View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
11-07-2024, 04:57 PM
Naw cause they wouldn’t have purely looked at other targets if it didn’t fit the 32 is too old for a 3yr deal criteria. You got over Campbell being one of our main midfielders this season yet?
I've no idea what you mean by that first sentence.
I've no problem with Josh Campbell being one of our main midfielders. Hope he does well.
Weird post.
11-07-2024, 05:08 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/24446843.luton-town-set-release-scotland-capped-midfielder-allan-campbell/
Not a rumour but I liked the look of him when he was at ‘well.
11-07-2024, 05:12 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/24446843.luton-town-set-release-scotland-capped-midfielder-allan-campbell/
He'll easily get club down south I reckon. Like Greg Docherty might need to drop a level but even then, they'll still be paying more than us.
11-07-2024, 05:13 PM
I was just thinking about him today but would imagine his wage demands would be on the high side. I don't know why it didn't work out for him at Millwall as he looked good in a promotion winning Luton team. You would imagine a championship club would be interested.
11-07-2024, 05:14 PM
Is Bevan still likely to be a Hibs target? I think he's right sided and we are well covered in that position now.
Sheffhibee
11-07-2024, 05:22 PM
MacLaren would be useless unless we got another big striker next to him and got us playing to him.
Lethal in the box, but his build up play and work out of the box was non existent
Was a weird one how little he played when he came back the second time
If I remember correctly he was suffering with a back injury and Lennon kept playing him regardless, a decent midfield behind him and he would bag us a decent amount of goals.
Certainly knows where the goals are !
1875Sean
11-07-2024, 05:23 PM
No number for Ewan Henderson.
Surely his departure is imminent
Shame the same couldn’t be said for JDH
11-07-2024, 05:34 PM
Is Bevan still likely to be a Hibs target? I think he's right sided and we are well covered in that position now.
We've no idea really. Has been absolutely nothing other than fans linking us with him since he left I don't think.
11-07-2024, 05:36 PM
Definitely went of the rails
🚂
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 05:43 PM
Too similar to Vente I’d have thought.
Yep , two poachers . Need something different up front .
11-07-2024, 05:57 PM
Who was thon French guy we gave a contract to at age 34 in the late 90s - whatever happened to him [emoji2960]Theres a more than just a wee bit of a difference between a guy who won the European cup and captained France to someone who was previously let go and played for Arbroath queens park and Ross county.
Much as though Simon Murray seems a nice guy I think it's fair to say that skill and ability definitely trumps enthusiasm.
11-07-2024, 06:02 PM
Ndaba seems the obvious shout given he’s the only one recently linked. Definitely need another left back
This is who I want
11-07-2024, 06:03 PM
This is who I want
If we got him, McCowan and a centre forward it would be brilliant
King Cosell
11-07-2024, 06:07 PM
Allan Campbell to leave Luton...
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 06:07 PM
Had wee look on the Dundee forum , one of them asked a specific poster was there any news on Luke McCowan that it had gone quiet on his situation.
Which the reply was that they had made him two offers but both were turned down so far .
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 06:27 PM
Who was thon French guy we gave a contract to at age 34 in the late 90s - whatever happened to him
Freddie Arpinon :wink:
JammyDoidger
11-07-2024, 06:31 PM
Too similar to Vente I’d have thought.
Surely some Dutch mob would take Vente off our hands, replace with Maclaren.
11-07-2024, 06:40 PM
What happened to the midfield guy Bournemouth were supposed to be signing in January? Think his name began with a Z
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 06:42 PM
Replacing a 25 year old that cost a big wedge of cash with a 31 year old isn't happening.
We need to develop the guy after sinking 700k into him.
I think we would be doing well to get 200k back on Vente as things stand at the moment.
11-07-2024, 06:46 PM
What happened to the midfield guy Bournemouth were supposed to be signing in January? Think his name began with a Z
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/oscar-zambrano/profil/spieler/893658
Oscar Zambrano, nothing appears to have changed with him. Still at the same club he was in January. Be good if that deal was to happen though.
11-07-2024, 07:01 PM
Oscar Zambrano, nothing appears to have changed with him. Still at the same club he was in January. Be good if that deal was to happen though.
Is he not possibly getting a ban for doping or was that dropped?
NGoloGrantie
11-07-2024, 07:07 PM
Sure I read somewhere he got done for doping not sure how that will affect other teams wanting him if it’s true
11-07-2024, 07:09 PM
Is he not possibly getting a ban for doping or was that dropped?
Not sure what happened there, he was definitely being investigated. Not sure if the investigation has finished and he's not guilty of any doping or if the investigation is still on going.
JammyDoidger
11-07-2024, 07:29 PM
Replacing a 25 year old that cost a big wedge of cash with a 31 year old isn't happening.
We need to develop the guy after sinking 700k into him.
I think we would be doing well to get 200k back on Vente as things stand at the moment.
I just don't see it with him, another howler from the recruitment team, looks slow, weak, like he's never going to score. Sometimes better to take something and cut your losses, could have bought Murray for what we sold vente for and that's guaranteed goals.
Silky
11-07-2024, 07:30 PM
Who was thon French guy we gave a contract to at age 34 in the late 90s - whatever happened to him 🤭
David Zitelli.
11-07-2024, 07:33 PM
I just don't see it with him, another howler from the recruitment team, looks slow, weak, like he's never going to score. Sometimes better to take something and cut your losses, could have bought Murray for what we sold vente for and that's guaranteed goals.
Scored last week.
11-07-2024, 07:35 PM
David Zitelli.
Sauzee
badabing67
11-07-2024, 07:51 PM
Who was that guy at Man City we were linked with last summer, the guy that had a just finished a season at Blackpool and was a Scotland u21's. I think it was ruled out cause Man City were only allowed 10 international loans.
Willis1875
11-07-2024, 07:51 PM
Who was that guy at Man City we were linked with last summer, the guy that had a just finished a season at Blackpool and was a Scotland u21's. I think it was ruled out cause Man City were only allowed 10 international loans.
Lewis Fiorini
11-07-2024, 07:53 PM
What if Murray wanted to sign for his boyhood club in the city where his family are ??
Lewis Fiorini?
Think he’s just joined someone really ***** in the English league 2 so I’m guessing his loans haven’t been a success.
Lewis Fiorini
Signed permanently for someone last week can’t mind who though
andrew70
Lewis Fiorini
He signed for Stockport
Signed a permanent deal with Stockport.
Leitherhibs
11-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A more athletic partner for Vente
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
11-07-2024, 08:08 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
Carlsberg Sir [emoji16]
11-07-2024, 08:08 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
Britt Assombalonga looking for a club seemed to be decent
11-07-2024, 08:11 PM
Would love Vente to start scoring for fun this season. His highlight reel in Holland shows a complete variety of goals and quite a few headed goals.
He’s also got to get the right service - without a playmaker that’s an issue too.
11-07-2024, 08:25 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
Yes please 🙏
sauzee1989
11-07-2024, 08:25 PM
That would be a downgrade
11-07-2024, 08:29 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
Maolida
C'mon Hibs
FTFY :hyper
11-07-2024, 08:39 PM
That would be a downgrade
It would be a vast improvement!
1875Sean
11-07-2024, 08:49 PM
Allan Campbell to leave Luton...
Take him in a heartbeat however I think we would need to shift a few midfielders before any come in, when you look at the squad we are a few players who can play there, although a few are not good enough
JammyDoidger
11-07-2024, 08:53 PM
Surely we can bring free agents in and pay higher wages than normal? You can get better free agents than some of the hefty fees you need to pay for absolute crap.
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 09:50 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
Do we really need a back up keeper? .
Watched this earlier about the keepers training in the Netherlands . Apologies if you have seen it already...
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1811462962223153168?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
11-07-2024, 10:01 PM
Allan Campbell
Luke McCowan
Corrie Ndaba
A backup goalie
C'mon Hibs
Two central midfielders in there, can’t see either of those happening when we have the amount of central midfielders that we do.
Regardless of what any of us think of them, Newell, NMW, Campbell, Levitt and Amos will be expecting first team football and their wages will reflect that. On top of that we also have JDH if he ever becomes fit again.
If we had the option if releasing two of the above and replacing them with your two, I’d do it in a second but that’s not likely to happen with them being under contract. No way we’ll go into next season with 7 or 8 first team level midfielders.
11-07-2024, 10:03 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1811513584834294209?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Campbell unlikely to come back to Scotland
No surprise
MikeyS
11-07-2024, 10:08 PM
Surely we can bring free agents in and pay higher wages than normal? You can get better free agents than some of the hefty fees you need to pay for absolute crap.
We could bring in free agents and pay more than we usually do but how do you propose doing so whilst we still have 5 or 6 to get shot of who happen to be on lengthy contracts and will be looking for a fair pay out to go?
scm70nyd1973
11-07-2024, 10:12 PM
Theres a more than just a wee bit of a difference between a guy who won the European cup and captained France to someone who was previously let go and played for Arbroath queens park and Ross county.
Much as though Simon Murray seems a nice guy I think it's fair to say that skill and ability definitely trumps enthusiasm.
Oops I thought it was about the guy who Aberdeen signed - but yes a big difference between Sauzee and Murray 😁
Edit - I’ve looked back and it was my response to the Aberdeen signing - i thought I was going mad 😁
1875Sean
11-07-2024, 10:16 PM
Two central midfielders in there, can’t see either of those happening when we have the amount of central midfielders that we do.
Regardless of what any of us think of them, Newell, NMW, Campbell, Levitt and Amos will be expecting first team football and their wages will reflect that. On top of that we also have JDH if he ever becomes fit again.
Add Kenneth and Delferriere who play there, prob need to get at least 3 off the books before any others come in that position, need to look at getting another striker in, winger and left back first
11-07-2024, 10:50 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1811513584834294209?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
No surprise
See Scott Burns has posted it. Wouldn’t believe him if he said it was snowing outside.
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 11:08 PM
No surprise
Maybe he just wants to stay in England though I would have thought if the Old firm wanted him he'd have jumped at the opportunity ( Hun fan is he not ? ), if the old firm weren't interested , is there another 7 clubs that could afford him?
PHeffernan
12-07-2024, 12:35 AM
Maybe he just wants to stay in England though I would have thought if the Old firm wanted him he'd have jumped at the opportunity ( Hun fan is he not ? ), if the old firm weren't interested , is there another 7 clubs that could afford him?
Campbell not good enough for Celgers if he couldn't get a game for Millwall last season.
An English 3rd tier team will give him 6k a week to do his thing.
12-07-2024, 06:29 AM
We should be, but would it surprise me if we made an absolute mess of it?
Absolutely not.
Our problem, for several seasons, has been our inability to do the simple stuff in defence. We seem to make more chances than most teams with the existing squad, if our new defenders plug the gaps this could be a much more fruitful season and still plenty of the transfer window left.
How’s that for a positive post? 😁
12-07-2024, 06:31 AM
Our problem, for several seasons, has been our inability to do the simple stuff in defence. We seem to make more chances than most teams with the existing squad, if our new defenders plug the gaps this could be a much more fruitful season and still plenty of the transfer window left.
No room for positivity on here
12-07-2024, 06:34 AM
Do we really need a back up keeper? .
Watched this earlier about the keepers training in the Netherlands . Apologies if you have seen it already...
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1811462962223153168?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
That was good and think Samson seems the sort of character to get the best out of people. Only two goalies though and with chat of Jojo leaving will definitely need cover. Having to coach Jo and Jojo can’t be easy 😊
12-07-2024, 06:34 AM
Good point
12-07-2024, 06:43 AM
Was more along lines of train-passengers hornby-toymaker, thought you might’ve read between the lines but conversation has went off track our new striker might be late on arrival however. 🤦*♂️😬😬
You’ve just got to gauge it correctly on here
12-07-2024, 07:22 AM
No surprise
Scott burns could tell me hibs play in green and I’d still google it
12-07-2024, 07:24 AM
Scott Burns could tell me that the time was midday and I’d still check my watch.
12-07-2024, 07:24 AM
See Scott Burns has posted it. Wouldn’t believe him if he said it was snowing outside.
If it was this July, I might.
12-07-2024, 07:37 AM
Sun saying Goodwin keen to take Ryan Jack to Utd.
Injury history obviously a factor for clubs, thought he’d have found something by now.
12-07-2024, 07:57 AM
Scott Burns could tell me that the time was midday and I’d still check my watch.
Particularly since you posted this at 8.24am :greengrin
Greenworld
12-07-2024, 07:59 AM
We could bring in free agents and pay more than we usually do but how do you propose doing so whilst we still have 5 or 6 to get shot of who happen to be on lengthy contracts and will be looking for a fair pay out to go?Yup you need money to do that from what I'm hearing we don't have a lot.
Not sure what's going on but hearing the black knights money has not yet been paid , hope that's wrong but might explain the lack of high end signings .
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
EGL2000
12-07-2024, 08:01 AM
Unnamed Russian prem team after Reo Hatate. He can do a lot better than that!
12-07-2024, 08:04 AM
Yup you need money to do that from what I'm hearing we don't have a lot.
Not sure what's going on but hearing the black knights money has not yet been paid , hope that's wrong but might explain the lack of high end signings .
Were the funds not showing on companies house? Does that not mean it’s been paid? Could be completely wrong mind you!
Leitherhibs
12-07-2024, 08:11 AM
Ruari Paton anyone? Read that Mansfield and Port Vale are interested, we could outbid them surely?
12-07-2024, 08:20 AM
No surprise
I can't say i really recall Campbell to be honest.
12-07-2024, 08:24 AM
1st official game of the season tomorrow..
Would be nice of Hibs to give the fans a small boost before the season starts with a new player today.
3 weeks till the new league season starts which really isn’t long for new players to come into the group and be ready.
12-07-2024, 08:24 AM
The funds from BK would need to have been in place before the shares where then allocated and then the information put on companies house
EGL2000
12-07-2024, 08:27 AM
1st official game of the season tomorrow..
Would be nice of Hibs to give the fans a small boost before the season starts with a new player today.
3 weeks till the new league season starts which really isn’t long for new players to come into the group and be ready.
But quality players only become available at the end of the window.....
12-07-2024, 08:34 AM
But quality players only become available at the end of the window.....
Or when the Euros / Copa America are finished..
Or when Bournemouth return from America and decide who won’t be getting a game ?!’
12-07-2024, 08:37 AM
Who are you hearing this from?
Greenworld
12-07-2024, 08:52 AM
Who are you hearing this from?Someone who I trust but I'm hoping is wrong
12-07-2024, 08:57 AM
The funds from BK would need to have been in place before the shares where then allocated and then the information put on companies house
And their nominees to the board couldn't have taken their places and attended board meetings if the shares hadn't been paid for. Nor could they have given consent to the subsequent share issue either.
Someone who I trust but I'm hoping is wrong
What team do they support?
12-07-2024, 08:59 AM
And their nominees to the board couldn't have taken their places and attended board meetings if the shares hadn't been paid for. Nor could they have given consent to the subsequent share issue either.
Apart from that though…….
12-07-2024, 09:04 AM
Not saying you haven't heard it from someone you trust, however I trust my brother but he knows nothing about the inner going ons at ER 😁
12-07-2024, 09:08 AM
Comes back to what folks opinion of a ‘high end’ signing is I suppose. Maolida turned out to be one but he’d been playing in the fourth tier of German football
Hearts have 15k season tickets sold, they’ve been getting millions every year from a benefactor, but their summer business still consists of players from Livingston, Ross County and Motherwell with a couple of other randoms chucked in.
We need to get the finger out and start getting bodies in the door but I can’t see any drastic change in where we’re shopping. Additional money should obviously give us a better chance of getting certain players if we’re up against certain teams though.
WestStandWillie
12-07-2024, 09:14 AM
The current squad should be more than capable of beating the 4 teams in our LC group.
The crucial part of the recruitment was getting two capable CH's in - we got that.
If we have to wait another week or so for more bodies then i'm not overly annoyed at that.
babahibs
12-07-2024, 09:25 AM
I don't think that's possible (it's not).
12-07-2024, 09:34 AM
Maybe worth deleting this post as it simply can't be the case as outlined by other posters?
Scotty Leither
12-07-2024, 09:38 AM
The current squad should be more than capable of beating the 4 teams in our LC group.
The crucial part of the recruitment was getting two capable CH's in - we got that.
If we have to wait another week or so for more bodies then i'm not overly annoyed at that.
Maybe someone at the club could have thought it’s maybe a good idea to have a CF signed in time for our first competitive game?
Given how piss easy the group is, that same CF might be able to bag a few goals and let their team mates get used to playing with them, or maybe that’s too much like forward planning for those running our club?
12-07-2024, 09:47 AM
Maybe someone at the club could have thought it’s maybe a good idea to have a CF signed in time for our first competitive game?
Given how piss easy the group is, that same CF might be able to bag a few goals and let their team mates get used to playing with them, or maybe that’s too much like forward planning for those running our club?
Definitely need a good striker. But Vente, Boyle and Youan can all play up top and will be more than enough to get us past Elgin. McKirdy can play there as well but has barely had any game time so can't see him playing.
Absolutely need some proper competition/a starter up top though, an actual striker and not just a winger who can play as a striker.
TrinityHFC
12-07-2024, 09:50 AM
Easy as that eh?
We’ve more than enough to win these games. If we don’t it has nothing to do with not signing more players.
More important we get the right players in than just signing people in time to play Elgin.
Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2024, 09:50 AM
Comes back to what folks opinion of a ‘high end’ signing is I suppose. Maolida turned out to be one but he’d been playing in the fourth tier of German football
Hearts have 15k season tickets sold, they’ve been getting millions every year from a benefactor, but their summer business still consists of players from Livingston, Ross County and Motherwell with a couple of other randoms chucked in.
We need to get the finger out and start getting bodies in the door but I can’t see any drastic change in where we’re shopping. Additional money should obviously give us a better chance of getting certain players if we’re up against certain teams though.
Wonder who folk would deem to be recent high end signings for us, Hearts and Aberdeen?
Marcondes would probably be ours and he was so average. Hearts could maybe point to Shankland, after that it would probably be Whelan and he was garbage. Aberdeen, I can’t even think who would have been a high end signing for them in a long, long time.
Teams at our level just don’t really make ‘marquee signings’. We don’t have the money for it.
12-07-2024, 10:01 AM
You have given one possible pro to getting a new striker in early. Said striker could also get injured playing against cloggers on a tattie field?
Another way to spin the story is - given how easy the group is, McKirdy scores a hat-trick. An English league one side see this, and pay money to take him off our hands. This frees up a wage to put toward this high end signing everyone seems to want.
Surely showcasing the available assets in their best light would also be a good plan?
Greenworld
12-07-2024, 10:06 AM
Maybe worth deleting this post as it simply can't be the case as outlined by other posters?Nah it's fine Flash if it's wrong it's wrong not a problem. I found it strange but funny things happen in life
at last 61
12-07-2024, 10:10 AM
Whenever we sign a centre forward,we really need two as we have lost at least two, maybe a younger one on loan and another one with a lot more experience, patiently waiting
12-07-2024, 10:19 AM
Sounds like utter nonsense
Hibee Daft
12-07-2024, 10:39 AM
Whenever we sign a centre forward,we really need two as we have lost at least two, maybe a younger one on loan and another one with a lot more experience, patiently waiting
Still think Vente will come good. It's a new manager need to give some of the players that stay our backing otherwise we'd have been better keeping Monty and clearing out the players
NC1875
12-07-2024, 11:00 AM
More important we get the right players in than just signing people in time to play Elgin.
Always laugh at that comment.
are all the “right” players only available at the end of the window ?
How about we identify who it is we need and go get them. You’re not telling me every player we’ve identified won’t be available until later in the window.
We’re always slow in signing players and underprepared. Then we’ll be talking in September/october about how players need time to settle while we go on to have yet another crap season.
So far nothing has changed.
Bridge hibs
12-07-2024, 11:09 AM
How about we identify who it is we need and go get them. You’re not telling me every player we’ve identified won’t be available until later in the window.
We’re always slow in signing players and underprepared. Then we’ll be talking in September/october about how players need time to settle while we go on to have yet another crap season.
So far nothing has changed.Nothing has changed apart from identifying 3 weak areas of the team that needed strengthened ? And signing them early in the window. Those positions imo were more important to the team than a midfielder and a striker whom Im confident we will sign
12-07-2024, 11:11 AM
It's not the end of the window, far from it.
at last 61
12-07-2024, 11:12 AM
Still think Vente will come good. It's a new manager need to give some of the players that stay our backing otherwise we'd have been better keeping Monty and clearing out the players
I'm old school as in a good goalkeeper,✅ 2 big c/h ✅ a creative midfielder, obviously a new player, and two wingers ✅ and a little and large strikes,so a new one to partner vented, job done ✅ because with the right balance in the team I also think vented Will be a good player
12-07-2024, 11:12 AM
Ignoring the fact we have signed 3 players already of course 😁
TrinityHFC
12-07-2024, 11:49 AM
No, we’ve signed 3 players evidently some of the players we’ve wanted have been available and we’ve got them.
There’s a lot more to signing players than identifying the ones you want then just going out and signing them though I’m sure you actually know that.
davemcbain
12-07-2024, 11:51 AM
Reasons for the lack of signings:
1) We sacked the manager (like we do every year). New man in with new ideas, so all that scouting based on the old guys ideas that was done in the last 6 months probably went out the window. Basically the scouting will have re-started with a new brief, the day DG was hired.
2) We lost some key positions - goalkeeper,defenders - these were found and brought in pretty quickly, but focus was (rightly) there before going to Holland.
3) Ignoring whether we do or do not have money to spend, we had a massively bloated squad - needed to shift a lot of useless wages and this has happened, but takes the managers attention away from the recruitment.
4) Training camp in Holland - it is rare for a manager to make signings when they are not in the country. Training camps are good, but like everything come with compromises.
5) Players make decisions to come or not based on a bunch of things - football is wierd, players don't send you their CV, come for a single interview and get offered a job on the spot. Some are in demand and want to check out other offers, some have family commitments, some would sooner go to Dundee because they support them. Sometimes these things take time. It's not that players aren't available, they are often just weighing up the options and will hopefully come good soon.
5) DG has been back in Edinburgh 5 days now - pretty sure he will be working on a few deals, but these things take time.
Sure there's a bunch of others, but personally won't be panicing for a week or two.
12-07-2024, 12:18 PM
Agents prob playing off other interested clubs for best deal
12-07-2024, 12:25 PM
Reasons for the lack of signings:
1) We sacked the manager (like we do every year). New man in with new ideas, so all that scouting based on the old guys ideas that was done in the last 6 months probably went out the window. Basically the scouting will have re-started with a new brief, the day DG was hired.
2) We lost some key positions - goalkeeper,defenders - these were found and brought in pretty quickly, but focus was (rightly) there before going to Holland.
3) Ignoring whether we do or do not have money to spend, we had a massively bloated squad - needed to shift a lot of useless wages and this has happened, but takes the managers attention away from the recruitment.
4) Training camp in Holland - it is rare for a manager to make signings when they are not in the country. Training camps are good, but like everything come with compromises.
5) Players make decisions to come or not based on a bunch of things - football is wierd, players don't send you their CV, come for a single interview and get offered a job on the spot. Some are in demand and want to check out other offers, some have family commitments, some would sooner go to Dundee because they support them. Sometimes these things take time. It's not that players aren't available, they are often just weighing up the options and will hopefully come good soon.
5) DG has been back in Edinburgh 5 days now - pretty sure he will be working on a few deals, but these things take time.
Sure there's a bunch of others, but personally won't be panicing for a week or two.
Very well put.
Caversham Green
12-07-2024, 12:34 PM
Nah it's fine Flash if it's wrong it's wrong not a problem. I found it strange but funny things happen in life
It is wrong. This is the statement of capital following the share issue - section 3 shows that the amounts paid and unpaid on the shares, the latter of which is nil.
12-07-2024, 01:32 PM
Newell signs extension through to summer 27
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/12/joe-newell-extends-contract---named-hibs-captain/
12-07-2024, 01:36 PM
Just deleted same info.
Really pleased with this one.
To be honest so am I. the mic'd up video show's he's a great leader on the pitch and does it in the right way as well. Nothing but time for Joe Newell
12-07-2024, 01:37 PM
Wonder why Hibs have taken so long to announce that Newell new contract?
Dele Alli a free agent... or is he done 😁
To be honest so am I. the mic'd up video show's he's a great leader on the pitch and does it in the right way as well. Nothing but time for Joe Newell
Not sure about 3 years tbh. He really needs to step up for me.
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 01:52 PM
Not sure about 3 years tbh. He really needs to step up for me.
Imo he needs to as well . Thought for large parts of last season he was poor .
12-07-2024, 02:06 PM
With Newell def staying we def need improvements in the midfield to play alongside him. He was best for us when he had Gogic covering for him and we haven’t had a midfielder like that since. We also need a busy midfielder like Irvine as well.
gorgie greens
12-07-2024, 02:27 PM
Imo he needs to as well . Thought for large parts of last season he was poor .
He has the tools and his work rate is good but often slows things down too much for my liking
12-07-2024, 02:30 PM
He has the tools and his work rate is good but often slows things down too much for my liking
Think that'll change this season. In one of the early pre season camp videos we were doing a drill and Newell was in the middle. Basically he was the free man and his job was to take the ball, turn and play it to a team mate It started off pretty slow the first few times, SDG spotted this and asked Newell to be quicker and then said he was only allowed two touches.
Really looking forward to how it looks like we'll play under Gray.
12-07-2024, 02:42 PM
Zak Rudden leaves Dundee, always looked decent in the championship. Wonder if he will head back there.
12-07-2024, 02:59 PM
Wonder why Hibs have taken so long to announce that Newell new contract?
Maybe he just signed it. Nobody on here said he signed it a while ago and this place is teeming with desperados who are desperate to be seen as in the know.
Hibees1973
12-07-2024, 03:02 PM
Delighted Joe has signed on for another 3 years.
Can count on one hand the other players we currently have who are as good/better than him.
He has his critics, which is fair enough but we have very few players with the technical ability Joe has. He doesn't hide, always looks for the ball, is fit and rarely injured.
He has weak points, for example a lack of pace, but if he had pace he would be playing at a higher level.
12-07-2024, 03:19 PM
With Newell def staying we def need improvements in the midfield to play alongside him. He was best for us when he had Gogic covering for him and we haven’t had a midfielder like that since. We also need a busy midfielder like Irvine as well.
We had our best results, sure. That is not Newells best season for Hibs, though. He was better in both the last 2 than he was in 20/21.
If anything, Newell was covering for Gogic.
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 03:31 PM
Think that'll change this season. In one of the early pre season camp videos we were doing a drill and Newell was in the middle. Basically he was the free man and his job was to take the ball, turn and play it to a team mate It started off pretty slow the first few times, SDG spotted this and asked Newell to be quicker and then said he was only allowed two touches.
Really looking forward to how it looks like we'll play under Gray.
Agree with the OP that Newell slowed the game down to much at times , hopefully after seeing the camp video that you mention it will change .
Not one of Newells biggest fans on here though I am optimistic that we will be better under Gray...
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/12/newell-honoured-to-wear-the-armband/
12-07-2024, 04:18 PM
St Mirren Football Club is delighted to announce the signing of Dennis Adeniran on a one-year deal.
The 25-year-old has agreed an initial one-year contract with an appearance based option of a second year.
Welcome to St Mirren, @DennisAE7!
12-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Zak Rudden leaves Dundee, always looked decent in the championship. Wonder if he will head back there.
Looks like he's off to queen's park
12-07-2024, 04:23 PM
We had our best results, sure. That is not Newells best season for Hibs, though. He was better in both the last 2 than he was in 20/21.
If anything, Newell was covering for Gogic.
Whatever, it’s the results I’m interested in.
I’m concerned that Gray appears to think Newell and Campbell will be a winning combination in our midfield. We’ve seen this movie before and it wasn’t very good.
We have a while to go yet in the window but the new season is not looking very promising.
12-07-2024, 04:31 PM
I’m concerned that Gray appears to think Newell and Campbell will be a winning combination in our midfield. We’ve seen this movie before and it wasn’t very good.
We have a while to go yet in the window but the new season is not looking very promising.
Are you unable to separate results from an individual players performance?
I dunno how the new season will go. Far too early to say really. I think we'll sign midfielders before the league starts, though.
12-07-2024, 04:31 PM
Concerned is an understatement Ozzy. Gray has been right in the heart of it and can surely see that the midfield need sprucing up as a minimum.
Time will tell if this is a good bit of business for us but going on previous seasons JN is too lightweight imo.
12-07-2024, 04:32 PM
Concerned is an understatement Ozzy. Gray has been right in the heart of it and can surely see that the midfield need sprucing up as a minimum.
Time will tell if this is a good bit of business for us but going on previous seasons JN is too lightweight imo.
Lightweight? Good grief. He's many things but lightweight? Certainly not.
12-07-2024, 04:33 PM
Lightweight? Good grief. He's many things but lightweight? Certainly not.
My opinion is my own is that ok for you :aok:
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 04:58 PM
There was quite abit of debating awhile back on what we should be looking to get for Youan , some seem to think 3 mil was to much .
If this guy's worth 2 then I think Youan is worth 3 or more ....
https://www.footballinsider247.com/rangers-to-accept-2m-sam-lammers-offer-sources/
12-07-2024, 05:03 PM
Wonder with Zac Rudden looking likely to be going to Queens Park if that means Ruari Paton may be moving on.
chippy
12-07-2024, 05:08 PM
Wonder with Zac Rudden looking likely to be going to Queens Park if that means Ruri Paton may be moving on.
That would be interesting
Murray to Dundee
Rudden from Dundee to Queens Park
Paton from Queens Park to ?
12-07-2024, 05:14 PM
Derek Adams Morecambe just announced 15 signings in one swoop
Bridge hibs
12-07-2024, 05:16 PM
Cant believe we lost out on 15 signings to ****ing Morcambe
Kensell etc etc etc oot
12-07-2024, 05:18 PM
You put it on a public forum tbf.
12-07-2024, 05:19 PM
Aberdeen say they are taking disciplinary action against Duk after the Cape Verde forward "failed to report to training and is currently absent without permission".
Probably somewhere diving about.
12-07-2024, 05:27 PM
Of course it is. Who said otherwise?
12-07-2024, 05:31 PM
Scott Arfield signs for Bolton
Stairway 2 7
12-07-2024, 05:33 PM
Cant believe we lost out on 15 signings to ****ing Morcambe
Kensell etc etc etc oot
That's sensationalist nonsense, we only were outbid for 9 of them we had no chance with 6
12-07-2024, 05:34 PM
That is ****ing amazing PR.
NC1875
12-07-2024, 05:36 PM
15 duds signing this early in the window. If only they’d waited for the good players.
12-07-2024, 05:38 PM
That’s basically me on Football Manager after I’ve been given a bit of extra wage budget and offered any former internationalist a trial.
“Remarkably this is your 22nd signing of the window. Is there room for more to
come?”
ruthven_raiders
12-07-2024, 05:45 PM
That would be interesting
Murray to Dundee
Rudden from Dundee to Queens Park
Paton from Queens Park to ?
Ruri obviously was at hibs before, what kind of forward is he? Strong, holding the ball up, or someone who runs on to thru balls?
12-07-2024, 05:58 PM
Ruri obviously was at hibs before, what kind of forward is he? Strong, holding the ball up, or someone who runs on to thru balls?
No idea what kind of player he is his goalscoring record over the last 3 seasons has been ok
20/21 season 9 in 30 all comps for Stranraer League 2
21/22 season 8 in 45 all comps QOTS championship
22/23 season 25 in 46 all comps QOTS league 1
23/24 season 22 in 43 all comps QOTS championship
55 goals in 133 appearances last 3 seasons for QOTS in the league and cup across League 1 and Championship
12-07-2024, 05:59 PM
Amos and Nathan Mw too
12-07-2024, 06:27 PM
You put it on a public forum tbf.
He did. But certain posters won’t let you have an opinion and will spend the rest of the day telling you why you’re wrong and they’re right.
12-07-2024, 06:31 PM
He did. But certain posters won’t let you have an opinion and will spend the rest of the day telling you why you’re wrong and they’re right.
Oh no they won’t
Exuberance1875
12-07-2024, 06:40 PM
Amos and Nathan Mw too
Agree, a lot of people forgetting we have these two as well as Levitt who has loads to prove this season!
NMW I think will be a great player for Hibs, he’s so busy and I think given more experience he will only get better with the ball.
Levitt has talent, just needs to make proper use of it and itll be interesting to see how he gets on, especially now with a captain who plays a similar position and likely has gone through the same tough spells as himself.
I’m feeling positive for next year, sick of going in negatively 😂
12-07-2024, 06:50 PM
I've never seen anyone on here not let someone else have an opinion. Can you give any examples?
12-07-2024, 06:55 PM
Callum Hendry signs for MK Dons
12-07-2024, 07:12 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Port Vale close in on six-figure move for Queen's Park star Ruari Paton | @ScottBurns75
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…
badabing67
12-07-2024, 07:23 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Port Vale close in on six-figure move for Queen's Park star Ruari Paton | @ScottBurns75
Surely we would be a better option for him than them...... Get it done Hibs
MagicSwirlingShip
12-07-2024, 07:31 PM
Aww naw
ruthven_raiders
12-07-2024, 08:12 PM
Aww naw
League 2 not a good move for him...
12-07-2024, 08:25 PM
League 2 not a good move for him...
Think they have just signed a few players recent , George Byers which is a great signing for them,Jayden Stockley . I notice they have Funso Ojo and Alex Lacovitti in their squad.
12-07-2024, 08:26 PM
From Fabrizio Romano
🚨🟢 Celtic are closing in on deal to sign Kasper Schmeichel as new goalkeeper. Final details being sorted.
Negotiations underway.
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 08:33 PM
From Fabrizio Romano
🚨🟢 Celtic are closing in on deal to sign Kasper Schmeichel as new goalkeeper. Final details being sorted.
Negotiations underway.
Didn't realise he was 37 now , fantastic keeper all the same.
12-07-2024, 08:35 PM
He's not Finish though
12-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Did he ever play against Hibs when he was at Falkirk?
Good signing for them I think.
(His dad was better though 😜)
12-07-2024, 08:49 PM
Once. 2-0 win for Hibs in 2007 with Benji getting both. Jack Ross was playing for Falkirk.
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 08:56 PM
Capital Green beat me to it 😆.
Falkirk had expressed a interest in trying to sign him and the player at one point I read wanted to stay though maybe that was on loan .
https://thesefootballtimes.co/2017/04/04/the-making-of-kasper-schmeichel-fifteen-games-at-falkirk/
Trinity Hibee
12-07-2024, 09:09 PM
From Fabrizio Romano
Negotiations underway.
Would be some signing that
Donegal Hibby
12-07-2024, 11:53 PM
Should we be trying for this guy or is he out of our range now ?
https://youtu.be/U0X7qjW_YK0?si=dBdL46EnAZoh-un9
13-07-2024, 12:35 AM
He’s one I’d be sceptical of.
At StJohnstone he was horrendous. I was actually stunned he got a move to Motherwell and then he went on a brilliant streak.
I don’t know if it’s luck or if he has just genuinely improved under good coaching (he’s credited Kettlewell re this)
But it’s another where the amount Motherwell would want for him would far exceed what we’d be willing to pay
I’d love us to try get Mika Biereth on loan from Arsenal but I imagine he’ll be championship bound
andrew70
13-07-2024, 12:53 AM
At StJohnstone he was horrendous. I was actually stunned he got a move to Motherwell and then he went on a brilliant streak.
I don’t know if it’s luck or if he has just genuinely improved under good coaching (he’s credited Kettlewell re this)
But it’s another where the amount Motherwell would want for him would far exceed what we’d be willing to pay
I’d love us to try get Mika Biereth on loan from Arsenal but I imagine he’ll be championship bound
Biereth went for £4mill the other day.
I am sure to Sturm Graz.
13-07-2024, 01:00 AM
Biereth went for £4mill the other day.
I am sure to Sturm Graz.
No great surprise there, really good player and has a bit of everything about him!
Motherwell done well even getting him for 6 months
andrew70
13-07-2024, 01:14 AM
No great surprise there, really good player and has a bit of everything about him!
Motherwell done well even getting him for 6 months
On the subject of Bair. Kettlewell has previous for turning strikers into top quality players. Ross Stewart has went for millions after working with him.
Donegal Hibby
13-07-2024, 01:15 AM
I can understand why ...
Because of his time at St Johnstone though he's looked IMO a really good player , who's a handful for any defence.
Your probably right about the amount we would be willing to pay , though if Youan was sold for near 3 mill and bairs contract running out in 2025 .
I think he wouldn't be a bad option to try and get .
Think Biereth joined Strum Graz for about 4 mill btw .
ChilliEater
13-07-2024, 04:59 AM
Motherwell seem to be really good at getting the best out of big strikers who look quite limited - Bair, Van Veen, Curtis Main, Lewis Moult.... probably a few more too. I'm not sure we ever do - Mixu maybe? - but he had done well enough everywhere else he'd been to suggest that he was a bit better quality than that.
andrew70
13-07-2024, 05:04 AM
Motherwell seem to be really good at getting the best out of big strikers who look quite limited - Bair, Van Veen, Curtis Main, Lewis Moult.... probably a few more too. I'm not sure we ever do - Mixu maybe? - but he had done well enough everywhere else he'd been to suggest that he was a bit better quality than that.
Chris Killen was very good before injury.
Mrimbetween
13-07-2024, 05:31 AM
I can understand why ...
Because of his time at St Johnstone though he's looked IMO a really good player , who's a handful for any defence.
Your probably right about the amount we would be willing to pay , though if Youan was sold for near 3 mill and bairs contract running out in 2025 .
I think he wouldn't be a bad option to try and get .
Think Biereth joined Strum Graz for about 4 mill btw . £3 million for Youan is extremely hopeful though he would be a great signing
TheGog
13-07-2024, 05:55 AM
Michael Higdon
Scott McDonald
13-07-2024, 06:51 AM
On the subject of Bair. Kettlewell has previous for turning strikers into top quality players. Ross Stewart has went for millions after working with him.
Van Veen too, he was fairly average before SK turned up then scored 15 goals in 14 games after he got the job.
13-07-2024, 07:59 AM
Wouldn’t touch him.
He’s almost 25 year old, and before last season he’d scored 4 goals in his 76 career games.
He didn’t even do well for the whole of last season, only the second half. By Christmas he had 2 in 20 games. He’d even been out scored by Vente!
The guy obviously had a really good second half of the season, but I don’t even think he looks like a good player when you’re watching him.
13-07-2024, 07:59 AM
Van Veen too, he was fairly average before SK turned up then scored 15 goals in 14 games after he got the job.
Then reverted to how he’d been the rest of his career and barely kicked a ball the next season
13-07-2024, 08:06 AM
Wouldn’t touch him.
He’s almost 25 year old, and before last season he’d scored 4 goals in his 76 career games.
He didn’t even do well for the whole of last season, only the second half. By Christmas he had 2 in 20 games. He’d even been out scored by Vente!
The guy obviously had a really good second half of the season, but I don’t even think he looks like a good player when you’re watching him.
He was gifted a goal at Easter Road after we paired him up with a 16 year old who he tore to pieces. Don’t think he’s the player the goals suggest he is. If he does it again between now and Xmas I’ll happily eat my words.
13-07-2024, 08:13 AM
I’m kinda hoping there are a few quality gems come our way in the next few weeks.
Whatwith the Euros being on there has been a serious lack of investment from the top clubs in the EPL for example so once that happens I’d expect other players to become available such as your Maolidas and Marcondes type guys as they become surplus to requirement.
13-07-2024, 08:14 AM
Wouldn’t touch him.
His stats were definitely good last season in the league.
Miovski 16 goals 2 assists 197 minutes per goal
Bair 15 goals 6 assists 177 minutes per goal
Murray 14 goals 4 assists 211 minutes per goal
Not sure what Miovski's goal scoring record was like before Aberdeen? Aberdeen fans are wanting about 8m for him.
Bair looked awful for St J but the whole team was rotten. Can't remember Bair last season other than that goal he scored at ER, just saying his stats last season looks decent.
13-07-2024, 08:23 AM
Not sure what Miovski's goal scoring record was like before Aberdeen? Aberdeen fans are wanting about 8m for him.
Bair looked awful for St J but the whole team was rotten. Can't remember Bair last season other than that goal he scored at ER, just saying his stats last season looks decent.
Any striker will be rotten when managed by Levein and his brand of anti fitba
13-07-2024, 08:28 AM
There’s no comparison with Bair and Miovski in my opinion. Miovski miles the better player. You don’t need stats to see that, just watch them.
Miovski scored 10 in 31 for MTK in the Hungarian top flight the season before moving to Aberdeen, and got the assist for North Macedonia when they beat Italy 1-0.
13-07-2024, 08:29 AM
Any striker will be rotten when managed by Levein and his brand of anti fitba
Levein wasn’t manager at St Johnstone when Bair was there
13-07-2024, 08:35 AM
There’s no comparison with Bair and Miovski in my opinion. Miovski miles the better player. You don’t need stats to see that, just watch them.
Miovski scored 10 in 31 for MTK in the Hungarian top flight the season before moving to Aberdeen, and got the assist for North Macedonia when they beat Italy 1-0.
I did say it was just stats and I hadn't seen much of Bair at Motherwell.
13-07-2024, 08:56 AM
Agree
EGL2000
13-07-2024, 09:06 AM
Wouldn’t touch him.
I also wouldn't be going anywhere near bear.
13-07-2024, 09:20 AM
Levein wasn’t manager at St Johnstone when Bair was there
Aw well … sentiment still stands … Levein is a w@^}€# [emoji16][emoji2957]
Exuberance1875
13-07-2024, 09:42 AM
Should be all over this, completely different to what we have currently
thebausburst
13-07-2024, 10:05 AM
Should be all over this, completely different to what we have currently
Powerful, direct, good age, showed he can do it in this league, complete no brainer to try for him imo.
13-07-2024, 10:31 AM
Zac Rudden signs for Queen's Park
Souter96Mac
13-07-2024, 10:37 AM
Bair looked dreadful at St J, but I was impressed with him last season. Think he would provide us with something different to what we have/don't have. A big powerful forward.
13-07-2024, 10:46 AM
Just seen this??
https://x.com/EoferwicFc/status/1812065429323432081?t=WwA1CrLpVSUAcCqzJ3elKw&s=19
13-07-2024, 10:49 AM
Just seen this??
https://x.com/EoferwicFc/status/1812065429323432081?t=WwA1CrLpVSUAcCqzJ3elKw&s=19
That isn’t their new home kit. Has to be a mistake
13-07-2024, 10:50 AM
That isn’t their new home kit. Has to be a mistake
No idea, I was wondering if it was some kind of p*as take
13-07-2024, 10:52 AM
Just seen this??
Is that not a made up team / streaming team?
13-07-2024, 10:58 AM
Is that not a made up team / streaming team?
I was wondering similar as nothing on Airdrie twitter. Panic over stand down 😂
hibeequinn
13-07-2024, 11:15 AM
Paton to port Vale for six figure fee another one we have missed out on by looks of it
Paulie Walnuts
13-07-2024, 11:17 AM
I really hope we go nowhere near Bair.
13-07-2024, 11:20 AM
Paton to port Vale for six figure fee another one we have missed out on by looks of it
How have we missed out on him though?
McGruber
13-07-2024, 11:20 AM
Was just going to post a no thanks on Bair then watched the clip - lets get it done. I'm a salesman's dream 😂
13-07-2024, 11:21 AM
Another one we missed out on = any player who signs for anyone except Hibs
13-07-2024, 11:24 AM
Is the chat not the huns are after Bair?
Had a good season last year and is a good age. Definitely be happy if we signed him.
13-07-2024, 11:27 AM
Is the chat not the huns are after Bair?
Had a good season last year and is a good age. Definitely be happy if we signed him.
Would be amazed if Rangers were even considering that.
13-07-2024, 11:30 AM
It's laughable pish talk.
13-07-2024, 11:38 AM
£3 million for Youan is extremely hopeful though he would be a great signing
Especially as we haven’t had one concrete offer so far
13-07-2024, 11:41 AM
We have no idea if we were even interested in him so maybe we haven’t missed out on him
13-07-2024, 11:42 AM
Don't think we were ever in for him.
13-07-2024, 11:47 AM
I suspect it is us who are actively trying to create a market to sell him. He is never worth any of the figures I’ve seen quoted this summer.
13-07-2024, 11:51 AM
I suspect it is us who are actively trying to create a market to sell him. He is never worth any of the figures I’ve seen quoted this summer.
Yet the fee we got for Melkersen was reported to be around £1m.
13-07-2024, 12:01 PM
I don’t think I believe much that comes out of the club about transfers beyond the bits and pieces where there are pictures of players with scarves above heads.
What we pay or receive for players may at some point be possible to be figured out from numbers in our accounts, but “£1m received for Melkersen” and “clubs interested in Youan for £2m” just sound like folk at the club with a track record of appalling recruitment business buttering us up with drivel to keep us happier than we might be if we knew the real facts.
Our next accounts will be very interesting tbh. We’ve sold Nisbet and Doig over the past couple of summers. It’ll be interesting to see the ongoing sums that are presumably trickling in for them as there didn’t seem to be much of an initial down payment for either.
The Gordon era has been characterised by eyebrow-raising proclamations from the club that leave me initially thinking “aye, right”.
PHeffernan
13-07-2024, 12:06 PM
Yet the fee we got for Melkersen was reported to be around £1m.
Stromgodset said they payed much less.
1 million is the headline figure with the possible add ons already added on.
13-07-2024, 12:08 PM
According to our CEO we have hade multiple concrete offers.
13-07-2024, 12:12 PM
How is this Henderson deal taking so long to finalise
13-07-2024, 12:23 PM
Mayenda scores a penalty after winning it for Sunderland in their pre-season game.
Triantis not in the matchday squad.
13-07-2024, 12:25 PM
Mayenda scores a penalty after winning it for Sunderland in their pre-season game.
Is it more or less a 2nd team? Or quite a few 1st teamers
13-07-2024, 12:29 PM
Is it more or less a 2nd team? Or quite a few 1st teamers
To be honest absolutely no idea haha. Though a guy in the comments just saying Sunderland are playing another game today and anyone not featuring just now will likely be playing the second game.
13-07-2024, 12:30 PM
Stromgodset said they payed much less.
1 million is the headline figure with the possible add ons already added on.Where did they say that?
13-07-2024, 12:31 PM
Hearts about to sell Chocrane for 1m , entering the last year of his contract.
13-07-2024, 12:36 PM
I don’t think I believe much that comes out of the club about transfers beyond the bits and pieces where there are pictures of players with scarves above heads.
What we pay or receive for players may at some point be possible to be figured out from numbers in our accounts, but “£1m received for Melkersen” and “clubs interested in Youan for £2m” just sound like folk at the club with a track record of appalling recruitment business buttering us up with drivel to keep us happier than we might be if we knew the real facts.
Our next accounts will be very interesting tbh. We’ve sold Nisbet and Doig over the past couple of summers. It’ll be interesting to see the ongoing sums that are presumably trickling in for them as there didn’t seem to be much of an initial down payment for either.
The Gordon era has been characterised by eyebrow-raising proclamations from the club that leave me initially thinking “aye, right”.
Agree with it all.
All fart n nay jobby
13-07-2024, 12:37 PM
According to our CEO we have hade multiple concrete offers.
Similar to Scott Burns (does he?) I’d check to see if it was raining if our CEO said so.
13-07-2024, 12:39 PM
Leeds sign midfielder Joe Rothwell on a season long loan from Bournemouth
Donegal Hibby
13-07-2024, 12:40 PM
Probably not the most popular opinion though I'd love to see Triantis back at Hibs.
13-07-2024, 12:44 PM
Probably not the most popular opinion though I'd love to see Triantis back at Hibs.
I liked him as well, as a midfielder. Just don't think he's what we need right now. Need creativity added to our midfield.
13-07-2024, 12:46 PM
Hearts about to sell Chocrane for 1m , entering the last year of his contract.
That’s a big loss for them, he was excellent during their good run last season.
Ironically Cochrane was the only player that ended up moving to Edinburgh following Graeme Mathie’s Brighton link-up.
Donegal Hibby
13-07-2024, 12:49 PM
I liked him as well, as a midfielder. Just don't think he's what we need right now. Need creativity added to our midfield.
He was one of the two changes that Gray done when he took over from Monty. As a midfielder I think he looked good and has plenty of potential to get even better .
Your point about he's not what we need right now and it's creativity we need is a fair one though.
13-07-2024, 12:52 PM
No Youan in match day squad
Neither is
Ewan Henderson
Allen Delferriere
Jake Doyle Hayes
Harry McKirdy
Max Boruc
13-07-2024, 12:52 PM
Gutted. We must be trying to sell him
Silky
13-07-2024, 12:53 PM
What's happened? He was named on the bench on a teamsheet on another thread.
They deleted that tweet with the team - new one up
13-07-2024, 12:59 PM
That’s a big loss for them, he was excellent during their good run last season.
Ironically Cochrane was the only player that ended up moving to Edinburgh following Graeme Mathie’s Brighton link-up.
I wonder how much money was wasted on those link ups?
13-07-2024, 01:00 PM
They deleted that tweet with the team - new one up
Pretty amateur from Hibs - surely it’s not that hard to get a team sheet right.
Wonder if he travelled up ?
13-07-2024, 01:01 PM
Maybe got injured in warm up or wsnt named.
Paul1642
13-07-2024, 01:01 PM
It was deleted after a matter of seconds and sorted.
13-07-2024, 01:21 PM
👍
ChilliEater
13-07-2024, 01:29 PM
I wonder how much money was wasted on those link ups?
Why would they have cost anything?
Caversham Green
13-07-2024, 01:40 PM
Gain on sale of players for 2021/22 was £2.1m and 2022/23 was £3.2m. That will probably be paid in instalments, but it will be paid unless the buying clubs default. Any conditional add-ons will show in future accounts. As I said earlier in the thread the headline amount that buying club pays is always a fair bit more than the selling club receives.
13-07-2024, 01:45 PM
Aberdeen trying to contact Duk but he's blanking them :hilarious
13-07-2024, 01:47 PM
Aberdeen trying to contact Duk but he's blanking them :hilarious
As a buying club I'd be put off by his type of behaviour.
As a selling club it must reduce the potential fee you could get.
I think Aberdeen needs to get him out and get him out quick.
13-07-2024, 01:51 PM
Gain on sale of players for 2021/22 was £2.1m and 2022/23 was £3.2m. That will probably be paid in instalments, but it will be paid unless the buying clubs default. Any conditional add-ons will show in future accounts. As I said earlier in the thread the headline amount that buying club pays is always a fair bit more than the selling club receives.
So to clarify - these transfer fees have already been accounted for, albeit the actual instalments may arrive later? Will it only be add ons that appear in subsequent accounts if clause conditions are met?
Caversham Green
13-07-2024, 01:52 PM
So to clarify - these transfer fees have already been accounted for, albeit the actual instalments may arrive later? Will it only be add ons that appear in subsequent accounts if clause conditions are met?
That's right.
13-07-2024, 01:55 PM
That's right.
Brilliant - thanks very much for that.
13-07-2024, 02:22 PM
Does it? Were Hibs interested at all?
TrinityHFC
13-07-2024, 03:32 PM
Does it? Were Hibs interested at all?
Hope we are looking at far better than him.
13-07-2024, 03:42 PM
Wonder what Villa's transfer business will mean for McGinn? Still a big player for them?
🚨🟣🔵 Amadou Onana to Aston Villa, here we go! Deal done for £50m fee and sell-on clause also included.
Formal proposal accepted, five year deal for Onana at Villa valid until June 2029.
Medical being booked then deal set to be signed next week.
HendoDelivered
13-07-2024, 03:43 PM
Wonder what Villa's transfer business will mean for McGinn? Still a big player for them?
🚨🟣🔵 Amadou Onana to Aston Villa, here we go! Deal done for £50m fee and sell-on clause also included.
Formal proposal accepted, five year deal for Onana at Villa valid until June 2029.
Replacement for Luiz that. McGinn will still be a mainstay in that team next season.
Paul1642
13-07-2024, 03:44 PM
Contracted until 2027. Even a fee much smaller than what was being rumoured a few years ago, £15 million or so next season would be great business for us.
13-07-2024, 04:15 PM
37 year old Kasper Schmeichel offered a year deal at Sellick
South Korean Hyeon-gyu Oh agrees terms with Genk
bbc gossip
Souter96Mac
13-07-2024, 05:01 PM
Motherwell fans seem to think that Bair is away, and their getting a decent fee for him - not sure who he's away to, and what'decent' is.
HendoDelivered
13-07-2024, 05:48 PM
Guessing the guys who never featured today like Hendo, Harbottle, Kenneh are close to leaving?
Brunswickbill
13-07-2024, 05:53 PM
Guessing the guys who never featured today like Hendo, Harbottle, Kenneh are close to leaving?
Henderson doesn’t feature in the squad list issued a couple of days ago. The other two do. Suggests to me that Hendo’s departure has been confirmed.
13-07-2024, 06:03 PM
Kenneh and Harbottle were on the bench, so I'm not convinced they're necessarily away.
13-07-2024, 06:06 PM
Kenneh and Harbottle were on the bench, so I'm not convinced they're necessarily away.
Think both will end up leaving though. Not the type of players to sit on a bench and not play, both have shown that by being willing to go out on loan last season.
Paul1642
13-07-2024, 06:08 PM
Im not part of the clean slate brigade but I’ve not entirely written Harbottle off. I have no idea what happened behind the scenes last year but to sign for us then not be given any real opportunity that I can remember was weird. Gray will have seen enough of him to know if he’s better than Rocky or not.
13-07-2024, 06:49 PM
Likewise. Him, Newell and McCowan would be a great midfield trio
Hibees1973
13-07-2024, 06:58 PM
Heard a rumour today Hibs putting together a deal to try and bring back Kevin Nisbet.
badabing67
13-07-2024, 07:15 PM
Heard a rumour today Hibs putting together a deal to try and bring back Kevin Nisbet.
On loan or permanent
13-07-2024, 07:17 PM
Think Rocky too.
He’ll see the two we’ve brought in and the fact miller is also playing in the back 3 ahead of him.
I think he’s a stage where he will want to play every week and not accept the bench.
Think he’d find a new club easy enough. Makes mistakes but he also does a lot well, would be a good signing for a lot of teams down south
Hibees1973
13-07-2024, 07:19 PM
On loan or permanent
Don't know the full details, just a rumour.
But I believe Millwall still owe Hibs a chunk of the initial transfer fee which may smooth the wheels to get the deal done.
13-07-2024, 07:19 PM
On loan or permanent
2 year left on his Millwall deal, have to be a loan if anything you'd imagine.