View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2024/25
I personally believe Dundee have been quite clear on how highly they rate their club captain and player of the year. They have given Hibs a valuation and if reports are genuine we are nowhere near it. Quite disrespectful to Dundee to persist and potentially unsettle one of their players if we have no intention of doing a deal.
So what exactly do they want if it’s that clear. Excuse my ignorance but I’ve not seen an exact price.
Why is it disrespectful to Dundee. We’ve submitted numerous bids for a player we would like. They’ve rejected two of them and are considering a third. How much have our bids been? I don’t know so what are they. You’ve said we’ve lowballed them?
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:38 PM
Hibs supporter my erse. You hate Hibs.
Aye very good….stick to cleaning toilets flash 💩 🤡
Houston7
15-08-2024, 04:39 PM
Why is it desperate? We are doing things the correct way. Saying nothing to the media.
How do you know they are low ball offers? Maybe Dundee decided to change what they wanted and have went public with the rejections.
Folk are really quick to have a dig at the club when really nobody knows apart from the clubs involved.
I agree - I thought I was on a Dundee fans web site in error. We know who will be leaking our negotiations and why they are doing so. Also to compare bidding for a player to offering for a house beggars belief. Tactics are the very opposite.
15-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Any chance of Dundee taking ,Jair , Campbell , Newell, combined as part of the deal.If we throw in their cars, houses and first born children as a sacrifice, who knows.
Eaststand
Doesn’t change the widely held opinion that Hibs’ offers to date have been an exercise in futility ….has also only hardened their fans resolve not to see him come to us
Just out of curiosity, who's widely held opinion is it 🤔
I’ve seen enough of our recruitment team in action over the past few seasons to make me want to …today’s £700k Dutch masterstroke by Ian Gordon being a prime example of failure in full flight.
Ian Gordon has had a great deal of criticism, much of it merited.
However, even his sternest critics can separate what has past and what is here and now.
Vente’s goalscoring record was excellent before we signed him, most folk agreed that it looked like good business. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out. No different from the likes of James Collins and Eoin Doyle, didn’t do it at Hibs, went on to perform elsewhere. As will Vente ( I hope).
Any transfer is a gamble, including Luke McCowan. Why you want to criticise the club over it is baffling.
15-08-2024, 04:42 PM
It's been a while since we had such an esteemed member of the intelligentsia among us - admins, do we get to keep him if he gets to 200 posts? :greengrin
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:43 PM
So what exactly do they want if it’s that clear. Excuse my ignorance but I’ve not seen an exact price.
Why is it disrespectful to Dundee. We’ve submitted numerous bids for a player we would like. They’ve rejected two of them and are considering a third. How much have our bids been? I don’t know so what are they. You’ve said we’ve lowballed them?
https://www.skysports.com/football/live-blog/11787/13176154/scottish-premiership-news-transfers-rumours-gossip-and-more?postid=8131143#liveblog-body
15-08-2024, 04:45 PM
It's been a while since we had such an esteemed member of the intelligentsia among us - admins, do we get to keep him if he gets to 200 posts? :greengrin
It's surprising as I thought the schools went back yesterday.
If he is above school age then he is clearly not the sharpest knife in the box.
https://www.skysports.com/football/live-blog/11787/13176154/scottish-premiership-news-transfers-rumours-gossip-and-more?postid=8131143#liveblog-body
The word is ‘understood’ so nothing concrete just Sky sports guessing.
So what about our lowball offers. What were our first two bids that were thrown out?
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:47 PM
Ian Gordon has had a great deal of criticism, much of it merited.
However, even his sternest critics can separate what has past and what is here and now.
Vente’s goalscoring record was excellent before we signed him, most folk agreed that it looked like good business. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out. No different from the likes of James Collins and Eoin Doyle, didn’t do it at Hibs, went on to perform elsewhere. As will Vente ( I hope).
Any transfer is a gamble, including Luke McCowan. Why you want to criticise the club over it is baffling.
I heard from two sources I trust on Sunday that the owner is still trying to lead recruitment matters despite the newly appointed Sporting Director repeatedly reminding him that is what he was brought to the club to do …..Vente was 100% an Ian Gordon signing ✍️
TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected …..pretty desperate stuff
That’s a ridiculous take on it.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:50 PM
So what about our lowball offers. What were our first two bids that were thrown out?
You do realise this is a forum and I’m simply providing an opinion based on publicly available information?
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 04:50 PM
You can't lose what you never had..
If the rumours are true , they could have 750k now rather than peanuts or nowt later though . 750k is a massive amount of money for any club outside the OF to risk losing out on .
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:51 PM
That’s a ridiculous take on it.
I respect your opinion and it’s ok to disagree
K-Zazu
15-08-2024, 04:52 PM
Not that it makes much difference to the McCowan situation though it’s been reported that Celtic have turned down a fourth / fifth bid of £21.5 million plus add ons for O’Riley.
And this is no a Celtic forum, yawn.
15-08-2024, 04:53 PM
You do realise this is a forum and I’m simply providing an opinion based on publicly available information?
Why are you only offering opinions when you have two sources that you trust to fall back on? You should get them to confirm everything.
Houston7
15-08-2024, 04:53 PM
That’s the way I see it. Also there is no way Dundee will have revealed what they are looking for - in the hope that they get a bid from a richer club, which is higher than they expect. Also not sure who has made up this £750K figure.
15-08-2024, 04:58 PM
What about James Mccarthy anyone take him ?
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 04:59 PM
Not disclosed but clearly lower than the 3rd :wink:
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:00 PM
would keep the physio busy and provide JDH with company 👍
15-08-2024, 05:00 PM
Nearly 34 and barely kicked a ball in years. Be a big gamble I reckon.
I personally believe Dundee have been quite clear on how highly they rate their club captain and player of the year. They have given Hibs a valuation and if reports are genuine we are nowhere near it. Quite disrespectful to Dundee to persist and potentially unsettle one of their players if we have no intention of doing a deal.
Fantasy if you think we have no intention of doing a deal and are just bidding for the sake of it. Are Dundee offering him a contract commensurate with the value they're placing on him?
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Your right it’s a transfer thread 👍
I am more than aware it’s forum and that people are allowed opinions but you post, and I quote
Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected
Whilst an opinion is factually incorrect as Hibs haven’t said anything to the public….
Doesn’t change the widely held opinion that Hibs’ offers to date have been an exercise in futility
I take it this is your opinion as I have not seen anyone else think our bids have been futile…….
And your last bit happens with pretty much every transfer across the land
I personally believe Dundee have been quite clear on how highly they rate their club captain and player of the year. They have given Hibs a valuation and if reports are genuine we are nowhere near it. (I would ask what those bids were as no one knows. It could very well be a tenner or it could be 200k)
Quite disrespectful to Dundee to persist and potentially unsettle one of their players if we have no intention of doing a deal.
Who says we are not doing a deal. We are trying.
So I would suggest you are either courting controversy or just at it.
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 05:08 PM
I heard from two sources I trust on Sunday that the owner is still trying to lead recruitment matters despite the newly appointed Sporting Director repeatedly reminding him that is what he was brought to the club to do …..Vente was 100% an Ian Gordon signing ✍️
Vente looked a good signing and I think the guy just hasn't settled / maybe homesick . It’s not something I blame Ian Gordon for at all .
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:08 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;7742398]Why are you only offering opinions when you have two sources that you trust to fall back on? You should get them to confirm everything.[/QUOTE
A fans forum is there to allow people to discuss issues that are relevant to the club. Anything I put up is purely my take on what is going on which people can accept / ignore as they see fit. I have no desire to harm HFC, quite the reverse as I love the club. All I can say is that one of the sources was given the information directly from a senior club employee so make of that what you like.
Gordy M
15-08-2024, 05:11 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;7742398]Why are you only offering opinions when you have two sources that you trust to fall back on? You should get them to confirm everything.[/QUOTE
A fans forum is there to allow people to discuss issues that are relevant to the club. Anything I put up is purely my take on what is going on which people can accept / ignore as they see fit. I have no desire to harm HFC, quite the reverse as I love the club. All I can say is that one of the sources was given the information directly from a senior club employee so make of that what you like.
Did your source get told which signings so far are down to IG since he is still heading the recruitment?
What's that got to do with the McCowan situation?
Bridge hibs
15-08-2024, 05:12 PM
correct apart from this being a forum to discuss hibs and football in general
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:17 PM
Vente looked a good signing and I think the guy just hasn't settled / maybe homesick . It’s not something I blame Ian Gordon for at all .
I think ‘expensive mistake’ is a more accurate description than good signing at this point. Totally agree he was only part of the recruitment team and others were also involved. My concern is that he is still actively recommending players that are simply not considered good enough.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/brian-mcdermott-offers-ian-gordon-insight-as-hibs-transfer-revelation-made-over-dylan-vente-4358055
15-08-2024, 05:19 PM
I think ‘expensive mistake’ is a more accurate description than good signing at this point. Totally agree he was only part of the recruitment team and others were also involved. My concern is that he is still actively recommending players that are simply not considered good enough.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/brian-mcdermott-offers-ian-gordon-insight-as-hibs-transfer-revelation-made-over-dylan-vente-4358055
Did he recommend Bowie, Hoilett, Cadden and McCowan?
15-08-2024, 05:24 PM
Poppycock.
Sporting Director is the main source of player recruitment. BK then does the contracts.
You really need to stop making stuff up to bad mouth the board. We are investing more than ever to try and sort out the previous mistakes.
15-08-2024, 05:25 PM
I know who's desperate here and it isn't Hibs
I think most agree we are in a desperate state in midfield.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:26 PM
[QUOTE=TrinityHibby;7742413]
Did your source get told which signings so far are down to IG since he is still heading the recruitment?
You are perfectly entitled to be comfortable with IG still trying to lead recruitment matters. I personally would be happier with the Sporting Director doing that role.
Bridge hibs
15-08-2024, 05:26 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/brian-mcdermott-offers-ian-gordon-insight-as-hibs-transfer-revelation-made-over-dylan-vente-4358055That report is from a year ago, who has he recently recommended who are simply not good enough ?
15-08-2024, 05:28 PM
Like I said Vente is in the past.
I don’t believe you, sorry. You’re making things up.
Gordy M
15-08-2024, 05:29 PM
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742415]
You are perfectly entitled to be comfortable with IG still trying to lead recruitment matters. I personally would be happier with the Sporting Director doing that role.
I can almost guarantee MM isnt discussing money and fees. That will be IG or BK. If that means he is involved in recruitment id suggest thats normal. If he is signing players in his own without input from MM ans SDG then thats different. Are you saying that is whats happening?
15-08-2024, 05:30 PM
Like I said Vente is in the past.
I don’t believe you, sorry. You’re making things up.
And suddenly remembered his log in after 15 years. :greengrin
TrinityHibby
Poppycock.
Sporting Director is the main source of player recruitment. BK then does the contracts.
You really need to stop making stuff up to bad mouth the board. We are investing more than ever to try and sort out the previous mistakes.
100% not making it up to bad mouth the Board but delighted you know all the facts. There is however a very big difference between who should be the main source of player recruitment (Sporting Director) and the influence the owner is still trying to have on recruitment matters.
Harbottle signed for Wimbledon. Permanent deal.
Harbottle away to AFC Wimbledon on a permanent
Harbottle away perm
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
15-08-2024, 05:31 PM
Harbottle gone
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742415]
The accusations you're chucking around of the club putting in low ball offers for McCowan with no intention of doing a deal, is the Sporting Director not partly responsible for what offers to put in?
15-08-2024, 05:32 PM
Good luck to him too.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:33 PM
[QUOTE=TrinityHibby;7742430]
I can almost guarantee MM isnt discussing money and fees. That will be IG or BK. If that means he is involved in recruitment id suggest thats normal. If he is signing players in his own without input from MM ans SDG then thats different. Are you saying that is whats happening?
I have been told he is regularly recommending players that are deemed nowhere near good enough
15-08-2024, 05:34 PM
Good news, good luck.
15-08-2024, 05:38 PM
100% not making it up to bad mouth the Board but delighted you know all the facts. There is however a very big difference between who should be the main source of player recruitment (Sporting Director) and the influence the owner is still trying to have on recruitment matters.
I think the owner of any business will have a legitimate role in deciding what his business can afford to pay.
You still haven’t answered what Vente’s transfer has to do with the McCowan situation or on what public platform Hibs have been discussing the McCowan transfer.
Ah’ll not hold my breath.
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 05:38 PM
Harbottle away to AFC Wimbledon on a permanent
Glad he got a club and wish him good luck.
You do realise this is a forum and I’m simply providing an opinion based on publicly available information?A wrong opinion with a weird attitude chucked in.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
15-08-2024, 05:39 PM
I have been told he is regularly recommending players that are deemed nowhere near good enough
He can recommend as many as he likes as long as MM is there telling him when they are not good enough. You never know, he might find another gem like Youan or Maolida.
Good luck to him, a good move for the player and Hibs
HendoDelivered
Scary how bad out previous recruitment has been…
Another one off the wage bill.
Good luck Riley!
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742434]
Why would you say that?
15-08-2024, 05:42 PM
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742434]
Are we signing those players that you are suggesting he is recommending? I would suggest the answer is no. As long as he recommends and we do not sign them unless they are good enough I really don’t see the problem. I recommend things when out shopping with the wife,my opinion is taken onboard and then discarded and probably correctly so, doesn’t mean I don’t get the occasional shopping item correct.
TrinityHFC
Trying to have? His family own the club so he can do what he likes. Perhaps you are getting mixed up with a structure that he is still actually part of?
And so what? What makes him particularly unqualified?
The UEFA scouting course is open to anyone.
John Park was an IT manager…
hibeerealist
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742415]
I certainly agree that the SD should be leading these negotiations and not IG
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 05:43 PM
"Hi Malkay, I think we should look at player x"
"Hi Ian, nah, he's crap"
"OK, speak to you later"
End of conversation
Sounds like new system in place is working to me!
Nothing wrong with recommending players as long as due diligence is done by MM 1st.
15-08-2024, 05:45 PM
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742434]
I have been told he is regularly recommending players that are deemed nowhere near good enoughCheers for the tip off.
15-08-2024, 05:45 PM
Transfermrkt still has us with a squad of 28 now Harbottle is away.
Still work to be done
15-08-2024, 05:48 PM
Transfermrkt still has us with a squad of 28 now Harbottle is away.
Still work to be done
JDH and Kenneh next you'd imagine. Sure a Hibs Observer article said there were options from down south, loans probably, then both out of contract in the summer.
15-08-2024, 05:50 PM
What’s the internet forum equivalent of loving the sound of your own voice?
21sMay
15-08-2024, 05:50 PM
JDH and Kenneh next you'd imagine. Sure a Hibs Observer article said there were options from down south, loans probably, then both out of contract in the summer.
Kenneh has suitors but wages are an issue
15-08-2024, 05:51 PM
Testiculating?
gorgie greens
15-08-2024, 05:51 PM
[QUOTE=Gordy M;7742434]
I was told that he is recommending players that are so far off the radar that they weren't even known
15-08-2024, 05:52 PM
Doing a "TrinityHibby" apparently.....:greengrin
[QUOTE=TrinityHibby;7742450]
Are we signing those players that you are suggesting he is recommending? I would suggest the answer is no. As long as he recommends and we do not sign them unless they are good enough I really don’t see the problem. I recommend things when out shopping with the wife,my opinion is taken onboard and then discarded and probably correctly so, doesn’t mean I don’t get the occasional shopping item correct.
The day Mrs Ringothedog was ill so Rtd did the shopping himself.
https://i.ibb.co/Ytb1Yjp/8-638f140f8f9fd-700.jpg (https://ibb.co/JzCG0k5)
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 05:54 PM
The accusations you're chucking around of the club putting in low ball offers for McCowan with no intention of doing a deal, is the Sporting Director not partly responsible for what offers to put in?
Give it a break, I’m simply stating an opinion. Whilst I expect this to result in failure, if Hibs do end up signing McCowan I will be pleasantly surprised.
TrinityHFC
15-08-2024, 05:54 PM
I certainly agree that the SD should be leading these negotiations and not IG
This is a bit confusing to me. Malky Mackay was a football player, coach, manager, now administrator but what makes him more qualified to lead commercial negotiations?
IG and his family have been involved in running successful businesses for some time. IG has worked on a day to day basis in running a football club for 5 to 6 yrs.
I get the desire for 'football' people to be leading decisions on football players and coaching, tactics etc but I think people are getting a bit carried away with what people should and should not be involved in.
15-08-2024, 05:56 PM
Hibs are really playing this out in public and more than likely to get gazumped ……don’t actually believe they have any serious intention of buying him as reflected in the repeated low offers they know will be rejected …..pretty desperate stuff
750k is not a lowball offer for a player with one year left on his contract with no track record at a higher level, possibly already in his prime years, with no likely resale value.
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 05:58 PM
He had a good goal scoring record and looked a player imo , personally I was delighted when we signed him .
He started off well though I think there might be reasons outwith football that no one could predict to him losing form / confidence etc . I do think there’s a player there who maybe just didn’t settle or adapt to our league.
I think our summer signing are encouraging tbh , likes of Mykola , Kwon , Bowie at 600k and now our attempt to sign McCowan for 750k shows great ambition from our club.
TrinityHFC
[QUOTE=TrinityHibby;7742450]
I was told that he is recommending players that are so far off the radar that they weren't even known
This is just getting silly. Not known by who? So what? There is now software where you can get the details, videos, reports etc about pretty much any player in the world...which of course you can follow up by going to see if you want.
Groathillgrump
The only desperate stuff on show is your bizarre take on how Hibs are conducting their transfer business. :rolleyes:
15-08-2024, 05:59 PM
What’s the internet forum equivalent of loving the sound of your own voice?Shouting for Hughie on the big white telephone?
15-08-2024, 06:00 PM
Can someone fix the quotes, please?
I'm strugging to work out who the good guys are here :greengrin
And who was it who recommended Bowie, Hoilett, Cadden and McCowan?
[QUOTE=007;7742444]
Give it a break, I’m simply stating an opinion. Whilst I expect this to result in failure, if Hibs do end up signing McCowan I will be pleasantly surprised.
And I'm simply questioning your opinion that the club doesn't have any serious intention of buying McCowan. I think that was a ridiculous statement to make and you couldn't back it up so tried to steer the discussion onto IG still being involved in recruitment.
15-08-2024, 06:01 PM
Saw that - you had me looking like a slavering bam until you deleted the post :greengrin
Mind you that's what the wife calls me anyway....
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:02 PM
"Hi Malkay, I think we should look at player x"
"Hi Ian, nah, he's crap"
"OK, speak to you later"
End of conversation
Sounds like new system in place is working to me!
That transcript is actually pretty similar to how I am being told it is operating at least up to the ‘Ian, nah he’s crap’ bit. Must be a tad wearing to repeatedly remind the owner why you were employed in the first place.
15-08-2024, 06:03 PM
Hopefully another centre half arriving now Harbottle is away
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:04 PM
[QUOTE=TrinityHibby;7742490]
And I'm simply questioning your opinion that the club doesn't have any serious intention of buying McCowan. I think that was a ridiculous statement to make and you couldn't back it up so tried to steer the discussion onto IG still being involved in recruitment.
I only think it will look ridiculous if he ends up signing.
Fantasy if you think we have no intention of doing a deal and are just bidding for the sake of it. Are Dundee offering him a contract commensurate with the value they're placing on him?
Spot on … no danger bidding to appease the fans.
If we don’t get him the fans know the money is there.
So then if we don’t spend the money on someone of equal measure and value they will totally lose the support of the fans.
Crazy tactic by board to not refute the media saying we are bidding if we aren’t going to spend that or near enough that amount
Paul1642
Glad I’m not the only one thrown off by Good Trinity vs Bad Trinity
FastEddieFelson
15-08-2024, 06:06 PM
Was it ever established who out of Montgomery, McDermott, Gordon, (or someone else) was responsible for bringing in maolida?
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:07 PM
The only desperate stuff on show is your bizarre take on how Hibs are conducting their transfer business. :rolleyes:
Open your eyes our transfer business has been absolutely desperate for years. As for how we are conducting our transfer business now, it is far too early to say but early signs not too promising.
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 06:08 PM
That transcript is actually pretty similar to how I am being told it is operating at least up to the ‘Ian, nah he’s crap’ bit. Must be a tad wearing to repeatedly remind the owner why you were employed in the first place.
Well then it sounds like system in place is working, in my work I have to deal with people sometimes making suggestions on topics they know nothing about and as long as they don't undermine me as the expert when I tell them no there is no harm
Unless you are saying he is undermining Malkay? In which case surely your sources could tell us what signings being made this summer are Gordon's ideas?
Or will "they" just wait until we are 10 games into the season, see who isn't performing and decide to point the finger to Gordon then?
supermcginn
15-08-2024, 06:10 PM
Hopefully a left footed centre back coming in to partner O'Hora, Rocky and Marv can fight out 3rd choice.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:10 PM
[QUOTE=hibeerealist;7742468]
This is a bit confusing to me. Malky Mackay was a football player, coach, manager, now administrator but what makes him more qualified to lead commercial negotiations?
IG and his family have been involved in running successful businesses for some time. IG has worked on a day to day basis in running a football club for 5 to 6 yrs.
I get the desire for 'football' people to be leading decisions on football players and coaching, tactics etc but I think people are getting a bit carried away with what people should and should not be involved in.
How successful have the Gordon family been in building a successful football team? Downward spiral under their ownership as far as many are concerned.
15-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Open your eyes our transfer business has been absolutely desperate for years. As for how we are conducting our transfer business now, it is far too early to say but early signs not too promising.
Not too promising?
What would be promising? Season-long loan of Mbappe?
Glad he got a club and wish him good luck.
👍
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:13 PM
Well then it sounds like system in place is working, in my work I have to deal with people sometimes making suggestions on topics they know nothing about and as long as they don't undermine me as the expert when I tell them no there is no harm
Unless you are saying he is undermining Malkay? In which case surely your sources could tell us what signings being made this summer are Gordon's ideas?
Or will "they" just wait until we are 10 games into the season, see who isn't performing and decide to point the finger to Gordon then?
Working beautifully ….8th last season, 11th now isn’t it fantastic under IG control?
15-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Your first sentence is reasonable.
Your second sentence is drivel.
We signed Bowie, for a lot of money, when it was clear we needed another striker.
We signed Hoilett, an excellent winger, and Cadden as cover for LB as well.
We signed O'Hora and Ekpiteta
We signed Myko on loan
We have signed an excellent DM, albeit on loan from Celtic.
We have been trying to sign McCowan and Dundee / players agent / both (delete as appropriate) have been leaking things to the press. Thats not Hibs fault.
If we dont sign him, I am sure we have other targets.
I would also be very surprised if we didnt sign another CH.
Groathillgrump
15-08-2024, 06:17 PM
Patronising git.
You know I was referring specifically to the ongoing McCowan negotiations.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:18 PM
Not too promising?
What would be promising? Season-long loan of Mbappe?
Apart from Bowie, signings have been the usual combination of loans, lower league freebies or aged journeymen. Apologies for the lack of excitement from what I’ve seen so far ….bottom six an absolute certainty unless we property invest.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:18 PM
Patronising git.
You know I was referring specifically to the ongoing McCowan negotiations.
🥱
15-08-2024, 06:21 PM
Which is a nonsense statement. Targeted new centre halves and keeper, signed, brought in Bowie, experience in Hoillet, a left sided player in Cadden...and shipped out a lot of the players we don't need or want.
It's hard to say it's not promising...
15-08-2024, 06:22 PM
Open your eyes
See all the love in me
I got enough forever!
https://youtu.be/DlCCZau-9NQ
15-08-2024, 06:22 PM
Apart from Bowie, signings have been the usual combination of loans, lower league freebies or aged journeymen. Apologies for the lack of excitement from what I’ve seen so far ….bottom six an absolute certainty unless we property invest.
Okay, I will try again.
Were Bowie, Hoilett, Cadden, the guy from Celtic and McCowan all Ian Gordon recommendations?
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:23 PM
Your first sentence is reasonable.
Your second sentence is drivel.
We signed Bowie, for a lot of money, when it was clear we needed another striker.
We signed Hoilett, an excellent winger, and Cadden as cover for LB as well.
We signed O'Hora and Ekpiteta
We signed Myko on loan
We have signed an excellent DM, albeit on loan from Celtic.
We have been trying to sign McCowan and Dundee / players agent / both (delete as appropriate) have been leaking things to the press. Thats not Hibs fault.
If we dont sign him, I am sure we have other targets.
I would also be very surprised if we didnt sign another CH.
11th in League 👍
15-08-2024, 06:25 PM
The only thing that matters is whether the player is good enough. If a player signs and does the business who gives a **** if they cost a fee or were free, or whether they have had a journeyman career.
Were you moaning about the freebies, journeymen and loan players who helped win us the Scottish cup?
Celtic probably waiting on Hibs to agree a price so they don't get held to ransom. They can then offer the same but higher wages. And trophies!
11th in League 👍
Two games in and one of them against Celtic. Give it a rest you absolute bore.
15-08-2024, 06:27 PM
Just out of curiosity, who's widely held opinion is it [emoji848]
GGTTHPeople who wear cardigans and drive rovers.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:28 PM
Which is a nonsense statement. Targeted new centre halves and keeper, signed, brought in Bowie, experience in Hoillet, a left sided player in Cadden...and shipped out a lot of the players we don't need or want.
It's hard to say it's not promising...
Time will tell but Kelty, St Mirren and Celtic last week didn’t provide any clear evidence that we are on the up……midfield is a major problem and the jury is out on whether the centre half combination is better than what we had last year 🤞
15-08-2024, 06:29 PM
Glad I’m not the only one thrown off by Good Trinity vs Bad Trinity
Only need to add in Ugly Trinity then the holy trinity will be complete.
Houston7
15-08-2024, 06:30 PM
11th in League 👍
Promise to offer no more anti-Hibs comments after your 200th post! Would make life more pleasant for the rest of us. Best described as “difficult to ignore, but well worth the effort!” You - not the rest of us. As a Hibs fan of over 75 years, I find your comments utterly depressing. I know I can ignore them and will in future.
15-08-2024, 06:33 PM
Were you moaning about the freebies, journeymen and loan players who helped win us the Scottish cup?
My guess is that he left the bowling club in a strop around the 92nd minute...............:aok:
15-08-2024, 06:36 PM
Promise to offer no more anti-Hibs comments after your 200th post! Would make life more pleasant for the rest of us. Best described as “difficult to ignore, but well worth the effort!” You - not the rest of us. As a Hibs fan of over 75 years, I find your comments utterly depressing. I know I can ignore them and will in future.
Just based on your user name, you aren't based in Houston are you?
15-08-2024, 06:36 PM
Speak for yourself, I actually think this window has been not too bad and it really just needs the midfield sorted now.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:37 PM
Fwiw I’m not anti-Hibs but definitely anti status quo. Please feel free to ignore my comments but genuinely fear for the future of this Club under current leadership
Groathillgrump
My guess is that he left the bowling club in a strop around the 92nd minute...............:aok:
You could be on to something there, GD. :greengrin
ElginHibbie
Fwiw I’m not anti-Hibs but definitely anti status quo. Please feel free to ignore my comments but genuinely fear for the future of this Club under current leadership
You not gonna answer any of us asking which of the current signings are from Ian Gordon's suggestion?
I mean by avoiding the question after multiple have asked it might look to some like you know answering it would show you are just making stuff up and are completely at it....
15-08-2024, 06:42 PM
Only need to add in Ugly Trinity then the holy trinity will be complete.Holey trinity?
Paul1642
What status quo? The starting 11 is more than 50% changed. We have a new manager, a new DOF and a new minority owner.
Finally, something we can agree on. 3-chord charlatans.
15-08-2024, 06:48 PM
This is like a Marvel movie these days, I've no idea who's who, why, or what is going on.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:49 PM
You not gonna answer any of us asking which of the current signings are from Ian Gordon's suggestion?
I mean by avoiding the question after multiple have asked it might look to some like you know answering it would show you are just making stuff up and are completely at it....
I actually didn’t say any of the current signings were Ian Gordon’s suggestions. My major concern is that I heard from two credible sources that he is still trying to lead recruitment matters despite the newly Sporting Director repeatedly reminding him that is what he was brought to the club to do. Many of these players were considered to be well below the standard required or what we needed.
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:50 PM
😂😂
Very clever :aok::greengrin
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 06:52 PM
I actually didn’t say any of the current signings were Ian Gordon’s suggestions. My major concern is that I heard from two credible sources that he is still trying to lead recruitment matters despite the newly Sporting Director repeatedly reminding him that is what he was brought to the club to do. Many of these players were considered to be well below the standard required or what we needed.
Then you should be thrilled! The leadership seem to be learning from mistakes and put in a new system so these suggestion are not taken forward
The status quo has changed!
This is like a Marvel movie these days, I've no idea who's who, why, or what is going on.
I gave up pages ago🙄
TrinityHibby
15-08-2024, 06:57 PM
Then you should be thrilled! The leadership seem to be learning from mistakes and put in a new system so these suggestion are not taken forward
The status quo has changed!
I was of course referring to sporting failure which has been a constant ……I make no apology for not considering that acceptable….wouldn’t trust the leadership team to deliver a 🍕
Sheffhibee
15-08-2024, 07:06 PM
Can we bin this thread and start again please?
I thought it was supposed to be about transfers. I am totally baffled with what the hell the last 5/6 pages is all about:blah::blah:
15-08-2024, 07:06 PM
Holey trinity?
More like unholy trinity.
And it used to be a nice part of the city.
15-08-2024, 07:08 PM
Blame is totally on Monty. Looked great before he arrived then Monty changed his responsibility from goalscoring to swapping places with our wide midfielders 🥴
Houston7
15-08-2024, 07:16 PM
Just based on your user name, you aren't based in Houston are you?
Yes, but the colder original one in Scotland. 🙊
15-08-2024, 07:18 PM
“Pictures of Matchstick Men” was decent.
ruthven_raiders
15-08-2024, 07:19 PM
Can we bin this thread and start again please?
I thought it was supposed to be about transfers. I am totally baffled with what the hell the last 5/6 pages is all about:blah::blah:
Absolutely, new thread needed so we can see what is happening rather than constant chat between userthat has no relevance to current rumours on transfer activity ...
15-08-2024, 07:22 PM
Yes, but the colder original one in Scotland. 🙊
Ah, I had to look that up lol, don't know that area well at all :)
Cabbage-Patch
15-08-2024, 07:23 PM
With Harbottle away, just leaves JDH, Delf, McKirdy and Kenneh and that's most of the dead wood away.
Still think we need the following in however
CB
Right sided winger
2x CM
Striker
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 07:24 PM
With Harbottle away gonna need another CB, may be one for a loan from BKs?
15-08-2024, 07:25 PM
Thought they had a tour named in search of the 4th cord, not sure if they found it.
15-08-2024, 07:30 PM
11th in League 👍
give it a rest for Gods sake. For your own mental health as well as others.
EGL2000
15-08-2024, 07:30 PM
With Harbottle away, just leaves JDH, Delf, McKirdy and Kenneh and that's most of the dead wood away.
CB
Right sided winger
2x CM
Striker
I think we will see a Cm and striker, other two positions might be filled by BK loans near the end of the window.
expresso
15-08-2024, 07:40 PM
CB
Right sided winger
2x CM
Striker
Tavares too
babahibs
15-08-2024, 07:44 PM
Poor
Cabbage-Patch
15-08-2024, 07:48 PM
Tavares too
I think for my own sanity I try to forget he even exists
Sioux
15-08-2024, 07:49 PM
The only thing that matters is whether the player is good enough. If a player signs and does the business who gives a **** if they cost a fee or were free, or whether they have had a journeyman career.
He most likely was moaning, along with his mates in Stratties!
In other news, does anyone else picture Trinity guy in a dark suit, red tie, dodgy hairdo, and red baseball cap with Dik on the front of it?
Trinity Hibee
15-08-2024, 07:50 PM
Wage bill clearing a bit now. Hopefully a couple more big impact signings to come
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 08:18 PM
Hopefully another centre half arriving now Harbottle is away
Will we see another striker coming in now Vente is away too ? . Been wondering are we slightly weak on the RW position compared to the LW also ? .
15-08-2024, 08:19 PM
Is this not meant to be transfer forum .Getting more like a scoring forum.
Houston7
15-08-2024, 08:27 PM
Is this not meant to be transfer forum .Getting more like a scoring forum.
Surprised none of the ITK contributors have suggested who we might go for if Luke McCowan falls through. Personally I have no idea, as not only am I not ITK, I sometimes don’t know what day of the week it is! 😂
Allan Campbell seems to be the name most mentioned who I think is a similar. However I have not seen any confirmed rumours that we might be in for him. We should have a plan b and c but no guarantee we will spend the reported fee we have offered Dundee on an alternative.
15-08-2024, 08:37 PM
Harbottle a strange one . On paper , he seemed like a very good signing and he seemed to play regularly on loan last season . Not really had a chance to show what he`s worth with us . Aware he`s made a few mistakes but so have all our other defenders in the same period . With Marv , O`Hora and Rocky and Obita a possible in defence we may decide we don`t need to sign anyone till winter window since we have hardly any midweek matches till then and will have free weekends for internationals and LC weekends if we don`t make the final . Maybe a loan player .
McGruber
15-08-2024, 08:47 PM
Wage bill clearing a bit now. Hopefully a couple more big impact signings to come
It really is - that's 25 players between 1st team and development off the books either permanent or loan. Just a couple now that aren't featuring, 4 or 5 probably. Yet the narrative doesn't seem to change from us having a massive squad and the sentiment we have to wait to next year to have a proper clear out just seems an excuse to me. Brought in 9 so far with more to come, how many do you need to bring in to change up a team and have a proper go at it.
15-08-2024, 08:56 PM
It really is - that's 25 players between 1st team and development off the books either permanent or loan. Just a couple now that aren't featuring, 4 or 5 probably. Yet the narrative doesn't seem to change from us having a massive squad and the sentiment we have to wait to next year to have a proper clear out just seems an excuse to me. Brought in 9 so far with more to come, how many do you need to bring in to change up a team and have a proper go at it.
Think we’ve done a decent job in getting players out the door that aren’t contributing anything or very little.
Few to go. JDH and Kenneh the obvious two. Jair and I reckon possibly Megwa as I just don’t see him playing. Obviously we expect Youan to be sold but be interesting to see what happens with that one. Need someone to take them but hopefully we can find takers for most and get another couple ourselves.
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 09:04 PM
8 SPFL transfers to watch as deadline day nears ……
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/eight-spfl-transfers-to-watch-as-deadline-day-nears-celtic-and-rangers-duo-hearts-talisman-hibs-enigma-4744255
15-08-2024, 09:04 PM
Think we’ve done a decent job in getting players out the door that aren’t contributing anything or very little.
Few to go. JDH and Kenneh the obvious two. Jair and I reckon possibly Megwa as I just don’t see him playing. Obviously we expect Youan to be sold but be interesting to see what happens with that one. Need someone to take them but hopefully we can find takers for most and get another couple ourselves.
Didnt Megwa go out on loan already?
15-08-2024, 09:08 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/eight-spfl-transfers-to-watch-as-deadline-day-nears-celtic-and-rangers-duo-hearts-talisman-hibs-enigma-4744255
Sevco are so broke they would drive Cantwell and Tavernier to the airport for half of their value. Though any coach even thinking about wanting Cantwell should be dismissed for being an abject lunatic.
Mark05
15-08-2024, 09:12 PM
Maybe there should be a limit of say 10 posts a day,on a thread.So we don't have to read so much crap from a minority that would be nice
15-08-2024, 09:15 PM
Harbottle a strange one . On paper , he seemed like a very good signing and he seemed to play regularly on loan last season . Not really had a chance to show what he`s worth with us . Aware he`s made a few mistakes but so have all our other defenders in the same period . With Marv , O`Hora and Rocky and Obita a possible in defence we may decide we don`t need to sign anyone till winter window since we have hardly any midweek matches till then and will have free weekends for internationals and LC weekends if we don`t make the final . Maybe a loan player .
Seems to be an issue with Hibs last while players who look decent enough on WyScout but then arrive and don’t adapt of fit into Scottish football / the Hibs team.
I just really hope the new players have changed that and we see improvement’s.
I’m glad we are clearing out players who I’m sure wouldn’t exactly be buzzing on the training ground never playing.
15-08-2024, 09:16 PM
Tavares too
Don't take away the music.
15-08-2024, 09:16 PM
A few folk made the point earlier which I find myself agreeing with, signings like Harbottle make good sense for a club like Hibs (young prospects with a good reputation who have potential to develop in to really good players) the problem is we didn't have a solid base competent squad to work with them and signed way too many at the same time, so they had no one to lean on and learn from.
Seems we're doing that now by signing players like a
O'hora and Cadden, solid pros with good experience, and hopefully build a good structure that young players can join and develop in. Just a bit too late for Harbottle, definitely time for him to move on.
15-08-2024, 09:26 PM
Few to go. JDH and Kenneh the obvious two. Jair and I reckon possibly Megwa as I just don’t see him playing. Obviously we expect Youan to be sold but be interesting to see what happens with that one. Need someone to take them but hopefully we can find takers for most and get another couple ourselves.With Harbottle gone , Megwa could be kept for cover . If not , hope he goes on loan as could still make an impact in future . Kenneh and Delf have been kept away from first team squad even when fit so presume SDG doesn`t count on them . JDH not sure what situation is . If fully fit I`d have him in our midfield before some of our regulars but there may be other factors there too . In a minority here but I hope Jair stays but only if Gray is going to use him and not just for last 10 minutes . Every game he plays he creates chances for us , with Bowie and Kukharevych that should mean goals . I suppose that will partly depend if Boyle stays with us .
15-08-2024, 09:30 PM
With Harbottle gone , Megwa could be kept for cover . If not , hope he goes on loan as could still make an impact in future . Kenneh and Delf have been kept away from first team squad even when fit so presume SDG doesn`t count on them . JDH not sure what situation is . If fully fit I`d have him in our midfield before some of our regulars but there may be other factors there too . In a minority here but I hope Jair stays but only if Gray is going to use him and not just for last 10 minutes . Every game he plays he creates chances for us , with Bowie and Kukharevych that should mean goals . I suppose that will partly depend if Boyle stays with us .
Agree re JDH
15-08-2024, 09:33 PM
Agree re JDH
Said similar about JDH in the past, think I said he'd be POTY under Monty last year. But the guy is so far out the picture he's not even mentioned in injury updates anymore.
Out of contract this summer, so for his sake as much as anything else, I hope he moves on so he can get out and playing. It'll benefit him come the summer when he's looking for a club.
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 09:39 PM
Didnt Megwa go out on loan already?
There was something like someone posted an Airdrie lineup from last season before a league cup match and has caused some confusion
Megwa still with us at moment, but imagine decent chance he's out on loan again near end of window
15-08-2024, 09:40 PM
Bad Times if that happens.
15-08-2024, 09:42 PM
Especially 'Breakin' absolute tune.
15-08-2024, 09:42 PM
There was something like someone posted an Airdrie lineup from last season before a league cup match and has caused some confusion
Megwa still with us at moment, but imagine decent chance he's out on loan again near end of window
Ah fair enough, explains my confusion anyway :)
SON OF PADDY
15-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Two games in and one of them against Celtic. Give it a rest you absolute bore.
👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
15-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Could do with an update from Early Delivery after his post yesterday
15-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Rocky
JDH
Kennah
Delferriere
Boruc
Levitt
Tavares
McKirdy
Megwa
Amos
All players listed for me, I don’t think they’d contribute past 36 league appearances between them
So far that reason if any of them has an opportunity to move on I think they will moved on
Still quite a bit of the dead wood to get rid of imo
However credit where credit is due, the incomings have all on paper been needed and look like we have done a bit more research on player and what he brings to the group
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Sevco are so broke they would drive Cantwell and Tavernier to the airport for half of their value. Though any coach even thinking about wanting Cantwell should be dismissed for being an abject lunatic.
It would be all the more pleasing if they are stuck with Tavernier who Clement doesn’t want and Tic Tok Tod who doesn’t want to be there . Got a good feeling it’s all going to end badly for the huns this season…..🍿
15-08-2024, 09:54 PM
It would be all the more pleasing if they are stuck with Tavernier who Clement doesn’t want and Tic Tok Tod who doesn’t want to be there . Got a good feeling it’s all going to end badly for the huns this season…..🍿
I've been hoping every year is the year for another disaster but between their stadium, court case, and their meltdown after missing out on UCL money I'm starting to think it's finally coming.
Can't see Shankland going to Rangers now.
15-08-2024, 10:08 PM
No chance they could afford him.
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 10:09 PM
Rocky
JDH
Kennah
Delferriere
Boruc
Levitt
Tavares
McKirdy
Megwa
Amos
All players listed for me, I don’t think they’d contribute past 36 league appearances between them
So far that reason if any of them has an opportunity to move on I think they will moved on
Still quite a bit of the dead wood to get rid of imo
However credit where credit is due, the incomings have all on paper been needed and look like we have done a bit more research on player and what he brings to the group
As things stand we'd need Rocky, at least one of the CMs and maybe even Boruc for backups. If club still rate Megwa can see him going on loan.
The rest yeah they could go
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 10:12 PM
I've been hoping every year is the year for another disaster but between their stadium, court case, and their meltdown after missing out on UCL money I'm starting to think it's finally coming.
Signs are good so far of it happening. 🤞
CentreForward
15-08-2024, 10:14 PM
EEN now saying that Gray will be looking for another striker to replace Vente though he doesn’t expect the search to be easy.
15-08-2024, 10:19 PM
EEN now saying that Gray will be looking for another striker to replace Vente though he doesn’t expect the search to be easy.
Fair enough. Can see a striker being signed in the final days of the window.
Go off line for a few hours, come back and we have a new villain on .net causing chaos and getting everyone ratty with each other, oh the joys of a transfer window.
Donegal Hibby
15-08-2024, 10:24 PM
Neither can I , I don’t think there will be high demand in the English Championship for him either . It wouldn’t surprise me if he ends up staying where he is and we hear a load of bull about it .
15-08-2024, 10:26 PM
I think he’ll sign a new contract at Hearts.
Neither can I , I don’t think there will be high demand in the English Championship for him either . It wouldn’t surprise me if he ends up staying where he is and we hear a load of bull about it .
Yeah, I think he'll stay. The bigger question mark is over whether he'll sign a new contract or let it run down and sign a pre-contract in Jan, not necessarily with Rangers. Can imagine a number of clubs happy to offer him a decent salary when getting him on a free but the current valuation is scaring them off just now as it'd be too big a risk.
15-08-2024, 10:31 PM
Not sure about that. Think he'll sign a pre-contract with the huns in Jan. They just can't afford the transfer fee.
Hope they keep playing him as a 10, honking there.
King Cosell
15-08-2024, 10:31 PM
As things stand we'd need Rocky, at least one of the CMs and maybe even Boruc for backups. If club still rate Megwa can see him going on loan.
The rest yeah they could go
Megwa's a problem. I'm a massive fan and I'm desperate for him to stay but he's got 1 year left so if the club want to keep him they'll have to offer him a new deal that matches what a club like Dundee Utd would offer. He might want to leave, he's too good to be sitting on our bench.
15-08-2024, 10:32 PM
Not sure about that. Think he'll sign a pre-contract with the huns in Jan. They just can't afford the transfer fee.
They can't afford big wages either at this point.
ElginHibbie
15-08-2024, 10:36 PM
Megwa's a problem. I'm a massive fan and I'm desperate for him to stay but he's got 1 year left so if the club want to keep him they'll have to offer him a new deal that matches what a club like Dundee Utd would offer. He might want to leave, he's too good to be sitting on our bench.
Ah didn't know that about his contract, does complicate things.
Looks like Miller, Cadden and Whittaker also have 1 year left (going by a website that could be wrong!) so some decisions there that might need to be made sooner than with other positions
15-08-2024, 10:43 PM
They can't afford big wages either at this point.
They'll still be offering more than Hearts do. Whether they can afford it or not is a complete other point.
15-08-2024, 10:48 PM
They'll still be offering more than Hearts do. Whether they can afford it or not is a complete other point.
Time will tell of course but I'd bet $100 that they won't sign Shankland on a pre contract. Seems clear to me that the stadium problem has them goosed.
KeithWright9
15-08-2024, 10:49 PM
Does anyone think Hearts really want to keep a hold of Shankland? I think that in reality they need to sell him just like we need to sell Youan.
He is overweight and doesn’t look particularly interested. He and Hearts must have expected several offers given last season and euros call up.
Absolutely certain IMO Rangers will try and get him for a couple of million in the last day of the window. He is 29 and in last year. Hearts are not getting £5m for him, especially if he isn’t scoring or looking sharp.
15-08-2024, 11:03 PM
He is overweight and doesn’t look particularly interested. He and Hearts must have expected several offers given last season and euros call up.
Absolutely certain IMO Rangers will try and get him for a couple of million in the last day of the window. He is 29 and in last year. Hearts are not getting £5m for him, especially if he isn’t scoring or looking sharp.
Wonder if Aberdeen might go for Shankland since they got £6.5m for Miovski.
Now that would be very funny. Can’t see it but it would be meltdown at the PBS.
15-08-2024, 11:31 PM
I actually think Hearts is the best place for him, I said that when he signed for them. He’s a very good penalty box poacher and can muscle folk of the ball to create space and free kicks. Tynecastle is the ideal place for a player like him, really small pitch mwhere the ball is bouncing around the box more than anywhere else. He’s not got the pace to run in behind but Tynecastle absolutely suits him. He’ll be toast for them on another season I suspect.
babahibs
16-08-2024, 05:02 AM
Dundee Utd supporting pal tells me they're interested in Megwa, reckons a loan.
MKHIBEE
16-08-2024, 05:43 AM
Tavares too
Tavares, Status Quo, Charlatans! Any chance we can forget the music and concentrate on the fitba?
16-08-2024, 05:53 AM
Time will tell of course but I'd bet $100 that they won't sign Shankland on a pre contract. Seems clear to me that the stadium problem has them goosed.
Rangers always manage to find money from somewhere
16-08-2024, 06:15 AM
Wow. They always seem to get top dollar for their players. A transfer model Gordon and Kensell could only dream of. They must have raked in some cash over the last 10 years through players sales.
16-08-2024, 06:34 AM
Tavares, Status Quo, Charlatans! Any chance we can forget the music and concentrate on the fitba?
That sounds like Madness to me.
babahibs
16-08-2024, 06:40 AM
Yes
16-08-2024, 06:46 AM
Surprising no one has went for Lyall Cameron from Dundee, also in the last year of his contract.
Good player and only 21
16-08-2024, 07:10 AM
Yes
I see what you did there.
16-08-2024, 07:11 AM
No Doubt
ruthven_raiders
16-08-2024, 07:21 AM
Surprising no one has went for Lyall Cameron from Dundee, also in the last year of his contract.
Good player and only 21
Yeh another good player, they seem to have a good recruitment policy, can see why they are doing so well....
GreenPJ
16-08-2024, 07:21 AM
Wow. They always seem to get top dollar for their players. A transfer model Gordon and Kensell could only dream of. They must have raked in some cash over the last 10 years through players sales.
Proteus, Doing and Melkersson all got what I think we could have got based on contract situation/experience. As I said previously all those Aberdeen incoming transfer fees got them bottom 6 last season.
GreenPJ
16-08-2024, 07:23 AM
Good player and only 21
Maybe we should direct our efforts in that direction.
Cabbage-Patch
16-08-2024, 07:24 AM
Too good to be sitting on our bench? Not sure about that tbh. Name one single stand out performance he's had for us? Decent young prospect but hes still very raw. Y
The fact Hibs haven't offered him a new contract yet speaks volumes. If someone's prepared to offer a fee for him then fine by me.
Too good to be sitting on our bench? Not sure about that tbh. Name one single stand out performance he's had for us? Decent young prospect but hes still very raw. Y
The fact Hibs haven't offered him a new contract yet speaks volumes. If someone's prepared to offer a fee for him then fine by me.
Not good enough imo we probably need better than we currently have ahead of him so I don’t see him being here after his contract
16-08-2024, 07:53 AM
Proteus, Doing and Melkersson all got what I think we could have got based on contract situation/experience. As I said previously all those Aberdeen incoming transfer fees got them bottom 6 last season.
3 out of 3 wrong, surely a .net record. 🤭
16-08-2024, 07:56 AM
GK: Bursik / Smith / Boruc
RB: Cadden / Miller / Megwa [BUSINESS DONE]
CB: O'Hora / Rocky [BUSINESS DONE]
CB: Marvin / [B]TBC [1 NEEDED]
LB: Obita / Cadden
CDM: Kwon / NMW / Amos
CM: Newell / Levitt [BUSINESS DONE]
CM: [B]TBC / Campbell [1 NEEDED]
RW: Boyle / Bowie
LW: Youan / Hoilett / Molotnikov [BUSINESS DONE]
CF: Kuchy / [B]TBC / McKirdy [1 NEEDED]
Out:
- Kenneh
- JDH
- Jair
- Delferierre
16-08-2024, 07:59 AM
Yeh another good player, they seem to have a good recruitment policy, can see why they are doing so well....
He came through their youth team
Rangers always manage to find money from somewhereLike that time they were liquidated.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
16-08-2024, 08:13 AM
Hibs highest fee received was for Scott Brown in 2007 - that’s quite a long time ago.
Hearts got a lot of money for Craig Gordon moving to Sunderland in 2007 also.
Aberdeen have done well last few years to sell players down south and abroad.
Obviously Celtic and Rangers lead the way with player sales and values received - I didn’t realise Jota leaving was close to £25 million?!
Anyway Aberdeen signed Miovski for around £600k and he scored 42 goals for them over couple seasons in a poor team.
Money can be made if you spend a little - rarely does a free transfer make you money back.
Youth players can get you fees but think even De La Cruz going Villa made Hibs a profit.
jakeshibs
16-08-2024, 08:19 AM
Said similar about JDH in the past, think I said he'd be POTY under Monty last year. But the guy is so far out the picture he's not even mentioned in injury updates anymore.
Out of contract this summer, so for his sake as much as anything else, I hope he moves on so he can get out and playing. It'll benefit him come the summer when he's looking for a club.
Sorry, but I don't agree and don't rate JDH; apart from one game, he has never delivered, and there is no evidence that after being injured, he will have improved. We must be aiming for better quality.
MKHIBEE
16-08-2024, 08:22 AM
That sounds like Madness to me.
Stone the crows, didn’t expect that reply.
j'adorehibs
16-08-2024, 08:26 AM
Out:
- Kenneh
- JDH
- Jair
- Delferierre
in an ideal world I'd add Levitt, McKirdy and Campbell as outs if we could replace
i can only assume most of these OUTS will be done when contracts end next summer
get another striker/left CB/and a midfileder and all business is done but midfiled bench will still be poor imo
16-08-2024, 08:26 AM
Hibs highest fee received was for Scott Brown in 2007 - that’s quite a long time ago.
Hearts got a lot of money for Craig Gordon moving to Sunderland in 2007 also.
Aberdeen have done well last few years to sell players down south and abroad.
Obviously Celtic and Rangers lead the way with player sales and values received - I didn’t realise Jota leaving was close to £25 million?!
Anyway Aberdeen signed Miovski for around £600k and he scored around 16 goals for them over couple seasons in a poor team.
Money can be made if you spend a little - rarely does a free transfer make you money back.
Youth players can get you fees but think even De La Cruz going Villa made Hibs a profit.
Miovski scored 42 goals over 2 seasons.
16-08-2024, 08:30 AM
Sorry, but I don't agree and don't rate JDH; apart from one game, he has never delivered, and there is no evidence that after being injured, he will have improved. We must be aiming for better quality.
Was the Aston Villa home game the last competitive match JDH started for Hibs ?
That was 1 year ago - crazy to think his injury was caused by LJ in training too.
Musselbound
16-08-2024, 08:30 AM
Out:
- Kenneh
- JDH
- Jair
- Delferierre
Generally agree with what's still required. We may look to Bournemouth to fill one or two of these positions. The assumption is Youan is going. If he were to stay then there's less need for another forward/winger.
Pytheas
16-08-2024, 08:32 AM
I had a Proteus Doing once but it went away by itself.
16-08-2024, 08:34 AM
On sky sports news it says we have signed a player called J Smith from Stockport.
Must have missed that, who is he, what position does he play, or have they got that wrong?:greengrin
16-08-2024, 08:35 AM
On sky sports news it says we have signed a player called J Smith from Stockport.
Must have missed that, who is he, what position does he play, or have they got that wrong?:greengrin
Goalkeeper
16-08-2024, 08:36 AM
I think it says it all when we’re not in a rush to agree terms with any of our players that are out of contract next summer. Much as I think Joe, on his day, can play a part moving forward the extension to 2027 was generous to say the least.
16-08-2024, 08:37 AM
Out:
- Kenneh
- JDH
- Jair
- Delferierre
Looking at that list..
Next summer..correct me if wrong..
Need a new number 1
Cadden and Miller contracts expire 2025
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
Next summer looks an even bigger rebuild than this summer !!
16-08-2024, 08:40 AM
Goalkeeper
Ah right, I thought he'd come from a different club but couldnt name it, and never even knew his name was Smith. :greengrin
Just goes to show how much notice i take of incomings and outgoings these days. :boo hoo:
16-08-2024, 08:41 AM
Looking at that list..
Need a new number 1
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
I wouldn't be offering any of those players new deals apart from maybe Miller depending if he shows more this season.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
16-08-2024, 08:47 AM
I don't know the other two but Doing rings a bell.
The Sundance Kid
16-08-2024, 08:47 AM
Looking at that list..
Need a new number 1
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
Campbell’s contract runs to 2027 but all the rest you mention are out of contract with us next summer. You can add to that list Doyle Hayes, Kenneh, Boruc, Megwa, McAllister, Jacob MacIntyre, Kukharevych, McClelland, O’Connor and Aiken also.
For those out of contract at the end of this season, Hibs do have one year extension options on Miller, Boyle, Amos and McClelland.
16-08-2024, 08:49 AM
Looking at that list..
Need a new number 1
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
I'm sure MM has said next summer is going to be a huge reset, think he said there were 15 players out of contract which would allow us to reshape the squad. Hopefully Gray will do well this season and out recruitment team will be ready to go for the summer window.
16-08-2024, 08:51 AM
I'm sure MM has said next summer is going to be a huge reset, think he said there were 15 players out of contract which would allow us to reshape the squad. Hopefully Gray will do well this season and out recruitment team will be ready to go for the summer window.
Which is what we want.
16-08-2024, 08:51 AM
Trying to have? His family own the club so he can do what he likes. Perhaps you are getting mixed up with a structure that he is still actually part of?
And so what? What makes him particularly unqualified?
The UEFA scouting course is open to anyone.
John Park was an IT manager…
I don't want to get between the divinity of Trinity here but I'll take 'inexperienced clueless muppet with a proven track record of pishing away money on bad calls' for $100 dollars please Alex.
I don't know the other two but Doing rings a bell.
He's got a jump like Zebedee.
16-08-2024, 09:12 AM
Looking at that list..
Need a new number 1
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
Looking at that list I think Chris Cadden and Lewis Miller are the only real contenders for a renewal, both will contribute this season and both have a bit of versatility that while they're not the best players I could see a case being made for them staying as part of a squad. The issue might be if you identify a right back you think is going to vastly improve us.
16-08-2024, 09:16 AM
From our Hibs Central friend
Adrian Grbic - FC Lorient striker is an option on loan, Hibs have been in dialogue with club/Black Knights regarding a loan deal - Bill Foley is a minority shareholder with FC Lorient, Hibs are looking utilise the link up the same way they did to land Marcondes & Maolida on loan.
MagicSwirlingShip
16-08-2024, 09:20 AM
Adrian Grbic - FC Lorient striker is an option on loan, Hibs have been in dialogue with club/Black Knights regarding a loan deal - Bill Foley is a minority shareholder with FC Lorient, Hibs are looking utilise the link up the same way they did to land Marcondes & Maolida on loan.
He could at least tag in the Hermit Crab
NC1875
16-08-2024, 09:25 AM
What did the link up have to do with Maolida coming on loan ?
16-08-2024, 09:32 AM
Your guess is a good as mine tbh. Bit of a head scracher
EGL2000
16-08-2024, 09:35 AM
Looks like he's got fairy good pedigree 9 caps for Austrian national team.
Trinity Hibee
Looks to have pedigree. Maybe a player who has lost his way a bit? Was linked with Brighton and both the OF back in 2020
Campbell’s contract runs to 2027 but all the rest you mention are out of contract with us next summer. You can add to that list Doyle Hayes, Kenneh, Boruc, Megwa, McAllister, Jacob MacIntyre, Kukharevych, McClelland, O’Connor and Aiken also.
For those out of contract at the end of this season, Hibs do have one year extension options on Miller, Boyle, Amos and McClelland.
Like this summer I don’t think we should offer any of the out of contract players another deal. Except for the youngsters like J Macintyre (if he’s as exciting as some believe), maybe McAllister and Megwa as a cheap squad player.
How far away from being first team ready is McAllister? Would be very Hibs to spend whatever fee we did on him and he ends up leaving for free having played a handful of minutes.
Frogga
16-08-2024, 09:36 AM
Looking at that list I think Chris Cadden and Lewis Miller are the only real contenders for a renewal, both will contribute this season and both have a bit of versatility that while they're not the best players I could see a case being made for them staying as part of a squad. The issue might be if you identify a right back you think is going to vastly improve us.Josh Campbell will get a new deal. I wouldn't be surprised if he's still here in 10 years time.
Edit - just noticed other posts saying his contract is longer.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
16-08-2024, 09:38 AM
He could at least tag in the Hermit Crab
H C
Hibs Central?
16-08-2024, 09:46 AM
Josh Campbell will get a new deal. I wouldn't be surprised if he's still here in 10 years time.
Edit - just noticed other posts saying his contract is longer.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2023/february/16/Josh-Campbell-Signs-Long-Term-Deal/
2027 contract expiry for Campbell
16-08-2024, 09:48 AM
Looking at that list..
Need a new number 1
Rocky expires 2025
Kwon away
Amos expires 2025
Campbell expires 2025
Boyle expires 2025
Mckirdy expires 2025
Hoilett expires 2025
….
Campbell is 2027
Sioux
16-08-2024, 09:49 AM
H C
Hibs Central?
It all makes perfectly good sense now!:greengrin
ruthven_raiders
16-08-2024, 09:58 AM
Campbell is 2027
Gives us a chance to get proper long term quality, none of those players will be a great miss, leaving out Celtic loanee....
H18S NX
16-08-2024, 10:29 AM
I don't know the other two but Doing rings a bell.....:greengrin:greengrin:top marks
16-08-2024, 10:34 AM
Your guess is a good as mine tbh. Bit of a head scracher
He felt like he had a slightly higher pedigree prior to joining us than we have really been used to signing in the past, so his arrival was arguably the only signing we've made so far (maybe Marcondes) that was suggestive of us having greater financial clout than we had before.
We're generally not in the market for internationalists who have scored in the Champions League, been transferred for millions of euros and are currently on big wages elsewhere.
All this summer's arrivals feel like the sorts of players we'd have been able to sign prior to any BK link up.
16-08-2024, 10:45 AM
H C
Hibs Central?
Hiding in plain sight!!!
EGL2000
16-08-2024, 11:02 AM
He felt like he had a slightly higher pedigree prior to joining us than we have really been used to signing in the past, so his arrival was arguably the only signing we've made so far (maybe Marcondes) that was suggestive of us having greater financial clout than we had before.
We're generally not in the market for internationalists who have scored in the Champions League, been transferred for millions of euros and are currently on big wages elsewhere.
All this summer's arrivals feel like the sorts of players we'd have been able to sign prior to any BK link up.
I would say Grbic probably fits that category as well. Perviously a full Austrian international and moved for 9 million a couple of seasons ago. Looks like he's lost his way a little but still played 14 times for Luzern last season.
Cabbage-Patch
16-08-2024, 11:07 AM
Hibs central saying we are after that Grbic lad from Lorient. He definitely does just lift most of the speculation off this site then post it as actual rumours eh?
16-08-2024, 11:10 AM
Hibs central saying we are after that Grbic lad from Lorient. He definitely does just lift most of the speculation off this site then post it as actual rumours eh?
On that note
🚨 Understand there is nothing in the links suggesting Hibs are in talks to sign Adrian Grbic on loan from Lorient.
https://x.com/bmeik11/status/1824386271277367433?t=ahT71JaJ7moz_fAuhgwCkA&s=19
Hibees1973
16-08-2024, 11:14 AM
Like this summer I don’t think we should offer any of the out of contract players another deal. Except for the youngsters like J Macintyre (if he’s as exciting as some believe), maybe McAllister and Megwa as a cheap squad player.
How far away from being first team ready is McAllister? Would be very Hibs to spend whatever fee we did on him and he ends up leaving for free having played a handful of minutes.
McAllister won't be hanging around when his contract ends.
16-08-2024, 11:17 AM
Looks like he's got fairy good pedigree 9 caps for Austrian national team.
We're not needing another fairy , we've enough in the squad already.
16-08-2024, 11:24 AM
McAllister won't be hanging around when his contract ends.
Another sound investment, what were we reported to have paid for him again? Always found it very coincidental that we signed the son of one of the new management team, all very strange.
Trinity Hibee
16-08-2024, 11:25 AM
Another sound investment, what were we reported to have paid for him again? Always found it very coincidental that we signed the son of one of the new management team, all very strange.
About 250k I think