View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

Albert Kidd 86’
03-08-2024, 03:42 PM
Exactly my point. So lets not build them up as excellent signings, or knock them down as keech signings until we have a bit of solid evidence about how they will fare against our premiership opponents regularly.
This one looks pretty good against premiership players:wink:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?si=VjF9Su4NsdfEKXj1&v=Yf5wGnhZAtw&feature=youtu.be

Bridge hibs
03-08-2024, 03:45 PM
Your determined I will say that.

Not entirely sure why.

Think huggie needs a huggie

03-08-2024, 03:45 PM
Missing a midfielder for a strong spine imo

Bridge hibs
03-08-2024, 03:47 PM
This one looks pretty good against premiership players:wink:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?si=VjF9Su4NsdfEKXj1&v=Yf5wGnhZAtw&feature=youtu.be

Cracking finish

03-08-2024, 03:47 PM
Is it not to do with it being a different footballing federation (cross borders) and not the nationality/citizenship of player.

If the BBC is correct with the Hearts boy signing a couple of hours before Ko, the I think either Myko can play tomorrow or Herts have fielded an ineligible player.

I don’t know which I prefer !

03-08-2024, 03:49 PM
If the BBC is correct with the Hearts boy signing a couple of hours before Ko, the I think either Myko can play tomorrow or Herts have fielded an ineligible player.

I don’t know which I prefer !

I’m sure he’s been cleared to play and I expect Myko to be in tomorrow’s squad. If not I’d be asking why they’ve managed to give clearance to one player and not another in the same league.

03-08-2024, 03:50 PM
He actually played 15 games and scored 5 goals for us in that period.

Did you rate him when he was with us during his previous loan period?

I suspect he’s never seen him play.

03-08-2024, 03:51 PM
I’m sure he’s been cleared to play and I expect Myko to be in tomorrow’s squad. If not I’d be asking why they’ve managed to give clearance to one player and not another in the same league.

It’s dependant on the selling/loaning club doing their bit as well though.

03-08-2024, 03:52 PM
I suspect he’s never seen him play.

You’d think if they do have a season ticket, they’d remember him playing a number of times inside the “2 years” they keep screeching about

03-08-2024, 03:52 PM
It’s dependant on the selling/loaning club doing their bit as well though.

Let’s hope they got their bloody fingers out then.

Walter
03-08-2024, 04:06 PM
https://x.com/TheLeishy/status/1819765103023005909?t=ap0F3NLwAJIu8RUtAVWBMw&s=19

03-08-2024, 04:07 PM
https://x.com/TheLeishy/status/1819765103023005909?t=ap0F3NLwAJIu8RUtAVWBMw&s=19

Looks like melker hallberg from there!

03-08-2024, 04:07 PM
If what I'm reading on social media is correct and Hoilett has signed to be announced Mon, then that makes for a much rosier picture.

03-08-2024, 04:10 PM

Looks like Kieran Bowie 🤔

tonyrougier123
03-08-2024, 04:11 PM

😂😂😂. This is a stretch, nae strip nae scarf not at east mains no way this a new signing. Probably a tourist or blogger.

Looks like a European footballer though I’ll give you that. The hair toss and curtains does he think this is hibs 2008? 🤔😂

Walter
03-08-2024, 04:13 PM
Anyone that can toss their hair like that is Hibs class!

Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2024, 04:15 PM
Junior Hoilett maybe?

03-08-2024, 04:16 PM
If what I'm reading on social media is correct and Hoilett has signed to be announced Mon, then that makes for a much rosier picture. Yep done deal

03-08-2024, 04:18 PM

Posted this on the PM board but I don’t care, I’m posting it here too.

Lewis Brown, Young Bournemouth defensive midfielder.

https://www.afcb.co.uk/teams/development%20squad

Should stress this is guesswork based on his hair and the rumours we had a defensive midfielder training with us this week, as well as someone saying someone from Bournemouth was joining

03-08-2024, 04:19 PM
Yep done deal
Excellent signing 👌

Albert Kidd 86’
03-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Super Junior Hoilett strutting his stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLNJ1NEb5Pw

03-08-2024, 04:24 PM

Wonder if it’s a clothing brand or for club shop?

03-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Welcome back Myko ....

https://youtu.be/PlNb1oZ7QRY?si=IDuUXOSRvrW-_hnC

Can't be bothered with the negativity towards this signing , we are talking about a quality player that cost 2 mill.

More of this Myko please.....

https://youtu.be/ithiNrOTLdA?si=W9fGQ3gbkxZDa_Pk

I think everyone is happy with the signing and the only proviso I see people adding is IF he can stay fit

03-08-2024, 04:26 PM

Should stress this is guesswork based on his hair and the rumours we had a defensive midfielder training with us this week, as well as someone saying someone from Bournemouth was joining

Absolutely love this, guesswork based on his hair 😅

03-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Junior Hoilett maybe?

Doubtful

03-08-2024, 04:30 PM
I think everyone is happy with the signing and the only proviso I see people adding is IF he can stay fit

You know it’s good when the only complaints are how Hibs announced it

03-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Would a Hibs signing not be getting photographed in Hibs clobber?

Davy Mac
03-08-2024, 04:37 PM

Hahaha, that's absolutely brilliant, well done to capture the moment.

Must be a player, nobody has a camera that fancy down our way. :-)

Tremendous, fair brightened up my day!

03-08-2024, 04:38 PM

Is it not Joe Newell?

03-08-2024, 04:39 PM
Is it not Joe Newell?

I know it seems ridiculous because the distance but I don’t think it’s Newell 🤣

Doesn’t seem his build to me and slightly different hair

03-08-2024, 04:39 PM
You know it’s good when the only complaints are how Hibs announced it

Something I never thought I’d people would moan about, should have known better

03-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Hahaha, that's absolutely brilliant, well done to capture the moment.

Must be a player, nobody has a camera that fancy down our way. :-)

Tremendous, fair brightened up my day!

@cammieallan is the Hibs photographer, does that look like the Hibs photographer 🤔

Pytheas
03-08-2024, 04:48 PM

Top class detective work.

Davy Mac
03-08-2024, 04:49 PM
@cammieallan is the Hibs photographer, does that look like the Hibs photographer 🤔

I've absolutely no idea who Cammie Allan is but great wee video don't ya think?

03-08-2024, 04:51 PM

🧐

03-08-2024, 04:51 PM
I've absolutely no idea who Cammie Allan is but great wee video don't ya think?

He's this Hibs photographer 😁

03-08-2024, 04:52 PM

Probably Art of Football shooting for their next range of Hibs stuff.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C-LGr2CTosU/?igsh=d3dud3RybjczdHNy

03-08-2024, 04:53 PM
Probably Art of Football shooting for their next range of Hibs stuff.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C-LGr2CTosU/?igsh=d3dud3RybjczdHNy

'sake, it will be that.

03-08-2024, 04:55 PM
Yes clearly a player couldn’t get a game for nearly 2 seasons and we get him on loan yes clearly a player 🤦

If you can’t see with your own eyes after his previous spell here that Myko is a quality player, there’s no helping you. He’s also been playing games pre-season. He’s not climbed off the treatment table to sign here. You seem to be a bit of a slaver.

'sake, it will be that.

Hes not wearing their clothes tho.

Davy Mac
He's this Hibs photographer 😁

Super, great, smashing, but still a great wee video.

03-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Never a frown, with Lewis Brown.

03-08-2024, 04:59 PM

https://www.instagram.com/p/C-KOIYxIyRc/?img_index=6

Could easily be wearing that shirt? Though would be weird to do further shoots when they posted all the stuff a day or so ago.

03-08-2024, 05:00 PM
If you can’t see with your own eyes after his previous spell here that Myko is a quality player, there’s no helping you. He’s also been playing games pre-season. He’s not climbed off the treatment table to sign here. You seem to be a bit of a slaver.

A bit, that's very diplomatic 😁

King Cosell
03-08-2024, 05:01 PM

Can also play LB, so it would make sense.

03-08-2024, 05:04 PM

How would you know whether he’s wearing stuff from a new range or not?

tonyrougier123
03-08-2024, 05:08 PM

Dirk Lehmann

I’ve painstakingly forensically investigated the tweet in question* and it looks like a plain t-shirt to me.

That brand normally has Hibs type stuff on their t-shirts.

*I looked at a screenshot for 5 seconds

Dirk Lehmann
Nah. No plasters.

Albert Kidd 86’
03-08-2024, 05:13 PM
Scotty allan

03-08-2024, 05:15 PM
Can also play LB, so it would make sense.

“Predominantly a central midfielder, he can also operate at right-back, left-back and in central defence.”

Hibs new transfer strategy get a player that can play 4 positions to save on incomings.

03-08-2024, 05:15 PM
Good player. But we need to build a team, not just back to square one next summer. Is permanent deal not an option?

We really don’t want to invest money it seems on the team.

Loan is surely the best option here given his injury record. We can’t risk a multi year deal.

Hibees1973
03-08-2024, 05:19 PM
I expect Hibs have been more diligent this time and he is currently fit to play. Given he is a loan and has a poor injury record hope we are not paying any more than 25% of his wages.

When on the park Myko is miles better than most other forwards we have so fingers crossed he stays fit.

03-08-2024, 05:21 PM
“Predominantly a central midfielder, he can also operate at right-back, left-back and in central defence.”

Hibs new transfer strategy get a player that can play 4 positions to save on incomings.

A strategy would be a start

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-08-2024, 05:30 PM
Luke McCowan anyone [emoji102]

03-08-2024, 05:30 PM

Yes please! Heard/seen something?? Know you said you were working at ER this week.

03-08-2024, 05:35 PM

Would be a great signing 🤞

03-08-2024, 05:42 PM

I’d be very surprised.

03-08-2024, 05:43 PM

They don't have anything in Cream. And the cut of that shirt is nothing like the (piss poor) t-shirts they send out.

03-08-2024, 05:44 PM
I’d be very surprised.

Trust the process.

Mrimbetween
03-08-2024, 05:45 PM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk You have to spend money, that isny happening Sadly

Bridge hibs
03-08-2024, 05:48 PM
You have to spend money, that isny happening Sadly

Aw thanks Ben !! 😣

Mcbizz1998
03-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Super Junior Hoilett strutting his stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLNJ1NEb5Pw

He seems to be really good at making it 2-0 for some reason.

03-08-2024, 05:58 PM
I’ve got concerns about his injury record but I thought Myko was an absolutely top notch player when he was fit with us first time around.

We now, imo, have an excellent first choice XI.

Bit of squad depth to be added and a bit of luck with injuries - I think we should be able to have a good season.

03-08-2024, 06:02 PM

I really hope so

03-08-2024, 06:03 PM
Trust the process.

If the process ends up with us signing McCowan, a defensive mid, a striker/winger and another left back I’d be fully converted to trusting said process.

03-08-2024, 06:05 PM
If the process ends up with us signing McCowan, a defensive mid, a striker/winger and another left back I’d be fully converted to trusting said process.

Yup

LewysGot2
03-08-2024, 06:27 PM

Who currently has hair the same colour as Slim Shady 🤔 😂

He's here!
03-08-2024, 06:45 PM
Delighted with Myko being back

Yep, that's a great signing in my book. I felt there was so much more to come from him last time round.

03-08-2024, 06:49 PM
And you can’t seriously believe we aren’t
Signing a guy that hasn’t kicked a ball in anger in 2 years
If that excites you fair play to you

Your lucky Dessers isn't a better player otherwise you team would have got beat today

03-08-2024, 06:49 PM
I’ve got concerns about his injury record but I thought Myko was an absolutely top notch player when he was fit with us first time around.

We now, imo, have an excellent first choice XI.

Bit of squad depth to be added and a bit of luck with injuries - I think we should be able to have a good season.

The midfield is still a concern in our strongest 11. NMW will hopefully continue to get better but is still very raw. I’m a fan though. Campbell & Newell are inconsistent. Probably more good days than bad for both but lots of games that pass them by. Midfield will probably be functional though this season, rather than one of our biggest strengths.

Keepthefaith
03-08-2024, 06:50 PM
Yup

and if this does come to fruition, will you and others like you perhaps reflect on the bile that has been spewed towards the club and individuals within it prior to this point?

I've no problem people raising concerns at perceived inactivity given the gaps that have existed in the squad, but the degree of negativity and slating the club, with others repeating it ad nauseam contributing to a tsunami of bitterness and hopelessness ahead of the new season has been quite something to behold.

the club aren't perfect, we've made mistakes but dear god I hope there's folk who reflect on their contributions both here and on social media and maybe be a bit more measured in future.

Big Mike is a great signing - obvious quality. if there is indeed more to come, I think we'll do alright and have a good feeling about Gray ensuring we progress.

03-08-2024, 06:51 PM

Any good?

03-08-2024, 07:13 PM
Trust the process.

Is this a pep-talk for Ben and Ian to stick with a prices for longer than ten minutes?

03-08-2024, 07:37 PM
Bowie's some statement signing btw

Bridge hibs
03-08-2024, 07:39 PM

Has he signed ?

McGruber
03-08-2024, 07:40 PM

Is, or would be?

Cabbage-Patch
03-08-2024, 07:55 PM
The midfield is still a concern in our strongest 11. NMW will hopefully continue to get better but is still very raw. I’m a fan though. Campbell & Newell are inconsistent. Probably more good days than bad for both but lots of games that pass them by. Midfield will probably be functional though this season, rather than one of our biggest strengths.

Campbell shouldn't be 1st choice starter and Newell is far too inconsistent. Definitely an area we can strengthen

HendoDelivered
03-08-2024, 07:57 PM

No chance.

03-08-2024, 07:58 PM

?

03-08-2024, 07:59 PM

Only for absolute beginners

03-08-2024, 08:04 PM

It’ll be Modern Love all around the forum when he’s announced.

hibs4life
03-08-2024, 08:13 PM
Just one of a few welcome ch, ch, changes, I suspect

03-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Oh wow I didn’t realise he’d played one friendly that changes everything 🤣🤣🤦

Why are you being so twatty about this?

inglisavhibs
03-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Any good?

I doubt he would get near our 1st team. He was loaned out to AFC Totton last season and didn’t get a game.

03-08-2024, 08:21 PM
I doubt he would get near our 1st team. He was loaned out to AFC Totton last season and didn’t get a game.

He wasn’t the name I was told. He’s from another Premiership club, not Bournemouth

03-08-2024, 08:21 PM
He wasn’t the name I was told. He’s from another Premiership club, not Bournemouth

... Wolves?

03-08-2024, 08:22 PM
... Wolves?

Maybe…..

03-08-2024, 08:22 PM
The quality of signings so far this summer has been decent (early to tell but promising signs). It’s def not ‘game changing’ level but if the BK’s hadn’t shown up then these signings would be looking excellent. We just need more of them. [emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]

03-08-2024, 08:24 PM
Maybe…..

Oft! Be some signing that, even if it's only a loan.

Stanton Spence
03-08-2024, 08:40 PM
I briefly drove behind a nice car at Crewe Toll roundabout today that had a 'WIII FSH' number plate...

Didn't get a look at the driver but would be quite a coincidence if it wasn't him.

Sent from my SM-S711B using Tapatalk
It is a coincidence mate I know the guy who owns that plate 👍🏻

03-08-2024, 08:47 PM
Oft! Be some signing that, even if it's only a loan.

Is hodge any good? Dont think he played a huge amount for QPR

PHeffernan
03-08-2024, 08:50 PM
Nice range of T-Shirts

T-Shirts & Polo | DSQUARED2. (https://www.dsquared2.com/gb/men/ready-to-wear/t-shirts-polo?start=24&sz=24)

Rich athletes and their money are easily parted

03-08-2024, 08:59 PM
Why are you being so twatty about this?

I think we all know why

03-08-2024, 09:00 PM
Is hodge any good? Dont think he played a huge amount for QPR

I remember watching one of the games he played last season in the Premier League, think it was against Everton and he looked really good for a young laddie. Granted it's only one game and the lack of game time at a struggling QPR might be more reflective of overall ability. But I'd be ecstatic if we signed him*

*Reserve the right to change my mind after one bad game in a Hibs shirt.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-08-2024, 09:01 PM

Hibs have made a bid for him. That’s all I know at the minute.

03-08-2024, 09:02 PM
?

Something I heard, fee agreed medical booked

03-08-2024, 09:05 PM

Fee?? So permanent signing?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FwwF76CXsAASteM.jpg

03-08-2024, 09:06 PM
Fee?? So permanent signing?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FwwF76CXsAASteM.jpg

From what I was told

03-08-2024, 09:11 PM
From what I was told

See if we end up signing Bowie and Hodge on loan I'm not sure I'll be able to recover.

03-08-2024, 09:19 PM
Crysencio Summerville Leeds to West Ham for £25m + add-ons, Leeds paid Feyenoord £1.3m for him in 2020, Leeds again trying to sign Ryan Kent for £2.5m, Bielsa also tried to sign him i think they should stop the obsession for him, he's not that good

The Wireless
03-08-2024, 09:40 PM
Crysencio Summerville Leeds to West Ham for £25m + add-ons, Leeds paid Feyenoord £1.3m for him in 2020, Leeds again trying to sign Ryan Kent for £2.5m, Bielsa also tried to sign him i think they should stop the obsession for him, he's not that good

Certainly no obsession from their supporters for him. Just not good enough.

03-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Certainly no obsession from their supporters for him. Just not good enough.

i didn't realise Mourinho was now boss at Fenerbahce, he obviously doesn't rate him and only played him a total of 68 mins over 19 appearances last season, Bielsa was reportedly willing to bid £10m for him when Gerrard was at the Buns, so i'm not sure just exactly who at Leeds still has the obsession for Kent :hmmm: elsewhere Leeds wanting Plymouth Argyle striker Morgan Whittaker but Plymouth want £10m for him with 12 months left on his contract, Sevco already had two knockbacks for him

03-08-2024, 09:53 PM
i didn't realise Mourinho was now boss at Fenerbahce, he obviously doesn't rate him and only played him a total of 68 mins over 19 appearances last season, Bielsa was reportedly willing to bid £10m for him when Gerrard was at the Buns, so i'm not sure just exactly who at Leeds still has the obsession for Kent :hmmm:

Mou only appointed Fenerbache boss in June. He won't rate Kent though, mainly cause he's pish.

03-08-2024, 09:57 PM
Mou only appointed Fenerbache boss in June. He won't rate Kent though, mainly cause he's pish.

maybe get a clean slate from Jose then, hopefully ;) Leeds maybe think because they made a big profit on selling Kamara to Rennes(i think it was) another ex-sevco player could make the same profit

davemcbain
03-08-2024, 10:04 PM
So that video - Before you all get too excited, it's Rocky in a Joe Newell mask :na na:

03-08-2024, 10:16 PM
See if we end up signing Bowie and Hodge on loan I'm not sure I'll be able to recover.

https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=28074&stc=1&d=1722723210

stevie-bee
03-08-2024, 10:26 PM
https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=28074&stc=1&d=1722723210

I heard last week there was a guy on trial from wolves,

03-08-2024, 10:56 PM

What's a Mrimbetween? :dunno:

03-08-2024, 11:02 PM
I heard last week there was a guy on trial from wolves,

Can't be Hodge then. No way he'd be up here on a trial, still three years on his Wolves deal as well.

Keepthefaith
03-08-2024, 11:05 PM
What's a Mrimbetween? :dunno:

it depends if it begins with a separate M or if it's mr. if its the former, it's quite obvious haha

Mrimbetween
03-08-2024, 11:38 PM
it depends if it begins with a separate M or if it's mr. if its the former, it's quite obvious haha Pinched it from a cracking Aussie crime drama that I loved

zero-seven
03-08-2024, 11:51 PM
Pinched it from a cracking Aussie crime drama that I loved

brilliant series , shame they didn’t do another series

could do with him as an enforcer in midfield

04-08-2024, 12:50 AM
brilliant series , shame they didn’t do another series

could do with him as an enforcer in midfield

Been saying that for years.[emoji106][emoji23]

04-08-2024, 04:32 AM
Heard Will Fish got what looked like a serious injury v Liverpool.

Pytheas
04-08-2024, 04:57 AM
Heard Will Fish got what looked like a serious injury v Liverpool.

FS gutted for him, was maybe in line for a few first team run outs this season.

04-08-2024, 06:58 AM
Fully agree and it's pretty obvious for ages. Can't believe we've recruited no-one in midfield.

We’ve signed a lot of centre mids over the last couple of years

NMW
Amos
Marcondes
Levitt
Kenneh
Henderson
Jeggo

CJ and Triantis also played there on several occasions

I'm talking about this transfer window!

04-08-2024, 07:04 AM
Subject to international clearance.

Even though it’s a loan from Swansea?

So not available tomorrow?

Was the Martin Boyle signing not very similar with the "subject to international clearance", yet he played the next day (I think)?

Newcastlehibby
04-08-2024, 07:10 AM
Pinched it from a cracking Aussie crime drama that I loved

surely inbetween?

04-08-2024, 07:10 AM
For me:

Ins:
Left back (ideally play as a LCB also)
Creative attacking midfielder (Marcondes or Nisbet?)
Wide player/forward (Bowie)

Outs:
JDH
Jair
Delfer
Kenneh
Harbottle (if a 4th choice CB is found, but not a priority).

GK: Bursik, Smith, Boruc

RB: Cadden, Miller, Megwa
CB: Marvin, Rocky
CB: O'Hora, Harbottle
LB: Obita, TBC

CM: Moriah-Welsh, Amos
CM: Newell, Levitt

RW: Boyle, TBC
AM: TBC, Campbell
LW: Youan, McKirdy, Molotnikov

CF: Vente, Mykola

04-08-2024, 07:26 AM

👍

04-08-2024, 07:39 AM
Was the Martin Boyle signing not very similar with the "subject to international clearance", yet he played the next day (I think)?

Didn't hibs just delay announcing it and got the permit in the meantime for that one..

Walter
04-08-2024, 07:47 AM
👍

Who's the fee agreed and medical arranged for ?

Mcbizz1998
04-08-2024, 07:54 AM
For me:

Ins:
Left back (ideally play as a LCB also)
Creative attacking midfielder (Marcondes or Nisbet?)
Wide player/forward (Bowie)

Outs:
JDH
Jair
Delfer
Kenneh
Harbottle (if a 4th choice CB is found, but not a priority).

GK: Bursik, Smith, Boruc

RB: Cadden, Miller, Megwa
CB: Marvin, Rocky
CB: O'Hora, Harbottle
LB: Obita, TBC

CM: Moriah-Welsh, Amos
CM: Newell, Levitt

RW: Boyle, TBC
AM: TBC, Campbell
LW: Youan, McKirdy, Molotnikov

CF: Vente, Mykola

I still think we need another CB. It’s only going to take one injury and we are back to Bushiri starting. I know some think he is ok for back up but a bad injury to either Marv or O’Hora and we will have to start him every week. That will significantly weaken us.

04-08-2024, 07:58 AM
Can't be Hodge then. No way he'd be up here on a trial, still three years on his Wolves deal as well.

You might be wrong.

Gordy M
04-08-2024, 08:14 AM
I still think we need another CB. It’s only going to take one injury and we are back to Bushiri starting. I know some think he is ok for back up but a bad injury to either Marv or O’Hora and we will have to start him every week. That will significantly weaken us.

I know what you are saying, but i think its difficult to sign a better CH than Rocky to basically have sitting on the bench until someone is injured.

04-08-2024, 08:56 AM

NMW
Amos
Marcondes
Levitt
Kenneh
Henderson
Jeggo

True but most people when they are asking for midfield signings they are looking for upgrades.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-08-2024, 09:07 AM

NMW
Amos
Marcondes
Levitt
Kenneh
Henderson
Jeggo

True but out of that list I’d say three (NMW, Marcondes and Jeggo) made some sort of positive impact, with Levitt and Amos having question marks, Henderson and Triantis just weren’t good enough and CJ was never a midfielder imo. Need to be bringing in better quality players in the right positions. With the rumours going about, I think we’re doing that now.

04-08-2024, 09:30 AM
Who’s the guy from Wolves and where had all this chat came from?

04-08-2024, 09:47 AM
True but out of that list I’d say three (NMW, Marcondes and Jeggo) made some sort of positive impact, with Levitt and Amos having question marks, Henderson and Triantis just weren’t good enough and CJ was never a midfielder imo. Need to be bringing in better quality players in the right positions. With the rumours going about, I think we’re doing that now.

Disagree about Triantis. He was good in midfield.

NGoloGrantie
04-08-2024, 10:03 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240804/e9b49d77caf5dada98931a2bc77b4e05.jpg
Ffs was someone getting photos taken for their band. BOOOOO

04-08-2024, 10:04 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240804/e9b49d77caf5dada98931a2bc77b4e05.jpg
Ffs was someone getting photos taken for their band. BOOOOO

So Lennon was right all along with the boy band feel at hibs

McGruber
04-08-2024, 10:11 AM
Who’s the guy from Wolves and where had all this chat came from?

We've signed Hoilett, Joe Hodge, Luke McKowan, Bowie & Hornby .. but we aren't telling anyone

04-08-2024, 10:40 AM
Trust the process.

We've signed Hoilett, Joe Hodge, Luke McKowan, Bowie & Hornby .. but we aren't telling anyone
Classic :greengrin

04-08-2024, 11:10 AM
You might be wrong.

Hope so 🤞

leith lynx
04-08-2024, 11:59 AM
McCowan starts for Dundee.

04-08-2024, 12:38 PM
McCowan starts for Dundee.

He has started well, plenty of the baller and looks calm.

McGruber
04-08-2024, 12:58 PM

Think the fact he is starting and captain debunks any notion of a deal being agreed anyway

Pytheas
04-08-2024, 01:14 PM
Think the fact he is starting and captain debunks any notion of a deal being agreed anyway

Commentator just called im a player that is "wanted elsewhere".

Taking that as confirmation of a 5 yr deal at Hibs

04-08-2024, 01:22 PM

He’s very good at finding space for himself and works hard.[emoji106]

mcfly
04-08-2024, 03:43 PM
This team needs serious money spent on it.

Club is an utter shambles on the pitch. Team has been neglected for years

NC1875
04-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Can’t wait for all these good players that become available at the end of the window. Eh TrinityHFC ?

We certainly need them 👍🏼

TrinityHFC
04-08-2024, 03:51 PM
Can’t wait for all these good players that become available at the end of the window. Eh TrinityHFC ?

We certainly need them 👍🏼

Which is something I’ve never said at any point.

NC1875
04-08-2024, 03:56 PM
Which is something I’ve never said at any point.

You worried about the season yet then ?

TrinityHFC
04-08-2024, 04:03 PM
You worried about the season yet then ?

Yes of course. I think all I’ve been saying is we need a lot of changes and it is important because of all the mistakes we’ve made that we get the right players in before the window closes. If we could do that more quickly than all the better.

04-08-2024, 04:18 PM
Hopefully today is an eye opener for spending some money on quality

04-08-2024, 04:22 PM

Took them 1 month to sign a player after Kelty loss - can’t see it.

Totally clueless.

Signed a keeper who doesn’t make saves.

A CB who already made a big mistake today with his pass back.

Zero central midfielders.

No back up left back

Zero left footed wide players.

04-08-2024, 04:24 PM

It's been on a decline for years why would it now suddenly be an eye opener.

04-08-2024, 04:24 PM

Totally clueless.

No back up left back

Zero left footed wide players.

Think there'll definitely be a few players announced this week.

I was just back to looking forward to things after the Myko signing as well then we put in that second half today.

McGruber
04-08-2024, 04:28 PM

Hopefully that quality wasn't watching today before being asked if they want to come join

04-08-2024, 04:33 PM

I don’t think there is any money to spend. Do they really need an eye opener when we were bottom six last season and have lost the good players in the team and have changed nothing else. You don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to work out we’re a worse team than got us bottom six last season. They are clueless and/or skint. We’re in trouble me thinks.

04-08-2024, 04:38 PM
I don’t think there is any money to spend. Do they really need an eye opener when we were bottom six last season and have lost the good players in the team and have changed nothing else. You don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to work out we’re a worse team than got us bottom six last season. They are clueless and/or skint. We’re in trouble me thinks.

Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell have got us into this financial position by bringing in average players on inflated salaries and long term contracts. The Gordons need to pony up with the cash to replace these deadbeats with the quality we were promised.

04-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensall have got us into this financial position by bringing in average players on inflated salaries and long term contracts. The Gordons need to pony up with the cash to replace these deadbeats with the quality we were promised.

Trust the process.

04-08-2024, 04:41 PM
Watched most of Dundee game today and all of our game and McCowan is a 100 times better in midfield than anything we have. I bet he’s getting paid less as well.
We should have went for him rather than giving Newell a new deal. Would have been a far better use of the money.

04-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Kensells ego is more important to him than Hibernian Football Club. Slavering little git

Think there'll definitely be a few players announced this week.

I was just back to looking forward to things after the Myko signing as well then we put in that second half today.

They will probably announce a right footed left winger at age 34 on a 1 year deal - meaning next summer need to find another new player.

If we don’t add central midfielders (plural) before the season starts we deserve everything we get.

Exuberance1875
Should be saving our cash while we can and accepting the sorry state we are in, only bring people in when we move some out. Club is overloaded with garbage on huge deals already

Exuberance1875
04-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Should be saving our cash while we can and accepting the sorry state we are in, only bring people in when we move some out. Club is overloaded with garbage on huge deals already

This is obviously an overreaction, however it’s hilarious that it’s game one and I’m already looking forward to the season ending…

04-08-2024, 04:50 PM
I'm now no longer convinced any new players will fix this.

04-08-2024, 04:51 PM

When you cant move them out, we accept that we could be in a relegation battle to celebrate our 150th year, i dont think so, we need to somehow spend what it takes to get out of this crap. imho.

04-08-2024, 04:51 PM
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell have got us into this financial position by bringing in average players on inflated salaries and long term contracts. The Gordons need to pony up with the cash to replace these deadbeats with the quality we were promised.
In a nutshell, these little weasels are ruining our football club and it’s high time we collectively let them know exactly just what we think of them, they need chased out of Edinburgh

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2024, 04:54 PM
Trust the process.

The process seems to be to run the club into the ground.

04-08-2024, 04:56 PM

You’re correct, we needed a new team to start the season but instead we’ve set the tone with the failed players from Christmas’s past. There is no quick fix to this now and SDG is already on a one way road to nowhere. It’s a real shame and he should never have been appointed under these circumstances, he will live to regret taking the job. Makes me really angry.

TrinityHibby
04-08-2024, 04:58 PM
Watched most of Dundee game today and all of our game and McCowan is a 100 times better in midfield than anything we have. I bet he’s getting paid less as well.
We should have went for him rather than giving Newell a new deal. Would have been a far better use of the money.

Totally agree…..I even messaged our CEO to tell him he is one that we should be looking at….McCowan would cost money so will end up at an ambitious club …HFC are not

04-08-2024, 04:59 PM
I’m also worried now both our new keepers are exactly as other fans described them (doesn’t make saves mainly) and they aren’t an upgrade on Marshall.

04-08-2024, 05:02 PM
I've defended Vente enough over the last 8 months or so but sod it, get rid and just go sign some jobber who could bundle the ball in the net when it flashes across goal unlike Vente today. Sick of him cutting about like a sad act needing a confidence boost to just get involved.

04-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Maybe we’ll sign some midfielders now?

Who am I kidding. Trust the process guys.

Mcbizz1998
04-08-2024, 05:13 PM
I've defended Vente enough over the last 8 months or so but sod it, get rid and just go sign some jobber who could bundle the ball in the net when it flashes across goal unlike Vente today. Sick of him cutting about like a sad act needing a confidence boost to just get involved.

Good old Doidgey would have scored that one!

04-08-2024, 05:14 PM
Good old Doidgey would have scored that one!

For sure. He would have crashed his shot off the post then it would've bounced back, smacked him on the arse and in. I'd take that any day of the week to be fair.

04-08-2024, 05:16 PM

Totally clueless.

No back up left back

Zero left footed wide players.You're going all in on Bursik pretty early

He's played in about 5 games and I'm not sure he done anything wrong today?

Only other goal conceded last second against queens park?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

04-08-2024, 05:18 PM
Maybe we’ll sign some midfielders now?

Who am I kidding. Trust the process guys.

They extended Joe Newell’s contract and unbelievably our manager gave him the captaincy - reward failure then expect nothing less. Yet another 90 minutes where our experienced “leader” went missing and offered the square root of nothing. Must be a dream to play against knowing he’s not going to grasp the nettle and influence games. It’s such a sad sad indictment of where we are when he’s a “lynchpin”. Added to that, you could perm any of our other midfielders and all you’d get is three or four similarly poor, uninspiring, uncreative players none of whom make you want to pay to watch football. In a word, bland.

Exuberance1875
04-08-2024, 05:19 PM
The process seems to be to run the club into the ground.

I mean if it is, it’s a massive success.

04-08-2024, 05:22 PM
They extended Joe Newell’s contract and unbelievably our manager gave him the captaincy - reward failure then expect nothing less. Yet another 90 minutes where our experienced “leader” went missing and offered the square root of nothing. Must be a dream to play against knowing he’s not going to grasp the nettle and influence games. It’s such a sad sad indictment of where we are when he’s a “lynchpin”. Added to that, you could perm on of any of our other midfielders and all you’d get is three or four similarly poor, uninspiring, y creative players none of whom make you want to pay to watch football. In a word, bland.

The fact that Newell is easily our best midfielder says it all. Our recruitment over the last few years has been nothing short of disastrous.

TelaStella
04-08-2024, 05:24 PM
You're going all in on Bursik pretty early

Bursik definitely wasn’t to blame for anything today. Quicker distribution might’ve been better at times but can’t fault him for any of the goals.

04-08-2024, 05:28 PM
You're going all in on Bursik pretty early

We will disagree.

2 out of the 3 goals he could have saved.

Queens goal possibly better.

Happy to be proved wrong but have zero trust in the back up keeper and not convinced by the new number 1 - I also wanted Marshall replaced 12 months ago.

04-08-2024, 05:28 PM
Bursik definitely wasn’t to blame for anything today. Quicker distribution might’ve been better at times but can’t fault him for any of the goals.

Not even the second? I get it was a header back across goal, but it was a pretty tame header

ChuckNor
04-08-2024, 05:30 PM

Folk saying Jordon White would be a disaster for us. Take note of this post. He’d have scored so many of the chances Vente has somehow missed for us. He is easily one of the worst strikers we’ve had at the club. A disaster.

04-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Folk saying Jordon White would be a disaster for us. Take note of this post. He’d have scored so many of the chances Vente has somehow missed for us. He is easily one of the worst strikers we’ve had at the club. A disaster.

Funny enough Jordan White was a name I wrote then deleted before posting, not a name or player I particularly love but you're spot on. Since his hat-trick the guy has looked nowhere near like he can finish any chances

04-08-2024, 05:55 PM
Funny enough Jordan White was a name I wrote then deleted before posting, not a name or player I particularly love but you're spot on. Since his hat-trick the guy has looked nowhere near like he can finish any chances

Vente doesn't look like he lives & breathes for scoring goals

Mykola is immediately our only serious no9

04-08-2024, 06:13 PM

League two is his level. Not quick enough, not strong enough, not clever enough, not hard working enough, not brave enough, not able to hit a barn door with a banjo.

At least Jordan White would offer some physicality.

04-08-2024, 06:19 PM
Not even the second? I get it was a header back across goal, but it was a pretty tame header

I thought he must have been unsighted - there were a few bodies between him and the ball when the ball was headed, and he was slow getting along his line.

Hibiza
04-08-2024, 06:27 PM
Gordon ,Kensell , Newell out

04-08-2024, 06:33 PM
Ok, the Gordons leave with their investment, the question is:- What happens next ?

04-08-2024, 06:34 PM
Ok, the Gordons leave with their investment, the question is:- What happens next ?

Sometimes it’s best to worry about putting out the house fire before thinking what wallpaper you’re going to put up.

Trinity Hibee
04-08-2024, 06:36 PM
Vente doesn't look like he lives & breathes for scoring goals

Mykola is immediately our only serious no9

I tell you who does and caused a lot of problems today….Simon Murray

Hibees1973
04-08-2024, 06:37 PM
How many chances do we give the likes of Vente, Campbell and Miller until they are actually removed from the squad and told to train with the laddies until they get a new club. I'm just naming these three to begin with, there are others.

People are saying on here Gray is a leader and a tough character. He is an inexperienced manager and will need to learn quickly. My fear is much as he may be a quick learner he does not have enough quality to work with.

A couple of weeks ago I was up at The Fort shopping centre when up rolled Martin Boyle in his personalised number plate Porsche. I'm going to add him to the culpable list now. Shadow of is former self and if he wants to move, open the door and say goodbye to him. Will save us a fortune in wages.

04-08-2024, 06:38 PM

Whoever buy's it takes over, and hopefully does a better job of things?

TrinityHFC
04-08-2024, 06:48 PM
Sometimes it’s best to worry about putting out the house fire before thinking what wallpaper you’re going to put up.

Not quite the same. More like setting fire to the house before thinking about where you might live.

04-08-2024, 06:50 PM
Whoever buy's it takes over, and hopefully does a better job of things?

It needs to happen, it's the only thing that will turn things around.

Too much has happened with Kensell and Ian Gordon, some fans (rightfully in my opinion) will never change their opinion of them.

Silky
04-08-2024, 07:19 PM
It needs to happen, it's the only thing that will turn things around.

Too much has happened with Kensell and Ian Gordon, some fans (rightfully in my opinion) will never change their opinion of them.

Will it turn things around? The Gordon's will want their money and probably won't give a monkeys who buys the club. Could be anyone and nothing to say they wouldn't be worse.

04-08-2024, 07:20 PM
Not quite the same. More like setting fire to the house before thinking about where you might live.

There’s nothing liveable about where we are right now.

snedzuk
04-08-2024, 07:38 PM
I tell you who does and caused a lot of problems today….Simon Murray

Nah, not good enough. See also Shaun Rooney.

04-08-2024, 07:45 PM
Nah, not good enough. See also Shaun Rooney.

Rooney would have been an excellent signing for us, but of course there would have been loads of folk foaming at the mouth at even the suggestion.

04-08-2024, 07:48 PM
Rooney would have been an excellent signing for us, but of course there would have been loads of folk foaming at the mouth at even the suggestion.

He would… but it would have been bold to add another RB.

He’s better than what we’ve got but it’s a big ask when we’ve already got so much wage tied up in that position and so many other parts of the team needing improved.

No issue with the idea of Rooney as a Hibs player at all though.

04-08-2024, 07:50 PM

I honestly think he's **** and definitely worse than Miller (good first half) and Cadden.

He just seems to have a knack of playing well against us. If we were to sign every player who played well against us we'd have a squad of about 70.

04-08-2024, 07:50 PM
He would… but it would have been bold to add another RB.

He’s better than what we’ve got but it’s a big ask when we’ve already got so much wage tied up in that position and so many other parts of the team needing improved.

No issue with the idea of Rooney as a Hibs player at all though.

Yeah I get that - a lot of wages to plough into one position.

04-08-2024, 07:52 PM
I honestly think he's **** and definitely worse than Miller (good first half) and Cadden.

He just seems to have a knack of playing well against us. If we were to sign every player who played well against us we'd have a squad of about 70.

He’s definitely not ****. Whatever he lacks in grace he makes us for with general effectiveness.

Not easy enough on the eye for lots of our fans who believe we’ve been brought up on scintillating football … which of course we have not.

04-08-2024, 07:54 PM
He’s definitely not ****. Whatever he lacks in grace he makes us for with general effectiveness.

Not easy enough on the eye for lots of our fans who believe we’ve been brought up on scintillating football … which of course we have not.

It's honestly nothing to do with being easy on the eye, I've just seen him have so many shockers (not against us where he always looks like prime Cafu) to come to the conclusion he's not better than what we have.

Miller is hardly easy on the eye either.

HFC93
04-08-2024, 07:56 PM
Sign Ryan Jack.

04-08-2024, 08:01 PM
It's honestly nothing to do with being easy on the eye, I've just seen him have so many shockers (not against us where he always looks like prime Cafu) to come to the conclusion he's not better than what we have.

Miller is hardly easy on the eye either.

Miller isn’t nearly as effective as Rooney though.

Disagree with your assessment of Rooney overall but it’s just opinions.

tonyrougier123
04-08-2024, 08:07 PM
Miller isn’t nearly as effective as Rooney though.

Disagree with your assessment of Rooney overall but it’s just opinions.

Is that the Rooney guy no good enough but won a cup double with st Johnstone that plays a blinder every time we come up against him?with teams we canny beat that guy? Course he’s no good enough. Hibs fans man!

04-08-2024, 08:09 PM
Is that the Rooney guy no good enough but won a cup double with st Johnstone that plays a blinder every time we come up against him with teams we canny beat that guy. Course he’s no good enough. Hibs fans man!

Was it only Rooney that won the cup double with St Johnstone? Should we have signed McCart as well?

I'm not saying he isn't good enough. He'd be probably be fine. I just don't think he's better than what we already have. A fine signing isn't what we need right now.

04-08-2024, 08:11 PM
Sign Ryan Jack.

Agree

04-08-2024, 08:11 PM
Is that the Rooney guy no good enough but won a cup double with st Johnstone that plays a blinder every time we come up against him?with teams we canny beat that guy? Course he’s no good enough. Hibs fans man!

Totally agree.

He also has a mentality that’s on another level to any of our current lot.

zero-seven
04-08-2024, 08:13 PM

could not agree more, this was what i feared months ago, we have the same team playing the same formation, what did people expect ? i have a real concern that, even though it is only one game, we wont be able to turn it around with the current team. no heart or leaders.

04-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Sign Ryan Jack.

NMW isn’t exactly gerrard, but beside Ryan Jack and McCowan he’d look a lot better, and I suspect so would the whole team

04-08-2024, 08:17 PM
I actually think a good defensive midfielder would transform us in the centre of the park.

04-08-2024, 08:22 PM
I actually think a good defensive midfielder would transform us in the centre of the park.

Totally agree, doubly so if it’s Newell that’s being replaced (which will never be the case)

mcfly
04-08-2024, 08:23 PM
Fans have to back the team and the manager.

Any frustrations must be directed straight at the board and Kensell

Where has the money gone?
Why can’t we sign players prior to season starting but other teams can.

Without serious money this team will go down.

Utter garbage

04-08-2024, 08:23 PM

It would help. More so given we're hardly going to bring in 2 or 3 all singing all dancing midfielders. Will force Newell forward and free up the others to be more creative. Will allow Levitt more freedom also. As it stand everyone seems to be trying to do a bit of everything and it just isn't working. They don't compliment each other very well and are tripping over one another picking up the ball form the defence.

tonyrougier123
04-08-2024, 08:25 PM
Was it only Rooney that won the cup double with St Johnstone? Should we have signed McCart as well?

I'm not saying he isn't good enough. He'd be probably be fine. I just don't think he's better than what we already have. A fine signing isn't what we need right now.

He’s looked a lot better than anything we have at right back, plus he’s huge and obviously a hand full. All opinions but he’s in sides beating us easily and I’m sure he’s managed a goal or two against us. I think the point folk are making is these guys are available and look at least capable in this league. Our two right backs today both don’t defend well regularly for me. Not to say they aren’t any good but the system we are playing isn’t serving us or them.

04-08-2024, 08:29 PM
Totally agree…..I even messaged our CEO to tell him he is one that we should be looking at….McCowan would cost money so will end up at an ambitious club …HFC are not

How are Hibs not ambitious though? We are very ambitious. Just crap.

Vente cost a ****ing fortune.

04-08-2024, 08:33 PM
NMW isn’t exactly gerrard, but beside Ryan Jack and McCowan he’d look a lot better, and I suspect so would the whole team

At this point in time the boy can’t pass and can’t tackle. That down to him.

04-08-2024, 08:39 PM
At this point in time the boy can’t pass and can’t tackle. That down to him.

Neither can Campbell, and I’ve lost any faith in Newell actually offering something. I’d like to see if nmw can do something with players who are a) at all bothered and b) have some influence on a match

I think nmw has more chance of developing into something than either of his midfield partners

Cabbage-Patch
04-08-2024, 08:47 PM
Sign Ryan Jack.

If any Hibs fan thinks we can attract a player like Ryan Jack at this moment in time is utterly deluded

04-08-2024, 08:49 PM

Which is exactly what Gogic did in the season we finished 3rd.

04-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Which is exactly what Gogic did in the season we finished 3rd.

It's not really, though, is it. He wasn't anywhere near being one of our best players that season.

04-08-2024, 08:53 PM
It's not really, though, is it. He wasn't anywhere near being one of our best players that season.

Who said he was? He did do an important job though and we have not replaced him since.

andrew70
04-08-2024, 08:54 PM

Defensive midfielders often go unnoticed until they are gone.

Gogic was great at shielding the defence that season but at the time I believed we needed better.

He’s gone on to be excellent for St Mirren and we’ve went backwards alarmingly.

04-08-2024, 08:55 PM
Who said he was? He did do an important job though and we have not replaced him since.

He did an okay job. He was one of that teams weaker players. We tried to replace him in the summer.

04-08-2024, 08:57 PM

Gogic was like a 1 man midfield the season we finished 3rd.

04-08-2024, 09:01 PM
He did an okay job. He was one of that teams weaker players. We tried to replace him in the summer.

You’re wrong and you just can’t admit it to yourself. You’ve been saying for years how great Newell is and how poor Gogic was. I know who I would prefer in my team.

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2024, 09:05 PM
Serious investment was required, and promised, in order to improve the rotten squad we already had.

Instead, we've done the complete opposite and sleepwalked into the new season with a squad worse than the one we finished last season with.

Gross mismanagement on a grand scale.

04-08-2024, 09:06 PM
You’re wrong and you just can’t admit it to yourself. You’ve been saying for years how great Newell is and how poor Gogic was. I know who I would prefer in my team.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkOnly the current version of Hibs would be deluded enough to turn their noses up at Gogic and what he brings to a team trying to compete in the scottish game.

Would improve any of the midfield combinations we have cobbled together in recent seasons.

04-08-2024, 09:07 PM

You're wrong and you can't admit it to yourself.

Gogic is playing an entirely different position now. That's how good a midfielder he was.

I've never really ever said Newell is great. I've said he is our best midfielder, which remains true.

You've been saying for years we'd be shortly joining a ****ing super league with the Scandinavian teams. Let's not go down the slavering ***** route eh. You've a much worse record than me.

04-08-2024, 09:07 PM
Only the current version of Hibs would be deluded enough to turn their noses up at Gogic and what he brings to a team trying to compete in the scottish game.

Would improve any of the midfield combinations we have cobbled together in recent seasons.

He has not played midfield in years now.

04-08-2024, 09:09 PM
He has not played midfield in years now.Defensive midfield role for us was what I was getting at but take your point.

04-08-2024, 09:18 PM
You're wrong and you can't admit it to yourself.

Gogic is playing an entirely different position now. That's how good a midfielder he was.

I've never really ever said Newell is great. I've said he is our best midfielder, which remains true.

You've been saying for years we'd be shortly joining a ****ing super league with the Scandinavian teams. Let's not go down the slavering ***** route eh. You've a much worse record than me.

I’ve been consistent on Newell and this midfield but you’re right, so long as he’s a wee bit better than the other two then he must be good. [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

04-08-2024, 09:19 PM

Arguing over Gogic regardless of how much it irks people is absolutely irrelevant now. Our whole effin team, management and owners are 💩 and even a team full of Gogics are not going to fix that. 😡

04-08-2024, 09:26 PM

To be fair to Gogic, while he was far from our best player technically, he was a mainstay in the side that finished third and was probably a couple flipped results away from being CDM in our most successful season for 50 years. He obviously offered us something that made us tougher to play through and overall better side than without him.

I feel like every time we get a defensive minded midfielder we all eventually piss and moan that they can't play the ball like prime Iniesta, but then we get someone who can play it in their place - because we're Hibs and should play liquid football at all times - and then we question why that player can't tackle like prime Busquets and we need a new Matty Jack, who himself couldn't pass water and the cycle starts again.

Every team, even that Barcelona side to use a bad example in comparison to us, is built on that balance and whenever we've actually had it in our squad we've usually had a successful season. We absolutely have not had that consistently since Gogic left, in fact our best spells over the last couple of seasons since has probably been when Jimmy Jeggo was playing for us and allowed to go do the Gogic stuff. That's not to say Jeggo himself was this perfect player either, but I think we get so hung up on watching them on the ball do the simplest things that we don't ever appreciate what they can do off the ball which was majority of what they were signed to do.

04-08-2024, 09:31 PM
Sign Ryan Jack.

Decent call

04-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Not sure who we will sign but I’m just going to trust the process.

04-08-2024, 09:44 PM
Not sure who we will sign but I’m just going to trust the process.That is all that is required

Once Hoilett, Hodge and all the Ian Gordon signings come through we will be flying

3 points on Sunday and into the next round come the 18th

04-08-2024, 09:44 PM
When St Mirren did us 0-3 at home, I loved the way Gogic played with his socks down and no shinnies. Said everything about our side unfortunately.

04-08-2024, 09:45 PM
To be fair to Gogic, while he was far from our best player technically, he was a mainstay in the side that finished third and was probably a couple flipped results away from being CDM in our most successful season for 50 years. He obviously offered us something that made us tougher to play through and overall better side than without him.

I feel like every time we get a defensive minded midfielder we all eventually piss and moan that they can't play the ball like prime Iniesta, but then we get someone who can play it in their place - because we're Hibs and should play liquid football at all times - and then we question why that player can't tackle like prime Busquets and we need a new Matty Jack, who himself couldn't pass water and the cycle starts again.

Every team, even that Barcelona side to use a bad example in comparison to us, is built on that balance and whenever we've actually had it in our squad we've usually had a successful season. We absolutely have not had that consistently since Gogic left, in fact our best spells over the last couple of seasons since has probably been when Jimmy Jeggo was playing for us and allowed to go do the Gogic stuff. That's not to say Jeggo himself was this perfect player either, but I think we get so hung up on watching them on the ball do the simplest things that we don't ever appreciate what they can do off the ball which was majority of what they were signed to do.

[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

FastEddieFelson
04-08-2024, 09:52 PM

He played midfield on Thursday night

04-08-2024, 10:03 PM
He played midfield on Thursday night

He didn’t, he played in a back 3 in a 3-5-2/3-4-3 like he did today.

04-08-2024, 10:08 PM
Gogic is still in the air looking for David Wotherspoon as he chopped inside to place a ball neatly in the box for them to win the cup.

04-08-2024, 10:10 PM

Agree with most of that, although have to say that I thought Gogic was a miles better player than Jeggo.

JJP
04-08-2024, 10:12 PM
Agree with most of that, although have to say that I thought Gogic was a miles better player than Jeggo.

And Jeggo was a better player than NMW. The decline continues.

04-08-2024, 10:12 PM
Gogic is still in the air looking for David Wotherspoon as he chopped inside to place a ball neatly in the box for them to win the cup.

I was far from a Gogic fan but he was only out trying to block that cross because Boyle and Paul McGinn had messed up multiple attempts to deal with Spoony and Booth in the lead up to it.

04-08-2024, 10:13 PM

You’re 100% was spot on.

We cry and moan about wanting someone to do that role and when we sign them we appreciate them for about 5 games.

Within that 5 games our form tends to improve until we get a draw we should have won and then it’s “we don’t need him in this type of game”

We then continuously moan about them not being good enough on the ball etc

04-08-2024, 10:15 PM

This is another part of it, when we watch players like Gogic to other teams we only recognise the good things they do.

When they come to us, as fans we tend to look for the negative or an excuse as to why something happened and someone to blame

The first goal today is prime example, you can pick it apart but the St Mirren player done brilliantly.

If Elie, Boyle etc done that we’d be saying how good it was

HendoDelivered
04-08-2024, 10:32 PM
The Luke McCowan chat is fantasy stuff. There is zero chance he will be coming to Hibs, zero.

Chorley Hibee
04-08-2024, 10:44 PM
The Luke McCowan chat is fantasy stuff. There is zero chance he will be coming to Hibs, zero.

Said the same earlier today.

Free transfer dross, over the hill players, permanently injured players, and untried youngsters on loan is our idea of strengthening this woeful side.

We're in big trouble.

04-08-2024, 10:54 PM

Agree with both of you. I think NMW is another example of where we've gone wrong thought we could replace Jeggo with a better all round midfielder instead of just a better version of Jeggo. While he may have a bit more of an engine and occasionally plays it forward better than Gogic/Jeggo can, the reality is he lacks any real reading of the game as a defensive minded midfielder.

04-08-2024, 10:58 PM

Can’t see anyone wanting to come to us just now. Club is a shambles.

04-08-2024, 11:04 PM

I'm not quite sure yet if that is true but, if it is, then we are in serious trouble.

04-08-2024, 11:06 PM
I'm not quite sure yet if that is true but, if it is, then we are in serious trouble.

I’m still holding out a bit of hope for NMW but it’s likely misplaced. We badly need a player who breaks up play and I thought it might be him.

snedzuk
04-08-2024, 11:21 PM
How are Hibs not ambitious though? We are very ambitious. Just crap.

Vente cost a ****ing fortune.

A million pound player got for 700k because he can only run for 60 minutes.