View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72

15-08-2024, 06:06 AM
I think he might well get a game for them. Remember they have Ralston, Taylor, Johnston etc getting plenty of game time. £1m is a huge outlay for us and that player would be an instant 1st team regular, but they spend that all the time on speculative signings that they hope will work out

15-08-2024, 06:06 AM
He’s not getting anywhere near their first team.

He’s on a 4 year contract.

They are getting him out the building and hoping someone comes into buy him eventually.

He was signed around the time Marco Tilio was signed from Oz.

Tilio has already been loaned out back to Melbourne City, after 27 minutes in the first team.

Kwon got zero minutes.

We're in agreement, as I said, that they are hoping his time at Hibs will develop him so they can get a fee.

They will also think he will improve our side and therefore the chances of us taking points off Rangers is increased.

I'm not really sure what Tilio has to do with it to be perfectly honest.

15-08-2024, 06:07 AM
I remember Celtic fans saying that about McGinn.

If O’Reilly is away, he’s a very similar profile of player, a Celtic fans and cheap.

We don’t stand a cat in hells chance if they come in.

I think he's talking about Kwon not McCowan as he mentioned 4 year contract.

15-08-2024, 06:12 AM
I remember Celtic fans saying that about McGinn.

If O’Reilly is away, he’s a very similar profile of player, a Celtic fans and cheap.

We don’t stand a cat in hells chance if they come in.

Mate, I was talking about Kwon…who we got on loan.

I think you thought I was talking about McCowan?

15-08-2024, 06:14 AM
I think he's talking about Kwon not McCowan as he mentioned 4 year contract.

Yep.

15-08-2024, 06:21 AM
We're in agreement, as I said, that they are hoping his time at Hibs will develop him so they can get a fee.

They will also think he will improve our side and therefore the chances of us taking points off Rangers is increased.

I'm not really sure what Tilio has to do with it to be perfectly honest.

Well, Kwon and Tilio were both signed about the same time from clubs in the Asian Confederation on 5 year contracts.

Tilio was seen as a ‘questionable’ signing who many couldn’t understand what Celtic saw in him.

Seems to me at least, that the recruiter at Parkhead who recommended Tilio probably also recommended Kwon….who they signed from a second division Korean club.

Only my opinion of course, but both appeared to be ‘left field’ signings who just weren’t up to Celtic standards and were pretty quickly off loaded on loan.

That doesn’t mean Kwon can’t be a success for us btw..just the context I saw in their signings.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 06:57 AM
The last two times I’ve watched Dundee the player that I thought looked good was Lyall Cameron .

15-08-2024, 06:58 AM
Celtic midfielders;

Tomoki Iwata
Liam Shaw
Matt O'Riley (Sell him and add in the Arne Engels)
Reo Hatate
Callum McGregor
Paulo Bernardo
Odin Thiago Holm

Can't see McCowan getting much game time.

Folk saying McCowans one of the best midfielders in the league though? Surely that means he’d get a game…

15-08-2024, 07:04 AM
Time to walk away. Good player but getting into silly money territory now.

15-08-2024, 07:05 AM
It’s disappointing but the money if accurate that has been talked about we were going to spend on him , hopefully we have another quality midfielder lined up soon .

Yep. Plenty other fish in the pond we fish in.

And the Dundee board are only playing the game we played when it looked like Scott Allan was going to Rangers and Celtic nipped in at the last minute to sign him, even though he was unlikely to get much game time with them.

15-08-2024, 07:06 AM
Time to walk away. Good player but getting into silly money territory now.

:agree: Get onto other targets today, not on the last day of the window.

15-08-2024, 07:07 AM
The last two times I’ve watched Dundee the player that I thought looked good was Lyall Cameron .

They compliment each other well with Sylla sitting in behind.

15-08-2024, 07:08 AM
Really hope we don’t hold on and hold on for McCowan then leave ourselves little time to get someone else if he goes elsewhere.

Dmas
15-08-2024, 07:14 AM
Really hope we don’t hold on and hold on for McCowan then leave ourselves little time to get someone else if he goes elsewhere.

I agree, if it’s true we should move on right away, unsure who else other than Campbell we could go for, it’s gone very quiet on him since it was mentioned us and Aberdeen where in for him

15-08-2024, 07:20 AM
:agree: Get onto other targets today, not on the last day of the window.

The last day of the window is over 2 weeks away. Plenty time.

15-08-2024, 07:24 AM
I don’t believe Celtc will actually be in for him. He’s not as good as David Turnbull, who they sold to Cardiff cos he wasn’t wanted.

Dmas
15-08-2024, 07:28 AM
I don’t believe Celtc will actually be in for him. He’s not as good as David Turnbull, who they sold to Cardiff cos he wasn’t wanted.

Ploy to shake out any last min bids before accepting ours

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 07:29 AM

I would think that if our bid of 750k has been rejected and with Celtic now interested we will move on to other targets pretty quickly.

While it looks to be heading in disappointment over our attempt to sign him . I do think if we have 750k to spend on a midfielder we could pick up a very good one in Europe or a good young one down in England for that kind of money too.

15-08-2024, 07:35 AM
I would think that if our bid of 750k has been rejected and with Celtic now interested we will move on to other targets pretty quickly.

While it looks to be heading in disappointment over our attempt to sign him . I do think if we have 750k to spend on a midfielder we could pick up a very good one in Europe or a good young one down in England for that kind of money too.

There will be loads of good players available for £750k, but as we’ve seen with Vente, a good player elsewhere doesn’t always translate to a good player here.

Still nae guarantees when buying someone from another SPL team, but you at least know what they’re capable of against the teams we play against week in week out.

As it stands we don’t know the actual details of Hibs bid, Dundees want, or any negotiations around add-ons that might need to be had. I dinnae see any reason why we should stop trying to sign him just because it’s taking longer than some other transfers take. I hope we persist with it up to the point they’re clearly wanting more than we value him at. It can’t have got to that point yet.

Souter96Mac
15-08-2024, 07:47 AM
Disappointing if it's true they've rejected that, it is a large amount of money for a player in his last year.

Fair play to the club, they've given it a fair good go at trying to get him in the door.

I'm keen to get McCowan in, but I don't think he's worth over 750k, I'd be moving onto the next target.

LunasBoots
15-08-2024, 07:57 AM
Time to move on

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 07:59 AM
I would just spend the 1 million and get him but then that's why I don't own a football club!

I just hope we have another target, wouldn't surprise me if we had all our eggs in one basket.

TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 08:02 AM
Time to move on

Based on speculation from the Sun?

Fuzzywuzzy
15-08-2024, 08:03 AM
I see that Calum Paterson has been released by Wednesday 🫣

15-08-2024, 08:05 AM
I'm not sure there will be any interest in McCowan but if Hibs are hearing there is we need to make sure Dundee are aware that the £xxx amount was out final offer and if there is no movement in the next day or 2 we should already be well on our way to working on our next target . I'd be hopeful we have McCowan or out other target in by the Dundee game. Hopefully someone who has had a pre-season and is first team ready.

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 08:05 AM

He will end up back at Hearts, almost certain.

15-08-2024, 08:07 AM

He played last night for Wednesday, has he been released or been told his game time will be limited so he can talk to other clubs. Hearts failed in bids for him a while back.

TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 08:20 AM
On FB Eddie Breslin saying that he got told that IG delayed dealings with Dundee, and its The Sheep, not Cellic who have come in with a bid !!!
Dont know who to believe atm
B

Amazing the stuff people will make up when they decide they don't like someone. Yes, Ian Gordon very likely to have just personally delayed a transfer.

15-08-2024, 08:22 AM
On FB Eddie Breslin saying that he got told that IG delayed dealings with Dundee, and its The Sheep, not Cellic who have come in with a bid !!!
B

Just wait and see how it plays out.

We've been very active in attempts to get him, I don't believe for a minute that IG is responsible for how much time this is taking. Dundee are knocking back bids for him and meantime we've signed, what, 4 players?

I don't see how IG can be held responsible for this.

15-08-2024, 08:22 AM
B

That’s the same boy that said we were bringing in 3 players and it ended up being absolute nonsense eh?

15-08-2024, 08:23 AM
B

Certainly not him.

15-08-2024, 08:25 AM
As i said, all the stories flying about you dont know who is telling porkies or the truth. Just need to wait and see, if it happens great, if not im sure Hibs will have other targets.
B

15-08-2024, 08:27 AM
B

That FB page is nonsense

15-08-2024, 08:28 AM
B
Simple Don’t

NGoloGrantie
15-08-2024, 08:28 AM
Surely if our third bid was rejected we would’ve seen more sources confirm it other than the Sun this morning. Weird that no one else has reported similar.

15-08-2024, 08:31 AM
Amazing the stuff people will make up when they decide they don't like someone. Yes, Ian Gordon very likely to have just personally delayed a transfer.

It’s F’ing pathetic.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 08:32 AM
There will be loads of good players available for £750k, but as we’ve seen with Vente, a good player elsewhere doesn’t always translate to a good player here.

Still nae guarantees when buying someone from another SPL team, but you at least know what they’re capable of against the teams we play against week in week out.

As it stands we don’t know the actual details of Hibs bid, Dundees want, or any negotiations around add-ons that might need to be had. I dinnae see any reason why we should stop trying to sign him just because it’s taking longer than some other transfers take. I hope we persist with it up to the point they’re clearly wanting more than we value him at. It can’t have got to that point yet.

True though we have also got players like Latapy , Beuzelin etc in the past and 750k is a good amount of money that could get us a good midfielder from Europe or a really good young one from England like how aberdeen got Clarkson.

It is only speculation as yet though if Celtic are interested then we don’t have a chance in hell , if Celtic aren’t interested and it’s just a case of our bid of 750k being rejected then I don’t think Hibs should persist with it as I don’t think he’s worth any more than that . The whole situation isn’t looking promising and not one I’d want to see dragging out.

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 08:34 AM
It’s F’ing pathetic.

I don't understand why grown adults would make up football signing rumours for any reason. It is absolutely bizarre.

15-08-2024, 08:38 AM
If they want McCowan they'll get him. We can't compete with them.

I suspect the loan is to make us a better side with Kwon in it which makes us more likely to take points off Rangers. At the same time he can't play against Celtic.

Also to develop the player to try and recoup some of the transfer fee paid.

Surely tae god sellik would be after a better calibre of player fir the cash they have, it wont inspire sellik fans in Europe, that's for sure. They must think the the huns are already finished and don't need any more high calibre signings.

15-08-2024, 08:47 AM
I don't understand why grown adults would make up football signing rumours for any reason. It is absolutely bizarre.

No, me either. Especially when you consider the people who are doing so are supposed to be Hibs fans.

15-08-2024, 08:49 AM
Amazing the stuff people will make up when they decide they don't like someone. Yes, Ian Gordon very likely to have just personally delayed a transfer.I'm not a big fan but there's no chance that's true.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 08:50 AM
Surely tae god sellik would be after a better calibre of player fir the cash they have, it wont inspire sellik fans in Europe, that's for sure. They must think the the huns are already finished and don't need any more high calibre signings.

Probably totally off track here though is there not some rule that teams need a certain amount of homegrown talent in there squad when playing in Europe ?

15-08-2024, 08:50 AM
No, me either. Especially when you consider the people who are doing so are supposed to be Hibs fans.

Attention Seekers!

Fuzzywuzzy
15-08-2024, 08:51 AM
He played last night for Wednesday, has he been released or been told his game time will be limited so he can talk to other clubs. Hearts failed in bids for him a while back.

https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/callum-paterson-puts-hearts-transfer-161245238.html?guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuZ29vZ2xlLmNvbS8&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAALd-YFsX5pHAOjDBMjuBM_3E-VRAnQ9A_JFP2m5EcDSLqZSrOxDp79OsvflAKVTMtMbpIXB70uP UrODcct5fJkv611wulm053jPrHVjb6Lm1Cke4g9ychADXQyVT1 o2OUTm9HOej0z49UxtNs21yxmf6l8KsRzYWEwi7jYoEfzyE

Not sure if they are after anything or just want him off the books

HFC93
15-08-2024, 08:53 AM
B

Who is Eddie Breslin?

15-08-2024, 08:56 AM
B

They don't let just anyone have a Facebook page, you know 🙄

Houston7
15-08-2024, 09:02 AM
They may have European ambitions this year and see him as a key part to that. The rewards of a higher finish and European football might be worth more to them than what we offer.

I do think we have made a good offer though. Can't fault the club at all if this is true.

Based on speculation from the Sun?

Yes, it looks like his agent & Dundee FC are playing blinders by giving snippets to the Sun, who are doing their usual.

15-08-2024, 09:09 AM
It's been a while since we had one of these "Hibs identify Premiership rival's player as key signing and make endless incremental bids before someone else swoops in and pays the asking price" summer sagas. Love it.

Who's the backup target?

tonyrougier123
15-08-2024, 09:12 AM
I think what we are seeing with mccowan is folk trying their hardest to muster up added interest. If hibs are the only ones at the table with a serious over the odds offer for a middling to good player then Dundee are playing a risky game. If the rumours are true we’ve offered anything over 500k it’s too much already. If it’s been kicked out we should move on quickly.

We’ve got a crucial three games after Celtic where we will need 7points to kickstart this season and get the team motoring.

15-08-2024, 09:13 AM
Last night it was quoted that Dundee had accepted bids from Hibs and Bolton, there was a link to the media, now its getting stated that Dundee have rejected the £750k bid.
Ive now deleted my post due to friends explaining to me that i got it wrong, my bad, sorry .
B

Gloucester Hibs
15-08-2024, 09:19 AM
If we’ve bid £750k and it’s been rejected I’m happy for us to walk away. Hopefully we have other targets that would also fit the bill 🙏🏻

Last night it was quoted that Dundee had accepted bids from Hibs and Bolton, there was a link to the media, now its getting stated that Dundee have rejected the £750k bid.
Ive now deleted my post due to friends explaining to me that i got it wrong, my bad, sorry .
B

I don't think it was quoted, it was reported. Unless I missed it there was nothing direct from Hibs or Dundee saying the £750k bid was rejected, or that the bid even existed

McGruber
True though we have also got players like Latapy , Beuzelin etc in the past and 750k is a good amount of money that could get us a good midfielder from Europe or a really good young one from England like how aberdeen got Clarkson.

It is only speculation as yet though if Celtic are interested then we don’t have a chance in hell , if Celtic aren’t interested and it’s just a case of our bid of 750k being rejected then I don’t think Hibs should persist with it as I don’t think he’s worth any more than that . The whole situation isn’t looking promising and not one I’d want to see dragging out.

Think along same lines - would really like McCowan and hope we persist but if not and we are willing to spend that kind of money and accompanying wage there must be some real good alternative options out there. That is a big outlay for Hibs and at our level.

Whether we get him or not, heartened by the fact we are paying and prepared to pay for our targets, big money on Bowie aswell.

Also think by the end of the window there will be an opportunity to take some players from the BK clubs

tug.lismore
15-08-2024, 09:45 AM
What I would hope to see is if Dundee won't sell McCowan we have a similar player transfer bubbling along in the background ready to go.

So we then announce that we are withdrawing from the bidding on McCowan and boom here's our new midfielder.

If we have £750k to spend then a decent alternative must be available.

Hopefully all under the radar as the attention focuses on Luke McCowan.

That to me would show a recruitment team and policy that is proactive not reactive.

Of course, people will then say that the new midfielder was the second choice to McCowan but they are going to do that anyway.

Luke McCowan will be aware of the potential contract on offer at Hibs. We revisit a move for him in January.

Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk

15-08-2024, 09:52 AM
There’s no danger a club like Dundee can run the risk of losing out on the sums of money currently available for McCowan. He’ll be away by the end of this transfer window.

15-08-2024, 09:56 AM
I doubt that the bid will be £750k cash. Much more likely to be a package that includes add ONS which could take it to £750k.

Delay could be caused by the structure of the package.

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 09:59 AM
If we don't get him then I really hope McCowan sits tight and signs a pre-contract with someone in January (hopefully Hibs), would be pleased to see Dundee get hee-haw.

15-08-2024, 09:59 AM
Any truth in the rumour that Dundee want our head groundsman as part of the deal?

15-08-2024, 10:01 AM
Any truth in the rumour that Dundee want our head groundsman as part of the deal?

Houston7
15-08-2024, 10:03 AM

🙊😂😂😂

15-08-2024, 10:04 AM
https://x.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1824023476325200320?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ

Being reported we’ve bid 750k but nothing to say it’s been rejected yet. Think this was the guy that reported our bid in the first place. Anyone see us going to £1m?

Also says Bolton haven’t bid again after their first attempt.

15-08-2024, 10:05 AM
https://x.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1824023476325200320?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ

Being reported we’ve bid 750k but nothing to say it’s been rejected yet. Think this was the guy that reported our bid in the first place. Anyone see us going to £1m?

No danger, I doubt we could afford to and for a player with a year left? Nah. If they reject this bid then it's time to look elsewhere.

ruthven_raiders
15-08-2024, 10:15 AM
If we don't get him then I really hope McCowan sits tight and signs a pre-contract with someone in January (hopefully Hibs), would be pleased to see Dundee get hee-haw.

Dundee are only doing what any club would do, he's worth more to them by staying, they must fancy challenging for top 4 at this stage.... money from Europe can more than compensate....or a good cup run....

15-08-2024, 10:19 AM
Sky Sports reporting we have made a third bid

15-08-2024, 10:20 AM
Dundee are only doing what any club would do, he's worth more to them by staying, they must fancy challenging for top 4 at this stage.... money from Europe can more than compensate....or a good cup run....

They are simply trying to get as much as possible for him.
If he doesn't sign a new deal they will sell him this window in my opinion.

15-08-2024, 10:20 AM
I'm staggered that Hibs are bidding a reported £750k on a player who's 4 months short of 27 and in his final year of his contract.

Think he'd be a great addition to the team and shows some balls and ambition by Hibs.

I would love to know who plan b or c is, hopefully someone of equal ability.

15-08-2024, 10:22 AM
That will be our final bid surely

Reject that and we move on imo

If that's right it must be on the cusp of being acceptable for them is reckon

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

15-08-2024, 10:22 AM
Disappointing if it's true they've rejected that, it is a large amount of money for a player in his last year.

Fair play to the club, they've given it a fair good go at trying to get him in the door.

I'm keen to get McCowan in, but I don't think he's worth over 750k, I'd be moving onto the next target.
Frankly as I've said before I don't think he's worth 750k, need to take a step back.

MagicSwirlingShip
15-08-2024, 10:23 AM
Get it done Hibs 😊

15-08-2024, 10:26 AM
"Celtic are monitoring the situation".

If they wanted him they would have him by now. They might end up just signing him anyway because they can, it wouldn't be the first time, but the idea that they are mulling it over is laughable to say the least.

skyehibee
15-08-2024, 10:31 AM
So was the sun article a lot of rubbish saying the bid had been rejected?

WestStandWillie
15-08-2024, 10:33 AM
Celtic don’t need him, so it makes no sense for them to be interested.

Smells like Agent/Dundee trying to panic us to go higher

15-08-2024, 10:33 AM
Sky Sports reporting we have made a third bid

Is this the second third bid or the third third bid? Media just regurgitating what has already been reported elsewhere, it's not new information.

15-08-2024, 10:35 AM
Is this the second third bid or the third third bid? Media just regurgitating what has already been reported elsewhere, it's not new information.

Depends if what was in the Sun last night was correct or not

Houston7
15-08-2024, 10:38 AM

Absolutely!

15-08-2024, 10:38 AM
What I would hope to see is if Dundee won't sell McCowan we have a similar player transfer bubbling along in the background ready to go.

So we then announce that we are withdrawing from the bidding on McCowan and boom here's our new midfielder.

If we have £750k to spend then a decent alternative must be available.

Hopefully all under the radar as the attention focuses on Luke McCowan.

That to me would show a recruitment team and policy that is proactive not reactive.

Of course, people will then say that the new midfielder was the second choice to McCowan but they are going to do that anyway.

Luke McCowan will be aware of the potential contract on offer at Hibs. We revisit a move for him in January.

Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk

That will be the next negotiating tactic - leak something to a journo that we've moved on to pursuing other targets.

15-08-2024, 10:39 AM
I'm staggered that Hibs are bidding a reported £750k on a player who's 4 months short of 27 and in his final year of his contract.

Think he'd be a great addition to the team and shows some balls and ambition by Hibs.

I would love to know who plan b or c is, hopefully someone of equal ability.

I wouldn’t be surprised if this is our only real option currently which is why we’re pursuing it so hard. I also would prefer us to make sure the player spend money on is worth it than spend it for spending sake.

15-08-2024, 10:41 AM
Frankly as I've said before I don't think he's worth 750k, need to take a step back.

Aye, a decent player but I reckon if this is kosher and not just gossip then IMO we walk away and find somebody else (hopefully we have alternative in mind).

Souter96Mac
15-08-2024, 10:42 AM

Big time - Dundee will have dropped Celtic a note asking if they're interested, and someone at Celtic has come back saying 'aye, maybe'.

If there's ever a team to low ball another, and look to pounce on a pre-contract come January time to save them some £, it's Celtic. Especially for a player who will only be a squad depth player for them. There's no danger they offer Dundee anything close to what they are valuing LM. At best, they'll string them along this month promising they're interested, and just hold out until Jan.

15-08-2024, 10:44 AM
So was the sun article a lot of rubbish saying the bid had been rejected?

[emoji848][emoji848][emoji848]

Pytheas
15-08-2024, 10:45 AM
We better spend that money on the midfield one way or another. It can't be McCowan or we go with what we got and maybe a youngster from B'mouth.

Get a guaranteed starter in there next to Newell and Kwon and we're a totally different team.

Sioux
15-08-2024, 10:52 AM

Also says Bolton haven’t bid again after their first attempt.

Everything in that post has already been said on here.

15-08-2024, 10:53 AM
That will be the next negotiating tactic - leak something to a journo that we've moved on to pursuing other targets.

Pretty much certain to happen imo

15-08-2024, 10:53 AM
Aye, a decent player but I reckon if this is kosher and not just gossip then IMO we walk away and find somebody else (hopefully we have alternative in mind).

It would weaken a rival for top six and (hopefully) beyond.

It would give us a better chance of progressing up the league and in the cups.

LM and his influence on the team could easily recuperate his fee this season.

He is also a leader, which there is a distinct lack of in this team.

Sometimes you are paying for what the player will do to your team, rather than their sell on value.

snedzuk
15-08-2024, 10:54 AM
Any chance Celtc sign him and loan him to us.

Also, someone said to me at the Stubbsy event that Hibs were keen to make Martin Boyle to Dundee part of this deal.

15-08-2024, 10:55 AM
It would weaken a rival for top six and (hopefully) beyond.

It would give us a better chance of progressing up the league and in the cups.

LM and his influence on the team could easily recuperate his fee this season.

He is also a leader, which there is a distinct lack of in this team.

Sometimes you are paying for what the player will do to your team, rather than their sell on value.

Totally agree you want him to bring his quality personality and determination to our team.

15-08-2024, 10:55 AM

Also, someone said to me at the Stubbsy event that Hibs were keen to make Martin Boyle to Dundee part of this deal.

I imagine Martin Boyle would have a huge issue with that deal 🤣

Huge wage cut and move to Dundee

He’ll be off to Australia whilst still maintaining a good wage

15-08-2024, 10:57 AM

It has been said that Dundee don't want any Hibs players.
Not sure if it was said in the press or a random on twitter or Eddie on Facebook 😅 I just know I read it somewhere.

15-08-2024, 10:58 AM
Don’t think McCowan will be happening.

15-08-2024, 11:05 AM

Really? In today’s football market where Melkerson gets sold for that amount? £750k is not a lot of money these days and if we want the player then we should be doing what we can to get him. I’m not certain there is a player of equal quality out there for cheaper than that? And if there is, can we find him and aquire him?

15-08-2024, 11:08 AM
I think Mc Cowan will happen.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 11:09 AM

I don’t think he is either though if he’s who Gray has made a priority then I hope we get him. Keeps getting said that they are looking for a million which is still a big difference of 250k even if our bid is 750k cash up front .

Gut feeling is they will reject it again and we will move on to another target and rightly so .

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1824025083179872276?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1824025083179872276%7Ctwgr% 5E5bb8ebc6d97a84e8a205270bf23ad376dd3f16e2%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fthecelticstar.com%2Fengels-is-sort-of-player-we-need-hibs-bid-750-for-celtic-target-luke-mccowan%2F

15-08-2024, 11:09 AM
Really? In today’s football market where Melkerson gets sold for that amount? £750k is not a lot of money these days and if we want the player then we should be doing what we can to get him. I’m not certain there is a player of equal quality out there for cheaper than that? And if there is, can we find him and aquire him?

I’d suggest 750k is a lot of money to Hibs.

I hope we can get McCowan but there will come a point where we will have to walk away if we’re struggling to get to an agreement.

snedzuk
15-08-2024, 11:12 AM
I imagine Martin Boyle would have a huge issue with that deal 🤣

Huge wage cut and move to Dundee

He’ll be off to Australia whilst still maintaining a good wage

Whether he's able to go to Oz might well depend on Rachel's view.

15-08-2024, 11:13 AM
I don't see McCowan happening now - and I don't believe Hibs should be due any sort of criticism if it doesn't.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 11:19 AM
Don’t think McCowan will be happening.

I think Mc Cowan will happen.

I just love the Hibs Net 😂😂😂

15-08-2024, 11:24 AM
We'll end up with Paul McGowan

Trinity Hibee
15-08-2024, 11:32 AM
We'll end up with Paul McGowan

I’d rather Alistair than Paul

Tully
15-08-2024, 11:33 AM
Any word on vente transfer

Houston7
15-08-2024, 11:37 AM
Pretty much certain to happen imo

Yes, and Dundee are playing hardball for a bigger fee because they think Hibs have plenty of cash due to the Press spouting about the multi millions being injected by the Black Knights.

15-08-2024, 11:39 AM
Yes, and Dundee are playing hardball for a bigger fee because they think Hibs have plenty of cash due to the Press spouting about the multi millions being injected by the Black Knights.

To be fair, I think we were quite good at publicising that ourselves.

15-08-2024, 11:40 AM
Any word on vente transfer

Contract and fees to be signed

15-08-2024, 11:41 AM
Jim Spence saying McCowan won't be as Dens this time next week, not sure if he's implying he will be a Celtic player or if it's just because Celtic fans have jumped all over his tweet.

15-08-2024, 11:42 AM
Contract and fees to be signed

Loan fee? Or is it actually a permanent

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 11:50 AM
I don't see McCowan happening now - and I don't believe Hibs should be due any sort of criticism if it doesn't.

I never thought for one second Dundee would be prepared to sell Luke McCowan to Hibs for what we are believed to have offered. My criticism would be why persist in pursuing a deal if you weren’t prepared to meet (or get close to) the owner’s valuation? …..As we all know, you need the agreement of three parties to make a transfer happen ….from the outside looking in it would appear Hibs want a deal but not convinced Dundee or even the player do.

Bridge hibs
15-08-2024, 11:52 AM
I’d rather Alistair than Paul

Id rather have Doon Mackichan than Paul

15-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Tell ya what ... If we do end up signing McCowan he better hit the ground running and make us look considerably better considering the bother we seem to be going to here.

As it is I don't think this is going to happen and it's time to move on, or at the very least leak that we are now actively looking elsewhere and see if we can force Dundee's hand, perhaps even a cheeky offer for a similar player we know will be rejected EG £250K to St Mirren for Mark O'Hara.
As an aside, it says a lot about our current squad that we don't appear to have anybody we could use as a makeweight that Dundee would be interested in ... maybe Boyle, but absolutely no way he's going to leave Hibs for Dundee. I doubt a guy who was prepared to spend a couple of years in Saudi Arabia is going to be phased by a move to Australia with his family.

15-08-2024, 11:55 AM
I never thought for one second Dundee would be prepared to sell Luke McCowan to Hibs for what we are believed to have offered. My criticism would be why persist in pursuing a deal if you weren’t prepared to meet (or get close to) the owner’s valuation? …..As we all know, you need the agreement of three parties to make a transfer happen ….from the outside looking in it would appear Hibs want a deal but not convinced Dundee or even the player do.

Hibs will know if the player fancies it or not.

There will come a point where you have to walk if you can’t get to a place where Dundee agree. These things are never quick though, look how long it took Celtic to get to an agreement for Idah for example.

15-08-2024, 11:58 AM
So have we signed Shane MacGowan yet? Hurry up Hibs.....

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 12:01 PM
Vente away, confirmed.

Vente confirmed to be away on loan to FC Zwolle.

Vente away on loan

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 12:03 PM
Does that mean we are likely going for another striker?

15-08-2024, 12:03 PM
Wonder if this will see us go for Hornby or Sidibeh

15-08-2024, 12:05 PM

Well in the end that goes for any transfer. As it is IMO £750,000 for a guy in the last year of his contract at a Scottish club outside of the Uglies who can sign a pre contract and leave for sod all in the summer is really good money. I doubt even Celtic would stump up that if they are guaranteed to get him for nothing later.

If the Celtic interest is pish ( which lets face it, it probably is ) then McCowan would be nuts to turn down what is likely to be a minimum 3 year deal at a club who will probably pay him double what he's on at Dundee and who's team he will walk into.

15-08-2024, 12:06 PM
Delighted to see Vente away on loan.

He's been absolutely miles off it this season for us.

Nobody with any sense would be taking him permanently right now and a loan move to a more familiar environment will allow him to hopefully get some form and confidence back and earn a move in a year that mitigates the financial damage from his transfer.

Absolutely no hard feelings as his commitment has never been in question.

He's here!
15-08-2024, 12:07 PM

Mentioned it before, but I'm not convinced the player would see a move to us as a big enough step up at this stage of his career. At present you'd fancy Dundee to beat Hibs.

Be very surprised if Celtic were even remotely interested, though he'd obviously go there if they were. Think he probably hopes an English Championship/League 1 club might come in for him.

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 12:08 PM
Very disappointing about Vente for a couple of reasons.

15-08-2024, 12:08 PM
Does that mean we are likely going for another striker?

I don’t think we’ll be in any rush. Got two out and out centre forwards. Got Youan (for now) and Boyle who can play up front as well and we’ll probably go with one through the middle more often than not.

Be difficult to get anyone of any real quality in when they’re probably going to be third choice.

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 12:09 PM
Mentioned it before, but I'm not convinced the player would see a move to us as a big enough step up at this stage of his career. At present you'd fancy Dundee to beat Hibs.

Be very surprised if Celtic were even remotely interested, though he'd obviously go there if they were. Think he probably hopes an English Championship/League 1 club might come in for him.

According to ITK'ers on here the boy is coming to Hibs if a deal with Dundee can be done.

15-08-2024, 12:12 PM

I wouldn't. I fully expect us to beat them regardless of which team McCowan is in.

15-08-2024, 12:13 PM
I don’t think we’ll be in any rush. Got two out and out centre forwards. Got Youan (for now) and Boyle who can play up front as well and we’ll probably go with one through the middle more often than not.

Be difficult to get anyone of any real quality in when they’re probably going to be third choice.

Do Bournemouth have any strikers they could loan us?

15-08-2024, 12:15 PM

I don’t know but I could see us doing something like that, young player on loan or whatever. Would be shocked if we were spending any money on a replacement.

He's here!
15-08-2024, 12:17 PM

Be interesting to see how he does there. Really disappointing how generally poor he's been at Hibs as his record prior to coming to ER was excellent and I was excited by his arrival.

15-08-2024, 12:20 PM

Wonder if it could be from Lorient or similar.

They’ve a striker out of contract next summer who spent the second half of the last season on loan at Luzern.

Got to wonder if we’d look at him on loan whilst Vente is away

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 12:20 PM

my thoughts too ……I have yet to see anything to suggest he was keen on the move……sounds like he may only be lukewarm

15-08-2024, 12:21 PM
Guaranteed Vente will score 20 goals this season [emoji23]

Another colossal waste of cash by the board

15-08-2024, 12:22 PM
You'd think if Vente hadn't defied space-time to miss that chance against St Mirren he'd still be here.

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 12:22 PM
According to ITK'ers on here the boy is coming to Hibs if a deal with Dundee can be done.

they are not ITkers but make it uppers

15-08-2024, 12:23 PM

If he scores 20 in the top flight then we’ll make a fortune on him

bringbackbenny
15-08-2024, 12:24 PM

I hope he does score 20+ goals, makes a transfer more likely and get back the fees paid. Or get him shipshape and ready to return for our 25/26 Champions League campaign :wink:

15-08-2024, 12:25 PM
I hope he does score 20+ goals, makes a transfer more likely and get back the fees paid. Or get him shipshape and ready to return for our 25/26 Champions League campaign :wink:
I doubt very much we'll see him back here, looking for a decent transfer fee will be the hope I suspect.

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 12:26 PM
Well in the end that goes for any transfer. As it is IMO £750,000 for a guy in the last year of his contract at a Scottish club outside of the Uglies who can sign a pre contract and leave for sod all in the summer is really good money. I doubt even Celtic would stump up that if they are guaranteed to get him for nothing later.

If the Celtic interest is pish ( which lets face it, it probably is ) then McCowan would be nuts to turn down what is likely to be a minimum 3 year deal at a club who will probably pay him double what he's on at Dundee and who's team he will walk into.

Respect your opinion but disagree. If I was McCowan I would sit tight until January and review what are likely to be several more lucrative options on a PCA. He is a very good player and assuming he avoids a terrible injury will have teams after him.

15-08-2024, 12:27 PM

Well, if the Bolton stuff is true that's already happened, allegedly matching Hibs offer, but he's still here. Whatever happens it's not just Hibs who are running out of time, so is he and so are Dundee.

So many imponderables, It could have been Bolton's offer was 7K a week on a two year deal that might see him fighting for a place. Hibs £6K a week on a three year deal and guaranteed first team football.

As for Dundee being fancied to beat Hibs at this point. I highly doubt that particular side of things has ever influenced a player in deciding where he should be playing unless it's two clubs offering similar wages, length of contract, training facilities and guarantee of first team football. That is not the case here.

Make your mind up.

If he scores 20 goals then how would that be a waste of cash if we sell him or keep him

GreenPJ

You can't blame the board for the chances Vente missed. I think he is a good player and wanted it to work but he should have had an additional 5-8 goals to his name as a minimum. It wasn't working out for whatever reason and was time to stop trying/creating excuses.

15-08-2024, 12:29 PM
my thoughts too ……I have yet to see anything to suggest he was keen on the move……sounds like he may only be lukewarm

Not being cheeky and not saying you are wrong but are you basing your assessment on something that you have heard ?

15-08-2024, 12:30 PM
Respect your opinion but disagree. If I was McCowan I would sit tight until January and review what are likely to be several more lucrative options on a PCA. He is a very good player and assuming he avoids a terrible injury will have teams after him.

From the outside that seems like the most sensible approach for him to take.

15-08-2024, 12:30 PM

He must be delighted to get away from his boogey man, Montgomery, who almost ended his career.

Wish him well etc, hopefully he makes the move permanent. Another Hibs signing shipped out within 12 months.

TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 12:31 PM
Not being cheeky and not saying you are wrong but are you basing your assessment on something that you have heard ?

The reality these days is that you don't go making repeated offers for a player if you haven't already checked with the agent that a deal with the player could be done.

15-08-2024, 12:33 PM

That would be an excellent outcome and I hope he does.

15-08-2024, 12:37 PM

I don't disagree when it comes to McCowan's side of it ... with no transfer fee involved he could certainly bargain for better wages if the interest is there. But as you say, injury is always a concern and that's the balance for him ... a guarantee now, or something that might not happen later.

I'm thinking more of Dundee, who I can't believe would turn down 3/4 of a million quid for a player the might lose for nothing. This is a club who average 5000 and are looking to build a new stadium. I acknowledge in the end it might not be their call.

15-08-2024, 12:40 PM
The reality these days is that you don't go making repeated offers for a player if you haven't already checked with the agent that a deal with the player could be done.

So surely that doesn’t mean his response is lukewarm if we keep offering ??

15-08-2024, 12:40 PM

I hope we're getting another striker in from somewhere. With McKirdy having his health condition "managed" (i.e. he won't be available very much) we are short in that department.

15-08-2024, 12:43 PM
Wonder if it could be from Lorient or similar.

They’ve a striker out of contract next summer who spent the second half of the last season on loan at Luzern.

Got to wonder if we’d look at him on loan whilst Vente is away
Been having a look to see who these guys have on their books that we could possibly get at ER for the season. I think Bournemouth already sent out a few young forwards out on loan. I can't see any of their players who would come to Hibs this season on loan and beef up our attack or midfield? Any suggestions?

NGoloGrantie
15-08-2024, 12:47 PM
Been having a look to see who these guys have on their books that we could possibly get at ER for the season. I think Bournemouth already sent out a few young forwards out on loan. I can't see any of their players who would come to Hibs this season on loan and beef up our attack or midfield? Any suggestions?

Bournemouth today signing Porto striker Evanilson. That might potentially free up Dan Jebbison for a loan here

15-08-2024, 12:47 PM
Bournemouth today signing Porto striker Evanilson. That might potentially free up Dan Jebbison for a loan here

Doesn't he just replace Solanke though?

NGoloGrantie
15-08-2024, 12:52 PM
Doesn't he just replace Solanke though?

Oh aye true forgot solanke left for spurs. Was expecting us to get Adu-Adjei, surprised he went elsewhere.

15-08-2024, 12:53 PM
Oh aye true forgot solanke left for spurs. Was expecting us to get Adu-Adjei, surprised he went elsewhere.

That certainly seemed to be the thoughts of some Bournemouth fans also tbh

Gordy M
15-08-2024, 12:56 PM
I hope we're getting another striker in from somewhere. With McKirdy having his health condition "managed" (i.e. he won't be available very much) we are short in that department.

Im not sure we are, depwnds how we play, but at the moment we have Bowie, Kuracheyvic, McKirdy, Youhan and could be argued Boyle. If we are going 2 out and out strikers then maybe one more?

15-08-2024, 12:56 PM

None from Bournemouth that stand out to me as obvious options, albeit I know nothing about pretty much all of them!

The Lorient striker I was on about is Adrian Grbic.

Suppose it depends what Lorient think about players going forward now they’ve been relegated.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2024, 12:59 PM
Good move for Vente. Good luck to him, will be interesting to see how he does. Could see him doing well.

15-08-2024, 01:02 PM
You can't blame the board for the chances Vente missed. I think he is a good player and wanted it to work but he should have had an additional 5-8 goals to his name as a minimum. It wasn't working out for whatever reason and was time to stop trying/creating excuses.

They spent the money on him didn’t they?

NGoloGrantie
15-08-2024, 01:04 PM
None from Bournemouth that stand out to me as obvious options, albeit I know nothing about pretty much all of them!

Suppose it depends what Lorient think about players going forward now they’ve been relegated.

Sambou Soumano potentially another one we could get from lorient.

Edit- Actually now I’m looking at him he seems to have done quite well in Ligue 2 last year on loan so Lorient might want to keep him around this year.

Adrian Grbic a great shout though

15-08-2024, 01:10 PM

Absolutely.

It’s amazing the naiviety levels of some on here. Anyone who believes Hibs are bidding without knowing McCowan wants to come is a bit beyond help 😀

15-08-2024, 01:12 PM
Adrian Grbic a great shout though

Plus he's over 6foot too

Mon the jolly Green Giants.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

15-08-2024, 01:12 PM
He must be delighted to get away from his boogey man, Montgomery, who almost ended his career.

Wish him well etc, hopefully he makes the move permanent. Another Hibs signing shipped out within 12 months.

You do know Monty left first?

Proved under SDG he isn't good enough for what Hibs need, wasn't just under Monty.

Cabbage-Patch
15-08-2024, 01:20 PM

Was thinking Jebbison could be an option. Him and Bowie up front would be very interesting indeed

15-08-2024, 01:20 PM
Absolutely.

It’s amazing the naiviety levels of some on here. Anyone who believes Hibs are bidding without knowing McCowan wants to come is a bit beyond help 😀

I thought everyone knew tapping up was the norm. Of course it is done via agents rather than directly with players but amounts to the same thing.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2024, 01:23 PM

56 goals in the last 3 seasons for a team that regularly get to the latter stages of the Champions League signing for Bournemouth. Mental what football has become.

SON OF PADDY
15-08-2024, 01:24 PM
Good move for Vente. Good luck to him, will be interesting to see how he does. Could see him doing well.

Really wanted him to do well here, but as you say all the best to the lad.

15-08-2024, 01:25 PM
You do know Monty left first?

Proved under SDG he isn't good enough for what Hibs need, wasn't just under Monty.

I had faith goals would come. He wasn't perfect and shouldhave taken more of the chances we've created recently. The whole team hasn't been great either so Vente wasn't alone.

I hope he does well on loan.

15-08-2024, 01:29 PM

I mentioned him a few months back. Seemed an obvious one unless BK group want to sell him on now.

Edinburgh Green
15-08-2024, 01:31 PM
I mentioned him a few months back. Seemed an obvious one unless BK group want to sell him on now.

Is he not already on loan at Lucerne?

15-08-2024, 01:32 PM

He was - last season.

ruthven_raiders
15-08-2024, 01:32 PM
Was thinking Jebbison could be an option. Him and Bowie up front would be very interesting indeed

Reading that jebbison is wanted by West Brom....

15-08-2024, 01:39 PM
Dundee have yet to respond to the current offer and it’s not known if that will be enough to tempt them to part with a leader in the squad, who has worn the captain’s armband in the absence of Joe Shaugnessy

From STV

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

15-08-2024, 01:40 PM
I think the Board deserve credit

They spent big on Vente when coventry were also offering for him

It didn't work out - that actually may not be anyones fault (not Vente, not the board)

But when it's not working out it takes guts for all parties to acknowledge it - look at Rangers with their "sunk cost" Projects that they cannot shift & who might be making them go Bust again

So, fair play - it's not worked out with Vente but he's got a good move, we have more committed players in the building & not doing a,Hagi or a cantwell

15-08-2024, 01:41 PM

Think he was on loan there at the end of last season, they had an option to buy.

MelbourneHibees
15-08-2024, 01:42 PM
Wonder how much of his wages we will still be covering for Vente.

15-08-2024, 01:45 PM

It didn't work out - that actually may not be anyones fault (not Vente, not the board)

But when it's not working out it takes guts for all parties to acknowledge it - look at Rangers with their "sunk cost" Projects that they cannot shift & who might be making them go Bust again

So, fair play - it's not worked out with Vente but he's got a good move, we have more committed players in the building & not doing a,Hagi or a cantwell

Yeah, I agree with this 100%.

gordie18
15-08-2024, 01:48 PM
Wonder how much of his wages we will still be covering for Vente.

None hopefully or at the very least a minimal contribution

15-08-2024, 01:48 PM
Dundee have yet to respond to the current offer and it’s not known if that will be enough to tempt them to part with a leader in the squad, who has worn the captain’s armband in the absence of Joe Shaugnessy

From STV

Wonder if that’s an offer where they’re now saying to McCowan do you want to go? Depending on his response they might approve it instead of not giving him the chance

tonyrougier123
15-08-2024, 01:53 PM
Latest offer must be enough. Dundee would do well to get that kind of cash again for him.
If we’ve moved on Stuart Armstrong 32 now but would be very ambitious signing. Free agent was on trial at Brentford nothing offered in 3weeks

15-08-2024, 01:57 PM
If and a big if our offer does get accepted

I fully expect Celtic to react and put the same offer on the table

I’d say he’d be a squad filler for them obviously but a half decent option for them all the same

Souter96Mac
15-08-2024, 01:59 PM
Latest offer must be enough. Dundee would do well to get that kind of cash again for him.
If we’ve moved on Stuart Armstrong 32 now but would be very ambitious signing. Free agent was on trial at Brentford nothing offered in 3weeks

Armstrong would be an unbelievable signing for us, unfortunately can't see that.

I do wonder, with Vente away for the season, would that open the door for Nisbet to come back on loan. He came on for the last 6 mins of Millwall's opening league game, and didn't even make off the bench for their league cup game on Tuesday - looks very much not in favour..

15-08-2024, 01:59 PM

In isolation I agree. However it follows, off the top of my head, Harbottle, Wollacot, McKirdy, Henderson, Kenneh, Mueller, Melkerson etc that were moved on within 6 or 12 months. The criticism pre dates Mackay, but Vente is just one of a number of signings we’ve had to move on shortly after signing, often in the next available transfer window. None of which were a short term “do a job” type like Jeggo.

TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 02:01 PM
In isolation I agree. However it follows, off the top of my head, Harbottle, Wollacot, McKirdy, Henderson, Kenneh, Mueller, Melkerson etc that were moved on within 6 or 12 months. The criticism pre dates Mackay, but Vente is just one of a number of signings we’ve had to move on shortly after signing, often in the next available transfer window. None of which were a short term “do a job” type like Jeggo.

The Board aren't making decisions on football players though - they agree the budget available and clearly they have tried to support the football department.

15-08-2024, 02:02 PM

Hope he does if he’s only on loan. Will help sell him.

TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 02:02 PM
Armstrong would be an unbelievable signing for us, unfortunately can't see that.

I do wonder, with Vente away for the season, would that open the door for Nisbet to come back on loan. He came on for the last 6 mins of Millwall's opening league game, and didn't even make off the bench for their league cup game on Tuesday - looks very much not in favour..

Maolida still available isn't he?

Souter96Mac
15-08-2024, 02:08 PM

Would love to have Myziane back, quality footballer.

15-08-2024, 02:10 PM
If we could sign Armstrong on a free and try and get McCowan on a pre contract in January , 25/26 starts to look very promising.

Armstrong has the quality to get a 3 year deal as well if he is looking to see out his career. He would be 35 at the very end of his final year, and has all the quality and experience to compensate for advancing years.

Mcbizz1998
15-08-2024, 02:13 PM
There is no chance we are getting Armstrong ffs. Let's be real here.

15-08-2024, 02:14 PM
If we could sign Armstrong on a free and try and get McCowan on a pre contract in January , 25/26 starts to look very promising.

Armstrong has the quality to get a 3 year deal as well if he is looking to see out his career. He would be 35 at the very end of his final year, and has all the quality and experience to compensate for advancing years.

Keep dreaming !

tonyrougier123
15-08-2024, 02:16 PM

It would be ambitious, if offers came his way championship or lower prem even one or two year deal would earn him a pretty penny probably more than we could afford in a 3yr deal. But worth exploring. Certainly the type we need.

15-08-2024, 02:16 PM

That's you cut off - nae mair hooch for you today, you've had quite enough by the looks of it..... :greengrin

NC1875
15-08-2024, 02:21 PM
Where’s the Armstrong chat coming from ?

15-08-2024, 02:23 PM
Where’s the Armstrong chat coming from ?

Think he's just being mentioned here as a nice option. No actual rumour.

15-08-2024, 02:27 PM
From Barry Anderson

Andrés Salazar joins Hearts on a season-long loan from Atletico Nacional with an option to make the transfer permanent next year (similar to Kenneth Vargas).
#HMFC #Transfers

1875Sean
15-08-2024, 02:29 PM

Be a great signing, Isn’t he still on big wages at Hertha since his move to Saudi fell through?

15-08-2024, 02:30 PM
Be a great signing, Isn’t he still on big wages at Hertha since his move to Saudi fell through?
Signing of the summer for me if we pulled that one off.

Cabbage-Patch
15-08-2024, 02:35 PM
Would take Myziane back if we can get him but surely would mean selling Youan or young rudi going on loan as we have those two plus Hoilett in that position already?

15-08-2024, 02:36 PM
Would take Myziane back if we can get him but surely would mean selling Youan or young rudi going on loan as we have those two plus Hoilett in that position already?

Yeah a bit too heavy on the left now, got Cadden too.

Dont get me wrong I’d take Maolida back no matter what.

But we would have to balance it some how

15-08-2024, 02:36 PM
It would be ambitious, if offers came his way championship or lower prem even one or two year deal would earn him a pretty penny probably more than we could afford in a 3yr deal. But worth exploring. Certainly the type we need.

I don’t think Armstrong will be finding a premier league club at this point in his career.

Wages will be out of our league, unless he wanted to come back north. A trial at Brentford says this isn’t the case.

15-08-2024, 02:39 PM
Maolida would be an excellent signing, I went in hard on him for choosing Saudi but all would be forgiven big man :thumbsup:

Seems likely that Youan will be away if our valuation is met.

15-08-2024, 02:40 PM
I don’t think Armstrong will be finding a premier league club at this point in his career.

Wages will be out of our league, unless he wanted to come back north. A trial at Brentford says this isn’t the case.

Didn't Naismith go through a similar thing before joining Hearts? Couldn't get a Premiership deal so came back up the road to settle?

15-08-2024, 02:41 PM
Didn't Naismith go through a similar thing before joining Hearts? Couldn't get a Premiership deal so came back up the road to settle?

That may well be the case. Certainly recall it being a bit of a surprise and a bit of coup for them when he signed.

15-08-2024, 02:43 PM
I think there is absolutely no way at all we get Maolida. We were a shop window spell for him that almost got him a move to Saudi, he'll have other offers.

15-08-2024, 03:00 PM
I’m genuinely stunned rangers for example haven’t tried to get Maolida

Their squad is absolutely stinking and he would instantly improve it

supermcginn
15-08-2024, 03:05 PM

We've more chance of Signing Lance Armstrong, Stuart will get a bottom end Epl team or a top team in the championship. Or Celtic!

ShetlandHibby
15-08-2024, 03:08 PM
Unfortunately I reckon Armstrongs wages are out of reach.

Sioux
15-08-2024, 03:13 PM
I'm thinking more of Dundee, who I can't believe would turn down 3/4 of a million quid for a player the might lose for nothing.

If reports are to believed, they already have, unless you think that Dundee have not been made such an offer, and the press reports are made up.

15-08-2024, 03:22 PM
I’m genuinely stunned rangers for example haven’t tried to get Maolida

Their squad is absolutely stinking and he would instantly improve it
They've got shot of their high earners, they are broke.

15-08-2024, 03:26 PM
Fair play to Hibs for trying for a 3rd time.

https://thecelticstar.com/engels-is-sort-of-player-we-need-hibs-bid-750-for-celtic-target-luke-mccowan/

Maybe need to up our £750 bid

15-08-2024, 03:27 PM
that's the 49ers now sold Leeds three most creative players, Archie Gray, Summerville and now Rutter, Brighton triggering the rutter £40m release clause with just minutes to spare, they're down to about 12 quality(i use that term loosely) first team players leeds fans now settling in for a few more seasons in the championship.

15-08-2024, 03:36 PM
Fair play to Hibs for trying for a 3rd time.

https://thecelticstar.com/engels-is-sort-of-player-we-need-hibs-bid-750-for-celtic-target-luke-mccowan/

Maybe need to up our £750 bid

Hope we’ve bid more than that. No wonder Dundee haven’t accepted

Hibiza
15-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Any chance of Dundee taking ,Jair , Campbell , Newell, combined as part of the deal.

15-08-2024, 03:45 PM
Any chance of Dundee taking ,Jair , Campbell , Newell, combined as part of the deal.

Think we’d have to give them alot more cash!

15-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Hope we’ve bid more than that. No wonder Dundee haven’t accepted

Dundee won't get any more than that. He's almost out of contract. That's a phenomenal offer by Hibs. Can't be criticised here.

£750. Oops

supermcginn
15-08-2024, 03:51 PM

I had heard Campbell was offered in the last couple of days as a sweetener but Dundee just want the money.

1875Sean
15-08-2024, 03:51 PM
Dundee won't get anymore than that. He's almost out of contract

Correct, if they don’t accept that time to move on to other targets, good to see we have that budget to bid on another type of midfielder

15-08-2024, 03:53 PM
I had heard Campbell was offered in the last couple of days as a sweetener but Dundee just want the money.

I don’t blame them

Renfrew_Hibby
15-08-2024, 03:53 PM
No point in offering Campbell, Jair ect as why would Dundee accept duds like that who ain't going to enhance their squad in any way.

15-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Dundee won't get any more than that. He's almost out of contract. That's a phenomenal offer by Hibs. Can't be criticised here.

£750. Oops

To be fair it does say £750k in the main article, just thought it was funny when I seen the headline.

15-08-2024, 03:58 PM
To be fair it does say £750k in the main article, just thought it was funny when I seen the headline.
If they are only asking 750 then they admins could donate 1000 from their booze fund and seal the deal no? :greengrin

15-08-2024, 04:00 PM

From STV

So as always the sun talking bollocks

King Cosell
15-08-2024, 04:00 PM
James McCarthy, anyone?

7Hero
15-08-2024, 04:03 PM
A lot of people here are undervaluing McCowan.. If shankland is worth £5m to hearts because he will help them get third and European group stages then this guy is worth £750l+ to Dundee if it helps them getup the table and an extended cup run. A million quid isn't far off. Not only is he a very good player hes also their captain and star player. Hibs will have to offer considerable Dosh to get him ..more chance of him going to Celtic ..

15-08-2024, 04:06 PM
James McCarthy, anyone?

Absolutely not.

15-08-2024, 04:06 PM
James McCarthy, anyone?

No thanks. He’s played 12 times in 3 years.

We’ve just signed Kwon.

15-08-2024, 04:08 PM

How much extra did we offer for them to take Campbell, too? :greengrin

15-08-2024, 04:08 PM
A lot of people here are undervaluing McCowan.. If shankland is worth £5m to hearts because he will help them get third and European group stages then this guy is worth £750l+ to Dundee if it helps them getup the table and an extended cup run. A million quid isn't far off. Not only is he a very good player hes also their captain and star player. Hibs will have to offer considerable Dosh to get him ..more chance of him going to Celtic ..

Nobody's paying 5m for Shankland. Unless they're buying his forehead by the square inch.

I don't think folk necessarily undervalue the player. It's the length of contract that is the issue. Dundee are overplaying their hand - as is their right I suppose.

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:09 PM

Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected …..pretty desperate stuff

15-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected …..pretty desperate stuff

Are Hibs playing it in public? Who's the source that's leaking to the media?

Why would we play it out in public if we had no intention of signing the player? All that would bring is grief to the board.

Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected …..pretty desperate stuffWhat have Hibs said publicly?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

15-08-2024, 04:14 PM
Are Hibs playing it in public? Who's the source that's leaking to the media?

My money's on the agent, not Hibs.

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:15 PM
What have Hibs said publicly?

Absolutely hee haw ……..actions speak louder than words and their repeated low ball offers to a league rival over several weeks is pretty desperate in my opinion

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:18 PM
Why would we play it out in public if we had no intention of signing the player? All that would bring is grief to the board.

I could bid 50%, 60% or 70% of an asking price for a house and guess what I won’t be moving 😂😂

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:20 PM
My money's on the agent, not Hibs.

Doesn’t change the widely held opinion that Hibs’ offers to date have been an exercise in futility ….has also only hardened their fans resolve not to see him come to us

👌👍🤞

Donegal Hibby

Shankland might be worth £5 million to hertz but he’s not to anyone else ….

McCowan might be worth a million to Dundee but he’s not to us ……

Dundee might get somebody to pay a million but if they don’t he will be signing a pre contract and they will lose money.

Either way I hope this is our last offer .

15-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Absolutely hee haw ……..actions speak louder than words and their repeated low ball offers to a league rival over several weeks is pretty desperate in my opinion

Why is it desperate? We are doing things the correct way. Saying nothing to the media.

How do you know they are low ball offers? Maybe Dundee decided to change what they wanted and have went public with the rejections.

Folk are really quick to have a dig at the club when really nobody knows apart from the clubs involved.

15-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Think the fact it hasn't been rejected yet (other than the Sun saying it has) means they're at the least thinking about accepting this offer.

If it's rejected though we have to move on, only two weeks left in the window.

15-08-2024, 04:24 PM
Doesn’t change the widely held opinion that Hibs’ offers to date have been an exercise in futility ….has also only hardened their fans resolve not to see him come to us

Widely held by whom? Sounds to me like standard negotiating tactics. Two sides - the selling side wants the biggest figure it can get, the buying side doesn't want to pay any more than it has to.

babahibs
15-08-2024, 04:24 PM

I know who's desperate here and it isn't Hibs

15-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Fortunately it’s not up to the fans. They can resolve all they want. 1.5 million is cloud cuckoo land. If Dundee want even a million for him they should have extended an enhanced deal to him last season.

15-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Why is it desperate? We are doing things the correct way. Saying nothing to the media.

How do you know they are low ball offers? Maybe Dundee decided to change what they wanted and have went public with the rejections.

Folk are really quick to have a dig at the club when really nobody knows apart from the clubs involved.

It's only in Dundee's interest to make any offers received public in order to try to get other bidders involved and try to generate a bigger fee. As the potential buyers it's not in Hibs' interest to provide a running commentary on negotiations to help out any potential rival bidders.

15-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Absolutely hee haw ……..actions speak louder than words and their repeated low ball offers to a league rival over several weeks is pretty desperate in my opinionSo how are Hibs playing it out in public?

How does anyone know the figures mentioned in the press are accurate?

15-08-2024, 04:27 PM
You really are trying too hard. Seriously.

15-08-2024, 04:28 PM

So they're "playing it out in public" by saying "absolutely hee haw"? Righty ho.

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:30 PM

I personally believe Dundee have been quite clear on how highly they rate their club captain and player of the year. They have given Hibs a valuation and if reports are genuine we are nowhere near it. Quite disrespectful to Dundee to persist and potentially unsettle one of their players if we have no intention of doing a deal.

It's only in Dundee's interest to make any offers received public in order to try to get other bidders involved and try to generate a bigger fee. As the potential buyers it's not in Hibs' interest to provide a running commentary on negotiations to help out any potential rival bidders.

Exactly and that’s what they are doing. Dundee that is And that’s their prerogative.

As is your post.

What do you actually know about our actions, the square root of zilch?

Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Not that it makes much difference to the McCowan situation though it’s been reported that Celtic have turned down a fourth / fifth bid of £21.5 million plus add ons for O’Riley.

7Hero
15-08-2024, 04:32 PM
Shankland might be worth £5 million to hertz but he’s not to anyone else ….

McCowan might be worth a million to Dundee but he’s not to us ……

Dundee might get somebody to pay a million but if they don’t he will be signing a pre contract and they will lose money.

Either way I hope this is our last offer .

You can't lose what you never had..

TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:34 PM
As is your post.

What do you actually know about our actions, the square root of zilch.

I’ve seen enough of our recruitment team in action over the past few seasons to make me want to 🤢…today’s £700k Dutch masterstroke by Ian Gordon being a prime example of failure in full flight.

Hibiza
15-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Forgot to add in JDH as part of earlier post.

15-08-2024, 04:35 PM
Forgot to add in JDH as part of earlier post.

Is there not chat JDH, Kenneh and Harbottle are in discussions to head out on loan down south?

15-08-2024, 04:35 PM

Hibs supporter my erse. You hate Hibs.