View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread
02-10-2024, 12:04 PM
the only benefit of a UK league is it would show a wide range of visiting supports how much nicer life is in the ancient European capital of Edinburgh than it is in Hard Brexit Britain
Careful, you'll get a load of people on here soon telling you Edinburgh is a dump.
I've never felt comfortable with the ugly sisters leaving for the English leagues. Not because I have the slightest respect for them as organisations and would miss them, but because I've always felt it would reduce the Scottish league from it's already poor state to the status of the Welsh league. The 3 biggest clubs in Wales don't play in the Welsh league. And as a result the Welsh league is virtually meaningless. Imagine winning it and trying to claim the title of Scottish Champions when the two cheeks arent involved. I find the idea embarrassing to be honest. And yes, things are far from satisfactory as they are, I'm fully aware of that.
An all UK league doesn't really appeal to me either, and league reconstruction leading to a larger division, while it would make things more interesting for the away fan with more places to visit, wouldn't really achieve much else. Allowing more crap teams in isn't going to improve the standard.
Just a rubbish situation all round really, and I don't see a solution
02-10-2024, 12:13 PM
Do they have a bigger budget than most teams in the group stages?
No, but they have a bigger budget than 8 or 9 teams in the competition (brest feyenoord salzburg young boys sturm graz red star the croatians, bratislava, not sure about girona or brugge but possibly them too. Finishing 24th out of 36 is all you need to do to progress.
We really can't. So what hope would we have of winning anything in a far wider league set up? :greengrin
We live in hope:greengrin
02-10-2024, 12:26 PM
No, but they have a bigger budget than 8 or 9 teams in the competition (brest feyenoord salzburg young boys sturm graz red star the croatians, bratislava, not sure about girona or brugge but possibly them too. Finishing 24th out of 36 is all you need to do to progress.
Id imagine the difference in finance between most of those teams and Celtic is fairly small. They'll be less of a financial gap between Celtic and Feyenoord compared to Celtic and Dortmund certainly.
Saint Hibee
02-10-2024, 12:50 PM
Any team which think they're going to do well in Europe with Liam Scales at the back deserve every humping they get.
02-10-2024, 12:55 PM
They should’ve spent the money which went on Idah, 9 or 10 million😂 on a decent left centre half and left back. Honestly wouldn’t be that excited if we signed Scales/Taylor.
02-10-2024, 01:16 PM
That Celtic back 4 last night was as poor as i've seen from them for a number of years. And the keeper is well past his best too.
Scottish football is sheite, it really is, but it's our sheite and bar them it's quite competative.
Even the huns have come back a bit to the the group below now.
Celtic will still win most of the trophies, but they will never attract real quality that improves them to the next level while playing in Scotland.
I dont know how they get better, and that must be a worry for them, apathy could very well set in with their support. :greengrin
Pretty well this.
The fact is the advent of the 'so called' champion's league has to a large extent caused what was a big disparity in finance to become a massive yawning chasm. Clubs who were already dominant in leagues like ours have now been handed the ability to be utterly dominant. So thanks for that UEFA.
The other fact is that unless some sort of European league is formed we are stuck with Celtic ( and Sevco ) because there is no chance they will ever be accepted into the English system, for the simple fact that there would be no benefit to the already super rich English game. They have a plethora of big clubs sitting outside of the premier league who would not welcome in the slightest competition from two clubs easily capable of competing with them for a place at the top table .... Leeds United, Sheffield United / Wednesday, Sunderland, Norwich City, Derby County, Stoke City etc etc etc ... to them the Uglies would be as welcome as a fart in a spacesuit.
It is what it is. As for me I don't get hung up on the uglies presence. For me the Scottish premiership has 10 teams Hibs compete with and two fixtures where an unlikely point or two is a bonus that gives us an advantage over those clubs.
I've said it before. I would see no shame in the fans of the clubs outside of the uglies getting together and conceiving a 'fans trophy' presented to the non ugly club who finishes highest up the premiership. In a normal sporting environment I could get why folk would baulk at that ..... but in a country where only two clubs have won the top league in 40 years, with that highly unlikely to change any time soon, due to nothing more than a massive financial disparity we have anything but a normal 'sporting' environment.
If nothing else given enough publicity it would make news elsewhere .... Hell, given Paddy Power's propensity for taking the piss ... EG paying out on Celtic before a baw was kicked, I wouldn't put it past them to agree to sponsor the bloody thing :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 01:22 PM
Any team which think they're going to do well in Europe with Liam Scales at the back deserve every humping they get.
I said it a few times to Celtic fans here about Scales and Taylor … Scales is getting away with it at Celtic because they’re not under the same pressures in our league , when he was at Aberdeen he looked a liability which he was against us a couple of times .
02-10-2024, 01:29 PM
The problem is Celtic don’t have much of a challenge back home, the minute they meet a decent football they crumble. Scotland needs a bigger league, a top league of 20 teams. Would make things more interesting as well
Couldn’t disagree more. The gap between Celtc and Dortmund is far less than that between Celtc and Dortmund. Rodgers poor tactics cost them. It’s like Hibs playing Dalkeith thistle then employing the same tactics v Celtc.
Larger league would do nothing to improve the quality of any team.
02-10-2024, 01:51 PM
The problem is Celtic don’t have much of a challenge back home, the minute they meet a decent football they crumble. Scotland needs a bigger league, a top league of 20 teams. Would make things more interesting as well
Thats the same *****y line the press and Celtic have been using for decades, its our fault they are outclassed in Europe.
Adding 80% of the championship, including such giant slayers as Greenock Morton and Arbroath will do nothing to add to their challenge domestically.
Paulie Walnuts
02-10-2024, 01:56 PM
They should’ve spent the money which went on Idah, 9 or 10 million😂 on a decent left centre half and left back. Honestly wouldn’t be that excited if we signed Scales/Taylor.
I think Taylor is decent. Nothing all that exceptional for their level but good enough and would be an excellent signing for us imo.
Scales is ***** though, agree on that front.
He's here!
02-10-2024, 01:58 PM
A UK league would see us never play in Europe or win anything ever again. **** that.
We're not exactly prolific winners in a Scottish league. Last won the title 72 years ago...
There seems to be a general consensus that Scottish football is crap and absurdly imbalanced. Continuing to just accept that because an alternative is too much hassle seems defeatist. There's no reason a better resourced club of our size couldn't reach at least Championship level in a UK league. Stacks more attractive games there than Motherwell away.
Numptie
02-10-2024, 02:39 PM
Celtic's tactics were to play their ordinary pressing game. This was a game for a measured defence and trying to get something on the break. This is like our attempts to beat Celtic with the press, they have better players and can beat the press, even Dundee beat our press. If Celtic don't realise where they stand in the rankings of European football, this game showed them. They can't just play the Celtic way against the big teams
K-Zazu
02-10-2024, 02:43 PM
they bought Arne Engels for a club record £11million fee.
They will continue to invest too but a lack of a proper tactician means they’ll struggle in Europe.
He looked rotten last night.
Aberdeen lose Gueye for 14 weeks due to a muscle tear - chance to now catch them 👀
He's here!
02-10-2024, 03:49 PM
Aberdeen lose Gueye for 14 weeks due to a muscle tear - chance to now catch them 👀
They still won without him last weekend and the problem is we're without Bowie for most of the season. Even at this stage we'd have to go some to overcome a 13-point gap ie win 5 games and hope they lose 5. With just one win under our belts so far it's probably best just to focus for now on getting another win on the board.
02-10-2024, 04:21 PM
Id imagine the difference in finance between most of those teams and Celtic is fairly small. They'll be less of a financial gap between Celtic and Feyenoord compared to Celtic and Dortmund certainly.
Actually, youre right about Feyenoord, according to Transfermarket they have a squad value of twice celtics, so my bad, my knowledge of dutch football isnt as good as it could be :greengrin
I suppose the key thing is, the new format is perfect for that high 3rd tier or low 2nd tier of european teams to enter the latter stages. The champions of mid level leagues like Scotland, the scandinavan countries, central snd east european champions like Sparta Prague say, as well as the ‘alsorans’ in the french italian and german leagues now have extra spots to fight for. Celtic know this is the year they can make a leap if they dont mess it up.
HarpOnHibee
02-10-2024, 04:46 PM
We're not exactly prolific winners in a Scottish league. Last won the title 72 years ago...
There seems to be a general consensus that Scottish football is crap and absurdly imbalanced. Continuing to just accept that because an alternative is too much hassle seems defeatist. There's no reason a better resourced club of our size couldn't reach at least Championship level in a UK league. Stacks more attractive games there than Motherwell away.
We'd likely spend most of the time languishing in League 1 and on the occasions where we do successfully make it into the Championship, the novelty of playing sides like Watford and Hull City would wear thin pretty quickly. The games wouldn't carry much stake either. Our away crowds to anywhere south of the North of England would be almost non-existent, as would their crowds to our stadium. Do we really just want to be another Luton Town or Huddersfield town? Increased TV coverage would also cause our home crowds to dwindle over time.
There seems to be a general consensus that Scottish football is crap and absurdly imbalanced. Continuing to just accept that because an alternative is too much hassle seems defeatist. There's no reason a better resourced club of our size couldn't reach at least Championship level in a UK league. Stacks more attractive games there than Motherwell away.What's in it for English football? Injecting the imbecilic, nasty poison that is Old Firm rivalry into top tier games is hardly a flavour anyone would want to bring upon themselves. Many English clubs despise The Rangers fans in particular.
The offshoot would eventually be, losing the despensation from FIFA to continue with the 4 home associations having separate national teams.
A UK team would hardly be palatable, for either Scotland or Engerland.
In other words, never, ever going to happen.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Dundee utd top scorer Trapanovski out for our game too .
02-10-2024, 05:01 PM
They still won without him last weekend and the problem is we're without Bowie for most of the season. Even at this stage we'd have to go some to overcome a 13-point gap ie win 5 games and hope they lose 5. With just one win under our belts so far it's probably best just to focus for now on getting another win on the board.
Aberdeen will have a bad spell soon enough. Hopefully we've had ours
02-10-2024, 05:39 PM
Miovski starting in a Champions League game. Some move for him that. Losing 2-1 at home to Feyenoord, but still.
02-10-2024, 05:56 PM
Celtic's tactics were to play their ordinary pressing game. This was a game for a measured defence and trying to get something on the break. This is like our attempts to beat Celtic with the press, they have better players and can beat the press, even Dundee beat our press. If Celtic don't realise where they stand in the rankings of European football, this game showed them. They can't just play the Celtic way against the big teams
It's all our fault. Lack of any competition (other than the very odd Hun game) means that Celtic can play whatever game they like Sat to Sat. If they lose a goal, they're sure to score 2 or 3. There is ZERO risk in Celtic playing an expansive, attacking game in Scotland.
Take that same game and attitude into Europe against the better sides and they get a glimpse of exactly why smaller, less affluent, Scottish teams go to Celtic Park and park the bus :greengrin. Shed no tears for naive Celtic.
K-Zazu
02-10-2024, 06:03 PM
Miovski starting in a Champions League game. Some move for him that. Losing 2-1 at home to Feyenoord, but still.
Can’t believe Aberdeen got 8 million. He’s never worth that. Fantastic deal for the Sheep.
02-10-2024, 06:10 PM
What's in it for English football? Injecting the imbecilic, nasty poison that is Old Firm rivalry into top tier games is hardly a flavour anyone would want to bring upon themselves. Many English clubs despise The Rangers fans in particular.
The offshoot would eventually be, losing the despensation from FIFA to continue with the 4 home associations having separate national teams.
A UK team would hardly be palatable, for either Scotland or Engerland.
In other words, never, ever going to happen.
Money
Arsenal, Man City and Newcastle have all welcomed investment from human rights abusing states, I doubt the league are going to give a hoot about some dodgy songs if it helps boost their coffers.
02-10-2024, 06:11 PM
Can’t believe Aberdeen got 8 million. He’s never worth that. Fantastic deal for the Sheep.
Just missed a penalty for the equaliser after winning the penalty. Soft penalty award though.
Having a tough time of it at Girona. Yet to score
02-10-2024, 06:27 PM
Too many SPL teams in recent seasons (Hibs included) have given Celtic far too much respect. The tactics of standing off them allowing them to pass the ball about is suicide. Their level of player is far superior to any other Scottish club and the only way to play against them is to cut their space and get in their faces.
Needs astute coaching and fit players of course but over 90 minutes clubs like Hibs should be able to be competitive against them.
Borussia did that expertly last night. They forced Celtic into mistake after mistake and of course had top quality players to then pump them.
02-10-2024, 06:32 PM
Too many SPL teams in recent seasons (Hibs included) have given Celtic far too much respect. The tactics of standing off them allowing them to pass the ball about is suicide. Their level of player is far superior to any other Scottish club and the only way to play against them is to cut their space and get in their faces.
Needs astute coaching and fit players of course but over 90 minutes clubs like Hibs should be able to be competitive against them.
Borussia did that expertly last night. They forced Celtic into mistake after mistake and of course had top quality players to then pump them.
Getting in their faces just as likely to end in a hiding tbh. Difference in quality is too big.
HarpOnHibee
02-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Getting in their faces just as likely to end in a hiding tbh. Difference in quality is too big.
Surely better to risk a 5 or 6-0 with the chance of winning than to play for a conservative 2 or 3-0 defeat? That Celtic defence is nothing special, they just don't get properly tested in the SPFL because teams are too wary of their attacking ability. I reckon just about any team in the league that has a right good go at them will stand a better chance of beating them than simply holding on for dear life at the back.
Money
Arsenal, Man City and Newcastle have all welcomed investment from human rights abusing states, I doubt the league are going to give a hoot about some dodgy songs if it helps boost their coffers.
That's a giant "if" at the end there. It's not just dodgy songs though, is it. A lot of English fans hate their "friendly" visits with a passion.
If anything changes in England it would be some sort of Super League, which would include the OF out.
If it was going to happen it would have happened in the 00s, when money would have been a factor. As it is now, nah.
02-10-2024, 06:46 PM
Money
Putting Arsenal in the same sentence as City and Newcastle :faf:
English authorities quite quickly deal with discrimination in the stands. Much better than we do.
02-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Got to feel sorry for SJM missing out on a big occasion like this.
HarpOnHibee
02-10-2024, 06:54 PM
English authorities quite quickly deal with discrimination in the stands. Much better than we do.
You're basing this on what? England don't have a Rangers in their top league to deal with and even if they did, they'd likely do nothing to upset the "loyalists" as long as they're only discriminating against the so called "anti-British" types.
02-10-2024, 06:59 PM
You're basing this on what? England don't have a Rangers in their top league to deal with and even if they did, they'd likely do nothing to upset the "loyalists" as long as they're only discriminating against the so called "anti-British" types.
Of course they'd be dealt with in England. Society in England has problems but that isn't one of them
Some atmosphere at Villa Park.
Mon Bayern
02-10-2024, 07:07 PM
I love any chance to laugh at the misfortune of the huns, but an 8pm KO vs St Johnstone on a Sunday is utterly bonkers. 2 hours after the subway closes, just before most Sunday rail services cease…
Another great example of no joined up thinking from the SPFL blazers. I know Sunday is the Great Scottish Run so its a bit of an unusual situation but deary me…
02-10-2024, 07:18 PM
I think once Bayern score they could get 4 or 5.
02-10-2024, 07:23 PM
Just missed a penalty for the equaliser after winning the penalty. Soft penalty award though.
Looked a clear dive not a surprise
02-10-2024, 07:23 PM
1-0 Villa, VAR says no. 0-0
02-10-2024, 07:24 PM
WOW. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
02-10-2024, 07:24 PM
Offside
02-10-2024, 07:27 PM
Just listening to the Villa game on the radio and the roar that came from the (non) goal was spine-tingling.
Here's hoping they score a legitimate goal
02-10-2024, 07:32 PM
I think Villa might run out of steam here and Bayern will pick them off. Villa play very high intensity which surely must take its toll.
Musselbound
02-10-2024, 07:33 PM
It was a good much that. Had a bit of everything. Some change in Girona's fortunes since I lived there about 20 years ago!
Hibees1973
02-10-2024, 08:08 PM
We'd likely spend most of the time languishing in League 1 and on the occasions where we do successfully make it into the Championship, the novelty of playing sides like Watford and Hull City would wear thin pretty quickly. The games wouldn't carry much stake either. Our away crowds to anywhere south of the North of England would be almost non-existent, as would their crowds to our stadium. Do we really just want to be another Luton Town or Huddersfield town? Increased TV coverage would also cause our home crowds to dwindle over time.
Indeed.
Can forget about any competitive European games as well which are a target for any half decent Hibs team. I've seen us qualify for Europe with teams which were p*sh. It's a huge benefit for the club and in turn the support as well.
02-10-2024, 08:39 PM
1-0 Villa
02-10-2024, 08:39 PM
What a ****ing goal.
02-10-2024, 08:41 PM
What a finish Duran👏
02-10-2024, 08:41 PM
Outrageous goal from Duran. Not sure where the Bayern keeper was meant to be
02-10-2024, 08:44 PM
Duran is making David Fairclough look like a rookie :) For the auld yins.
linlithgowhibbie
02-10-2024, 08:51 PM
Why?
Coz I hate celtic and they got royally pumped.
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 08:55 PM
Unai Emery has done a fantastic job at Villa since taking over from Gerard .
02-10-2024, 08:56 PM
What a result for Villa 👏🏻
02-10-2024, 08:57 PM
Unai Emery has done a fantastic job at Villa since taking over from Gerard .
Incredible job.
So good to see a team and fans not spoilt by success looks like it’s rocking down there
HendoDelivered
02-10-2024, 08:57 PM
Fair play to the Villa
linlithgowhibbie
02-10-2024, 08:58 PM
The original poster said last night was the most enjoyable game they'd seen since Hibs won the Scottish cup and the poster quite justifiably asked why.
There isnt a stranger type of Hibs fan than one who claims they enjoyed last night's Celtic defeat more than numerous Hibs wins over the last 8 years including ones over Hearts, Celtic, Rangers, Hampden wins and european victories.
Thanks for suggesting I am a strange kind of Hibs fan, I can assure you I am normal. I do love beating the teams you mention but how does that stop me enjoyjng Celtic getting annihilated. And for your info it was a superb game of attacking football, when did you last see a game like that involving Hibs?
02-10-2024, 09:00 PM
Martinez is some goalkeeper
02-10-2024, 09:00 PM
Martinez, the villa keeper is an absolute **** but he's some keeper
linlithgowhibbie
02-10-2024, 09:02 PM
You enjoyed that more than us beating Hearts? Really?
For me a spawny 1-0 over St Johnstone would be more enjoyable than watching any Celtic game.
So I am guessing that by your reasoning I am not allowed to enjoy a pulsating exciting match with 8 goals and the added bonus of celtic being pumped more than watching a borefest of Craig Levines non football with Hibs winning 1-0!
02-10-2024, 09:07 PM
Duran is making David Fairclough look like a rookie :) For the auld yins.
Oi, I remember David Fairclough and I'm not that old.......well, maybe lol
tonyrougier123
02-10-2024, 09:08 PM
Martinez such a character, goalies lack that these days. Touch of class giving young fan his strip at end. Goalie you love if he’s in your colours not so much anywhere else. Some result villa, football journey that’s been good to follow back to the top of the game.
Looking forward to Villa giving Celtic a pumping at Villa Park.
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 09:21 PM
Didn’t know who David Fairclough was , for those who didn’t like me , some player btw …
https://youtu.be/TIsbR24T2qg
02-10-2024, 09:44 PM
Looking forward to Villa giving Celtic a pumping at Villa Park.
John McGinn hat-trick please.
K-Zazu
02-10-2024, 10:13 PM
It’s mental to think that you can be the manager of Burnley, get relegated from the Premier League then become the Bayern Munich manager. Pure mind boggling man.
02-10-2024, 10:28 PM
Emery doing a great job again this season, was always going to be tough for them to replicate last season's league finish, doing well so far in both the league and Champions League.
Rogers has developed into a great wee player over the past few years.
03-10-2024, 08:34 AM
After 20 minutes I thought it was only a matter of time before Bayern scored and ran away with the game. Villa's resistance was terrific and they made chances too. Martinez must be up there with the best in the world if not the best, he was outstanding. So pleased for Villa and SJM.
03-10-2024, 08:49 AM
After 20 minutes I thought it was only a matter of time before Bayern scored and ran away with the game. Villa's resistance was terrific and they made chances too. Martinez must be up there with the best in the world if not the best, he was outstanding. So pleased for Villa and SJM.
And people mocked us when Villa gave us a chasing at Easter Road last season. Top team.
03-10-2024, 09:24 AM
So I am guessing that by your reasoning I am not allowed to enjoy a pulsating exciting match with 8 goals and the added bonus of celtic being pumped more than watching a borefest of Craig Levines non football with Hibs winning 1-0!
Nah no having that. Any win against them is a million times better than watching any other teams game.
03-10-2024, 09:26 AM
And people mocked us when Villa gave us a chasing at Easter Road last season. Top team.
Our 3-0 down there wasn't too bad and it was a cracking atmosphere in the Hibs end.
He's here!
03-10-2024, 09:56 AM
Was there much mocking? Everyone knew we were likely to lose heavily.
03-10-2024, 10:10 AM
Martinez, the villa keeper is an absolute **** but he's some keeperThat he is. I also think his persona helps him, puts a little doubt into the forwards well before the game starts and he backs it up with some great saves.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
03-10-2024, 12:46 PM
That he is. I also think his persona helps him, puts a little doubt into the forwards well before the game starts and he backs it up with some great saves.
Same as Pickford.
It's the one position on the park where your demeanour can have almost as much impact on performance as how you actually perform.
03-10-2024, 12:53 PM
Same as Pickford.
It's the one position on the park where your demeanour can have almost as much impact on performance as how you actually perform.
I know you aren't making a comparison but Pickford couldn't lace Martinez's boots.
linlithgowhibbie
03-10-2024, 03:22 PM
Nah no having that. Any win against them is a million times better than watching any other teams game.
Thing is I respect your opinions! Doesn't make either you or me right/wrong tho!
03-10-2024, 03:32 PM
Think a few Hearts fans have flown out for todays game
Thought it was closed doors?
03-10-2024, 03:32 PM
I know you aren't making a comparison but Pickford couldn't lace Martinez's boots.
Dunno, Pickford is a very good keeper. Not as clutch as Martinez but not far away overall.
Goalkeeping is an excellent standard right now imo. Many many excellent goalies.
03-10-2024, 04:10 PM
Same as Pickford.
It's the one position on the park where your demeanour can have almost as much impact on performance as how you actually perform.The most angry man in the world when called on to do his job!
03-10-2024, 04:18 PM
Personally think Pickford was about the 23rd best keeper at the euros
Nearly everything on target against him was a Goal
He's here!
03-10-2024, 04:23 PM
It is.
03-10-2024, 04:31 PM
Billy Dodds is an absolute dinosaur
03-10-2024, 04:45 PM
according to a BBCHeartz reporter Heartz fans "Live" for away games in Europe, yep, they "Live" for them
heartz fans are used to playing under a crackling atmosphere :faf: behave
Green Reaper
03-10-2024, 04:46 PM
Minsk were happy to get the game played at nuetral venue instead of facing hearts at a boisterous tyncastle.....aye right 😄
03-10-2024, 04:48 PM
This game sounds just like Tynie
HarpOnHibee
03-10-2024, 04:55 PM
The atmosphere is electric.
03-10-2024, 04:56 PM
Devlin rolling about already. Relentlessly annoying wee dick.
03-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Personally think Pickford was about the 23rd best keeper at the euros
Nearly everything on target against him was a Goal
17 saves, 3rd most at the tournament.
03-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Michael Stewart waffling about how much better Hertz look.
Will take a guess that Fox is his mate.
Now defending a horrific lunge by the Hertz right back.
No idea why there's no fans at Minsk but they're missing nothing with these 2 teams, the football is stinking by both.
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 05:00 PM
Surprised the referee didn’t book the hertz player for that tackle
03-10-2024, 05:04 PM
20 minutes of Michael Stewart's pointless pish about all that's wrong with hearts. Any chance of commentating on the actual game?
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
03-10-2024, 05:04 PM
No idea why there's no fans at Minsk but they're missing nothing with these 2 teams, the football is stinking by both.
I usually don't mind watching Scottish teams in Europe but I've turned it off. Painful viewing.
03-10-2024, 05:05 PM
20 minutes of Michael Stewart's pointless pish about all that's wrong with hearts. Any chance of commentating on the actual game?
I have had to mute the TV. Relentless slavering.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
1-0 Minsk
03-10-2024, 05:06 PM
Peach, 1-0 Minsk.
Up yeez jambos
Did Stewart say just before the goal to give the job to John McGlynn?
Get in 😅
Green Reaper
Poor hertz 😅
03-10-2024, 05:07 PM
mon minsk
Volume back up now!
Donegal Hibby
Hertz :faf:
Har de har har.....:greengrin
I usually don't mind watching Scottish teams in Europe but I've turned it off. Painful viewing.
It just got better :greengrin
Michael Stewart blah blah blah blah, jeez what a blether with his Hearts love in pish, glad Minsk scores, maybe shut his gob for a while.
Sioux
03-10-2024, 05:08 PM
That goal was too easy:flag:
03-10-2024, 05:09 PM
Michael Stewart isn't half ruining my enjoyment of watching Hearts losing.
03-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Did Stewart say just before the goal to give the job to John McGlynn?
He’s pushing for Derek McInnes and McGlynn a second choice ……. he’s meant to be co-commentating but he’s just rambling on with a load of keech.
HarpOnHibee
03-10-2024, 05:14 PM
He’s pushing for Derek McInnes and McGlynn a second choice ……. he’s meant to be co-commentating but he’s just rambling on with a load of keech.
To be fair, there's not a whole lot for him to say about Hearts in regards to the game itself.
K-Zazu
03-10-2024, 05:18 PM
It’s being played in Azerbaijan not in Minsk
03-10-2024, 05:20 PM
Hearts are woeful.
It's beautiful to watch.
03-10-2024, 05:20 PM
This game's got the crowd it deserves.
03-10-2024, 05:21 PM
Booooo
03-10-2024, 05:22 PM
Another belter from Michael Stewart. Hearts should be targeting the guy who's turned down Ajax [emoji23]
03-10-2024, 05:23 PM
minsk are p@sh OG
that square heid has money on an OG, that's the only possible answer for that :agree:
:)
Hearts will win this, surely.
Minsk are awful. Truly garbage.
Wtf was the boy doing there?
Donegal Hibby
1-1 . What a plonker :rolleyes:
03-10-2024, 05:24 PM
Hmmm something dodgy of that own goal for me
03-10-2024, 05:24 PM
Interesting concept. Did they fly to Minsk or to Azerbaijan where its being played? A bit groupie-ish. Not sure why anyone would do that.
****ing BOOOO! pop through the room to do a few things and come back to see 1-1 and an own goal at that.
03-10-2024, 05:27 PM
Stewart thinks Hearts might get past this stage?
Is he on drugs?
Weren't Minsk part of Mad Vlads Krazy Ukio Bankus Klown Kar Futball Klub Kirkus?
03-10-2024, 05:32 PM
Mikey Stewart doesn't half waffle some nonsense these days
HarpOnHibee
03-10-2024, 05:33 PM
I think he's the type of guy who argues with himself at home alone, with the lights off.
03-10-2024, 05:36 PM
Weren't Minsk part of Mad Vlads Krazy Ukio Bankus Klown Kar Futball Klub Kirkus?
He had one from Belarus. Think they were called MTZ Ripo.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/other-football/hearts-next-boss-andrew-mckinlay-30060049
Doesn't sound likely it will be McInnes. McKinlay says it probably won't be someone Scottish and that their list of seven doesn't contain any of the usual names that get mentioned. Also, the sporting director thing, supposedly McInnes prefers not to have one.
Bridge hibs
03-10-2024, 05:51 PM
An absolute ****ing classroom bore
03-10-2024, 05:57 PM
Stewart is a total slaver.
He reckons Baningime did great there, absolute nonsense.
03-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Watching the Spurs game now, couldn't listen to Stewart any longer.
The cheating, diving bassa on for Hearts.
03-10-2024, 06:02 PM
Stewart ripping into Barry McKay while not commenting at all on Shanklands complete lack of effort.
03-10-2024, 06:24 PM
Dynamo Mince.
03-10-2024, 06:25 PM
Dynamo Mince more like.
10 men behind the ball, I reckon any SPFL team would win this game.
03-10-2024, 06:33 PM
Michael Stewart will sleep well tonight as will all the poor buggers he has put in a coma.
03-10-2024, 06:38 PM
Boooo
Christ almighty what a dreadful goal to lose.
Dynamo mince
game heartz, minsk are minging
made me a few £ anyway
03-10-2024, 06:39 PM
Talk about lucky.
How on earth are Minsk in Europe.
03-10-2024, 06:40 PM
**** sake.
That's another half a million euros in the bank for them. Get in the bin Minsk
03-10-2024, 06:41 PM
The luckiest team in the history of Scottish football 😡🖕
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Dinamo were brutal.. that will be them back to being world beaters again :rolleyes:
03-10-2024, 06:43 PM
Wish that big headed **** was sold in the summer
Seen better games on Leith Links, what a truly horrible club that shower are, hate everything about them.
Their unmerited luck seems never ending!
03-10-2024, 06:44 PM
**** sake.
That's another half a million euros in the bank for them. Get in the bin Minsk
Could easily win two of their home games as well. Wasn't too tough a draw in that aspect.
03-10-2024, 06:44 PM
£335k heartz just earned
HarpOnHibee
03-10-2024, 06:45 PM
An own goal and a deflection setting up the 2nd in the final moments of the game. Nothing in it otherwise.
03-10-2024, 06:46 PM
Well at least they've popped their cherry now. I've had the horrifying feeling that their first win of the season was coming at Easter Road
03-10-2024, 06:46 PM
Derek McIness licking his lips at Ibrox tonight, relishing the thought of taking charge of potential world beaters. :greengrin
Stairway 2 7
03-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Can see them beating Petroclub and Omonoia and getting pumped in the rest, 9 could be enough to go to the knockouts
03-10-2024, 06:54 PM
i think the stickies will beat Lyon
03-10-2024, 06:58 PM
Doom merchant. Lyon to at least give us some cheer and thoroughly skelp the Govan w*****s.
03-10-2024, 06:59 PM
You’d think Rangers had been away from Ibrox for 4 years not 4 games the way it’s been mentioned tonight.
Watching Man U game, another manager in desperate need of a win.
Hibees1973
03-10-2024, 07:01 PM
Fortunate to get an away game at a neutral venue with no crowd.
But credit to them that they won and pocketed a fair bit of cash.
Just need to look at the profile of some of the clubs in the Europa Conf League and it really is a poor standard and really just a cash making competition.
Wouldn't have minded us being in it though.
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:02 PM
Hope not ,after listening to Stewart and now getting McCoist we could do with something cheery .
MelbourneHibees
03-10-2024, 07:03 PM
Can see them beating Petroclub and Omonoia and getting pumped in the rest, 9 could be enough to go to the knockouts
7 is expected to be enough. Talking about 7...
Hopefully about to watch a Rangers result similar to Celtic.
03-10-2024, 07:04 PM
Fortunate to get an away game at a neutral venue with no crowd.
But credit to them that they won and pocketed a fair bit of cash.
Just need to look at the profile of some of the clubs in the Europa Conf League and it really is a poor standard and really just a cash making competition.
Wouldn't have minded us being in it though.
Could be wrong, but if we're going to make the group stages in the next few seasons we’re going to have to play qualifiers. Can't see us finishing 3rd this season and think this season is the last for 3rd dropping into the conference group stages.
Trust us to be ***** domestically the whole time we had a good coefficient.
03-10-2024, 07:09 PM
😂😂😂what a sitter…….then Lyon score, brilliant😂
03-10-2024, 07:09 PM
1-0 Lyon
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:11 PM
Missed a sitter and now go 1 -0 down :lolrangers:
03-10-2024, 07:12 PM
Nice to see these braindead hun ultras going to cost their club some money.
03-10-2024, 07:14 PM
Rangers equalise
Brain dead header back
Doom merchant. Lyon to at least give us some cheer and thoroughly skelp the Govan w*****s.
always pleasant seeing the buns losing
oops 1-1
03-10-2024, 07:15 PM
Lyon defend like kittens.
Hibees1973
Could be wrong, but if we're going to make the group stages in the next few seasons we’re going to have to play qualifiers. Can't see us finishing 3rd this season and think this season is the last for 3rd dropping into the conference group stages.
Trust us to be ***** domestically the whole time we had a good coefficient.
It is so us.
Third a few seasons back but had to jump through hoops to get to group stage football. Then Ian Gordon goes on his fantasy pet projects and here we are again on the outside looking in.
It's all about timing and taking opportunities.
Donegal Hibby
Shocking header back 😡
03-10-2024, 07:16 PM
Good win for hearts sadly. They have a chance of qualifying but it's fairly slim.
03-10-2024, 07:17 PM
Looked like Dessers impeded the goal keeper before the goal🤔
03-10-2024, 07:18 PM
That defending :faf:
03-10-2024, 07:19 PM
2-1 Lyon
Rangers are so poor
03-10-2024, 07:19 PM
£378k for a win in the Europa, £126k for a draw
1-2 ha ha
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:20 PM
Great ball by Conor Barron 😂
Could easily win two of their home games as well. Wasn't too tough a draw in that aspect.
at this level of the competition I don’t think hearts could have got an easier game.
Maybe the sticky buns will stop with their ridiculous overrating of Connor Barron now.
03-10-2024, 07:21 PM
TavPen getting torn a new one tonight……pleasing.
03-10-2024, 07:24 PM
It is so us.
Third a few seasons back but had to jump through hoops to get to group stage football. Then Ian Gordon goes on his fantasy pet projects and here we are again on the outside looking in.
It's all about timing and taking opportunities.
Yup and our two closest rivals have reaped the rewards twice each if Aberdeen finish third this season.
So frustrating.
03-10-2024, 07:27 PM
Hope not ,after listening to Stewart and now getting McCoist we could do with something cheery .
i won't be too sad at losing £20 for this one
Man U defence is still rank rotten, 2 up and cruising and then can't stop crosses and poor marking, now 2-2.
SJNB Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:36 PM
Yup and our two closest rivals have reaped the rewards twice each if Aberdeen finish third this season.
So frustrating.
Can't we get there by winning the cup :aok:
03-10-2024, 07:38 PM
You're spot on, always forget thats its actually the Scottish Cup reward because its usually one of the uglies that win it.
03-10-2024, 07:41 PM
Yes winning the cup gets you ahead of the team that finishes 3rd. Wrong and cost us when we finished 3rd but got beat by St Johnstone in the cup final.
03-10-2024, 07:42 PM
In my best Ally McCoist OBE voice, I would say that Lyon should be 4-1 up ….. they should, they really should. :greengrin
03-10-2024, 07:44 PM
That guy Cherky is outstanding.
03-10-2024, 07:45 PM
Rangers :faf:
03-10-2024, 07:46 PM
Lyon ripping the pish out rangers
03-10-2024, 07:46 PM
Ha ! Ha ! Huns
Voldemort won’t be happy
03-10-2024, 07:47 PM
nice one :greengrin
Lyon scoring 7 would be a marvelous way to show the uglies there's better out there.
Rarely watch games not involving Hibs, glad I’ve tuned in to watch these Old Firm games this week😂
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:48 PM
Some strike :greengrin
VAR says Aye goal
Is his full name not reaAlly McCoist?
bringbackbenny
outstanding finish from Lacazette
03-10-2024, 07:49 PM
The Lyons are rampant.
03-10-2024, 07:50 PM
Quality from Laca. There front three have been excellent
03-10-2024, 07:53 PM
That guy Cherky is outstanding.
Terrific ability
03-10-2024, 07:54 PM
The Lyons are rampant.Are we talking surrender here? Or is it still no surrender even when they have? Or are they not doing walking away again?
outstanding finish from Lacazette
33, plenty life left in him yet.
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 07:54 PM
Lyon scoring 7 would be a marvelous way to show the uglies there's better out there.
Rather 5 and see them die again.
03-10-2024, 07:57 PM
Rather 5 and see them die again.
Nah, both uglies conceding 7 in the same week would be priceless.
03-10-2024, 08:11 PM
I swear Man Utd seem to get humiliated every other week going back god knows how long, how on earth is ten Haag not gone yet?
3-2 Porto, United are pish, how Ten Hag is still there baffles me.
03-10-2024, 08:13 PM
3-2 Porto. Zero awareness from Bruno Fenandez and played them all onside. ETH will get the blame as usual though.
He's here!
03-10-2024, 08:14 PM
Well at least they've popped their cherry now. I've had the horrifying feeling that their first win of the season was coming at Easter Road
Important that they get back to losing ways at Pittodrie to send them into the break on a downer and keep the fans on their backs.
3-2 Porto. Zero awareness from Bruno Fenandez and played them all onside. ETH will get the blame as usual though.
He picks them, trains them and motivates them, it'll always land at the managers feet.
He's here!
03-10-2024, 08:15 PM
Nah, both uglies conceding 7 in the same week would be priceless.
Indeed. It's hard to be bothered about how pitiful it makes Scottish football look when the Old Firm get humiliated.
03-10-2024, 08:16 PM
Man United are absolutely awful.
03-10-2024, 08:16 PM
4-1 Lyon :faf:
03-10-2024, 08:17 PM
Rangers fans walking away.
03-10-2024, 08:17 PM
oh joy
03-10-2024, 08:18 PM
Is there some way of banning Glasgow clubs from European competition? They're doing awful damage to our co-efficient.
03-10-2024, 08:18 PM
He picks them, trains them and motivates them, it'll always land at the managers feet.
I think we all know that, the point is his players get off relatively scot free week on week. The subjects been done to death but they are years behind the top clubs and who will come in and turn this mob into a winning outfit in short order?
03-10-2024, 08:20 PM
Two very good wingers for Lyon. Both direct and skilful. A dying breed.
03-10-2024, 08:20 PM
The New Saints drawing 0 0 with Fiorentina in Italy.
03-10-2024, 08:21 PM
Rangers fans walking away.I read somewhere that they don't do walking away. Except for when it's to avoid paying creditors obviously.
03-10-2024, 08:21 PM
4-1 Lyon :faf:
Sensational play by Cherkhi
gordie18
03-10-2024, 08:23 PM
Fofana is some player, he’s a joy to watch (unless you are Tav [emoji23][emoji23])
03-10-2024, 08:24 PM
Tav hooked.
03-10-2024, 08:25 PM
TavPen taken off for any further embarrassment…..he’ll be seeing this lad, along with Stokes, in his nightmares now.
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 08:25 PM
How sad was that attempt by dessers looking for a penalty.
03-10-2024, 08:26 PM
How sad was that attempt by dessers looking for a penalty.
Would have been a pen in spfl
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 08:34 PM
Would have been a pen in spfl
After a VAR review of course :greengrin
03-10-2024, 08:35 PM
Has McCoist got somebody else's teeth in?
03-10-2024, 08:36 PM
Lyon first foul in the match in 71 minutes. Incredible.
03-10-2024, 08:36 PM
Wonder how often we’ll see the the rangers fans calling the referee a fenian B in tomorrow’s outburst about tonight’s performance?
03-10-2024, 08:37 PM
He hash, he really hash.
03-10-2024, 08:38 PM
Probably still steaming after getting his award from the
future King Billy
I think we all know that, the point is his players get off relatively scot free week on week. The subjects been done to death but they are years behind the top clubs and who will come in and turn this mob into a winning outfit in short order?
They've went the rookie route, the experienced route and the steady Eddie route and nothing has worked, there's something rotten at that club, don't know what but some of these very good players always seem to turn to tripe after a short while, why is the big question. I think it's too many players on overly large wages and little motivation, little connection to the club, one player who was that type of player was McTominay and they sold him for some explicable reason.
Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 08:41 PM
Only frustrating thing about watching this is it should really be 7 or 8!
03-10-2024, 08:42 PM
Fernandes off again. He's a bam, not fit to be a United captain.
Fernandes off 2nd Yellow, sums up everything wrong with United that this moaning faced git of a player is their captain.
03-10-2024, 08:46 PM
They've went the rookie route, the experienced route and the steady Eddie route and nothing has worked, there's something rotten at that club, don't know what but some of these very good players always seem to turn to tripe after a short while, why is the big question. I think it's too many players on overly large wages and little motivation, little connection to the club, one player who was that type of player was McTominay and they sold him for some explicable reason.
Agree completely and said much the same on here last week. S***e manager, fire him. New one is s***e anaw, fire him. Ad infinitum....
03-10-2024, 08:48 PM
I take it UEFA don't have fitness tests for linesmen.
Bridge hibs
03-10-2024, 08:48 PM
He alwaysh talksh like that
03-10-2024, 08:50 PM
He alwaysh talksh like that
Definitely worse than usual.
03-10-2024, 08:51 PM
very disappointing Lyon haven't killed them as a club
03-10-2024, 08:53 PM
Fair play to ETH, I wondered why he sent on slabheid but he's gone and scored lol.
03-10-2024, 08:53 PM
3-3 porto
03-10-2024, 08:55 PM
Glasgow 2 - 11 Europe :greengrin
timewilltell
03-10-2024, 09:05 PM
Scottish football is so far behind ....and it'll get worse.
03-10-2024, 09:32 PM
Scottish football is so far behind ....and it'll get worse.
Well there’s little chance that it’ll get any better if, as they keep saying, purchasing power is the crux of success. Lyon are in the lower half of Ligue 1.
04-10-2024, 07:46 AM