View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
27-07-2024, 04:56 PM
If O’Hora is going to be unavailable then we should go sign a new centre half. Ndaba isn’t a centre half. If he played there for Killie it wasn’t any time I saw them play.
He’s a decent full back. I’d no play him ahead of Obita. I’m no convinced at all that he’s what we need, unless he’s happy to come in as a sub.
Played CH a few times for Killie and has played there in the past
Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 05:00 PM
You do appear to be happy with the way things are going. Good for you.[emoji106]
I suppose everyone wants things to be better though we won today and apart from O'Hora going off there were very few negatives. It's ok to enjoy a good performance now and again too 👍
27-07-2024, 05:04 PM
Played CH a few times for Killie and has played there in the past
Just checked it on Transfermarkt, he played 3 games for Killie at centre half. 2 of them in the league cup at the start of last season
I didn’t know he’d been on loan at Ayr previously.
TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 05:04 PM
You do appear to be happy with the way things are going. Good for you.[emoji106]
It is the constant need to complain. Harking back to defeats when winning, saying with confidence that players won’t improve whilst any new players could t possibly be described as good yet.
It is fine to think things can and should get better without draining the life out of everyone.
NC1875
27-07-2024, 05:13 PM
It is the constant need to complain. Harking back to defeats when winning, saying with confidence that players won’t improve whilst any new players could t possibly be described as good yet.
It is fine to think things can and should get better without draining the life out of everyone.
The irony. All you’ve done is complain about people complaining 😂😂
TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 05:17 PM
The irony. All you’ve done is complain about people complaining 😂😂
I’m a Hibs supporter. I try to get some enjoyment from that. I don’t claim to like other people.
Corstorphine Hibby
27-07-2024, 05:21 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;7719398]That’s not going to happen.
McKirdy not scoring goals, not getting fit, or both, are not going to happen?
badabing67
27-07-2024, 05:23 PM
I hope he gets fit and scores goals.Same here, I am rooting for Harry. Hope he nails it
We need more than that.Much more.
TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 05:50 PM
David Gray on timing of signings:
"It's something I've said many times about bringing the right ones in. Obviously I'd rather done it three to four weeks ago, we always want to do it as quickly as we can because the earlier you can get working with the players, the better. But we also know it needs to be the right person. Would I like someone in before the weekend to give us strength and depth? One hundred per cent, but it's not as simple as that. There's hard work going on every single day to do that, and that's all we can do at the moment, keep working as hard as we can to bring in the right people to strengthen what we've got. It can't just be a number coming in, it has to be someone who enhances what we've already got."
"It can be frustrating for everyone involved. I understand that. That's the nature of when a transfer window is open, you'll naturally get ins and outs and it's about making sure the process is right to bring the right people in. That's what we need to trust in. Hopefully we'll get it right in days rather than weeks.
NGoloGrantie
27-07-2024, 06:03 PM
https://x.com/sahil_e_/status/1817240115250372715?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
A rumour!
27-07-2024, 06:05 PM
A rumour!
Hibs.net meltdown in 3….2….
NC1875
27-07-2024, 06:08 PM
Hibs.net meltdown in 3….2….
Ian Gordon written all over it 😂😂😂
27-07-2024, 06:10 PM
A rumour!
Six appearances this year for Toronto.
Absolutely no way in a million years is he on our radar. Not a chance.
If he is I’ll eat an entire tub of Haagen Dazs.
27-07-2024, 06:13 PM
Put me down for 2
CentreForward
27-07-2024, 06:14 PM
Had played about 25 senior games ever at the age of 23. Surely if true can’t be anything to do with MM? Has Ian G written all over it !
27-07-2024, 06:16 PM
Maybe we’re listening to Foley after all 🤣
A right winger from the MLS…have we no tried this already
NGoloGrantie
Had played about 25 senior games ever at the age of 23. Surely if true can’t be anything to do with MM? Has Ian G written all over it !
Signed for Toronto for 1.3mill must be decent
Yes exactly what I thought. Zero common sense but came up on a data base search.
27-07-2024, 06:18 PM
His record in South Africa looks good but barely kicked a ball for Toronto since moving. Probably be a loan I’d imagine
27-07-2024, 06:18 PM
Clips of him here;
https://youtu.be/trJOP31MUqM?si=kAY-pzXhLgFzF6I2
https://youtu.be/v174WXjRU1c?si=4a0mVlSAQwF5LBau
2 caps for South Africa and played for the champions of South Africa Where he scored 9 and got 3 assists in 18 games.
No idea what that standard is like
chippy
27-07-2024, 06:23 PM
Clips of him here;https://youtu.be/trJOP31MUqM?si=kAY-pzXhLgFzF6I2https://youtu.be/v174WXjRU1c?si=4a0mVlSAQwF5LBau2 caps for South Africa and played for the champions of South Africa Where he scored 9 and got 3 assists in 18 games.No idea what that standard is likeMibbe being funded by Black Knights ?
27-07-2024, 06:25 PM
His record in South Africa looks good but barely kicked a ball for Toronto since moving. Probably be a loan I’d imagine
Current Toronto striker is none other than Lorenzo Insigne
plhibs
27-07-2024, 06:26 PM
A rumour!
A great big NO from me.
hibbie02
27-07-2024, 06:40 PM
I’m a Hibs supporter. I try to get some enjoyment from that. I don’t claim to like other people.
This!
hibbie02
27-07-2024, 06:46 PM
Can we have him instead?
27-07-2024, 07:22 PM
A rumour!
Very good player - good finisher and can play as a 10.
27-07-2024, 07:26 PM
A rumour!
**** sake
27-07-2024, 07:27 PM
His agent is following the club on Twitter.
27-07-2024, 07:29 PM
A great big NO from me.
What’s he like?
27-07-2024, 07:33 PM
A rumour!
23 and played 40 games his whole career (scoring 17 and assisting 5 though). All that will do is fuel the Ian Gordon recruitment chat.
At least it's a rumour!
KeithWright9
27-07-2024, 07:35 PM
He hasn’t done anything yet…
Leighonel
27-07-2024, 07:38 PM
https://youtube.com/shorts/shkpBTC0yF8?si=weXIBaXVGe0tYP8A
It sounds like the SA manager feels this move has stunted his progress, due the quality ahead of him. Maybe this is why he wants a move to Europe....
27-07-2024, 07:40 PM
Clips of him here;
2 caps for South Africa and played for the champions of South Africa Where he scored 9 and got 3 assists in 18 games.
Matty Longstaf has the same value on transfermrkt, he was a flop at Aberdeen. No idea what to make of this rumour.
davemcbain
27-07-2024, 07:41 PM
Clips of him here;
Sundowns are by a long way the best in the league (and have been for a few years) - he scored 9 in 18 for them and was a standout in the one season he was with them - league young player of the season. League is good - not brilliant, a bit slower than ours, has a reputation for guys going on glory runs (Youan style). Sundowns though play a passing game. Mailula's assists say more than his scoring record. Would be a good move for him and I suspect for Hibs also. If he signs expect a raised index finger when he scores.
Good to see a transfer rumour on this thread!
Paul1642
27-07-2024, 07:42 PM
We simply cannot start the season without a sub striker. Vente isn’t exact on form but WTF do we do if he gets injured?
27-07-2024, 07:45 PM
We simply cannot start the season without a sub striker. Vente isn’t exact on form but WTF do we do if he gets injured?Lets be honest, Vente is nowhere near good enough
27-07-2024, 07:46 PM
Sundowns are by a long way the best in the league (and have been for a few years) - he scored 9 in 18 for them and was a standout in the one season he was with them - league young player of the season. League is good - not brilliant, a bit slower than ours, has a reputation for guys going on glory runs (Youan style). Mailula's assists say more than his scoring record. Would be a good move for him and I suspect for Hibs also.Good to see a transfer rumour on this thread!South African league is nowhere near 'good'
Paulie Walnuts
27-07-2024, 07:49 PM
South African league is nowhere near 'good'
I always wanted us to sign Tokelo Rantie who played against us for Malmo. Absolutely ripped us apart, South African winger. Turns out he went on to drop his trousers and fart at the manager of the national team when on international duty :faf:
andrew70
27-07-2024, 07:49 PM
You watch much of it?
27-07-2024, 07:50 PM
You watch much of it?Used to have a gambling addiction so aye, I have
27-07-2024, 07:51 PM
I always wanted us to sign Tokelo Rantie who played against us for Malmo. Absolutely ripped us apart, South African winger. Turns out he went on to drop his trousers and fart at the manager of the national team when on international duty :faf:If anything that makes me want to sign him more!
27-07-2024, 07:52 PM
Sundowns are a good team.
Mailula is fast and 2 footed. Didn’t get much game time in MLS but could possibly see Hibs as a chance to do well for us and move onto bigger things.
andrew70
27-07-2024, 07:54 PM
Used to have a gambling addiction so aye, I have
Then you’ll know it’s a decent standard. You’ll also be one who probably slates the ever improving A League.
There’s plenty good players in every league, the ignorance and snobbery on here sometimes is embarrassing.
The Scottish League gets talked down all the time and there’s plenty very good players in this league.
Hibs are unlikely to be signing this guy but if we do, happy days, we need forwards in and we aren’t going to be signing finished products all of the time. We simply can’t afford it.
27-07-2024, 07:55 PM
https://i.imgur.com/IokuafA.png Oof
27-07-2024, 07:55 PM
Then you’ll know it’s a decent standard. You’ll also be one who probably slates the ever improving A League.There’s plenty good players in every league, the ignorance and snobbery on here sometimes is embarrassing.The Scottish League gets talked down all the time and there’s plenty very good players in this league.Hibs are unlikely to be signing this guy but if we do, happy days, we need forwards in and we aren’t going to be signing finished products all of the time. We simply can’t afford it.I'm not saying there aren't good players in the league. I'm saying the standard of the league overall certainly isn't good. Decent, maybe.
27-07-2024, 07:57 PM
Regan Charles Cooke had done bugger all to get excited about when he went to ross.county
Certainly wasn't involved in the type of fee this guy went for
Imagine he has something about him based on that alone (plus the above info from someone who knows him)
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
27-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Record in the South African League:
Cassius Mailula 1 goal every 112 minutes
Simon Murray 1 goal every 184 minutes
His current MLS contract is £4.7kpw - https://mlsplayers.org/resources/salary-guide
davemcbain
27-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Used to have a gambling addiction so aye, I have
Should have bet on the Sundowns instead of the Swallows - you'd have enjoyed it more https://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/winky.gif
Joking aside - good to see a used to there. Tough gig to get over.
Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 08:03 PM
Clips of him here;
Not really the type of forward Gray has mentioned recently, looks more a winger than striker too .
27-07-2024, 08:06 PM
Should have bet on the Sundowns instead of the Swallows - you'd have enjoyed it more https://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/winky.gif
Joking aside - good to see a used to there. Tough gig to get over.
😂 you may well be right about the Sundowns. Odds were never great though. And your spot on, thankfully well on top of it now.
Like any player though, if we sign Mailula then there's nothing I want more than for him to be class. Same goes for all our current players. Been critical of Levitt recently but thought he looked really good when he came on today and I was happy about it.
27-07-2024, 08:07 PM
"It's something I've said many times about bringing the right ones in. Obviously I'd rather done it three to four weeks ago, we always want to do it as quickly as we can because the earlier you can get working with the players, the better. But we also know it needs to be the right person. Would I like someone in before the weekend to give us strength and depth? One hundred per cent, but it's not as simple as that. There's hard work going on every single day to do that, and that's all we can do at the moment, keep working as hard as we can to bring in the right people to strengthen what we've got. It can't just be a number coming in, it has to be someone who enhances what we've already got."
"It can be frustrating for everyone involved. I understand that. That's the nature of when a transfer window is open, you'll naturally get ins and outs and it's about making sure the process is right to bring the right people in. That's what we need to trust in. Hopefully we'll get it right in days rather than weeks.
I’m as frustrated as anyone at our lack of transfer activity… but those are pretty reasonable and fair comments from Gray and undoubtedly the smart answer in his and our situation.
The problem this window is more the quantity of work required to get to an acceptable standard of squad, not the actual work carried out, which has arguably been decent so far.
It’s just that the bar is high - and all sorts of chat re investment has raised our expectations too, so negativity and frustration at this stage is to be expected.
27-07-2024, 08:15 PM
If O’Hora is going to be unavailable then we should go sign a new centre half. Ndaba isn’t a centre half. If he played there for Killie it wasn’t any time I saw them play.
He’s a decent full back. I’d no play him ahead of Obita. I’m no convinced at all that he’s what we need, unless he’s happy to come in as a sub.
Think been more of a centre back than a left back
27-07-2024, 08:17 PM
Well said David
27-07-2024, 08:21 PM
There is no one in the Scottish league getting a game in front of him
Cabbage-Patch
27-07-2024, 08:26 PM
A rumour!
He's not played an awful lot for a 23 year old which concerns me but it's a rumour so kinda exciting. Could be another Mueller or Could be a gem. Guess we will find out
27-07-2024, 08:28 PM
Modern football we need to take advantage of the loan market. Bournemouth (our feeder club) have about 12 strikers on their books. Pretty sure one or two of them would be gold for us. The loan market allows you to take players for a season we couldnt possibly afford to buy. Play it right and reap the rewards.
chippy
27-07-2024, 08:29 PM
Not really the type of forward Gray has mentioned recently, looks more a winger than striker too .Replacement for Youan or Maolida
Cabbage-Patch
27-07-2024, 08:31 PM
Replacement for Youan or Maolida
They predominantly play on the left though?
Cabbage-Patch
27-07-2024, 08:32 PM
Modern football we need to take advantage of the loan market. Bournemouth (our feeder club) have about 12 strikers on their books. Pretty sure one or two of them would be gold for us. The loan market allows you to take players for a season we couldnt possibly afford to buy. Play it right and reap the rewards.
Bang on, just a shame we have fallen out with them already so highly unlikely they will want to give us players at the minute.
27-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Bang on, just a shame we have fallen out with them already so highly unlikely they will want to give us players at the minute.
Foley and his group aren't idiots. They'll still want an investment to do well and if Bournemouth have a player we want and they’re willing to part with then it'll happen.
27-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Personally would be looking to get Jordan White in as a back up striker
Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 09:00 PM
Replacement for Youan or Maolida
Funny , I thought on Youan too . Maybe Youan still might go and this guy's a replacement with a striker coming in too (guessing just).
MikeyS
27-07-2024, 09:13 PM
You watch much of it?Is the South African league the one where they all prefer farting about touching their knees off the ball and doing stupid wee spins and dances when they receive a pass instead of taking players on?
thebausburst
27-07-2024, 09:37 PM
Clips of him here;
He looks skillfull and quick, but the standard of defending is laughably bad so difficult to assess how good he is.
Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 09:47 PM
Record in the South African League:
Cassius Mailula 1 goal every 112 minutes
Simon Murray 1 goal every 184 minutes
His current MLS contract is £4.7kpw - https://mlsplayers.org/resources/salary-guide
Murray was 27 mailula was 21 aswell.
27-07-2024, 10:33 PM
He looks skillfull and quick, but the standard of defending is laughably bad so difficult to assess how good he is.
It’s funny I think that about the standard of defending in these clips.
Then I watch sportscene highlights 🤣
Silky
27-07-2024, 10:52 PM
Jordan Smith made 0 appearances this year and 13 in the last six years! He could well be on our radar!!!
27-07-2024, 10:56 PM
Maybe tip from beni Mccarthy
cubehindthegoal
27-07-2024, 11:45 PM
I’m not sure on this, but do the EPL teams not have to name their squad for the season by a certain date, and then after that, loan moves to teams outwith open up more ? I could be wrong, don’t pay much attention to it.
Not really the type of forward Gray has mentioned recently, looks more a winger than striker too .
FM has him as a attacking midfielder and the clips seem to show him through the middle, looks like he can play across the front 3 and can score goals, maybe Youan's replacement.
28-07-2024, 07:23 AM
FM has him as a attacking midfielder and the clips seem to show him through the middle, looks like he can play across the front 3 and can score goals, maybe Youan's replacement.
That sounds exactly like our scouting review word for word
28-07-2024, 07:34 AM
Clips of him here;
He looks good technically and has lots of energy. Also looks very small and would benefit from some time in the gym. Difficult to say if he would adapt over here so we do have to avoid handing him a long term deal like we have been doing recently.
Also, he looks more like an attacking mid rather than a striker.
HIBS NUTS
28-07-2024, 07:43 AM
Personally would be looking to get Jordan White in as a back up strikerBack up striker to who.We need a striker, that has presence, and can lead the line, and to a certain extent hold up the ball.We currently don’t have any player at the club, like that. Mabye Josh landers in 2 years time.We need a centre forward for st Mirren game.
sauzee1989
28-07-2024, 07:57 AM
Personally would be looking to get Jordan White in as a back up striker
Hope that’s a wind up! He’s awful would be like when we went and signed Brian Graham.
McGruber
28-07-2024, 09:06 AM
Clips of him here;https://youtu.be/trJOP31MUqM?si=kAY-pzXhLgFzF6I2https://youtu.be/v174WXjRU1c?si=4a0mVlSAQwF5LBau2 caps for South Africa and played for the champions of South Africa Where he scored 9 and got 3 assists in 18 games.No idea what that standard is likeThat lobbed finish was tidy, hopefully if he comes he can take to Scottish football. Tavares had a good showreel but just doesn't suit the game here. On a side note, see the young Mexican we had over for trial, was at Charleston Battery and who we were keeping tabs on has now went for 3.5 million. One that got away perhaps
mcfly
28-07-2024, 09:22 AM
Season starts properly in a week
goalie and 2 centre backs sorted.
Nae strikers though. Hibs are falling behind the teams we need to catch to even make top 6.
Somethings no right at Easter road given lack of transfer activity
We must get a striker this week…
A poor start in the league Wont be accepted
However fans back the team any frustrations send it to the board and ben kensell
ChilliEater
28-07-2024, 09:24 AM
I used to get really excited at signing random foreigners like Mailula, but watching that highlights reel is giving me Jair/Chris Mueller/Sylvester Jasper vibes. Hopefully we sign him and he's Messi, Mbappe and Samuel Eto'o all rolled into one
McGruber
28-07-2024, 09:31 AM
I used to get really excited at signing random foreigners like Mailula, but watching that highlights reel is giving me Jair/Chris Mueller/Sylvester Jasper vibes. Hopefully we sign him and he's Messi, Mbappe and Samuel Eto'o all rolled into oneActually thought Sylvester Jasper was fairly decent
28-07-2024, 09:34 AM
Actually thought Sylvester Jasper was fairly decent
And he was born in England.
28-07-2024, 09:37 AM
I used to get really excited at signing random foreigners like Mailula, but watching that highlights reel is giving me Jair/Chris Mueller/Sylvester Jasper vibes. Hopefully we sign him and he's Messi, Mbappe and Samuel Eto'o all rolled into one
If we go anywhere near this guy it should be a one year deal maximum.
ChilliEater
28-07-2024, 09:38 AM
I wouldn't have been unhappy if we'd kept him, but I feel he was similar to Jair, Henderson, Levitt, McKirdy - you see flashes where you can see real talent, but overall there's very little impact. I don't know why that is. It's very easy just to label them as ***** or blame poor coaching, but I think there must be more to it than that.
28-07-2024, 09:38 AM
https://sportwitness.co.uk/hibernian-look-re-sign-midfielder-finances-allow-face-competition/
28-07-2024, 10:13 AM
Jasper !
Wow that was a player I forgot who played for us. Another random signing and pretty average apart from a few decent games.
He’s now playing Portugal and think his team have just been relegated.
chippy
28-07-2024, 10:15 AM
If we go anywhere near this guy it should be a one year deal maximum.
With an option of another year ?
28-07-2024, 10:39 AM
Jasper !
Wow that was a player I forgot who played for us. Another random signing and pretty average apart from a few decent games.
He’s now playing Portugal and think his team have just been relegated.
Jasper was our last minute fall back option after Morgan Rogers chose to go to Blackpool instead of coming to us. Rogers has since gone on to sign for Aston Villa and finished last season in great form.
28-07-2024, 10:49 AM
At what? Not football.
28-07-2024, 10:52 AM
Think he had two good games at the start and I was optimistic as well. Pretty rank after that though.
Never forget his performance in that game away to Dundee though, abysmal.
28-07-2024, 10:52 AM
It's a bit early to be drinking 😉
28-07-2024, 10:56 AM
It's a bit early to be drinking 😉
Never, cheers!
28-07-2024, 10:56 AM
Hope that’s a wind up! He’s awful would be like when we went and signed Brian Graham.
Jordan White today would be a worse signing than Brian Graham then.
Brian Graham came to Hibs at 29 year old, off the back of 11 goals in 31 games games the season before at Ross County. Then 6 in 3 cup games before we signed him at the start of the season.
Jordan White is 32 and got 8 in 47 games last season.
Jordan White is a laughable suggestion for a Hibs signing. I think I’d greet.
fiolex1
28-07-2024, 11:21 AM
Jordan White was scream absolute desperation
28-07-2024, 11:29 AM
With an option of another year ?
So long as it’s a one way option in our favour.
28-07-2024, 11:37 AM
Rational being someone to throw on late when we need a goal. He has done it enough times against us why not for us. Not suggesting he is a great player however big physical and decent in the air and would provide a different option.
28-07-2024, 11:39 AM
Jordan White was scream absolute desperation
I don’t mind a wacky shout if it looks like it solves a particular problem or if you’re actually desperate.
Signing 32 year old Mixu Paatelainen raised a few eyebrows - he immediately improved our team and after a few extra top notch signings remained a hugely important part of an excellent Hibs team.
I don’t think Jordan White fixes the “striker can’t hit a coo’s erse with a banjo” problem though. If we were struggling to create and needed a big, ugly striker to shell balls up to, maybe. But that’s not where we are.
Funnily enough, I think ALF would be having a great time playing Vente’s role in this team.
28-07-2024, 11:41 AM
So long as it’s a one way option in our favour.
Doesn’t matter whose favour it’s in, we could always just stiff him over the second year if it turned out not to suit us any more.
28-07-2024, 11:45 AM
Rational being someone to throw on late when we need a goal. He has done it enough times against us why not for us. Not suggesting he is a great player however big physical and decent in the air and would provide a different option.
He’s scored 3 goals against us in his life. Only one of them was a winning goal.
28-07-2024, 11:51 AM
We need a Mixu type striker to change things up I think Van Veen would be great he reminds me of Holt as well
28-07-2024, 11:59 AM
We need a Mixu type striker to change things up I think Van Veen would be great he reminds me of Holt as well
I agree a Mixu or a Holt type would be good.
That’s no the sort of player van Veen is though, not from how I remember him at Motherwell anyway.
28-07-2024, 12:07 PM
He’s scored 3 goals against us in his life. Only one of them was a winning goal.
Three times too many 😄
28-07-2024, 12:16 PM
Three times too many 😄
Fair point.
28-07-2024, 12:27 PM
I agree a Mixu or a Holt type would be good.That’s no the sort of player van Veen is though, not from how I remember him at Motherwell anyway.A Mixu type yes but a Holt type would score less than Vente. We have no issue getting great balls into the box and making chances that should result in at least testing the keeper. The issue at the moment is finishing and timing of runs. I always thought Mixu was a very good finisher and an excellent team player. Better than a goal every 3 games in the top league for us while Holt was worse than a goal in every 4 games in the Championship. My biggest worry with Vente is that Rudi and Campbell are making the runs to teh near post that I would have hoped Dylan would. He is still getting goal scoring opportunities so he may well start scoring regularly and it won't be an issue. A number 9 would be the most important transfer business we could do. Arguably two one of whom was very good with his back to goal would make a difference. One thing I did notice yesterday was that as soon as Levitt came on Vente was more involved in the build up. The other midfielder seem to pass it wide while Levitt mixes it up and threads balls for Vente to knock wide.
28-07-2024, 12:42 PM
You never know whether some of the suggestions on here are serious or not, but the wacky suggestion I’d probably say has most merit is Jamie McLaren.
I realise he’s joined someone else and it’s not going to happen but it looks to me like we’re most lacking the natural finisher, someone who can take a chance and is rapid over a few yards.
Dunno if there’s anybody out there who fits that bill? Ruari Paton might have been a decent shout too, good lower league scoring record? Bvioydky he’s also recently made a move.
28-07-2024, 12:49 PM
Bvioydky he’s also recently made a move.
Is that the boy from The Czech Republic? 🤔🤭
28-07-2024, 01:00 PM
You never know whether some of the suggestions on here are serious or not, but the wacky suggestion I’d probably say has most merit is Jamie McLaren.I realise he’s joined someone else and it’s not going to happen but it looks to me like we’re most lacking the natural finisher, someone who can take a chance and is rapid over a few yards.Dunno if there’s anybody out there who fits that bill? Ruari Paton might have been a decent shout too, good lower league scoring record? Bvioydky he’s also recently made a move.McLaren would do well in this team and is course and distance so we know what we would get. Too late for that now though. I'm a great believer that anyone knocking in the best part of 20 goals in the Championship is worth a gamble. I'd see them as far less of a gamble than a young player who is relocating from a complete different footballing culture. Scoring regularly in the Championship says to me that the physical side of the Premiership will probably be handled and most of teh youngsters fail to cope with that.
28-07-2024, 01:26 PM
Hope that’s a wind up! He’s awful would be like when we went and signed Brian Graham.Brian Graham was far from the worst striker we have ever signed.
28-07-2024, 01:35 PM
Mykola Kukharevych
Hibs should be asking the question
ruthven_raiders
28-07-2024, 01:37 PM
Mykola Kukharevych
I would be asking if he's available for a loan deal definitely...
KeithWright9
28-07-2024, 01:38 PM
Brian Graham was far from the worst striker we have ever signed.
He is a player when compared to Jordan White, he is utter dross.
28-07-2024, 01:41 PM
Mykola Kukharevych
Hibs should be asking the questionWon't surprise me but injury history is a major concern
28-07-2024, 01:50 PM
Mykola Kukharevych
What’s the question?
“Why have you only played 5 hours of football in the last 20 months?”
28-07-2024, 01:52 PM
What’s the question?
“If we were to sign a player purely to be company for JDH for the next 12 months, who would be most likely to spend the most time injured?”
Bridge hibs
28-07-2024, 01:58 PM
Mykola Kukharevych
Asking if he is still injured ?
28-07-2024, 02:00 PM
“If we were to sign a player purely to be company for JDH for the next 12 months, who would be most likely to spend the most time injured?”
For comparison, over the same period JDH played 2.5 times as many minutes, that’s how little Myko has played. He’s a good player but we should not be considering bringing him back.
28-07-2024, 02:01 PM
What’s the question?
Do you bring your own treatment table or do you need to share with Jake Doyle-Hayes?
Brian Graham was far from the worst striker we have ever signed.
I’ll raise you Paul Tosh, Lee Power, Hurtardo, Agogo, Kuqi and Heffernan
28-07-2024, 02:07 PM
Brian Graham didn't have half the career of Heffernan, Kuqi or Agogo tbf.
Indeed but they were woeful for us.
28-07-2024, 02:14 PM
To be fair I didn’t realise big myk had been hit so hard with injury
28-07-2024, 02:17 PM
Indeed but they were woeful for us.
So was Graham tbf. Big donkey.
O aye. Plenty of players in that bracket we have signed over the years.
28-07-2024, 02:21 PM
I’ll raise you Paul Tosh, Lee Power, Hurtardo, Agogo, Kuqi and HeffernanI will go back a bit further and raise you Jim Blair, although to be fair he did get a double against the huns, but what a waste of money he was.
chippy
28-07-2024, 02:22 PM
Feed the Blair …
28-07-2024, 02:25 PM
Feed the Blair …Ha,ha,ha.
28-07-2024, 02:28 PM
Kevin Nisbet would be the best all-round no9 in the league if he came back
28-07-2024, 02:31 PM
Kevin Nisbet would be the best all-round no9 in the league if he came backAye, but came back to who?
KeithWright9
28-07-2024, 02:31 PM
Feed the Blair …
Better than Jordan White
28-07-2024, 02:34 PM
Better than Jordan WhiteBoth rhyme wi sheite.
Paul Tosh.
Just end the debate now
28-07-2024, 02:44 PM
Who are the most recent signings rumours? Ndaba, Bowie and Mailula?
Wonder if any of them will sign?
K Kay
28-07-2024, 02:44 PM
I will go back a bit further and raise you Jim Blair, although to be fair he did get a double against the huns, but what a waste of money he was.
Scored a raker from the edge of the box that night 3-2 I’m sure but he was crap for us. Went back to St Mirren for half the £40000 we paid for him way back then. Anyway I raise you Joe Ward who came in part exchange for Des Bremner from Villa.
28-07-2024, 02:51 PM
Who are the most recent signings rumours? Ndaba, Bowie and Mailula?Wonder if any of them will sign?
Kukharevych doing the rounds as well.
If we could manage to sign Ndaba, Mailula and Bowie or Myko then suddenly things look a lot brighter. Hopefully an exciting week coming up before the league campaign kicks off.
28-07-2024, 03:12 PM
As a Milkman? Postie? Nurse?
The Wireless
28-07-2024, 03:23 PM
I will go back a bit further and raise you Jim Blair, although to be fair he did get a double against the huns, but what a waste of money he was.
Yea, we certainly spent the 100k received for Colin Stein with this guy well.🥴
28-07-2024, 03:32 PM
If we could manage to sign Ndaba, Mailula and Bowie or Myko then suddenly things look a lot brighter. Hopefully an exciting week coming up before the league campaign kicks off.
Is Myko there to keep JDH company on the treatment table? His injury record suggests he'd be there more often than on the pitch.
28-07-2024, 03:35 PM
Is Myko there to keep JDH company on the treatment table? His injury record suggests he'd be there more often than on the pitch.
Missed 10 games injured last season. Admittedly not great, but nowhere near JDH levels, come on.
Cost Hibs £45k [same as Gordon McQueen joined Leeds from them for] & they resigned him a year later for £18k. Also scored in the 6-0 win against Malmo, but that was about it.
28-07-2024, 03:44 PM
Missed 10 games injured last season. Admittedly not great, but nowhere near JDH levels, come on.
He mustn't have been fancied he only made 13 appearances last season.
28-07-2024, 03:45 PM
He mustn't have been fancied he only made 13 appearances last season.
Aye, don't think he was. Injuries wouldn't have helped either mind you. Would struggle for match fitness.
Wee loan back up the road to get him firing again. Be happy with that. Totally get that others wouldn't and why they wouldn't though.
badabing67
28-07-2024, 03:55 PM
Mykola KukharevychHibs should be asking the questionWhat question? Are you fit yet?
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Aye, don't think he was. Injuries wouldn't have helped either mind you. Would struggle for match fitness.
Wee loan back up the road to get him firing again. Be happy with that. Totally get that others wouldn't and why they wouldn't though.
A player I really rated . I do understand folks concerns about his injury history though he's a quality striker and if he was available on loan I think he might be worth the risk ....
https://www.fansnetwork.co.uk/football/swanseacity/news/61947/swansea-city-the-mykola-kukharevych-mystery-really-does-need-explaining
28-07-2024, 03:58 PM
I’m greedy, I want Bowie and big Mike.
28-07-2024, 04:05 PM
It was a lot more than 10 games he missed through injury last season.
28-07-2024, 04:08 PM
It was a lot more than 10 games he missed through injury last season.Only going by what's on Transfermarkt;
Squad: 24, Starting eleven: 0, Substituted in: 10, On the bench: 14, Suspended: 0, Injured: 10, Absence: 0
28-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Only going by what's on Transfermarkt;
Squad: 24, Starting eleven: 0, Substituted in: 10, On the bench: 14, Suspended: 0, Injured: 10, Absence: 0
Do they play about 44 games in the Championship? Would mean he was injured for 20 games.
28-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Do they play about 44 games in the Championship? Would mean he was injured for 20 games.
Or just not in the matchday squad
Bradford
28-07-2024, 04:28 PM
Yea, we certainly spent the 100k received for Colin Stein with this guy well.🥴We also spent some of that money on Joe McBride (senior) who was a great signing for us and scored loads of goals.
28-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Think he wasn't fancied when the new manager came in, not sure he was injured in all the games he missed.
Cabbage-Patch
28-07-2024, 05:06 PM
If that's the standard we can look forward to bringing in then we are in trouble.
28-07-2024, 05:08 PM
If that's the standard we can look forward to bringing in then we are in trouble.What, players playing at a higher level than ours?
28-07-2024, 05:12 PM
Like your thinking
28-07-2024, 05:24 PM
If that's the standard we can look forward to bringing in then we are in trouble.
What do you think about Bowie? What is his standard? So you know what kind of player he is and what type of game he suits?
Cabbage-Patch
28-07-2024, 05:25 PM
What, players playing at a higher level than ours?
Don't know much about Bowie but League 1 isn't too far off SPL standard and he's scored 14 goals in 80 odd appearances in that league. Hardly prolific. Big Myk was decent for us but he's not broken through at Swansea and been injured a lot. With our luck and track records with injuries too much of a risk. That's why I'm not overly excited at the prospect of either signing tbh
28-07-2024, 05:27 PM
Don't know much about Bowie but League 1 isn't too far off SPL standard and he's scored 14 goals in 80 odd appearances in that league. Hardly prolific. Big Myk was decent for us but he's not broken through at Swansea and been injured lot. With our luck and track records with injuries too much of a risk. That's why I'm not overly excited at the prospect of either signing tbh
We wouldn't be signing Bowie from Northampton though, he's a Fulham player and seems to be highly thought of, which is why a few clubs are after him.
I’ll never argue with anyone having hesitations about Kukharevych injury record, so I get that.
28-07-2024, 05:35 PM
Don't know much about Bowie but League 1 isn't too far off SPL standard and he's scored 14 goals in 80 odd appearances in that league. Hardly prolific. Big Myk was decent for us but he's not broken through at Swansea and been injured a lot. With our luck and track records with injuries too much of a risk. That's why I'm not overly excited at the prospect of either signing tbh
That's not a bad return for a boy who's now only 21 so was probably playing and scoring goals at 19. He's been playing mens football since his Raith days. Yes he's young but he's got a fair bit experience.
28-07-2024, 06:17 PM
😂😂
What’s wrong with them? And who do you want?
28-07-2024, 06:33 PM
We also spent some of that money on Joe McBride (senior) who was a great signing for us and scored loads of goals.Joe McBride Snr (1968-1971) was at Hibs a couple of years before Blair, he cost us 15,000 (best buy we ever done) the rest of Steins transfer money went into Harrowers pocket as far as I can remember, Blair cost 45,000 brought in (1970) to eventually replace goals McBride (no chance) he only managed 6 months or so at Hibs before we sold him back to Saints for around half the amount we bought him for. Jim sadly passed away at the relatively young age of 64 in 2012.He went back to Saints where he was regarded as a real good player who scored lots of goals for them, just never managed to replicate his form at Easter Road, some player similarities with another buy from Saints Barry Lavety, never managed to hit the same goalscoring as he had done at saint Mirren. Thinking about it we have taken a lot of players good and not so good from Saints, with Gerry Baker and Super John a couple that stand out.
28-07-2024, 06:35 PM
Yea, we certainly spent the 100k received for Colin Stein with this guy well.🥴
We didn’t spend any of the Colin Stein money on Blair. Stein was sold in 1968 and Blair was signed in 1970. We spent a fraction of it replacing him with Joe Mc Bride who was a prolific goal scorer.
28-07-2024, 06:35 PM
What do you think about Bowie? What is his standard? So you know what kind of player he is and what type of game he suits?Got to be up there as one of the top 10 singer/songwriters ever? Starman.
chippy
28-07-2024, 06:44 PM
Got to be up there as one of the top 10 singer/songwriters ever? Starman.Might get him in Five Years
hibbydad
28-07-2024, 07:52 PM
We didn’t spend any of the Colin Stein money on Blair. Stein was sold in 1968 and Blair was signed in 1970. We spent a fraction of it replacing him with Joe Mc Bride who was a prolific goal scorer.We bought Jim Black and Gordon Marshall with the Stein money
28-07-2024, 08:40 PM
What do you think about Bowie? What is his standard? So you know what kind of player he is and what type of game he suits?
He'd be Under Pressure right from the start.
We also spent some of that money on Joe McBride (senior) who was a great signing for us and scored loads of goals.
Colin Stein's cash brought us Jim Black, Johnny Graham, Shades & Joe McBride and with Willie Mac becoming manager, early in the 1969/70 season, we started the season really well and the October win at Ibrox, put us top. It also completed a the set, having already had league victories at Parkhead and Tynecastle. Didn't last, Peter Marinello was gone by the NY derby, his replacement was Arthur Duncan & then we sold Peter Cormack, in the March & Jim Blair was brought in to replace PC.
It was a dreadful time to lose three big stars, in a little more than 18 months, thankfully all, bar Jim Blair, made a desirable impact.
PHeffernan
28-07-2024, 09:21 PM
Actually thought Sylvester Jasper was fairly decent That will be why he plays in the top league in Portugal which is ranked the 7th best league in Europe. He's still only 22.
Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 09:26 PM
Apologies if already posted though I read Dundee are set to sign QPR left back Ziyad Larkeche on a season long loan . Wonder where the Liverpool one they had will end up ? . Didn't like him though he looked a player.
28-07-2024, 09:28 PM
Leicester City looking at Hatate.
That would be a big blow if they lost him and O'Riley
darwenhibby
28-07-2024, 09:35 PM
Another poor signing of a striker??
Remember John Brogan??
Signed from St Johnstone and never cut it at Hibs.
Seemed to remember him scoring some goals for St J
28-07-2024, 09:36 PM
Apologies if already posted though I read Dundee are set to sign QPR left back Ziyad Larkeche on a season long loan . Wonder where the Liverpool one they had will end up ? . Didn't like him though he looked a player.
Think Owen Beck is on tour with Liverpool just now
29-07-2024, 07:19 AM
Surely the pen will make an appearance in the next day or 2
Another poor signing of a striker??
Remember John Brogan??
Signed from St Johnstone and never cut it at Hibs.
Seemed to remember him scoring some goals for St JScored one, a cracker. But one.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
29-07-2024, 08:48 AM
Did Brogan not join Hamilton after us ? John Pelosi and Jim Docherty played about same time for St Johnstone Jim played with Chelsea and few others then went junior with Whitburn was quality player
NC1875
29-07-2024, 09:00 AM
Seems a decent signing for them. Played a lot in the championship last season.
29-07-2024, 09:12 AM
Incredible that Motherwell have made 11 signings and they looked poor yesterday. I'd imagine they still have some business to do
SPFL Premiership
Summer Signings
As at 29/07
(Includes loans & loans to perm)
Motherwell 11
Dundee Utd 9
Hearts 9
St.Johnstone 9
Rangers 8
Ross County 8
St.Mirren 8
Dundee 5
Aberdeen 4
Hibernian 4
Kilmarnock 3
Celtic 2
Source; @Nareystoepoker
nareystoepoker.blogspot.com/p/all-spfl-tra…
29-07-2024, 09:14 AM
Surely the pen will make an appearance in the next day or 2
I think that at the start of every week!
29-07-2024, 09:18 AM
What about Omeonga and Nouble? Sorry, wouldn't be a Hibs.net transfer window thread without naming them!
RossScott1991
29-07-2024, 09:20 AM
See one tweet about Jair signing for Killie but can’t see it anywhere else
cloudy
29-07-2024, 09:23 AM
See one tweet about Jair signing for Killie but can’t see it anywhere elseI think it was more the killie player in the picture returning to killie.
29-07-2024, 09:42 AM
What about Omeonga and Nouble? Sorry, wouldn't be a Hibs.net transfer window thread without naming them!
Nouble has signed for a team in China, I know you were joking anyway!!
CentreForward
29-07-2024, 09:46 AM
What about Omeonga and Nouble? Sorry, wouldn't be a Hibs.net transfer window thread without naming them!And also Jordi Cruyff, Riordan and Cummings!
29-07-2024, 09:52 AM
What about Omeonga and Nouble? Sorry, wouldn't be a Hibs.net transfer window thread without naming them!Showumni Brothers, will it ever happen?
29-07-2024, 10:08 AM
Oscar Zambrano who was linked with Bournemouth in Jan looks like he must be on his way to Stoke City according to reports
29-07-2024, 10:13 AM
Showumni Brothers, will it ever happen?
Well we finally signed ALF, so you never know
29-07-2024, 10:13 AM
I hear we are in for Le Fondre
29-07-2024, 10:16 AM
Incredible that Motherwell have made 11 signings and they looked poor yesterday. I'd imagine they still have some business to do
SPFL Premiership
Summer Signings
As at 29/07
(Includes loans & loans to perm)
Motherwell 11
Dundee Utd 9
Hearts 9
St.Johnstone 9
Rangers 8
Ross County 8
St.Mirren 8
Dundee 5
Aberdeen 4
Hibernian 4
Kilmarnock 3
Celtic 2
Source; @Nareystoepoker
nareystoepoker.blogspot.com/p/all-spfl-tra…
That's because big turnover of players doesn't work. We are proof of that.
I will be very happy to see us continue to weed out, let our team settle and hopefully bring in just another two attacking options.
Heedersnvolleys
29-07-2024, 10:20 AM
I will be very happy to see us continue to weed out, let our team settle and hopefully bring in just another two attacking options.
So is holding onto them with long contracts!!!!🤦🏻*♂️
29-07-2024, 10:23 AM
I hear we are in for Le Fondre
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkSpilt my coffee there [emoji23]
We might well be....
29-07-2024, 10:38 AM
So is holding onto them with long contracts!!!!🤦🏻*♂️
"Continue to weed out..."
29-07-2024, 10:43 AM
Killmarnock signed, I think, 16 players last summer and St Mirren 10. Both went on to make Europe. Big turnovers each summer are the reality of Scottish football. Which is fine if there’s an overarching plan to it. Our approach of signing lots of good individual players and hoping they somehow fit together is why we were poorer than most at it.
Hibiza
29-07-2024, 10:44 AM
Ben Doak .
29-07-2024, 10:49 AM
Ben Doak .
Linked with English Premier league loan deals.
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 10:50 AM
See one tweet about Jair signing for Killie but can’t see it anywhere elseI'll give him a piggyback there if he wants.
WestStandWillie
29-07-2024, 10:52 AM
See one tweet about Jair signing for Killie but can’t see it anywhere elseHopefully a swap deal for Daniel Armstrong.Jair wasn't too bad when he came on against Peterhead but it's hardly a glowing reference. Seems to be a confidence player like Alan O'Brien was. Not even sure a loan spell to Championship/League 1 would be any good for him.
29-07-2024, 10:59 AM
Hopefully a swap deal for Daniel Armstrong.Jair wasn't too bad when he came on against Peterhead but it's hardly a glowing reference. Seems to be a confidence player like Alan O'Brien was. Not even sure a loan spell to Championship/League 1 would be any good for him.
If we can pull that off, I’m going to phone Killie and see if they’ll swap me a ps5 for my old broken gameboy
29-07-2024, 11:00 AM
Ben Doak .
Nae chance.
29-07-2024, 11:08 AM
It’s not even like Hibs have had a mass cull of players over summer.
If you look at previous seasons we have plenty players leaving and joining.
This has been the quietist incomings for a while though.
HIBERNIAN 1875
29-07-2024, 11:10 AM
I have heard we are in for a guy called Callum Marshall from West Ham. Source is a guy from the golf club who is friendly with a current Hibs youth coach.
29-07-2024, 11:11 AM
It’s not even like Hibs have had a mass cull of players over summer. If you look at previous seasons we have plenty players leaving and joining. This has been the quietist incomings for a while though.Partially a result of players being on money and length of contracts they wont get elsewhere.
inglisavhibs
29-07-2024, 11:13 AM
Killmarnock signed, I think, 16 players last summer and St Mirren 10. Both went on to make Europe. Big turnovers each summer are the reality of Scottish football. Which is fine if there’s an overarching plan to it. Our approach of signing lots of good individual players and hoping they somehow fit together is why we were poorer than most at it.Killie may have signed 16 players last summer but the team that came to Easter Road in the 2nd half of the season had 8 players who were there the previous season. They must have signed a lot of non starters as well.
29-07-2024, 11:17 AM
I have heard we are in for a guy called Callum Marshall from West Ham. Source is a guy from the golf club who is friendly with a current Hibs youth coach.
Assuming it's a loan ,he was on loan at West Brom last season and didn't make much of an impact but did get some minutes at a very good level . Already got A few caps for N Ireland
If we can pull that off, I’m going to phone Killie and see if they’ll swap me a ps5 for my old broken gameboy
They took perma-injured Kyle Magennis so you never know.
29-07-2024, 11:20 AM
If there was one player I couldn’t imagine Derek Mcinnes signing it would be Jair.
chippy
29-07-2024, 11:22 AM
If we can pull that off, I’m going to phone Killie and see if they’ll swap me a ps5 for my old broken gameboyMust have incriminating photos of Deek
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 11:46 AM
Assuming it's a loan ,he was on loan at West Brom last season and didn't make much of an impact but did get some minutes at a very good level . Already got A few caps for N Ireland
Unfortunate not to have got a goal for N Ireland too . Thought this was an interesting watch about him....
https://youtu.be/O7dsX3RV8XI?si=3eH3k2rYeoVCfiKAhttps://youtu.be/O7dsX3RV8XI?si=3eH3k2rYeoVCfiKA
https://www.whufc.com/player/189
29-07-2024, 12:26 PM
https://x.com/wearescottishfb/status/1817897095820411005?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Not a very credible source but hopefully true!
29-07-2024, 12:29 PM
https://x.com/wearescottishfb/status/1817897095820411005?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Doesn't look like the worst source. Be chuffed if true, especially if its a permanent deal
Brummie_Hibs
29-07-2024, 12:45 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-on-teen-star-and-youan-scare-as-new-striker-link-emerges-4704503 Looks like Evening News reported it first
29-07-2024, 12:49 PM
If there was one player I couldn’t imagine Derek Mcinnes signing it would be Jair.
Guaranteed he’d end up scoring twenty goals in a half season under McInnes as well.
andrew70
29-07-2024, 12:50 PM
Josh Nisbet linked with Ross County
29-07-2024, 12:52 PM
Josh Nisbet linked with Ross CountyWho’s he again
andrew70
29-07-2024, 12:53 PM
Who’s he again
The very good Australian centre mid, he’ll get better than County.
29-07-2024, 12:55 PM
Josh Nisbet linked with Ross County
That's either an incredible signing for county if it happens or I got it wrong all these times I seen him play and he's not as good as I thought 😅
29-07-2024, 12:56 PM
The very good Australian centre mid, he’ll get better than County.No being arsey here at all btw mate but if he’s good as some folk on here have said he is, how’s it taken him so long to pick up a club (and one better than Ross County at that) and surely we’d have looked at him as an option considering he’s free and available, which will suit us as we’ve clearly no got a pot to piss in
andrew70
29-07-2024, 01:00 PM
No being arsey here at all btw mate but if he’s good as some folk on here have said he is, how’s it taken him so long to pick up a club (and one better than Ross County at that) and surely we’d have looked at him as an option considering he’s free and available, which will suit us as we’ve clearly no got a pot to piss in
He would have already signed for Hibs had it not been for the change in manager.
On your first point i’d imagine he’s taking stock of all his offers but you never know. He’s diminutive in size so that’s maybe off putting some but that would be disrespectful to a player of his quality.
29-07-2024, 01:01 PM
No being arsey here at all btw mate but if he’s good as some folk on here have said he is, how’s it taken him so long to pick up a club (and one better than Ross County at that) and surely we’d have looked at him as an option considering he’s free and available, which will suit us as we’ve clearly no got a pot to piss in
He’s a very good player and his close control is fantastic. Think he would be a superb addition.
29-07-2024, 01:03 PM
No being arsey here at all btw mate but if he’s good as some folk on here have said he is, how’s it taken him so long to pick up a club (and one better than Ross County at that) and surely we’d have looked at him as an option considering he’s free and available, which will suit us as we’ve clearly no got a pot to piss inFolk thought Monty was the new Ange as well. There's a huge gulf between the Australian league and the Scottish Prem. In saying that i know next to nothing about Josh Nisbet.
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 01:04 PM
No being arsey here at all btw mate but if he’s good as some folk on here have said he is, how’s it taken him so long to pick up a club (and one better than Ross County at that) and surely we’d have looked at him as an option considering he’s free and available, which will suit us as we’ve clearly no got a pot to piss inIt's almost as if footballers are allowed to take time off after leaving there previous club and weigh up there options. Who'd have thought eh
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 01:10 PM
I couldn't read it though there's some mention of Hibs and that player Cassius Mailula in the Scotsman.
tonyrougier123
29-07-2024, 01:11 PM
I honestly think Nisbet could be a decent player in this league.
Aussie league is hard to judge in saying that, I think his ball control low centre of gravity and tenacity could be zemmama esq. did miss one of the worst sitters I’ve ever seen though 😂🤦*♂️
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 01:13 PM
I couldn't read it though there's some mention of Hibs and that player Cassius Mailula in the Scotsman.Ian Gordon spending far to much time on football manager with that one.
Paulie Walnuts
29-07-2024, 01:16 PM
I’ve seen him a few times and I’ve absolutely no issue with us not signing him. I’m not sure he’s good enough from what I’ve seen.
29-07-2024, 01:18 PM
Unfortunate not to have got a goal for N Ireland too . Thought this was an interesting watch about him....
https://youtu.be/O7dsX3RV8XI?si=3eH3k2rYeoVCfiKAhttps://youtu.be/O7dsX3RV8XI?si=3eH3k2rYeoVCfiKA
https://www.whufc.com/player/189
His record in Premier League 2 last season was phenomenal. Played 14 games and scored 18 goals plus 5 assists.
Not sure what standard that is but I'd imagine it's atleast on par with our Championship and those numbers are impressive.
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 01:22 PM
Ian Gordon spending far to much time on football manager with that one.
Maybe though I checked up on MM and noticed that when he was manager at Ross County he signed Loturi from Calvary FC . Also a possibility he knows the player , anyhow might not happen as it's all speculation at this point.
29-07-2024, 01:24 PM
His record in Premier League 2 last season was phenomenal. Played 14 games and scored 18 goals plus 5 assists.
Not sure what standard that is but I'd imagine it's atleast on par with our Championship and those numbers are impressive.
Would rather him than the South African boy.
Looks like he knows exactly where the goals are.
Still think we would also need a big experienced robust striker.
Also quite like the look of Bowie as well.
29-07-2024, 01:25 PM
Yeah very impressive
When you see the success of guys like Mika Biereth for Motherwell last season it seems a bit bad about to look at these guys.
If we signed Biereth, Beck etc last year I’m sure there would have been comments about we need a higher standard. Within a couple of months they’re then we’ll out of our reach
29-07-2024, 01:28 PM
Would rather him than the South African boy.
Looks like he knows exactly where the goals are.
Still think we would also need a big experienced robust striker.
Also quite like the look of Bowie as well.
Think the South African boy is a winger/10 according to most fans of South African football.
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 01:32 PM
I really don't know the standard of the premier League 2 though I agree , you'd think it would be at least on par with our championship. It's quite some record he's got , that's for sure .
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 01:40 PM
Maybe though I checked up on MM and noticed that when he was manager at Ross County he signed Loturi from Calvary FC . Also a possibility he knows the player , anyhow might not happen as it's all speculation at this point.Aye you could be spot on, sure MM will have his fingers in many pies. Hopefully he and Bowie are added to the attacking options.
29-07-2024, 01:53 PM
Maybe though I checked up on MM and noticed that when he was manager at Ross County he signed Loturi from Calvary FC . Also a possibility he knows the player , anyhow might not happen as it's all speculation at this point.
I posted the same on the PM this afternoon.
Good to see someone else’s brain is obsessed with finding out these sort of things as me 🤣
29-07-2024, 02:03 PM
I posted the same on the PM this afternoon.
Good to see someone else’s brain is obsessed with finding out these sort of things as me 🤣
Hate to steal both your thunder but I posted that when we were first linked with him 😜
29-07-2024, 02:26 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-on-teen-star-and-youan-scare-as-new-striker-link-emerges-4704503 Looks like Evening News reported it first
Or did they 👀
29-07-2024, 02:38 PM
Who’s he again
The next Jimmy Jeggo.
29-07-2024, 02:40 PM
The football ability standard is probably a lot higher, but there’s a massive step up from playing u21s to first team football.
Edinburgh Green
29-07-2024, 02:43 PM
The football ability standard is probably a lot higher, but there’s a massive step up from playing u21s to first team football.
Yip, Kennah was bossing it at that level.
29-07-2024, 02:58 PM
How many games did you see him play at that level?
Edinburgh Green
29-07-2024, 03:00 PM
None, why?
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 03:00 PM
How many games did you see him play at that level?Leeds fans did go on about how they were surprised to be letting him go as he looked a talent. Although saying that Leeds fans are thick as mince so that should have been a big enough sign.
29-07-2024, 03:01 PM
I lived in Leeds for 3 years, so a few mates down there. When we signed him I messaged a boy who goes home and away, he knew of Kenneh but said he had nae idea if he was any good as he’d never seen him play.
29-07-2024, 03:02 PM
Aye, at centre back.
Read an article about his time at Shrewsbury where the new manager dropped him. When he got back in he was told to play to his strengths and keep it simple - meaning just give it to the football players.
I’m amazed anyone scouted him and thought he could play midfield. His attends at chasing Nouble back when we conceded at Livingston was even worse than his ball skills.
MagicSwirlingShip
29-07-2024, 03:04 PM
The next Jimmy Jeggo.
Viva el Jeggo
29-07-2024, 03:12 PM
None, why?
Not sure how you can say he was bossing it then? I think he played 1 season at that level and Leeds finished 2nd bottom.
The lad at West Ham has 23 direct goal contributions, the vast majority of them goals, in 14 games at that level. That's impressive even without us being sure what sort of level it is, but it will be technically very good.
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 03:18 PM
On the forward front , we are now linked with ..
Bowie.
Mailula.
Marshall.
Mykola .
I suppose my preference would be Bowie in he seems to versatile and Mykola in that I rate him highly and he'd give us a physical presence upfront though understand why some don't .
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 03:21 PM
On the forward front , we are now linked with ..Bowie.Mailula.Marshall.Mykola .I suppose my preference would be Bowie in he seems to versatile and Mykola in that I rate him highly and he'd give us a physical presence upfront though understand why some don't .When were we linked with Mykola?
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 03:28 PM
When were we linked with Mykola?
Think it was just some of us speculating about him right enough and he wasn't actually linked.👍
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 03:33 PM
Think it was just some of us speculating about him right enough and he wasn't actually linked.👍IF he can stay fit then wouldn't mind it at all.
CentreForward
29-07-2024, 03:52 PM
On the forward front , we are now linked with ..Bowie.Mailula.Marshall.Mykola .I suppose my preference would be Bowie in he seems to versatile and Mykola in that I rate him highly and he'd give us a physical presence upfront though understand why some don't .Who is Marshall?
Gruff
29-07-2024, 04:15 PM
Who is Marshall?lad from West Ham, was on loan to West Brom last season.
29-07-2024, 04:21 PM
lad from West Ham, was on loan to West Brom last season.
I’m not sure why West Ham would see a loan move to Scotland being an upgrade on a move to the Championship.
29-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Smith-rowe to Fulham for 34 million.
29-07-2024, 04:24 PM
Aye, at centre back. Read an article about his time at Shrewsbury where the new manager dropped him. When he got back in he was told to play to his strengths and keep it simple - meaning just give it to the football players. I’m amazed anyone scouted him and thought he could play midfield. His attends at chasing Nouble back when we conceded at Livingston was even worse than his ball skills.Its mad that we thought giving him a 3 year deal was sensible. He struggled in the league cup group games, the writing was on the wall then. Despite this there were some people on here soon after he'd signed claiming he'd make us millions and play at a much higher level - I've no idea how anyone could have come to that conclusion based on his early performances for us!