View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

22-07-2024, 08:00 PM
No, but would you really be surprised?

I would yes. Not convinced either Edinburgh club are in for him.

22-07-2024, 08:04 PM
I’m not in the slightest bit arsed about Hibs not being in for Ndaba. He wouldn’t even start for us.

Fully expect people to be raging we “missed out” on him though.

Think he would in a back three

K-Zazu
22-07-2024, 08:05 PM
Well according to what I’ve seen we were definitely interested in Ndaba

22-07-2024, 08:06 PM
Would love to see Owen beck in at Hibs, left back I know but superb for Dundee last year.

Back playing at liverpool

Hearts are after him on loan to replace Cochrane

22-07-2024, 08:07 PM
Hearts are after him on loan to replace Cochrane

So who was Penrice signed to replace?

Absolutely would. Could play LB and let Obita further forward as well. Especially with Youan likely to be sold and McKirdy/Jair as the other option.

He'd get plenty game time here I reckon if we were interested.

What have you seen?

I think we probably were and the club have got this out to say otherwise because he’s chosen Killie.

22-07-2024, 08:08 PM

Agree. Strangebreports saying Ipswich had agreed a fee with us and Killie.

Suspect we have got wind he is going to Killie and we have withdrawn our interest

22-07-2024, 08:08 PM
What have you seen?

The Daily Record.

22-07-2024, 08:09 PM

We’ll no be playing a back 3.

Hibees1973
22-07-2024, 08:10 PM
Any kind of coherent plan with the Black Knights is out of the window now after Foley's comments. All I'm expecting now are a couple of journeyman signings, players with a suspect injury record and inexperienced players who have only played a handful of games at a low level.

22-07-2024, 08:10 PM
Absolutely would. Could play LB and let Obita further forward as well. Especially with Youan likely to be sold and McKirdy/Jair as the other option.

He'd get plenty game time here I reckon if we were interested.

Obita further forward would be *****. He’s our POTY at left back, let’s play him there.

22-07-2024, 08:11 PM
Obita further forward would be *****. He’s our POTY at left back, let’s play him there.

Gray has already said he’ll play there if needed. Same with Cadden on the other wing.

I'd prefer Obita over Jair.

Gordy M
22-07-2024, 08:11 PM
Any kind of coherent plan with the Black Knights is out of the window now after Foley's comments. All I'm expecting now are a couple of journeyman signings, players with a suspect injury record and inexperienced players who have only played a handful of games at a low level.Why would he torpedo his own investment, if he is that petty then thats on him.

Hibees1973
22-07-2024, 08:12 PM
Agree. Strangebreports saying Ipswich had agreed a fee with us and Killie.Suspect we have got wind he is going to Killie and we have withdrawn our interest Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkKnow it's not concrete but possibly losing out on players to Dundee & Kilmarnock is not a good look.

22-07-2024, 08:15 PM
Gray has already said he’ll play there if needed. Same with Cadden on the other wing.

I'd prefer Obita over Jair.

Well, aye. If we ‘need to’ we’ll play players in other positions.

We’ll no be making plans for Obita playing at left mid. I really hope not anyway. He’s not a left mid.

22-07-2024, 08:16 PM
Well, aye. If we ‘need to’ we’ll play players in other positions.

We’ll no be making plans for Obita playing at left mid. I really hope not anyway. He’s not a left mid.

Agree.

Anyway, doesn't look like we’ll be signing Ndaba so it won't matter.

22-07-2024, 08:17 PM
We’ll no be playing a back 3.

Gray has already said he will alternate formations to suit particular games.

Started with a back three v Elgin

Changed to a four when Cadden got injured.

Think it was a back 3 v PAOK as well

22-07-2024, 08:19 PM
We certainly need another left back, Saturday proved that.

22-07-2024, 08:20 PM
Gray has already said he will alternate formations to suit particular games.

Started with a back three v Elgin

Changed to a four when Cadden got injured.

Think it was a back 3 v PAOK as well

We don’t have the right players for 3 at the back. If we go out and sign a big striker, and a creative midfielder, then fair enough.

Until then, 3 at the back would be a jumble of players not suited to it. I cannae see it.

22-07-2024, 08:21 PM
Know it's not concrete but possibly losing out on players to Dundee & Kilmarnock is not a good look.

It is tough isn't it? If you go for one player who wants to sign for nobody other than Dundee there isn't much you can do. The only thing Killie have to offer greater than hibs is European football. It would be short sighted of a player to sign for Killie because of that but can we convince them? If not then that is the price of abject failure last season.

22-07-2024, 08:22 PM
It is tough isn't it? If you go for one player who wants to sign for nobody other than Dundee there isn't much you can do. The only thing Killie have to offer greater than hibs is European football. It would be short sighted of a player to sign for Killie because of that but can we convince them? If not then that is the price of abject failure last season.

Or maybe Killie offered him regular football, when we didn’t, and at a club he enjoyed playing at and gets along with the players and likes the manager.

Silky
22-07-2024, 08:25 PM

If the Black Knights recommended him I don't think we'll bother!!

22-07-2024, 08:25 PM
We don’t have the right players for 3 at the back. If we go out and sign a big striker, and a creative midfielder, then fair enough.

Until then, 3 at the back would be a jumble of players not suited to it. I cannae see it.

Cadden and Obita are possibly better as wing backs than fullbacks, therefore we're arguably closer to being able to do justice to 3 at the back than 4.

3 at the back doesn't get the best out of Boyle but it does give us an option to get 2 strikers on.

I probably agree that we need to sign a big striker and a creative midfielder irrespective of how we want to line up.

Any line-up we select right now is a player or two off being right, arguably still a bit of a jumble somewhere on the park.

22-07-2024, 08:36 PM
Cadden and Obita are possibly better as wing backs than fullbacks, therefore we're arguably closer to being able to do justice to 3 at the back than 4.

3 at the back doesn't get the best out of Boyle but it does give us an option to get 2 strikers on.

I probably agree that we need to sign a big striker and a creative midfielder irrespective of how we want to line up.

Any line-up we select right now is a player or two off being right, arguably still a bit of a jumble somewhere on the park.

I don’t think 3 at the back gets the best out of anyone we have in an attacking sense. Boyle and Youan are wasted. Newell would get plenty of the ball, but there would be nobody in the hole looking to make anything happen. We’d end up swinging balls in to Vente hoping he’s strong enough to beat guys a foot taller than him to headers.

PHeffernan
22-07-2024, 08:39 PM
Hearts want McCowan to replace Billy McKay Billy McKay plays for Inverness

22-07-2024, 08:39 PM
John Greechan from the EEN also saying we are not in for Ndaba. Obviously club using EEN and Observer to brief out but I remain suspicious that we are just trying to mitigate the flak from fans when it is announced Killie sign him, especially after Murray going to Dundee.

22-07-2024, 08:41 PM
Or maybe Killie offered him regular football, when we didn’t, and at a club he enjoyed playing at and gets along with the players and likes the manager.

Too much maybe for my liking. And who likes Derek McInnes really? Not even Mrs. McInnes I'll wager. Any normal person signs for hibs - but for the European football.

22-07-2024, 08:42 PM
John Greechan from the EEN also saying we are not in for Ndaba. Obviously club using EEN and Observer to brief out but I remain suspicious that we are just trying to mitigate the flak from fans when it is announced Killie sign him, especially after Murray going to Dundee.
Seen him tweet it and had a feeling he was EEN but couldn't see it in his bio. Maybe after today's events Hibs are trying to make it known he's not one we are actively pursuing. Who knows.

22-07-2024, 08:59 PM
So who was Penrice signed to replace?Cochrane . I suppose their recruitment team will be getting pelters as soon as they start dropping points . Maybe already after losing friendlies if Penrice is playing .

22-07-2024, 09:07 PM
Know it's not concrete but possibly losing out on players to Dundee & Kilmarnock is not a good look.Good look for who ?

22-07-2024, 09:20 PM
Goldson looks like he's on his way to a Cypriot team, Shankland linked with rangers

Gordy M
22-07-2024, 09:22 PM
Goldson looks like he's on his way to a Cypriot team, Shankland linked with rangersI read a post on Twitter saying that Goldson was getting 25k a week playing in Cyprus. It really is no wonder we struggle to attract players.

22-07-2024, 09:32 PM
I read a post on Twitter saying that Goldson was getting 25k a week playing in Cyprus. It really is no wonder we struggle to attract players.

How can a Cypriot team afford to pay someone £25k a week???

K Kay
22-07-2024, 09:32 PM

Maybe time to get excited…… the lights are on at the stadium and it’s past half ten.

hibee1875
22-07-2024, 09:39 PM
Maybe time to get excited…… the lights are on at the stadium and it’s past half ten.

Emergency meeting deciding how to respond to Foleys comments most like.

22-07-2024, 09:41 PM

Bill Foley's helicopter seen leaving carrying the transfer war chest under it...

22-07-2024, 09:57 PM
Im actually surprised we never got a striker after GK, and two CBs, I understand things can take time but we need a striker who's going to score at least 10 league goals.

A match fit Kevin Nisbet on loan would do me if we ain't going to be spending cash.

22-07-2024, 09:58 PM

It's Kensell's sunbed.

EGL2000
22-07-2024, 09:58 PM
Che Adams going to Torino good move for him.

22-07-2024, 10:05 PM

I think we do but all about opinions. Agree tho that we need a big striker

22-07-2024, 10:16 PM

The way the lights are hitting the clouds tonight it’s like there’s a sort of greenish haze over the ground.

It’s really quite beautiful and I’d like to believe it’s a bat signal suggesting arrivals are on their way.

22-07-2024, 10:52 PM

Knowing Hibs right now we’ve probably just forgot to turn them off.

22-07-2024, 11:07 PM

Bill Foley told the club they need to start reducing the electricity charge by turning them off but they never listened

JJP
22-07-2024, 11:31 PM
I don't remember us ever losing out on targets to the likes of Dundee and Kilmarnock before. Not saying it's never happened but feels like a new low. I can't be alone in thinking that we would be looking at a higher calibre of player in this window. The current regime absolutely excel in raising expectations and falling way short.

23-07-2024, 05:27 AM
Keith Jackson
EXCLUSIVE! Lawrence Shankland is ON Rangers transfer wanted list as Philippe Clement weighs up move to test Hearts resolve | Keith Jackson

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…

23-07-2024, 05:38 AM
Jackshun starting the storyline. Heset tell them to bolt, shanklsnd exclusive in record saying he'd crawl over broken glass etc etc, only ends one way

23-07-2024, 07:04 AM
I don't remember us ever losing out on targets to the likes of Dundee and Kilmarnock before.Has that actually happened this window?

23-07-2024, 07:10 AM
Has that actually happened this window?

Even if we did ask about Murray it's been explained at length by the player himself why he went to Dundee.

As for Ndaba if he did choose Killie over us then it's hardly the shock of the century as he has just had a good season there and knows how things work.

Pretty sure we will have signed players that might have been offered a wee bit more elsewhere for much the same reasons in the past.

Anyway we don't even know the inside story of either player's choice or decision.

LunasBoots
23-07-2024, 07:50 AM
Keith Jackson
EXCLUSIVE! Lawrence Shankland is ON Rangers transfer wanted list as Philippe Clement weighs up move to test Hearts resolve | Keith Jackson

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…

Do The Rangers have any money?

WestStandWillie
23-07-2024, 07:52 AM
I honestly can't believe players would pick Dundee and even Kilmarnock over Hibs, crazy. If we have a shocking start to the season and aren't in European places by Christmas I honestly it will get nasty.Why not? Anyone on the outside looking in can see we've been a bit of a car crash in recent times. A large portion of our support turn on players very quickly. We've appointed a manager that the press love to refer to as "rookie" in every article (yes, he's that but why the constant need to use that word? Hibs Observer is really bad for it).

23-07-2024, 07:55 AM
Any Hibs signing rumours?

23-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Has that actually happened this window?

23-07-2024, 08:57 AM
A large portion of our support turn on players very quickly.

We're no different to other sides in that respect.

23-07-2024, 09:13 AM
Do The Rangers have any money?Do Hibs?

TrinityHFC
23-07-2024, 09:29 AM
Do Hibs?In terms of having little to no debt and cash in the business then yes, we are probably in the best shape we’ve ever been in taking into account we’ve already made a lot of changes to the stadium. Does that mean we will be spending it all on players? Probably not, at the AGM they explained the capital projects that remain to do. Spending on players also doesn’t just mean paying fees - even moderate increases to annual budget on wages and signing fees could see a lot of that go. £3m for example is something like 5 players on 3 year deals on less than £4k per week with no fee paid.

23-07-2024, 09:46 AM
In terms of having little to no debt and cash in the business then yes, we are probably in the best shape we’ve ever been in taking into account we’ve already made a lot of changes to the stadium. Does that mean we will be spending it all on players? Probably not, at the AGM they explained the capital projects that remain to do. Spending on players also doesn’t just mean paying fees - even moderate increases to annual budget on wages and signing fees could see a lot of that go. £3m for example is something like 5 players on 3 year deals on less than £4k per week with no fee paid.

All those lovely facilities with no one to use them, sounds like a masterplan.

Meanwhile the bloated gravy train slowly grinds onwards whilst the fans continue to disappear.

23-07-2024, 09:57 AM
Not even any more out goings. Really thought Kenneh, Delferriere and Harbottle would be at least out loan by now.

23-07-2024, 10:03 AM
Not even any more out goings. Really thought Kenneh, Delferriere and Harbottle would be at least out loan by now.

Probably be nearer the end of the window before that happens.

23-07-2024, 10:12 AM
We're no different to other sides in that respect.

Exactly, plus Hibs.net isn't a good indicator of the support overall IMO. If you read .net for a week last season you'd think all Hibs fans hated Newell. When the poll was put up it was a clear majority that liked him.

It's just noisy people on social media (either positive or negative), most of the fans just want to go and watch their team every week and support the players and staff.

EGL2000
23-07-2024, 10:24 AM

Would hope we could get them out quicker as thats a decent chunk of wages that we could be doing with using in the market.

Groathillgrump
23-07-2024, 10:35 AM

It's Kensell's sunbed.

That made me spit my coffee out, Coco. :thumbsup:

23-07-2024, 10:37 AM
Would hope we could get them out quicker as thats a decent chunk of wages that we could be doing with using in the market.

Aye me too but unfortunately that's not how it often happens.

Hibiza
23-07-2024, 10:42 AM

That made me spit my coffee out, Coco. :thumbsup:

10/10

23-07-2024, 10:44 AM

We not needing to move folk on before any incoming? Big squad etc. So surely be looking to do that at earliest opportunity.

Though you're probably right, need to wait for other teams getting desperate for players. Not so much Kenneh, I bizarrely think there's a player in there somewhere.

23-07-2024, 10:47 AM
We not needing to move folk on before any incoming? Big squad etc. So surely be looking to do that at earliest opportunity.

Though you're probably right, need to wait for other teams getting desperate for players. Not so much Kenneh, I bizarrely think there's a player in there somewhere.

Kenneh and Harbottle will get clubs no bother I reckon.

EGL2000
23-07-2024, 10:51 AM
Kenneh and Harbottle will get clubs no bother I reckon.

Yeah I reckon harbottle could easily get upper league 2 lower league 1 team. By most accounts played well on loan last season before getting injured.

23-07-2024, 11:46 AM
Keith Jackson EXCLUSIVE! Lawrence Shankland is ON Rangers transfer wanted list as Philippe Clement weighs up move to test Hearts resolve | Keith Jackson dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football… Would normally be delighted with this but the rate things are going I don't think Hearts will worry too much about us with or without Shankland.

WestStandWillie
23-07-2024, 12:28 PM
Would normally be delighted with this but the rate things are going I don't think Hearts will worry too much about us with or without Shankland.Hearts are toothless without Shankland. He bailed them out the last two Derbies and they wouldn't have got 3rd without his goals. They'd probably just have scraped into Europe at best.

gegs70
23-07-2024, 12:30 PM
In terms of having little to no debt and cash in the business then yes, we are probably in the best shape we’ve ever been in taking into account we’ve already made a lot of changes to the stadium. Does that mean we will be spending it all on players? Probably not, at the AGM they explained the capital projects that remain to do. Spending on players also doesn’t just mean paying fees - even moderate increases to annual budget on wages and signing fees could see a lot of that go. £3m for example is something like 5 players on 3 year deals on less than £4k per week with no fee paid.

I would think that if they haven't had as many season tickets sold (as discussed on other thread) this will also impact on what players can be brought in. It may mean that they need to move on players like youan?

SunshineOn1875
23-07-2024, 01:00 PM
Heard through the grapevine a deal for Mason Hancock from Airdrie had been done. Kensell then pulled plug on said deal. Not sure how true.

23-07-2024, 01:05 PM
Heard through the grapevine a deal for Mason Hancock from Airdrie had been done. Kensell then pulled plug on said deal. Not sure how true.

Not sure whether to laugh or cry.

23-07-2024, 01:16 PM
Looks like Jamie maclaren signed for the same Indian team as Jason Cummings

4 year contract with Mohun Bagan

23-07-2024, 01:17 PM
4 year contract with Mohun Bagan

Who does he play for? 😁

23-07-2024, 01:19 PM

I’ve read it and read it and read it to try to get the joke then discovered he’s actually a real footballer.

23-07-2024, 01:20 PM
Hearts are toothless without Shankland. He bailed them out the last two Derbies and they wouldn't have got 3rd without his goals. They'd probably just have scraped into Europe at best.

Aye but we’re struggling against Kelty Hearts.

23-07-2024, 01:29 PM

Not sure about this one tbh

23-07-2024, 01:36 PM
Hearts are toothless without Shankland. He bailed them out the last two Derbies and they wouldn't have got 3rd without his goals. They'd probably just have scraped into Europe at best.

We're already toothless.

SunshineOn1875
23-07-2024, 01:55 PM
Not sure whether to laugh or cry.Supporting hibs we do enough crying, maybe try laughter for once.

23-07-2024, 02:18 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1815749796159705495?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

We’ve announced multiple contracts in one go!

23-07-2024, 02:55 PM

Clancy bailed them out of the last derby. Beaton the one before that

23-07-2024, 03:00 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1815749796159705495?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

We’ve announced multiple contracts in one go!

Always a big day for a young player that. Some very young faces in that group reminds me of how old i am 😄 Hopefully a few make it in getting successful professional careers ideally at Hibs

Hibees1973
23-07-2024, 03:06 PM
I’ve read it and read it and read it to try to get the joke then discovered he’s actually a real footballer.That's where we are just now Smartie. Anything coming out of the club just now we don't know if it's a joke or true.

23-07-2024, 03:14 PM
That's where we are just now Smartie. Anything coming out of the club just now we don't know if it's a joke or true.

That was a rumour not from the club

23-07-2024, 04:06 PM
Ben Woodburn signs for Salford City.

23-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Ben Woodburn signs for Salford City.

Championship to League Two. They must be paying some wages.

Didn't even know he was a free agent.

23-07-2024, 04:18 PM
Keep thinking something is going to happen but then the days just keep ticking by.

23-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Keep thinking something is going to happen but then the days just keep ticking by.

Can't see anything happening this week.

Not even a sniff of a rumour. I know we’ve been good at keeping things in house the past wee while. Folk are so bored they're not even making them up on Twitter anymore.

All a bit boring.

NC1875
23-07-2024, 05:00 PM

And as the days pass by more and more people lose interest in what is now a circus at Easter road.

Ooh to be a hibby

23-07-2024, 05:09 PM

We’re obviously going to make more signings.

Loads of time til the transfer window closes.

I get that people want players now, but I’d rather we went out and got what we needed, than signed a load of ***** just to get bodies in.

We’ve slated the club over the last few years for signing the wrong players. If they’re taking time to try to get it right then I can accept that. Let’s see where we are in a month.

23-07-2024, 05:19 PM

I get that people want players now, but I’d rather we went out and got what we needed, than signed a load of ***** just to get bodies in.

We’ve slated the club over the last few years for signing the wrong players. If they’re taking time to try to get it right then I can accept that. Let’s see where we are in a month.

As long as that’s the case

23-07-2024, 05:27 PM

That would be great if history didn’t show that we didn’t just end up panicking and signing a load of rubbish on TDD [emoji23]

23-07-2024, 05:31 PM

It’s the oldest saying in the book about waiting for the right players. Didn’t expect us to have a complete squad at this point. Expected us to have a bit more in the door than we have though. Hopefully in a month we’ve got off to a beater start than last year and still in the cup.

23-07-2024, 05:36 PM

We’ve slated the club over the last few years for signing the wrong players. If they’re taking time to try to get it right then I can accept that. Let’s see where we are in a month.There is a whole lot of ground between signing ***** to get anyone in and signing what we need

We are towards the end of July and have signed 3 players we would class as probable first 11

Thing is all they do is negate Marshall retiring and Hanlon and Stevenson being moved on

We are currently in a much worse place than when we finished the season with loan players and quite a few others shipped out

Against our competitors we are also moving much slower - either they are all signing bodies for bodies sake or they are signing what they need and much quicker than we are

This should have been a transfer window of much excitement, creating some feel good factor and momentum

Instead (as at now) it's boring, stale and frankly turning more fans off hibs

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
23-07-2024, 05:37 PM
There is a whole lot of ground between signing ***** to get anyone in and signing what we need

We are towards the end of July and have signed 3 players we would class as probable first 11

Thing is all they do is negate Marshall retiring and Hanlon and Stenson being moved on

We are currently in a much worse place than when we finished the season with loan players and quite a few others shipped out

Against our competitors we are also moving much slower - either they are all signing bodies for bodies sake or they are signing what they need and much quicker than we are

This should have been a transfer window of much excitement, creating some feel good factor and momentum

You know things are bad when you’re being negative :greengrin

23-07-2024, 05:39 PM
You know things are bad when you’re being negative :greengrinI was just about to edit that post and put in "and that's coming from someone who's probably seen as always trying to be positive towards the club"

[emoji23][emoji23]

NC1875
23-07-2024, 05:40 PM
That would be great if history didn’t show that we didn’t just end up panicking and signing a load of rubbish on TDD [emoji23]

Spot on. So many people saying give it time etc.

We’re always slow at signing players and never do we end up with good ones because we’ve taken our time.

All it says to me is that nothing has changed.

Hopefully we’ll be proved wrong.

cubehindthegoal
23-07-2024, 05:42 PM
Myziane Maolida, the 25-year-old forward who impressed on loan to Hibernian last season, has undergone a medical with Saudi Premier League club Al Kholood after being released by Hertha Berlin.

Might have been reasons it couldn’t happen, but given the qualities demonstrated while with us, I would have hoped this is the sort of opportunity to sign a player, for free to it turns out, for Bournemouth on a couple of year contract, with the proviso he demonstrates for another year loan with us that he is capable of the step up to the EPL. Maybe this is too simplistic, I know, but it is the sort of creative ideas I hoped would bring better players to us. However it is now worrying that we may be in similar boat to Lorient, and look where they are now. I feel my optimism pool getting shallower, but still hold out hope. I do know it’s early days and good work has been done in shifting out players, and players in to date seem promising, and of course next year we will lose more players that are seen as deadwood and can improve more. But I do wonder if Foley and the main owners are on different pages. Meantime there is definitely a dip in interest in the support generally … time will tell, and I do hope we are in a stronger position come the end of this window, and a much stronger position a year from now. SDG developing into the right man to manage us will also be important. It’s funny, I don’t know whether to feel positive or worried, and it’s not the Kelty result that casts major doubts … hmm, maybe it’s just we seem seeped in negativity just now, and I’m starting to drown in it (I don’t mean just posters here, it’s the whole atmosphere around us).

Confused ? I am, and I doubt I’m the only one.

23-07-2024, 05:48 PM
There is a whole lot of ground between signing ***** to get anyone in and signing what we need

Thing is all they do is negate Marshall retiring and Hanlon and Stenson being moved on

All I'd say to that is that it's not a huge surprise to me, and I don't even mean that all that critically about Hibs on this occasion.

We absolutely had to bring in the GK and the centre halves, that had extreme urgency as well as importance so that took priority.

Our first XI is far from perfect but it is close to acceptable. There are players then filling out the squad that some (not me) would or should think might be up to being squad players.

With the BK link up... I've always thought that a big part of our recruitment would likely be loan players and those would be likely to happen as late as possible in the window. Bournemouth will be getting their squad for the season together and at that point will have an idea about who is unlikely to be featuring for them, therefore they'll be looking to shunt them out to other clubs. I suspect that rather than commit to permanent signings at the moment whilst we've got so much budget tied up in utter keech, we're likely to get the team and squad as respectable as possible by properly kicking the backside out of the loan thing.

I might be wrong, but since the BK link was established, once bottom 6 was confirmed, once we went down the route of sacking Monty, once we'd established what Jair, Kenneh et al were likely to contribute for their wages, we were always going to be a bit restless at this point.

It's a mess and not one I'd like to defend but we are where we are and it hasn't just crept up on us by surprise. Not me, anyway.

23-07-2024, 05:49 PM
Might have been reasons it couldn’t happen, but given the qualities demonstrated while with us, I would have hoped this is the sort of opportunity to sign a player, for free to it turns out, for Bournemouth on a couple of year contract, with the proviso he demonstrates for another year loan with us that he is capable of the step up to the EPL. Maybe this is too simplistic, I know, but it is the sort of creative ideas I hoped would bring better players to us. However it is now worrying that we may be in similar boat to Lorient, and look where they are now. I feel my optimism pool getting shallower, but still hold out hope. I do know it’s early days and good work has been done in shifting out players, and players in to date seem promising, and of course next year we will lose more players that are seen as deadwood and can improve more. But I do wonder if Foley and the main owners are on different pages. Meantime there is definitely a dip in interest in the support generally … time will tell, and I do hope we are in a stronger position come the end of this window, and a much stronger position a year from now. SDG developing into the right man to manage us will also be important. It’s funny, I don’t know whether to feel positive or worried, and it’s not the Kelty result that casts major doubts … hmm, maybe it’s just we seem seeped in negativity just now, and I’m starting to drown in it (I don’t mean just posters here, it’s the whole atmosphere around us).

Confused ? I am, and I doubt I’m the only one.

"Saudi cash" isn't all that easy for us to compete with, whichever way it is structured.

TrinityHFC
23-07-2024, 06:05 PM
All I'd say to that is that it's not a huge surprise to me, and I don't even mean that all that critically about Hibs on this occasion.We absolutely had to bring in the GK and the centre halves, that had extreme urgency as well as importance so that took priority.Our first XI is far from perfect but it is close to acceptable. There are players then filling out the squad that some (not me) would or should think might be up to being squad players.With the BK link up... I've always thought that a big part of our recruitment would likely be loan players and those would be likely to happen as late as possible in the window. Bournemouth will be getting their squad for the season together and at that point will have an idea about who is unlikely to be featuring for them, therefore they'll be looking to shunt them out to other clubs. I suspect that rather than commit to permanent signings at the moment whilst we've got so much budget tied up in utter keech, we're likely to get the team and squad as respectable as possible by properly kicking the backside out of the loan thing.I might be wrong, but since the BK link was established, once bottom 6 was confirmed, once we went down the route of sacking Monty, once we'd established what Jair, Kenneh et al were likely to contribute for their wages, we were always going to be a bit restless at this point.It's a mess and not one I'd like to defend but we are where we are and it hasn't just crept up on us by surprise. Not me, anyway.Will Fish is a case in point. We all knew he would probably be back. He’d been here the whole of the previous year and yet we still had to wait until fairly late on before he became available. Maolida was in the second half of the January window despite being nowhere near his team’s plans. Of course we could go out and sign good players now. This time last year we thought Vente was a great, exciting signing. McKirdy and Jair too we probably had high hopes for. Melkersen another. All now potential problems in the longer term. (Other than the one we sold) If this time we are going to get more right than wrong then I’m fine with letting them work through it and seeing where we are once we see how it all works out. Plenty time for recriminations once we actually see what happens.

23-07-2024, 06:13 PM
Will Fish is a case in point. We all knew he would probably be back. He’d been here the whole of the previous year and yet we still had to wait until fairly late on before he became available. Maolida was in the second half of the January window despite being nowhere near his team’s plans. Of course we could go out and sign good players now. This time last year we thought Vente was a great, exciting signing. McKirdy and Jair too we probably had high hopes for. Melkersen another. All now potential problems in the longer term. (Other than the one we sold) If this time we are going to get more right than wrong then I’m fine with letting them work through it and seeing where we are once we see how it all works out. Plenty time for recriminations once we actually see what happens.

We hear it every single year though. You always hear about waiting for the right players, quality over quantity and all the usual sayings.

McKirdy was signed on deadline day which just goes to show you can wait and still sign pish.

I don’t think anyone expected the squad to be complete at this point but I do think most expected us to have more than we’ve got and to have added at least one player in the final third.

23-07-2024, 06:16 PM
Might have been reasons it couldn’t happen, but given the qualities demonstrated while with us, I would have hoped this is the sort of opportunity to sign a player, for free to it turns out, for Bournemouth on a couple of year contract, with the proviso he demonstrates for another year loan with us that he is capable of the step up to the EPL. Maybe this is too simplistic, I know, but it is the sort of creative ideas I hoped would bring better players to us. However it is now worrying that we may be in similar boat to Lorient, and look where they are now. I feel my optimism pool getting shallower, but still hold out hope. I do know it’s early days and good work has been done in shifting out players, and players in to date seem promising, and of course next year we will lose more players that are seen as deadwood and can improve more. But I do wonder if Foley and the main owners are on different pages. Meantime there is definitely a dip in interest in the support generally … time will tell, and I do hope we are in a stronger position come the end of this window, and a much stronger position a year from now. SDG developing into the right man to manage us will also be important. It’s funny, I don’t know whether to feel positive or worried, and it’s not the Kelty result that casts major doubts … hmm, maybe it’s just we seem seeped in negativity just now, and I’m starting to drown in it (I don’t mean just posters here, it’s the whole atmosphere around us).Confused ? I am, and I doubt I’m the only one.I agree with you regards how Lorient were treated but we are the reverse of them in that we have no one to sell on that would bring in the type of cash, what we need is an infusion of semi decent players that we can showcase and maybe increase their value and benefitting us along the way .

23-07-2024, 06:27 PM
We hear it every single year though. You always hear about waiting for the right players, quality over quantity and all the usual sayings.

McKirdy was signed on deadline day which just goes to show you can wait and still sign pish.

I don’t think anyone expected the squad to be complete at this point but I do think most expected us to have more than we’ve got and to have added at least one player in the final third.

Yep, Waiting for the right players implies that there’s a very small amount of players who could improve the side, which is just ridiculous.

23-07-2024, 06:27 PM

Thing is all they do is negate Marshall retiring and Hanlon and Stevenson being moved on

I dinnae really disagree, but we’re not at the top table for signings, so there are more than likely players we want who are keeping their options open. As they should really. We’re no paying big enough wages to push people to make a decision. Not if they’re good players.

I hope we’ve got a list of players to get through.

I dinnae trust those in charge at Hibs at all, I didnae want Malky Mackay, I think the last couple of manager appointments have been wrong, I have absolutely no idea what David Marshall’s job is.

But I think they’ll all know we need quality not quantity.

I look at other SPL sides and I’m no seeing teams pulling away from us with their transfer business. At all. Spittal looks a good signing. Simon Murray prob do ok. Other than that? Nah, not really.

cubehindthegoal
23-07-2024, 06:39 PM
"Saudi cash" isn't all that easy for us to compete with, whichever way it is structured.

Agree once they were on the scene, yup, but I was thinking this could be getting worked on during the latter parts of last season. Anyway, hopefully we do see some continuous signings / loans that reflect their ideas and the purpose of bringing them on board, however that works out. It is supposed to benefit us.

23-07-2024, 06:51 PM
Yeah I reckon harbottle could easily get upper league 2 lower league 1 team. By most accounts played well on loan last season before getting injured.

That’s not the way I see it, nor remember it.

Played with a club who missed going out of the EFL and dropping down to non league by a whisker.

Don’t think there will be a queue of suitors lining up for him.

23-07-2024, 07:00 PM
Yep, Waiting for the right players implies that there’s a very small amount of players who could improve the side, which is just ridiculous.

I think there was universal agreement that our squad last season was just not good enough.

Less than 2 weeks to league kick off and arguably we have done little to improve it, other than bring in a couple of defenders.

There is certainly a huge amount of room for improvement…but as far as I can see little action.

23-07-2024, 07:03 PM
I think there was universal agreement that our squad last season was just not good enough.

Less than 2 weeks to league kick off and arguably we have done little to improve it, other than bring in a couple of defenders.

There is certainly a huge amount of room for improvement…but as far as I can see little action.
We’ve improved the back four I think. Still plenty time in the windiw to get it right further forward.

LunasBoots
23-07-2024, 07:06 PM
Improved the back four but the midfield was a issue last season, it just didn't have enough with to many similar style players, we also seemed far to often to sit too deep without enough movement going forward, hoping for a more attack minded midfielder who can drive us forward so Vente doesn't have to come deep to pick up the ball.

23-07-2024, 07:29 PM
id sign Ronan Hale just for that cheeky wee finish alone

23-07-2024, 07:45 PM
The Airdrie left back certainty looks a prospect. If there’s any truth in that rumour we could do worse.

23-07-2024, 08:17 PM
We’ve improved the back four I think. Still plenty time in the windiw to get it right further forward.

We are currently short of a left back so not sure we have yet ! Relaxed what left but left side is still short.

We are definitely weaker up front without Myziane and Youan.

23-07-2024, 08:30 PM
The Airdrie left back certainty looks a prospect. If there’s any truth in that rumour we could do worse.Was thinking the exact same. Think he's had a good game and 21 so plenty time to improve

23-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Civil Service Strollers sign Freddie Owens on loan.

We are delighted to announce the loan signing of Freddie Owens from @HibernianFC 🧤

Freddie joined us on an emergency loan last year. This time, he's with us for the full season!

The Airdrie left back certainty looks a prospect. If there’s any truth in that rumour we could do worse.

Agree. Looked athletic and swung in some very good crosses

Was thinking the exact same. Think he's had a good game and 21 so plenty time to improve

You say that now. If he hasn't made it by 22 he's finished on this site!

GreenPJ
23-07-2024, 08:42 PM
I dinnae really disagree, but we’re not at the top table for signings, so there are more than likely players we want who are keeping their options open. As they should really. We’re no paying big enough wages to push people to make a decision. Not if they’re good players.

I hope we’ve got a list of players to get through.

I dinnae trust those in charge at Hibs at all, I didnae want Malky Mackay, I think the last couple of manager appointments have been wrong, I have absolutely no idea what David Marshall’s job is.

But I think they’ll all know we need quality not quantity.

I look at other SPL sides and I’m no seeing teams pulling away from us with their transfer business. At all. Spittal looks a good signing. Simon Murray prob do ok. Other than that? Nah, not really.

I was speaking to a mate who is a Jambo and has seen their pre season games and said Spittal has been pretty anonymous in every game so far

Willis1875
23-07-2024, 08:46 PM
I was speaking to a mate who is a Jambo and has seen their pre season games and said Spittal has been pretty anonymous in every game so far

He will come to life when they play us

23-07-2024, 08:47 PM

They have an issue as Dhanda plays in similar area unless they move Dhanda wider.

Think Hearts best signing will be Dhanda and the Costa Rica right back Taylor as he’s rapid and decent on the ball.

23-07-2024, 08:49 PM

100% - surely a decent cheap option. His crosses were very good - something we struggle with.

23-07-2024, 09:07 PM
They have an issue as Dhanda plays in similar area unless they move Dhanda wider.

Think Hearts best signing will be Dhanda and the Costa Rica right back Taylor as he’s rapid and decent on the ball.

Dhanda isn’t half the player Spittal is. I don’t think Dhanda is any better than McKay

23-07-2024, 09:15 PM
Dhanda isn’t half the player Spittal is. I don’t think Dhanda is any better than McKay

I think Spittal is decent and will be interesting to see how he does. Overall he is a better player but we shall see how they try and play both players in same team.

K-Zazu
23-07-2024, 09:44 PM

Taylor meant to be decent although I don’t know what standard the top league in Costa Rica is?

23-07-2024, 10:04 PM
He will come to life when they play us

Why?

23-07-2024, 10:05 PM
Civil Service Strollers sign Freddie Owens on loan.

We are delighted to announce the loan signing of Freddie Owens from @HibernianFC 🧤

Freddie joined us on an emergency loan last year. This time, he's with us for the full season!Think club said he`d been offered a new contract when we gave list of new signings and players who were staying on . Too old for Under 18s and unlikely to get a game while we have 3 goalies for first team . Presumably will still train with Hibs some of the time so could be a prospect for next season .

23-07-2024, 10:08 PM
Zaid supposedly played really well for Annan against Dundee.

Seems to have been on the go for a while but never been near the first team for us

23-07-2024, 10:11 PM
Yesterday would have been the perfect time for a signing, at least a striker with the Watford game tomorrow, still time for something before Saturday.

xyz23jc
23-07-2024, 10:19 PM
Agree. Looked athletic and swung in some very good crossesSent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo far crosses aren't the problem, just need someone to put them in the net IMHO!

24-07-2024, 04:12 AM

The other thing about the timing of signings is that we need to remember players need time to settle. Players and managers will say time and time again how important it is to get a pre-season with your new team mates and coaches.

It's also about getting the season off to the right start of course, but rather more timing meaning better options, it could be a poor start scares off players. If we lose our first couple of league games, and after the Kelty Hearts loss, there could be pressure on the team very early, which might make potential signings think twice.

I know it's not as easy a signing 10 great players in July and being done but we absolutely need to get to a place where we start the season with a solid team who have had some time to train together. Bringing in guys in say late August and expecting them to hit the ground running is a huge risk, even if they are the 'right' players.

24-07-2024, 05:03 AM
Seen the boy Hancock mentioned yesterday, not sure there is anything in the rumour as it's not been picked up elsewhere but the Aberdeen fans seem to think they should have kept him and reckon he was fantastic last night.

24-07-2024, 06:02 AM
Today is the day! Expecting photos of a full line up of the 5 players we need by 3pm 😁

24-07-2024, 06:15 AM
Kevin Nisbet got the last 20 mins or so v's Nottingham Forest last night.

McGruber
24-07-2024, 06:48 AM
Window isn't done yet and will judge where we are at the end of it. Time is of the essence though with league season approaching and less time for new players to gel and hit the ground running. It seems on the face of it we are a bit strapped for cash.......We were struggling in January. We had a really big squad then but managed to bring in 7 players. It seemed with the likes of Marcondes and Myziane we were getting an early glimpse of the higher standard of player we could expect in the summer - players that otherwise would have been out our reach. There was also the Bournemouth contingent, Moriah-Welsh and Bevan hinting that we would be seeing a lot of loans between the multi club system. Add in Triantis, Amos, Myenda......We pushed the boat out then and like said above made a very big squad a massive one......Since then, the Foley investment of £6 million in the club (not specifically for transfers) was in Feb, the £5million debt for equity from Gordon's was in Feb and the 2.2 million board investment via shares was in June...For some reason aswell the narrative that we have a massive squad seems to keep getting pushed - we have seen around 20 players out the door now either permanent or on loan. The squad is now about normal size for what a club like Hibs needs....Is it a good squad, no. Do we have fringe players on good wages still to shift, yes - who doesn't.The initial excitement from the Foley deal was whetted for me with what we did in January. Large investments since then and even accounting for some pay offs for some players leaving I'm just a bit lost how we now (apparently) have to sell Youan to raise funds. Kensell & Malky and some other jobs for the boys probably taking their share but still. We spent 2 million plus in fees alone last summer before any investment. Perplexed at the minute.

RMQ1967
24-07-2024, 06:55 AM
What's the Tomorrow 9am post on the Hibs WhatsApp channel?

Accompanying video of Hibs strikers.

Trinity Hibee
24-07-2024, 06:55 AM
What's the Tomorrow 9am post on the Hibs WhatsApp channel?

Accompanying video of Hibs strikers.

3rd kit release

Pickle
24-07-2024, 07:06 AM
Kevin Nisbet got the last 20 mins or so v's Nottingham Forest last night.

I was at the game, lucky if it was 7 minutes, left a few minutes early to avoid the bevvied up Millwall fans, there was a joint Rangers/Millwall No surrender flag

Was impressed with Forest but not surprising given they had 3 midfielders bought for £90M plus over £100M of talent on the bench. Different game

24-07-2024, 07:12 AM
I was at the game, lucky if it was 7 minutes, left a few minutes early to avoid the bevvied up Millwall fans, there was a joint Rangers/Millwall No surrender flag

Was impressed with Forest but not surprising given they had 3 midfielders bought for £90M plus over £100M of talent on the bench. Different game

Yeah looks like he got about 9 minutes I was just trying to get the timeline of twitter 😅

Millwall: 4-4-1-1: Jensen; McNamara, Tanganga (Wallace, 46), Cooper, Bryan (Harding, 86); Esse (Nisbet, 81), Saville (Massey, 81), De Norre (Leonard, 72), Watmore (Emakhu, 72); Flemming (Honeyman, 46); Bradshaw (Langstaff

24-07-2024, 07:14 AM
Maybe this is finally the prophesied season where we announce signings with the kit

Auckland Hibs
24-07-2024, 07:22 AM
Maybe this is finally the prophesied season where we announce signings with the kit

Hopefully the quality of the players is better than the quality of our kits.

24-07-2024, 08:11 AM
Today is the day! Expecting photos of a full line up of the 5 players we need by 3pm [emoji16]

Those were the days…..

24-07-2024, 08:11 AM
3rd kit release

Got to get the important stuff done right enough. [emoji849]

24-07-2024, 08:21 AM

Can't believe Mackay, Gray and the recruitment team have wasted their time on the 3rd kit release. Heads should roll.

24-07-2024, 08:28 AM

All about making £££

KeithWright9
24-07-2024, 08:32 AM
All about making £££

Appreciate it’s not SDG doing kit releases, but in a summer where they have promised so much and delivered close to nothing in terms of progress with personnel , why bother with press releases about strips when all we want to know is who is going to be wearing them and are they going to make us better?

hibee1875
24-07-2024, 08:34 AM
Appreciate it’s not SDG doing kit releases, but in a summer where they have promised so much and delivered close to nothing in terms of progress with personnel , why bother with press releases about strips when all we want to know is who is going to be wearing them and are they going to make us better?

Should they have just released it with no press release? Just secretly add it to the store?

Get a grip of reality

24-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Could possibly be the best selling fastest selling Hibs tops and we shouldn't announce it?

24-07-2024, 08:48 AM

Doing a press release about a kit has zero impact on the first team squad.

24-07-2024, 08:59 AM
Doing a press release about a kit has zero impact on the first team squad.

Nothing seems to be having an impact on that these days.[emoji23]

mcfly
24-07-2024, 09:24 AM
Hibs do need to give the fans a lift by getting in some quality players.

Got to hit the ground running in the league

Season ticket sales have to be much lower than in previous years and in my opinion if hibs fans have any frustrations take it out on the board not. David gray and the players.

EGL2000
24-07-2024, 09:42 AM
Have a feeling we will announce someone today, based off absolutely no information whatsoever!

TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 11:02 AM
One thing that I think is comforting is that our first 3 signings are players who go straight into the team and probably improve it in those positions.

I’d prefer to have seen more but if we are making sure every signing directly improves the first team then longer term that is a better position than adding volume that just ends up causing us further issues.

Up-the-slope
24-07-2024, 12:11 PM
One thing that I think is comforting is that our first 3 signings are players who go straight into the team and probably improve it in those positions. I’d prefer to have seen more but if we are making sure every signing directly improves the first team then longer term that is a better position than adding volume that just ends up causing us further issues.Oi - you cant go posting such sensible well thought posts on here. It wont be tolerated you know :)

24-07-2024, 12:11 PM
One thing that I think is comforting is that our first 3 signings are players who go straight into the team and probably improve it in those positions. I’d prefer to have seen more but if we are making sure every signing directly improves the first team then longer term that is a better position than adding volume that just ends up causing us further issues.Until we play league games , its too early to say all three players improve us The early signs are encouraging ,but until we see them playing the opposition we will be competing with in the league i will then hopefully agree

24-07-2024, 12:13 PM
One thing that I think is comforting is that our first 3 signings are players who go straight into the team and probably improve it in those positions.

I’d prefer to have seen more but if we are making sure every signing directly improves the first team then longer term that is a better position than adding volume that just ends up causing us further issues.

Agreed, but it's not an either/or choice.

24-07-2024, 12:16 PM
I'll tell you what, if refreshing the page for .net somehow produced a revenue per click for the club I reckon I'd personally have doubled our £6 million from Foley by now. FFs announce a decent signing Hibs, this is murder...

24-07-2024, 12:20 PM
I'll tell you what, if refreshing the page for .net somehow produced a revenue per click for the club I reckon I'd personally have doubled our £6 million from Foley by now. FFs announce a decent signing Hibs, this is murder...

My worry is we don’t sign anyone

at last 61
24-07-2024, 12:29 PM
I know we have been talking to at least 3 players, I would have thought at least one of them to be announced very soon, so ,at least in my eyes, I would have been expecting a new player wearing our new strip, hopefully it's worth the wait, and we will have to be a bit more patient

24-07-2024, 12:31 PM
I know we have been talking to at least 3 players, I would have thought at least one of them to be announced very soon, so ,at least in my eyes, I would have been expecting a new player wearing our new strip, hopefully it's worth the wait, and we will have to be a bit more patientIf the three are Luke McCowan, Lennon Miller and Kevin Nisbet then any one of them would be worth the wait

24-07-2024, 12:46 PM
If the three are Luke McCowan, Lennon Miller and Kevin Nisbet then any one of them would be worth the wait

Lennon miller must be worth a bid from Bournemouth you would think , boy's only 17 and is only going to get better

24-07-2024, 12:49 PM
Can't believe Mackay, Gray and the recruitment team have wasted their time on the 3rd kit release. Heads should roll.

Slightly extreme guys heads should roll over something they will have nothing to do with on the release of a strip 😄

24-07-2024, 12:50 PM
I know we have been talking to at least 3 players, I would have thought at least one of them to be announced very soon, so ,at least in my eyes, I would have been expecting a new player wearing our new strip, hopefully it's worth the wait, and we will have to be a bit more patient

Any idea on who the 3 are?

Not expecting names just if they’re decent…

Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2024, 12:52 PM
Until we play league games , its too early to say all three players improve us The early signs are encouraging ,but until we see them playing the opposition we will be competing with in the league i will then hopefully agree

We had the same chat last summer about how the signings improved us. They didn’t.

We’ll get a much better idea whether that’ll be the case when the league starts.

GreenPJ
24-07-2024, 12:55 PM

We had the same chat last summer about how the signings improved us. They didn’t.

We’ll get a much better idea whether that’ll be the case when the league starts.

The two things that are apparent from the CH's already are that they have more of a physical presence than our CH's last year and certainly O'Hora is very vocal which our previous CHs weren't.

NGoloGrantie
24-07-2024, 12:59 PM
https://www.twtd.co.uk/ipswich-town-news/47499

This Ipswich town paper saying we are favourites for ndabas signature. Didn’t our jornos just report there was no interest from our side? Weird one. Probs just guesswork from them.

Hibiza
24-07-2024, 01:07 PM
Hearing a rumour ,that there's going to be a rumour later , player says " it's just a rumour " .

K-Zazu
24-07-2024, 01:13 PM
https://www.twtd.co.uk/ipswich-town-news/47499

This Ipswich town paper saying we are favourites for ndabas signature. Didn’t our jornos just report there was no interest from our side? Weird one. Probs just guesswork from them.

The hibs observer guy said it wasn’t happening on twitter on Monday I think. Probably got it directly from Hibs.

18Craig75
24-07-2024, 01:19 PM
Hearing a rumour ,that there's going to be a rumour later , player says " it's just a rumour " .

We really are in the pits aren’t we. Living of rumours about there maybe being a new rumour. Ffs Petrie

24-07-2024, 01:23 PM
Hearing a rumour ,that there's going to be a rumour later , player says " it's just a rumour " .Heard this rumour can play upfront.

24-07-2024, 01:26 PM
Black Knights have invested all the money into cryogenic restoration and will shortly be announcing the resurrected former Prime Minister of Italy, Mariano Rumor, as our new signing. He's a left winger.

24-07-2024, 01:45 PM
My worry is we don’t sign anyone

Do you really think that this is a possibility? Seriously?

24-07-2024, 03:28 PM

Where do you get your weed from, must be great quality stuff?

24-07-2024, 03:29 PM
Do you really think that this is a possibility? Seriously?

Especially as it completely ignores the four already signed.

24-07-2024, 03:32 PM
It’s very quiet

TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 03:43 PM
Where do you get your weed from, must be great quality stuff?

You don’t think the first three players we signed will go straight into the team? Or that they might not improve us?

Or that we will hopefully be making sure any further signings stand a good chance of going into the team or improving us?

24-07-2024, 03:44 PM
It’s very quietWe’ve not to worry though apparently, as we’ve got posters saying the window is open til the end of August 🙄

Clarence
24-07-2024, 03:46 PM
We’ve not to worry though apparently, as we’ve got posters saying the window is open til the end of August 🙄

Are those “keep calm and carry on” posters? I thought they’d all been binned?

24-07-2024, 03:47 PM
You don’t think the first three players we signed will go straight into the team? Or that they might not improve us?

Or that we will hopefully be making sure any further signings stand a good chance of going into the team or improving us?

This place is daft at the best of times but goes into hyper drive during a window. Damned if they sign players not ready to improve the first team and damned if they take their time..

Scotty Leither
24-07-2024, 03:57 PM
My worry is we don’t sign anyoneMotherwell sold their CF for a good fee, then immediately outlayed a chunk of that fee on bringing in a replacement. Maybe our highly paid CEO and Director of Football could give them a phone and ask them how they did it? Club’s an embarrassment and the radio silence is deafening.

24-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Motherwell sold their CF for a good fee, then immediately outlayed a chunk of that fee on bringing in a replacement. Maybe our highly paid CEO and Director of Football could give them a phone and ask them how they did it? Club’s an embarrassment and the radio silence is deafening.

Is he any good?

NC1875
24-07-2024, 04:02 PM
This place is daft at the best of times but goes into hyper drive during a window. Damned if they sign players not ready to improve the first team and damned if they take their time..

So you can sign players that won’t improve the first team now ?

But the good ones take longer ?

The amount of people spouting that p*sh is unbelievable.

24-07-2024, 04:08 PM

It is clearly not pish though. Good players will have options especially if from English leagues where League one or even non league teams can compete wage wise. Unrealistic to think point at a player and think he will do. Unfortunately losing a manager near the end of the season will likely mean players previously lined up may look elsewhere. There needs to be some realism rather than panicking and criticising everything

24-07-2024, 04:10 PM

You’re right about spouting pish. What in earth are you talking about? Why would we sign a player thot won’t improve the first team with our budget. We tried that in Melkerson. Kenneth Henderson and numerous others in the recent past. I think we’ve moved away from that last season as a general rule with the exception of possibly harbottle. That strategy has been binned although we are hampered by doing it in the first place regards wages still being paid.
If identified players don’t want to come we move on to next target and so on. It won’t happen in a few weeks. If we want better quality we can’t take too much of a punt. They need to be ready and and improvement. Decent players have options that rely on other players moving etc etc.

Scotty Leither
24-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Is he any good?They paid good money for him and presumably scouted him, so I suspect they’ll know more about the guy than you and I. They acted quickly and decisively though, so kudos to them for that. Kensell and the silent one continue to do f all though, beyond briefing pet journalists in the local rag.

24-07-2024, 04:12 PM
It’s very quietSsssshhhhh

24-07-2024, 04:13 PM
They paid good money for him and presumably scouted him, so I suspect they’ll know more about the guy than you and I. They acted quickly and decisively though, so kudos to them for that. Kensell and the silent one continue to do f all though, beyond briefing pet journalists in the local rag.

Aye I’m sure everyone concerned with recruitment are sitting doing **** all.

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 04:13 PM
They paid good money for him and presumably scouted him, so I suspect they’ll know more about the guy than you and I. They acted quickly and decisively though, so kudos to them for that. Kensell and the silent one continue to do f all though, beyond briefing pet journalists in the local rag.Serious question, why do you think we havent signed more players? Do you really think our board/dof are saying "ah we will just leave it to the last week?" Plenty time to get players in, or they have identified who they want and it takes time?

24-07-2024, 04:14 PM
They paid good money for him and presumably scouted him, so I suspect they’ll know more about the guy than you and I. They acted quickly and decisively though, so kudos to them for that. Kensell and the silent one continue to do f all though, beyond briefing pet journalists in the local rag.

What league did he come from and how does his record stack up against say any of our strikers.

TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 04:14 PM

Not exactly because we’ve already signed three that will go straight into the team.

What I’m saying is that the right player is more important than it being tomorrow or next week.

As also noted in the other responses players that are better may well have other options or the clubs don’t know whether they can let them go yet.

Maolida was well out the picture at his club but we only got him in the later part of the windowe. We wanted Will Fish back last year and despite him being here a year we had to wait for him to become available.

I like a signing as much as anyone but I can get that you can’t just sign everyone you want in your own timing.

24-07-2024, 04:19 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/odada-sande-dundee-utd-transfer-33317930

24-07-2024, 04:22 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/odada-sande-dundee-utd-transfer-33317930

What were you highlighting as would rather not click on that rancid outlet

24-07-2024, 04:23 PM
What were you highlighting as would rather not click on that rancid outletRichard Odada and Jort van der Sande agree Dundee Utd transfers as Jim Goodwin makes double swoop
The Kenyan international and Dutch striker are close to joining United

Scotty Leither
24-07-2024, 04:33 PM
Serious question, why do you think we havent signed more players? Do you really think our board/dof are saying "ah we will just leave it to the last week?" Plenty time to get players in, or they have identified who they want and it takes time?Serious answer? I think we’re skint, principally because of the champ manager approach to recruitment where we indulged the spoilt laddie to sign utter cack on big wages. That squad as it stands will be lucky to avoid the play-offs, yet all we do is add other layers of administration (Marshall) to an organisation already top-heavy with back room staff. I don’t think any player of note will come in unless we sell our best one, Youan, and even then I wouldn’t trust the process while the spoilt laddie is still having an input.

Bridge hibs
Richard Odada and Jort van der Sande agree Dundee Utd transfers as Jim Goodwin makes double swoop

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkGawd imagine having an Odada, an Onana and a Zemama in your team 😁

NC1875
You’re right about spouting pish. What in earth are you talking about? Why would we sign a player thot won’t improve the first team with our budget. We tried that in Melkerson. Kenneth Henderson and numerous others in the recent past. I think we’ve moved away from that last season as a general rule with the exception of possibly harbottle. That strategy has been binned although we are hampered by doing it in the first place regards wages still being paid.
If identified players don’t want to come we move on to next target and so on. It won’t happen in a few weeks. If we want better quality we can’t take too much of a punt. They need to be ready and and improvement. Decent players have options that rely on other players moving etc etc.

Yip, so the guys that all other teams have signed must be crap. Infact, we’ve signed 4 as well. They must be punts.

Good players are available now. We’re sleepwalking into a new season as per usual.

It’s ok though, we’ll get a couple loan signings near the end of the window 👍🏼

24-07-2024, 04:36 PM
Yip, so the guys that all other teams have signed must be crap. Infact, we’ve signed 4 as well. They must be punts.

Good players are available now. We’re sleepwalking into a new season as per usual.

That’s some take. As usual aye.😂😂 we’ve a new DOF/ sporting director and a new head coach so there will be a definite change to recruitment that’s a few weeks old. To want it to happen overnight is crazy. Players the previous set up identified will almost certainly not be the same ones we C are looking at it negotiating with now. The biggest weakness in the team for a couple of years has been addressed first and rightly so. The rest will/should follow. Theres weeks left in the window yet folk are crapping themselves on a daily basis because it’s not happening now.,it’s madness. I’ll tell you one thing for nothing to say we are sleeping and doing nothing is so far from what’s actually going on it’s embarrassing.

TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 04:38 PM
Serious answer? I think we’re skint, principally because of the champ manager approach to recruitment where we indulged the spoilt laddie to sign utter cack on big wages. That squad as it stands will be lucky to avoid the play-offs, yet all we do is add other layers of administration (Marshall) to an organisation already top-heavy with back room staff. I don’t think any player of note will come in unless we sell our best one, Youan, and even then I wouldn’t trust the process while the spoilt laddie is still having an input.

If you believe we are skint then it is difficult to take the rest of your views on this seriously.

TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 04:40 PM

We appear to have signed at least 3 good players already. Your post is pretty much ignoring what people are saying and is slavering instead.

NC1875
24-07-2024, 04:45 PM
We appear to have signed at least 3 good players already. Your post is pretty much ignoring what people are saying and is slavering instead.

He says it takes time to sign good players. As have you. That’s a lot of rubbish.
Our squad is a joke and the season starts next week. People are right to be expecting players in the door. Especially with all the chat about investment. We’re seeing none of it.

24-07-2024, 04:50 PM
If you believe we are skint then it is difficult to take the rest of your views on this seriously.

The lack of activity, trimming of the squad and a recruitment process and re-structure that seemed to have a theme of whoever we recruit they can’t cost any money, doesn’t scream that we’re sitting on a big transfer budget.

Other posters have made a good point about us being cash rich but transfer budget poor. Likely owing to our wages to turnover balance already at the top end of what’s sustainable.

Hibs have time to change it but my perception is that this season is about trying to sneak into the top 6, and staying clear of a relegation battle, while spending as little as possible, before having a real go at competing at the top end of the league next season when a lot of the high earning duds will be out of contract.

Scotty Leither
24-07-2024, 04:52 PM
If you believe we are skint then it is difficult to take the rest of your views on this seriously.I heard from a good source the Foley money has plugged the debt ran up by the present incumbent. Deride that all you want, I really couldn’t care. What is an inconvenience for the Board though, is that here we are 10 days from the start of the league season still short of a CF to partner Vente (who can’t handle the physical side of the game here), and zero creativity added in midfield. They’ve had from the end of last season to address this but seem to be concentrating their efforts on putting their side of an embarrassing spat through a client journalist. Forgive me I don’t share your optimism for these glaring voids in the team to be fixed by Kensell and Gordon.

24-07-2024, 04:53 PM
I heard from a good source the Foley money has plugged the debt ran up by the present incumbent. Deride that all you want, I really couldn’t care. What is an inconvenience for the Board though, is that here we are 10 days from the start of the league season still short of a CF to partner Vente (who can’t handle the physical side of the game here), and zero creativity added in midfield. They’ve had from the end of last season to address this but seem to be concentrating their efforts on putting their side of an embarrassing spat through a client journalist. Forgive me I don’t share your optimism for these glaring voids in the team to be fixed by Kensell and Gordon.

It's not a good source then. The "debt run up by the present incumbent" was paid off by converting it to shares.

A better source would have been the widely-reported deal at the time, the decisions made at the AGM, and their recording at Companies House.

NC1875
24-07-2024, 04:54 PM
I heard from a good source the Foley money has plugged the debt ran up by the present incumbent. Deride that all you want, I really couldn’t care. What is an inconvenience for the Board though, is that here we are 10 days from the start of the league season still short of a CF to partner Vente (who can’t handle the physical side of the game here), and zero creativity added in midfield. They’ve had from the end of last season to address this but seem to be concentrating their efforts on putting their side of an embarrassing spat through a client journalist. Forgive me I don’t share your optimism for these glaring voids in the team to be fixed by Kensell and Gordon.

Well said. It’s ok though apparently, everyone is working non stop behind the scenes, they’ve just not managed to sign any midfielders or attackers. We’ve got ages to the window closing though, everything is good.

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 04:55 PM
Did someone on here say that we weren't in for Ndaba ? Apologies if they did ,cant remember. Just read this ....

https://www.twtd.co.uk/ipswich-town-news/47499/chesterfield-join-ndaba-hunt-but-hibs-favourites

Also see Wigan have signed sibbick of hertz too .

24-07-2024, 04:55 PM

I really hope the goalie is good and he might be brilliant. I don’t think it’s a given he will be though, he’s not played regular first team football in about 18 months and when he did, there were question marks about him.

It sounds like he has huge potential and he could be a real find, I don’t think he necessarily comes under the same category as a safe bet as O’Hora and big Marv though.

IMO our signings so far for me are 2 x solid, sensible good signings, 1 x gamble who could go either way and 1 x signing that doesn’t appear great, but makes sense all the same.

I’m sure that will be jumped upon as being overly negative etc but I just think Josef doesn’t fall into the same category as the other two.

24-07-2024, 05:09 PM
Hearts are working on a deal to sign defensive midfielder Malachi Boateng from Crystal Palace. Impressed on loan at Dundee last season. (h/t @rosspilcher @reluctantnicko)

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 05:16 PM

Good players probably do take longer in their clubs are not wanting to lose them , transfer fee maybe high , wage's , other clubs interested and there's lots to negotiate.

24-07-2024, 05:16 PM
Well said. It’s ok though apparently, everyone is working non stop behind the scenes, they’ve just not managed to sign any midfielders or attackers. We’ve got ages to the window closing though, everything is good.

Nobody’s saying everything is good so wind yer neck in. All I’m saying is it’s a longer process to get it right than you think. I’m sure we have had the option of signing hundreds of players. Signing the right available ones on our budget isn’t as easy as you think. The notion that we are sitting on our ***** doing nothing is laughable. You carry on trying to be a smart arse tho.

NC1875
24-07-2024, 05:19 PM
Nobody’s saying everything is good so wind yer neck in. All I’m saying is it’s a longer process to get it right than you think. I’m sure we have had the option of signing hundreds of players. Signing the right available ones on our budget isn’t as easy as you think. The notion that we are sitting on our ***** doing nothing is laughable. You carry on trying to be a smart arse tho.

Very good 👍🏼 it’s a longer process than I think ? Just at Hibs then ? We’ll agree to disagree. You wind your neck in 👍🏼

24-07-2024, 05:22 PM
I know we’re saying the same every game, but the squad tonight again highlights how much we need new quality signings

Bursik missing out again is a concern

24-07-2024, 05:23 PM
It’s very quietShouldn't you be checking inbound flights to Edinburgh Airport?

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

24-07-2024, 05:36 PM
I know we’re saying the same every game, but the squad tonight again highlights how much we need new quality signings

Bursik missing out again is a concern

Really hope nothing wrong with him. Really hope we’ve added before the weekend as well.

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 05:38 PM
Shouldn't you be checking inbound flights to Edinburgh Airport?

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

From Murrayfield Airport ? 🤔

24-07-2024, 05:39 PM
Bursik has been back in training this week, but will not be risked this evening

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

24-07-2024, 05:40 PM
Really hope nothing wrong with him. Really hope we’ve added before the weekend as well.

We absolutely need bodies in for the weekend.

Not one signing, multiple.

They need time to settle and hopefully minutes in the legs for next weekend.

That squad tonight is so so poor.

Appreciate it’s missing guys like

Bursik
Cadden
Kenneh
JDH
Youan

But we, along with every other club will get injuries throughout the season. We need to have a squad good enough to cope with it

24-07-2024, 05:41 PM
Bursik has been back in training this week, but will not be risked this evening

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Just realised he’s out warming up so hopefully back for weekend.

Pytheas
24-07-2024, 05:41 PM
Youan "injured" again tonight.My hunch is a move for him is preogressing and we're waiting for that money to be confirmed until we can spend.

24-07-2024, 05:43 PM
We absolutely need bodies in for the weekend.

Not one signing, multiple.

They need time to settle and hopefully minutes in the legs for next weekend.

That squad tonight is so so poor.

Appreciate it’s missing guys like

Bursik
Cadden
Kenneh
JDH
Youan

But we, along with every other club will get injuries throughout the season. We need to have a squad good enough to cope with it

Have to start getting them in soon or we’ll end up playing catch up from the off.

24-07-2024, 05:43 PM
Youan "injured" again tonight.My hunch is a move for him is preogressing and we're waiting for that money to be confirmed until we can spend.

Last time he was seen he got absolutely clattered and was being carried off, to be fair.

Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2024, 05:52 PM
I really hope the goalie is good and he might be brilliant. I don’t think it’s a given he will be though, he’s not played regular first team football in about 18 months and when he did, there were question marks about him.

It sounds like he has huge potential and he could be a real find, I don’t think he necessarily comes under the same category as a safe bet as O’Hora and big Marv though.

IMO our signings so far for me are 2 x solid, sensible good signings, 1 x gamble who could go either way and 1 x signing that doesn’t appear great, but makes sense all the same.

I’m sure that will be jumped upon as being overly negative etc but I just think Josef doesn’t fall into the same category as the other two.

It’s not an overly negative view at all. If anything it’s probably overly positive.

We’ve signed a million and one players from the level of O’Hora and Marv, most have been crap, a small few have been really good. That’s not to say they won’t be good, but it’s far too early to be declaring them good signings or improvements.

24-07-2024, 06:04 PM

I think he’s just injured to be fair, took some dunt against Queens Park.

24-07-2024, 06:45 PM
We appear to have signed at least 3 good players already. Your post is pretty much ignoring what people are saying and is slavering instead.If we have signed 3 good players so far, why couldnt we sign 4 or 5 or 6 by now?The league starts a week on Saturday, and our season started a couple of weeks ago giving us a horrendous result due to lack of players in the squad.

24-07-2024, 06:47 PM
Have to start getting them in soon or we’ll end up playing catch up from the off.

We're already playing catch up. It's too late, again.

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 06:52 PM
We're already playing catch up. It's too late, again.So any team signing a player from now on is too late? Or does that just apply to Hibs?

24-07-2024, 06:53 PM
So any team signing a player from now on is too late? Or does that just apply to Hibs?

Just Hibs obviously.

24-07-2024, 06:54 PM
So any team signing a player from now on is too late? Or does that just apply to Hibs?

Depends. Have they signed the majority of the players they need? Or just three and a backup goalkeeper?

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 06:56 PM
Depends. Have they signed the majority of the players they need? Or just three and a backup goalkeeper?So you think that all the other teams have signed 5/6/7 starters for their teams do you?

Paul1642
24-07-2024, 06:59 PM
So you think that all the other teams have signed 5/6/7 starters for their teams do you?

Not all the other teams needed as many starters as us.

24-07-2024, 07:02 PM
So you think that all the other teams have signed 5/6/7 starters for their teams do you?

Probably not but a lot of them had a better starting point than us and didn’t need to.

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Not all the other teams needed as many starters as us.How many do you think we need, id say a cm and striker to go straight into team, thats if we are 4-4-2. One more if Youhan moves.

24-07-2024, 07:04 PM
How many do you think we need, id say a cm and striker to go straight into team, thats if we are 4-4-2. One more if Youhan moves.2 strikers in the squad for a 4-4-2?

Seems risky

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:06 PM
2 strikers in the squad for a 4-4-2?Seems risky Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkNo, im talking about going straight into the team, that was the discussion. First team, when all are fit, then you will need some back up players, so prob another striker , winger and possibly left sided defender.

24-07-2024, 07:16 PM
How many do you think we need, id say a cm and striker to go straight into team, thats if we are 4-4-2. One more if Youhan moves.

I would agree but I think we need

DCM
LB - if we sign Nbada then he can play LCH and LB
2 x CF (one a big mobile ball winner)
Left winger and/or AM

So 5 for me

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:20 PM
I would agree but I think we need DCMLB - if we sign Nbada then he can play LCH and LB2 x CF (one a big mobile ball winner)Left winger and/or AMSo 5 for meYeh i wouldnt disagree as what needs added to the squad. My point was if we get a striker and cm in before start if the season then we are decent(depends on the signings obv) then add a few others.

24-07-2024, 07:23 PM
Richard Odada and Jort van der Sande agree Dundee Utd transfers as Jim Goodwin makes double swoop

Thanks

24-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Yeh i wouldnt disagree as what needs added to the squad. My point was if we get a striker and cm in before start if the season then we are decent(depends on the signings obv) then add a few others.

I agree with that.

24-07-2024, 07:37 PM
Scary how short we are of players

4 short for the starting eleven and a couple of decent options of the bench

What are we doing

24-07-2024, 07:39 PM
Lovell- what a pass, what a pass.
Straight out the pitch.
I know he works for the club but come on.

What are we doing

Not a lot.

What are we doing

I’m just about to get some dinner, watching the Hibs game on YouTube.

What you doing?

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:40 PM
Scary how short we are of players4 short for the starting eleven and a couple of decent options of the benchWhat are we doingWhat 4 do you think need replaced, il give you Cf and one mid, who else would you replace? Genuinely interested.

24-07-2024, 07:41 PM
What 4 do you think need replaced, il give you Cf and one mid, who else would you replace? Genuinely interested.

I think we need 2 or 3 mids and 2 strikers.

24-07-2024, 07:41 PM
Lovell- what a pass, what a pass.
Straight out the pitch.
I know he works for the club but come on.

He doesn't half talk some rubbish.

24-07-2024, 07:42 PM
What 4 do you think need replaced, il give you Cf and one mid, who else would you replace? Genuinely interested.Two forwards, two midfielders a right back and a centre half.

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:44 PM
I think we need 2 or 3 mids and 2 strikers.Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSo you think we are dropping youhan boyle and another cm, and then obvioisly Vente. Id love if we sign better players than that.

24-07-2024, 07:45 PM
What 4 do you think need replaced, il give you Cf and one mid, who else would you replace? Genuinely interested.

Vente
Levitt
Molotnikov
Amos

Can we get better with all four?

I’d be disappointed if we couldn’t

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:45 PM
Two forwards, two midfielders a right back and a centre half.To go straight into the team? Who would drop? Interested you wouldnt play one of our new CHs.

Gordy M
24-07-2024, 07:46 PM
VenteLevittMolotnikov AmosCan we get better with all four?I’d be disappointed if we couldn’tYou think these four are first team starters, everyone being fit. I dont think they are.

24-07-2024, 07:46 PM
I’m just about to get some dinner, watching the Hibs game on YouTube.

What you doing?

Worrying about how short of a decent squad we are ya wido lol