View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

16-06-2024, 09:06 PM
Argentina won the world cup after losing the first game against Saudi Arabia.

You can't right off England after one game (that they actually won).

Yeah you can, they are pish 🤣

scm70nyd1973
16-06-2024, 09:07 PM
Kane is one of the worst divers in football. No idea how the refs fall for it.

Agreed and nor do I re having him sussed - he’s almost as bad as Neymar and that’s saying something 😡

Would love us to play as crap as them and still get a win.

The difference is the quality of player they have. They’ll cruise through the group but there is still something lacking there.

Rumble de Thump
Would love us to play as crap as them and still get a win.

Serbia are the pot 4 team. England won't get another game as easy as that. They'll need to up their game significantly and hope their future opponents are not at their best.

16-06-2024, 09:13 PM
Job done with 3 points on the board but less than convincing for large parts

Foden and Kane ineffective for most parts

HarpOnHibee
16-06-2024, 09:16 PM
Argentina won the world cup after losing the first game against Saudi Arabia.

Good point. We're still on to win this thing.

:saltireflag

scm70nyd1973
16-06-2024, 09:17 PM

It seemed like they were outmuscled and not in top fitness - just an observation from me.

16-06-2024, 09:18 PM
It seemed like they were outmuscled and not in top fitness - just an observation from me.

Kane was injured towards end of the season wasn't he? Certainly struggled big time

16-06-2024, 09:20 PM

They’re bigging up the Kane header in the second half but, for me, he was climbing with hands on the back of the defender……. a clear foul. If he had scored, Var would have chalked it off.

scm70nyd1973
16-06-2024, 09:25 PM
They’re bigging up the Kane header in the second half but, for me, he was climbing with hands on the back of the defender……. a clear foul. If he had scored, Var would have chalked it off.

100% -not a mention of it in the commentary - I’m sure it would have been disallowed - don’t think the Serbs penalty claim would have been given if VAR had got involved

16-06-2024, 09:36 PM
Good point. We're still on to win this thing.

:saltireflag

Only now to find our Messi 😄

babahibs
16-06-2024, 09:44 PM
3 points, that's all that matters. Job done.
They're still very much one of the favourites.

16-06-2024, 10:03 PM
3 points, that's all that matters. Job done.
They're still very much one of the favourites.

They are clearly but not impressive

babahibs
16-06-2024, 10:27 PM
They are clearly but not impressive

They were impressive for the first half hour, they can build on that.

I thought Foden was poor, Kane was marked out the game. Bellingham was very good, Rice was immense.

They're contenders, without a doubt.

16-06-2024, 10:41 PM

I thought Foden was poor, Kane was marked out the game. Bellingham was very good, Rice was immense.

Foden never kicks a ball for England. They won job done and clearly can win it but not hugely impressive

16-06-2024, 11:37 PM
England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 3 points in the bag, job done. It’s not how you start the tournament, it’s how you build momentum going through it to reaching your peak of performance. England will go far.

Donegal Hibby
16-06-2024, 11:56 PM

First 20 minutes or so they were though far from impressive after that IMO .

Bellingham and Rice are two class acts .Kane probably was marked out of the game and didn't really get the service in fairness .

Foden was poor , wonder will Southgate make a change there next game ? . Anthony Gordon wouldn't be a bad choice btw .

Certainly contenders with the quality of players they have though performance wise they will have to raise their game considerably if they are going to win it .

17-06-2024, 05:15 AM
Without Jude and Jordan they'd be snookered.

17-06-2024, 05:40 AM
England started well but only had 1 shot on goal in 1st half.

Once Serbia settled they looked like they could equalise.

Foden is a quality player but don’t think the way England play him does him any favours.

What’s obvious is that if England want to win the tournament they will have to defend better. Going forward they have goals in them but at the back even last night a better team would have scored against them. I don’t rate Pickford and feel he has a mistake in him.

If I looked at the draw correctly England should get to at least the QF then could easily play Italy - beat them and semis maybe France or Spain.

The Euros don’t have the same pressure (due to less teams) as a World Cup so they could easily win the whole thing but it wouldn’t eclipse 1966 until a World Cup is won.

17-06-2024, 01:30 PM
Fine strike for Romania, Stanciu 1-0.

17-06-2024, 02:11 PM
Another decent strike, 2-0, keeper at fault a tad.

17-06-2024, 02:12 PM
2 fantastic goals by Romania.

17-06-2024, 02:13 PM
Zibby alive and well. 2-0 Romania.

17-06-2024, 02:15 PM
There’s a 3rd….

17-06-2024, 02:16 PM
Romania must have missed the Jim White memo to let Ukraine win.

Paul1642
17-06-2024, 02:17 PM
Euros refs showing how slick VAR checks should be.

17-06-2024, 02:24 PM
Euros refs showing how slick VAR checks should be.

Not sure what it means but, is it not semi automated now? 🤔

17-06-2024, 02:28 PM
Think the refs have been good so far. Even the video checks quickz

Compare to our jokers we have.

17-06-2024, 04:10 PM
1-0 Slovakia v Belgium

17-06-2024, 05:11 PM
Will be a short tournament for Belgium if Doku is their big threat. What a downgrade from Hazard. Been awful.

(He'll score now)

17-06-2024, 05:16 PM
Must be offside, surely...

17-06-2024, 05:21 PM
Excellent - I don't know what it is, but I've developed a real dislike to Belgium over the years (though their beer is still world leading :greengrin).

Still 0-1 Slovakia, but Belgium dominant.

17-06-2024, 05:24 PM
Will be a short tournament for Belgium if Doku is their big threat. What a downgrade from Hazard. Been awful.

(He'll score now)

He’s absolutely electric. Probably the fastest feet in football, I love watching him.

17-06-2024, 05:30 PM
He’s absolutely electric. Probably the fastest feet in football, I love watching him.

Yeah? Absolutely mince in the box. 1 step above Alan O'Brien. Been a man down here. And cost the goal.
Gives it away again as I'm typing.

And again.

17-06-2024, 05:30 PM

i do too, his end product isn't always great but the excitement when players like him get the ball is why I love football

Belgium are weird, they are excellent and ***** at the same time, they have really underachieved with the players they've had over the last 10 years or so

17-06-2024, 05:34 PM
i do too, his end product isn't always great but the excitement when players like him get the ball is why I love football

Belgium are weird, they are excellent and ***** at the same time, they have really underachieved with the players they've had over the last 10 years or so

I’m in absolute agreement on both paragraphs, Sir.

17-06-2024, 05:35 PM
Thought Doku was electric first 15-20 but not done much since. No real end product and has just wanted to hug the touchline 2nd half (maybe on instruction).

Can still see Belgium nicking one as Slovakia are another team who seem determined to play out from the back even when about 90% of the chances Belgium have had have been from their mistakes when doing so.

17-06-2024, 05:35 PM

They should've won euro 2016. That was their chance. Dreadful manager at the time in Wilmots.

They were brilliant in 2018 but lost to a better team in France.

17-06-2024, 05:38 PM
Belgium always just seem so devoid of passion. They have had great players but they always seem to be lacking something.

Their players never seem to bust a gut and their fans probably wouldn't be mentioned if a poll of best fans at the tournament was conducted.

They are just always a big predictable and meh.

17-06-2024, 05:46 PM
1-1

Edit: disallowed

17-06-2024, 05:48 PM
You cannot rule a goal out for that FFS...

17-06-2024, 05:48 PM
****ing VAR man. Killing any spontaneity in the game.

No point in celebrating any goal until the killjoys have scrutinised for a toenail offside 3 weeks past Monday.

17-06-2024, 05:49 PM
Using soundwaves and vibration to pick up the slightest of touches.

I don't really want Belgium to get anything from this game but that's a joke.

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2024, 05:50 PM
VAR is killing the game . Absolutely hate it .

17-06-2024, 05:51 PM

Same. This is the kind of thing that puts me off watching games on TV. It’s bad enough at Hibs games. Totally losing interest.

hibbytam
17-06-2024, 05:57 PM

But it was the right decision?

17-06-2024, 06:03 PM

Was it?

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2024, 06:08 PM

I don't think it was , the guys fighting to hold off the defender and imo it's a totally accidental handball.

17-06-2024, 06:23 PM
Surely if they need audio to determine if he actually handled it or no then it’s not a “clear and obvious” error?

17-06-2024, 06:44 PM
Horrendous decision. Tbh the ref had a terrible game imo with some of the bookings and fouls he was giving bit that took the Biscuit

What relevance is sound waves to whether it was a handball or not? If the ref cannot look at that and determine via a replay at real speed whether or not the player intentionally handballed it, or his arm was in some unnatural position then pack it all up and go home

17-06-2024, 06:47 PM
Horrendous decision. Tbh the ref had a terrible game imo with some of the bookings and fouls he was giving bit that took the Biscuit

What relevance is sound waves to whether it was a handball or not? If the ref cannot look at that and determine via a replay at real speed whether or not the player intentionally handballed it, or his arm was in some unnatural position then pack it all up and go home

Can't wait to see the SPFL's version of the snickometer.

pollution
17-06-2024, 06:51 PM
I hope we see French flair coming up
Surely they're the favs for the tournament.

17-06-2024, 06:53 PM
Can't wait to see the SPFL's version of the snickometer.

It’ll be Brother Beaton’s heart rate.

17-06-2024, 06:58 PM
VAR killed the Radio Star

17-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Absolutely the right decision. We would be livid if that was against us!! It's not a Mickey mouse 3rd division game, mistakes can't be made at this level.

cubehindthegoal
17-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Using soundwaves and vibration to pick up the slightest of touches.

I don't really want Belgium to get anything from this game but that's a joke.

If that’s the case then we need Professor Brian Cox in to football next. How can you finitely prove sound and vibration waves locate to the position of a player and the contact between each player and ball in context of and taking into account what is visually caught by cameras (and not caught). Definite proof ? If not, then what’s the point?

17-06-2024, 07:11 PM
Mbappe rightly gets all the hype but every time I watch Griezmann I'm in awe how good he is, just makes it all look so simple and obvious

17-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Mbappe rightly gets all the hype but every time I watch Griezmann I'm in awe how good he is, just makes it all look so simple and obvious

Unreal player. So clever.

Victor
17-06-2024, 07:21 PM
Lee Dixon must have some dirt on ITV execs, there is no other reason why he has a job. He brings nothing to the commentary

17-06-2024, 07:36 PM
How can a ref and linesman not see that was a corner. Useless.

17-06-2024, 07:38 PM
1-0 France, own goal.

Off the bar
17-06-2024, 07:39 PM
How can a ref and linesman not see that was a corner. Useless.

Crazy, it was a huge deflection off the keeper, what did they think caused that? Dreadful decision.

1-0 France, own goal.

Ouch. Got to feel for the defender there.

Been very disappointed with France so far, on the other hand I've been really impressed with Austria so far and as I type France score via an own goal.

17-06-2024, 07:41 PM
Ouch. Got to feel for the defender there.

Good header though, well placed into the corner of the net.:greengrin

17-06-2024, 07:49 PM
Good header though, well placed into the corner of the net.:greengrin

17-06-2024, 07:57 PM
Wright cannae half talk some pish, eh

17-06-2024, 08:07 PM
Lee Dixon must have some dirt on ITV execs, there is no other reason why he has a job. He brings nothing to the commentary

Also, if Griezmann was English Dixon would be raging at that sly push into the hoardings .

17-06-2024, 08:10 PM
Also, if Griezmann was English Dixon would be raging at that sly push into the hoardings .

Did I just see the doctor cleaning his bloody wound without wearing gloves? If so, that is contrary to professional medical practice.

17-06-2024, 08:12 PM
That's a howler of an attempt to finish

17-06-2024, 08:13 PM
That's a howler of an attempt to finish

Had to laugh.

17-06-2024, 08:18 PM
Did I just see the doctor cleaning his bloody wound without wearing gloves? If so, that is contrary to professional medical practice.

This reads like a letter to The Times.
Sorry. :greengrin

17-06-2024, 08:25 PM
Been very disappointed with France so far, on the other hand I've been really impressed with Austria so far and as I type France score via an own goal.

I think both teams have been great, just very well matched. We all know Austria are quality these days with the hearts cathro era gegenpress. I yhink theyll be in the ko stages

17-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Hernandez has had a stormer of a game so far, great in attack and defence

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Not sure I entirely agree that's a foul or a yellow card .

17-06-2024, 08:38 PM
So annoying that lee dixon doesn’t understand the rules of the sport he comments on.

17-06-2024, 08:39 PM
https://x.com/pieandbov/status/1802796012798427337?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Sunshine on Leith being sung in Germany.

17-06-2024, 08:39 PM
Hernandez has had a stormer of a game so far, great in attack and defence

So has Rabiot, normally i dont rate him and prefer camavinga in that position

17-06-2024, 08:43 PM
That’s a broken nose !?

Off the bar
17-06-2024, 08:45 PM

And again without gloves on

17-06-2024, 08:46 PM
And again without gloves on

:sauzee: theyre french, they dont do rules and regs

17-06-2024, 08:47 PM
France are so solid, brilliant off the ball.

17-06-2024, 08:48 PM
Nice to see Giroud, legend of the volleyed goal

17-06-2024, 08:51 PM
Nice to see Giroud, legend of the volleyed goal
Vastly under rated player.

SickBoy32
17-06-2024, 08:59 PM
https://x.com/pieandbov/status/1802796012798427337?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Sunshine on Leith being sung in Germany.

Bizarre

Victor
17-06-2024, 08:59 PM

Yes. If a Hibs player did that it would be a certain red card.

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Austria are a good side . Gave the French a game to their credit.

17-06-2024, 09:06 PM
Roy Keane lecturing Mbappe about gamesmanship. Hmm

17-06-2024, 09:06 PM
Austria are a good side . Gave the French a game to their credit.

Yeah. That was a tough test for France and they came through it. Bodes well for them.

17-06-2024, 10:33 PM
This reads like a letter to The Times.
Sorry. :greengrin

That’s ok.:greengrin I get your drift. But, not to overstate the case, the guy is really out of order. If you went to A@E and a nurse treated your wounds without gloves, would you not be taken aback? Both from the health protection of both parties.

17-06-2024, 10:36 PM
I can’t see past France. There is so much more to come from them but they are such a good all round team.

18-06-2024, 08:40 AM
I can’t see past France. There is so much more to come from them but they are such a good all round team.

That statement pretty much describes 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 too.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2024, 11:38 AM
English Premier League fixtures out .

Home game for the magpies opening day :greengrin

https://www.premierleague.com/fixtures

18-06-2024, 11:41 AM
That statement pretty much describes 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 too.

I thought it was the ideal start for England.

Some decent stuff played in places but obvious room for improvement in a number of areas - all whilst still winning.

Their danger is often peaking early and raising expectations to a silly level.

Nothing is won by dishing out a pumping in the first game.

Rumble de Thump
18-06-2024, 11:55 AM

Some decent stuff played in places but obvious room for improvement in a number of areas - all whilst still winning.

Pre-tournament Harry Kane said England were the favourites to win it so the expectations can't really get much higher.

18-06-2024, 12:19 PM
Pre-tournament Harry Kane said England were the favourites to win it so the expectations can't really get much higher.

The bookies made them favourites not Kane, the first game performance kept the expectations of many fans down, perfect start in my opinion.

18-06-2024, 01:49 PM

I was thinking last night that in many ways Southgate is their Jack Ross. Sensible, pragmatic, regularly gets to latter stages of knockout tournaments but still needs to prove he can win the biggest games.

Rumble de Thump
18-06-2024, 01:58 PM
The bookies made them favourites not Kane, the first game performance kept the expectations of many fans down, perfect start in my opinion.

Kane was expressing his opinion. He wasn't talking about bookmakers.

18-06-2024, 03:02 PM

World class football is confident. Whatever next.

18-06-2024, 03:11 PM
5pm game at risk of being postponed, water pouring into the stadium

Cuikyhibs
18-06-2024, 03:28 PM
5pm game at risk of being postponed, water pouring into the stadium

looks to have been a bit bother with fighting in the stadium too..

18-06-2024, 03:59 PM
This game could be a bit wild

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

18-06-2024, 04:26 PM
Cracking finish there, 1-0 Turkey.

18-06-2024, 04:27 PM
Terrific hit.

18-06-2024, 04:29 PM
Excellent game this. Turkey playing very well.

18-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Turkey 1 v 1 Georgia

Some game

18-06-2024, 04:36 PM
This game is unreal…end to end !

ruthven_raiders
18-06-2024, 05:12 PM
This game is unreal…end to end !

We are so far behind these teams in terms of quality of play 😭

18-06-2024, 05:24 PM
What a goal!

Up-the-slope
18-06-2024, 05:26 PM
how good is this Turkey v Georgia game... best so far by miles for me... cracking atmosphere too

Up-the-slope
18-06-2024, 05:28 PM
We are so far behind these teams in terms of quality of play 😭

the technical ability to keep the ball and work opportunities from both sides...

could be 4-4

Stairway 2 7
18-06-2024, 05:39 PM
In a Turkish boozer in Germany boys telling me Guler who scored a peach has been injured most of the season for Real and then scored 6 in 10. Great young team Madrid are building

Up-the-slope
18-06-2024, 05:53 PM
In a Turkish boozer in Germany boys telling me Guler who scored a peach has been injured most of the season for Real and then scored 6 in 10. Great young team Madrid are building

Madrid are playing the football equivalent of Top Trumps the way they are acquiring not the next generation but the one after that

18-06-2024, 05:56 PM
Great game. Turning into a great tournament. Plenty goals and end to end football

18-06-2024, 05:56 PM
What an excellent game.

Well played both teams.

18-06-2024, 05:57 PM
unlucky Georgia

Up-the-slope
18-06-2024, 05:57 PM
unbelievable.... I remember tournament after tournament where first games would be rotten as teams played not to lose... this has been so far at the other end...

i could watch games likle that every day of the week

18-06-2024, 06:07 PM
looks to have been a bit bother with fighting in the stadium too..

I saw that. Two groups happy to pretend to fight but safe behind a wall/fence. Imagine spending all that time and money travelling to get banned from football and/or time in jail for essentially a robust game of high fives!

pollution
18-06-2024, 07:41 PM
Are these commentators at the Portugal game ?

K-Zazu
18-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Is the phrase low block a new footballing saying I’ve never even heard of it until recently 🤷🏼*♂️

18-06-2024, 08:05 PM
Portugal playing with 10 men and a walking Ronaldo, i wonder if the manager has the balls to replace him at any stage?

He will probably score a hattrick now i've slaughtered him.:greengrin

Dmas
18-06-2024, 08:05 PM
Looks like a fiver wasted on schick over 1 on target Czechs toiling to keep hold of it

18-06-2024, 08:08 PM
Are these commentators at the Portugal game ?
Yip totally missed Leao getting booked for simulation too busy slavering pish expecting the attacking free kick

18-06-2024, 08:19 PM
What a goal.

18-06-2024, 08:20 PM
Wow what a day of goals !

Game on

Decent goal. :greengrin

Oooooft

18-06-2024, 08:21 PM
Anyone ever seen Ronaldo score one of them free kicks ?

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2024, 08:23 PM
Portugal 0-1 Czechoslovakia. I didn't really see that coming :greengrin

18-06-2024, 08:23 PM
What Portugal deserve after 60 minutes fannying about.

18-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Poor from the goalie

18-06-2024, 08:28 PM
Poor from the goalie

Very poor. Defender had no chance

Keeper should have saved that instead of pushing it into a crowded penalty box

keeper should do better there

Poor from the goalie

Should have caught the ball!

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2024, 08:31 PM
Does that count as an assist for the keeper?🤭

18-06-2024, 08:43 PM
I quite fancied Portugal to be in with a chance of winning the whole thing, but not on this showing. A collection of quality players, but not a great team.

18-06-2024, 08:47 PM
Get that semi automated offside in the SPFL our dumplings need all the help they can get

18-06-2024, 08:48 PM
This commentary in Por v Cze is dreadful.

18-06-2024, 08:50 PM
2-1 portugal 90 + 2 😊

18-06-2024, 08:51 PM

Terrible. Not sure who she is but at least twice she has said Czech Republic are pushing forward here and Portugal have the ball.

bringbackbenny
18-06-2024, 08:52 PM

Danny Murphy is an absolute slaver, incoherent nonsense.

18-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Yeah no point bringing on subs with three minutes to go 😂

18-06-2024, 08:57 PM
Terrible. Not sure who she is but at least twice she has said Czech Republic are pushing forward here and Portugal have the ball.

Not just her, but why not use the word "Czechia"? It's the accepted English name these days, and easier to say.

(see also Turkiye)

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Two really bad goals to lose . Thought Portugal would have been better with the players they have .

18-06-2024, 08:59 PM
Get that semi automated offside in the SPFL our dumplings need all the help they can get

This and goal line tech are the only tech I have been convinced by.

I am not sure how it works with the players positions, but knowing exactly when the ball contact is made, and exactly where the players are, leaving it completely unarguable, is the only way it should be.

As well as goal line tech, where again, you cannot argue, is all that I have seen that improves the game from a tech pov.

Only the captains talking with the refs is a good one as well.

18-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Two really bad goals to lose . Thought Portugal would have been better with the players they have .

Keeper poor at both. Danny Murphy poor throughout.

18-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Aye the commentary was awful. Robyn Cowen, long silences then screams. Murphy is just a slaver, not as bad as Lee Dixon who would suck the life out of any game but still poor.

To think I used to hate Clive Tyldesley on comms but now he seems like the most informative of the lot.

18-06-2024, 09:03 PM
Not just her, but why not use the word "Czechia"? It's the accepted English name these days, and easier to say.

(see also Turkiye)

Well off topic, and not football related at all but -

I don't really understand the whole Turkiye thing. If Turkey wants to refer to itself as Turkiye then that's fine, but why does that change anything in our language?

The French and German words for Scotland aren't Scotland. Is there a reason why that's a different situation to what we call Turkey/Turkiye?

18-06-2024, 09:06 PM
Well off topic, and not football related at all but -

I don't really understand the whole Turkiye thing. If Turkey wants to refer to itself as Turkiye then that's fine, but why does that change anything in our language?

The French and German words for Scotland aren't Scotland. Is there a reason why that's a different situation to what we call Turkey/Turkiye?

Think it's the recognised English version of its name, as sanctioned by the UN.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2024, 09:10 PM
Keeper poor at both. Danny Murphy poor throughout.

Commentary and pundits have been in general very disappointing . Tournament has been good so far though .

18-06-2024, 09:17 PM
This and goal line tech are the only tech I have been convinced by.

I am not sure how it works with the players positions, but knowing exactly when the ball contact is made, and exactly where the players are, leaving it completely unarguable, is the only way it should be.

As well as goal line tech, where again, you cannot argue, is all that I have seen that improves the game from a tech pov.

Only the captains talking with the refs is a good one as well.

Agree goal line technology would be another improvement

18-06-2024, 09:20 PM
It shouldn’t really get to me as I have seen it and commented on it for years now, but Ronaldo’s conceit and narcissism really grates on me. He sees the game as totally all about him and his incessant looking up at the screen is vomit-inducing. :greengrin

18-06-2024, 11:45 PM

I think he was.

19-06-2024, 09:58 AM
Cracking goal from Stevie Mallan on Football Cops last night! 😊

19-06-2024, 01:12 PM
Super goal.

19-06-2024, 01:36 PM
Albania are frightening on the counter attack

There'll be a couple more goals in this one I reckon

19-06-2024, 01:37 PM
Yet another really entertaining match played in a fantastic stadium with a great atmosphere.

Renfrew_Hibby
19-06-2024, 01:45 PM
Fancy Croatia to get something eventually but if Albania get the win then the Croats could well be on the plane home as their last game is Italy.
At least we'll be in good company.

19-06-2024, 02:17 PM
Fancy Croatia to get something eventually but if Albania get the win then the Croats could well be on the plane home as their last game is Italy.
At least we'll be in good company.

Croatia so good this second half, albania just hanging on.

19-06-2024, 02:26 PM
Yet another really entertaining match played in a fantastic stadium with a great atmosphere.

Superb tournament so far. I didn't think I'd enjoy it as much as I am doing. Every game is worth watching

19-06-2024, 02:32 PM
Goooooaaaaal

Kramaric With the equaliser for croatia

Donegal Hibby
19-06-2024, 02:34 PM
Really deserved equaliser for Croatia.

19-06-2024, 02:35 PM
Croatia deservedly lead 2-1. What a game

19-06-2024, 02:35 PM
Wow what a turnaround

2-1 Croatia. Albania need to calm themselves

Donegal Hibby
19-06-2024, 02:36 PM
I'm knackered watching this . What a game :greengrin

19-06-2024, 02:53 PM
What a game!

Gooooaaalll!

19-06-2024, 02:54 PM
2-2!! Game of the tournament

19-06-2024, 02:56 PM
Draw good for Scotland if we finish 3rd and both these lose their last game. The more 3rd place teams without a win the better

19-06-2024, 02:56 PM
That was a red imo for the Albanian 8

19-06-2024, 02:57 PM
End to end even in to the 99th minute. What a match

19-06-2024, 02:57 PM
Wonderful entertainment.

19-06-2024, 02:58 PM
That was a red imo for the Albanian 8

Commentators calling it brilliant, but if that's against England when it matters they'd be raging.

Renfrew_Hibby
19-06-2024, 03:01 PM
Draw good for Scotland if we finish 3rd and both these lose their last game. The more 3rd place teams without a win the better

Good shout. If Spain and Italy do the business then this group will not be producing a 3rd place qualifier.
So there is now an 80% chance that the third place in Scotlands group goes through. 3pts should be enough for somebody.

19-06-2024, 03:43 PM
Twat, Lineker, taking great glee, showing his dislike of Scotland. He described Scotland as guinea pigs against Germany and even went to the trouble of learning the German word, taking a cheap dig to get a laugh from the other pundits.

19-06-2024, 03:46 PM

Was just about to say that. More and more draws and heavy defeats are needed in 2nd round of fixtures. It’s the hope that kills us…

19-06-2024, 03:50 PM
Twat, Lineker, taking great glee, showing his dislike of Scotland. He described Scotland as guinea pigs against Germany and even went to the trouble of learning the German word, taking a cheap dig to get a laugh from the other pundits.

Of course he takes great glee, he's an English football legend.

We shouldn't lose 5-1 if we don't want the piss taken.

19-06-2024, 03:57 PM

:greengrin Ooh, that’s me put in my place. Still think he’s a thoughtless twat.

Rumble de Thump
19-06-2024, 04:03 PM

I'm not sure your suggestion that English football legends are incapable of professionalism, respect or humility is accurate.

19-06-2024, 04:04 PM
Great stop from Neuer stopping Hungary taking the lead after 20 odd seconds 🙄

Cmon Germany

19-06-2024, 04:06 PM
Ger v Hun

Is that like The Rangers playing their reserves???

19-06-2024, 04:07 PM
Hungary done more in 6 minutes than we managed in 90...

So long as Germany get to grips and score soon its all good

19-06-2024, 04:08 PM
I'm not sure your suggestion that English football legends are incapable of professionalism, respect or humility is accurate.

I didn't suggest that. I said it's pretty obvious and English football legend will find Scotland losing funny. Who honestly cares? Are we really that sensitive?

Win tonight and he'll be quiet.

19-06-2024, 04:24 PM
There we go. 1-0 Musiala with the goal

Saint Hibee
19-06-2024, 04:25 PM
That was a clear push on the Hungarian defender.

19-06-2024, 04:25 PM
There we go. 1-0 Musiala with the goal
I think anywhere else on the park you get a foul for that.

19-06-2024, 04:30 PM
We are complete imposters in this tournament.

19-06-2024, 04:30 PM
This current game shows you how poor Scotland actually are.

One dimensional with pretty much zero pace up top. Very easy to defend against.

Hope I am wrong and we actually see a bit of fight and organisation.

lugz
19-06-2024, 04:31 PM
Hungary looking much more like the team that was in form coming into the tournament, anyone thinking they’re an easy game for us is off their head.

19-06-2024, 04:31 PM
That was a clear push on the Hungarian defender.

I thought that too.

Certain teams and all that? I actually still think Serbia should have had a penalty against England but it wasn’t even reviewed.

19-06-2024, 04:32 PM
:greengrin Ooh, that’s me put in my place. Still think he’s a thoughtless twat.
He is, but 5-1 is a real embarrassment by any measurement.

19-06-2024, 04:32 PM
I think Germany used up all their luck against us last week.:greengrin

19-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Germany’s Robert Aldrich bears an uncanny resemblance to Jimmy Hill.:greengrin

19-06-2024, 04:43 PM
Even if we get out the group wouldn’t we end up playing Spain or Italy from group B ?!

19-06-2024, 04:44 PM
Even if we get out the group wouldn’t we end up playing Spain or Italy from group B ?!

If we come 2nd yes. 3rd we're rewarded with Portugal I think

19-06-2024, 04:48 PM
I think Germany used up all their luck against us last week.:greengrin

Maybe not.:greengrin

Keown is such a halfwit

Hanlon’s header disallowed for Hungary.

lugz
19-06-2024, 04:49 PM
Getting out the groups would be a great achievement any after that is a bonus, unfortunately the team who beat Spain and Norway seem a distant memory.

19-06-2024, 04:49 PM

We set ourselves up for the mickey taking. Doesn’t bother me, he will get some back when England crash out. It’s just banter , nothing I can take seriously. :greengrin

19-06-2024, 04:52 PM
We are complete imposters in this tournament.
The only full two games I've seen have involved Georgia and Albania, both were extremely competitive, fun to watch and offered something going forward.

A bit disheartening but we will surely be fired up tonight.

Donegal Hibby
19-06-2024, 04:53 PM
No messing about with VAR decisions so far in the tournament .

cubehindthegoal
19-06-2024, 04:59 PM
I didn't suggest that. I said it's pretty obvious and English football legend will find Scotland losing funny. Who honestly cares? Are we really that sensitive?

Win tonight and he'll be quiet.

He’s not a player now, he’s a British TV presenter. I’m sure he’s intelligent enough to recognise he wouldn’t do the same if it was England, hence he’s incapable of due balance as the lead presenter, as opposed to a panel pundit.

It’s not being sensitive, it’s being p***** off with the usual we always get. There’s only one team he’s interested in, and he makes it show.

However … it’ll never change. So yea, let’s try and do something ourselves to ram it is the attitude we need.

He's here!
19-06-2024, 04:59 PM
Good shout. If Spain and Italy do the business then this group will not be producing a 3rd place qualifier.
So there is now an 80% chance that the third place in Scotlands group goes through. 3pts should be enough for somebody.

Are there always some 3rd placed qualifiers at these events or has the number of teams changed? Seems a bit undeserved to go through if you're 3rd in a league of just 4. Why not just have 32 teams to start with - or even just 16?

cubehindthegoal
19-06-2024, 05:09 PM
The only full two games I've seen have involved Georgia and Albania, both were extremely competitive, fun to watch and offered something going forward.

A bit disheartening but we will surely be fired up tonight.

We deservedly qualified, with some excellent results … so that’s not being imposters. Germany are out our league, and we didn’t threaten … Hungary are showing how we could have done it … hopefully we start to learn .. we did it against Spain once, we showed spirit and fight against Norway, and we can again.

Now we find out if we are at the level of Switzerland yet … they have some players … and then Hungary. If we are a bottom of the group team at the end, we won’t be alone, and it’ll tell us where we are at. At least we are starting to qualify for finals again … we have never shown anything more when qualifying though …yet 🤞🏻

19-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Big chance there for Hungary. Mon Germany, get that 2nd goal please

19-06-2024, 05:27 PM
2-0 Deutschland

Gundogan.

19-06-2024, 05:28 PM
Yes Germany!

Donegal Hibby
19-06-2024, 05:38 PM
Free-kick for the Germans for a similar offence that lead to their goal . They are a good side who'll be hard to beat.

Bridge hibs
19-06-2024, 05:40 PM
That no9 for Hungary, what a ****ing heifer, makes Grant Holt look like Twiggy 😲

19-06-2024, 06:11 PM
2-0 Deutschland

Gundogan.
What a player

19-06-2024, 06:20 PM
What a player

He's superb.

Anyone getting the better of that German central midfield will be winning this tournament.

19-06-2024, 06:44 PM
Are there always some 3rd placed qualifiers at these events or has the number of teams changed? Seems a bit undeserved to go through if you're 3rd in a league of just 4. Why not just have 32 teams to start with - or even just 16?

Just say I hope Scotland don't qualify, people will understand.

20-06-2024, 01:23 PM
Slovenia battering Serbia 0-0 first 25 mins.

20-06-2024, 01:33 PM
Slovenia battering Serbia 0-0 first 25 mins.

Can't quite believe how poor Serbia have been so far

20-06-2024, 01:44 PM
Can't quite believe how poor Serbia have been so far

It feels a bit ‘rope-a-dope’, like they are going to steal a win. Slovenia look like Germany on this evidence, midfielders breaking from everywhere

20-06-2024, 02:28 PM
Slovenia 1 Serbia 0. Serbia heading out. Loving the emotion. Slovenian away kit damn fine too.

20-06-2024, 02:29 PM
Mitrovic hits the bar from 6 yards.

20-06-2024, 02:35 PM
Serbian fan with a butchers apron on. Jesus.

20-06-2024, 02:40 PM
Mitrovic hits the bar from 6 yards.

Defender did well to get a touch on the shot.

20-06-2024, 02:44 PM
Defender did well to get a touch on the shot.

He did, scored at one end and saved a goal at the other. Sesko has been excellent up front for slovenia, will give england bother i think.

20-06-2024, 02:53 PM
Oft….. sore one

20-06-2024, 02:53 PM
Oh dear, defending?

20-06-2024, 02:54 PM
equaliser

Luka Jovic

20-06-2024, 02:54 PM
Oblaks positioning awful. So unlucky Slovenia...

20-06-2024, 02:55 PM
Football eh ....bloody hell.

England unchanged for the Denmark game. Wee bit surprised by that. Thought TAA might have lost his spot to Mainoo.

I think that equaliser is potentially good for Scotland.

Ouch. Serbia do not deserve that. Nor do their horrible fans

FT

20-06-2024, 02:56 PM
Oblaks positioning awful. So unlucky Slovenia...
What was the term Montgomery used 🤔

20-06-2024, 02:57 PM
He probably wouldn’t have saved the header, but the keeper was standing 2 feet behind his goal line. Terrible positioning.

20-06-2024, 02:58 PM
He probably wouldn’t have saved the header, but the keeper was standing 2 feet behind his goal line. Terrible positioning.

He's a brilliant keeper too.

I think he would have had a good chance at it... I notice noone talks about him as one of the worlds best keepers anymore.

England unchanged for the Denmark game. Wee bit surprised by that. Thought TAA might have lost his spot to Mainoo.

They dont play the same game mate. If TAA lost his place it would be to Gallacher. Think Englands grand plan is to get the required result and i would expect mass changes for the Slovenia game.

20-06-2024, 03:02 PM
I think that equaliser is potentially good for Scotland.

Yeah I think there'll need to be a hefty goal swing for us to now qualify with a draw

A win should be fine

20-06-2024, 03:05 PM
Yeah I think there'll need to be a hefty goal swing for us to now qualify with a draw

A win should be fine

A draw wont now be enough for us to be one of the best placed 3rds.

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/story/_/id/40348445/euro-2024-every-team-needs-go-group-stage

20-06-2024, 03:20 PM
Might stick in the throat, but do we want England to beat Denmark?

20-06-2024, 03:35 PM
Might stick in the throat, but do we want England to beat Denmark?

England Hibs half and half scarves, only a few left now fellas, dont miss out.

20-06-2024, 03:48 PM

A win should be fine

Even with a win it’s going to be difficult as we have the worst goal difference.We need some very favourable results in the other groups.What would be ideal would be to beat Hungary by 3 while Switzerland lose to Germany by 4-most unlikely.

Saint Hibee
20-06-2024, 03:51 PM
Micah Richards’ epaulettes are giving me the ick.

20-06-2024, 03:54 PM
Even with a win it’s going to be difficult as we have the worst goal difference.We need some very favourable results in the other groups.What would be ideal would be to beat Hungary by 3 while Switzerland lose to Germany by 4-most unlikely.

Very, very unlikely a team goes out on 4 points. Never happened before. At least 1 team with 3 points has always got through. A win will be enough.

Fuzzywuzzy
20-06-2024, 03:59 PM
Apart from when France changed the colour of their kit are Scotland the only national team to play in dark blue?

20-06-2024, 04:03 PM
We getting a 20 mini tie interview with Steve Clarke at some point during this coverage?

20-06-2024, 04:04 PM
We getting a 20 mini tie interview with Steve Clarke at some point during this coverage?

God hopefully not.

Renfrew_Hibby
20-06-2024, 04:05 PM
Very, very unlikely a team goes out on 4 points. Never happened before. At least 1 team with 3 points has always got through. A win will be enough.

Portugal won the whole thing after getting 3pts in the groups.

20-06-2024, 04:19 PM
Och thats awful defending. I know walker is fast but still

pollution
20-06-2024, 04:22 PM
19 minutes is all it took...

20-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Pickford is weird, he seems a bit billy whizz all action kinda goalkeeping style, always seems to be rushing everything

20-06-2024, 04:35 PM
Thats better.:greengrin