View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

30-08-2024, 04:19 PM
What is mental is that the Delferriere deal was a 3 year extension despite him not proving he was good enough the previous 18-24 months

Correct, utterly baffling. Not seen the guy do a single thing at Hibs that has given me any indication that he was worthy of 3 year deal.

30-08-2024, 04:20 PM
Well get McCowan off them on loan in a year or two

TrinityHFC
Triantis back on loan. What an absolute mess we are top to bottom.

I’d be fine with him as a squad player.

NC1875
Perfectly encapsulates the circus that we are.

And we’re supposed to trust that it’s miraculously all going to come good like we’ve never been here before.

Cooshed Kid
30-08-2024, 04:21 PM
Triantis back on loan. What an absolute mess we are top to bottom.

Eh? Where do you see that?

Gordy M
Dundee forum saying Lyall Cameron to Rangers.

Where you seeing this?

Saw someone online suggest it cause Sunderland have just been loaned Mepham... from Bournemouth of all teams.

TrinityHFC
30-08-2024, 04:22 PM
If McCowan wanted to be at Hibs he could’ve pushed the deal weeks ago. Watch him hand it in now because it’s Celtic.

We’ve been after him since June apparently yet here we are.

It’s like when you see something you want on EBay. Sometimes you just have to take a hit and press buy it now, albeit for more than you wanted to pay.

It saves someoner else seeing it and you being outbid at the last minute and losing out on the thing you really wanted.
Yeah, no one else would have noticed right enough.

Hibees1973
30-08-2024, 04:23 PM
The fact we are contemplating letting Tavares and Delferriere go out on loan, shows how bad recruitment was giving them both 4 years

Under Ian Gordon's watch.

Disgraceful recruitment. What had either of these done to merit 4 year deals. Chances are we are still paying 50% - 75% of their wages, but the compensation is Gray won't see their faces for the rest of the season.

So much money and time burnt in the last few years which is why we are where we are now. 2nd bottom of the league.

Correct, utterly baffling. Not seen the guy do a single thing at Hibs that has given me any indication that he was worthy of 3 year deal.

Said before but I am absolutely certain that it must have been clause related because there is no way we did it off the back of his performances.

Only if they get cash front I hope.

I’d be fine with him as a squad player.So would I. As long as we also bring in an attacking midfielder today along with him. It would be weird to go for McCowan then end up with Triantis. Two completely different players.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Luke McCowan to Celtic
Lyall Cameron to Rangers

Both could happen before the deadline.

30-08-2024, 04:24 PM
I trust the folk who hee-hawed, ridiculed and patronised those of us who have been saying that we were wasting our time on McCowan because of the Celtic interest, will heed other opinions and thoughts. I hope we have a busy five hours trying to pull a rabbit out of the hat. I suppose there’s a chance we have been boxing clever and silently in the background and a ‘wow’ announcement will be made at 10.30 tonight. Somehow I doubt it.

BegbieHSC
30-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Hope Celtic go the same way as the dead Huns.

Moan about not having competition, and then sign another club’s captain for their B Team. Get them to ****

skyehibee
30-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Luke McCowan to Celtic
Lyall Cameron to Rangers

Both could happen before the deadline.

Least it’ll weaken Dundee I suppose.

30-08-2024, 04:26 PM
They just hired a DoF that has never done the job before, a Director of performance who’s never done the job before and a Manager that’s never done the job before to turn us around after a god awful season. They’ve also hired a back room team that 2 of them don’t have any coaching badges whatsoever. The evidence suggests the have learnt hee haw.
It would be funny if it wasn't so serious, you have to wonder how much having an inexperienced coaching team puts of some players coming to Hibs.

Chorley Hibee
And we’re supposed to trust that it’s miraculously all going to come good like we’ve never been here before.

I can't wait to see the revisionism on show regards Triantis, if he signs, and what a great signing it is and how he looked the part last season.

He was largely useless, and if he's here again, it's yet another example of how clueless the folk running the club are.

mcfly
Just have to hope hibs haven’t put all their eggs in one basket with Mccowan and have others lined up.

We don’t need more young loanees or fans will feel
Short changed again.

It’s a poor show so far

30-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Anthony Joseph

UPDATE: Celtic have made an approach for Dundee captain Luke McCowan.

@SkySportsNews revealed in June that the club had been monitoring his situation.

McCowan has been the subject of bids from Hibernian in this window.

But Celtic are looking to strike a deal before 11pm.

NC1875
30-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Yeah, no one else would have noticed right enough.

The player was keen to come here as posted as fact by a few on here. Celtics interest has only came about the last week or so.

If we’d got a deal done with Dundee before celtics interest, the player would be here.

That’s what I meant. But you already knew that.

Can’t wait for all these good players you’ve went on about that will be available in the next 5 hours 👍🏼

EGL2000
30-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Least it’ll weaken Dundee I suppose.

They are both a huge loss if they go think Dundee will drop off a fair bit.

Gordy M
I trust the folk who hee-hawed, ridiculed and patronised those of us who have been saying that we were wasting our time on McCowan because of the Celtic interest, will heed other opinions and thoughts. I hope we have a busy five hours trying to pull a rabbit out of the hat. I suppose there’s a chance we have been boxing clever and silently in the background and a ‘wow’ announcement will be made at 10.30 tonight. Somehow I doubt it.
But you are just guessing, maybe educated guess, but thats all it is. You have no idea what discussions have been had, whether 5 days ago we knew and moved on etc.

The final bid was in ages ago. The only time wasted has been by us on here with the will he won’t he.

30-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Hope Celtic go the same way as the dead Huns.

Moan about not having competition, and then sign another club’s captain for their B Team. Get them to ****

No chance that’s happening. They’re richer than ever and have just sold O’Riley for £30m and are just about to bank another £50m CL cash

30-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Just have to hope hibs haven’t put all their eggs in one basket with Mccowan and have others lined up.

We don’t need more young loanees or fans will feel
Short changed again.

It’s a poor show so far

We possibly have as others suggested it was “done” last weekend ….

Billy McKirdy
30-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Let’s face it we will be signing nobody in this window, any arrivals will be out of contract rejects after the transfer deadline,
Bottom 6 and another disappointment season.

Gordy M
30-08-2024, 04:31 PM
I can't wait to see the revisionism on show regards Triantis, if he signs, and what a great signing it is and how he looked the part last season.

He was largely useless, and if he's here again, it's yet another example of how clueless the folk running the club are.

What positions do you think the "circus" havent addressed with our 9 signings so far? You argue about the quality, but at the moment thats your opinion. For such a shambles im assuming you think we havent signed certain positions?

TrinityHFC
The player was keen to come here as posted as fact by a few on here. Celtics interest has only came about the last week or so.

If we’d got a deal done with Dundee before celtics interest, the player would be here.

Can’t wait for all these good players you’ve went on about that will be available in the next 5 hours 👍🏼

I didn’t already know that and you’ve made up the stuff about him wanting to come and Celtic suddenly being interested this week.

I’ve never gone on about any good players being available this evening. More nonsense that gets repeated from stuff in some posters own heads.

Jair to Motherwell confirmed

Tavares to Motherwell on loan confirmed

30-08-2024, 04:32 PM
The final bid was in ages ago. The only time wasted has been by us on here with the will he won’t he.
Don't think he was ever interested in coming to Hibs and if the final bid was in ages ago that surely has given us ages to secure an alternative target, I won't hold my breath.

30-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Glad the McCowan saga is done for us now to be honest. He's a cracking player but what a bore this whole thing has been.

I'm not convinced it's a great move for him mind you, but I guess we'll see.

Let’s face it we will be signing nobody in this window, any arrivals will be out of contract rejects after the transfer deadline,

Yeah weve signed nobody in this window, well apart from the nine we have signed so far.

The fact we are contemplating letting Tavares and Delferriere go out on loan, shows how bad recruitment was giving them both 4 years

Agree utter bombscare signings obviously on decent terms hence the loans.

Aw cmon ffs. Ridiculed and patronised as much as this post?

Celtic hadn’t bid for McCowan and we put in 3 bids, the club clearly thought there was a chance. What if Celtic never came in for him and he either stayed at Dundee or signed for another club?

Players and clubs will always hold out for the best option, if we stop trying to get them then we’ll likely end up with a pretty poor selection of players

NC1875
30-08-2024, 04:35 PM
I didn’t already know that and you’ve made up the stuff about him wanting to come and Celtic suddenly being interested this week.

I’ve never gone on about any good players being available this evening. More nonsense that gets repeated from stuff in some posters own heads.

I never made it up. It’s been posted by numerous people on here that the player was keen on the move weeks ago. We’ve farted about lowballing Dundee and it’s came back to bite us on the arse.

😂😂 weeks ago you were telling everyone to be patient because deals take time and good players have options like mr know it all. Have we to wait until January now ?

At least you’re consistent in your defence of the clowns running the club.

30-08-2024, 04:36 PM
Wasn't too keen before but I'd probably take Marcondes back now. Main issue, other than the wage I suppose, is he'd be way behind fitness wise.

Loving the difference the Black Knights have made to our recruitment, game changing. 😂

LunasBoots
Yeah weve signed nobody in this window, well apart from the nine we have signed so far.

Problem is we where told we where shopping in a different market and that quite big funds where available, yet we are still waiting on the process.

30-08-2024, 04:37 PM
Problem is we where told we where shopping in a different market and that quite big funds where available, yet we are still waiting on the process.

Ben Kensell talks pish.

Don't think he was ever interested in coming to Hibs and if the final bid was in ages ago that surely has given us ages to secure an alternative target, I won't hold my breath.

The bid was to Dundee not him, he can't accept a contract it if Dundee don't let him.

I think McCowan has acted with a lot of class throughout this from an outside perspective. He's perhaps been interested in coming but had the respect to forget about it and focus on playing football until Dundee said otherwise.

ruthven_raiders
Loving the difference the Black Nights have made to our recruitment, game changing. 😂

Absolutely game changing, bottom 6 game changing 🤣🤣🤣

Scott Burns

Dundee still saying no official bid from Celtic for Luke McCowan yet. I suspect that will change very soon.

Celtic will bid low. If he isn’t coming to us it would be funny if Dundee got much less than they turned us down at

Stairway 2 7
30-08-2024, 04:38 PM
Loving the difference the Black Nights have made to our recruitment, game changing. 😂

We payed 650,000 for Bowie and we bid 750,000 for a player out of contract next year, all with no big sales like usual. Not earth shattering but big for our league outwith the old firm

30-08-2024, 04:39 PM
Celtic will bid low. If he isn’t coming to us it would be funny if Dundee got much less than they turned us down at

Fingers crossed. Bunch of gimps.

Keepthefaith

Presume you forgot to add a wee emoji to this, cos if not you're absolutely at it. If you think we've not signed anyone worthwhile you clearly don't attend games or follow Hibs to see the quality of Bowie and Myk in particular...

For those glorifying in mccowan likely move to Celtic and decrying Hibs for pursuing a deal, sometimes it happens that clubs don't get the player they want despite the best efforts. Look at Newcastle being turned by palace for guehi.

The only possible redeeming thing here is that you're actually a 7 year old boy not a grown adult. If so, you'll be in your jimjams before the window shuts tonight eh?

Silky
They just hired a DoF that has never done the job before, a Director of performance who’s never done the job before and a Manager that’s never done the job before to turn us around after a god awful season. They’ve also hired a back room team that 2 of them don’t have any coaching badges whatsoever. The evidence suggests the have learnt hee haw.

Who in the backroom team doesn't have any badges at all? Liam Craig has a Uefa A licence and Craig Samson has a B. Must be Eddie May, but I would find that hard to believe. I don't know any other backroom staff involved in first team coaching, so I defer to your knowledge on that. Would be interested to know who they are.

What is mental is that the Delferriere deal was a 3 year extension despite him not proving he was good enough the previous 18-24 months

That genuinely was mind blowing

30-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Hopefully Celtic give us Nawrocki on loan for taking McCowan from us

DIXIHIBS

We've also moved on or loaned out about 25 players I think. Huge change in the squad from last year. Whether successful or not....

If McCowan wanted to be at Hibs he could’ve pushed the deal weeks ago. Watch him hand it in now because it’s Celtic.

We’ve been after him since June apparently yet here we are.

It’s like when you see something you want on EBay. Sometimes you just have to take a hit and press buy it now, albeit for more than you wanted to pay.

It saves someone else seeing it and you being outbid at the last minute and losing out on the thing you really wanted.

It's not like eBay. Since when did a Black & Decker drill have a say in the matter and decide it wanted to wait until the joiner it's a fan of puts in a bid?

Wasn't too keen before but I'd probably take Marcondes back now. Main issue, other than the wage I suppose, is he'd be way behind fitness wise.

To be fair, our squad look miles behind where they should be so they could catch up together in all honesty.

Presume you forgot to add a wee emoji to this, cos if not you're absolutely at it. If you think we've not signed anyone worthwhile you clearly don't attend games or follow Hibs to see the quality of Bowie and Myk in particular...

For those glorifying in mccowan likely move to Celtic and decrying Hibs for pursuing a real, sometimes it happens that clubs don't get the player they want despite the best efforts. Look at Newcastle being turned by palace for guehi.

The only possible redeeming thing here is that you're actually a 7 year old boy not a grown adult. If so, you'll be in your jimjams before the window shuts tonight eh?

2 from 9 that you could say have at least shown something. A very poor window so far

LunasBoots

Already gave us Kwom....

Triantis has just started following us on Instagram again

Maybe something in it after all

30-08-2024, 04:41 PM
We payed 650,000 for Bowie and we bid 750,000 for a player out of contract next year, all with no big sales like usual. Not earth shattering but big for our league outwith the old firm

We paid that for a player about 30 years ago, it’s chicken feed in modern football. Our recruitment is disastrous, there’s no way anyone can defend it. Why are the BK involved, what’s their point?

Not against it, though for the love of God please not as a CB.

https://x.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1829559885744263266?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

We’ve made a 4th bid for McCowan

hibbie02
30-08-2024, 04:42 PM
If Jair does go I hope he does well and gets back on track. Good luck to him!

Maybe if he gets a good run of games there, we might get to see if the potential is genuine. If he has a successful time there, who knows what he can contribute going forward. Alternatively he will continue to flatter to deceive and we can offload.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

GreenPJ
I never made it up. It’s been posted by numerous people on here that the player was keen on the move weeks ago. We’ve farted about lowballing Dundee and it’s came back to bite us on the arse.

😂😂 weeks ago you were telling everyone to be patient because deals take time and good players have options like mr know it all. Have we to wait until January now ?

The 3rd bid went in over a week ago (at least) and it doesn't seem to have been rejected but you need 3 parties to agree. Rightly or wrongly it looks as if Dundee didn't accept or reject the bid and McCowan's agents were made aware that Celtic might come in with a late offer that the player/club wanted to consider. The ultimate wrong doer in this situation is Celtic, they weaken another team in the league who will get limited game time with them and then they will moan about lack of competition whilst at the same time have invested in young home grown players but aren't willing to let them become a bench warmer.

EGL2000

Would prefer Welsh, what I've seen from that Nawrocki looks poor.

TrinityHFC

Posters on here don’t know anything about what McCowan wants or of Celtic’s interest. It is just people’s opinions and speculation.

I’m not defending anyone. My simple point which seems to be a struggle for some to comprehend is that it is important to try and get the right players in, whether that was pre the league cup games or tonight. We’ve signed some good players, some of them after people saying we should have just signed other players that would have been available earlier. And yes, everyone in football will continually confirm that some deals just can’t get done until later when dominoes start to fall.

For those glorifying in mccowan likely move to Celtic and decrying Hibs for pursuing a real, sometimes it happens that clubs don't get the player they want despite the best efforts. Look at Newcastle being turned by palace for guehi.

Judging by some of the posts I've read today, he isn't the only one on here...

I’d be fine with him as a squad player.

So would I can cover both midfield and centre back

Mcbizz1998

Aw ffs. That will be the back up option then. A guy who was completely forgettable last time round.

https://x.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1829559885744263266?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Not a fan of this. Already felt £750k was too much. Dundee are taking us for a ride here.

Hibs have submitted a fourth, improved offer for Dundee midfielder Luke McCowan this afternoon

From Patrick McPartlin EEN

He's here!

It seemed to me reasonable to assume he wasn't interested in coming to Hibs and was likely holding off for something better, but suggesting this was met with assurances from those apparently ITK that he was definitely keen to join Hibs and, from some, that it was pretty much a done deal.

Hard to imagine Hibs have been letting this one run right down to the deadline in the hope he might suddenly change his mind. That would mean we have no alternative lined up and the best we can hope for is a last minute rush job. Hibs would never do that, would they?

Willis1875
4th bid in for McCowan

30-08-2024, 04:43 PM

Not a surprise the way he was talking yesterday

30-08-2024, 04:43 PM

Forgot all about him.

Walsh always gives me the fear when I see him

30-08-2024, 04:44 PM

That’s the biggest news of the day, really hope we’re serious about this. 🤞

Should've moved on weeks ago - I would give Hibs the benefit of the doubt and say we had more targets incase but I have zero faith.

LunasBoots
Surprised by that.

I can't see any reason why Celtic have gone for McCowan other than the possibility that Hatate is injury prone, not sure if he is but he did miss a lot of last season for them. And I do think Hatate is better than McCowan even though McCowan's a good player, but McCowan will spend most of his time sitting on the bench if he signs for Celtic.

Not a fan of this. Already felt £750k was too much. Dundee are taking us for a ride here.
They really aren't, they're doing what any good business should be doing and getting the best possible price they can for what they regard as a valuable asset.

supermcginn

If Gray wasn't our manager Marcondes would have signed ages ago, Gray didn't want him.

We must have thought we would secure him. Unless Celtic can’t match the offer we make then the player will need to decide if he goes to us or waits for Celtic in next window. No chance he is coming here now.

Dundee have totally played us. Well played I would say but we are screwed to find alternative.

Keepthefaith
2 from 9 that you could say have at least shown something. A very poor window so far

I also think ohora and Kwon will prove good additions. The two keepers I'm less sure of and jury's out so far with Ek.

My point wasn't that we'd had the best window ever, it was to challenge the catastrophising poster who said we'd done nothing!

Greenworld
30-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Loving the difference the Black Knights have made to our recruitment, game changing. [emoji23]Yup no involvement at all thanks to Ian Gordon, I will keep saying it Gordon is killing the club

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

NC1875
It's not like eBay. Since when did a Black & Decker drill have a say in the matter and decide it wanted to wait until the joiner it's a fan of puts in a bid?

What are you talking about ? If you read the posts properly you’ll see I said if we’d got a deal done while the player was keen to come here.

Before Celtics interest .

4th bin in. I think that’s a bit silly. Unless it’s cash to the player.

Mcbizz1998
Hibs have submitted a fourth, improved offer for Dundee midfielder Luke McCowan this afternoon

So we’ve made an improved bid because Celtic are now bidding for him? So…we won’t get him.

Sounds like when Celtic improved their bid once Villa had made their move for McGinn - too little, too late.

To show the fans they’ve tried when there’s no back-up option

30-08-2024, 04:46 PM
If the Black Knights would like to do anything for us here then bidding for Lennon Miller to give us him on loan for a season would be a lovely start.

EGL2000
Worried we have bid again to be honest. Very likely get rejected and clearly not yet looking at the plan B player. Move on and get them in.

As has been mentioned on here Hibs put in a fantastic offer and packaged for the player weeks ago. Dundee held out hoping to get more. Hibs offered £750,000 and obviously felt that was his ceiling. Probably more than I think he is worth.

If Celtic hadn't come in he would be on his way to Easter Road now. For once I don't think Hibs are to blame for this.

We will have irons in the fire but clubs won't let players go until they have a replacement lined. That often happens at the last minute. This thread goes the same way every season with some posters, you included, seeming to revel in us not getting targets in.

I can't understand why Hibs supporters seem to be pleased that things haven't worked out.

The bottom line is that clubs, players and their agents want as much as they can get and we maybe are not able to provide that in the Scottish Premiership to players who play in England.

We are in negotiation with a few players and clubs but it will come down to the wire. We might end with a few, we might end up with none and be on to the free agents list next week again.

They really aren't, they're doing what any good business should be doing and getting the best possible price they can for what they regard as a valuable asset.

An asset that has no value whatsoever in four months time. Be gutted if we pay £1m for him

coldingham hibs
Aw ffs. That will be the back up option then. A guy who was completely forgettable last time round.

I thought he did pretty well in midfield, only issue was he seemed uncomfortable heading a ball.

TrinityHFC
What are you talking about ? If you read the posts properly you’ll see I said if we’d got a deal done while the player was keen to come here.

That’s fictional though.

GreenGray
Can’t compete with Celtic, can’t fault the club for trying though. Worry would be if we haven’t identified a suitable plan B.

30-08-2024, 04:47 PM

Exactly my thought

Good luck to Jair.. has his critics but the glimpses we seen were decent - good run of games needed and some confidence

McCowan deal not dead warms the cockles - need to get this over the line

Surprised by that.

Feels a bit like it's a last desperate attempt at saving face from the board to be honest as they will know pressure is on. Dundee have ripped us a new one with this saga.

If Celtic are in there is zero chance he comes to us. None.

tonyrougier123
Just plain silly bidding against Celtic. It’s done move on!

Gordy M

I knew Hibs trying to sign their no1 target would be turned into a negative......this place is absolutely draining sometimes.

Surely for Celtic it’s Andy Irving or Luke McCowan?

Hopefully they get Irving plus another midfielder

The pressure on McCowan being unbelievable for us will be through the roof if he signs

Mcbizz1998
I thought he did pretty well in midfield, only issue was he seemed uncomfortable heading a ball.

He was fine in midfield for the 2 or so games he played there. Hardly anything to pin our hopes on.

Paul1642
30-08-2024, 04:48 PM
As has been mentioned on here Hibs put in a fantastic offer and packaged for the player weeks ago. Dundee held out hoping to get more. Hibs offered £750,000 and obviously felt that was his ceiling. Probably more than I think he is worth.

If Celtic hadn't come in he would be on his way to Easter Road now. For once I don't think Hibs are to blame for this.

We will have irons in the fire but clubs won't let players go until they have a replacement lined. That often happens at the last minute. This thread goes the same way every season with some posters, you included, seeming to revel in us not getting targets in.

I can't understand why Hibs supporters seem to be pleased that things haven't worked out.

The bottom line is that clubs, players and their agents want as much as they can get and we maybe are not able to provide that in the Scottish Premiership to players who play in England.

We are in negotiation with a few players and clubs but it will come down to the wire. We might end with a few, we might end up with none and be on to the free agents list next week again.

We can’t compete with Celtic financially or in terms of player appeal. Anyone who blames the club for that doesn’t understand football.

tonyrougier123
Jair unveiled by motherwell

Feels a bit like it's a last desperate attempt at saving face from the board to be honest as they will know pressure is on. Dundee have ripped us a new one with this saga.

Why would they need to save face about getting outbid by Celtic?

TrinityHFC
There’s now more people on here that seem to actively hate everything about Hibs than there are supporters.

Bizarre.

30-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Just plain silly bidding against Celtic. It’s done move on!

Celtic haven't bid. Looks like it's press stuff to make us go in again with a higher bid.

LunasBoots

Kind of tells me we've put all our eggs in the one basket.

An asset that has no value whatsoever in four months time. Be gutted if we pay £1m for him
What he's worth in January is irrelevant at this point. They are trying to squeeze as much as they can right now and that's what they should be doing. They obviously think losing the fee if he's still with them beyond the window is a price worth paying to get them into the top 6 or even Europe..

There’s now more people on here that seem to actively hate everything about Hibs than there are supporters.

Bizarre.

Yep. Us going all out for McCowan is somehow being seen as a bad thing

Fans moan the players don’t compete with Celtic on the pitch and the same ones are saying we now shouldn’t compete with them for signings 🤣

Some mentality

30-08-2024, 04:50 PM
Why would they need to save face about getting outbid by Celtic?

Because there's no back up plan or alternative?

Hopefully I'm wrong and he will be in the proper green and white later this evening.

Some might call it ambition to get the player they want.

He's here!

WTF for? As if any player is going to opt for Hibs when there's a bid from Celtic on the table. Sad but true.

Bizarre.
Not sure about that but they certainly make the most noise.

Gordy M

Hopefully I'm wrong and he will be in the proper green and white later this evening.

So what if Dundee had said yes?

Silky

I though the third bid of £750K was a bit silly. He didn't stand out for me at all at the weekend and, personally, if Celtic do get him for more than that I think they've been royally robbed. But, if they have money to pi$$ up the wall, then they're welcome to fire away.

Logie
30-08-2024, 04:51 PM
Kick on hope we get LM cmon Hibs

Hibiza
Expect nothing. Usual takes if woe

WTF for? As if any player is going to opt for Hibs when there's a bid from Celtic on the table. Sad but true.
None of us know if there actually is a bid from Celtic on the table. Never played cards?

Keyser Sauzee
30-08-2024, 04:52 PM
If we’ve went in for a 4th bid then we must know the Celtic bid is nonsense as we’d know we’d have no chance against them. Can still see this going in our favour.

GreenPJ

The bid isn't dead and you can't spend the same money twice

What he's worth in January is irrelevant at this point. They are trying to squeeze as much as they can right now and that's what they should be doing. They obviously think losing the fee if he's still with them beyond the window is a price worth paying to get them into the top 6 or even Europe..

What he's worth in January is relevant in the price we pay today. It's why we got peanuts for Porteous, a younger player with more potential. It's why we got such a poor price for McGinn as well.

I though the third bid of £750K was a bit silly. He didn't stand out for me at all at the weekend and, personally, if Celtic do get him for more than that I think they've been royally robbed. But, if they have money to pi$$ up the wall, then they're welcome to fire away.

It's pocket change for celtic no matter what they pay for him. They'll happily part with that to keep him as a back up

Northern Hibby
30-08-2024, 04:53 PM
It seemed to me reasonable to assume he wasn't interested in coming to Hibs and was likely holding off for something better, but suggesting this was met with assurances from those apparently ITK that he was definitely keen to join Hibs and, from some, that it was pretty much a done deal.

Hard to imagine Hibs have been letting this one run right down to the deadline in the hope he might suddenly change his mind. That would mean we have no alternative lined up and the best we can hope for is a last minute rush job. Hibs would never do that, would they?

Just think about the Scott Allan saga, who would he rather have joined ?

Billy McKirdy
30-08-2024, 04:53 PM

For those glorifying in mccowan likely move to Celtic and decrying Hibs for pursuing a deal, sometimes it happens that clubs don't get the player they want despite the best efforts. Look at Newcastle being turned by palace for guehi.

😜

30-08-2024, 04:54 PM
So would I can cover both midfield and centre back

Cover isn't exactly what what we need now though. Given our poor start to the season I think there's general agreement across the fanbase that we need top players to come in that can make a difference. We've a squad full of fringe players. We need match winners. Triantis is not it imo.

If we fail in our pursuit of McGowan and that's who comes in it'll be a huge let down and quite symbolic of the mess the club are in.

Who in the backroom team doesn't have any badges at all? Liam Craig has a Uefa A licence and Craig Samson has a B. Must be Eddie May, but I would find that hard to believe. I don't know any other backroom staff involved in first team coaching, so I defer to your knowledge on that. Would be interested to know who they are.

No way May would be running academies without any coaching badges

Donegal Hibby

Bizarre.

Honestly can’t believe anyone would call a 750k bid from our club a lowball offer :rolleyes:

30-08-2024, 04:56 PM
I can’t believe Celtic are trying to sign him

Ruining Scottish players since 1888

Of course the players can do whatever they want but good god, signed for all the wrong reasons imo

30-08-2024, 04:57 PM
Yep. Us going all out for McCowan is somehow being seen as a bad thing

Fans moan the players don’t compete with Celtic on the pitch and the same ones are saying we now shouldn’t compete with them for signings 🤣

Some mentality

I think there’s a balance to be had. Go all in for McCowan, but we’re about a week past needing to move on to alternatives so as not to leave ourselves either signing in panic or only adding Kwon to the midfield and it still being any 2 from Newell/Campbell/Rudi.

If we’re now getting into some sort of a bidding war, I don’t know if that sort of thing is better to win or lose - and that’s said as someone who actually rates McCowan.

Totally agree

Hibees1973
30-08-2024, 04:58 PM

Will be interesting to see if Kettlewell can get a tune out of him.

Think we have had at least 3 managers while Jair was here, maybe even 4 and none of them could get anything out of him.

Would be highly ironic and revealing if Jair turns into a player.

30-08-2024, 04:58 PM
Good luck to the boy 👍

Sheffhibee
30-08-2024, 04:59 PM
Patrick McPartlin tweeted Hibs have submitted a 4th bid for McCowan this afternoon, Dundee saying no bid from Celtic

Keepthefaith
Honestly can’t believe anyone would call a 750k bid from our club a lowball offer :rolleyes:

Same folk were lauding the business hearts did, quoting Naismith smugly declaring how important it was to get business done early to hit the ground running!

Anyway, it'll be an interesting few hours...I'm still hopeful we'll see a significant addition or two

I think there’s a balance to be had. Go all in for McCowan, but we’re about a week past needing to move on to alternatives so as not to leave ourselves either signing in panic or only adding Kwon to the midfield and it still being any 2 from Newell/Campbell/Rudi.

I think there will be plenty work being done in the background today about who is available should we fail to get McCowan

Glasgowhibby95
This is a major test for the new recruitment model. Fair enough if we’ve identified McCowan as our number 1 target and have been prepared to wait until deadline day to get him - lots of clubs will operate similar strategies. However if we’ve pipped to signing him at last minute by Celtic (something I don’t think we can blame the club for) then we need to have a decent plan B in place to replace him as a starting 11 player. Some young kid on loan from England isnt that player. If we’ve failed to do that then we’re up the creek till January and serious questions need to be asked of Malky Mackay.

Bizarre.

It’s pretty draining. Attacks based on guesswork of what’s happening and why. Club can’t win either way with some folk.

Gordy M
30-08-2024, 05:00 PM

Think we have had at least 3 managers while Jair was here, maybe even 4 and none of them could get anything out of him.

It may well work for him. There is less pressure playing for Motherwell than Hibs. You can have a 'more' poor games than playing for us before being dropped etc.

He's here!
Celtic haven't bid. Looks like it's press stuff to make us go in again with a higher bid.

BBC are usually slow to run with a story (news or sport) until they're pretty confident it has legs. I think the fact they're going with it means he's on his way to Celtic.

Take it rocky is staying put

30-08-2024, 05:01 PM
Scott Burns saying we’re the only club to have bid for McCowan today

Keepthefaith

You're forgetting Nmw too plus I also wonder if Jacob McIntyre might be given an opportunity, he looks good in his cameo appearances last year before getting injured?

BBC are usually slow to run with a story (news or sport) until they're pretty confident it has legs. I think the fact they're going with it means he's on his way to Celtic.

Aye, might well be the case, but think it's been confirmed there hasn't been a bid from Celtic yet. Could well change though for sure.

I think there will be plenty work being done in the background today about who is available should we fail to get McCowan

I’d be surprised at this late in the window if our plan b is anything more than a loan for the season and kicking the midfield problem down the line for yet another season. Hopefully all a moot point and we get McCowan or someone with his attributes.

30-08-2024, 05:02 PM
Doubt we'd be bidding again if Celtic were actually interested. Clearly player told us he wants to come I'd think.

If not, we should just fold the club.

30-08-2024, 05:03 PM
My only worry is that plans B,C and D are not looking at happening and we have increased the bid because of that.

The issue is that if the bid is accepted with an hour to go, McCowan and his agent have us over a barrel.

It would have been better to spent a little more than we wanted early doors to try to get McCowan out of the market than let this drag on. We may end up going from potentially slightly over spending to massively over spending.

Donegal Hibby
Same folk were lauding the business hearts did, quoting Naismith smugly declaring how important it was to get business done early to hit the ground running!

Anyway, it'll be an interesting few hours...I'm still hopeful we'll see a significant addition or two

I’m hopeful we will too 👍

scotiaf
30-08-2024, 05:04 PM
Can’t really blame Hibs if this falls apart, assume hit a max bid of 750k then it looks like on the last day we have increased it again. I doubt we have a secondary target at the same level though ( progression, profit potential etc). I would take Triantis as a back up player for what it’s worth.

Gordy M
30-08-2024, 05:04 PM
I’d be surprised at this late in the window if our plan b is anything more than a loan for the season and kicking the midfield problem down the line for yet another season. Hopefully all a moot point and we get McCowan or someone with his attributes.
This is where i feel a bit "sorry" for the club. They have obviously been given encouragement to keep bidding for McCowan and see him as their first pick. Im sure they have other options, but at what point do you say to Dundee no.....if McCowan is the player you want and there is still a chance to get him?

30-08-2024, 05:05 PM
You're forgetting Nmw too plus I also wonder if Jacob McIntyre might be given an opportunity, he looks good in his cameo appearances last year before getting injured?

And I also forgot Levit. However I don’t hold out much hope for this season and almost resigned to the bottom 6. If we don’t get McCowan I’d rather try and develop Jacob Macintyre and Rudi with Kwon than sign a loan midfielder that doesn’t have the drive and tempo that McCowan does.

big gogs
30-08-2024, 05:05 PM
Gutted why,.if hibs pay a million,it must show the clubs intention to sign the player,if successful,it also proves the Gordon family’s commitment to hibs ,all though some are not convinced,and would rather work the boot into the Gordon family..

He's here!
30-08-2024, 05:07 PM

Bizarre.

I don't think that's the reason for the negativity. Not from me anyway. I'm just fed up with season after season slipping by and saddling us with an ever bigger squad of bang average players. Yes, we've brought in two good strikers this window, that's a big plus, but few are so far impressed with the rest of the incomings and are justifiably questioning whether they've actually improved us.

If we don't get McCowan and end up instead with another nondescript squad player/loaned folk are entitled to feel fed up.

30-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Gutted why,.if hibs pay a million,it must show the clubs intention to sign the player,if successful,it also proves the Gordon family’s commitment to hibs ,all though some are not convinced,and would rather work the boot into the Gordon family..

No one has ever questioned the Gordon family's commitment to Hibs. It's the fact that they are crap at running the club.

You can be fully commited to something AND crap at it.

:agree: It's daft to nth degree.

This is where i feel a bit "sorry" for the club. They have obviously been given encouragement to keep bidding for McCowan and see him as their first pick. Im sure they have other options, but at what point do you say to Dundee no.....if McCowan is the player you want and there is still a chance to get him?

I’d have given Dundee a final offer about a week ago and left the offer open but told them we need to move on to other targets. Bid for someone else with McCowans attributes who would be a real asset in his own right. Once that bid is public Dundee either accept our offer or we sign the alternative.

I’m sure the point was made earlier this summer that Kettlewell has had a decent knack of taking forward players and improving them.

I’m one of those who sees something in Jair and I think this could be a great move for all parties.

Eh? Nothing to do with the Gordon family. I just don't think McCowan is worth that amount of money. Simple as that really.

If he signs then it's obvious the club value him at that.

30-08-2024, 05:10 PM

If we had bid £750k-800k at the start of the window there’s every chance that bid would be accepted and we end up taking McCowan out of the market. We’re also negotiating from a position of relative strength as if he’s to come and ask for ludicrous wages we have time to look at a decent backup.

Letting this run on may end up costing us a million and a hefty chunk on wages. We’ve let ourselves end up negating from a weak position and they have us over a barrel. Spend huge or don’t get your man.

Bonke innocent

badabing67
I can't imagine it took that much time for Malky to send Dundee an email with an offer in it. He's probably spent the same amount of time doing that with other targets as well. I reckon he works more than an hour a week.

Pretty sure he has knwon since the Celtic game at ER that they were going to go for McCowan, probably why he and the club praised Celtic for how quickly the Kwon deal was done.

Gordy M
I’d have given Dundee a final offer about a week ago and left the offer open but told them we need to move on to other targets. Bid for someone else with McCowans attributes who would be a real asset in his own right. Once that bid is public Dundee either accept our offer or we sign the alternative.
Yeh i understand that thinking, but what if McCowan is the best player at £750k you can get? Go and get a lesser player and spend the same money when there is still a chance to get him? I dunno, thats a tough one.

30-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Bonke innocent

Not the way I do it 😂

30-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Bonke innocent

We’ve told you, Leigh’s not coming back.

30-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Bonke innocent

I mentioned him about a month ago as someone I thought/hoped we’d end up going for

Purely because of his availability and name

30-08-2024, 05:12 PM
BBC is just horrible

All about Celtic bidding for McCowan, not even mentioned we’re in the mix

Pathetic horrible company

NGoloGrantie
30-08-2024, 05:13 PM
Bonke innocent

Now that would be a great signing. You heard we’re in for him or just guessing/suggesting

Kind of agree with that showing we tried as much as we could however don’t see the bid working. Celtic is a game changer as player will clearly want to go there

Not the way I do it 😂

😟😟😟😟

30-08-2024, 05:14 PM
BBC is just horrible

If Celtic are bidding there is no mix.

I support the team on the park, not the balance sheet. If we sign McCowan I'll be delighted as he'll improve our team, don't really care whether it costs an extra few quid - the club have staff to manage finances, so whatever we pay (if we do) will be an amount we can afford, nothing else really matters.

BBC is just horrible

We're not in the mix if Celtic have actually bid.

big gogs
30-08-2024, 05:15 PM
No one has ever questioned the Gordon family's commitment to Hibs. It's the fact that they are crap at running the club.

If that’s the case ,the entire board must be held responsible,they all have roles to play,Ron Gordon always maintained get the infrastructure correct behind the scenes ,then on the park.the Gordon family are subsidising the club ,until the bars make money.

Bonke innocent
Imminent you mean? Nae such thing when you've been married 30 years+

BBC is just horrible

Fat Jambo Brian at his best. Probably still crying about the amazing tumbleweed atmosphere last night

LunasBoots
BBC is just horrible

All media and journos seem to be in overdrive over it, Celtic haven't even bidded yet the media are almost pushing for them to do it.

30-08-2024, 05:16 PM
Yeh i understand that thinking, but what if McCowan is the best player at £750k you can get? Go and get a lesser player and spend the same money when there is still a chance to get him? I dunno, thats a tough one.

McCowan is a good player and proven, but there’s a whole world of players out there and the Black Knights group know more of those players than we do. McCowan is the most realistic player with the attributes he has for that money if we’re stuck to only shopping in Scotland.

All media and journos seem to be in overdrive over it, Celtic haven't even bidded yet the media are almost pushing for them to do it.

It’s been like that for a while, his agent has been hard at work

Yup. It's an incredible offer from Hibs for a player out of contract in the summer. We've done plenty wrong when it comes to transfers but Hibs should be applauded, not criticised here.

30-08-2024, 05:17 PM
:agree: It's daft to nth degree.

Nth

Fantastic word

It’s been like that for a while, his agent has been hard at work

Jackie McNamara

Surely for Celtic it’s Andy Irving or Luke McCowan?

Hopefully they get Irving plus another midfielder

The pressure on McCowan being unbelievable for us will be through the roof if he signs

Not really

If we had bid £750k-800k at the start of the window there’s every chance that bid would be accepted and we end up taking McCowan out of the market. We’re also negotiating from a position of relative strength as if he’s to come and ask for ludicrous wages we have time to look at a decent backup.

Letting this run on may end up costing us a million and a hefty chunk on wages. We’ve let ourselves end up negating from a weak position and they have us over a barrel. Spend huge or don’t get your man.

That's pure guesswork. Bidding huge right from the outset is a dreadful negotiating tactic, particularly if you are not loaded. I'm glad you're not in charge of it.

30-08-2024, 05:18 PM
Bonke innocent

Innocent imminent?

30-08-2024, 05:19 PM
4th and final bid hopefully, give them an hour to accept or reject and we move on.

Cover isn't exactly what what we need now though. Given our poor start to the season I think there's general agreement across the fanbase that we need top players to come in that can make a difference. We've a squad full of fringe players. We need match winners. Triantis is not it imo.

If we fail in our pursuit of McGowan and that's who comes in it'll be a huge let down and quite symbolic of the mess the club are in.

By cover mean can play in both positions. Think he has big potential

Not really

IMO it will.

If we pay 750k + for a player who has been a top target for all the window there will be pressure on him to perform to a very good level

30-08-2024, 05:20 PM
Innocent imminent?

I think so yes.

If that’s the case ,the entire board must be held responsible,they all have roles to play,Ron Gordon always maintained get the infrastructure correct behind the scenes ,then on the park.the Gordon family are subsidising the club ,until the bars make money.

Great, I agree.

Who hires the board?

IMO it will.

If we pay 750k + for a player who has been a top target for all the window there will be pressure on him to perform to a very good level

Of course it will. There are already folk expecting him to come in and completely transform our midfield.

KeithWright9
30-08-2024, 05:21 PM
Of course it will. There are already folk expecting him to come in and completely transform our midfield.

Yeah we expect him to make players out of everyone in there

Gordy M
30-08-2024, 05:21 PM
I think so yes.

Seems to have had a good career at decent teams. Any idea what position he plays, Am or Dm?

30-08-2024, 05:22 PM
Seems to have had a good career at decent teams. Any idea what position he plays, Am or Dm?

DM according to Transfermarkt

EGL2000
30-08-2024, 05:22 PM

Very much a DM. Not even scored a senior goal.

Gordy M
30-08-2024, 05:23 PM
DM according to Transfermarkt

Ah cheers, good to have a couple decent players in there between him and Kwon.

Rumble de Thump
30-08-2024, 05:24 PM
McCowan is a good player and proven, but there’s a whole world of players out there and the Black Knights group know more of those players than we do. McCowan is the most realistic player with the attributes he has for that money if we’re stuck to only shopping in Scotland.

We've never only shopped in Scotland, and the Black Knight Group don't know more players than we do. We're part of the Black Knight Group.

It’s pretty draining. Attacks based on guesswork of what’s happening and why. Club can’t win either way with some folk.

Totally agree

The Sun saying he’s off to Celtic

Dundee target McCowan replacement

Dundee will turn to Charlton's Scott Fraser once Luke McCowan heads to Celtic.

Dens boss Tony Docherty wants the ex-Dundee United man to bolster his midfield.

Fraser, 29, spent the second half of last season on loan with Hearts and is available once again.

Dundee will bank around £1 million for their skipper when he moves on but are running out of time to replace him.

Doc is a long-time admirer of Fraser's so the Tayside club are cranking up efforts to secure him now it seems McCowan is on his way.

crash
30-08-2024, 05:25 PM
4th and final bid hopefully, give them an hour to accept or reject and we move on.

That’s what we should have done with the 750k bid, we are the only team who has submitted a bid. Dundee are playing us like an old fiddle.

BegbieHSC
30-08-2024, 05:27 PM

Fraser, 29, spent the second half of last season on loan with Hearts and is available once again.

Dundee will bank around £1 million for their skipper when he moves on but are running out of time to replace him.

Doc is a long-time admirer of Fraser's so the Tayside club are cranking up efforts to secure him now it seems McCowan is on his way.

If that’s the case, I hope we move for Fraser and stick him on our bench. **** Dundee! And **** Celtic!

30-08-2024, 05:28 PM
If that’s the case, I hope we move for Fraser and stick him on our bench. **** Dundee! And **** Celtic!

Wasn't Fraser humpty for Hearts?

30-08-2024, 05:30 PM

He’d be a significant downgrade.

Daily Record saying they've yet to show their hand.

Just the usual TDD, Sun says one thing DR says the opposite.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/luke-mccowan-celtic-hibs-transfer-33571459

I suppose both could be right if the bid went in, in the last half an hour.

We're not in the mix if Celtic have actually bid.

Wasn’t my point but ok

30-08-2024, 05:31 PM
Yup. It's an incredible offer from Hibs for a player out of contract in the summer. We've done plenty wrong when it comes to transfers but Hibs should be applauded, not criticised here.

Agree

BegbieHSC
30-08-2024, 05:32 PM

Didn’t even realize it was the same guy. Maybe not then 🙈🙈

HendoDelivered
Sun now saying McCowan off to Celtic but it’s not Scott Burns reporting it…

hibbie02
Bonke innocent

Only if it’s consensual!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

30-08-2024, 05:34 PM
What a career ender signing for Celtic

30-08-2024, 05:36 PM

I'll take no pleasure from it if it's true, but I think you're right.

He may well waste his peak years.

30-08-2024, 05:37 PM

But probably a life maker

He’s had one brilliant season in the top flight

He’d be off his head to not go to Celtic

LunasBoots
Jackie McNamara

Explains why the push for the Celtic deal

Go there for three years or whatever, earn a **** tonne of money then move back to Dundee after it. Probably head back there on loan next season.

I'll take no pleasure from it if it's true, but I think you're right.

He may well waste his peak years.

He'll be making a fortune for doing very little. Thats the ideal way to spend peak years in any career.

30-08-2024, 05:39 PM
But probably a life maker

He’s had one brilliant season in the top flight

He’d be off his head to not go to Celtic

Yes i agree.
Bench warmer though and the form will go

850k bid apparently, no agreement yet but discussions continue. No Celtic bid yet

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/luke-mccowan-sees-hibs-try-29842252

ericd7
He'll be making a fortune for doing very little. Thats the ideal way to spend peak years in any career.

Feel people often forget these are people doing a job with a very short lifespan. Can't really fault any player for taking better money and sorting themselves for the future.

It sounds good to me but then I'm crap at my job :greengrin

Surely a footballer wants to play football

30-08-2024, 05:40 PM
Go there for three years or whatever, earn a **** tonne of money then move back to Dundee after it. Probably head back there on loan next season.

Or loan to us in Jan maybe.

30-08-2024, 05:41 PM
Whatever Dundee accept Celtic will then make their official bid to match and it’ll be game over.

30-08-2024, 05:41 PM
McCowan's agent must be greasing the palms of various Scottish footie journalists. This "Expected Celtic bid" s***e is doing a lot of heavy lifting...

30-08-2024, 05:42 PM

His stats suggest a possible one season wonder, so why wouldn’t he sign on a long term contract for much more money, with the probability that he’s going to spend most of the rest of his career on loan…..

30-08-2024, 05:43 PM
It sounds good to me but then I'm crap at my job :greengrin

Surely a footballer wants to play football
I'm brilliant at my job but my boss thinks I'm useless. He's quite wrong obviously....

Innocent
McCowan
Left sided centre back

Would be a brilliant end to the window

Mcbizz1998
We are now quibbling over 150k, just table a million quid bid and get it done.

Dont believe Celtic are interested, will be his agent trying to get us to pay up. And we should!

30-08-2024, 05:44 PM
Jackie McNamara

He’s turned out to be an absolute spiv.

30-08-2024, 05:44 PM
850k bid apparently, no agreement yet but discussions continue. No Celtic bid yet

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/luke-mccowan-sees-hibs-try-29842252

Incredible that if we don't get him we have around £850k sitting there and we probably won't spend it before the end of the window. It's not easy to spend money in January either unless your my Mrs 😂

30-08-2024, 05:45 PM
So this Celtic "bid" is just complete ***** from his twat of an agent.

Hibs must be making a hell of a pitch to think they can even try and compete with Celtic.

Would absolutely bloody love to find out what that exactly is, mind you. You'd think they're outlining an ambitious and realistic version of what Hibs are aiming for that puts McCowan at the centre of it.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

Knows what he’s doing…

30-08-2024, 05:46 PM
Sure Celtic need to be buying better than a Dundee mid if they want to do anything on a European scene
It’s like they just dont want us to sign hom.
Then they’ll be blaming the standard of opposition in Scotland when they finish bottom of their champions league group.

at last 61

They employ people to run the club, it would have been easier for the family to sell up, when Ron passed

Innocent
McCowan
Left sided centre back

Chuck in David Brooks and we can relax 😂

30-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Innocent
McCowan
Left sided centre back

Still betting on none of the above.

30-08-2024, 05:48 PM

Dont believe Celtic are interested, will be his agent trying to get us to pay up. And we should!

I’d call their bluff and walk away at this point. Skeptical about the Celtic interest so would call Dundee’s bluff. 500k is the most I’d pay.

If he goes to Celtic he might get a couple of league cup games and maybe one in the Europa or conference when they slide down into them.

BBC is just horrible

The British Empire Broadcasting Company. A relic from the past.

Don't know how you can say that. His job is to get the best possible deal for his client. He's doing that.

BTW Simon Donnelly works there as well to deepen the Celtic connection.

:rolleyes: Aye let’s just ***** cash away when we don’t have to. If you don’t think there’s interest why on earth would you okay over the odds. For the record I think you’re right no tge agents pkaying a blinder and Hibs gave blinked. Who knows? Maybe the previous bid was indeed rejected and they told us what they’d accept and we’ve just given in. Celtic might just nip in yet tho. :greengrin

30-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Chuck in David Brooks and we can relax 😂

I won’t be happy until there’s a new goalie!

30-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Four hours left and we haven't made a signing and only Jair out on loan. Definitely expected more action than that.

Hope it's a mental final four hours.

30-08-2024, 05:51 PM
Hibs must be making a hell of a pitch to think they can even try and compete with Celtic.

Would absolutely bloody love to find out what that exactly is, mind you. You'd think they're outlining an ambitious and realistic version of what Hibs are aiming for that puts McCowan at the centre of it.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
Celtic at this point are a red herring. Dundee will have told us what they want at this point in time and we’ve said ok. Celtic might swoop in yet mind

Sure Celtic need to be buying better than a Dundee mid if they want to do anything on a European scene
It’s like they just dont want us to sign hom.
Then they’ll be blaming the standard of opposition in Scotland when they finish bottom of their champions league group.

I still think he’s an excellent, bargain price (for them) rotation option for them to have play a decent number of minutes domestically whilst they’ve got all these European games coming up.

Makes much less sense for us imo - blowing a huge chunk of budget on a player with no resale value to realistically compete with our club captain for a place in our midfield. Cameron makes more sense for us to be aggressively pursuing imo.

Good player though.

I’d call their bluff and walk away at this point. Skeptical about the Celtic interest so would call Dundee’s bluff. 500k is the most I’d pay.

If he goes to Celtic he might get a couple of league cup games and maybe one in the Europa or conference when they slide down into them.

If we really want him pay the money, calling their bluff at this point is utterly pointless. We either have a midfield for the season or we don’t.

30-08-2024, 05:52 PM
If we really want him pay the money, calling their bluff at this point is Butterly pointless. We either have a midfield for the season or we don’t.
:agree::agree: Utterly.

30-08-2024, 05:53 PM
McCowan could be coming to Hibernian.

30-08-2024, 05:54 PM
The British Empire Broadcasting Company. A relic from the past.

Here we go again from SNP central on a transfer forum !

Still betting on none of the above.Hoping :yawn:

Here we go again from SNP central on a transfer forum !

You’d have been better ignoring than stoking.

:agree::agree: Utterly.

I edited it but I actually prefer butterly. 😂😂

30-08-2024, 05:55 PM
I edited it but I actually prefer butterly. ����
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:thumbsup: Can’t tell the difference. Can’t believe it actually.

30-08-2024, 05:56 PM
I edited it but I actually prefer butterly. 😂😂

I can’t believe it.