View Full Version : Yams The generic Hearts thread
12-01-2020, 12:00 PM
Probably already mentioned, but Daly is the latest to put the boot into Stendel. So far, those jettisoned - Berra, Whelan, Daly - haven't had a good word to say about him:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51082795
As he points out, why pack a teenage striker (Keena) who has barely been given a chance off to Hartlepool then try to bring in an even less experienced striker to solve their goalscoring problems?
12-01-2020, 12:02 PM
Probably already mentioned, but Daly is the latest to put the boot into Stendel. So far, those jettisoned - Berra, Whelan, Daly - haven't had a good word to say about him:
As he points out, why pack a teenage striker (Keena) who has barely been given a chance off to Hartlepool then try to bring in an even less experienced striker to solve their goalscoring problems?
In fairness that Keena has looked really ***** whenever I’ve seen him.
12-01-2020, 12:06 PM
Just looking at Stendels stats, 1 season in charge at Hanover 96, sacked after a run of bad games and the new guy goes on a winning run to take them to 7th in Bundislèga 2, same happened at Barnsley and no wins in 5 at Hearts.
Tell me what everyone sees in this guy, is it just cause he's German.
Yes. They think he'll be just like Klopp
berwickhibee
12-01-2020, 12:06 PM
What kind of snake must kirk be??
Interesting how he's the only 1 kept on.
Is he the snitch or the brown nose?
Or both.
Strange set up. 💚
12-01-2020, 12:20 PM
Or both.
Strange set up. [emoji172]Now Daly's gone he could be the only one left at the wee ground that knows how a Post-it note works.
Therefore indispensable whilst Levein clings on.
12-01-2020, 12:32 PM
Yes. They think he'll be just like Klopp
Just like they thought Romanov would be just like Abramovich. The slightest tenuous link gets them all tumescent :faf:
All the negativity could be hindering bringing in new players, it would certainly put me off.
It could be viewed as axed players/coaches just bearing a grudge but plenty of players and coaches get moved on from clubs without going running to the press to complain. People naturally might think there's no smoke without fire and something's not right there.
12-01-2020, 12:36 PM
All the negativity could be hindering bringing in new players, it would certainly put me off.
It could be viewed as axed players/coaches just bearing a grudge but plenty of players and coaches get moved on from clubs without going running to the press to complain. People naturally might think there's no smoke without fire and something's not right there.
Especially when there's a queue lining up
12-01-2020, 02:50 PM
Just seen St.Endall out shopping in Embra.
That lizard tongue thing is a permanent feature as is is puzzled look as if the whole world is confusing him.
I kinda feel sorry for the guy.
12-01-2020, 03:48 PM
That lizard tongue thing is a permanent feature as is is puzzled look as if the whole world is confusing him.
12-01-2020, 04:35 PM
Out shopping twice in one day?
12-01-2020, 04:51 PM
Out shopping twice in one day?
Tesco's? Merlot? Russian sailors?
12-01-2020, 06:12 PM
Probably looking for the German beer market and confused it is no longer there.
12-01-2020, 06:22 PM
Oops! John Lewis. Looked like he was being chaperoned fair enough.
12-01-2020, 06:26 PM
Oops! John Lewis. Looked like he was being chaperoned fair enough.
...is that a euphmism for "carer"
12-01-2020, 06:49 PM
Or both.
Strange set up. 💚
If you mean Gary Kirk, I know him personally and his only fault is that he is 100% Jambo - that human-fault aside he's a great guy, a gentleman !
12-01-2020, 07:48 PM
If you mean Gary Kirk, I know him personally and his only fault is that he is 100% Jambo - that human-fault aside he's a great guy, a gentleman !
That’s one massive fault to be fair.
Roxyhibee
12-01-2020, 07:56 PM
If he’s the Gary Kirk whose dad played for Hearts in the late 50’s / early 60’s, I used to work beside his older brother Bobby in the Civil Service and went down with them in a car to the Scotland Wales game at Anfield (Argentina) in 77 with them both - and a guy called Peter I think. I was only about 17 and they were both top lads - and great memories.
12-01-2020, 07:58 PM
Ying and Yang. I bumped into Sir David Gray today whilst out shopping.
Watch where you're going, he gets injured easily. Is he okay? :cb
12-01-2020, 08:13 PM
Watch where you're going, he gets injured easily. Is he okay? :cb
😂😂
12-01-2020, 08:37 PM
Probably looking for the German beer market and confused it is no longer there.
Where does a "secret drinker" go for a drink early in the day now the Penny Black is no more?
12-01-2020, 09:00 PM
Where does a "secret drinker" go for a drink early in the day now the Penny Black is no more?
Asda? :dunno:
The Count
12-01-2020, 09:15 PM
Asda? :dunno:
Lorna Doone in the High Street???
linlithgowhibbie
12-01-2020, 09:17 PM
Lorna Doone in the High Street???
Now that's a long forgotten pub:thumbsup:
12-01-2020, 09:26 PM
Send yer wife oot the day before to stock up the fridge.......
12-01-2020, 09:39 PM
Hearts supposedly after Matty Kennedy.
12-01-2020, 10:25 PM
If he’s the Gary Kirk whose dad played for Hearts in the late 50’s / early 60’s, I used to work beside his older brother Bobby in the Civil Service and went down with them in a car to the Scotland Wales game at Anfield (Argentina) in 77 with them both - and a guy called Peter I think. I was only about 17 and they were both top lads - and great memories.
Aye that's him - he and his wife used to run my local in Porty - 'The Tides Inn' and they ran it very well, very popular couple !. A lot of their family used to help out as well and they were all great too, it was just a shame about the Jambo-thing but hey - nobody's perfect !
13-01-2020, 04:41 AM
Decent player but not good enough for a big club like hearts
Would mainly be bad as they're weakening their rivals
13-01-2020, 06:02 AM
Assume he means Andy Kirk ex Hearts player now coach helping out Stendel
NC1875
13-01-2020, 06:29 AM
Mcphee working wonders again. Most players they seem to be linked with all have a Northern Ireland or stoke connection.
Can’t see anyone choosing them over Aberdeen unless they chuck silly money at him.
13-01-2020, 06:33 AM
Assume he means Andy Kirk ex Hearts player now coach helping out Stendel
No, it's Captain Kirk he's referring to. He's often saying "Beam my up, Stendal".
13-01-2020, 07:09 AM
What’s our excuse then?
We don't want to do a big clear out like they do and rumours are they've been turned down by players they've approached. There's not a lot in the way of rumours re what players, if any, that we've approached.
13-01-2020, 08:07 AM
Heard hibs are trying to keep things under wraps after the luke berry and Ojo fiascos seemed to play out publicly
13-01-2020, 08:09 AM
Heard hibs are trying to keep things under wraps after the luke berry and Ojo fiascos seemed to play out publicly
Fair enough.
13-01-2020, 08:25 AM
Forget about Luke Berry. Doesn’t look like he’s quite been able to carry on his form at a higher level.
13-01-2020, 09:08 AM
Forget about Luke Berry. Doesn’t look like he’s quite been able to carry on his form at a higher level.
Berry playing for Luton in the championship. Made 14 appearances this season.
13-01-2020, 09:15 AM
Same. Blast from the past that name.
13-01-2020, 09:32 AM
We don't want to do a big clear out like they do and rumours are they've been turned down by players they've approached. There's not a lot in the way of rumours re what players, if any, that we've approached.
My comment was somewhat tongue-in-cheek. We are of course in a different position to Hearts.
We still have obvious weaknesses in our squad though and I would be feeling a lot more positive about the rest of the season if we had strengthened by now... someone like Dylan, for example.
13-01-2020, 09:47 AM
My comment was somewhat tongue-in-cheek. We are of course in a different position to Hearts.
We still have obvious weaknesses in our squad though and I would be feeling a lot more positive about the rest of the season if we had strengthened by now... someone like Dylan, for example.
Dylan was never an option if you read some of what he's been saying recently
A meeting in a Glasgow coffee shop, when McGeouch was on the verge of leaving Hibernian for Sunderland, planted a seed in the midfielder’s mind that he would love to work with McInnes in future.
At the time he was all set on his move to England’s north-east. However, after that adventure turned sour, the north-east of Scotland has become his new home and a chance to finally cross paths with McInnes on a working basis.
McGeouch said: “I spoke to him before I went down south. I went to meet him in Glasgow and remember thinking at the time, if I didn’t have my head set on going to Sunderland, I’d love to work for him.
“When the opportunity came up that I was going to be moving on from Sunderland, my agent spoke to a lot of clubs. Derek was the first – he expressed how much he wants to work for me. Even playing against his teams, I remember him coming out in the press and speaking highly of the midfield, me and John (McGinn).
“I always remember that. He was the first to pick up the phone and speak to me. I knew I needed to get my career back on track and he was the one to do it.
13-01-2020, 09:55 AM
A meeting in a Glasgow coffee shop, when McGeouch was on the verge of leaving Hibernian for Sunderland, planted a seed in the midfielder’s mind that he would love to work with McInnes in future.
At the time he was all set on his move to England’s north-east. However, after that adventure turned sour, the north-east of Scotland has become his new home and a chance to finally cross paths with McInnes on a working basis.
McGeouch said: “I spoke to him before I went down south. I went to meet him in Glasgow and remember thinking at the time, if I didn’t have my head set on going to Sunderland, I’d love to work for him.
“When the opportunity came up that I was going to be moving on from Sunderland, my agent spoke to a lot of clubs. Derek was the first – he expressed how much he wants to work for me. Even playing against his teams, I remember him coming out in the press and speaking highly of the midfield, me and John (McGinn).
“I always remember that. He was the first to pick up the phone and speak to me. I knew I needed to get my career back on track and he was the one to do it.
Ooft! seems like a back handed shot at JR!
13-01-2020, 10:00 AM
Sounds like he was touted round Scotland and only Aberdeen would bite. JR obviously wanted him but clearly did not work out in terms of performances and injury. Sounds like I always wanted to sign for (fill in the blank) story. Has he seen Aberdeen play?
Roxyhibee
13-01-2020, 12:42 PM
Well as much as I loved Dylan as a quality player, he sounds more prone to flattery than judging a good manager. I’ve never rated whingeing McInnes as a manager - with the resources he’s been very fortunately spoilt with in the past several years second only to Celtic until recently, I’ve rarely been impressed with his teams. Given those facts, some of them have been a disgrace tbh.
Walter
13-01-2020, 12:44 PM
Heard a rumour from a jambo at work that stendel has asked budge to come back from her holidays....
13-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Heard a rumour from a jambo at work that stendel has asked budge to come back from her holidays....
She left Levein in charge and he's had Stendel scrubbing the bogs in her absence .
13-01-2020, 01:02 PM
She left Levein in charge and he's had Stendel scrubbing the bogs in her absence .
Considering what state Levein has been known to leave the toilets in, that's understandable.
13-01-2020, 01:43 PM
Ooft! seems like a back handed shot at JR!
Not sure how you get that from his quote.
Sounds more like he lost his football mojo down there and jumped at the person who was most recently fluttering their eyelashes at him - i.e. McInnes.
I dont think he has really considered the type of football Aberdeen play though, which might be a problem.
13-01-2020, 01:51 PM
The tynecastle pitch in incredible nick
13-01-2020, 01:53 PM
Looking good those lights are doing a great job :doh:
Alan62
13-01-2020, 01:54 PM
Thank god it's the most monitored pitch in the world or it could have got really bad.
13-01-2020, 01:56 PM
When werebthese taken?
13-01-2020, 02:02 PM
When werebthese taken?
Friday apparently
13-01-2020, 02:06 PM
Friday apparently
That's a shocker then 👀
13-01-2020, 03:18 PM
Well as much as I loved Dylan as a quality player, he sounds more prone to flattery than judging a good manager. I’ve never rated whingeing McInnes as a manager - with the resources he’s been very fortunately spoilt with in the past several years second only to Celtic until recently, I’ve rarely been impressed with his teams. Given those facts, some of them have been a disgrace tbh.
McInnes is a very good manager at this level, to suggest otherwise is nonsense. Just need to look at Hearts to see that giving the manager a large budget doesn’t guarantee success.
13-01-2020, 03:24 PM
Shambles
13-01-2020, 03:26 PM
McInnes is a very good manager at this level, to suggest otherwise is nonsense. Just need to look at Hearts to see that giving the manager a large budget doesn’t guarantee success.
Yup. He's done an excellent job there. Consistently
13-01-2020, 03:32 PM
A million quid for that? What a waste of donated money! Plenty more where that came from of course 🙄
Alan62
13-01-2020, 04:02 PM
He may produce consistent results at Aberdeen but the football is excruciating to watch. His teams are full of horribly physical cheats and winning ugly is his stock in trade. Where Dylan fits into that philosophy is anyone's guess.
13-01-2020, 04:26 PM
He has been given a fortune in the last 6 years and won a solitary league cup against Inverness - subsequently his teams have shat it consistently in Glasgow and most Aberdeen fans I know (there are a few) think he is a diddy.
Hibs and Inverness have won the Scottish Cup while McInnes has been the Dons manager
Please dont tell me that simply finishing in a position to get european football is "success" as you cant put that in a trophy cabinet.
This is like the Shankland chat, ffs - people bumming up other players and managers and desperate for Hibs to fail.
13-01-2020, 04:50 PM
Sounds like he was touted round Scotland and only Aberdeen would bite. JR obviously wanted him but clearly did not work out in terms of performances and injury. Sounds like I always wanted to sign for (fill in the blank) story. Has he seen Aberdeen play?
Not sure how you reach that conclusion based on Dylan’s comments, but each to their own!
13-01-2020, 05:20 PM
Yup. He's done an excellent job there. Consistently
They average 3,000 less than us per game. A great success. Mmm. Without Milne pumping in his millions he would not have outbid other clubs for players. Given the funds they have had a poor return. Look at how much he's had to spend and his team has loads of youngsters as his signings have mostly been poor. More importantly would you watch them every second week. No chance
davhibby
13-01-2020, 05:28 PM
He may produce consistent results at Aberdeen but the football is excruciating to watch. His teams are full of horribly physical cheats and winning ugly is his stock in trade. Where Dylan fits into that philosophy is anyone's guess.
Yep, every time we play them I leave thankful that I don’t have to watch them play every week. If they’d won maybe 3 or 4 trophies in his time there it would maybe make sense but I don’t get why anyone thinks it’s worth it watching a team playing 6/7 defenders from the start regularly to win 1 trophy in 6 years or whatever it is
wallpaperman
13-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Almost two weeks into the transfer window, I await the first signing at Tynecastle with some interest.
Will this monumental world event be accompanied by maroon coloured smoke emanating from the sacred bowels of Tynecastle?
13-01-2020, 05:41 PM
Almost two weeks into the transfer window, I await the first signing at Tynecastle with some interest.
Will this monumental world event be accompanied by maroon coloured smoke emanating from the sacred bowels of Tynecastle?
You can bet your bottom dollar that when they do sign someone it'll be the best signing ever in the history of football because Stendel has the best footballing brain of the last 30 years
Wonder what Stendel said to Joey Barton to annoy him a year or so ago.
Topographic Hibby
13-01-2020, 06:55 PM
Wonder what Stendel said to Joey Barton to annoy him a year or so ago."I'm thinking of totally embarrassing myself in Scottish Football in a few months time. Can you give me some tips how you went about it...???"
13-01-2020, 07:11 PM
"I'm thinking of totally embarrassing myself in Scottish Football in a few months time. Can you give me some tips how you went about it...???"
:not worth
13-01-2020, 07:11 PM
English is always there as a Budge/ Hearts apologist whenever they want it....
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51093823
13-01-2020, 07:15 PM
I had a look on their pitch thread, and their (plausible) explanation appears to be that it's all down to Queenie's vanity project. These hybrid pitches need to be skimmed and re-seeded in the summer to encourage and strengthen the root system, but she knocked back the necessary work in order to stage the concert.
... and while I was over there, I was pointed at this yam 'must have'
https://www.papertiger.co.uk/products/rhubarb-milk-chocolate/
From the blurb:
"Once you've tried it, it's hard to stop, so we recommend buying this bar two or three at a time!"
... at 4 quid a pop! Looks like everybody sees them coming :faf:
13-01-2020, 07:29 PM
He has been given a fortune in the last 6 years and won a solitary league cup against Inverness - subsequently his teams have shat it consistently in Glasgow and most Aberdeen fans I know (there are a few) think he is a diddy.
Hibs and Inverness have won the Scottish Cup while McInnes has been the Dons manager
As a club over the last 3 decades we have averaged one trophy win every 10 years. If Jack Ross only wins one solitary trophy over the next 6 years I’d be delighted.
Please dont tell me that simply finishing in a position to get european football is "success" as you cant put that in a trophy cabinet.
If Hibs finish 3rd or 4th this season I’ll consider that a success. We have only had back-to-back top 4 finishes once since the days of Turnbull’s tornadoes. If that wouldn’t be considered success for us then I’m not sure what would.
This is like the Shankland chat, ffs - people bumming up other players and managers and desperate for Hibs to fail.
So for saying McInness is a good manager I’m “bumming” him up and desperate for Hibs to fail? This isn’t primary School for christ sake, it’s possible to debate the merits (or lack thereof) of a rival player/manager without wanting to “bum” him up.
13-01-2020, 07:31 PM
Has anyone called her out yet or is English still championing her to be the next Chief Exec of the SFA?
13-01-2020, 07:53 PM
"I'm thinking of totally embarrassing myself in Scottish Football in a few months time. Can you give me some tips how you went about it...???"Post of the year in January [emoji23][emoji23]
Is that possible.
13-01-2020, 08:04 PM
it’s possible to debate the merits (or lack thereof) of a rival player/manager without wanting to “bum” him up.
McInnes is a very good manager at this level, to suggest otherwise is nonsense.
..................is what you said - you made a bold statement and said that any other viewpoint was nonsense. That isnt debate so stop pretending you are the only adult in the room :rolleyes:
I questioned DM "achievements", and you dont like it. Sorry about that, but I am still right that - on trophies won which is all that actually counts - Stubbs and Hughes were more successful on a fraction of the money thrown at McInnes.
And I will say again, plenty of Aberdeen fans agree that viewpoint.
davhibby
13-01-2020, 08:16 PM
As a club over the last 3 decades we have averaged one trophy win every 10 years. If Jack Ross only wins one solitary trophy over the next 6 years I’d be delighted.
If Hibs finish 3rd or 4th this season I’ll consider that a success. We have only had back-to-back top 4 finishes once since the days of Turnbull’s tornadoes. If that wouldn’t be considered success for us then I’m not sure what would.
So for saying McInness is a good manager I’m “bumming” him up and desperate for Hibs to fail? This isn’t primary School for christ sake, it’s possible to debate the merits (or lack thereof) of a rival player/manager without wanting to “bum” him up.
The difference is that McInnes is being made out to be some sort of miracle worker when actually he’s been alright at best and done what would really have been expected of him. The penny seems to have dropped for the majority of the support as can be seen by how quickly they’ve turned on him after bad results in the last 2 seasons.
13-01-2020, 08:21 PM
Not the best article but he has the measure of his subject in the last 2 paragraphs
There is no argument for maintaining the status quo at Tynecastle but Berra, Whelan and Daly are still trying to make that case. Stendel is trying to push on, as he needs to.
Nobody knows if Stendel is up to to the task of unravelling the mess that Levein and his coaching staff left behind, but those whingeing about him for making these changes are not exactly cognisant of the full horror of the situation Hearts are in - or the role they played in putting them there.
"I'm thinking of totally embarrassing myself in Scottish Football in a few months time. Can you give me some tips how you went about it...???"
13-01-2020, 08:24 PM
Can we leave this thread to ripping it out of the Tarts. Leave Aberdeen and McWinless for another thread
MagicSwirlingShip
13-01-2020, 08:43 PM
They average 3,000 less than us per game. A great success. Mmm. Without Milne pumping in his millions he would not have outbid other clubs for players. Given the funds they have had a poor return. Look at how much he's had to spend and his team has loads of youngsters as his signings have mostly been poor. More importantly would you watch them every second week. No chance
They have turnover close to £16m, where we turnover closer to £10m. There's more to running a football business than getting punters through the turnstiles.
13-01-2020, 08:55 PM
I doubt English believes a word of the guff he’s written here.
It’s not about Stendel’s decision making - it’s his man management. To piss off three guys like that so quickly is some doing.
Mind you, every journo wants unfettered access to Hearts right now. Just tell Hyacinth Budget she’s doing the right thing and she’ll keep inviting them back for more of this epic season.
Kavinho
13-01-2020, 09:03 PM
I had a look on their pitch thread, and their (plausible) explanation appears to be that it's all down to Queenie's vanity project. These hybrid pitches need to be skimmed and re-seeded in the summer to encourage and strengthen the root system, but she knocked back the necessary work in order to stage the concert.
... and while I was over there, I was pointed at this yam 'must have'
https://www.papertiger.co.uk/products/rhubarb-milk-chocolate/
From the blurb:
"Once you've tried it, it's hard to stop, so we recommend buying this bar two or three at a time!"
... at 4 quid a pop! Looks like everybody sees them coming :faf:
Their schpeil on the Leith equivalent is just as ridiculous though
https://www.papertiger.co.uk/products/lime-sea-salt-dark-chocolate-bar/
13-01-2020, 09:09 PM
Obviously we’d all take a cup over European football but to have had Aberdeen where they are every season for so long is pretty impressive, I don’t think that can really be denied?
13-01-2020, 09:46 PM
'I've been offered more than you just to manage Hearts - and wait until ye hear about the time off I'd get !!'
13-01-2020, 10:00 PM
Matty Kennedy has agreed a pre contract with Aberdeen supposedly, even after a late attempt by Hearts which included Berra (reported by the sun).
13-01-2020, 10:07 PM
Matty Kennedy has agreed a pre contract with Aberdeen supposedly, even after a late attempt by Hearts which included Berra (reported by the sun).
that's where the smart money was
Christophe Error going the other way was the deal breaker.
13-01-2020, 10:33 PM
Doyle the latest to be told he can leave Hearts
13-01-2020, 11:42 PM
I’m thinking of buying one of those masks that you can get someone’s face on it. I’m going to get Joey Barton and sit behind the away dugout for the next derby.
14-01-2020, 12:53 AM
Christophe Error going the other way was the deal breaker.
If true as reported, that's a completely hilarious insight into their operational 'strategy.'
Offering a player with absolutely zero transfer value completely negates the point of a player-swap + cash transaction, but I'm sure even Budge or Levein must know that, surely.
14-01-2020, 01:22 AM
Doyle the latest to be told he can leave Hearts
Never heard of him.:dunno:
14-01-2020, 01:27 AM
A rubbish auld goalie who has joined the "you can leave the club" club for duff players with no options who have 18 months left on their contracts.
These guys are going to be sitting tighter than a tight thing whilst piling into the scones at the Oriam canteen.
14-01-2020, 01:31 AM
A rubbish auld goalie who has joined the "you can leave the club" club for duff players with no options who have 18 months left on their contracts.
These guys are going to be sitting tighter than a tight thing piling into the scones at the Oriam canteen.
Ok cheers, :greengrin:greengrin Can’t recall him getting a game. These guys will only move if the money is right elsewhere or Hearts pay them off.
14-01-2020, 01:34 AM
These guys are going to be sitting tighter than a tight thing whilst piling into the scones at the Oriam canteen.
Think he is out of contract in July but yes I agree with what you are saying.......
14-01-2020, 05:33 AM
Hearts publicly missing out on targets isn't a good look. Will soon be desperation
Its a her. From FC Craggy island.
14-01-2020, 06:29 AM
:faf: :not worth
14-01-2020, 06:35 AM
Ok cheers, :greengrin:greengrin Can’t recall him getting a game. These guys will only move if the money is right elsewhere or Hearts pay them off.
He played in the Derby at ER when Lee scored the winner and got a touch onto the post from a Whittaker shot in the second half. Also responsible for fumbling in hysterically a woeful free kick in the last minute at Fir Park last season. :greengrin
14-01-2020, 06:45 AM
If true as reported, that's a completely hilarious insight into their operational 'strategy.'
Offering a player with absolutely zero transfer value completely negates the point of a player-swap + cash transaction, but I'm sure even Budge or Levein must know that, surely.
:agree: it's hilarious. Lets offer our relegation rivals our 35-year old club captain who we publicly have flogged and sent to train with the reserves on a whim in exchange for one of their star players. Staggering.
14-01-2020, 07:18 AM
:agree: it's hilarious. Lets offer our relegation rivals our 35-year old club captain who we publicly have flogged and sent to train with the reserves on a whim in exchange for one of their star players. Staggering.
Yup no way is going to Hearts. Pre-contract with the Dons was a rumour. Think Saints will want to keep him for telegation fight.
14-01-2020, 07:18 AM
Yup no way is going to Hearts. Pre-contract with the Dons was a rumour. Think Saints will want to keep him for relegation fight.
14-01-2020, 07:40 AM
Never heard of him.:dunno:Used to make tea and big mounds of sandwiches, to be honest I'm surprised Mrs Doyle lasted so long after Father Dougal left.
14-01-2020, 07:42 AM
Kickback rallying against the fact it looks like no new players are coming in.."We have enough left to get us out this mess. Remember, these players are now being coached and managed. They are working on fitness and playing within a system and a shape. They have tactics and instructions, clear tactics and clear instructions. They have one message and one voice coming from Stendel. That’s going to make a huge difference. " Coached, managed, tactics, instructions, system & shape............all sounds very interesting, wonder when other teams will take on board this approach?
I agree that offering Berra isn't exactly a sweetener but I'm not sure I'd say they publicly flogged him. Berra was the one who went public with it.
14-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Kickback rallying against the fact it looks like no new players are coming in.."We have enough left to get us out this mess. Remember, these players are now being coached and managed. They are working on fitness and playing within a system and a shape. They have tactics and instructions, clear tactics and clear instructions. They have one message and one voice coming from Stendel. That’s going to make a huge difference. " Coached, managed, tactics, instructions, system & shape............all sounds very interesting, wonder when other teams will take on board this approach?
They will put a positive spin on anything to do with Stendel to save face. They've bigged him up so much they can't go back. Even if they go down they'll say they're glad and it's all part of the rebuilding process.
Best footballing brain of the last 30 years etc
14-01-2020, 07:48 AM
They will put a positive spin on anything to do with Stendel to save face. They've bigged him up so much they can't go back. Even if they go down they'll say they're glad and it's all part of the rebuilding process.
The only way to get out this hole is by digging up.
14-01-2020, 07:48 AM
Above all, the have gangnam press - what more could a team need.
14-01-2020, 07:53 AM
8 days until they play Ross County and they have binned 6 players and signed zero. They must love living dangerously.
Gloucester Hibs
14-01-2020, 07:56 AM
Best footballing brain of the last 30 years etc
They remind me a wee bit of the Black Knight in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. No matter what major setbacks they suffer - 'tis but a scratch!
14-01-2020, 08:01 AM
8 days until they play Ross County and they have binned 6 players and signed zero. They must love living dangerously.
Don’t think they’ve binned 6 have they?
Think they’ve tried to bin 6 but only managed to get rid of 1 so far.
Turns out being a dick to people and treating them like **** doesn’t make them want to Leave and walk away from a legal contract any quicker.
14-01-2020, 08:03 AM
There is nothing clear about that weird wee pervert they’ve appointed. He’s going to take them down.
14-01-2020, 08:49 AM
Sacred Bowels of Tynecastle? Oh yeah Levein's still there...
14-01-2020, 08:52 AM
Airdrie will put Hearts out the cup but the Stendelites on Kickback will say it was deliberate to concentrate on the league. OR Hearts will win which they should do and it will be proof of the second coming and glory awaits. All will still be fantastic under the poundshop Klopp either way. Can't win against thick
14-01-2020, 09:00 AM
I simply cannot believe anyone with a brain cell would write that! Has this been written by Gary Cock?
Utterly hilarious comedy gold from our pink chums, with the Oscars close this has to be up for an award :crazy:
14-01-2020, 09:10 AM
From Kickback..
"It’s been mentioned on here before but Stendel has basically put a ring fence around the players he trusts. Everyone else isn’t allowed to eat or sit with them so that no negativity or moaning can happen. I am buzzing about seeing how this will effect results on the park. Am willing to bet we will see a totally different Hearts come Saturday".
Incredible if that's true and even more incredible the poster thinks that's a good thing.
14-01-2020, 09:17 AM
From Kickback..
"It’s been mentioned on here before but Stendel has basically put a ring fence around the players he trusts. Everyone else isn’t allowed to eat or sit with them so that no negativity or moaning can happen. I am buzzing about seeing how this will effect results on the park. Am willing to bet we will see a totally different Hearts come Saturday".
Incredible if that's true and even more incredible the poster thinks that's a good thing.
The fact they’re playing Airdrie at home is irrelevant to them. They’ll be convinced a corner has been turned even if they scrape a 1-0 win.
14-01-2020, 09:29 AM
They remind me a wee bit of the Black Knight in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. No matter what major setbacks they suffer - 'tis but a scratch!
I'm invincible. No your a loony. Sounds about right.
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 09:31 AM
It truly is bonkers just how much they are convinced that Stendal is the right man. Imagine we had a manager come in and have the start he has. People would be going berserk.
14-01-2020, 09:32 AM
That's amazing!
I wonder if it's the same system that saw Stendel fail to win his last 15 games, and got him sacked from his last 2 jobs?
14-01-2020, 09:34 AM
It truly is bonkers just how much they are convinced that Stendal is the right man. Imagine we had a manager come in and have the start he has. People would be going berserk.
Not just the results on the park but the treatment of the captain, ostracising players and staff and failure to bring in any of their targets. Absolute car crash
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 09:52 AM
Not just the results on the park but the treatment of the captain, ostracising players and staff and failure to bring in any of their targets. Absolute car crash
Its complete blind loyalty. They have no idea at all if this guy is actually decent or not. His various winless spells at former clubs and his start at Hearts would suggest he is not quite the messiah they seem to think. Even if he did mastermind that incredible home draw against Aberdeen.
14-01-2020, 10:01 AM
Its complete blind loyalty. They have no idea at all if this guy is actually decent or not. His various winless spells at former clubs and his start at Hearts would suggest he is not quite the messiah they seem to think. Even if he did mastermind that incredible home draw against Aberdeen.
He deserves a lot of credit for that to be fair
penihibs
14-01-2020, 10:08 AM
Brilliant...
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 10:09 AM
He deserves a lot of credit for that to be fair
For completely conning the desperate Hearts support or for masterminding the greatest draw in modern football?
14-01-2020, 10:12 AM
For completely conning the desperate Hearts support or for masterminding the greatest draw in modern football?It's some achievement. They are currently sitting right at the top of the all time list of teams who have drawn at home with Aberdeen.
14-01-2020, 10:13 AM
It's some achievement. They are currently sitting right at the top of the all time list of teams who have drawn at home with Aberdeen at Tynecastle.
Sorted.
14-01-2020, 10:26 AM
Think he is out of contract in July but yes I agree with what you are saying.......
Amazingly they gave him a year contact extension in August 2019 so Doyle's contract now ends in summer 2021
14-01-2020, 10:27 AM
Amazingly they gave him a year contact extension in August 2019 so Doyle's contract now ends in summer 2021
:aok: Fair enough, I had missed that then.......
Wighton (who? I know) - zero goals and cost them £200k from Dundee will not be going back to dens as Hearts have priced Dundee out of a potential deal.
That will be another player ‘dead wood’ I keep hearing they are getting rid off but strangely remains on the pay roll...
Everyday is a fun day 😉
14-01-2020, 10:38 AM
That's amazing!
I wonder if it's the same system that saw Stendel fail to win his last 15 games, and got him sacked from his last 2 jobs?
Sounds to me like you’re forgetting about ‘that’ draw against Aberdeen.
14-01-2020, 10:41 AM
Sounds to me like you’re forgetting about ‘that’ draw against Aberdeen.
How could I??!!
14-01-2020, 10:47 AM
For completely conning the desperate Hearts support or for masterminding the greatest draw in modern football?
Listen, that home draw surpassed anything ever seen in Gorgie. I've heard they're retiring the 11 shirt as a tribute to that glorious day
14-01-2020, 10:49 AM
Don’t think they’ve binned 6 have they?
Think they’ve tried to bin 6 but only managed to get rid of 1 so far.
Turns out being a dick to people and treating them like **** doesn’t make them want to Leave and walk away from a legal contract any quicker.
2 gone so far
Whelan was able to be prised out because he had his own agenda which means he has to be playing
Keena transferred to National League team so a saving of only a couple of sheckles on his contract
Munraney apparently being transferred for £200k to Atlanta in the US, however he has rejected their first salary offer
Wighton, talk of going back to Dundee on loan has stalled because according to Dundee, Hearts want too much in wages
Berra on big wages and has been called out as not cutting it so can see him going on a series of wee loans for the rest of his expensive contract
Colin Doyle - the latest to join the no wanted club. Can't see anyone wanting this guy other than on an emergency loan.
They still have hunders of players
As things stand their season will stand or fall on the fitness of Naismith and Sutton holding up and Washington showing some ability.
Only Celtic and St Mirren have managed to progress significant deals in the window to date so early days.
KingPat4
14-01-2020, 10:57 AM
Berra to St Johnstone in part exchange for Kennedy, being reported by BBC.
Can't see Tommy Wright buying that one.
Greenworld
14-01-2020, 11:04 AM
Can't see Tommy Wright buying that one.A bit old news now Kennedy looking to go to aberdeen.
Berra will need a pay off before going anywhere
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
14-01-2020, 11:05 AM
Makes sense for Hearts. Rob their rivals for relegation of their best player while saddling them with an absolute donkey.. shame for Hearts that it makes no sense for St J.
That was yesterday, think it's already been blootered out!
14-01-2020, 11:08 AM
Austin McPhee needs to put down football manager and return to the real world
Wighton (who? I know) - zero goals and cost them £200k from Dundee will not be going back to dens as Hearts have priced Dundee out of a potential deal.
That will be another player ‘dead wood’ I keep hearing they are getting rid off but strangely remains on the pay roll...
Everyday is a fun day 😉
That one seems like a mistake. Asking for a fee for a striker who has played 19 and scored 0 when they've have said they want rid of him to free up money and space in the squad.
The reports don't mention if a loan deal was a possibility but you'd have thought they could have at least struck some sort of loan to the end of the season with an option to buy/extend type deal. Shame.
14-01-2020, 11:34 AM
Looking at their squad highlights the **** they are in. They seriously need players in and the high earners moved out but most under long contracts!
Naismith - Made of chocolate. Lucky to get 45 mins.
Souttar - See Naismith
Washington - See Naismith and Souttar. one goal in 2019
Haring - Good player but see Naismith, Soutar and Washington
Uche - Embarrassingly bad. Falls over constantly.
Clare - Should have let him go to the EPL
Walker - Nobody else wanted him
Halkett - Shaddow of the player he was last season and that shaddow is now twice the size
Damour - Looked a bombscare in derby
Really worrying times for them and thats without green tinted specs
Gordy M
14-01-2020, 11:48 AM
Havent really being paying attention, but did they ever appoint a Sporting Director? Were they not doing that before the manager? Whats happened?
14-01-2020, 11:51 AM
Looking at their squad highlights the **** they are in. They seriously need players in and the high earners moved out but most under long contracts!
Souttar - See Naismith
Halkett - Shaddow of the player he was last season and that shaddow is now twice the size
Some of the Jambos reckon Souttar could be back at the weekend and has been training for weeks?
Some speculating that Haring ( the only one i rate highly) will asso be back for the weekend with some others saying he's still months away
14-01-2020, 11:57 AM
If already posted, please delete:
Hearts: Daniel Stendel behaviour 'embarrassing', says ex-coach Jon Daly
Couple of days ago.
14-01-2020, 12:02 PM
Souttar - See Naismith
Some of them were really excited for Washington returning. Strangely enough, so am I. A striker with one goal in a year to get you out a relegation battle? What could go wrong..
McSwanky
14-01-2020, 12:05 PM
File under 'non-believer.' Nothing to see here.
14-01-2020, 12:15 PM
Some of the Jambos reckon Souttar could be back at the weekend and has been training for weeks?
Some speculating that Haring ( the only one i rate highly) will asso be back for the weekend with some others saying he's still months away
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200114/ce95e18a3b85e462cc7111c4631729c6.jpg
14-01-2020, 12:15 PM
The rumour on Haring is that he can run (so he has been training) but he cant do any contact...even kicking the ball any distance is painful.
He could be in trouble regarding ever kicking a ball again as a pro if that doesnt improve.
K-Zazu
14-01-2020, 12:22 PM
The rumour on Haring is that he can run (so he has been training) but he cant do any contact...even kicking the ball any distance is painful.
He could be in trouble regarding ever kicking a ball again as a pro if that doesnt improve.
Levein rushing him back from injury for the cup final I think? Classic Craig
14-01-2020, 12:35 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if Haring hung up the boots. Hope not for his sake but doesn't sound promising
14-01-2020, 12:49 PM
Make no mistake about it, it was the Hearts fans who chose Stendal.
Budge was asked why she chose him at their press conference, her answer was his track record and enthusiasm.
Well he has no track record and she wouldn't have known if he was enthusiastic or not until she met him!
I'd guess she had never heard of him until she looked on Kickback to see who the Hearts fans fancied. They have no one to blame but themselves.
Berra will be at Hearts longer than Stendal.
14-01-2020, 12:58 PM
Genuine shame for the guy, he's only 26. Obviously don't want him to succeed at Hearts but he looked like one of their better signings last season.
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 01:00 PM
Budge was asked why she chose him at their press conference, her answer was his track record and enthusiasm.
Well he has no track record and she wouldn't have known if he was enthusiastic or not until she met him!
I'd guess she had never heard of him until she looked on Kickback to see who the Hearts fans fancied. They have no one to blame but themselves.
Be hilarious if he does turn out to be a dud and they inevitably turn on him. The backtracking will be something else.
14-01-2020, 01:17 PM
It only feels like yesterday since many of them on 'Throw-back' were telling the world that they were so far ahead of Hibs that they didn't consider us as their rivals any longer - starting to look like that was a premonition !
14-01-2020, 01:43 PM
Anne Budge has just ordered Stendel a Hearts engraved lighter.
She was fed up of him constantly losing his matches.
Anne Budge has just ordered Stendel a Hearts engraved lighter.
She was fed up of him constantly losing his matches.
Stendels away to the hospital today. He’s got a bad side.
14-01-2020, 01:52 PM
Stendels away to the hospital today. He’s got a bad side.
Hearts are *****.
14-01-2020, 01:56 PM
He should sue the ****s.
14-01-2020, 02:01 PM
Be hilarious if he does turn out to be a dud and they inevitably turn on him. The backtracking will be something else.
There is very little to suggest he’s anything but a dud.
14-01-2020, 02:06 PM
The Barnsley side that he got promoted - was that the side that was relegated the season before?
Talking of the cup final, surely one of Levein's more bizarre moments. Sign Ryan Edwards, don't play him, loan him out. Bring him back, don't play him. Out of the blue pick him in the cup final team, where he scores!! Sell him!! Totally crazy!
14-01-2020, 02:24 PM
The Barnsley side that he got promoted - was that the side that was relegated the season before?
Yeah, they went down after Hecky left for Leeds.
14-01-2020, 02:33 PM
Bitter jambo Joel Sked writing a pro Stendel siege mentality piece in Edinburghs propaganda sheet.
14-01-2020, 02:41 PM
Bitter jambo Joel Sked writing a pro Stendel siege mentality piece in Edinburghs propaganda sheet.
Tom English has had a go too. He baffles me at times, he is clearly capable of writing in an articulate way but boy he writes some guff too......
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/51093823
14-01-2020, 02:42 PM
Sled typifies Jambo deludeness and bitterness. Journalist of the worst kind who shows no impartiality in his reporting.
A deluded fan with a pen with no credibility
14-01-2020, 02:45 PM
By all accounts Stendel inherited a very good side at Barnsley by league one standards
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 02:46 PM
Tom English has had a go too. He baffles me at times, he is clearly capable of writing in an articulate way but boy he writes some guff too......
That will be the same Tom English that stated John McGinn wouldnt get a game for Celtic. Guy hides the fact he is absolutely clueless about football behind his articulate writing.
14-01-2020, 02:47 PM
It only feels like yesterday since many of them on 'Throw-back' were telling the world that they were so far ahead of Hibs that they didn't consider us as their rivals any longer - starting to look like that was a premonition !
I remember that. Were they not saying they'd outgrown us and Celtic were now their biggest rivals?
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 02:48 PM
They do have an us against the world mentality at the moment. Unfortunately for them whilst that togetherness might provide a bit of a comfort blanket, it wont turn garbage footballers into good ones.
14-01-2020, 02:52 PM
Genuine shame for the guy, he's only 26. Obviously don't want him to succeed at Hearts but he looked like one of their better signings last season.
Would be a shame if he was finished, he's only 26!
14-01-2020, 02:54 PM
I remember that. Were they not saying they'd outgrown us and Celtic were now their biggest rivals?
Yes they were :agree:. It was about that time I tired of the then Scotsman forum, the banter had dried up and posters were just coming out with guff.......
14-01-2020, 02:55 PM
He sounds like a paid-up Kickback subscriber.
'Hearts owe Berra nothing'. Really? How about at least a thank you for services rendered by a player who, whatever his limitations, gave his all for the club he was proud to captain? Yep he's a yam but I thought the way he was treated was shabby to put it mildly.
English seems to be under the impression that Stendel has come into the job with an impeccable CV and is therefore immune from criticism.
14-01-2020, 02:56 PM
Hyacinth Budget initially said she would ensure Hearts appointed ‘a very experienced and high profile manager’ to succeed Levein.
God knows who she had in mind, but it doesn’t describe Stendel.
14-01-2020, 03:00 PM
Hyacinth Budget initially said she would ensure Hearts appointed ‘a very experienced and high profile manager’ to succeed Levein.
God knows who she had in mind, but it doesn’t describe Stendel.
Genuine laugh out loud moment there.... :top marks
McSwanky
14-01-2020, 03:01 PM
That will be the same Tom English that stated John McGinn wouldnt get a game for Celtic. Guy hides the fact he is absolutely clueless about football behind his articulate writing.
Typifies sports journalism in Scotland, so he does.
"Here's a story. I need an opinion, preferably one that's controversial and may not fit with conventional logic."
Gets one story right, shouts about it for ever. Wrong uns just get shuffled under the carpet and never brought up again.
Decent pundits in Scotland are extremely thin on the ground.
14-01-2020, 03:03 PM
Completely off-topic but is Joel Sked related to Alan Sked of former AFL/UKIP fame?
14-01-2020, 03:05 PM
:agree: If they don't get the world-class signings they deserve they'll be calling him Spend-****-all and claiming he was never good enough for The Famous.
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 03:07 PM
Sled typifies Jambo deludeness and bitterness. Journalist of the worst kind who shows no impartiality in his reporting.
A deluded fan with a pen with no credibility
Iv not minded him on the tv show. But his Evening News articles really belong in a Hearts fanzine. Had there ever been a Hibs version of that in the Evening News!?
vuefrom1875
14-01-2020, 03:08 PM
Joel sked.....del jokes.
14-01-2020, 03:09 PM
No idea what qualifies Tom English to speak with any authority on Scottish football. A rugby man who seems to get wheeled on for football as he can use words with more than 2 syllables.
Barman Stanton
14-01-2020, 03:13 PM
:agree: If they don't get the world-class signings they deserve they'll be calling him Spend-****-all and claiming he was never good enough for The Famous.
They are so desperate for this one to work they have even let him away with a home derby defeat. Thats normally a sackable offence to Jambos, such is the importance of beating Hibs to them.
This tv show is going to be magnificent.
14-01-2020, 03:14 PM
They will say it was all Levein's fault.
14-01-2020, 03:15 PM
Yup, it was in the days when they were riding high on 'Other People's Money' - these days, even though they're still operating in the same way (Mystery benefactor et al ) too many years of Potter along with their unfounded arrogance, means that their 'rivals' are no longer Barcelona/Real Madrid but realistically Arbroath/Morton !
14-01-2020, 03:16 PM
No idea what qualifies Tom English to speak with any authority on Scottish football. A rugby man who seems to get wheeled on for football as he can use words with more than 2 syllables.
Ann Budge cooks him a succulent lamb roast every Sunday.:greengrin
KingPat4
14-01-2020, 03:26 PM
A fit Haring is about the only one I would have at ER.
Naismith must be laughing up his sleeve, coining it in whilst shouldering none of the blame.
I reckon when declared fit, he then deliberately trips over his dog or walks into a door.
Can't say I blame him.
14-01-2020, 03:30 PM
He was also still writing puff pieces for Craig Whyte just before the Old Huns went pop. I guess it's just the old pick a contrarian position and get the clicks kind of a thing.
14-01-2020, 04:14 PM
’Hearts owe Berra nothing'.
Unfortunately for them, they do.
They owe him several thousand pounds a week until summer 2021 when his contract runs out :cb
14-01-2020, 04:18 PM
Unfortunately for them, they do.
They owe him several thousand pounds a week until summer 2021 when his contract runs out :cb
£500k
14-01-2020, 05:15 PM
https://twitter.com/jamtarts/status/1217086251146280960?s=21
Folks, I think that we just have to admit that Stendal has them going and we just have to forget about winning another derby this decade ....
...[emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062]
percy veer
14-01-2020, 05:17 PM
meh, were they bothered about bBoyle getting an injury, I think plenty mocked him.
14-01-2020, 05:20 PM
meh, were they bothered about bBoyle getting an injury, I think plenty mocked him.
Pretty sure Haring didn't though. Maybe its just me but he looks like a cracking player and i wouldn't like to see his career end at 26.
14-01-2020, 05:25 PM
Folks, I think that we just have to admit that Stendal has them going and we just have to forget about winning another derby this decade ....
...[emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062][emoji3062]
Am I the only one that thinks that wasn't very fast paced or intense?
14-01-2020, 05:27 PM
I've genuinely seen performance school players play at a higher 'intensity' than that clip - that's a shocker of a video to promote high quality training sessions. :faf: that is a warm up session at most FFS :agree:
As an aside - and there is glossing over it from a Hearts media point of view - my Hearts contacts tell me the club morale is at an all-time low with many players wanting out as soon as possible :aok: :greengrin
Come on Nid lad..........pump them out the cup buddy :aok::aok: never a better opportunity. Just ease up on the Airdrie training gear in Morningside though eh :na na: there's house prices to consider :greengrin
14-01-2020, 05:30 PM
It’s just a blur with high intensity pace, never seen training carried out at such speed! They’re like knocking the ball to each other! Everyone should be worried when this Stendel whirlwind team gets on the park, it’s so new and innovative it’s frightening 😳😂😂😂😂
14-01-2020, 05:34 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI've literally just **** my pants in fear.
14-01-2020, 05:40 PM
I've literally just **** my pants in fear.
Me too, I preferred when they just sat about knitting at training rather than jogging around with an actual football. Who let them know about these secret methods?
14-01-2020, 05:47 PM
Am I the only one that thinks that wasn't very fast paced or intense?
My U13 girls zip the ball about faster than that!
14-01-2020, 05:54 PM
Pretty sure Haring didn't though. Maybe its just me but he looks like a cracking player and i wouldn't like to see his career end at 26.
Yep. Much how I'm not comfortable to joke about Levein's alleged gambling - one, it may not be true and two, if it is it's not funny and highly mean spirited to say the least to joke about it.
14-01-2020, 05:57 PM
They were lucky to catch Naismith on camera. It must have been on the one day a week he bothers to come in to train.
14-01-2020, 05:59 PM
Tin hat firmly on head.
I suggested in an earlier post that if they get their injured players (Naismith, Souttar, Walker and Haring) back early enough, they will get themselves into a position of safety, at least.
Naismith is an on the park leader, if he stays fit they have a player who can score and turns games. Souttar can keep their back line pretty tight, is good at breaking down attacks and has a good distribution from deep. Walker can be so-so with good periods. Haring is their classiest player.
If those four get back, I don't think we will see them relegated. Laugh as much as we can at the moment, I do. I think however, they can stay up with a good run after January.
I would love them to prove me wrong though.:greengrin
14-01-2020, 06:02 PM
Tin hat firmly on head.
I suggested in an earlier post that if they get their injured players (Naismith, Souttar, Walker and Haring) back early enough, they will get themselves into a position of safety, at least.
Naismith is an on the park leader, if he stays fit they have a player who can score and turns games. Souttar can keep their back line pretty tight, is good at breaking down attacks and has a good distribution from deep. Walker can be so-so with good periods. Haring is their classiest player.
If those four get back, I don't think we will see them relegated. Laugh as much as we can at the moment, I do. I think however, they can stay up with a good run after January.
I think that’s one of their problems though, the chances of all of those players staying fit is slim, it’s not happened regularly for years.
I also think after the next 2 games they could we’ll have given the teams above them too much of a head start.
All that in spite of what was clearly a vigorous and high paced training exercise. Obviously still got a spring in their step from that famous draw against Aberdeen.
14-01-2020, 06:11 PM
I think that’s one of their problems though, the chances of all of those players staying fit is slim, it’s not happened regularly for years.
I also think after the next 2 games they could we’ll have given the teams above them too much of a head start.
All that in spite of what was clearly a vigorous and high paced training exercise. Obviously still got a spring in their step from that famous draw against Aberdeen.
IMO they have on paper the core of a very decent team.
The problem they have is that that entire core has been absent for most of the season. It's not just down to bad luck either, as they are players who have had injury problems throughout their careers.
It is an absolutely massive "if" to suggest that "if" they get these players fit they should pull clear.
Absolutely key to their survival is adding quality to their squad to either replace or supplement that core, and their ability to do that doesn't look to be being helped by very well-paid players sitting tight on big contracts.
They are in trouble all right, but it is possible to see that with a bit of luck (for them) they might get out of it.
They're also only a bad result or 2 or a further injury or 2 from being absolutely Donald Ducked.
14-01-2020, 06:16 PM
Stendel looks like he's just wandered in off the street looking for the student union happy hour
14-01-2020, 06:21 PM
If they lose against the staggies then they are doomed. It really is make or break for them. Hopefully Airdrie destroy what slimmer of confidence they have left (I doubt it but would be hilarious).
14-01-2020, 06:29 PM
IMO they have on paper the core of a very decent team
The problem they have is that the core of their team appear to made of paper.
Embarrassing and once again trying to make out that they’ve pioneered a fast pass.
They will beat Airdrie and we won’t hear the end of this first paced, high intensity football that beat a League 1 team.
Wonder if they’ve ordered the open top bus for 5pm.... would give them enough time to do a few laps of the Tiny pitch before doing a victory lap round Edinburgh.
Will hopefully give them confidence that’ll come crashing down when they fail to beat Ross County.
Tin hat firmly on head.
None of them have played anywhere near enough and Stendel could be a dud.
Did I see Berra in the background giving another interview at the back door? Perhaps a response to Stendel today saying he had been treated with respect.
Christophe "Back door" Berra. That's where he does his interviews. Also leaves the back door wide open for the opposition strikers to saunter in.
Pitch looks better than Tynecastle, maybe they should play their matches there.
14-01-2020, 07:03 PM
That’s the first Hearts training session in 20 years that’s not involved a game of let’s see who can kick the ball the highest into the air. No wonder the Jambos are creaming themselves.
14-01-2020, 07:04 PM
None of them have played anywhere near enough and Stendel could be a dud.
You spelled dud wrong
That’s the first Hearts training session in 20 years that’s not involved a game of let’s see who can kick the ball the highest into the air. No wonder the Jambos are creaming themselves.
All on the cutting room floor, leaving the 2 minutes of footage you saw.
Tears on Bulgarian balconies at how fast paced and intensive that training session is.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
DickieDastardly
14-01-2020, 07:12 PM
Taken from Scottish football gossip column on the BBC -
Owner Ann Budge has confirmed the final bill for Hearts' new main stand is likely to reach a whopping £22.5m - almost double the original budget for the project. (Sun)
Her first major project since the Edinburgh Trams.... 😀
14-01-2020, 07:12 PM
The problem they have is that the core of their team appear to made of paper.They're actually good IN the papers, at least that's what Banderson keeps telling them.
14-01-2020, 07:16 PM
Tears on Bulgarian balconies at how fast paced and intensive that training session is.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
I hope the ladies netball team is finished at Herriot Watt before the solo clapping starts tonight
14-01-2020, 07:19 PM
Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkThe only small crumb of comfort is that although they look mega-brilliant (possibly exaggerated a bit by the superb camera work), they are in fact playing against themselves - the worst team in the league.
14-01-2020, 07:22 PM
The only small crumb of comfort is that although they look mega-brilliant (possibly exaggerated a bit by the superb camera work), they are in fact playing against themselves - the worst team in the league.So another draw along the lines of the now legendary battle against the Don's could be on the cards?
It would make some half and half scarf to mark the occasion.
14-01-2020, 07:41 PM
I arrived at the Oriam today just as the entire Hearts first team started playing football with a lone hedgehog.
I was pretty shocked and phoned the Scottish SPCA. I told them exactly what was happening and they explained that the hedgehog didn't need any help because it was already 2-0 up.
Marco G
14-01-2020, 09:09 PM
Banderson EEN has the inside story: "Tynecastle manager wants a striker who will score goals". Suppose it would make a change.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
14-01-2020, 09:12 PM
Banderson EEN has the inside story: "Tynecastle manager wants a striker who will score goals". Suppose it would make a change.
Sent from my SM-T713 using TapatalkThey probably want an escalator that goes somewhere and a castle view where you can view the castle as well.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
Imagine wanting a striker who wants to score goals. You’ll not get that this window.
14-01-2020, 09:45 PM
Imagine wanting a striker who wants to score goals. You’ll not get that this window.Cole the goal Stockton has 5 so far for morecambe. Maybe they should bring him back, obviously just being managed badly previously[emoji6]
14-01-2020, 09:47 PM
Imagine wanting a striker who wants to score goals. You’ll not get that this window.
The concept of wanting a striker that will score goals? I can see why he’s the Gorgie guru.
14-01-2020, 11:35 PM
Imagine wanting a striker who wants to score goals.
A striker that scores goals? Revolutionary.
15-01-2020, 01:20 AM
Pfft, will never catch on.
15-01-2020, 02:37 AM
Pfft, will never catch on.
Why he is a top coach. Nobody else had thought of that until Daniel.
15-01-2020, 06:43 AM
They probably want an escalator that goes somewhere and a castle view where you can view the castle as well.
That's like asking a sacked employee to stop coming into work.
Itll never catch on.
Everyone knows a sacked employee stays on the payroll and one does afternoons while the other plays on the internet at home. It's how Big Teams do employment law
15-01-2020, 06:47 AM
Cole the goal Stockton has 5 so far for morecambe. Maybe they should bring him back, obviously just being managed badly previously[emoji6]
Managed by the guy who was first choice for the Hearts job too.
15-01-2020, 06:57 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/aidan-keena-craig-levein-told-me-my-hearts-career-was-over-i-could-never-get-hold-daniel-stendel-1364490
Levein having to speak to the players being binned because Stendal won’t.
15-01-2020, 07:01 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/aidan-keena-craig-levein-told-me-my-hearts-career-was-over-i-could-never-get-hold-daniel-stendel-1364490
:faf: they just keep giving
15-01-2020, 07:01 AM
What a ****ing shambles they are.
15-01-2020, 07:12 AM
It just gets better and better. Sure these articles will have top players clambering to sign for Hearts. Must be doing wonders for the morale of those that remain. All wondering who will be next
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 07:26 AM
This guy is not going to last the season. This cant be going down well with Budge etc. Almost daily stories about the havoc this guy is causing. Pleasing.
15-01-2020, 07:28 AM
This guy is not going to last the season. This cant be going down well with Budge etc. Almost daily stories about the havoc this guy is causing. Pleasing.
As long as he keeps getting sensational draws like the one they got against Aberdeen I’m sure his job will be safe.
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 07:32 AM
As long as he keeps getting sensational draws like the one they got against Aberdeen I’m sure his job will be safe.
Oh continued home draws like that will have the Hearts fans fundraising for a statue.
I have the feeling wee Budge wont quite be as comfortable with everything that is going on though.
15-01-2020, 07:33 AM
You never get sacked at Hearts these days.
Stendel will just be moved on to ‘other duties’ if things don’t improve.
Maybe Stendels strings are being pulled by Levein?
Cathro style?
15-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Looks to me like Lizard-Lips isn't man enough for awkward talks with players, preferring instead to bury his head in the sand (it's the Hearts way).
I wonder if he has the stomach for the relegation battle they're facing.
I get it seems a bit cowardly though I don't blame him for getting Levein to tell the players the bad news. Levein caused the mess they're in and is still about the place so I'd be getting him to do all the sh¡tty jobs. The mistake Stendel has made is avoiding the players. If they want to speak to him about it he should be available as they deserve to hear his explanation. If he'd had a chat with them after Levein had initially told them then they probably wouldn't be going to the press.
The press will now be asking him about these situations and the football will be secondary. That'd be a shame.
15-01-2020, 08:15 AM
So Berra, Whelan, Keena and Daly have all publicly slated Stendel. Never known anything like it. Not ever Butcher at Hibs
15-01-2020, 08:20 AM
Sounds professional. Back door of Oriam while students walk past. I guess that’s what happens when you rent a training pitch.
Maybe the BBC documentary captured the moment.
Keena is crap - watched him play quite a few times and thinks he is better than he is.
I would be embarrassed if I was Anderson publishing these articles. Had to get the ‘Hearts Big team’ into the article.
The ongoing thread on kickback about the pitch is hilarious - they can’t get their head round the fact they wasted to much money on a pitch which is worse than a public park.
15-01-2020, 08:33 AM
Imagine Paul Heckingbottom was lingering about East Mains telling players they wee free to find other clubs etc while Jack Ross was taking training. Bizzare
Cataplana
15-01-2020, 08:43 AM
Surely it is the sporting director's job to deal with severing contracts, and the coach's job to coach? I don't see a problem with Stendhal delegating that, and concentrating his time on the people who are staying.
It seems to me a clique at Tynecastle had had their noses put out of joint, and they are co ordinating their whining.
15-01-2020, 08:46 AM
Going by the unanimous love-in for anything and everything Stendel does or says on KB, I don’t think there’s the remotest chance of him getting an early bath. There would be mass fan mutiny. It seems, despite his horrendous record, that, no matter how bad and how long they continue to be, the Muppets are convinced that he has the solution and will come good in due course. Most of them think he will save their skins eventually or, if they go down, he is the man to bring them right back up. With her ridiculous loyalty to Levein et al, and her need to support Stendel, she is between the devil and the deep blue sea.
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 08:47 AM
Surely it is the sporting director's job to deal with severing contracts, and the coach's job to coach? I don't see a problem with Stendhal delegating that, and concentrating his time on the people who are staying.
It seems to me a clique at Tynecastle had had their noses put out of joint, and they are co ordinating their whining.
Not sure I agree at all. Surely its the coaches job to explain why a player is not in his plans. The Sporting Director can then organise the contract side etc.
If Vela is not in Jack Ross's plans, I fully expect he has had that chat with him. Just manners.
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 08:49 AM
Going by the unanimous love-in for anything and everything Stendel does or says on KB, I don’t think there’s the remotest chance of him getting an early bath. There would be mass fan mutiny. It seems, despite his horrendous record, that, no matter how bad and how long they continue to be, the Muppets are convinced that he has the solution and will come good in due course. Most of them think he will save their skins eventually or, if they go down, he is the man to bring them right back up. With her ridiculous loyalty to Levein et al, and her need to support Stendel, she is between the devil and the deep blue sea.
Brilliant isnt it. They are clinging there hopes to someone who frankly doesnt have a great record at all. I dont really get it to be honest.
Cataplana
15-01-2020, 09:01 AM
Not sure I agree at all. Surely its the coaches job to explain why a player is not in his plans. The Sporting Director can then organise the contract side etc.
If Vela is not in Jack Ross's plans, I fully expect he has had that chat with him. Just manners.
Why waste time massaging the ego of someone who you don't need? It's manners but manners doesn't win games, and I'm sure he'd be better using his limited time to concentrate on building the confidence of the people that remain.
The club has someone appointed to manage players going out. He needs to delegate.
McSwanky
15-01-2020, 09:05 AM
It would make some half and half scarf to mark the occasion.
:top marks:not worth
15-01-2020, 09:08 AM
What a ****ing shambles they are.
Have they said the press are all out to get them as everyone is running scared of this revolution yet?
Barman Stanton
15-01-2020, 09:09 AM
Why waste time massaging the ego of someone who you don't need? It's manners but manners doesn't win games, and I'm sure he'd be better using his limited time to concentrate on building the confidence of the people that remain.
The club has someone appointed to manage players going out. He needs to delegate.
How long does it take to tell a player he is not in your plans. Fair play if you think its fine, I just dont think its a great way to run things. Could also affect the morale of the other players.
Fontaine for example. Cup winning player. You honestly think it would be cool for the coach to just get rid without having a word? Each to their own I guess.
15-01-2020, 09:13 AM
Have they said the press are all out to get them as everyone is running scared of this revolution yet?
They haven’t quite gone full rangers yet, as in “no-one likes us and we don’t care”.