07-2018, 07:35 PM
Avid (being kind) Posters on the world cup thread , posting constant drivel. On and on it goes, get a ****ing life.

07-07-2018, 08:38 AM
Men that take karaoke seriously.

Karaoke generally, just chuck 2 quid in the jukey!

09-07-2018, 11:02 AM
Avid (being kind) Posters on the world cup thread , posting constant drivel. On and on it goes, get a ****ing life.

Loosely related to what you're talking about but in the real world and not on an internet forum, people with no interest in the world cup who try to make conversation about it.

I am frequently being asked "who won the football?...." "oh did they?"......."are they good then?"...."who do you think will win now?"...."are they in Englands group?"

I can see the answers to any questions are being forgotten by the time i've finished answering them as they simply don't care but feel the need to fill a silence with inane drivel. It's bad enough when it's in between matches but when it's during matches it's even worse. "who are the team in the yellow?"......"so if they lose are they out?"......"what happens if it's a draw?"

You don't care, i enjoy silences, please stop asking boring questions.

10-07-2018, 11:10 AM
The phrase "the absolute state of..."

**** off.

10-07-2018, 12:08 PM

**** off.

That and "what the actual" and "asking for a friend"

10-07-2018, 12:27 PM
People asking if SJM will be cup tied if he plays for us in Europe.

10-07-2018, 02:49 PM

I'm going to keep mentioning "oh my days" until it ceases to be heard.

10-07-2018, 04:25 PM
When i was a childminder this was my biggest bugbear. Council vans were the worst. I often phoned the police or council about it. The drivers couldnt give a toss that i was having to take a buggy and young walkers on the main road to get round their vans. If it was a car i used to push the buggy through the space and hit the mirrors or scratch the car deliberately. I had many an argument with irate owners..

Perhaps the council workers who parked the vans are working in an area where there is no other option but to park on the pavement? Probably having to go back and forward to the van to get tools whilst on the job? Do you want them to park 5 minutes up the street instead? You can phone their bosses and explain why the job is no longer going to be finished on time.

Although I'm sure the workers that usually deal with irate tenants and filthy houses really appreciated you phoning the police on them whilst they're trying to do their job. :wink:

speedy_gonzales
10-07-2018, 04:47 PM
Perhaps the council workers who parked the vans are working in an area where there is no other option but to park on the pavement? Probably having to go back and forward to the van to get tools whilst on the job? Do you want them to park 5 minutes up the street instead? You can phone their bosses and explain why the job is no longer going to be finished on time.

Although I'm sure the workers that usually deal with irate tenants and filthy houses really appreciated you phoning the police on them whilst they're trying to do their job. :wink:
That's a bit harsh, there's no excuse for both parking on a pavement (where it's not allowed) and for obstructing a footpath forcing vulnerable users to deviate on to the road.

10-07-2018, 06:13 PM

Do you work for the council and irresponsibly park your council van on pavements while on a job? :greengrin

10-07-2018, 06:39 PM
Do you work for the council and irresponsibly park your council van on pavements while on a job? :greengrin

Yes how did you know :hilarious

That's a bit harsh, there's no excuse for both parking on a pavement (where it's not allowed) and for obstructing a footpath forcing vulnerable users to deviate on to the road.

It was half tongue in cheek, I understand if someone has parked up and is blocking the whole pavement but sometimes we have no choice but to bump up on the kerb a bit.

10-07-2018, 06:54 PM

Noticed on Facebook and twitter and that recently that the “shut the” part of STFU has been removed and now it’s merely “**** up”.

Not a fan.

Jay
10-07-2018, 09:25 PM

Perhaps they are not. Its a massive wide road you can get two cars as well as having a parked car on it. Still ill think again if you think its safer to take a buggy and toddlers on the main road to get round them. :rolleyes:

10-07-2018, 11:06 PM
Noticed on Facebook and twitter and that recently that the “shut the” part of STFU has been removed and now it’s merely “**** up”.

Not a fan.

The english language is going to be full of abbreviations in the future, no proper words just phrases like what the actual and i literally... Young ones today will be terrible writer in the future.

11-07-2018, 10:44 AM
Perhaps they are not. Its a massive wide road you can get two cars as well as having a parked car on it. Still ill think again if you think its safer to take a buggy and toddlers on the main road to get round them. :rolleyes:

Of course taking them on a main road wouldn't be safe.

Therefore, I'd recommend either climbing over said van, or crawling under it if you want more of an adventure.

11-07-2018, 10:48 AM
The english language is going to be full of abbreviations in the future, no proper words just phrases like what the actual and i literally... Young ones today will be terrible writer in the future.
The English language is in a constant state of evolution and has been for hundreds of years. Younger generations modifying the language is nothing new, if it was we'd all still be speaking like characters from Shakespeare

11-07-2018, 11:07 AM

**** off.

Tend to agree, however having just read the 'England Semi' thread it seems appropriate in that instance !!

11-07-2018, 11:20 AM
Tend to agree, however having just read the 'England Semi' thread it seems appropriate in that instance !!

I'm in England just now and there are plenty of semis going about, thankfully I'll be back over the border by 5.

Jay
11-07-2018, 12:03 PM
Of course taking them on a main road wouldn't be safe.

Therefore, I'd recommend either climbing over said van, or crawling under it if you want more of an adventure.

With a double buggy and a couple of toddlers sounds fun. Care commission would make me risk assess it first. Too much hassle. Far easier phoning to get them shifted.

11-07-2018, 01:41 PM
The English language is in a constant state of evolution and has been for hundreds of years. Younger generations modifying the language is nothing new, if it was we'd all still be speaking like characters from Shakespeare

Fair point. I think I'd rather go back to Shakespearean speak than the attempts at conversation the younguns have today though.

God I feel old now.

11-07-2018, 02:00 PM
With a double buggy and a couple of toddlers sounds fun. Care commission would make me risk assess it first. Too much hassle. Far easier phoning to get them shifted.

The toddlers would love to explore the underside of a 2006 plate van, you can point out all the holes and then explain how rust happens, it'll be smashing fun.

11-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Not being able to turn right coming out of the tip at Seafield. Hopefully just a temporary measure....better be :grr:

11-07-2018, 11:30 PM
Not being able to turn right coming out of the tip at Seafield. Hopefully just a temporary measure....better be :grr:

Driving pet peeve thread? :dunno:

11-07-2018, 11:31 PM
Post count not going up when I post in the dug out. Why is that?

12-07-2018, 06:34 AM
Driving pet peeve thread? :dunno:

Nah, cooncil peeve.

12-07-2018, 01:14 PM
Post count not going up when I post in the dug out. Why is that?

Apologies for interrupting an otherwise excellent thread about moaning, but here's the actual factual answer:

It was to stop folk racking up huge post counts back in the day when they counted towards something or other (maybe even just counted towards credibility before folk like me came along and blew that theory out of the water), by posting loads on the song title threads etc (or pet peeves!).

12-07-2018, 04:48 PM
Being called bitter and jealous whilst taking pleasure in the England football team's world cup demise. When Scotland get it tight it's banter but when they get some of their own medicine rammed down their throats it's vindictive because we hate them. Dry yer eyes.

12-07-2018, 07:38 PM
Being called bitter and jealous whilst taking pleasure in the England football team's world cup demise. When Scotland get it tight it's banter but when they get some of their own medicine rammed down their throats it's vindictive because we hate them. Dry yer eyes.

We all recognise what is banter and what isn’t.

13-07-2018, 02:30 AM
Apologies for interrupting an otherwise excellent thread about moaning, but here's the actual factual answer:

It was to stop folk racking up huge post counts back in the day when they counted towards something or other (maybe even just counted towards credibility before folk like me came along and blew that theory out of the water), by posting loads on the song title threads etc (or pet peeves!).

Ah, ok. Cheers.

13-07-2018, 02:31 AM
Nah, cooncil peeve.

13-07-2018, 10:33 AM

Wow.. you mean you're telling me my 4 figures worth of s*** posts have all been about Hibs/football??

Time to get a life :greengrin

13-07-2018, 12:10 PM
Wow.. you mean you're telling me my 4 figures worth of s*** posts have all been about Hibs/football??

Time to get a life :greengrin

Quit while it's just 4 figures!!

13-07-2018, 01:34 PM
Quit while it's just 4 figures!!

Admin prick :greengrin

14-07-2018, 09:13 AM
Men that describe themselves as feminists.

Guaranteed to have the typical student ****er look, thick glasses and unkempt beard, favourite drink will be a mocha latte from Starbucks, and all of this with the belief that they can get a sympathy ride from women if they appear on side.

14-07-2018, 10:35 AM

Guaranteed to have the typical student ****er look, thick glasses and unkempt beard, favourite drink will be a mocha latte from Starbucks, and all of this with the belief that they can get a sympathy ride from women if they appear on side.People who pigeon-hole others based on their political and moral views. [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

14-07-2018, 10:58 AM
People who pigeon-hole others based on their political and moral views. [emoji6]

.. or their fashion sense :)

14-07-2018, 11:13 AM

Guaranteed to have the typical student ****er look, thick glasses and unkempt beard, favourite drink will be a mocha latte from Starbucks, and all of this with the belief that they can get a sympathy ride from women if they appear on side.

14-07-2018, 02:07 PM
People who pigeon-hole others based on their political and moral views. [emoji6]

Even worse if you're a chaste pigeon.

14-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Folk who wear glasses that don't actually need them. You know the people who have the thick rimmed frames but with no prescripton lenses, just bits of glass. Why?

14-07-2018, 03:09 PM
Folk that write the way they talk. Ken whit ah mean?

14-07-2018, 03:52 PM
Inconsiderate parking by neighbours, if we all park properly we can fit four cars outside of our two houses, this works well until the neighbours seemingly long term lodger arrives and leaves just under a car length between the two cars, resulting in space for only three cars. :grr:

pollution
14-07-2018, 04:41 PM
Ice cream lollies that make you more thirsty than you were before you ate it!

14-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Products that are packaged in large boxes but are only 2/3 full.
Washing powders, corn flakes,, for example.

15-07-2018, 12:55 PM
Folk who go to golf tournaments to watch and dress as though they are playing,complete with golf shoes. What's that all about.

15-07-2018, 01:45 PM
Folk who go to golf tournaments to watch and dress as though they are playing,complete with golf shoes. What's that all about.

I suppose you could add folks that go to fitba games with their team tops on but that would be just daft :wink: :greengrin

15-07-2018, 02:07 PM
I suppose you could add folks that go to fitba games with their team tops on but that would be just daft :wink: :greengrin

Speaking of which. Full kit w*nkers. Just no!

15-07-2018, 02:25 PM
People who watch any type of sporting event or concert whilst holding their phone up.

15-07-2018, 02:45 PM

That's a bit different....unless these folk are also wearing their football boots !! I mean, golf shoes...really....it's just walking on grass you're doing !!

15-07-2018, 05:31 PM
That's a bit different....unless these folk are also wearing their football boots !! I mean, golf shoes...really....it's just walking on grass you're doing !!

Hmmm I think one of the main points of golf shoes are they keep your feet dry when walking through the rough etc, which spectators do a lot of. If they’re designed for golf courses it kind of makes sense to me that people would wear them when walking around a course watching golf.

15-07-2018, 07:32 PM
Hmmm I think one of the main points of golf shoes are they keep your feet dry when walking through the rough etc, which spectators do a lot of. If they’re designed for golf courses it kind of makes sense to me that people would wear them when walking around a course watching golf.

Watching golf tournaments doesn't generally require the spectators to traipse through the rough...there are paths all over the place. Golf shoes are basically for players and to help them grip when swinging. Anyhoo it's no big deal and I take your point re waterproofness. I was at the Scottish Open on Fri and bumped into a few folk and they had the full golf gear on as if they'd just had a round. I just find it v odd.

15-07-2018, 08:36 PM

I know it's somewhat different. :greengrin
I was on the wind up. :devil:

16-07-2018, 01:12 AM
The bint that lives somewhere behind me who has woken me up at this time 5 nights out of the last 7 (ironically Friday and Saturday were the exceptions) with banging what I think is a spoon on a bowl and calling out for what I assume is her cat. This gets repeated over again for about an hour. Me going out to the garden and telling her to shut the F up seems to have done no good.

16-07-2018, 07:51 AM
Products that are packaged in large boxes but are only 2/3 full.
Washing powders, corn flakes,, for example.

Is it not because these products settle in storage? :dunno:

16-07-2018, 09:15 AM
Watching golf tournaments doesn't generally require the spectators to traipse through the rough...there are paths all over the place. Golf shoes are basically for players and to help them grip when swinging. Anyhoo it's no big deal and I take your point re waterproofness. I was at the Scottish Open on Fri and bumped into a few folk and they had the full golf gear on as if they'd just had a round. I just find it v odd.

:aok: I don't even wear golf shoes when I play so it definitely wasnae me :greengrin

16-07-2018, 12:05 PM
Golf shoes are sensible for water-tightness, grip on slippy undulating ground and generally avoiding getting good ordinary shoes dirty with mud or dry dust. You have more of a point with wearing ‘all the other gear’ but even then, some folk will find casual golf gear more comfortable traipsing around a golf course.

16-07-2018, 12:19 PM
Golf shoes are sensible for water-tightness, grip on slippy undulating ground and generally avoiding getting good ordinary shoes dirty with mud or dry dust. You have more of a point with wearing ‘all the other gear’ but even then, some folk will find casual golf gear more comfortable traipsing around a golf course.

Perhaps there are some golf fans who, knowing how up themselves some clubs can be in terms of dress codes, take the safe option and go full-on ice-cream vendor!

16-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Hibs.net main forum

16-07-2018, 07:59 PM
Hibs.net main forum

17-07-2018, 02:36 AM
Is it not because these products settle in storage? :hmm:

By 30,%. :hmmm:

18-07-2018, 07:53 PM
People who spell losing as loosing.

Usually people sharing their 'Slimming World Journey' on Instagram.

Jay
18-07-2018, 08:14 PM
Living in a world designed for tall people. At work theyve put a new latch on the top inside of one cupboard door. I cant reach it and had to squeeze in behind the door and between the shelves last night to get what i needed. I was convinced the dayshift were going to find me stuck in the cupboard

19-07-2018, 12:33 PM
Folk wiping bogeys on the work's toilet walls. WTF is that about?

19-07-2018, 01:07 PM

Rather that than cockey night smeared everywhere :greengrin

19-07-2018, 01:50 PM
Rather that than cockey night smeared everywhere :greengrin

True!

Jay
19-07-2018, 02:05 PM

No!!! Thats not a thing! People, grown up.people.do NOT do that! :sick:

19-07-2018, 02:40 PM

A friend of mine got an email in work the other week asking people to watch out for suspicious behaviour as a person(s) had been peeing in bins.

You really wonder what adult thinks that is acceptable.

19-07-2018, 03:00 PM

The toilets in one of our Glasgow depots used to be plastered ceiling to floor in sectarian abuse amongst other graffiti. That got stopped by management though and quite rightly so. Some of it was horrendous reading.

I did read something funny in a toilet once, a wee poem had been written.

Some people come here to sit and think
Some people come here to sh*t and stink
Some people come here to scratch their balls
And to read these mentions on the walls.

19-07-2018, 03:02 PM
A friend of mine got an email in work the other week asking people to watch out for suspicious behaviour as a person(s) had been peeing in bins.

You really wonder what adult thinks that is acceptable.

Thats has surely got to be a wind up. Pissing in bins at work. Thats a classic! :faf:

19-07-2018, 06:03 PM
Graffiti....

The crap amateur stuff... is... well.... crap!

Some of the fancy stuff looks alright and quite artistic I suppose.... but recently around Leith I'm seeing these twats are tagging people's houses/flats rather than commercial properties... see the one up from the hibs club that goes right up to someone's bedroom window.

And while I'm at It, tagging historic buildings, especially around tourist areas.... sigh...

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

19-07-2018, 06:25 PM
People who think it’s fair game when turning right to ignore red lights. Four or five cars chancing it on red turning right into queen street every night. Absolute madness, it’s as if they think they have right of way because they are turning right regardless of their lights changing to red.

19-07-2018, 09:39 PM
People who think it’s fair game when turning right to ignore red lights. Four or five cars chancing it on red turning right into queen street every night. Absolute madness, it’s as if they think they have right of way because they are turning right regardless of their lights changing to red.

Oi Scouse boy! Get yourself turning right onto the driving pet peeves thread!!

:)

19-07-2018, 09:55 PM
Hibs.net main forum

Particularly tonight.

20-07-2018, 11:06 AM
The phrase 'tin pot club' which seems to have established itself on our forum.

20-07-2018, 11:49 AM
The phrase 'tin pot club' which seems to have established itself on our forum.

Used to describe Aberdeen no less :hilarious

20-07-2018, 12:02 PM
Used to describe Aberdeen no less :hilarious

That was the latest one that drove me to file it as an official peeve :greengrin

20-07-2018, 12:06 PM
Thats has surely got to be a wind up. Pissing in bins at work. Thats a classic! :faf:

We had an incident (That happened more than once, and also very recently) where it was worse than a pee in the bin or a bogey on the wall. Smeared on the toilet walls, on the floor, around the toilet etc. Im sure you get what im saying. Its happened more than once and in different traps of the toilet so it wasnt a one off mistake/revenge. Some dirty ******* has deliberately gone in with the intention. A grown Man! (The culprit has not yet been caught as far as I know either):sick:

20-07-2018, 12:32 PM
We had an incident (That happened more than once, and also very recently) where it was worse than a pee in the bin or a bogey on the wall. Smeared on the toilet walls, on the floor, around the toilet etc. Im sure you get what im saying. Its happened more than once and in different traps of the toilet so it wasnt a one off mistake/revenge. Some dirty ******* has deliberately gone in with the intention. A grown Man! (The culprit has not yet been caught as far as I know either):sick:

I've heard of that in a couple of workplaces actually. Bizarre and thoroughly revolting.

Thankfully never seen it myself.

20-07-2018, 12:36 PM

Have you smelt everyone's hands?

20-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Sunlife guaranteed over 50 plan adverts.

20-07-2018, 04:14 PM
Sunlife guaranteed over 50 plan adverts.

Is that because you've still 3 years to wait before you can apply? :greengrin

20-07-2018, 04:15 PM

Quite a unique disciplinary hearing when they do get caught. :greengrin

20-07-2018, 06:17 PM
Oi Scouse boy! Get yourself turning right onto the driving pet peeves thread!!

:)

I tried to mate but the lights were against me.

20-07-2018, 06:22 PM

Yes I had something similar in a previous job, I was 99% sure that the guy who complained about it every morning was actually the culprit!
We checked it clean one night, no one else entered as we had CCTV in the outside corridor, the next morning same guy came crying that it was disgusting and he shouldn't have to use facilities in that condition. A review of corridor CCTV showed him being the first to enter the locker room in the morning.
The weirdo left soon after.

pollution
20-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Yes I had something similar in a previous job, I was 99% sure that the guy who complained about it every morning was actually the culprit!
We checked it clean one night, no one else entered as we had CCTV in the outside corridor, the next morning same guy came crying that it was disgusting and he shouldn't have to use facilities in that condition. A review of corridor CCTV showed him being the first to enter the locker room in the morning.
The weirdo left soon after.

Some people are weird. Was he wanting attention, did t give him a thrill??

He should see a psychiatrist pronto.

In our office we had a bloke who would snort cocaine in the toilet cubicle

and would roar down the corridor like a bull bashing into people. How he got away with it for several years was a mystery.

20-07-2018, 09:25 PM
Whilst serving in Norway we had a "phantom ****ter". He would take a dump in the hoods of unsuspecting victims sleeping bags.

20-07-2018, 11:16 PM
Whilst serving in Norway we had a "phantom ****ter". He would take a dump in the hoods of unsuspecting victims sleeping bags.

I bet he thought his mates were a load of s***heads.

21-07-2018, 05:01 AM
Is that because you've still 3 years to wait before you can apply? :greengrin

Nah, the folk in the ads are just overly happy to be preparing for death. :-)

21-07-2018, 10:14 AM
Whilst serving in Norway we had a "phantom ****ter". He would take a dump in the hoods of unsuspecting victims sleeping bags.I've heard of it in boots but never in sleeping bags.

pollution
21-07-2018, 11:23 AM

No wonder women think men are weird.

22-07-2018, 08:45 AM
Cants who think they are a cut above because they drink wine.

22-07-2018, 11:14 AM

Central heating for tramps.

Jay
22-07-2018, 11:25 AM
Central heating for tramps.

:tsk tsk:

pollution
22-07-2018, 11:39 AM

Drivel.

22-07-2018, 12:53 PM
:tsk tsk:

Little ole win drinker Mrs S? :greengrin

pollution
22-07-2018, 04:20 PM
Censorship of the web.

Jay
22-07-2018, 05:45 PM
Little ole win drinker Mrs S? :greengrin

Old? Be very careful Mr Crab! I like a glass of wine but just buy the cheap stuff.

22-07-2018, 05:50 PM
Old? Be very careful Mr Crab! I like a glass of wine but just buy the cheap stuff.

Sorry, a poor attempt at humour. :greengrin Must do better.

Jay
22-07-2018, 05:52 PM
Sorry, a poor attempt at humour. :greengrin Must do better.

22-07-2018, 07:02 PM

Someone was ****ting in the work shower every Tuesday afternoon for weeks last year. They put a plain clothes security guard outside to try to catch the culprit but then got complaints about a man lurking next to the ladies toilet and showers. Of course it was the security guard so they had to take him away so I don’t think they ever caught the person.

23-07-2018, 03:39 PM
People that believe they deserve a medal of honour for going to the gym or working out.

Made even worse when they reach level 10 smugness when talking about their "accomplishments" as if them losing a few pounds has put them on par with someone that comes up with a cure for cancer.

23-07-2018, 11:55 PM
Been said before but I'd like to highlight it again.
Folk who put their seats back in aeroplanes especially when there's almost no leg room as it is.
Inconsiderate tolies.

24-07-2018, 05:47 AM
People who send you a friends request on FB, the latest one being an old colleague. So I accept it expecting that they want to get in touch and will now make contact. 48 hours later not a word from them, obviously just want to be nosey and look through your page. Swiftly deleted as a friend.

24-07-2018, 10:35 AM
People who can't see other folk being happy without putting them down.

Also, folk who feel they have to tell people (usually celebrities) that they're rubbish (an example recently, Thierry Henry tweets about leaving Sky, gets tweets to tell him he is a crap pundit). Or tweeting a comedian to tell them they're not funny, that kind of thing.

Why would you feel the need to do that?

Bangkok Hibby
24-07-2018, 03:25 PM
Word censorship...you know what I mean? F*****G C**S

Every single one of you who read this said "****ing ****s" in your head. The Queen, The archbishop of Canterbury, Princess bloody whatshername all said "****ing ****s" in their heads, so why the stars?

Bangkok Hibby
24-07-2018, 03:26 PM
Aaargghh even the forum censors words....WHY???

24-07-2018, 04:19 PM

Why would anyone censor "farting cats"?

24-07-2018, 04:32 PM
When a lady gets on the bus and is walking down smiling at you and you smile back, then she cuddles the woman in the seat infront of you and says haven't seen you in ages

Seems the world doesn't revolve around me after all haha

Jay
24-07-2018, 04:41 PM
Ordering a cake in the patisserie cafe and they give you a knife and fork. Whats wrong with my hands? Now i feel obliged to eat a cake with a fork!

24-07-2018, 05:09 PM
Ordering a cake in the patisserie cafe and they give you a knife and fork. Whats wrong with my hands? Now i feel obliged to eat a cake with a fork!

On the same note, seeing someone eating a pizza with a knife and fork is wrong.

24-07-2018, 07:50 PM
Been said before but I'd like to highlight it again.
Folk who put their seats back in aeroplanes especially when there's almost no leg room as it is.
Inconsiderate tolies.

I agree

and having been in back row of the plane where you cannot put the seats back, it’s even worse there.

Jay
24-07-2018, 09:06 PM

Or a chippy. My sons pal gets a plate and knife and fork. Whats wrong with eating it out the paper with your fingers?

24-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Or a chippy. My sons pal gets a plate and knife and fork. Whats wrong with eating it out the paper with your fingers?

That is how chippy should be eaten! Use your hands. :agree:

24-07-2018, 09:26 PM
People who think they can tell other people how to eat their food. Food should be eaten by the individual in whatever way they like and with what method they enjoy eating it. There are no right or wrong ways.

24-07-2018, 10:54 PM
People who think they can tell other people how to eat their food. Food should be eaten by the individual in whatever way they like and with what method they enjoy eating it. There are no right or wrong ways.

What about passing the port to the right? :cool2:

24-07-2018, 11:59 PM
People getting peeved with other people's pet peeves. :-) Just let it go!

Jay
25-07-2018, 05:57 AM

Ive never told anybody how to eat their food. I just secretly judge :greengrin

25-07-2018, 06:28 AM
Ive never told anybody how to eat their food. I just secretly judge :greengrin

I never said you did:-)

25-07-2018, 09:32 AM
“Hibs Class”

This term has become complete self-aggrandising cringe IMO. Fair enough when someone goes over and above it could be an example of class, but calling basic levels of human respect “Hibs Class” like we’re a bunch of special snowflakes is pretty bad.

25-07-2018, 09:51 AM
“Hibs Class”

This term has become complete self-aggrandising cringe IMO. Fair enough when someone goes over and above it could be an example of class, but calling basic levels of human respect “Hibs Class” like we’re a bunch of special snowflakes is pretty bad.

:agree: Hibs crass? :hmmm:
Being misused and overused the word's true meaning is weakened, as with the word 'hero'.

25-07-2018, 10:16 AM
“Hibs Class”

It is a bit of a beamer, to be fair.

25-07-2018, 10:25 AM
running out of data, a couple of years ago 2GB would do me fine - no issues. I ran out a couple of times and upgraded to 5GB and that barely does me the month. I'm not doing much different.

25-07-2018, 12:00 PM
“Hibs Class”

A-to-the-****ing-men

Thread closed, we have found it. The most nonsensical and cringeworthy phrase ever to be uttered from the mouths of morons imo

ACLeith
25-07-2018, 04:13 PM
When watching a Fringe street performer on the High Street with your granddaughter and an adult tourist pushes in and stands right in front of her, completely blocking her view.

When would that ever happen? THREE TIMES this morning 😡😡😡

25-07-2018, 04:17 PM
A-to-the-****ing-men

Thread closed, we have found it. The most nonsensical and cringeworthy phrase ever to be uttered from the mouths of morons imo

I'm having a bit of a 'whoosh' with that bit, MWC. Help!

25-07-2018, 05:53 PM
I'm having a bit of a 'whoosh' with that bit, MWC. Help!

A-to-the-****ing-men

As in 'Amen to that'.

25-07-2018, 08:05 PM

My wife eats pizza from the middle out.

Disgusting.

26-07-2018, 09:05 AM
My wife eats pizza from the middle out.

Disgusting.

Doesn't everyone do that?

You don't pick up a slice & eat the crust first?

26-07-2018, 09:08 AM
I must be the devil for some people on this thread, I eat home cooked pizzas with a knife and fork from the crust in. If I get a take away pizza than I eat the crust first :angeldevi

26-07-2018, 09:15 AM

I don't eat pizza from the inside out or the outside in. No knife and fork, just stuff the whole thing in my gob in a oner. Lovely.

26-07-2018, 10:29 AM
A-to-the-****ing-men

As in 'Amen to that'.

A-ha :aok:

Ta :doh:

26-07-2018, 03:21 PM
A-to-the-****ing-ha! aok:

Ta :doh:

Fixed!

26-07-2018, 03:24 PM

Some people eat the crust first.

I like to eat the good bit first then dip my crusts; I don't think you'd be able to dip your crust at the beginning.

26-07-2018, 03:41 PM
I eat pizza with a knife and fork, some decorum please.

26-07-2018, 03:59 PM
Ryrie's having the temerity to charge £4.55 for a pint of Strongbow, eh no thanks, I'll head elsewhere. Unsurprisingly the place was empty.

26-07-2018, 05:14 PM
I must be the devil for some people on this thread, I eat home cooked pizzas with a knife and fork from the crust in. If I get a take away pizza than I eat the crust first :angeldevi

Mama Mia !

26-07-2018, 05:16 PM
Salad cream, I've yet to find any kind of eaterie that has it.
Love it with fish and chips.

27-07-2018, 03:03 AM
Bluetooth headphones. For a while they’re great, but inevitably they will run out and need to be charged at a time when you want to listen to more music. For a few years now I’ve persisted with them, but finally I’ve gone back to the old style headphones. The only downside is that when I need a pish I have to pause the song.

Mixu62
27-07-2018, 06:47 AM
Acronyms. Especially in job ad's. "must have FJGDR experience and GSH or TUYHG" (yes I was randomly hitting the keyboard, cos I'm sure they do too!!)

27-07-2018, 09:51 AM
Acronyms. Especially in job ad's. "must have FJGDR experience and GSH or TUYHG" (yes I was randomly hitting the keyboard, cos I'm sure they do too!!)

Try dealing with the military if you want an acronym minefield. (No pun intended).
Think Robin William's skit in Good Morning Vietnam.

wpj
27-07-2018, 09:46 PM

Every single one of you who read this said "****ing ****s" in your head. The Queen, The archbishop of Canterbury, Princess bloody whatshername all said "****ing ****s" in their heads, so why the stars?

Such a wonderful rant I am genuinely impressed with this level of peeve. Respect 😎

28-07-2018, 09:16 AM

Surprised the admin pricks let you away with calling yourself Bang**** Hibby.

28-07-2018, 02:20 PM
Probably already been covered, but WTF are folk carrying to pubs in rucksacks that they never did 20 years ago? Total pain in the arse and bad enough struggling to bar through a sea of bodies without pushing backpacks out your way.
In Dublin today and it is just as bad as Edinburgh for this millennial habit.

28-07-2018, 02:44 PM
Probably already been covered, but WTF are folk carrying to pubs in rucksacks that they never did 20 years ago? Total pain in the arse and bad enough struggling to bar through a sea of bodies without pushing backpacks out your way.

Presumably it's people after work. Those people now have laptops that they carry in rucksacks rather than previously desktop computers that stayed in the office. :dunno:

28-07-2018, 02:50 PM
Presumably it's people after work. Those people now have laptops that they carry in rucksacks rather than previously desktop computers that stayed in the office. :dunno:

This looks more like desk top computer than laptop to be fair.

Bangkok Hibby
28-07-2018, 04:04 PM
When watching a Fringe street performer on the High Street with your granddaughter and an adult tourist pushes in and stands right in front of her, completely blocking her view.

When would that ever happen? THREE TIMES this morning ������

Tourists....haven't a clue about queueing or manners. For all their faults Brits are "generally" more polite

28-07-2018, 07:31 PM
I eat pizza with a knife and fork, some decorum please.

Thank god the eternal verities are still alive somewhere at least. We're not the 51st State yet.

wpj
29-07-2018, 09:28 AM

I carry my phone, book, water, newspaper, snack, magazine etc. Dunno how I managed with just pockets. Also carry a charger and occasionally my tablet. Also a shopping bag to save on plastic if I need groceries

29-07-2018, 10:18 AM
I know it’s wrong of me but every time I see someone having a conversation on their phone (in a public place) without holding the phone to their ear.. I think “prick”

29-07-2018, 11:09 AM
People that don't know how to conduct themselves in the quiet coach on trains, ignorant bassas!

29-07-2018, 11:18 AM
I know it’s wrong of me but every time I see someone having a conversation on their phone (in a public place) without holding the phone to their ear.. I think “prick”

Yes! :agree:

I don't get it at all. Put it on loud speaker and hold it up infront of their chin - as if the extra 10cm to their ear would be difficult.

29-07-2018, 12:14 PM
Mensur Suljovic, what a helmet!

29-07-2018, 05:10 PM
People who don’t understand how insurance policies work and insist that they can contact your insurers directly to pay for damage in their property. Err no you claim off your own insurance and they put the claim in against our insurance to recover their costs.

30-07-2018, 10:31 AM
Yes! :agree:

I don't get it at all. Put it on loud speaker and hold it up infront of their chin - as if the extra 10cm to their ear would be difficult.

The reason I said "wrong of me" is because I actually think the same when they're speaking using headphones. Hands-free walking about speaking just isn't for me :greengrin

30-07-2018, 10:44 AM
The reason I said "wrong of me" is because I actually think the same when they're speaking using headphones. Hands-free walking about speaking just isn't for me :greengrin

To be fair, I can just about get on board with that - at least they're keeping their hands free and have gained something from it. :greengrin

It's not for me personally, I'm too self conscious for nonsense like that - it is a bit strange when someone walks past just chatting away to noone.

Jay
30-07-2018, 11:22 AM
To be fair, I can just about get on board with that - at least they're keeping their hands free and have gained something from it. :greengrin

It's not for me personally, I'm too self conscious for nonsense like that - it is a bit strange when someone walks past just chatting away to noone.

I do this a lot. Its easier to hear through my earphones than the phone in a busy street. The other option would be for me to hold the phone to my ear and stick my finger in the other ear - far more self conscious about that look :greengrin

30-07-2018, 11:49 AM
I do this a lot. Its easier to hear through my earphones than the phone in a busy street. The other option would be for me to hold the phone to my ear and stick my finger in the other ear - far more self conscious about that look :greengrin

I did mean to put a caveat in to one of my posts about there being any sort of technological advantage that I wasn't aware of!

I think I do the finger in the other ear trick though; I'll probably be a lot more conscious about it now that you've pointed out that I probably look like an idiot doing so.

Now that I think about it, I've received calls while wearing headphones before and end up in a right muddle trying to answer the call, and disconnect my headphones all at once - particularly my bluetooth ones. :dizzy:

Jay
30-07-2018, 12:08 PM
I did mean to put a caveat in to one of my posts about there being any sort of technological advantage that I wasn't aware of!

I think I do the finger in the other ear trick though; I'll probably be a lot more conscious about it now that you've pointed out that I probably look like an idiot doing so.

Now that I think about it, I've received calls while wearing headphones before and end up in a right muddle trying to answer the call, and disconnect my headphones all at once - particularly my bluetooth ones. :dizzy:

On the other hand ive also tried to make calls on my phone forgetting my bluetooth earphones are switched on. Once got an irate text from my son after i had tried to call him a few times and couldn't hear him saying to turn my ******* earphones off :greengrin

goosano
31-07-2018, 05:49 AM
The talking 'toilet' on Virgin trains

31-07-2018, 10:02 AM
-Groups of people standing conversing on busy streets.
-Groups of 4-5 people walking side by side and blocking the entire pavement.
-People with no spatial awareness in the supermarket.
-People with no spatial awareness in the train station.

All these things make me irrationally angry. It’s a lot better down here, but every time I go to Edinburgh I’m completely amazed by peoples’ complete lack of awareness.

31-07-2018, 10:19 AM
-Groups of people standing conversing on busy streets.
-Groups of 4-5 people walking side by side and blocking the entire pavement.
-People with no spatial awareness in the supermarket.
-People with no spatial awareness in the train station.

All these things make me irrationally angry. It’s a lot better down here, but every time I go to Edinburgh I’m completely amazed by peoples’ complete lack of awareness.

Especially the shoppers who look at the shelves with their trolleys at 90 degrees across the aisle. Similarly the two 'pals' who meet and chat with both their trolleys blocking the aisle. :brickwall
Like you say, SRH, it's their lack of awareness that is infuriating. They are ignorant in both senses (stupid and/or arrogant).

stuart-farquhar
01-08-2018, 04:37 AM
People who say things like " It's a lot better down here" or other claims:)

01-08-2018, 08:49 AM
Joining polly-pockets with paper clips.

01-08-2018, 08:52 AM

That's a great one. I wholeheartedly concur.

01-08-2018, 10:06 AM

Lever arch files - when the arches get twisted and all the files drop out. FFS, in this day and age, can they not make the arches strong enough to stay operative? If not, invent a new system.
That's where computers come in, I suppose :wink: - i.e. a paperless system.

05-08-2018, 06:39 PM
Unannounced gherkins in anything, especially sandwiches. Seems to be a particular issue over here, where the supermarket sandwich selection is already atrocious . Vinegary, slimy abysmal things that ruin everything they touch. The wasps of the food world.

05-08-2018, 07:06 PM
Unannounced gherkins in anything, especially sandwiches. Seems to be a particular issue over here, where the supermarket sandwich selection is already atrocious . Vinegary, slimy abysmal things that ruin everything they touch. The wasps of the food world.

Found in a mixed pickle jar good, elsewhere bad.

Jay
06-08-2018, 04:59 AM

Unannounced Gherkins made me laugh. :greengrin

Im one of those people who check my food thoroughly before eating, an unannounced gherkin would ruin my day!

06-08-2018, 11:55 AM
BBC & ITV News websites seem to be always providing yesterday's news.
Do they both employ one updater part-time?

06-08-2018, 01:33 PM
Probably say this every year, but....

People who talk about the "Fringe festival".

Rips my knitting....

06-08-2018, 03:19 PM
Radio presenters and DJs who play music without giving the names of the song or the artist before or after the event. I find myself scrambling for my Shazam app. to find out for myself.

06-08-2018, 04:34 PM
Radio presenters and DJs who play music without giving the names of the song or the artist before or after the event. I find myself scrambling for my Shazam app. to find out for myself.

And DJs who speak with that fairground announcer ‘Scream if ya wanna go fasta” voice.

06-08-2018, 05:09 PM

DJ's in general who sound all ****ing cheery and upbeat at 06:00 in the the morning. Just **** off will you!

06-08-2018, 05:58 PM
DJ's in general who sound all ****ing cheery and upbeat at 06:00 in the the morning. Just **** off will you!

My thoughts entirely - that's why I can't stand listening to the radio or tv. Especially during AM.

06-08-2018, 06:58 PM
Train Station

Since the Beeching cuts in 1963, and possibly even before that, America has not been part of our rail network. Why then do people call railway stations train stations? All round the country there are Railway Hotels, not Train Hotels, next to railway stations. And if you can't spell words properly just because they've got a U in them, **** off back to wherever you came from, which is America.

EH6 Hibby
07-08-2018, 08:28 AM
Adults on scooters flying down the pavement. When did this become a thing? I’ve seen about 4 in the last few weeks. All hipster types.

07-08-2018, 10:23 AM
People who start threads and think they've got a scoop when in actual fact if they cared to look they'd find that there are several threads about their 'scoop' already on the go. There's a prime example on the main forum just now. :ostrich:

07-08-2018, 11:21 AM
Train Station

Since the Beeching cuts in 1963, and possibly even before that, America has not been part of our rail network. Why then do people call railway stations train stations? All round the country there are Railway Hotels, not Train Hotels, next to railway stations. And if you can't spell words properly just because they've got a U in them, **** off back to wherever you came from, which is America.

It's the train that becomes stationary at a station, not the railway.

07-08-2018, 03:28 PM
Don't know why, but it really rankles me when Celtc get called "the Hoops". :grr: :brickwall :timebomb:

07-08-2018, 03:53 PM
Don't know why, but it really rankles me when Celtc get called "the Hoops". :grr: :brickwall :timebomb:

That annoys me too.

I think it's because I always imagine it being said in that nasally, exaggerated, almost put on Glasgow accent.

07-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Adults on scooters flying down the pavement. When did this become a thing? I’ve seen about 4 in the last few weeks. All hipster types.

Sweet jesus don't get me started and never move to the continent. Here, it's the go to mode of transport for the man about town, guys in full suits zooming about the place like kids on ritalin between meetings/on their lunch break.

Grim.

07-08-2018, 06:22 PM
Train Station

Trains travel on rails and stop at train stations
Buses travel on the road and stop at bus stations

07-08-2018, 10:19 PM
It's the train that becomes stationary at a station, not the railway.

Trains travel on rails and stop at train stations
Buses travel on the road and stop at bus stations

A station is the thing that trains stop at on the railway. Hence railway station.

A station is not the thing that railways stop at on the train. Hence not train station.

cf Tube station: The tube is what the trains travel through, a sort of underground tunnelly thing, not the thing that passengers sit in.

cf Space station: A place in space, not a place where space stops. :wink:

07-08-2018, 10:56 PM
That annoys me too.

I think it's because I always imagine it being said in that nasally, exaggerated, almost put on Glasgow accent.

To me it sounds smug, cozy and suck-up-their-rsay.
Barffsville :sick:

08-08-2018, 06:27 AM
A station is the thing that trains stop at on the railway. Hence railway station.

A station is not the thing that railways stop at on the train. Hence not train station.

cf Tube station: The tube is what the trains travel through, a sort of underground tunnelly thing, not the thing that passengers sit in.

A bus station is not a place in bus though is it 😃

08-08-2018, 11:08 AM

Most of the London Underground system trains operate on the surface.

Wee point of interest. More tomorrow.

08-08-2018, 02:57 PM
People who ask a simple question on forums when it would be as easy, or easier to look up the answer themselves.

For example, does anyone know when the ticket office opens? or Does anyone know if (enter name here) bar lets kids in before the match?

Simply look it up or phone for the information. And please don't ask for the phone number on a forum, it is lazy.

08-08-2018, 03:01 PM
People who ask a simple question on forums when it would be as easy, or easier to look up the answer themselves.

For example, does anyone know when the ticket office opens? or Does anyone know if (enter name here) bar lets kids in before the match?

Simply look it up or phone for the information. And please don't ask for the phone number on a forum, it is lazy.

I once asked Hibbyradge why he sometimes does this. He replied that he trusts the good posters of Hibs.net more than the Internet itself (or something like that) :greengrin

08-08-2018, 04:23 PM
People who write about themselves in 3rd person.

Absolutely guaranteed to have an hourly Sherman tank over themselves.

08-08-2018, 07:09 PM
People who pronounce Aek by spelling it out.

08-08-2018, 07:47 PM
SJM being anywhere other than at Hibs

09-08-2018, 09:13 AM

Ha ha! I'd say the opposite. Used to do my head in when Tina's ex was apparently playing in Europe! :-)

09-08-2018, 09:20 AM

I think "the tube" is most commonly used to refer to what passengers travel in, not what they travel through.

Space station refers to where people are stationed in space - it's not comparable to commuting. :-)

Galahibby
09-08-2018, 09:47 AM
People (mostly kids/young adults) who speak like Ali G. WTF is that all about? Just heard a KFC advert on the radio and it sounds ridiculous. That's just not a natural accent, they must have to work hard to nail it :confused:

09-08-2018, 11:56 AM
People (mostly kids/young adults) who speak like Ali G. WTF is that all about? Just heard a KFC advert on the radio and it sounds ridiculous. That's just not a natural accent, they must have to work hard to nail it :confused:

:agree: When the say "aks" when they mean "ask".

"Fam" is another idiotic one.

I'm getting old.:greengrin

EH6 Hibby
09-08-2018, 01:06 PM

Is that Twelve nighty niiine one? It sounds awful.

09-08-2018, 02:28 PM
When people post **** like: “Great picture of SDG on Twitter!” then proceed to post neither the picture nor a link to it. Is it really that difficult?

09-08-2018, 03:24 PM
When people post **** like: “Great picture of SDG on Twitter!” then proceed to post neither the picture nor a link to it. Is it really that difficult?

Up there with the whiney - “link isn’t working’ posts that litter these forums. Yes it is, it’s just not a hyperlink - deal accordingly, it’s no hard!

09-08-2018, 03:27 PM
Ha ha! I'd say the opposite. Used to do my head in when Tina's ex was apparently playing in Europe! :-)

Apparently, it's "a-hek", with or without the H.

Our resident Hellenic guy will no doubt put us both right. :greengrin

10-08-2018, 11:04 AM
I think "the tube" is most commonly used to refer to what passengers travel in, not what they travel through.

Space station refers to where people are stationed in space - it's not comparable to commuting. :-)

I usually use it to describe the guy in the suit pushing past everyone as if they're not there to get on, take a seat, and put his bag on the seat next to him.

Although that version is spelled 'choob' :greengrin

Jay
10-08-2018, 11:42 AM
People who get off a bus in front of me and just stop. Where do they think im gonna go?

10-08-2018, 05:08 PM

I was getting really pissed off at Pat Boner for saying it the correct way on the radio the other night - had no idea and thought it was abbreviated 😂

10-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Living abroad and having to say yes instead of aye, a part of my soul dies each time.

10-08-2018, 06:44 PM

"London Underground has been known as the Tube since 1890 due to the shape of the tunnels."

You're right, of course, lazy people with no respect for history or language do now refer to the coaches they sit or stand in as the tube. Apparently 'tube' is more convenient than saying 'underground rolling stock'.

'Shuttle' is a fairly commutingy sort of word, don't you think? :wink:

10-08-2018, 06:51 PM
A bus station is not a place in bus though is it ��

'Bus station' is the outlier here, not 'railway station'.

If railway stations really were train stations, as some people seem to believe, why do Ordnance Survey refer to them as railway stations? :dunno:

10-08-2018, 06:54 PM
I was getting really pissed off at Pat Boner for saying it the correct way on the radio the other night - had no idea and thought it was abbreviated 😂

Pat Boner 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

10-08-2018, 06:58 PM
I like it, yer hoop is yer ******** so they are really the ********s. So so apt
Edit - the ********* are sweary words ending in hole that is another word for sphincter

10-08-2018, 07:18 PM
'Bus station' is the outlier here, not 'railway station'.

If railway stations really were train stations, as some people seem to believe, why do Ordnance Survey refer to them as railway stations? :dunno:

Because the ordnance survey creator was also wrong.

10-08-2018, 07:57 PM
When bags of liquorice allsorts are missing some varieties.

10-08-2018, 08:18 PM
People getting humpty over other posters pet peeves.

10-08-2018, 08:48 PM
When bags of liquorice allsorts are missing some varieties.

Tubes of fruit pastilles with a poor assortment of colours/flavours - too many yellow ones.

10-08-2018, 11:56 PM

According to Wikipedia AEK is an acronym.

11-08-2018, 10:03 AM
Apparently, it's "a-hek", with or without the H.

Our resident Hellenic guy will no doubt put us both right. :greengrin

I'm (fairly) certain it's an acronym. Maybe the pronunciation you refer to is a Greek colloquialism.

11-08-2018, 10:08 AM
"London Underground has been known as the Tube since 1890 due to the shape of the tunnels."

You're right, of course, lazy people with no respect for history or language do now refer to the coaches they sit or stand in as the tube. Apparently 'tube' is more convenient than saying 'underground rolling stock'.

'Shuttle' is a fairly commutingy sort of word, don't you think? :wink:

Astronauts (or cosmonauts) don't travel by shuttle these days. They travel by spacecraft.

Could your peeve be summarised as "the evolution of language"? ;-)

11-08-2018, 10:11 AM
I'm (fairly) certain it's an acronym. Maybe the pronunciation you refer to is a Greek colloquialism.Backtracking a bit, here is a handy guide:-

http://www.aek.com/faq/faqen/faqen.htm#stands

It is an acronym, but produced ah-ek. Like you say, probably a colloquialism. But the "A..E..K" is no more used in common speech or the media AFAIA than WBA or ICT.

I think [emoji38]

11-08-2018, 06:57 PM
Could your peeve be summarised as "the evolution of language"? ;-)
Nah, not against evolution of language. I like a neologism as much as the next man, so long as he's someone who likes a neologism. Virulently against the democratisation of language, however.

11-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Tubes of fruit pastilles with a poor assortment of colours/flavours - too many yellow ones.

And never enough orange ones!

12-08-2018, 07:02 AM
Vegetarians who want to eat “pretend”meat products.

Alfiembra
12-08-2018, 08:43 AM
Online form filling for insurance quotes etc. Spending ages filling in details for the form to keep rejecting things you know you have filled out correctly i.e. occupation. Then when it finally accepts it and you try to proceed to the next page you get a Sorry there seems to be a problem with network at the moment please try again later. :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

12-08-2018, 10:26 AM
Folk who can't leave football at the door at an event that has nothing to do with football.

I've had tickets to see James 3 times and missed them each time so yesterday I went to Party at the Palace to see them. The place was crawling with folk in Hearts tops. Who wears a football top to a music event? Even allowing for them having a game yesterday and people maybe travelling straight from there is taking a change of top or not wearing a strip for one game that hard?

The tops are bad enough but I got stuck behind a guy; late 50s, cheap fake leather jacket, maroon jumper with Hearts crest on it and ill fitting jeans. He screamed Hearts. Anyway Level by Avicii came on, which I think they kind of adopted in 2012, and he was like a bairn at Christmas. 'Stevie, Stevie **** the Hibs eh', 5-1 fingers in the air and flicking his head towards them as though anyone could miss him 'Stevie, look Stevie. Stevie, Stevie 5-1'. Tbf 'Stevie' looked quite embarrassed by the cretin and gave him the kind of smile you would give a younger sibling who was sent out with you by your parents when you are a teenager.

It wasn't just Hearts fans either. Small groups trying to start Hibs, Rangers and Celtic songs too, that tended to be at the station or walking up the road afterwards though. I love football banter but there's a time and place. Is it really so hard to enjoy a day of music, a few beer and have a laugh without announcing to the world you support a football team.

vein
12-08-2018, 11:19 AM
Folk who can't leave football at the door at an event that has nothing to do with football.

I've had tickets to see James 3 times and missed them each time so yesterday I went to Party at the Palace to see them. The place was crawling with folk in Hearts tops. Who wears a football top to a music event? Even allowing for them having a game yesterday and people maybe travelling straight from there is taking a change of top or not wearing a strip for one game that hard?

The tops are bad enough but I got stuck behind a guy; late 50s, cheap fake leather jacket, maroon jumper with Hearts crest on it and ill fitting jeans. He screamed Hearts. Anyway Level by Avicii came on, which I think they kind of adopted in 2012, and he was like a bairn at Christmas. 'Stevie, Stevie **** the Hibs eh', 5-1 fingers in the air and flicking his head towards them as though anyone could miss him 'Stevie, look Stevie. Stevie, Stevie 5-1'. Tbf 'Stevie' looked quite embarrassed by the cretin and gave him the kind of smile you would give a younger sibling who was sent out with you by your parents when you are a teenager.

It wasn't just Hearts fans either. Small groups trying to start Hibs, Rangers and Celtic songs too, that tended to be at the station or walking up the road afterwards though. I love football banter but there's a time and place. Is it really so hard to enjoy a day of music, a few beer and have a laugh without announcing to the world you support a football team.

I was there too but never noticed all the football tops apart from one guy in a Liverpool top, I was maybe standing at a better bit!

Pet peeve would be that self indulgent set list from James last night. I can get a lack of crowd pleasers at a James gig but that was a festival where the majority were crying out for the hits. Was really disappointed with them.

12-08-2018, 11:29 AM
I was there too but never noticed all the football tops apart from one guy in a Liverpool top, I was maybe standing at a better bit!

Pet peeve would be that self indulgent set list from James last night. I can get a lack of crowd pleasers at a James gig but that was a festival where the majority were crying out for the hits. Was really disappointed with them.

I didn't mind it too much as I really like the new album and some of their more 'obscure' stuff but I know what you are saying. A festival crowd expects the hits, you saw the reaction when they played Laid, and it never really came.

I thought Cast were the pick of the bunch yesterday. Couple of new songs, few that most knew and a solid 55 minutes or so.

12-08-2018, 11:39 AM
Opening a bag of crisps and the bag splits

vein
12-08-2018, 11:39 AM
I didn't mind it too much as I really like the new album and some of their more 'obscure' stuff but I know what you are saying. A festival crowd expects the hits, you saw the reaction when they played Laid, and it never really came.

I thought Cast were the pick of the bunch yesterday. Couple of new songs, few that most knew and a solid 55 minutes or so.

Agree with that, Cast were really good, they were probably the band I was looking forward to the most. Shocked you didn’t mention mel c’s ‘dj’ set though 😂

About to set off now for day 2 in the rain, so there’s abother peeve, rain at festivals!! Peter hook is the one I’m looking forward to the most today.

12-08-2018, 11:53 AM
Online form filling for insurance quotes etc. Spending ages filling in details for the form to keep rejecting things you know you have filled out correctly i.e. occupation. Then when it finally accepts it and you try to proceed to the next page you get a Sorry there seems to be a problem with network at the moment please try again later. :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

This - in bags - for anything you have to fill in on line.

My pet peeve is when they give you a list of options and none apply to your situation yet you have to select one to move on to the next page. How hard is it to have a tick box for "other"?

12-08-2018, 12:30 PM

Not just pastilles - find this with jelly babies, jelly beans etc etc. Always a preponderance of yellow ones and a lack of orange ones.

12-08-2018, 12:37 PM
Vegetarians who want to eat “pretend”meat products.

I find vegetarian haggis is better than meat haggis.

My son doesn't eat meat but he loves a lasagne and I use soy mince or Quorn mince. It's less oily than meat mince and you can bump up the flavour with herbs and spices.

Similarly vegetarian Cumberland sausages are very good and actually have a decent flavour.

We don't really use any other 'like meat' products, but veggie mince and sausages lend themselves to a number of dishes, especially the kind of comfort food that kids like.

On a different note, I made lasagne for a friend who is coeliac. Used gram flour for the bechamel, to make the cheese sauce and it worked better then plain flour and the taste was fine.

12-08-2018, 09:44 PM

James rarely play a set of hits, festival or not. Tim Booth is quite open about it on Twitter.

As a huge fan, I don't really mind but I can see why folk would be disappointed.

vein
12-08-2018, 11:15 PM
James rarely play a set of hits, festival or not. Tim Booth is quite open about it on Twitter.

As a huge fan, I don't really mind but I can see why folk would be disappointed.

Yeah they told me the same on twitter when they picked up on my tweet moaning about them last night. We have made up now but and are going to call our first born Jim 😄.

Peter hook was unreal today but Texas were different class, sharleen spiteri is a very funny lady!

12-08-2018, 11:28 PM
I find vegetarian haggis is better than meat haggis.

My son doesn't eat meat but he loves a lasagne and I use soy mince or Quorn mince. It's less oily than meat mince and you can bump up the flavour with herbs and spices.

Similarly vegetarian Cumberland sausages are very good and actually have a decent flavour.

We don't really use any other 'like meat' products, but veggie mince and sausages lend themselves to a number of dishes, especially the kind of comfort food that kids like.

On a different note, I made lasagne for a friend who is coeliac. Used gram flour for the bechamel, to make the cheese sauce and it worked better then plain flour and the taste was fine.
Vegetarian haggis is delicious. I’m not a vegetarian, but I definitely recommend giving it a try.

pollution
13-08-2018, 11:31 AM
Censorship of any kind.

13-08-2018, 02:41 PM
Censorship of any kind.

Child pornography?

13-08-2018, 03:33 PM
Alleged homeless people that sit and beg, especially those that sit next to ATM's. There was one outside the Co-op on ER before the Motherwell game was asking for £20 off people for a bed for the night. When a woman went to the ATM he upped it to £70. Aye, like thats ever going to happen. *****in chancer!