View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread
01-07-2024, 07:52 PM
Tournament has been awful
Totally disagree has been very good and some of the unheralded teams have been a breathe of fresh air.
pollution
01-07-2024, 07:52 PM
I keep telling my wife that the next game will be better. Still waiting.
01-07-2024, 07:56 PM
…I fell asleep before France scored, wish I was lieing cause taking a 30 minute Power Nap at this time of night will be brutal 😅
This Portugal v Slovakia game isn’t helping either !
01-07-2024, 07:56 PM
I don't know if it's that the tournament has been poor, or whether I'm just 'footballed out' tbh. Been some great games, exciting teams (Austria, Switzerland, Turkey, Georgia), cracking goals...but I definitely don't find myself excited by the tournament as a whole.
pollution
01-07-2024, 07:59 PM
I don't know if it's that the tournament has been poor, or whether I'm just 'footballed out' tbh. Been some great games, exciting teams (Austria, Switzerland, Turkey, Georgia), cracking goals...but I definitely don't find myself excited by the tournament as a whole.
I think a lot of the players are genuinely tired after a very long season.
01-07-2024, 08:07 PM
Style of play? The top nations seem pretty content knocking about endlessly against teams that are quite happy to let them do that.
Works as a tactic for the underdogs as they are carrying enough of a threat to stay in the games, and continues to work for the favourites as more often than not they are sneaking through.
A lot of the games have been fairly similar, a template England are following but they're not alone.
01-07-2024, 08:07 PM
I think a lot of the players are genuinely tired after a very long season.
I think that is a huge factor. John McGinn played 53 games for Villa last season and people wonder why he looked a bit jaded at the tournament.
I've enjoyed the tournament but I'm not blown away by it. Much like league football it all feels a bit formulaic with a lot of top teams playing broadly the same way. Pass the ball to death and quite passive for long spells. I've seen enough 2 yard goal kicks from CB to keeper and back again to last me a lifetime. The sooner the next fad comes along and replaces that the better.
Stairway 2 7
01-07-2024, 08:09 PM
It's defensive, 100 passes along the back and hardly any number 9s. There has been great games but the percentage is low.
01-07-2024, 08:14 PM
Jeez, Martin Keown is so bad. Doesn't even know the rule about the linesman delaying the offside flag. Brutal.
01-07-2024, 08:18 PM
Ive thoroughly enjoyed it.
A couple of dull games but the group games? Absolutely fantastic, some of the best tournament play ive ever seen.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 08:23 PM
I'd love to see CR7 get subbed just to see him explode :greengrin
01-07-2024, 08:25 PM
I can’t see Portugal losing this one but Slovenia are making them work for it.
01-07-2024, 08:25 PM
Can they just take this game to penalties now, wave is all another hour of our lives!
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 08:28 PM
Fitness levels of Slovenia is incredible. Really fascinating game. They also manage to actually pass and put pressure on Portugal when they do win the ball back.
Stairway 2 7
01-07-2024, 08:29 PM
A couple of dull games but the group games? Absolutely fantastic, some of the best tournament play ive ever seen.
Was reeking in Germany for the best part of the groups so memory hazy. Very defensive and so many passes in defensive in what I've seen sober the last week
01-07-2024, 08:31 PM
Has anyone seen Ronaldo score a free kick spot 2008?
01-07-2024, 08:32 PM
Someone else take a free kick FFS !
It’s getting silly now.
Posted the same last week
No end product
Stairway 2 7
01-07-2024, 08:33 PM
Just read that's his 60th free kick in a tournament football with 1 goal. The build up to them is unreal, like Roberto Carlos dining out on his worldie against France
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 08:34 PM
So CR7 has taken 58 direct free kicks at major tournaments... and scored 1 (thats ONE) :shocked:
edit... too slow
01-07-2024, 08:35 PM
Ronaldo is giving Portugal nothing, it's as if they are frightened to substitute him, they are playing with 10 men.
K-Zazu
01-07-2024, 08:42 PM
Ronaldo is giving Portugal nothing, it's as if they are frightened to substitute him, they are playing with 10 men.
Definitely too scared to sub him.
01-07-2024, 08:42 PM
I’ve enjoyed it too.
Plucky, energetic wee teams and nervous, lethargic big teams.
It’s arguably not got much for the purists but there are lots of interesting, tight games that are on a knife edge throughout and feel like they could go either way.
01-07-2024, 08:43 PM
Oh my god do something
01-07-2024, 08:46 PM
It's defensive, 100 passes along the back and hardly any number 9s. There has been great games but the percentage is low.
We’ve got Pep to thank for that.
01-07-2024, 08:48 PM
Can someone score?
Yorkshire HFC
01-07-2024, 08:51 PM
I’ve enjoyed it too.
It’s arguably not got much for the purists but there are lots of interesting, tight games that are on a knife edge throughout and feel like they could go either way.
I've only watched the Scotland and England games - not more than 10 minutes of any other games.
And I can't remember the last time I watched a league game that didn't involve Hibs. And I only see Hibs 2 - 3 times a year.
I don't think I'm much of a football fan any more. My wife is currently watching Love Island - I'll check if Portugal go to penalties and will watch them if it does.
01-07-2024, 08:58 PM
Slovenia have been superb playing with a huge heart. Strange Portugal took off Vitinha as he is their best midfielder. Ramos should be on for Ronaldo.
01-07-2024, 08:59 PM
Slovenia have been superb playing with a huge heart. Strange Portugal took off Vitinha as he is their best midfielder. Ramos should be on for Ronaldo.
They’ll not sub him whilst pens are still a possibility
01-07-2024, 09:10 PM
This game is ****ing awful
01-07-2024, 09:12 PM
100% a pen not sure what the commentator is on
01-07-2024, 09:12 PM
How ****ing soft is that? He throws himself into the defender.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:13 PM
thats a nonsense pen... just run into defender. where is defender meant to go
01-07-2024, 09:14 PM
I’m torn on that one, the defender can’t magically disappear.
Yesssss
What a save.
Hahahaha delighted for him
The raising of his left leg made it a penalty for me.
That sums up Ronaldo too.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Up-the-slope
I am just delighted at that as justice done
Donegal Hibby
That's a very harsh penalty.
Good grief, great save.
01-07-2024, 09:15 PM
Ronaldo is finished eh
Yesssss
What a save.
Terrific
01-07-2024, 09:16 PM
Ronaldo looks like he's gone.
Ronaldo is finished eh
In tears with 15 minutes to go. Time to remove him.
Do you think Ronaldo is starting to wain a wee bit, no free kicks on target, loads of missed headers, one on ones missed and now a poor penalty, yes good save but it was at a good height for the keeper.
Ronaldo looks like he's gone.
Floods of tears!!!
What a big jessie [emoji23]
If he had anything about him he would've retired after the world cup. He's holding them back
K-Zazu
01-07-2024, 09:17 PM
Stand tall Slovenia !
Save looks better every time you see it.
It's a decent height but that is hitting the side netting if it gets past the keeper and was hit with proper power.
An unbelievably good save.
Good grief, great save.
He is a very impressive goalkeeper
Slovenia are crap to watch, don't care what the commentators say. Dreadful, anti football.
cameronw-hfc
01-07-2024, 09:18 PM
That not even a bad pen. Outstanding save. Delighted, horrible guy
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:18 PM
unbelievable save when you take power and placement, and that keeper managed to keep a foot on the line and not go early
01-07-2024, 09:20 PM
Slovenia are crap to watch, don't care what the commentators say. Dreadful, anti football.
Think they have been excellent defended well and have been a threat going forward
Gordy M
01-07-2024, 09:21 PM
Has the Portugal keeper had a save to make all game?
01-07-2024, 09:21 PM
Stonewall penalty, great save, floods of tears. Brilliant TV. And I read VAR was killing the game. Alive and well.
01-07-2024, 09:22 PM
Slovenia are playing how they have to to win the game, it’s not pretty but it’s effective.
01-07-2024, 09:22 PM
I'm sure Ilicic that just came on played against Hibs for Maribor.
Gordy M
01-07-2024, 09:23 PM
Stonewall penalty, great save, floods of tears. Brilliant TV. And I read VAR was killing the game. Alive and well.
What did VAR have to do with it?
That far side linesman is having a nightmare trying to run in a straight line. About 3 or 4 times he's been halfway on the park
Great memory
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8864977.stm
01-07-2024, 09:24 PM
Think they have been excellent defended well and have been a threat going forward
It's like watching St Johnstone play international fitba
This game is ****ing awful
Enjoyed it, wish Scotland had shown half the effort of Slovenia.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:24 PM
different views but I think they have been immense. Scotland might still be there if we could defend with that kind of organisation and fitness levels. They have also created more chances than their meagre possession would suggest
01-07-2024, 09:25 PM
They have been defensively sensational
Stairway 2 7
Yes
Read a thread about his amazing come back after a horrendous few years, some story
https://x.com/MaaxiAngelo/status/1805712919306334316
They have been defensively sensational
Jack Ross will be having flashbacks
01-07-2024, 09:26 PM
Great memory
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8864977.stm
Him and his buddy Tavares were brilliant over the two games.
01-07-2024, 09:27 PM
different views but I think they have been immense. Scotland might still be there if we could defend with that kind of organisation and fitness levels. They have also created more chances than their meagre possession would suggest
Agree they should take great credit apparently beat Portugal earlier this year
01-07-2024, 09:27 PM
Never, ever looked like he was going to score there.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:28 PM
surely there cant be anyone that doesn't want to see Ronaldo face the keeper a second time in a shoot out
01-07-2024, 09:28 PM
Scored 2 goals against us in the first leg.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:29 PM
here come the penalty taker subs
01-07-2024, 09:30 PM
Aye I know, I'm still recovering from the monsoon! 🌧️
Portugal to win on penalties.
Up-the-slope
thanks for that painful reminder :rolleyes:
That's a bit of a stretch :greengrin
Musselbound
01-07-2024, 09:31 PM
So does Ronaldo take another penalty?
01-07-2024, 09:31 PM
Will Ronaldo take a pen?
Usually he goes last in pen shoot outs ??
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:33 PM
when was last knock out 0-0 ? 2016?
01-07-2024, 09:34 PM
Will Ronaldo take a pen?
If he is playing for the team he takes one of the first ones to get a score on the board. I’m not so sure he will.
Will Ronaldo take a pen?
If he doesn’t he will be known as a coward, but I’m sure I remember him waiting to take the 5th in the previous tournament to massage his ego and it didn’t even go that far?
Up-the-slope
this is totally jeopardy now... losers will be devastated after that
01-07-2024, 09:35 PM
Will Ronaldo take a pen?
I'd be surprised if he doesn't take the 5th.
His ego will see it as potential redemption.
Penalties it is then, Slovenia horrible to watch but fought hard and defended with everything, Slovenia's keeper is a massive bloke who it top notch though.
01-07-2024, 09:37 PM
Game should be over. Sesko should have rounded the keeper and walked the ball into the net. Brain-freeze. :greengrin
01-07-2024, 09:39 PM
Another good save.
Seems to still be a myth that keepers guess at penalties, these guys don't have to because they are so athletic.
Took the first and scores- fair play as nearly slipped too!
Great penalty tbf
Absolute class by Ronaldo
Side netting again
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
He stopped during the run up is that allowed now? See it a lot with these daft run ups
01-07-2024, 09:40 PM
Slovenia have ****ed it.
2 great saves though.
Well **** me Costa, 2 great saves
Edit, 3 amazing saves, jeezo what a keeper he is.
01-07-2024, 09:42 PM
That's the first really terrible penalty.
I'd have fancied myself to save that one.
Incredible 3 saves in a row
Conrad loganesque
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Piss poor penalty taking from Slovenia.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:43 PM
keeper rescues the outfield players there... magnificent saves
01-07-2024, 09:43 PM
Correct result, great saves by Costa.
Portugal training top reminds me of saved by the bell
01-07-2024, 09:44 PM
Geez, it’s a hard game. I enjoyed that, technically poor but strangely compulsive viewing.
Musselbound
01-07-2024, 09:45 PM
Ronaldo showed a lot of bottle there. Costa fantastic. A dramatic and unpredictable game despite the lack of goals.
Up-the-slope
01-07-2024, 09:46 PM
Geez, it’s a hard game. I enjoyed that, technically poor but strangely compulsive viewing.
01-07-2024, 09:47 PM
Great saves by Costa. He got nowhere near any Arsenal ones in the CL a few months ago, and saves them all now.
Think Ronaldo will get bullied by Saliba on Friday. They'd be better with another forward I think.
01-07-2024, 09:47 PM
Take a bow Diego Costa. Three great saves, I feel like France v Portugal might be a snore fest though !
Don't know about that France have to score from open play sometime:agree:
01-07-2024, 09:52 PM
Still think Sesko is the villain. How he didn’t score will torment him forever.
01-07-2024, 09:56 PM
Great saves by Costa. He got nowhere near any Arsenal ones in the CL a few months ago, and saves them all now.
Think Ronaldo will get bullied by Saliba on Friday. They'd be better with another forward I think.
Bruno Fernandes takes most of the penalties for Man U and usually scores. That's as relevant as your comment about Arsenal.
01-07-2024, 10:01 PM
Bruno Fernandes takes most of the penalties for Man U and usually scores. That's as relevant as your comment about Arsenal.
Yeah, it is. Well done. Unsure of your point, but it appears to make sense.
02-07-2024, 03:02 AM
Yeah, it is. Well done. Unsure of your point, but it appears to make sense.
I think the honourable gentleman is suggesting that you are just baiting people and looking for a reaction, firstly with your VAR comment and then your pointless pro-Arsenal post. But you knew that.
02-07-2024, 05:00 AM
I think the honourable gentleman is suggesting that you are just baiting people and looking for a reaction, firstly with your VAR comment and then your pointless pro-Arsenal post. But you knew that.
Or I'm just posting about seeing this goalkeeper in a very recent penalty shoot out where he saved zero? It's pathetic how that has upset you. Are you 5?
If you find my posts pointless, you are welcome to block me.
02-07-2024, 06:20 AM
Piss poor penalty taking from Slovenia.
Typical Hibs fan, by focusing on the negatives rather than the positives :greengrin. We've all seen piss poor penalties and I wouldn't say that any of the ones last night were piss poor.
I'd say that the first two were great saves rather than piss poor penalties, albeit at a height that made it easier for the goalkeeper to save. Fernandes penalty would have been deemed a poor penalty had the goalkeeper guessed the right way as it was the only penalty that wasn't powered towards the corners. That said, he's obviously waiting for the goalkeeper to move before he decides which way to go.
02-07-2024, 06:34 AM
I love Ronaldo but his greetin was bizarre. So much of the game still to go at that point. He's supposed to be captain! Brilliant penalty in the shootout to be fair.
02-07-2024, 06:35 AM
Is there not a statistical anomaly where Ronaldo hasn’t scored for Portugal in a tournament outside of the group stages before? Or maybe it’s just in one of the Euros or World Cup that’s the case. Or quite possibly I’m wrong.
Stairway 2 7
02-07-2024, 06:51 AM
Spain v Germany 5pm France v Portugal 8pm
Lordy lord what a Friday night
02-07-2024, 06:55 AM
I love Ronaldo but his greetin was bizarre. So much of the game still to go at that point. He's supposed to be captain! Brilliant penalty in the shootout to be fair.
All about him and bizarrely narcissistic. His not giving anyone else a shot of free kicks was ridiculous. Shouldn’t be playing every minute
02-07-2024, 07:04 AM
All about him and bizarrely narcissistic. His not giving anyone else a shot of free kicks was ridiculous. Shouldn’t be playing every minute
Yeah i was starting to cringe watching him yesterday. The Ronaldo show. If they'd gone out he'd have taken a lot of flack. They didn't though.
02-07-2024, 07:11 AM
If he wasn't on the pitch and they started with Jota up front, they would have won it in 90 mins as it wouldn't all be about him taking every free kick and missing a whole bunch of very good chances.
02-07-2024, 07:19 AM
If he wasn't on the pitch and they started with Jota up front, they would have won it in 90 mins as it wouldn't all be about him taking every free kick and missing a whole bunch of very good chances.
They also have the striker Ramos who scored a hat trick in the World Cup surely he should have got some minutes last night
02-07-2024, 07:27 AM
I’ve enjoyed it too.
This word ‘purist’ seems to have gone out of use recently. Im not even sure what it means in a football context anymore, back in the day it was someone who disliked the ‘british style’ of wing play, up and at ‘em, two wingers up the lines and instead preferred slow build up from the back, deliberate passing and basically a version of the tiki taka that took over the world in about 2010. I used to want us to play more like that, now nobody’s so sure anymore! Spains use of direct wingers and 20+ shots a game suggests they are evolving and have got best of both worlds.
Frances MOTM Kounde yesterday got his mind on other things ‘We can try to find those who have not voted and get them to go to the ballot box to make sure that the extreme right does not get in. They seek to take away our freedom and take away the fact that we live together. And that is my political stance.” Scary times in France. I thought he was exceptional on the pitch and now off it too.
02-07-2024, 08:32 AM
This word ‘purist’ seems to have gone out of use recently. Im not even sure what it means in a football context anymore, back in the day it was someone who disliked the ‘british style’ of wing play, up and at ‘em, two wingers up the lines and instead preferred slow build up from the back, deliberate passing and basically a version of the tiki taka that took over the world in about 2010. I used to want us to play more like that, now nobody’s so sure anymore! Spains use of direct wingers and 20+ shots a game suggests they are evolving and have got best of both worlds.
Massively agree with this :aok:
When Barca, under Pep, were playing "tika-taka" it was possession football with attacking purpose. They were keeping the ball and getting it up the park. players constantly finding space in dangerous areas. Possession football just now is just "possession football". A lot of the time it seems like keeping the ball with no real purpose. Midfielders finding space, but not in dangerous areas, in safe areas where the opposition are happy to let them have it. Wingers with the chance to take someone on, just turning back and finding the full back to start the "possession football" process again.
I love how Spain are playing just now. Doku and Leao yesterday were good for taking on a man too, but it's the first time in the tournament I've felt Doku actually tried to.
02-07-2024, 11:55 AM
Frances MOTM Kounde yesterday got his mind on other things ‘We can try to find those who have not voted and get them to go to the ballot box to make sure that the extreme right does not get in. They seek to take away our freedom and take away the fact that we live together. And that is my political stance.” Scary times in France. I thought he was exceptional on the pitch and now off it too.
I think by “purist” I’m probably meaning people like a mate of mine who takes to WhatsApp to bemoan the quality on offer whenever a game is anything short of a 7 goal thriller - the way it used to be in a non-specified bygone era that probably never existed.
At risk of going all Bobby Williamson - if that’s what he’s expecting then I’m surprised football is still for him as those games don’t come around often.
I watch very little “elite football” these days so I’m not familiar with all these players and it’s been great - like being a kid in the pre-Sky days.
Personally - I’m quite enjoying the counter attacking and watching the big teams trying to get their best players to make an impact against resolute defences.
The Dutch off to a nervy start here, Romania looking dangerous
LewysGot2
02-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Gakpo is having a personally good tournament
great goal
02-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Certain commentators really can affect your enjoyment of a game.
Danny Murphy taking the life out of this one. Over to 5live
Danny Murphy taking the life out of this one.
Danny Murphy is this generations mark Lawrenson
02-07-2024, 04:33 PM
Danny Murphy is this generations mark Lawrenson
‘Gotta Protect your near post’ BS bingo#49
02-07-2024, 04:45 PM
Romanian defender channelling his inner Will Fish. Lucky to be only one down.
02-07-2024, 04:48 PM
Dutch in total control. Need to get the second
02-07-2024, 04:48 PM
I was wondering if sometime De Ligt will get a game? Seems to me Koeman doesn't seem to like him. Nothing against Van Dijk and that mind you.
02-07-2024, 04:57 PM
I was wondering if sometime De Ligt will get a game? Seems to me Koeman doesn't seem to like him. Nothing against Van Dijk and that mind you.
Obviously prefers De Vrij who is decent defender. Didn’t realise Frankie De Jong wasn’t in squad
Injured they lost the guy from atalanta late as well koopemiers, both could have made a huge difference no doubt
Danny Murphy taking the life out of this one. Over to 5live
Here's a suggestion, turn the sound down a tad:wink:
02-07-2024, 05:14 PM
You have to admire the Romanian defenders. Some unbelievable blocks alll game.
02-07-2024, 05:21 PM
What a tournament Gakpos having.
02-07-2024, 05:44 PM
The amount of times Danny Murphy has got Gakpo’s name wrong is staggering.
02-07-2024, 05:53 PM
Great run and goal from Stevie Malen
02-07-2024, 07:02 PM
1-0 Turkey
02-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Wow what a start for Turkey!
HarpOnHibee
02-07-2024, 07:04 PM
Cracking start to a game. Both sides fired up.
crash
02-07-2024, 07:07 PM
Proper cup tie, Austria are an exciting team to watch, hope they win.
02-07-2024, 07:07 PM
I'm not convinced the Austrian keeper covered himself in glory there.
The deflection is close range but there wasn't a huge amount of pace on the ball and he has basically thrown it right into the danger area.
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 07:10 PM
Austria's number 15 Lenhart is a dead ringer for Gordon Hunter, same position as well!
pollution
02-07-2024, 07:18 PM
Austria's number 15 Lenhart is a dead ringer for Gordon Hunter, same position as well!
The slayer of 23 in a row iirc
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 07:24 PM
The slayer of 23 in a row iirc
Aye, 30 years ago this August!
02-07-2024, 07:29 PM
So true by the way , Same haircut tae :greengrin
Scary , I was in the main stand which must have been the hibs end back in the day , 30 years in August eh , That's frightening !!
scm70nyd1973
02-07-2024, 07:30 PM
Loved big Geebsy- still do
pollution
02-07-2024, 07:41 PM
Turkey are a delight to watch. Austria too
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 07:41 PM
The pace this game is played at compared to the Portugal game is night and day. Might see a late goal or 2 as these teams tire .
02-07-2024, 07:42 PM
Turkey are a delight to watch. Austria too
This Turkey left back looks a player, i see Arsenal are watching him.
02-07-2024, 07:47 PM
Neither team with any composure in that first half.
Expected a bit more from both countries tbh. Austria very poor - created next to nothing.
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 08:10 PM
Geebsy booked.
02-07-2024, 08:12 PM
Neither team with any composure in that first half.
Expected a bit more from both countries tbh. Austria very poor - created next to nothing.
Im enjoying it, proper aggression and high energy from both teams. Baumgartner is top quality.
02-07-2024, 08:14 PM
Im enjoying it, proper aggression and high energy from both teams. Baumgartner is top quality.
I'm enjoying it too - just that lack of composure was hurting the first half. Been a much better second half - Austria looking dangerous.
02-07-2024, 08:16 PM
Yes both teams going for it and loads of passion enjoying the game
02-07-2024, 08:17 PM
Turkey don't deserve that.
02-07-2024, 08:19 PM
I had Austria down as the dark horses of the tournament. Looks like I called it wrong. I didn’t see this coming.
HarpOnHibee
02-07-2024, 08:19 PM
Turkey don't deserve that.
They did it, so they deserve it.
02-07-2024, 08:20 PM
Dixon... the Austrians have a mountain to climb.
02-07-2024, 08:22 PM
Mon the Turks
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 08:24 PM
Game on
02-07-2024, 08:24 PM
This is a ripsnorter of a game.
HarpOnHibee
02-07-2024, 08:25 PM
A game of corners.
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 08:25 PM
Game on
That's what you call synchronization!
Great minds and that!
02-07-2024, 08:26 PM
This is a ripsnorter of a game.
Ripsnorter is a ripsnorter of a word. It should be used more. :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 08:27 PM
Great game . Cmon Austria
leith lynx
02-07-2024, 08:27 PM
Especially in the farting parlance!
02-07-2024, 08:34 PM
Well youve just done so :greengrin
02-07-2024, 08:35 PM
Guler off, thats a surprise.
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 08:39 PM
Something is going to have to be done about fans throwing stuff , what I don't know though it's a problem that's getting worse all the time.
02-07-2024, 08:51 PM
Something is going to have to be done about fans throwing stuff , what I don't know though it's a problem that's getting worse all the time.
We’ve seen it domestically as well. We will end up watching games through netting.
02-07-2024, 08:52 PM
What a save
What a save that was.
That save is as good as a goal.
Wow! Unreal save.
02-07-2024, 08:53 PM
That was some save . Wow.
Great game, well done Turkey.
02-07-2024, 08:53 PM
Best game of the last 16.
Credit to the ref this evening too. Thought he was excellent.
02-07-2024, 08:55 PM
Not the result I was hoping for but well played Turkey - some really outstanding performances in that side!
:agree: let it flow. Breath of fresh air.
alhibby
Thoroughly enjoyed that, really looking forward to Turkey v Netherlands
Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 08:56 PM
Great save by the keeper at the end . Brilliant game of football .
Possibly one of the best saves I've ever seen.
HarpOnHibee
You'd never see refereeing like that here. Bring in the porturees!
02-07-2024, 08:57 PM
Well played Turkey, but I think they'll get beat next round.
leith lynx
what a save that was.
world class!
Not seen a save like that since Oli's in the first derby of 99/00!
DIXIHIBS
02-07-2024, 08:58 PM
Possibly one of the best saves I've ever seen.
Incredible. Not just the save itself...the importance.
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 08:59 PM
Save of the tournament so far ?
02-07-2024, 09:00 PM
It is for me.
Benny Brazil
02-07-2024, 09:06 PM
Easily yes
02-07-2024, 09:12 PM
Got to feel for the Austrian boy there. Distraught. The flip side of the brilliant save.
Genuinely think that could be the best save ever, particularly given the context.
02-07-2024, 09:25 PM
Easily yes
Donnarumma (at least three times) and the Croatian boy (against Italy) have both pulled off great saves. But tonights one tops it. And the timing was just ridiculous.
Hes 35, plays at Besiktas and has only been in and out of the national side, only 30 caps.
Hulk1875
02-07-2024, 09:54 PM
I had 2-2 but worth bet not coming in for that save
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 10:13 PM
The quarter finals look exciting. Germany v Spain the pick of the games . I'd probably go for Spain with France, Netherlands and Switzerland though all four games could go either way imo .
03-07-2024, 04:33 PM
What a bellend
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cn08gewyxy8o
03-07-2024, 04:47 PM
What a bellend
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cn08gewyxy8o
Toney? I think he's right. Bringing a striker on with a minute to go was a ridiculous thing to do. Should've been on 25 minutes earlier. They were genuinely dreadful for 95 minutes and very lucky to still be in it.
Trinity Hibee
03-07-2024, 05:24 PM
Toney? I think he's right. Bringing a striker on with a minute to go was a ridiculous thing to do. Should've been on 25 minutes earlier. They were genuinely dreadful for 95 minutes and very lucky to still be in it.
I agree actually. Nice to hear a player being honest and not giving the usual lip service
03-07-2024, 08:18 PM
Broxburn Vs Edinburgh City abandoned, think it was due to trouble in the ground.
LewysGot2
03-07-2024, 08:33 PM
Broxburn Vs Edinburgh City abandoned, think it was due to trouble in the ground.
City balaclava mob apparently- seems that a supporter minding their own business was struck by a brick and there was issues with pyro and looking for trouble inside the ground.
03-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Seemingly knives involved. So my laddie says anyway.
DIXIHIBS
03-07-2024, 08:42 PM
City balaclava mob apparently- seems that a supporter minding their own business was struck by a brick and there was issues with pyro and looking for trouble inside the ground.
I was standing beside them on Saturday and they all looked about 12. Amazed they cause any actual trouble.
03-07-2024, 09:01 PM
TNS ( Wales ) 0 v 5 Kilmarnock
Ostrava ( Croatia ) 0 v 3 Dundee
03-07-2024, 10:29 PM
TNS ( Wales ) 0 v 5 Kilmarnock
Ostrava ( Croatia ) 0 v 3 Dundee
Kelty dead as a club, 1-5 Livingston.
04-07-2024, 06:27 AM
Ffs how pathetic
So the Turkish player gets banned and misses his teams QF for making an offensive gesture yet Bellingham gets a suspended one game ban for his?
05-07-2024, 11:56 AM
It happens in many matches, even at ER, hoping for a lucky break in time added on or wasting time depending on the circumstances.. Players know this so a bit of attention seeking IMO. Toney has done nowt since returning after his betting ban so lucky to be there at all.
05-07-2024, 12:16 PM
So the Turkish player gets banned and misses his teams QF for making an offensive gesture yet Bellingham gets a suspended one game ban for his?
One was glorifying an extremist group, the other was a childish gesture.
They obviously deemed it bad enough to fine him £30k and give him a suspended ban?
Childish or not he’s a role model to millions and can you imagine the carnage when the kids are running about grabbing their groins and gesturing the opposition team [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji2957]
Wonder what would happen if we did something like that to a group of passer-by’s on a Saturday night after a few beers! 🫣
You just know he’s going to play a blinder in their next game.
05-07-2024, 01:33 PM
Seems incredibly harsh for Demiral to get a ban after scoring two goals
05-07-2024, 01:55 PM
It happens in many matches, even at ER, hoping for a lucky break in time added on or wasting time depending on the circumstances.. Players know this so a bit of attention seeking IMO. Toney has done nowt since returning after his betting ban so lucky to be there at all.
You find me a team 1-0 down bringing on a 2nd striker with 90 seconds to play, at ER, in the last 20 years. That does not happen often. It was a ridiculous sub. Should've been on much earlier.
Toney is a great option off the bench, as he showed.
05-07-2024, 01:55 PM
Not sure I'd call it just childish. It's a fairly offensive thing to do especially when you consider the influence someone like Bellingham has amongst kids.
Saint Hibee
05-07-2024, 02:26 PM
They obviously deemed it bad enough to fine him £30k and give him a suspended ban?
Childish or not he’s a role model to millions and can you imagine the carnage when the kids are running about grabbing their groins and gesturing the opposition team [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji2957]
Wonder what would happen if we did something like that to a group of passer-by’s on a Saturday night after a few beers! 🫣
You just know he’s going to play a blinder in their next game.
Didn't some Hearts weirdo do the crotch-grabbing thing to us after scoring at Tynecastle a few years' back?
Aye Nicholson
05-07-2024, 02:28 PM
Not sure I'd call it just childish. It's a fairly offensive thing to do especially when you consider the influence someone like Bellingham has amongst kids.
Suppose it depends what you find fairly offensive
05-07-2024, 02:36 PM
Was always very strange he got no sanction for that
05-07-2024, 03:36 PM
That Germany flag training top is a thing of beauty. 👏
05-07-2024, 03:38 PM
I remember in the early 90s I had a Green Germany strip with the colours of the German flag across the sleeves, a work of art.
05-07-2024, 03:46 PM
Think Germany edge this one
05-07-2024, 03:49 PM
Think Germany edge this one
Spain for me, Quite easily.
05-07-2024, 03:52 PM
Daft PGMOL ref Michael Oliver will ruin this game.
Not again.
05-07-2024, 04:01 PM
Its got the added political element, which is just a no-go for the beaks, whateve you think about that position its well-known now.
[emoji1303]Totally get that it just seems one rule for one and another rules for others!
That’s a yellow for Kroos there surely
Replay does show he nicks the ball with his toe
05-07-2024, 04:05 PM
English refs hopeless as usual, clear booking there
I remember in the early 90s I had a Green Germany strip with the colours of the German flag across the sleeves, a work of art.
Germany have had some cracking strips over the years I have a fake italia 90 one it’s a cracker
Paul1642
05-07-2024, 04:09 PM
English refs hopeless as usual, clear booking there
Pedri nailed about 3 times and subbed of injured after 7 minutes. Somehow no German booking yet.
babahibs
05-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Pedri nailed about 3 times and subbed of injured after 7 minutes. Somehow no German booking yet.
Clearly targeted, job done, ref just let's it happen, no wonder the Spain manager's going radge.
2 potentially bookable offences by Kroos too
05-07-2024, 04:12 PM
Why are the English refs so bad?
Spain in command.
Should be at least 1 up.
babahibs
05-07-2024, 04:21 PM
2 potentially bookable offences by Kroos too
Yeah, poor refereeing, it doesn't matter if it's the first minute or the last minute, a booking is a booking.
05-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Germany seem to have settled in to the game now.
pollution
05-07-2024, 04:37 PM
No corner ?
05-07-2024, 04:37 PM
Too many good keepers at this tournament. Standard is exceptional. Needs a few Zibis to spice things up.
Green Reaper
05-07-2024, 04:44 PM
Was really looking forward to this game but it's pretty much been a let down so far
1875M
05-07-2024, 04:47 PM
Just me who thinks this tournament has been pretty boring? There’s been a few really good games but the rest has been slow, possession football and not a lot of goals.
05-07-2024, 04:53 PM
Spain in command.
Should be at least 1 up.
Totally disagree, for me Germany have been the better team. Don't think either Yamal or Williams have been effective and when the Germans break Spain are struggling to stop the likes of Havertz.
05-07-2024, 04:55 PM
Totally disagree, for me Germany have been the better team. Don't think either Yamal or Williams have been effective and when the Germans break Spain are struggling to stop the likes of Havertz.
Germany the better team i would agree. Not much in it very odd imo players are picking up a ban after two bookings surely it should be scrapped at some point
05-07-2024, 04:58 PM
Germany the better team i would agree. Not much in it very odd imo players are picking up a ban after two bookings surely it should be scrapped at some point
Funny how people can see the same game differently, what have Germany done to make them the better team? 🤔
05-07-2024, 05:03 PM
Funny how people can see the same game differently, what have Germany done to make them the better team? 🤔
Kept the ball better stopped Spain playing Havertz with a couple of decent chances. What have Spain done?
05-07-2024, 05:10 PM
Definitely been a game that looked tasty on paper, however those games (I tend to find anyway) usually seem to under deliver.
Let’s see what this half brings !
05-07-2024, 05:11 PM
1-0 Spain
05-07-2024, 05:11 PM
Get in 👍
05-07-2024, 05:13 PM
Good to see Puyol and Pique are in the crowd supporting Spain. Pique son even got the Spain jersey on 🇪🇸.