View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

30-05-2019, 01:53 PM
Adam Jackson close to being announced?

30-05-2019, 01:58 PM
Really good player when he is

He’s finished. Legs have gone completely and will be a waste of a wage.

30-05-2019, 01:58 PM

I think so yeah. This weekend I’ve heard, something to do with contracts.

30-05-2019, 02:05 PM

You hearing anything?

30-05-2019, 02:35 PM
Is this boy Jackson any good?

His stats and age seem to not match up really.

Where does he play?

30-05-2019, 02:48 PM
Not Hibs related but Roberto Di Matteo bookies favourite for Killie job

30-05-2019, 02:49 PM

Another high profile appointment for the Scottish league.

30-05-2019, 02:50 PM

Think Clarke is advising the Killie board on his replacement

30-05-2019, 02:52 PM

And he will know Di Matteo from his Chelsea days.

30-05-2019, 03:01 PM

Where does he play?

He’s a central defender.

Sure I read he was highly rated when he broke into the team and was linked with big money moves, got injured though and never really won his place back.

30-05-2019, 03:02 PM
And he will know Di Matteo from his Chelsea days.

Did he not manage Chelsea when they won the champions league

30-05-2019, 03:05 PM
Did he not manage Chelsea when they won the champions league

He did, as interim manager. Be mental to have a champions league winner at Killie!

Not sure if his record since though.

30-05-2019, 03:09 PM
He did, as interim manager. Be mental to have a champions league winner at Killie!

Not sure if his record since though.

Been at a few big clubs since too, not sure how successful though

30-05-2019, 03:27 PM
Exciting times for Killie fans. Don't begrudge them it with the years of dross they've had to endure.

30-05-2019, 03:29 PM
Exciting times for Killie fans. Don't begrudge them it with the years of dross they've had to endure.

Golden Gary and Elbows Jig to Scotland manager and RdM 😂😂

30-05-2019, 03:37 PM

Clarke’s assistant at Kilmarnock is there (can’t remember his name) and will obviously be having a big say as he’s going to be the assistant to whoever they bring in as manager. They are going to obviously get someone that he will happily work alongside with.

30-05-2019, 03:39 PM
Talk on Twitter that Sunderland may be after Kamberi again, thoughts?

Give us Dylan McGeouch in exchange and they have themselves a deal

30-05-2019, 03:39 PM

Where does he play?

On twitter Barnsley fans seem gutted he was leaving and surprised he never played more this season.

Described as a no nonsense centre half

30-05-2019, 03:42 PM
Hibs Twitter has an announcement....

30-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Adam Jackson confirmed

http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/f1ecc1098f58c2b153d8cde0563e04b2/7d82ca3e759ee570f7900b146dabb47a.png

Hibby_G
30-05-2019, 03:47 PM
Adam Jackson confirmed

http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/f1ecc1098f58c2b153d8cde0563e04b2/7d82ca3e759ee570f7900b146dabb47a.png
Interview with him On HibsTV

30-05-2019, 03:48 PM
Wooooooooooo

First team replacement for McGregor?

30-05-2019, 03:48 PM
Adam Jackson confirmed

https://www.barnsleyfc.co.uk/news/2016/august/reds-land-adam-jackson/

Is that the same person?? :confused: If so, wiki has him as not playing à minute of football from 2013 - 2015 which, if true, is certainly interesting.

30-05-2019, 03:52 PM
https://www.barnsleyfc.co.uk/news/2016/august/reds-land-adam-jackson/

Is that the same person?? :confused: If so, wiki has him as not playing à minute of football from 2013 - 2015 which, if true, is certainly interesting.

Aye, it’s him. I’d imagine he was kicking about the youth/reserve team at Boro during that period.

30-05-2019, 03:52 PM
Speaks just like the manager.

30-05-2019, 03:53 PM
Wooooooooooo

First team replacement for McGregor?

Is right sided defender now where Porteous plays?
Unless he’s been signed to play right back

Renfrew_Hibby
30-05-2019, 03:54 PM
Laidlaw to Ross County on a 2 year deal.

30-05-2019, 03:54 PM

We can have two right sided CBs though?

In any case would hope he'll be battling it out with Hanlon for first choice.

BlackSheep
30-05-2019, 03:55 PM

Didn't Porteus play left sided when he and Efe were the CB pairing? In fact i am almost certain....

30-05-2019, 03:55 PM
Speaks just like the manager.
I would carry out his instructions on the field just to make him stop talking :greengrin F*** me......

30-05-2019, 03:56 PM
We can have two right sided CBs though?

In any case would hope he'll be battling it out with Hanlon for first choice.

I’m just asking😄
Porteous is better right sided

30-05-2019, 03:57 PM

That's a good deal for Ross at Ross. He can county himself lucky.

30-05-2019, 04:00 PM
That's a good deal for Ross at Ross. He can county himself lucky.

Why would he count himself lucky? He's a good goalie who has just got a good move.

Give us Dylan McGeouch in exchange and they have themselves a deal

Seen this on Twitter.

#SAFC are heavily linked with a move for Switzerland and Hibernian striker, Florian Kamberi.

The Black Cats would be willing to offload Dylan McGeouch back to the Scottish side.

The 24-year-old scored 9 goals last season in 33 appearances for #Hibs.

He will do well there.

30-05-2019, 04:02 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8C2pOWi-10

30-05-2019, 04:05 PM

I have a feeling Hanlon will be the first to sit out.

30-05-2019, 04:15 PM

Not sure about that to be honest. Paul had a decent season and wasn't helped (or protected) by the defensive midfielders in front of him or at set pieces especially - Milligan being the main culprit. More likely to be Daz who is used sparingly (for me), more to do with 'wear and tear' and fitness throughout the season. I think Daz had a solid season too, especially tail end of the season when we needed to grind out results.

30-05-2019, 04:29 PM

Not a chance, he's our only left sided centre back. Remember Heck has never seen Ryan play & he's coming back from a big op. I suspect Ryan & Adam will be fighting for 1 spot beside Paul & Darren will provide cover.

Hibby_G
30-05-2019, 04:29 PM
Patrick roberts has signed for norwich on a season long loan

NC1875
30-05-2019, 04:30 PM
When Porteous is fit and if Jackson is any good, then Hanlon will be 3rd/4th choice CB. He’s just not really as good as some people make out. More average seasons than good ones.

30-05-2019, 04:44 PM
When Porteous is fit and if Jackson is any good, then Hanlon will be 3rd/4th choice CB. He’s just not really as good as some people make out. More average seasons than good ones.

Porteous isn't as good as folk make out either, certainly wont be walking back in.

30-05-2019, 04:46 PM
Porteous isn't as good as folk make out either, certainly wont be walking back in.

Seriously? Played mostly last season out of position!

Don’t know where Ryan is in his recovery period, but he’ll not be far away from the 1st team when he’s fit

30-05-2019, 04:49 PM

Don’t know where Ryan is in his recovery period, but he’ll not be far away from the 1st team when he’s fit

Exactly. And maybe this signing will give us the chance to protect him at times too. Also who's to say Heckmond doesn't fancy playing a 3 back there?

30-05-2019, 04:53 PM

Spoke to him after the Tynie derby Billy and he's raring to go - looked fit as a fiddle too :aok:

30-05-2019, 04:53 PM

20 year auld laddie and probably made less mistakes than either Hanlon or Mcgregor when he was in, not to mention the fact he’s a lot more of a threat at set pieces for us

30-05-2019, 04:54 PM
Not like Hibs Net to take any opportunity to knock our players!

30-05-2019, 04:58 PM
Not like Hibs Net to take any opportunity to knock our players!Not knocking him, great prospect, not the Scotland captain folk are making out just yet though.

Don’t know where Ryan is in his recovery period, but he’ll not be far away from the 1st team when he’s fitHe didn't really play out of position, he just played left central defence instead of right to allow a much better player in Ambrose to play out from the back easier.

20 year auld laddie and probably made less mistakes than either Hanlon or Mcgregor when he was in, not to mention the fact he’s a lot more of a threat at set pieces for usThats a pretty small sample size though.
Hanlon and McGregor have been brilliant for a long time, I'll be delighted if he achieves what they have.

He also did make mistakes, was pretty easily bossed by Kenny Miller as Dundee got a point at Easter Road

30-05-2019, 04:59 PM
Aye that Porteous is rotten. Why did we give him a 5 year deal? Money that could've been spent on signing the new Sean O'Hanlon with all that experience behind him

steve75
30-05-2019, 05:01 PM
4th best defensive record in the league was it? And add that to a decent record last year.

All of our defenders are amongst the best in their position by Scottish football standards.

30-05-2019, 05:04 PM
Aye that Porteous is rotten. Why did we give him a 5 year deal? Money that could've been spent on signing the new Sean O'Hanlon with all that experience behind him

Who called him rotten?

30-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Find it funny how much fans look into left/right centre back.

The centre half’s I have played with at various levels don’t seem bothered by it in the slightest.

Seems more a fan problem than one with players.

I wouldn’t have any issue with two right footers playing centre back

30-05-2019, 05:19 PM
Not knocking him, great prospect, not the Scotland captain folk are making out just yet though.

He didn't really play out of position, he just played left central defence instead of right to allow a much better player in Ambrose to play out from the back easier.

Thats a pretty small sample size though.
Hanlon and McGregor have been brilliant for a long time, I'll be delighted if he achieves what they have.

He also did make mistakes, was pretty easily bossed by Kenny Miller as Dundee got a point at Easter Road

He is actually the Scotland captain and has been for the last couple of age groups he’s played in.

30-05-2019, 05:19 PM
He is actually the Scotland captain and has been for the last couple of age groups he’s played in.

Daniel Boateng and Victor Palsson were captains at Arsenal and Liverpool young levels, doesn't mean that much.

30-05-2019, 05:20 PM
Find it funny how much fans look into left/right centre back.

The centre half’s I have played with at various levels don’t seem bothered by it in the slightest.

Seems more a fan problem than one with players.

I wouldn’t have any issue with two right footers playing centre back

Most clubs don't have a problem with that tbh, it's very hard to get a very good lefty and generally you'll have two right footers. Ryan is a top prospect but lets not all get ahead of ourselves, he's still pretty raw and it's still best to guide him through this season, he'll be played to give McGregor and Hanlon some time off, squad rotation etc.

30-05-2019, 05:22 PM
4th best defensive record in the league was it? And add that to a decent record last year.

All of our defenders are amongst the best in their position by Scottish football standards.

I think we can improve defensively. The goals against record is good but, and I might be wrong, I think we lose too many goals for the number of attacks we face. Aberdeen last game of the season is a good example, I think they were up the park about three times but had a couple of goals to show for it. Hearts at Easter Road, one chance and it was a goal. Common theme was centre halves leaving centre forwards standing on their own in the middle of the box.

Particularly since Heckingbottom came in, our defence has rarely been exposed because we were so organised in front of them. On the flip side, we really struggled to score goals. I’d expect the midfield to be a bit more open and attack minded come the start of the season.

30-05-2019, 05:24 PM
Daniel Boateng and Victor Palsson were captains at Arsenal and Liverpool young levels, doesn't mean that much.

VP has had a decent career since in good leagues.

30-05-2019, 05:31 PM
Seen this on Twitter.

#SAFC are heavily linked with a move for Switzerland and Hibernian striker, Florian Kamberi.

The Black Cats would be willing to offload Dylan McGeouch back to the Scottish side.

I’d take that in a heartbeat!

30-05-2019, 05:35 PM
Seen this on Twitter.

I'm willing to bet without checking that that's Hibs Transfer News copying what was said on here a few pages ago.

30-05-2019, 05:39 PM
James Bree linked on loan. Aston Villa right back.

Also, before this pish starts again: I'll be cheesed off is this is no' happening. Hope they tell him to say "cheese" in his picture. Hecky mozarella done lots of hard work to get this signing. Who did he play for before, Mancheddar United? Haha cheese cheese cheese cause his name is Bree and it sounds like Brie LOLZ

30-05-2019, 05:43 PM

Also, before this pish starts again: I'll be cheesed off is this is no' happening. Hope they tell him to say "cheese" in his picture. Hecky mozarella done lots of hard work to get this signing. Who did he play for before, Mancheddar United? Haha cheese cheese cheese cause his name is Bree and it sounds like Brie LOLZ
Feta load o' crap....

wakeyhibs
30-05-2019, 05:45 PM
Patrick roberts has signed for norwich on a season long loan

Awhhhh bless. Celtic fans will be livid. They are like man united fans with ronaldo. “He’s coming home this year” [emoji19]

wakeyhibs
30-05-2019, 05:49 PM
I think we can improve defensively. The goals against record is good but, and I might be wrong, I think we lose too many goals for the number of attacks we face. Aberdeen last game of the season is a good example, I think they were up the park about three times but had a couple of goals to show for it. Hearts at Easter Road, one chance and it was a goal. Common theme was centre halves leaving centre forwards standing on their own in the middle of the box.

Particularly since Heckingbottom came in, our defence has rarely been exposed because we were so organised in front of them. On the flip side, we really struggled to score goals. I’d expect the midfield to be a bit more open and attack minded come the start of the season.

Martin Boyle to comeback too. A he featured under heckys tactics yet?

Aritch
30-05-2019, 05:50 PM

Bree is supposedly one of the players with a promotion clause in their contracts whose wages have now been increased. I'm guessing Hibs would only be covering a very small fraction of his wages in any proposed loan deal.

30-05-2019, 05:54 PM

Where is he being linked to us about?

30-05-2019, 06:00 PM
Spoke to him after the Tynie derby Billy and he's raring to go - looked fit as a fiddle too :aok:

Sat at his table at sponsors night. He has been advised by physio team to not go on summer holiday, work hard and be “ahead” of the rest when they return and that’s what he is doing

30-05-2019, 06:14 PM
Can’t see anything on twitter linking James Bree to a move here.

Hibernian32
30-05-2019, 06:14 PM
Awhhhh bless. Celtic fans will be livid. They are like man united fans with ronaldo. “He’s coming home this year” [emoji19]

Bit like us with leigh then

30-05-2019, 06:35 PM

Poppycock

30-05-2019, 06:41 PM
Can’t see anything on twitter linking James Bree to a move here.

Nothing on twitter or google.

I’m guessing it’s one of these daft Facebook pages that have guessed a name.

30-05-2019, 06:47 PM
If we’re just guessing at Barnsley players that Heckers signed, Zaki Fryers just been released by them as well.

Left back to provide competition for Lewis?

30-05-2019, 07:02 PM
If we’re just guessing at Barnsley players that Heckers signed, Zaki Fryers just been released by them as well.

Hasn't played many games at 26 but he's played for some decent teams. Great name though

30-05-2019, 07:02 PM

Maybe get John Stones in, he's out of favour at the moment...

30-05-2019, 07:03 PM
Maybe get John Stones in, he's out of favour at the moment...

Already got Hanlon for that position.

30-05-2019, 07:03 PM
Welcome Adam 👍

30-05-2019, 07:06 PM

Where does he play?

You read his stats but didn't notice what position he plays?

NC1875
30-05-2019, 07:07 PM
Poppycock

Opinions eh. If Hanlon was as good as some people on here make out he wouldn’t be playing for Hibs. He’s a bang average centre half. If he wasn’t a Hibs fan he’d be slated more than he is.

30-05-2019, 07:10 PM
You read his stats but didn't notice what position he plays?

Wiki says he’s a defender.
There are three recognised defensive positions.

30-05-2019, 07:13 PM

He’s a right footed centre half. Lots of potential.

30-05-2019, 07:16 PM
Opinions eh. If Hanlon was as good as some people on here make out he wouldn’t be playing for Hibs. He’s a bang average centre half. If he wasn’t a Hibs fan he’d be slated more than he is.

Not opinions. You’re just wrong. I’ll go with the view of all the managers that have coached him over the years. He’s a very good CH and if you don’t agree you just don’t know much about football. 👍

30-05-2019, 07:16 PM

Can see you done a great amount of digging to find your stats..

30-05-2019, 07:18 PM
Can see you done a great amount of digging to find your stats..

I dono who’s pissed in your tea mate but it wasn’t me.

He’s a centre back.

Someone without pissy tea told me on here [emoji1360]

30-05-2019, 07:22 PM
Not opinions. You’re just wrong. I’ll go with the view of all the managers that have coached him over the years. He’s a very good CH and if you don’t agree you just don’t know much about football. 👍

It is all about opinions. Personally I'd say you are stretching it by saying he is a "very good" CH as he is prone to the odd mistake and I still believe physically he can be bullied. He is a good SPFL centre half and someone who has done well for the club but no more IMO.

Robbo6-2
30-05-2019, 07:25 PM
Said it a few weeks ago but ive heard Hecky is still trying and is desperate for Ryan Hedges to sign.
Maybe with Jackson coming in that might help.

30-05-2019, 07:26 PM
Said it a few weeks ago but ive heard Hecky is still trying and is desperate for Ryan Hedges to sign.

Uh oh.

NC1875
30-05-2019, 07:28 PM

Very good ? Behave yourself. I think we can do better and hopefully Jackson proves that. I’d rather have a good centre half than an average one made out to be good because he’s a fan.

30-05-2019, 07:30 PM

Needs to get a move on and stop beating about the Bush.

OK that was my last one

30-05-2019, 07:35 PM
It is all about opinions. Personally I'd say you are stretching it by saying he is a "very good" CH as he is prone to the odd mistake and I still believe physically he can be bullied. He is a good SPFL centre half and someone who has done well for the club but no more IMO.

Christ no one is saying he’s Ramos. You’ve just said he’s a good SPFL CH. I’m pretty sure that where we play. So all is good.

30-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Very good ? Behave yourself. I think we can do better and hopefully Jackson proves that. I’d rather have a good centre half than an average one made out to be good because he’s a fan.

Paul Hanlon. Debut for Hibs at 17, over 300 appearances since. 10 under 19 caps, some as Captain. An astonishing 23 under 21 caps, again, some as Captain & named in a senior squad. He must have gained all these representative honours because he's a Hibs fan. If PH is average then I wish we had a squad of average players.

NC1875
30-05-2019, 08:20 PM
We do have a squad of average players. Finishing 5th in this poor league shows that. Hence me saying we can do better. Jeez, you’d think he was a stand out every week the way some people go on. Been poor for most of the season.

30-05-2019, 08:25 PM
Paul Hanlon has played 380 matches for Hibs.
Along with Stevenson he has seen a lot of would be replacements off.
Professional football is brutal and Hanlon has had a good career.

Adam Jackson, our new centre half is 25 and has played only 70 matches.
Can he take Paul's place? It will be tough.

30-05-2019, 08:29 PM
We do have a squad of average players. Finishing 5th in this poor league shows that. Hence me saying we can do better. Jeez, you’d think he was a stand out every week the way some people go on. Been poor for most of the season.

We’ve been average middle to front, not defensively though.

30-05-2019, 08:36 PM

Nobody actually said anything about PH's ability until you stated he was a bang average centre half who got favourable treatment because he was a Hibs fan. After that, Underscore said Paul is a very good centre half. I made no comment on Paul's ability,I merely pointed out his record as a vastly experienced player in the top division in Scotland, along with his outstanding underage representative record. I don't think that is the record of a bang average player & IMO, your assertion Paul receives favourable treatment as a Hibs fan is palpable nonsense.

30-05-2019, 08:49 PM

You would never know it the way some go on about our defenders on here mate

30-05-2019, 08:51 PM

Bolt.

Hibby_G
30-05-2019, 08:56 PM
Anyone remember Adam ECkersley ? Hes just signed for Airdriedonians.

DetroitHibs
30-05-2019, 10:02 PM
Bolt.

30-05-2019, 10:14 PM
History tells us Hibernian Football Club do not hand out Testimonial Seasons to many players
So unlikely they would hand one out to a bang average player as you describe let alone a Scottish Cup Winner
Like Lewis players come and players go and Paul Hanlon is still here and will continue to be here

30-05-2019, 10:21 PM
No issue with Heckinbottom signing former players as he knows them but I don’t think he will sign too many as there will be different options and he will explore all the leagues to get his right man

Jackson, Hedges, Isgrove, Fryers and Bree all look good players on paper though and seemed to have done well for him.

Good to see another signing confirmed and it’s not even June yet, hopefully a couple more to follow over the next week or so.

30-05-2019, 10:29 PM

The "if he was actually any good he wouldn't be here" argument is definitely among the daftest on here.

He's a bang average Scottish cup winning Hibs player. More of those please.

30-05-2019, 10:32 PM

Lost for words.

30-05-2019, 10:33 PM
The "if he was actually any good he wouldn't be here" argument is definitely among the daftest on here.

He's a bang average Scottish cup winning Hibs player. More of those please.

👍

30-05-2019, 10:34 PM

Lol

30-05-2019, 10:45 PM
Anyone remember Adam ECkersley ? Hes just signed for Airdriedonians.

I remember him in a Hearts jersey more than a Hibs one.

31-05-2019, 05:43 AM

Sadly we also have a large squad of below average fans, many of whom know damn all about football and cant wait to berate the players there are meant to support. The good news for you is that you are in that squad.

Congratulations, its probably your only achievement in football.

NC1875
31-05-2019, 06:35 AM
Sadly we also have a large squad of below average fans, many of whom know damn all about football and cant wait to berate the players there are meant to support. The good news for you is that you are in that squad.

Congratulations, its probably your only achievement in football.

I’ll support Hanlon when he plays. Just don’t think he’s as good as some on here make out. Not allowed an opinion on here it seems though without the football experts telling you you’re wrong. Ones that have probably never kicked a ball.
Glad you know so much about me that you know the height of my football achievements though.
You must be some player !!

31-05-2019, 06:46 AM
I’ll support Hanlon when he plays. Just don’t think he’s as good as some on here make out. Not allowed an opinion on here it seems though without the football experts telling you you’re wrong. Ones that have probably never kicked a ball.
Glad you know so much about me that you know the height of my football achievements though.

I too am not averse to us getting better as he is a bit hit and miss at times however on his game is an excellent player and has been a great servant for the club. Don't think you helped yourself by saying he was only getting picked because he was a Hibs fan. :greengrin

NC1875
31-05-2019, 06:50 AM
I too am not averse to us getting better as he is a bit hit and miss at times however on his game is an excellent player and has been a great servant for the club. Don't think you helped yourself by saying he was only getting picked because he was a Hibs fan. :greengrin

Yeah in hindsight probably not. Just feel he gets no criticism from people when he has been rather poor this season.

Anyway, transfer rumours ?

31-05-2019, 06:54 AM

Like everything just now there seems a lot of views which are a tad exaggerated. Hanlon is neither bang average or brilliant. He is ,like Lewis,a very decent player who makes the odd mistake. He was probably playing when he needed resting but Ryan's injury meant Hecky was loathed to leave him out. Hecky have moved in getting Jackson in and now is well covered at centre half and who knows it could be a back four minus two of the cup winning defence come the start of the season if bree signs. I suspect sir David and the Hulk McGregor won't be playing every week and I'm sure that will prolong their careers. Hecky has said he will be getting loans purely so to get players we couldn't otherwise afford. He's started on the defence,which remember we're superb towards the end of the season but needed rotating but we didn't have the players. Great Hecky is getting guys in early,as he said he would,but let's not go overboard re whether our guys are brilliant or crap. Hanlon goes through periods when he's superb then has blips but it's noticeable when we had our dream midfield the defence stepped up a gear. I think at times they felt pressure as we weren't scoring and if we remedy this then the defence will perform better. Rocky btw looks the best keeper in the league to me so not a bad basis to build the team around.

ChrissyG1875
31-05-2019, 07:00 AM
Has Gail come back with a different name?

31-05-2019, 07:05 AM
Paul Hanlon missed almost two months of last season through injury during October and November

On his return he struggled to gain any consistency through probably being brought back too early and not fully fit

Uncharacteristic errors and lapses in concentration crept into his game

I am convinced with a good preseason and an injury free run he will be back to his consistent best in the new season

There is no doubt in my mind that on his A game he is better than Soapy Soutar and the likes in the Scottish Premiership

Greenworld
31-05-2019, 07:15 AM
Nobody actually said anything about PH's ability until you stated he was a bang average centre half who got favourable treatment because he was a Hibs fan. After that, Underscore said Paul is a very good centre half. I made no comment on Paul's ability,I merely pointed out his record as a vastly experienced player in the top division in Scotland, along with his outstanding underage representative record. I don't think that is the record of a bang average player & IMO, your assertion Paul receives favourable treatment as a Hibs fan is palpable nonsense.Paul played most of last season whilst carrying an injury. He wanted to rest up but lennon would not let him . He did the best he could but was not 100 % fit ..so not the best season to judge him for me he and Stevenson are of the same mould you get a 7 or 8 out of 10 week in week out

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Barman Stanton
31-05-2019, 07:34 AM
It wasnt long ago that Aberdeen were desperate to sign Hanlon, this was when they were finishing 2nd every season. Also every manager we bring in tends to play him when they could easily bring someone else in.

Scottish Cup winning legend with over 300 appearances. But only gets a game because he is a Hibs fan. Honestly, does any other clubs fans stick the book into their legends like some of ours do. Seen it lately with Stubbs, McGeouch, Cummings and now Hanlon.

I'm not sure the caliber of player some expect us to sign. Watching Hibs since the 80s and Hanlon would probably get a game in any Hibs team during that time.

31-05-2019, 07:44 AM
It wasnt long ago that Aberdeen were desperate to sign Hanlon, this was when they were finishing 2nd every season. Also every manager we bring in tends to play him when they could easily bring someone else in.

Scottish Cup winning legend with over 300 appearances. But only gets a game because he is a Hibs fan. Honestly, does any other clubs fans stick the book into their legends like some of ours do. Seen it lately with Stubbs, McGeouch, Cummings and now Hanlon.

I'm not sure the caliber of player some expect us to sign. Watching Hibs since the 80s and Hanlon would probably get a game in any Hibs team during that time.

We'll be wishing we had a Hanlon again at some point once he's gone

Barman Stanton
31-05-2019, 07:45 AM

Some will. A certain element of our support will probably call him a Judas and snake for leaving!

31-05-2019, 09:33 AM

You have changed your tune a bit haven't you?

The simple truth is that there isn't a player on the books who is either as good as some think or as bad as others do.

I really don't see though where folk get off on criticising some of our players, Hanlon apparently having taken over Stevenson's mantle as "easy touch for criticism"

I have watched Hibs for over 50 years and there have been plenty short term signings deserving of some criticism, but why folk feel the need to have a cheap shot at someone who has devoted their entire career to the club just baffles me.

Feels like look at me I am controversial stuff so beloved of later generations.

I don't know you from Adam, but if you make a tit of yourself contradicting the opinion of every Hibs manager since he broke through, the Scotland age group managers, the last but one Scotland Manager and managers of other clubs who have shown an interest in him over the years, then you leave yourself wide open to the accusation that you know ***** all about football.

I was (in my opinion) the best right winger never to get picked for any team I played for, but even that was a very long time ago.

31-05-2019, 09:52 AM
Has Gail come back with a different name?

Funny you should say that. I was trying to remember who he reminded me of.

HFC93
31-05-2019, 10:03 AM
My new pet hate: Whenever we sign a player, Hibs fans who post on social media and on here stating ‘Who?’. See announcement of Adam Jackson signing yesterday.

Idiotic behaviour.

31-05-2019, 11:25 AM
My new pet hate: Whenever we sign a player, Hibs fans who post on social media and on here stating ‘Who?’. See announcement of Adam Jackson signing yesterday.

Idiotic behaviour.

Possibly not Hibs fans.

Or if Hibs fans, not all are created equal.

31-05-2019, 12:41 PM
Graham Dorrans possibly being released by Sevco. If fit, would be a good addition to our midfield and a good foil for Allan, Mallan et al.

31-05-2019, 01:07 PM
Graham Dorrans possibly being released by Sevco. If fit, would be a good addition to our midfield and a good foil for Allan, Mallan et al.

Guessing he's being released to free up wages, which probably means we couldn't afford him.

31-05-2019, 01:14 PM
Guessing he's being released to free up wages, which probably means we couldn't afford him.

Possibly, though at 32 and having made a good living, he may just wish to play first team football.

Didn't realised he had been at Rangers for so long.

TelaStella
31-05-2019, 01:50 PM

Definitely. I remember we lost him to Injury just before that so called relegation derby in that season of seasons and a lot of it might have been down to the rest of the squad around him but I can’t remember ever missing a player that badly as we did him in those last few games. Player’s abilities will always be questioned but very few nowadays will possess the desire and baws that Paul does. Imagine if someone like pogba had half his guts

SonOfDavidFrancey
31-05-2019, 02:12 PM
Uh oh.

Got any clips of this guy?

31-05-2019, 02:35 PM

Not for me I’m afraid!

Injury prone and the wrong side of 30.

31-05-2019, 02:37 PM
Possibly, though at 32 and having made a good living, he may just wish to play first team football.

Didn't realised he had been at Rangers for so long.

Not my cup of tea, injury issues and age don't entice me much. Would have rather kept Milligan if we were looking at him to be honest.

Dr_Regal
31-05-2019, 02:38 PM
Not my cup of tea, injury issues and age don't entice me much. Would have rather kept Milligan if we were looking at him to be honest.

Really don't see us signing many over 30s anymore, need much more energy for Heckys system.

Hard Pass for me

31-05-2019, 02:39 PM

Has been a good player, but had loads of injuries this season

31-05-2019, 04:15 PM
Please stop linking us with any 30+ players unless they are from top end teams and have the Sauzee quality, we need to build for now and the future.

31-05-2019, 04:52 PM
Yeah in hindsight probably not. Just feel he gets no criticism from people when he has been rather poor this season.

Anyway, transfer rumours ?Dont u read the posts on here ...poor Hanlon gets it tight regularly. Hes up there with Flo as public enemy no 1

Ardenttwo
31-05-2019, 06:22 PM
Has been a good player, but had loads of injuries this season

Tom Bayliss from Coventry is now rumoured to be coming. Anyone know about him ?

31-05-2019, 06:25 PM

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/who-tom-bayliss-young-coventry-16233705.amp

31-05-2019, 06:25 PM

No, but Heckingbottom did say there was about 6 players we could have been interested in when he was asked about watching Doherty for Shrewsbury (not sure that’s the right team?) against Coventry so every chance there something in that.

Where is that being rumoured about?

31-05-2019, 06:28 PM
No, but Heckingbottom did say there was about 6 players we could have been interested in when he was asked about watching Doherty for Shrewsbury (not sure that’s the right team?) against Coventry so every chance there something in that.

Where is that being rumoured about?

Just googled him and no chance.

20 year old with that many appearances under his belt will be highly thought of and worth a lot, also looks like Newcastle are after him.

31-05-2019, 06:32 PM

20 year old with that many appearances under his belt will be highly thought of and worth a lot, also looks like Newcastle are after him.

I was thinking the same. Newcastle, Brighton, Leeds and Middlesbrough interested. A transfer fee of £500,000 being suggested. Only possibility would be if one of those clubs signed him for his potential and then loaned him to us? But why would they?

at last 61
31-05-2019, 06:32 PM

Not a hope valued at 3million

31-05-2019, 06:50 PM

Not sure where it's rumoured about, but 20 years of age contracted until 2022 with a good number of games under his belt would make me think this is a non starter

31-05-2019, 07:29 PM

McGinn was 20 with 98 apps when we signed him.

31-05-2019, 07:37 PM

And out of contract

31-05-2019, 08:00 PM

And played for St Mirren in the SPFL

31-05-2019, 08:27 PM
And played for St Mirren in the SPFL

Bayliss has played all his games in EFL 1 & 2, hardly the big leagues.

31-05-2019, 08:27 PM
And out of contract

He was still being courted by teams with greater resources than us.

31-05-2019, 08:43 PM

We all know that's not the point though.

If a premier league team are interested we've absolutely no chance.

31-05-2019, 09:20 PM

Only knew of an American team looking at him

Ardenttwo
31-05-2019, 10:25 PM

He was definitely at the Hibs v Aberdeen game.

31-05-2019, 11:03 PM
He was definitely at the Hibs v Aberdeen game.

He’s a friend of McNulty, probably the more likely reason?

As previously said, valued at 3 million and interest from premiership clubs. Sounds unlikely.

Bangkok Hibby
01-06-2019, 06:04 AM

As previously said, valued at 3 million and interest from premiership clubs. Sounds unlikely.

McNulty possibly to Coventry?

Lee Marvin
01-06-2019, 06:16 AM

Sean clare was also courted by premiership teams in the media...

01-06-2019, 07:27 AM
Sean clare was also courted by premiership teams in the media...

He was a free agent and had barely 50 appearances over 4 clubs. If we have to pay money I'm going to assume it's not going to happen. As it looks likely he's a 500k+ player.

01-06-2019, 07:32 AM
Mark mcnulty for Coventry is in the sun

01-06-2019, 07:36 AM

Coventry fans love him

BlackSheep
01-06-2019, 07:50 AM
Th one thing we really need to get is a set of reliable strikers, being cautious with our budget didn’t work last year so if that’s not reason enough to spend some money then what is? The McGinn bonus is money we would not have budgeted for so some of it must be used frivolously!!

01-06-2019, 08:00 AM
Wonder how much Celtic now want for LG ?

01-06-2019, 08:01 AM

The pessimist in me says that they will be able to outstrip out wage offer, but we can offer him living in his home city. Money talks unfortunately.

No doubt PH has got plenty of contacts and options.

01-06-2019, 08:09 AM
McNulty couldn’t have spoken more highly of Heckingbottom. That will count for quite a lot.

01-06-2019, 08:54 AM
Th one thing we really need to get is a set of reliable strikers, being cautious with our budget didn’t work last year so if that’s not reason enough to spend some money then what is? The McGinn bonus is money we would not have budgeted for so some of it must be used frivolously!!

Were we cautious with our money last year? I would guess it’s probably the most we’ve spent in quite a while

Paid fee’s for

Kamberi
Mallan
Horgan

Free’s

Milligan
Nelom

Loans

MacLaren (Option to buy)
Aygepong
Bogdan
Hyndman

Even the loan players would have been on big wages that we would have to cover a % of. I don’t think we recruited the best in terms of balance but I’m not sure we can say we were overly cautious with money.

Re McNulty - I think a couple of big bonuses for us is he loves the club and manager, is from Edinburgh and is now in the Scotland squad. Hopefully that swings in our favour, even if we get him we still need 1 more striker imo.

01-06-2019, 09:15 AM
One good whole season for McNulty up here will mean international football and more glamourous places than coventry

01-06-2019, 09:22 AM
Were we cautious with our money last year? I would guess it’s probably the most we’ve spent in quite a while

Paid fee’s for

Kamberi
Mallan
Horgan

Free’s

Milligan
Nelom

Loans

MacLaren (Option to buy)
Aygepong
Bogdan
Hyndman

Even the loan players would have been on big wages that we would have to cover a % of. I don’t think we recruited the best in terms of balance but I’m not sure we can say we were overly cautious with money.

Re McNulty - I think a couple of big bonuses for us is he loves the club and manager, is from Edinburgh and is now in the Scotland squad. Hopefully that swings in our favour, even if we get him we still need 1 more striker imo.

And he knows he'll most likely be the main striker so will get plenty of game time here.

Leitherhibs
01-06-2019, 09:22 AM
Hearing we’re on the verge of getting another 2 deals over the line - Announcements early next week.

01-06-2019, 09:33 AM
Hearing we’re on the verge of getting another 2 deals over the line - Announcements early next week.

Any ideas of positions or if they are permanent or loan deals? Guessing it's non of our ex loanees as they are away on other business

01-06-2019, 09:34 AM
Remember we didn't get the McGinn money till near the end of the window, that should still be there.

01-06-2019, 09:34 AM
Hearing we’re on the verge of another 2 deals over the line - Announcements early next week.

Omeonga and McNulty?

01-06-2019, 09:43 AM
Remember we didn't get the McGinn money till near the end of the window, that should still be there.
I dont think mcnulty would have been cheap.

Leitherhibs
01-06-2019, 09:45 AM
No further info re players or positions, just 2 bodies in to be unveiled next week. Encouraged by us getting some early business done.

01-06-2019, 09:49 AM
I dont think mcnulty would have been cheap.

He was a loan, his wage would be within our wage structure, remember we don't always pay loan players full wages.

01-06-2019, 10:03 AM

Paid fee’s for

Kamberi
Mallan
Horgan

Free’s

Milligan
Nelom

Loans

MacLaren (Option to buy)
Aygepong
Bogdan
Hyndman

I definitely think we should have pushed the boat out a bit and went for Kamara rather than Mark Milligan. That might have cost us a fee last summer but we would have got a better player who would now be a sellable asset.

HFC93
01-06-2019, 10:11 AM
The pessimist in me says that they will be able to outstrip out wage offer, but we can offer him living in his home city. Money talks unfortunately.

No doubt PH has got plenty of contacts and options.

I think signing for Hibs gives him a better chance of getting in Scotland squads, which might swing it in our favour.

01-06-2019, 10:19 AM
Hibs: Hey Marc we can offer you 3k, a guaranteed first team position, working with a great manager under Hecky, the chance to move back to your home town and see all your mates/family, great training facilities/stadium and a chance to make Europe and cement your place in the Scotland squad.
McNulty: Sounds good, I'll think about it
Coventry: We can give you 10k
McNulty: Sold!

SloopJB
01-06-2019, 10:23 AM

2 announced for the development squad.

01-06-2019, 10:24 AM

The two youngsters we’ve just signed for the development squad? Jack Hodge & Josh Doig

Hibernian32
01-06-2019, 10:26 AM

Deli alli and Jamie vardy enough said

01-06-2019, 10:43 AM
Scott Allans deal starts on the 10th June

01-06-2019, 10:45 AM
No further info re players or positions, just 2 bodies in to be unveiled next week. Encouraged by us getting some early business done.

First teamers or development, do you know?

01-06-2019, 10:57 AM

Announced

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10004

01-06-2019, 11:04 AM
Hibs: Hey Marc we can offer you 3k, a guaranteed first team position, working with a great manager under Hecky, the chance to move back to your home town and see all your mates/family, great training facilities/stadium and a chance to make Europe and cement your place in the Scotland squad.

McNulty will be aware of the money he can earn elsewhere But he has gone on record as saying he would push for a move back to Hibs Clearly it’s not as simple as that But he did not need to come out and say that . Therefor I think there is a genuine desire from him to make it happen If Hibs want him as No 1 Striker then there is a deal to be done at some point I think Probably mean we have to give them a large slice of any future Transfer fee possibly
They are desperate for money though so will try and offload him down south Bit if he thinks it’s best to revive his career back at Hibs even if just for a season with view to bigger move then we have a chance

Leitherhibs
01-06-2019, 11:06 AM
First teamers or development, do you know?

The two development lads announced this am it seems, sorry to get folks hopes up!

K-Zazu
01-06-2019, 11:11 AM
Please no more squad fillers like Nelom, Mavrais. Would rather just play the younger players

Leitherhibs
01-06-2019, 11:19 AM
Please no more squad fillers like Nelom, Mavrais. Would rather just play the younger players

Neil Lennon for you.

01-06-2019, 11:28 AM

100%

Total waste of wages

01-06-2019, 11:33 AM
The two development lads announced this am it seems, sorry to get folks hopes up!

No apologies needed. Hopefully these 2 young boys have a great career with Hibs

01-06-2019, 11:54 AM

That's OK. If you hear anything just post it. It's a rumours thread after all (despite appearances to the contrary sometimes :greengrin) so just keep those rumours coming!

01-06-2019, 12:02 PM
McNulty will be aware of the money he can earn elsewhere But he has gone on record as saying he would push for a move back to Hibs Clearly it’s not as simple as that But he did not need to come out and say that . Therefor I think there is a genuine desire from him to make it happen If Hibs want him as No 1 Striker then there is a deal to be done at some point I think Probably mean we have to give them a large slice of any future Transfer fee possibly
They are desperate for money though so will try and offload him down south Bit if he thinks it’s best to revive his career back at Hibs even if just for a season with view to bigger move then we have a chance

Am I right in thinking Coventry are in a bit of a mess. Don't think they are even playing in Coventry next season.

Maybe not an attractive proposition.

01-06-2019, 12:12 PM
Am I right in thinking Coventry are in a bit of a mess. Don't think they are even playing in Coventry next season.

Maybe not an attractive proposition.

Bit of an ongoing row with the Ricoh Owners, Wasps Rugby.

Sure I read somewhere they were close to an agreement with Birmingham City to ground share.

01-06-2019, 12:13 PM
Deli alli and Jamie vardy enough said

Don’t really understand the point you’re making here.

Caversham Green
01-06-2019, 12:35 PM

Coventry's turnover for the 2017-18 season was less than £6m and their wage bill was less than £5m. They won't be offering £10k per week to anyone.

01-06-2019, 12:35 PM

I would go for the £10k at Coventry as well, no brainier decision for a footballer.

Caversham Green
01-06-2019, 12:43 PM

Bear in mind that it's Reading rather than Coventry we would be dealing with. Reading are not actually desperate for money as their current owners do seem willing to pony up where necessary (in contrast to the last two regimes) but they do need to cut costs as they are perilously close to breaching the FFP rules. I suppose the bottom line is the same though as they won't be in a position to just give McNulty away.

01-06-2019, 12:47 PM
Peterborough Utd have just signed a striker for over £1.25M. They have a capacity of just over 15k with an average attendance of around 8k.
Crazy

01-06-2019, 12:53 PM
Coventry's turnover for the 2017-18 season was less than £6m and their wage bill was less than £5m. They won't be offering £10k per week to anyone.

https://www.footy.com/footballers-vs-the-fans/#you-vs-your-club

Average weekly wage at Coventry is less than £1200. If we really wanted McNulty and it was between us and Coventry we should be winning that battle.

01-06-2019, 12:54 PM
Ryan Hedges to Aberdeen is the latest rumour I’ve seen. Think he was one of the wingers released by Barnsley that was mentioned earlier in the thread.

01-06-2019, 12:57 PM
Ryan Hedges to Aberdeen is the latest rumour I’ve seen. Think he was one of the wingers released by Barnsley that was mentioned earlier in the thread.

Rotherham Utd fans are speculating he will be going to Rotherham

01-06-2019, 12:59 PM

Yeah one of the posters mentioned Heckingbottom wants to sign him. Played under him at Barnsley

01-06-2019, 01:01 PM
Marc McNultys old da saying the Coventry story is a load of *****.

01-06-2019, 01:13 PM

No doubt PH has got plenty of contacts and options.If he prefers Coventry to us so be it...he was hardly outstanding and we can easily get just as good if not better. I'd like to see him back but if he prefers league 1 football for some extra dosh then so be it

01-06-2019, 01:15 PM
Bear in mind that it's Reading rather than Coventry we would be dealing with. Reading are not actually desperate for money as their current owners do seem willing to pony up where necessary (in contrast to the last two regimes) but they do need to cut costs as they are perilously close to breaching the FFP rules. I suppose the bottom line is the same though as they won't be in a position to just give McNulty away.

If it was a choice between giving him away or have him sitting on his arse picking up his wages to contribute f all though.........

Caversham Green
01-06-2019, 01:32 PM
If it was a choice between giving him away or have him sitting on his arse picking up his wages to contribute f all though.........

If they were to give him away the unamortised part of his transfer fee would show as a loss in their Profit and Loss account and they'd probably have to pay up a part of his future wages if he was taking a cut. That would probably create a bigger loss than the arse-sitting scenario.

Another loan with Hibs or another club picking up a hefty chunk of his wages seems the most likely outcome to me.

01-06-2019, 02:27 PM
Looks like Ryan Hedges is signing for Aberdeen.

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-aberdeen-poised-to-sign-barnsley-star-man-as-medical-underway/

01-06-2019, 02:29 PM

https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-aberdeen-poised-to-sign-barnsley-star-man-as-medical-underway/

Shame that

Oh well we move on

01-06-2019, 02:35 PM
[QUOTE=Aldo;5802612]Bit of an ongoing row with the Ricoh Owners, Wasps Rugby.

Sure I read somewhere they were close to an agreement with Birmingham City to ground share.

Agreement reached to groundshare with Birmingham City but they are still hoping to return to the Ricoh stadium.

Tarrahib
01-06-2019, 02:38 PM
Shame that

Oh well we move on
Maybe GMS becomes an option for us now?

01-06-2019, 03:04 PM
Maybe GMS becomes an option for us now?

Hated him playing against us, so he must be good and has something to offer

Must have offers from England through

Id be surprised if he moved to Hibs, very lateral move for his career

01-06-2019, 03:05 PM
Hated him playing against us, so he must be good and has something to offer

Must have offers from England through

Id be surprised if he moved to Hibs, very lateral move for his career

Not sure Aberdeen want him.

01-06-2019, 03:13 PM

Surprised at that

01-06-2019, 03:21 PM

Think they do but he’s got a good offer from the MLS he’s considering.

jax67
01-06-2019, 03:22 PM

Quick!! Someone send him a video of union st on a Saturday night.
That’ll soon change his mind.

Robbo6-2
01-06-2019, 03:27 PM
I hear we are still in for Hedges, not over yet.

01-06-2019, 03:39 PM

They do but he’s been offered a very good deal from one of the New York clubs in the MLS

01-06-2019, 03:45 PM

Aberdeen do want him. They’ve offered him a deal and he’s refused to sign it

01-06-2019, 04:18 PM
If he goes to Aberdeen then it will purely down to wages you would imagine.

With our stadium, training ground, facilities and having previously worked with the manager, Jackson and Mallan it can surely be the only reason. As well that Edinburgh is far nice and closer to his home than Aberdeen.

Like Heck said, let’s get players that want to be here.

Aberdeen have done far better than us over the past however many years and are consistent however think that will change next season and surely he isn’t basing it on that.

DetroitHibs
01-06-2019, 04:25 PM
If he goes to Aberdeen then it will purely down to wages you would imagine.

With our stadium, training ground, facilities and having previously worked with the manager, Jackson and Mallan it can surely be the only reason. As well that Edinburgh is far nice and closer to his home than Aberdeen.

Like Heck said, let’s get players that want to be here.

Aberdeen have done far better than us over the past however many years and are consistent however think that will change next season and surely he isn’t basing it on that.

Think it will be extremely hard to topple Aberdeen as they can pay higher wages than us and attract a better caliber of player.

01-06-2019, 04:27 PM
Daily Ranger online saying Hedges has gone to Aberdeen.

01-06-2019, 04:42 PM
Think it will be extremely hard to topple Aberdeen as they can pay higher wages than us and attract a better caliber of player.

That’s my point, will be purely money related why he is going there.

Oh well, Announce Isgrove.

Lee Marvin
01-06-2019, 04:52 PM
Daily Ranger online saying Hedges has gone to Aberdeen.

They are simply quoting the one report from the other source. Nothing new in that.

01-06-2019, 05:42 PM

If we really want a player then we can compete with Aberdeen on wages. However we can't & won't do it for every player. I don't see us pushing the boat out for a guy who's scored 6 league goals in 5 seasons.

01-06-2019, 05:45 PM
Is this the point people start pointing fingers at the board because we’ve missed out on a supposed target who actually might not be target

01-06-2019, 05:47 PM
If we really want a player then we can compete with Aberdeen on wages. However we can't & won't do it for every player. I don't see us pushing the boat out for a guy who's scored 6 league goals in 5 seasons.

If Aberdeen really want a player they could offer a good bit more imo.

Theres a reason Aberdeen have finished 2/3rd for the past 6 years etc.

01-06-2019, 05:59 PM
Is this the point people start pointing fingers at the board because we’ve missed out on a supposed target who actually might not be target

That's just it though its a supposed target. Not sure if we were/are or are nit interested in him.

Still very excited as to whow Heckingbottom will bring in

01-06-2019, 06:00 PM

Or he’s thinks he’ll have more competition for game time with Horgan and Boyle compared to a GMS-less Aberdeen.

01-06-2019, 06:02 PM
I didn't even know we were competing for Hedges until Aberdeen signed him.

01-06-2019, 06:10 PM
I didn't even know we were competing for Hedges until Aberdeen signed him.

Don’t know if there’s any proof we were!

Just fan rumours and hearsay

But that also could make us sound bitter that we didn’t land him

01-06-2019, 06:22 PM

Mibbies aye, Mibbies no. There's at least 5 players who have been at ER in last 2 seasons who,for a variety of reasons, chose us over Sheep. If the money gap can be minimised then there's a lot of other advantages for Hibs.

01-06-2019, 06:25 PM
Shopping list so far (assuming no-one leaves) must be:

First team:
Striker x2
Ball-winning/physical midfielder x2

Backup/rotation:
Striker x1
Winger x1
Right back x1
Goalkeeper x1

We're fine for centre backs and creative midfielders. Mackie will be a solid deputy to Stevenson at left back.

01-06-2019, 06:40 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48486984

I wonder if we are the Scottish club linked with him?

01-06-2019, 06:42 PM

I would hope so considering the rumours.

It's about time we were signing a player from the lower leagues who does well for us.

01-06-2019, 06:53 PM

Aberdeen have recruited well over a number of years and they’ve had stable management.

I do think however, that people are getting carried away with this apparent financial gulf. Their turnover hugely outstripped ours a few years ago. In this past year, we’ll likely have a record turnover and we’ll close that gap. We’ve got the European money, McGinn and improved crowds again. They’ve stood still.

I don’t see anyone they’ve signed in the past 18 months who would be out with our reach now. The difference in wage bill for next season will be less than 10% I’d wager.

muzzando
01-06-2019, 08:25 PM

Chances the "sleeping giant" club are Sunderland given Jack Ross's previous for being linked with all the same players as us?

hibeemikey21
01-06-2019, 08:54 PM
Chances the "sleeping giant" club are Sunderland given Jack Ross's previous for being linked with all the same players as us?

Exactly my thoughts on the English club. Rangers was my immediate conclusion for the Scottish club given McCall’s comments about needing to be mentally strong.

01-06-2019, 09:00 PM
Exactly my thoughts on the English club. Rangers was my immediate conclusion for the Scottish club given McCall’s comments about needing to be mentally strong.

Or just needing to be mental.

02-06-2019, 08:00 AM
The sleeping giant of a club could be Liverpool after last night's performance.
The need to be "mentally strong" at the one Scottish club in the running makes me think it is not us. More like Aaahburrdin.
Being labled a sheep sh*gg*r, understanding the locals and the general smell o' fish about the place. Got to be mentally strong to endure these.

02-06-2019, 08:08 AM

Yes, I agree it sounds like Rangers. Which probably rules us out of signing him.

02-06-2019, 03:45 PM
Yes, I agree it sounds like Rangers. Which probably rules us out of signing him.

Good news if he's the standard of player The Rangers are interested in.

02-06-2019, 04:39 PM
Saw in the gossip column today the Micheal O'Neil was offered a "big" managerial job in 2016 - I wonder if we were the club or if it was Celtic?

02-06-2019, 04:44 PM
Saw in the gossip column today the Micheal O'Neil was offered a "big" managerial job in 2016 - I wonder if we were the club or if it was Celtic?

Hearts after Neilson? Or Celtic 😃

02-06-2019, 05:03 PM
]Hearts [/B]after Neilson? Or Celtic 😃

They don't come much bigger :agree:

Tug Wilson
02-06-2019, 05:47 PM

First team:
Striker x2

Backup/rotation:
Striker x1
Winger x1
Right back x1
Goalkeeper x1

We're fine for centre backs and creative midfielders. Mackie will be a solid deputy to Stevenson at left back.

Pretty much agree with this shopping list.

02-06-2019, 08:15 PM
Mibbies aye, Mibbies no. There's at least 5 players who have been at ER in last 2 seasons who,for a variety of reasons, chose us over Sheep. If the money gap can be minimised then there's a lot of other advantages for Hibs.

That was my original point regarding Hedges, that if he is going to Aberdeen it will be purely down to money.

If it’s not for money you would think
- stadium
- training facilities

Would all massively influence him. Fair enough Aberdeen are getting s new stadium and training centre but I feel it so ourely money.

02-06-2019, 08:26 PM

Reading between the lines there the boy might be a bit radged, maybe worth steering clear!

02-06-2019, 10:07 PM

First team:
Striker x2

Backup/rotation:
Striker x1
Winger x1
Right back x1
Goalkeeper x1

Would be surprised to see another 8 players come in.

Centre mid needs strengthened defensively and imo we also need more quality/squad depth up top and in the wide areas.

Heckinbottom has said a couple of times he wants us better in 1 vs 1 scenarios and to make better use of the ball in the final third.

I actually think for the small squad we have, there is a lot of quality in there, if we recruit well it could be a very exciting season.

Also, is it just me that thinks Omeonga isn’t the answer? Don’t get me wrong he played really well at times and was sharp and won the ball back in good positions. But imo he’s not creative enough to play on the wing or behind the striker and no convinced he was be good enough defensively or have the discipline to play in a 2, which is surprising since Lennon compared him to ****e when he first joined.
Don’t get me wrong if we got the option to sign him without breaking the bank I would, but we need a much more defensive minded player than him in there imo.

I know Shaw gets a lot of stick but I do think he has potential and seems to score if he gets a decent run of games. Not sure Heckingbottom is convinced by him though.

Regarding Shankland, I’m not overly convinced he would do well with us.

02-06-2019, 11:21 PM

Couldn’t be further from the truth

03-06-2019, 01:47 AM

Trying not to read into the comments too much im going to guess its sevco

03-06-2019, 05:49 AM

Coventry are in League 1 and are skint. They’re paying nobody £10k a week. They’d likely struggle to match what we can afford.

03-06-2019, 06:45 AM
Coventry are in League 1 and are skint. They’re paying nobody £10k a week. They’d likely struggle to match what we can afford.

His dad also rubbished the claims as well

JimboHibs
03-06-2019, 08:50 AM

And you know all this because ??

03-06-2019, 09:40 AM
And you know all this because ??

It's not difficult.

https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/coventry-city-accounts-ricoh-row-15917064

03-06-2019, 09:45 AM
I didn't even know we were competing for Hedges until Aberdeen signed him.Theres no proof we are just people putting 2 and 2 together and coming up with 5

03-06-2019, 09:50 AM
Plus, there's this;

https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/sport/football/transfer-news/not-true-no-coventry-city-16369080

JimboHibs
03-06-2019, 10:17 AM
Plus, there's this;

https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/sport/football/transfer-news/not-true-no-coventry-city-16369080

Im talking about what we would or will pay ?

03-06-2019, 10:22 AM
Im talking about what we would or will pay ?

I don't understand.

You challenged Winston for saying that Coventry were skint.

He said that they'd likely struggle to pay what we would, which is his opinion based on Coventry's publicised financial situation.

I don't see the controversy. :confused:

03-06-2019, 10:45 AM
Aberdeen have recruited well over a number of years and they’ve had stable management.

I do think however, that people are getting carried away with this apparent financial gulf. Their turnover hugely outstripped ours a few years ago. In this past year, we’ll likely have a record turnover and we’ll close that gap. We’ve got the European money, McGinn and improved crowds again. They’ve stood still.

I don’t see anyone they’ve signed in the past 18 months who would be out with our reach now. The difference in wage bill for next season will be less than 10% I’d wager.

Aberdeen have multiple anonymous benefactors donating a combined amount of a few million quid each year.

It's this money that's keeping their turnover high and financing their stadium move and high wage bill.

Last comparison I seen implied they were paying significantly higher wages than both us and hearts.

03-06-2019, 10:59 AM
I don't understand.

You challenged Winston for saying that Coventry were skint.

He said that they'd likely struggle to pay what we would, which is his opinion based on Coventry's publicised financial situation.

I don't see the controversy. :confused:

This is Hibs.net. All arguments can by won by a simple “and how do you know that?”

Intelligent play by the poster imo but lacked that bit of flair that I like to see at Hibs. I think this style of debate is more suited to an Aberdeen or Motherwell forum but it’s results that matter at the end of that day.