View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
coldingham hibs
21-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Pretty obvious McCowan is our main transfer target and looks like we won't hear anything until we play them this weekend. Hope there’s at least been dialogue between the clubs and we’re confident the bid will be accepted.
If not, it’s a real risk for us waiting and going into the last week of the window. Our other options might have other clubs already in for them.
This is a strange one. If McCowan has any intention of joining us then he won’t want to play in the game and potentially cause us to drop 3 points. If he plays then that would imply to me that he is not joining.
21-08-2024, 03:46 PM
This is the kind of signing we would be able to make in our sleep, if the Foley relationship is as it was sold to us.
Watford and Stoke play at a higher level than Hibs so no surprise they will want what is best for player development
Hibiza
21-08-2024, 03:48 PM
Seems like our backers are just windbags
21-08-2024, 03:48 PM
https://x.com/wd18fans/status/1826266704185585679?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Ach well
of they two i think he would be better going to Watford
21-08-2024, 03:50 PM
This is a strange one. If McCowan has any intention of joining us then he won’t want to play in the game and potentially cause us to drop 3 points. If he plays then that would imply to me that he is not joining.
I agree. If there is a deal getting done I would imagine we won’t see McCowan on Saturday representing either club!
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 03:51 PM
I’m surprised we haven’t heard anything about our 3rd bid for McCowan as the other 2 bids were reported to be rejected fairly quickly after they were made .
A case of either it’s been accepted and both parties are waiting till after our game this weekend or are they just waiting to see if anyone else comes in for him .
If it was accepted would Dundee play him against us this weekend? And if they are waiting to see if anyone comes in late , surely this doesn’t entirely suit them to a degree either ? And at what point do we say enough is enough and move on to another target? .
21-08-2024, 03:51 PM
of they two i think he would be better going to Watford
Watford have had a good start, but both pish and be doing well to make top half of the league I reckon. Are Watford not a total basket case of a club?
21-08-2024, 03:53 PM
I’m surprised we haven’t heard anything about our 3rd bid for McCowan as the other 2 bids were reported to be rejected fairly quickly after they were made .
A case of either it’s been accepted and both parties are waiting till after our game this weekend or are they just waiting to see if anyone else comes in for him ?.
If it was accepted would Dundee play him against us this weekend? And if they are waiting to see if anyone comes in late , surely this doesn’t entirely suit them to a degree either ? And at what point do we say enough is enough and move on to another target? .
If we haven't had confirmation they’ll accept the bid after we play then I hope we've already moved on.
Think Dundee would prefer the money but also think they'd be perfectly fine keeping the player for the season.
21-08-2024, 03:54 PM
A boy on the bounce is saying he heard someone had passed a medical for Hibs last night. No 5 o'clock teaser from Hibs so highly doubting it.
21-08-2024, 03:56 PM
A boy on the bounce is saying he heard someone had passed a medical for Hibs last night. No 5 o'clock teaser from Hibs so highly doubting it.
Wonder if its Souleymane Diarra and Unseen Work has done it again
21-08-2024, 04:12 PM
I’d be surprised if Celtic sign McGowan. They’ll want players who can take them further in Europe not someone who can do a job on the SPFL.
badabing67
21-08-2024, 04:14 PM
Was Marcondes in Edinburgh yesterday
21-08-2024, 04:16 PM
I’d be surprised if Celtic sign McGowan. They’ll want players who can take them further in Europe not someone who can do a job on the SPFL.
I think Bernardo will step up and play instead of O’Riley and they’ll then get a cheap option for the squad. It’s the way Celtic do it. They’ll continue to be too strong domestically but get smashed in Europe.
21-08-2024, 04:18 PM
Watford have had a good start, but both pish and be doing well to make top half of the league I reckon. Are Watford not a total basket case of a club?
Bottom half of that league still a higher level with more exposure than playing for Hibs. And we're a total basket case too.
GreenPJ
21-08-2024, 04:25 PM
I think Bernardo will step up and play instead of O’Riley and they’ll then get a cheap option for the squad. It’s the way Celtic do it. They’ll continue to be too strong domestically but get smashed in Europe.
Don't think Rodgers or the Celtic fans would accept that. Rodgers stock will only go up if he can start to get further in Europe and they will need to spend decent money to get anywhere near a replacement for O'Riley. If they are at risk of losing Kyogo and Hatate as well then they will have to splash a lot of cash although no doubt will bring in a fair few if they sell them too.
Cabbage-Patch
21-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Wonder if its Souleymane Diarra and Unseen Work has done it again
Could be wrong but I believe it's Joe Hodge the lad from Wolves on loan. Was agreed a few weeks ago but wanted time to mull it over(or see if anyone else was interested would be my guess)
21-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Exactly my point.They don’t need to sign SPFL players. They’ve just paid I think their largest fee -that’s not for domestic games. They’ve got more money than they’ve ever had . The rewards in Europe are large -more games to play and I think that they’ll be looking to spend bigger than McGowan.
21-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Don't think Rodgers or the Celtic fans would accept that. Rodgers stock will only go up if he can start to get further in Europe and they will need to spend decent money to get anywhere near a replacement for O'Riley. If they are at risk of losing Kyogo and Hatate as well then they will have to splash a lot of cash although no doubt will bring in a fair few if they sell them too.
They’ve had millions and millions in the bank for years and never really spent it. Remember, O’Riley came in for £1.5m from MK Dons. They buy cheap and try and develop. They might go bigger on one but I don’t think they’ll do much.
GreenPJ
Could be wrong but I believe it's Joe Hodge the lad from Wolves on loan. Was agreed a few weeks ago but wanted time to mull it over(or see if anyone else was interested would be my guess)
Two loan CDM's would not seem the best planning unless there was an option to buy one of them.
Celtic 'reject' 3 Cameron Carter-Vickers' approaches as Atalanta and Turkish pair make interest known
⬇️⬇️⬇️
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…
21-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Be absolutely buzzing at that!
21-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Exactly my point.They don’t need to sign SPFL players. They’ve just paid I think their largest fee -that’s not for domestic games. They’ve got more money than they’ve ever had . The rewards in Europe are large -more games to play and I think that they’ll be looking to spend bigger than McGowan.
They’ve had millions in the bank for years and don’t go out spending a fortune. I don’t think it’ll be much different unless they lose someone they’re not expecting to and have a bit of a panic.
They paid that fee because they’re shopping in an over inflated market. Idah isn’t the type that’s going to massively improve them in the Champions League.
21-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Two loan CDM's would not seem the best planning unless there was an option to buy one of them.
Hodge can play CDM but he's much more of a box to box player.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 04:33 PM
If we haven't had confirmation they’ll accept the bid after we play then I hope we've already moved on.
Think Dundee would prefer the money but also think they'd be perfectly fine keeping the player for the season.
Be interesting to see if he’s in their team or not this weekend.
Mate told me ( Celtic fan) they are in talks for a midfielder called ‘ Alvyn Sanches ‘ .
21-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Watford have a real good solid defence now, it has taken a wee bit of time, but they is doing good.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 04:38 PM
I see Skysports reporting Gundogan could be going back to Man City , was surprised they let him go in the first place.
21-08-2024, 04:43 PM
They’ve had millions in the bank for years and don’t go out spending a fortune. I don’t think it’ll be much different unless they lose someone they’re not expecting to and have a bit of a panic.
They paid that fee because they’re shopping in an over inflated market. Idah isn’t the type that’s going to massively improve them in the Champions League.
I've thought for years they would rather keep the domestic competition alive with Sevco than spend the money required to compete in Europe. Taken the easy option along with a full bank account and that won't change with Lawwell there...
21-08-2024, 04:44 PM
I see Skysports reporting Gundogan could be going back to Man City , was surprised they let him go in the first place.
If he wanted to leave last year they wouldn't have been able to stop him.
21-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Another player we’ve missed out on. Kensell. 🤬
21-08-2024, 04:46 PM
I've thought for years they would rather keep the domestic competition alive with Sevco than spend the money required to compete in Europe. Taken the easy option along with a full bank account and that won't change with Lawwell there...
As an outsider I kind of get it if I'm honest. Need to ***** so much more money to be competitive in Europe. Don't really get the point in that when they already clean up domestically with their current model.
As a fan it must be so frustrating, but if I’m honest I get it.
21-08-2024, 04:53 PM
It’s absolutely fine as long as we use that time to identify replacements for next season.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 04:53 PM
If he wanted to leave last year they wouldn't have been able to stop him.
That’s true , looks like he’s open to going back now as City are wanting him . Good player.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Another player we’ve missed out on. Kensell. 🤬
To old anyhow :greengrin
21-08-2024, 04:57 PM
Watford have a real good solid defence now, it has taken a wee bit of time, but they is doing good.
Have they? Where's Porteous?
Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2024, 05:03 PM
supermcginn
21-08-2024, 05:09 PM
That’s true , looks like he’s open to going back now as City are wanting him . Good player.
Barca have told him to leave, they need to clear his wage in order to register Olmo.
21-08-2024, 05:10 PM
13037 posts of which about 12937 are complete *****.
Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Over 13000 posts of which about 12900 are complete *****.
Are you new here? :greengrin
21-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Make that 12938
Hibiza
21-08-2024, 05:14 PM
Like win a game.
Bridge hibs
21-08-2024, 05:16 PM
Dont be so hard on yourself mate, I enjoy some of your posts 🫣
21-08-2024, 05:17 PM
Is it not this season that if they win a double including the league they’ll take that absurd “most successful club in the world” title that The Rangers mythically created 😀 I think they’re on the same amount of trophies but Celtic are one behind in league titles. They’ll not give a hoot about Euro success, they’ll want to usurp their neighbours and bask in that parochial glory.
HendoDelivered
21-08-2024, 05:22 PM
Gray talking up Bevan in the EEN. Article also says Nisbet is unlikely to return.
21-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Unsure how I feel about this Hodge
He’s making a decision on us and been training etc, not like a random agent saying here’s 5 clubs pick one. Hes actually been up and seen the environment etc and he’s still undecided - to me that says not keen but is living in hope a better option comes up
Keep in mind this is a lad who’s not done a huge amount and never played a great deal for a struggling QPR team
That said; if he scored the winner at the weekend I’ll be calling him a legend and best player since Sauzee by dinner time
21-08-2024, 05:26 PM
He’s making a decision on us and been training etc, not like a random agent saying here’s 5 clubs pick one. Hes actually been up and seen the environment etc and he’s still undecided - to me that says not keen but is living in hope a better option comes up
Keep in mind this is a lad who’s not done a huge amount and never played a great deal for a struggling QPR team
That said; if he scored the winner at the weekend I’ll be calling him a legend and best player since Sauzee by dinner time
Yup, me too.
TrinityHFC
21-08-2024, 05:28 PM
His Ireland coach called him half Xavi and half Iniesta. Not much to live up to.
21-08-2024, 05:31 PM
I’ve nae problem with players who have absolutely no affinity to Hibs waiting to see if a better offer comes along.
If you’re not a Hibs fan, why would you rush to sign for us?
Cabbage-Patch
21-08-2024, 05:33 PM
Gray talking up Bevan in the EEN. Article also says Nisbet is unlikely to return.
That confirms Nisbet will go to Aberdeen then i guess. A downgrade on Miovski but still a proven goalscorer in the league.
Also admits the interest in Rocky is bollocks so he's going nowhere but looks like we are keen to give Bevan another go.
Also says we aren't actively looking for another striker. Surprised by that because if Bowie or myko gets injured then we are struggling. Wonder if he plans to play Boyle as a secondary striker.
21-08-2024, 05:33 PM
Warming the bench this past Saturday....
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 05:34 PM
He starts and instantly makes us better.
It's a no brainer. If we can agree a deal, get him back.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Is he better than Bowie and Kukharevych though ? Personally, I see a hungry capable and potentially improving player in Bowie, and Kuk has showed with our first league goal - and against Celtic - that he might be too. Always opinions though…
That confirms Nisbet will go to Aberdeen then i guess. A downgrade on Miovski but still a proven goalscorer in the league.
Also admits the interest in Rocky is bollocks so he's going nowhere but looks like we are keen to give Bevan another go.
Also says we aren't actively looking for another striker. Surprised by that because if Bowie or myko gets injured then we are struggling. Wonder if he plans to play Boyle as a secondary striker.
Weird, did he not say only last week we’d be looking to replace Vente? We absolutely need another striker in.
Both John McGinn and Scott Allan explored other options before committing to Hibs, neither were desperate to sign for us.
Hodge can play 6, 8, or 10 according to the chat when he was here training
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 05:41 PM
Someone start a thread asking him to come back.
I’m late to the party here, and scared to look at the forum … please tell me it’s not happened. He isn’t a good people manager imho .. he got away with it soonish after playing for Celtic, as there was respect for his playing time there … but apart from that … where is the positive evidence of management credentials … looks like he’s chasing jobs now, and trying to big himself up from what I’ve seen by saying he briefly chatted with clubs that were below his level. I mean, come on …
LunasBoots
21-08-2024, 05:43 PM
Seems like a injury crock, which is a bit worrying
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 05:45 PM
Well said, I will certainly bear that in mind in my future posts. Unfortunately it is abundantly clear certain posters on here will not allow you to criticise the club in any way and are ready to jump down your throat if you do. In any walk of life you should be open to constructive challenge and held accountable for your actions should they lead to a negative outcome.
Hmm, I don’t see that in your posts though. Not sure why you are telling me well said.
21-08-2024, 05:46 PM
Seems like a injury crock, which is a bit worrying
Whizzbit or Bevan? 😁
21-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Both John McGinn and Scott Allan explored other options before committing to Hibs, neither were desperate to sign for us.
Mcginn has admitted to not wanting to sign for Hibs initially
21-08-2024, 05:52 PM
His Ireland coach called him half Xavi and half Iniesta. Not much to live up to.
We've not had anyone bigged up like that since we signed the Gambian Roberto Carlos.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 05:57 PM
Shouldn't have to wait for time to tell.!!!
I don’t know. If time doesn’t tell though, then what does ? Players don’t come with guarantees stamped on their foreheads. Time will tell if our recruitment is improving …
Hodge can play CDM but he's much more of a box to box player.
Is he instead of McCowan or as well as?
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 06:00 PM
Players need time to gel with new teammates , get their fitness up and so on . Even in the case of McCowan if we got him , I’d still expect him to need some time to settle in too .
Yup. Henrik Larsson wasn’t an instant hit in Scotland … and look how he developed. Hopefully players like Bowie develop well … he is talking the talk so far, and showed some hints of what he can do in a good team.
21-08-2024, 06:05 PM
Weird, did he not say only last week we’d be looking to replace Vente? We absolutely need another striker in.
Yeah. The article actually says we aren’t looking for another likely starter at centre forward.
21-08-2024, 06:06 PM
Yeah. The article actually says we aren’t looking for another likely starter at centre forward.
Ah, that makes more sense. Cheers
ruthven_raiders
21-08-2024, 06:07 PM
I don't see any direct quotes from Gray, so taking that article with a pinch of salt, we definitely need another striker, but we are in need of a goalkeeper too....
21-08-2024, 06:10 PM
I don't see any direct quotes from Gray, so taking that article with a pinch of salt, we definitely need another striker, but we are in need of a goalkeeper too....
It's a midfield we need, if we fail in getting that then neither defence nor attack will function as we expect them to.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 06:12 PM
Kyogo is a terrific player no doubt but Man City level? Not sure about that. Celtic by losing O'Riley and Kyogo at this late stage would seem to be keeping Sevco in a two horse race instead of disappearing into the sunset...
Depends on who they are lining up to replace them with … and I’d expect they would be on that now. Should be, could be a huge chunk of money coming in to them with those two. l
Anyway … I want to see who we get, not them lol
21-08-2024, 06:25 PM
Depends on who they are lining up to replace them with … and I’d expect they would be on that now. Should be, could be a huge chunk of money coming in to them with those two. l
Anyway … I want to see who we get, not them lol
Same here, I just take a passing interest in Celtic not taking advantage of driving Sevco into the ground which they could easily do if the will was there. Those two sets of bams can carry on with their two horse race lol....
ruthven_raiders
21-08-2024, 06:53 PM
It's a midfield we need, if we fail in getting that then neither defence nor attack will function as we expect them to.
Yeh central midfield is a must and not got long to address that area too....
21-08-2024, 06:59 PM
Yup. Henrik Larsson wasn’t an instant hit in Scotland … and look how he developed. Hopefully players like Bowie develop well … he is talking the talk so far, and showed some hints of what he can do in a good team.
I recall he had a good start with an assist on his debut.
21-08-2024, 07:03 PM
Stevie May joins Livingston on loan
21-08-2024, 07:08 PM
Have to admit I was expecting in and out activity by now. Still a fair bit left to do and now only nine days to go about it.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:09 PM
We were never getting Jebbison on loan.
No chance he’d have agreed to sign for them if that was his development plan
I unfortunately agree. It also clarifies where we sit in the group of clubs. I had hoped the upward strengthening of clubs outwith Bournemouth, eg , us … would be a part of the whole set up … lift us above the norm we have below the rangers and the other half. There are massive opportunities to strengthen clubs outwith the EPL club, financially they are in a different league, so it won’t hurt them … not sure why it’s not starting to show … eg .. sign a strong potential but not quite EPL ready player for Bournemouth, on the lower tier of their wage structure (which will dwarf clubs most elsewhere the player could go to) with the explicit upfront agreement he goes on loan to, eg, us, to prove he can smash it elsewhere and is perhaps good enough for EPL.
21-08-2024, 07:11 PM
Is he better than Bowie and Kukharevych though ? Personally, I see a hungry capable and potentially improving player in Bowie, and Kuk has showed with our first league goal - and against Celtic - that he might be too. Always opinions though…
He is certainly more of a proven player in our league.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 07:13 PM
I was trying to think of players we had that took awhile to settle in / get use to the league …. Doidge ? .
Like what I’ve seen of Bowie so far , strong and seems to work hard . Hopefully when his fitness is up to speed we will see him improve further.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:17 PM
A case of either it’s been accepted and both parties are waiting till after our game this weekend or are they just waiting to see if anyone else comes in for him .
If Celtic are truly part of the equation, then Dundee can sit and wait as they know they will either outbid us, or pull in other potential bidders if they drift away. Dundee hold the cards. He will be sold this window I believe.
I’m also sure if he was our player and another Scottish club were bidding, we’d be saying as fans, stuff them and play him for us meantime.
21-08-2024, 07:18 PM
I was trying to think of players we had that took awhile to settle in / get use to the league …. Doidge ? .
Like what I’ve seen of Bowie so far , strong and seems to work hard . Hopefully when his fitness is up to speed we will see him improve further.
I don't recall the newly signed Boyle being the player he eventually became, maybe it's me getting old but I recall being underwhelmed when we first got him which shows how much I know....
Cabbage-Patch
21-08-2024, 07:20 PM
McCowan is not happening we need to just put that to bed I think. We should go after Cameron instead decent young prospect and certainly more of an option than Josh Campbell
21-08-2024, 07:25 PM
We were never getting Jebbison on loan.
No chance he’d have agreed to sign for them if that was his development plan
I don't disagree about Jebbison, but it does leave me less enthused about the whole thing. I get it's not just about them giving us players, but that was part of it.
If they're not sending the better of their loan players to us then what's the point? Bournemouth are hardly renowned for their youth development are they? So we'll just get some young players in the hope they shine up here. We can do that with any English club.
21-08-2024, 07:28 PM
McCowan is not happening we need to just put that to bed I think. We should go after Cameron instead decent young prospect and certainly more of an option than Josh Campbell
If Dundee aren't dealing for McCowan are they likely to let Cameron go? Must be of similar value to them.
I don't recall the newly signed Boyle being the player he eventually became, maybe it's me getting old but I recall being underwhelmed when we first got him which shows how much I know....
At the time i thought it was a terrible deal, I felt Alex Harris was a far better option
Cat Stanton
We've not had anyone bigged up like that since we signed the Gambian Roberto Carlos.
Don't! Don't!
Jesus, the flashbacks. Back to the therapist tomorrow.
21-08-2024, 07:30 PM
McCowan is not happening we need to just put that to bed I think. We should go after Cameron instead decent young prospect and certainly more of an option than Josh CampbellWhat makes you think it's not happening?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:31 PM
Maybe my memory playing up, but I thought he came on for his debut when we beat them 2-1 ? Didn’t do very well that day at all, if I remember right. Players can take time to settle is the moral.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:32 PM
Same here, I just take a passing interest in Celtic not taking advantage of driving Sevco into the ground which they could easily do if the will was there. Those two sets of bams can carry on with their two horse race lol....
👍
21-08-2024, 07:32 PM
Millwall sign another Striker/winger this evening. Imagine Nisbet will be on his way out shortly.
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:33 PM
Lol … just realised what you mean … indeed 😂
21-08-2024, 07:33 PM
Maybe my memory playing up, but I thought he came on for his debut when we beat them 2-1 ? Didn’t do very well that day at all, if I remember right. Players can take time to settle is the moral.
I think the assist was for Charnley 🙂
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:34 PM
I think the assist was for Charnley 🙂
Yup, my brain caught up now haha
I don't recall the newly signed Boyle being the player he eventually became, maybe it's me getting old but I recall being underwhelmed when we first got him which shows how much I know....Took him a year before he clicked.
Willie Irvine Mk1. Yonks ago but he stank when he arrived then it all clicked for him.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Cabbage-Patch
21-08-2024, 07:35 PM
If Dundee aren't dealing for McCowan are they likely to let Cameron go? Must be of similar value to them.
They won't value Cameron at anything near that they value McCowan. Not sure how long he has left on his contract but surely we could get him for 200-500k?
McCowan is not happening we need to just put that to bed I think.
Have you told Hibs?
Cabbage-Patch
21-08-2024, 07:37 PM
Have you told Hibs?
If he starts for them Saturday we will finally know I guess
tug.lismore
21-08-2024, 07:39 PM
If he starts for them Saturday we will finally know I guessNot sure that is really the case.
Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk
McGruber
21-08-2024, 07:41 PM
They won't value Cameron at anything near that they value McCowan. Not sure how long he has left on his contract but surely we could get him for 200-500k?
Not seen enough of Cameron. Played well v Hearts so we want him but then so did Dylan Tait. Think Cameron will turn out to be a very good player, just not seen enough to know
21-08-2024, 07:43 PM
Allan and McGinn had both played a decent amount of games and were very well thought of and never trained with us to weigh us up first
Hodge has played about 10 games, admittedly some in the premier league but latterly for a struggling championship team where he wasn’t a first pick.
I appreciate he could come in and be brilliant and some may not think the same as me, but I’m at the stage where it’s a we wish him well getting a better club and we move on to the next target
21-08-2024, 07:43 PM
If he starts for them Saturday we will finally know I guess
Don't agree with that at all.
21-08-2024, 07:44 PM
They 100% would
They’d get about 500k for him as compensation if he left next summer
Too player
cubehindthegoal
21-08-2024, 07:46 PM
He is certainly more of a proven player in our league.
Some of the time but not all .. I remember many of our fans tearing their hair out with some of his performances for us. But then his record is ok I guess stat wise. Still feel Bowie has more about him, including drive and ambition … for example, I could see Bowie being more likely to make something of the opportunity if a Scotland first team cap came along.
Boyle just improved over his years here, through hard work. Wasn't a settling in issue imo.
He was already quite important come the end of his loan here. Started the final day in the game to secure second. Scored too.
MikeyS
We should all know by now not to believe manager/coaches when it comes to transfer talk!
21-08-2024, 07:50 PM
Don't agree with that at all.
Neither do i
21-08-2024, 07:55 PM
We should all know by now not to believe manager/coaches when it comes to transfer talk!
Since been cleared up that we're not looking for another starting striker, which makes more sense. Basically, we're not interested in Nisbet.
21-08-2024, 07:59 PM
Took him a year before he clicked.
Willie Irvine Mk1. Yonks ago but he stank when he arrived then it all clicked for him.
Sorry but I think its a Hibs.net myth that Boyle was crap for us when he first signed.
Whilst he obviously improved greatly over the years, he had some excellent games in that first season after he signed in 2014/15.
CentreForward
21-08-2024, 07:59 PM
Since been cleared up that we're not looking for another starting striker, which makes more sense. Basically, we're not interested in Nisbet.
Where have you heard that we’re not looking for another starting striker?
21-08-2024, 08:01 PM
https://x.com/edinburghsport/status/1826303692535980520?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg
“ With Mykola Kuharevich and Kieron Bowie just in the door, Gray wouldn’t be looking for another likely starter at centre forward.”
No quotes from the manager but guessing the journalist just have been told that outside of the interview.
21-08-2024, 08:04 PM
Don’t think i believe that
21-08-2024, 08:08 PM
Don’t think i believe that
How come?
Makes complete sense imo, we have Myko and Bowie expecting to start the season up front this year.
Striker we bring in will be a young striker with potential looking to get closer to first team football I think.
21-08-2024, 08:09 PM
I don't disagree about Jebbison, but it does leave me less enthused about the whole thing. I get it's not just about them giving us players, but that was part of it.
If they're not sending the better of their loan players to us then what's the point? Bournemouth are hardly renowned for their youth development are they? So we'll just get some young players in the hope they shine up here. We can do that with any English club.
We can still do that with any club.Not all of them will toss in six million of course.:greengrin
21-08-2024, 08:13 PM
Mateusz Bogusz £8m move to Celtic close... and Arne Engels still on agenda to join him 👀
✍️ @ScottBurns75
21-08-2024, 08:14 PM
Mateusz Bogusz £8m move to Celtic close... and Arne Engels still on agenda to join him 👀
✍️ @ScottBurns75
No chance they're in for McCowan then
If he starts for them Saturday we will finally know I guessWe will know when the window closes.
Sorry but I think its a Hibs.net myth that Boyle was crap for us when he first signed.
Whilst he obviously improved greatly over the years, he had some excellent games in that first season after he signed in 2014/15.
You're forgiven but then again I never said he was crap. You must have read that in your head.
He improved because Lennon improved his decision making, which had been crap. Other parts of his game had been fine/good but his decision making was poor up till then.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 08:32 PM
✍️ @ScottBurns75
Posted earlier about these players . I think Bogusz has mainly being playing as a striker though can play as an attacking midfielder. The other guy I was told that Celtic were in talks about is Alvyn Sanches who I think is a CM .
21-08-2024, 08:34 PM
Posted earlier about these players . I think Bogusz has mainly being playing as a striker though can play as an attacking midfielder. The other guy I was told that Celtic were in talks about is Alvyn Sanches who I think is a CM .
Still not sure Celtic will sign McCowan but there is still the strong possibility that Dundee hold on to him and allow him to move for nothing next season and possibly sign a pre with a club in January.
21-08-2024, 08:34 PM
No chance they're in for McCowan then
With very few exceptions Celtic's transfer policy appears to be to sign exciting prospects with significant resale potential.
I simply don't think McCowan ticks any of their boxes whatsoever.
21-08-2024, 08:35 PM
Out the LC and Challenge Cup , no reserve league and 5 free weekends before December may make club decide we don`t need another striker till winter window . Myko , Bowie , Boyle , McKirdy and 2 strikers wh score a lot in Under 18 team and will probably get some minutes this season . And will Youan definitely go this window ? Doesn`t mean we won`t sign someone like Nisbet if available but doubt it`s a priority . That said , if Nisbet is available within what we can pay and is fit to play I think we would and should try to sign him since we don`t know who`ll be available in winter window .
21-08-2024, 08:41 PM
With very few exceptions Celtic's transfer policy appears to be to sign exciting prospects with significant resale potential.
I simply don't think McCowan ticks any of their boxes whatsoever.
He’d go in and be a good shout to be a squad player who could be relied upon to play well in domestic matches whilst they rotate their squad to keep them all at peak fitness whilst they juggle domestic and European football. And relatively cheap for their standards.
I don’t think he’d be a bad buy for them at all.
21-08-2024, 08:44 PM
He’d go in and be a good shout to be a squad player who could be relied upon to play well in domestic matches whilst they rotate their squad to keep them all at peak fitness whilst they juggle domestic and European football. And relatively cheap for their standards.
I don’t think he’d be a bad buy for them at all.
It's just not what Celtic do, unless it's a keeper. They buy young Scottish talent to fill that European quota with the view of making a slight profit. In my opinion, they won't be touching a player about to turn 27. Fully appreciate 27 is nowhere near old.
McGruber
21-08-2024, 08:47 PM
If Nisbet is affordable and fit we should be in for him.
Not sure I follow the logic that we aren't after a starting striker - almost like saying we don't want him because he's better than what we've got and would improve us. We want someone less good who will be happy not to play.
Should be looking to improve the team with every signing.
Hoping Myko stays fit, if he does hope he can hit close to 20. If Bowie plays through the middle hope he can hit close to 20. Neither have ever had those numbers so can only hope. Nisbet fit does score that amount, proven at this level.
21-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Not sure I follow the logic that we aren't after a starting striker - almost like saying we don't want him because he's better than what we've got and would improve us. We want someone less good who will be happy not to play.
Hoping Myko stays fit, if he does hope he can hit close to 20. If Bowie plays through the middle hope he can hit close to 20. Neither have ever had those numbers so can only hope. Nisbet fit does score that amount, proven at this level.
Who's to say Nisbet stays fit? He has a pretty poor injury history as well. It's also only a loan deal as far as I'm aware. I know plenty will disagree, but I think Myko is a better player than Nisbet.
It's just a modern football club model, three for each position. Starter, back up/pushing for starter and a youth player. Rodgers was going on about it before they played us on Sunday.
21-08-2024, 08:55 PM
How come?
Makes complete sense imo, we have Myko and Bowie expecting to start the season up front this year.
Striker we bring in will be a young striker with potential looking to get closer to first team football I think.
You may be right though thought Bowie more a wide player.
Hibees1973
21-08-2024, 09:00 PM
Exactly...aren't after a starting striker. What a ridiculous comment wherever that came from.
If it is, surely we are not going down this development charade thing again.
Do we really think we would sign a player and advise him he's not starting.
TrinityHFC
21-08-2024, 09:01 PM
Exactly...aren't after a starting striker. What a ridiculous comment wherever that came from.
You don’t half talk some nonsense.
21-08-2024, 09:02 PM
We aren’t going to sign another starting striker. Bowie and Myko will be on plenty. They must end up being starters for us.
Hibees1973
21-08-2024, 09:04 PM
You don’t half talk some nonsense.
You funny.....particularly after your posts over the last few days.
McGruber
21-08-2024, 09:18 PM
We aren’t going to sign another starting striker. Bowie and Myko will be on plenty. They must end up being starters for us.
We need goals in the team, no brainer for me to bring him in if it's doable. You need goals to finish in top 3 or 4. When we finished 3rd last time we had Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet - all played a huge part in the season, all posted big numbers for goals and most of the time played in the same team.
With Boyle not looking like the player of old and Youan for the off we absolutely need another striker - would like that to be the best version of a striker we can bring in, most importantly someone we know can score.
Whoever we bring in will play games, one of Myko or Bowie will pick up an injury at some point. If we aren't looking to bring in the best we can might aswell leave it and play with one of the youngsters
cameronw-hfc
21-08-2024, 09:18 PM
I don't think we're saying he's better than what we have with the starting striker comment. I actually took it more the opposite, ie, why would we sign someone who would want to start every game when we can't guarantee that as we've 2 highly rated players already in that role.
I think if we sign a striker it'll probably be an older head that won't mind not starting weekly and can help with bringing Bowie on.
I also think we just need other positions more than a striker currently so it wouldn't make sense to go for KN as much as I'd like us to. We don't have endlesd amounts of money to spend so if signing KN even on loan limits the chances we can sign a midfielder or defender, it would be a bad move imo.
21-08-2024, 09:20 PM
I’m also in favour of Hibs going for Lyall Cameron - think his contract expires this summer with Dundee.
Great energy in midfield and links play well.
Mark O’Hara is the other player but not sure if either on Hibs radar.
Myko I like but hasn’t ever played more than 15 games in a season and that was with Hibs.
Still think we need better players at the back with a keeper and a CB as my fear is we will always be vulnerable to concede.
21-08-2024, 09:31 PM
I’m also in favour of Hibs going for Lyall Cameron - think his contract expires this summer with Dundee.
Great energy in midfield and links play well.
Mark O’Hara is the other player but not sure if either on Hibs radar.
Myko I like but hasn’t ever played more than 15 games in a season and that was with Hibs.
Still think we need better players at the back with a keeper and a CB as my fear is we will always be vulnerable to concede.
Readings todays articles
I’ll be amazed if bevan isn’t a hibs player by end of the window
21-08-2024, 09:33 PM
Readings todays articles
Same and slightly worried by it. Leaves us yet again without a left footed CB and Bevan has had a few injuries the past year or so.
Seems highly rated by Bournemouth though, just hope he can stay fit.
21-08-2024, 09:38 PM
You're forgiven but then again I never said he was crap. You must have read that in your head.
He improved because Lennon improved his decision making, which had been crap. Other parts of his game had been fine/good but his decision making was poor up till then.
You said he "stank". If that doesn't mean crap then I don't know what does. Either way it wasn't true.
He did improve as I said, but his decision making was never crap or poor. The role Lennon played was also overplayed IMO - Boyle just naturally got better as he aged, which is perfectly normal.
CentreForward
21-08-2024, 09:39 PM
https://x.com/edinburghsport/status/1826303692535980520?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg
“ With Mykola Kuharevich and Kieron Bowie just in the door, Gray wouldn’t be looking for another likely starter at centre forward.”
No quotes from the manager but guessing the journalist just have been told that outside of the interview.
Wouldn’t read too much into that. Even when Vente was still here still thought we needed another striker in so now he’s gone makes it even more necessary. Maybe not going to be one who is an instant starter but we certainly need someone else in.
21-08-2024, 09:40 PM
Readings todays articles
100% unless we get an LCB. But with Cadden coming in we could se more of Obita as an LCB. It’s not great but it’s all work in progress. We should have had a Hanlon replacement ready for the last 3 years.
CentreForward
21-08-2024, 09:42 PM
if one of those two gets injured we are down to the bare bones in the striking department. Bowie isn’t even a striker although think we are hoping to give him a chance there.
You said he "stank". If that doesn't mean crap then I don't know what does. Either way it wasn't true.
You didn't read the post properly. Go back, read it and stop arguing nonsense.
He did improve as I said, but his decision making was never crap or poor. The role Lennon played was also overplayed IMO - Boyle just naturally got better as he aged, which is perfectly normal.
His decision making was obviously questionable to anyone watching. Like Sproule before him he had his head down half the time and had a shot when he should have passed or vice versa. Under Lennon, yes he was older, but his decision making improved immensely and he flourished from then on. You might see it differently but, that's opinions.
21-08-2024, 09:51 PM
if one of those two gets injured we are down to the bare bones in the striking department. Bowie isn’t even a striker although think we are hoping to give him a chance there.
Looks like Bowie has played as central striker more than any other position in his career.
21-08-2024, 09:59 PM
You didn't read the post properly. Go back, read it and stop arguing nonsense.
His decision making was obviously questionable to anyone watching. Like Sproule before him he had his head down half the time and had a shot when he should have passed or vice versa. Under Lennon, yes he was older, but his decision making improved immensely and he flourished from then on. You might see it differently but, that's opinions.
Well to be fair you called him Willie Irvine Mark II, who you thought stank - so its not unreasonable to assume you also thought Boyle stank. If you didn't though then I apologise!
Yeah I disagree with that second bit, as you say opinions, so fair play:aok:
21-08-2024, 10:00 PM
Readings todays articles
Bevan still follows Hibs socials..
I’m not convinced that would be a good signing especially with his injury history and what happened last time we signed him.
He's played 30 mins in the last 9 months.
Would rather we go for more experience and someone who isn’t going to take a few months to get match fit. Yes I understand doesn’t matter of age V experi nice but with such a long keeper we need someone to add some leadership at the back.
CentreForward
21-08-2024, 10:01 PM
Looks like Bowie has played as central striker more than any other position in his career.
Yes know he has played there a bit though 19 goals in 112 league starts doesn’t really suggest that he has been prolific. Don’t get me wrong as I am really excited by us signing him and think he may well do really well for us. Certainly like what I have seen of him so far.
Donegal Hibby
21-08-2024, 10:05 PM
Docherty in DR saying McCowan fully focused on downing Hibs not joining them after chats . Its strange that it mentions two bids rejected , no word about the 3rd but says we might come in with another before the window closes..
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/luke-mccowan-fully-focused-downing-33513897
21-08-2024, 10:08 PM
Regarding Nisbet - I wouldn’t be that bothered if we keep Youan and he’s in the mood to play.
But if we sell him and lose Vente / Myziane - we loose quite a few goals and assist meaning Bowie and Myko plus Boyle / Hoilett need to add similar figures or we struggle.
Nisbet is different to Myko and Bowie he’s more of a poacher.
Well to be fair you called him Willie Irvine Mark II, who you thought stank - so its not unreasonable to assume you also thought Boyle stank. If you didn't though then I apologise!
Yeah I disagree with that second bit, as you say opinions, so fair play:aok:
No, I mentioned Willie Irvine M1 in the context of previous posts talking about players who got better over time. I didn't compare him to Boyle.
I was differentiating between Willie Irvine M1 and Willie Irvine M2 (a.k.a. Willie Irvine: The Movie) who was an entirely different person with the same name. Who stank and never got better at all.
If you didn't see Boyle's decision making improve under Lennon, that's no fault of mine. It was pretty noticeable.
21-08-2024, 10:14 PM
No, I mentioned Willie Irvine M1 in the context of previous posts talking about players who got better over time. I didn't compare him to Boyle.
I was differentiating between Willie Irvine M1 and Willie Irvine M2 (a.k.a. Willie Irvine: The Movie) who was an entirely different person with the same name. Who stank and never got better at all.
If you didn't see Boyle's decision making improve under Lennon, that's no fault of mine. It was pretty noticeable.
Fair enough, your post left room for ambiguity though.
Its no fault of mine you weren't watching Boyle properly in his early days. :wink:
Fair enough, your post left room for ambiguity though.
Its no fault of mine you weren't watching Boyle properly in his early days. :wink:[emoji106]
21-08-2024, 11:33 PM
I think we've been strung along with false hope regarding McCowan for a while now. The noise and feelings coming out just don't fill me with any optimism that there's any chance we'll be signing him. All this 'he won't be in either squad for our meeting' etc. I can bet you anything he'll be lining up against us this weekend.
21-08-2024, 11:36 PM
I think we've been strung along with false hope regarding McCowan for a while now. The noise and feelings coming out just don't fill me with any optimism that there's any chance we'll be signing him. All this 'he won't be in either squad for our meeting' etc. I can bet you anything he'll be lining up against us this weekend.
He'll be signing for us or no one in my opinion. No chance Celtic want him. Fact we haven't heard anything of the third bid makes me think he'll be a Hibs player before the end of the window.
I think he's a good player and he'll definitely improve us, but I think he's potentially been built up to be a better player than he actually is with how long this has gone on for.
22-08-2024, 02:01 AM
He'll be signing for us or no one in my opinion. No chance Celtic want him. Fact we haven't heard anything of the third bid makes me think he'll be a Hibs player before the end of the window.
I think he's a good player and he'll definitely improve us, but I think he's potentially been built up to be a better player than he actually is with how long this has gone on for.
Oh I don't think he's going to Celtic at all, I don't believe they've even had any real concrete interest. I think many things just point to him staying with Dundee and people are clinging onto any small amount of hope they can get. I'd personally be delighted if we get him, but I don't want it to be a case of him or a panic last minute filler. I also find it strange that in certain places it's been reported that the 3rd bid was infact already rejected..
22-08-2024, 05:07 AM
You are correct, Boyle improved massively under Lennon.
22-08-2024, 05:35 AM
We will know when the window closes.
You surely mean slams shut?
22-08-2024, 05:51 AM
Out the LC and Challenge Cup , no reserve league and 5 free weekends before December may make club decide we don`t need another striker till winter window . Myko , Bowie , Boyle , McKirdy and 2 strikers wh score a lot in Under 18 team and will probably get some minutes this season . And will Youan definitely go this window ? Doesn`t mean we won`t sign someone like Nisbet if available but doubt it`s a priority . That said , if Nisbet is available within what we can pay and is fit to play I think we would and should try to sign him since we don`t know who`ll be available in winter window .
I think the club will decide we don’t need another striker, purely because we don’t need another striker. We already have 2 when we only play with 1.
To add to that we have others in the squad like Boyle, Youan, McKirdy and Landers who play there.
Docherty in DR saying McCowan fully focused on downing Hibs not joining them after chats . Its strange that it mentions two bids rejected , no word about the 3rd but says we might come in with another before the window closes..
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/luke-mccowan-fully-focused-downing-33513897
Standard manager chat.
big gogs
22-08-2024, 06:02 AM
Standard manager chat.
If the daily record told me today was Thursday,I would check the calendar.
22-08-2024, 06:14 AM
Standard manager chat.
Exactly. Can you imagine any player telling his manager "all this transfer speculation - my head's all over the place, I can't focus on playing"? Even if that's actually the case!
22-08-2024, 06:17 AM
Exactly. Can you imagine any player telling his manager "all this transfer speculation - my head's all over the place, I can't focus on playing"? Even if that's actually the case!
Yes just ask Kevin Nisbet 😂
22-08-2024, 06:23 AM
If that were true they are going to end up with one unhappy player as it means they have been stringing him along too.
22-08-2024, 06:26 AM
I would be surprised if he doesn't sign for us to be honest just how the bids have gone. Don't think he will play Saturday but may be wrong on that
22-08-2024, 06:27 AM
I would be surprised if he doesn't sign for us to be honest just how the bids have gone. Don't think he will play Saturday but may be wrong on that
I reckon he’ll play Saturday and still sign for us next week
22-08-2024, 06:29 AM
Just hope doesn't get injured
22-08-2024, 06:36 AM
Standard manager chat.
We signing someone from Liege? 🤔
TrinityHFC
22-08-2024, 06:47 AM
You funny.....particularly after your posts over the last few days.
Different poster.
22-08-2024, 06:48 AM
Not entirely sure how or why however after reading that I’m convinced he will be a Hibs player by the end of the window
GreenPJ
22-08-2024, 06:54 AM
Strung along by who? Any of the noise/feelings has come from the fan base not the respective clubs.
22-08-2024, 07:08 AM
Suspect he’ll be pulled from Sat squad last min and be a Hibs player next week. Both will have already agreed the fee and that he shouldn’t play for either team Sat.
Then again, if he plays Sat, think you can kiss goodbye to Hibs hopes of getting him.
22-08-2024, 07:13 AM
Did this exact thing happen with Hibs, Dunfermline and Stevie Crawford? They wanted him, we were due to play them early on (cup perhaps?) It wasn't happening then as soon as the game had passed Hibs demands miraculously and dramatically dropped and he signed for Dunfermline.
That's my recollection and suspect the above might be right in this case
22-08-2024, 07:40 AM
You are correct, Boyle improved massively under Lennon.
Stats dont back that up.
He had a better goals and assists rate per game in the league under Stubbs in 15/16 than he did under Lennon in 16/17.
His real huge improvement came when Jack Ross was appointed.
sauzee1989
22-08-2024, 07:44 AM
I think he will sign on deadline day. No way are Dundee gonna let his contract run down and no way are Celtic interested. That’s just his agent wanting hibs to get desperate and offer one million quick
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 07:56 AM
Not entirely sure how or why however after reading that I’m convinced he will be a Hibs player by the end of the window
With us not hearing anything about the 3rd bid since we made the offer I’m probably slightly more hopeful we will get him now , should hear one way or the other after the game .
Also beginning to think ( might be wrong) that Youan might stay with us if he’s still getting himself back fit , might not see Hoilett before the break which is a bit disappointing…..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ps25-million-rated-attacker-flying-in-bid-to-prove-fitness-with-transfer-deadline-looming-4751736
22-08-2024, 08:00 AM
Stats dont back that up.
He had a better goals and assists rate per game in the league under Stubbs in 15/16 than he did under Lennon in 16/17.
He made significantly more starts and played significantly more minutes that season under Lennon because he was improving his all round game. Lennon was also in charge for more than that one season in the Championship.
When Lennon arrived he inherited a player who couldn’t get off the bench ahead of James Keatings in the cup final when we desperately needed a goal and when he left Boyle a key starter in the top flight and full Australian international.
In all competitions his numbers were better too under Lennon
15/16 - G/A every 204 mins
16/17 - G/A every 162 mins
22-08-2024, 08:01 AM
With us not hearing anything about the 3rd bid since we made the offer I’m probably slightly more hopeful we will get him now , should hear one way or the other after the game .
Also beginning to think ( might be wrong) that Youan might stay with us if he’s still getting himself back fit , might not see Hoilett before the break which is a bit disappointing…..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ps25-million-rated-attacker-flying-in-bid-to-prove-fitness-with-transfer-deadline-looming-4751736
It’s only 10 days until the break.
Pytheas
22-08-2024, 08:07 AM
I read that as the player is working hard to make sure he's not a Hibs player come september. I'd be really surprised if he's still here if he can get to the point of passing a medical.
This window or January is probably our last chance of getting that size of fee for him, unless of course he has a blinding season and clubs are fighting over him next summer but at that point he only has a year left.
"There is always a chance of him getting a move because of what he’s done previously. But he also knows he needs to get back fit. So his full focus has been on getting as fit as he can."
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 08:09 AM
It’s only 10 days until the break.
Two games in between though , I had hoped we might have seen Hoilett before then though after thinking about it if this weekend’s game is to soon it’s probably not worth the risk of a set back on killies pitch either.
Dundee Courier mentions 3rd bid rejected for McCowan and no new bids since last week here , funny how there’s no other word of it in the media….
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/5064802/transfer-wrangle-wont-stop-luke-mccowan-hibs-dundee-tony-docherty/
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 08:13 AM
Did he not say we only let Vente go because we had someone of at least the same quality coming in. Would be crazy to go with just myko and Bowie up top.
22-08-2024, 08:21 AM
Did he not say we only let Vente go because we had someone of at least the same quality coming in. Would be crazy to go with just myko and Bowie up top.
I'm sure I read the same thing. If he didn't say it then it was a strange thing to report.
In fact here is the quote
Are you considering bringing in someone else?
“It's definitely something we'd need to look towards, 100%. You need that competition for places. At the same time, though, it's not as straightforward as just going and signing a centre-forward. You've already seen it can be very difficult to bring the right people in. I keep going back to it - it's about the right type of people we bring in, you just don't go and sign a striker. The person you bring has to be able to affect the group in a positive way, and anyone coming in needs to be at least at [Dylan's] level or else you'd put yourself in a weakened situation."
WestStandWillie
22-08-2024, 08:21 AM
He definitely said something about same quality as Vente but not sure the context. Myko's previous with injuries suggests to me there's something in the pipeline
22-08-2024, 08:23 AM
I'm away to look up the Botswana 3rd division free transfers.
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 08:24 AM
I read that as the player is working hard to make sure he's not a Hibs player come september. I'd be really surprised if he's still here if he can get to the point of passing a medical.
This window or January is probably our last chance of getting that size of fee for him, unless of course he has a blinding season and clubs are fighting over him next summer but at that point he only has a year left.
"There is always a chance of him getting a move because of what he’s done previously. But he also knows he needs to get back fit. So his full focus has been on getting as fit as he can."
I suppose it all comes down to if he can get to the point where he can pass a medical, I just read into it that while he’s making good progress but it sounded like he still had some way to go yet and bearing in mind the window closes a week this Friday it’s not a lot of time .
Get what you’re saying about getting the best fee for him this window though wouldn’t be surprised to see him stay and do well with a move lined up in January instead.
Paulie Walnuts
22-08-2024, 08:28 AM
I suppose it all comes down to if he can get to the point where he can pass a medical, I just read into it that while he’s making good progress but it sounded like he still had some way to go yet and bearing in mind the window closes a week this Friday it’s not a lot of time .
Get what you’re saying about getting the best fee for him this window though wouldn’t be surprised to see him stay and do well with a move lined up in January instead.
He can still pass a medical with an injury. I’m not sure what his injury is, but say for example it was a pulled hammy, you’re not failing a medical on that.
You’re more likely to fail a medical if you’re not fully recovered from a major injury. In terms of minor injuries, he’d pass one no bother.
Greenworld
22-08-2024, 08:30 AM
Get what you’re saying about getting the best fee for him this window though wouldn’t be surprised to see him stay and do well with a move lined up in January instead.I would far rather keep him I know his faults but on his day he is some asset
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
TrinityHFC
22-08-2024, 08:54 AM
He can still pass a medical with an injury. I’m not sure what his injury is, but say for example it was a pulled hammy, you’re not failing a medical on that.
You’re more likely to fail a medical if you’re not fully recovered from a major injury. In terms of minor injuries, he’d pass one no bother.
Despite the language being used regularly you don’t pass or fail medicals. They provide information for the staff to make judgments on.
22-08-2024, 08:58 AM
Mikey Johnston looks like he's off to Burnley, think it's a permanent deal.
Paulie Walnuts
22-08-2024, 09:02 AM
Despite the language being used regularly you don’t pass or fail medicals. They provide information for the staff to make judgments on.
Well yes, that’s true as well :agree:
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 09:11 AM
I would far rather keep him I know his faults but on his day he is some asset
So would I as on his day he’s arguably our best player though we will probably get more for him now or January than waiting till next season when he has only a year left on his contract which puts us in a much weaker position to negotiate a decent fee .
If he does go we will need to replace him , that’s for sure . His goals, assists contribution last season was excellent. I still think Boyle will chip in with roughly what he had last season. Myko will score more than Vente . Hoilett and Bowie it’s hard to say how they’ll do .
Hibees1973
22-08-2024, 09:13 AM
A bit late blackpool.
Ian Gordon has pulled the data analysis already and pouring over the details.
22-08-2024, 09:23 AM
A bit late blackpool.
Ian Gordon has pulled the data analysis already and pouring over the details.
Take a day off. In fact make it a month.
WestStandWillie
I would far rather keep him I know his faults but on his day he is some asset
He doesn't want to be here. All these videos of him getting fit isn't for our benefit. Fractured relationship with large parts of the support, increased number of spats with fans on social media, already said his goodbyes at the end of last season.
He should have been moved on before now and the money used to strengthen the squad.
Assuming he doesn't go and starts playing again, he'll be moaned at for giving the ball away or not tracking back.
Pytheas
No he said IF someone comes in, they have to be of similar quality to Vente.
So 5 goals a season not too hard.
Sioux
22-08-2024, 09:34 AM
The important point is that medicals are required for insurance purposes. Players insured against the happening of an event which signals the end of a players career. The outcome of that medical will determine the cost of that insurance policy, or whether the insurance company will cover the risk at all.
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 09:41 AM
No he said IF someone comes in, they have to be of similar quality to Vente.
So 5 goals a season not too hard.
Would be crazy to go without another in my opinion. A myko injury basically derails any attaching threat for the season. With his injury history I think we need to plan on him being out for a period over this season.
Apart from Celtic we would be the only team starting the season with less than 3 out and out strikers (Aberdeen currently only got 2 but looking to add).
Cabbage-Patch
22-08-2024, 09:42 AM
Exactly he's working hard to get fit for a move and cant really blame the guy. Nobody will want to sign an Injured player. Can see him missing out and staying until January. Hopefully he stays motivated and puts himself in the window for a big move.
Sioux
22-08-2024, 09:42 AM
Two games in between though , I had hoped we might have seen Hoilett before then though after thinking about it if this weekend’s game is to soon it’s probably not worth the risk of a set back on killies pitch either.
Dundee Courier mentions 3rd bid rejected for McCowan and no new bids since last week here , funny how there’s no other word of it in the media….
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/5064802/transfer-wrangle-wont-stop-luke-mccowan-hibs-dundee-tony-docherty/
The mythical 3rd bid! No one knows how many bids have been made, nor what discussions have taken place between the clubs, nor whether those discussions are merely phone calls at board level.
I think it's been pretty clear for a while now that journalists are just guessing.
Dundee are not saying anything, which is obvious from that report.
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 09:44 AM
He doesn't want to be here. All these videos of him getting fit isn't for our benefit. Fractured relationship with large parts of the support, increased number of spats with fans on social media, already said his goodbyes at the end of last season.
He should have been moved on before now and the money used to strengthen the squad.
Assuming he doesn't go and starts playing again, he'll be moaned at for giving the ball away or not tracking back.
After some of the stuff that he’s received on social media I don’t blame him for not wanting to be here .. horrible stuff.
He’s one of our top players , his goals & assists show that and even if we get decent money for him while not impossible , it will be hard enough to replace his contribution to the team . One of the few exciting players that gets you out of your seat we have left at the club imo.
Assuming he doesn’t go and starts playing again, I will be quite happy if he’s scoring goals and creating chances for others , that’s what wingers do after all , the good ones anyhow.
Very good player who will be missed when he leaves imo .
22-08-2024, 09:56 AM
Hibs should be asking Celtic about centre back Stephen Welsh - 24 years old and often on the bench. Contract till 2027 but possible loan?
22-08-2024, 09:57 AM
Stats dont back that up.
I wasn't speaking about 16/17. He improved as a player in 16/17 though. He was good in our first season back up. Some great games from right wing back and right midfield.
22-08-2024, 10:05 AM
Hibs should be asking Celtic about centre back Stephen Welsh - 24 years old and often on the bench. Contract till 2027 but possible loan?
I'm sure a Celtic CB was just transferred out the club yesterday? Also with interest in CCV they may not not be looking to loose anyone else without reinforcements first. This guy Welsh needs to play football. Injured often mind.
22-08-2024, 10:06 AM
Would be crazy to go without another in my opinion. A myko injury basically derails any attaching threat for the season. With his injury history I think we need to plan on him being out for a period over this season.
Apart from Celtic we would be the only team starting the season with less than 3 out and out strikers (Aberdeen currently only got 2 but looking to add).
Rangers don't have 3 out and out strikers
Hearts have Shankland. Are we classing Boyce as an out and out striker? Who else? The guy Musa? Fair enough he got 10 goals in 32 games last season, but it was in the 4th division in Spain, at semi-pro level.
Do St Mirren or Dundee or Motherwell, or any other SPL side really have 3 out and out strikers? I don't see it that way.
sauzee1989
22-08-2024, 10:08 AM
Hearts have Shankland. Are we classing Boyce as an out and out striker? Who else? The guy Musa? Fair enough he got 10 goals in 32 games last season, but it was in the 4th division in Spain, at semi-pro level.
Do St Mirren or Dundee or Motherwell, or any other SPL side really have 3 out and out strikers? I don't see it that way.
We have one though. Bowie spent most his career on wing
22-08-2024, 10:13 AM
Motherwell have a team of strikers by the looks of things
22-08-2024, 10:16 AM
We have one though. Bowie spent most his career on wing
Bowie himself says he should play through the middle.
We have Boyle and Youan (still), who both scored more than a lot of other strikers in Scotland last season.
I do think we'll bring in a striker, but we're not in desperate need of one.
22-08-2024, 10:19 AM
I hope Youan isn’t away this window, quite like the idea of a Youan, McCowan, Bowie forward 3 playing behind Myko. With Boyle being….of the boil (sorry)….and uncertainty around Hoilett’s contribution that front 4 looks very tasty. Would require Newell, Kwon and the back 4 putting some shift in but hey ho, looks like we’re going to have score lots of goals to win any game at the moment🤷🏼
sauzee1989
22-08-2024, 10:30 AM
We have Boyle and Youan (still), who both scored more than a lot of other strikers in Scotland last season.
The last thing we need is Boyle as a striker. Offers next to nothing and doesn’t know where to stand as a striker
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 10:30 AM
I think the end of last season and start of this season highlights how we probably can't rely on Boyle to contribute as many goals this season. Looks miles off his former self for me. Bowie wants to play through the middle but doesn't mean he will be any good there as he's got little experience playing there. Im also accepting youan will be off. Hopefully proved wrong!
22-08-2024, 10:31 AM
I think the end of last season and start of this season highlights how we probably can't rely on Boyle to contribute as many goals this season. Looks miles off his former self for me. Bowie wants to play through the middle but doesn't mean he will be any good there as he's got little experience playing there. Im also accepting youan will be off. Hopefully proved wrong!
He scored 2 in the second last game of last season, and he got 3 in the first 2 games this season...:confused:
22-08-2024, 10:35 AM
I Hope SDG gets backed and gets players in who he would like
I,’m in Botswana just now, tell me who you want and I’ll tap him up :flag:
tonyrougier123
22-08-2024, 10:42 AM
We’ve got plenty that can get a ball in the box now we need a big presence in the box type striker. I don’t think we have enough in the way of CFs, a focal point to aim for.
Coincidentally the boy i mentioned yesterday Kyle Wootton has opened talks on a new deal at Stockport county, now’s the time hibs. 😉
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 10:42 AM
Didn't say quality of the players just that they all have more options (not sticking a winger through the middle). You could argue we only have 1 as Bowie hasn't played much through the middle.
St Mirren: Ayunga, Scott, Mandron, Olusanya
Motherwell : Stamatelopoulos, Ebiye, watt
Rangers : dessers, Danilo, igamane, looking to add more
Dundee : Murray, main, trying to bring in a french striker currently.
22-08-2024, 10:44 AM
When Rob Jones first started at Hibs it looked as if he had never played the game before, after a settling in period he turned out alright.
Some players need more time than others, moving to another country in particular will take some time to settle.
22-08-2024, 10:44 AM
Aberdeen could be about to dip into the Australian market (Scott Burns )
🔴⚪️Aberdeen keen on Marcus Younis although Western Sydney Wanderers are reluctant to sell. 🔴⚪️
22-08-2024, 10:45 AM
Didn't say quality of the players just that they all have more options (not sticking a winger through the middle). You could argue we only have 1 as Bowie hasn't played much through the middle.
St Mirren: Ayunga, Scott, Mandron, Olusanya
Motherwell : Stamatelopoulos, Ebiye, watt
Rangers : dessers, Danilo, igamane, looking to add more
Dundee : Murray, main, trying to bring in a french striker currently.
He's played more than half his professional games as a central striker?
22-08-2024, 10:48 AM
I,’m in Botswana just now, tell me who you want and I’ll tap him up :flag:
Anyone who's heads not on fire please. :wink:
badabing67
22-08-2024, 10:51 AM
Mikey Johnston looks like he's off to Burnley, think it's a permanent deal.
On loan to Dundee then
You surely mean slams shut?Nope. No Daily Record schpeil from me.
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 10:54 AM
He's played more than half his professional games as a central striker?
Didn't know he was played as a striker at Raith but at Northampton was definitely used out wide. Even if you count him only leaves us with 2 and one is incredibly injury prone.
22-08-2024, 10:56 AM
On loan to Dundee then
Think Dundee have Julien Vetro training with them , I think Burnley are interested in him so maybe Burnley signing him and putting him straight to Dundee?
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 11:17 AM
At the present I think we are ok up front , a midfielder must be the priority now and a defender too. Hopefully a left sided one. Wonder if we will see anyone leave soon ?
100% this.110, pal.
22-08-2024, 11:26 AM
Hibs Observer says we’ve had 3 bids rejected and quotes from Tony Docherty on McCowan:
“It doesn’t affect my thinking,” Docherty said. “And I’ve spoken to Luke like I do on a daily basis and he’s fully focused. He is a Dundee player, he’s fully committed to Dundee and you can see that in the performances he’s been putting in. He’s fully committed to putting that in again on Saturday.
“Luke and the boys have had a couple of brilliant training sessions the last couple of days,” Docherty added. "The boys are in a really good place and Luke typifies that by driving standards. That’s why he’s such an integral part to all we’re doing at the moment. So, no news on him, we’re just preparing for what will be a tough game at Easter Road on Saturday.”
22-08-2024, 11:35 AM
Evidently very few people know whether we still have a chance of landing McCowan or not. That's the way it should be really.
Personally speaking I think there's a decent chance we have walked away from the whole thing now as three bids should surely take you to what you are prepared to pay for someone.
My main concern before the window slams shut is that we add a bit of real quality to the squad, or as the manager put it "sprinkle a wee bit stardust."
The signings we have made so far all make sense, which has rarely been the case in recent times, but we haven't signed anybody to provide the moments of magic that Maolida, Marcondes and Youan did last season. Am presuming Elie will be leaving having read the manager's latest interview.
The next week should see several players leaving, either permanently or on loan, and maybe 3 or 4 more in. Still really hope there's a wee rabbit still to be pulled out a hat.
random sub
22-08-2024, 11:44 AM
I’m in agreement with this. I understand and welcome all the signings we have made this window (which is different from previous windows!) but have yet to get excited by any of them, except for Bowie. Not long to go now til the window shuts, but fingers crossed for a wee bit of magic dust.
Evidently very few people know whether we still have a chance of landing McCowan or not. That's the way it should be really.
Personally speaking I think there's a decent chance we have walked away from the whole thing now as three bids should surely take you to what you are prepared to pay for someone.
My main concern before the window slams shut is that we add a bit of real quality to the squad, or as the manager put it "sprinkle a wee bit stardust."
The signings we have made so far all make sense, which has rarely been the case in recent times, but we haven't signed anybody to provide the moments of magic that Maolida, Marcondes and Youan did last season. Am presuming Elie will be leaving having read the manager's latest interview.
The next week should see several players leaving, either permanently or on loan, and maybe 3 or 4 more in. Still really hope there's a wee rabbit still to be pulled out a hat.
Hibs Observer says we’ve had 3 bids rejected and quotes from Tony Docherty on McCowan:
“It doesn’t affect my thinking,” Docherty said. “And I’ve spoken to Luke like I do on a daily basis and he’s fully focused. He is a Dundee player, he’s fully committed to Dundee and you can see that in the performances he’s been putting in. He’s fully committed to putting that in again on Saturday.
“Luke and the boys have had a couple of brilliant training sessions the last couple of days,” Docherty added. "The boys are in a really good place and Luke typifies that by driving standards. That’s why he’s such an integral part to all we’re doing at the moment. So, no news on him, we’re just preparing for what will be a tough game at Easter Road on Saturday.”
McCowan holds all the cards, last year of his contract, run it down and leave on a free able to negotiate signing on fee, sign a pre contract in January with the club offering best deal or even resign with Dundee if they have a good season. I think him sign for Hibs in this transfer window are pretty low, hopefully Hibs have other similar targets they can move onto.
Donegal Hibby
22-08-2024, 11:50 AM
I’m in agreement with this. I understand and welcome all the signings we have made this window (which is different from previous windows!) but have yet to get excited by any of them, except for Bowie. Not long to go now til the window shuts, but fingers crossed for a wee bit of magic dust.
I think getting kukharevych back was exciting . IMO one of the best strikers in our league.
EGL2000
22-08-2024, 11:52 AM
I think getting kukharevych back was exciting . IMO one of the best strikers in our league.
He's a brilliant striker and has all the attributes you need. It's just if he can stay fit which alot of people doubt.
22-08-2024, 11:54 AM
According to the EN we are still hopeful of getting Bevan from Bournemouth.
22-08-2024, 11:56 AM
I'm sure we will get him, I'm not sure why we don't have him already, and I don't care either way. He couldn't be any less exciting of a signing for me. The guys no kicked a ball since December, and has one season at National League and 13 games at League 1 level.
22-08-2024, 11:57 AM
McCowan holds all the cards, last year of his contract, run it down and leave on a free able to negotiate signing on fee, sign a pre contract in January with the club offering best deal or even resign with Dundee if they have a good season. I think him sign for Hibs in this transfer window are pretty low, hopefully Hibs have other similar targets they can move onto.
I think it’s a risk for him to not try and lock in a good contract now, who’s to say he’ll not pick up a bad injury this season. Guess he could sign on with Dundee now but same issue will arise if he picks up an injury or his firm drops. At his age I’d suspect he’ll not want to take that gamble.
22-08-2024, 11:58 AM
I hope McCowan signs, as he's what we need. The thing that might scupper this is an offer from down south.
22-08-2024, 11:59 AM
He scored 2 in the second last game of last season, and he got 3 in the first 2 games this season...:confused:
You’ve been posting on here far too long to think facts are more important than opinions.:greengrin
22-08-2024, 11:59 AM
When was the last time this lad played a football game? From the minute I’ve heard his name mentioned he seems to have been permanently injured🤷🏼
22-08-2024, 12:00 PM
I'm sure we will get him, I'm not sure why we don't have him already, and I don't care either way. He couldn't be any less exciting of a signing for me. The guys no kicked a ball since December, and has one season at National League and 13 games at League 1 level.
And another right footed CB. Not sure why we’re so against signing a left-footer.
22-08-2024, 12:02 PM
You’ve been posting on here far too long to think facts are more important than opinions.:greengrin
:greengrin :aok:
22-08-2024, 12:02 PM
And another right footed CB. Not sure why we’re so against signing a left-footer.
Could be wrong but i think something like 80% of teams play without a naturally left sided centre half.
22-08-2024, 12:10 PM
I was really excited by this singing in January, for some reason I don't seem so enthused this window. Not sure if it's because we have signed a couple of right sided CB's all ready and then you can add Rocky into the mix. If he does come here I hope he does really well obviously and that opens the door to other players using the BK connection.
Houston7
22-08-2024, 12:10 PM
The Herald today suggests the third bid rejected, but Patrick McPartlin’s name not attached to the article. I wasn’t therefore sure how accurate the information was. It now seems it is likely to be correct.
GreenPJ
22-08-2024, 12:24 PM
The Herald today suggests the third bid rejected, but Patrick McPartlin’s name not attached to the article. I wasn’t therefore sure how accurate the information was. It now seems it is likely to be correct.
I wouldn't take from what Docherty has said as being confirmation its been rejected. I think its more what he didn't say - he didn't rule out him moving, he quoted up until Saturday and not beyond, he didn't reference all bids rejected. Still think its 50/50 as to whether he will get him but based on Docherty's comments I don't think that can be read as all bids rejected.
He's here!
22-08-2024, 12:34 PM
I wouldn't take from what Docherty has said as being confirmation its been rejected. I think its more what he didn't say - he didn't rule out him moving, he quoted up until Saturday and not beyond, he didn't reference all bids rejected. Still think its 50/50 as to whether he will get him but based on Docherty's comments I don't think that can be read as all bids rejected.
I think if the player was keen to come to Hibs a deal would have been agreed by now. My gut feeling is he's hoping for something better to materialise, even if that means waiting until January.
22-08-2024, 12:36 PM
I think if the player was keen to come to Hibs a deal would have been agreed by now. My gut feeling is he's hoping for something better to materialise, even if that means waiting until January.
The player is keen to come to Hibs.
22-08-2024, 12:37 PM
Think they are incredibly rare
22-08-2024, 12:40 PM
I’m clinging onto the hope that it has been said a couple of times by different people now that Dundee simply didn’t want to sell to us before the game on Saturday. Hopefully we hear something positive at the start of next week.
Houston7
22-08-2024, 12:53 PM
I wouldn't take from what Docherty has said as being confirmation it’s been rejected. I think it’s more what he didn't say - he didn't rule out him moving, he quoted up until Saturday and not beyond, he didn't reference all bids rejected. Still think it’s 50/50 as to whether he will get him but based on Docherty's comments I don't think that can be read as all bids rejected.
I agree entirely with you. What I was referencing was that both The Herald & Hibs Observer were reporting that the third bid had been rejected - although both reports may well be from Patrick McPartlin.
Greenworld
22-08-2024, 01:20 PM
Hibs themselves could always confirm the third bid has been rejected,
However talks remain ongoing or our bid is now withdrawn .
It's a Bit drawn out now .
22-08-2024, 01:31 PM
Hibs themselves could always confirm the third bid has been rejected,
However talks remain ongoing or our bid is now withdrawn .
It's a Bit drawn out now .
Have Hibs even confirmed they've made any bids? We're just trying to get it done.
Greenworld
22-08-2024, 01:33 PM
Have Hibs even confirmed they've made any bids? We're just trying to get it done.Probably not but what's the harm without giving a running commentary, it would take about 1000 posts of this topic. [emoji1787][emoji1787]
22-08-2024, 01:48 PM
Ross County FC are delighted to announce the signing of Joshua Nisbet on a 3-year deal, subject to international clearance.
Welcome to the club, Joshua!
Paulie Walnuts
22-08-2024, 01:56 PM
Ross County FC are delighted to announce the signing of Joshua Nisbet on a 3-year deal, subject to international clearance.
Welcome to the club, Joshua!
Good, didn’t think he was good enough for us. :agree:
22-08-2024, 01:58 PM
Could be wrong but i think something like 80% of teams play without a naturally left sided centre half.
Celtic - Scales, Nawrocki
Rangers - Davies
Hearts - Rowles, Kingsley
Aberdeen - Molloy, Jansen
Kilmarnock - Findlay, Ndaba
St Mirren - Taylor, Iacovitti
Dundee - Clark, Koumetio
NGoloGrantie
22-08-2024, 02:02 PM
They have since changed this and it’s now saying:
‘McCowan's future creates an intriguing subplot, with Hibs having had two offers for the 26-year-old knocked back while a third offer is understood to be under consideration by the Dark Blues hierarchy.’
Great news, it’s still on!
22-08-2024, 02:07 PM
Good, didn’t think he was good enough for us. :agree:
Hard to say at this stage but the fact the guys been available on a free to any team across the globe and he's ended up at Ross County would suggest he probably isn't the player some have suggested he is.
Every scouting team would have access to hours of footage of hin and the biggest move he could get is Ross County would point to him not being good enough.
CentreForward
22-08-2024, 02:12 PM
As others have said above am failing to get too excited about Bevan. Situation with him has dragged on and on and his injuries could be a real problem. Would rather see a more proven experienced centre half in. As for McCowan still holding out hope that we may get him. Think the fact that we are playing them on Saturday a big factor in all of this.