View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

08-09-2024, 07:02 PM
Portugal look a dangerous side and look like they could cause us some problems

:whistle:

08-09-2024, 07:07 PM
I’ve come out from behind the couch for a spell…….. I suspect I’ll be going back any time soon.:greengrin

08-09-2024, 07:08 PM
Great save from Gunn

that leao is a great player

Fantastic save from Gunn

Portugal are rapid when they counter

08-09-2024, 07:10 PM
goodness sake robertson

08-09-2024, 07:12 PM
No idea how Martinez got another top tier national job after failing with Belgium.

08-09-2024, 07:13 PM
ach send that mendez off i say

08-09-2024, 07:13 PM
A lot of naive and poor, careless play from Scotland.

badabing67
08-09-2024, 07:14 PM
Pity they didn't start with Jair

08-09-2024, 07:14 PM
Smash n grab evening .. soak up the pressure

08-09-2024, 07:17 PM
Smash n grab evening .. soak up the pressure

Something Grant Hanley is very good at...oh wait!

08-09-2024, 07:18 PM
good save Gunn

08-09-2024, 07:19 PM
Something Grant Hanley is very good at...oh wait!

Will let him off from last week if we keep defending like this.. Gunn giving me confidence

Off the bar
08-09-2024, 07:21 PM
Got this on the wireless, sounds like they’ve given all the tickets to school kids.

08-09-2024, 07:22 PM
McTominay on 11 goals, seven behind SJM

08-09-2024, 07:23 PM
It would be great if we could hang on but we’re not even in the game in an attacking sense.

ruthven_raiders
08-09-2024, 07:24 PM
Got this on the wireless, sounds like they’ve given all the tickets to school kids.

The sound on itv 4 is pretty poor, tho all of a sudden commentary is now audible...

08-09-2024, 07:27 PM
daft tackle christie, yellow card

08-09-2024, 07:29 PM
Scotland eh

08-09-2024, 07:29 PM
The sound on itv 4 is pretty poor, tho all of a sudden commentary is now audible...

Couldn’t hear a word they were saying over the crowd earlier

08-09-2024, 07:31 PM
Spanish/Portugese atmosphere always brutal. All they do is whistle.

08-09-2024, 07:34 PM
Great half.

08-09-2024, 07:35 PM
How are we still winning this 😂

08-09-2024, 07:35 PM
Ht 0-1

08-09-2024, 07:36 PM
wonder if wonder boy will be on for the 2nd half

08-09-2024, 07:36 PM
How are we still winning this 😂

Portugal think they're all world beaters. This has 0-2 all over it :greengrin

08-09-2024, 07:37 PM
Great half against a team worth about 800 million.
Rafael Leo is an absolute machine.

08-09-2024, 07:37 PM
Rode our luck at times but so far so good.

08-09-2024, 07:41 PM
Eye bleeding stuff from us. It’s the tactics that get results for so many in the SPFL. Strange thing is, if we hold on for a result we’ll be happy and Scotland will have got the monkey off their back from before the Euros kicked off. I predict a nail biting conclusion if we’re holding on. Whatever happened the the great players and entertainment of yesteryear 😥

Up-the-slope
08-09-2024, 07:43 PM
Great half against a team worth about 800 million.
Rafael Leo is an absolute machine.

Hes a petulant fud (with lots of talent) love how Ralston is not taking his crap at throw ins and just taking his time and aggravating him

08-09-2024, 07:43 PM
Eye bleeding stuff from us. It’s the tactics that get results for so many in the SPFL. Strange thing is, if we hold on for a result we’ll be happy and Scotland will have got the monkey off their back from before the Euros kicked off. I predict a nail biting conclusion if we’re holding on. Whatever happened the the great players and entertainment of yesteryear 😥

Are you seriously suggesting we should be more open?

08-09-2024, 07:44 PM
Spanish/Portugese atmosphere always brutal. All they do is whistle.

The St Mirren of international football.

08-09-2024, 07:44 PM
Hes a petulant fud (with lots of talent) love how Ralston is not taking his crap at throw ins and just taking his time and aggravating him

Aye think he might crack eventually.

08-09-2024, 07:45 PM
Are you seriously suggesting we should be more open?

Nope. Can’t deny it’s eye bleeding though.

Up-the-slope
08-09-2024, 07:45 PM
we have played well from our point of view - but Mclean after sublime assist for goal and SJM have been totally anonymous

08-09-2024, 07:46 PM

I have really enjoyed it. Lots of character and spirit on display.

08-09-2024, 07:47 PM
I have really enjoyed it. Lots of character and spirit on display.

But we were spoiled in the 60’s and 70’s 😥

08-09-2024, 07:47 PM
Eye bleeding stuff from us. It’s the tactics that get results for so many in the SPFL. Strange thing is, if we hold on for a result we’ll be happy and Scotland will have got the monkey off their back from before the Euros kicked off. I predict a nail biting conclusion if we’re holding on. Whatever happened the the great players and entertainment of yesteryear ��

Accept they're streets ahead of Scotland, but still surprised SJM (as a top EPL player) seems incapable of standing on the ball or picking a pass with any composure.

08-09-2024, 07:49 PM
But we were spoiled in the 60’s and 70’s 😥

Aye we were that. You can only play the hand you are dealt though.

Manxhibs
I actually think we are doing fine. We are away in Portugal, whose team is worth a heck of a lot more than ours on paper.

That being said, this could still end up as a battering if they get one early.

Simply put, Clarke does know better than the fans, media and everyone else.

Absolutely does

He's on.

08-09-2024, 07:50 PM
Not my definition of eye bleeding. We try and pass the ball when we can and broke really well a few times.

08-09-2024, 07:50 PM
Accept they're streets ahead of Scotland, but still surprised SJM (as a top EPL player) seems incapable of standing on the ball or picking a pass with any composure.

He has been pretty poor again tonight, McLean apart from the cross has been non existent also

Up-the-slope
08-09-2024, 07:51 PM
He's on.

now here is the greetin fud of all greetin fuds... hope its all tears for him

08-09-2024, 07:52 PM
We're going to hold on until the very end, when Ronaldo scores a direct free kick, aren't we?

08-09-2024, 07:56 PM
Aye we were that. You can only play the hand you are dealt though.

Agreed. It’s that lack of entertainment I’m bemoaning not the fact Scotland are circling the wagons. Actually, despite being behind, Portugal are making up for it in flashes. If it stays like this I can be content with a result and having been entertained by their efforts to break us down.
Also have a tradition of pouring myself a good dram when either Hibs or Scotland score. Another reason to mourn the failure of either side to score a barrow load very often.

08-09-2024, 07:56 PM
We're going to hold on until the very end, when Ronaldo scores a direct free kick, aren't we?

it will just be a consolation goal though

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 07:57 PM
If Scotland can hang on here I will genuinely be amazed. Sitting so deep and constant Portugal pressure. Going to be a long 40 minutes. We really deserve a result for once

08-09-2024, 07:57 PM

Behave. More chance of Scotland winning 4-0 than him scoring a free kick.

08-09-2024, 07:58 PM
Croatia 1 Poland 0

08-09-2024, 07:59 PM
Annoying letting that loser score.

1-1

FFS how many more times is Gunn going to chuck in a goal

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-09-2024, 08:00 PM
gunn has to keep that out shirly

after a replay, bloody terrible attempt

It was on the cards.

Ah well

Cabbage-Patch
Poppadom wrists Gunn strikes again. He's played well tonight too

08-09-2024, 08:01 PM
I hate Bruno.

Gunn should save that.

Gunn is terrible.

Gunn really the bast we've got ? Shirley there is keeper in the Celtic reserves that needs a few games ?

Good save earlier but Gunn had to have a stronger hand there. Poor

Think Gunn should’ve done better there. Weak hand

pollution
Fudge

Cat Stanton
Gunn must be the worst keeper we have had in years.

08-09-2024, 08:02 PM
Gunn must be the worst keeper we have had in years.

Awful

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 08:02 PM
Have to feel the floodgates will open now we have done absolutely nothing since we scored. Time for Doak and Gauld

08-09-2024, 08:03 PM
our back up keeper ain't exactly great either :(

08-09-2024, 08:04 PM
okay now it's eye bleeding

08-09-2024, 08:06 PM
no goals from McTominay for a while now

08-09-2024, 08:09 PM
okay now it's eye bleeding

Actually, suddenly we’re playing football. C’mon Scotland let me have another dram

We need to find a keeper from somewhere as none of the current options in the squad are good enough.

McKenna at Bournemouth is my big hope but he's a bit away yet and we could do with him playing some games. One of those were you can't grudge him a big move but you wonder if he'd have been better playing another season and 30+ games at Queen's Park first.

NC1875
Gunn is useless.

08-09-2024, 08:11 PM
Come back in to it the last 5 mins

Gilmour is a class act.

McTominay is our best player by a mile these days.

unlucky McTominay

08-09-2024, 08:12 PM
Much better Scotland

end to end now :wink:

McTominay and Gilmour have been brilliant tonight

Cabbage-Patch
unlucky McTominay

100%

08-09-2024, 08:13 PM
Look at Portugal's subbies. Frightening.

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 08:13 PM
McTominay is our best player by a mile these days.

100%

08-09-2024, 08:14 PM
corner Scotland

right on top of their keeper :(

They are panicking :greengrin

Actually, suddenly we’re playing football. C’mon Scotland let me have another dram
Yeah we have settled pretty well after conceding starting to get into their half. We look a threat when we do get in there.

Need a couple of subs here, get some fresh legs on

08-09-2024, 08:15 PM
Neves yellow card

08-09-2024, 08:16 PM
this is much better

another scotland corner

Scotland have found a bit of belief, instead of thinking these guys are world beaters.

Scotland have played better since Portugal equalised. Gilmour is the best footballer in the squad by a mile.

08-09-2024, 08:17 PM
Ralston fires it wildly over, p@sh

pollution
08-09-2024, 08:17 PM
Ronaldo really sucks the life out of the Portuguese attack

08-09-2024, 08:18 PM
Scotland have played better since Portugal equalised. Gilmour is the best footballer in the squad by a mile.

Fantastic footballer eh? Lovely to watch

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 08:18 PM
We look knackered again. Doak surely has to be brought on for Christie

08-09-2024, 08:19 PM
This is the Scotland eveyeone hoped had turned up at the Euros.

What a difference.

Gilmour has been outstanding.

To be fair they have all done well so far. Though Gunn had a decent game before his attempt for the goal was soo poor.

What an absolute walloper Ronaldo is.

Looking forward to Ferguson being fit. Him, Gilmour and McTominay could be a midfield 3 for another couple of tournament cycles. All 3 playing at a high level in a country that values a technical approach can only be a good thing.

Gilmour is a Rolls Royce of a player, a player I'd find it difficult to believe anyone doesn't enjoy watching.

gauld and conway coming on

for
McLean and dykes

Can’t wait to see him play for Napoli. A great footballer

A total weapon

08-09-2024, 08:20 PM

Hopefully Scotland players asking where his World Cup is.

08-09-2024, 08:22 PM

Can’t wait to boo him at Hampden next month.

08-09-2024, 08:23 PM
Good save Gunn.

good save Gunn

Well done Gunn.

08-09-2024, 08:24 PM
Brilliant from Gunn. Ronaldo diving about in the box as usual afterwards too

08-09-2024, 08:25 PM

Closely followed by Fernandes.

08-09-2024, 08:26 PM
this would be a very credible draw

IF we get revenge in Poland

and IF we hold on here :greengrin

08-09-2024, 08:27 PM
Fernandes is a wee tool. A very good player but his constant at the ref and wee greeting, rat like face does my tits in.

Where were those wrists 20 minutes ago Angus? What a couple of saves.

wow still 1-1 :greengrin

some serious pressure now

Gunn has turned into Buffon.

Gunn has turned into a superstar all of a sudden

Oft what a wee spell that was. Good from Gunn again

08-09-2024, 08:28 PM
Angus Gunn 👏🏻👏🏻

Gee whiz

Gunn made up for his earlier error. Sensational stuff.

*** hell Gunn. Superb son

Cabbage-Patch
All of forgiven for the goal Gunn has been magnificent tonight

Gunn making some outstanding saves tonight.

08-09-2024, 08:29 PM
oh STFU home fans

08-09-2024, 08:29 PM
Some saves from Gunn👏👏

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 08:30 PM
You just know we are giving away a pen. Can write it.

08-09-2024, 08:30 PM
One of the best games I’ve seen Gunn play - shame he was so poor for the goal though as would have been one of the best keeping displays I’ve seen for a long time.

08-09-2024, 08:31 PM
Ronaldo is a torn faced **** eh? Ralston gets a head knock and he'd moaning about it ffs, can't deny a great player but a right wollaper.

08-09-2024, 08:31 PM
finally another change

morgan for christie

08-09-2024, 08:32 PM
Ronaldo negotiating his last min pen :greengrin

08-09-2024, 08:32 PM
ronaldo with the winner

we just couldn't do it, again

08-09-2024, 08:33 PM
**** off Ronaldo.

Ah well, nearly.

Well there you go :rolleyes: Like watching the Hibs, during the int break.

Sake.

Another late goal!!

****ing dreadful from McKenna. WTF are you doing

08-09-2024, 08:34 PM
Makes changes and we lose again.

pollution
08-09-2024, 08:34 PM
Oh well ....

NC1875
08-09-2024, 08:35 PM

Agree. Cannot stand him. Absolute twat of a man

****ing dreadful from McKenna. WTF are you doing

Bizarre defending not even watching where the ball is.

McKenna poor. Has to stay goal side of Ronaldo there.

08-09-2024, 08:36 PM
doak gets last 4 mins

08-09-2024, 08:37 PM
Agree. Cannot stand him. Absolute twat of a man

He was in the press saying the other day that the Euros win for Portugal was the same as a World Cup. Such a bitter man who cares about nobody else other than himself. Can’t wait for him to retire.

08-09-2024, 08:38 PM
McKenna poor. Has to stay goal side of Ronaldo there.

He just does nothing. Either attack the ball or block the man. He just stops.

I wonder if he was concerned about the ball hitting him and going in. Bizarre thought process if so.

08-09-2024, 08:39 PM
Has Gauld even had a touch?

08-09-2024, 08:41 PM
pitch invader trying to get a photo with golden boy

08-09-2024, 08:41 PM
FT

08-09-2024, 08:42 PM
I just realized this was on.
Why was Doak not playing? Excellent against Poland.

08-09-2024, 08:43 PM
FT Croatia 1 Poland 0

08-09-2024, 08:44 PM
Hanging on at the end.

NC1875
08-09-2024, 08:44 PM
It really is hard being a Scottish Hibs fan 😩

08-09-2024, 08:45 PM
1 win in14 for Clarke now & that was against Gibraltar. Can’t continue with a record like that but what next ?

08-09-2024, 08:46 PM
No shame losing 2-1 away to Portugal. Individual errors cost us in this game and the Poland one though. Squad depth is poor and I’m not sure if another manager could get more out the players available. If Clark loses v Croatia and Portugal in October we may find out.

Cabbage-Patch
08-09-2024, 08:46 PM
Another loss but credit where credit is due we gave it all tonight. That squad had no business getting a result against the megastars of Portugal and we gave them a real scare. We are crying out for a proven international striker and decent centre backs. If we can address those areas (somehow...) we will start to continually qualify for tournaments

08-09-2024, 08:48 PM
He just does nothing. Either attack the ball or block the man. He just stops.

I wonder if he was concerned about the ball hitting him and going in. Bizarre thought process if so.

Horrible defending just do the basics ffs. Ronaldo totally unmarked in the middle of the goals absolutely incredible 😳

08-09-2024, 08:49 PM
1 win in14 for Clarke now & that was against Gibraltar. Can’t continue with a record like that but what next ?

He should be gone, rising your game against Portugal where there is literally no pressure doesn’t override the fact that we have failed miserably against teams we should be winning, if he had any integrity he would resign now, but I won’t hold my breath

08-09-2024, 08:49 PM
We were way too deep then suddenly we had a good wee spell before McLean had to go off. Then when Dykes was knackered and had to go off the game was up. What an incredible amount of work he did tonight.

The good times have gone now and we're staring another couple of defeats in the face. It's been quite a rapid and steep descent.

Trinity Hibee
08-09-2024, 08:55 PM
pitch invader trying to get a photo with golden boy

Quite incredible whilst the play was up that end. The fan or the steward could have run straight into one of the players whilst the game was being played

08-09-2024, 08:56 PM
That'll be us bottom for the remainder of the campaign now.

08-09-2024, 08:59 PM
Quite incredible whilst the play was up that end. The fan or the steward could have run straight into one of the players whilst the game was being played

and if het got arrested a fine/ban to look forward to, and even if he did get a photo the polis would delete it from his phone :)

08-09-2024, 09:08 PM

Embarrassing Euros x 2, one win in 14 now - has to go. Any other country would take decisive action and punt him and rightly so. Nope, we gave him a contract 😂 that was a 2-1 going on 6-1 tonight.

Trinity Hibee
08-09-2024, 09:10 PM
All those wanted Clarke emptied, who would you want to replace him? Moyes is the only obvious one to me

Recent record is poor but I’m not sure I’d be wanting him punted

08-09-2024, 09:13 PM
Embarrassing Euros x 2, one win in 14 now - has to go. Any other country would take decisive action and punt him and rightly so. Nope, we gave him a contract 😂 that was a 2-1 going on 6-1 tonight.

Tonight wasn’t the problem. I thought we did all right. Against them you’re always going to have spells where you are under pressure or whatever but we coped well. The quality of player they have in comparison to us if unbelievable.

Many of the previous 13 games in this 14 game run have been garbage thought.

08-09-2024, 09:15 PM
He reckons he's earned the right to complete his contract.

I agree with him, but he's proving game after game why his 'right' is nothing more than a legacy. We're going backward, and he needs emptied ASAP. Moyes worth a shout, though I'm unconvinced he's streets better if I'm honest.

08-09-2024, 09:18 PM

I agree with him, but he's proving game after game why his 'right' is nothing more than a legacy. We're going backward, and he needs emptied ASAP. Moyes worth a shout, though I'm unconvinced he's streets better if I'm honest.

He hasn’t - it’s a ruthless results business and he’s failed on every level recently. Needs sacked.

08-09-2024, 09:20 PM
All those wanted Clarke emptied, who would you want to replace him? Moyes is the only obvious one to me

Would you want to keep a manager with that record, especially goals conceded

08-09-2024, 09:23 PM

His team set up means he's totally reliant on goals from midfield. Dykes works his socks off but playing him up front on his own is toothless. Fair enough away to Portugal but home to Poland is nonsense.

08-09-2024, 09:24 PM
Tonight wasn’t the problem. I thought we did all right. Against them you’re always going to have spells where you are under pressure or whatever but we coped well. The quality of player they have in comparison to us if unbelievable.

Many of the previous 13 games in this 14 game run have been garbage thought.

Yup - should have been binned for the terrible performances at the Euros. Stupidest thing they did was offer him a new contract before the tournament.

Trinity Hibee
08-09-2024, 09:24 PM
Would you want to keep a manager with that record, especially goals conceded

It’s not a great record but he’s transformed the national side. My biggest gripe with him is the time it takes him to makes changes during the game however that can be down to the options off the bench not being up to it.

If he was to go I wouldn’t be fussed but i don’t see an obvious candidate, bar Moyes, who comes in. He’s got some superb performances out of this side, some bad ones too, however given how poor the last 25 years has been I’d be hesitant to sack a manager who has brought relative success recently

Trinity Hibee
08-09-2024, 09:25 PM
His team set up means he's totally reliant on goals from midfield. Dykes works his socks off but playing him up front on his own is toothless. Fair enough away to Portugal but home to Poland is nonsense.

Is that not partly down to the options upfront though? Shankland can’t play that role at international level so dykes is all we have. Not sure we have the players to play open football against similar level teams

08-09-2024, 09:28 PM
Mentioned on another thread but if Clarke was to go, wonder if promoting Scot Gemmill could be an answer. Has a decent record at Scotland age groups and is now with under 21s. Would help bring the next generation of players through.

08-09-2024, 09:49 PM
It’s not a great record but he’s transformed the national side. My biggest gripe with him is the time it takes him to makes changes during the game however that can be down to the options off the bench not being up to it.

If he was to go I wouldn’t be fussed but i don’t see an obvious candidate, bar Moyes, who comes in. He’s got some superb performances out of this side, some bad ones too, however given how poor the last 25 years has been I’d be hesitant to sack a manager who has brought relative success recently

One win in fourteen and an absolutely embarrassing Euros when we were bottom of the table on any meaningful statistic - nope, there’s way better managers who would get way better results. Dour, uninspiring football coupled with a bizarre loyalty to utterly mediocre players (many of whom don’t play much for their clubs) - no wonder we get pumped regularly!

K-Zazu
08-09-2024, 09:50 PM
I don’t think changing the manager would make much difference tbh, we have no decent centre halfs, goalie and hardly any right backs. We’ve had some bad results recently but we are playing against world class teams.

08-09-2024, 10:00 PM
I don’t think changing the manager would make much difference tbh, we have no decent centre halfs, goalie and hardly any right backs. We’ve had some bad results recently but we are playing against world class teams.

Changing the manager would make a world of difference- someone who’s brave and bold and build on what we’ve done but plays players who are actually achieving with their clubs would be a great start. Moyes would be an excellent choice and the right one. Can’t stand Clarke personally.

08-09-2024, 10:15 PM
Changing the manager would make a world of difference- someone who’s brave and bold and build on what we’ve done but plays players who are actually achieving with their clubs would be a great start. Moyes would be an excellent choice and the right one. Can’t stand Clarke personally.

Which players?

09-09-2024, 06:55 AM

Agree with that actually think our performances in last two games have been decent. Would stick with him unless someone much better available. Got to be said he must be ruing his luck with the awful goals we have given away in recent games.

09-09-2024, 06:57 AM
Which players?

Yes don't see a stack of players obviously better than the ones playing. McGregor is an obvious loss.

09-09-2024, 06:59 AM

Cheeky contract offer to Carsley?

Maybe it's time for a nom Scottish manager again, someone with energy and enthusiasm.

He's here!
09-09-2024, 07:03 AM
Agree with that actually think our performances in last two games have been decent. Would stick with him unless someone much better available. Got to be said he must be ruing his luck with the awful goals we have given away in recent games.

Scotland have conceded 33 goals in 14 games. Luck doesn't have anything to do with that sort of woeful record.

DIXIHIBS
09-09-2024, 07:11 AM
Cheeky contract offer to Carsley?

Maybe it's time for a nom Scottish manager again, someone with energy and enthusiasm.

I don't think the team lacked any energy or enthusiasm last night, quality was the difference. That Portuguese team is high quality. Clarke has taken us to 2 euros in a row, something we've failed to achieve in any tournaments for a long time. While our recent record is pretty grim, the step up we've made over the last few years means we are playing against higher level teams and we clearly struggle. I would give him the world cup qualifiers, I think he deserves that chance and I don't really see any obvious replacement at the moment anyway.

Trinity Hibee
09-09-2024, 08:30 AM
I don't think the team lacked any energy or enthusiasm last night, quality was the difference. That Portuguese team is high quality. Clarke has taken us to 2 euros in a row, something we've failed to achieve in any tournaments for a long time. While our recent record is pretty grim, the step up we've made over the last few years means we are playing against higher level teams and we clearly struggle. I would give him the world cup qualifiers, I think he deserves that chance and I don't really see any obvious replacement at the moment anyway.

I agree with most of this. We have to remember that a country of our size isn’t going to beat these big sides very often and even what are deemed lesser countries have a much larger pool of players to choose from. Players on the continent still seem to be technically better than many of ours.

Keep in mind Scotland have never got out of the groups at a tournament and that’s even in the heydays of the 70s and 80s. Expectations need to be tempered

09-09-2024, 08:34 AM
TBH Scotland haven't been half bad the past 2 games, individual errors have cost us, our big problems are we haven't got good enough players in the key positions in defence where it's needed. I take it Porteous is out the picture now and only on the bench since his sending off in the Euros, he's far better than McKenna.

He's here!
09-09-2024, 08:36 AM

We had a pretty easy Nations League route to the previous Euros (tho nearly contrived to mess that up under McLeish's awful second stint before Clarke salvaged things) which hadn't been available before and tended to obscure the fact we failed again in the qualifiers proper. The great start to the Euro 2024 qualifiers was his high point but I think I'm right in saying we haven't won a competitive game in over a year which, coupled with the fact it's one win in 14 overall (and that was effectively a bounce game v Gibraltar) indicates his race is run.

09-09-2024, 08:41 AM
Scotland have conceded 33 goals in 14 games. Luck doesn't have anything to do with that sort of woeful record.

His luck as in players making big mistakes. Personally think he has done a decent job especially given we have qualified for two tournaments. No point getting rid of no one better to come in.

09-09-2024, 09:47 AM
A still of the equaliser doing the rounds that show it arguably should have been ruled out for ronaldo interfering with Gunn's line of sight. Possibly why he got a poor hand to it

Evidence in this break that the players are still putting in a shift for the manager. It's tough at the top and expectations are high so we need to rescue something from this campaign

09-09-2024, 01:45 PM
Mentioned on another thread but if Clarke was to go, wonder if promoting Scot Gemmill could be an answer. Has a decent record at Scotland age groups and is now with under 21s. Would help bring the next generation of players through.

Under 21s or whatever they've previously been called have not qualified for a finals tournaments in the last 30 years. If they do it this time it might give Gemmill a leg up.

09-09-2024, 01:50 PM
A still of the equaliser doing the rounds that show it arguably should have been ruled out for ronaldo interfering with Gunn's line of sight. Possibly why he got a poor hand to it

Evidence in this break that the players are still putting in a shift for the manager. It's tough at the top and expectations are high so we need to rescue something from this campaign

I'm beginning to wonder if Gunn has an eyesight problem. He's very good at reaction saves at close quarters but has let in a number from distance.

09-09-2024, 01:54 PM
I'm beginning to wonder if Gunn has an eyesight problem. He's very good at reaction saves at close quarters but has let in a number from distance.

Unfortunately I think he’s just pish. International quality goalkeepers just don’t lose the goals he loses.

That position looks to be a real problem going forward, with few options or decent prospects coming through who look like they might potentially be the solution.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2024, 06:45 PM
France v Belgium should be a good game

09-09-2024, 06:49 PM
one minute played Montenegro 0 Wales 1

two & half minutes played 0-2

and that will be game
set
and match

rain chucking down, pitch looks poor understandably

Montenegro miss a tad of a sitter

Turkey 1 Iceland 0

FT Cyprus 0 Kosovo 4

09-09-2024, 06:59 PM
one minute played Montenegro 0 Wales 1

two & half minutes played 0-2

and that will be game
set
and match

rain chucking down, pitch looks poor understandably

Montenegro miss a tad of a sitter

Turkey 1 Iceland 0

FT Cyprus 0 Kosovo 4

They’ll be doing well to get the Wales game finished if that rain keeps coming down.

09-09-2024, 07:03 PM
They’ll be doing well to get the Wales game finished if that rain keeps coming down.

that was a brilliant attempt by the montenegro player from the half-way line that hit the bar

09-09-2024, 07:15 PM
1-0 France.

09-09-2024, 07:19 PM
Another two goals for Rudi tonight against Holland.

4 goals in 3 games.

09-09-2024, 07:26 PM
Turkey 1 Iceland 1

Israel 0 Italy 1

Norway 1 Austria 1

France 0 Belgium 1

09-09-2024, 07:27 PM
Victor palsson scoring for Iceland

Bridge hibs
09-09-2024, 07:33 PM

4 goals in 3 games.

Brilliant

09-09-2024, 07:46 PM
Turkey 1 Iceland 1

Israel 0 Italy 1

Norway 1 Austria 1

France 0 Belgium 1

1-0 France

09-09-2024, 07:54 PM
Ref in the Wales game seems to be a total homer. Ignoring possible cards for the home team but pretty quick to book the Welsh

09-09-2024, 07:57 PM

4 goals in 3 games.
I'm obviously missing something here - Rudi? Playing for Georgia?

1-0 France

just went to take a screenshot on the beeb and they've changed it :faf:

Turkey 2 Iceland 1

i'll check the beeb again in a few mins :(

hfc-1875
Victor palsson scoring for Iceland

Came here to say this, forgot all about him. Had a quick google after seeing he had scored looks to have had a decent enough career Helsingborg Zürich shalke etc and seen he’s just signed for Plymouth

09-09-2024, 08:01 PM
I'm obviously missing something here - Rudi? Playing for Georgia?

Scotland U19s

09-09-2024, 08:06 PM
2-0 France

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2024, 08:10 PM
Italy must have improved a lot because France have looked good here .

09-09-2024, 08:13 PM
Scotland U19s
Ah, thank you. I'm off to stand in the dunce's corner for a while.

09-09-2024, 08:14 PM
Israel 0 Italy 2

at last montenegro score 1-2

Romania 1 Lithuania 1, that'll be tonights bet down if stays the same, f*ds, 3-1 Romania, bet365 puts my bet up again :)

Stairway 2 7
09-09-2024, 08:20 PM

4 goals in 3 games.

Wow. Is it two years left he's got I'd be extending that if possible

09-09-2024, 08:28 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

09-09-2024, 08:38 PM
Turkey 3 Iceland 1

Iceland play Wales next month, i fancy Wales to get in the top two in this group

FT wales win 2-1

FT Israel 1 Italy 2, Abu Fani scoring on 90 mins, unfortunate surname that one

badabing67
10-09-2024, 11:54 AM
Malta V Scotland U21's KO 5.30 PM today live ion Scotland National Team Youtube channel Commentary with Luke Shanley and Scott Allan

Hopefully Bowie is starting and plays the full game.

(890) Malta Under-21s v Scotland Under-21s | Men’s UEFA Under-21 EURO 2025 Qualifier - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hi13NQa2lgc)

(890) Scotland National Team - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/@ScotlandNationalTeam/streams)

10-09-2024, 03:59 PM
Not had much luck with first goalscorer bets recently, gone for Havertz ew tonight now that Fullkrug has been ruled out.

badabing67
10-09-2024, 04:01 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GXHsMmUXgAAhWmQ?format=jpg&name=small

10-09-2024, 04:03 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

32 goals in 35 games now for national team.

badabing67
10-09-2024, 04:35 PM
Scotland 1up already

10-09-2024, 04:45 PM
Scotland 1up already

It’s 2-0, Dane Murray

Manxhibs
10-09-2024, 04:53 PM
3-0 Bowie

badabing67
10-09-2024, 05:05 PM
FFS Bowie lipping and going down

K-Zazu
10-09-2024, 05:06 PM
Bowie definitely injured now

Pytheas
10-09-2024, 05:07 PM
Looks like his hammys gone ffs

crash
10-09-2024, 05:08 PM
FFS , Bowie looks like a hamstring, could be out for a few weeks

10-09-2024, 05:09 PM
Not good. So annoying!

Pytheas
10-09-2024, 05:10 PM
McKirdy now 2nd choice striker top work Malky

10-09-2024, 05:10 PM
If you’ve a little hamstring problem, you shouldn’t be playing

10-09-2024, 05:12 PM
Wonder what Hibs views will be on this. We’be been easing him to games in the 2nd half stating he wasn’t ready to start yet Scotland do start him.

badabing67
10-09-2024, 05:14 PM

Maybe just the chance he needs to make an impact here's hoping he does just that

crash
10-09-2024, 05:19 PM
Hibs should have refused to let him go if he is not fully fit to play.

Cabbage-Patch
10-09-2024, 05:22 PM
Absolute disaster but tbh you could have written one of our strikers getting an injury. Needed another one in during the window after Vente leaving. Sure they will be looking at free agents but they will take weeks to get up to match sharpness.

Boyle or Youan to play up front?

10-09-2024, 05:25 PM
3-0 Bowie

Was Mulligan.

K-Zazu
10-09-2024, 05:33 PM
Is Dwight Gayle still available?

10-09-2024, 05:40 PM

How many players do you expect Hibs to have in each position?

10-09-2024, 05:43 PM
A journalist was tweeting last night about Bowie having a hamstring problem but was getting called out by folk saying he was talking rubbish. Seems he was right after alll

10-09-2024, 05:45 PM
We've been easing him into the season. He had no business being away with Scotland. Your club should ALWAYS take priority. Hibs pay his wages and it's clear he shouldn't be playing for Scotland until fully fit (I'd rather he didn't at all)

Hibs should not have allowed him to go away for this nonsense.

10-09-2024, 05:46 PM
A journalist was tweeting last night about Bowie having a hamstring problem but was getting called out by folk saying he was talking rubbish. Seems he was right after alll

He's not a journalist and how was he right? Bowie started the game. Are you suggesting the u21 team started him injured?

cameronw-hfc
10-09-2024, 05:52 PM

He wasn't right, he posts made up news. Look at his page, this genuinely might be the only thing he's gotten right and even that doesn't work as if his Hammy went before the game no chance he plays.

10-09-2024, 06:10 PM
We've been easing him into the season. He had no business being away with Scotland. Your club should ALWAYS take priority. Hibs pay his wages and it's clear he shouldn't be playing for Scotland until fully fit (I'd rather he didn't at all)

Except Hibs can’t just decide that.

Rumble de Thump
10-09-2024, 06:13 PM

We've been managing his game time because he wasn't fully match fit. Playing for Scotland was obviously going to help improve his match fitness.

10-09-2024, 06:54 PM
Not had much luck with first goalscorer bets recently, gone for Havertz ew tonight now that Fullkrug has been ruled out.

FFS 😥 1-0 Holland after 3 mins

10-09-2024, 07:03 PM
Kenneh played the 1st 45 mins for Liberia today
They lost 3-0 at home to Algeria

10-09-2024, 07:07 PM
Kenneh played the 1st 45 mins for Liberia today
They lost 3-0 at home to Algeria

Such a weird one. He's played consistently whenever he's went out on loan and seems to get a game for Liberia. Thought he looked not bad when he first signs, clearly raw but still really young. Hasn't had a sniff since though and will be emptied this summer at the latest.

I know it means noting, but still hasn't a decent market value on Tansfermarkt as well, £600k

10-09-2024, 07:13 PM
Maybe just the chance he needs to make an impact here's hoping he does just that

10-09-2024, 07:34 PM
Netherlands 1 Germany 2

Czech Republic 2 Ukraine 1

10-09-2024, 07:39 PM
How England are not four or five goals up is anyone’s guess. The Finns are so poor and naive. At a free kick at the end of the first half, they allowed three English players to form the middle section of the wall, allowing the kick taker a huge space to kick unhampered towards goal. Fortunately it was a poor kick. I think England will score four or five in the second .

10-09-2024, 08:02 PM
Republic of Ireland 0 Greece 1

Netherlands 2 Germany 2

Czech Republic 3 Ukraine 1

Albania 0 Georgia 1

10-09-2024, 08:04 PM
Netherlands Germany a cracking match 2 2

10-09-2024, 08:42 PM
England win 2-0. Considering how garbage the Finns were, that is a poor result for them.

13-09-2024, 04:03 PM
Dunfermline v Raith live on bbc channel tonight
Will be my 1st look at Hanlon and Stevenson since they moved on

13-09-2024, 06:56 PM
Decent start in the Fife derby. Dunfermilne staring by far the brighter.

13-09-2024, 07:02 PM
Dunfermline v Raith live on bbc channel tonight
Will be my 1st look at Hanlon and Stevenson since they moved on
Is Stevenson injured?