View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

04-10-2024, 09:25 AM
Anybody worried that Hearts might notice they're doing better without a manager? If they don't appoint one, not only will they save money but they could win the league. And the European thing.

These are dangerous times, ladies and gentlemen.

04-10-2024, 09:57 AM
Aberdeen v Hearts a sell out..

win our next 7 and when we face them at Easter Road it’ll be packed - heard it here first

04-10-2024, 12:18 PM
sports news on Man utd https://www.facebook.com/reel/1236962850883604 :greengrin

andrew70
04-10-2024, 01:13 PM
European contradictions

https://open.substack.com/pub/andrewjeffrey/p/european-contradictions?r=2f20qe&utm_medium=ios

The Celtic and Rangers financial contradictions from European nights to domestic dominance

He's here!
04-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Anybody worried that Hearts might notice they're doing better without a manager? If they don't appoint one, not only will they save money but they could win the league. And the European thing.

These are dangerous times, ladies and gentlemen.

BBC preview of their trip to Aberdeen gives you the impression they're in title contention rather than bottom of the league following last night's first win since May.

04-10-2024, 07:10 PM
Sunderland 1 Leeds 0

04-10-2024, 07:23 PM
Sunderland 1 Leeds 0

1 each.

04-10-2024, 07:24 PM
Nice goal from Leeds

04-10-2024, 08:02 PM
Johnathan Rowe scores 4 minutes after coming on for Marseille against Angers, after scoring a last minute screamer tobwin the derby against Lyon the week before. On loan from Norwich, looks an exceptional talent.

Angers equalise. 10 against 10.

04-10-2024, 08:15 PM
Sunderland 1 Leeds 2

Donegal Hibby
04-10-2024, 08:32 PM
Sunderland 1 Leeds 2

Two clubs I’d like to see get promoted this season

04-10-2024, 08:48 PM

These are dangerous times, ladies and gentlemen.Can see mrs doctor Budge getting oot that suit that looked like it was made out of the left over material from the carpeting in the worlds finest hotel, and jumping into the dug out herself.

04-10-2024, 08:56 PM
2-2, shocking error from the keeper. 🤭

04-10-2024, 08:57 PM
What is the keeper up to there? He must have 10 grand on a draw as that is incredible.

04-10-2024, 08:57 PM
i don't know what it's going to take for someone at Leeds to finally realise that meslier is one of the biggest clowns to play in goals, he's an absolute joke and chucks at least a couple in every season, every time he plays about with the ball at his feet i always hold my breath and i certainly won't be the only one

he will be in the top ten for keeper bloopers

04-10-2024, 09:00 PM
Dearie me

04-10-2024, 09:05 PM
Absolute howler from the Leeds keeper but as I have a soft spot for the Lads I’m happy. Top of the league!

04-10-2024, 09:14 PM
Transvestite in the pub went wild when the equilizer for Sunderland went in, he/she's a big Burnley fan. :faf:

Donegal Hibby
04-10-2024, 09:15 PM
I wonder did the ball spin just as he took his eyes off it … should be bread and butter to the keeper though , feel sorry for the guy . It’s the worst position to play when you make a mistake.

04-10-2024, 09:17 PM
Norwich have signed Marcondes

1 year contract with the option of another

04-10-2024, 09:40 PM
That’s maybe the worst gk mistake I’ve ever seen. Horrendous.

He was surely thinking too hard about what to do when he got the ball to pay attention to actually gathering it in the first place?

Bizarre.

04-10-2024, 09:46 PM
You could only compare that to Simon Brown at Tynecastle. And you could at least see why he'd made that mistake, the Leeds one is on another level.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

04-10-2024, 09:47 PM
That’s maybe the worst gk mistake I’ve ever seen. Horrendous.

He was surely thinking too hard about what to do when he got the ball to pay attention to actually gathering it in the first place?

Bizarre.

the FT whistle would have blown as soon as he kicked it up the park, having said that he probably would have kicked it straight out the pitch, he's been consistent at doing that for the last few seasons though

i did laugh at an article last week where he said he was wanting a clause in any new contract which would allow him to leave for the top league if Leeds failed again this season, no top league side would want him if they bothered to look at the other total ****-up's he's had in recent seasons, he's always been more than capable of one

Donegal Hibby
04-10-2024, 11:01 PM
Still think the ball took a change in direction due to the spin on it …

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13228093/how-did-illan-mesliers-mistake-happen-its-a-horrible-moment-for-him

Hopefully Leeds will rally around the guy ….

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/leeds-star-left-tears-after-33826014

05-10-2024, 12:07 PM
the FT whistle would have blown as soon as he kicked it up the park, having said that he probably would have kicked it straight out the pitch, he's been consistent at doing that for the last few seasons though

i did laugh at an article last week where he said he was wanting a clause in any new contract which would allow him to leave for the top league if Leeds failed again this season, no top league side would want him if they bothered to look at the other total ****-up's he's had in recent seasons, he's always been more than capable of one

You watch Leeds more than me so I defer to you, but he's always been extremely well thought of, certainly the podcasts i listen to, as one of the best keepers in the world at holding a high line and playing with the ball at his feet. Are you saying his distributions rubbish because i understood that is his main strength?

05-10-2024, 01:18 PM
You watch Leeds more than me so I defer to you, but he's always been extremely well thought of, certainly the podcasts i listen to, as one of the best keepers in the world at holding a high line and playing with the ball at his feet. Are you saying his distributions rubbish because i understood that is his main strength?

seriously, read a Leeds fans forum the majority say the same as i've pointed out :greengrin he actually had a decent game last night before what happened, though he did manage to gift a throw-in earlier when he skied it out to a defender 20+ yards away under no pressure whatsoever, i just don't think he is very good with the ball at feet. of course there's plenty clips on twitter with one photo showing some "object" on the pitch with meslier picking it up after the ball went in, could put that goal down to utterly bizarre chain of events(ball deflecting, ball spinning, ball landing on something on the pitch and taking it a different direction) others do clearly show the ball clipping Firpo en route to meslier but it still should have been saved, another clip sends a few leeds fans over the edge where it shows meslier with a big cheesy grin talking to the sunderland manager on the touchline afterwards(his ex boss) :greengrinbut to go back to what you mention about meslier with the ball at his feet trust me there's a lot more out there that do get nervy when meslier has the ball at his feet :agree:

(2) Meslier - Search / X (https://x.com/search?q=Meslier&src=trend_click&vertical=trends)

05-10-2024, 01:20 PM
Still think the ball took a change in direction due to the spin on it …

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13228093/how-did-illan-mesliers-mistake-happen-its-a-horrible-moment-for-him

Hopefully Leeds will rally around the guy ….

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/leeds-star-left-tears-after-33826014
Feel abit sorry for the boy to be honest.

05-10-2024, 01:24 PM
feel for hecky in this game that PNE goal that was called offside in the 1st half by the linesman was really bad especially when it was a set play and the linesman obviously static waiting on the kick getting taken looking along the line. 38 replays show it was clearly onside

FT Burnley 0 PNE 0

FT Norwich 4 Hull City 0, Marcondes didn't get on

05-10-2024, 02:25 PM
Dundee 1 Killie 0, home side down to 10 for the 2nd half

Airdrie 0 Dunfy 1
Falkirk 1 Ayr U 0
Morton 0 Raith 0
Partick Thistle 0 Livi 0
Queen's Park 0 Hamilton 0

Man City 2 Fulham 1
Brentford 4 Wolves 2
Leicester 1 Bournemouth 0

05-10-2024, 03:04 PM
Brentford with another early goal, just the 2 minutes this time.

Donegal Hibby
05-10-2024, 03:07 PM
Dundee leading Killie 1-0 though Dundee down to 10 men Sylla sent off.

05-10-2024, 03:32 PM
st mirren 0 dundee u 1

Dundee 2 Killie 0

at least keeps killie below us :rolleyes:

Dundee 2 Killie 2 two goals in as many mins for killie

brilliant from killie a freakin battling side Dundee 2 Killie 3

05-10-2024, 09:48 PM
Just watched Brentford, how refreshing to see a side play with pace and purpose. Thomas Frank one of the best managers in the EPL.

06-10-2024, 09:48 AM
Just watched Brentford, how refreshing to see a side play with pace and purpose. Thomas Frank one of the best managers in the EPL.

And he has a wild, untamed look about him!

06-10-2024, 09:48 AM
And he has a wild, untamed look about him!

:agree: Aragorn vibes.

06-10-2024, 11:30 AM
That drum is doing my head in

06-10-2024, 11:32 AM

Me too, i've turned the sound off now.

Dan Sarf
06-10-2024, 11:39 AM

He's also one of the nicest. There's a wee boy with Down's Syndrome that sits near me in his Brentford shirt. After every home game, Thomas Frank always comes over specially and gives him a high five.

06-10-2024, 11:40 AM
That’s a penalty for Ross county

06-10-2024, 11:40 AM

Should be deemed as noise pollution and banned.

06-10-2024, 11:41 AM
How does the linesman not flag for that in the first place.

06-10-2024, 11:42 AM
Missed but needs to be a retake

06-10-2024, 11:43 AM
ha ha - a re-take lol

06-10-2024, 11:44 AM
1-0 County :greengrin

06-10-2024, 11:44 AM
That's what you get for scuffing up the penalty spot Schmeichel lol

06-10-2024, 11:45 AM
Ha ha, greeting faced keeper gets a bit karma for trying to dig up the pen spot 😂

06-10-2024, 11:48 AM
How does the linesman not flag for that in the first place.

Probably for the same reason he didn't spot the need for a retake.

He's either incompetent or crooked.

06-10-2024, 11:55 AM
Probably for the same reason he didn't spot the need for a retake.

He's either incompetent or crooked.

Or standing near their fans 😊

06-10-2024, 12:12 PM
So how the hell can Ross C play against Celtic and do fairly well, yet we are still struggling nearly every game, oh get that drum to ****, had to turn the volume down, same as that bloody drum at ER, does your nut in.

06-10-2024, 12:14 PM
Roles reversed and a County player is off for that 'headbutt'. Not a fan of players trying to get players sent of by exaggerating the contact but that's pretty much a red anytime I've ever seen it.

McGruber
06-10-2024, 12:16 PM
Ross County one of the 2 teams we are better than on other thread. 😬

06-10-2024, 12:17 PM
He's also one of the nicest. There's a wee boy with Down's Syndrome that sits near me in his Brentford shirt. After every home game, Thomas Frank always comes over specially and gives him a high five.
That's lovely to hear:aok:

06-10-2024, 12:30 PM
Wee guy in the middle for Ross County looks good.

06-10-2024, 12:36 PM
Ross county 1-1 Celtic

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2024, 12:38 PM
1-1 . Hopefully Celtic get a winner now .

06-10-2024, 12:39 PM

They will

06-10-2024, 12:40 PM

They will in the 137th minute.

06-10-2024, 12:41 PM
They will in the 137th minute.

Probably a pen.

06-10-2024, 12:47 PM
2-1 Celtic

06-10-2024, 12:48 PM
How’s he not getting a second yellow for going into the fans?

06-10-2024, 12:49 PM
Why was Kuhn not yellow carded for jumping into crowd…… no wait…. He was already on a yellow. Double standards yet again

06-10-2024, 12:49 PM

One rule for them and another for the rest.

06-10-2024, 12:50 PM

You know why. Referee absolutely shat it.

06-10-2024, 12:51 PM
One rule for them and another for the rest.

06-10-2024, 12:51 PM
Why was Kuhn not yellow carded for jumping into crowd…… no wait…. He was already on a yellow. Double standards yet again

Ridiculous, but it will be overlooked as per. The way that Rantic have the rules applied to them is laughable.

Cheating in plain sight.

06-10-2024, 12:52 PM

Scottish football is rotten to the core.

06-10-2024, 12:52 PM
How depressingly predictable is that?

I tuned in at 1-0 County and said to myself “put £50 on Celtic to win”.

06-10-2024, 12:53 PM
Ridiculous, but it will be overlooked as per. The way that Rantic have the rules applied to them is laughable.

Cheating in plain sight.

Totally agree. Any other team barring those two and the card is out before they reach the crowd.

06-10-2024, 12:53 PM

Absolutely. Pathetic refereeing. It's a really simple rule to apply too. Player leaves field of play, yellow card. Lack of consistency with basic decision making drives me nuts.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2024, 12:59 PM

Seen it all before even when we play them in the referees can’t wait to brandish our players cards putting them on a tight rope in games … thought Maclean against the huns was a classic example.

06-10-2024, 12:59 PM

Too wee eh. ***** league etc etc. more heart than anyone in our squad.

06-10-2024, 01:02 PM

County incredibly only had 17% possession. He couldn't have touched the ball much?

06-10-2024, 01:02 PM
When did they change the rules about players throwing themselves into the crowd at goal celebrations? Or did it not apply to Old Firm players? Kuhn should have had a second yellow.

06-10-2024, 01:03 PM
How depressingly predictable is that?

I tuned in at 1-0 County and said to myself “put £50 on Celtic to win”.

So did the ref.

06-10-2024, 01:05 PM
County incredibly only had 17% possession. He couldn't have touched the ball much?

He didn't. He was bang average and subbed off.

06-10-2024, 01:10 PM

Some people seem desperate for a player we were never interested in to be brilliant so they can have a dig at the club or say I told you so. Weird.

Paulie Walnuts
06-10-2024, 01:13 PM

Yup. He done nothing of note really.

plhibs
06-10-2024, 01:31 PM
It would be interesting to know how many people are in that stand behind the goals, packed in like sardines.

06-10-2024, 01:35 PM
Some people seem desperate for a player we were never interested in to be brilliant so they can have a dig at the club or say I told you so. Weird.

I genuinely didn't even realise he was playing until the 45th minute when he gave a foul away. Hardly touched the ball and done nout.

06-10-2024, 01:45 PM
Watching Man U and like us are toothless in the final 3rd, loads of passes and no end product, it's like these very talented players lose any attacking ideas as soon as they sign for them.

06-10-2024, 01:58 PM
Come on Aberdeen FFS!

06-10-2024, 02:05 PM
1-0 Aberdeen, big deflection

06-10-2024, 02:08 PM
Too wee eh. ***** league etc etc. more heart than anyone in our squad.

Absolute baws. Is that purely because he's wee?

06-10-2024, 02:09 PM
1-0 Aberdeen, big deflection

Its a sad indictment of where we are that a draw isn’t a good result for us. Hopefully Aberdeen put 4 past them.

06-10-2024, 02:10 PM
Watching on Hearts TV, their commentators are really balanced, totally at odds with every other aspect of their club.

06-10-2024, 02:10 PM
Its a sad indictment of where we are that a draw isn’t a good result for us. Hopefully Aberdeen put 4 past them.

I can't imagine ever not wanting Aberdeen to do that to them.

06-10-2024, 02:11 PM
Watching on Hearts TV, their commentators are really balanced, totally at odds with every other aspect of their club.

Best club commentators by a mile.

06-10-2024, 02:12 PM
Calling up a 42 year old for Scotland is embarrassing
Mon the sheep s,,,,,,s

06-10-2024, 02:13 PM

Can’t disagree, don’t know who they are but you’d be forgiven for thinking you were not watching their official TV stream.

06-10-2024, 02:13 PM
Aberdeen are just fairly competent, nothing flashy, solid in midfield. That's all you need in this league.

Shankland just missed a sitter.

06-10-2024, 02:14 PM
Aberdeen are just fairly competent, nothing flashy, solid in midfield. That's all you need in this league.

Shankland just missed a sitter.

Was thinking the exact same mate.

06-10-2024, 02:14 PM
Can’t disagree, don’t know who they are but you’d be forgiven for thinking you were not watching their official TV stream.

I even prefer them to Hibs TV for derbies that I watch on telly.

06-10-2024, 02:16 PM

Think one of them is the bearded AVFTT jambo

06-10-2024, 02:19 PM
End to end game.

06-10-2024, 02:22 PM
How Ant n Dec didn't get booked for that

06-10-2024, 02:23 PM
Ref bottled it there. Should have been a second yellow for Rashford.

Triantis would have got a 2nd yellow there before the attacker even hit the deck

Rashford very lucky

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Amazing decision.

06-10-2024, 02:24 PM
Amazing decision.

Talk of higher threshold for second yellow is utter pish. Second yellow all day long.
There you go he now gets subbed.

06-10-2024, 02:26 PM
Talk of higher threshold for second yellow is utter pish. Second yellow all day long.
There you go he now gets subbed.

It's bizarre, it was just a lazy almost knee high kick. Yellow card all day long as you say.

06-10-2024, 02:30 PM
It's bizarre, it was just a lazy almost knee high kick. Yellow card all day long as you say.

Indeed. Zero attempt for the ball.

06-10-2024, 02:32 PM

Another case of, depends who it is!

06-10-2024, 02:34 PM
Another case of, depends who it is!

Yip it sure does.

06-10-2024, 02:36 PM

Don't you mean Sir Marcus?

06-10-2024, 02:39 PM
1-1 in the Hearts game. Aberdeen have looked garbage.

1-1 🙄

Aberdeen goalie mince

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

06-10-2024, 02:40 PM
Aberdeens first real test and they are coming up well short.

06-10-2024, 02:40 PM
1-1 in the Hearts game. Aberdeen have looked garbage.

There's only one team winning this now 😣

LunasBoots
06-10-2024, 02:41 PM

They've certainly not looked great

06-10-2024, 02:41 PM
Fat head should be off. That's 3 times he could've been booked and only booked for one of them.

06-10-2024, 02:43 PM
Shankland is a nasty piece of work.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 02:43 PM

They've passed many of the lesser tests we've failed dismally.

06-10-2024, 02:44 PM

I wasn't talking about Hibs.

06-10-2024, 02:45 PM
Is Shankland trying to get sent off?

06-10-2024, 02:49 PM
How on earth has Shankland stayed on the pitch !!

06-10-2024, 02:50 PM
Beaton is a joke of a ref.

LunasBoots
06-10-2024, 02:51 PM
Certain rules don't apply to certain players.

06-10-2024, 02:51 PM

Don't agree. They keep defending every Shankland possible booking as being nothing in it.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2024, 02:52 PM
What a carry on with VAR in the villa game:rolleyes:

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 02:53 PM
Brother Beaton letting forehead away with anything. Expect a Hearts pen in the second half to keep his team within touching distance.

06-10-2024, 02:53 PM
What’s the difference to Kent heading McGrath there compared to Triantis on Alistair Johnstone last season?

Shankland has to be off the next time he commits a foul

ShadesLongThrow
06-10-2024, 02:56 PM
This certainly isn’t pretty but both these teams will bully us off the park. Our powderpuff midfield and defence will fall apart against them.

06-10-2024, 03:01 PM
This certainly isn’t pretty but both these teams will bully us off the park. Our powderpuff midfield and defence will fall apart against them.

Our midfield and defence aren't powderpuff.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2024, 03:05 PM
Our midfield and defence aren't powderpuff.

06-10-2024, 03:06 PM
Our midfield and defence aren't powderpuff.It's one of the things we can say we have addressed and that's physicality

06-10-2024, 03:08 PM

There is plenty wrong at the moment but being powderpuff certainly isn't one of them.

A quite ludicrous observation.

06-10-2024, 03:12 PM
Poor game sheep v jambos. So many misplaced passes.

06-10-2024, 03:12 PM

I know we're all hurting after yesterday, but no need to come out with such rubbish. Bully us, no!

06-10-2024, 03:14 PM
Absolute shocker from Vargas! Hearts should be 2-1 up

Can't believe how bad Aberdeen have looked.

06-10-2024, 03:14 PM
Not only is Vargas a diving cheating bassa, he's a sh*te footballer too.

06-10-2024, 03:17 PM
Typical. Aberdeen decide to put in their worst performance in 12 matches against Hearts which will undoubtedly “jump start” their season.

06-10-2024, 03:18 PM

Why are your posts almost exclusively digs at Hibs? If you actually are a Hibs fan it's very weird behaviour.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:20 PM
Why are your posts almost exclusively digs at Hibs? If you actually are a Hibs fan it's very weird behaviour.

He's not wrong though. Just because something hurts to hear, doesn't make it untrue.

06-10-2024, 03:22 PM
He's not wrong though. Just because something hurts to hear, doesn't make it untrue.

The post was nothing to do with Hibs and yet they find a way to turn it into a dig about the club.

badabing67
06-10-2024, 03:22 PM
Boooooo

06-10-2024, 03:23 PM
For **** sake. 1-2.

Some hit to be fair.

Aberdeen look absolutely *****

Ffs!

Er is that a fan with a mic on YAM TV ?

LunasBoots
06-10-2024, 03:24 PM
Hearts seem to have a bit of confidence after there European game

Hibees1973
Fox adding his name to the candidates.

Back in the title race.

Er is that a fan with a mic on YAM TV ?

Robert Borthwick, so yes

Mitov looks really shaky.

2-2

Ya beauty!

2 2

2-2. Thank ****

Oops.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:25 PM
The post was nothing to do with Hibs and yet they find a way to turn it into a dig about the club.

Well it is Hibs.net. The central focus is going to be our club.

2-2

Great finish from Devlin tbf

LunasBoots
2-2

Ha Ha Hearts

1875M
Some 2nd half.

If that's in a derby game Gordon saves that

06-10-2024, 03:26 PM

100%. Tips it on to the post and the score off the break away.

06-10-2024, 03:26 PM

Not so sure. He has been on the decline for a wee while now.

06-10-2024, 03:27 PM
Just need shanklandstein to be sent off soon

06-10-2024, 03:28 PM
It was an observation and a true one.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 03:29 PM

The point I was making is that I don't think it's correct to say that Aberdeen haven't faced any tests this season. They've beaten every opponent they've faced which is as much as you can ask and something we've failed to do on all but one occasion in the league.

I also don't agree that a home game against the league's bottom side is their biggest test.

06-10-2024, 03:30 PM

It was in reply to a post solely talking about Aberdeen. The dig was shoehorned in with glee by a poster who doesn't like Hibs.

06-10-2024, 03:32 PM
It was in reply to a post solely talking about Aberdeen. The dig was shoehorned in with glee by a poster who doesn't like Hibs.

I dont particularly like Hibs at the moment, it's got better of course since i hated them after our last derby defeat.

06-10-2024, 03:33 PM

If you took the post in isolation, but it's constant negativity about the club from the poster. Every single post about Hibs is a negative dig at the club.

06-10-2024, 03:35 PM
I dont particularly like Hibs at the moment, it's got better of course since i hated them after our last derby defeat.

Aye but you don't particularly like them at the moment. Hopefully you won't be back to hate after the next Derby.

06-10-2024, 03:35 PM
Grant off, 2ndbyellow

06-10-2024, 03:36 PM
Weird one, second yellow, yet the boy doesn't seem to have been booked a first time!

06-10-2024, 03:37 PM
Weird one, second yellow, yet the boy doesn't seem to have been booked a first time!

He definitely hadn't been booked before. Very strange.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:38 PM
Aye but you don't particularly like them at the moment. Hopefully you won't be back to hate after the next Derby.

If we beat Hearts, we'll all be happy about beating Hearts. But we can be happy about a result in isolation, while still being ultimately frustrated at our league performances overall. Not all fans are fickle and change their position on the club on a result by result basis.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 03:39 PM
If you took the post in isolation, but it's constant negativity about the club from the poster. Every single post about Hibs is a negative dig at the club.

I've said plenty of positive things about Hibs when they merit it. At present there's nothing positive to say. We're pathetic and have been for far too long. The club deserves the flak.

06-10-2024, 03:39 PM

(I’m not watching the game) Must have said something to the ref or reacted after getting booked because the stats say he got the first yellow and then second yellow straight after.

06-10-2024, 03:40 PM
He definitely hadn't been booked before. Very strange.

Either Beaton has made a pigs ear of it, or he's given him a straight red for a challenge that isn't anywhere near it.

pollution
06-10-2024, 03:40 PM
19000 plus seats sold for this

LunasBoots
06-10-2024, 03:41 PM

Yup seems a bit weird nobody seems to know

06-10-2024, 03:42 PM
Either Beaton has made a pigs ear of it, or he's given him a straight red for a challenge that isn't anywhere near it.

It wasn't a straight red, must have been backchat

LunasBoots
06-10-2024, 03:44 PM
Booked after sheep second goal apparently

06-10-2024, 03:45 PM

No one seems to know. Beaton didn’t show the yellow card to him in quick succession which he should have done if it was two separate cautions. Wouldn’t surprise me if it’s been a total F up.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:45 PM

He was booked a couple of minutes before that challenge for dissent. Not sure what he was whinging about considering what Hearts have gotten away with in this game.

06-10-2024, 03:47 PM
Beatons been flashing so many yellows at hearts players it's no surprise we missed it !

Hibees1973
Will be interesting to see if the Yam can be organised, show some bottle and get a draw when down to 10 men.

He was booked a couple of minutes before that challenge for dissent. Not sure what he was whinging about considering what Hearts have gotten away with in this game.

Is s what the entitled do, re Voldemort after Hibs penalty

3-2 dons.

It's Aberdeen against Frankie Kent who has been brilliant for Hertz.

Go on the sheep! 😃

06-10-2024, 03:48 PM
well ain't that a bummer

:faf: i'm glad i tuned in for the last 8 mins :)

3-2 get it up them

LunasBoots
Yaas get it up ye

06-10-2024, 03:49 PM
Great game this. Hammers getting thrown all over the shop.

06-10-2024, 03:50 PM
Hearts 😅

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:51 PM
Good thing we have Hearts to provide us with much needed therapy this season. :wink:

06-10-2024, 03:52 PM
Just a gang. 7 yellows and a red.

06-10-2024, 03:56 PM
Thank **** Hearts are in the league 😂

Shankland just tried to headbutt the goalie there

ruthven_raiders
Just a gang. 7 yellows and a red.

And Aberdeen have none, says it all...

06-10-2024, 03:57 PM
And Aberdeen have none, says it all...

Indeed. By all accounts Shankland should have walked too but again it defends on the player.

06-10-2024, 03:58 PM
Fair play to Aberdeen, manager has come in and got them playing very effectively with a great team spirit. Be very surprised if they don’t get 3rd.

06-10-2024, 03:59 PM
Shankland is a sneaky thug. For me, he is the most dislikeable person in Scottish football.

06-10-2024, 03:59 PM
Owned

06-10-2024, 04:00 PM
Fair play to Aberdeen, manager has come in and got them playing very effectively with a great team spirit. Be very surprised if they don’t get 3rd.

They have a decent chance of getting second. Sevco are very poor.

06-10-2024, 04:02 PM
E Frankfurt 1 Bayern Munich 1

06-10-2024, 04:02 PM
Spurs are purring like a Rolls Royce

Ange has got them ticking

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 04:03 PM

Video Assistant Rangers will have other ideas.

06-10-2024, 04:03 PM
Shankland just tried to headbutt the goalie there

Surely that’s a retrospective red? Or do they happen as VAR makes no
mistakes of course.

Hibees1973
06-10-2024, 04:05 PM
Shankland is a sneaky thug. For me, he is the most dislikeable person in Scottish football.

Probably is now that Naismith is no longer.

06-10-2024, 04:05 PM
E Frankfurt 1 Bayern Munich 1

2-1

06-10-2024, 04:07 PM

Experienced coach and a few good quality additions

Exactly what we needed but didn’t get

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 04:07 PM
Funniest thing is that Hearts have played 8 games. Hibs, St Johnstone, Killie and Dundee all have another game to play.

06-10-2024, 04:08 PM
E Frankfurt 2 B Munich 2

06-10-2024, 04:08 PM
2-0 spurs

06-10-2024, 04:09 PM
Brighton Keeper 🫣

McGruber
06-10-2024, 04:14 PM

They had the advantage over us that nobody was giving it large with the 'it takes 3 or 4 windows' nonsense

06-10-2024, 04:19 PM
They had the advantage over us that nobody was giving it large with the 'it takes 3 or 4 windows' nonsense

Maybe it didn’t with the Aberdeen squad. Maybe, just maybe, Aberdeen were not in the exact same situation we were in.

06-10-2024, 04:20 PM
Aberdeen 19 points ahead of Hearts - 6 win swing of games.

It makes things worse for Hibs that Aberdeen have improved so much and Hearts are having a shocker of a start but we are only 3 points ahead and could be on equal points and or below them after the derby.

06-10-2024, 04:26 PM
Surely that’s a retrospective red? Or do they happen as VAR makes no
mistakes of course.

They’ll discuss it in full looking at every angle on Sportscence this evening!

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 04:26 PM

It makes things worse for Hibs that Aberdeen have improved so much and Hearts are having a shocker of a start but we are only 3 points ahead and could be on equal points and or below them after the derby.

Yes, but it doesn't need to be that way. We're capable of beating Dundee Utd on their own patch and certainly capable of beating Hearts at ER. But the club needs to focus on our game management skills. Quality of chances matter more than quantity of chances and the way we see games out when we have the upper hand is also pivotal. If we can get it right, we can take all 3 points from Dundee Utd which would give us a significant lift for the derby.

06-10-2024, 04:31 PM
Maybe it didn’t with the Aberdeen squad. Maybe, just maybe, Aberdeen were not in the exact same situation we were in.

It’s not just Aberdeen though. Dundee Utd were a championship team last season, currently they are 5th, a point off 3rd and 7 points above us. Or Motherwell. Currently joint 3rd and 8 points above us having finished below us last season. We seem to make harder work of building and rebuilding squads than other clubs do.

06-10-2024, 04:32 PM

We do have a game in hand.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 04:33 PM

Possible but unlikely.

Well done to them today tho.

06-10-2024, 04:34 PM
It’s not just Aberdeen though. Dundee Utd were a championship team last season, currently they are 5th, a point off 3rd and 7 points above us. Or Motherwell. Currently joint 3rd and 8 points above us having finished below us last season. We seem to make harder work of building and rebuilding squads than other clubs do.

Let’s see where we are at the end of the season. That is the telling time after all.

06-10-2024, 04:36 PM
Seville derby just kicked off. One of the most chaotic derbies on the planet normally.

06-10-2024, 04:42 PM
Brighton 1 Spurs 2

06-10-2024, 04:43 PM
E Frankfurt 2 B Munich 2

2-3

06-10-2024, 04:43 PM

The characters running our club have talked themselves into believing amongst themselves that success and improvement like those you mention can only be achieved over however much time they need to buy to save their own skins.

We probably can't act in the time frame others have because we have blown so much money already and have created a bit of inertia as the squad now stands because of the length of some of the contracts we have handed out.

The only thing we do with any urgency is sack managers and marketing to fans.

06-10-2024, 04:49 PM
Brighton 1 Spurs 2

2-2

06-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Spurs are purring like a Rolls Royce

Ange has got them ticking

Spursed it

Pretty spectacular collapse by Spurs. 3-2 now.

3-2 Brighton, mental game.

06-10-2024, 04:58 PM
Its all got a bit Spursy

06-10-2024, 05:24 PM
Frankfurt 3 B Munich 3

06-10-2024, 05:27 PM
Solanke is a dud

06-10-2024, 05:28 PM
0-2 and they mucked it up

didn't watch it but nice seeing Georginio Rutter on the scoresheet

Risboro Hibby
06-10-2024, 05:28 PM
Ange must have let Monty do the half time talk at Brighton

Hibees1973
06-10-2024, 05:34 PM
Seville derby just kicked off. One of the most chaotic derbies on the planet normally.

It is indeed.

I've followed Betis for around 30 years. There is a very good book on their rivalry 'The Frying Pan of Spain'.

One time the Sevilla manager (Juande Ramos) had a bottle of wine thrown over his head at a game. The bottle was frozen as well. :eek:

This one tame so far.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 05:42 PM

Aberdeen's turnaround has been especially rapid (although they did finish last season quite strongly despite bring bottom six). 13 straight wins is impressive. United look uo have come back better prepared this time round.

06-10-2024, 05:45 PM
It is indeed.

I've followed Betis for around 30 years. There is a very good book on their rivalry 'The Frying Pan of Spain'.

One time the Sevilla manager (Juande Ramos) had a bottle of wine thrown over his head at a game. The bottle was frozen as well. :eek:

This one tame so far.

Didn’t know that. Why is it so fierce?

Chorley Hibee
06-10-2024, 05:48 PM

Our biggest problem is we, generally, swap one lot of dross for another.

The other is our over reliance upon the loan market as a short-term fix to bail us out of a hole.

06-10-2024, 05:49 PM
Aberdeen's turnaround has been especially rapid (although they did finish last season quite strongly despite bring bottom six). 13 straight wins is impressive. United look uo have come back better prepared this time round.

Aye but are they sheite to watch, or foul players when they are breaking and strangling the life out of games, if so we want none of that pish at Easter Rd.

06-10-2024, 05:51 PM
Aye but are they sheite to watch, or foul players when they are breaking and strangling the life out of games, if so we want none of that pish at Easter Rd.

Winning is everything in this league sadly.

06-10-2024, 05:52 PM

For 13 wins in a row? I’d take that.

06-10-2024, 06:15 PM

Or nine points above them

06-10-2024, 06:25 PM

Ditto. Something we can only dream of.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 06:26 PM

We're also sheite to watch and strangle the life out of games by making too many unnecessary passes, allowing the opposition plenty of time to organize themselves off the ball.

I'd much rather see us play sheite the Aberdeen way tbh.

06-10-2024, 06:29 PM
We're also sheite to watch and strangle the life out of games by making too many unnecessary passes, allowing the opposition plenty of time to organize themselves off the ball.

I'd much rather see us play sheite the Aberdeen way tbh.

To be fair, they average two goals a game in the league and three goals a game in the cup so they must be doing a bit more than just strangling the life out of things. If we had a manager getting that from the team whilst winning 13 on the bounce, I’m sure we could all put up with a wee bit time wasting or whatever.

Hibees1973
06-10-2024, 06:31 PM
Didn’t know that. Why is it so fierce?

It's been like that for decades.

Sevilla seen as the aristos and their owner (Sanchez Pizjuan) in the 1940s - 1960s pulled a few strings with the local council to their benefit. Betis core support was from the poorer south/east part of Seville (Triana). This has kind of diluted over the years with Betis now having the bigger support and just as wealthy as Sevilla. Both clubs however, have had financial/regulation problems in the past.

There was an incident in 1990s when 3 or 4 Sevilla players assaulted some Betis supporters outside a nightclub. Went to court and think some players were fined/suspended.

Volatility reached it's peak in the 1990s/2000s when the two owners Del Nido (Sevilla) & De Lopera (Betis) despised each other to the point the derby games were toxic. Hence the frozen wine bottle thrown over the Sevilla manager's head. Also caused a fair bit of bother between both ultras in the clubs.

It calmed down slightly when a Sevilla player (Puerta) collapsed on the pitch and later died, not at a derby game. This led to a reconcilliation between Del Nido & De Lopera.

It is still the fiercest derby in Spain.

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 06:49 PM
To be fair, they average two goals a game in the league and three goals a game in the cup so they must be doing a bit more than just strangling the life out of things. If we had a manager getting that from the team whilst winning 13 on the bounce, I’m sure we could all put up with a wee bit time wasting or whatever.

Whatever they're doing, it's effective and it gets results. Where as we carry this myth that our "brand" of football is the right way to play and we're just really really unlucky. When in reality, our brand of football doesn't deliver results and isn't even good to watch in the modern game. There is such a thing as trying to do too much on the ball and sometimes less is more, something that as a club we need to come to terms with.

06-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Whatever they're doing, it's effective and it gets results. Where as we carry this myth that our "brand" of football is the right way to play and we're just really really unlucky. When in reality, our brand of football doesn't deliver results and isn't even good to watch in the modern game. There is such a thing as trying to do too much on the ball and sometimes less is more, something that as a club we need to come to terms with.

As I said, if we had a manager getting results, it wouldn’t be an issue. I know some folk like to go back to Jack Ross but he got the sack once the results stopped, for the type of run that sees most managers in trouble (and not just at Hibs).

HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 06:56 PM
As I said, if we had a manager getting results, it wouldn’t be an issue. I know some folk like to go back to Jack Ross but he got the sack once the results stopped, for the type of run that sees most managers in trouble (and not just at Hibs).

We rarely have such a manager. It seems that when we bring a manager in, they're instructed on the "Hibs way" of how the team needs to play, rather than being left to implement their own way. As long as we're locked into the same style as a club, we'll ultimately keep getting the same kind of results. The game has moved on over time and we need to move on with it.

He's here!
06-10-2024, 07:40 PM

Think blackpoolhibs is being sarcastic ie referring to the reasons why some posters wouldn't want McInnes at ER despite him being the most successful Sottish manager in our league by a mile.

06-10-2024, 07:40 PM
Rangers 1 up on St johnstone.

06-10-2024, 07:53 PM
Rangers 1 up on St johnstone.

Making very hard work of it. These European nights are definitely making things difficult for them.