View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

07-06-2024, 08:41 PM
This includes the Euros btw

09-06-2024, 12:34 PM
Will we beat 17,619 posts from last season 🤔 !

09-06-2024, 01:51 PM
Will we beat 17,619 posts from last season 🤔 !

You started the replies so I'll make it two. :greengrin

09-06-2024, 04:37 PM
Soccer aid 19:30 ITV, usually an entertaining watch, no idea who's participating for each team.

09-06-2024, 08:20 PM
Great goal from Defoe, even though against a few celebs and an ex heavyweight boxer in goal 😁

09-06-2024, 08:22 PM
Looked a really poor tackle on Bolt when he had his shot

09-06-2024, 08:35 PM
friendly

FT Slovakia 4 Wales 0

FT Mexico 2 Brazil 3

09-06-2024, 08:48 PM
Tony Bellew on loan get it done Gray

15-06-2024, 09:59 AM
As fitba hangover cures go, straight on to the other two teams in our group is a good way to re-engage with the dream. Hoping Switzerland and Hungary knock lumps out of each other with the red card getting more of a role than last night.

15-06-2024, 10:03 AM
As fitba hangover cures go, straight on to the other two teams in our group is a good way to re-engage with the dream. Hoping Switzerland and Hungary knock lumps out of each other with the red card getting more of a role than last night.Hopefully a draw

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

15-06-2024, 12:57 PM
Hungary look decent odds at 14/5
Edit.no they don't 🙈😂

15-06-2024, 01:03 PM
2 mins in and both of these teams have equalled our shots total from last night 😂

15-06-2024, 01:13 PM
i'm going to predict any loser in this game will not go through

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 01:14 PM
Didn't think it was offside . Switzerland look a good side .

hfcok
15-06-2024, 01:17 PM
These teams look so much fitter, and so much better on the ball than Scotland, dark days ahead.

15-06-2024, 01:19 PM
These teams look so much fitter, and so much better on the ball than Scotland, dark days ahead.

Based on us against Germany maybe. I'm still confident we can get minimum 4 points based on performances against similar levelled teams in competitive fixtures

15-06-2024, 01:20 PM
Switzerland look a good side, Hungary started poorly

15-06-2024, 01:20 PM
Should have been two there for Switzerland

15-06-2024, 01:21 PM
Based on us against Germany maybe. I'm still confident we can get minimum 4 points based on performances against similar levelled teams in competitive fixtures

I wish I had your confidence, both teams will be looking for 3 points from Scotland

15-06-2024, 01:23 PM
I wish I had your confidence, both teams will be looking for 3 points from Scotland

Eternal optimist mate. You'd think I'd know better following Hibs and Scotland eh

15-06-2024, 01:29 PM
The Swiss look miles better than us, no surprise though. Problem is we don't have a Xhaka or a Kroos. Ours is McGregor who is in a class way below them.

15-06-2024, 01:32 PM
The Swiss look miles better than us, no surprise though. Problem is we don't have a Xhaka or a Kroos. Ours is McGregor who is in a class way below them.

Gilmour is the best option we have to get on the ball and get us playing. Does it well in the Premier League regularly.

Xhaka is a good player but Kroos is a different level completely.

15-06-2024, 01:34 PM
Gilmour is the best option we have to get on the ball and get us playing. Does it well in the Premier League regularly.

Xhaka is a good player but Kroos is a different level completely.

He'll be starting on Wednesday that's for sure. I honestly don't care who gets dropped.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 01:34 PM
Switzerland look a good side, Hungary started poorly

I think it's down to Switzerland haven't allowed them to start .

Amazing that a country with a population of over 8 mill compared to Ireland and Scotland can be so good .

hibbie02
15-06-2024, 01:35 PM
Who’s the annoying wee Hungarian who barges players out the way at every throw in and corner. It’s no subtle! Seems planned to create space.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

15-06-2024, 01:36 PM
Who’s the annoying wee Hungarian who barges players out the way at every throw in and corner. It’s no subtle!

Pushkas? 🤭

hibbie02
15-06-2024, 01:37 PM
Pushkas? [emoji2960]

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

He'll be starting on Wednesday that's for sure. I honestly don't care who gets dropped.

Team should be built around him. The likes of McGinn and McTominay will do more eye catching stuff but in terms of running a game, Gilmour is the man.all the best teams have someone in there to do that.

Our best hope out of this group is a draw with Switzerland and win v Hungary to get one of the 3rd place spots. One win won't do it.

15-06-2024, 01:38 PM

4 points will probably not be enough. Say we beat Hungary (doubtful) and sneak a draw with Switzerland. Switzerland’s probable 4 points are very likely be accompanied by a better goal difference ( given our scoreline last night ). We would have to beat Hungary by a big margin.

15-06-2024, 01:45 PM
game
set
and match

15-06-2024, 01:46 PM
We're not getting out of this group lol

15-06-2024, 01:46 PM
Team should be built around him. The likes of McGinn and McTominay will do more eye catching stuff but in terms of running a game, Gilmour is the man.all the best teams have someone in there to do that.

Absolutely agree. I can’t believe how backward Scotland have gone in recent months. It’s almost as if Clarke has changed a formula that was working but for no discernible reason I can see but Gilmour has to start

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 01:47 PM
Some finish there . Switzerland 2-0 Hungary . Game over .

Oops .

15-06-2024, 01:48 PM

If we beat Hungary we should go through. They have been rotten so far today.

4 points will probably not be enough. Say we beat Hungary (doubtful) and sneak a draw with Switzerland. Switzerland’s probable 4 points are very likely be accompanied by a better goal difference ( given our scoreline last night ). We would have to beat Hungary by a big margin.

4pts would surely give us one of the four place best 3rds in the groups.

Why? Hungary making Switzerland look every bit as good as we did Germany last night - and Germany have some world class talent

Wednesday is a different match with a different approach. No reason why we can't get a result

15-06-2024, 01:49 PM
On the bases of what I'm currently watching Switzerland are just a class up on Scotland

15-06-2024, 01:49 PM
4pts would surely give us one of the four place best 3rds in the groups.

Aye that was what my initial 4 point aim was geared towards. We'd need 6 to get out group now that Swiss are 2 up here

15-06-2024, 01:51 PM

That's not right Jim. Four of the six 3rd place teams go through. 4 points would guarantee qualification, 3 points might be enough.

Allan45
Some finish there . Switzerland 2-0 Hungary . Game over .
Good team spirit from Switzerland. We didn't have any yesterday.

Just_Jimmy
4 points will probably not be enough. Say we beat Hungary (doubtful) and sneak a draw with Switzerland. Switzerland’s probable 4 points are very likely be accompanied by a better goal difference ( given our scoreline last night ). We would have to beat Hungary by a big margin.Goal difference isn't first tie break. They said that last night. Don't ask me what is but I'd guess head to head?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Off the bar
15-06-2024, 01:53 PM
Goal difference isn't first tie break. They said that last night. Don't ask me what is but I'd guess head to head?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

It’s head to head

15-06-2024, 01:53 PM
Absolutely agree. I can’t believe how backward Scotland have gone in recent months. It’s almost as if Clarke has changed a formula that was working but for no discernible reason I can see but Gilmour has to start

He’s done the best he can with the talent we have, but he’s a cautious coach who won’t play expansive football - what it’s exposed, and not just under Clarke, is the absolute dearth of quality centre halves and strikers we have in the country. That’s something that the academies and performance schools really have to focus on in the next 5 years, specifically targeting those positions and identifying talent and coaching those positions thoroughly. Too many players who have been midfielders (for example) are later developed as centre halves, strikers later as defenders etc. I remember Paul Hanlon being a high scoring midfielder at youth level as an example. I don’t think we are doing enough to really identify and priority coach the main positions through the age levels.

15-06-2024, 01:56 PM
That's what happens when you don't press the opposition and give them too much space and time on the ball and play too rigid.

15-06-2024, 02:01 PM
Switzerland could have a slight advantage in playing Germany in the last game when the Germans will most likely already have top spot sewn up, but if we beat Switzerland and get a point against Hungary we would have that four points for 2nd spot

of course being Scotland we could beat Switzerland but then get hammered by Hungary :greengrin

i think :eek:

i love all the If's btw :)

15-06-2024, 02:04 PM
Think 3rd place will go down to next Sunday’s game.

15-06-2024, 02:08 PM
Think we will get scudded by both these teams on the showing so far. Grim.

15-06-2024, 02:16 PM
Think we will get scudded by both these teams on the showing so far. Grim.

No seen anything from Hungary to make me think that.

Edit, Hungary started playing since I typed this.

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-06-2024, 02:17 PM
No seen anything from Hungary to make me think that.

Hungary look (and this is hard based off last night) worse than us. Dreadful.

15-06-2024, 02:19 PM
I actually think both these teams are beatable.

Coach Jon
15-06-2024, 02:25 PM
It is 2-1 now, Swiss have sat back this half inexplicably.

15-06-2024, 02:27 PM
Hungary sneaking a draw here would be amazing. We can get results against these two

15-06-2024, 02:28 PM
We are going through with 6 points, you heard it here first. :top marks

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2024, 02:34 PM
We are going through with 6 points, you heard it here first. :top marks

I’m subscribing to the glass half full team and I’ll say that losing in the way we did will produce a more significant response from the players than a 2 or 3 nil score line might have had - mibbies last night might prove not to have been a bad thing after all

15-06-2024, 02:39 PM
Some size the big guy just come on for Hungary

15-06-2024, 02:40 PM
Size of that Hungary number 9 who’s come on. Big lad who looks he’s no stranger to a pie

15-06-2024, 02:40 PM
I’m subscribing to the glass half full team and I’ll say that losing in the way we did will produce a more significant response from the players than a 2 or 3 nil score line might have had - mibbies last night might prove not to have been a bad thing after all

Getting beat 5-1 takes away the fear of getting beat 5-1, kind of way?

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-06-2024, 02:44 PM

Getting battered 5-1 demands a big response, losing 3-0 to Germany is pretty much expected. Hopefully it’s a size 15 boot up the arse and we get a result against these two

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2024, 02:45 PM

Exactly 🤭in reality I think we are doomed ah tell ye - doomed

15-06-2024, 02:51 PM
Hungary having been rotten at the back

15-06-2024, 02:52 PM
Size of that Hungary number 9 who’s come on. Big lad who looks he’s no stranger to a pie

I'm now convinced Conrad Logan has a Hungarian granny.

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-06-2024, 02:56 PM
Two up top against Hungary is a must

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 03:00 PM
Two totally different halfs of football . Good game though.

15-06-2024, 03:48 PM
Swiss looked dodgy from crosses from the left. Should be a tactic for us if we can get anyone into the box.

15-06-2024, 04:05 PM
Are all teams supplied by Adidas using the same template? Scotland, Germany, Hungary, Spain, all with the same design different colour. How dull.

Off the bar
15-06-2024, 04:33 PM
2-0 Spain

15-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Spain looking useful here

15-06-2024, 04:34 PM
La Roja 2-0 up already.

Green Reaper
15-06-2024, 04:49 PM
3-0

3-0 ht

3-0 ht.

3 0

15-06-2024, 04:52 PM
Spain looking useful here

They’re a different class. Croatia is a decent side but can’t handle Spain.

15-06-2024, 04:52 PM
Spain certainly look decent

15-06-2024, 04:55 PM
Great first half from Spain. 13 goals in 2.5 games to date thats some going Euros off with a bang!

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 05:00 PM
Spain looking good . Not a bad bet at 8/1 .

15-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Bit like last night this in that I can’t work out if Spain are really good or if it’s because Croatia are really poor.

15-06-2024, 05:07 PM
Spain looking good . Not a bad bet at 8/1 .

Maybe mate, but things evolve during the tournament. Not often the team that looks the hottest after the first few games goes on to win the tournament. The only purpose the group matches serve is to get to the knock out stage. Tournament football. No doubt Spain played very well in that first half.

15-06-2024, 05:16 PM
The 16 year old playing for Spain is sensational .

15-06-2024, 05:40 PM
What is that all about from the Croatian player. Burst the net instead of taking the dive to get the Spain player sent off.

15-06-2024, 05:40 PM
3-1.

15-06-2024, 05:43 PM
Back to 3-0 😃

Croatia score from pen and now it's been disallowed so back to 3-0. I've no idea what's happening lol.

Dreadful referee decision a straight red card surely 😠

15-06-2024, 05:45 PM
Back to 3-0 😃

Should have scored when they had the chance instead of trying to get Rodri sent off.

15-06-2024, 05:47 PM
I don’t think it was a penalty in the first place.The Croatian’s studs stuck in the ground.

15-06-2024, 05:47 PM
Dreadful referee decision a straight red card surely 😠

Agree if it was a penalty. To be honest I was surprised VAR upheld that. I thought he kicked the ground and dived.

15-06-2024, 06:23 PM
Agree if it was a penalty. To be honest I was surprised VAR upheld that. I thought he kicked the ground and dived.

Just goes to show that VAR is highly debatable worldwide, and only as effective as the ‘impartial’ armchair ‘referees’ making the decisions.

15-06-2024, 07:02 PM
Shocking goal to concede

28 seconds 1-0 Albania

Quickest ever Euros goal?

15-06-2024, 07:07 PM
official 23 seconds...i think they're wrong :)

anyway, fastest ever

15-06-2024, 07:11 PM
wan-wan

two-wan Italy

var checking

goal stands

15-06-2024, 07:13 PM
Enjoying this game

15-06-2024, 07:14 PM
I know they usually have a few ****houses in their team, but I always want Italy to do well. Probably cause I grew up watching Football Italia.

Halmyre Hibee
15-06-2024, 07:16 PM
Should have seen my wife’s face when Albania scored. She’s Scots born with Italian parents.

15-06-2024, 07:17 PM
That's a good good goal.

pollution
15-06-2024, 07:20 PM
Should have seen my wife’s face when Albania scored. She’s Scots born with Italian parents.

4 1 to Italy tonight

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 08:44 PM
Italy should have put this game to bed ages ago . Wonder will Albania get one good chance to level this .

15-06-2024, 08:55 PM
Italy should have put this game to bed ages ago . Wonder will Albania get one good chance to level this .

They’re not doing enough to put the game to bed. It’s totally about possession with little or no desire to score. Keep the ball and the opposition can’t score. Quite boring in my opinion. Hope they get their comeuppance eventually.

15-06-2024, 08:57 PM
FT 2-1

another tough one up next for Albania on thursday v Croatia

Paul1642
15-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Albania put a little pressure on towards the end but Italy should have put it together long before. Italian win was definitely best for Scotland in our hope of being a best 3rd place team. We really want every group winner and second place (outwith our own group if it’s not us) to win every game other than the game between 1st and 2nd.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 09:01 PM
They’re not doing enough to put the game to bed. It’s totally about possession with little or no desire to score. Keep the ball and the opposition can’t score. Quite boring in my opinion. Hope they get their comeuppance eventually.

Italy had a couple of good chances to go 3-1 in the first half . 2nd half was boring . Disappointed in Italy tbh .

15-06-2024, 09:21 PM

My partner's parents are Albanian and the look of incredulity on her face when I showed her the score after 5 minutes was quite something.

16-06-2024, 11:03 AM
Poland vs Netherlands should be a really good game. Prior to losing FDG and others I fancied Netherlands to go far

Then it's Slovenia vs Denmark before England kick off tonight vs Serbia

16-06-2024, 01:03 PM
Even this early, it looks like Poland could do a Scotland here.

16-06-2024, 01:17 PM
1-0 Poland. Think we’ve got a game on our hands here.

16-06-2024, 01:17 PM
Called it 🤣

16-06-2024, 01:18 PM
Yes for the Poles

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 01:34 PM
Good game this so far .

16-06-2024, 01:55 PM
Half Time 1-1

Dutch had plenty chances

16-06-2024, 02:01 PM
BBC managing to find 2 minutes left at half time to chat about England.

16-06-2024, 02:09 PM
BBC managing to find 2 minutes left at half time to chat about England.

Good segment on Scotland too, for balance... 😒

16-06-2024, 02:21 PM
well done Poland taking the game to the Dutch

2-1 Netherlands 83 mins super sub

16-06-2024, 02:43 PM
Weghorst only on the park for 2 mins

16-06-2024, 02:43 PM
Good segment on Scotland too, for balance... 😒
And on the tragic death of Kevin Campbell

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 02:46 PM
Polish CH should have done better .

16-06-2024, 02:46 PM
https://x.com/fbawaydays/status/1802347596666568900?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

England and Serbia fans clashing.

16-06-2024, 02:49 PM
https://x.com/fbawaydays/status/1802347596666568900?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Have to be the worst fans in world football. Entitled ***** as well.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 03:05 PM
David Moyes speaks well imo .

16-06-2024, 03:17 PM
Bbc doing a great job at keeping us informed on what's happening with England. Another update following on from a small segment at half time

16-06-2024, 03:27 PM
In Germany does STV and bbc have Scottish coverage for our games

16-06-2024, 03:55 PM
Are all teams supplied by Adidas using the same template? Scotland, Germany, Hungary, Spain, all with the same design different colour. How dull.

No - they have some similar points, but all are really quite different, not least of all the Scotland one which has a pattern that is totally unique.

16-06-2024, 03:58 PM

Have to be the worst fans in world football. Entitled ***** as well.

It's not English on this occasion, Albanians and Serbs.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/world/violence-england-serbia-euro-2024-fan-clash-b1164704.html

16-06-2024, 04:00 PM
Back-to-back horrendous commentators. Total pish coverage today.

16-06-2024, 04:08 PM
Controversial opinion incoming…but women commentators on the men’s game just isn’t for me.

16-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Controversial opinion incoming…but women commentators on the men’s game just isn’t for me.

The two we’ve had today are very, very poor.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 04:32 PM

Might be controversial though one I agree with.

16-06-2024, 04:34 PM
The two we’ve had today are very, very poor.
You can include McCoist with that. Guy grates with me sound off now.

16-06-2024, 04:46 PM
Might be controversial though one I agree with.

It's just because it sounds unfamiliar. Don't think they add anything less or more than men commentators.

The insight, in theory atleast, should come from the ex pro co commentator.

Paul1642
16-06-2024, 04:49 PM
You can include McCoist with that. Guy grates with me sound off now.

Best British commentator by a long shot. I think he’s really good.

LewysGot2
16-06-2024, 04:51 PM
It's just because it sounds unfamiliar. Don't think they add anything less or more than men commentators.

The insight, in theory atleast, should come from the ex pro co commentator.

As if we're awash with outstanding commentators of any age, sex, nationality or background.

16-06-2024, 04:58 PM

Nothing against them as such, but tge one on the earlier game, her voice was just grating on the ears, volume quickly turned down.

LewysGot2
16-06-2024, 05:05 PM
https://x.com/BillyMeredithMU/status/1802291400077193461

16-06-2024, 05:09 PM
I don’t think it’s a male / female thing but I loved the much maligned commentators we had from the 80s through to maybe the past 5-10 years.

Barry Davies, Motson, Martin Tyler, even the more peripheral ones were great.

Watching the game here, I don’t even know who she is - but she seems perfectly acceptable to me, not grinding my gears like the men so often do.

16-06-2024, 05:34 PM
Slovenia have deserved that equaliser

16-06-2024, 05:38 PM

Definitely agree, but thought we might not be allowed to say that 🙄

16-06-2024, 05:41 PM

Don’t get me started on Eni Aluko…

Paul1642
16-06-2024, 05:42 PM

Very well deserved. Probably not a great goal from Scotlands aim be a best 3rd placed team though and Slovenia have every chance in being one.

16-06-2024, 05:42 PM

😂😂

16-06-2024, 05:44 PM
Good thing about watching all this on Danish Telly is I have no idea what the commentators are saying! 😁

16-06-2024, 05:44 PM

People are free to have that opinion if they like. I'm genuinely intrigued as to why you don't like it though?

Commentators are not ex professionals so they aren't paid for insight into the technical elements of the game. They are paid to commentate on what is happening on the pitch. The female commentators do that fine.

Is it just the sound of the female voice that annoys you?

I can understand to a certain degree the discussion around having female pundits in the studio as they haven't played the game at anywhere near the same standard or levels of pressure that guys like Keane, Neville ect. I can see the argument around the fact due to that they are unable to offer the same level of insight. That doesn't apply to commenting on a game though.

16-06-2024, 05:49 PM
People are free to have that opinion if they like. I'm genuinely intrigued as to why you don't like it though?

Commentators are not ex professionals so they aren't paid for insight into the technical elements of the game. They are paid to commentate on what is happening on the pitch. The female commentators do that fine.

Is it just the sound of the female voice that annoys you?

I can understand to a certain degree the discussion around having female pundits in the studio as they haven't played the game at anywhere near the same standard or levels of pressure that guys like Keane, Neville ect. I can see the argument around the fact due to that they are unable to offer the same level of insight. That doesn't apply to commenting on a game though.

For me, in commentary, it’s the voice.

As a pundit in the studio, they should be absolutely nowhere near a microphone.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 05:49 PM
If it stays like this , Serbia could go top of the group tonight :greengrin

16-06-2024, 05:51 PM
For me, in commentary, it’s the voice.

As a pundit in the studio, they should be absolutely nowhere near a microphone.

That's fair enough, as I said everyone is entitled to an opinion.

I do however personally find it odd people are annoyed simply by a female voice.

16-06-2024, 05:52 PM
They did but have to say England will have no trouble topping the group if they play their A game.

16-06-2024, 05:55 PM

I do however personally find it odd people are annoyed simply by a female voice.

You haven’t met my missus.

16-06-2024, 06:01 PM
You haven’t met my missus.

16-06-2024, 06:03 PM

On a serious note it is really bizarre that she continues to be employed as a pundit by ITV. I can only assume they are scared of her legal team if they stop employing her.

16-06-2024, 06:07 PM
On a serious note it is really bizarre that she continues to be employed as a pundit by ITV. I can only assume they are scared of her legal team if they stop employing her.

She’s a serial whinger who thinks she’s criticised because of her colour. It’s not that, it’s because she’s ****ing hopeless.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 06:11 PM
Wee Quiz here . Hopefully it works for most of you .
https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/football-quiz-can-you-name-the-european-championships-top-scorers-since-2000

16-06-2024, 06:19 PM

I think there is a name for it.

16-06-2024, 06:20 PM

There he is though.

Let me guess, is it “sexist”?

I’m not sexist, most of my dinners are made by women.

Paul1642
16-06-2024, 06:26 PM

There is. Nobody should be criticised or withheld from a job based on gender or race however nor should these things make you immune from criticism.

In fairness the female commentator for the Denmark game was absolutely fine IMO. Didn’t add anything particularly insightful, but she was decent.

Eni Aluko however has been mentioned a few posts back and she is beyond terrible. It’s not sexist or racist to say so. She is just beyond terrible at her job.

16-06-2024, 06:27 PM
There he is though.

Let me guess, is it “sexist”?

I’m not sexist, most of my dinners are made by women.

No. I think it's called misogyny.

16-06-2024, 06:29 PM
There is. Nobody should be criticised or withheld form a for gender or race extra but nor should these things make you immune form criticism.

In fairness the female commentator for the Denmark game was absolutely fine IMO. Didn’t add anything particularly insightful, but she was decent.

Eni Aluko however has been mentioned a few posts back and she is beyond terrible. It’s not sexist or racist to say so. She is just terrible at her job.

Would I be allowed to say that I don’t understand anything in your first paragraph?:greengrin

16-06-2024, 06:29 PM
There is. Nobody should be criticised or withheld form a for gender or race extra but nor should these things make you immune form criticism.

Eni Aluko however has been mentioned a few posts back and she is beyond terrible. It’s not sexist or racist to say so. She is just terrible at her job.

I agree. Disliking a female commentator because of the things they say is fine.

Disliking them because they are female isn't fine.

Eni Aluko is awful, no doubt about that. She has ever right to do her job, though.

16-06-2024, 06:31 PM
There is. Nobody should be criticised or withheld from a job gender or race extra but nor should these things make you immune form criticism.

Eni Aluko however has been mentioned a few posts back and she is beyond terrible. It’s not sexist or racist to say so. She is just beyond terrible at her job.

I think the thing that stands out on this thread though is nobody has actually criticised the commentator for her ability to commentate.

Posters just simply said they don't really like female commentators. That's, at best, a rather odd take on it.

16-06-2024, 06:34 PM
I think the thing that stands out on this thread though is nobody has actually criticised the commentator for her ability to commentate.

Posters just simply said they don't really like female commentators. That's, at best, a rather odd take on it.

I’ve said it’s the voice. Rightly or wrongly, it’s the voice.

I just prefer a man’s voice for football commentating, it’s what I’m used to and it’s what I like.

Paul1642
16-06-2024, 06:35 PM
Would I be allowed to say that I don’t understand anything in your first paragraph?:greengrin

Would you believe I’ve not even had a beer 😂

Since edited to something that hopefully resembles sense :)

16-06-2024, 06:37 PM
That’s a more than decent looking England team, Southgate being bold. It will be a major shock if they don’t win this one tonight, looking forward to seeing how it plays out.

16-06-2024, 06:37 PM

There have been scientific studies which show that in general people tend to perceive lower male voices as more authoritative and trustworthy than female voices. Not really misogynistic to have a preference in line with general human nature.

16-06-2024, 06:38 PM
There have been scientific studies which show that in general people tend to perceive lower male voices as more authoritative and trustworthy than female voices. Not really misogynistic to have a preference in line with general human nature.

Strap yourself in, you’re in for a long evening now.

16-06-2024, 06:39 PM
She’s a serial whinger who thinks she’s criticised because of her colour. It’s not that, it’s because she’s ****ing hopeless.

:agree: A stuttering mess, similar to Kris Boyd.

It really is.

No it's not:hilarious

16-06-2024, 06:40 PM
Would you believe I’ve not even had a beer 😂

Since edited to something that hopefully resembles sense :)

I knew there would be a sensible reason behind the interesting format.

16-06-2024, 06:52 PM
Lineker dressed for watching in the pub with the lads rather than fronting the BBC broadcast - You never saw Des Lynam in a battered old grey T-shirt for the big events..

16-06-2024, 06:55 PM
Lineker dressed for watching in the pub with the lads rather than fronting the BBC broadcast - You never saw Des Lynam in a battered old grey T-shirt for the big events..
Because Des was a true professional in all respects.

pollution
16-06-2024, 06:58 PM
Listen to the booing at the anthem. Disgrace

Fans of The Rangers surely now flooding Scotland-supporting social media to decry the English fans booing Serbian anthem. They get really upset about stuff like that.

Listen to the booing at the anthem. Disgrace

England fans really are something else.

Saint Hibee
16-06-2024, 07:01 PM
Jordan Pickford looks like the wee boy from This Is England.

16-06-2024, 07:01 PM
Because Des was a true professional in all respects.

Ah yes, the halcyon days of the likes of Des and Frank Bough - who you could trust never to get caught in questionable attire.

16-06-2024, 07:02 PM
Expect England to win this with a bit to spare. Would like to see Serbia score first to make a game of it though.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 07:03 PM
That's one strong England team . Anyhow Cmon Serbia.

Green forever
16-06-2024, 07:05 PM
That's one strong England team . Anyhow Cmon Serbia.

Sadly true, the entire bench would walk into the Scotland team.
Mon' the Serbia

16-06-2024, 07:07 PM
Ah yes, the halcyon days of the likes of Des and Frank Bough - who you could trust never to get caught in questionable attire.:greengrin

16-06-2024, 07:09 PM
Sadly true, the entire bench would walk into the Scotland team.
Mon' the Serbia
Have Serbia touched the ball yet?

16-06-2024, 07:14 PM
Quality goal

16-06-2024, 07:15 PM
Well worked goal. Defender didn't put up much of a challenge

16-06-2024, 07:16 PM
Evidence so far suggests an easy night ahead for England.

16-06-2024, 07:17 PM
Oh well, might as well watch something else now rather than a routine England win.

16-06-2024, 07:17 PM
Can talk about all their talent but that was just proper desire from Bellingham.

16-06-2024, 07:22 PM
Can talk about all their talent but that was just proper desire from Bellingham.

16-06-2024, 07:25 PM
Bellingham is a knob

16-06-2024, 07:27 PM
I’m quite indifferent to England’s success or otherwise. To be honest, I’ve never really ever ‘hated’ them but, like most folk, I get peed off with the media and fan hype, so if they don’t do the business, I’ll be smugly content. I think they are an excellent team and, for me, it’s satisfying to see good football being rewarded.

16-06-2024, 07:27 PM
England are pissing about with it at the back and Sevia have had a couple of good chances. Not a foregone conclusion just yet.

I expect psycho Pickford to do something daft at some point!

Tully
16-06-2024, 07:31 PM
Is sherear the most boring clown on commentary

16-06-2024, 07:37 PM
England look a wee bit disjointed to me, no real fluency to what they are doing.

Will still be more than enough to beat this Serbia side but they'll need to improve (which I'm sure will happen) if they are serious about winning the whole thing. From the big guns both Spain and Germany have looked more cohesive so far.

pollution
16-06-2024, 07:37 PM
Serbia remind me of the boring negative east European football from the seventies and eighties.
No ambition and even less skill.

16-06-2024, 07:38 PM
Serbia been better last 5-10 minutes. They just need to stay in the game because England have got gears to go up in the final third.

Saint Hibee
16-06-2024, 07:39 PM

Surely that award goes to Lee Dixon?

16-06-2024, 07:40 PM
He is full of himself tonight One of the reasons I don’t like watching England
There is an arrogance about commentators and pundits , which isn’t based on what they haven’t done in tournaments
Serbia are one of the poorer qualifiers ffs They ain’t World beaters
Yet they are only 1 0 up

16-06-2024, 07:43 PM
Right up there with Danny Murphy, or Danny Mills, or Lee Dixon or etc etc

Theyre all the ******g same until they get knocked out (unbearable)

16-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Serbia remind me of the boring negative east European football from the seventies and eighties.
No ambition and even less skill.

So Scotland on Friday night? 😅

Rumble de Thump
16-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Serbian wins the ball and gets clattered into by Bellingham who had lost the ball. Foul to England and yellow card for Serbian. Standard.

16-06-2024, 07:49 PM
Serbia been better last 5-10 minutes. They just need to stay in the game because England have got gears to go up in the final third.

They are missing that final pass. England don't look too clever at the back.

16-06-2024, 07:49 PM

Doing my nut in, had to turn the sound right down.

16-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Very good start from England

But Serbia have come in to it. And making a game of it without creating much

"The game isn't won yet" according to thr commentator. He seemed shocked

16-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Vlahovic has been absolutely hopeless. Could do with him turning up if they're going to get anything.

16-06-2024, 07:52 PM
Very good start from England

But Serbia have come in to it. And making a game of it without creating much

"The game isn't won yet" according to thr commentator. He seemed shocked

Serbia have grew into the game and are a decent team. Their decision making up front has been poor though.

16-06-2024, 07:55 PM
We'd have a chance if we were in this group.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 07:57 PM
First 20 minutes England looked good though for the players they have , I would have expected them to be better than they have been .

16-06-2024, 08:13 PM
Kane apparently had only two touches in the first half. Considering their possession you might have expected him to be a bit more involved. Commentator making a positive comment on his lack of involvement. :rolleyes:

pollution
16-06-2024, 08:13 PM
Better Serbia

16-06-2024, 08:14 PM
Serbia now playing against England like we should have done against Germany. England look unsettled now.

16-06-2024, 08:15 PM
If England are going to go far in this tournament then the draw needs to be kind. Spain and Germany are miles above them.

16-06-2024, 08:20 PM
Tripper might've got away with one there

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Rumble de Thump
16-06-2024, 08:21 PM
Tripper might've got away with one there

He took out the man and made no effort to get near the ball.

16-06-2024, 08:22 PM
I’m watching with the sound down but did that not look like a reasonable penalty claim?

16-06-2024, 08:22 PM
Would have been soft, but Trippier makes no attempt to play the ball and pushes Mitrovic from behind, not side by side. Surprised VAR didn’t even check it.

bringbackbenny
16-06-2024, 08:23 PM
If that had been at the other end Shearer would have spontaneously combusted!

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 08:24 PM
I'd have definitely gave Serbia a penalty for that maybe even two ! 😆

16-06-2024, 08:25 PM
Guy Mowbray is every bit as useless as any female lead commentator out there

Brutal listen this

Fuzzywuzzy
16-06-2024, 08:26 PM
Guy Mowbray is every bit as useless as any female lead commentator out there

Brutal listen this

Defensive sponge instead of under pressure😂

Paul1642
16-06-2024, 08:27 PM
If England are going to go far in this tournament then the draw needs to be kind. Spain and Germany are miles above them.

And we are yet to see France and Portugal play.

England has a great chance 3 years go in that pretty much all of your traditionally strong nations were just not at it.

I certainly won’t write them off this year but they probably won’t have any ‘easy’ games from the quarter finals onwards this time around and will need to be at their very best to beat the above mentioned 4 teams.

16-06-2024, 08:28 PM
Would have been soft, but Trippier makes no attempt to play the ball and pushes Mitrovic from behind, not side by side. Surprised VAR didn’t even check it.I'm watching in Spanish but the first replay they showed had trippiers foot connecting with his shin

Looked a clear pen tbh

England are making hard work of this.

Serbia have stepped up for the second half

16-06-2024, 08:29 PM
And we are yet to see France and Portugal play.

England has a great chance 3 years go in that pretty much all of your traditionally strong nations were just not at it.

I certainly won’t write them off this year but they probably won’t have any ‘easy’ games from the quarter finals onwards this time around and will need to be at their very best to beat the above mentioned 4 teams.

They also played all games bar one or 2 at home

This group has never really been under pressure. This tournament they are favourites (or joint with framce depending on bookmaker) so let's see how they adapt to that

jakedance
16-06-2024, 08:32 PM
Serbia now showing how much you can unsettle a good team by playing with pace, urgency and aggression. Scotland take note please.

16-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Serbia just lacking in the final third. For all their talent, England created very little.

bringbackbenny
16-06-2024, 08:35 PM
Serbia now showing how much you can unsettle a good team by playing with pace, urgency and aggression. Scotland take note please.

Spot on - you cannot be passive in these games

16-06-2024, 08:37 PM
Great save

16-06-2024, 08:37 PM
Great save, but Kane should score from there.

16-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Great save, but Kane should score from there.

Definitely

16-06-2024, 08:44 PM
Another great save, at the other end
England hanging on here.

16-06-2024, 08:45 PM
Decent enough save. One you'd expect however

Commentators would have Pickford knighted for it though

16-06-2024, 08:46 PM
Kane really does like to sit on the grass

16-06-2024, 08:47 PM
Serbia are so on top this half. They’ll be regretting giving England too much respect in the first half when pressing a bit more could have changed the result. England will probably hold on but have shown they’re not the tournament favourites after all.

16-06-2024, 08:47 PM
Foden is the new sterling. On his arse every 2 minutes wanting fouls.

16-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Foden is the new sterling. On his arse every 2 minutes wanting fouls.

Whole team are at it

16-06-2024, 08:50 PM
Same issues as World Cup for England at the back.

This team will concede against better attacks.

16-06-2024, 08:50 PM
Serbia are so on top this half. They’ll be regretting giving England too much respect in the first half when pressing a bit more could have changed the result. England will probably hold on but have shown they’re not the tournament favourites after all.

They look pretty average ever since they scored. It seems a bit disjointed.

16-06-2024, 08:54 PM
That was not the performance of champions. I hope.

jakedance
16-06-2024, 08:54 PM
Kane is one of the worst divers in football. No idea how the refs fall for it.

16-06-2024, 08:55 PM
As usual they'll be out against the first good team they face.

They'll try dive and cheat their way through though.

Why did Tadic no start ?

Looks like Marcondes on steroids

England will be glad to get the win, but Serbia deserved a share of the points

jamie_1875
England don't look like favourites based on this, a good performance but a draw would have been a fair result.

bringbackbenny
Kane is one of the worst divers in football. No idea how the refs fall for it.

It's mental isn't it 😅. Such soft refereeing conned time and time again.

16-06-2024, 08:56 PM
England won’t win the Euro’s.

Rumble de Thump
Should have been 1-1. Ref helped them big time to sprinkle glitter on the dog poo.

It's mental isn't it 😅. Such soft refereeing conned time and time again.

Yep I remember how it was always these foreigners who did all the diving now Engerlund are the experts.

16-06-2024, 08:57 PM
England have no chance of winning this tournament.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 09:00 PM
That Serbia teams ranked something like 33rd in the world , if they play like that against France , spain etc they will get beat .

16-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Would love us to play as crap as them and still get a win.

16-06-2024, 09:04 PM
Argentina won the world cup after losing the first game against Saudi Arabia.

You can't right off England after one game (that they actually won).