View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread
22-06-2024, 05:40 PM
Ridiculous performance by Pepe 😁
Hulk1875
22-06-2024, 05:56 PM
Did Ronaldo just pass from a goalscoring position. I’ve seen it all now.
😂😂
22-06-2024, 06:29 PM
Lee Dixon scored a belting own goal, lobbed Seaman about 40 yards…..
I know an English own goal will get most people excited but you’ve taken it a bit far there.
22-06-2024, 06:35 PM
I know an English own goal will get most people excited but you’ve taken it a bit far there.
🤭
K-Zazu
22-06-2024, 06:37 PM
Not sure how everything works but if we win tomorrow are we guaranteed to qualify aye?
Paul1642
22-06-2024, 06:44 PM
Not sure how everything works but if we win tomorrow are we guaranteed to qualify aye?
I’m not sure If it’s a mathematical 100% but it’s a sure thing bar a ton of crazy results.
22-06-2024, 06:46 PM
Yes. As utterly embarrassing as Steve Clarks "4 points is the aim" chat was, it will be enough.
Donegal Hibby
22-06-2024, 06:57 PM
Yes. As utterly embarrassing as Steve Clarks "4 points is the aim" chat was, it will be enough.
Was it embarrassing or him just being realistic considering the group Scotland got? .
Paul1642
22-06-2024, 06:59 PM
4 points from Germany, Switzerland and Hungary would be anything but an embarrassment.
Whether or not we can achieve it is another matter.
Donegal Hibby
22-06-2024, 07:04 PM
That's the way to start a game :greengrin
22-06-2024, 07:10 PM
4 points from Germany, Switzerland and Hungary would be anything but an embarrassment.
Whether or not we can achieve it is another matter.
Was it embarrassing or him just being realistic considering the group Scotland got? .
4 points would be fine, yeah. Saying you are actively aiming for it before a ball is kicked us embarrassing.
"Yes, our plan is to lose one, draw one and win one of those games"
inspirational.
22-06-2024, 07:13 PM
I’m not sure If it’s a mathematical 100% but it’s a sure thing bar a ton of crazy results.
[QUOTE=Zazu62;7689083]Not sure how everything works but if we win tomorrow are we guaranteed to qualify aye?[/QUOTE
We Are bottom of the table of third place teams. Unlikely that Albania or Croatia will win but if there is an upset in Group F from Georgia or Czech Republic then we’re out unless we beat Hungary by plenty.So I think some people are far too confident .
Gordy M
22-06-2024, 07:18 PM
[QUOTE=Zazu62;7689083]Not sure how everything works but if we win tomorrow are we guaranteed to qualify aye?[/QUOTE
We Are bottom of the table of third place teams. Unlikely that Albania or Croatia will win but if there is an upset in Group F from Georgia or Czech Republic then we’re out unless we beat Hungary by plenty.So I think some people are far too confident .
But its not just those groups. Other groups could end with 3rd place on 3 as well.
Take Englands group, if they win then as long as Serbia dont beat Denmark then 3rd will have 2 points.
Edit - Sorry, as long as Slovenia dont beat England then the most third would have is 3 points!
22-06-2024, 07:20 PM
4 points would be fine, yeah. Saying you are actively aiming for it before a ball is kicked us embarrassing.
"Yes, our plan is to lose one, draw one and win one of those games"
inspirational.
There is nothing inspirational about setting unrealistic, unachievable goals.
Pre-tournament, 4 points would almost guarantee progression from the group and with a strong possibility of doing so in 2nd place - something never done before by Scotland at a major tournament.
There is plenty of research in the field of sports psychology about the importance of setting objectives which are attainable and realistic.
22-06-2024, 07:29 PM
Group E Is becoming a very interesting group !
22-06-2024, 07:34 PM
I just find McCoist really annoying...he really is. That's one of the clichés he always uses. I don't hate him, he sometimes talks sense, but he is really annoying...I've got to say (another of his clichés).
22-06-2024, 07:36 PM
Big fan of McCoist as a commentator. Brings enthusiasm and fun to games as someone who is just a big fan of football.
22-06-2024, 07:37 PM
There is nothing inspirational about setting unrealistic, unachievable goals.
Pre-tournament, 4 points would almost guarantee progression from the group and with a strong possibility of doing so in 2nd place - something never done before by Scotland at a major tournament.
There is plenty of research in the field of sports psychology about the importance of setting objectives which are attainable and realistic.
Scotland beat Spain to qualify. Beating Switzerland and Hungary is not a unrealistic objective. Setting the absolute minimum isn't great imo.
22-06-2024, 07:55 PM
Scotland beat Spain to qualify. Beating Switzerland and Hungary is not a unrealistic objective. Setting the absolute minimum isn't great imo.
Why put unnecessary pressure on players when 4 points is all we need. Had Clarke set an objective of beating both, the players would be going into a hugely important game on Sunday having failed in their pre-tournament objectives by not taking 3 points on Wednesday - failure to achieve objectives can have a negative impact on motivation.
22-06-2024, 08:02 PM
Why put unnecessary pressure on players when 4 points is all we need. Had Clarke set an objective of beating both, the players would be going into a hugely important game on Sunday having failed in their pre-tournament objectives by not taking 3 points on Wednesday - failure to achieve objectives can have a negative impact on motivation.
They are professional players playing for clubs like Villa, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man United, Celtic. They can handle being asked to win 2 fairly even matches imo. Poor excuse is pressure.
Would you be happy if Gray came out and said were aiming for 6th and maybe a cup semi because he might upset the players if we aim high?
Gordy M
22-06-2024, 08:10 PM
They are professional players playing for clubs like Villa, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man United, Celtic. They can handle being asked to win 2 fairly even matches imo. Poor excuse is pressure.
Would you be happy if Gray came out and said were aiming for 6th and maybe a cup semi because he might upset the players if we aim high?
Steve Clarke wont have been saying to his players ah just get beat of Germany, then draw with the Swiss and then beat Hungary. He will have been asked whats important, 4 points, to get through. As for your analogy, it would be like Gray saying ah we have to win the next cup game 6 nil......not just getting through the tie.
22-06-2024, 08:22 PM
Why is that not a penalty to Romania? Handball was pretty clear.
I just find McCoist really annoying...he really is. That's one of the clichés he always uses. I don't hate him, he sometimes talks sense, but he is really annoying...I've got to say (another of his clichés).
I've got say your talking nonsense.
Paul1642
22-06-2024, 08:29 PM
I've got say your talking nonsense.
Best British commentator at the moment, not that that’s necessarily a hight bar to meet.
22-06-2024, 08:31 PM
Why is that not a penalty to Romania? Handball was pretty clear.
Came off a team mate a yard away.
Some of the best things about this tournament are the costumes on display, just seen Belgian fan with a beacon on his helmet, brilliant.
22-06-2024, 08:37 PM
No issue with Du Bruyne studding the keeper at knee hit after touching the ball?
22-06-2024, 08:38 PM
No issue with Du Bruyne studding the keeper at knee hit after touching the ball?
My thoughts are if that's anywhere else on the pitch it's a minimum free kick possibly a red? But it's a goal. Maybe I need to see it again 😅
22-06-2024, 08:39 PM
Came off a team mate a yard away.
I know it did, but didn't realise there was any leeway given for that sort of thing.
If he's stretching for a pass in midfield that's probably a booking if the ref sees it.
Doubt they would really want the negative press if they applied the same logic and had to rule out a goal.
Was thinking that. If that is a central defender winning the ball and his boot is knee high probably a red
I know it did, but didn't realise there was any leeway given for that sort of thing.
Always been that way.
22-06-2024, 08:47 PM
I thought De Bruyne looked offside for the 2nd goal, probably need to see it again.
22-06-2024, 08:50 PM
I cannot ****ing stand him !! The media love him but he's an absolute erse that uses the same gags
22-06-2024, 08:51 PM
I cannot ****ing stand him !! The media love him but he's an absolute erse that uses the same gags
So he does
babahibs
22-06-2024, 08:54 PM
He really does
Donegal Hibby
22-06-2024, 08:55 PM
It's been a enjoyable tournament so far and will probably get better when it comes to the knockout stages.
22-06-2024, 08:55 PM
I thought De Bruyne looked offside for the 2nd goal, probably need to see it again.
Think the flick on was from the defender
Donegal Hibby
23-06-2024, 03:27 PM
The Switzerland v Germany game tonight . I read that if Germany win it they will likely have to play Spain in the quarter finals. If they didn't win it would they get a more favourable draw ? .
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 03:31 PM
The Switzerland v Germany game tonight . I read that if Germany win it they will likely have to play Spain in the quarter finals. If they didn't win it would they get a more favourable draw ? .
It is correct that they would likely end up paying Spain in the QF however if I’m not wrong coming second would have them likely playing England in the QF
Donegal Hibby
23-06-2024, 03:38 PM
It is correct that they would likely end up paying Spain in the QF however if I’m not wrong coming second would have them likely playing England in the QF
German manager was asked about it , said his team will play to win and you can't change a winning mentality though I did wonder if the lost to the swiss would it be better .
I'd rather play England than Spain on current form tbh .
23-06-2024, 03:41 PM
Don't think big teams think like this. About 25 European cup medals in that German squad, they'll rightly be thinking they can beat anyone.
23-06-2024, 04:15 PM
German manager was asked about it , said his team will play to win and you can't change a winning mentality though I did wonder if the lost to the swiss would it be better .
I'd rather play England than Spain on current form tbh .
You are assuming England will win their group 😁
23-06-2024, 04:16 PM
Don't think big teams think like this. About 25 European cup medals in that German squad, they'll rightly be thinking they can beat anyone.
Good point! Maybe the Germans have consulted with the biggliest team in Edinburgh what they would do in this situation?
23-06-2024, 04:19 PM
Good point! Maybe the Germans have consulted with the biggliest team in Edinburgh what they would do in this situation?
All they do in UEFA competitions is lose and sing about Hibs.
23-06-2024, 06:28 PM
Very surprised to see Germany make zero changes. A risk I think.
23-06-2024, 07:31 PM
Swiss are 1-0 up.
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Swiss are 1-0 up.
Great for us (in terms of England having as tough a route as possible to a hypothetical final)
MKHIBEE
24-06-2024, 11:31 AM
Great for us (in terms of England having as tough a route as possible to a hypothetical final)
The English have their own 1-5 comfort blanket
24-06-2024, 06:50 PM
Jesus Navas starting for Spain tonight. Guy seems to have been around forever lol.
24-06-2024, 07:52 PM
Spain looking good again. 1-0 up at halftime. Could have had 4.
24-06-2024, 08:14 PM
2 unbelievable saves in 2 minutes from Donarumma then let down by static defenders standing about admiring the view. Di Lorenzo wants stringing up.
No wonder he's ****ing raging.
24-06-2024, 08:18 PM
These commentators man. Shut the **** up about the beer ffs.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
24-06-2024, 08:19 PM
2 unbelievable saves in 2 minutes from Donarumma then let down by static defenders standing about admiring the view. Di Lorenzo wants stringing up.
No wonder he's ****ing raging.
Why did Bastoni not head the ball looked like he ducked.
24-06-2024, 08:19 PM
I thought they'd stopped doing penalty reviews? 😭
24-06-2024, 08:25 PM
I thought they'd stopped doing penalty reviews? [emoji24]Only the non Europeans apparently
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
24-06-2024, 08:44 PM
If Italy fail to score and finish 3rd I wonder how that will effect them?
24-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Scenes
24-06-2024, 09:00 PM
England qualify for last 16 due to Spain’s 1-0 win
Some finish for Italy seconds before end of the game.
25-06-2024, 09:27 AM
Some finish for Italy seconds before end of the game.
Donnarumma must be player of the tournament at this point. Great save at a key moment against Albania, single-handedly prevented a hammering against Spain (8 saves!) and an unbelievable series of saves again yesterday. Switzerland Italy hard to call in the R16.
25-06-2024, 03:56 PM
Austria Holland could be a classic. Looking forward to this.
25-06-2024, 04:04 PM
France v Poland. Is it my telly or is the picture really crap for two thirds of the pitch?
25-06-2024, 04:06 PM
1-0 Austria
crash
25-06-2024, 04:09 PM
France v Poland. Is it my telly or is the picture really crap for two thirds of the pitch?
Yeh Jim the sunlight/ shadow is affecting picture quality, do yourself a favour and turn it over to the Holland Austria game 👍
25-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Austria don’t wanna play by the books it seems !
25-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Austria don’t wanna play by the books it seems !
4 points wasn't their aim that's for sure.
25-06-2024, 04:50 PM
Really struggling to watch any games after that disappointment the other day. Need a wee break from it I think. Sure I'll recover in a day or two!
25-06-2024, 05:04 PM
1-1
25-06-2024, 05:05 PM
Great start to the half from the Dutch
25-06-2024, 05:18 PM
England-Holland in the next round?
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 05:20 PM
This Austrian team are no mugs , Holland have their work cut out for them here .
Paul1642
25-06-2024, 05:27 PM
This Austrian team are no mugs , Holland have their work cut out for them here .
An Austrian team we had the better off over several games in the last couple do years. What went so wrong for us :(
25-06-2024, 05:28 PM
2-1 Austria.
25-06-2024, 05:34 PM
Great finish Depay, great game.
25-06-2024, 05:38 PM
3-2 Austria.
Two unbelievable finishes
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 05:39 PM
Holland 2- 3 Austria . Wow , what a game :greengrin
25-06-2024, 05:41 PM
Austria winning the group as it stands
25-06-2024, 05:41 PM
Austria Holland could be a classic. Looking forward to this.
Oh yes. Another great game. Austria could go very deep in this competition.
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 05:42 PM
Unbelievable that Austria are top of the group at this moment . Probably another twist in store yet though.
25-06-2024, 05:50 PM
Can see Austria in one of the semi-finals.
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 05:58 PM
Great performance from the Austrian team .
Top of the group is some achievement.
I hope a certain team are inspired and are totally fired up by this .
C'mon 🇸🇮🇸🇮🇸🇮
25-06-2024, 06:01 PM
Austria and Scotland almost play different sports at the moment.
Paul1642
25-06-2024, 06:12 PM
So as it stands if England win their group tonight their route to the final is
Last 16 vs a 3rd placed team (hopefully Dutch but I can’t work it out at all)
Quarter final - Italy or Switzerland
Semi Final - Austria, 2nd place team from group F (possibly Turkey, winner of Group E (possibly Belgium) or a 3rd place team.
They have dodged France, Germany, Spain and Portugal until the final if they do win tonight. Typical
25-06-2024, 06:12 PM
I'm a quarter Austrian so pretty chuffed with this result. :aok:
25-06-2024, 06:42 PM
Amazing how these pundits seem happy to stick the knife in Southgate all the time.
They've four points, unbeaten, sure to qualify and reached the final last time to lose on pens.
I can think of one home nation who'd be pretty pleased with that!
25-06-2024, 06:43 PM
What’s with Southgate referring to England as “we”?
25-06-2024, 06:48 PM
Im desperate for Slovenia to win this, partly because i like Oblak and Sesko, but also to shut the commentators up about how England have got the best route to the final, which is disrespectful to a whole number of countries.
25-06-2024, 06:48 PM
What’s with Southgate referring to England as “we”?
If he referred to them as “we” “we” …… they would be pish.
Paul1642
25-06-2024, 06:50 PM
Im desperate for Slovenia to win this, partly because i like Oblak and Sesko, but also to shut the commentators up about how England have got the best route to the final, which is disrespectful to a whole number of countries.
In fairness they do unfortunately. There’s no way to view avoiding Spain, Germany, France and Portugal as anything to her than a giant spot of luck (which always seems to be the case)
It’s not set in stone yet though
Fuzzywuzzy
25-06-2024, 06:56 PM
Interesting there is no female pundits tonight
25-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Is that interesting?
bringbackbenny
25-06-2024, 07:00 PM
Karen Carney earlier on at pitchside didn't need a microphone 😁
babahibs
25-06-2024, 07:01 PM
How?
babahibs
25-06-2024, 07:02 PM
That was hilarious, shouting her head off
25-06-2024, 07:03 PM
Less than 2 minutes and Foden already down wanting a foul
25-06-2024, 07:03 PM
Less than 2 minutes and Foden already down wanting a foul
Diving git
Fuzzywuzzy
25-06-2024, 07:10 PM
How?
First match that I've seen that hasn't had a female on the panel.
25-06-2024, 07:13 PM
It’s not set in stone yet though
Thats kind of my objection. Well one of my objections, the other being Austria and Switzerland look absolutely superb and it’s disrespectful to them and the orher teams that topped their groups.
25-06-2024, 07:14 PM
The intern in charge of booking the panel knows nothing about fitba. Clearly thought Ange was female.
25-06-2024, 07:16 PM
The intern in charge of booking the panel knows nothing about fitba. Clearly thought Ange was female.
🤭
pollution
25-06-2024, 07:19 PM
Good reffing
25-06-2024, 07:19 PM
Are you saying he likes playing on the transition?
Fuzzywuzzy
25-06-2024, 07:20 PM
Are you saying he likes playing on the transition?
Though that was Brenda?
25-06-2024, 07:24 PM
Serbia just hanging on against the Danes
25-06-2024, 07:29 PM
England yet to have a shot, 30 mins in
babahibs
25-06-2024, 07:33 PM
How interesting.
25-06-2024, 07:35 PM
England yet to have a shot, 30 mins in
Had a couple now, but they are largely trying to walk it into the net. Slovenia have hardly had a touch.
Fuzzywuzzy
25-06-2024, 07:41 PM
How interesting.
I'll get back in my box now
25-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Southgate even managing to make Bellingham look crap.
25-06-2024, 07:47 PM
Utter drivel
Green Reaper
25-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Slovenia closest to scoring
babahibs
25-06-2024, 07:51 PM
Southgate even managing to make Bellingham look crap.
Is Bellingham playing?
25-06-2024, 07:52 PM
Think I'll give the second half a miss. What an utterly honking 44:58 of football that was - no wonder the ref blew early.
25-06-2024, 07:52 PM
It's actually a remarkable achievement that so many England managers have managed to fairly consistently get their side to play incredibly dull football AND vastly underperform relative to the quality of their players. I don't know if it's a safety first mentality or what but it does my ****ing head in.
25-06-2024, 07:53 PM
It's actually a remarkable achievement that so many England managers have managed to fairly consistently get their side to play incredibly dull football AND vastly underperform relative to the quality of their players. I don't know if it's a safety first mentality or what but it does my ****ing head in.
I think it’s simply tremendous.
25-06-2024, 07:55 PM
I used to think that, now it just gets on my tits. It's offensive to football how badly they mangle playing.
And the amount of square ball makes them look like a team of 11 Butch Wilkins.
babahibs
25-06-2024, 08:02 PM
It takes a certain kind of genius, take a group of unbelievably good players and make a poor team out of them.
Southgate must stay.
25-06-2024, 08:14 PM
Slovenia are not interested in winning this game. England will get a few chances and win 2-0.
25-06-2024, 08:14 PM
England are guff…not really sure who will win this tournament, not sure any team has looked head and shoulders above anyone else. Don’t think it’s going to be Englands turn though….they are so slow.
Bridge hibs
25-06-2024, 08:17 PM
I said that to my Wife, whats with the ****ing high pitch screeching !!
I said the same about that Karen Carney too 🫢
25-06-2024, 08:18 PM
It takes a certain kind of genius, take a group of unbelievably good players and make a poor team out of them.
Southgate must stay.
The lack of cohesion in their play is remarkable with the talent at their disposal
25-06-2024, 08:20 PM
I said that to my Wife, whats with the ****ing high pitch screeching !!
I said the same about that Karen Carney too 🫢
😂😂
25-06-2024, 08:22 PM
Southgate must stay.
I see where you’re coming from but I think ‘a group of unbelievably good players’ will find a way to score and win games, irrespective of the manager.
25-06-2024, 08:25 PM
This has been the most boring game of the tournament so far…
25-06-2024, 08:26 PM
England will win this 1-0 make no mistake about it , But from what i've seen the build up is so slow and hardly any chances created
It won't be coming home that's for sure
Why's that?
25-06-2024, 08:27 PM
This has been the most boring game of the tournament so far…
Dull , dull, dull.
25-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Where were you the day Bellingham got shot?
25-06-2024, 08:31 PM
The play-acting is getting ridiculous. The Slovenian puts a hand lightly on Bellingham’s shoulder in the English box and he goes down in agony. Football’s becoming a farce.?
25-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Mainoo brightened England up a wee bit but it's hideously slow from them.
A bit like Scotland it's almost as if people dismissed their relatively poor form coming into the tournament as something they could just leave behind when it started but it's carried into it.
25-06-2024, 08:34 PM
Slovenia are so poor this is pretty much England versus traffic cones. Can't believe they're not a barrow load up. Even we'd have forced an own goal by now.
The play-acting is getting ridiculous. The Slovenian puts a hand lightly on Bellingham’s shoulder in the English box and he goes down in agony. Football’s becoming a farce.?
A feature of the modern game.
25-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Why's that?
The same reason I like seeing Shankland missing an open goal.
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 08:40 PM
Such a poor game :yawn:
25-06-2024, 08:40 PM
Slovenia are so poor this is pretty much England versus traffic cones. Can't believe they're not a barrow load up. Even we'd have forced an own goal by now.
Slovenia have been extremely disappointing tonight. I suppose they see a draw as being probably enough for them, but theyve been very good in patches in both the Serbia and Denmark games and i thought theyd pose a lot more attacking threat.
25-06-2024, 08:41 PM
Slovenia are a tiny wee country who are absolutely working their balls off and doing whatever they can to scrape out a result against far superior opposition. England have managed a total of six shots so it’s hardly like they’ve been battering the door down. Think they’ll create something before the end though.
25-06-2024, 08:41 PM
England lacking the pace and imagination to break down stuffy Slovenia.
The same reason I like seeing Shankland missing an open goal.
Oh well it's a reason I suppose although I'm sure you change your mind if Shankland was playing for Scotland 🤔
Chorley Hibee
25-06-2024, 08:45 PM
This style of football has become far too commonplace.
It's killing the game as a spectacle.
Trinity Hibee
This style of football has become far too commonplace.
It's killing the game as a spectacle.
Yeah it’s everywhere nowadays. Boring as ****
Slovenia are a tiny wee country who are absolutely working their balls off and doing whatever they can to scrape out a result against far superior opposition. England have managed a total of six shots so it’s hardly like they’ve been battering the door down. Think they’ll create something before the end though.
Exactly, they have a population of just over 2 million and doing not too bad a job.
I will never get back the two hours I wasted watching the England game.
crash
25-06-2024, 08:46 PM
England are the prime example of a flat track bully.
25-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Denmark winner here would be pleasing.
Up-the-slope
25-06-2024, 08:50 PM
Cole Palmer looks like he forgot to pack suncream
25-06-2024, 08:52 PM
Booooooooooooooooooooo
Banter.
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 08:52 PM
Thank God that's over 😂
25-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Cole Palmer looks like he forgot to pack suncream
Ha Ha! Great player though.
Up-the-slope
25-06-2024, 08:53 PM
i had a 50 min power cut and missed all of the first half.... wish the power had stayed off... that was cack. Much like Scotland for some reason the England look knackered
25-06-2024, 08:54 PM
Denmark winner here would be pleasing.Why didn't Denmark make any attempt to attack?
Wouldn't a win have put them top?
So little Slovenia progress to the knockout stages.
England are absolutely rank
unlucky Serbia, home time for them
Danes three points from three games go through
25-06-2024, 08:56 PM
One thing is certain ……. England have not the remotest chance of winning this tournament.
25-06-2024, 08:57 PM
What an abhorrent group. 6 games 5 draws 1 win and only 7 goals.
England are absolutely rank
Yet they’ve topped their group. Unreal.
unlucky Serbia, home time for them
Danes three points from three games go through
Most German cities probably delighted to be seeing the back of the Serbian fans.
HarpOnHibee
One thing is certain ……. England have not the remotest chance of winning this tournament.
That's what worries me. Everything aligned perfectly for them in that group.
Is Kane unwell? He's wittering some pish about them having played a lot better with a lot more energy. They looked like they were all drugged, wandering around in slow motion.
25-06-2024, 08:58 PM
They looked very good at times as well imo quick going forward
25-06-2024, 08:59 PM
Population 2.2 million
25-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Much as England don't look great I think they are in the far more favourable side of the draw. Can still see semi finals for them.
I'm not unduly concerned. Southgate is a nice guy, a good ambassador type but he's not got it to lead a team to a major tournament. A better manager would make this side frightening. Hopefully he does enough to keep his job for the WC.
25-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Most German cities probably delighted to be seeing the back of the Serbian fans.
wonder who next the good folk of Germany would like to see the back off
Is Kane unwell? He's wittering some pish about them having played a lot better with a lot more energy. They looked like they were all drugged, wandering around in slow motion.
They looked exhausted, no energy at all similar to Scotland's last game against Hungary.
25-06-2024, 09:02 PM
I've deleted my musings about Slovenia's spot as I've finally worked out that they definitely are through.
Well done, Slovenia!!!!
25-06-2024, 09:04 PM
Serbian fans me and my group encountered in Germany were absolutely grand. Perhaps not stereotype a group of fans if you've not experienced being in their company yourself.
England in the opposite half of the draw to France, Germany, Portugal and Spain.
25-06-2024, 09:06 PM
They looked exhausted, no energy at all similar to Scotland's last game against Hungary.
Exactly what I thought. I wonder if we would have seen a bit more energy if they hadn’t already qualified.
OxoHibby
I know they are acting like they are, and the man on the telly says they are, but is it not still mathematically possible for two third places on 4 points from tomorrow's groups? Would involve Portugal losing which is very unlikely.
Am I mad?
Slovenia finished 2nd in the group
Donegal Hibby
So far the teams that have topped their groups have scored .... Germany 8 , Austria 6 , Spain 5 and England 2 .
Considering the players they have upfront that is really poor.
25-06-2024, 09:07 PM
England in the opposite half of the draw to France, Germany, Portugal and Spain.
The draw looks very favourable for them now.
crash
25-06-2024, 09:07 PM
Scored 2 goals and still managed to win the group, unreal.
25-06-2024, 09:11 PM
Three lions are so ****
Their fans are always greetin'
Just as well it's free,
You wouldn't pay on streaming...
25-06-2024, 09:13 PM
They are third. Denmark second.
25-06-2024, 09:13 PM
Are they not dead level with Denmark on head to head and goal difference?
25-06-2024, 09:14 PM
Aye but D comes before S, so 🤷🏻😁🤣
It’s unreal how lucky they get with their route through tournaments.
Serbian fans me and my group encountered in Germany were absolutely grand. Perhaps not stereotype a group of fans if you've not experienced being in their company yourself.
You might feel differently when youve had a load of flares thrown directly at you and your family when youre eating your lunch. Yes, youre not the only person to have travelled abroad to watch football. Im also aware that generalisations based on nationality is a dangerous thing but their fans reputation isnt based on nothing.
Why are they ahead of Denmark? Identical points and GD and head to head was 1-1. :confused:
25-06-2024, 09:16 PM
Why are they ahead of Denmark? Identical points and GD and head to head was 1-1. :confused:
They aren't, Denmark are second.
25-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Uefa has them 2nd. Better bacon?
Trinity Hibee
25-06-2024, 09:19 PM
Uefa has them 2nd. Better bacon?
They finished on same points, same goals scored, same disciplinary points, same qualifying points (in the same group) but Denmark had better H2H in qualifying games which puts Denmark 2nd
Donegal Hibby
25-06-2024, 09:20 PM
Just been looking at that . As bad as they've been they have a decent chance of getting to the final unfortunately.
They finished on same points, same goals scored, same disciplinary points, same qualifying points (in the same group) but Denmark had better H2H in qualifying games which puts Denmark 2nd
Denmark had 3 draws so are on 3 points.
25-06-2024, 09:21 PM
I don't suppose Slovenia will be too bothered, but that's a sore one!
No. Denmark only have 3 points.
Renfrew_Hibby
25-06-2024, 09:25 PM
Even with their 'Vladimir Putin' chant?
Trinity Hibee
25-06-2024, 09:26 PM
Denmark had 3 draws so are on 3 points.
Ye and so do Slovenia
25-06-2024, 09:28 PM
Ye and so do Slovenia
People seem to be having a hard time following this 🤣
25-06-2024, 09:48 PM
Scored 2 goals and still managed to win the group, unreal.
They have some great players but always said they get some luck too
Ye and so do Slovenia
People seem to be having a hard time following this 🤣
My mistake. 😀👍
26-06-2024, 07:47 AM
Results we want today are either:
Slovakia and Ukraine to both win
Czech Republic and Georgia to both not win
Either of these puts England up against the Netherlands or Belgium in the next round. :aok:
26-06-2024, 07:50 AM
As poor as England have been, they probably will have enough to bore their way through that side of the draw.
I'll be surprised if they're not in the final.
26-06-2024, 07:55 AM
As poor as England have been, they probably will have enough to bore their way through that side of the draw.
I'll be surprised if they're not in the final.
Definitely last 4 minimum. They are going to be hard to beat regardless of how they are playing.
26-06-2024, 07:57 AM
Seemingly their manager got a yellow card in the first game so they lost out on disciplinary rules. The manager's yellow card didn't show on stats.
26-06-2024, 05:22 PM
That Belgian top is a thing of beauty.
26-06-2024, 05:37 PM
That Belgian top is a thing of beauty.
Shame about the quality of their football today
26-06-2024, 05:39 PM
Shame about the quality of their football today
Indeed.
26-06-2024, 05:42 PM
If the corner taker meant that then it was almost brilliant
26-06-2024, 05:51 PM
Belgium should be out there
26-06-2024, 05:54 PM
That game was absolutely crap.
Paul1642
26-06-2024, 06:16 PM
Not that I’d class them as a top team but that a Belgium now in the opposite side of the tournament to England also.
Really hoping that they get the Dutch in the next game as in the previous 3 games are anything to go off they won’t get past them and the Italians.
26-06-2024, 06:56 PM
Not that I’d class them as a top team but that a Belgium now in the opposite side of the tournament to England also.
Really hoping that they get the Dutch in the next game as in the previous 3 games are anything to go off they won’t get past them and the Italians.
Wouldn't say that with any certainty to be honest. Holland have looked pretty poor.
26-06-2024, 07:08 PM
There's Georgia going for it with pace and passion.
We know for a fact we are better than them which brings us yet again to the point that our poor performance is largely down to poor coaching.
26-06-2024, 07:21 PM
Red card for Czechia
Keepthefaith
26-06-2024, 07:22 PM
Am I the only one who can't stand Ronaldo? Always find it so disappointing when players of such skill exhibit so much arrogance, entitlement and lack of humility. He can learn so much from modric!
Portugal falling around all over the place, ref doing well not to buy it!
26-06-2024, 07:25 PM
Red card for Czechia
Brutal decision.
Don’t understand why VAR isn’t used for second yellows but is for straight reds.
Green forever
26-06-2024, 07:30 PM
Possible penalty for Portugal, defender definitely grabbed Ronaldo's shirt in the box.
Paul1642
26-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Brutal decision.
Don’t understand why VAR isn’t used for second yellows but is for straight reds.
I guess because you could then argue that an even if the second yellow is just, the first might have been harsh and wasn’t viewed by VAR, or a second yellow for persistent fouling is subjective and can’t be VARd.
26-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Good to see players getting booked for diving
I guess because you could then argue that an even if the second yellow is just, the first might have been harsh and wasn’t viewed by VAR, or a second yellow for persistent fouling is subjective and can’t be VARd.
Fact remains though that there is a decision point that is resulting in a red card.
Just seems odd that if that decision point is a straight red it’s looked at (and all decisions are subjective!) but if the decision point is a yellow then red it’s not.
Both result in the player leaving the pitch permanently so I don’t understand why one is worthy of a review and another not when they result in the same outcome?
Anyway this Ref is card happy that’s for sure and won’t be surprised to see the numbers levelled up at some point!
Ronaldo like a spoiled brat not getting its' way.
26-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Good to see players getting booked for diving
Excellent decision , Ronaldo greetin like the bairn he is
26-06-2024, 07:58 PM
That Romania/Slovakia game earlier on was an utter disgrace.
And I can't stand the American ref's analysis, it just reminds me how much I dislike referees and that they are more concerned with the letter of the law than the point of the game.
26-06-2024, 08:02 PM
Ronaldo like a spoiled brat not getting its' way.
My admiration for him as a footballer is far outweighed by his self-centred and narcissistic obsession.
Renfrew_Hibby
26-06-2024, 08:06 PM
Would rather England played the Dutch than Slovakia so I for one hopes that CR7 can work his magic.
26-06-2024, 08:13 PM
Georgia keeper is unreal
26-06-2024, 08:13 PM
My admiration for him as a footballer is far outweighed by his self-centred and narcissistic obsession.
Why is he playing tonight, Portugal make a lot of changes and he still starts
Shows you who picks the team
26-06-2024, 08:14 PM
Penalty for that. Stinking
Trinity Hibee
26-06-2024, 08:14 PM
Football is ****ed
how the **** is that a pen and scotlands wasn’t
26-06-2024, 08:16 PM
bit of a mare for silva
26-06-2024, 08:16 PM
Georgia winning means England play Slovakia instead of the Dutch. Pish.
26-06-2024, 08:17 PM
Georgia winning means England play Slovakia instead of the Dutch. Pish.
Name on the trophy!
Donegal Hibby
26-06-2024, 08:19 PM
Anyone know what odds Georgia where going into this game ?
Georgia keeper is unreal
Excellent
26-06-2024, 08:21 PM
Georgia in particular making me even more angry with Scotland.
Absolutely appalling performance again at a major tournament from Scotland.
HarpOnHibee
26-06-2024, 08:22 PM
Georgia showing us how to get the job done.
Renfrew_Hibby
26-06-2024, 08:26 PM
So Scotland finishes ahead of Georgia in qualifying yet here we are...
26-06-2024, 08:32 PM
All this tippy tappy football, sideways and constant back passing has completely ruined football. So much better when teams get stuck in and Georgia have been a great watch, I think Pep has a lot to answer for.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Anyone know what odds Georgia where going into this game ?
Either 17/2 or 19/2 at the start of the game.
Saint Hibee
26-06-2024, 08:44 PM
Kvaratskhelia is some player.
Green Reaper
26-06-2024, 08:45 PM
I think half the Czech bench have been booked now
26-06-2024, 08:47 PM
They’ve been unreal tonight Georgia
Donegal Hibby
Either 17/2 or 19/2 at the start of the game.
Thanks 👍
Green Reaper
11 cards shown in the game!
How good have Georgia been :agree:
Excluding Italy, England have a piss easy route to the final yet again. Slovakia, Italy and one of Romania, Austria, Turkey or Slovenia.
Bet Switzerland knock out Italy too.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 08:49 PM
This is the only slight problem with group stages, Portugal have stuck a pretty much 2nd team as they had already won the group, big advantage to Georgia.
Saint Hibee
26-06-2024, 08:50 PM
How good have Georgia been :agree:
According to the commentator, they’re “11 excited puppies”. I think he meant it as a compliment but maybe he needs to rethink!
26-06-2024, 08:51 PM
Excluding Italy, England have a piss easy route to the final yet again. Slovakia, Italy and one of Romania, Austria, Turkey or Slovenia.
Bet Switzerland knock out Italy too.
Italy have been amongst the biggest disappointments so far.
World class goalkeeper and a whole bunch of bang average everywhere else.
England would be very confident if they hadn't been as poor as they have so far.
They just have that habit of getting the job done right now with the absolute minimum to spare though.
Saint Hibee
26-06-2024, 08:55 PM
Scenes for Georgia.
well done Georgia
i've had them on my mind
Georgia have fully deserved that. A real sleeves rolled up performance. Outstanding hit on the break football
Green Reaper
Turkey go through 2-1, Czech out
26-06-2024, 08:56 PM
And there you go. Little Georgia, full of energy and belief have qualified while Negative Norman's lads are home already.
Donegal Hibby
26-06-2024, 08:57 PM
Great performance from Georgia 👏