View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98]

09-06-2025, 07:15 PM
fancy the welsh will get at least a point tonight in Belgium

Oops

09-06-2025, 07:16 PM
the Belgians are on fire here

that'll be game 3-0

The point is still on maybe, did you put a bet on a draw? :greengrin

itslegaltender
09-06-2025, 07:20 PM
I have an irrational hate for the Welsh team, looking for Belgium to give them an absolute skelping tonight.

09-06-2025, 07:20 PM
The point is still on maybe, did you put a bet on a draw? :greengrin

no :confused:

but i did put a mega £3 on a win @ 7-1 :lips seal:greengrin

09-06-2025, 07:32 PM
I have an irrational hate for the Welsh team, looking for Belgium to give them an absolute skelping tonight.

Likewise. 🤭

09-06-2025, 07:34 PM

Same! I honestly don’t quite know why either. But I always want to see them skelped

09-06-2025, 07:34 PM
Manneh scored for Gambia today

09-06-2025, 07:35 PM
Manneh scored for Gambia today

Baller

09-06-2025, 07:36 PM
Soft pen

09-06-2025, 07:38 PM
still time for a point :greengrin

Musselbound
09-06-2025, 07:46 PM
Soft pen

2 very soft pens

09-06-2025, 08:00 PM
still time for a point :greengrin

Still time for your win.

Var check for offside.

09-06-2025, 08:01 PM
Still time for your win.

checking for offside

given

09-06-2025, 08:07 PM
Estonia 0 Norway 1
Italy 2 Moldova 0

FT Kazakhstan 0 North Macedonia 1
Belgium 3 Wales 2

Croatia 2 Czech Republic 1
Faroe Islands 0 Gibraltar 1

09-06-2025, 08:18 PM
3-3👏

09-06-2025, 08:19 PM
3-3

Wales playing some nice football now

ofgs yet another VAR check

given

09-06-2025, 08:20 PM
Great stuff from Wales.

09-06-2025, 08:20 PM
Funny old game 😊

09-06-2025, 08:21 PM
Belgium don't appear to have a right back. Some shocking defending.

09-06-2025, 08:25 PM
This is on for Wales. Fantastic entertainment.

Benny Brazil
09-06-2025, 08:26 PM
Some job Bellamy is doing unbeaten in 9 games up until tonight

09-06-2025, 08:27 PM
Incredible game of football in Belgium. All credit Wales for managing to stay in it when they looked down and out

Sitting very pretty in their qualifying group

09-06-2025, 08:29 PM
if the welsh had had Dan James on the right wing they would win this

they may still

ooft 4-3, pizzer for the Welsh

VAR checking

i think that ball is fully out

tick tock

09-06-2025, 08:31 PM
Let's go to Brendan Rodgers to see if the ball was out or not.

09-06-2025, 08:33 PM
Ball was definitely completely over the line.

Let's go to Brendan Rodgers to see if the ball was out or not.
😂😂😂

Agree

09-06-2025, 08:35 PM
VAR says aye baw oot, how long did VAR take jeezo i saw it first replay

3-3

Don’t think you can tell

Var does its job.

So obviously over the line that the linesman should have been subbed.

09-06-2025, 08:37 PM
4-3 now

Should have been a Wales goal kick.

That counts.

4-3 KdB

09-06-2025, 08:38 PM
terrible marking at the back post

Musselbound
09-06-2025, 08:38 PM
Don’t think you can tell

I'm not convinced either. Are they guessing?

4-3 anyway. Great finish.

09-06-2025, 08:39 PM
two hours added time

Raskin yellow card

only 8 mins added, bizarre i say

Musselbound
09-06-2025, 08:42 PM
The amount of time over var decisions in this game. Who said only in Scotland? 🤔

09-06-2025, 08:42 PM
Don’t think you can tell

Disagree. They showed one angle where the ball was clearly inches over the line and then one which was obscured by a leg. No doubt whatsoever that the ball was clearly out ……. anyway it’s academic with Belgium scoring and should go on to win now.

09-06-2025, 08:48 PM
huge sigh of relief for the Belgians FT 4-3

doesn't matter now but not many sides,if any, would come back from 3 goals down against a top side like Belgium

i think Wales will win the return :wink:

09-06-2025, 08:50 PM
Croatia batter the Czech Republic 5-1

Faroes come back to beat Gibraltar 2-1

09-06-2025, 08:54 PM
Some job Bellamy is doing unbeaten in 9 games up until tonight
Could do with him giving Clarke a few tips.

09-06-2025, 09:03 PM
Croatia batter the Czech Republic 5-1

Faroes come back to beat Gibraltar 2-1

Croatia were evens at the bookies today

09-06-2025, 09:10 PM
Croatia were evens at the bookies today

i have them at 1/1

along with

Belgium
Italy
Netherlands

and Serbia v Andorra tomorrow night

10-06-2025, 05:20 PM
Miller and Boyle start for Australia

Gorebridge Hibb
10-06-2025, 06:36 PM
Miller and Boyle start for Australia

Boyler should have scored then Saudi go up the pitch and score

Gorebridge Hibb
10-06-2025, 06:40 PM
Boyler should have scored then Saudi go up the pitch and score
Australia still +3 on goal difference so need to avoid losing 4 more goals

Now 1-1 and nearly HT

Hibees1973
10-06-2025, 06:49 PM
Refreshing to see England play away from Wembley tonight.

Packed house in Nottingham for a friendly when I guess it would have been half full at Wembley.

Something for the SFA to learn from.......but they won't.:rolleyes:

10-06-2025, 06:57 PM

Packed house in Nottingham for a friendly when I guess it would have been half full at Wembley.

Would be great of Scotland games were held in other stadiums now and again. I do think it should be limited to stadiums with a minimum of 20,000 seats though... :greengrin

10-06-2025, 06:57 PM
1-0 Kane

10-06-2025, 06:58 PM
1-1 Aussies

10-06-2025, 06:58 PM

The problem is that the only stadiums big enough even for Scotland friendlies are in Glasgow.

20k stadiuma are far too small.

10-06-2025, 06:59 PM
Disagree. They showed one angle where the ball was clearly inches over the line and then one which was obscured by a leg. No doubt whatsoever that the ball was clearly out ……. anyway it’s academic with Belgium scoring and should go on to win now.

Angle wasn’t along the line

Gorebridge Hibb
10-06-2025, 07:24 PM
1-1 Aussies

2-1 Socceroos. Great ball from Boyler.

10-06-2025, 07:24 PM
Finland 1 Poland 0
Netherlands 3 Malta 0

Romania 0 Cyprus 0
San Marino 0 Austria 4

Latvia 1 Albania 1
Serbia 2 Andorra 0

Norn ireland 1 Iceland 0

10-06-2025, 07:30 PM
Saudi 1 Australia 2

that'll be that then

they've had really tough qualifying games against

Bangladesh
Palestine
Lebanon
China PR
Bahrain
Indonesia

Japan
Saudi Arabia

10-06-2025, 08:00 PM
Saudi penalty saved

Pytheas
10-06-2025, 08:00 PM
Australia getting absolutely robbed here, clear red for Saudi overturned and now the worst penalty decision you'll see this year against them.

FIFA just as corrupt as it ever was.

Pytheas
10-06-2025, 08:01 PM
Saved!

10-06-2025, 08:10 PM
2-1 Senegal :faf:

Pytheas
10-06-2025, 08:14 PM
Oz qualify for world cup. Delighted for Boyle after missing the last one.

Gorebridge Hibb
10-06-2025, 08:16 PM
Australia getting absolutely robbed here, clear red for Saudi overturned and now the worst penalty decision you'll see this year against them.

FIFA just as corrupt as it ever was.
Boyler, Millsy and possibly Iredale all in the Workd Cup next year

10-06-2025, 08:18 PM
English commentators 😆

10-06-2025, 08:20 PM
English commentators 😆

Sam Matterface. How bad is he. And to make matters worse he used the word "stellar" twice in about 30 seconds. Brutal!

10-06-2025, 08:20 PM
2-1 Senegal :faf:

Cracking top the Senegal one 👏

10-06-2025, 08:22 PM
Sam Matterface. How bad is he. And to make matters worse he used the word "stellar" twice in about 30 seconds. Brutal!

Dixon needed replaced years ago.

10-06-2025, 08:27 PM
The problem is that the only stadiums big enough even for Scotland friendlies are in Glasgow.

20k stadiuma are far too small.
Unfortunately they're far too big most of the time.

10-06-2025, 08:28 PM
the Dictator friendly finished Belarus 1 Football union of Russia 4

Pytheas
10-06-2025, 08:28 PM
Boyler, Millsy and possibly Iredale all in the Workd Cup next year

And Nectar :pray:

Gorebridge Hibb
10-06-2025, 08:31 PM
And Nectar :pray:

Think he’s opting to play for Greece.

10-06-2025, 08:32 PM
Boooo

10-06-2025, 08:34 PM
Finland 2 Poland 1 suspended due to medical emergency

Netherlands 7 Malta 0

BooooYay

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Handball :greengrin

10-06-2025, 08:35 PM
Lee Dixon not happy 🤣

10-06-2025, 08:36 PM
Poor decision, nowt wrong with the goal, VAR ruining football again.

How is not deliberate. Get it right up you Dixon.

Hand ball 😆 listen to them 😆

10-06-2025, 08:37 PM

Clear hand ball for me

i've not even watched any of that game

but it looked like handball to me

Lee Dixon not happy [emoji1787]

He’s such a bore at the best of times.

Looked like Colwell knew exactly what he was doing to me.

10-06-2025, 08:38 PM
FT Serbia 3 Andorra 0

10-06-2025, 08:38 PM
i've not even watched any of that game

but it looked like handball to me

Had it on silent while listening to music.

10-06-2025, 08:41 PM
FT Netherlands 8 Malta 0

10-06-2025, 08:41 PM
3-1 Senegal :faf:

Lovely booing

10-06-2025, 08:42 PM
Hahahaha 😂

HAHA 1-3 Senegal, never rated Tuchel and was confused when he was appointed.

3-1 the Greens. 😂😂

10-06-2025, 08:43 PM
Sides 😂👍

10-06-2025, 08:44 PM
Booooo [emoji23][emoji23]

Musselbound
10-06-2025, 08:46 PM
Senegal looked very good. Swift in attack as summed up by their third goal.

10-06-2025, 08:48 PM
A thoroughly deserved victory for Senegal, clearly the better team tonight.

10-06-2025, 08:48 PM
Senegal looked very good. Swift in attack as summed up by their third goal.

Totally. The were a joy to watch.

10-06-2025, 09:07 PM

Deliberately plays the ball with his arm for me

10-06-2025, 09:17 PM
Deliberately plays the ball with his arm for me

Agreed. Moved his arm to the ball and played it onto Bellingham.

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2025, 01:23 AM
HAHA 1-3 Senegal, never rated Tuchel and was confused when he was appointed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Tuchel

11-06-2025, 05:25 AM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Tuchel

3 clubs with huge spending power in Chelsea, PSG and Bayern, still not a fan of him or his style of play.

11-06-2025, 05:32 AM
3-1 Senegal :faf:

Lovely booing

Excellent.

Noted that NI managed to beat Iceland with 10 men.

11-06-2025, 06:20 AM
Good to see agent Tam McTuchel is doing well 😁

Tully
11-06-2025, 06:24 AM
3 clubs with huge spending power in Chelsea, PSG and Bayern, still not a fan of him or his style of play.
Same could be said for guardiola etc never managed a team without huge financial backing

11-06-2025, 06:24 AM
England are miles off winning the WC or euros. They had their chance under Southgate but blew it.
Spain and France are streets ahead.

11-06-2025, 06:59 AM
England are miles off winning the WC or euros. They had their chance under Southgate but blew it.

Yup. The last couple of Euros will haunt England. Especially the final against Italy at Wembley.

Hibspur
11-06-2025, 09:56 AM

I'm half English and follow England at international level, thanks to my dad who was nuts for them. Soft spot for Scotland too, but my mum's family are the Hibs fans and there's never been more than a passing interest in international football on that side. I'd have Southgate back tomorrow. I really enjoyed his years in charge. He installed a feelgood factor around supporting England and his overall record, particularly in major championships, was outstanding. Streets ahead of any England boss since 1966. I don't think they 'blew' anything.

Jury's obviously out on the new man, but by all accounts Scotland were equally feeble at Hampden last week and I would question the sense of playing friendlies after a long domestic season. Most players will be in holiday mode.

What are your thoughts on Clarke? Sure, Scotland were dreadful at the Euros but he's done decent enough job with the resources he has. Get the feeling, though that like Southgate he's maybe gone as far as he can?

Paulie Walnuts
11-06-2025, 10:08 AM
Agreed. Moved his arm to the ball and played it onto Bellingham.

It was a blatant handball and absolutely looked deliberate imo. The outrage from the commentators was ridiculous.

11-06-2025, 10:17 AM
I'm waiting for a YouTube video to appear with the commentary 'They think it's all over...it is now!' Just after the 3rd Senegal goal.

11-06-2025, 10:57 AM
Palestine lose out on a place in the fourth round by conceding a penalty against Oman in the 97th minute to draw 1-1

11-06-2025, 01:04 PM
U21 Euros starts today with Slovakia vs Spain 17:00 on 4seven, England play their first game tomorrow.

Pete70
11-06-2025, 01:45 PM
U21 Euros starts today with Slovakia vs Spain 17:00 on 4seven, England play their first game tomorrow.

Portugal v France on the same channel at 8.

11-06-2025, 05:07 PM
Just what Slovakia needed, an early goal in the second half to make it 1-2.

11-06-2025, 05:10 PM
Penalty to Slovakia.

2-2.

11-06-2025, 05:15 PM
Jury's obviously out on the new man, but by all accounts Scotland were equally feeble at Hampden last week and I would question the sense of playing friendlies after a long domestic season. Most players will be in holiday mode.

Totally agree, I find it a bit bizarre, TBH

11-06-2025, 05:16 PM
I'm half English and follow England at international level, thanks to my dad who was nuts for them. Soft spot for Scotland too, but my mum's family are the Hibs fans and there's never been more than a passing interest in international football on that side. I'd have Southgate back tomorrow. I really enjoyed his years in charge. He installed a feelgood factor around supporting England and his overall record, particularly in major championships, was outstanding. Streets ahead of any England boss since 1966. I don't think they 'blew' anything.

What are your thoughts on Clarke? Sure, Scotland were dreadful at the Euros but he's done decent enough job with the resources he has. Get the feeling, though that like Southgate he's maybe gone as far as he can?
Clarke’s time is up. Southgate had the luxury of some of the finest talent in Europe available to him. But he was far too conservative and risk averse. His teams played with the hand-brake on - as many commentators have alluded to.
You may think his record in tournaments was good - but ultimately he failed. A better manager would have got so much more from the players he had at his disposal. Several huge missed opportunities.

11-06-2025, 06:01 PM
Spain with the 90th minute winner, Portugal vs France should be a good game.

11-06-2025, 08:25 PM
Was expecting a couple of goals in this game, still time though.

12-06-2025, 06:37 PM
England 8pm on C4, they should win the whole thing again tbh.

14-06-2025, 11:21 PM
So who's ready for the world club cup then? It has split opinions no doubt, i enjoy watching football so will be tuning in when i can and with my lack of sleep at the moment its something to watch.

Soccer aid at 19:30 is usually a good laugh.

14-06-2025, 11:34 PM
So who's ready for the world club cup then? It has split opinions no doubt, i enjoy watching football so will be tuning in when i can and with my lack of sleep at the moment its something to watch.

Soccer aid at 19:30 is usually a good laugh.

Will be awake so why not.

15-06-2025, 12:02 AM
This is so bad.

15-06-2025, 12:50 AM
Keeper keeping inter Miami in the game, penalty saved.

15-06-2025, 01:01 AM
I think it’s been a decent watch so far, but Miami are pretty crap.

Pen was very soft, is there no VAR?

Ref really should’ve sent off the Miami guy for a second yellow just before that.

15-06-2025, 01:47 AM
Borefest is about all I can say. Might just bust out a bottle of wine to ease the pain.

15-06-2025, 02:08 AM
That would have been some goal from Messi but again the keeper makes the save, then saves again with his head right at the end.

15-06-2025, 03:14 PM
Just watching DAZN, jeez how amateur is the coverage in the studio.

15-06-2025, 03:38 PM
Who the **** are this mob Bayern Munich are about to play. I thought it was Foley's team but apparently it's some part time amateur team instead

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
15-06-2025, 03:53 PM
Who the **** are this mob Bayern Munich are about to play. I thought it was Foley's team but apparently it's some part time amateur team instead

Foleys team are Auckland Fc not City

15-06-2025, 04:02 PM
What is this Americanised pish. Players coming out individually through smoke getting their names announced, 10 second countdown to kick off, get that to ****.

15-06-2025, 04:05 PM
What is this Americanised pish. Players coming out individually through smoke getting their names announced, 10 second countdown to kick off, get that to ****.

Hope they do this for the World Cup as well. :greengrin

15-06-2025, 04:07 PM

What a mis-match. The whole tournament is a joke.

15-06-2025, 04:08 PM
Hope they do this for the World Cup as well. :greengrin

They probably will. Argentina vs The GloboGym Purple Cobras.

15-06-2025, 04:08 PM
Sitting waiting for the game and realised it's the Aukland amateur side and not the BK team, this is going to be a rout.

15-06-2025, 04:09 PM
What a mis-match. The whole tournament is a joke.
1-0 Bayern

Coman 6

15-06-2025, 04:17 PM
Not really watching it, but every time I look at the Slovenia England U21 match, the ball is near the England box. Which is nice.

15-06-2025, 04:19 PM
Aye this one is a bit of a miss match, I had no idea this team are part timers.

Hopefully the world 11 can beat England later.

15-06-2025, 04:21 PM
3-0 to Bayern after 19 minutes. A total no contest.

15-06-2025, 04:22 PM
4-0.

15-06-2025, 04:22 PM
4-0 Bayern, commentators trying to big up this game but it's a match that should never take place, this team are ranked around 4800.

15-06-2025, 04:24 PM
The GloboGym Purple Cobras.

What are their strips like?

15-06-2025, 04:26 PM
Om last night/this morning's game I thought Townsend was a decent on the co-com, much better than Dixon and Joe hart.

This one could be double figures.

15-06-2025, 04:34 PM
Bayern playing walking football now and Auckland still can’t get out of their own half.

15-06-2025, 04:39 PM
4-0 Bayern, commentators trying to big up this game but it's a match that should never take place, this team are ranked around 4800.
How were the clubs selected for this competition? This a nonsense.

15-06-2025, 04:42 PM
How were the clubs selected for this competition? This a nonsense.

They apparently won the Oceania Champions league last year. Wild.

15-06-2025, 04:53 PM
Switched it off, Tranent Juniors would give them a better game.

15-06-2025, 04:54 PM
You've got plenty people advocating that the "Champions" league should revert to what it was, and be the Champions of each country.

This tournament is doing exactly that and allowing the biggest teams from their own part of the world to compete against football financial giants.

The difference in quality is huge, but it's an indicator of what would happen if the Champions League returned to it's old format.

15-06-2025, 04:56 PM
The two professional NZ teams play in the Australian league. As Australia are in Asia for qualifying, it allows the amateur Auckland team to compete from Oceania. Wonder what happens to the £2m+ they get for turning up?

15-06-2025, 04:58 PM
The two professional NZ teams play in the Australian league. As Australia are in Asia for qualifying, it allows the amateur Auckland team to compete from Oceania. Wonder what happens to the £2m+ they get for turning up?

I assume it secures the future of their club for the foreseeable future.

Paul1642
15-06-2025, 05:00 PM
I assume it secures the future of their club for the foreseeable future.

Without knowing the finances of the NZ League, it presumably creates a large financial gulf, easily keeping them at the top to re enter the next club World Cup.

15-06-2025, 05:01 PM

Good guess
https://metro.co.uk/2025/06/14/club-world-cup-2025-prize-money-round-by-round-breakdown-23404324/amp/

15-06-2025, 05:02 PM
That's a wee eye-opener reading about the Oceania Champions League - finals held on what resembles a junior club AstroTurf at times, tiny islands making the finals, a crowd of about 800 at a recent final.

I'd be loathe to argue the winners of a continental tournament didn't have a place at this though. Outright overlook them? Seems unfair. Make them qualify and enforce even more games as part of this whole charade?

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

Paul1642
15-06-2025, 05:19 PM
What’s even the qualifying criteria for this nonsense. Looking at the list of clubs, some are catching my eye as a bit out of place.

Porto - 3rd in Portugal, no cup win.
Athletico - 3rd in Spain, no cup win.
Dortmund - 4th in Germany, no cup win.
Juventus - 4th in Italy, no cup win.

There are a few others standing out but you get the point. Meanwhile clubs who finished above these seem to be missing.

15-06-2025, 05:26 PM
What’s even the qualifying criteria for this nonsense. Looking at the list of clubs, some are catching my eye as a bit out of place.

There are a few others standing out but you get the point. Meanwhile clubs who finished above these seem to be missing.

I think you can qualify automatically by winning something or also based on your coefficient points. I remember reading that Dortmund reaching the champions league final last year gave them enough points.

15-06-2025, 05:37 PM

It’s total nonsense, a tournament that shouldn’t exist. The players should be relaxing on the beach now with their families.

15-06-2025, 05:45 PM
And that’s 9. Ridiculous.

15-06-2025, 06:00 PM
I watched 5 minutes of this nonsense last night. Saw the players getting introduced one by one like an NFL starting offense and switched off never to return.

The most obvious and ridiculous money grab yet from FIFA.

15-06-2025, 06:02 PM
8PM PSG V Atletico Madrid TNT USA
11PM Palmeiras v Porto DAZN UK Events 4

Renfrew_Hibby
15-06-2025, 06:10 PM
The only games remotely interesting will be the Rivers and Bocas ect v the Europeans.
The South Americans and their watching public always take these kind of encounters extremely seriously.

15-06-2025, 06:34 PM
England with a few decent ex players, vidic to take out Rooney.

Up-the-slope
15-06-2025, 06:47 PM
I watched 5 minutes of this nonsense last night. Saw the players getting introduced one by one like an NFL starting offense and switched off never to return.

The most obvious and ridiculous money grab yet from FIFA.

Read this beeb article and you will move from thinking its nonsense to being furious at the the open Trumpesque doing the outrageous in plain sight

15-06-2025, 06:51 PM
Good guess
https://metro.co.uk/2025/06/14/club-world-cup-2025-prize-money-round-by-round-breakdown-23404324/amp/

I’d actually read quite a lot about it as I bought World Soccer magazine for holiday reading. Also a good article in yesterday’s Guardian on Palmeiras. As far as Europe is concerned it’ll make the rich clubs even richer. I won’t be going out of my way to watch any of it.

15-06-2025, 07:25 PM
1-0 psg

15-06-2025, 07:27 PM
Watching here on holiday in France and it reminds me of exhibition games, it’s woeful

15-06-2025, 07:52 PM
2-0 psg

HT

15-06-2025, 08:16 PM
Carlos Tevez with a quick fire double lol

15-06-2025, 08:19 PM
Sitting waiting for the game and realised it's the Aukland amateur side and not the BK team, this is going to be a rout.

Yes that’s who i thought was playing. Utterly bizarre

15-06-2025, 08:26 PM
two-wan

oh oh VAR checking

yeah that looks like a foul in the lead up 2-0

plhibs
15-06-2025, 08:36 PM
I wish FIFA would do something to stop the players crowding the ref after nearly every decision, it's really tiresome.

15-06-2025, 08:50 PM
oops that's a sitter missed by Atletico

oor Bowie woulda buried that

3-0

15-06-2025, 09:03 PM
penalty PSG last kick of the game

4-0

FT

Numptie
16-06-2025, 09:49 AM
Good chat on BBC Five live about how the competition will ruin league football in many of the countries taking part. The winners of the Argentine Primera División got about $450k and will get $15.21m for turning up. They will have resources that totally outweigh their competitors next season, this is obviously worse in NZ, with the amateur Auckland City getting $3.58m for turning up. If smaller country's clubs can keep coming back to this competition they will dominate their leagues for generations - with the caveat that we know that clubs can waste £50m and get nothing in return

Paul1642
16-06-2025, 11:37 AM
Good chat on BBC Five live about how the competition will ruin league football in many of the countries taking part. The winners of the Argentine Primera División got about $450k and will get $15.21m for turning up. They will have resources that totally outweigh their competitors next season, this is obviously worse in NZ, with the amateur Auckland City getting $3.58m for turning up. If smaller country's clubs can keep coming back to this competition they will dominate their leagues for generations - with the caveat that we know that clubs can waste £50m and get nothing in return

Football is a monopoly and it’s only going to get worse.

Not that I want them there, but I’m quite curious as to how Celtic aren’t involved.

The CL became the super league by the back door, and this feels like the global super league.

Something big needs to change in football but I’m not sure what or how.

SickBoy32
16-06-2025, 11:42 AM
Football is a monopoly and it’s only going to get worse.

The CL became the super league by the back door, and this feels like the global super league.

Something big needs to change in football but I’m not sure what or how.

Aye it’s crap, and as you say the divides are getting larger and more insurmountable with each passing season.

Unfortunately can’t see any governing body taking effective action, as UEFA / FIFA are in the pockets of the big clubs. We see similar here with the OF / SFA dynamic.

Money has destroyed the (once) beautiful game IMO.

16-06-2025, 02:21 PM
Aye it’s crap, and as you say the divides are getting larger and more insurmountable with each passing season.

Unfortunately can’t see any governing body taking effective action, as UEFA / FIFA are in the pockets of the big clubs. We see similar here with the OF / SFA dynamic.

Money has destroyed the (once) beautiful game IMO.
I think it's more that FIFA are in the pocket if Saudi Arabia.

16-06-2025, 05:44 PM
I think it's more that FIFA are in the pocket if Saudi Arabia.

Exactly utterly shameful

16-06-2025, 06:58 PM
Good to see a big crowd at the Chelsea game

16-06-2025, 07:05 PM

Half an hour to introduce the players with a stadium announcer and her inaudible screeching voice.

16-06-2025, 07:06 PM

You might have thought that they would have let Los Angeles FC play in LA to try to get a big crowd in.

Also, bringing the players on one by one like a darts walk on is just a step too far...

16-06-2025, 07:11 PM
You might have thought that they would have let Los Angeles FC play in LA to try to get a big crowd in.

Also, bringing the players on one by one like a darts walk on is just a step too far...
The Americanisation of soccer :confused:

16-06-2025, 07:50 PM
The Americanisation of soccer :confused:Has Diana Ross taken a penalty yet?

16-06-2025, 09:18 PM
Has Diana Ross taken a penalty yet?

Not allowed after missing the last one :greengrin

16-06-2025, 09:31 PM
Not allowed after missing the last one :greengrin

I was convinced that she had died recently, apparently not.

16-06-2025, 09:37 PM
Has Diana Ross taken a penalty yet?

😅👌😅

16-06-2025, 10:19 PM
These are the games I was looking forward to, south Americans vs Europe. Boca fans seem to have turned up in good numbers.

16-06-2025, 10:22 PM
These are the games I was looking forward to, south Americans vs Europe. Boca fans seem to have turned up in good numbers.

1-0 Boca.

Boca fans are great.

EGL2000
16-06-2025, 10:24 PM
Brilliant goal from Boca. Seen loads of people slagging off this world cup but the South American fans love it. Give their teams an opportunity to show it's not just all about Europe!

EGL2000
16-06-2025, 10:28 PM
2-0 Mon the Boca

EGL2000
16-06-2025, 10:46 PM
Great game so far!

16-06-2025, 11:37 PM
Some outstanding tackles in this game.

EGL2000
16-06-2025, 11:39 PM
Some outstanding tackles in this game.

Beautiful levels off **** house.

16-06-2025, 11:39 PM
so he lasted 27 mins
deserved Red

and he's asking what he's done wrong

EGL2000
16-06-2025, 11:43 PM
Some proper old school challenges brilliant!

16-06-2025, 11:48 PM
Some proper old school challenges brilliant!

Could sit and watch this all night with the old school challenges.

16-06-2025, 11:49 PM
2-2

16-06-2025, 11:50 PM
2-2

nice header

16-06-2025, 11:54 PM
Boca down to 10.

16-06-2025, 11:55 PM
both sides down to ten

17-06-2025, 12:02 AM
both sides down to ten

Livescore had Herrera sent off for Boca in the first half. I presume that is wrong?

17-06-2025, 12:04 AM
That was decent.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 12:19 AM
Livescore had Herrera sent off for Boca in the first half. I presume that is wrong?

Sent off but was on the bench.

17-06-2025, 12:19 AM
Sent off but was on the bench.

Thanks.

17-06-2025, 08:24 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2025/jun/17/club-world-cup-boca-juniors-benfica-match-report

This was always an interesting basic premise, a meeting of yawningly opposed extremes. Boca are connection, collectivism, passion, an acme of the legacy football world. This club is all rootsy culture, history, legend, Diego-scale iconography, the Argentina of Argentina. And in the black corner, well, we have something else entirely. Authenticity: meet the Fifa Club World Cup, the most plasticised, commodified football competition ever devised.

There was something a little uncomfortable about this spectacle. Here is Fifa saying lend us your edge, your colour, your clout, your stamp. Make us feel real. In the build up to this game Fifa’s reliably unctuous website had described Boca as “a nomadic passion”. And this is the business plan in one handy phrase. Instant reality, bolt-on culture.

17-06-2025, 09:08 AM
Switched off last night, can anyone explain why there's 3 USA teams in it?

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 09:35 AM
Switched off last night, can anyone explain why there's 3 USA teams in it?

CONCAF 4 highest coefficient teams over the last few years get in. This included La and Seattle. Inter Miami got the host spot not sure why they were picked over other American teams.

17-06-2025, 09:40 AM
CONCAF 4 highest coefficient teams over the last few years get in. This included La and Seattle. Inter Miami got the host spot not sure why they were picked over other American teams.

Because the whole thing is a fix.

Infantino wanted Messi and Ronaldo to adorn his Saudi-sponsored, Trump-endorsed bs competition, so bent the rules to get Inter in.

As it turned out, no amount of deal-making could persuade Ronaldo to miss his holiday, so he's not there.

I'm trying to ignore this CWC and will try to ignore next year's World Cup too. This c*nts are ruining football. Hope they lose a ton of money.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 10:10 AM

Infantino wanted Messi and Ronaldo to adorn his Saudi-sponsored, Trump-endorsed bs competition, so bent the rules to get Inter in.

As it turned out, no amount of deal-making could persuade Ronaldo to miss his holiday, so he's not there.

I'm trying to ignore this CWC and will try to ignore next year's World Cup too. This c*nts are ruining football. Hope they lose a ton of money.

Seems like they have just bent it to get Messi in. Sadly in today's game anything top level is just a money grab. Champions league is a joke currently (Practically the superleague that everyone voted against). In saying that I will still be watching some of the games involving the South American teams especially. Last night's game was brilliant.

17-06-2025, 10:34 AM

I've always loved the world cup. But I can't say I'm excited about next year's edition. 48 teams, 50-60% of which are barely worth watching. I'll probably start watching at around the last 16 stage, when all the crap have been disposed of.

17-06-2025, 01:10 PM
Seems like they have just bent it to get Messi in. Sadly in today's game anything top level is just a money grab. Champions league is a joke currently (Practically the superleague that everyone voted against). In saying that I will still be watching some of the games involving the South American teams especially. Last night's game was brilliant.

Agree with all of that. The Boca fans were brilliant, as Argentinian fans always seem to be. But it has to be said if an opponent came to Easter Road and played like Boca Juniors did last night there would be a 20 page thread on here the day after saying what a bunch of dirty bassas they were. Not to mention the time wasting and feigning injury for most of the 2nd half, especially when a few of the Benfica players got fed up being kicked and decided to give them a taste of their own medicine.

By the middle of the 2nd half I was actively cheering for Benfica :greengrin

Paul1642
17-06-2025, 01:22 PM
I've always loved the world cup. But I can't say I'm excited about next year's edition. 48 teams, 50-60% of which are barely worth watching. I'll probably start watching at around the last 16 stage, when all the crap have been disposed of.

The last World Cup was one of the best I can remember (from a TV spectators point of view, not a good location). Any rational to changing the format is financial only :(

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 01:43 PM
Agree with all of that. The Boca fans were brilliant, as Argentinian fans always seem to be. But it has to be said if an opponent came to Easter Road and played like Boca Juniors did last night there would be a 20 page thread on here the day after saying what a bunch of dirty bassas they were. Not to mention the time wasting and feigning injury for most of the 2nd half, especially when a few of the Benfica players got fed up being kicked and decided to give them a taste of their own medicine.

As I was very much a neutral I enjoyed the "gamesmanship" for pure entertainment purposes! However, like you said if my team had been facing them I would of been ripping my hair out with rage.

17-06-2025, 02:14 PM

Football needs the south Americans (particularly Argentinians and Uruguayans) to play the pantomime baddies! I love them!

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 04:27 PM
Fluminense playing well so far. That new Dortmund kit is rank rotten as well.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 05:51 PM
Dortmund been absolutely brutal.

17-06-2025, 08:01 PM
Not thought much of todays games so far, Boca Benfica match was very entertaining.

Do have inter later at 2am with Man City and Madrid playing tomorrow at 5pm and 8pm, madrid game does clash with England and Germany in the U21 euros.

17-06-2025, 08:05 PM
Have just seen the score from the u19 with Germany and England, 5-5 with England coming back from 5-1 down.

17-06-2025, 10:06 PM
Not many have turned up for this one, match delayed with the weather, storm could be incoming.

17-06-2025, 10:17 PM
Have just seen the score from the u19 with Germany and England, 5-5 with England coming back from 5-1 down.

Was there an Airplane celebration when they equalised

18-06-2025, 01:16 PM
Premier League fixtures out

i suspect Leeds will be lucky to pick up just a point from their opening three fixtures :(

H- Everton
A- Arsenal
H- Newcastle

Premier League fixtures list: Dates & full schedule for every club in 2025-26 - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c0q8ewklkpgo)

season starts with Liverpool v Bournemouth on Friday August 15th