View Full Version : Yams The generic Hearts thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67

21-06-2020, 06:58 PM
Also shows a remarkable lack of self respect by Neilson. It’s reminiscent of a victim of domestic abuse going home because “this time it will be different”. Hearts don’t change and sooner or later they’ll get tired of him and give him another good kicking.

21-06-2020, 07:01 PM
Assuming Stendel’s backroom staff who just arrived in January were on a keep us up or your sacked contract as well?

h18eeynick
21-06-2020, 07:03 PM
Leaves Dundee United to go back to Hearts. Strange one ! Does he know something we don't or has he no ambition ?

MacGruber
21-06-2020, 07:05 PM
It's not strange at all.

Neilson out, Neilson in, Jambos are skint, Jambos are loaded, Players forced to take pay cuts, Club paying out compensation.

Straight forward really

21-06-2020, 07:07 PM
Can we merge this with the thread that broke the story two hours ago?

21-06-2020, 07:10 PM

I hope not. The consolidated mega threads not been a good move in my view.

h18eeynick
21-06-2020, 07:10 PM

Sorry - i hadn't seen it anywhere as came up as breaking news on BBC. Not sure which thread it was mentioned on

MacGruber
21-06-2020, 07:11 PM
Genuine question .... was Stendel not contracted to 2022 with a relegation clause for both sides to get out ?
If so and hearts get reinstated ... double compo for sacking Daniel then signing Robbie ???

Or do they know their bid to be re-instated is dead in the water

No, they are relegated.

If reconstruction happens for them they will be a Championship team that gets invited in.

Tug Wilson
21-06-2020, 07:11 PM
So we could beat two Robbie Neilson teams on the way to winning the Scottish Cup!

That would be funny.

21-06-2020, 07:12 PM
Also shows a remarkable lack of self respect by Neilson. It’s reminiscent of a victim of domestic abuse going home because “this time it will be different”. Hearts don’t change and sooner or later they’ll get tired of him and give him another good kicking.
In fairness no matter how bad it is, it would be much worse if Levein was still there.

Partyraiser
21-06-2020, 07:13 PM
Imagine if Hearts get back into the SPFL and then have 2 managers !

It's fine, they've planned for this. They'll just appoint one of them as director of football

21-06-2020, 07:15 PM
Genuine question .... was Stendel not contracted to 2022 with a relegation clause for both sides to get out ?
If so and hearts get reinstated ... double compo for sacking Daniel then signing Robbie ???

Or do they know their bid to be re-instated is dead in the water

They have been relegated even if reconstruction happens the record will show the season ended the were relegated.

h18eeynick
21-06-2020, 07:17 PM

I guess we lost as now merged with the generic Hearts thread so lost within a load of crap rather than a discussion about their new manager and why would he jump divisions and possibly better finances

21-06-2020, 07:18 PM
Think that'll be quite a divisive appointment.

Oh well! Maybe he's going for a hat-trick of championship winners medals. Nothing to write home about, Robbie!

21-06-2020, 07:20 PM
Besides the obvious money incentive, why would Neilson want to give up a job with a potentially safe Premiership club in favour of a struggling Championship club?

21-06-2020, 07:24 PM
Besides the obvious money incentive, why would Neilson want to give up a job with a potentially safe Premiership club in favour of a struggling Championship club?

He's a Hearts fan right? Be on a bigger wage I'd imagine, Levein is no longer at the club.

Can see why he went for it to be fair.

Don't think it means anything more than that in regards to this court case etc.

Wonder how Saughton Jambo never caught this scoop.

21-06-2020, 07:24 PM

Hearts are a far far bigger club than the Utd off today Robbie knows that and so do we. He will probably double his wage overnight and be on a BIG bonus to win the Championship.

21-06-2020, 07:25 PM

Because he is a typical small thinking Jambo with no ambitions beyond serving at the incomplete pink temple of hoofball? And he is a slave to the maroon pound!

21-06-2020, 07:31 PM
One poster on JKB saying basically "Lol to any Hobos looking in - we can't be broke if we are hiring Neilson."

Yes, yes you can. Stendel was on £12k per week. Neilson will cost about £4k per week.

What an absolutely awful appointment for Hearts - you cannot make it up. This BBC documentary will be absolute gold dust.

21-06-2020, 07:31 PM
Davie Weir as sporting director seems to be the rumour

h1bs4life
21-06-2020, 07:33 PM
Says it all. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/2201e108e25f47f952caf3df9a99ee20.jpg

Brilliant :not worth

21-06-2020, 07:34 PM
Have they rented the plane yet?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/images-e.jpimedia.uk/imagefetch/http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimage/Prestige.Item.1.70947638!image/image.jpg?width=640

21-06-2020, 07:35 PM

Maybe not, but prevents the same discussion (argument) in multiple threads.

Green Manalishi
If they win their court case and stay in the premiership then surley Stendal must still have a contract?

monarch
Credit where it’s due. No snidely remarks on their website about his record agaInst Hibs.

Oh wait .........

21-06-2020, 07:41 PM
If they win their court case and stay in the premiership then surley Stendal must still have a contract?

I don't think so because they have officially been relegated

21-06-2020, 07:42 PM
He’s under big pressure to win the cup semi v us though.

21-06-2020, 07:45 PM
No, they are relegated.

If reconstruction happens for them they will be a Championship team that gets invited in.

Not sure that can happen.

If last seasons relegation was somehow undone, they’d never have been relegated, so you could certainly debate whether any relegation clause they’d made us of could therefore also be reversed.

If their relegation stands, last season is done, I’m not sure on what basis a reconstructed too league could opt to include them.

Greenworld
21-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Does anyone know what rhe situ is with Hibs players have the accepted the reduction ?

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

MacGruber
21-06-2020, 07:51 PM
Poppy theives showing their usual class. Daniel Stendel forgoes his wage and doesn't take any money to help out the club because they say they are skint. They then shell out a 3 year contract and compensation for a new mamager. Don't even have the decency to even mention Stendell in their statement. No shame

Hibeesforever
21-06-2020, 07:52 PM
Poppy theives showing their usual class. Daniel Stendel forgoes his wage and doesn't take any money to help out the club because they say they are skint. They then shell out a 3 year contract and compensation for a new mamager. Don't even have the decency to even mention Stendell in their statement. No shame

So true, you could say Stendal saving his wage paid the compo...comedy really.

21-06-2020, 07:53 PM

Did Budge not force players to take wage cuts too?

GRA
21-06-2020, 08:01 PM
Let's welcome him back with open arms. It was his team and tactics that bottled it that day at Tynie on our way to Scottish Cup glory. 👌

21-06-2020, 08:02 PM

Yup.

Madness.

They didn’t even announce Stendal wasn’t returning !

So somehow Neilson was approached today and spoke with his family and decided within a few hours this is the right move.

Stendal was clever to go without wages as makes him look the good guy for getting them relegated but he’s been shafted at the end of it and can’t imagine he will be happy with how they have acted. All that pressing and change of style for nothing.

They could have got Neilson months ago when Utd won the league and they probably wouldn’t be in this mess.

21-06-2020, 08:05 PM
Nothing to suggest Stendl wasn't begging to go. Doubt they paid anything.

21-06-2020, 08:05 PM
Presumably that's a sign that they've acquired being in the Championship then - otherwise Stendel's contract would still be in place.
But say by chance they get Reinstated to top league will Stendel have a cse for compensation under unfair dismissal?

21-06-2020, 08:07 PM
But say by chance they get Reinstated to top league will Stendel have a cse for compensation under unfair dismissal?
Their official statement says "we have this evening agreed terms with all relevant parties" so I assume that includes Stendel.

21-06-2020, 08:07 PM
Hearts - always trying the be the big team

Two complete sets of changing rooms

Two QCs

Two wins for Danny Boy

Two Managers

21-06-2020, 08:11 PM
I'm going out at 9pm tomorrow night to applaud Ann Budge. She deserves it. Made the last 12 weeks quite entertaining during lockdown.

Green Manalishi
21-06-2020, 08:12 PM
Nothing to suggest Stendl wasn't begging to go. Doubt they paid anything. i dont think Stendal ever really wanted the job in the first place.

21-06-2020, 08:13 PM
I take it that any attempt to be reinstated to the Premiership is now officially dead, then?

Surely if they succeeded with that, then Stendal's contract would still be valid, so they'll have two Head Coaches on the books. Though, TBF, that's one less than than they had last season.

Also, if they're so skint, threatening to bin players if they don't take wage cuts, then where's the (presumably large) compensation for Dundee United coming from?

I presume these questions will all be raised by our esteemed SMSM.

21-06-2020, 08:20 PM
14% win ratio for Daniel in the league. 29% if you include cup games. This is the guy who was going to revolutionise Scottish football. :greengrin

21-06-2020, 08:22 PM
14% win ratio for Daniel in the league. 29% if you include cup games. This is the guy who was going to revolutionise Scottish football. :greengrin

How does that compare to Leveins 2nd stint and Cathro, must be much of a muchness

21-06-2020, 08:24 PM
Was Robbie the manager when they got pumped out Europe by the Maltese farmers?

WestCoastHibby
21-06-2020, 08:27 PM
Quite a shocking turn of events but it was always on the cards that Stendel was never to return.
Feel more sorry for him than I did for P.Higginbottom ( zero sympathy for him mind )

Did Budge not say last week she wanted a sporting director first?

It was
Here's the story but it's the Daily Record

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-maltese-disaster-reflects-just-8480974

21-06-2020, 08:28 PM

Rumours its Weir or Elvis 🙄

I take it that any attempt to be reinstated to the Premiership is now officially dead, then?

Surely if they succeeded with that, then Stendal's contract would still be valid, so they'll have two Head Coaches on the books. Though, TBF, that's one less than than they had last season.

Also, if they're so skint, threatening to bin players if they don't take wage cuts, then where's the (presumably large) compensation for Dundee United coming from?

I presume these questions will all be raised by our esteemed SMSM.

They have only just asked the court to reverse the aspects of the resolution to agree promotion and relegation so we can only assume from that they they are still hoping to not actually have been relegated.

Yeah and then he claimed post match that it wasn’t a big deal because it would have been expensive for the club to travel to Russia for their tie in the next round. I’m not sure his comments were much comfort for the Hearts fans who had already booked flights, visas and accommodation though.

21-06-2020, 08:29 PM

Budge doesn't know what day of the week it is let's be honest. All she's done is contradict herself at every turn.

21-06-2020, 08:29 PM

You’re surely not still expecting any class or dignity from Hearts are you?

They’ve proved themselves beyond doubt as a grubby, self-serving wee outfit.

21-06-2020, 08:30 PM
Blimey, I didn’t see that coming!

I wonder what the Dundee Utd fans think of this news?

21-06-2020, 08:35 PM
Neilson plenty of time between now and October to perfect his tactics !

21-06-2020, 08:37 PM
Blimey, I didn’t see that coming!

I wonder what the Dundee Utd fans think of this news?

https://www.eastfootball.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?44739-Hearts-take-Neilson/page11

Logie Green
21-06-2020, 08:38 PM
I don't think Neilson is a bad appointment for them. He's proven he knows how to win that league twice.

It wouldn't shock me to see things follow a similar pattern as last time around. Promoted, decent season back up then fan unrest because it stagnates/goes backwards.

I doubt the Jambos will be claiming he’s won 2 Championships.....

pollution
21-06-2020, 08:44 PM
Did Stendhal walk or get pushed ?

What a sorry episode he was.

21-06-2020, 08:45 PM
They reckon shankland will follow Neilson. They must have a spare couple million lying about

21-06-2020, 08:57 PM

Pretty good analogy.

21-06-2020, 08:59 PM
Rumours its Weir or Elvis ��

Could be Elvis as he reads books on management,talks in riddles and talking up Budge's court case.

So much for being skint.

21-06-2020, 08:59 PM
He's a Hearts fan right? Be on a bigger wage I'd imagine, Levein is no longer at the club.

Can see why he went for it to be fair.

Don't think it means anything more than that in regards to this court case etc.

Wonder how Saughton Jambo never caught this scoop.

He's from Paisley very unlikely to be a Hearts fan.

ionahibby
21-06-2020, 09:01 PM
Unless they’ve promised neilson premiership football. Don’t get why he would go otherwise. Stendel was a piss poor manager but they’ve treated him shockingly here.

21-06-2020, 09:11 PM
They reckon shankland will follow Neilson. They must have a spare couple million lying about

They have benefactors who continue to back them. Theres more than one guy putting money in.

21-06-2020, 09:15 PM
Yeah and then he claimed post match that it wasn’t a big deal because it would have been expensive for the club to travel to Russia for their tie in the next round. I’m not sure his comments were much comfort for the Hearts fans who had already booked flights, visas and accommodation though.

He also said something about it being good to get a replay in the Scottish Cup in 2016 as it would generate extra revenue 😂

21-06-2020, 09:15 PM
They have benefactors who continue to back them. Theres more than one guy putting money in.

I still canny see them giving them a few million to ***** on shankland

21-06-2020, 09:20 PM
Unless they’ve promised neilson premiership football. Don’t get why he would go otherwise. Stendel was a piss poor manager but they’ve treated him shockingly here.

How could they promise him Premiership football? Robbie Nielson appointment - tock, tick, tock, tick. To be fair, he’s probably the best they’ve had in the past few years and, with unlimited funds at his disposal, he should be able to get them promoted next season. On the other hand it could all easily go tits up for them.

21-06-2020, 09:33 PM
Remember Neilson celebrating getting a penalty shootout in the playoff final against St Mirren and then losing it? Not scoring a single penalty Lol.

21-06-2020, 09:35 PM
I still canny see them giving them a few million to ***** on shankland

I agree, more likely Nisbet.

21-06-2020, 09:44 PM
I agree, more likely Nisbet.

They’ve made an offer to Craig Gordon

21-06-2020, 09:54 PM

Jees, Budge is pulling out all the PR stunts in a vain effort to save her arse. What next ? Robbo up front with Skatchell in midfield.

Those Yams are so thick and obedient they'll lap it up, deflecting from the quiet announcement that they're dropping the court case.

They are a parody of the themselves. Can't wait for Netflix series.

21-06-2020, 09:59 PM
Did they even announce Stendals departure?

21-06-2020, 10:00 PM

Looks like they are getting the band back together

21-06-2020, 10:07 PM
Did they even announce Stendals departure?

Technically I think he was out of contract. But he wanted to return.

Maybe he will go to the Arabs?

21-06-2020, 10:09 PM

They’ll surely be after a manager with a better record

darwenhibby
21-06-2020, 10:14 PM
They’ll surely be after a manager with a better record

Can see Tommy Wright at DU

21-06-2020, 10:19 PM

I'd imagine his claim that he wanted to come back and work in the Championship came with the condition that they continued to pay him the same salary. Hearts will have know for a while they couldn't afford him, hence the move for Neilson (which probably wasn't as sudden as it appears).

Bit bemused by Neilson's willingness to return. Lower league football and no games until October. I'd have thought he was using the United role to rebuild his career and aim for something bigger, not a step back into a previous role. Can only assume the yams are paying him significantly more than the Arabs (though doubtless a great deal less than they lavished on Stendel).

Clarence
21-06-2020, 10:22 PM
Robbie “2-0 up at Tynie”. Never let them forget that we could never have done it without him.

21-06-2020, 10:24 PM
Looks like they are getting the band back together

Levein back as director of football, a role they still seem to regard as essential?

'We spread the net far and wide for a new director of football but then we realised the best man for the job was the man who had just left us'.

Mind you, bearing in mind that his role during Stendel's tenure seemed to comprise of showing Stendel round the stadium he won't be needed for that when Neilson returns.

21-06-2020, 10:27 PM
Think Budge and the benefactors have had a sherry afternoon at hers today.

21-06-2020, 10:53 PM
https://twitter.com/simpsonsspfl/status/1274814606276517894?s=21

21-06-2020, 10:56 PM
If I were a Hearts Season Ticket holder and FoH contributor, I'd be more peeved off about how the Hearts board have squandered my money on sub standard signings and awful managerial appointments like Levein, Cathro and Stendel.

Hearts fans should be venting their anger towards Ann Budge and the Hearts board rather than blaming the rest of Scottish football for their demise. :agree:

21-06-2020, 11:02 PM
If I were a Hearts Season Ticket holder and FoH contributor, I'd be more peeved off about how the Hearts board have squandered my money on sub standard signings and awful managerial appointments like Levein, Cathro and Stendel.

Hearts fans should be venting their anger towards Ann Budge and the Hearts board rather than blaming the rest of Scottish football for their demise. :agree:

Thread on Kickback giving their full backing to the Budgie, I think this is more down to her benefactor links than her ability as a chairperson :greengrin

21-06-2020, 11:17 PM
Thread on Kickback giving their full backing to the Budgie, I think this is more down to her benefactor links than her ability as a chairperson :greengrin

C'Mon the Budge she's doing such a good job. :greengrin

Seriously, they think it's everybody else's fault. :rolleyes:

Take responsibility for yer own actions. :aok:

Wee Effen Bee
21-06-2020, 11:27 PM
‪I’m not expecting any replies as I just needed to get this down to get my head around it:
Hearts:‬
‪We’re 2nd in the league but a banner-carrying plane protest convinced us Neilson is pish!‬
‪We had the right man all along)‬ ‪Naw, yiz are right again Levein is pants‬
‪Stendal is better than J Ross‬ ‪(even though Hibs are in the top six and we are rock bottom 4 points adrift)‬
We’ve wasted £10m of fans money and JA’s money on 100 dud players
The new stand is unfinished, not fit for purpose and well over budget
We ruined a brand new £1m pitch
‪Stendal Might have to go home‬‪ (we’ll just continue to pay for 3 managers and their staff till he agrees to forfeit his wages)‬
‪We’re skint: 50% wage cut or clause 12 invoked‬
‪No we didn’t give players an ultimatum...but we reserve the right to use c12‬
‪Calling all agents: we’re loaded‬
If we are relegated we will take all youse down anaw
Better vote for reconstruction or we will burn you all!
Nae messing, were too big for the championship you’re all corrupt and only looking after yourselves
We need compo cos we’re skint - Naw, we’re really loaded
We need £8m to survive in the championship
Dundee Utd, we named you in court papers but, can we have Neilson back cos we changed our minds and we think he’s really great?
We know we put our bank details up for money directly, cos we’re desperate, but we’re offering £200, 000(?) a year to Robbie
Budge is an awesome CEO right!?

21-06-2020, 11:30 PM
No, they are relegated.

If reconstruction happens for them they will be a Championship team that gets invited in.Not according to Hearts. They maintain they have been expelled

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

HFC93
22-06-2020, 12:13 AM
The Scottish Championship is Neilson's comfort zone.

22-06-2020, 12:31 AM

He did not do well against a championship when he was last at Hearts.

Turkish Green
22-06-2020, 02:35 AM
Not according to Hearts. They maintain they have been expelled

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Moot point. They were relegated based on league position. Oldco were expelled after a vote.

22-06-2020, 03:51 AM

Certainly looks like he’s been appointed to get them out of the championship. The French league have said they will not change their league as it’s too late re tv contracts etc. Are Utd expecting to get paid this decade. Why Neilson thinks it’s better to go to a basket case of a club who supporters harried him out instead of a club who were back on an even keel i can’t quite fathom. Hope they draw each other in one of the cups. That would be a tasty game for sure.

22-06-2020, 05:24 AM
Moot point. They were relegated based on league position. Oldco were expelled after a vote.

Oldco weren't expelled, they stopped existing and disappeared from the league.

22-06-2020, 05:48 AM
Had a mental dream last night that Hearts appointed Robbie Neilson haha. Hearts are such a basket case you wouldn't put anything past them. That's maybe too far though.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-06-2020, 06:00 AM
Why the **** would Utd do business with them?

22-06-2020, 06:26 AM
‪I’m not expecting any replies as I just needed to get this down to get my head around it:
‪We’re 2nd in the league but a banner-carrying plane protest convinced us Neilson is pish!‬
‪Stendal is better than J Ross‬ ‪(even though Hibs are in the top six and we are rock bottom 4 points adrift)‬
‪Stendal Might have to go home‬‪ (we’ll just continue to pay for 3 managers and their staff till he agrees to forfeit his wages)‬
Nae messing, were too big for the championship you’re all corrupt and only looking after yourselves
Dundee Utd, we named you in court papers but, can we have Neilson back cos we changed our minds and we think he’s really great?
We know we put our bank details up for money directly, cos we’re desperate, but we’re offering £200, 000(?) a year to Robbie

That pretty much sums it up. Budgie has had a shocker of a lockdown. Must have obliterated the drinks cabinet on a daily basis.

22-06-2020, 06:30 AM

Have absolutely no idea why he would go back there at all, never mind at this time. What bull**** has she promised him? What is he thinking?

Utterly disrespectful to Dundee Utd at a time Hearts are dragging their name into the courts which suggest he is a perfect fit for this unscrupulous club.

22-06-2020, 06:48 AM
Have absolutely no idea why he would go back there at all, never mind at this time. What bull**** has she promised him? What is he thinking?

Utterly disrespectful to Dundee Utd at a time Hearts are dragging their name into the courts which suggest he is a perfect fit for this unscrupulous club.

Pretty poor from Neilson after them giving him a job when others wouldn't, giving him a disproportionate budget to other teams in the championship and supporting him to the title. Was on the radio last week or so talking about looking forward to new league campaign.with united. Obviously money driven but doesn't imo show him in a good light.

22-06-2020, 06:54 AM
Pretty poor from Neilson after them giving him a job when others wouldn't, giving him a disproportionate budget to other teams in the championship and supporting him to the title. Was on the radio last week or so talking about looking forward to new league campaign.with united. Obviously money driven but doesn't imo show him in a good light.

Disagree. In football a manager is the most expendable employee at a club. He could have stayed at Dundee Utd, lost a couple of games at the start of next season and be sacked by September. There is never any loyalty from clubs so they should not expect it from managers. When a better deal comes along then you are best to take it, so long as it’s the right place for you to work.

22-06-2020, 06:55 AM

Probably got a good wedge from hearts to pay off his contract and United appoint someone on a lower salary, every penny is a prisoner it seems.

22-06-2020, 07:08 AM
I for one am delighted that Hearts are spending their money on a manager on compensation to secure a manager that a sizable proportion of their support decided they didn't want 4 years ago.

Marco G
22-06-2020, 07:08 AM
Noticed in today's news in the know Barry Anderson talks about Neilson taking over after Hearts relegation and how he will relish the chance to get them out of the Championship. Sounds like Hearts are going to pull the plug on their court bid???

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

22-06-2020, 07:14 AM
Goodbye friends and friends, this was your Daniel.

Skol
22-06-2020, 07:19 AM
Have they agreed and paid terms for their former manager yet.

Rumble de Thump
22-06-2020, 07:47 AM
Have they agreed and paid terms for their former manager yet.

Their contract with him was automatically voided when they were relegated.

Skol
22-06-2020, 07:57 AM
I mean compensation to Barnsley

EI255
22-06-2020, 08:03 AM
Neilson back, trying to get Craig Gordon back, probably go for The big nosed Czech too..... there's only one way this is heading hahaha

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

22-06-2020, 08:06 AM
Noticed in today's news in the know Barry Anderson talks about Neilson taking over after Hearts relegation and how he will relish the chance to get them out of the Championship. Sounds like Hearts are going to pull the plug on their court bid???

Whether they do or not, Hearts are playing in the championship. The court has no power to force reconstruction so the best they can hope for is compensation.

BH Hibs
22-06-2020, 08:06 AM

Apparently they met his release fee.

22-06-2020, 08:10 AM
Whether they do or not, Hearts are playing in the championship. The court has no power to force reconstruction so the best they can hope for is compensation.

That’s not strictly true.

It is highly unlikely to be successful but they are asking the court to change the resolution that was passed to remove the relegation and promotions.

EI255
22-06-2020, 08:10 AM
Apparently they met his release fee.You mean Anderson met the release fee.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

22-06-2020, 08:12 AM

So the exact opposite of a money-spinning replay?

Greenworld
22-06-2020, 08:23 AM
Their contract with him was automatically voided when they were relegated.Is it automatically reinstated if they manage to stay in the premier is the question

22-06-2020, 08:24 AM
Is it automatically reinstated if they manage to stay in the premier is the question

Now that would be funny, a court case maybe ?

22-06-2020, 08:27 AM
Is it automatically reinstated if they manage to stay in the premier is the question

It wasn't an automatic release AIUI. It was an option for either side to break the contract. That option has now been taken up.

22-06-2020, 08:29 AM
That’s not strictly true.

It is highly unlikely to be successful but they are asking the court to change the resolution that was passed to remove the relegation and promotions.

Dundee United would fall apart if that happened. So much for doing no harm.

Greenworld
22-06-2020, 08:36 AM
It wasn't an automatic release AIUI. It was an option for either side to break the contract. That option has now been taken up.Ok i may have misunrstood his agent who mentioned that because of relegation it terminated his contract however if hearts stayed up he would still have one. That was on the radio a while back.

22-06-2020, 08:43 AM

I don’t think so. I’m not sure what place on the page they are on, but some of them are talking about reconstruction being announced this week.

Logie Green
22-06-2020, 08:45 AM

It’s a no brainier from Neilson’s point of view. He’ll probably be on better money than at Dundee Utd and get more to spend.

He’ll also be confident that if they do have to play in the Championship it’ll only be for a season.

Hopefully it’ll go belly-up though!

hibbycraig
22-06-2020, 09:32 AM
Guys on Twitter saying Davie Weir as sporting director.

22-06-2020, 09:44 AM
Guys on Twitter saying Davie Weir as sporting director.Would that be a good move on their part? :dunno:
I guess anyone would be better than Levein.

22-06-2020, 09:50 AM

hearts are a bigger club than Dundee United. They’re a basket case, but they’re still a bigger club, located in one of the most beautiful cities on earth.

Not really hard to see why he’s gone back.

aa much as we hate them surely we can admit to that.

Clarence
22-06-2020, 09:57 AM
Robbie “2-0 up at Tynie”. Never let them forget that we could never have done it without him.

In fact he basically handed us the cup!

22-06-2020, 10:03 AM
Gordon thinking over a two year deal from Hearts, they’re throwing the cash about.

22-06-2020, 10:08 AM
Gordon thinking over a two year deal from Hearts, they’re throwing the cash about.

They have it to throw about. Except at the existing playing staff of course. I wonder how they are feeling watching the savings made from their pay cuts being spent on getting the old gang back together. :greengrin

22-06-2020, 10:09 AM
Budge certainly knows how to fire up the passion in their support.

All positive vibes coming out from our rivals at the moment.

What could possibly go wrong :greengrin

The Count
22-06-2020, 10:26 AM
As bad as a player you have been and part of a terrible team you agree a pay cut in good faith to help Hearts survive the pandamic.You have a contract so you did not have to agree to the pat cut but it was the right thing to do under the circumstances.You are enjoying fathers day with your young kids when news breaks that Hearts are spending big on Neilson and probably Weir and Gordon.How must you feel fowards your current employer.If this was any other than a football club you would be off to see your Union official.If that is how big clubs act thank god i am a Hibby.

22-06-2020, 10:31 AM
Thing is, even their best case, daydream scenario; court undoes the resolution, what’s to stop the league just tabling it again? I’m sure there’s a solid majority of clubs ready to vote for it again.

If their case is solely hanging on the circumstances of the vote, not the outcome, then surely they’re stuffed either way?

cocteautwin
22-06-2020, 10:32 AM

In fact he basically handed us the cup!

It was never in doubt after Hanlon’s equaliser.

22-06-2020, 10:34 AM
hearts are a bigger club than Dundee United. They’re a basket case, but they’re still a bigger club, located in one of the most beautiful cities on earth.

Not really hard to see why he’s gone back.

aa much as we hate them surely we can admit to that.

I think Neilson’s got self-respect issues, personally.

Would you really go back to a previous employer who had shown so little faith in your abilities that they binned you for Ian Cathro? Would you work again for customers who had hired a plane to criticise you so publicly?

I certainly wouldn’t, but each to their own.

22-06-2020, 10:36 AM

Would you really go back to a previous employer who had shown so little faith in your abilities that they binned you for Ian Cathro? Would you work again for customers who had hired a plane to criticise you so publicly?

It’s a strange one right enough. There’s not even an argument that it was under a different regime, Budge was in charge when he was hounded out the door first time around.

Money talks though.

22-06-2020, 10:38 AM
When do Hearts start back training

22-06-2020, 10:38 AM
Disagree. In football a manager is the most expendable employee at a club. He could have stayed at Dundee Utd, lost a couple of games at the start of next season and be sacked by September. There is never any loyalty from clubs so they should not expect it from managers. When a better deal comes along then you are best to take it, so long as it’s the right place for you to work.

Disagree don't think it shows him in a good light at all. Of course entirely up to him what he does but going back to a club where the fans forced him out seems odd.

22-06-2020, 10:44 AM
I don’t think so. I’m not sure what place on the page they are on, but some of them are talking about reconstruction being announced this week.

No doubt the same ones that said it would happen last week and the week before and the week before that.....

22-06-2020, 10:47 AM
I really hope the cup semi goes ahead now..

Imagine if we knocked them out again?

22-06-2020, 10:49 AM

Absolutely sums them up to a tee, but they can’t see it!

22-06-2020, 10:54 AM
Apparently they met his release fee.

If I were Utd I’d get the money up front

22-06-2020, 10:55 AM
Bit of a comedown for Hearts.Only got two managers on the books at the moment instead of the normal three.

22-06-2020, 11:10 AM
It’s a strange one right enough. There’s not even an argument that it was under a different regime, Budge was in charge when he was hounded out the door first time around.

Money talks though.

The phrase "what attracted you to the millionaire Paul Daniels?" comes to mind. :greengrin

22-06-2020, 11:38 AM
I wonder what changed in less than a week?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-delay-decision-daniel-stendel-until-they-identify-sporting-director-2886514

Hearts delay decision on Daniel Stendel until they identify sporting director

By Moira Gordon
Wednesday, 17th June 2020, 7:00 am

Hearts have warned Daniel Stendel that he may have to wait another month before they are in a position to negotiate his managerial future, with owner Ann Budge revealing that identifying a sporting director is currently a higher priority.

The Gorgie chairwoman has spent the past couple of months fighting to preserve the club’s Premiership status and was unable to offer the German any assurances during that time. With Monday’s collapse of league reconstruction talks, the capital club, who are launching a last-gasp legal battle, have had to prepare to spend next season in the Championship.

As things stand, though, a clause nullifying his original deal should the club drop down a division has been activated in Stendel’s contract, prompting speculation that his short association with the Tynecastle club is about to come to an end.

Admitting that discussions have some way to go before the former Barnsley manager’s future is resolved, Budge says it will ultimately come down to finances, and his willingness to sit tight while she presses on with filling the position of sporting director.

“I have been speaking to Daniel about the future and what will work for Daniel and for us. These conversations are ongoing,” Budge said.

While far from certain, she has not written off Stendel returning to Tynecastle for the new season. “The bottom line is that Daniel feels that things are unfinished for him,” Budge added. “He came here to do a job but didn’t get the chance to do what he hoped, so from that perspective he is certainly driven to see things through.”

Stendel arrived in December 2019 but had failed to lift the capital side off the foot of the table by the time the season was called to a premature halt by Covid 19 in March. That led to Hearts being jettisoned into the Championship despite there being eight games of the campaign remaining.

“We do have a lot to sort out,” stated Budge. “A lot of it will be financial and there has to be the understanding that it is a different scenario from when we negotiated originally. Clearly we have things to resolve, regarding players and the other coaches, etc. So it is not going to be a particularly quick decision.

“I know it is frustrating for everybody but there are still so many unknowns and the other thing I have been working on in the background is identifying a sporting director. I feel I need that more quickly.

“If we are in the Championship we won’t be playing before October so players won’t be back until the middle of August. So that gives me time to get the sporting director sorted out as quickly as possible.”

There is a preliminary shortlist and with the tussle with the SPFL about to be handed over to her legal team, she says she will now work her way through online interviews with candidates in the hope that an appointment can

be made by mid-July at the latest.

“That’s the timetable I am working to but it could depend on the individual but I want to make my mind up over the next few weeks so that they can be in place to oversee any signings we may be able to make,” said Budge.

Although stressing that none of the squad has signalled a desire to leave, she says any budget for new arrivals may depend on whether current players balk at a shortened campaign in the second tier.

The Championship is scheduled to begin on 17 October and teams will play each other three times instead of four, for a total of 27 matches.

Budge wants the sporting director’s input in any such discussions and when it comes to either renegotiating a new contract with Stendel or determining a replacement.

“As soon as Monday’s [reconstruction] decision was taken, I had people sending me managers’ CVs but I want to keep the dialogue open with Daniel,” she revealed.

“I know he is frustrated, as we all are, by the waiting and the uncertainty, and I have told him that I will understand if another job he likes the sound of comes along and he wants to take it, but I do think it is important that the sporting director and the manager are compatible and can work together so I don’t want to rush into anything until I get that position filled.”

Stendel, who took over as Hearts manager on 7 December last year, has waived his wages during the coronavirus crisis.

22-06-2020, 11:47 AM
Will someone please just think of the poor Kickbackers who changed their avatars to wee German flags and spent weeks Deutsch sprechen to each other

22-06-2020, 11:48 AM
I guess Moira Gordon must be part of the fake news media.

The only truth to be found is on Hearts website, or via pliant stooge Banderson.

22-06-2020, 11:52 AM
Will someone please just think of the poor Kickbackers who changed their avatars to wee German flags and spent weeks Deutsch sprechen to each other

Are they all talking caveman now?

22-06-2020, 11:58 AM
Are they all talking caveman now?

He’s mini caveman, there’s only 1 caveman

Skol
And all for a manager they hounded out.

How long until Cathro is the new messiah.

He’s mini caveman, there’s only 1 caveman

Diet Caveman :agree:

cocteautwin
22-06-2020, 12:07 PM
Stendel, who took over as Hearts manager on 7 December last year, has waived his wages during the coronavirus crisis.

Bet he’s feeling like a right t!t after that bad decision. He must be spewing.

22-06-2020, 12:08 PM
Diet Caveman :agree:

Barney Rubble?

Greenworld
22-06-2020, 01:22 PM
Would that be a good move on their part? :dunno:
I guess anyone would be better than Levein.
When do Hearts start back trainingDepends end of august or september

Or right away if they win in court

22-06-2020, 01:24 PM
Dundee United are looking for around £8M in compo for Neilson.

22-06-2020, 02:36 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53136308

Hearts have got it sussed according to Tom English.

22-06-2020, 02:39 PM
Levein wants the United job !

22-06-2020, 02:42 PM

A little nugget buried in there.....

The fact is, though, it would take a few more of Neilson's vital organs and a lot of James Anderson's - and the club's other benefactors' - money to get that one across the line.

There are more than 2 :cb

22-06-2020, 02:46 PM

Hearts have got it sussed according to Tom English."Snappy decisions". I thought English was supposed to be a journalist.

22-06-2020, 02:53 PM
A little nugget buried in there.....

The fact is, though, it would take a few more of Neilson's vital organs and a lot of James Anderson's - and the club's other benefactors' - money to get that one across the line.

There are more than 2 :cb

I suspect you're right but he may have been referring to F of H.

22-06-2020, 02:56 PM
I suspect you're right but he may have been referring to F of H.

AB has always used the plural. Someone on here suggested that the plural could have been Anderson and his wife, which is fair.

But I was forgetting about the 400,000 other benefactors.:greengrin

22-06-2020, 02:58 PM

Honestly, when does T English get sacked? His myopia is unbelievable.

The biggest factor in Hearts getting relegated is Hearts. No one ‘put them down’... the SPFL just refused to overturn the rule that says the club that finishes bottom of the league gets relegated.

22-06-2020, 03:19 PM

"Now that they've got their manager there are only a few minor issues left to resolve - the legal action to either win back their place in the Premiership or win a truckload of compensation from those who put them down..."

They put themselves down by only winning 4 games all season. Fed up reading pish like this from Hearts mouthpieces like English. There are other possible outcomes to their legal action, not that you'd know it if you followed BBC coverage.

22-06-2020, 03:24 PM
"Now that they've got their manager there are only a few minor issues left to resolve - the legal action to either win back their place in the Premiership or win a truckload of compensation from those who put them down..."

They put themselves down by only winning 4 games all season. Fed up reading pish like this from Hearts mouthpieces like English. There are other possible outcomes to their legal action, not that you'd know it if you followed BBC coverage.

Amazing that he only considered the two options as the ones being available - reinstatement or compensation. There is the third option, which is neither, and I'd put my money on that being the one that transpires.

mowgli
22-06-2020, 03:33 PM

Robbie wasn't binned,the approach from MK was turned down but Robbie requested to speak with them, the rumour at the time was he wasn't getting on with Levein interfering with first team matters. With Levein now gone he was obviously keen on a return after Stendel informing Ann he has had an offer in Germany

22-06-2020, 03:34 PM
https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/an-update-from-ann

Let me begin by warmly welcoming Robbie Neilson back to the club as first-team manager. Robbie will take up his duties, officially, on 1st July, 2020.The news that Robbie is to return to Hearts has taken everyone somewhat by surprise. It was my stated intention to prioritise the appointment of a Sporting Director, prior to confirming any new manager appointment. However, in all businesses, even “the best laid plans” may have to be altered to cope with changing circumstances.

While Robbie agreeing to come back is excellent news, it does mean we have to say goodbye to Daniel. The uncertainties surrounding Scottish Football in general and Hearts’ situation in particular, has put enormous pressure on all of us, not least Daniel. He has shown great patience and understanding throughout this enormously challenging time. I cannot thank him enough for the support he has given to our Club.

None of us expected our relationship to be so short-lived but then none of us ever expected to have to deal with the effects of a global pandemic. It is clear that all Clubs are having to rethink their short-medium plans and we are no different.

I do want to thank Daniel very sincerely for his fantastic support and leadership during his short spell with us. He made a big impact on our operation and we are much better for having had his services. Had it not been for Covid-19 and its impact, I have no doubt that Daniel would have had a very successful and enjoyable time here at Hearts.

Daniel became a firm fans’ favourite in a very short space of time. On behalf of everyone here at the Club, the Board, the staff, the players and, of course, the supporters, I want to wish him and his assistants, Jorg Sievers and Dale Tonge, the very best of luck for their future success. They will always be welcomed back here at Tynecastle.

Yet another Hearts statement. When they posted about the legal case she said they wouldn't be posting again.
This is the second statement in two days.

This one deals with the departure of dearly beloved Daniel. Apparently his leaving is (somehow?) due to the global pandemic and nothing to do with the fact that he was a rubbish manager.

22-06-2020, 03:36 PM
Depends end of august or september

Or right away if they win in court

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using TapatalkWhen their hired training facility opens to the general public?

22-06-2020, 03:41 PM
In response to the old woman’s statement, I had to laugh at this:

Nice touch. Confirms that no matter what has happened, we believe Stendel is an absolute diamond and model pro. Just hope he can find a job now where he isn’t walking into a **** show of the highest order with a bunch of mercenaries. Oh the irony !!! :faf::faf::faf:

22-06-2020, 03:51 PM
Robbie wasn't binned,the approach from MK was turned down but Robbie requested to speak with them, the rumour at the time was he wasn't getting on with Levein interfering with first team matters. With Levein now gone he was obviously keen on a return after Stendel informing Ann he has had an offer in Germany

Remaining at a club of Hearts stature would surely have been more alluring to Neilson than moving to the English equivalent of Livingston. Hearts had the means to keep him if they wanted but they were happy to let him go once the compensation was right. You can try and re-write history but the truth is a majority of fans wanted him gone and he wasn’t sticking around somewhere he knows he wasn’t wanted.

22-06-2020, 04:22 PM

It’s ok mate, we’ve been following the story ourselves. Posting the Hearts propaganda line on here is cute but dumb. No one believes it.

Anyhow, however you’ve done it, Neilson is a good re-appointment. He’s proved himself as a Championship manager.

TelaStella
22-06-2020, 04:31 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200622/7df9c5315ba5ff2810f84fe3512e3a76.jpg
Bedsheets out already outside the bus shelter. Weird weird bunch.

22-06-2020, 04:37 PM
https://twitter.com/Scott_Hay_/status/1275096735925313536

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

22-06-2020, 04:39 PM

It is the exact same narrative as the Hun apologists used when The Rangers were "relegated" by all the other clubs to the 4th division, rather than being allowed to start again in the Championship.

22-06-2020, 04:59 PM

Being gay isn't that big a deal these days.

Coach Jon
22-06-2020, 05:13 PM
Welcome Back Robbie, you will forever be a Hibs Legend!! :not worth:not worth:not worth

22-06-2020, 06:28 PM
Outside Budge's house

Hibs4185
22-06-2020, 06:48 PM
Outside Budge's house

Is that def Budge’s house? I thought it was somewhere else.

22-06-2020, 06:49 PM

No idea. Someone put it in our whatsapp group and said it was her house.

22-06-2020, 06:51 PM

English of course ignored the other option of they get laughed at in court and are due legal fees to spfl.

22-06-2020, 06:52 PM

100% that is Budges house , been there nearly ten years. The white car is her Merc with personalised reg plates.

22-06-2020, 06:54 PM
Outside Budge's house

What does it say at the bottom

22-06-2020, 06:56 PM
English of course ignored the other option of they get laughed at in court and are due legal fees to spfl.

I’m starting to get the impression that English is ripping the Colin Nish out of them.

22-06-2020, 07:04 PM
What does it say at the bottom

Im assuming its the same ones that were kicking about 4 years ago..

22-06-2020, 07:20 PM

Haha apologised for what? Us winning the cup?

22-06-2020, 07:24 PM
Own up who was this

We’ve got a stylish Robbie Neilson
A Scotsman who came from Dundee way
He’s brought in effective winning football
Let's hope he can keep the planes at bay
And we’ve got Scotland in a shock
Doncaster’s in the dock
Neilson’s got us playing, we’re on the up

22-06-2020, 07:29 PM

Sorry if I’m being thick, but what exactly am I looking at here?!

22-06-2020, 07:33 PM

A Phoodle.

22-06-2020, 07:38 PM

Robbie Neilson as a "phoodle". Think the nickname started when the rumours where going about Levein was picking the team and he was just a front hence being called a lapdog and a wee poodle. Think the apology thing is due to us knocking them out the cup after claiming a replay would be a good money spinner

22-06-2020, 08:12 PM

Numpty on Superscoreboard said it was one of us. Aye okay pal. Just like when they tried to blame us when one of their own spray painted 'Levein Out' on their plaza badge.

22-06-2020, 10:12 PM
Probably already posted, but I see Budge has finally got round to acknowledging Stendel's departure.

'Daniel made a big impact' she says. Well I guess steering them to bottom spot and getting relegated qualfies as a big impact.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53140085

22-06-2020, 10:19 PM
Probably already posted, but I see Budge has finally got round to acknowledging Stendel's departure.

'Daniel made a big impact' she says. Well I guess steering them to bottom spot and getting relegated qualfies as a big impact.

"Budge, meanwhile, acknowledged Neilson's arrival from Championship winners Dundee United had "taken everyone somewhat by surprise" after she had prioritised the arrival of a sporting director".

Did he appoint himself or something?

22-06-2020, 10:28 PM

Yet another Hearts statement. When they posted about the legal case she said they wouldn't be posting again.

This one deals with the departure of dearly beloved Daniel. Apparently his leaving is (somehow?) due to the global pandemic and nothing to do with the fact that he was a rubbish manager.

Usual nonsense. What has Covid got to do with him leaving? If he was a decent manager then let him get on with it.

They’ve confused themselves now with what impact Covid did or did not have on them. Pretty desperate stuff to try an get some mileage from something that has killed thousands.

horseflesh
22-06-2020, 10:56 PM
Robbie Neilson as a "phoodle". Think the nickname started when the rumours where going about Levein was picking the team and he was just a front hence being called a lapdog and a wee poodle. Think the apology thing is due to us knocking them out the cup after claiming a replay would be a good money spinner

But why Phoodle and not poodle?

22-06-2020, 10:57 PM

I have missed statements that directly relate to the football from
budge. She really doesn’t have a clue, not one iota. Her bigging up Stendal is comedy in itself. The guy reluctantly came here, couldn’t wait to pop back to Germany (remember Xmas), tried a different style of football and failed on every level. Brought in high paid players and they failed as well. He was 99% heading towards relegation. Even the fans had turned on him.

22-06-2020, 11:15 PM

I’m sure the day he was appointed St Johnstone were bottom of the league, they ended up finishing 7th(promoted to 6th) that’s what making an impact is all about, not taking your team further behind than when you started. Still I suppose he was up for a pint in the diggers.

22-06-2020, 11:21 PM
I’m sure the day he was appointed St Johnstone were bottom of the league, they ended up finishing 7th(promoted to 6th) that’s what making an impact is all about, not taking your team further behind than when you started. Still I suppose he was up for a pint in the diggers.

The thing is that Levein would have probably have kept them up.

22-06-2020, 11:34 PM

On what basis? Levein had a terrible 12-18 months. The results under him were hilariously bad.

23-06-2020, 02:05 AM
On what basis? Levein had a terrible 12-18 months. The results under him were hilariously bad.
Hearts position in the league became worse after Daniel took over. Levein would never had used the high press which cost Stendel so many games. Levein would have ground out results and brought some fight to the team. It would not have been pretty but probably would have saved them.

23-06-2020, 05:13 AM

I don't doubt that. It was amusing when he got the bullet but I didn't think they'd be relegated. Under Stendel it looked a certainty.

23-06-2020, 05:20 AM
Hearts position in the league became worse after Daniel took over. Levein would never had used the high press which cost Stendel so many games. Levein would have ground out results and brought some fight to the team. It would not have been pretty but probably would have saved them.

Lol first time i’ve ever seen a Hibby call him Daniel. Doesnt feel right.

23-06-2020, 05:22 AM
Lol first time i’ve ever seen a Hibby call him Daniel. Doesnt feel right.

He’s a hero now. The Jambo equivalent of Butcher - go in on an inflated wage, raise hell, relegation, leave.

23-06-2020, 06:48 AM
Dundee United chairman saying it's a sideways step for Neilson and that he thought he would move on to a bigger club than Dundee United when he eventually left. Ouch.

Does he not know Hearts fans call themselves the third biggest, hugest, bigliest club in world football?

Caversham Green
23-06-2020, 06:55 AM

A bit off topic, but see the big windae behind the banner? If HoMFC had had the glass tinted like that with black frames their new stand would have looked much better.

23-06-2020, 06:58 AM
A bit off topic, but see the big windae behind the banner? If HoMFC had had the glass tinted like that with black frames their new stand would have looked much better.

Easier to lick too. The frames give something to hold onto.

23-06-2020, 07:09 AM
Honestly, when does T English get sacked? His myopia is unbelievable.

The biggest factor in Hearts getting relegated is Hearts. No one ‘put them down’... the SPFL just refused to overturn the rule that says the club that finishes bottom of the league gets relegated.

‘win compensation for those who put them down’. ‘Hearts have it sussed’. ‘Shankland is the next big prize’

Toms definitely on the poppythief payroll.

James Stephen
23-06-2020, 07:11 AM
Dundee United chairman saying it's a sideways step for Neilson and that he thought he would move on to a bigger club than Dundee United when he eventually left. Ouch.

Does he not know Hearts fans call themselves the third biggest, hugest, bigliest club in world football?

He can say it, but its not true. Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are all considerably bigger clubs than utd, by almost every measure, id suggest.

23-06-2020, 07:14 AM
He can say it, but its not true. Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are all considerably bigger clubs than utd, by almost every measure, id suggest.

How about using the league a club plays in as a measure. :greengrin

James Stephen
23-06-2020, 07:15 AM
How about using the league a club plays in as a measure. :greengrin

Touche!

I did say almost every measure 😁

Gloucester Hibs
23-06-2020, 07:16 AM
‘win compensation for those who put them down’. ‘Hearts have it sussed’. ‘Shankland is the next big prize’

Toms definitely on the poppythief payroll.

He is to Hearts what Radar Jackson and Co were to OldCo Huns.

Banderson must be getting a wee bit jealous TE is cutting his grass with Budge though!

Greenworld
23-06-2020, 07:54 AM
Is it Wednesday Spfl must respond to the Court on the Hearts case

23-06-2020, 08:06 AM
Is it Wednesday Spfl must respond to the Court on the Hearts case

They were given 7 days and Hearts put it in last Wednesday so might hear something today.

23-06-2020, 08:38 AM
The Sun
MORE FOOTBALL

SILENCE BROKEN Stendel reveals Hearts apologised after he found out he was axed when Neilson news broke
Mark Walker
23 Jun 2020, 9:09Updated: 23 Jun 2020, 9:24
Comment now

DANIEL STENDEL has revealed he was stunned to find out he was getting the axe from Hearts when he discovered Robbie Neilson had taken his job on Sunday night.

And the German boss quipped that his decision to waive his wages at Tynecastle helped pay for Hearts' compensation to Dundee United to land his own successor.

Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts boss
Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts bossCredit: Andrew Barr - The Sun Glasgow
Stendel was eased out of the relegated Premiership club to make way for the return of former United boss Neilson and Tynecastle owner Ann Budge later paid tribute to Stendel's time at the club, which lasted just six months.

But although Stendel admitted he loved his time in Edinburgh, he admitted he was surprised when he heard about Neilson's appointment and revealed Hearts had to apologise for him discovering his own fate elsewhere.

He said: "I found out about the appointment of a new manager on Sunday night.

"Communication was certainly not the best in this case, but since then several people have apologised to me. This does not damage the positive image I have of the club."

Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday night
Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday nightCredit: Michael Schofield - The Sun Glasgow
And Stendel, in an interview in a German newspaper, was asked if he was angry to find out that Hearts had paid compensation to United despite him not accepting his wages since March.

He stated: "Then I even paid for my successor!

"Seriously, I'm not going to look back. I made this decision with full conviction to support my club. I have no regrets about that. I am at peace with myself and the club."

Former Barnsley boss Stendel had a clause in his contract allowing either him or the club to terminate the agreement in the event of relegation, which is still pending with a legal challenge due.

And he explained: "When I signed the contract, I had already decided not to go into the Championship if the worst came to the worst.

Stendel waived his wages to help the club through the Covid-19 cash crisisCredit: Alamy Live News
"But since our relegation wasn't under regular circumstances and especially because I got to know Hearts as a really great club, I then offered, under certain conditions in terms of staff and philosophy, to stay anyway.

"However, this became increasingly unlikely lately, the things mentioned could not be fulfilled and there were simply too many question marks. For example, nobody knows when games can start again. Maybe in October, but you definitely don't want to start without fans.

"I started at Hearts in December which certainly wasn't a good time to begin. We had four defeats from the first five games.

"But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split.

"There were 24 points left to play for and we were only four points behind.

FLYING HIGH Ex-Rangers and Hearts star Danny Wilson hails Robbie Neilson as ‘perfect appointment’
"I'm sure we could have done it, but unfortunately we will never know now."

And Stendel will take plenty of happy memories back to Germany after revealing he will return to Scotland to pick up his belongings soon.

He said: "We beat Rangers twice, but our problem was the games against the smaller teams.

"The success against Steven Gerrard were absolute highlights, as was the 3-1 derby win at Hibs.

"It's a great rivalry - purely sporting, without riots and police operations. It was simply a great experience. In general, I was very positively surprised by Scottish football. Not necessarily the level, but the mentality, the fans, the whole atmosphere.

"I returned to Germany in March and intended to come back to Scotland in early April. As a result, I took hardly anything with me.

MOST READ
GERS NEWSMerson had chance to join Gers, McLean on Ibrox interest, Dykes dyes hair blue
NEW BLUE 'DORangers target Lyndon Dykes reveals new look as Livi striker dyes hair BLUE
"But I have sold my flat in Scotland and need to clear it out. I have to stay in quarantine for 14 days, so I'll sit in my flat for two weeks and fly back with my things.

"I paid for my flat for five months and lived in it for about one month....my landlord will also have a very pleasant memory of me!

"For the future, I see myself at a club that is enthusiastic, has fan potential and sports ambitions. There are enough of these in Germany too, but I remain open to everything.

"One thing is clear, my previous experience abroad has been a benefit for me in many ways."

Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers at the Scottish Sun football page

Burnley's Ben Mee responds to an offensive banner flown over the Etihad Stadium
TOPICS
Hearts
Ad

23-06-2020, 08:38 AM
But why Phoodle and not poodle?

Its a hun thing. Adding a H to the second letter of a word apparently means the word is associated to Celtic.

23-06-2020, 08:41 AM
The Sun
MORE FOOTBALL

SILENCE BROKEN Stendel reveals Hearts apologised after he found out he was axed when Neilson news broke
Mark Walker
23 Jun 2020, 9:09Updated: 23 Jun 2020, 9:24
Comment now

DANIEL STENDEL has revealed he was stunned to find out he was getting the axe from Hearts when he discovered Robbie Neilson had taken his job on Sunday night.

And the German boss quipped that his decision to waive his wages at Tynecastle helped pay for Hearts' compensation to Dundee United to land his own successor.

Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts boss
Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts bossCredit: Andrew Barr - The Sun Glasgow
Stendel was eased out of the relegated Premiership club to make way for the return of former United boss Neilson and Tynecastle owner Ann Budge later paid tribute to Stendel's time at the club, which lasted just six months.

But although Stendel admitted he loved his time in Edinburgh, he admitted he was surprised when he heard about Neilson's appointment and revealed Hearts had to apologise for him discovering his own fate elsewhere.

He said: "I found out about the appointment of a new manager on Sunday night.

"Communication was certainly not the best in this case, but since then several people have apologised to me. This does not damage the positive image I have of the club."

Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday night
Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday nightCredit: Michael Schofield - The Sun Glasgow
And Stendel, in an interview in a German newspaper, was asked if he was angry to find out that Hearts had paid compensation to United despite him not accepting his wages since March.

He stated: "Then I even paid for my successor!

"Seriously, I'm not going to look back. I made this decision with full conviction to support my club. I have no regrets about that. I am at peace with myself and the club."

Former Barnsley boss Stendel had a clause in his contract allowing either him or the club to terminate the agreement in the event of relegation, which is still pending with a legal challenge due.

And he explained: "When I signed the contract, I had already decided not to go into the Championship if the worst came to the worst.

Stendel waived his wages to help the club through the Covid-19 cash crisisCredit: Alamy Live News
"But since our relegation wasn't under regular circumstances and especially because I got to know Hearts as a really great club, I then offered, under certain conditions in terms of staff and philosophy, to stay anyway.

"However, this became increasingly unlikely lately, the things mentioned could not be fulfilled and there were simply too many question marks. For example, nobody knows when games can start again. Maybe in October, but you definitely don't want to start without fans.

"I started at Hearts in December which certainly wasn't a good time to begin. We had four defeats from the first five games.

"But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split.

"There were 24 points left to play for and we were only four points behind.

FLYING HIGH Ex-Rangers and Hearts star Danny Wilson hails Robbie Neilson as ‘perfect appointment’
"I'm sure we could have done it, but unfortunately we will never know now."

And Stendel will take plenty of happy memories back to Germany after revealing he will return to Scotland to pick up his belongings soon.

He said: "We beat Rangers twice, but our problem was the games against the smaller teams.

"The success against Steven Gerrard were absolute highlights, as was the 3-1 derby win at Hibs.

"It's a great rivalry - purely sporting, without riots and police operations. It was simply a great experience. In general, I was very positively surprised by Scottish football. Not necessarily the level, but the mentality, the fans, the whole atmosphere.

"I returned to Germany in March and intended to come back to Scotland in early April. As a result, I took hardly anything with me.

MOST READ
GERS NEWSMerson had chance to join Gers, McLean on Ibrox interest, Dykes dyes hair blue
NEW BLUE 'DORangers target Lyndon Dykes reveals new look as Livi striker dyes hair BLUE
"But I have sold my flat in Scotland and need to clear it out. I have to stay in quarantine for 14 days, so I'll sit in my flat for two weeks and fly back with my things.

"I paid for my flat for five months and lived in it for about one month....my landlord will also have a very pleasant memory of me!

"For the future, I see myself at a club that is enthusiastic, has fan potential and sports ambitions. There are enough of these in Germany too, but I remain open to everything.

"One thing is clear, my previous experience abroad has been a benefit for me in many ways."

Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers at the Scottish Sun football page

Burnley's Ben Mee responds to an offensive banner flown over the Etihad Stadium
TOPICS
Hearts
Ad

He’s been shat on from a great height

They couldn’t even let the guy know he wasn’t returning

23-06-2020, 08:48 AM
Nae luck for Desperate Dan, but it's the Hearts way, again.

Pity he'd never heard of them or he would have known what to expect.

At least he got another relegation.

23-06-2020, 08:59 AM
Nae luck for Desperate Dan, but it's the Hearts way, again.

Pity he'd never heard of them or he would have known what to expect.

At least he got another relegation.

Exactly. They really don’t have any decency at all. Very poor behaviour - but not unexpected.

23-06-2020, 09:09 AM
He’s been shat on from a great height

They couldn’t even let the guy know he wasn’t returning

Hearts: Shafting people since 1874.

mal
23-06-2020, 09:11 AM
I like this bit: "But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split."

After their draw with Aberdeen they were 5 points adrift. 9 games later they were only 4 points adrift. At that rate they might have caught Hamilton a little more than half way through next season.

Still, Hearts' ultimate treatment of him was unprofessional and disrespectful which is at least consistent of them.

23-06-2020, 09:14 AM
Exactly. They really don’t have any decency at all. Very poor behaviour - but not unexpected.Would have been funny if he'd turned up for work just before the latest messiah was announced.

Top planning from the businessy type owner

23-06-2020, 09:17 AM
Exactly. They really don’t have any decency at all. Very poor behaviour - but not unexpected.

As much as Stendel was a figure of fun for us when he was at Hearts, he comes across very well there and shows a level of dignity that hearts can only dream of.

23-06-2020, 09:25 AM
The SPFL trust confirms all 42 clubs have taken up grant of £50k from cash pot of £3.1 million donated by James Anderson. Celtic, Aberdeen and Kilmarnock have made their grant available to their club charities.

23-06-2020, 09:32 AM
I like this bit: "But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split."

After their draw with Aberdeen they were 5 points adrift. 9 games later they were only 4 points adrift. At that rate they might have caught Hamilton a little more than half way through next season.

Still, Hearts' ultimate treatment of him was unprofessional and disrespectful which is at least consistent of them.

Here’s my take on it, im not sure it’ll be a popular one because it references the last derby, where we were taken apart, let’s be honest. Apparently it was 1-3 but I left before we scored the consolation. Stendel was putting in place an extreme style of football that required a clear out of traditional Berra types. To do that in less than 20 games is impossible, Klopp did similar with the high octane press and it took him ages. In that derby I saw a scary performance from them if I’m honest, and I didn’t think we were that bad, we just weren’t given a sniff. Their passing ball retention and fitness were very good. They also put the hun to the sword (twice I think?) and although that press wasn’t working against the 8 men behind the ball teams, hence their run of defeats, I think that would have come with time. I think he has a load of potential as a manager and as a Hibs fan I’m pretty happy they have Neilson back again instead.

23-06-2020, 09:34 AM
Here’s my take on it, im not sure it’ll be a popular one because it references the last derby, where we were taken apart, let’s be honest. Apparently it was 1-3 but I left before we scored the consolation. Stendel was putting in place an extreme style of football that required a clear out of traditional Berra types. To do that in less than 20 games is impossible, Klopp did similar with the high octane press and it took him ages. In that derby I saw a scary performance from them if I’m honest, and I didn’t think we were that bad, we just weren’t given a sniff. Their passing ball retention and fitness were very good. They also put the hun to the sword (twice I think?) and although that press wasn’t working against the 8 men behind the ball teams, hence their run of defeats, I think that would have come with time. I think he has a load of potential as a manager and as a Hibs fan I’m pretty happy they have Neilson back again instead.

Then they went and got pumped of St Mirren, 2nd bottom St Mirren.

For what it's worth i reckon he woukd have got them playing very good football in the championship and they would come back stronger.

23-06-2020, 09:38 AM
As much as Stendel was a figure of fun for us when he was at Hearts, he comes across very well there and shows a level of dignity that hearts can only dream of.

Yup. His record was pretty brutal but he came into an absolute basketcase of a club, who have then preceded to treat him with the levels of respect and professionalism we've come to expect from them.

How in the hell has Budge managed to make any money in her professional career? Given the last couple of years at Hearts I wouldn't trust her to organise a p**s up in a brewery.

mal
23-06-2020, 09:41 AM

They didn't have much time, they had 8 games. And they'd just played miserably against St Mirren and Hamilton. Stendel also had something like 1 win in 12 at Barnsley. I'd have been delighted if Hearts had kept him.

I only saw the derby on the telly and I gave up after their second goal. I thought our performance was truly appalling and much more down to us than them.

23-06-2020, 09:43 AM
So, Stendel wanted to come back but found out about Neilson’s return via the media?

Would Mowgli be good enough to return and explain his ludicrous propaganda post on here?

23-06-2020, 09:50 AM

I think the problem with that kind of style is 1) you need to find the right players and they are hard to come by in the market Hearts are shopping in. Its not just the fitness side, they need to be tactically smart, have good passing ability throughout the team and be adaptable. Finding a team of those players on an SPL budget is near impossible. If you do get players good enough they'll get bought by a bigger team immediately.

2) It's easy to get players motivated and running in the big games against Hibs and Sevco but as you've alluded to, how does that style work in run of the mill games against St Mirren, Hamilton etc? The manager/players didn't have the ability to change their game and I'm not convinced that would have changed with more time.

I agree that the derby performance was impressive but his record in general at Hearts and the other clubs he's managed is poor to terrible. There is a reason very few clubs out with the elite can play high press effectively.

23-06-2020, 09:55 AM

I remember my initial response to that Derby defeat was anger towards our team for playing very badly. That anger probably came from disappointment, frustration and a couple of beers.

The days after though were a different matter as I watched the replays/highlights, and like you I accepted they had outplayed us in some areas, especially the quick use of the ball going forward.

23-06-2020, 10:18 AM

Indeed. We can say it out loud now, but I’m quite happy they’ve ended the experiment with Stendel and gone back to “the Hearts way” with Neilson.

23-06-2020, 10:21 AM
They didn't have much time, they had 8 games. And they'd just played miserably against St Mirren and Hamilton. Stendel also had something like 1 win in 12 at Barnsley. I'd have been delighted if Hearts had kept him.

I only saw the derby on the telly and I gave up after their second goal. I thought our performance was truly appalling and much more down to us than them.

I would argue it was a bit of both. To a man we were awful, but Hearts pressing was terrific and they showed the qualities that gets you out of bottom of the league scraps. They just couldn’t do it against other teams. Typical really. I was convinced we’d batter them that night.

23-06-2020, 10:57 AM
Stendel was getting Hearts relegated and would have been sacked.

Stendel got Hearts relegated and he has been sacked.

Horrific appointment. Wrong man at wrong time. Hearts were managerless before us. They dithered over Jack Ross who was the obvious appointment. All the revisionism in the world doesn’t change the fact Budge has made a right pig’s ear of footballing matters at our rivals.

23-06-2020, 11:00 AM
I would argue it was a bit of both. To a man we were awful, but Hearts pressing was terrific and they showed the qualities that gets you out of bottom of the league scraps. They just couldn’t do it against other teams. Typical really. I was convinced we’d batter them that night.

Hibs consistently showed that they struggle against any team that puts them under pressure, under both Hecky and Ross. That was obvious from when we were obliterated 6-1 at Ibrox.

Hibs had some really good games after Hecky left, St Johnstone and Aberdeen being good examples, but neither of those teams pressed Hibs properly on the day.

Stendal obviously identified that and played the right tactics.

That's something that really needs to be sorted out for next season.

23-06-2020, 11:07 AM

I agree this 100%. IMO he had 2 major hurdles to overcome; 1. Years of hoofball from Hearts, totally part of their DNA. You mention Berra, I said before he was punted that he was a total liability to our lowly neighbours. Stendel saw that immediately & acted. 2. The tiny Tynie pitch! That helps with the high press but it really hinders if you try to play expansive football. I know their away record is shocking but 50% of their wins, unfortunately, came at our place. ER is a full penalty area plus, bigger than Tiny.
I'm delighted he's gone & caveman has returned. Chocks away!

Fuzzywuzzy
23-06-2020, 11:13 AM
I'm finding it mental that they are feeling penalised if they have paid compensation for Neilson? There was something triggered in his contract so I'm assuming financial recompense was part of that

23-06-2020, 11:51 AM
Did Stendel have a relegation clause in his contract? And if so have hearts used it?

Find it bizarre that they can use a clause to release the manager but are taking clubs to court over the same denial of relegation

May have missed something mind

23-06-2020, 11:54 AM
Stendel was getting Hearts relegated and would have been sacked.

Stendel got Hearts relegated and he has been sacked.

Horrific appointment. Wrong man at wrong time. Hearts were managerless before us. They dithered over Jack Ross who was the obvious appointment. All the revisionism in the world doesn’t change the fact Budge has made a right pig’s ear of footballing matters at our rivals.

Over the years, the Hertz fans have had some rubbish to watch. Yes, they may have got results, like they often do in the 'bigger' games, but it's been a grim watch, so I'm told.

Stendel comes in and changes the way they played. The high press, less use of the long ball etc. Over time, he could have been a good manager for them. So I would not say "horrific appointment", just "right man, but at the wrong time".

I do agree, another Budge cock-up though in the way it was handled.

mal
23-06-2020, 01:57 PM
Over the years, the Hertz fans have had some rubbish to watch. Yes, they may have got results, like they often do in the 'bigger' games, but it's been a grim watch, so I'm told.

Stendel comes in and changes the way they played. The high press, less use of the long ball etc. Over time, he could have been a good manager for them. So I would not say "horrific appointment", just "right man, but at the wrong time".

He was brought in to get them away from the relegation zone. They were 3rd bottom on goal difference when he joined and were 4 points adrift when the season was brought to an end.

In two games against Hamilton they took 1 point, same with St Johnstone, same with St Mirren. They were the other three teams in the bottom 4 when he joined. If that's not horrific I don't know what is.

That's on top of his league record at Barnsley: W1 D3 L7 - 6 points out of a possible 33.

23-06-2020, 02:33 PM

Yes but his first priority was getting them away from the relegation zone. If a manager wants to change the style of play mid-season, they’ve got to buy themselves time with results.

Also his man management seemed woeful. Hughes and Berra may have been past it but alienating them so publicly was very dumb.

Bronson
23-06-2020, 03:11 PM
I see the french courts have re-relegated Amiens and Toulouse after Ligue 1 clubs voted against reconstruction.

Makes the jambos already flimsy case even weaker. Will get laughed out of court.

23-06-2020, 03:17 PM
I see the french courts have re-relegated Amiens and Toulouse after Ligue 1 clubs voted against reconstruction.

Makes the jambos already flimsy case even weaker. Will get laughed out of court.

Just read that on Twitter. The jambos now saying French league is nothing to do with Scotland blah blah blah 😂😂

23-06-2020, 03:19 PM
Just read that on Twitter. The jambos now saying French league is nothing to do with Scotland blah blah blah 😂😂

But I had a Jambo knobheid tell me on Twitter that it was exactly the same. Hmmm I may try to track him down

23-06-2020, 03:28 PM
Would have been funny if he'd turned up for work just before the latest messiah was announced.

Top planning from the businessy type owner

Businessy type owner. 😂😂😂😂😂

23-06-2020, 03:47 PM

It’s crazy how much the supposed in the know Jambos have got wrong about this.

As I’ve already said before when something gets proven to be bollocks they start peddling something else

23-06-2020, 04:31 PM

That was true when it looked like it might go the other way and it's true now.

A different league with different regulations ended their season in a different way and a different court system ruled on it.

23-06-2020, 04:56 PM

Wish they'd make their mind up

23-06-2020, 05:01 PM
A part of me feels sorry for Stendel. Another part remembers that he had no idea who Hearts were anyway, did a grand job of relegating them and is probably on the sesh right now. Whole thing was probably a blur.

23-06-2020, 05:31 PM

As I’ve already said before when something gets proven to be bollocks they start peddling something else

They're just setting themselves up for a bigger fall when it goes pear shaped.

23-06-2020, 09:17 PM
Gary Naismith their loans manager is leaving

23-06-2020, 09:59 PM
Gary Naismith their loans manager is leaving

Permanently?

Greenworld
23-06-2020, 10:04 PM
LD considered by Hearts

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5734692/hearts-ann-budge-consider-hibs-leeann-dempster/amp/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter

23-06-2020, 10:09 PM
LD considered by Hearts

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5734692/hearts-ann-budge-consider-hibs-leeann-dempster/amp/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter

How many threads you want to post that in I counted 3 so far

Greenworld
23-06-2020, 10:12 PM
How many threads you want to post that in I counted 3 so farI like getting my count up [emoji16]

23-06-2020, 10:38 PM
I like getting my count up [emoji16]

😂😂😂

24-06-2020, 10:36 AM

It’s hysterical how they believe anything that means they will get a reprieve,accept it as fact then it fails to materialise then just forget it happened then move onto the next ridiculous theory. The most definitely said what happened in France made their case a slam dunk. Totally backtracking as usual and of course no mention of the lower leagues clubs accepting in the epl accepting their relegation when called as is. It’s called showing integrity and accepting that this was the only way to end the leagues. Their case looks as flimsy as rangers dossier of observations that should be laughed out of court. I hope it goes all the way and they face a huge sanction. Their behaviour has been deplorable from the start and their massive lie about no club being disadvantaged was blown out the water with them trying to stop the three clubs promotions. Their allies are gradually deserting them in the media and should this hold up the season they will be pilloried by the press.

24-06-2020, 11:18 AM
:
Permanently?

:faf::faf::faf:Well I thought it was funny.:faf::faf::faf:

24-06-2020, 11:21 AM
Permanently?Yep, there was no future in it, every bank he went to turned them down because of their credit history.

24-06-2020, 11:23 AM
:

:faf::faf::faf:Well I thought it was funny.:faf::faf::faf:

You're clearly as twisted as me :greengrin

Sheffhibee
24-06-2020, 07:35 PM
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/forum/1-the-terrace/
Howling ������6:flag:
"We are finally acting like a big club"