View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 09:16 AM
Why haven't we announced Bowie if he has signed? What's the hold up?
TrinityHibby
08-08-2024, 09:23 AM
Not a chance Maolida is coming to hibs.
agreed unless Santa reads my letter
Silky
08-08-2024, 09:24 AM
Head turned perhaps?
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 09:26 AM
Head turned perhaps?
I'm getting the fear that is the case.
08-08-2024, 09:26 AM
Both of them please. Very different players. Big fan of both.
I agree they’re different players, but we don’t have space in the squad for both.
Whether people like it or not, Newell plays. He’s captain and he’ll be playing every week.
Newell, McCowan, Marcondes wouldn’t work, and budget doesn’t allow us the luxury of having any of them as a sub
TrinityHibby
08-08-2024, 09:29 AM
Seriously?…….I thought those ‘in the know’ have confirmed he has already signed? :confused:
Musselbound
08-08-2024, 09:29 AM
Yeah gets increasingly worrying if not announced today. Never a done deal until ink is dry on the contract imo.
08-08-2024, 09:30 AM
Video.
et_hibby
08-08-2024, 09:32 AM
Media team still working on Sound And Vision?
08-08-2024, 09:33 AM
I agree they’re different players, but we don’t have space in the squad for both.
Whether people like it or not, Newell plays. He’s captain and he’ll be playing every week.
Newell, McCowan, Marcondes wouldn’t work, and budget doesn’t allow us the luxury of having any of them as a sub
I don't think Emi will come back tbh. He is a luxury player for sure and the rest of the midfield doesnt allow us a luxury player like that. Depending on signings I think we will see a little less of Newell as the season goes on. I want 16 players that can all fight for 11 places and also improve us when players are knackered. Too many players for me are resting during games to get through the 90mins. I want them knackered after 60 and great players coming on in their place.
08-08-2024, 09:36 AM
I don't think Emi will come back tbh. He is a luxury player for sure and the rest of the midfield doesnt allow us a luxury player like that. Depending on signings I think we will see a little less of Newell as the season goes on. I want 16 players that can all fight for 11 places and also improve us when players are knackered. Too many players for me are resting during games to get through the 90mins. I want them knackered after 60 and great players coming on in their place.
What happened to the non-negotiables ?
08-08-2024, 09:37 AM
Impossible surely? 16 great players want games, not to be super-subs.
Even under Mowbray when we had arguably the best team in a generation we were bringing on Sam Morrow and Antonio Murray for the likes of Riordan, O'Connor and Brown.
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 09:38 AM
Seriously?…….I thought those ‘in the know’ have confirmed he has already signed? :confused:
So did I! But the longer we wait, the more I worry.
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 09:39 AM
Agree with this. If we could get Marcondes on a reasonable wage I would take him but realistically he will want a long term contract and likely be our highest earner which he dosent justify. Much prefer we go after McCowan or even Ryan Jack but again wages may may be an issue
08-08-2024, 09:48 AM
Impossible surely? 16 great players want games, not to be super-subs.
Even under Mowbray when we had arguably the best team in a generation we were bringing on Sam Morrow and Antonio Murray for the likes of Riordan, O'Connor and Brown.
At the moment we have nothing on the bench. Even a Rudi on the the bench is a huge jump forward from the like of Jair or Mickirdy. Then you add Cadden(s), Bevan, strikers, Hoilett. suddenly it's a much better scene.
08-08-2024, 09:49 AM
Stop worrying.
08-08-2024, 09:50 AM
I’ll be greedy and take the two of them plus Allan Campbell please
Not sure whats happening with him but if we got McCowan over the line this week and managed to somehow get shot of the no mark midfielders we currently have sitting taking up a chunk of our wage budget I'd throw a nice wage at Campbell. I think him Newell and McCowan would all complement each other well
08-08-2024, 09:58 AM
I think with Bowie supposedly signing and hoilett already here , spells the end for mckirdy and id imagine Ellie will be on his way . Shame as I really like ellie
Ellie has given us numerous moments of magic - but has had us all shaking our heads and swearing in disbelief at times also. I get the impression SDG wants players he can rely on 100% to follow his instructions - which will always include working hard out of possession. I can therefore understand why he might be willing to sacrifice Youan for a decent fee.
08-08-2024, 10:01 AM
Don’t Worry ,Be Happy
08-08-2024, 10:04 AM
Was just having a look at players under the Black Knights ‘umbrella” to see if there was any obvious players
Noticed Lorient have a 28 year old defensive midfielder who hardly played last season.
Bonke Innocent is his name, Nigerian international who previously played for Malmo and Lillestrom and is out of contract next year.
For his name alone I think we should sign him🤣
08-08-2024, 10:06 AM
Was just having a look at players under the Black Knights ‘umbrella” to see if there was any obvious players
Noticed Lorient have a 28 year old midfielder who hardly played last season.
Bonke Innocent is his name, Nigerian international who previously played for Malmo and Lillestrom and is out of contract next year.
:agree: would be delighted to get a Bonke in before the end of August.
I'm married though so not likely.
at last 61
08-08-2024, 10:07 AM
Relax,it will be announced this afternoon, maybe waiting for McGowan as well,as long as we don't have any sorrow
Niffy
08-08-2024, 10:09 AM
:agree: would be delighted to get a Bonke in before the end of August.
I'm married though so not likely.
Works the other way, once your married... nae Bonke
08-08-2024, 10:09 AM
Relax,it will be announced this afternoon, maybe waiting for McGowan as well,as long as we don't have any sorrow
I would think it's highly unlikely we are waiting on McCowan or there is a chance McCowan could be signed and announced this afternoon. I'd be ecstatic but It's not going to happen.
Silky
08-08-2024, 10:14 AM
Noticed Lorient have a 28 year old defensive midfielder who hardly played last season.
🤣🤣. Absolutely. Get him in. I'd be very much along for the ride.
08-08-2024, 10:17 AM
Aberdeen sign Ante Palaversa from Troyes
Bit of an interesting career which saw Man City pay a large fee for him but then not played much since or at a particularly high level
08-08-2024, 10:17 AM
Already has been sent off against the once famous Glasgow Rangers. Think the challenge (that led to the 2nd booking) was 50/50, but Gouldson's cheating got him sent off.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnpe5ay1o6k
He's a terrible footballer.
Found his level in the League Cup playing plumbers and mechanics.
He runs about a lot though.
We need better much better.
The boy is certainly not a terrible footballer, behave.
08-08-2024, 10:19 AM
Came on here this morning to see if there were any transfer updates.
Instead get three pages of people criticising Josh Campbell. Can these folk not give it a break?
Absolutely - SDG has already stated how he sees Campbell (running 10). We have already established his strengths and weaknesses 1000 times but these people seem incapable of acknowledging his strengths while being obsessed with talking the player down. GIE IT A REST FFS!
08-08-2024, 10:19 AM
Sent or for nothing against the Huns, Craigen talking his usual nonsense
https://youtu.be/rnpe5ay1o6k?si=5KH9yL0PQsUvbpuD
08-08-2024, 10:23 AM
Always found it ironic he plays in the same team as Benjamin Mendy.
08-08-2024, 10:24 AM
Works the other way, once your married... nae Bonke
I've been married for over 30 years and have no idea what a Bonke is :greengrin
08-08-2024, 10:28 AM
Sent or for nothing against the Huns, Craigen talking his usual nonsense
https://youtu.be/rnpe5ay1o6k?si=5KH9yL0PQsUvbpuD
Never a second booking, never even touched Goldson. If VAR had been around then (was it?) Goldson should have been booked for diving
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 10:30 AM
Why tf would we be waiting on McCowan to sign before announcing Bowie? We never do joint announcements like that.
Almost as daft a suggestion as the nonsense about announcing players in the new kit.
08-08-2024, 10:31 AM
I would think it's highly unlikely we are waiting on McCowan or there is a chance McCowan could be signed and announced this afternoon. I'd be ecstatic but It's not going to happen.
Youve never said this before....
Can you perhaps enlighten us as to why you feel it will never happen, instead of just repeating the same witticism every time it’s mentioned.
08-08-2024, 10:34 AM
Youve never said this before....
Can you perhaps enlighten us as to why you feel it will never happen, instead of just repeating the same witticism every time it’s mentioned.
I hadn't realised I had said it on numerous occasions?
I can't see us announcing McCowan this afternoon , that's all it's my opinion? Guessing it differs to yours?
Like I said I'd be ecstatic if it happened.
I'm away to troll through my posts now.
Stop worrying.
Untill it's officially announced there is always a worry.
The last time I had this nervous anticipation was waiting up till almost midnight for Mckirdy signing, :rolleyes:
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 10:48 AM
I'm told Bowie was at HTC last night and has signed a multi year contact. They have filmed all the usual new signing vignettes. Expect some Bowie soundtrack or similar. Should be announced within next couple hours
08-08-2024, 10:50 AM
Bonke Innocent? Isn't that a proclaimers song? Sign him up!
Brummie_Hibs
08-08-2024, 11:01 AM
.Bowie...has signed a multi year contact.
Five Years?
If so, I'll be Dancing in the Street.
TheHibernator
08-08-2024, 11:04 AM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/aberdeen-and-hibernian-race-to-sign-luton-town-star-allan-campbell-sources/
Would take that
08-08-2024, 11:06 AM
The boy is certainly not a terrible footballer, behave.
He most certainly is.
Behave.
08-08-2024, 11:07 AM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/aberdeen-and-hibernian-race-to-sign-luton-town-star-allan-campbell-sources/
Would take that
Either Nixon or Burns said yesterday he wasn't wanting to come back to Scotland. But they don't get everything right 👍
If we got the Motherland and Luton championship campbell then that would be an incredible signing.
08-08-2024, 11:08 AM
Would take that
Now we are talking. A proper midfielder.
08-08-2024, 11:09 AM
Would take that
Ooft would take tbis also, Campbell and Mccown would surely improve our midfield.
08-08-2024, 11:10 AM
Either Nixon or Burns said yesterday he wasn't wanting to come back to Scotland. But they don't get everything right 👍
If we got the Motherland and Luton championship campbell then that would be an incredible signing.
Aberdeen have already signed 2 defensive mids this window and have Shinnie. Would be surprised if he went there.
08-08-2024, 11:12 AM
Would take that
Yes :agree:
That would give us the proper midfield we've been somewhat lacking for years.
08-08-2024, 11:13 AM
I was told a couple of months ago he wanted to stay down south but that’s maybe changed.
Pytheas
08-08-2024, 11:17 AM
Would take that
Game changing signing for anyone up here outside Glasgow. pls Mr Foley pls sir.
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 11:18 AM
Would take that
100% but can see him going to Aberdeen
Trinity Hibee
08-08-2024, 11:22 AM
Not so sure. If they are selling miovski they could be ****ed
08-08-2024, 11:22 AM
Don’t know why but think the same. Perfect replacement and improvement for Shinnie
08-08-2024, 11:23 AM
Ooft would take tbis also, Campbell and Mccown would surely improve our midfield.
We sign those two and I promise not to moan about our midfield for the whole season.
08-08-2024, 11:25 AM
We sign those two and I promise not to moan about our midfield for the whole season.
🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏😂
08-08-2024, 11:31 AM
Bowie announcement incoming.
08-08-2024, 11:32 AM
No danger we get Allan Campbell.
Luke McCowan would be a brilliant signing.
But both?!
Nah. Things as good as that don’t happen to us Hibs fans 🤣
Pete70
Teaser video
ElginHibbie
Bowie announcement incoming.
Enjoyed the video, worth the wait
08-08-2024, 11:33 AM
Here he comes
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1821509284422623614?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
I can’t believe people don’t like or moan about this sort of content
Souter96Mac
Now Campbell would be some signing. Can't see it being McCowan & him, but maybe this is the Foley billions being spent?
Campbell Campbell
McCowan
Mmm
Good article in the EN , Bowie deal is nearly complete and we are still looking for more players from BK group.
08-08-2024, 11:34 AM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1821509284422623614?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Thought that was excellent
08-08-2024, 11:35 AM
Rebel rebel
Trinity Hibee
4 year deal?
Just_Jimmy
I can’t believe people don’t like or moan about this sort of contentThat's class.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
yerauldda
08-08-2024, 11:36 AM
I'd imagine it's Campbell OR McCowan, not both.
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 11:39 AM
Suppose the Hibs kids will like it.
Exuberance1875
08-08-2024, 11:39 AM
The golden quadrant strike again
MartinfaePorty
08-08-2024, 11:41 AM
My God, with all the sh*te that's going on, I enjoy these little videos and I'm 53!
08-08-2024, 11:42 AM
I'd imagine it's Campbell OR McCowan, not both.
Campbell Hodge McCowan
Boyle Myko Bowie
Archie70
08-08-2024, 11:43 AM
Campbell Campbell
McCowan
Mmm
Could we end up with-
Cadden Campbell Campbell Cadden
08-08-2024, 11:44 AM
Significant fee and 4 year deal
Well done Hibs
The mowser and mullet is wild though
Souter96Mac
08-08-2024, 11:44 AM
Campbell Hodge McCowan
Boyle Myko Bowie
Looks decent, but with no goalie or defence we'll leak goals for sure
ElginHibbie
08-08-2024, 11:45 AM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/august/08/hibs-complete-kieron-bowie-signing-/
ElginHibbie
08-08-2024, 11:46 AM
https://images.webapi.gc.hibsfcservices.co.uk/fit-in/1000x1000/9ca15fc0-5579-11ef-8898-2bd4f379f206.jpg
Not sure on the tache
08-08-2024, 11:47 AM
https://images.webapi.gc.hibsfcservices.co.uk/fit-in/1000x1000/9ca15fc0-5579-11ef-8898-2bd4f379f206.jpg
Not sure on the tache
Best since Petrie, long live the tache.
08-08-2024, 11:48 AM
I'm 57 and I liked it.
08-08-2024, 11:48 AM
Significant fee and 4 year deal
Well done Hibs
He looks like Barry Chuckle:hilarious
08-08-2024, 11:50 AM
Just need to sort the midfield now 😀
Gloucester Hibs
08-08-2024, 11:51 AM
I'm 57 and I liked it.
Yep, I'm 44 and I think the unveiling videos this week have been class. Kudos to whoever it is that does them :agree:
He looks like Barry Chuckle:hilarious
Quite a lot of guys are now going for the mullet and moustache look, don’t get it myself!
Mcbizz1998
Tache needs a bit of work but I like the look he is going for.
Puts me in mind of Jotta when at Celtic with the haircut and moustache - let's hope he is anywhere near as good!
https://youtu.be/B8eFn7GcG8w?si=pJ4A-yG9ABRy5oyg
Bowie’s interview
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Bowie’s interview
Jeez, he has 2 kids at 21 years old. That's rare these days.
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Not completely in the know but from a good source Joe Hodge expected to sign on a seasons long loan. Possibly announced later today or early next week.
Improved bid for McCowan submitted however dundee are holding out for 500k plus a significant sell on fee which appears to be the stumbling block. Likely to stay at Dundee for another season with Celtic interest being wide of the mark.
08-08-2024, 11:55 AM
GK: Bursik, Smith, Boruc
RCB: O'Hora, Megwa
CB: Marvin, Rocky
LCB: Obita, Harbottle
RWB: Cadden, Miller
CM: Moriah-Welsh, Campbell
CM: TBC, Amos
CM: Newell, Levitt
LWB: Cadden, Hoillett
ST: Vente, Boyle, Youan, Molitnikov
ST: Mykola, Bowie
Out: JDH, Kenneh, McKirdy, Jair, Delfer
Plenty of options with that squad
08-08-2024, 11:55 AM
Could we end up with-
Cadden Campbell Campbell Cadden
Cadden Campbell McCowan Campbell Cadden
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 11:56 AM
Not completely in the know but from a good source Joe Hodge expected to sign on a seasons long loan. Possibly announced later today or early next week.
Improved bid for McCowan submitted however dundee are holding out for 500k plus a significant sell on fee which appears to be the stumbling block. Likely to stay at Dundee for another season with Celtic interest being wide of the mark.
If it is the difference between 400k and 500k then just pay it Hibs!!
K-Zazu
08-08-2024, 11:57 AM
Midfield still honking.
1875M
08-08-2024, 11:59 AM
How tall is this bloke? Says 6’7 on his Wikipedia?!
Bridge hibs
08-08-2024, 12:00 PM
Only in his high heels
He’s the thin white duke so he must be fairly tall.
The big man’s clinical
Thought he came across really well in that interview, seems a really level headed boy. Looking forward to seeing him on Sunday.
08-08-2024, 12:01 PM
Cadden Campbell McCowan Campbell Cadden
Is that Hibs new commercial solicitors?
08-08-2024, 12:02 PM
I think it's magnificent.
Brummie_Hibs
The Aussie Rules look is currently fashionable.
Cabbage-Patch
The midfield still needs massive improvement. Newell and Campbell are not the answer. If we can't get McCowan should be looking at Ryan Jack and Allan Campbell or both.
Could also do with another CB because if Marv or Ohora get Injured we are relying on Harbottle and Rocky coming in.
08-08-2024, 12:04 PM
Should give us a cutting edge up front hope he cuts through opposition defences like a knife through butter.
08-08-2024, 12:06 PM
The midfield still needs massive improvement. Newell and Campbell are not the answer. If we can't get McCowan should be looking at Ryan Jack and Allan Campbell or both.
Could also do with another CB because if Marv or Ohora get Injured we are relying on Harbottle and Rocky coming in.
Funny enough when someone posted a video of Bowie the other day for the Scotland 21’s I forgot about the young left sided centre half that plays for the 21s.
Ibane Bowat, also at Fulham but spent last season on loan at TSV Hartberg.
AC Milan want him for their newly established B team who will be in the Serie C
But be interesting if he’s one we’re monitoring with him being in the same Scotland and Fulham team as Bowie
08-08-2024, 12:06 PM
Bowie’s interview
Confident boy
08-08-2024, 12:07 PM
Would love to see Ryan Jack would add a bit of steel in the midfield.
Not sure on the tache
Go down a storm in Kirkcaldy 😅
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 12:08 PM
He is 6'1
yerauldda
08-08-2024, 12:11 PM
Thought he came across really well in that interview, seems a really level headed boy. Looking forward to seeing him on Sunday.
Agreed. Quite impressed with how well he spoke.
Looking forward to seeing him on the pitch.
I'm 57 and I liked it.
I'm a lot older than you and love it, but then the music is from my era🎶👌
08-08-2024, 12:15 PM
If there’s truth in the sell on, agree to it. He’s 27 this year. Hes not gonna move on for millions anyway.
08-08-2024, 12:20 PM
Not sure on the tache
Should be put straight back onto the transfer list for that effort.
08-08-2024, 12:20 PM
[QUOTE=CallumLaidlaw;7733588]If there’s truth in the sell on, agree to it. He’s 27 this year. Hes not gonna move on for millions anyway.
Sounds sensible.
yerauldda
08-08-2024, 12:22 PM
If there’s truth in the sell on, agree to it. He’s 27 this year. Hes not gonna move on for millions anyway.
Agreed.. give them 50% if that's what they're looking for.
Sceptical that it is though, more likely to be a series of add-ons.
08-08-2024, 12:23 PM
Things are certainly looking to be a bit more promising additions wise.
And it doesn’t sound like we’re done yet.
Greenworld
08-08-2024, 12:26 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's a great point
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
08-08-2024, 12:27 PM
I have to admit, I was absolutely livid after the St mirren game but the activity this wee had definitely given me some hope for a good season. I still think we need a cherry on top.
08-08-2024, 12:27 PM
Right, who’s next?
yerauldda
08-08-2024, 12:28 PM
Right, who’s next?
What's flightradar saying to it?
08-08-2024, 12:30 PM
There's our finisher.
CentreForward
08-08-2024, 12:33 PM
Thought his interview was great. Seems like a really bright and level headed guy. Not quite so sure about the tache though!
CentreForward
08-08-2024, 12:35 PM
I think it's magnificent.
Agree think it’s brilliant!
08-08-2024, 12:37 PM
Think we’ve went about things in the right order at least, even if it’s happened a bit later than we’d have liked.
Signing the goalie and two centre halves was the right place to start. Moving on to the forward areas and now we can, hopefully, deal with the midfield. Was always going to be the last bit to be dealt with as probably reliant on getting folk out as well.
Just need the players to be good now. Not getting overly excited quite yet, after the defensive disaster the other day and just really down to the fact that I’ve never actually seen the likes of Bowie and Cadden play.
tug.lismore
08-08-2024, 12:39 PM
With all the new arrivals I am finding it hard to work out what the best XI will be. Especially up front.
That is a good thing.
Means that the players can't take selection for granted.
Even if Youan moves on then I don't think we will add further players in attack. However, if Vente (unlikely) or McKirdy leave then space opens up.
A couple of additions to midfield and the squad has potential.
I think that we might see a few players out in the next week or so be it loans or permanent.
Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk
CentreForward
08-08-2024, 12:40 PM
If we’ve paid at least 500k for Bowie then surely McCowan has to be worth a similar amount. Ok he may not end up with the sell on value that Bowie might but think the club has to occasionally look beyond that when we are looking at a player who could be a real asset to the team.
As for Alan Campbell don’t really like the sound of his recent form and injury issues. Quality player no question, but could he be a risk with these issues?
08-08-2024, 12:42 PM
With all the new arrivals I am finding it hard to work out what the best XI will be. Especially up front.
That is a good thing.
Means that the players can't take selection for granted.
Even if Youan moves on then I don't think we will add further players in attack. However, if Vente (unlikely) or McKirdy leave then space opens up.
A couple of additions to midfield and the squad has potential.
I think that we might see a few players out in the next week or so be it loans or permanent.
I don’t think it’s that unlikely that Vente will leave. I actually don’t think it would be that much of a surprise. It just not worked/working out for anyone.
08-08-2024, 12:47 PM
Agree.
Would make a massive difference to us in creating chances for our forwards and getting goals from midfield
tug.lismore
08-08-2024, 12:48 PM
I don’t think it’s that unlikely that Vente will leave. I actually don’t think it would be that much of a surprise. It just not worked/working out for anyone.You could well be right. Maybe out on loan back to a Dutch club?
08-08-2024, 12:52 PM
I don’t think it’s that unlikely that Vente will leave. I actually don’t think it would be that much of a surprise. It just not worked/working out for anyone.
I'm with you on that, I think he will want more game time. On the flip side though it may take some of the pressure of him a little now ? Gets benched and scores a few from the bench because he's a bit more relaxed? Who knows but I still think he'll be away come the end of the window.
NGoloGrantie
08-08-2024, 12:53 PM
Can’t see vente going anywhere tbh
You could well be right. Maybe out on loan back to a Dutch club?
The problem with persisting with Vente is that we are getting plenty balls into the box and he scarcely ever converts.
Yet we have two better strikers of the ball playing on the wing who should be on the end of those chances.
Only at Hibs
HFC93
08-08-2024, 12:56 PM
Bowie needs to be transfer listed immediately for his moustache.
08-08-2024, 12:58 PM
Great read on Ziggy
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/why-kieron-bowie-signing-is-a-coup-for-hibs-roy-of-the-rovers-rise-promotion-winner-scotland-prospects-4734448
Exuberance1875
08-08-2024, 12:58 PM
Allan Campbell and Ryan Jack next would be good
08-08-2024, 12:59 PM
Can’t see vente going anywhere tbh
I think he’ll find himself behind Myko and Bowie and he was too expensive to have sitting on the bench. Would be surprised if he didn’t have the chance to go back to Holland.
08-08-2024, 01:04 PM
What's flightradar saying to it?
Hoping our next signings won’t require flights😂
Hibees1973
08-08-2024, 01:07 PM
Competition at centre forward now with Bowie, Vente & Myko. Hope they all push each other on.
A relief that the signings in the last week (Cadden, Bowie & Myko) are as Boris used to say 'Oven Ready and Ready to go'
Seems we are not finished going by statements at the club, so ideally would like a couple of midfield upgrades on what we have and another centre half. Perhaps this is being greedy.
Time will tell if they are good enough and we have the appropriate coaching staff to get the best out of them.
08-08-2024, 01:08 PM
Quite a lot of guys are now going for the mullet and moustache look, don’t get it myself!
The Aussie Rules look is currently fashionable.
Fashion is temporary, style is timeless.
He is in the former of these categories here. :greengrin Moustachio too bumfluffy to pull the look off.
08-08-2024, 01:09 PM
Regarding Vente, it may be similar to a Sam Lammers situation
He was clearly a square peg in a round hole at Sevco, and looked like no-one in their right mind would pay what Rangers had paid.
But a loan deal back to a more familiar footballing style saw him perform well and generate a buyer.
Could imagine something like a loan to Netherlands until January for DV, to revitalise him [and perk up his transfer value for us].
08-08-2024, 01:18 PM
Only 2 potential reasons - failed medical, or has a better offer.
Positive spin
08-08-2024, 01:30 PM
Am a pensioner and love it It’s a bit of fun
08-08-2024, 01:32 PM
Jeez, he has 2 kids at 21 years old. That's rare these days.Im sure he has twins
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
08-08-2024, 01:32 PM
Im sure he has twins
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Wow, 4 kids already?? That’s mental.
08-08-2024, 01:33 PM
Finally getting a player like Leigh Griffths back. :wink::greengrin
08-08-2024, 01:34 PM
Lmao!
08-08-2024, 01:34 PM
Yep and if he is Grays no 1 Target we should try and get a deal over the line
08-08-2024, 01:35 PM
Would take that
Campbell would be class. Injuries obviously hampered him but if fit he’d be very good back at this level.
Cabbage-Patch
08-08-2024, 01:38 PM
Regarding Vente, it may be similar to a Sam Lammers situation
He was clearly a square peg in a round hole at Sevco, and looked like no-one in their right mind would pay what Rangers had paid.
But a loan deal back to a more familiar footballing style saw him perform well and generate a buyer.
Could imagine something like a loan to Netherlands until January for DV, to revitalise him [and perk up his transfer value for us].
I'm not ready to give up on Vente yet. I saw enough in his initial spell when he 1st signed to tell me there's a player in there. Johnson going so soon after he signed and then Montys disastrous reign has clearly affected his confidence. Let's give him to January and see how he does.
08-08-2024, 01:51 PM
Ryan Kent to Ipswich seems a possibility
08-08-2024, 02:00 PM
He most certainly is.
Behave.
Would he be playing and scoring goals in the top league if he was
08-08-2024, 02:00 PM
Bowie’s interview
Said everything I want to hear from a forward. For how long have we been powderpuff up front? If there's one thing Shankland has shown it's that you can be a success in this league with average talent if you are physical enough. If Bowie can show good movement and a good touch as well ( which he seems to think he has ) then this could be a great signing ..... Chuck in Mykola who isn't exactly slight either and our forward line should be hard to handle if we get the service right.
Maybe now our ability to get in crosses, which isn't bad, might be matched by a couple of folk who can actually get on the end of them :hyper
08-08-2024, 02:04 PM
Bowie’s interview
He’s going to be ****ing unbelievable for us isn’t he?
Can’t wait to see him tear it up in a derby.
08-08-2024, 02:05 PM
Campbell would be class. Injuries obviously hampered him but if fit he’d be very good back at this level.
Surely Edinburgh is a draw for potential players over Aberdeen as a place to be??
yerauldda
08-08-2024, 02:15 PM
Aberdeen have just confirmed the signing of another midfielder today, Croatian player Ante Palaversa from Troyes.
Can't see them signing Campbell as well.
08-08-2024, 02:16 PM
Obviously scores off the pitch as well😏
ElginHibbie
08-08-2024, 02:18 PM
The tache is gone already!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GUdyC5pX0AAwgoy?format=jpg&name=large
Edit https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1821553613354742182 lmao
08-08-2024, 02:20 PM
Must be reading .net already.. :greengrin
08-08-2024, 02:20 PM
We politely declined to sign their hero John Robertson.
I wouldn't be gloating about that.
08-08-2024, 02:22 PM
Lmao
08-08-2024, 02:23 PM
Must be reading .net already.. :greengrin
Bad move if he is.
08-08-2024, 02:25 PM
Allan Campbell would be a phenomenal signing. I can't see us beating Aberdeen to him though.
08-08-2024, 02:26 PM
Can only imagine the fine Boyler etc gave him for that moustache 🤣
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 02:27 PM
Devastated the tache is gone!
Souter96Mac
08-08-2024, 02:27 PM
Not a rumour at all, but one player I'd like us to keep an eye on this season is Calum Ferrie, a goalie at Queen's Park.
Has been in the championship team of the year for the last couple of seasons, and his contract is up next summer.
Would obviously like to see Johnson get an opportunity after his loan spell, but wonder if he's on our radar.
08-08-2024, 02:28 PM
Not a rumour at all, but one player I'd like us to keep an eye on this season is Calum Ferrie, a goalie at Queen's Park.
Has been in the championship team of the year for the last couple of seasons, and his contract is up next summer.
Would obviously like to see Johnson get an opportunity after his loan spell, but wonder if he's on our radar.
Was unlucky not to save Boyler’s overhead kick [emoji2957]
08-08-2024, 02:31 PM
Would he be playing and scoring goals in the top league if he was
He wont be for much longer.
Super sub at best now that the real footballers are coming in now.
King Cosell
08-08-2024, 02:31 PM
Hibs have posted some training pics and the moustache is gone.
08-08-2024, 02:35 PM
He's been training with us a few days this week.
Maybe he actually signed on Monday. Players then ripped the pish outta him when he turned up at EM for training then shaved it off?
08-08-2024, 02:38 PM
Maybe he actually signed on Monday. Players then ripped the pish outta him when he turned up at EM for training then shaved it off?
Maybe the training photo is a few days old and he grew it for the signing photo?
08-08-2024, 02:39 PM
It's never as simple as just that although, if we don't get him, that'll become the new "Petrie wouldn't pay £150k" to sign Griffiths myth.
08-08-2024, 02:40 PM
Maybe the training photo is a few days old and he grew it for the signing photo?
Mcbizz1998
08-08-2024, 02:41 PM
It's never as simple as just that although, if we don't get him, that'll become the new "Petrie wouldn't pay £150k" to sign Griffiths myth.
I was under the impression we had bid 400k and the post I replied to said they want 500k.
Based on those assumptions being correct, then we should pay the extra 100k and sign the boy. But yes, it may indeed be more complicated than that.
Hibees1973
08-08-2024, 02:42 PM
By the looks of it on his signing photae, maybe blew off.
Can get a bit windy up at East Mains.
08-08-2024, 02:42 PM
Can't see Boyler allowing that :greengrin
King Cosell
08-08-2024, 02:48 PM
Gutted, I've just bought a replica from the club shop.
EGL2000
08-08-2024, 02:53 PM
I was under the impression we had bid 400k and the post I replied to said they want 500k.
Based on those assumptions being correct, then we should pay the extra 100k and sign the boy. But yes, it may indeed be more complicated than that.
Strange that they are wanting a big sell on fee. Get why most teams want one but he's not one I see moving on again for decent money if he comes to Hibs. He's at that age where he's fully developed in most attributes. This is also the age where you very rarely see players going down to say upper English championship for a big fee.
08-08-2024, 03:11 PM
Maybe he's appearing at the Fringe in some Victorian bodice ripper and forgot to take off the tache after the show? :greengrin
08-08-2024, 03:16 PM
Bowzer can grow a tache in minutes. He grew it for the photo op, that pic of him without it was taken just before the press stuff was filmed.
Fratelli
08-08-2024, 03:23 PM
This is from an ex-colleague of mine and Northampton Town season ticket holder re Kieron Bowie.
“He’s a good player, people didn’t want him to go but his family are in Scotland.
He is a real worker and chased everything without being a goal scorer .
Comes in from the right normally.
He is the sort of player that fans like though because he gives his all in every game.”
sauzee1989
08-08-2024, 03:25 PM
He was awful against us a few weeks ago I thought.
08-08-2024, 03:43 PM
Are we not getting a Friday signing to finish off the week in style? B******s......
EGL2000
08-08-2024, 03:47 PM
He was awful against us a few weeks ago I thought.
Looked poor against Falkirk in the Friday night game as well. Came rushing out for everything when there was no need.
TelaStella
08-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Went to watch Queen’s Park a couple of times last season and always thought he seemed a bit out his depth with championship level. Did see him save a penalty right enough, in a game he lost 5-0
08-08-2024, 04:07 PM
This is from an ex-colleague of mine and Northampton Town season ticket holder re Kieron Bowie.
“He’s a good player, people didn’t want him to go but his family are in Scotland.
He is the sort of player that fans like though because he gives his all in every game.”
A modern day Gareth Evans then?
Bridge hibs
08-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Are we not getting a Friday signing to finish off the week in style? B******s......
Wait until Friday first 😁
08-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Sounds about right Billy , Gareth was also homesick but decided to stay and still in Scotland nearly 40 years later :greengrin
ruthven_raiders
08-08-2024, 04:29 PM
So are we saying he's not going to be prolific? I am old enough to remember Evans and he was a 1 in 6 games goal scorer, hopefully this guy will have a bit better strike rate than that. Hard workerer and gives his all....💪
08-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Strange that they are wanting a big sell on fee. Get why most teams want one but he's not one I see moving on again for decent money if he comes to Hibs. He's at that age where he's fully developed in most attributes. This is also the age where you very rarely see players going down to say upper English championship for a big fee.
No-one on here knows anything about the negotiations.
08-08-2024, 04:31 PM
From Monday, so old news. Didn't know that he's u21 Ireland captain, so should be good quality.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-u21-skipper-joe-hodge-looks-set-for-another-loan-move-away-from-wolves/a1448234910.html
CentreForward
08-08-2024, 04:33 PM
Keep seeing Bowie referred to as a striker everywhere in the media although others here have said he’s a winger. If he’s going to be played as a striker then he will need to improve on his goal scoring which has been moderate in his career so far.
08-08-2024, 04:35 PM
Keep seeing Bowie referred to as a striker everywhere in the media although others here have said he’s a winger. If he’s going to be played as a striker then he will need to improve on his goal scoring which has been moderate in his career so far.
He said himself he's a striker but can and has been played out wide out of necessity. Still only 21 so plenty time to improve his goals to game ratio.
Interesting that he said it was wide right at Northampton. Could see Boyle dropping out.
08-08-2024, 04:37 PM
Josh Campbell…….but without the goals😏
08-08-2024, 04:38 PM
He considers himself as a striker but played mainly out wide for Northampton but in the short period he played striker scored 5 goals
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Delighted with the signing of Bowie . We have some good options up front now with the additions of Hoilett, Mykola and Bowie .
Add to the midfield and maybe a defensive LB and we are good to go .
Well done to all at hibs for showing ambition with these signings 👏
08-08-2024, 04:52 PM
Yes but that’s when he’s been played as a winger 😜
He said in his interview he scored something like 5 in 7 I think when played through the middle.
08-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Maybe he's appearing at the Fringe in some Victorian bodice ripper and forgot to take off the tache after the show? :greengrin
He is the lead in Roderick Petrie : The Bogan Years
Wait until Friday first 😁
Damn it, lost track of the days lol. So I have to work tomorrow too? :greengrin
He considers himself as a striker but played mainly out wide for Northampton but in the short period he played striker scored 5 goals
As a comparison, when Steven Fletcher first broke through he was often played wide right. It’s an easier position for a young forward to develop and contribute until they mature a bit.
Gray has said that Bowie can play anywhere across the front 3 and that eventually he sees him being the lone 9.
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 04:59 PM
With the signing of Bowie and including Youan in it , what is our best front 3 now ?
08-08-2024, 05:00 PM
With the signing of Bowie and including Youan in it , what is our best front 3 now ?
Youan Myko Bowie for me. Can’t see Youan staying though.
08-08-2024, 05:10 PM
Yes but that’s when he’s been played as a winger 😜
He said in his interview he scored something like 5 in 7 I think when played through the middle.
Well I hope he was played mainly as a winger at Northampton Town, 14 goals from 81 starts would be pretty poor for somebody who played mainly as a striker, although he did apparently score their goal of the season.
08-08-2024, 05:13 PM
Personally think Youan will be away. Would like to keep him but think he wants to move.
LunasBoots
08-08-2024, 05:31 PM
Well I hope he was played mainly as a winger at Northampton Town, 14 goals from 81 starts would be pretty poor for somebody who played mainly as a striker, although he did apparently score their goal of the season.
Alot of Rovers fans thought he looked better than Nisbet so if he can do that here then it'll be a good signing, hopefully he's learned on his travels and can hit the ground running.
08-08-2024, 05:38 PM
Not sure on the tache
Did we pay extra for that?👀
08-08-2024, 05:38 PM
Maybe worth listening to his interview
08-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Sure I read on here that we had an offer well in excess of £150k accepted and then something happened outwith our control (Wolves deciding to put him in the first team maybe?) that killed the deal. Wasn't our fault at all, just one of those things.
08-08-2024, 05:52 PM
Sure I read on here that we had an offer well in excess of £150k accepted and then something happened outwith our control (Wolves deciding to put him in the first team maybe?) that killed the deal. Wasn't our fault at all, just one of those things.
I’m sure the wolves manager got sacked ( dean Saunders maybe) so the deal was off.
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 06:06 PM
Youan Myko Bowie for me. Can’t see Youan staying though.
I’d say you’re right about Youan which is a pity . Boyle Myko Bowie or Bowie Myko Hoilett isn’t half bad with Vente and the Cadden’s able to do a job to if needed .
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Personally think Youan will be away. Would like to keep him but think he wants to move.
So would I though if he wants to go there’s no point in keeping a player that doesn’t want to be at us , looking at it positively , it could help us strengthen a bit more maybe.
08-08-2024, 06:14 PM
I wonder if his "only 2 weeks" injury is a strategic one. Maybe he's been told he can go but only once we get replacements in. So that's Hoilett, N Cadden and Bowie who can cover the front positions in this week. Now it's wait and see.
08-08-2024, 06:15 PM
So would I though if he wants to go there’s no point in keeping a player that doesn’t want to be at us , looking at it positively , it could help us strengthen a bit more maybe.
:agree: Money for McCowan and/or Campbell?
He's here!
08-08-2024, 06:21 PM
It's certainly a big investment in someone apparently deemed capable of improving our strike force despite such a meagre tally of goals to his name.
CentreForward
08-08-2024, 06:31 PM
He said himself he's a striker but can and has been played out wide out of necessity. Still only 21 so plenty time to improve his goals to game ratio.
Interesting that he said it was wide right at Northampton. Could see Boyle dropping out.
Thanks and agree still time to improve. That’s certainly possible with Boyle.
08-08-2024, 06:32 PM
Some good news from training today - the paedo mustachio has GONE!
Lloyd Christmas hairdo still there though.
https://scontent-man2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/454417368_903811561784807_8595865287898162357_n.jp g?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=127cfc&_nc_ohc=xdirkZUI7DoQ7kNvgEEVKGx&_nc_ht=scontent-man2-1.xx&oh=00_AYC89-4522tjx3wTIQjMRsUQx56EEEB3PdPZtpJsPO8ylg&oe=66BAE4B7
08-08-2024, 06:44 PM
Dundee twitter rumour that Hibs have offered Dundee cash + Dylan Levitt for McCowan.
https://x.com/DensParkChoir/status/1821568246211805372
08-08-2024, 06:45 PM
Dundee twitter rumour that Hibs have offered Dundee cash + Dylan Levitt for McCowan.
https://x.com/DensParkChoir/status/1821568246211805372
Be more than happy with that, depending on the money offered of course.
HendoDelivered
08-08-2024, 06:50 PM
Ryan Jack at the St Mirren game. Wonder if he might be going there?
08-08-2024, 06:52 PM
Ryan Jack at the St Mirren game. Wonder if he might be going there?
Heard we had offered him a deal no idea if true
kentao
08-08-2024, 07:06 PM
Mark O'hara could be on the move, missed the game Vs us and on the bench tonight.
08-08-2024, 07:08 PM
Mark O'hara could be on the move, missed the game Vs us and on the bench tonight.
Was suspended against us I think
K-Zazu
08-08-2024, 07:11 PM
What’s the story with Daniel Armstrong at Killie? Think his contract runs out next year worth a wee 500k bid cos we are loaded again?
kentao
08-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Was suspended against us I think
Looks like he was available but potentially has the same niggle that youan has.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/c2lkk44yy1xo.amp
With Ryan jack at the game tonight could be 1 in 1 out.
08-08-2024, 07:18 PM
Looks like he was available but potentially has the same niggle that youan has.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/c2lkk44yy1xo.amp
With Ryan jack at the game tonight could be 1 in 1 out.
Cheers … someone at the game behind me said he was suspended… clearly not [emoji16]
08-08-2024, 07:20 PM
What’s the story with Daniel Armstrong at Killie? Think his contract runs out next year worth a wee 500k bid cos we are loaded again?
Doesn’t want to move while Killie are in Europe
andrew70
08-08-2024, 07:23 PM
He’ll be moving soon then
Gloucester Hibs
08-08-2024, 07:23 PM
Be available shortly then!
babahibs
08-08-2024, 07:31 PM
Some good news from training today - the paedo mustachio has GONE!
Lloyd Christmas hairdo still there though.
https://scontent-man2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/454417368_903811561784807_8595865287898162357_n.jp g?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=127cfc&_nc_ohc=xdirkZUI7DoQ7kNvgEEVKGx&_nc_ht=scontent-man2-1.xx&oh=00_AYC89-4522tjx3wTIQjMRsUQx56EEEB3PdPZtpJsPO8ylg&oe=66BAE4B7
Paedo moustache?
You ****ing what??????
08-08-2024, 07:32 PM
Did he definitely start 81 games?
08-08-2024, 07:37 PM
Think it’s important we still add more at the back and a CDM and 10.
We lost 3-0 at the weekend and some of the defending / goalkeeping was awful. Ok you defend as a team and a new player may have scored the Vente chance but we were completely lost in midfield on Sunday and that’s still a crucial area. Really hope we can sort it.
08-08-2024, 07:39 PM
Paedo moustache?
You ****ing what??????
Yes - https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Paedotache
Ps Wash your mouth out - there is no need for language like that!
EGL2000
08-08-2024, 07:44 PM
More than happy for levitt to be offered up in the deal.
21sMay
08-08-2024, 07:44 PM
Get Steven fletcher vibes watching Bowie highlights. If he is even half as good we have won a watch
chippy
08-08-2024, 08:10 PM
Get Steven fletcher vibes watching Bowie highlights. If he is even half as good we have won a watch
I got Juke box vibes
MagicSwirlingShip
08-08-2024, 08:11 PM
I got G O’C vibes 😂
08-08-2024, 08:13 PM
I got Juke box vibes
👍
08-08-2024, 08:16 PM
I'll wait for vibes when he is in a Hibs top. These highlight reels very rarely tell the true story. Looks a good signing but we will have to see if it turns out that way
#2 Double Tap
08-08-2024, 08:19 PM
seen this ;) looks the business so he does
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=teUdwpNUyUE
Wee bit of reflected glory here, my grandson was at Kirkcaldy High School with him and tells me even as a 16 year old he was a class act, hopefully see that in a hibs jersey :flag:
08-08-2024, 08:27 PM
Wee bit of reflected glory here, my grandson was at Kirkcaldy High School with him and tells me even as a 16 year old he was a class act, hopefully see that in a hibs jersey :flag:
My partner's boy was the same, so we may have mutual connections :greengrin
08-08-2024, 08:29 PM
My partner's boy was the same, so we may have mutual connections :greengrin
If you are both from Fife then it's a certainty you'll have connections!! Most likely related
Up-the-slope
08-08-2024, 08:30 PM
way too much transfer stuff on this thread (at last) but how are the whippets getting on? any news on the dwarfs ?
08-08-2024, 08:30 PM
If you are both from Fife then it's a certainty you'll have connections!! Most likely related
😬
08-08-2024, 08:31 PM
way too much transfer stuff on this thread (at last) but how are the whippets getting on? any news on the dwarfs ?
Whippets ran out of crisps and ate them
08-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Any updates on Hodge, he seems an interesting one, very highly rated a season or 2 back
Hope that's not a dueling banjos reference :greengrin
08-08-2024, 09:07 PM
Hope that's not a dueling banjos reference :greengrin
I play the banjo but I'm not from Fife thankfully :greengrin
Up-the-slope
08-08-2024, 09:09 PM
Whippets ran out of crisps and ate them
Small Greyhound eats small human.... seems fair
08-08-2024, 09:14 PM
Small Greyhound eats small human.... seems fair
😂😂😂
I play the banjo but I'm not from Fife thankfully :greengrin
Kingdom of Fife if you please:greengrin
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 09:36 PM
Just after watching this where Docherty says he’s unaware of any bids for McCowan …..
https://news.stv.tv/sport/dundee-manager-tony-docherty-unaware-of-luke-mccowan-bids
08-08-2024, 09:39 PM
Any updates on Hodge, he seems an interesting one, very highly rated a season or 2 back
I’m assuming that will depend on Campbell and McCowan.