The Jean Jeannie is still in the bottle, unfortunately
07-08-2024, 03:07 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240807/84ad8eeab6a11aa3484681a5a5bf1865.png
07-08-2024, 03:08 PM
Hibs observer
📝 Hibs are set to unveil Kieron Bowie as their eighth summer signing - after fending off an eleventh-hour attempt from rivals Hearts to hijack the deal
➡️ onlrl.co/5vkpqc
07-08-2024, 03:08 PM
They tried the same with Nisbet did they not? When will they learn?
07-08-2024, 03:10 PM
Get it up hearts
600k is some fee for Bowie
07-08-2024, 03:12 PM
Get it up hearts
600k is some fee for Bowie
Can’t wait for them all to deny it as well 😂
07-08-2024, 03:12 PM
He turned the Jambos downnnnnn.
Trinity Hibee
07-08-2024, 03:13 PM
Hibs observer
📝 Hibs are set to unveil Kieron Bowie as their eighth summer signing - after fending off an eleventh-hour attempt from rivals Hearts to hijack the deal
➡️ onlrl.co/5vkpqc
Get a mention of this in the statement please
07-08-2024, 03:13 PM
They never wanted him anyway…..
Erse wipes that club
07-08-2024, 03:15 PM
Be better with Melissa McCarthy.
God we're not exhuming these old puns are we?
HendoDelivered
07-08-2024, 03:19 PM
He turned the Jambos downnnn, kieron bowieeeee!
07-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Hibs observer
➡️ onlrl.co/5vkpqc
I wonder if that means Hearts are resigned to losing Shankland?
He turned the Jambos downnnn, kieron bowieeeee!
Cheeky b*****
600k is pretty damn good.
Albert Kidd 86’
07-08-2024, 03:31 PM
Play this song on announcing him :
Bowie: “The hearts filthy lesson”
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yB-ztKj0cwg
get it round ya, yam losers
07-08-2024, 03:35 PM
Hibs need to get this announced asap as that is the absolute fear him ending up at Hearts
07-08-2024, 03:36 PM
Hibs need to get this announced asap as that is the absolute fear him ending up at Hearts
If he has signed, what's the fear?
07-08-2024, 03:36 PM
Surely it’s all signed if Hibs Observer are saying we’re about to announce it. Hopefully anyway!
TrinityHibby
07-08-2024, 03:38 PM
He turned the Jambos downnnnnn.
would it be a shock if the maroon mutants turned their attention to Luke McCowan now?
1875M
07-08-2024, 03:39 PM
Good. Now let’s get McCowan in and we’re suddenly looking a hell of a lot better than we were a few weeks ago.
07-08-2024, 03:39 PM
would it be a shock if the maroon mutants turned their attention to Luke McCowan now?
They’re already saying they were never really interested and we’re obsessed making our transfers about them. Did the same with Levitt. Even though it was widely reported they were in for Levitt and he met with Naismith.
07-08-2024, 03:41 PM
I’d be really surprised if they paid that sort of fee when they have Dhanda and Spittal who play similar positions
They’re another team that have a lot of central midfielders with Boateng, Devlin, Niewenhoff, Grant and Baningime off the top of my head
07-08-2024, 03:42 PM
If he has signed, what's the fear?
The fear is if he’s not and he ends up at hearts 😂 hopefully panicking about nothing
07-08-2024, 03:43 PM
If would be a surprise tbh, already a squad of something like 30, I'm sure they have another player close to signing. They could off course have a few on the way out.
07-08-2024, 03:43 PM
The fear is if he’s not and he ends up at hearts 😂 hopefully panicking about nothing
They have 17 minutes to tweet or I might be joining you 😂
skyehibee
07-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Kieron Bowie is set to seal a move to Hibs from Fulham...but NOT at the expense ofrivals Hearts,
The former Raith starlet is heading for the Craven Cottage exit and the Hibees have fought off interest from the likes of Wrexham and Barnsley for his signature.
But Record Sport understands that the Jambos were NOT chasing Bowie and that the player's name was put to the club to guage interest, but Bowie was not a target boss Steven Naismith was keen on pursuing.
Daily Record
07-08-2024, 03:45 PM
They’ll go for McCowan now
https://youtu.be/nMdU351ck_4?si=bAPTtj-bYL2AGLlz
For those unfamiliar with Bowie
Kieron Bowie is set to seal a move to Hibs from Fulham...but NOT at the expense ofrivals Hearts,
The former Raith starlet is heading for the Craven Cottage exit and the Hibees have fought off interest from the likes of Wrexham and Barnsley for his signature.
But Record Sport understands that the Jambos were NOT chasing Bowie and that the player's name was put to the club to guage interest, but Bowie was not a target boss Steven Naismith was keen on pursuing.
Daily Record
Aye sureeee
TrinityHFC
07-08-2024, 03:47 PM
You have to factor in the time it will take to create some Bowie themed announcement video...
07-08-2024, 03:47 PM
Daily Record
That rag and their love in with them and their big brothers
Edit : or just anti Hibs rhetoric
ElginHibbie
07-08-2024, 03:49 PM
I am not one for conspiracies but amount of times the Record has us linked to players we are never seriously in for AND were so quick here to pour water on any suggestion we may have beaten Hearts to a signing does make me reach for a tin foil hat
07-08-2024, 03:49 PM
According to Jamie Borthwick
'Kieran Bowie a very promising player and should be a good addition for Hibs should it all go through. Hearts were contacted to gauge their interest in Bowie but declined to make an offer'
Now when I first posted about this several Tuesdays back I mentioned Hibs had bid for home, I also mentioned Wrexham and Wigan. Ok sure it was the Thursday I posted about Hearts interest. That was at least 2 or 3 weeks ago. Now I'm not sure if they ever bid but there was definitely interest weeks ago.
Also find it Bizarre the Hibs boys at the observer have put their name to this story if it's rubbish?
Davy Mac
07-08-2024, 04:02 PM
'Kieran Bowie a very promising player and should be a good addition for Hibs should it all go through. Hearts were contacted to gauge their interest in Bowie but declined to make an offer'
Now when I first posted about this several Tuesdays back I mentioned Hibs had bid for home, I also mentioned Wrexham and Wigan. Ok sure it was the Thursday I posted about Hearts interest. That was at least 2 or 3 weeks ago. Now I'm not sure if they ever bid but there was definitely interest weeks ago.
Also find it Bizarre the Hibs boys at the observer have put their name to this story if it's rubbish?
Jamie is of the Hearts persuasion and wouldn't be surprised if he was the one to contact Hearts to gauge their interest.
Scottish media are all over the shxte at the moment, bizarre really.
07-08-2024, 04:04 PM
A little concerned it’s not been announced
Trinity Hibee
07-08-2024, 04:06 PM
Jamie is of the Hearts persuasion and wouldn't be surprised if he was the one to contact Hearts to gauge their interest.
Scottish media are all over the shxte at the moment, bizarre really.
Exactly. Wouldn’t trust a word him or his brother say regarding Hibs
07-08-2024, 04:06 PM
What position do you think he will mainly play? Played most of his games as a CF, has played a good chunk of games on the right wing tho, not as many on the left.
Says he's played 5 games as a second striker with 6 goals and 2 assists.
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 04:07 PM
A little concerned it’s not been announced
Don't worry hearts never wanted him! They'll all likely be gutted if he signs for them.
Rumble de Thump
07-08-2024, 04:07 PM
Craig Whyte's wealth was off the radar, every single Rangers players was punched or spat on that day, and Hearts definitely haven't been trying to sign Bowie.
07-08-2024, 04:10 PM
What position do you think he will mainly play? Played most of his games as a CF, has played a good chunk of games on the right wing tho, not as many on the left.
Almost like it could be a 3-5-2 ? Who knows.
He can play across the front but prefers to play through the middle.
07-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Yeah struggling with that one myself a bit.
Only one position I could see was left of a front 3 with myk through the middle and Boyle on the right.
Unless now we have more options gray wants a 352 formation. But if we that with Myk and Bowie up top it would mean Boyle wouldn’t start or would be right wing back which I just can’t see
Suppose it will be nice to have options
07-08-2024, 04:16 PM
Only one position I could see was left of a front 3 with myk through the middle and Boyle on the right.
Unless now we have more options gray wants a 352 formation. But if we that with Myk and Bowie up top it would mean Boyle wouldn’t start or would be right wing back which I just can’t see
Will laugh like a drain if SDG states 442 is his preferred formation 😁
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 04:20 PM
I can't see us going with 3 5 2 because we lack centre back just now
4231 might be the best, Could have:
Youan Myko Boyle
With Bowie just behind
That's assuming Bowie signs and Youan stays
Silky
07-08-2024, 04:21 PM
I would go with Hoilett right and Bowie left with Myk in the middle.
07-08-2024, 04:23 PM
6pm announcement? No inside info, just speculating.
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 04:23 PM
Could do the bayer leverkusen Christmas tree formation
07-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Could do the bayer leverkusen Christmas tree formation
Only if the food stalls start selling currywurst!
07-08-2024, 04:28 PM
6pm announcement? No inside info, just speculating.
All about getting the video sorted. Need to get agreement for the Bowie songs.
07-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Why? Hoilett plays almost exclusively on the left, and when Bowie has been wide, its largely been on the right...
07-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Just read that 32 year old LCB Liam Cooper still hasn't signed for anyone.
I'm surprised a decent championship club hasn't snapped him up yet.
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 04:30 PM
All about getting the video sorted. Need to get agreement for the Bowie songs.
Noticed the Cadden video is down? Maybe been unpinned gir another one
He's here!
07-08-2024, 04:33 PM
If Hearts had been seriously interested you'd imagine he'd have gone there. European football and a near stick-on for third again.
They maybe didn't think he's worth the money we're reportedly spending on him. He's not exactly set the heather alight in England. Hopefully he'll regain his early promise at Hibs tho.
07-08-2024, 04:43 PM
If Hearts had been seriously interested you'd imagine he'd have gone there. European football and a near stick-on for third again.
They maybe didn't think he's worth the money we're reportedly spending on him. He's not exactly set the heather alight in England. Hopefully he'll regain his early promise at Hibs tho.
That's the point I'm trying to make probably poorly. There was interest a number of weeks ago, maybe not enough to make a serious offer, or Hibs pitched better and made him feel wanted? Maybe it was just that a show off interest and no official offer made or they did leave until to late in the day?
07-08-2024, 04:45 PM
See Dundee are rumoured to be interested in Scott Fraser
You’d imagine that would be the Luke McCowan replacement? Perhaps waiting on that before selling
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Brighton after O’Riley and the rumour is Celtic are interested in Facundo Byonanotte of Brighton ( attacking midfielder) , don’t know much about the player though hopefully there’s something in it which might mean they aren’t looking at McCowan 🤞
07-08-2024, 04:51 PM
Bowie will smash it here and be in the Scotland squad in no time. All at the expense of 5heid.
more here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHCTpAfwAog
07-08-2024, 04:52 PM
See Dundee are rumoured to be interested in Scott Fraser
You’d imagine that would be the Luke McCowan replacement? Perhaps waiting on that before selling
Is that new interest? Definitely posted somewhere on here earlier on in the window? Sure the same question was asked 😅
CentreForward
07-08-2024, 04:55 PM
Where is the reported figure of 600k coming from? That is possibly more than we would have to pay for McCowan. Could this mean that Youan is away as Bowie and McCowan together would likely be more than £1m.
Greenworld
07-08-2024, 05:01 PM
Where is the reported figure of 600k coming from? That is possibly more than we would have to pay for McCowan. Could this mean that Youan is away as Bowie and McCowan together would likely be more than £1m.Came from observer paper guys. I agree something has happened to have these signings and Youan looks the most likely to be leaving to pay for it ,unless peace has broken out between the Gordon's and black knights and more funds are available ,which would be great
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
07-08-2024, 05:09 PM
Came from observer paper guys. I agree something has happened to have these signings and Youan looks the most likely to be leaving to pay for it ,unless peace has broken out between the Gordon's and black knights and more funds are available ,which would be great
It's almost like we had a big investment in the club recently...
Came from observer paper guys. I agree something has happened to have these signings and Youan looks the most likely to be leaving to pay for it ,unless peace has broken out between the Gordon's and black knights and more funds are available ,which would be great
Youan to Lorient perhaps.
Greenworld
07-08-2024, 05:09 PM
It's almost like we had a big investment in the club recently...LoL
07-08-2024, 05:10 PM
Bowie will smash it here and be in the Scotland squad in no time. All at the expense of 5heid.
more here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHCTpAfwAog
Wow, good running and interplay, a real physical presence. Should do well up here.
CentreForward
07-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Thanks. Certainly seems quite possible that Youan leaving has something to do with it. If we could get McCowan and Bowie in for about half of Ellie’s fee then reckon that would be excellent business. Peace breaking out between Gordon’s and BK’s would be even better. A fit and firing Youan with the other new guys up front could be pretty exciting.
MagicSwirlingShip
07-08-2024, 05:11 PM
Wow, good running and interplay, a real physical presence. Should do well up here.
Reminds me of Garry O’Connor in a way, direct & powerful running
bringbackbenny
07-08-2024, 05:13 PM
Craig Whyte's wealth was off the radar, every single Rangers players was punched or spat on that day, and Hearts definitely haven't been trying to sign Bowie.
The Merricks are all over Twitter already
That fine independent journalist Jamie Borthwick has 'confirmed' they were offered Bowie and politely declined.🤔
07-08-2024, 05:15 PM
That fine independent journalist Jamie Borthwick has 'confirmed' they were offered Bowie and politely declined.🤔
😂😂😂
07-08-2024, 05:19 PM
We politely declined to sign their hero John Robertson.
Pytheas
07-08-2024, 05:19 PM
Where is the reported figure of 600k coming from? That is possibly more than we would have to pay for McCowan. Could this mean that Youan is away as Bowie and McCowan together would likely be more than £1m.
Yeah i'd be surprised if all these moves by Hibs aren't directly linked to a move for Youan getting closer. Maybe explains why everything went quiet for a week or so after he got injured.
CentreForward
07-08-2024, 05:22 PM
Yeah i'd be surprised if all these moves by Hibs aren't directly linked to a move for Youan getting closer. Maybe explains why everything went quiet for a week or so after he got injured.
Yes that could explain it. Think a lot more to be revealed in next few days.
Silky
07-08-2024, 05:23 PM
Ahh Twitter!! VAR and Scottish referees are more credible that anything posted on there.
07-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Starman will be more apt for Kieron Bowie :singing:
07-08-2024, 05:28 PM
Hearts about to sell a striker. I wonder if they are in the market for a striker 👀👀
Transfer news LIVE! ✍️
Kyosuke Tagawa 'set' for Hearts exit as J-League outfit beat rivals to seal switch for striker
#HMFC
⬇️⬇️⬇️
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football
07-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Hopefully more successful than the Young Americans like Chris Mueller.....
07-08-2024, 05:49 PM
He had a good loan spell at Suffragette City which bodes well.
07-08-2024, 05:51 PM
Bowie looks a decent signing if it goes through and all the signings made this summer look promising so far. We just need to sign someone in the all important centre midfield area.
07-08-2024, 05:52 PM
He had a good loan spell at Suffragette City which bodes well.
Oner of the Heroes of the team in fact...
07-08-2024, 05:54 PM
Bowie looks a decent signing if it goes through and all the signings made this summer look promising so far. We just need to sign someone in the all important centre midfield area.
Wonder what the hold up is?
aberhibsfc
07-08-2024, 05:55 PM
If we want to move forward, we should be wanting to have the likes of Youan in our squad.
However, I have no insight to where the player, management teams minds are nor the financial situation.
07-08-2024, 06:07 PM
Hearts about to sell a striker. I wonder if they are in the market for a striker 👀👀
Transfer news LIVE! ✍️
Kyosuke Tagawa 'set' for Hearts exit as J-League outfit beat rivals to seal switch for striker
#HMFC
⬇️⬇️⬇️
Pity as he is garbage.
07-08-2024, 06:08 PM
i'm just hoping SDG doesn't end up under pressure
07-08-2024, 06:13 PM
Transfer news LIVE! ✍️
#HMFC
⬇️⬇️⬇️
I was at the Hearts Spurs game and he was ****in hopeless
kentao
07-08-2024, 06:21 PM
If that's the case lets get O'Hara and Armstrong in as well :)
Greenwich_Hibby
07-08-2024, 06:21 PM
Wonder what the hold up is?
Only 2 potential reasons - failed medical, or has a better offer.
Certainly seem to be signing more 1st team ready players this window. The MM effect? (If the post a couple of weeks ago was right about him vetoing a player identified by IG).
07-08-2024, 06:25 PM
So you reckons as there are only 2 potential reasons it's one of those??
Wonder which one it will be 🤔🤔
07-08-2024, 06:27 PM
It’s just not been announced, not that he hasn’t signed.
Greenwich_Hibby
07-08-2024, 06:28 PM
It’s just not been announced, not that he hasn’t signed.
Of course, I forgot the in the knows who know that. I hope you're right.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 06:30 PM
I’m hoping it’s because they are waiting to announce more than one :hyper
More than 2 possible options. Signed but not yet announced. Not yet signed but intends to. Has similar offer and is weighing up his options. Still to complete his medical (do we know for definite if he's had one?). Maybe there's someone we prefer so our interest has cooled. There could be a whole load of reasons.
07-08-2024, 06:31 PM
Of course, I forgot the in the knows who know that. I hope you're right.
No need for hope. He’s signed.
babahibs
07-08-2024, 06:33 PM
There's only 1 reason, he's signed but not announced yet.
Jeffers is Correct 100%.
07-08-2024, 06:34 PM
More than 2 possible options. Signed but not yet announced. Not yet signed but intends to. Has similar offer and is weighing up his options. Still to complete his medical (do we know for definite if he's had one?). Maybe there's someone we prefer so our interest has cooled. There could be a whole load of reasons.
I'm hearing he went out on the piss last night in Kirkcaldy with Dylan Tait after his medical. Got miroculous, fell off the Esplanade wall and broke both ankles.
Kensell currently getting the lawyers on the case trying to invalidate the contract.
07-08-2024, 06:34 PM
I’m hoping it’s because they are waiting to announce more than one :hyper
Bugdge has him locked in a room until he signs
07-08-2024, 06:35 PM
I'm hearing he went out on the piss last night in Kirkcaldy with Dylan Tait after his medical. Got miroculous, fell off the Esplanade wall and broke both ankles.
Kensell currently getting the lawyers on the case trying to invalidate the contract.
I heard he was copying those Polish referees and fell over the road sign he'd just nicked....
Oops! Missed the most obvious one. 😱
07-08-2024, 06:36 PM
👍
The Lafferty suite (broom cupboard).
07-08-2024, 06:42 PM
Anxiously waiting for the announcement of a player I'd never heard of until a couple of weeks ago. Got to love the transfer window.
w pilton hibby
07-08-2024, 06:49 PM
From the EEN. Re Foley spat
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exc-black-knights-and-hibs-still-talking-business-despite-billionaire-investor-foley-not-listening-comments-4733203
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2024, 06:49 PM
Anxiously waiting for the announcement of a player I'd never heard of until a couple of weeks ago. Got to love the transfer window.
Ends up with about 70 Scotland caps on FM
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 06:50 PM
Someone on twitter saying deal is off, judging by his other tweets he doesn't seem to get much right tho
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2024, 06:52 PM
Someone on twitter saying deal is off, judging by his other tweets he doesn't seem to get much right tho
Relax. Deal was done yesterday. Just not announced it yet.
07-08-2024, 06:52 PM
No need for hope. He’s signed.
Good enough for me , :aok:
Greenwich_Hibby
07-08-2024, 06:54 PM
[QUOTE=ErinGoBraghHFC;7732884]Relax. Deal was done yesterday. Just not announced it yet.
I really hope the 'in the know' posters have this right, and that its not the usual heard from a mate, who knows a mate, who read it on the net.
07-08-2024, 06:58 PM
Italian Twitter accounts reporting Miovski having a medical with Genoa tomorrow.
07-08-2024, 07:06 PM
From the EEN. Re Foley spat
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exc-black-knights-and-hibs-still-talking-business-despite-billionaire-investor-foley-not-listening-comments-4733203
Hibs remain interested in Dundee midfielder Luke McCowan, despite the Dens Park side rejecting a six-figure offer, although Gray said he wouldn’t be drawn into a public debate on negotiations, insisting: “He is a very good player. But he’s a Dundee player. That’s all you can say about that. I would never speak about anybody who is contracted to anybody else.”
Pity as he is garbage.Described as "top-quality" by Uncle Fester when he signed.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
07-08-2024, 07:08 PM
Hibs remain interested in Dundee midfielder Luke McCowan, despite the Dens Park side rejecting a six-figure offer, although Gray said he wouldn’t be drawn into a public debate on negotiations, insisting: “He is a very good player. But he’s a Dundee player. That’s all you can say about that. I would never speak about anybody who is contracted to anybody else.”
Pretty much what he said about Myko when we were linked. I do like the way Gray conducts himself and how he comes across.
07-08-2024, 07:09 PM
Half a dozen reasons really. Most likely is we've just not announced it.
07-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Relax. Deal was done yesterday. Just not announced it yet.
Now, that's the kind of statement I like.
Sioux
07-08-2024, 07:15 PM
Whilst sitting on his coupon.
leith lynx
07-08-2024, 07:16 PM
Perish at the thought..
Hibee Daft
07-08-2024, 07:21 PM
I wonder if if the announcement will come out of the blue... woah woah
Need an axe to break the ice... I'll get my coat lol
07-08-2024, 07:23 PM
I wonder if if the announcement will come out of the blue... woah woah
Need an axe to break the ice... I'll get my coat lol
Any mair puns like that and it'll be Ashes to Ashes fir you....
FFS Sioux. I’ve just had my Tea! [emoji1785][emoji2957]
NGoloGrantie
07-08-2024, 07:28 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1821255134061719676?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Surely no
07-08-2024, 07:28 PM
FFS Sioux. I’ve just had my Tea! [emoji1785][emoji2957]
I've got two Tunnocks teacakes for an afternoon snack and now they look like something I can't unsee.....
07-08-2024, 07:29 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1821255134061719676?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
Surely no
Miovski replacement 😅
Kidding.
Perish at the thought..
Many have perished, with their last thought being "that maroon burberry's f*****g itchy on my chin."
https://i.ibb.co/k8MWtyr/Ann-Budge-tartan-with-logo.jpg (https://ibb.co/r6v1VtL)
I've got two Tunnocks teacakes for an afternoon snack and now they look like something I can't unsee.....
[emoji1787][emoji1787]
Pytheas
07-08-2024, 07:43 PM
If Aberdeen rob us of this announcement video I can't be held responsible for my actions.
07-08-2024, 07:47 PM
If Aberdeen rob us of this announcement video I can't be held responsible for my actions.
This video better have sound and vision!
What announcement? You worried they are going to announce a player at the same time as us??
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 08:05 PM
Apologies if already seen . Interesting article….
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/david-gray-expects-flurry-hibs-29697702
07-08-2024, 08:12 PM
Bowie’s Wikipedia says he’s a Hibernian player
07-08-2024, 08:17 PM
Also says he 6'7"
Is he?
07-08-2024, 08:17 PM
He amended that himself while he was out with Dylan Tait (see above).
07-08-2024, 08:18 PM
He amended that himself while he was out with Dylan Tait (see above).
😂😂
07-08-2024, 08:20 PM
Also says he 6'7"
Is he?
No 😂
CentreForward
07-08-2024, 08:33 PM
That EEN article this evening about Foley claiming that the Bowie deal is done.
07-08-2024, 08:37 PM
Said the same about Myko a day or so before he signed.
Fingers crossed we can get McCowan.
Exactly the type of player we need
07-08-2024, 08:40 PM
After most of us imploding after the St Mirren game are things actually looking up for the Hibees?
Pytheas
07-08-2024, 08:42 PM
After most of us imploding after the St Mirren game are things actually looking up for the Hibees?
All depends on the midfield, 2 new starters in there and i'll start to believe again.
07-08-2024, 08:44 PM
Only if the players coming in turn out to be any good. Sounds fairly obvious, but we need them to hit the ground running.
07-08-2024, 08:46 PM
Only if the players coming in turn out to be any good. Sounds fairly obvious, but we need them to hit the ground running.
Yes goes without saying, but just the fact we seem to be trying, at least, to rectify things
K-Zazu
07-08-2024, 08:59 PM
All depends on the midfield, 2 new starters in there and i'll start to believe again.
And replacing Miller at RB
21sMay
07-08-2024, 08:59 PM
07-08-2024, 09:00 PM
No 😂
He's taller on Transfer Market 😂
07-08-2024, 09:02 PM
He's taller on Transfer Market 😂
I saw that, maybe why he’s not been announced, he’s on the rack while we speak
Niffy
07-08-2024, 09:05 PM
All this chat about new signings but for ages all I can think about is two dwarves wrestling.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2024, 09:09 PM
All this chat about new signings but for ages all I can think about is two dwarves wrestling.
‘Tis a noble and ancient sport
07-08-2024, 09:10 PM
A little over 3 weeks left in the window and it looks like it's still going to be a busy 3 weeks with ins and outs.
sauzee1989
07-08-2024, 09:16 PM
Sounds like Aberdeen in for Bowie now too.
07-08-2024, 09:17 PM
Hibs Observer tweeting again the tweet from around 5pm, assuming this a scheduled tweet?
07-08-2024, 09:20 PM
What does this even mean from Hibs supporters tweet?
https://i.ibb.co/xCFPZzj/Screenshot-20240807-221853.png (https://ibb.co/LkNbK9t)
07-08-2024, 09:22 PM
https://i.ibb.co/xCFPZzj/Screenshot-20240807-221853.png (https://ibb.co/LkNbK9t)
Marcondes?
ErinGoBraghHFC
Marcondes maybe, will try find out if there’s anything to that? Not heard anything though
They’ll need to buy him off us then
07-08-2024, 09:25 PM
What makes you think that ?
07-08-2024, 09:29 PM
Is that even possible if he has already signed for Hibs?
sauzee1989
07-08-2024, 09:32 PM
Not seeing anything official. Hopefully not true
07-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Marcondes?
Imagine if we sign Marcondes, McCowan and Hodge (loan). :hyper
Mcbizz1998
07-08-2024, 09:35 PM
Marcondes maybe, will try find out if there’s anything to that? Not heard anything though
Surely not Marcondes? Not really what we need and tbh didn’t really cut it with us last time.
07-08-2024, 09:36 PM
Surely not Marcondes? Not really what we need and tbh didn’t really cut it with us last time.
Pretty sure Gray dropped him and sent him packing before the last game of the season
07-08-2024, 09:37 PM
Unless he’s taken an insane pay cut I don’t want Marcondes. If he has, then maybe.
Gray dropped him straight away though, so can’t see it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-08-2024, 09:37 PM
Aye I can’t see us being after him tbh, he’s alright but for the wages he’d want?
07-08-2024, 09:38 PM
The alternative is Campbell. Anyone not taking Marcondes is bonkers.
07-08-2024, 09:39 PM
or the alternative is sign a different player for that position.
TrinityHFC
07-08-2024, 09:41 PM
Maybe because he really wasn’t very good for us?
07-08-2024, 09:44 PM
Is the Bowie to Aberdeen rumour not just because of this? https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1821255134061719676?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Too many people saying it’s happening for us…..but then our owner did once say about McCrorie so you never know 🤣
07-08-2024, 09:45 PM
Saw that myself and was wondering what it was all about. Cant see Marcondes coming back and tbh would rather McCowan
He's here!
07-08-2024, 09:46 PM
Marcondes is a top player. Too good for Hibs and unfortunately I think he knew it.
07-08-2024, 09:46 PM
Pretty sure Gray dropped him and sent him packing before the last game of the season
Was he not apparently playing with a knock? Could be part of the reason
TrinityHFC
07-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Saw that myself and was wondering what it was all about. Cant see Marcondes coming back and tbh would rather McCowan
Obviously Bournemouth sending us Philip Billing.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 09:48 PM
Unless he’s taken an insane pay cut I don’t want Marcondes. If he has, then maybe.
Gray dropped him straight away though, so can’t see it.
I read he wants to stay in the UK . I’d be very surprised if Gray is even remotely interested in him after he dropped him for Campbell .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/emiliano-marcondes-next-transfer-update-after-hibs-loan-uk-wish-4733005
07-08-2024, 09:54 PM
I read he wants to stay in the UK . I’d be very surprised if Gray is even remotely interested in him after he dropped him for Campbell .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/emiliano-marcondes-next-transfer-update-after-hibs-loan-uk-wish-4733005
How’s that working out for him, he was awful on Sunday.
07-08-2024, 09:56 PM
Obviously Bournemouth sending us Philip Billing.
Midfielder 😁
07-08-2024, 10:05 PM
The alternative is Campbell. Anyone not taking Marcondes is bonkers.Josh played under 800 minutes in the league last season and got 3 goals and an assist. Marcondes played just under 1400 minutes and got 3 goals.
Marcondes fitness would have to be levels above what it was to justify his wage
Sent from my SM-S711B using Tapatalk
07-08-2024, 10:08 PM
How’s that working out for him, he was awful on Sunday.He dropped Marcondes, played Campbell and absolutely ran over the top of Motherwell.
1875M
07-08-2024, 10:13 PM
Marcondes is a top player. Too good for Hibs and unfortunately I think he knew it.
Yep. Different stratosphere from Campbell. Anyone picking JC, needs their heads checked. Doubt he’ll re sign, he can play above this level and get more money for doing it.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 10:15 PM
How’s that working out for him, he was awful on Sunday.
He wasn’t the only one though , was he? . Still think he’s our best chance of goals from midfield over any of our other midfielder that we have at the moment too .
supermcginn
07-08-2024, 10:16 PM
If Campbell remains a first pick this season it'll cost Gray his job. Marcondes wasn't brilliant but he is on a different planet of ability compared to Campbell.
07-08-2024, 10:17 PM
Maybe because he really wasn’t very good for us?
He wasn't very good. He was decent. Which is better than Campbell imo.
He'd do a lot more over 38 games than Campbell tbh.
07-08-2024, 10:17 PM
Too good for a team he was predominantly **** for? Weird.
07-08-2024, 10:18 PM
If Campbell remains a first pick this season it'll cost Gray his job. Marcondes wasn't brilliant but he is on a different planet of ability compared to Campbell.
Campbell should be nowhere near our starting 11.
CentreForward
07-08-2024, 10:19 PM
The opposite of what I read today where he said that he would like to play abroad and in a warmer climate than the UK.
TrinityHFC
07-08-2024, 10:19 PM
He wasn't very good. He was decent. Which is better than Campbell imo.
He'd do a lot more over 38 games than Campbell tbh.
Dunno. He was obviously talented but he just didn’t impact games. His use of the ball was horrible for his ability.
https://youtube.com/shorts/2w3oU2R2upc?si=pZo-dVx15SzVUj9e
Just sayin'....
07-08-2024, 10:27 PM
He wasn’t the only one though , was he? . Still think he’s our best chance of goals from midfield over any of our other midfielder that we have at the moment too .
Campbell scoring a goal once every 8-10 games is scant consolation when our midfield is getting overrun every game.
07-08-2024, 10:27 PM
https://youtube.com/shorts/2w3oU2R2upc?si=pZo-dVx15SzVUj9e
Just sayin'....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDs1vQhRo3s
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 10:29 PM
Marcondes didn’t look to be on a different planet ability wise imo when he was at us , maybe wage though . I wouldn’t say Campbell will cost Gray his job , if that happens it will be down to the team . It is after all a team game .
Now that Rocky isn’t playing we moved on to another scapegoat in Campbell while players that are just as much at fault like Newell and Obita will probably be picking up more awards at the end of the season :rolleyes:
K-Zazu
07-08-2024, 10:32 PM
Marcondes didn’t look to be on a different planet ability wise imo when he was at us , maybe wage though . I wouldn’t say Campbell will cost Gray his job , if that happens it will be down to the team . It is after all a team game .
Now that Rocky isn’t playing we moved on to another scapegoat in Campbell while players that are just as much at fault like Newell and Obita will probably be picking up more awards at the end of the season :rolleyes:
I don’t think anyone is making Campbell a scapegoat, I mean he obviously cares and would run through a brick wall for Hibs but he just isn’t good enough to be in a Hibs midfield.
07-08-2024, 10:32 PM
See, this is just ridiculous. If Gray loses his job, it won't be josh Campbell's fault.
07-08-2024, 10:33 PM
Newell and Obita are both better players than Campbell. Try Vente, Moriah Welsh and Boyle.
07-08-2024, 10:34 PM
I think Marcondes has the ability to be ‘too good’ for us.
But he hardly showed it.
I’ve heard he’s a great guy with a brilliant attitude but I never quite saw that.
I saw a guy regularly misplacing 5 yard passes and whenever one of his passes never came off he’d be throwing his arms up or it looked like he was blaming someone else. I can only put that down to attitude as he either thought he was too good for us or he wasn’t fully concentrating.
You see his ability with his free kick and then goals against Aberdeen and hearts. When he first signed some of his touches were unbelievable and he was flicking things round the corner first time but that ended quite sharp.
The one that summed it up to me was against against St Mirren and we lost 3-0 at home. I think it was after the second went in and we had kick off, the ball went to him and he underhit a pass by about 20 yard which the st Mirren player intercepted and they were on the attack again.
For me, a player of that ability should be grabbing the game by the scruff of the neck and wouldn’t play passes like that if he was at it.
Contrast to Maolida who was just brilliant for us and showed the ability he has, rarely making those daft mistakes
07-08-2024, 10:37 PM
Folk only think Marcondes was 'too good' for Hibs because of the level he's played at. Certainly not because what he offered in a Hibs shirt.
Great guy by all accounts, seemed like a good professional. But he was at best average for us over the course of his stay here.
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 10:38 PM
Campbell scoring a goal once every 8-10 games is scant consolation when our midfield is getting overrun every game.
I must have missed something , how many times this season has our midfield been overrun?
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 10:45 PM
Newell and Obita are both better players than Campbell. Try Vente, Moriah Welsh and Boyle.
Newell drifts out of games and slows it down to much at times and is just as poor as the rest can be , he’s also 32 . Obita ? , watch the 3rd goal against St mirren . He can’t defend is the reality of it .
21sMay
07-08-2024, 10:52 PM
Josh Campbell is nowhere near the level we need in our midfield , can't believe folk don't see it .
Lovely guy by the sounds of things and is a Hibs man but we would all be getting a game if that was what was required
ruthven_raiders
07-08-2024, 11:35 PM
The opposite of what I read today where he said that he would like to play abroad and in a warmer climate than the UK.
Basically anywhere if a club wants him 😂
Donegal Hibby
07-08-2024, 11:43 PM
I watched this of Bowie scoring a couple of goals for the Scotland under 21s …
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsJGle_ZEIo
07-08-2024, 11:51 PM
Newell gets far more criticism than Campbell and you know it.
21sMay
08-08-2024, 12:04 AM
Ellie leaving this week or next
08-08-2024, 12:10 AM
Ellie leaving this week or next
Makes sense.
Large amount spend on Bowie and bids for mccowan.
Bowie, Hoilett and Cadden all capable of playing left of a front 3.
Gutted he’s leaving as I really rate him.
08-08-2024, 05:40 AM
Newell drifts out of games and slows it down to much at times and is just as poor as the rest can be , he’s also 32 . Obita ? , watch the 3rd goal against St mirren . He can’t defend is the reality of it .
He's not 32 and I've no idea why that is relevant anyway. At 31 he's better than Campbell at 24. Simple as.
Obita has defended well many times.
08-08-2024, 05:46 AM
Højlund as back up for Myko? 😁
Earlydelivery
08-08-2024, 06:15 AM
It worries me that Dave thinks so much of Campbell… he’s a poor football player
08-08-2024, 06:21 AM
Josh played under 800 minutes in the league last season and got 3 goals and an assist. Marcondes played just under 1400 minutes and got 3 goals.
Marcondes fitness would have to be levels above what it was to justify his wage
He also scored what would have been the winner at Tynecastle if not for a ridiculous refereeing decision. Big game pler.
Can't imagine Campbell scoring against Hearts.
08-08-2024, 06:26 AM
He also scored what would have been the winner at Tynecastle if not for a ridiculous refereeing decision. Big game pler.
Why not he has had one cleared off the line and hit the post twice in derbies. The criticism of Campbell is ridiculous imo not the most talented but more than good enough to be contributing to the team either as s starter or from the bench. His work rate also puts many supposed better players to shame
08-08-2024, 06:34 AM
Højlund as back up for Myko? 😁
Well he is currently injured.
08-08-2024, 06:35 AM
Why not he has had one cleared off the line and hit the post twice in derbies. The criticism of Campbell is ridiculous imo not the most talented but more than good enough to be contributing to the team either as s starter or from the bench. His work rate also puts many supposed better players to shame
He's not good enough to be a starter.
08-08-2024, 06:37 AM
I said I can't imagine it, I don't mean it as a slight on him just not a big game player. I can't imagine a number of our players scoring against Hearts.
08-08-2024, 06:39 AM
He's a terrible footballer.
Found his level in the League Cup playing plumbers and mechanics.
He runs about a lot though.
We need better much better.
08-08-2024, 06:43 AM
He's a terrible footballer.
Found his level in the League Cup playing plumbers and mechanics.
He runs about a lot though.
We need better much better.
Terrible footballer wow
08-08-2024, 06:44 AM
It worries me that Dave thinks so much of Campbell… he’s a poor football player
So you keep telling us.
08-08-2024, 06:56 AM
Drifting off topic again
08-08-2024, 06:58 AM
I said I can't imagine it, I don't mean it as a slight on him just not a big game player. I can't imagine a number of our players scoring against Hearts.
Why not ?
JC scored a pearler versus The Rangers could easily repeat the trick versus their wee cousins
Josh is not the best footballer but his strengths are his power stamina running work rate and his ability to add goals to the mix
Still not seeing what SDG sees however and his starting place could be in doubt if we add more quality
Squad player
Trinity Hibee
08-08-2024, 07:03 AM
Surely Bowie announced today?
SickBoy32
08-08-2024, 07:07 AM
Scoring in a derby makes you a big game player? James Collins, Brian Kerr, Ross Caldwell the list is endless 😂
What a nonsense metric to beat Josh Campbell with. Same number of goals in approx half the minutes last season speaks volumes.
Give me the energy, desire and work rate of Campbell any day over (yet another) show pony in Marcondes. We need more players to get stuck in, not even more fairies to float round the pitch powder puff.
Would not come close to justifying the wage IMO. Also he was exceptionally keen to grab a hun jersey after they’d just spread us again at ER. No thanks.
08-08-2024, 07:11 AM
Do we only judge footballers on goals?
Marcondes was pretty clearly a level above Campbell.
Walter
08-08-2024, 07:12 AM
Drifting off topic again
My whippet was super fast yesterday at the field
08-08-2024, 07:13 AM
Yes! But con't call him Shirley...
08-08-2024, 07:14 AM
IF we had a good balanced midfield who firstly protected the defence and got forward with purpose and pace, Marcondes could be a revelation in that position just behind the number 9.
I think we'd certainly get more out of him than Campbell, who is limited as we can all see.
SickBoy32
08-08-2024, 07:14 AM
Marcondes was pretty clearly a level above Campbell.
Was he? I thought he was pretty ineffectual largely.
If he is pretty clearly a level above, then it’s odd that he’s being mooted for a return.
He is the very definition of flattering to deceive IMO.
Hopefully Gray prioritises getting a team together that will be full of hard workers 👍
08-08-2024, 07:16 AM
Marcondes was pretty clearly a level above Campbell.Marcondes couldn't run mate. He was done 10 minutes before halftime. It's not darts, you have to move. He gave away stacks of silly stray passes as well.
08-08-2024, 07:18 AM
If he is pretty clearly a level above, then it’s odd that he’s being mooted for a return.
Hopefully Gray prioritises getting a team together that will be full of hard workers 👍
Right now I would settle for a team that competes for the duration of the game and doesn't chuck it at the first sign of adversity.
Anything beyond that would be a bonus
08-08-2024, 07:18 AM
IF we had a good balanced midfield who firstly protected the defence and got forward with purpose and pace, Marcondes could be a revelation in that position just behind the number 9.
I think we'd certainly get more out of him than Campbell, who is limited as we can all see.
Absolutely spot on mate.
Last season’s slow laborious play never suited his style and hampered him, Boyle and Youan massively
08-08-2024, 07:19 AM
Why not ?
JC scored a pearler versus The Rangers could easily repeat the trick versus their wee cousins
Josh is not the best footballer but his strengths are his power stamina running work rate and his ability to add goals to the mix
Still not seeing what SDG sees however and his starting place could be in doubt if we add more quality
Squad player
I don't know just not computing in my mind this morning. Didn't mean to offend his fan club, and scoring a worldie isn't easily repeated unless you're at the top level.
Just Rangers, Celtic, an opening day winner and a hattrick and 2 assists against Aberdeen to save his managers job.
Someone reporting Maolida is still available?
Now we are talking
🙏
08-08-2024, 07:20 AM
Marcondes couldn't run mate. He was done 10 minutes before halftime. It's not darts, you have to move. He gave away stacks of silly stray passes as well.
Was he not coming back from a big injury, i wonder if a good pre season would help him as you could see he had quality but his legs wouldnt do what his head was saying at times?
I dont think he'd come back anyway, but you never know?:greengrin
WestStandWillie
08-08-2024, 07:21 AM
Now we are talking
🙏
His planned move to Saudi must have fell through then
Souter96Mac
08-08-2024, 07:22 AM
Now we are talking
🙏
Thought he was away to Saudi. If he is available, we need to be doing everything possible to try and get the big man back
08-08-2024, 07:24 AM
Was he not coming back from a big injury, i wonder if a good pre season would help him as you could see he had quality but his legs wouldnt do what his head was saying at times?
I dont think he'd come back anyway, but you never know?:greengrinI agree with that. But it's a big wage for a guy who could be finished.
08-08-2024, 07:26 AM
Josh Campbell worked hard on Sunday. He was absolutely woeful though and gave it away many times.
Marcondes definitely a better player.
08-08-2024, 07:28 AM
I don't know just not computing in my mind this morning. Didn't mean to offend his fan club, and scoring a worldie isn't easily repeated unless you're at the top level.
Not a fan at all sometimes I cannot comprehend his inability to control a ball and weight a pass to a green jersey standing 5 yards away
I do however appreciate the qualities he brings to the team
Oh also add his goal against Celtic and the five against Aberdeen including a hat-trick to his top level goals
Squad player
Silky
08-08-2024, 07:31 AM
By who?
sauzee1989
08-08-2024, 07:32 AM
Not a chance Maolida is coming to hibs.
08-08-2024, 07:33 AM
Josh Campbell is what he is
He has many attributes and many limitations
Neither set will be a surprise to anyone who watches him and tbh I don't see the back and forth over them adding anything to the debate.
In my ideal world Josh would be a sub, but in a midfield totally devoid of athleticism and IMO desire he is needed to play right now.
TBH there's not one of the current midfield options I would want to keep (Rudi excepted) but we are stuck with most of them for the forseeable.
A Josh Campbell with Levitt's ability or a Levitt with Josh Campbell's athleticism would be great but despite how much we want either player to become that hybrid of both, its never ever going to happen.
08-08-2024, 07:35 AM
By who?
Major Tom
08-08-2024, 07:37 AM
Marcondes couldn't run mate. He was done 10 minutes before halftime. It's not darts, you have to move. He gave away stacks of silly stray passes as well.
Exactly. Some lovely touches but he was as slow as a week in the jail. One brilliant free kick and he managed to up his game in the first half at the piggery but that was about it.
Totally different player to Campbell of course who just gives the ball away constantly.
08-08-2024, 07:39 AM
Came on here this morning to see if there were any transfer updates.
Instead get three pages of people criticising Josh Campbell. Can these folk not give it a break?
08-08-2024, 07:42 AM
Would take Marcondes in a heartbeat.
08-08-2024, 07:42 AM
Not a chance Maolida is coming to hibs.
Hearts aren’t interested either
08-08-2024, 07:49 AM
Hearts aren’t interested either
Right...hes going to Aberdeen then.
Scott? Scott? Where are you?
08-08-2024, 07:54 AM
Came on here this morning to see if there were any transfer updates.
Instead get three pages of people criticising Josh Campbell. Can these folk not give it a break?
To be fair, the discussion is around a player in Campbells position so it’s not unreasonable to discuss if it’s needed to replace him or if Campbell is a good enough option for that position.
I’ve no ill feeling towards Campbell, I appreciate his effort levels and he’s someone who’s making the most of the abilities he has. Ultimately he’s not good enough though and the position he plays is too important to have someone there based on effort levels. The position he plays should be the focal point of our attacks and the person that makes us tick, if we are relying on Campbell in that position, we won’t get to where we want to get to imo.
08-08-2024, 08:00 AM
Hopefully Gray prioritises getting a team together that will be full of hard workers [emoji106]
I'd rather he prioritised a team that's good at football tbh. There seems to be a theme occuring on here in the past few months that folk want us to be another St.Mirren or Killie. Full of hard working players but limited. I get it to an extent but we need both hard work and talented players. There's no point having a team full of hard runners if they struggle with basics.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
EGL2000
08-08-2024, 08:00 AM
Seen on the BBC it said he was was going somewhere warmer, so that's definitely not here!
08-08-2024, 08:03 AM
Seen on the BBC it said he was was going somewhere warmer, so that's definitely not here!
I'm sure he read he'd like to go somewhere warmer but was open to staying in Britain. Didn't really give much away. For what it's worth I don't think he will be at Hibs and I'm doubtful Hibs are a showing any interest tbh.
08-08-2024, 08:11 AM
Major Tom
Just been up Cockburn Street and asked in Ground Control who confirmed that Major Tom is announcing it at 1pm...
08-08-2024, 08:12 AM
Josh Campbell worked hard on Sunday. He was absolutely woeful though and gave it away many times.
Marcondes definitely a better player.
That’s not even a discussion and I really like Josh. Emi is miles ahead
08-08-2024, 08:43 AM
Wed be better with Nick Berry.
08-08-2024, 08:43 AM
Josh Campbell is what he is
He has many attributes and many limitations
Neither set will be a surprise to anyone who watches him and tbh I don't see the back and forth over them adding anything to the debate.
In my ideal world Josh would be a sub, but in a midfield totally devoid of athleticism and IMO desire he is needed to play right now.
TBH there's not one of the current midfield options I would want to keep (Rudi excepted) but we are stuck with most of them for the forseeable.
A Josh Campbell with Levitt's ability or a Levitt with Josh Campbell's athleticism would be great but despite how much we want either player to become that hybrid of both, its never ever going to happen.
Pity this post has gone without comments by people too keen to (repeatedly) trade their opinion. I feel it is a great summary of where we are at the moment in midfield. Josh Campbell and Joe Newell are our best midfielders and will be certain starters until we get better. When we do, their game time will be less, much to the wishes of many supporters.
I agree that we need athleticism in midfield, which is why Josh Campbell plays, but we also need creativity. When supported by better players, we may get the best out of Josh Campbell or not. If we don't recruit better in midfield, it's going to be a long challenging season, I'm afraid to say.
08-08-2024, 08:44 AM
I’d take Marcondes, but if offered the choice of him or McCowan, I’d take the latter.
08-08-2024, 08:53 AM
I’d take Marcondes, but if offered the choice of him or McCowan, I’d take the latter.
I’ll be greedy and take the two of them plus Allan Campbell please
08-08-2024, 08:56 AM
Pity this post has gone without comments by people too keen to (repeatedly) trade their opinion. I feel it is a great summary of where we are at the moment in midfield. Josh Campbell and Joe Newell are our best midfielders and will be certain starters until we get better. When we do, their game time will be less, much to the wishes of many supporters.
I agree that we need athleticism in midfield, which is why Josh Campbell plays, but we also need creativity. When supported by better players, we may get the best out of Josh Campbell or not. If we don't recruit better in midfield, it's going to be a long challenging season, I'm afraid to say.
I think we are recruiting the type of player being discussed.
08-08-2024, 08:56 AM
Both of them please. Very different players. Big fan of both.
WestStandWillie
08-08-2024, 09:07 AM
'Trust the process' has been trotted out a lot lately.
The complete left field signing of Nicky Cadden was nice to see. Wouldn't mind a few more surprises.
When a player is linked in the media it creates an expectation for the deal to be completed in a couple of days. When that doesn't happen social media/forums start to get impatient.
Donegal Hibby
08-08-2024, 09:14 AM
See, this is just ridiculous. If Gray loses his job, it won't be josh Campbell's fault.
He's not 32 and I've no idea why that is relevant anyway. At 31 he's better than Campbell at 24. Simple as.
Obita has defended well many times.
Ok 31 then though for a midfielder that drifts out of games as much / slows the play down as much as he does I think his age is relevant, in he’s not going to improve.
If you watch the 3rd goal you’ll see that we are exposed on the left side , quite frankly Scott had a field day and was made to look a very good player.
This has happened many times last season with him pushing forward and unable to get back / caught out of position…killie , hertz , St Johnstone etc etc . And for what ? , two goals and not one single assist that contributed to him getting PotY .
I put up your other post which clearly shows you have a wee gripe with Campbell though will defend Newell at all costs even when he’s playing s**** too .
I don’t think Campbell will be solely responsible for gray losing his job or he was responsible for us losing against St mirren either . Again it is a team game and the team are accountable rather than individuals….
Unfortunately though there’s a need for a scapegoat on here and if rocky had been playing it would have been him , though seeing as he wasn’t I suppose Campbell will have do some of you ..
I still think Campbell can contribute a lot to hibs and could possibly score double figures for us which would be good for a midfielder….
https://youtu.be/nmdWev72PKs