View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
10-07-2024, 03:31 PM
Josh Sims departs the club
10/07/2024
Ross County FC can confirm Josh Sims has taken the decision to move onto new challenges following the expiry of his contract.
Josh, played 64 times for the club, scoring 5 times in the process including a memorable winner against Rangers earlier this year.
We wish Josh the very best of luck in his future career.
Wonder if Mackay is interested?
I hope not
10-07-2024, 03:37 PM
I hope not
Yet he set up several goals for Murray who you are gutted we haven't signed.
Wouldn't have been giving a 3 year deal to Oli Shaws understudy.
As Simon passed him on the stairs to premiere league and Oli headed down to Hamilton.
Paul1642
10-07-2024, 03:40 PM
Also 5 years younger and English Premiership and Championship experience. Don’t think he’s any better than what he has right now though.
10-07-2024, 03:41 PM
From the stats I can find, I could be wrong, they have his assists at 0?
Not that it’s even remotely the same as wanting a 23 goal striker.
What’s the connection between me being “gutted” we haven’t signed murray and not wanting to sign Josh Sims? Cause he might’ve set a couple of Murray’s goals up?
Also not sure where you’re getting this notion that I’m gutted about him not signing. I thought he would’ve been a handy player to bring and would’ve been a benefit to us but not much more than that
10-07-2024, 03:44 PM
From the stats I can find, I could be wrong, they have his assists at 0?
Not that it’s even remotely the same as wanting a 23 goal striker.
What’s the connection between me being “gutted” we haven’t signed murray and not wanting to sign Josh Sims? Cause he might’ve set a couple of Murray’s goals up?
No idea really. Just bored with the hysterical reaction to us not signing him. Just happened to choose your post to reply to. As ever nothing personal.
10-07-2024, 03:45 PM
No idea really. Just bored with the hysterical reaction to us not signing him. Just happened to choose your post to reply to. As ever nothing personal.
It’s funny that, you seem to find my posts quite a lot to reply to.
There’s absolutely nothing hysterical about what I’ve said in not singing him or not signing Sims so it’s a bit strange you’ve chosen my post to reply to.
You’d maybe be better replying to a poster who’s actually being hysterical about SM not signing
10-07-2024, 03:54 PM
I don’t know anything about the lad Sims other than I think he plays in the same position as Jair.
If we were bringing him in to be a squad player rather than a marquee signing, I suspect he would do a better job off the bench than Jair did. In that sense he would be an upgrade on the current squad.
10-07-2024, 03:56 PM
It’s funny that, you seem to find my posts quite a lot to reply to.
There’s absolutely nothing hysterical about what I’ve said in not singing him or not signing Sims so it’s a bit strange you’ve chosen my post to reply to.
You’d maybe be better replying to a poster who’s actually being hysterical about SM not signing
Law of averages. If a poster makes dozens of posts I disagree with I am obviously going to respond more often than I would to a poster I agree with.
It's the nature of the beast on a forum.
I don’t know anything about the lad Sims other than I think he plays in the same position as Jair.
If we were bringing him in to be a squad player rather than a marquee signing, I suspect he would do a better job off the bench than Jair did. In that sense he would be an upgrade on the current squad.
Bingo you could do a better job than Jair off the bench! I really do hope SDG doesn’t have aspirations of playing him this coming season. I’d rather one if the young lads hit a chance.
CentreForward
10-07-2024, 04:00 PM
Was really looking forward to Murray’s drive and energy and hopefully quite a few goals. Instead we’ll end up with someone like Jebbison who will no doubt end up down the road by the end of the season having achieved very little. Totally uninspiring!
Cabbage-Patch
10-07-2024, 04:03 PM
Folk trying to play down Murray going to Dundee saying we weren't really interested is an interesting take. He chose Dundee over us and no matter how you dress that up that's embarrassing. A sad reflection of the the negative PR the club has inflicted upon itself last few years on and off the park. We are obviously seen as a risk despite the investment and funds available.
10-07-2024, 04:05 PM
Was really looking forward to Murray’s drive and energy and hopefully quite a few goals. Instead we’ll end up with someone like Jebbison who will no doubt end up down the road by the end of the season having achieved very little. Totally uninspiring!
What if we end up with someone like Maolida instead?
Folk trying to play down Murray going to Dundee saying we weren't really interested is an interesting take. He chose Dundee over us and no matter how you dress that up that's embarrassing. A sad reflection of the the negative PR the club has inflicted upon itself last few years on and off the park. We are obviously seen as a risk despite the investment and funds available.
He chose a three year deal for his boyhood club and home town over, what you'd imagine, was a one year deal at us. Maybe a year with an option of a further year.
He'd be mental to not choose that over us.
He has signed a 3 year contract there. He wanted to go "home" to the team he supported growing up.
There's no concrete evidence we even made a bid.
What's embarrassing is the ludicrous overreaction of some posters.
10-07-2024, 04:06 PM
Aye that could all be true.
It could also be true, that Simon Murray wanted to play for Dundee, close to home.
It could also be true that Dundee's offer of a 3 year deal was more appealing.
It could also be true that they wanted him more, so offered him more money, and a promise of more football.
Loads of things could be true, it's up to you if you want to just believe the worst ones :aok:
Or maybe we just weren’t prepared to offer him what Dundee were? Do you really not think we could have outbid Dundee if we wanted to?
I wouldn't be embarrassed, the assumption still being Hibs were in for him, maybe we were maybe we weren't.
Anyway looking at stats on Soccerbase
Guess it would need to be broken down further league Apps/ goal and cup apps/goals
2014/2015 24 in 45 all comps ( Arbroath league 2)
2015/2016 7 in 25 all comps ( Dundee Utd prem)
2016/2017 18 in 50 all comps (Dundee Utd Champ)
2017/2018 17 in 42 all comps (HFC/Dundee prem)
2018/19 . No stats on Soccerbase. South Africa?
2020/2021 6 in 11 all comps (queens park L2)
2021/2022 9 in 28 all comps (queens park l)
2022/2023 21 in 44 all comps (qp/RC cham/prem)
2023/2024 23 in 46 all comps (RC Prem)
Sioux
10-07-2024, 04:07 PM
So it seems we've lost out on Murray, a player who'd be at the same level as Boyle?
Murray would be getting bench splinters if he came here, and he'll know that.
10-07-2024, 04:09 PM
Unlikely we will get Jebbison, he is English Championship bound.
10-07-2024, 04:12 PM
So it seems we've lost out on Murray, a player who'd be at the same level as Boyle?
Murray would be getting bench splinters if he came here, and he'll know that.
Boyle is a far better player than Murray. Let’s bring in a top striker like Myziane.
JammyDoidger
10-07-2024, 04:13 PM
Bit gutted at that like, he is the type of sure signings we need right now to enhance the squad, not the gamble types we've been seeing in recent years. Shame but hopefully we find someone better.
10-07-2024, 04:16 PM
Livi sign Andy Winter ex Hamilton Accies
Must have signed 2 squads this summer.
10-07-2024, 04:17 PM
Bit gutted at that like, he is the type of sure signings we need right now to enhance the squad, not the gamble types we've been seeing in recent years. Shame but hopefully we find someone better.
Every signing is a gamble though. Murray's goalscoring history suggests that last season was a bit of a high point in a long career. No guarantees he would repeat his scoring feats again this year.
I also want someone in with a bit more all round quality.
Craigmount Hibs
10-07-2024, 04:17 PM
It’s not an embarrassment at all. The guy is from Dundee, he grew up supporting Dundee, and his family live there. Who knows whether Dundee offered better personal terms too? Plus he got a three year deal.
I view Murray very much like Van Veen last summer. 32 years old at the time, having had his best season after being mostly bang average for the previous dozen or so. To see how poorly Van Veen performed when on loan to Kilmarnock shows his prior season performances meant Motherwell cashed in at the right time.
Personally, I’m pleased we’re not signing a guy who I wasn’t at all bothered about leaving the club 6-7 years ago. Lots of effort, sure, but that can only take you so far.
davemcbain
10-07-2024, 04:19 PM
I wouldn't be embarrassed, the assumption still being Hibs were in for him, maybe we were maybe we weren't.
Anyway looking at stats on Soccerbase
Guess it would need to be broken down further league Apps/ goal and cup apps/goals
2014/2015 24 in 45 all comps ( Arbroath league 2)
2015/2016 7 in 25 all comps ( Dundee Utd prem)
2016/2017 18 in 50 all comps (Dundee Utd Champ)
2017/2018 17 in 42 all comps (HFC/Dundee prem)
2018/19 . No stats on Soccerbase. South Africa?
2020/2021 6 in 11 all comps (queens park L2)
2021/2022 9 in 28 all comps (queens park l)
2022/2023 21 in 44 all comps (qp/RC cham/prem)
2023/2024 23 in 46 all comps (RC Prem)
8 goals in 28 appearances at Bidvest. There's a limit on the number of foreign players in SA and when Murray was injured they brought in someone else, so once fit there was no way to play him. Spent most of his time over there injured. Club was sold a few months after he came back to the uk.
tonyrougier123
10-07-2024, 04:19 PM
As long as we actually sign a forward let’s be hopeful it’s a good one.
I’ll hold the club to no projects and I’d prefer he was a hibs player rather than a loan,loans can prop the squad no be it’s DNA.
It’s early but it’s a bit too quiet for me on the squad front.
hibbydog
10-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Och Simon Murray is better than what we have but not as good as what we want
So it’s a ‘meh’ from me
tonyrougier123
10-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Not seen enough of him to make an informed opinion but Armstrong has turned down a new deal at killie.
10-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Would you have given Murray a 3 year contract on what would have been a pretty decent wage? It would need to have been an alright one to compete with the benefits that Dundee were offering.
FWIW I really liked the idea of signing Murray, but not at any cost.
I’m also excited about the signing of someone like Jebbison. I don’t think the two opinions have to be mutually exclusive. It’s not a case of one or the other.
10-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Not seen enough of him to make an informed opinion but Armstrong has turned down a new deal at killie.
I wanted us to sign him last year. Unfortunately I think he’ll be out of our reach now
tonyrougier123
10-07-2024, 04:23 PM
I wanted us to sign him last year. Unfortunately I think he’ll be out of our reach now
Just reading Bolton want him.
10-07-2024, 04:25 PM
He chose a three year deal for his boyhood club and home town over, what you'd imagine, was a one year deal at us. Maybe a year with an option of a further year.
He'd be mental to not choose that over us.
Yes seems a sensible move for the guy. A three year deal is a brilliant deal for him.
10-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Yip I doubt he will be Hibs bound but the likes of him and McCowan would be the types of signings I would love. To do that then that would mean Youan has left for big money and we have also moved on a few other midfielders. So possibility of happening 0/10 😂
10-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Just reading Bolton want him.
What league are Bolton in ?
10-07-2024, 04:28 PM
What league are Bolton in ?
League one
raeburnhibs
10-07-2024, 04:36 PM
Not Embarrassing, completely logical for several reasons, the main one starts with a 3!
10-07-2024, 04:38 PM
As Simon passed him on the stairs to premiere league and Oli headed down to Hamilton.
I doubt they passed eachother. Hamilton is nowhere near Dundee.
10-07-2024, 04:42 PM
League one
Cheers .. Sure with BK and BF money we can compete with them for McCowan
Hibee Daft
10-07-2024, 04:43 PM
Dundee offered him a 3 year deal which he'd be daft to turn down. If we had signed him on that I'd be abit concerned
A big part of his game is his speed and stamina and that's what you lose as you get older.
10-07-2024, 04:49 PM
I would have liked him to sign, but not for 3 seasons.
10-07-2024, 04:56 PM
Like who? Some unknown?
We are looking at a guy called Muräe Simonz, 32 and a half, from the Albanian second division, scored 91 goals in the last 199 league games...
10-07-2024, 04:57 PM
We are looking at a guy called Muräe Simonz, 32 and a half, from the Alabanian second division, scored 91 goals in the last 199 league games...Better be ginger.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
10-07-2024, 04:58 PM
Better be ginger.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
No dark brown hair but with a ginger beard...his dad was a Fisherman from Lerwick
CentreForward
10-07-2024, 05:04 PM
Would you have given Murray a 3 year contract on what would have been a pretty decent wage? It would need to have been an alright one to compete with the benefits that Dundee were offering.
FWIW I really liked the idea of signing Murray, but not at any cost.
I’m also excited about the signing of someone like Jebbison. I don’t think the two opinions have to be mutually exclusive. It’s not a case of one or the other.
Ok, I don’t entirely disagree with you and the 3 year deal and his connections with Dundee probably swung it. Still gutted though. Really hope we can now bring in a quality established striker.
Unlikely we will get Jebbison, he is English Championship bound.
And then folk will use that as a stick to beat the club with, ‘missed out on another one *gnashing teeth*’ - some amount of constant negativity on here at the moment
10-07-2024, 05:10 PM
Rumour doing the rounds Kevin Nisbet to Dundee United on loan
10-07-2024, 05:11 PM
Surely no chance?
10-07-2024, 05:14 PM
Would be better coming home where he is loved 👀
10-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Surely no chance?
Injured last season, not sure if they have signed more forwards. If he's going on loan it would unlikely be to anyone in the championship so would possibly be league 1 or back up here. Might be credible who knows.
Edit ... They just signed Macaulay Langstaff
10-07-2024, 05:16 PM
Not a massive fan of the guy. But as a player and if he's available we should be all over that! Be ridiculous if we’re not.
Though can't see him coming back up the road to anyone really.
Exuberance1875
10-07-2024, 05:19 PM
We desperately need another striker in, Murray would have been a great option. But there needs to be other options out there surely
Scotty Leither
10-07-2024, 05:24 PM
I thought we might have had a striker and a creative midfielder in the door by now, in time for the LC games. Give the fans a boost for a mini-series of 4 games and hopefully hand out 4 tankings to teams that, if we were to hand pick a group to play against they would fit that profile.
Get the finger oot, Hibs.
10-07-2024, 05:26 PM
There’s not even anything from fan accounts on Twitter about Nisbet and United, which rounds is the rumour doing if not the most popular one?
10-07-2024, 05:31 PM
Hibs sneaked this signing in. Welcome home
https://i.ibb.co/tQZBRM7/Screenshot-20240710-182845.png (https://ibb.co/hLXs0RP)
10-07-2024, 05:31 PM
There’s not even anything from fan accounts on Twitter about Nisbet and United, which rounds is the rumour doing if not the most popular one?
https://x.com/raysimpson_21/status/1811032150310830220?t=qKnuuZwlsDvXhFNvJ8rbWA&s=19
Velma Dinkley
10-07-2024, 05:36 PM
Now apparently St Johnstone have beaten us to the signature of Hakim Sar-Temsoury. This is unbelievable.
10-07-2024, 05:39 PM
Not a massive fan of the guy. But as a player and if he's available we should be all over that! Be ridiculous if we’re not.
Though can't see him coming back up the road to anyone really.
I’m not sure it is ridiculous to avoid a player who has missed over 50 games through injury in just over 2 years.
ruthven_raiders
10-07-2024, 05:45 PM
And then folk will use that as a stick to beat the club with, ‘missed out on another one *gnashing teeth*’ - some amount of constant negativity on here at the moment
Suppose there will be lots of gnashing of teeth until we know what's happening with youan, and what quality we are bringing in for midfield and attack....time is ticking, still got some time before league starts tho....
Donegal Hibby
10-07-2024, 05:46 PM
Injured last season, not sure if they have signed more forwards. If he's going on loan it would unlikely be to anyone in the championship so would possibly be league 1 or back up here. Might be credible who knows.
After a 6'4 striker called Namory Cisse according to a Millwall article I read , Plymouth interested too .
10-07-2024, 05:48 PM
https://x.com/raysimpson_21/status/1811032150310830220?t=qKnuuZwlsDvXhFNvJ8rbWA&s=19
Thanks. So to clarify it’s not doing the rounds someone has made it up on twitter and it hasn’t gone any further.
10-07-2024, 05:50 PM
Dundee supporting mate reckons they’re after Stevie Mallan, wonder if he would be the McCowan replacement if he was to leave.
10-07-2024, 05:51 PM
Youans latest Instagram story is reason enough to keep him. Absolutely terrorising our players in training 😂
Donegal Hibby
10-07-2024, 05:51 PM
Just seen this ...
https://www.stirlingalbionfc.co.uk/harry-wright-signs-for-stirling-albion/#
Sioux
10-07-2024, 05:58 PM
Thanks. So to clarify it’s not doing the rounds someone has made it up on twitter and it hasn’t gone any further.
That sums up twitter as far as football is concerned.
10-07-2024, 06:00 PM
That sums up twitter as far as football is concerned.
Tbf most of the decent football headlines I get is from Twitter.
10-07-2024, 06:00 PM
Just seen this ...
https://www.stirlingalbionfc.co.uk/harry-wright-signs-for-stirling-albion/#
I didn't even know of this player until now. Did we publicise him signing a pro contract?
10-07-2024, 06:01 PM
I didn't even know of this player until now. Did we publicise him signing a pro contract?
Yes, he's Keith Wright's laddie
Exuberance1875
10-07-2024, 06:02 PM
Now apparently St Johnstone have beaten us to the signature of Hakim Sar-Temsoury. This is unbelievable.
Hahahahaha
Exuberance1875
10-07-2024, 06:03 PM
Dundee supporting mate reckons they’re after Stevie Mallan, wonder if he would be the McCowan replacement if he was to leave.
Talk about a downgrade
10-07-2024, 06:21 PM
Tbf most of the decent football headlines I get is from Twitter.
There’s a difference between Fabrizio Romano and Ray fae circle city
10-07-2024, 06:23 PM
There’s a difference between Fabrizio Romano and Ray fae circle city
Yip just saying Twitter is a great source of info for football news
cubehindthegoal
10-07-2024, 06:44 PM
Och Simon Murray is better than what we have but not as good as what we want
So it’s a ‘meh’ from me
Which makes me think we are getting it right now … possibly tried to get him in as a back up player for a year or two perhaps (though I’m not sure we know the detail?) .. but wouldn’t contemplate giving a contract of 3 years to someone who is 32 … no shame in that .. and actually gives me more confidence in the management now …
cubehindthegoal
10-07-2024, 06:51 PM
I thought we might have had a striker and a creative midfielder in the door by now, in time for the LC games. Give the fans a boost for a mini-series of 4 games and hopefully hand out 4 tankings to teams that, if we were to hand pick a group to play against they would fit that profile.
but don’t we all know the biggest number of players we can free off our wage bill will be next summer … and so will give us the ability to truly get our finger out and make more wholesale changes ?
We have a new keeper and two new centre backs … what everyone cried out for while Montgomery was here, but now we have had some free space to improve that at last .. that’s getting the finger oot isn’t it ? And the pre-season defence performance is looking good to date. Don’t you think SDG is doing ok so far with what he has and is building ? He deserves a break from nonsense like “get the finger oot” at this stage, and some encouragement and recognition, no ?
10-07-2024, 06:54 PM
We released him. along with a bunch of the other 18s. happens every year.
Donegal Hibby
10-07-2024, 06:59 PM
We have more than enough to deal with the league cup group games while taking our time in getting the right players in for the start of the season.
I doubt they passed eachother. Hamilton is nowhere near Dundee.
Not up to your usual standard of sarcasm :wink:
10-07-2024, 07:31 PM
Paton scores against Celtic this evening.
https://x.com/chrismac1888/status/1811114727378145750?t=RY1VhP0W6Q6wQ_wuRgIWGg&s=19
10-07-2024, 07:54 PM
Paton scores against Celtic this evening.
https://x.com/chrismac1888/status/1811114727378145750?t=RY1VhP0W6Q6wQ_wuRgIWGg&s=19
That’s a neat finish.
10-07-2024, 08:03 PM
Not to bothered about that, its been going straight downhill for him since Home Alone
10-07-2024, 08:13 PM
but don’t we all know the biggest number of players we can free off our wage bill will be next summer … and so will give us the ability to truly get our finger out and make more wholesale changes ?
We have a new keeper and two new centre backs … what everyone cried out for while Montgomery was here, but now we have had some free space to improve that at last .. that’s getting the finger oot isn’t it ? And the pre-season defence performance is looking good to date. Don’t you think SDG is doing ok so far with what he has and is building ? He deserves a break from nonsense like “get the finger oot” at this stage, and some encouragement and recognition, no ?
Well said mate
10-07-2024, 08:19 PM
All 3 signings have been needed to replace those that left.
Marshall
Hanlon
Stevenson (ok another CB instead of LB)
I think once we add more depth we can get a little more excited.
We still haven’t actually improved the squad compared to last season and definitely haven’t replaced Myzianes goals.
Marshall
Hanlon
We still haven’t actually improved the squad compared to last season and definitely haven’t replaced Myzianes goals.
Currently there is a serious lack of goals in the Hibs squad, anything happens to Boyle we are in trouble.
The Tubs
10-07-2024, 09:05 PM
Marshall
Hanlon
I don't think many expected us to sign a player of Myziane's quality and I'd be amazed if we can do it again this year. Nevertheless, our main attackers at the moment were scoring at the beginning of the season under Johnson but the defence was already shocking. While I'd expect us to sign attackers, if we can defend better but attack like we were at the beginning of last season, we'll be doing a lot better than when Myziane played for us.
hibee1875
10-07-2024, 09:06 PM
Currently there is a serious lack of goals in the Hibs squad, anything happens to Boyle we are in trouble.
Josh Campbell to assist 5 vente goals by the end of September.
We can only hope
Donegal Hibby
10-07-2024, 09:30 PM
Don't know if this is accurate though some of the players we lost we should with good recruitment be no worse off and in fact we should probably improve on the goals in our squad
Maolida is the big one we need to replace , hopefully that's were the Marquee signing that was mentioned might come in 🤞...
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/top-scorers
10-07-2024, 09:49 PM
I'd be amazed if josh Campbell passes to a hibs player 5 times by the end of September tbf.
10-07-2024, 09:57 PM
This new narrative that Josh Campbell is about to turn from Clark Kent to Superman is really building up a head of steam. Would love to know what it’s based on and am actually finding it quite disturbing that this is seen as a beacon of hope.
CentreForward
10-07-2024, 10:12 PM
Don't know if this is accurate though some of the players we lost we should with good recruitment be no worse off and in fact we should probably improve on the goals in our squad
Maolida is the big one we need to replace , hopefully that's were the Marquee signing that was mentioned might come in 🤞...
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/top-scorers
Sadly the marquee signing ended up at Dundee today 🥲
10-07-2024, 10:14 PM
Not a chance he was going to be a marquee signing
10-07-2024, 10:28 PM
This new narrative that Josh Campbell is about to turn from Clark Kent to Superman is really building up a head of steam. Would love to know what it’s based on and am actually finding it quite disturbing that this is seen as a beacon of hope.
Have to say I’m a bit concerned about that too. I don’t think it’s impossible Campbell could be a success if we play a system that suits him but I wouldn’t like to go into the season relying on him doing that. He should be starting the season as a squad player with the potential to becoming a regular starter if he takes his chances when he gets them.
The problem is we have too many midfielders I think and we aren’t likely to spend money on new ones until we can get rid of a few. In the meantime, Gray will be tasked with getting more out of the current midfielders.
There’s been some optimism about playing 3 at the back, if that’s the case, I do worry about where the creativity will come from.
Mrimbetween
10-07-2024, 10:31 PM
Certainly hope not
Id love to see players from Europe Bournemouth appear what a lift that would be Right now I dont see it
Mon, we need some good news and quickly
CentreForward
10-07-2024, 10:35 PM
Ok was on the wind up a bit but still wanted him to sign !
cubehindthegoal
10-07-2024, 10:48 PM
Marshall
Hanlon
We have prioritised the defence, the spine of the defence, where we needed to. Your point is moot … many here wanted Marshall and central defence replaced … it’s happened ! You seem to acknowledge that mentioning Stevenson is irrelevant to that also.
So all good then so far ? Improved I’d say. If we had lost 7-0 to the Greek league champions in a pre-season friendly last week, nobody would’ve been shocked. We didn’t, though … we actually won, and didn’t concede a goal. A friendly, pre-season … I get it .. but .. some of our fans find giving credit and applause to our own team sticks in their craw. Puzzles me.
cubehindthegoal
10-07-2024, 10:52 PM
Well said mate
Thanks… bout time some of our supporters started to learn what supporting Hibs means … just a thought 🙄
WeAreHibs
10-07-2024, 10:55 PM
That wasn't our inTENT
cubehindthegoal
10-07-2024, 10:56 PM
I’m guessing it’s based on SDG’s belief he can get the best out of him. But then, what would our Cup-winning captain know, compared to us experts on this forum.
10-07-2024, 10:59 PM
Heard Guy Rope is a free agent.
Scotty Leither
10-07-2024, 11:28 PM
I’m guessing it’s based on SDG’s belief he can get the best out of him. But then, what would our Cup-winning captain know, compared to us experts on this forum.
Gray will get a free pass until the first quarter of games are over. The scrutiny will then fall on the Board, and if the first quarter of games produces a Derby win then that’ll buy them some time.
Thus far though we’ve made three underwhelming signings, dross like Tavares, McKirdy, and Kenneh are still hanging about the first team, and we’ve got our first competitive fixture looming on Saturday coming, with no creative midfielder signed, nor a CF that can hold the ball up and give us a physical presence up front that you sorely need in this league.
So aye, I really think Mackay and the Board need to start earning their corn and deliver a season where our sights are set a bit higher than merely “transition”. Again.
Mackay can only sign players who want to come to a bottom 6 SPL club with a reputation for churning coaches and players.
That will not be a massive list.
10-07-2024, 11:46 PM
Mackay can only sign players who want to come to a bottom 6 SPL club with a reputation for churning coaches and players.
[emoji106] good one.
11-07-2024, 02:03 AM
Who'll get the other 5 assists?
11-07-2024, 05:35 AM
We have prioritised the defence, the spine of the defence, where we needed to. Your point is moot … many here wanted Marshall and central defence replaced … it’s happened ! You seem to acknowledge that mentioning Stevenson is irrelevant to that also.
So all good then so far ? Improved I’d say. If we had lost 7-0 to the Greek league champions in a pre-season friendly last week, nobody would’ve been shocked. We didn’t, though … we actually won, and didn’t concede a goal. A friendly, pre-season … I get it .. but .. some of our fans find giving credit and applause to our own team sticks in their craw. Puzzles me.
Think my point is fair - we had more depth last season . Not always but looking at our bench at the weekend it wasn’t great.
Right now our starting 11 still needs to improve and our bench needs more depth - basically some current starters becoming bench players. Still too many players without competition for their place.
I genuinely look at our team and see a different manager, a few different players at the back but several players who struggled last season middle to front to score goals and protect the back line. If you watched the win against the Greek champions they still found spaces in central midfield areas which we can’t allow as we were fortunate not to concede.
We could easily go through the league cup group stage and not concede a goal since we seem more organised but we also need to be ready as in just over 3 weeks time we play St Mirren in the league which will be a much tougher game.
I’m happy we seem to be getting more of the basics right but goals win games and a CDM / play maker and regular goal scorer will transform this team. Not panicking but think back to Aberdeen semi final at Hampden - we should have won that game but couldn’t break them down.
11-07-2024, 05:46 AM
I'm not fretting at all. The squad we have currently will do better than we did last season. The issue wasn't the squad. It was the manager and the rediculous way he had us set up for months on end. We'll add a few more players before the first league game anyway. We'll be more than fine.
11-07-2024, 06:02 AM
Like players care about that stuff if the money's right.
11-07-2024, 06:10 AM
I'd be amazed if josh Campbell passes to a hibs player 5 times by the end of September tbf.
Is there any need for this treatment of our young players?
HairyMM
11-07-2024, 06:13 AM
Like players care about that stuff if the money's right.
These are exactly the players we should avoid
11-07-2024, 06:19 AM
Quite simply no there isnt
11-07-2024, 06:26 AM
Is 24 young?
If Campbell is a young player, so are Jair and Rocky, and they get far worse abuse. It's grim really.
Only stick I see Campbell get is about the genuine deficiencies in his game.
11-07-2024, 06:31 AM
He managed two assists all last season. Obviously hope you’re right. But hope we’re still looking for a creative mid.
11-07-2024, 06:34 AM
These are exactly the players we should avoid
We should avoid players who would happily come to the club and concentrate on the ones who won't come because we go through managers quickly?
That should go well.
Cat Stanton
11-07-2024, 07:07 AM
In fairness, he's not saying it to Josh Campbell himself. On a football discussion forum, he's discussing a football topic ie how good or not (it's debated) one of our players is. I think that's allowed. If you weren't allowed to say anything critical, there wouldn't be much point in having a forum, and/or it would start to look like a forum in a political dictatorship... Plus, with the exception of a few periods of history, it's quite hard to discuss Hibs without being critical!
cubehindthegoal
11-07-2024, 07:49 AM
Think my point is fair - we had more depth last season . Not always but looking at our bench at the weekend it wasn’t great.
Right now our starting 11 still needs to improve and our bench needs more depth - basically some current starters becoming bench players. Still too many players without competition for their place.
I genuinely look at our team and see a different manager, a few different players at the back but several players who struggled last season middle to front to score goals and protect the back line. If you watched the win against the Greek champions they still found spaces in central midfield areas which we can’t allow as we were fortunate not to concede.
We could easily go through the league cup group stage and not concede a goal since we seem more organised but we also need to be ready as in just over 3 weeks time we play St Mirren in the league which will be a much tougher game.
I’m happy we seem to be getting more of the basics right but goals win games and a CDM / play maker and regular goal scorer will transform this team. Not panicking but think back to Aberdeen semi final at Hampden - we should have won that game but couldn’t break them down.
The three signings were key ones, I’m sure all would agree, and they seem to have settled well. I do believe we will sign more players this summer too, so the remainder of your post will be addressed too. And like it or not, it’s been clearly stated that a number of players can sit on their contract, if they choose, until next summer. We can try to manoeuvre them out to other clubs, but ultimately it’s their choice, and so the transition we are seeing start now, likely won’t complete properly until next summer unfortunately. But so far, so good, I’d say, and we should acknowledge it at this stage, rather than look for holes, imo.
Brunswickbill
11-07-2024, 08:13 AM
He’s more of a gazebo signing.
Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2024, 08:26 AM
In that case there won’t be many players coming to Scotland full stop. We’re not some outlier in terms of managers.
11-07-2024, 08:34 AM
Still got about 7 weeks left to do our business, so hopefully see a trickle of signings over the next couple of weeks.
I don't think Henderson has actually been announced anywhere?
JDH didn't go to the Netherlands because of illness and wasn't with any of the fringe players who played the other night.
11-07-2024, 09:11 AM
In fairness, he's not saying it to Josh Campbell himself. On a football discussion forum, he's discussing a football topic ie how good or not (it's debated) one of our players is. I think that's allowed. If you weren't allowed to say anything critical, there wouldn't be much point in having a forum, and/or it would start to look like a forum in a political dictatorship... Plus, with the exception of a few periods of history, it's quite hard to discuss Hibs without being critical!
It was a ridiculous comment and typical of the demise of this forum in to the constant Facebook like abuse of our club and players.
11-07-2024, 09:16 AM
It was a ridiculous comment and typical of the demise of this forum in to the constant Facebook like abuse of our club and players.
That’s a bit of an over-reaction to someone making a pretty tame comment on a players passing ability.
11-07-2024, 09:32 AM
That’s a bit of an over-reaction to someone making a pretty tame comment on a players passing ability.
It's just a childish comment. which as brooster points out is unfortunately the way most debates head this days. People too busy trying to be controversial.
11-07-2024, 09:36 AM
Still got about 7 weeks left to do our business, so hopefully see a trickle of signings over the next couple of weeks.
I don't think Henderson has actually been announced anywhere?
JDH didn't go to the Netherlands because of illness and wasn't with any of the fringe players who played the other night.
If we exit the group stages of the league cup then nobody will be thinking there’s plenty time. Gray will be under pressure right away.
11-07-2024, 09:37 AM
Really? Campbell is a very poor passer of the ball. There won’t be many who disagree on that.
11-07-2024, 09:39 AM
Jair is absolutely brutal. I could easily mark him out of a game. Get rid.
11-07-2024, 09:39 AM
Really? Campbell is a very poor passer of the ball. There won’t be many who disagree on that.
What are his passing stats, short and long? How do they compare?
11-07-2024, 09:41 AM
Only counts when it’s a player they like it seems 🤣
11-07-2024, 09:45 AM
Not sure you’d find short & long but his career passing stats are on average 37 passes a game with a completion rate of 68%
For a midfielder, I don’t think that’s too great but I’m not sure how it compares to others in the team/the league.
Must be on par with most at hibs last season cause our passing was as sloppy as I’ve ever seen
supermcginn
11-07-2024, 09:48 AM
https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Brooster https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=7703061#post7703061)
https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Brooster https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=7631128#post7631128)
OOFT!
11-07-2024, 09:50 AM
https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Brooster https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=7703061#post7703061)
https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Brooster https://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=7631128#post7631128)
OOFT!
Awkward
Not sure you’d find short & long but his career passing stats are on average 37 passes a game with a completion rate of 68%
For a midfielder, I don’t think that’s too great but I’m not sure how it compares to others in the team/the league.
Must be on par with most at hibs last season cause our passing was as sloppy as I’ve ever seen
Cheers appreciate that 👍
2023/24 League Passing Stats - Central Midfielders
Passing Accuracy % (Long Passing, Short Passing)
Levitt 84% (60%, 87%)
Jeggo 82% (56%, 85%)
Newell 81% (62%, 85%)
Amos 79% (70%, 81%)
NMW 78% (49%, 82%)
Campbell 70% (46%, 73%)
gorgie greens
11-07-2024, 09:54 AM
Josh will be 25 next birthday.
11-07-2024, 10:04 AM
Levitt 84% (60%, 87%)
Jeggo 82% (56%, 85%)
Newell 81% (62%, 85%)
Amos 79% (70%, 81%)
NMW 78% (49%, 82%)
Campbell 70% (46%, 73%)
Campbell plays a very different game to everyone else on that list. A listen to SDG talking about him would reflect that. He's not there to do simple passing and receiving.
11-07-2024, 10:06 AM
Awkward
The major difference is Jair has a terrible attitude and isn't very good. Campbells attitude and effort are beyond question and its that which makes him an excellent member of our squad.
11-07-2024, 10:08 AM
Campbell plays a very different game to everyone else on that list. A listen to SDG talking about him would reflect that. He's not there to do simple passing and receiving.
So his role under SDG is going to require him to make more difficult passes than those he is already struggling to make?
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 10:09 AM
David Gray our manager seems to be going to play Campbell this season as he rates and obviously trust him . 2 goals in 3 pre -season has him of to a good start .
Think I'll trust Grays opinion on the player rather than the negative ones !
11-07-2024, 10:14 AM
David Gray our manager seems to be going to play Campbell this season as he rates and obviously trust him . 2 goals in 3 pre -season has him of to a good start .
Think I'll trust Grays opinion on the player rather than the negative ones !
I assume you'll be equally trusting of Grays trust in Newell, and keeping him as captain then, yeah? Rather than you being one the "negative ones"?
I don't think once the league season comes around, that Campbell will be a starter. He's starting now because we have nobody else to play there.
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2024, 10:15 AM
The major difference is Jair has a terrible attitude and isn't very good. Campbells attitude and effort are beyond question and its that which makes him an excellent member of our squad.
This is the first time I've ever heard anyone say anything negative about Jair's attitude. I've only ever heard the opposite - from players, staff and fans.
11-07-2024, 10:20 AM
Bang to rights, guilty as charged. I'm a changed man now though....life's too short to slag folk lol.
11-07-2024, 10:26 AM
So his role under SDG is going to require him to make more difficult passes than those he is already struggling to make?
No
11-07-2024, 10:26 AM
I assume you'll be equally trusting of Grays trust in Newell, and keeping him as captain then, yeah? Rather than you being one the "negative ones"?
I don't think once the league season comes around, that Campbell will be a starter. He's starting now because we have nobody else to play there.
I think he’ll get a decent crack at it. It wouldn’t surprise me if we didn’t even sign someone for that position, which I think would be a big mistake.
11-07-2024, 10:27 AM
This is the first time I've ever heard anyone say anything negative about Jair's attitude. I've only ever heard the opposite - from players, staff and fans.
Which fans and players. Have you watched him when he plays for the development team (just as an example).
11-07-2024, 10:29 AM
Jair always seems to play with a smile on his face and has always looked positive and seems to be well liked by the players and staff despite very little coming off for the boy
His game probably not suited to the hurly burly of the SPFL where time on the ball is at a premium
Will be interesting to see how things pan out for him this season
Before you ask just in what I have seen in the first team 😀
Nothing wrong with his attitude
11-07-2024, 10:29 AM
I think he’ll get a decent crack at it. It wouldn’t surprise me if we didn’t even sign someone for that position, which I think would be a big mistake.
If we get to the end of the transfer window without a new signing who plays where Campbell plays, then my expectations for the season will be drastically lowered.
11-07-2024, 10:30 AM
I wouldn't say that was the major difference between Josh and Jair.
No
Will he be expected to pass the ball at all?
Chorley Hibee
Needs to be an influx of real quality very soon, because this squad is currently worse than last season.
Kensell and the board seem desperate to avoid spending money though, probably in an attempt to save face given their proclamation that the future accounts will be rosy.
Another season of Campbell, Jair, Rocky and more will result in another disastrous campaign.
My enthusiasm is really waning.
11-07-2024, 10:40 AM
Needs to be an influx of real quality very soon, because this squad is currently worse than last season.
Kensell and the board seem desperate to avoid spending money though, probably in an attempt to save face given their proclamation that the future accounts will be rosy.
Another season of Campbell, Jair, Rocky and more will result in another disastrous campaign.
Why do you think they seem desperate to avoid spending money in an attempt to save face?
11-07-2024, 10:42 AM
So is mine when I read utter mince like this.
11-07-2024, 10:44 AM
Anything spent now won’t be included in the next set of published accounts.
Greenworld
11-07-2024, 11:00 AM
Anything spent now won’t be included in the next set of published accounts.I get the comments about lack of money on the playing side though,there seems to be infrastructure expenditure aplenty .
The black knights investment in Hibs seems to be rather slow on making an impact ,I wonder if the money has been paid yet?
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 11:05 AM
Both Newell and Levitt played more games than Campbell last season so were just as responsible as anyone else for a poor season though that's done now and I think we should be looking forward to the new season in ...
We have appointed MM , SDG as manager and new staff with new players signed / will sign .
If Grays happy to go with Newell and keep him as captain I'm fine with it , I trust Gray judgement and hopefully he can get players like Newell , Campbell and so playing well again .
I'm all for better players coming in and if we take in one better than Campbell or Newell then it's all good .
For what it's worth I think the way Grays been talking about Campbell , he obviously rates him highly and he will play a fair bit this season. Time will tell though.
A lot of negativity on here the last while which tbh I don't understand at all as I'm feeling really positive about the new season ahead .
In truth I can't wait till Saturday mate 😁
11-07-2024, 11:05 AM
Levitt 84% (60%, 87%)
Jeggo 82% (56%, 85%)
Newell 81% (62%, 85%)
Amos 79% (70%, 81%)
NMW 78% (49%, 82%)
Campbell 70% (46%, 73%)
I always cringe at these stats. Five yard safe passed are a world away from the passes that need to be attempted in the last third. It didn’t half help the stats of the defensive midfielders though. This modern game of passback football does my head in. Give me someone prepared to look for a forward pass every time.
Chorley Hibee
11-07-2024, 11:06 AM
Yes, keep telling yourself that this squad is even remotely good enough to challenge for third and trophies, and I'll report back to you when we're languishing in our usual mediocrity, or worse.
Kensell and Ian Gordon are a joke, and they're the root cause of the mess we find ourselves in.
You can tow the party line all you like, I'll reflect upon the ***** that is being served up to an ever decreasing support.
Jair, Rocky and Campbell being spoken about for this coming season, and Simon Murray as the answer up front.
What a ****ing mess.
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2024, 11:07 AM
Which fans and players. Have you watched him when he plays for the development team (just as an example).
All players and fans who have dealt with him and have commented on his attitude. I'm afraid I don't have a list of names to hand. I have watched him play for the development team and can confirm there's never been anything to suggest he has problem with his attitude. Again, it's the opposite.
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2024, 11:09 AM
Yes, keep telling yourself that this squad is even remotely good enough to challenge for third and trophies, and I'll report back to you when we're languishing in our usual mediocrity, or worse.
Kensell and Ian Gordon are a joke, and they're the root cause of the mess we find ourselves in.
You can tow the party line all you like, I'll reflect upon the ***** that is being served up to an ever decreasing support.
Jair, Rocky and Campbell being spoken about for this coming season, and Simon Murray as the answer up front.
What a ****ing mess.
Why did the transfer window close early this year?
babahibs
11-07-2024, 11:13 AM
What a ****ing mess.
I must've missed when we signed Simon Murray, when did that happen?
11-07-2024, 11:17 AM
What a ****ing mess.
Attention seeking dross.
Chorley Hibee
11-07-2024, 11:17 AM
Why did the transfer window close early this year?
We still using that excuse are we, that the best players become available later in the window?
Only for us to sign youngsters on loan with zero experience, of course.
Unprepared every single season, and we wonder why it inevitably ends in the mess it mostly does.
11-07-2024, 11:20 AM
I think we need better quality than Campbell however if gray, as I’ve seen some reference on here, see’s him as his main man in midfield then so be it but he’ll die on that hill should it not work out.
I’m still not keen on a 3 man midfield if 2 of them are newell & Campbell
What a ****ing mess.
Nobody said that the squad was good enough. We still have 7 weeks of the window left.
Maybe just maybe Gray can get a better tune out of the players already in the building. If he can get more out of Cadden, Miller, Vente, Boyle etc then the core squad is better. The 2 CB's although early days look to be good signings. Focus now is on moving a few players on and getting a few more quality players in the building.
Forgive me for not wetting my knickers quite yet.
11-07-2024, 11:26 AM
We still using that excuse are we, that the best players become available later in the window?
Only for us to sign youngsters on loan with zero experience, of course.
Unprepared every single season, and we wonder why it inevitably ends in the mess it mostly does.
We have signed two very good experienced centre backs already of course and that won't be the end of our rebuilding.
11-07-2024, 11:28 AM
What a ****ing mess.
Anybody expecting any kind of major turnaround, by this point, was off their head IMO. It was never happening with the legacy issues we have of handing long term contracts out to sub standard players.
We’ve changed the way things are being run and the early signs are good IMO. I think between McKay and Gray we are approaching the way we put a team together in the right way. Obviously we need to now start adding to the squad again. I think we’ll start seeing that over the next week or two.
11-07-2024, 11:30 AM
What a ****ing mess.
I can see exactly why the club were looking at Murray. Would have done a lot of the groundwork for Vente who is more of a poacher type forward. Montgomery had him dropping deep etc and that didn't suit his game. I think he'd have been good foil for him and a terrific signing.
Jair is crap but he's under contract. Not much we can do there. Campbell hasn't long returned from injury and is getting a full pre season behind him. I think a fit Amos will be huge for us too.
We aren't going to immediately jump from the horror show under our last manager to challenge for 3rd or trophies. It's unfortunately going to take time to sort out. In saying that I've not felt this positive or optimistic since probably Ross's time imo. This season may not be pretty at times but i genuinely feel it's the beginning of the upward trajectory.
11-07-2024, 11:39 AM
Anybody expecting any kind of major turnaround, by this point, was off their head IMO. It was never happening with the legacy issues we have of handing long term contracts out to sub standard players.
We’ve changed the way things are being run and the early signs are good IMO. I think between McKay and Gray we are approaching the way we put a team together in the right way. Obviously we need to now start adding to the squad again. I think we’ll start seeing that over the next week or two.
Mackay has said as much, our squad is too full at the moment and it’ll be difficult to move a lot of them on.
Levitt, JDH, Jair, Mckirdy, Harbottle, Kenneh, Henderson all likely on first team wages and not contributing a thing to the first team is going to hold us back until we can get rid or magically get more out of them.
I’d like one or two new midfielders but it’s probably not possible given what we’ve got in the squad just now and the other areas that need more attention.
Chorley Hibee
11-07-2024, 11:43 AM
Attention seeking dross.
Attention seeking 🤣
I couldn't give a toss what you, or anyone else on this forum thinks about me, my sole focus is a successful Hibs team.
If you think that the current squad, and the imbeciles running the club upstairs, are going to bring that about, then I'd respectfully suggest you're deluded at best.
A loan goalkeeper, and two free transfers, all that we could have sourced prior to the Black Knights investment, isn't going to produce the turnaround that this squad needs.
As I say, we'll review it in a few months.
11-07-2024, 11:43 AM
I always cringe at these stats. Five yard safe passed are a world away from the passes that need to be attempted in the last third. It didn’t half help the stats of the defensive midfielders though. This modern game of passback football does my head in. Give me someone prepared to look for a forward pass every time.
Your point is valid although I don’t see Campbell as some adventurous swashbuckling creative playmaker?
He has good energy and can get on the end of others moves but I haven’t seen him creat much at all?
What a ****ing mess.
Who (that has any influence on who plays) has spoken about Jair, Rocky or Campbell for this coming season? Who has said Simon Murray was the answer up front? You’re getting really worked up 3 weeks into the window.
Rocky has seen 2 players sign who’ll most likely play ahead of him. And he’s the only one of those three who played a lot last year. Campbell may well get more game time this season, that’s on SDG to decide and live by.
We’d all like to see more players in, but surely that’s only if they’re the right players. We’ve addressed 2 key areas of the pitch, I doubt the recruitment team have decided to knock off for a month, they’ll be working on other players to come in and improve the side
11-07-2024, 11:44 AM
Never mind new signings, a good rumour would do right now 😊
11-07-2024, 11:45 AM
I see Harry Wright has found a new club, good for the lad 👍
Stirling Albion is thrilled to announce the signing of 18-year-old midfielder Harry Wright from Hibernian on a one-year deal.
11-07-2024, 11:46 AM
It’s exactly why we need a good rumour! Pages of pish about nothing to do with a transfer right now.
Attention seeking 🤣
I couldn't give a toss what you, or anyone else on this forum thinks about me, my sole focus is a successful Hibs team.
If you think that current squad, and the imbeciles running the club upstairs, are going to bring that about, then I'd respectfully suggest you're deluded at best.
A loan goalkeeper, and two free transfers, all that we could have sourced prior to the Black Knights investment, isn't going to produce the turnaround that this squad needs.
As I say, we'll review it in a few months.
Not a single person has said this or thinks it
11-07-2024, 11:46 AM
We’ve made less signings than teams without our ‘legacy issues’. At some point we have to get to work on solving some of these issues. Season start this week and we do not look ready.
11-07-2024, 11:47 AM
Of course they are harder, that’s why you need someone who is a good passer to be playing in that position otherwise you will struggle to create quality chances. It also requires the ability to play good passes under pressure.
From watching Campbell do you think his passing is of a high enough quality to play that position?
11-07-2024, 11:50 AM
We’ve made less signings than teams without our ‘legacy issues’. At some point we have to get to work on solving some of these issues. Season start this week and we do not look ready.
I hope we're taking a quality over quantity approach. We don't need 9 or 10 players in the door today, but we need another 2-3 really good players in before the end of the transfer window. Plenty time.
Keeper needed, we've signed one.
Centre halfs needed, we've signed two.
We do need more, but I'm absolutely confident we're not even close to being finished with the signings.
hibee1875
11-07-2024, 11:53 AM
He managed two assists all last season. Obviously hope you’re right. But hope we’re still looking for a creative mid.
He was out half the season.
Hibees1973
11-07-2024, 11:54 AM
What a ****ing mess.
I am prone to the occasional hyberbolic post, but Chorley even I admit it's far too early to lose any sh*t for the upcoming season.
I've posted many a time my thoughts on BK & IG, but surely even for you it must be a positive that these two were in hiding when MacKay and Gray held the initial new manager thing. This was a significant change from the past and clearly as a result of the review.
Maybe you are still hung up on the grim recruitment & joke managerial appointments over the last few years, which is probably understandable. However, it's got to be accepted that MacKay & Gray have a fair bit of mess to clear up.
Gray might be able to coach and improve a few of the players he already has. But there are limits on this. I for one can't see the likes of Jair/Campbell/JHD/Miller/Rocky nailing down a first team place. I've seen enough of them to feel this.
There is bound to be some more of our dross getting moved out and I expect to see the Black Knights influence in a lot of new signings between now and the end of August. Was this not one of the key reasons why the Gordons accepted Foley's investment.
11-07-2024, 11:54 AM
Of course they are harder, that’s why you need someone who is a good passer to be playing in that position otherwise you will struggle to create quality chances. It also requires the ability to play good passes under pressure.
From watching Campbell do you think his passing is of a high enough quality to play that position?
Completely agree with you. My point was about the use of statistics to justify one position v another.
Regards Campbell, I think he is good enough but needs to be supported by a player, like an Alex Edwards (I wish) who could make the telling passes for him to take advantage of. Campbell, although not a striker, has always been able to find the target from a midfield role.
Yeah it was much more fun when info leaked out of Hibs, now nothing, zip :confused:
Fanforlife
11-07-2024, 11:58 AM
I see Harry Wright has found a new club, good for the lad 👍
Stirling Albion is thrilled to announce the signing of 18-year-old midfielder Harry Wright from Hibernian on a one-year deal.👍
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 12:01 PM
If Campbell is in the team it won't be for his passing ability , it will be for as Gray has said his energy , workrate to get from box to box and his ability to chip in with some goals from midfield which quite frankly he's the most likely of all our midfielder to do .
The passing and creativity will have to come from Newell, Levitt , JDH , Amos or NMW . If they can't then we need to get another midfielder .
11-07-2024, 12:02 PM
Completely agree with you. My point was about the use of statistics to justify one position v another.
Regards Campbell, I think he is good enough but needs to be supported by a player, like an Alex Edwards (I wish) who could make the telling passes for him to take advantage of. Campbell, although not a striker, has always been able to find the target from a midfield role.
I didn’t use the statistics to justify anything. Someone asked for them and I presented them without comment.
If Campbell is playing in a No 10/advanced midfield role, he needs to be better able to make those types of passes too. Scoring a goal every 8-10 games isn’t enough to offset how much he turnsover the ball imo.
11-07-2024, 12:05 PM
I now get the feeling that we need more departures before we can expect further signings.
11-07-2024, 12:11 PM
Well that’s hardly a surprise is it? It’s obvious that we have far too many players not contributing anything but you still need to move them on to make space for others to come in. Anybody thinking we were going to have a couple of midfielders, for instance, in at this point without getting players out is ignoring the fact that you just can’t add, add, add.
It’s no surprise that our first three signings are for positions that have had space freed up at the end of last season. And I’d be willing to bet the next one will be a forward of some description.
Dont think anyone thinks the squad is in good nick but we at least are giving the impression we know what we’re doing this summer IMO.
11-07-2024, 12:13 PM
I now get the feeling that we need more departures before we can expect further signings.
Surely not we are at double figures with departures and only brought in three new players so far
Chorley Hibee
11-07-2024, 12:14 PM
I am prone to the occasional hyberbolic post, but Chorley even I admit it's far too early to lose any sh*t for the upcoming season.
I've posted many a time my thoughts on BK & IG, but surely even for you it must be a positive that these two were in hiding when MacKay and Gray held the initial new manager thing. This was a significant change from the past and clearly as a result of the review.
Maybe you are still hung up on the grim recruitment & joke managerial appointments over the last few years, which is probably understandable. However, it's got to be accepted that MacKay & Gray have a fair bit of mess to clear up.
Gray might be able to coach and improve a few of the players he already has. But there are limits on this. I for one can't see the likes of Jair/Campbell/JHD/Miller/Rocky nailing down a first team place. I've seen enough of them to feel this.
There is bound to be some more of our dross getting moved out and I expect to see the Black Knights influence in a lot of new signings between now and the end of August. Was this not one of the key reasons why the Gordons accepted Foley's investment.
In relation to Kensell and Gordon, I guess it comes down to whether you believe they've seen the error of their ways or not.
I don't think they've any intention of stepping back, and if Le Fondre is to be believed, then they were sticking their nose in as recent as a couple of months ago.
I'm not buying into MacKay being the latest person to sort this mess out either (just like McDermott was, just like Montgomery was) and I've still grave doubts about his appointment, more so on his actual abilities before the old arguments get dug up.
Don't worry though, I'm sure the club will pencil in another in-depth review this time next year.
11-07-2024, 12:17 PM
Again. Hes not playing like a Scott Allan. SDG has covered off what he wants Campbell to do.
11-07-2024, 12:17 PM
If Campbell is in the team it won't be for his passing ability , it will be for as Gray has said his energy , workrate to get from box to box and his ability to chip in with some goals from midfield which quite frankly he's the most likely of all our midfielder to do .
The passing and creativity will have to come from Newell, Levitt , JDH , Amos or NMW . If they can't then we need to get another midfielder .
I don’t think we can rely on Amos - last played 75mins in May 2023 - since then he hasn’t played more than 46 mins in a game. Would be great to get him fit for more games / minutes.
JDH - it’s not been an ideal start of playing only 45 mins and missing the Dutch trip.
Next few weeks will be interesting to see how much both feature.
We have changed part of the spine of the team but it still needs addressing.
Hibs fans want a player that will excite them to sign - nothing against the players at the back but fans are needing someone exciting to create a bit of buzz in middle to front areas.
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 12:18 PM
Season start this week and we do not look ready.
You don't think we are ready for .. Elgin City , kelty hertz , Peterhead and Queens park?
11-07-2024, 12:20 PM
Hopefully we sign a striker or 2 before the first league game. This squad has enough to win all games in the League Cup.
11-07-2024, 12:21 PM
I don’t think we can rely on Amos - last played 75mins in May 2023 - since then he hasn’t played more than 46 mins in a game. Would be great to get him fit for more games / minutes.
JDH - it’s not been an ideal start of playing only 45 mins and missing the Dutch trip.
Hibs fans want a player that will excite them to sign - nothing against the players at the back but fans are needing someone exciting to create a bit of buzz in middle to front areas.
I agree on Amos. Hope I’m wrong but it felt like a signing for the sake of a signing at the time.
11-07-2024, 12:23 PM
In relation to Kensell and Gordon, I guess it comes down to whether you believe they've seen the error of their ways or not.
I don't think they've any intention of stepping back, and if Le Fondre is to be believed, then they were sticking their nose in as recent as a couple of months ago.
I'm not buying into MacKay being the latest person to sort this mess out either (just like McDermott was, just like Montgomery was) and I've still grave doubts about his appointment, more so on his actual abilities before the old arguments get dug up.
Don't worry though, I'm sure the club will pencil in another in-depth review this time next year.
Each to their own but if my mindset was as relentlessly negative as yours I would have cone to the conclusion some time ago that fitba wasn't the game for me.
11-07-2024, 12:28 PM
Again. Hes not playing like a Scott Allan. SDG has covered off what he wants Campbell to do.
I’ve not mentioned Scott Allan so not sure why you have.
A team aspiring to finish top needs more quality in the centre of the pitch than just “a running 10” as SDG calls it who can’t pass. We have had Campbell running about the pitch for the last 3 years and despite him scoring every so often we haven’t been good enough.
As it stands it looks like we’ll be playing the season with at least 2/3rds of the Campbell/Newell/JDH triumvirate which has failed before.
11-07-2024, 12:28 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Atalanta in for Matt O'Riley as Europa League winners escalate their bid to win race for prized Celtic asset | @ScottBurns75
Greenworld
11-07-2024, 12:29 PM
I now get the feeling that we need more departures before we can expect further signings.I've been told a couple of English championships sides have asked Hibs about Rocky
11-07-2024, 12:29 PM
He was out half the season.
He played in 27 games.
11-07-2024, 12:34 PM
He played in 27 games.
No idea how many minutes he played in those 27 games but I thought he was looking better under Gray. My mind could be playing tricks though 😁
11-07-2024, 12:35 PM
I've been told a couple of English championships sides have asked Hibs about Rocky
I could see him playing in England again, not sure where in the Championship he would go though?
at last 61
11-07-2024, 12:38 PM
I've been told a couple of English championships sides have asked Hibs about Rocky
Weeeeeyyy haaayyy, a rumour 😂💚😂💚
11-07-2024, 12:40 PM
Surprised no official announcement re Ewan Henderson yet
11-07-2024, 12:42 PM
Surprised no official announcement re Ewan Henderson yet
Last I saw he had agreed terms with Beerschot who in turn were negotiating a fee with us.
Eaststand
11-07-2024, 12:47 PM
I agree with you 100% Brooster, they really can't be Hibs supporters cos it's relentless from the same sad, boring people day in day out.
11-07-2024, 12:51 PM
I wouldn't say that was the major difference between Josh and Jair.
I'd have said dreadlocks
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 12:59 PM
Yip , chalk and cheese
EGL2000
11-07-2024, 01:02 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Atalanta in for Matt O'Riley as Europa League winners escalate their bid to win race for prized Celtic asset | @ScottBurns75
About to get 50mil ish for Teun Koopmeiners so will have a good chunk of cash to spend.
11-07-2024, 01:03 PM
Quite simply no there isnt
It's just a childish comment. which as brooster points out is unfortunately the way most debates head this days. People too busy trying to be controversial.
I agree with you 100% Brooster, they really can't be Hibs supporters cos it's relentless from the same sad, boring people day in day out.
This escalation over the post in bold is quite ridiculous.
Chorley Hibee
11-07-2024, 01:06 PM
You don't think we are ready for .. Elgin City , kelty hertz , Peterhead and Queens park?
We should be, but would it surprise me if we made an absolute mess of it?
Absolutely not.
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 01:08 PM
I'm happy with the signings so far , I think they will improve us . I'd guess we will certainly add 1, possibly 2 players upfront . A marquee signing would be good to give everyone a lift in fairness .
It still does need addressing though look at our midfield players at the minute in Amos , Campbell, Levitt , Newell , NMW and JDH , we might be able to add 1 to it though surely we can't keep adding without somebody leaving? .
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 01:21 PM
We should be, but would it surprise me if we made an absolute mess of it?
Absolutely not.
I'm absolutely convinced we won't , why ? . I think with the signings added to the team and with what's already here we will comfortably win the group.
Another reason for my optimism is I think we will be a different beast under Gray this season after hearing him speaking about non- negotiables, being harder to beat etc ...
If we are in the same position going into the opening game of the season I'd share your concerns but we won't be , we will make signings before then ... Read this earlier , gray on about defense and players ..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mentality-needs-to-be-stronger-hibs-head-coach-on-defensive-improvements-and-mentality-ahead-of-elgin-city-4698132
EGL2000
11-07-2024, 01:22 PM
I'm happy with the signings so far , I think they will improve us . I'd guess we will certainly add 1, possibly 2 players upfront . A marquee signing would be good to give everyone a lift in fairness .
It still does need addressing though look at our midfield players at the minute in Amos , Campbell, Levitt , Newell , NMW and JDH , we might be able to add 1 to it though surely we can't keep adding without somebody leaving? .
Id be punting Levitt probably one of the only few other teams would still want as his reputation hasn't fully dropped. Just thought he was so poor last season and won't be on a small wage. Even if he did improve his mobility isn't going to and I thought that was shocking at times.
11-07-2024, 01:23 PM
I wanted six starters to come in right through the soine of the team at the start of the window. With a good amount of departures.
We are halfway there. I have no concerns re the LC groups.
That said, I want the players in asap.
I have no doubt the club are working on them.
Six players cab take this team to where it needs to be imo.
That with a sprinkle of Maolida etc. and we are very much in the latter stages of the cup and in the mix for third, provided those we bring in are of the quality required.
11-07-2024, 02:10 PM
https://x.com/aberdeenfc/status/1811400928446279844?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Aberdeen announce Nilsem from Brann. Previously played under the Aberdeen manager at Elfsborg
32 year old centre mid, turns 33 in October.
3 year deal
11-07-2024, 02:22 PM
https://x.com/aberdeenfc/status/1811400928446279844?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Aberdeen announce Nilsem from Brann. Previously played under the Aberdeen manager at Elfsborg
3 year deal
Another one we’ve missed out on.
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 02:26 PM
Marshall 39, Hanlon 34 and Fish 21 have been replaced by Bursik 24, O'Hora 25 and Marv 28
To stand still we, player quality wise, currently need to replace Stevenson and Maolida.
A back up left back is an easy and cheap fix.
The odds are heavily on Youan being sold so he will have to be replaced as well.
In essence Hibs have 7 weeks to do the heavy lifting of selling Youan and replacing him and Maolida with quality before the league starts.
This is where loans from Bournemouth and our cash comes in.
We have the same 7 weeks and 5 games to get Amos, JDH and McKirdy fully fit and firing.
First competitive home game on Saturday and first home game next Wednesday.
What's not to be excited about?
tonyrougier123
11-07-2024, 02:29 PM
3 year deal
Oooft! According to the experts on here risky giving a 32yr old a 3yr deal.
11-07-2024, 02:32 PM
Marshall, Hanlon and Fish have been replaced by Bursik 24, O'Hora 25 and Marv 28
To stand we still, player quality wise, currently need to replace Stevenson and Maolida.
A back up left back is an easy fix.
The odds are heavily on Youan being sold so he will have to be replaced as well.
In essence Hibs have 7 weeks to do the heavy lifting of selling Youan and replace him and Maolida with quality before the league starts.
Don’t think it’s as black and white as that.
The goalie and two centre halves might improve us significantly (it really shouldn’t be that difficult). A defensive improvement of a dozen goals could be worth a fair number of points.
We obviously need to add in the final third, centre forward is a must for me.
Hibiza
11-07-2024, 02:34 PM
It still does need addressing though look at our midfield players at the minute in Amos , Campbell, hope
Levitt , Newell , NMW and JDH , we might be able to add 1 to it though surely we can't keep adding without somebody leaving? .
Hope it's JDhH ( nothing personal ) Joe too could go for me Donegal
11-07-2024, 02:39 PM
Yes, it is. Nothing to do with "experts", whatever that means.
The only way a guy is uprooting his life Norway to move to Aberdeen is for some decent job security. I can't imagine the 3 year deal was Aberdeen's idea.
11-07-2024, 02:41 PM
Another one we’ve missed out on.
Did we? Not aware of hibs having any interest in him.
tonyrougier123
11-07-2024, 02:44 PM
Yes, it is. Nothing to do with "experts", whatever that means.
The only way a guy is uprooting his life Norway to move to Aberdeen is for some decent job security. I can't imagine the 3 year deal was Aberdeen's idea.
Naw cause they wouldn’t have purely looked at other targets if it didn’t fit the 32 is too old for a 3yr deal criteria. You got over Campbell being one of our main midfielders this season yet?
11-07-2024, 02:46 PM
Jamie Mclaren available would he come back would we be interested?
11-07-2024, 02:46 PM
Too similar to Vente I’d have thought.
11-07-2024, 02:50 PM
Maybe we are managing our risks better?
Or it could be we have better options than a 32 year old Murray?
What fee did Aberdeen pay for their new boy? Wages? What did Murray sign for? Wages?
Berwickhibby
11-07-2024, 02:51 PM
Spoke with Jamie, there has been no contact by any European club but would return to Hibs in a heartbeat
Exuberance1875
11-07-2024, 02:53 PM
Really liked Maclaren, unsure what wages he would be looking for as I don’t imagine he’d had been paid poorly by Melbourne City.
Great player though!
tonyrougier123
11-07-2024, 02:54 PM
Maybe we are managing our risks better?
Or it could be we have better options than a 32 year old Murray?
What fee did Aberdeen pay for their new boy? Wages? What did Murray sign for? Wages?
Murray is he no a Dundee player? I mentioned age and 3yr deals. 32 is apparently too old and too risky to be giving 3yr deals to? Lot of pish!
11-07-2024, 02:57 PM
Murray is he no a Dundee player? I mentioned age and 3yr deals. 32 is apparently too old and too risky to be giving 3yr deals to? Lot of pish!
He is a Dundee player
Ok I get it you think it's a load of pish 😀
11-07-2024, 03:27 PM
Did we? Not aware of hibs having any interest in him.
🫡
11-07-2024, 03:28 PM
It is. Why, just because Aberdeen do it, does it suddenly come without risk? Of course there is a risk.
They'll make the decisions that suit them. We'll make the o es that suit us.
To hell with Aberdeen.
11-07-2024, 03:35 PM
Too similar to Vente I’d have thought.
Better goalscorer though
11-07-2024, 03:40 PM
MacLaren would be useless unless we got another big striker next to him and got us playing to him.
Lethal in the box, but his build up play and work out of the box was non existent
Was a weird one how little he played when he came back the second time
11-07-2024, 03:49 PM
MacLaren would be useless unless we got another big striker next to him and got us playing to him.
Lethal in the box, but his build up play and work out of the box was non existent
Was a weird one how little he played when he came back the second time
Think he had an injury back maybe
Fuzzywuzzy
11-07-2024, 03:57 PM
I'm going to start a rumour - Fraser Hornby. Not really played for darmstadt and maybe needs something to kick start things
11-07-2024, 03:58 PM
I'm going to start a rumour - Fraser Hornby. Not really played for darmstadt and maybe needs something to kick start things
We’re surely not struggling that badly
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Another one who made good use of his physical attributes in youth football but found they weren't worth a hill of beans in the mens game.
Will be 25 in 2 months time and appears to have played a total of 65 senior games.
Darmstadt 98 are going to struggle to get him off the payroll if he is on decent money.
They have a large doorstop with a face on their hands.
11-07-2024, 04:08 PM
Definitely went of the rails
gramskiwood
11-07-2024, 04:10 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/11/2024-25-squad-numbers-confirmed-/
No number 3. I wonder if that means we're looking at someone.
Trinity Hibee
11-07-2024, 04:11 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/11/2024-25-squad-numbers-confirmed-/
Hopefully Harry Milne at Partick
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 04:12 PM
Definitely went of the rails
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Hopefully Harry Milne at Partick
Good call
tonyrougier123
11-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Would definitely be a passenger, I wouldn’t toy with this idea.
11-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Ndaba seems the obvious shout given he’s the only one recently linked. Definitely need another left back
11-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Would definitely be a passenger, I wouldn’t toy with this idea.
So not one you would be chuffed at?
11-07-2024, 04:29 PM
No number for Ewan Henderson.
Surely his departure is imminent
11-07-2024, 04:34 PM
Spoke with Jamie, there has been no contact by any European club but would return to Hibs in a heartbeat
Get on it Hibs. Proper finisher and better all round player than Vente. Not afraid to shoot and great movement. No brainer IMO
tonyrougier123
11-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Was more along lines of train-passengers hornby-toymaker, thought you might’ve read between the lines but conversation has went off track our new striker might be late on arrival however. 🤦*♂️😬😬
11-07-2024, 04:35 PM
He'd probably try and railroad SDG into starting him. Not for me.
scm70nyd1973
11-07-2024, 04:46 PM
Who was thon French guy we gave a contract to at age 34 in the late 90s - whatever happened to him 🤭
PHeffernan
11-07-2024, 04:48 PM
Get on it Hibs. Proper finisher and better all round player than Vente. Not afraid to shoot and great movement. No brainer IMO
Indian League for MacLaren at 31 I expect.
Loadsa money and even more duff than the A League.
11-07-2024, 04:51 PM
I thought we might be ready for Falkirk, Morton, Bonnyrigg and Clyde a couple of years back.[emoji849]
Still, I’m sure it will all be fine.[emoji106]