View Full Version : Yams The generic Hearts thread
01-03-2020, 12:02 PM
Its funny - that Hearts result last night has me in a good mood.
1) We have a good chance of playing them at Hampden.
2) Our chances of winning the Scottish Cup this season have increased substantially.
3) Our players will have been given a reality check that, as bad as Hearts have been this season, they are capable of showing up. We will need to be up for this and they will know that now.
4) The two results make for probably a good game on Tuesday night - expect both teams to have a proper go.
5) A Scottish Cup semi final is quite a distraction for them when they are at the bottom of the league with games rapidly running out.
6) Sevco's embarrassing wait for their first ever major trophy goes on, despite massive overspending to try buy their first trophy.
Weegreenman
01-03-2020, 12:05 PM
Just saw what the attendance was at Tynie for the so called “big team” 11,476
Thats with a full Rangers away support.
They have the bare faced cheek to slag off our attendance on Friday night 😵
01-03-2020, 12:06 PM
Are they the best thing since sliced bread again ready take on the world aye?
01-03-2020, 12:21 PM
Punishment for not returning from Columbia on the agreed date.
A tough one for Gerrard. If he ignores ill discipline from Morelos what does that do for his authority and team morale?
Weirder was not playing Defoe from the start.
01-03-2020, 12:28 PM
A Hearts win yesterday is probably a good thing for us on Tuesday. I've seen us lose 7-0 to Rangers then beat Hearts a few days later. We drew at Ibrox last season then lost the derby at home a few days later. Hearts will still be busy patting themselves on the back on Tuesday with any luck
01-03-2020, 01:37 PM
Just saw what the attendance was at Tynie for the so called “big team” 11,476
Thats with a full Rangers away support.
They have the bare faced cheek to slag off our attendance on Friday night
Yup - during the game the 'Big bros' weren't too impressed with their 'Wee bros' love, devotion and loyalty to their club -
'
****in pathetic home support.....Scottish Cup quarter final. SHameful!'
From a genuine 'Shug' over on 'loyal-media' - the use of upper/lower-case lettering in the same one word confirming it
01-03-2020, 01:42 PM
Are they the best thing since sliced bread again ready take on the world aye?
It’ll be all Mrs Budge and Mr Stendel again for a couple of days.
01-03-2020, 02:44 PM
Probably not, but to be fair, all they'd see is a bunch of clowns wearing pompom hats and skiing goggles, tied together with ropes, tripping each other up.
Quite likely they would have removed the goal posts too so hard to tell it's a football training session, more like a creative assault on the south face of Arthur's Seat.
😂😂😂
No goal posts et al Cathro
Will be a difficult game on Tuesday evening however it is winnable. Need to be at our best, stay disciplined and take our chances.
Souttar missing out is massive bonus. Watched that dikamona against Falkirk and he was a bomb scare.
They will score but so will we.
01-03-2020, 03:58 PM
Will be a difficult game on Tuesday evening however it is winnable. Need to be at our best, stay disciplined and take our chances.
Souttar missing out is massive bonus. Watched that dikamona against Falkirk and he was a bomb scare.
They will score but so will we.
We've a fit and firing Boyle and Doidge, McNulty providing movement and assists, and Docherty providing energy in the middle (and Omeonga) Aldo.......yes we are a little suspect at the back at times, but even in attack Jackson has 3 goals in the last few games. And they are definitely suspect at the back :aok:
TH I know was just taking a wee step back and trying not to be over confident that’s all.
We have an excellent team who are scoring all over. I’m positive just... well you know it’s a derby
01-03-2020, 06:01 PM
Agree but think we are more than just a little suspect at the back of teams put us under pressure
But we will never have a better chance to dominate Derbies than the next two coming up
Its down to the players to show up handle the occasions snd perform
01-03-2020, 06:49 PM
We are miles better than them as the league table shows. It's who performs on the day but I suspect they won't be able to play two high pressure games in three days so as long as we finish our chances we will win. Simple as.
01-03-2020, 07:02 PM
We are miles better than them but are pretty reliant on some key individuals - if any out of Docherty, Boyle or Doidge were to miss this match then it all gets a good bit more even.
Boyce is a good player and will be a big threat for them.
01-03-2020, 07:03 PM
We will be too strong for them on the day
01-03-2020, 07:06 PM
I would hope that on a proper sized pitch we should rip them a new one, but our defence will have to stay switched on.
01-03-2020, 07:10 PM
We are miles better than them but are pretty reliant on some key individuals - if any out of Docherty, Boyle or Doidge were to miss this match then it all gets a good bit more even.
Boyce is a good player and will be a big threat for them.
Souttar missing for them is actually a good thing for them as he is overrated and ****. The bulldozer none footballer is a much better option. They are spawny spawny bassas and I’m never confident.
01-03-2020, 07:10 PM
I would hope that on a proper sized pitch we should rip them a new one, but our defence will have to stay switched on.
Hopefully Newell is back for this.
Since last ER derby.
Jack Ross's Hibs > Heckingbottom's Hibs
Stendel's Hearts = Levein's Hearts (both sh¡te)
Since Boxing Day derby at Tynecastle (i.e. after Jan transfer window)
Hibs after > Hibs before
Hearts after = Hearts before (still sh¡te)
01-03-2020, 10:18 PM
Hearts are going down, going down...
KingPat4
02-03-2020, 09:04 AM
We are going to be kicked all over the pitch tomorrow. We need to stand up to that, yet keep our discipline. Naismith will be his usual dirty cheating self, trying to intimidate us and the referee.
Can't see them finishing with eleven men on the park.
Any kind of win will do for me, the semi will take care of itself.
02-03-2020, 09:07 AM
The better team will win. And that's us.
KingPat4
02-03-2020, 09:20 AM
The better team will win. And that's us.
I certainly hope so, we are better in just about every position.
But it's Hearts and I'm never confident. The number of times they have fluked it against us is almost supernatural.
:jamboak:
02-03-2020, 03:36 PM
I'm guessing the BBC's Brian McLauchlin has yam sympathies?
'Hearts have only lost two of their last ten league games...'
That's a novel spin on the fact they've only one one league game under Stendel :faf:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51709160
Box 17
02-03-2020, 03:56 PM
We are going to be kicked all over the pitch tomorrow. We need to stand up to that, yet keep our discipline. Naismith will be his usual dirty cheating self, trying to intimidate us and the referee.
Can't see them finishing with eleven men on the park.
Any kind of win will do for me, the semi will take care of itself.
If we are 3 or 4 up tomorrow can see them sacraficing one of their cloggers to take out Docherty or Boyle so they're injured for the semi.
02-03-2020, 04:00 PM
No excuse for us not winning tomorrow
If we are 3 or 4 up tomorrow can see them sacraficing one of their cloggers to take out Docherty or Boyle so they're injured for the semi.
Probably won't wait until we are up, will be kicking us up and down the park from the off. Just hope the ref gets the bookings right.
That's a novel spin on the fact they've only one one league game under Stendel :faf:
Trying to gloss over the fact that Stendel says we're a better team than we were when we beat them 2-0 at their place and he's right. Stendel's not as daft as he looks.....McLauchlin is.
02-03-2020, 04:26 PM
Thought that stat couldn't be true and ... it isn't. They've lost 5 of their last 10 league games. 2 of last 10 fixtures including 3 cup ties, 2 against lower league teams.
02-03-2020, 04:42 PM
Unless the report has been amended he says their last ten fixtures, not league games.
“Hearts have only lost two of their past 10 fixtures and secured a 1-0 win over Rangers on Saturday “
Steve88
02-03-2020, 04:43 PM
Genuinely concerned that boyle will receive a season ending tackle tomorrow.
I hope The Doc + JN start tomorrow to act as the enforcers
02-03-2020, 04:46 PM
They’ve got to catch him first.
Steve88
02-03-2020, 04:48 PM
They’ve got to catch him first.
.... just found out JN is Out for tomorrow. Gutted!
Gloucester Hibs
02-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Me too. Not sure Stendel has this ‘hatchet man’ mentality, but who knows what influence a certain Craig Levein still wields there.. 🤔
He'll be missed but we've got more than enough to get the job done.
02-03-2020, 05:16 PM
He’ll be back for the SF
02-03-2020, 05:17 PM
Unless the report has been amended he says their last ten fixtures, not league games.
“Hearts have only lost two of their past 10 fixtures and secured a 1-0 win over Rangers on Saturday “
Definitely been edited since I first read it. Originally said league games.
CloudSquall
02-03-2020, 05:19 PM
Me too. Not sure Stendel has this ‘hatchet man’ mentality, but who knows what influence a certain Craig Levein still wields there.. 🤔
Gary Locke will be drafted in as per for a rousing golden sho.. I mean speech
Steve88
02-03-2020, 07:09 PM
Where on earth is all this confidence coming from Hearts.... They are adamant they're going to win:confused:
02-03-2020, 07:13 PM
Where on earth is all this confidence coming from Hearts.... They are adamant they're going to win:confused:
Are they? I doubt it. Most yams would bite your hand off for a draw.
Steve88
02-03-2020, 07:18 PM
Are they? I doubt it. Most yams would bite your hand off for a draw.
... I must be reading the most deluded of posts. The general consensus is "keep boyle quiet and we'll get a result".
We're up to about 15 different scorers this season:cb
02-03-2020, 07:21 PM
... I must be reading the most deluded of posts. The general consensus is "keep boyle quiet and we'll get a result".
We're up to about 15 different scorers this season:cb19.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/how-hibs-have-become-most-dangerous-team-scotland-outwith-big-two-2005134
Steve88
02-03-2020, 07:23 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/how-hibs-have-become-most-dangerous-team-scotland-outwith-big-two-2005134
This is a welcome correction :flag:
02-03-2020, 07:24 PM
... I must be reading the most deluded of posts. The general consensus is "keep boyle quiet and we'll get a result"
A draw would be the type of result they’d parade around town in an open top bus to celebrate
wazoo1875
02-03-2020, 07:36 PM
A draw would be the type of result they’d parade around town in an open top bus to celebrate
I’ve got an image in ma heid now of them driving along princes st holding a big silver X up to their adoring dafties.
02-03-2020, 07:44 PM
Would it be an even bigger draw than the one v Aberdeen?
02-03-2020, 07:49 PM
Are they? I doubt it. Most yams would bite your hand off for a draw.Most yams I know would bite your hand off for a pot noodle.[emoji6]
02-03-2020, 07:51 PM
That’s just the way hearts fans are towards derbies. It’s won before it’s played.
02-03-2020, 09:37 PM
Trying to gloss over the fact that Stendel says we're a better team than we were when we beat them 2-0 at their place and he's right. Stendel's not as daft as he looks.....McLauchlin is.
Think it is common knowledge McLauchlin is a yam.
02-03-2020, 09:46 PM
Years and years of beating us despite how well we played or the fact they were pish they just won. It breeds confidence which I hope Hibs now have.
Where on earth is all this confidence coming from Hibs. We have screwed up in this fixture time and time again over the many years I have been a Hibs supporter.
The fact that we are, by far, the better team I honestly belief that this, in a factor in its self, is no where near enough to guarantee we will win.
It was said on another thread that their win at the weekend should ensure that there is no complacency on our part going into this game. Play to our strengths, minimize errors at the back, and we should come away winners. But Hearts will be up for this without a doubt.
It's not confidence, it's bravado.
wallpaperman
03-03-2020, 05:55 AM
I see the Herald is reporting that John Souttar is out for up to 9 months (believe that if you will) with his latest injury, needs an operation.
I know that he is nowhere near as good as the Tynecastle PR machine would have you believe, and he plays for them, but I actually feel sorry for the guy, seems to be similar injury to what he had before.
If it was Naismith or one of their other dumplings that got this injury I would feel nothing, but for some reason I feel a bit sorry for Souttar.
03-03-2020, 05:59 AM
I see the Herald is reporting that John Souttar is out for up to 9 months (believe that if you will) with his latest injury, needs an operation.
I know that he is nowhere near as good as the Tynecastle PR machine would have you believe, and he plays for them, but I actually feel sorry for the guy, seems to be similar injury to what he had before.
If it was Naismith or one of their other dumplings that got this injury I would feel nothing, but for some reason I feel a bit sorry for Souttar.
Didn't see it but any sort of Achilles injury is usually a shocker. He has had a few injuries that is for sure.
Talented player hope he recovers well.
03-03-2020, 06:49 AM
Actually disappointed, as I see Souttar as a weak link at the back for them which we could have exploited.
03-03-2020, 06:54 AM
He’s made of glass and will be retired in a few years.
He’s also absolutely pish and I’d much rather he was playing than wasn’t.
What is it with Scotland right now and our young promising players being so injury prone? Tierney, Porteous and Souttar (I use the term promising a bit more loosely with him) all have had far too many fairly serious injuries at their young ages.
They must be getting light at the back(I know they’ll never be called light as long as Hulkett is in there).
They might recall Berra lol.
03-03-2020, 06:57 AM
Actually disappointed, as I see Souttar as a weak link at the back for them which we could have exploited.
Dikamona isn’t exactly Baresi though either.
03-03-2020, 07:59 AM
Dikamona isn’t exactly Baresi though either.
Don’t know much about him, he was getting described as a no nonsense defender when he came on Saturday. Just felt Souttar always had misplaced passes and silly errors in his game.
03-03-2020, 08:25 AM
Don’t know much about him, he was getting described as a no nonsense defender when he came on Saturday. Just felt Souttar always had misplaced passes and silly errors in his game.
Misplaced passes and silly errors IS Souttars game :greengrin
03-03-2020, 09:52 AM
"cause all of the points
are fading away
don't worry Your Daniel
you'll win some day
But we'll beat you at home
And we beat you away
So stop crying Your Daniel"
:flag::flag:
3-1 Hibs tonight and basement strugglers hearts to finish with 9 men
12-03-2020, 06:30 AM
Can we bring this back to life yet? I could use some light relief after a trying week on Hibs.net.
12-03-2020, 07:00 AM
Can we bring this back to life yet? I could use some light relief after a trying week on Hibs.net.
We need a report from KickBack. Daniel saying a big punch in relegation and team have no fight.
12-03-2020, 07:03 AM
We need a report from KickBack. Daniel saying a big punch in relegation and team have no fight.
They’re rounding on everyone and everything. Naismith, Stendel and Budge are getting it tight.
12-03-2020, 07:08 AM
‘The game Hearts dare not lose’
‘Hearts lost a little hope’
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51845763
I can imagine the rousing pre-match speech last night, invoking Hearts’ finest hour. Maybe it sounded a bit off in a German accent?
12-03-2020, 07:41 AM
Imagine Stendel helped relegate two different teams in the same season. Must be a first.
12-03-2020, 08:03 AM
They’re rounding on everyone and everything. Naismith, Stendel and Budge are getting it tight.
Thanks I am feeling even better now.
12-03-2020, 08:30 AM
24 points to play for and they're in complete meltdown mode. *****bags.
huggie1875
12-03-2020, 08:36 AM
Imagine Stendel helped relegate two different teams in the same season. Must be a first.
something in the back of my mind tells me Billy McNeil done it down south
12-03-2020, 08:37 AM
They are utterly woeful and it makes our terrible performance against them all the more cringeworthy. Had we done would we ought to have they would be buried by now.
12-03-2020, 08:41 AM
They are utterly woeful and it makes our terrible performance against them all the more cringeworthy. Had we done would we ought to have they would be buried by now.
Let's hope we've learned our lesson for the semi. They are utterly pish and adrift at the bottom for a reason.
12-03-2020, 08:42 AM
it's their results against us and a ridiculous red card for Hamilton thats stopped them from automatic relegation already
12-03-2020, 08:45 AM
Just noticed a post over on Keekback about games being played behind closed doors. As their next one at the tiny castle is against Ross County one poster has suggested giving Ross Laidlaw a phone to text live updates as he'll have nothing else to do😂😂😂
12-03-2020, 08:46 AM
If they hadn't beaten us they might have won last night. The argument that they would be ****** without points against us is similar to the one that says a team should be 3 or 4 up by now. If you score once it affects everything that happens after.
MurrayfieldHibs
12-03-2020, 08:50 AM
I can imagine the rousing pre-match speech last night, invoking Hearts’ finest hour. Maybe it sounded a bit off in a German accent?
Anyone else thinking about Ade Edmonson as Baron Von Richtofen in Blackadder?
https://youtube.com/watch?edufilter=NULL&v=1RFwflbMo2c (https://www.youtube.com/watch?edufilter=NULL&v=1RFwflbMo2c)
12-03-2020, 08:55 AM
If they hadn't beaten us they might have won last night. The argument that they would be ****** without points against us is similar to the one that says a team should be 3 or 4 up by now. If you score once it affects everything that happens after.
If we had beat them maybe they would have sacked Stendel and would be getting a new manager bounce just now. No point worrying about it, just enjoy how it is now.
Steven79
12-03-2020, 08:56 AM
Just noticed a post over on Keekback about games being played behind closed doors. As their next one at the tiny castle is against Ross County one poster has suggested giving Ross Laidlaw a phone to text live updates as he'll have nothing else to do[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Steven79
12-03-2020, 08:57 AM
something in the back of my mind tells me Billy McNeil done it down southManchester City and Aston Villa.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
12-03-2020, 08:58 AM
well i would just like to congratulate the sparryheids on acheiving bottom spot in the fair play league after last night 👍 officially the dirtiest team in the league, bottom of two leagues at the same time, that's some feat
again
12-03-2020, 09:06 AM
2.10 @ Cheltenham today - Relegate 7/1 :greengrin
12-03-2020, 11:24 AM
Worse record than the 15 point reduction team!!
12-03-2020, 12:13 PM
well i would just like to congratulate the sparryheids on acheiving bottom spot in the fair play league after last night officially the dirtiest team in the league, bottom of two leagues at the same time, that's some feat
again
Surely it's time the 'Dirtiest Team In The League' title is retired in their honour as I don't see any other team winning it as often as they have ??
2.10 @ Cheltenham today - Relegate 7/1 :greengrin
3.30 at Chepstow - Jambo Fuds 1/10. :greengrin
12-03-2020, 01:14 PM
If we had beat them maybe they would have sacked Stendel and would be getting a new manager bounce just now. No point worrying about it, just enjoy how it is now.
You are aware how long it takes them to decide on a new manager?
They'd maybe get that 'new manager bounce' at the end of April.
12-03-2020, 02:01 PM
Surely it's time the 'Dirtiest Team In The League' title is retired in their honour as I don't see any other team winning it as often as they have ??
their was talk of them wearing stars on their shirts next season, "dirtiest team in the league badge of honour" stars
12-03-2020, 02:05 PM
i've noticed they've started singing that song after they've scored a goal, the one that we've been singing for approx 3 seasons ?, also that one sevco fans started singing a few weeks back, is that them starting to get a songbook back again 😁
12-03-2020, 02:07 PM
They never get a new manager bounce
12-03-2020, 02:12 PM
You are aware how long it takes them to decide on a new manager?
They'd maybe get that 'new manager bounce' at the end of April.They should maybe give up on the new manager bounce thing given their teutonic twat has basically achieved a teutonic splat.
They like to be innovative so how about another first? A bouncy manager.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200312/285ec5339110eb290476a019bb2180dc.jpg
12-03-2020, 04:32 PM
SJM hasn't forgotten how to wind-up the Jambos
https://twitter.com/jmcginn7/status/1237857083891920897
'Big result for the buddies'
Unfortunately but predictably, a Jambo piece-of-**** wrote -
'Hope your Injury ends your career'
He/she/it has received a few replies !!
12-03-2020, 04:37 PM
SJM hasn't forgotten how to wind-up the Jambos
https://twitter.com/jmcginn7/status/1237857083891920897
'Big result for the buddies'
Unfortunately but predictably, a Jambo piece-of-**** wrote -
'Hope your Injury ends your career'
He/she/it has received a few replies !!
Think it was more of a nod to his old (and brothers) team rather than winding up Jambos
13-03-2020, 01:31 PM
Rumours emerging Stendel has been sacked.
13-03-2020, 01:34 PM
Think it was more of a nod to his old (and brothers) team rather than winding up Jambos
Of course. But Jambos too ignorant to realise that.
13-03-2020, 01:37 PM
Or he could just be enjoying a regular afternoon sesh.
Lol, not his fault the players who were sh¡te under Levein, were sh¡te under MacPhee and surprise surprise, are still sh¡te the under Stendel.
#prayforStendel
13-03-2020, 01:39 PM
No danger
13-03-2020, 01:50 PM
Nooooooooooo. please don't say things like this, he deserves time
13-03-2020, 02:00 PM
It would be a good time to sack him tbh. Get a guy in who knows what he's doing during this enforced break.
In saying that, Coronavirus would be cured as well as Aids by the time Budge made up her mind.
Fall out with the senior players. Boyce being one
13-03-2020, 02:03 PM
It would be a good time to sack him tbh. Get a guy in who knows what he's doing during this enforced break.
In saying that, Coronavirus would be cured as well as Aids by the time Budge made up her mind.
Billy Brown's on standby!
13-03-2020, 02:10 PM
On Saturday during the first half, Clare picked up an injury and twice motioned to Stendel he needed to come off. Clare and Naismith then waved towards Stendel and again intimated Clare needed hooked - Stendel just brushed them away and told them to get on with the game, at which point Naismith turned to Clare and said 'what the **** is he doing". :aok:
Any Hearts fan who doesn't think there are ructions is quite simply living in cloud cuckooland Aldo :agree:
13-03-2020, 02:13 PM
Perfect time to sack him to be honest.
TrinityHibs
13-03-2020, 02:18 PM
I’m sure that it has just been confirmed that a second guy is free of the active virus. Might not be cured but making more progress than Daniel
13-03-2020, 02:36 PM
Nooooooooooo. please don't say things like this, he deserves time
Turned up at work on wednesday morning stinking of drink too.
ALLEGEDLY
13-03-2020, 02:37 PM
I’m sure that it has just been confirmed that a second guy is free of the active virus. Might not be cured but making more progress than Daniel
You're referring to AIDS, I think. :agree:
Gloucester Hibs
13-03-2020, 02:41 PM
ALLEGEDLY
Their Daniel reaping the benefits of Stratties liberal opening hours! 🥴
13-03-2020, 02:57 PM
On Saturday during the first half, Clare picked up an injury and twice motioned to Stendel he needed to come off. Clare and Naismith then waved towards Stendel and again intimated Clare needed hooked - Stendel just brushed them away and told them to get on with the game, at which point Naismith turned to Clare and said 'what the **** is he doing". :aok:
Any Hearts fan who doesn't think there are ructions is quite simply living in cloud cuckooland Aldo :agree:
Twat should have just walked off the pitch also looks like Stendels s actively looking to get sacked.
13-03-2020, 03:17 PM
Twat should have just walked off the pitch also looks like Stendels s actively looking to get sacked.
Lennonesque
13-03-2020, 03:57 PM
St Mirren goal-keeper has tested positive for Coronavirus.
The Hearts team have been advised not to self-isolate because they got nowhere near him.
AltheHibby
13-03-2020, 04:03 PM
The Hearts team have been advised not to self-isolate because they got nowhere near him.
:not worth
13-03-2020, 04:03 PM
:greengrin👍🏻
ALLEGEDLY
Would a German George Burley be George Berlin?
13-03-2020, 04:22 PM
Dear God I hope not !. I was heart-broken when Potter got bulleted and I feared the worst - that they got someone in who could actually do a job !. However, I'd forgot all about their traditional arrogance and pomposity which has resulted in them getting a manager who it looks like IS capable of doing the Job that Potter started !
13-03-2020, 04:46 PM
Dear God I hope not !. I was heart-broken when Potter got bulleted and I feared the worst - that they got someone in who could actually do a job !. However, I'd forgot all about their traditional arrogance and pomposity which has resulted in them getting a manager who it looks like IS capable of doing the Job that Potter started !
Just a wee personal gripe, but when I read the name Potter in connection with Scottish football, I now immediately think of our own assistant manager. When referring to the tosser across the city, maybe his nickname should be preceded by ‘Harry’.
13-03-2020, 04:47 PM
😂😂😂😂😂
13-03-2020, 05:25 PM
13-03-2020, 05:32 PM
Sack their 'First Choice'?
Surely not.
13-03-2020, 05:33 PM
That’s where I got it yeah
13-03-2020, 05:47 PM
In their very own words over there on the dark-side - PLEASING.:greengrin
The relegation get out clause was mentioned ages ago so they're a bit slow to find that out if they've only just done so.
Senior players going running to Budge to complain about him. :greengrin
13-03-2020, 06:34 PM
The relegation get out clause was mentioned ages ago so they're a bit slow to find that out if they've only just done so.
Senior players going running to Budge to complain about him. :greengrin
Why are they getting their knickers in such a twist over the relegation release clause?
It would get them shot of a highly paid and failed member of staff that they'd be crazy to want hanging around when they have reduced funds in the Championship.
Just because he has a clause in there doesn't mean he's going to give anything less than his best or want anything other than them to stay up - a failure at Hearts would be dreadful for him on a personal level.
Whether he's good enough to be their manager or not is an entirely different debate.
MagicSwirlingShip
13-03-2020, 09:15 PM
Hearts players think he has intentionally been setting the team up poorly so he can get his release clause. Surely no 🤣🤣
That's such a preposterous scenario it almost makes it seem more authentic i.e. you couldn't make it up.
MagicSwirlingShip
13-03-2020, 09:49 PM
That's such a preposterous scenario it almost makes it seem more authentic i.e. you couldn't make it up.
Glorious stuff innit
13-03-2020, 09:54 PM
Now that the season is finished, there should be no reason for the BBC to delay in getting their fly on the wall documentary out there. This masterpiece could keep us all going through a long summer.
Nah they need to film the day that hertz relegation is confirmed. To be fair thothey could just show a clip of the press conference announcing it then play the curb your enthusiasm theme.
They’ve already decided their POTY
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200314/6cdeeceb967a6333c41720113493ac66.jpg
wallpaperman
14-03-2020, 07:33 AM
Superb 😝
Cyborg Ninja
14-03-2020, 07:37 AM
👍🏻
14-03-2020, 08:05 AM
We’ve been denied a ‘tears at Dens Park’ moment.
A scene of misery from the plaza on the day relegation is confirmed seems like a suitable finale.
14-03-2020, 08:33 AM
Weegreenman
14-03-2020, 08:41 AM
Lucky *******s could fall in ***** and come out smelling of roses
14-03-2020, 09:21 AM
Given that the best position for most of their players is in the stand, and for the rest it's on the bench, putting any of them on the pitch is surely an intentional act by Stendel.
Juice-Terry
14-03-2020, 12:17 PM
This documentary is getting better and better. I will kill to see it.
Hibs4185
14-03-2020, 12:31 PM
£400k shortfall until the end of the season was anounced a while back. Stendel and Boyce wages as well.
Coronavirus could kill of a few clubs, wonder if the yams could be in a bit of financial trouble with the loss of revenues.
14-03-2020, 12:32 PM
£400k shortfall until the end of the season was anounced a while back. Stendel and Boyce wages as well.
Coronavirus could kill of a few clubs, wonder if the yams could be in a bit of financial trouble with the loss of revenues.
Anonymous Benefactors will ride to the rescue.
14-03-2020, 12:35 PM
No danger, the anonymous donor will magically reappear to save the day.
cocteautwin
14-03-2020, 12:44 PM
Anonymous Benefactors will ride to the rescue.
They’re going to have to. HMFC were already short of £4m before the season started, another £400k shortfall on the budget after the appointment of a new manager and now this.
If the benefactor was heavily invested in the financial markets they’ll have experienced a partial wipeout the past few weeks.
Hmmmm. Interesting
14-03-2020, 12:44 PM
No danger, the anonymous donor will magically reappear to save the day.
When are the benefactors likely to say enough is enough? The millions that appear to have evaporated for no return at that place is astounding. Mismanagement on a monumental scale.
AltheHibby
14-03-2020, 01:30 PM
Rumour alert: I have no idea if this is true or if the person telling me got it wrong.
Having said that, a colleague down here in Birmingham used to work with the accountant on the Hertz board and thinks that he has put in a fair chunk of money.
Like I said, I cant be sure this is correct.
14-03-2020, 01:41 PM
So stendel is on, what, 10k a week? Along with other very high earners I wouldn't imagine hertz could afford for this to drag on. Instead of being able to fire stendel in May, they're looking at having to keep him on for the foreseeable..
14-03-2020, 01:51 PM
So stendel is on, what, 10k a week? Along with other very high earners I wouldn't imagine hertz could afford for this to drag on. Instead of being able to fire stendel in May, they're looking at having to keep him on for the foreseeable..
Using other people's money is what they do best so "donations" will be coming in thick and fast.
14-03-2020, 01:54 PM
Wonder how badly this enforced break and then relegation will impact Hearts financially with the huge wages they're paying out.
14-03-2020, 02:05 PM
Wonder how badly this enforced break and then relegation will impact Hearts financially with the huge wages they're paying out.
I honestly think/thought Hearts would avoid relegation if the season continued - so it's amusing watching and listening to them worry and panic given their current predicament :greengrin nice to be in a position where we can watch and not be concerned.
Might go against the (Hibs) grain but I don't want them down anyway :cb- I love the derbies too much and the fact we are, despite the last one, on an even keel with them, want more chances to beat them.
But if they were relegated............och well :greengrin
14-03-2020, 02:06 PM
According to BBC Sportsoind the SPFL have released a statement that they have pretty much decided that this season is probably finished. If so, things will stand as they are, Celtic will be named Champions and Hearts will automatically go down.
14-03-2020, 02:08 PM
I heard they were struggling to cover outgoings as it is. A indefinite break with no additional cash coming in could prove a major problem for them. They pretty mutch budget for semi finals. I bet that gate money was getting spent already.
14-03-2020, 02:17 PM
According to BBC Sportsoind the SPFL have released a statement that they have pretty much decided that this season is probably finished. If so, things will stand as they are, Celtic will be named Champions and Hearts will automatically go down.
If true it's by far the most practical decision and fair play to them for deciding that so early. We could be in limbo for months yet so best just to nail this one and (hopefully) start next season afresh.
Simplest solution: Teams at the top of each league are awarded the title, teams at the bottom are relegated. Play-offs are scrapped and the bonus/parachute money due to the teams who get relegated or miss on promotion is shared among them (there will be more to go around due to the fact several teams won't be getting relegated). Scottish Cup is declared void for this season.
14-03-2020, 02:20 PM
That's perked me right up
14-03-2020, 02:22 PM
I honestly think/thought Hearts would avoid relegation if the season continued - so it's amusing watching and listening to them worry and panic given their current predicament :greengrin nice to be in a position where we can watch and not be concerned.
Might go against the (Hibs) grain but I don't want them down anyway :cb- I love the derbies too much and the fact we are, despite the last one, on an even keel with them, want more chances to beat them.
But if they were relegated............och well :greengrin
Apart from the fact they beat us a couple of weeks ago, what would make you think that? They have quite clearly performed worse than any other team over the course of the season and by all accounts were dreadful against St Mirren in a game which on paper was much more important to them than the derby. Green-tinted spec on obviously, but they strike/struck me as by some distance the favourites to go down.
14-03-2020, 02:27 PM
Have they finished that single tiered over budget stand (which still doesn’t take them to 20,000) which they started in November 2016 ?
Getting closer to November 2020.
14-03-2020, 02:30 PM
They haven’t released a statement.
The guy on the radio was saying that based on feedback from his sources that he believed that IF the season can’t be finished that’s how they’d do it.
14-03-2020, 02:34 PM
Apart from the fact they beat us a couple of weeks ago, what would make you think that? They have quite clearly performed worse than any other team over the course of the season and by all accounts were dreadful against St Mirren in a game which on paper was much more important to them than the derby. Green-tinted spec on obviously, but they strike/struck me as by some distance the favourites to go down.
I think they'd scrape 11th or 10th mate. Playing bottom 6 with the teams around them I reckon they'd have enough. I also think officials would be very kind and be influenced during their home games - which is what I see regularly when I work there. Last week for example Don Robertson couldn't wait to give them decisions. I agree with Brooster, (about the derby) against us they were awful but we compounded it by being worse - which was completely unacceptable - they were there for the taking but we went in over confident. Nothing about pressing, we just didn't match the work rate.
Still think they have enough to get past Hamilton and St. Mirren (and County).
14-03-2020, 02:38 PM
Can't see that being decided so early as bound to be loads of teams having a major issue with that. Personally think all the games need to be played whether that is in June or not. Teams could easily challenge a half assed decision imo. Would clubs not all need to vote on this.
Please be true......
Kermit would defo have to make an appearance.
14-03-2020, 02:39 PM
The guy on the radio was saying that based of feedback from his sources that be believed that IF the season can’t be finished that’s how they’d do it.
Nothing official yet. Football is merely ‘suspended’.
14-03-2020, 05:57 PM
We thought the same when Cathro was bulleted, but that’s worked out ok!
14-03-2020, 06:16 PM
Since when did the BBC Sports disorganisation ever get their facts right? I don’t believe for a second that the season will be wrapped up as simply as this and I fully expect a solution which will cater for Celtic winning the league, Hearts to retain membership of the Scottish Premiership and Dundee Utd. to win promotion. Some form of temporary League reorganisation, outwith the present one year notice clause, will be enforced.
14-03-2020, 06:19 PM
Can't see that being decided so early as bound to be loads of teams having a major issue with that. Personally think all the games need to be played whether that is in June or not. Teams could easily challenge a half assed decision imo. Would clubs not all need to vote on this.
I think a provisional decision could be made subject to playing the games before a deadline, which is likely to be the end of May if that is when contracts run out.
There would then be plenty of time for a challenge to be brought, but if the decision is legal under the rules of the competition then a challenge would probably fail on the grounds that the clubs signed up to the rules at the start of the season.
Devonhibs
14-03-2020, 06:27 PM
I think a provisional decision could be made subject to playing the games before a deadline, which is likely to be the end of May if that is when contracts run out.
There would then be plenty of time for a challenge to be brought, but if the decision is legal under the rules of the competition then a challenge would probably fail on the grounds that the clubs signed up to the rules at the start of the season.
I don't think anyone has found this type of scenario catered for in the current league rules?
HibbySpurs
14-03-2020, 07:08 PM
I don't think anyone has found this type of scenario catered for in the current league rules?
Surely there will be “an under exceptional circumstances” clause buried in the rules somewhere?
Guess all they could do is call the rest of the matches draws if thats what they had to do.
7Hero
14-03-2020, 07:18 PM
I am completely in agreement that sumer football is the way forward so extend the season and let's see how much we enjoy going to more matches in the half decent weather.
murray26
14-03-2020, 07:20 PM
It’s got to be summer football.. play June July and sort out next season later.. this one must be completed you can’t just bin 30 odd matches as if they didn’t happen..
14-03-2020, 08:24 PM
It’s got to be summer football.. play June July and sort out next season later.. this one must be completed you can’t just bin 30 odd matches as if they didn’t happen..
The main problem with that is that a lot of player contracts will finish at the end of May, and I don’t think the current rules allow you to bring in additional players for what would be the “current” season.
14-03-2020, 08:43 PM
The main problem with that is that a lot of player contracts will finish at the end of May, and I don’t think the current rules allow you to bring in additional players for what would be the “current” season.This. Theres a date far beyond TDD where players can be signed but not played until the next season. So the majority out of contract will re-sign temporarily to compete the current season. Those that dont are either being paid by the new club and dont need the cash or are being let go in any case with the club willing to let them go. Trying to renegotiate contracts in the current climate would indicate the player or their agent is more trouble than they are worth or are Florian Kamberi....
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
14-03-2020, 08:52 PM
Just left the family yam behind after a fairly pleasant evening drinking.
He's hoping the season gets declared void as
Desperate Dan deserves a full season to have a go at the top league.
If it wasn't for the kids I'd have domed him with a shovel and given him a decent atheist burial down the pan.
stuart-farquhar
14-03-2020, 09:36 PM
Just left the family yam behind after a fairly pleasant evening drinking.
He's hoping the season gets declared void as
Desperate Dan deserves a full season to have a go at the top league.
If it wasn't for the kids I'd have domed him with a shovel and given him a decent atheist burial down the pan.
Lol
14-03-2020, 09:36 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5387346/boris-johnson-scottish-premiership-over-celtic-hearts/
Hearts being relegated, quick decision being made so end of season payments can be made to help clubs survive.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5387346/boris-johnson-scottish-premiership-over-celtic-hearts/
Hearts being relegated, quick decision being made so end of season payments can be made to help clubs survive.
But they're all celebrating Covid-19 as their saviour.
14-03-2020, 09:43 PM
That sounds reasonable enough to me.
Frankhfc
14-03-2020, 09:48 PM
Basically what most of the wiser heads on here were calling for. A decisive pragmatic outcome that affords both pay outs of prize money and for clubs to be able to plan ahead for next season cleanly in absense of confusion. Good shout.
14-03-2020, 09:49 PM
Give them time to plan for next season. Sensible decision.
14-03-2020, 09:52 PM
What would happen to 2nd top of league below and Hamilton ?
ICT will be raging they don’t have a chance to go up.
England have to sort their EPL playoffs too...somehow as the money as stake is mega.
Frankhfc
14-03-2020, 09:55 PM
England have to sort their EPL playoffs too...somehow as the money as stake is mega.
Greater good for the benefit of the leagues in general if that happens. Tough times require difficult decisions. Its not ideal but necessary given the extreme circumstances we find ourselves in I'm afraid to say.
14-03-2020, 09:55 PM
There’s no guarantee in football that any teams in the playoffs would be promoted. The only guarantee is bottom relegated top promoted.
14-03-2020, 09:56 PM
Irrespective of the fact it's the yams going down this is by far the most practical solution. The PM is correct to shut down any arguments about such relative trivialities to focus on the bigger picture.
14-03-2020, 10:07 PM
Irrespective of the fact it's the yams going down this is by far the most practical solution. The PM is correct to shut down any arguments about such relative trivialities to focus on the bigger picture.
Hearts fans are going mental about it but if it was Hamilton in their position then I’d bet 99% would probably agree it is a pretty reasonable solution in a very difficult situation.
Jambos had chance to move off the bottom by beating St Mirren. They blew it with another insipid performance. Looking like it might have effectively been the relegation playoff match.
14-03-2020, 10:19 PM
Greater good for the benefit of the leagues in general if that happens. Tough times require difficult decisions. Its not ideal but necessary given the extreme circumstances we find ourselves in I'm afraid to say.
So English Championship 3rd goes up and bottom 3 from EPL down ??
Btw I’m all for Hearts getting relegated by any means possible :)
14-03-2020, 10:24 PM
Hearts fans are going mental about it but if it was Hamilton in their position then I’d bet 99% would probably agree it is a pretty reasonable solution in a very difficult situation.
Has this news been picked up on kickback yet?
Frankhfc
14-03-2020, 10:29 PM
So English Championship 3rd goes up and bottom 3 from EPL down ??
Btw I’m all for Hearts getting relegated by any means possible :)
I've no idea about the English Championship or what will happen there. My opinion is that the placings should stand as is here in Scotland if no more football is to be played whereby solving most of the critical issues allowing a clean break from this one that's been blighted due to the extremely unfortunate pandemic. Hearts are bottom for a reason and its really just a tough break for them that they currently occupy automatic relegation at the time of the season prematurely ending. Its for the greater good of the Scottish game no more no less.
14-03-2020, 10:30 PM
No. They seem to be pinning their hopes on ‘financial turmoil in Scottish football, with themselves coming out of it in rude health in the top flight.
14-03-2020, 10:31 PM
No idea.
My jambo mates think the idea and article are ridiculous as Johnson and the government will be too busy to worry about Scottish football. Suspect JKB will be along the same lines.
I think league reconstruction is the right and smart move.
I don’t think Hearts can complain about being relegated, they’ve been the worst team in the league, if we aren’t changing the structure of the league then Dundee Utd have to come up and someone had to go down, there’s no question that has to be Hearts.
It’s probably not ideal but neither is the corona virus.
I wouldn't trust that rag to give the correct date in their header.
The only precedent we have at the moment is from Chile, where due to civil unrest their league was abandoned 30 matches in to a 36 game season, or thereabouts.
The top side were declared champions, there was no relegation.
Given this is now a worldwide problem but with the epicentre of covid19 and football in Europe I'd expect FIFA to take a lead from whatever UEFA decide.
We'll maybe get something on Tuesday after their meeting. Only kidding - there's not been time for brown envelopes to be dished out.
14-03-2020, 11:21 PM
The guy on the radio was saying that based on feedback from his sources that he believed that IF the season can’t be finished that’s how they’d do it.
I heard the discussion on radio too. It was the BBC's Kheridine Itsan and he said the SPFL's current position is: they would prefer fixtures to be concluded but if that is not possible, their preference is for current positions to stand.
15-03-2020, 12:26 AM
I don’t see how we can promote teams but not relegate others
For example the teams in the championship have as good an argument for promotion as the top tier teams not being relegated.
CloudSquall
15-03-2020, 03:35 AM
Jambos had chance to move off the bottom by beating St Mirren. They blew it with another insipid performance. Looking like it might have effectively been the relegation playoff match.
If St Mirren effectively ensure Hearts relegation on top of their efforts in 1986 plus the League Cup win under Danny Lennon they should be given a guard of honour every time they grace Easter Road with their presence.
There was even a thread on kickback promoting this strategy if they beat st Mirren and moved above them
15-03-2020, 06:34 AM
The virus is a serious thing and should be beyond football. Consigning Hearts to relegation is surely a small price to pay. In fact it’s a non existent price. Okay, it’s a bonus. Oh come on. it’s a gilt-edged stone-cold premium.
TheHarpy76
15-03-2020, 06:50 AM
As would we if we were in their position.
Let’s be honest here. We wouldn’t be nearly as pragmatic if it was us in their position.
15-03-2020, 06:55 AM
At this point, football is one of the hot topics, but it depends what happens. If this virus largely peters out, then the rage and fury about the season and how it should end will ramp up. If it drags on for months and hundreds of thousands at minimum die, you’d think people will largely stop caring.
It would be ideal to finish the season, if they can’t, it should count from where it was. I think that’s the only position that can be held legally without potentially voiding season tickets, sponsors contracts, the tv deal etc. Then attention will need to shift towards next season, what format should it take if it can’t start on time etc.
Also, a Europe wide position on this would be preferable, if some leagues void, some stop, some have no relegation that’s going to make things even more awkward.
Hibs4185
15-03-2020, 07:14 AM
It would be nice if there was a former hibs chairman in charge of the SFA making a decision whether or not to relegate the yams....
C’mon the tache, you know it makes sense!
TheHarpy76
15-03-2020, 07:17 AM
It would be nice if there was a former hibs chairman in charge of the SFA making a decision whether or not to relegate the yams....
C’mon the tache, you know it makes sense!
Would it be up to each individual football association to decide how to play it or would UEFA have the final say?
Genuine question.
15-03-2020, 07:19 AM
Let’s be honest here. We wouldn’t be nearly as pragmatic if it was us in their position.
That’s very true, but we’re not in their position so let’s just get on with relegating them :greengrin
Hibs4185
15-03-2020, 07:23 AM
Would it be up to each individual football association to decide how to play it or would UEFA have the final say?
Genuine question.
I don’t think anybody knows. I doubt whether a blanket decision from UEFA would keep every association happy.
In the UK we may be a little easier considering Liverpool and Celtic are pretty far ahead and we only have a quarter of games left. Other leagues may be a point or two with games in hand for chasing teams etc.
In the UK, it’s an absolute no brainer for me to declare Celtic and Liverpool winners and relegate hearts. Haven’t looked at the English relegation fight but ultimately there is no solution to keep every team in Europe happy so there has to be a compromise somewhere and current positions seems to be the simplest way.
TheHarpy76
15-03-2020, 07:31 AM
That’s very true, but we’re not in their position so let’s just get on with relegating them :greengrin
Aye, that’s very true 😂😂
Rumble de Thump
15-03-2020, 07:32 AM
Hearts have been abysmal all season. To be beneath the likes of St Mirren and Hamilton at this stage of the season highlights how awful they are. They deserve to go down.
We are forgetting that in the SPL there are teams still in the hunt for Europe and top 6 and that means more money so the implications of this postponement are not just affecting those winning or being relegated.
HibbySpurs
15-03-2020, 07:37 AM
I think the decision will be taken early as some teams especially Hearts are likely to launch some sort of legal challenge against the decision but if the league believes their rules have them covered they’ll go for it early to get any challenge dismissed so the new season can commence in good time.
Just my thinking though.
15-03-2020, 07:56 AM
The virus is a serious thing and should be beyond football. Consigning Hearts to relegation is surely a small price to pay. In fact it’s a non existent price. Okay, it’s a bonus. Oh come on. it’s a gilt-edged stone-cold premium.
😂😂
A big benefit to ending the season now with current placings standing is they can payout the prize money, which some clubs will desperately need and could be the difference between their survival and them going bust.
If it goes to a vote does it not need to be a 11-1 minimum majority to be passed? You could expect Hearts to be against it and possibly Rangers. The only other team that might have a grievance could be Aberdeen for the guaranteed Euro spot for 3rd though they'll qualify if they or Celtic win the cup. Can't see the cup getting scrapped but if it did then the final Euro spot would go to Aberdeen for 4th place. Wouldn't think Aberdeen would block it but wouldn't be surprised if it was Rangers who did.
15-03-2020, 08:12 AM
They should definitely close the season now and relegate the thieves. It will then give the Duncans the chance to bleat that they weren't really relegated and they might even be able sing about it in at Morton, Partick and Dunfermline.
15-03-2020, 08:17 AM
Sounds fine to me. I don’t see where BoJo fits in to any possible football decision making tho’.
Ps Just noticed that KB are now discussing this ....... dismissing it a ‘Sun *****’.
15-03-2020, 08:29 AM
Genuine question.
The Spfl rules state that the decision on ending the season rests with the spfl board.
15-03-2020, 08:32 AM
Sounds fine to me. I don’t see where BoJo fits in to any possible football decision making tho’.
Ps Just noticed that KB are now discussing this ....... dismissing it a ‘Sun *****’.
The SPFL need the govt to order the stop so that they can trigger insurance and officially end the league. Without an official order they would be open to legal challenge. The SPFL and EPL will be asking the govt for this so they can get on with distributing money and planning for next season.
rossevenil
15-03-2020, 08:32 AM
Apparently reading the article if Bojo cancels the season it would trigger club insurances for the bigger teams and enable them to claim money back from that as its a Government shutdown as opposed to
the association shutting down??
15-03-2020, 08:33 AM
So relegate all the clubs in bottom 3 of each league in UK? What if some of those clubs had a game in hand that moved them out if won or drew?
It's an utter nonsense to make such decisions now.
15-03-2020, 08:36 AM
I think the decision will be taken early as some teams especially Hearts are likely to launch some sort of legal challenge against the decision but if the league believes their rules have them covered they’ll go for it early to get any challenge dismissed so the new season can commence in good time.
Just my thinking though.
Is it not the case that a legal challenge against the governing body is against UEFA rules results in removal of license to play? Or is that only if the case is against the SFA?
15-03-2020, 08:46 AM
So relegate all the clubs in bottom 3 of each league in UK? What if some of those clubs had a game in hand that moved them out if won or drew?
It’s only nonsense if you think this virus is nothing to worry about and we should restart football? Otherwise, football is gone until at least July. The clubs can’t afford to start the new season late because that’s when their income comes in so the need this season finished. It all makes perfect sense.
15-03-2020, 08:47 AM
They are threatening to take legal action if they are relegated. Here’s one of the stranger posts.
I'll accept relegation with no further games played if they also retrospectively award us the title for when our players signed up for the Great War.
15-03-2020, 08:48 AM
If you use average points it deals with the games in hand arguement.
I get that it's going to feel unfair on some clubs but there needs to be a conclusion and the will be winners and losers with that.
15-03-2020, 08:53 AM
Checking the SPFL rules, page 32 rule C16,
” At the end of each season ( following the completion of all league matches in the Premiership in that season ) the club in position 12 in the Premiership shall be relegated. ............. “
I’m sure claims that relegation can’t happen unless all fixtures are played.
I can see a 14 team premier league fudge next season.
15-03-2020, 08:58 AM
Hearts can feel agrived all they want but they've only got themselves to blame for being four points adrift and the worst team in the league for well over a year
15-03-2020, 09:02 AM
We'll obviously follow what happens in the EPL. As we always do. And just can't see them saying bottom three are relegated.
Villa have a game in hand which could see them safe and Bournemouth are in the bottom three of goal difference!
HibbySpurs
15-03-2020, 09:03 AM
” At the end of each season ( following the completion of all league matches in the Premiership in that season ) the club in position 12 in the Premiership shall be relegated. ............. “
That rule is so open to interpretation though. The rule does not specify a number, it simply says “following the completion of all league matches in the premiership in that season”
If the league says all league matches are now complete and the season is over the can relegate the 12th placed team.
Hibs4185
15-03-2020, 09:10 AM
That rule is so open to interpretation though. The rule does not specify a number, it simply says “following the completion of all league matches in the premiership in that season”
If the league says all league matches are now complete and the season is over the can relegate the 12th placed team.
I think there is a rule defining a season which says when the first competitive game is played until the last competitive game or when the committee decides. Something like that.
I’m other words, the committee can define that the 19/20 season ends when they like and therefore when that newly defined season is complete, the bottom club at that time can be relegated.
Pretty straight forward
15-03-2020, 09:11 AM
R
Yep , take you’re point . If the rule had said “ fixtures “ instead of “ matches” it might have strengthened their case against relegation.
15-03-2020, 09:12 AM
They are threatening to take legal action if they are relegated. Here’s one of the stranger posts.
I'll accept relegation with no further games played if they also retrospectively award us the title for when our players signed up for the Great War.There's be about 200 champions if they decided to award titles to the clubs whose players fought for their country.
Relegating teams that spent cash that belonged to charities seems fair enough though.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/radical-plan-14-team-top-flight-proposed-2450962
No relegation from any of our leagues a more likely compromise?
Greenworld
15-03-2020, 09:42 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/radical-plan-14-team-top-flight-proposed-2450962
No relegation from any of our leagues a more likely compromise?This won't happen majority of teams against it
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
HFC93
15-03-2020, 09:44 AM
Why 14? Dundee and Ayr will rightly argue that Inverness are only in a play-off spot.
They won't expand the league because it will compromise the four Old Firm games a season.
15-03-2020, 09:46 AM
“Season means the period of the year commencing on the date of the first League Match in a Season and ending on the date of the last League Match in the same Season or otherwise as determined by the Board and which excludes the Close Season”.
Man Down Under
15-03-2020, 09:47 AM
No relegation from any of our leagues a more likely compromise?Probably the fairest way tbf. Although it's a bit sad that people have no problem giving the title to the team at the top of the table but have a problem relegating the bottom team, it's ultimately the same rules that decide both outcomes. There's a whiff of hypocrisy about it.
Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk
15-03-2020, 09:52 AM
It’s a without precedent situation
15-03-2020, 09:56 AM
I'll accept relegation with no further games played if they also retrospectively award us the title for when our players signed up for the Great War.
They make me sick with this p*sh, were they the only team who’s players fought in the war???
Absolute b*llends
15-03-2020, 10:02 AM
This won't happen majority of teams against it
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Why 14? Dundee and Ayr will right argue that Inverness are only in a play-off spot.
They won't expand the league because it will compromise the four Old Firm games a season.
I’ve suspected all along that this would be deemed the most ‘inoffensive’ solution. Because the situation is so serious and unprecedented, the Dundee/Ayr objections and more so, the Old Firm 4 games per season will be given the bum’s rush for a period of time anyway ( every cloud has a silver lining ). Let’s face it, expansion of the league has been debated for long enough and cowtowing to the Old Firm has prevailed. This might be a chance to really reconstruct the leagues.
15-03-2020, 10:30 AM
Only because we'd be the relegated club, and that self interest would distort our view of what is fair.
If the bottom three read St Mirren 29, Ross County 29 and Hamilton 27, then we'd agree that the sensible thing to do is relegate the bottom club when they have already had 30 games to save themselves.
15-03-2020, 10:38 AM
I’ve suspected all along that this would be deemed the most ‘inoffensive’ solution. Because the situation is so serious and unprecedented, the Dundee/Ayr objections and more so, the Old Firm 4 games per season will be given the bum’s rush for a period of time anyway ( every cloud has a silver lining ). Let’s face it, expansion of the league has been debated for long enough and cowtowing to the Old Firm has prevailed. This might be a chance to really reconstruct the leagues.
Not a chance the clubs risk that tv deal. They are desperate for the cash.
Tug Wilson
15-03-2020, 11:00 AM
If the league is decided on average points then St Johnstone would be in 6th and we would be 7th. So a decision to end the league now would cost us prize money.
However I still think that we this should be the way forward.
Null and voiding the season is just a nonsense decision. We are over 75% of the way through the season.
Hearts fans are just grabbing any liferaft that will stop them sinking. I bet if Hamilton were bottom they would all be saying tough and good riddance.
The situation is completely unprecedented. Whatever decision is made there will be disgruntled clubs and fans.
hibeerealist
15-03-2020, 11:06 AM
If St Mirren effectively ensure Hearts relegation on top of their efforts in 1986 plus the League Cup win under Danny Lennon they should be given a guard of honour every time they grace Easter Road with their presence.
Bravo CS lets get this in place, can we no just borrow the Buddies team for Derbies as well??!!
Great idea you have a seconder!
hibeerealist
15-03-2020, 11:13 AM
Genuine question.
I think most of the Football Associations are looking for FIFA/UEFA to make the decision as it takes away the flak they may/will receive in their respective countries.
TOO much money at stake here expect a decision VERY soon and it will be season finished league positions as they are (they will need to come up with a solution/formula for play offs but that is the LEAST of their problems and will get sorted). Current leaders - Champions, current bottom side(s) relegated.
15-03-2020, 11:21 AM
How many fixtures would a 14 team league create, bearing in mind the season might not start till September. Will it be play each other 3 times then split 7/7 or play each other twice then split 7/7. Or play each other twice.
15-03-2020, 11:24 AM
I'm with Chris Sutton on this:
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/crowning-celtic-premiership-champions-relegating-21689781
hibeerealist
15-03-2020, 11:27 AM
Not going to happen the restructure argument has been raised virtually every year since Premiership was established, it has been shot down every time.
Additionally, clubs have next seasons ST ready for sale based on 12 team leagues.
Of course, Hertz and teams in similar positions all over the world, will hope & pray for a null & void season or restructure of leagues etc however, the only fair way (to the majority) is bring the season to an end NOW and current league positions apply. Cups - well the respective organisations will come up with a means of completing these competitions ONCE it is clear that football can restart (July/August hopefully but could be later).
15-03-2020, 11:54 AM
I'm with Chris Sutton on this:
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/crowning-celtic-premiership-champions-relegating-21689781
Hearts mythologise a tale of heroic sacrifice during WWI. I am sure they will be more than willing to fall on their swords now and show us all how magnificent they are.
Bye bye Hearts. Enjoy the championship.
15-03-2020, 12:06 PM
Not going to happen the restructure argument has been raised virtually every year since Premiership was established, it has been shot down every time.
Additionally, clubs have next seasons ST ready for sale based on 12 team leagues.
Of course, Hertz and teams in similar positions all over the world, will hope & pray for a null & void season or restructure of leagues etc however, the only fair way (to the majority) is bring the season to an end NOW and current league positions apply. Cups - well the respective organisations will come up with a means of completing these competitions ONCE it is clear that football can restart (July/August hopefully but could be later).
The perennial debate on restructuring has been conducted in ‘normal’ circumstances. The present crisis is a completely different ball game and hard, unpopular decisions are going to have to be made. Traditional old firm monopoly might take a back seat for the foreseeable future.
15-03-2020, 12:07 PM
The perennial debate on restructuring has been conducted in ‘normal’ circumstances. The present crisis is a completely different ball game and hard, unpopular decisions are going to have to be made. Traditional old firm monopoly might take a back seat for the foreseeable future.
Dream on.
15-03-2020, 12:28 PM
On the names alone, no.
15-03-2020, 12:28 PM
This would probably be the final straw for me with Scottish Football if they did this.
How can you change the structure with no prior plans to do so.
Fine do it in a years time (promote more) but this time to suit a few clubs would be a shambles.
15-03-2020, 01:07 PM
Nonsense idea. Why make things complicated when they could be very simple?
15-03-2020, 01:08 PM
And then the TV companies tell the league to take a run and jump and clubs go down the pan, just so hearts don’t get relegated?
15-03-2020, 01:11 PM
Nonsense idea. Why make things complicated when they could be very simple?Exactly. And do we really need more teams in our top leagues?
cocteautwin
15-03-2020, 01:13 PM
It all looks pretty clear cut to me. Celtic champions, Hearts relegated, D Utd promoted, abandon the play offs. Hearts aren’t getting relegated because of COVID-19, they are getting relegated because they are totally and utterly gash.
hibeerealist
15-03-2020, 01:19 PM
Would like to see a bigger SPL (16-18 teams) but it won't happen.
15-03-2020, 01:19 PM
Apply Occam's Razor and be done with it.
15-03-2020, 01:23 PM
With 8 games left, voiding the season would be shocking. Different if we'd only played 8 games.
Restarting the season? Well how long is a piece of string? Could be weeks/months before a restart at by which point players run the risk of injury because they haven't trained and contracts will have expired etc.
With 30+ games played we should be canceling the season now with average points calculated and voiding the Scottish Cup. There are more pressing matters than football right now.
Celtic, well done. Hearts, unlucky but tough cookies.
15-03-2020, 01:41 PM
With 8 games left, voiding the season would be shocking. Different if we'd only played 8 games.
Restarting the season? Well how long is a piece of string? Could be weeks/months before a restart at by which point players run the risk of injury because they haven't trained and contracts will have expired etc.
With 30+ games played we should be canceling the season now with average points calculated and voiding the Scottish Cup. There are more pressing matters than football right now.
Celtic, well done. Hearts, unlucky but tough cookies.
I don’t see any reason to void the Cup. It should be easy to fit in three matches before December.
15-03-2020, 01:50 PM
Would like to see a bigger SPL (16-18 teams) but it won't happen.
Clubs like Livingston, Killie, Hamilton, Motherwell most certainly want that neither will tv companies or the bigots.
15-03-2020, 01:56 PM
I don’t see any reason to void the Cup. It should be easy to fit in three matches before December.
Initially I thought this too. There would be complications such as players registrations/cup tied/suspensions to take into consideration though. If we sign players for next season could they play? What if we lose Rocky and Bogdan and bring in St Mirren/Killie keeper would he be suspended? Celtic sign Cosvrove in the summer and he plays in last years semi for Celtic against the sheep? I think it would just be cancelled, saying that money talks.
Newry Hibs
15-03-2020, 02:23 PM
I see Tyneastle features on Dr Who ....
Gloucester Hibs
15-03-2020, 02:38 PM
I see Tyneastle features on Dr Who ....