View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
23-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Only a matter of time before some of these Celtic players move on - far too good for the Scottish league:
CCV
Kyogo
MOR
They bought MOR for 1.5 million - if that’s true - it’s a brilliant profit for them.
Celtic will win the league for foreseeable future with Huns playing catch up.
23-08-2024, 08:18 PM
Only a matter of time before some of these Celtic players move on - far too good for the Scottish league:
CCV
Kyogo
MOR
They bought MOR for 1.5 million - if that’s true - it’s a brilliant profit for them.
Celtic will win the league for foreseeable future with Huns playing catch up.
Can see Hatate being the next one to go
Donegal Hibby
23-08-2024, 08:30 PM
Can see Hatate being the next one to go
They have I think recently rejected an approach for CCV and maybe Hatate will go but I don’t think they will be wanting to lose to many players this season .
Trinity Hibee
23-08-2024, 08:34 PM
Celtic’s recruitment has been pretty impressive over a number of years now. Bought well and sold on for some huge fees. An example of recruitment working very well
23-08-2024, 08:45 PM
Celtic’s recruitment has been pretty impressive over a number of years now. Bought well and sold on for some huge fees. An example of recruitment working very well
Healthy bank account but losing all these players this late will blow any CL hopes they had out of the water.
23-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Probably not a good thing for us I guess, if they are getting that money they might chuck a million at Dundee for McCowan?
Could spend the lot on getting SJM, that would net us a tidy payday.
Trinity Hibee
23-08-2024, 08:52 PM
Healthy bank account but losing all these players this late will blow any CL hopes they had out of the water.
Still done great business.
Celtic will need to spend massively to progress far in CL which I can’t see them doing. Needing to spend millions on a few players for 6-8 games a season doesn’t make sense financially. They don’t need world class players for the domestic game.
23-08-2024, 08:53 PM
Still a number of decent players available for no fee, the likes of Liam Cooper and Marcondes, not touting them for Hibs but you would think players like that would want a club sharpish as they will be way behind in fitness.
Alan Campbell will need to find a team soon or I'm assuming he will have to stay at Luton.
Hibs still needing to shift a few that can't get near the first team, Kenneh and Tavares etc.
Paulie Walnuts
23-08-2024, 08:56 PM
If they wanted McCowan they'd have got him by now. A million isn't anything to Celtic, and they'll want someone better than McCowan to replace O'Riley.
They’ll want someone better but I wouldn’t be surprised if they go out and sign someone better and also buy McCowan is a contingency against that player not working out/not settling. If they spend £8m say on O’Rileys replacement, what’s another £1m for a contingency signing when you’ve just brought in £30m?
Donegal Hibby
23-08-2024, 09:04 PM
Celtic will need to spend massively to progress far in CL which I can’t see them doing. Needing to spend millions on a few players for 6-8 games a season doesn’t make sense financially. They don’t need world class players for the domestic game.
Is that not where the money is , Making it to the group stages of the champions league and giving themselves a chance to progress into the next round? .
23-08-2024, 09:08 PM
Completely agree. Would frustrate the life out of me if I supported them, but absolutely understand why they don't ***** money just to be a wee bit better in Europe. Make more than enough by qualifying.
23-08-2024, 09:14 PM
Completely agree. Would frustrate the life out of me if I supported them, but absolutely understand why they don't ***** money just to be a wee bit better in Europe. Make more than enough by qualifying.
This is true, although I expect they may splash a fair bit of cash next summer because, due to the coefficient drop, they wont automatically get in the group stages next season. They will need to have quality players in early to make sure they can get through the qualifying rounds.
23-08-2024, 09:15 PM
Good Sun Headline
Aberdeen set to win Kevin Nisbet transfer race after Scotland star rejects chance to rejoin Hibs 👀
sauzee1989
23-08-2024, 09:25 PM
Megwa still hasn’t shown anything in the hibs first team to show he’s deserving of a 4 year deal then again neither did delfierrie
23-08-2024, 09:32 PM
It has been good, but they also have had some amount of flops too over the years too.
Barkas, Ajeti, Idegucci, Bernabei, Nawrocki, Lagerbielke, Holm, Tilio, are just a few since covid that are objectively wastes of money. There's about 30m in that group alone. But you could add more who did contribute to them but maybe weren't really up to it like Oh, Haksabanovic, even our own Hyun will likely never play for them.
The difference is when one hits big it pays for years of failed ones and the successful ones, if they can shift one a season for this type of cash it justifies it all entirely. I actually think it's clearly something we've tried to emulate and ended up half arsing it with guys who were nowhere near the standard but also we didn't have anywhere near the budget to carry the failures, of which there has been many.
23-08-2024, 09:35 PM
It seems that's how Desmond and Lawwell think but I doubt Brenda agrees with that policy.
23-08-2024, 09:37 PM
They've already achieved their CL aim. To qualify.
23-08-2024, 09:40 PM
Nisbet will score goals for them if he’s fit.
Still not convinced we’d really have been in for him due to signings made and the fact we need other positions filled first, but he’ll do well there.
23-08-2024, 10:28 PM
Good Sun Headline
Aberdeen set to win Kevin Nisbet transfer race after Scotland star rejects chance to rejoin Hibs 👀
We seem to be the whipping boys of the media, anything they can say to get a dig in they’ll do it. We only have ourselves to blame though due to the failure of football side over the past few years. The trumpeting of the BK investment that will make us stick on 3rd place is one of the worst calls ever. We have little time left to flex our muscles in this window. 🤞
McGruber
24-08-2024, 06:13 AM
Record reporting now Nisbet deal agreed with Aberdeen. A bit gutted we've not went and got him, no idea if we tried or not but we should have been IMO. We need other positions, a midfielder being the obvious one but we need goals, pure and simple. It's a gamble for any player whether they stay fit or not but a fit Nisbet will score plenty in this league. Hopefully can still pull off the McCowan deal which would be huge in sorting the midfield and he'd chip in with scoring. Still leaves me worried we've not got enough goals in the team which isn't going to be resolved by bringing in a 'non starting' striker.
24-08-2024, 06:29 AM
Oriley looks to be off to Brighton
Interesting if Celtic actually come in for McGowan now think they’ll replace with 2 midfielders.
If they don’t I’m sure Dundee will say Celtic are interested anyway
I can see this rumbling on a few days now
24-08-2024, 06:31 AM
Aberdeen obviously lost a key player but gained a massive profit so they will be using some money to pay the loan wages of KN.
What will be more interesting is what happens at end of the season.
Nisbet will probably be guaranteed to score against Hibs now.
I would be more worried if we didn’t have Myko but he needs to be fit for more than 15 games.
Nisbet would have scored goals for Hibs if he had returned but I also want us to improve our back line and midfield as right now we could have Messi up front but if we keep leaking goals we will never progress. (Unless Messi was scoring 2 / 3 / 4 goals a game).
24-08-2024, 06:36 AM
Interesting if Celtic actually come in for McGowan now think they’ll replace with 2 midfielders.
I really think we should have told Dundee to take or leave third offer, unless we know it’s a done deal, with a week left of window we are going to struggle badly to get someone else in
24-08-2024, 06:40 AM
Good Sun Headline
****my rag. Gray said in his press conference yesterday that there was nothing in it. Disgusting paper.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 06:41 AM
David Gray keeps going on about signing the “right” players.
To me he’s talking about attitude and application as well as being good footballers.
Kevin Nisbet clearly has a bad attitude and only applies himself when he wants to.
I don’t think we were even interested if I’m honest. Would rather we give Bowie a run of games than a huffy unfit Kevin Nisbet.
24-08-2024, 06:43 AM
I really think we should have told Dundee to take or leave third offer, unless we know it’s a done deal, with a week left of window we are going to struggle badly to get someone else in
It’s a done deal IMO.
It’s went very quiet this week for good reason.
24-08-2024, 06:49 AM
It’s a done deal IMO.
You know for sure? Would be great news
Ralphy C
24-08-2024, 06:59 AM
Are you Manuel from Faulty Towers? :greengrin
Stokesy's on fire
24-08-2024, 07:09 AM
Why aren't hibs interested in Nisbet?
24-08-2024, 07:11 AM
Probably because we’ve just signed two strikers, one of them cost 600k, and we have other areas of the team more in need.
24-08-2024, 07:13 AM
Because we need to strengthen other areas moreso IMO. We desperately need centre midfield players and unfortunately probably a goalkeeper. Nisbet's wage wouldn't be small either you'd imagine even as a loan.
We do have 2 decent strikers, yes it would be ideal to have 3 but it's further back in the pitch we need to look at.
24-08-2024, 07:17 AM
Are you Manuel from Faulty Towers? :greengrin
[emoji16][emoji16][emoji23][emoji23]
Stokesy's on fire
24-08-2024, 07:19 AM
Because we need to strengthen other areas moreso IMO. We desperately need centre midfield players and unfortunately probably a goalkeeper. Nisbet's wage wouldn't be small either you'd imagine even as a loan.
We do have 2 decent strikers, yes it would be ideal to have 3 but it's further back in the pitch we need to look at.
Nisbet is a proven goal scorer the investment would be wise we are now allowing our opponents the chance to get stronger while we bank on prospects...
24-08-2024, 07:22 AM
Nisbet is a proven goal scorer the investment would be wise we are now allowing our opponents the chance to get stronger while we bank on prospects...
Aberdeen don’t got Nisbet unless Miovski is sold. I know they have added other players but they were in the market for a new number 9.
Chances are they are paying a high weekly wage to have him on loan this season.
It’s a bit weird he’s gone to another team in the league but there isn’t much loyalty in football and money talks for clubs and players.
I won’t be booing him but at same time I hope he doesn’t score against Hibs !
Percy Vere
24-08-2024, 07:23 AM
David Gray keeps going on about signing the “right” players.
To me he’s talking about attitude and application as well as being good footballers.
Kevin Nisbet clearly has a bad attitude and only applies himself when he wants to.
I don’t think we were even interested if I’m honest. Would rather we give Bowie a run of games than a huffy unfit Kevin Nisbet.
Absolutely right
His attitude has always been in question even before he came to Hibs from Dunfermline.
it's obviously a factor at Millwall. He's a very good striker but I can imagine maybe not the character you want in a dressing room when he's decided he's not happy about something.
I did not miss his pettiness when he left Hibs.
You knew how he would play from his demeanour walking onto the pitch so I'm pleased we did not go for him, which is what Gray was saying.
24-08-2024, 07:32 AM
Who are the prospects we are banking on? Out of the 9 signings we have made, 3 are loans, 1 is a back up (Smith) and the rest are perms. All first team squad members. None would be regarded as prospects (except Bursic perhaps?)
24-08-2024, 07:32 AM
Aberdeen don’t got Nisbet unless Miovski is sold. I know they have added other players but they were in the market for a new number 9.
It’s a bit weird he’s gone to another team in the league but there isn’t much loyalty in football and money talks for clubs and players.
That's a good point. They had to replace Miovski. Nisbet was a no brainer for them.
24-08-2024, 07:39 AM
You know for sure? Would be great news
No but if you listen to the recent interview with the Dundee owner you can pretty much tell.
24-08-2024, 07:52 AM
They’ve lost Miovski who I feel is a better all round player than Nisbet, who’s hardly set the world alight since being down the Championship…..and is coming back from a long term injury. Are they stronger trading those 2?🤔
24-08-2024, 08:10 AM
I don’t think it’s weird he’s not come back to Hibs. The abuse he took from fans when he was here before both at the stadium and on social media was ridiculous for somebody who scored so many goals for us.
When he left and ever since there has been a small but noisy section of our support slating him.
Why would he want to come back to that again.
Similar situation to Youan.
Yep both had their faults but both had great numbers for us.
If they didn’t have these faults they wouldn’t have been at Hibs.
McGruber
24-08-2024, 08:11 AM
Who are the prospects we are banking on? Out of the 9 signings we have made, 3 are loans, 1 is a back up (Smith) and the rest are perms. All first team squad members. None would be regarded as prospects (except Bursic perhaps?)
Bowie would be the main one
Paul1642
24-08-2024, 08:17 AM
When Kamberi was loaned to Aberdeen I was worried he was going to score a load of goals, and destined to score against us……
He was just as good a player as Nisbet. Certain players click in certain teams and not in others. Time will tell with Nisbet at Aberdeen but one thing I’m confident in saying is that he’s a downgrade on Miovski.
24-08-2024, 08:17 AM
No but if you listen to the recent interview with the Dundee owner you can pretty much tell.
👍
7Hero
24-08-2024, 08:31 AM
I don’t think it’s weird he’s not come back to Hibs. The abuse he took from fans when he was here before both at the stadium and on social media was ridiculous for somebody who scored so many goals for us.
When he left and ever since there has been a small but noisy section of our support slating him.
That will be the last reason for him not to come back..
Wish people would stop using this as a reason for players not acting professional or making decisions , they will go where the have the best opportunity and best financial package.. we've signed players we have given dogs abuese too on the park when they played for our rivals, way before social media, they still came to prove themselves...
7Hero
24-08-2024, 08:33 AM
Anyone think porto won't go to rangers if they made him a financial offer better than he is on ?
Course he would ..
24-08-2024, 08:34 AM
Is Nisbet eventually becoming available an example of actual quality becoming available later in the window?
If he’d been available sooner then I’d have expected Hibs to be all over it, however having brought in Myko and Bowie I understand why they’re not interested.
24-08-2024, 08:36 AM
When Kamberi was loaned to Aberdeen I was worried he was going to score a load of goals, and destined to score against us……
He was just as good a player as Nisbet. Certain players click in certain teams and not in others. Time will tell with Nisbet at Aberdeen but one thing I’m confident in saying is that he’s a downgrade on Miovski.
Entirely different. I don't think there's any doubt Nisbet would score goals in this league playing for anyone. I still found him frustrating but his goal record was good. He's going to be up in the top 5 goal scorers this season.
24-08-2024, 08:40 AM
Bowie would be the main one
151 games, 39 goals, 16 assists. Plus 9 games and 4 goals for Scotland u21s.
With Scottish experience and a decent pedigree I’d say he’s less of a prospect and a good 1st team addition, whilst still young.
Melkerson, Jair etc. those are prospects that are far more riskier and the type of signings we should be limiting ourselves too, which seems to be the case in this window.
EGL2000
24-08-2024, 08:40 AM
Anyone think porto won't go to rangers if they made him a financial offer better than he is on ?
Course he would ..
Surely rangers aren't in for him they absolutely hate him, are you seeing it somewhere?
24-08-2024, 08:56 AM
https://x.com/Kyle_Gunn97/status/1827262619541028870?t=xgEOvpFiKTfo7SkhYR-cFg&s=19
Young reporter saying Hibs were never an option.
24-08-2024, 08:58 AM
It’s a done deal IMO.
I think the same, Dee want to keep him until hes played against Hibs then let him go. Will be a Hibs player on Monday.
24-08-2024, 09:01 AM
https://x.com/Kyle_Gunn97/status/1827262619541028870?t=xgEOvpFiKTfo7SkhYR-cFg&s=19
Young reporter saying Hibs were never an option.
For who? Nisbet? And why? For him or us?
CentreForward
24-08-2024, 09:04 AM
I think the same, Dee want to keep him until hes played against Hibs then let him go. Will be a Hibs player on Monday.
That’s what I’ve hoping too! No daft tackles on him today please. On the other hand if he looks rubbish today maybe suddenly none of us will be wanting him :confused:
hibeerealist
24-08-2024, 09:11 AM
So a few individuals on social media deter a player from coming to us or desperate to leave!!
Take a breath and read what you have posted!!
Blah blah, its the fans, always the fans.
Naw, its the woke mentality of those who think that and keep fanning the flames
NC1875
24-08-2024, 09:13 AM
😂😂 do people honestly think this only happens at Hibs. Nisbet will be getting pelters from the Aberdeen fans in no time when he goes in one of his many huffs.
24-08-2024, 09:24 AM
The way he engineered his move out of Hibs, he deserves abuse mate.
Not surprised in the slightest that David Gray didn’t go anywhere near him.
OstKurve Hibs
24-08-2024, 09:36 AM
Not bothered about missing out on Nisbet. Don't know why we are even looking at players that have track recordss of constant injuries injuries and flair ups all the time.
24-08-2024, 09:37 AM
The way he engineered his move out of Hibs, he deserves abuse mate.
Not surprised in the slightest that David Gray didn’t go anywhere near him.
Thomson was welcomed back after being far more of a ****, and that was from a guy who was meant to be a supporter too.
24-08-2024, 09:43 AM
Not bothered about missing out on Nisbet. Don't know why we are even looking at players that have track recordss of constant injuries injuries and flair ups all the time.
I don't think we did miss out on Nisbet
24-08-2024, 09:45 AM
That will be the last reason for him not to come back..
Wish people would stop using this as a reason for players not acting professional or making decisions , they will go where the have the best opportunity and best financial package.. we've signed players we have given dogs abuese too on the park when they played for our rivals, way before social media, they still came to prove themselves...
All about opinions and I respect yours but disagree
Stokesy's on fire
24-08-2024, 09:47 AM
Holliet chose us over them..I guess we are paying more than the sheep offered. I just find it odd that we don't appear to be even remotely interested in Nisbet. For what it's worth I think he will hate playing for Aberdeen and the commute to play for dull club like them will grate on him.
McGruber
24-08-2024, 09:50 AM
151 games, 39 goals, 16 assists. Plus 9 games and 4 goals for Scotland u21s.
With Scottish experience and a decent pedigree I’d say he’s less of a prospect and a good 1st team addition, whilst still young.
Melkerson, Jair etc. those are prospects that are far more riskier and the type of signings we should be limiting ourselves too, which seems to be the case in this window.
Don't think he's scored 39 goals. 10 at Raith and 14 over 2 seasons at Northampton, all at a lower level. Not that it matters, I think Bowie looks a real good prospect and delighted we have landed him. He isn't as much a project player as the likes of Melkerson sure, we have had some proper speculative punts.. like Major Botang. I think Bowie will prove to be an excellent player for us and will score goals here. Until he actually does, he's still a young prospect.
TrinityHFC
24-08-2024, 09:51 AM
Holliet chose us over them..I guess we are paying more than the sheep offered. I just find it odd that we don't appear to be even remotely interested in Nisbet. For what it's worth I think he will hate playing for Aberdeen and the commute to play for dull club like them will grate on him.
Just don’t think you bring in Myko and Bowie then sign another player who would want to start every game.
People wanted our squad complete before the league cup games. You take a call on the players you think are the right ones when you can get them. Players might become available later but that’s the gamble.
24-08-2024, 09:51 AM
It made sense to come and play football at a club I know have a lot of games they’re looking to win. I hope it will be a successful year for me and the club. t’ll be a change, playing in a team that aren’t underdogs every week. It’s been a tough few years at St Johnstone. It’ll be nice going into the weekend being a team looking to get on the ball and score goals
Stevie May on signing for Livi
Brilliant having a dig a Potter
McGruber
24-08-2024, 09:54 AM
At this point, on the proviso they stayed fit and played most of the season, I reckon Bowie will hit about 10 goals in first season, Myko about 15 and Nisbet at Aberdeen about 25. Hoping obviously our lads both hit into the 20s but that's how I'd hedge my bets
24-08-2024, 09:55 AM
At this point, on the proviso they stayed fit and played most of the season, I reckon Bowie will hit about 10 goals in first season, Myko about 15 and Nisbet at Aberdeen about 25. Hoping obviously our lads both hit into the 20s but that's how I'd hedge my bets
25 I can't see. Miovski wasn't getting that. In fact, very few guys get that in Scotland. Especially without penalties which he won't be taking.
24-08-2024, 09:56 AM
Holliet chose us over them
He didn’t
24-08-2024, 09:57 AM
So a few individuals on social media deter a player from coming to us or desperate to leave!!
Aye okay mate … you clearly know better
TrinityHFC
24-08-2024, 09:58 AM
He didn’t
Aberdeen wanted to keep him. We spoke to him very early and he was aware of the interest before not accepting Aberdeen’s offer. They moved on after they knew he wasn’t staying.
24-08-2024, 10:04 AM
Thomson was welcomed back after being far more of a ****, and that was from a guy who was meant to be a supporter too.
I disagree, what Nisbet did was worse imo.
24-08-2024, 10:05 AM
It wasn't. Not even close.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 10:09 AM
We didn’t need Nisbet with having Myko and Bowie and this media stuff about Aberdeen beating us to signing him I think is a load of nonsense as we were never in for him in the first place .
24-08-2024, 10:10 AM
It wasn't. Not even close.
It was.
DIXIHIBS
24-08-2024, 10:12 AM
Assuming all 3 stay fit, no way is Nisbet outscoring Myko and Bowie combined...imho.
24-08-2024, 10:12 AM
It was.
Handing in a transfer request and losing a bit of form literally weeks after his dad passed is not the same as a totally disruptive campaign to join the Huns.
Pretty much nothing worse than a supposed Hibs fan joining the Huns.
24-08-2024, 10:15 AM
Handing in a transfer request and losing a bit of form literally weeks after his dad passed is not the same as a totally disruptive campaign to join the Huns.
If that’s all Nisbet had done I’d agree with you. I’m not defending Thomson either.
24-08-2024, 10:21 AM
Being a supporter probably did him a favour.
Nisbet wanted away at the first opportunity, while I don’t necessarily blame him for wanting to leave it pissed me off that he was ready to jump 6 months after signing for us.
I’d have him back in a heartbeat though, excellent player and scored some crackers for us.
24-08-2024, 10:29 AM
You should probably go Google what woke actually means 😁
24-08-2024, 10:31 AM
Being a supporter probably did him a favour.
Nisbet wanted away at the first opportunity, while I don’t necessarily blame him for wanting to leave it pissed me off that he was ready to jump 6 months after signing for us.
I’d have him back in a heartbeat though, excellent player and scored some crackers for us.
It also wasn’t omnishambles Hibs he wanted away from.
We had a decent team and a happy camp.
I could forgive players wanting away from Hibs at any point from the point Ross was sacked as it’s been various shades of nonsense from that point on.
24-08-2024, 10:31 AM
Woke mentality? Are you sure you know what woke means?
24-08-2024, 10:33 AM
Woke mentality? Are you sure you know what woke means?
This is the transfer thread no?
He's here!
24-08-2024, 10:42 AM
Footballers will sign for whoever is offering them the best deal, no matter who they support. Doesn't make the likes of Craig Paterson, Kevin Thomson or Ian Murray any less of a Hibs fan.
Here's a quote from Pat Stanton's autobiography (he's talking in relation to Mo Johnston signing for Rangers):
"What I can say is that if Rangers had come in for me as a player I would have signed for them if the money had been good enough. People may find that hard to believe but it's true. It is a bit of kidology to the fans to pretend there's anything more important than what cash is on the table and what the terms are in your contract. At the end of the day that's what pays your rent, not how much you love Celtic, Rangers...or Arbroath hor that matter. Maybe Maurice's only mistake was to go on about how much he loved Celtic."
Manxhibs
24-08-2024, 11:08 AM
Not bothered about Nisbet not joining us. I can’t imagine we were in for him, as it really isn’t an area of focus.
I believe we will have enough goals in the squad when we have a midfield that works.
24-08-2024, 11:14 AM
I think in 3 months time we will be saying thank fk we didnt sign Nisbet or fk wish we had signed him!
24-08-2024, 11:30 AM
Myko’s a better option than Nisbet as a lone striker.
The second he gets injured though, we’ll be regretting not going for Nisbet.
If we manage to get an injury free season out of Myko, we won’t miss Nisbet in the least.
I really rate Myko. Some adequate support for him and if he stays injury free - I think he has an excellent season and is a top notch signing.
This is the transfer thread no?
Sometimes I have to check the thread title again just to make sure.
Too many folk trying to score points over each other about silly wee things
What did he really do that was worse, bit of hyperbole from you.
Well we've done Joe Newell to death, Boyle to death, now Nisbet is getting the treatment, after today's game who will be next???
Albert Kidd 86’
24-08-2024, 11:44 AM
:thumbsup:welcome to planet Earth 2024!:wink:
Seems to be the way nowadays, where there are humans, there is bickering…..
24-08-2024, 11:46 AM
Nizzy when on it is Great disappointing we are not going in for him but can understand if a bit of attitude
McHibby
24-08-2024, 11:49 AM
I'm struggling more with the fact that anyone still thinks "woke" is an insult, than with the idea a player might not want to re-join a club because some fans gave him grief.
For what it's worth, I don't think that would play too highly in the mind of a football player when deciding to go somewhere on loan (or permanently, for that matter).
24-08-2024, 11:55 AM
Well we've done Joe Newell to death, Boyle to death, now Nisbet is getting the treatment, after today's game who will be next???
McCowan 😂😂
McHibby
24-08-2024, 11:56 AM
McCowan 😂😂
24-08-2024, 12:30 PM
Footballers will sign for whoever is offering them the best deal, no matter who they support. Doesn't make the likes of Craig Paterson, Kevin Thomson or Ian Murray any less of a Hibs fan.
Here's a quote from Pat Stanton's autobiography (he's talking in relation to Mo Johnston signing for Rangers):
"What I can say is that if Rangers had come in for me as a player I would have signed for them if the money had been good enough. People may find that hard to believe but it's true. It is a bit of kidology to the fans to pretend there's anything more important than what cash is on the table and what the terms are in your contract. At the end of the day that's what pays your rent, not how much you love Celtic, Rangers...or Arbroath hor that matter. Maybe Maurice's only mistake was to go on about how much he loved Celtic."
Makes you less of a Hibs fan imo. Id never sign for the club who sang about Alan Stubbs cancer or killing Neil Lennon.
24-08-2024, 12:34 PM
When they were both at the club together I was always of the opinion that Myko is a better striker than Nisbet. I know Myko has been injured so not got the same numbers over a season yet but pound for pound he's a better player. Looking back after their careers are finished I'm fairly certain people will agree.
As for Nisbet, his attitude is absolutely his worst trait, I never really saw him as reliable in that sense. Think back to all the big pressure moments in his Hibs career, semi finals, finals, big pressure penalties, I think he came up short in almost all of those situations. The only time I think he stood up was the single derby win right at the end of his time with us when he was playing for a move again.
He'd be a hard pass from me considering this and the serious holes we have in defence and midfield right now anyway.
In saying that, if there is one situation that Nisbet might play well it's a loan move to Aberdeen get himself back in the shop window for bigger clubs.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
24-08-2024, 12:40 PM
3 weeks ago i'd have bit your hand off if we could have got Nisbet, but since then Myko and Bowie have signed, we have other parts of the team that need better players much more urgently than up front at the moment.
It would be just like Hibs to ignore that though, and bring in a player we dont really need, leaving us short elsewhere.
Stokesy's on fire
24-08-2024, 12:46 PM
He didn’t
Aye he did...
Stokesy's on fire
24-08-2024, 12:47 PM
We didn’t need Nisbet with having Myko and Bowie and this media stuff about Aberdeen beating us to signing him I think is a load of nonsense as we were never in for him in the first place .
Agrees but it's always hibs fans that fall for it.
24-08-2024, 12:50 PM
McCowan starts, thought he would.
McCowan 😂😂
You could be right :greengrin
24-08-2024, 01:22 PM
McCowan starts, thought he would.
Yep, he was always staring. Can't believe anyone actually thought he wouldn't.
He's here!
24-08-2024, 01:24 PM
Makes you less of a Hibs fan imo. Id never sign for the club who sang about Alan Stubbs cancer or killing Neil Lennon.
I'm guessing that won't be a decision you'll ever have to make.
Fans of all clubs sing stupid songs (Celtic and Rangers more than most granted) but the bottom line is (as 'Mr Hibs' Pat Stanton points out) players follow the money, particularly in today's crazy football world. The only reason you get players staying 'loyal' to one club is either because they're being paid more than anyone else will offer them or because they're not good enough for anyone else to offer them a better deal.
Stevenson and Hanlon were decent players but not quite good enough for bigger clubs to want them. Playing for Hibs was the peak of their ability - which is still a fine achievement. Both, though, would have signed for Rangers had they come in for them.
He's here!
24-08-2024, 01:36 PM
'Hibs fans look away now' says Brian McLauchlin about Nisbet joining Aberdeen on loan...is any Hibs fan genuinely gutted by this? Nisbet was decent enough for us overall but he blew very hot and cold and I wouldn't say he's a must have signing.
24-08-2024, 01:37 PM
'Hibs fans look away now' says Brian McLauchlin about Nisbet joining Aberdeen on loan...is any Hibs fan genuinely gutted by this? Nisbet was decent enough for us overall but he blew very hot and cold and I wouldn't say he's a must have signing.
Fat Jambo Brian desperate for any opportunity to take a dig at Hibs, empowered by the Sportsound jambo producer. Desperate
If he goes to Aberdeen he will be more than decent enough to score against this Hibs defence. :confused:
24-08-2024, 01:43 PM
He’ll score over ten goals for them easily. Can’t say I’m confident either Myko or Bowie will do the same for us but still early days yet.
24-08-2024, 01:59 PM
I'm guessing that won't be a decision you'll ever have to make.
Fans of all clubs sing stupid songs (Celtic and Rangers more than most granted) but the bottom line is (as 'Mr Hibs' Pat Stanton points out) players follow the money, particularly in today's crazy football world. The only reason you get players staying 'loyal' to one club is either because they're being paid more than anyone else will offer them or because they're not good enough for anyone else to offer them a better deal.
Stevenson and Hanlon were decent players but not quite good enough for bigger clubs to want them. Playing for Hibs was the peak of their ability - which is still a fine achievement. Both, though, would have signed for Rangers had they come in for them.
That's all great. Each to their own. I would never work for Rangers in any capacity. Vile, bigoted club.
The Captain....
24-08-2024, 02:07 PM
'Hibs fans look away now' says Brian McLauchlin about Nisbet joining Aberdeen on loan...is any Hibs fan genuinely gutted by this? Nisbet was decent enough for us overall but he blew very hot and cold and I wouldn't say he's a must have signing.Never really took to Nisbet when he was here. He was a decent club striker imo but there's half a dozen I can easily think of off the top of my head who were better.
I wasn't excited when he was touted as being available..he'll likely do ok at Aberdeen but I don't think he'll pull up any trees.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
sean04
24-08-2024, 02:34 PM
I dont think mcgowan is the answer to all our problems
24-08-2024, 03:01 PM
I dont think mcgowan is the answer to all our problemsHe'd be a good signing but nothing more, the long drawn out transfer chat has ended up with people thinking he's going to transform our team.
sean04
24-08-2024, 03:02 PM
He'd be a good signing but nothing more, the long drawn out transfer chat has ended up with people thinking he's going to transform our team.
Completely agree, 750k is a huge fee and way over the top for him
24-08-2024, 03:03 PM
He'd be a good signing but nothing more, the long drawn out transfer chat has ended up with people thinking he's going to transform our team.
Anyone we are paying £1m for is going to need to transform our team. Massive money for us.
24-08-2024, 03:03 PM
Fat Jambo Brian desperate for any opportunity to take a dig at Hibs, empowered by the Sportsound jambo producer. Desperate
Yep an absolute rocket.
The Captain....
24-08-2024, 03:20 PM
Yep an absolute rocket.Like Jabba the hut, makes me feel ill when he appears on tv.
24-08-2024, 03:33 PM
Just as well we're not after anyone called Mcgowan, then. :greengrin
24-08-2024, 03:43 PM
Just as well we're not after anyone called Mcgowan, then. :greengrin
Dirty Old Town :greengrin
24-08-2024, 03:48 PM
McCowan best player on the park today.
Chip shop Joe
24-08-2024, 03:57 PM
He absolutely strolled that today. Without breaking sweat he was superb!
24-08-2024, 03:58 PM
Behave :faf:
He absolutely strolled that today. Without breaking sweat he was superb!
He really wasn't.
Folk actually think McCowan played well today? Just an average at best performance surely?
Can we sign another two cb’s and a gk? And maybe a couple fullbacks?
24-08-2024, 04:00 PM
Folk actually think McCowan played well today? Just an average at best performance surely?
Yep. Nothing special at all today.
24-08-2024, 04:03 PM
If Newell made the attempt McCowan did for our 2nd goal, there would be 3 pages already.
24-08-2024, 04:04 PM
New goalie and a new centre half already needed and it’s not even the end of the window 🤣 Only Hibs.
24-08-2024, 04:04 PM
No way. Playing against our midfield must be easy for anyone though.
HendoDelivered
24-08-2024, 04:05 PM
Nisbet confirmed by Aberdeen.
Chip shop Joe
24-08-2024, 04:05 PM
I did. He was at the heart of everything they did. Barely broke sweat. Found a man with every pass, something no one in our team seems to be able to do. He dictated their play with quick short passes in and around our players. Again something no one in the Hibs team seems capable of. I can 100% see why we are trying to sign him and he would improve us hugely.
24-08-2024, 04:07 PM
McCowan? Barely noticed he was playing today. Got enough players in our squad that offer that. If this is going to continue dragging out for another week then I'd rather we looked elsewhere.
24-08-2024, 04:07 PM
I did. He was at the heart of everything they did. Barely broke sweat. Found a man with every pass, something no one in our team seems to be able to do. He dictated their play with quick short passes in and around our players. Again something no one in the Hibs team seems capable of. I can 100% see why we are trying to sign him and he would improve us hugely.
Dundee were absolutely **** the majority of the game.
He does improve us though, but not as much as some folk are expecting in my opinion.
24-08-2024, 04:08 PM
Will Dennis please
NC1875
24-08-2024, 04:09 PM
He does improve us though, but not as much as some folk are expecting in my opinion.
Dundee were ***** 😂 shows how bad we really are when Dundee are ***** and coming to Easter Road and leaving with a draw.
Sad times
24-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Dundee were ***** 😂 shows how bad we really are when Dundee are ***** and coming to Easter Road and leaving with a draw.
Sad times
It does. Both teams were poor majority of the match. But they were definitely worse than us over the 90 minutes.
Chip shop Joe
24-08-2024, 04:12 PM
Let’s not kid ourselves here. If that half kneecap had not saved us with VAR we were dead and buried at 2-0 and they probably would have won 3 or 4. They are a decent team. early days I am already a little worried about this season!
Ditch this race for McCowan. Go get two more centre halves and a new keeper as an absolute priority.
Bob Box Fish
We still need two centre halves and a goalie . Abysmal recruitment again
New goalie and a new centre half already needed and it’s not even the end of the window 🤣 Only Hibs.
Why can’t they see this ?
24-08-2024, 04:14 PM
Will Dennis pleaseNew GK is an absolute priority.
Can't believe I'm saying that when we've signed 2 keepers this window. Yet another disgrace from our recruitment team.
24-08-2024, 04:14 PM
Will Dennis please
In holding out hope for that too but it’s probably very unlikely
24-08-2024, 04:15 PM
New GK is an absolute priority.
Can't believe I'm saying that when we've signed 2 keepers this window. Yet another disgrace from our recruitment team.
Yep, we can’t go on with Bursik.
Smith was clearly brought in as back up.
Send Boruc on loan/sell him if there’s and takers and bring in Dennis
24-08-2024, 04:15 PM
New GK is an absolute priority.
Our new recruitment team?
It was Marshall who hit up one of the keepers we signed!
Bridge hibs
24-08-2024, 04:21 PM
Yep, we can’t go on with Bursik.
Smith was clearly brought in as back up.
Send Boruc on loan/sell him if there’s and takers and bring in Dennis
Whats with the clamour for Dennis ? He had a decent season for killie but he wasnt all that great in the games I saw him play, decent but Im not sure why folk are desperate to get him in the door, one mistake and it wouldnt be long before he is called another Zibi
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Will Dennis please
Absolutely 👍🏻
Willis1875
24-08-2024, 04:24 PM
Whats with the clamour for Dennis ? He had a decent season for killie but he wasnt all that great in the games I saw him play, decent but Im not sure why folk are desperate to get him in the door, one mistake and it wouldnt be long before he is called another Zibi
Part of the 4th best defence in the league last season,faced the 5th most amount of shots,3rd for shots saved and had the highest save percentage in the league.
Got to be better than we what we have
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:24 PM
I’d send bursik back now,it’s that bad in the gk position. If mccowan is t coming in get that cash spent on a decent CB
Bridge hibs
24-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Part of the 4th best defence in the league last season,faced the 5th most amount of shots,3rd for shots saved and had the highest save percentage in the league.
Got to be better than we what we have
And yet there he is, playing for who every week ?
24-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Our new recruitment team?
It was Marshall who hit up one of the keepers we signed!New recruitment team, old recruitment team, same old ****.
Silky
24-08-2024, 04:28 PM
He's not imo. Don't think he was that great today and he's a wee ****. Constantly fouling, in the refs face. Not for me.
24-08-2024, 04:30 PM
He's not imo. Don't think he was that great today and he's a wee ****. Constantly fouling, in the refs face. Not for me.
My worry about McCowan is him coming in would mean Rudi dropping out. Gray will never drop Newell.
Think I’d honestly prefer to stick with Rudi.
24-08-2024, 04:31 PM
McGowan would improve our midfield. Newell should be the one being dropped.
24-08-2024, 04:32 PM
Powderpuff Captain
24-08-2024, 04:32 PM
Just never going to happen though, that's the issue.
hibeerealist
24-08-2024, 04:33 PM
He will do for me that is what this bunch o cowards lack, fight.
Clever on the ball and always looking forward, not like our captain.
Not sure if we are getting him but would be a great signing, if we dont get him i fear trouble ahead
The Tubs
24-08-2024, 04:34 PM
My worry about McCowan is him coming in would mean Rudi dropping out. Gray will never drop Newell.
I actually think he would drop Newell and that's exactly why we want McCowan and not that Cameron laddie, for example
24-08-2024, 04:34 PM
No team that regularly starts either Newell or Campbell will win a trophy. Centre midfield is the absolute building block of any team and we've been short there for the best part of a decade.
24-08-2024, 04:35 PM
I actually think he would drop Newell and that's exactly why we want McCowan and not that Cameron laddie, for example
Its what I want to happen, Kwon, McCowan and Rudi in the middle. But you don't make someone your captain and give them an extension if you're planning on dropping them.
24-08-2024, 04:37 PM
McCowan dominated the midfield once Kwon went off. Driving with the ball and spraying passes about. I did think he struggled prior to that.
24-08-2024, 04:37 PM
I’d give that to Sylla, McCowan a close 2nd though. His calmness in possession is something we could do with in midfield instead of treating the ball like a hot tattie like our current midfielders.
The Tubs
24-08-2024, 04:38 PM
Its what I want to happen, Kwon, McCowan and Rudi in the middle. But you don't make someone your captain and give them an extension if you're planning on dropping them.
It's the competition that's important. If we sign McCowan and he's on better form than Newell and the shape is fine, then Newell will be dropped I'd say.
24-08-2024, 04:39 PM
McCowan dominated the midfield once Kwon went off. Driving with the ball and spraying passes about. I did think he struggled prior to that.
:agree: Kwon was man marking him first half which allowed Cameron to have acres of space first half.
24-08-2024, 04:41 PM
Newell who played a part in both goals today? Yeah, he quite rightly won't be dropped.
Rudi was good but he's never playing 90 every week. It would kill him .
Everything our glorious captain never does. No leadership, no spine, just pathetic
24-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Newell who played a part in both goals today? Yeah, he quite rightly won't be dropped.
Rudi was good but he's never playing 90 every week. It would kill him .
You're really clutching at straws giving Newell credit for Boylers free kick.
24-08-2024, 04:58 PM
Hopefully now we’re at the end of the window we seem some of the benefits of black knights
Dennis
Player from Lorient
Etc
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 04:58 PM
I've changed my mind Hibs. Pay Dundee whatever they want for McCowan because he's head and shoulders above any of current midfield(not including Kwon) literally everything Dundee did today went through him. An absolute Rolls Royce of a player and everything a captain should be (take note Joe Newell) any of thier midfield instantly improves us right now..Cameron, Sylla. If we can't get McCowan should be looking at one of them if not both.
24-08-2024, 05:00 PM
I've changed my mind Hibs. Pay Dundee whatever they want for McCowan because he's head and shoulders above any of current midfield(not including Kwon) literally everything Dundee did today went through him. An absolute Rolls Royce of a player and everything a captain should be (take note Joe Newell) any of thier midfield instantly improves us right now..Cameron, Sylla. If we can't get McCowan should be look at one of them if not both.
I thought McGowan was very good today too. Me and my father in law were talking about him through the game being what we needed.
Posters earlier in the thread were being ridiculed for saying that he was good though.
24-08-2024, 05:01 PM
Any lingering chance of McCowan signing for us flew out of the window today. He couldn’t have failed to see how iffy a team we are. A big pay rise wouldn’t compensate for career suicide.
24-08-2024, 05:04 PM
I thought McGowan was very good today too. Me and my father in law were talking about him through the game being what we needed.
Posters earlier in the thread were being ridiculed for saying that he was good though.
He did nothing at all first half really then started to come into the game more second half. Even then it was pretty simple stuff but it was effective getting Dundee up the pitch.
I think he's a good player and would absolutely start for us, but I'm just worried folk are building him up way too much.
Hopefully now we’re at the end of the window we seem some of the benefits of black knights
Dennis
Player from Lorient
Etc
Not saying we should or shouldn't but do you honestly seeing us sign Dennis?
Any lingering chance of McCowan signing for us flew out of the window today. He couldn’t have failed to see how iffy a team we are. A big pay rise wouldn’t compensate for career suicide.
Hopefully he has more confidence in how he can affect the squad than you do.
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 05:05 PM
Yup I agree, if he stays at Dundee for another season he will likely get a big money move down south. Coming to us despite a modest increase in wage is undoubtedly a risk the way the club is at the minute
24-08-2024, 05:06 PM
Why? Playing in front of a crowd that Dundee could only dream of, in a stadium Dundee could only dream of, on a pitch Dundee could only dream of, increase in salary and more chance of international caps and winning trophies and playing in Europe. Yip, career suicide. I'm not saying he will sign but it's a step up on every kevel from Dundee to Hibs
24-08-2024, 05:06 PM
Newell deserves credit for the dribble to win the free kick but it’s certainly funny when you remember how reluctant MW was to give Boyle credit for Myko’s goal last week.
24-08-2024, 05:07 PM
The free kick he won with a nice bit of play?
Our manager also gave him credit for it.
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Why? Playing in front of a crowd that Dundee could only dream of, in a stadium Dundee could only dream of, on a pitch Dundee could only dream of, increase in salary and more chance of international caps and winning trophies and playing in Europe. Yip, career suicide. I'm not saying he will sign but it's a step up on every kevel from Dundee to Hibs
He will likely get in the Scotland squad anyway even at Dundee. Way we are just now we won't be winning any trophies or getting in Europe for a while so what difference does a bigger stadium/crowd make really?
24-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Newell deserves credit for the dribble to win the free kick but it’s certainly funny when you remember how reluctant MW was to give Boyle credit for Myko’s goal last week.
I wasn't. It would very much help to read my posts.
I just said it wasn't a particularly great assist and the goal was mostly down to a real quality header. It was still a decent ball in.
24-08-2024, 05:09 PM
The free kick he won with a nice bit of play?
Our manager also gave him credit for it.
Yip. As I said straw clutching of the highest calibre.
24-08-2024, 05:09 PM
https://youtu.be/fxBE2EZ3UFA?si=x_D461Ilas0qU_px
“We know where we need to be better”
Wonder if we will see some defenders or goalie come in
24-08-2024, 05:10 PM
He will likely get in the Scotland squad anyway even at Dundee. Way we are just now we won't be winning any trophies or getting in Europe for a while so what difference does a bigger stadium/crowd make really?
No way he gets in the Scotland team at Dundee. Bigger stadium bugger crow means bigger wages. Players will play for anyone who will pay them most
Not saying we should or shouldn't but do you honestly seeing us sign Dennis?
Tbh no, I’d be very pleasantly surprised if we did.
But surely SDG and Malky are looking at it thinking Bursik isn’t nearly as good as hoped?
We need to correct it now before it’s too late
I just said it wasn't a particularly great assist and the goal was mostly down to a real quality header. It was still a decent ball in.
Here’s your post so others can read it and judge for themselves
Come on. An assist sure but that goal was 99% Myko. A very difficult header.
Yip. As I said straw clutching of the highest calibre.
Just admit you hate the guy honestly. If you cannot give him credit for that, you never will.
24-08-2024, 05:11 PM
https://youtu.be/fxBE2EZ3UFA?si=x_D461Ilas0qU_px
“We know where we need to be better”
Wonder if we will see some defenders or goalie come in
Probably Bevan. Can’t see us signing another goalie
24-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Here’s your post so others can read it and judge for themselves
Yep. I'm spot on, as I thought. Same as today goal was all about Boyle, which it was, a very good free kick.
Newell still did very well to win it.
24-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Just admit you hate the guy honestly. If you cannot give him credit for that, you never will.
'Hate' Have a word pal.
He’ll not be winning trophies or getting into Europe with Dundee either, but a better chance here than with them.
Players all want to play in bigger stadiums with bigger crowds, as well as the enhanced salary that goes with it
24-08-2024, 05:13 PM
Probably Bevan. Can’t see us signing another goalie
Hopefully if it’s Bevan he’s fit and stays injury free!
Yes. The player will know by the fee that we're buying him to make an improvement to the squad. The right player would back himself to have a positive impact on our fortunes.
Yep. I'm spot on, as I thought. Same as today goal was all about Boyle, which it was, a very good free kick.
What % would you put on Newell’s contribution to the goal if you were only giving Boyle 1% last week?
24-08-2024, 05:14 PM
What % would you put on Newell’s contribution to the goal if you were only giving Boyle 1% last week?
1% 👍
So when Newell wins a free kick he did very well and you’re saying he contributed to the goal, but when Boyle puts a free kick on Myko’s head it’s only 1% the free kick (since you said it was 99% the header that did the job).
Righto :rolleyes:
You accuse another poster of hating Newell, but man you must trawl the threads on here to defend him at all costs
McGruber
24-08-2024, 05:19 PM
Think we need both but in amongst the disappointment I thought Ekpiteta was solid today, done nothing wrong on the ball either. Much better from big Marv
The Captain....
24-08-2024, 05:21 PM
Posters earlier in the thread were being ridiculed for saying that he was good though.I think McCowans energy and desire to take the ball under pressure is what we need. He'd improve us imo.
24-08-2024, 05:22 PM
I agree, but a bigger step up with more lucrative benefits could be on the cards, so why choose us?
I think McCowans energy and desire to take the ball under pressure is what we need. He'd improve us imo.
He would make a huge difference, we have no one who does what he does or how he does it
24-08-2024, 05:22 PM
I agree with you, so you’re not alone. It’s not clutching at straws, if Newell doesn’t do that we don’t score it’s fairly simple. Obviously Boyle has done well (albeit deflected) but Newell still played a part.
24-08-2024, 05:24 PM
I agree with you, so you’re not alone. It’s not clutching at straws, if Newell doesn’t do that we don’t score it’s fairly simple. Obviously Boyle has done well (albeit deflected) but Newell still played a part.
A bit of sense finally. Thank you.
24-08-2024, 05:24 PM
I agree, but a bigger step up with more lucrative benefits could be on the cards, so why choose us?
He will go to Celtic if they bother to put an offer in. If he chooses us it’s because we were his best offer, and no more lucrative deal was on the cards.
24-08-2024, 05:25 PM
A bit of sense finally. Thank you.
We’ve just been sucker punched (again), I can see why people are angry but rational thinking should still apply.
24-08-2024, 05:26 PM
:top marks:agree: pish again, although he did get fouled once.
24-08-2024, 05:27 PM
Id love McCowan to improve us. His attempt for our second goal would see Newell slaughtered though.
Joe was fine today. Not great, but certainly not pish.
24-08-2024, 05:29 PM
Id love McCowan to improve us. His attempt for our second goal would see Newell slaughtered though.
Even if he was pish for the rest of the game it’s ok for the hate club to admit he’s done well to draw the foul in a dangerous area but welcome to the internet.
24-08-2024, 05:32 PM
Aw I missed Nisbet being unveiled by Aberdeen…
RAT
24-08-2024, 05:37 PM
The bar seems to get lower each season for Newell. “Least of our problems” - “better beside better players” - “our best midfielder” - “playing midfield on his own” - this season the go to seems to be “he wasn’t great, but he wasn’t poor”
24-08-2024, 05:43 PM
Really………..i thought KWON pretty much nullified him, personally I wouldn’t spend anything over £250k for him
24-08-2024, 05:44 PM
Really………..i thought KWON pretty much nullified him, personally I wouldn’t spend anything over £250k for him
Each to their fella but I thought he was the best player on the park too.
24-08-2024, 05:48 PM
I only really noticed him after Kwon went off.
24-08-2024, 05:49 PM
There was a point in the second half where I thought that’s exactly what we miss
McCowan played it back to the keeper who passed it to the full back and back inside to McCowan.
McCowan then broke from just outside their own box right up and into our half where they eventually won a throw.
That drive and composure is what is missing at times
Chorley Hibee
24-08-2024, 05:50 PM
Expect 2/3 untried youngsters on loan from England that will be deemed the answer to all our woes.
So depressingly Hibs.
Hibees1973
24-08-2024, 05:52 PM
Correct.
The reported £750k fee is mad. Daft money for us to shell out for the likes of McCowan. Mind you, with our recruitment record not surprising.
TrinityHFC
24-08-2024, 05:53 PM
Expect 2/3 untried youngsters on loan from England that will be deemed the answer to all our woes.
So depressingly Hibs.
Not really the pattern of our signings though is it?
24-08-2024, 05:54 PM
Tony Docherty’s interview about McCowan after the game sounded a lot like he’s resigned to losing him this week
Chorley Hibee
24-08-2024, 05:55 PM
Not really the pattern of our signings though is it?
We'll see.
24-08-2024, 05:55 PM
Tony Docherty’s interview about McCowan after the game sounded a lot like he’s resigned to losing him this week
Good. Hopefully to us and Celtic aren't interested.
24-08-2024, 05:56 PM
McCowan over Newell - showed more energy and desire throughout and seemed to always be involved.
The holding midfielder Sylla and centre back on loan from Liverpool would walk in our team.
24-08-2024, 05:57 PM
Luke McCowan won as many tackles today as our midfield 3 combined.
McCowan and Sylla together won as many tackles as our whole starting XI combined.
24-08-2024, 06:02 PM
https://x.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1827403589775474810?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Seems….promising?
24-08-2024, 06:04 PM
Mind we were linked with Morgan Rogers a couple of years ago?
He’s ripping Arsenal to shreds right now.
No wonder he said no to us 🤣
24-08-2024, 06:10 PM
I’m not even sure he was anywhere near being Dundees best player. If we going to spend serious money on a midfielder then KWON would be my choice having seen both of them today
24-08-2024, 06:12 PM
He was our first choice that window and Sylvester Jasper was the fall back option.
24-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Think we need both but in amongst the disappointment I thought Ekpiteta was solid today, done nothing wrong on the ball either. Much better from big Marv
A fair point, worth making.
24-08-2024, 06:18 PM
I’m not even sure he was anywhere near being Dundees best player. If we going to spend serious money on a midfielder then KWON would be my choice having seen both of them today
I thought Sylla looked like the player most worth spending money on today.
It’s always weird when you see a player play like that, check his wiki and find he’s a 30 yo with a fairly unremarkable career to date.
24-08-2024, 06:18 PM
Can we sign Dundee’s head of recruitment?
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 06:20 PM
Can we sign Dundee’s head of recruitment?
Is Strachan still there?
24-08-2024, 06:20 PM
We'll see.
The closer we get to deadline day, the more likely that outcome is. I hope not obviously.
CentreForward
24-08-2024, 06:21 PM
So depressingly Hibs.
Yes and one of them being the uninspiring sounding Bevan!
McCowan over Newell - showed more energy and desire throughout and seemed to always be involved.
The holding midfielder Sylla and centre back on loan from Liverpool would walk in our team.
The centre back is permanently signed to Dundee, not on loan
CentreForward
24-08-2024, 06:25 PM
So much so that we’re leading 2 nil. Come on ya Gooners !
24-08-2024, 06:31 PM
Ethan Laidlaw back at Easter Road today.
Take it no rumours of him returning and just because of mates/he’s a fan?
24-08-2024, 06:31 PM
So much so that we’re leading 2 nil. Come on ya Gooners !
Hibs drew 2-2 though??
24-08-2024, 06:38 PM
Ethan Laidlaw back at Easter Road today.
Take it no rumours of him returning and just because of mates/he’s a fan?
Would take The Lad back in a flash real talent
24-08-2024, 06:42 PM
Was wondering if he might be a striker that’s not a ‘starter’ like Nisbet would have been
24-08-2024, 06:50 PM
Has he done anything since he left?
24-08-2024, 06:59 PM
Has he done anything since he left?
This is it but he needs a club to play regular cracking prospect as well
24-08-2024, 07:01 PM
😂😂 do people honestly think this only happens at Hibs. Nisbet will be getting pelters from the Aberdeen fans in no time when he goes in one of his many huffs.
Agreed
hibee1875
24-08-2024, 07:12 PM
Mckirdy and Amos got to be away this week. Their body language whilst warming up was quite telling. Mckirdy in particular
24-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Mckirdy and Amos got to be away this week. Their body language whilst warming up was quite telling. Mckirdy in particular
Amos a completely pointless signing.
24-08-2024, 07:19 PM
We must have the worst 'hit' rate in the league. An absolute plethora of ineffective, substandard players picking up a wage for absolutely SFA
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 07:56 PM
Noticed him shaking his head a few times whilst watching the play warming up. Unfortunately his ship has sailed and we need to just get him off the wage bill along with a few others.
24-08-2024, 08:08 PM
The sooner we sign some better midfielders and he’s dropped the better.
24-08-2024, 08:10 PM
If we do bring McCowan in, I’d make him captain
LeithMike
24-08-2024, 08:18 PM
There was a point in the second half where I thought that’s exactly what we miss
McCowan played it back to the keeper who passed it to the full back and back inside to McCowan.
McCowan then broke from just outside their own box right up and into our half where they eventually won a throw.
That drive and composure is what is missing at times
I noticed this as well. It was the fact that he passed then immediately bombed forward to make himself available for the return pass. He dragged his team the whole way up the pitch. Who in our team does that?
Didn’t think McCowan had his greatest game but he’s everything we have lacked since SJM. A proper box 2 box midfielder. Can’t believe we’ve waited about 6 years. Hibs have to get him.
Worrying signs about the way we are set up though.
24-08-2024, 08:42 PM
I reckon McCowan will be at Hibs by Tuesday
24-08-2024, 08:47 PM
My worry is McCowan comes and we somehow turn him ****.
Hopefully not…but if he comes he has to replace Newell and make him captain. A player the fans can really get behind and not one that splits so much opinion.
I bet he will take the place of Rudi - the one player who fans are really taking to right now.
Like the 3-0 loss to St Mirren - hopefully today’s ****show makes recruitment realise we are still way off it and need several starting additions. Won’t hold my breath though…
Hopefully not…but if he comes he has to replace Newell and make him captain. A player the fans can really get behind and not one that splits so much opinion.
I bet he will take the place of Rudi - the one player who fans are really taking to right now.
Like the 3-0 loss to St Mirren - hopefully today’s ****show makes recruitment realise we are still way off it and need several starting additions. Won’t hold my breath though…
Aye my worry too, mccowan signs but forced to play around Newell
24-08-2024, 08:51 PM
I noticed this as well. It was the fact that he passed then immediately bombed forward to make himself available for the return pass. He dragged his team the whole way up the pitch. Who in our team does that?
Didn’t think McCowan had his greatest game but he’s everything we have lacked since SJM. A proper box 2 box midfielder. Can’t believe we’ve waited about 6 years. Hibs have to get him.
Worrying signs about the way we are set up though.
That's an example of his fitness as well, which also looked far superior to our midfield.
Campbell has a running style that looks jaded even when he's been on the pitch 10 minutes. Levitt's got little drive about him. Moriah-Welsh is like a bundle of misplaced energy. Newell seems to have to pave himself with a half hour meander before he can consider springing to life.
He looks like he would easily be our fittest midfielder. The major plus if he did sign would almost be that he must trust we're going to play him in the right manner. Wouldn't be entirely convinced Hibs look a particularly good footballing move for anyone right know, so that would give a bit of reassurance.
24-08-2024, 08:52 PM
I reckon McCowan will be at Hibs by Tuesday
Let’s hope not….KWON had him neatly tucked away in his back pocket until he was subbed
Confirmed that Nisbet has signed on loan for Dons.
24-08-2024, 08:55 PM
My worry is that McCowan comes in and isn’t all that. It’s a hell of a fee to be looking at for someone that has only really had one good season on the top flight at his age.
Don’t get me wrong, I think he’s a good player. I’m just not sure how good. And to be fair, we’re so disjointed that we’re not really set up to get the best out of anyone.
24-08-2024, 08:56 PM
Let’s hope not….KWON had him neatly tucked away in his back pocket until he was subbed
Which allowed Lyle Cameron the space to run the show in the first half.
I’d be delighted with a midfielder who offered so much threat that he occupied the attentions of opposition midfielders to such an extent that his teammates were afforded more time and space.