View Full Version : Yams The generic Hearts thread
15-07-2020, 12:36 PM
Director Of Football Advice has a nice ring to it. Its very different to Director Of Football & you only need tippex the 'Advice" part off his office door sign when he gets the gig full time.They really only need to fill the Footballing Advice Director role as well and they're pretty much back to normal.
Any candidates who might work with Jim here? I'll go for his Doppelganger, Peter Griffin. He'd probably have done a better job of the stand as well
15-07-2020, 12:37 PM
Great to see Hibs legend JJ back at Tynecastle.
15-07-2020, 12:37 PM
What role is he in if not Director of football?
Actually think a decent appointment.
Prob in charge of the shop since he seems to be in there a lot?😁
15-07-2020, 12:56 PM
Given the time pressures and escalating costs of the ongoing challenge to our relegation we have decided to put our recruitment process on hold for now," the club said. "Such an important appointment deserves our full focus and uninterrupted attention, which, right now, is simply not possible."
They seem blind to the fact that they are solely responsible for the "escalating cots" of legal action and that they'd have plenty of time to give this appointment their full focus if they hadn't embarked on such action.
Interesting that they’re now referring to their relegation properly.
15-07-2020, 01:02 PM
Prob in charge of the shop since he seems to be in there a lot?😁
"Every time his telephone rings, the man in the changing room gets his wings"
15-07-2020, 01:24 PM
The Edinburgh clubs are both so different. Hibs being the progressive club, always exploring new and exciting ventures. Hearts, stuck in the past, droning on about derby records years ago under Wallet Mercenary, bringing back Levein, Neilson Jefferies umpteen times, trying desperately to sign Sam bloody Nicholson etc. No wonder the youth are swaying towards Hibs in large numbers. You'd be embarrassed to support that boring little Championship club. Even their colours are boring. They really are the burgundy Volvo 740 of the football world.
15-07-2020, 03:33 PM
Maybe it’s Jim Jeffries The Comedian
Trying to lighten the Mood
15-07-2020, 04:10 PM
The Edinburgh clubs are both so different. Hibs being the progressive club, always exploring new and exciting ventures. Hearts, stuck in the past, droning on about derby records years ago under Wallet Mercenary, bringing back Levein, Neilson Jefferies umpteen times, trying desperately to sign Sam bloody Nicholson etc. No wonder the youth are swaying towards Hibs in large numbers. You'd be embarrassed to support that boring little Championship club. Even their colours are boring. They really are the burgundy Volvo 740 of the football world.
Are large numbers of youths swaying to Hibs? I'd love it to be true but we would need some kind of evidence to back that claim up.
Flanny boy
15-07-2020, 04:27 PM
The Edinburgh clubs are both so different. Hibs being the progressive club, always exploring new and exciting ventures. Hearts, stuck in the past, droning on about derby records years ago under Wallet Mercenary, bringing back Levein, Neilson Jefferies umpteen times, trying desperately to sign Sam bloody Nicholson etc. No wonder the youth are swaying towards Hibs in large numbers. You'd be embarrassed to support that boring little Championship club. Even their colours are boring. They really are the burgundy Volvo 740 of the football world. Aye but but they are really big and really famous don’t you know 😆
15-07-2020, 04:36 PM
Are large numbers of youths swaying to Hibs? I'd love it to be true but we would need some kind of evidence to back that claim up.
If any young person likes wearing maroon polyester then that’s up to them, but they won’t get much action.
Roxyhibee
15-07-2020, 04:58 PM
Great to see Hibs legend JJ back at Tynecastle.
Has taken some kickings from Hibs over the years: 7-0 / 6-2 / 3-0, that’s
16-2 in just three games alone. And quite a few others throughout the 1970’s against the Tornadoes. Welcome back Jim.
15-07-2020, 05:08 PM
16-2 in just three games alone. And quite a few others throughout the 1970’s against the Tornadoes. Welcome back Jim.
And a 5-1 cup final too. :greengrin
Tom Hart RIP
15-07-2020, 05:10 PM
Missed out the 5-1 League Cup final as Killie manager
15-07-2020, 05:20 PM
JJ is there to take the heat.He knows that so the pocket money will come in handy.
Roxyhibee
15-07-2020, 05:48 PM
And a 5-1 cup final too. :greengrin
Ahh, always forget that one.! 👍🇳🇬
15-07-2020, 06:34 PM
Best flumps manager in my lifetime by some distance. Nice guy too. Back at the club he loves at a ripe old age. Well done him.
Anyway back to the legal challenge thread so I can go back to ridiculing them.
15-07-2020, 11:31 PM
Manager of Killie in our 5-1 LC truimph as well.
16-07-2020, 07:31 AM
In all fairness, they did try with Cathro. It didn’t work so they went for the tried and tested.
Tried and tested got them relegated, so good luck with that Hearts.
16-07-2020, 07:38 AM
Best flumps manager in my lifetime by some distance. Nice guy too. Back at the club he loves at a ripe old age. Well done him.
Anyway back to the legal challenge thread so I can go back to ridiculing them.
My thoughts too.
16-07-2020, 12:57 PM
Ian Murray, MP on Scottish News calling for a review of Scottish Football led by fans. The bold Jambo says that the ‘ the COVID crisis has shone a very bright light on the governance of the Scottish game on individual clubs, on fan’s contribution to keeping clubs going and a really good time for Scottish football to reflect on the clubs themselves, the national game from the national team down to grass roots and once and for all do something about it.’
Only one thing has rattled his cage and we all know what that is. :jamboclow
Brummie_Hibs
16-07-2020, 01:04 PM
I'm all for a review of Scottish football, but it should start next season.
16-07-2020, 01:04 PM
Hearts new director makes reference to Hibs in first interview.
Well there's a surprise!
16-07-2020, 01:06 PM
sums up how I see it. Every single thing about that club is dour
16-07-2020, 01:09 PM
Well there's a surprise!
Was that to say how well we are coping and dealing with matters in the present crisis?
16-07-2020, 01:09 PM
Well there's a surprise!
Of course he does
They’re absolutely obsessed at hearts with all things hibs. So much so that they’ve taken their eye off the ball and got relegated.
Ian Murray, MP on Scottish News calling for a review of Scottish Football led by fans. The bold Jambo says that the ‘ the COVID crisis has shone a very bright light on the governance of the Scottish game on individual clubs, on fan’s contribution to keeping clubs going and a really good time for Scottish football to reflect on the clubs themselves, the national game from the national team down to grass roots and once and for all do something about it.’
If he's another one that's saying there should be a commissioner making the decisions I'd argue the decision to end the league based on ppg was correct, the decision to promote and relegate vs no promotion or relegation was correct and no reconstruction, albeit harsh on 3 clubs, was the best decision for more clubs than reconstruction would have been. It would have been very likely commissioner that a commissioner would have made the same decisions so we would have still had all the same people squealing about the same things and wanting change to the governance.
I'd say having a commissioner would probably lead to more disputes and court cases/arbitration because what we have now is a democractic process rather than an autocracy. No doubt there would be more calls for suspensions/sackings/investigations from the likes of Rangers and Hearts when they don't get their way.
The one thing change that would improve things is the 11-1 vote in the Premiership but that doesn’t suit Celtic and Rangers so probably unlikely to be changed.
16-07-2020, 01:15 PM
Well there's a surprise!
What did he say?
16-07-2020, 01:24 PM
Was that to say how well we are coping and dealing with matters in the present crisis?
Well, obviously!
"I very much admire the businesslike way Hibs have handled this unprecedented crisis. They have been very discrete, approaching players and members of staff in private, without attempting to use undue pressure, and threats of obscure rules, in an effort to get them to lower their wages to help the club see out the rest of the season.
I am particularly impressed with the professional manner in which they have avoided making public statements, which we all know has the danger of allowing emotion to override logic.
Their supporters have stepped up to the plate and bought Season Tickets in large numbers, purely for the love of their club. That, and the donations from HSL, are very admirable."
...are among the many complimentary things about Hibs that he didn't actually say.
16-07-2020, 01:27 PM
What did he say?
'Jefferies admitted that it was “unfortunate” and “sad” that players, coaches and staff at clubs across Scotland (https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/homenews/) have lost their jobs and had to accept wage reductions as a result of the Covid-19 crisis.
But he said: “The onus is still on putting a team on the pitch. Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.
“Okay, some players have had to depart. Hearts, Hibs and other clubs have done that. It is easy to have a go at clubs for doing that. How can they do this? How can they do that? They have got a point." '
Herald (https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18585316.jim-jefferies-insists-hearts-make-cuts-order-strengthen-squad-premiership-push/)
16-07-2020, 01:30 PM
'Jefferies admitted that it was “unfortunate” and “sad” that players, coaches and staff at clubs across Scotland (https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/homenews/) have lost their jobs and had to accept wage reductions as a result of the Covid-19 crisis.
But he said: “The onus is still on putting a team on the pitch. Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.
“Okay, some players have had to depart. Hearts, Hibs and other clubs have done that. It is easy to have a go at clubs for doing that. How can they do this? How can they do that? They have got a point." '
Herald (https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18585316.jim-jefferies-insists-hearts-make-cuts-order-strengthen-squad-premiership-push/)I don't see anything wrong with what he said.
16-07-2020, 01:34 PM
Herald (https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18585316.jim-jefferies-insists-hearts-make-cuts-order-strengthen-squad-premiership-push/)Maybe JJ's got a point, IF we are doing it this way, it's surely better and more ethical and business like than stiffing millions of Lithuanian pensioners, the NHS, HMRC and assorted Scottish charities like the Macraes Battalion trust and the Lady Haig poppy fund just to spend it on wages for footballers you couldn't otherwise afford?
16-07-2020, 01:34 PM
Any review should focus on the self-serving sanctimonious attitude of Budge and how to prevent the damage she’s caused happening again.
16-07-2020, 01:35 PM
I don't see anything wrong with what he said.
Nobody knows what cuts Hbs are making and it's certainly not for him to comment. Why not speak about what Hearts are doing?
And this - "Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team." - he's stirring it.
16-07-2020, 01:37 PM
In isolation, no.
I can't disagree with the points he was making. However, why specifically did he feel he had to mention Hibs? If it was a one-off, it wouldn't be so strange, but this is almost a compulsory part of an interview with any new signing at Hearts.
Sign new manager? "He has had a great record, especially against the new Hibs manager"
Sign new player? "The first thing they drummed into me was how important it is to beat Hibs"
Sign new Director? "Yeah, we had to lay off staff, but so did Hibs!"
16-07-2020, 01:42 PM
Nobody knows what cuts Hbs are making and it's certainly not for him to comment. Why not speak about what Hearts are doing?
And this - "Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team." - he's stirring it.This.
Commisioners will never work in the SPFL for the simple reason two clubs will want to know where they went to school second guessing their mindedness....
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Jakhog1
16-07-2020, 01:52 PM
They cannot help themselves, always have to get wee digs in to Hibs, for such tiny little minds, we take up a lot of space there
16-07-2020, 02:05 PM
Why mention Hibs at all? Why not clubs in general?
16-07-2020, 02:10 PM
Did they not pay off staff at the beginning of the crisis?
16-07-2020, 02:12 PM
Jeffries is just the latest tool being used by Budge's grand deflection operation. Her target audience will lap it up and continue to support her despite her obvious failings, whilst the rest of us should just ignore anything they have to say just now which isn't an apology.
16-07-2020, 02:37 PM
Jeffries is just the latest tool being used by Budge's grand deflection operation. Her target audience will lap it up and continue to support her despite her obvious failings, whilst the rest of us should just ignore anything they have to say just now which isn't an apology.
Apology? From them?! Lol you will waiting a while.
16-07-2020, 02:42 PM
One of the finest Full Backs to wear the muddy sort of Broon jobby like colour. an if you know your history.......
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
EI255
16-07-2020, 04:11 PM
Ian Murray throwing his dummy tit out the pram now. Whatever next? Go ram yer party and yer sad little team.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
16-07-2020, 04:26 PM
JJ quote:
”Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.”
All this just to endear yourself to them by reinforcing their siege mentality and talking keek! He has no idea the cuts made at our club. Complete tool and has lost any goodwill from me. Twat!
JJ quote:
”Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.”
All this just to endear yourself to them by reinforcing their siege mentality and talking keek! He has no idea the cuts made at our club. Complete tool and has lost any goodwill from me. Twat!
He's a hypocrite just like Budge and the rest of them.
If he's another one that's saying there should be a commissioner making the decisions I'd argue the decision to end the league based on ppg was correct, the decision to promote and relegate vs no promotion or relegation was correct and no reconstruction, albeit harsh on 3 clubs, was the best decision for more clubs than reconstruction would have been. It would have been very likely commissioner that a commissioner would have made the same decisions so we would have still had all the same people squealing about the same things and wanting change to the governance.
I'd say having a commissioner would probably lead to more disputes and court cases/arbitration because what we have now is a democractic process rather than an autocracy. No doubt there would be more calls for suspensions/sackings/investigations from the likes of Rangers and Hearts when they don't get their way.
The one thing change that would improve things is the 11-1 vote in the Premiership but that doesn’t suit Celtic and Rangers so probably unlikely to be changed.
Just as I thought, suggesting a commissioner. Interview at 44.25. More squealing.
https://youtu.be/H8b9XwPrVQM
16-07-2020, 04:37 PM
JJ quote:
We think guys with so much experience in Scottish football have the inside track in what’s going on at Scottish clubs when in truth all this quote shows is that this fossil gets his news from the Daily Record. Time for a cup of tea and a nap Jim.
16-07-2020, 04:43 PM
JJ quote:
That is where I am JJ is a rabid Jambo and I wish him good health but hope his time at Hearts is nothing other than miserable.
16-07-2020, 05:00 PM
That is where I am JJ is a rabid Jambo and I wish him good health but hope his time at Hearts is nothing other than miserable.
Well if the experience of Chuckies previous toyboy was anything to go by he's in for a miserable time.
16-07-2020, 05:04 PM
I’m absolutely delighted to hear folk having a go at Jeffries as I could never understand the regard and respect some Hibbys had for him. He is a Jambo tosser of the first order.
16-07-2020, 05:07 PM
I’m absolutely delighted to hear folk having a go at Jeffries as I could never understand the regard and respect some Hibbys had for him. He is a Jambo tosser of the first order.
:agree: my auld man disliked him with a passion, never ever gave credit to hibs if they beat his poxy team, then again he rarely gave any opposition team credit for beating heartz
16-07-2020, 05:09 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53430255
"Jim Goodwin's side only avoided relegation in last term's curtailed top flight with a 1-0 win over Hearts in the final game in March."
Weren't St Mirren already a few points clear of Hearts before the last game? They certainly didn't 'only avoid relegation' by winning it.
16-07-2020, 05:10 PM
100% agree. He is a greetin faced Jambo prick who never has a good word to say about Hibs. Not once can I ever remember him saying we deserved to beat any of his team's and always had some sort of excuse, be it ref, weather, pitch anything. Don't wish him ill health but I hope he has a thoroughly miserable time back at Tinycastle.
16-07-2020, 05:13 PM
:agree: my auld man disliked him with a passion, never ever gave credit to hibs if they beat his poxy team, then again he rarely gave any opposition team credit for beating heartz
7-0, 6-2 and 5-1. He endured a lot of humiliation at the hands of Hibs so I guess he's entitled to feel a bit resentful towards us.
16-07-2020, 05:18 PM
"Jim Goodwin's side only avoided relegation in last term's curtailed top flight with a 1-0 win over Hearts in the final game in March."
Weren't St Mirren already a few points clear of Hearts before the last game? They certainly didn't 'only avoid relegation' by winning it.
St Mirren were already one point above Hearts and beating them made it four.
Even if they'd drawn, they still would have been fine.
Cat Stanton
16-07-2020, 05:21 PM
Indeed. Off The Ball once had a competition to come up with the least likely thing a Scottish football manager would ever say. And this was because Jeffries - when at Killie, I think? - actually said something positive about the opposition team having played well. Everyone was so flabbergasted that the miserable, moany old badstart had - for the only time - given the opposition some credit, that it was the subject of the weekly competition.
I remember this because I won it!
16-07-2020, 05:22 PM
7-0, 6-2 and 5-1. He endured a lot of humiliation at the hands of Hibs so I guess he's entitled to feel a bit resentful towards us.
there is that of course 😅
Embarrassing how easily they all fall into line thanks to a wee dig at Hibs. It's pathetic how the simpletons lap it up and forget about all the failures that have immediately preceded. Levein bought himself another 12 months by just slipping in a wee comment here and there.
16-07-2020, 05:23 PM
Indeed. Off The Ball once had a competition to come up with the least likely thing a Scottish football manager would ever say. And this was because Jeffries - when at Killie, I think? - actually said something positive about the opposition team having played well. Everyone was so flabbergasted that the miserable, moany old badstart had - for the only time - given the opposition some credit, that it was the subject of the weekly competition.
What was your entry?
Bobby Williamson - "nah, you're alright, I don't like pies"
St Mirren were already one point above Hearts and beating them made it four.
Even if they'd drawn, they still would have been fine.
They were actually 3 points ahead. I think Hearts would have needed to win by two clear goals to go above them by virtue of goals scored.
Cat Stanton
16-07-2020, 05:49 PM
What was your entry?
Bobby Williamson - "nah, you're alright, I don't like pies"
Something about Paul Le Guen - who'd just left Rangers - being miserable in Paris because he was missing Govan too much.
But that wasn't really the point of my post - more that Jeffries was a well recognised miserable old *****...
16-07-2020, 06:05 PM
They were actually 3 points ahead. I think Hearts would have needed to win by two clear goals to go above them by virtue of goals scored.
Somebody's having flashbacks to 1986.
16-07-2020, 08:55 PM
congrats :greengrin
16-07-2020, 09:03 PM
Murray back on tonight on The Nine programme expanding on his investigation demands, the girl interviewing him suggesting he might be motivated by the Jambo situation. He denied this, saying the arbitration case will be finalised before any independent inquiry would begin. He did, however, get his bit in about being sick at the way Hearts were being treated and even had the nerve to say that Martin Geissler, one of the presenters of the BBC programme would be as sick as he was. Sure as fate, Geissler took the opportunity to concur with Murray that he definitely was sick about Hearts treatment. What is it with the BBC and Hearts?
16-07-2020, 09:15 PM
Murray back on tonight on The Nine programme expanding on his investigation demands, the girl interviewing him suggesting he might be motivated by the Jambo situation. He denied this, saying the arbitration case will be finalised before any independent inquiry would begin. He did, however, get his bit in about being sick at the way Hearts were being treated and even had the nerve to say that Martin Geissler, one of the presenters of the BBC programme would be as sick as he was. Sure as fate, Geissler took the opportunity to concur with Murray that he definitely was sick about Hearts treatment. What is it with the BBC and Hearts?
Utterly sickening to be honest.
Just shows the cronyism in that basically corrupt organisation
KingPat4
16-07-2020, 09:19 PM
The BBC welt actually said that Scottish football fans should see further than the colour of their scarf.
They're sick. Not to be knocked.
16-07-2020, 09:55 PM
The BBC welt actually said that Scottish football fans should see further than the colour of their scarf.
What they lack in self awareness they make up for with arrogance and entitlement.
16-07-2020, 10:23 PM
Utterly sickening to be honest.
Just shows the cronyism in that basically corrupt organisation
MG is a hearts ST holder.
17-07-2020, 07:00 AM
What they lack in self awareness they make up for with arrogance and entitlement.
All because they can’t accept relegation with any grace or humility.
17-07-2020, 07:11 AM
Couldn't really care what Jim Jefferies says. Just find it amusing that the first thing new Hearts employees do is talk about Hibs
17-07-2020, 07:17 AM
Martin Geissler is a hearts supporter. Of course he would agree.
17-07-2020, 07:23 AM
Couldn't really care what Jim Jefferies says. Just find it amusing that the first thing new Hearts employees do is talk about Hibs
It’s part of their criteria.
17-07-2020, 07:27 AM
Martin Geissler is a hearts supporter. Of course he would agree.
Of course he would. But if he was talking to someone from the SNP about independence and then concurred with them he would be criticised for not being neutral.
I know this is not the same level but the point about neutrality still stands. It’s not his platform to express an opinion.
17-07-2020, 08:19 AM
See the post below sticking to the Romanov narrative
"Posted Wednesday at 12:04
Hibs are not rivals.
They're a minor annoyance once every so often.
They've given us so much joy over the years.
And so many points.
And one Big Cup."
He is indeed correct their rivals are Alloa and Arbroath :aok:
17-07-2020, 08:49 AM
See the post below sticking to the Romanov narrative
"Posted Wednesday at 12:04
Hibs are not rivals.
They're a minor annoyance once every so often.
They've given us so much joy over the years.
And so many points.
And one Big Cup."
He is indeed correct their rivals are Alloa and Arbroath :aok:
Remember when they said they'd outgrown us and their main rivals were now Celtic? How did that work out? They're as relevant to Celtic as Peterhead are and their local derby is now against Dunfermline in the 2nd tier of Scottish football
17-07-2020, 09:53 AM
Remember when they said they'd outgrown us and their main rivals were now Celtic? How did that work out? They're as relevant to Celtic as Peterhead are and their local derby is now against Dunfermline in the 2nd tier of Scottish football
They already have 'The M8 Alliance' with Partick Thistle, so maybe we should call that..
...'The M90/A823(M) Derby'
Admittedly it's not particularly catchy.
17-07-2020, 10:01 AM
Poor Dunfermline, they do not deserve to be in the same sentence as the jumbos!
Hillsidehibby
17-07-2020, 10:20 AM
I wish Dunfermline was our local Derby. I'm quite jealous. Always liked an away day to the pars.
17-07-2020, 10:21 AM
I wish Dunfermline was our local Derby. I'm quite jealous. Always liked an away day to the pars.
What about the joys of a trip to Livi?
Hillsidehibby
17-07-2020, 10:38 AM
What about the joys of a trip to Livi?
The joys! :greengrin
17-07-2020, 11:21 AM
Hope Dunfermline get promoted next season.
17-07-2020, 11:24 AM
As I understand it, Jim Jeffries is a decent guy.
The problem - as with so many of them - is when he puts his hearts hat on he turns into a completely entitled twat, lacking self awareness, and having (completely unfounded) sense of superiority.
It all comes from years of sooking at the tit of other peoples cash and thinking that they "have to win as they are bigger" - this was their downfall in the League Cup Final v St Mirren which really made me chuckle.
Jim has, thankfully, been part of many great days as far as Hibs are concerned so his consultancy at the white elephant dome can only be good news.
HFC93
17-07-2020, 01:51 PM
Five million lol.
17-07-2020, 01:55 PM
£5m 😂😂
For comparison, the Dutch league came to an out of court settlement for compensation of €425,000 with Cambuur when they were denied their place in the top tier.
Five million lol.
Good to see rumours on Kicknowt-tillOcotober being treated with the respect they deserve.
I read it as 4/5 million not 4-5 million.
17-07-2020, 02:09 PM
I read it as 4/5 million not 4-5 million.
Could it be £4–5 million, which is about £977?
17-07-2020, 02:33 PM
Could it be £4–5 million, which is about £977?
Even then, they’d be lucky.
Tom Hart RIP
18-07-2020, 12:30 PM
Just listened to Kyle Lafferty's interview on the Si Ferry podcast so apologies if previously mentioned.
Lafferty had no intention of signing for Hearts and only went to Tynecastle as a favour to Austin McPhee who kept on at him during international duty.
He was with Norwich so didn't want to drop too much in wages so when he gave them his demands Levein/Budge told him it was ridiculous as it was more than Rangers and Celtic were paying.
After four days of negotiating and after he spoke to Neil Lennon, they offered him even more than he had asked for.
His wages at Tynecastle were so high he had to take a wage drop to go to Rangers.
Luckily for them he did well and they would have got their money back when they sold him but no wonder they get into financial difficulties.
18-07-2020, 01:09 PM
Just listened to Kyle Lafferty's interview on the Si Ferry podcast so apologies if previously mentioned.
Lafferty had no intention of signing for Hearts and only went to Tynecastle as a favour to Austin McPhee who kept on at him during international duty.
He was with Norwich so didn't want to drop too much in wages so when he gave them his demands Levein/Budge told him it was ridiculous as it was more than Rangers and Celtic were paying.
After four days of negotiating and after he spoke to Neil Lennon, they offered him even more than he had asked for.
His wages at Tynecastle were so high he had to take a wage drop to go to Rangers.
Luckily for them he did well and they would have got their money back when they sold him but no wonder they get into financial difficulties.
Further proof that they are obsessed by us.
18-07-2020, 01:19 PM
Wow an absolute basket case of a club.
I thought the story was that he stood Lennon up so never even spoke to him.
Sounds like they're so obsessed about losing out to us on a player, because the fans would get their knickers in a twist, that they'll offer silly money to get them. That explains why Robbie Neilson lied about Hearts making an offer for Nisbet.
Tom Hart RIP
18-07-2020, 02:17 PM
[QUOTE=007;6238627]I thought the story was the he stood Lennon up so never even spoke to him
Lafferty spent 4 days at Tynecastle negotiating. His agent told him of Hibs interest and he spoke to Neil Lennon on the phone but NL was unavailable to meet as he was in Mallorca at a golf event. When NL got back the Hearts deal had still not been completed so Lafferty phoned NL and arranged to meet at the HTC the following day.
To Laffertys surprise Hearts agreed to his demands so he didn’t go to meet NL who was waiting at the HTC with Laffertys lawyer who had travelled from Ireland to attend the meeting with Hibs.
18-07-2020, 02:42 PM
That kind of backs up a story I heard about Budge and her negotiating skills.
Before she got involved with Hearts she bought a property not far from my house . It needed a lot of work before she moved in , and one of the last jobs was she wanted her office lined in teak and a teak desk and bookcase.
A friend of mine who worked for a bespoke outfitting contractor met Budge to estimate the job. He reckoned she was so full of herself but obviously didn’t know what she was talking about.
My friend says he quoted her a price with a 100% mark up and Budge accepted it without a quibble .
My friend reckons that job alone covered his annual bonus. :cb
18-07-2020, 03:01 PM
That kind of backs up a story I heard about Budge and her negotiating skills.
Before she got involved with Hearts she bought a property not far from my house . It needed a lot of work before she moved in , and one of the last jobs was she wanted her office lined in teak and a teak desk and bookcase.
A friend of mine who worked for a bespoke outfitting contractor met Budge to estimate the job. He reckoned she was so full of herself but obviously didn’t know what she was talking about.
My friend says he quoted her a price with a 100% mark up and Budge accepted it without a quibble .
My friend reckons that job alone covered his annual bonus. :cb
Probably Anderson payed for that too!
18-07-2020, 03:08 PM
Luckily for them he did well and they would have got their money back when they sold him but no wonder they get into financial difficulties.If I was a jambo I'd pay attention to what a good Hearts leg end like big Kyle (as my family yam affectionately calls him) has to say, but they won't, and it's terrific to hear how their money is being used. A great insight.
We really should appreciate the Levein Budge combination more than we do.
MagicSwirlingShip
18-07-2020, 06:01 PM
If he was at Hearts for four days but only arranged to see us once talks stalled, it sounds to me like he used prospective talks with us to get the deal over the line with Hearts. Played them like a fiddle.
I’m glad. One of those players I can’t ever picture in a Hibs strip
18-07-2020, 06:12 PM
If he was at Hearts for four days but only arranged to see us once talks stalled, it sounds to me like he used prospective talks with us to get the deal over the line with Hearts. Played them like a fiddle.
I’m glad. One of those players I can’t ever picture in a Hibs strip
Poor mans Kamberi.
18-07-2020, 10:09 PM
Oh, so finishing 12th does mean relegation? Glad to have that cleared up.
Greenfly
18-07-2020, 11:04 PM
Oh, so finishing 12th does mean relegation? Glad to have that cleared up.
Just one point clear I think. If Hearts had won it they'd have gone clear of St.Mirren ... I'm still grinning.
19-07-2020, 12:22 AM
Just one point clear I think. If Hearts had won it they'd have gone clear of St.Mirren ... I'm still grinning.
St Mirren were 3 points clear. Hearts needed to win by two goals to leap frog them on goal difference.
19-07-2020, 06:21 AM
But then Hearts would have taken the SPFL to court if they were prevented from playing the Playoff match, in their pursuit of fairness of course :cb
Caversham Green
19-07-2020, 07:58 AM
St Mirren were 3 points clear. Hearts needed to win by two goals to leap frog them on goal difference.
Actually, 1-0 would have done it on goals scored. Hearts were on -20 goal difference, Saints were on -18. A 1-0 win for Hearts would have made it -19 each and Hearts would have scored 32 goals against Saints 24.
19-07-2020, 08:06 AM
The deal that Lafferty signed with Hearts required him to pay them £250,000 at the end of the season if he wasn't sold for a profit.
19-07-2020, 09:45 AM
The deal that Lafferty signed with Hearts required him to pay them £250,000 at the end of the season if he wasn't sold for a profit.
Thats shoooorly nonsense.
I'm not even sure if Hertz paid a fee for him.
Greenfly
19-07-2020, 02:01 PM
I'm happy to be corrected and I'm still grinning about it.
19-07-2020, 02:25 PM
Not with the wages he was on. He told the story himself recently.
19-07-2020, 06:58 PM
I'm happy to be corrected and I'm still grinning about it.
Actually as another poster pointed out, a 1-0 Hearts win would have taken them off the bottom on goals scored which is even more pleasing. Hearts would have then demanded the play offs be played as unfair on the championship teams.
20-07-2020, 07:55 AM
I was just scrolling through the comments on the BBC site on the recent sacking of Nigel Pearson from Watford and came across this...
And you know it's real.
20-07-2020, 08:00 AM
Well, it's what Lafferty has said, but I suppose that doesn't rule out it being nonsense.
They didn't pay a fee for him.
20-07-2020, 08:20 AM
Well, it's what Lafferty has said, but I suppose that doesn't rule out it being nonsense.
They didn't pay a fee for him.
Ive now watched the podcast and it was a brave offer from lafferty of £250 if they didn't receive an offer of at least that much after 1 season. I especially liked the story of him jamie walker and big Isma being force fed whisky the night before a game while being told by a wee laddie they would score 75 goals between them 😁😁
20-07-2020, 08:58 AM
I was just scrolling through the comments on the BBC site on the recent sacking of Nigel Pearson from Watford and came across this...
And you know it's real.
Planet Jambo must be some place
20-07-2020, 09:32 AM
Ive now watched the podcast and it was a brave offer from lafferty of £250 if they didn't receive an offer of at least that much after 1 season. I especially liked the story of him jamie walker and big Isma being force fed whisky the night before a game while being told by a wee laddie they would score 75 goals between them 😁😁
I feel a bit sorry for Cathro. He's clearly a talented coach but doesn't have the attributes to be the main man. I said at the time that taking the Hearts job was a mistake. I wonder how he world have fared starting as a manager down south or abroad.
20-07-2020, 11:02 AM
Have the jumbos started back training yet, I dont think they have?
Reason being whats the plan with the Arbitration meeting this week, basically depending on the outcome they cant expect to start playing in the premier in 2 weeks?
So they have accepted their fate and this whole carry on is to determine what compensation they get?
20-07-2020, 11:03 AM
Have the jumbos started back training yet, I dont think they have?
Reason being whats the plan with the Arbitration meeting this week, basically depending on the outcome they cant expect to start playing in the premier in 2 weeks?
So they have accepted their fate and this whole carry on is to determine what compensation they get?
Sure someone said they were planning a training start date of August 3rd
20-07-2020, 11:14 AM
Sure someone said they were planning a training start date of August 3rd
2 weeks today is correct
20-07-2020, 11:18 AM
2 weeks today is correct
Yes think it might have been you. :greengrin
20-07-2020, 11:18 AM
Yes think it might have been you. :greengrin
Robbie was on Sportsound a week or so ago, and he mentioned this date
20-07-2020, 11:23 AM
Robbie was on Sportsound a week or so ago, and he mentioned this dateSomeone from Hearts? On Sportsound? Well I never.
SuperAllyMcleod
20-07-2020, 11:32 AM
Robbie was on Sportsound a week or so ago, and he mentioned this date
“Robbie”? When did we start calling the Jambos by only their first name? We don’t even do that with Hibs players!
LTYF! [emoji4]
AltheHibby
20-07-2020, 11:34 AM
“Robbie”? When did we start calling the Jambos by only their first name? We don’t even do that with Hibs players!
LTYF! [emoji4]
Robbie deserves his honour and respect for his contribution to our money spinning replay and cup win.
If that was the case then surely he should be known as Replay Robbie.
20-07-2020, 03:03 PM
Planet Jambo must be some place
Alternatively known as the Twilight Zone
20-07-2020, 03:16 PM
What ever happened to the money that was spun?
Given to "Robbie" as redundy.
Alan62
20-07-2020, 07:31 PM
LTYF! [emoji4]
Tonight on Sportsound, they were all chatting about ‘Robbie’, ‘Ann’ and ‘Jim’ as if they were all best pals. The former manager and DoF is ‘Craig Levein’ however so he must be out of favour.
20-07-2020, 08:25 PM
Tonight on Sportsound, they were all chatting about ‘Robbie’, ‘Ann’ and ‘Jim’ as if they were all best pals. The former manager and DoF is ‘Craig Levein’ however so he must be out of favour.Yes it's quite fascinating isn't it? On Saturday I caught a bit of Sportsound where they were talking about Jefferies coming back to the club, and how it would be great to have him on board, club legend, experienced pair of hands, mentor for Robbie, years of experience, blah blah. And it occurred to me that they would have said EXACTLY the same thing had it been Levein coming back to the club had he not blotted his copybook. The lack of self-awareness is monumental.
Alan62
20-07-2020, 08:39 PM
Yes it's quite fascinating isn't it? On Saturday I caught a bit of Sportsound where they were talking about Jefferies coming back to the club, and how it would be great to have him on board, club legend, experienced pair of hands, mentor for Robbie, years of experience, blah blah. And it occurred to me that they would have said EXACTLY the same thing had it been Levein coming back to the club had he not blotted his copybook. The lack of self-awareness is monumental.
Indeed. The whole sorry episode has been a fascinating insight into how ideas catch on when they're repeated. Daryl Broadfoot on Sportsound was bumping his gums about how Hibs are considering paying off 70+ staff. Meanwhile Ann will forever be an 'astute businesswoman' no matter how much evidence there is to the contrary of her actual spectacular lack of astute businesswomanliness. Another £20m could be hosed on the project and the stand could remain unfinished but her astuteness would still be intact and forever attached as the adjective of choice. It's an odd world we live in where folks who can barely string a sentence together get airtime to talk about matters that they will never understand.
20-07-2020, 09:00 PM
Indeed. The whole sorry episode has been a fascinating insight into how ideas catch on when they're repeated. Daryl Broadfoot on Sportsound was bumping his gums about how Hibs are considering paying off 70+ staff. Meanwhile Ann will forever be an 'astute businesswoman' no matter how much evidence there is to the contrary of her actual spectacular lack of astute businesswomanliness. Another £20m could be hosed on the project and the stand could remain unfinished but her astuteness would still be intact and forever attached as the adjective of choice. It's an odd world we live in where folks who can barely string a sentence together get airtime to talk about matters that they will never understand.
Sportsound don't deal in facts anymore, same as Tom English doesn't do investigative sports journalism anymore - Broadfoot is the master at sitting on the fence but clearly hasn't studied economics or the current business climate (or models) of football clubs. It's a sad day when Willie Miller is the voice of reason on that show.
Many clubs are re-structuring behind the scenes, sadly there will be redundancies in many areas of clubs, this is the inevitable fact of Covid-19. But in order to re-employ in the future, the main product has to be maintained as best we can in order to be successful, in the top flight, and viable in the future and beyond Covid.
Football and sport are in austerity and many roles are redundant for a while, and many roles need to be shared/merged/diversified. If you build a successful team and product during this crisis, challenge near the top and in cups, you have more income and can start to rebuild to where we were before.
Maybe Tom and Co should go back to the MSM and not the relative 'safety' of a public broadcaster and see how difficult it is for business :cb
h18eeynick
20-07-2020, 09:35 PM
Sportsound don't deal in facts anymore, same as Tom English doesn't do investigative sports journalism anymore - Broadfoot is the master at sitting on the fence but clearly hasn't studied economics or the current business climate (or models) of football clubs. It's a sad day when Willie Miller is the voice of reason on that show.
Many clubs are re-structuring behind the scenes, sadly there will be redundancies in many areas of clubs, this is the inevitable fact of Covid-19. But in order to re-employ in the future, the main product has to be maintained as best we can in order to be successful, in the top flight, and viable in the future and beyond Covid.
Football and sport are in austerity and many roles are redundant for a while, and many roles need to be shared/merged/diversified. If you build a successful team and product during this crisis, challenge near the top and in cups, you have more income and can start to rebuild to where we were before.
Maybe Tom and Co should go back to the MSM and not the relative 'safety' of a public broadcaster and see how difficult it is for business :cb
I agree overall with your sentiment but having seen on BBC Sport site that a Dundee player , Kane Hemmings , has been named as the only player out of 13 not to agree a pay cut is really bad patter. This should remain confidential between player and club
20-07-2020, 10:41 PM
LTYF! [emoji4]It makes the anonymisation of every surname sorted to **** easier?
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
21-07-2020, 07:08 AM
I agree overall with your sentiment but having seen on BBC Sport site that a Dundee player , Kane Hemmings , has been named as the only player out of 13 not to agree a pay cut is really bad patter. This should remain confidential between player and club
That is terrible to publicise that and for someone to let it out in the first place.
22-07-2020, 05:17 PM
Pishy Breeks on the News just now ranting about the lack of Goverment action in relation to Russian Interference
Yet he welcomed that Crook Romanov with open Arms
23-07-2020, 02:17 AM
Pishy Breeks on the News just now ranting about the lack of Goverment action in relation to Russian Interference
Ukio Bankas one of the main banks used by the Russian mafia to launder money.
23-07-2020, 07:33 AM
Ukio Bankas one of the main banks used by the Russian mafia to launder money.
Yep, laundered through Ukio Bank and onwards to the Virgin Isles international banking system.
A look at the Hearts creditors list from 2014 shows a debt of £ 1.223 million to a company called Milson Capital based in the Virgin Isles.
Is any more evidence required that HoMFC were being financed by dirty money and that an investigation is long overdue.
23-07-2020, 07:52 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkDo the BBC pay expenses plus free food and drink for interviews?
Odd choice, a bit like asking Hannibal lecter to critique cannibalism.
23-07-2020, 10:29 AM
Yep, laundered through Ukio Bank and onwards to the Virgin Isles international banking system.
A look at the Hearts creditors list from 2014 shows a debt of £ 1.223 million to a company called Milson Capital based in the Virgin Isles.
Is any more evidence required that HoMFC were being financed by dirty money and that an investigation is long overdue.
Yep but he sailed through his Fit and Proper Due Diligence Test The whole set up stank from the begining but yet a good investigate journalist could of uncovered a great story
But no one willing to go there
23-07-2020, 10:35 AM
Yep but he sailed through his Fit and Proper Due Diligence Test The whole set up stank from the begining but yet a good investigate journalist could of uncovered a great story
Hopefully renewed interest in dirty Russian money means they might. Perhaps we should ask Tom English to investigate the ‘Gorgie Laundromat’.
23-07-2020, 10:41 AM
Part of their debt was written off by an offshore fund Vlad's daughter had an interest in. Of course she never paid Ukio Bankas back. The money laundering route was from Ukio Bankas to these offshore tax havens. UKIO or Vlad was paid a fee to do this. He probably used this money to fund Hearts but of course never paid Ukio back.
23-07-2020, 10:46 AM
I'm not sure the F&P test existed back then. Even if it did, can anybody actually say that they had anything dodgy on him (other than the usual "he's from over there, he must be bent") ?
23-07-2020, 10:49 AM
I'm not sure the F&P test existed back then. Even if it did, can anybody actually say that they had anything dodgy on him (other than the usual "he's from over there, he must be bent") ?
Perhaps not at the beginning, but when all the dodgy financial transactions were going down, someone from the SFA should have clocked him as a potential money launderer. Many of us on here did without it being our responsibility to do so.
cocteautwin
23-07-2020, 10:55 AM
If Vlad gets found guilty in his absence in the upcoming trial in Lithuania and the money used to fund Hearts is found to be laundered stolen money is there still scope for HMFC to be stripped of their trophies? We could start a campaign to Strip Hearts of Inappropriate Trophies although the acronym is too similar to the Save Hearts in Trouble campaign.
23-07-2020, 10:56 AM
Perhaps not at the beginning, but when all the dodgy financial transactions were going down, someone from the SFA should have clocked him as a potential money launderer. Many of us on here did without it being our responsibility to do so.
The SFA, of course, would say that it's not their job to identify money-launderers; that's the job of others. I'd agree up to a point, but even if they did have those concerns, and felt the need to do something about it, the law would have required them to make reports to appropriate agencies privately. We can't know if that was done, although I'd suspect not.
Can you imagine, though, if the SFA did decide to act publicly against Vlad? They would have been well out of their depth trying to take on him, his bank, and all the people behind him. They would have had their ***** kicked.
23-07-2020, 11:32 AM
The SFA, of course, would say that it's not their job to identify money-launderers; that's the job of others. I'd agree up to a point, but even if they did have those concerns, and felt the need to do something about it, the law would have required them to make reports to appropriate agencies privately. We can't know if that was done, although I'd suspect not.
Can you imagine, though, if the SFA did decide to act publicly against Vlad? They would have been well out of their depth trying to take on him, his bank, and all the people behind him. They would have had their ***** kicked.
It should be a criminal investigation, although as we now know from the Russia report the National Crime Agency is desperately under resourced.
23-07-2020, 11:43 AM
It should be a criminal investigation, although as we now know from the Russia report the National Crime Agency is desperately under resourced.
I'd reckon that there already is a report sitting in a pile at the NCA. Whether it's even been looked at, we can't know.
23-07-2020, 12:06 PM
The criminal investigation has been done in Lithuania.
https://www.lrt.lt/en/news-in-english/19/1137379/investigators-conclude-6-year-ukio-bankas-embezzlement-probe
Once the trial is in progress someone needs to listen to the testimonies and see what implicates our neighbours. :cb
AltheHibby
23-07-2020, 12:22 PM
That report isn't accurate. It says HMFC are a Premier team. :greengrin
23-07-2020, 01:23 PM
Or worse.
23-07-2020, 01:29 PM
The criminal investigation has been done in Lithuania. https://www.lrt.lt/en/news-in-english/19/1137379/investigators-conclude-6-year-ukio-bankas-embezzlement-probeAhh the good old days when we used to link to articles in the Lithuanian press!
23-07-2020, 01:42 PM
Ah right but itvwas when Dave King got through it So is it Fit and Proper now !!!!!
23-07-2020, 01:51 PM
Ah right but itvwas when Dave King got through it So is it Fit and Proper now !!!!!
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkFat & protestant person test? usually easier to sail through the formalities.
23-07-2020, 01:54 PM
You couldnt mark Pishy's neck with a blow torch.
23-07-2020, 06:42 PM
Ah right but it was when Dave King got through it So is it Fit and Proper now !!!!!
What about Craig Whyte?
23-07-2020, 07:58 PM
Hopefully renewed interest in dirty Russian money means they might. Perhaps we should ask Tom English to investigate the ‘Gorgie Laundromat’.
He’d be “disappeared” by some macabre means if he took that role on. Not as cushie as sooking up to old Ann.
24-07-2020, 03:42 PM
This just came up on my memories on FB which I posted just after they went into admin. It’s an extract from Wallet Mercer’s offer document issued for his 1990 take over bid.
Why Hearts' Offer Is Generous;
Hibs FC has lost money in 4 of the last 5 years
Hibs Group has made heavy losses following ill-judged diversification into non-football activities
Hibs has not & cannot pay dividends
Hibs has a record of high borrowings
Hibs will need substantial finance to upgrade & modernise ER Stadium.
The Choice is Yours;
Either; stay with an unsuccessful leisure group running an unsuccessful football team playing in an out of date stadium & see your shares fall back in price.
Or; accept Hearts' generous offer of 40p per share & help build a football club which will make Edinburgh united!!
24-07-2020, 03:46 PM
This just came up on my memories on FB which I posted just after they went into admin. It’s an extract from Wallet Mercer’s offer document issued for his 1990 take over bid.
Why Hearts' Offer Is Generous;
Hibs FC has lost money in 4 of the last 5 years
Hibs Group has made heavy losses following ill-judged diversification into non-football activities
Hibs has not & cannot pay dividends
Hibs has a record of high borrowings
Hibs will need substantial finance to upgrade & modernise ER Stadium.
The Choice is Yours;
Either; stay with an unsuccessful leisure group running an unsuccessful football team playing in an out of date stadium & see your shares fall back in price.
Or; accept Hearts' generous offer of 40p per share & help build a football club which will make Edinburgh united!!
KarmaI've still got the whole offer document. He was a pompous arrogant fud, especially as in the true hearts tradition he was funding the takeover with someone else's money.
Karma indeed. Thirty years on he was right about Edinburgh having one top flight team.
25-07-2020, 08:40 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-53526843
Are we all going to have to moderate our views and language in future when referring to our lower division close neighbours?
Hope not the ******* **** ******** ***** ****** ****-******* *********s that they are.
25-07-2020, 09:04 AM
Are we all going to have to moderate our views and language in future when referring to our lower division close neighbours?
Hope not the ******* **** ******** ***** ****** ****-******* *********s that they are.
Or having to arrest the whole of Ibrox every week, seems like too much effort...
25-07-2020, 09:37 AM
If this law goes through, would it be illegal for somebody to express their own personal views, for example "I don't think a Trans Woman is a real Woman"? *
* I didn't say this was my view, it's just an example.
25-07-2020, 10:09 AM
If Vlad gets found guilty in his absence in the upcoming trial in Lithuania and the money used to fund Hearts is found to be laundered stolen money is there still scope for HMFC to be stripped of their trophies? We could start a campaign to Strip Hearts of Inappropriate Trophies although the acronym is too similar to the Save Hearts in Trouble campaign.
Yeah, it will be just like the Rangers EBT case, where the club voluntarily handed back the trophies won in highly dubious circumstances and issued a contrite apology for abusing the principles of sporting integrity and fair play.
25-07-2020, 10:32 AM
If this law goes through, would it be illegal for somebody to express their own personal views, for example "I don't think a Trans Woman is a real Woman"? *
* I didn't say this was my view, it's just an example.
Or "I don't think Hearts are a real Premier football team"?
Oh, wait a minute.....
25-07-2020, 06:05 PM
Had a wee bolt of logic come into my head about a transfer that I wouldn't be surprised at all to see.
Appointing Neilson is a panic button push by the board - their subsequent appointments have been a disaster so they've reverted to the guy who the fans hated and was driven out. He also knows the Championship like the back of his hand but also doesn't have the squad he had first time round. They have strikers who play like your cat's started rubbing itself against your Playstation controller whilst FIFA is on.
Nisbet was two things for them - first of all a striker with a proven scoring record in that league, and also a chance to appeal to fans that they've beaten us to a signing (and with their ST numbers as they are, they need something to act as a call to arms). Gordon was barely third choice goalie at Celtic but they've spaffed a wage on him as a result.
Trying to think of what strikers would meet the criteria of a) proven Championship goalscorer and b) has a story that could be used as a GIRUY Hibs message.
I wouldn't be at all shocked if they broke the bank to try and get Jason Cummings in. He had just fifteen appearances for Shrewsbury last season (according to Wiki) so I doubt they'd be completely desperate to keep him. He's in the last chance saloon big time in terms of his career so he may be willing to sacrifice the legacy he has here to try and save his career.
Problem is that if they do that, I don't think their fans would care enough to flock back and if they expect the same player who left the Scottish Championship to come back then they'll be in for a nasty shock.
25-07-2020, 06:15 PM
Or "I don't think Hearts are a real Premier football team"?
Oh, wait a minute.....
At the risk of genuinely triggering the Jambos, I don’t think Hearts are either that big or famous.
25-07-2020, 06:16 PM
Had a wee bolt of logic come into my head about a transfer that I wouldn't be surprised at all to see.
Appointing Neilson is a panic button push by the board - their subsequent appointments have been a disaster so they've reverted to the guy who the fans hated and was driven out. He also knows the Championship like the back of his hand but also doesn't have the squad he had first time round. They have strikers who play like your cat's started rubbing itself against your Playstation controller whilst FIFA is on.
Nisbet was two things for them - first of all a striker with a proven scoring record in that league, and also a chance to appeal to fans that they've beaten us to a signing (and with their ST numbers as they are, they need something to act as a call to arms). Gordon was barely third choice goalie at Celtic but they've spaffed a wage on him as a result.
Trying to think of what strikers would meet the criteria of a) proven Championship goalscorer and b) has a story that could be used as a GIRUY Hibs message.
I wouldn't be at all shocked if they broke the bank to try and get Jason Cummings in. He had just fifteen appearances for Shrewsbury last season (according to Wiki) so I doubt they'd be completely desperate to keep him. He's in the last chance saloon big time in terms of his career so he may be willing to sacrifice the legacy he has here to try and save his career.
Problem is that if they do that, I don't think their fans would care enough to flock back and if they expect the same player who left the Scottish Championship to come back then they'll be in for a nasty shock.
They talk about Jason alot on Kickback and they don't seem to have alot of time for him. But like I say that's kickback
25-07-2020, 06:17 PM
I can tell you 100% Neilson was trying to get JC to come to Dundee Utd this summer. Wonder if he’ll still chase him now he’s at Hearts
We know JC is daft, but not daft enough to go to the Gorgie Circus
25-07-2020, 06:21 PM
I can tell you 100% Neilson was trying to get JC to come to Dundee Utd this summer. Wonder if he’ll still chase him now he’s at Hearts
We know JC is daft, but not daft enough to go to the Gorgie Circus
I don’t think a move would be motivated from daftness but desperation - from both sides.
Clarence
25-07-2020, 06:35 PM
Would Cummings come back to Hibs or does he seem to think he has a point to prove elsewhere?
25-07-2020, 06:47 PM
Would Cummings come back to Hibs or does he seem to think he has a point to prove elsewhere?
I don’t think he’d get into our starting eleven. Can’t see him being overly keen to drop back down to the Championship but they’d probably be offering him silly money if interested.
Green Badger
25-07-2020, 06:51 PM
25-07-2020, 07:17 PM
Nowhere near the standard of Doidge or Nisbet.
25-07-2020, 07:24 PM
Nowhere near the standard of Doidge or Nisbet.
What has Nisbet done to suggest Cummings is nowhere near his level?
25-07-2020, 07:29 PM
Succeeded at more than one club.
25-07-2020, 07:41 PM
Cummings is a good Championship level player which is all we know Nisbet is at this time
The Count
25-07-2020, 07:41 PM
Agree for or me Nisbet has still to prove homself at Premier League level.Also you cannot just right players off as poor lust because Hearts might be interested in them.Leave that type of judgement when all things Hibs is bad to Kickback.
25-07-2020, 08:16 PM
Let’s not knock JC, scored so many important, and different types of goals for Hibs, we should remember him fondly
25-07-2020, 08:20 PM
Agree for or me Nisbet has still to prove homself at Premier League level.Also you cannot just right players off as poor lust because Hearts might be interested in them.Leave that type of judgement when all things Hibs is bad to Kickback.
Well, we can look more into things as well. Cummings had the reputation of being a clown but scored a lot of goals for us - in 149 appearances he scored 71 goals. Really impressive return, a goal every 2.1 games. Since then he went to Nottingham Forest and scored four goals in seventeen games (a goal every 4.25 games), Luton (one goal in five appearances), Peterbourough (eight goals in 29 appearances, a goal every 3.6 games), Sevco (six goals in eighteen appearances, a goal every three games) and Shrewsbury, (7 goals in 31 games, a goal every 4.4 games).
Since he's left us he's made exactly 100 competitive appearances for other clubs and scored 26 goals - near enough a goal every four games.
The problem with him is there are also large questions over his temperament. Filmed throwing a TV through his own window, parading around in his underwear on Sky Sports News, described as a problem by Peterborough chairman Barry Fry. He's not shown himself in the best light in terms of professionalism and application despite his career not being nearly as strong as when he was at us.
Jason Cummings is 24 years of age and already carries a lot of baggage and has only shown his true quality at one club out of six clubs.
Now, let's look at Kevin Nisbet. He's only one year younger than Jason Cummings and started off at Partick Thistle where he admits he had an attitude problem. At Partick he made eight appearances and scored three goals (one goal every 2.67 games), at Dumbarton on loanhe made ten appearances and failed to score.
He then moved to Raith Rovers and made 46 appearances overall and scored 34 goals (one goal every 1.35 games) and then moved to Dunfermline where in 32 appearances he scored 23 goals (a goal every 1.39 games).
What we can take from this is that although Kevin Nisbet has not been tested at Scottish top flight level, neither has Jason Cummings. Nisbet's goal scoring return per game in the Championship is much better than Cummings, and this came after his professionalism being called into question. After Cummings professionalism was called into question he hasn't showed much signs of recovery.
This all comes from winning a bottle of bubbly in a Zoom pub quiz which I have very much been enjoying but looking at the stats, it's fair to say that Nisbet is a better option than Cummings, as much as I loved him at the club :greengrin
25-07-2020, 09:12 PM
Let’s not knock JC, scored so many important, and different types of goals for Hibs, we should remember him fondly
That should be the last word on the subject.
25-07-2020, 10:43 PM
That should be the last word on the subject.
25-07-2020, 10:53 PM
I’ve got no doubt JC will play for Hearts at some point, don’t think Hibs want him back and I know he would sign for Hearts regardless of his Hibs history
26-07-2020, 12:14 AM
Jason was offered to both Hibs and Hearts last summer but neither wanted him then.
The Count
26-07-2020, 06:11 AM
Cup legend but we must remember the great Gordon Smith went on to play for Hearts and it did not affect is iconic status.Not that i am saying Cummings as iconic status but he is one of our cup heroes.
Fergos
26-07-2020, 07:17 AM
My gut feeling is that he would revel in the assumed “controversy” of being an ex Hibee and going back to where he was originally rejected. Certainly put him in the spotlight again where he has the potential to flourish, right up his street for my money. He’s no shrinking violet after all.....
He was great for us, played a massive part in our Scottish Cup win and he looked like he had the potential to become a very effective centre forward, sadly it looks like he has stalled somewhat recently.
26-07-2020, 08:10 AM
Would Cummings leave Shrewsbury Town for Hearts? Seems a massive step down. Not sure why he'd want to leave Shrewsbury for a pub team
26-07-2020, 08:19 AM
Hearts will need to work a lot harder to get players for the championship. Especially when it doesn’t start till October.
26-07-2020, 08:28 AM
Hearts will need to work a lot harder to get players for the championship. Especially when it doesn’t start till October.
And no United Hibs or The Rangers
Maybe limited no of fans will be allowed in grounds by then if not motivation will be even harder
26-07-2020, 08:32 AM
And no United Hibs or The Rangers
Maybe limited no of fans will be allowed in grounds by then if not motivation will be even harder
I don't think they'll lack motivation, sadly
26-07-2020, 08:48 AM
Would Cummings leave Shrewsbury Town for Hearts? Seems a massive step down. Not sure why he'd want to leave Shrewsbury for a pub teamGood point, league one side, very similar position to Bristol Rovers who Nicholson signed for when seemingly Hearts were in for him and he'd be unable to turn them down.
Loved Cummings, wouldn't be disappointed if he came back to Hibs and kicked on but not going to be too antagonistic about it if he wanted back to Edinburgh and Edinburgh City didn't approach him so there was only one move left.
26-07-2020, 01:02 PM
I don't think they'll lack motivation, sadly
I meant new players might find it hard to motivate themselves to. Move to them under these circumstances
27-07-2020, 06:12 PM
If you thought "Sunderland till i die" was a car crash this documentary will be something else
27-07-2020, 06:51 PM
If you thought "Sunderland till i die" was a car crash this documentary will be something elseCouldn't they salvage it by setting the whole thing to music and getting Mrs doctor Budge to organise some sort of show on the pitch at Tynecastle?
27-07-2020, 06:54 PM
Hibs should offer Michael Smith a get out clause to come to the big team.
I can’t think of anyone else I’d want from them.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
27-07-2020, 07:03 PM
If you thought "Sunderland till i die" was a car crash this documentary will be something else
I would be absolutely devastated if they didn’t go ahead with it. Hopefully they’ll go with it even though the season was cut short.
27-07-2020, 07:39 PM
I would be absolutely devastated if they didn’t go ahead with it. Hopefully they’ll go with it even though the season was cut short.
Imagine if they had to pay back some of the advance (Ok I’m making it up) as the season was cut short :)
rossevenil
27-07-2020, 07:43 PM
23811:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
I heard the documentary was running into difficulty as they couldn't get hold of the rights for the benny hill show music (yakkity-sax) for the closing credits.
It's funny but wrong, they didn't even get that.
He left ER two years too early, needed to finish his apprenticeship with us so his career is floundering. Wish him all the best though. Loved Jase.
27-07-2020, 07:49 PM
Exactly Billy . Scored plus 20 goals for us in three successive seasons . Played a massive part in us winning that cup .
One of the immortals.
rossevenil
27-07-2020, 07:49 PM
It's funny but wrong, they didn't even get that.
Its a Penny for her thoughts........should be a penny well spent:greengrin:greengrin
27-07-2020, 10:06 PM
Somebody tweeted the media company asking when the Hearts documentary woukd be out this was their response only 5 days ago 😁😁
Later in the year Martin. We are still filming at the moment.
27-07-2020, 10:18 PM
Bull's-eye Bull's-eye
Posted 1 hour ago
I'd like the club or the FoH to set up a dedicated bank account for us to donate all our ticket monies into. Monthly statements could be made public so EVERYBODY can see how much is in the coffers before its passed over into the club's proper account.
I believe it would also incentivise our support to pay into, knowing our hard earned is going in our own coffers.
I'd like to include Scottish Cup ties into it. Imagine 20k £20s in a bank account for a semi final thats probably going to be BCDs anyway, thats how you hurt the SFA... 😎😎
SonOfDavidFrancey
27-07-2020, 10:18 PM
Somebody tweeted the media company asking when the Hearts documentary woukd be out this was their response only 5 days ago 😁😁
I’ve suspected for some time that the documentary is one reason why they have pursued this
27-07-2020, 10:21 PM
Bull's-eye Bull's-eye
Posted 1 hour ago
I'd like the club or the FoH to set up a dedicated bank account for us to donate all our ticket monies into. Monthly statements could be made public so EVERYBODY can see how much is in the coffers before its passed over into the club's proper account.
I believe it would also incentivise our support to pay into, knowing our hard earned is going in our own coffers.
I'd like to include Scottish Cup ties into it. Imagine 20k £20s in a bank account for a semi final thats probably going to be BCDs anyway, thats how you hurt the SFA... 😎😎
Oooft, they're a smart bunch over the road. Does the SPFL/SFA know what they have unleashed onto the rest of the football world.
27-07-2020, 10:26 PM
**** yes. And they’re still filming. 😂
27-07-2020, 10:48 PM
The documentary makers will be delighted. This story has been a gift for them.
27-07-2020, 10:51 PM
I already know this will be my favourite TV series ever.
Hopefully it comes out in October just before their 1st match.
Anyone know how long it is? I'm thinking it is 3 × 1 hour episodes but could be remembering wrongly. They've surely got a lot more usable footage than they'd have been expecting so could easily make it twice as long as that.
With any luck the producers have an option on series 2.
Lendo
27-07-2020, 11:00 PM
Maybe, just maybe, this whole saga was never about saving themselves from relegation or winning £8,000,000 in compensation.
Perhaps this whole affair has been Dr Mrs Ann Budge’s way of getting in to the world of television. She’s gone out of her way to create possibly the most farcical, dramatic football themed TV documentary ever created.
rossevenil
28-07-2020, 07:15 AM
I wonder if its being filmed in the style of "The Office" I mean they already have the Office building sorry I mean Glass Curtain,and I`d reckon old Budge will make the David Brent role her own,and I dare say the supporting cast of Levein,Mcphee,Stendell,Locke etc could fill all the other roles:greengrin
28-07-2020, 07:49 AM
I wonder if its being filmed in the style of "The Office" I mean they already have the Office building sorry I mean Glass Curtain,and I`d reckon old Budge will make the David Brent role her own,and I dare say the supporting cast of Levein,Mcphee,Stendell,Locke etc could fill all the other roles:greengrin
Not sure I'd want to see Budge doing her David Brent dance. :eek:
28-07-2020, 08:20 AM
Bull's-eye Bull's-eye
Posted 1 hour ago
Just how much money do these chumps need to hand over to Hertz before they realise they are being played like a fiddle?
28-07-2020, 08:24 AM
Just how much money do these chumps need to hand over to Hertz before they realise they are being played like a fiddle?Their gullibility has no upper limit, the Romanov - Budge eras tell us that. There's a lot more cash to be blown yet.
28-07-2020, 08:47 AM
I don't go onto oneleagueback but do read some of their mental prophecies on here and on twitter. How have saughton jambo, Dazjambo and Kiwidug***** amongst others fared after not one single comment from them has turned out to be right?
Just how much money do these chumps need to hand over to Hertz before they realise they are being played like a fiddle?
They are in denial and would never ever admit to anything.
They are a famous big establishment club remember!
28-07-2020, 08:56 AM
Can just see Budge now;
"I’ve created an atmosphere where I’m a friend first, boss second. Probably entertainer third"
28-07-2020, 08:58 AM
They are in denial and would never ever admit to anything.
They are a famous big establishment club remember!
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSure I read somewhere that they've just declared themselves to be the anti establishment club?
Sure I read somewhere that they've just declared themselves to be the anti establishment club?
Don’t let them kid you on.
Wonder if we will get another statement today??
28-07-2020, 09:06 AM
Don’t let them kid you on.
Wonder if we will get another statement today??
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYes you'd think so, probably something along the lines of the council have just been on the phone to remind us we are an establishment club[emoji16]
Yes you'd think so, probably something along the lines of the council have just been on the phone to remind us we are an establishment club[emoji16]
[emoji23]
28-07-2020, 09:10 AM
I already know this will be my favourite TV series ever.
I think the opposite. I think it will be a slanted, one sided, propaganda tool. Martin Geissler isn’t it?
28-07-2020, 09:28 AM
Wonder what the highlights of the documentary will be. There's so many to choose from.
The multimillion pound pitch being ruined during Edinburgh festival.
Levein being given the bullet then showing the new manager around the college campus.
Daniel Stendel pissed and not knowing who Hearts were during press conference.
Berragate
Stendel having a Christmas holiday then returning to lose the derby.
Obika
Reconstruction talks, court case, arbitration and relegation confirmed.
I've probably missed loads too. It's going to be more like David Brent in The Office than anything else 😂
I think the opposite. I think it will be a slanted, one sided, propaganda tool. Martin Geissler isn’t it?
Thing about doing it this way is that folk will know it’s not true and they will continue to be a laughing stock!
What they will ensure is that they are portrayed as the victim!
mayo hibee
28-07-2020, 09:35 AM
It's a shame it's the BBC and not the likes of Netflix doing the documentary. Especially if Geissler is involved.
It will just be a propaganda tool for them, like a TV version of sportsound, probably regular appearances by Tom English to "explain" things.
28-07-2020, 09:48 AM
It's a shame it's the BBC and not the likes of Netflix doing the documentary. Especially if Geissler is involved.
It will just be a propaganda tool for them, like a TV version of sportsound, probably regular appearances by Tom English to "explain" things.Geissler isn't going to be taking an impartial professional line on this, he was handpicked for the job and it's the massively pro Hearts BBC that's covering this.
They'll be awarding Hearts a medal by the time the shows over.
My understanding is that it is an observational documentary series with significant access behind the scenes at Hearts. How would you edit Hearts' season of failures, on and off the field, and Budge's incoherent and inconsistent ramblings in such a way that they come out of it in a good light? Also, Two Rivers Media has its professional reputation to consider. Alan Clements, the managing director, is one of the most respected and successful media professionals in Scotland and I would expect that the company will want to make the best documentary they can rather than act as a puff piece for its subject. Of course the BBC Scotland documentaries about Gretna failed to dig into the financial misdeeds behind that club's success but those were not in the public domain at the time and the programmes were not investigations. Hearts' problems are very much in the public domain. Budge will try to defend their position but she has been condemned time and time again by her own words and actions.
Imagine what it's going to like to see the Jambos hopes pumped up again and again only to have them dashed. The long, protracted process of signing their saviour manager ... the high of beating us at ER and the anticipation of getting off the bottom by beating St Mirren ...
maturehibby
28-07-2020, 10:07 AM
To add to their financial troubles they will lose by my reckoning about £200,000 of the Hibs Green Pound by losing
Two fixtures against us
28-07-2020, 10:25 AM
😂😂😂😂😂😂
28-07-2020, 11:43 AM
Wonder what the highlights of the documentary will be. There's so many to choose from.
Dunno about the documentary but surely this is the time when Only An Excuse has the opportunity to finally redeem itself.
I mean, the comedy basically writes itself for this year's episode.
28-07-2020, 11:51 AM
I can't wait for the documentary. Episode one to the final episode will be absolutely gripping.
It's the start of the season and manager Craig Levein is giving a potential new signing a tour of Tynecastle.
"Aye, so this is the changing facilties, the toilets at the back. I had it made up to be like the toilets at Dens Park. It's my safe space and I'm not going to say why. Gives me the runs. Nervous reaction. Anyway, coming down this corridor here, past the building works, up these stairs, not those ones, they don't lead to anywhere, these ones. This is my personal trophy room from my career. Anne said I could have a room for it."
"Why's it empty gaffer?"
"No reason. Away for cleaning. Five one. Big team. Hubs. Anyway. Let's talk about why I want to sign you. Another team in this city rebuilt themselves from signings players who'd been highly tipped but lost their way a little and got them back on track. Scott Allan. Fraser Fyvie. Dylan McGeouch. Some wee guy who we released because he got injured. Don't know what happened to him. Wee team. Anyway, I heard you were highly tipped at your last club. Where was that?"
"Cowdenbeath gaffer. They thought I could be a supervisor in the pie stand but my catering training fell through."
"Ah, balls, I thought you were a fitballer. How much do you weigh?"
"Nineteen stone gaffer. I'm six feet three as well".
"Can you play up front?"
"Aye. I've been advised to say that Hibs have offered me a contract as well gaffer"
"In that case, we'll offer you eight grand a week. Six year deal. Plus unlimited foot rubs from that long haired MacFee bloke. And a box of partially defrosted Chicago down pizzas".
"Done deal gaffer"
Join us next time for the next episode of Hearts - twenty thousand leagues under the Hibs.
28-07-2020, 12:13 PM
^
^
^
^
Did anybody else imagine the above post in a Geordie accent, like the guy from Big Brother?
28-07-2020, 12:27 PM
Maybe I feel better for the day it is today.
Maybe because the sun is shining and its warmer just as it was then.
Does it really matter, so long as there is and always is Heart of Midlothian FC.
Does it matter which league, which players, which manager, which owner.
So long as we have Tynecastle and one another we have something others really do long for.
The season saw taunts from virtually every single team. Why?
Take it as a complement.
Its because you matter, we matter, Heart of Midlothian matters.
No set of fans has gathered as one, and as regularly in time of need and distress.
That is envied, to the point no mercy was ever likely to fall our way. They don't have what I do, what you do, what we have together.
Covid will hang around for some time, there will be changes to our lives, there will be changes to our football.
Even the league we play in.
What never changes and never will is our enduring love and passion for Heart of Midlothian.
Don't ever let the envy, the bitterness and aggression wear you down and engulf you.
Stay safe, stay strong of body and mind.
We will see each other soon enough, we will find our way through the latest tunnel, we will succeed.
We are Heart of Midlothian
HHGHer soon enough, we will find our way through the latest tunnel, we will succeed.
HHGH
Couple of months old this one but still makes me giggle. What planet are they on?
28-07-2020, 12:56 PM
Does it really matter, so long as there is and always is Heart of Midlothian FC.
So long as we have Tynecastle and one another we have something others really do long for.
Take it as a complement.
No set of fans has gathered as one, and as regularly in time of need and distress.
That is envied, to the point no mercy was ever likely to fall our way. They don't have what I do, what you do, what we have together.
Covid will hang around for some time, there will be changes to our lives, there will be changes to our football.
What never changes and never will is our enduring love and passion for Heart of Midlothian.
Don't ever let the envy, the bitterness and aggression wear you down and engulf you.
We will see each other soon enough, we will find our way through the latest tunnel, we will succeed.
HHGHer soon enough, we will find our way through the latest tunnel, we will succeed.
HHGH
Couple of months old this one but still makes me giggle. What planet are they on?
Oh man, the cringe 😂
28-07-2020, 01:04 PM
Take it as a complement.
HHGH
:blah::blah::blah::yawn::yawn::yawn:
28-07-2020, 01:06 PM
I see some of them are now going "to burn Dens Park to the ground"
What kind of admins allow that to be written?
Moronic shower of ********s.
28-07-2020, 01:23 PM
I see some of them are now going "to burn Dens Park to the ground"
What kind of admins allow that to be written?
Moronic shower of ********s.
cant see how...they wont have any matches till october 😄
28-07-2020, 01:24 PM
🤣🤣🤣 outstanding!!
Tug Wilson
28-07-2020, 01:30 PM
The issue Hearts have is that their whole funding model relies on them being in a constant position of crisis.
FoH only came into being because of a crisis and to continue to grow it needs to feed on chaos and paranoia. They need adversity to allow them to beat the recruitment drum.
Covid and the subsequent calling of the season has actually given them reason to be.
Hearts rely on FoH, and the occasional top up from benefactors, to exist financially.
Stability would see a drop off in both income streams and a club which would have to be smarter with its income.
It is a vicious cycle that they will struggle to break.
28-07-2020, 01:59 PM
cant see how...they wont have any matches till october [emoji1][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
28-07-2020, 02:01 PM
Hearts over the last few seasons remind me of us from around 2010 to 2014. A rudderless ship, people who meant well just not getting it, managers who were ultimately out of their depth, players not pulling their weight etc, etc. It was tough going watching us then and the whole mood around the club was flat. Relegation might be a wake up call for them as it was for us but the big difference is we got to start with a clean slate, they're stuck with the people who got them there. Even their "new manager" is someone the fans hounded out for eye bleeding football
28-07-2020, 02:03 PM
It will just be a propaganda tool for them, like a TV version of sportsound, probably regular appearances by Tom English to "explain" things.
So it is the BBC and Geissler presenting no chance it will be as good as it should be.
28-07-2020, 02:23 PM
Hearts over the last few seasons remind me of us from around 2010 to 2014. A rudderless ship, people who meant well just not getting it, managers who were ultimately out of their depth, players not pulling their weight etc, etc. It was tough going watching us then and the whole mood around the club was flat. Relegation might be a wake up call for them as it was for us but the big difference is we got to start with a clean slate, they're stuck with the people who got them there. Even their "new manager" is someone the fans hounded out for eye bleeding football
Funnily enough I was thinking about this earlier today whilst walking back with my groceries. All of those who back in those days said we needed to start spending big, speculate to accumulate were missing the point; if you don't have the right leadership in place then you can spend all the money in the world but it won't go to the right players, staff, business decisions and the things you do spend money on will ultimately end up with you in just a bad a place as we were in our relegation season, but with awful players on big contracts, half finished stands, a manager who was hounded out by their fans and lots more.
Say what you want, but the days of Petrie were at least recoverable, if not perfect. New stand - delivered, saved us from oblivion - delivered, our own training ground - delivered, the infrastructure and staff setup to recover and come back from relegation stronger - delivered and some silverware - delivered on our own terms.
What's going on at Hearts is mindbogglingly bad.
28-07-2020, 02:32 PM
Funnily enough I was thinking about this earlier today whilst walking back with my groceries. All of those who back in those days said we needed to start spending big, speculate to accumulate were missing the point; if you don't have the right leadership in place then you can spend all the money in the world but it won't go to the right players, staff, business decisions and the things you do spend money on will ultimately end up with you in just a bad a place as we were in our relegation season, but with awful players on big contracts, half finished stands, a manager who was hounded out by their fans and lots more.
Say what you want, but the days of Petrie were at least recoverable, if not perfect. New stand - delivered, saved us from oblivion - delivered, our own training ground - delivered, the infrastructure and staff setup to recover and come back from relegation stronger - delivered and some silverware - delivered on our own terms.
What's going on at Hearts is mindbogglingly bad.
Yeah I agree. It's like us but far, far worse. The whole Covid episode and Budge playing up to the fans has saved her skin big time. In normal circumstances there would have been serious questions being asked about the leadership of that club. Poor decision after poor decision.
28-07-2020, 02:41 PM
Yeah I agree. It's like us but far, far worse. The whole Covid episode and Budge playing up to the fans has saved her skin big time. In normal circumstances there would have been serious questions being asked about the leadership of that club. Poor decision after poor decision.
I kind of disagree, if I'm honest. When we were relegated and only ended up with eight first team players, decisions off the field had at least put us in an easy position to rebuild. Good stadium, good training facilities, Leeann Dempster in and the football brain that she offers, good support for the first team coach and a clear vision for the future. Poor footballing decisions to scrimp and save and also appointing Butcher put us down and those two things alone were enough to relegate us.
How Hearts rebuild from here I have no idea. A bloated squad of largely poor players, some on high wages. A stand that still needs a lot of work on it from what I read on here. Decision making that led to the expensive new pitch being laid down, then holding a massive concert on it before the season starts. An administration that forgot to order seats for a new stand FFS.
By appointing Leeann Dempster and changing the football side of things, we were in a position of a near clean slate and although it took three seasons for us to go up, we were an entirely different club in 14/15 onwards compared to 13/14. I hugely doubt that Hearts can have that sort of organisational transformation in three years, let alone one.
I kind of disagree, if I'm honest. When we were relegated and only ended up with eight first team players, decisions off the field had at least put us in an easy position to rebuild. Good stadium, good training facilities, Leeann Dempster in and the football brain that she offers, good support for the first team coach and a clear vision for the future. Poor footballing decisions to scrimp and save and also appointing Butcher put us down and those two things alone were enough to relegate us.
How Hearts rebuild from here I have no idea. A bloated squad of largely poor players, some on high wages. A stand that still needs a lot of work on it from what I read on here. Decision making that led to the expensive new pitch being laid down, then holding a massive concert on it before the season starts. An administration that forgot to order seats for a new stand FFS.
By appointing Leeann Dempster and changing the football side of things, we were in a position of a near clean slate and although it took three seasons for us to go up, we were an entirely different club in 14/15 onwards compared to 13/14. I hugely doubt that Hearts can have that sort of organisational transformation in three years, let alone one.
Hearts' biggest problem is their failure to admit to their mistakes, even to themselves. Thus, they will continue to make them and be baffled as to why things continue to go wrong, or wrongly blame external forces for them.
EI255
28-07-2020, 02:51 PM
Look at this pathetic sight.... Grown, angry men with wooden rattles! Hahaha what a joke!
What goes on at that tin pot shed??
One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest springs to mind. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200728/c1241c45c7c16cd5101287d021768d93.jpg
28-07-2020, 03:03 PM
Look at this pathetic sight.... Grown, angry men with wooden rattles! Hahaha what a joke!
One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest springs to mind. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200728/c1241c45c7c16cd5101287d021768d93.jpg
The baldie bloke sitting down with the furry neck must have broken his. He's just about greetin' missing out on all the fun.
28-07-2020, 03:06 PM
The guy in the middle sadly asking himself why his dad wasn't a Hibs fan
28-07-2020, 03:09 PM
Wins it for me best one liner ever on Hibs.net 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hearts fixture list is out tomorrow afternoon. I fancy that 15 away games could trigger some seethe.
28-07-2020, 03:31 PM
Hearts fixture list is out tomorrow afternoon. I fancy that 15 away games could trigger some seethe.
Is it a 27 game campaign?
They’ll get 14 home games, or Budge will be onto ND straight away