View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

23-06-2019, 07:49 AM
A lot of chat on here about Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers players values, etc... and not enough about this rumour...!

Where did you hear this? Who has placed a bid? And for how much?

He's been linked with the Croatian side Osiek. Not seen a fee quoted.

Leitherhibs
23-06-2019, 07:51 AM
I heard way back last season when we signed Kamberi that his release clause had been set at 2mil. Would be utterly shocked if a club had met that clause based upon his performances last season. Osijek are hardly a massive side with the resources to spend like that either.

23-06-2019, 07:51 AM
A lot of chat on here about Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers players values, etc... and not enough about this rumour...!

Where did you hear this? Who has placed a bid? And for how much?Just chat earlier on this thread mate about an accepted bid from the Croatian side...no idea if true or not

23-06-2019, 07:53 AM
That a guess or you heard something ?Heard it's all but done...albeit from Jambos mainly

BlackSheep
23-06-2019, 08:00 AM
Good news is that it’s nothing more than a rumour then.

I don’t think losing Kamberi, unless for a decent fee, perhaps enough to get McNulty on a permanent deal, would be a good idea.... we are short up top and need to be adding not losing players there.

23-06-2019, 08:01 AM
If its £2million then absolutely

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

23-06-2019, 08:14 AM
I don't think from what we've seen of Shaw so far he would be capable of leading the line for us over the course of a season yet. His scoring rate is good but his overall play isn't. Big season for him and I think he really needs to make big strides this season.

23-06-2019, 08:17 AM
Notice Pavol Safranko is expected to leave Aalborg.... Wouldn't mind him to be 1 of the 2 strikers we get in

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 08:21 AM
Now apparently Sunderland in for Kamberi with Mcgeough coming our way

23-06-2019, 08:22 AM
I don't think from what we've seen of Shaw so far he would be capable of leading the line for us over the course of a season yet. His scoring rate is good but his overall play isn't. Big season for him and I think he really needs to make big strides this season.

Have to disagree, his movement and link up play is getting better the more games he plays. The more first team games he gets the better he'll become. His ratios are good re. goals to games and he's working hard on the physical side of his game. Spends a lot less time on the deck and moaning than Flo (and I rate Flo too).

23-06-2019, 08:23 AM

Done!

23-06-2019, 08:24 AM

Has Dylan not just been given another year on his deal there?

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 08:25 AM
Have to disagree, his movement and link up play is getting better the more games he plays. The more first team games he gets the better he'll become. His ratios are good re. goals to games and he's working hard on the physical side of his game. Spends a lot less time on the deck and moaning than Flo (and I rate Flo too).

Spot on think he is gradually getting better I never used to be a fan of Shaw until last season his already play grew. Think he would benefit going on loan to maybe top end championship dunfermline or both the Dundee sides.

23-06-2019, 08:26 AM
Fromm BBC Scotland's Fitba' gossip news.

"Hibernian are considering a £250,000 bid for Forest Green Rovers striker Christian Doidge, 26." (Sunday Mail)

No further comment from me as I haven't a clue other than its a fairly substantial fee for us. Or is it a sign that any hopes of getting Mcnulty are fast disappearing?

23-06-2019, 08:26 AM
Done!Sunderland have heard we've got loads of seagulls and are currently planning a bid for them as well.

Ross hates the idea that there's someone / something with a pulse at ER that he's not been linked with.

23-06-2019, 08:27 AM

Yes. And Kamberi said last year he wouldn't sign for s third tier club.

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 08:29 AM

Yes mate, but they might have done that so they recoup something for him or take the price down in the Kamberi deal.

DTS
23-06-2019, 08:29 AM
Sorry if mentioned before the Daily Ranger is reporting we’re considering a 250k move for Christian Doidge from Forrest green

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 08:32 AM

23-06-2019, 08:36 AM

"Hibernian are considering a £250,000 bid for Forest Green Rovers striker Christian Doidge, 26." (Sunday Mail)

No further comment from me as I haven't a clue other than its a fairly substantial fee for us. Or is it a sign that any hopes of getting Mcnulty are fast disappearing?

I think this was the fellah that had a big move agreed to Bolton that Forest Green pulled as they couldn’t see the money coming....?
Scored loads at non league level and seems to have continued at the next step. I would’ve thought there would be other English interest.

23-06-2019, 08:38 AM

I’d bite their hand off for that deal .....

23-06-2019, 08:45 AM

Right now yeah probably but i think Kamberi will be like a new player with Allan, Newell and Boyle feeding him

23-06-2019, 08:56 AM

I wouldn’t be surprised to see McNulty end up at Celtic as a squad filler.

ThatDayInMay
23-06-2019, 08:59 AM

Really hope there is truth in this. Would be an excellent addition to our squad. 6'1'' and fantastic aerial presence. Extremely hard working and tenacious out of possession. Good finisher and has decent mobility.

23-06-2019, 08:59 AM

Yep. Hibs played a blinder.

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 09:01 AM
Yep. Hibs played a blinder.

Played?? Are you suggesting the deals done?

23-06-2019, 09:19 AM
Have to disagree, his movement and link up play is getting better the more games he plays. The more first team games he gets the better he'll become. His ratios are good re. goals to games and he's working hard on the physical side of his game. Spends a lot less time on the deck and moaning than Flo (and I rate Flo too).Sorry I just dont see it with Oli at all...hasn't performed at all since Hecky came in...not good enough for a club with top 4 aspirations imo

23-06-2019, 09:24 AM
I always find it a bit strange when people are shooting down clubs when asking for big money for players but on the same token talk about some of the inflated transfer fees down south. I think it’s great teams like Aberdeen arnt bending over and taking what they value as too low an offer it’s the only way we as a league and country will start increasing the value of our players as generally they go down south and do very well.

I do agree with you but one of our rivals getting £5m+ is a awful lot of money to strengthen their team.

23-06-2019, 09:39 AM
I don’t see why people are so quick to write off Kamberi, he had a tough spell last season with form, injuries and Lennon.

Get him fully fit again and watch his form come back to the player we know he can be. Him and Allan have terrific link up.

Boyle, Newell, Horgan and who ever else comes in will only add to that.

I can’t see how Mcgeouch works into a Heckingbottom team or one that’s already for Mallan and Allan.

Cant see anyone bidding 2 million.

23-06-2019, 09:41 AM

Is that post not from a few weeks back before Dylan signed the extension? Wouldn’t believe it

23-06-2019, 09:47 AM
I do agree with you but one of our rivals getting £5m+ is a awful lot of money to strengthen their team.

But what if it was for Porteous in a years time if he’s playing every week we would be the same imo sure Mckenna has 4 years left on his deal or something which drives the price

23-06-2019, 10:04 AM
Heard it's all but done...albeit from Jambos mainly

Ah, a poignant reminder of the Jambos' golden generation! Walker, £10m Holt, the King Brothers, 2-2 Nicholson, Kevin McHattie. I guess the only real success has been Rolf Patterson. They of course totally eclipsed Broony, Fletch, Deeks, Gazza, KT & Whitty! Long may it continue!

23-06-2019, 10:06 AM
Is that post not from a few weeks back before Dylan signed the extension? Wouldn’t believe it

It's from the 23rd of May so quite a while back

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 10:10 AM

Apologies if it is I've fed yous a lie

23-06-2019, 10:14 AM
Apologies if it is I've fed yous a lie

Absolutely no apology needed

23-06-2019, 10:17 AM
Don’t dispute the size of the club, in that regard I can see the appeal.

If you see my post above my perception of them was a big club that has been stagnating for a few years, when that’s the case it’s not always a good place for a player to go to.

If that’s wrong and the club are still going places then yeah, it would be a good move for him.

I can’t see him getting a better move than that. I can’t remember the last time a player moved from Scotland to one of the big 6 teams in England.

Van Dijk and Wanyama had to go via Southampton to get to a top club.

Souter96Mac
23-06-2019, 10:19 AM
Doidge looks good, a more traditional number 9. Holds the ball up well, threat at crosses and corners.

Anyone with Allan in midfield behind them, and Boyle and Horgan out on the wings is going to score an absolute bucket load.

23-06-2019, 10:22 AM
But what if it was for Porteous in a years time if he’s playing every week we would be the same imo sure Mckenna has 4 years left on his deal or something which drives the price

Fair point. Its probably good for Scottish football (at least those outwith the Old Firm) but Aberdeen are already at an advantage with the private investment coming in so I'm loath to see them getting a big windfall of cash.

23-06-2019, 10:23 AM
Fair point. Its probably good for Scottish football (at least those outwith the Old Firm) but Aberdeen are already at an advantage with the private investment coming in so I'm loath to see them getting a big windfall of cash.

They do have a new stadium to build

23-06-2019, 10:29 AM
Doidge looks good, a more traditional number 9. Holds the ball up well, threat at crosses and corners.

Anyone with Allan in midfield behind them, and Boyle and Horgan out on the wings is going to score an absolute bucket load.

That's why I think we'd be daft to let Kamberi go unless it was for a considerable fee, the midfield will be immensely improved this season and Kamberi could easily be a 20+ goal player.

23-06-2019, 10:38 AM
That's why I think we'd be daft to let Kamberi go unless it was for a considerable fee, the midfield will be immensely improved this season and Kamberi could easily be a 20+ goal player.

Agree unless of course the player wants to leave and the Head Coach thinks we can do better.

23-06-2019, 10:40 AM
Sorry I just dont see it with Oli at all...hasn't performed at all since Hecky came in...not good enough for a club with top 4 aspirations imo

What about that time he played in a team that finished 4th?

23-06-2019, 10:59 AM
Agree unless of course the player wants to leave and the Head Coach thinks we can do better.

We can't get better than the Kamberi we had on loan. I'd still be working on helping him recapture that form. It would be a mistake to let him go now....

Kamberi had scored for us in European competition. We don't face more pressure than that. There is a winner in there somewhere!

I'd keep working with him. I think there is a consensus that playing in front of the likes of Scott Allan should help him put up the numbers. If that doesn't transpire then fair enough.

23-06-2019, 12:32 PM
Kenny Miller to leave Dundee.

Time to come home

23-06-2019, 12:36 PM

Time to come home

Another year older but would have been a good option last season. Would be happy for him and Shaw battling it out for 3rd/4th choice striker.

23-06-2019, 12:53 PM
We can't get better than the Kamberi we had on loan. I'd still be working on helping him recapture that form. It would be a mistake to let him go now....

Kamberi had scored for us in European competition. We don't face more pressure than that. There is a winner in there somewhere!

I'd keep working with him. I think there is a consensus that playing in front of the likes of Scott Allan should help him put up the numbers. If that doesn't transpire then fair enough.

23-06-2019, 01:03 PM

Time to come home

Maybe take him as backup to the 1st team.

Good experience for the likes of Shaw, Gullan etc to learn from

23-06-2019, 02:08 PM
Another year older but would have been a good option last season. Would be happy for him and Shaw battling it out for 3rd/4th choice striker.

I'd definitely take him. Still fit as a fiddle.

HFC93
23-06-2019, 02:11 PM

Time to come home

I thought he was Hibs media guy! :wink:

23-06-2019, 02:40 PM

Time to come home

Nope. Would be an absolute waste of a wage nowadays.

23-06-2019, 02:43 PM
Anyone any idea what’s going on with Tom James?

Anything in it? Close to signing? Made up nonsense?

Hibernian32
23-06-2019, 02:44 PM

I for one would put Kamberi and Shaw a head of him. But I don't think he'd a be a waste of a wage if we brought him in to play a bit part role and maybe get him on the coaching team I think it would be worth the little money we'd spend.

Alot of young players could learn Alot from him Shaw being the perfect student. I think he'd get a few off the bench as well tbh

23-06-2019, 02:47 PM

Heard a couple weeks ago he was definitely signing for us

23-06-2019, 02:49 PM

:agree: Given Heckingbottom wants to play a fast, high press game, I doubt Kenny would fit in.

23-06-2019, 03:01 PM

His contract expires on July 1st. Probably something will be announced round about then

23-06-2019, 03:05 PM
His contract expires on July 1st. Probably something will be announced round about then

It’s not unusual for that to be the case.

MacGruber
23-06-2019, 03:15 PM
It's only the rag that is the Sun however it is quoting us as having given up on McNulty. Hopefully means nothing

23-06-2019, 03:41 PM
It's only the rag that is the Sun however it is quoting us as having given up on McNulty. Hopefully means nothing

Might be in the minority but that wouldn't bother me. I'd prefer to bring Jason back home.

23-06-2019, 03:45 PM
Might be in the minority but that wouldn't bother me. I'd prefer to bring Jason back home.

What about both of them?

23-06-2019, 03:49 PM
What about both of them?

Jason actually did a lot of work off the ball under Lennon. I'd much prefer another option up front Aldo (in the physical sense). I don't think we have a forward that really works centre halves enough and roughs them up. You need that option in this league. Last two seasons we have had too many draws and not been able to revert to a 'route one' when it matters. We needs a strike force that can mix it up and have those options in my opinion. I rate McNulty, but certainly not if it's a big fee.

23-06-2019, 03:53 PM

Not the case at all.

23-06-2019, 03:58 PM
Jason actually did a lot of work off the ball under Lennon. I'd much prefer another option up front Aldo (in the physical sense). I don't think we have a forward that really works centre halves enough and roughs them up. You need that option in this league. Last two seasons we have had too many draws and not been able to revert to a 'route one' when it matters. We needs a strike force that can mix it up and have those options in my opinion. I rate McNulty, but certainly not if it's a big fee.

Couldn’t agree more regarding a more physical type CF however not a big lump of a player but someone who will be mobile enough to get about. Think our strikers where much of the same sort to speak!

I really hope we sign McNulty as given the right service he could score 15+. He also makes very good runs and brings others into play.

I think PH knows who he wants and would hop that 2 Strikers will arrive before the window shuts and if Flo goes then I would say we need 3.

23-06-2019, 04:02 PM
Twitter reply from the club hinting at some upcoming transfer news.

23-06-2019, 04:07 PM

Pushing season tickets?

23-06-2019, 04:07 PM
Couldn’t agree more regarding a more physical type CF however not a big lump of a player but someone who will be mobile enough to get about. Think our strikers where much of the same sort to speak!

I really hope we sign McNulty as given the right service he could score 15+. He also makes very good runs and brings others into play.

I think PH knows who he wants and would hop that 2 Strikers will arrive before the window shuts and if Flo goes then I would say we need 3.

Problem with Flo is he plays for himself far too often and when confidence is low he throws the dummy. He is a really good player and needs to get his head down and work harder, but he has all the ability and traits to be a top striker. It's all about application for me. On his day, and when he's 'on it', he's up there with the best in the league.

We need a physical striker who can occupy both centre halves and worry them. We play off defences and give opposition defences way too much time to re-set and defend in lines. With Boyle, Horgan, and Newell, you'd hope we can get a striker who can really trouble the CHs and make them defend on the backfoot and deeper.

Robbo6-2
23-06-2019, 04:08 PM

Where you seeing this?

23-06-2019, 04:10 PM

Possibly announcing Tom James signed?

23-06-2019, 04:11 PM
Where you seeing this?

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1142809539059699713

MagicSwirlingShip
23-06-2019, 04:12 PM
Where you seeing this?

Twitter. Scroll down on the Hibs accounts tweets and replies

Problem with Flo is he plays for himself far too often and when confidence is low he throws the dummy. He is a really good player and needs to get his head down and work harder, but he has all the ability and traits to be a top striker. It's all about application for me. On his day, and when he's 'on it', he's up there with the best in the league.

We need a physical striker who can occupy both centre halves and worry them. We play off defences and give opposition defences way too much time to re-set and defend in lines. With Boyle, Horgan, and Newell, you'd hope we can get a striker who can really trouble the CHs and make them defend on the backfoot and deeper.

We will find out soon enough!

Robbo6-2

Hopefully another Sunday night announcement

23-06-2019, 04:16 PM

Would be fantastic somehow don't think they are hinting at it being so soon. Could do with another body in

23-06-2019, 04:22 PM

Don't think they'd announce it on the same night as Hanlon's Testimonial bash?

23-06-2019, 04:24 PM
Don't think they'd announce it on the same night as Hanlon's Testimonial bash?

That's the perfect time for a new left footed centre half o
I'd have thought. A good out of the blue one too, surprise to everyone.

23-06-2019, 04:25 PM
That's the perfect time for a new left footed centre half o
I'd have thought. A good out of the blue one too, surprise to everyone.

In a swap deal for Paul I heard.

cmcd
23-06-2019, 04:54 PM

I certainly never saw JC work of the ball.He was more interested in looking after his hair .

renato
23-06-2019, 05:14 PM

Oh for a modern day Mixu, or Brewster..

23-06-2019, 05:25 PM
Don't get the hype around McKenna. Every time I've seen him for Aberdeen or Scotland he's looked like the weak link.

Robbo6-2
23-06-2019, 05:32 PM
Don't get the hype around McKenna. Every time I've seen him for Aberdeen or Scotland he's looked like the weak link.

Agree, hes bang average. Not particularly fast and a bombscare on the ball. Dont get it.

Does anyone remember his tackle on Mcginn when he was on loan at Ayr?

23-06-2019, 05:49 PM

Totally agree. Is ideal for the championship down south but with fees getting ridiculous then will go for silly money. We must be missing something.

23-06-2019, 06:06 PM
Totally agree. Is ideal for the championship down south but with fees getting ridiculous then will go for silly money. We must be missing something.
I said the same a couple of weeks ago regarding Porteous. We see him him a a great young player in the making but clubs like Aston Villa (IIRC) and Celtic are bidding for McKenna and I think Hoffenheim were in for the young Celtic centre back while no one (at least that we are aware of) is moving for Porteous. I'm definitely missing something....

23-06-2019, 06:56 PM
Might be in the minority but that wouldn't bother me. I'd prefer to bring Jason back home.Not overly fussed myself mate....flattered to deceive a lot of games imo. Would take him back but not gonna cry myself to sleep if it doesnt happen...and certainly not worth 1 million imho

23-06-2019, 06:59 PM

So nowt in this?

23-06-2019, 07:12 PM
So nowt in this?

They did say soon I wasn't reading that as tonight, I'd hope definitely next week we'd maybe see 2 new bodies through the door. All guesswork by me

23-06-2019, 07:14 PM
So nowt in this?

I doubt that’s the case.

It only says “hopefully some good news on that front soon”. Doesn’t really say what day/time we are going to announce a potential new signing or two. Could be in the next hour, tomorrow, a few days time or so?

23-06-2019, 07:16 PM

He’s a good player at our level, that’s about it. Id fancy him to prove himself to be as good as Daz or Hanlon but not a lot more than that. Could go down to the Championship and carve out a decent career but the idea that he’s worth more than a million or so seems ludicrous from what I’ve saw of him.

Souter96Mac
23-06-2019, 07:47 PM
Heard new signing to be announced tonight 👀

23-06-2019, 07:50 PM
He’s a good player at our level, that’s about it. Id fancy him to prove himself to be as good as Daz or Hanlon but not a lot more than that. Could go down to the Championship and carve out a decent career but the idea that he’s worth more than a million or so seems ludicrous from what I’ve saw of him.

Got to agree. Media hype working in strange ways methinks. I’ve only seen the big fud a few times v Hibs. Never been very impressed.

23-06-2019, 07:51 PM
Heard new signing to be announced tonight [emoji102]Can't see it at 9pm but you never know I guess

More likely to leave until tomorrow if we have something done

23-06-2019, 07:54 PM
Heard new signing to be announced tonight 👀

What time does the Hanlon thing finish tonight? I’d assume they’d be waiting until that is done before announcing anything.

I don’t know who your source is obviously but do you think there’s maybe a chance they think that there could be a signing based on the tweet earlier saying we’re hopeful of a singing soon?

DTS
23-06-2019, 07:57 PM
Tom James is at the Hanlon event this evening

23-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Tom James is at the Hanlon event this eveningMust've signed then

23-06-2019, 08:06 PM

So is John McGinn! :greengrin

Could it be... :devil:

23-06-2019, 08:09 PM
Tom James would be a good signing.

Young defender who West Brom nearly signed last summer !

23-06-2019, 08:14 PM

Happy days!

23-06-2019, 08:16 PM

Suspect there would have been at least one photo and lots of posts on social media if that was the case.

Unless of course he’s been sneaked in the back door and hidden away until a grand unveiling at the end.

23-06-2019, 08:19 PM
Suspect there would have been at least one photo and lots of posts on social media if that was the case.

Unless of course he’s been sneaked in the back door and hidden away until a grand unveiling at the end.
Yeah nothing at all on Twitter

23-06-2019, 08:23 PM

Its not unusual... ah wrong Tom...

23-06-2019, 08:24 PM

Doh! [emoji1787]

DTS
23-06-2019, 08:51 PM
Yeah nothing at all on Twitter

Forgive me my own eyes and the chat going around the event must not be good enough as it’s not on Twitter. Perhaps everyone’s enjoying their night

23-06-2019, 08:52 PM
Forgive me my own eyes and the chat going around the event must not be good enough as it’s not on Twitter. Perhaps everyone’s enjoying their night

I didn't say I was doubting you, just echoing what the other poster was saying

Inconsequential
23-06-2019, 08:54 PM
Tom Jones is at Paul Hanlon's do? What is Tom Jones doing there? That is unusual. You sure it isn't Corporal Jones? Don't panic don't panic. :confused:

Saturday Boy
23-06-2019, 08:56 PM
Tom Jones is at Paul Hanlon's do? What is Tom Jones doing there? That is unusual. You sure it isn't Corporal Jones? Don't panic don't panic. :confused:

Well, I saw a flickering shadow of light on the blind.

But as you say, that’s not unusual 😂

23-06-2019, 08:57 PM
Any mair puns and With These Hands I swear I'll be Burning down the House......

DetroitHibs
23-06-2019, 08:58 PM

Any of the ladies lobbed any thongs or panties at him?

23-06-2019, 09:02 PM
Any of the ladies lobbed any thongs or panties at him?
He's nearly 80 - fans who have followed his career might be flinging more granny panties at him than thongs these days......

23-06-2019, 09:05 PM

Tbf it was me the poster was replying too, it wasn’t meant as a criticism of you though, I didn’t know you were there and thought you were just passing on a rumour.

FWIW I am surprised nobody at the event has posted it on social media, that’s just the way it normally works in this day and age.

SSN are reporting he was there so fair play to you, good info and cheers for the heads up.

Inconsequential
23-06-2019, 09:05 PM
Well, I saw a flickering shadow of light on the blind.

But as you say, that’s not unusual 😂 Why why why Delilah? Why do you get called Delilah Saturday Boy? :wink:

23-06-2019, 09:08 PM
Tbf it was me the poster was replying too, it wasn’t meant as a criticism of you though, I didn’t know you were there and thought you were just passing on a rumour.

FWIW I am surprised nobody at the event has posted it on social media, that’s just the way it normally works in this day and age.

SSN are reporting he was there so fair play to you, good info and cheers for the heads up.

Chances are people there won't know who he is jusy by looking at him and it's been a press guy that has?

Inconsequential
23-06-2019, 09:08 PM
Any of the ladies lobbed any thongs or panties at him? Why would the women be lobbing panties at Paul Hanlon? :wink:

Caversham Green
23-06-2019, 09:10 PM
Can I be the first one to ask:

What's new pussy cat?

Oh wait, he doesn't post here any more. Probably wouldn't appreciate the pussy bit either.

23-06-2019, 09:11 PM
Chances are people there won't know who he is jusy by looking at him and it's been a press guy that has?

Well the young one worked it out and they’ve said other folk are talking about it.

DTS
23-06-2019, 09:12 PM
Well the young one worked it out and they’ve said other folk are talking about it.

He was sitting with Adam Jackson and I think people started putting 2 and 2 together along with a quick check of the report of the sun in terms of pictures. Before you know it 4 year contract is signed😂😂

23-06-2019, 09:15 PM

👍 fair play.

Welcome Tam Jim.

24-06-2019, 12:36 AM
Right back and the Striker from Forest Green both signed according to a member of backroom staff I spoke to tonight (not at Hanlon testimonial). Didn’t mention a name of right back but assume it’s the lad James.

Dr_Regal
24-06-2019, 02:10 AM
Right back and the Striker from Forest Green both signed according to a member of backroom staff I spoke to tonight (not at Hanlon testimonial). Didn’t mention a name of right back but assume it’s the lad James.

Senational work from Hecky if that's true. James sounds perfect, and Doidge is a goalscorer.

24-06-2019, 03:24 AM
If true I wish the two lads well, both coming from League 2 which is a poor standard but hopefully they’re a couple of gems which Heckingbottom was known for getting at Barnsley.

Would I be worried if anyone else in the spl signed them? No.

They've both gained a fair amount of interest over the past year or two however so must have something about them.

I really hope we’re not getting rid of Kamberi, he is the smart striker that will flourish under Allan and Boyle. He has so much potential and think people forget he’s only just turned 24 (I know it’s not exactly young but he just seems older)

What is a bonus is that Heckingbottom and the guys seem to know exactly what they want and are getting business done early.

I also think it’s important to remember we lost a hell of a lot of players this summer, we need to bring in a lot of bodies -not all will be starters.

24-06-2019, 03:47 AM
Ascoli and Hendo’s club seem to be after Omeonga

24-06-2019, 04:23 AM

Damn, hoping we can sort a deal out

24-06-2019, 04:51 AM

James sounds like a coup. I'm a little nervous paying £250k for a striker given the level he's played at but have to trust the manager on this one. It's certainly an area of the pitch we need strengthened.

Still a DM and another forward needed but the team is really taking shape.

DetroitHibs
24-06-2019, 04:58 AM
Really great work getting bodies in early. Always think getting the squad together and full preseason makes a huge difference.

MacGruber
24-06-2019, 05:48 AM
It doesn't matter about the level that they are playing at - Sproule, Vardy, Robertson etc etc. Only matters that they have been scouted properly and are good players.
Still, doesn't stop me being a bit nervous about the level of football they are coming in from (if indeed both signed). Have to trust Heck and the recruitment team and get behind them. Hopefully can secure McNulty and Omeonga, proven quality for us and a few others.

Clarence
24-06-2019, 05:58 AM
Whilst I know that they have never proven themselves at Championship level, the interest from the championship clubs makes me think that James and Doidge are no mugs.

Hopefully with the help of our facilities and hecky’s guidance they will kick on to get better and better.

I think having a manager with knowledge of these leagues will be a real plus point for us and we shouldn’t fear taking a risk to uncover a diamond in the rough.

DetroitHibs
24-06-2019, 06:11 AM
What I really like about the way we are doing business, is these all seem like Heckingbottoms signings. Players he has knowledge off. With Lennon and previous managers, it seemed most players were put forward from agents and never properly scouted.

24-06-2019, 06:44 AM
What I really like about the way we are doing business, is these all seem like Heckingbottoms signings. Players he has knowledge off. With Lennon and previous managers, it seemed most players were put forward from agents and never properly scouted.

Be interesting to see how they get on. If other teams were signing players from League 2 we wouldn’t even be discussing them. If Collins/Shinnie can start every week and get promoted in League 1 then what’s the standard like a league below

thegaffer12
24-06-2019, 07:00 AM
McNulty scored for fun in League 2, and was unsuccessful in the Championship. He pretty much made his mark up here too.

24-06-2019, 07:03 AM
Be interesting to see how they get on. If other teams were signing players from League 2 we wouldn’t even be discussing them. If Collins/Shinnie can start every week and get promoted in League 1 then what’s the standard like a league below

This does worry me a little, I don't watch league 2 (who does?...) but when looking at highlights of players from that league I just grimace at the defending every time.

24-06-2019, 07:28 AM

Where you hearing this from?

24-06-2019, 07:37 AM
Where you hearing this from?

Looks like it's reported here

https://www.pianetagenoa1893.net/primo-piano/omeonga-piace-allascoli-avviati-contatti/

mcfly
24-06-2019, 07:52 AM
This does worry me a little, I don't watch league 2 (who does?...) but when looking at highlights of players from that league I just grimace at the defending every time.

I think you have to remember the market we are in and the wages we can afford.

It’s english div 2 or conference league that we can compete with

24-06-2019, 08:01 AM
Really great work getting bodies in early. Always think getting the squad together and full preseason makes a huge difference.

Has this been confirmed anywhere?

24-06-2019, 08:03 AM
Jamie Walker returning to hearts. Would anyone have taken him at Hibs? Would be a no from me.

24-06-2019, 08:05 AM
I'm personally not too sure on Doidge from what I've seen and read, but the recruitment department and PH would have seen a lot more than I, so they have my faith.

James looks a talent, we've been crying out for competition and a continuity plan at right back for a couple of years now, so fingers crossed this one works out!

24-06-2019, 08:06 AM
Jamie Walker returning to hearts. Would anyone have taken him at Hibs? Would be a no from me.Not for me but he's great at falling over so he's probably going to a club where he'll fit right in.

24-06-2019, 08:08 AM
Jamie Walker returning to hearts. Would anyone have taken him at Hibs? Would be a no from me.

At one time he would have added something to our midfield, but that was before the days of McGinn, McGeouch, Allan, Mallan and Omeomga etc. Our standards in that area are higher now and there's no way he would displace Horgan, Allan or the like IMO.

Could be a decent signing for Hearts as they're desperate for quality in that area, but I don't see Levein's tactics helping Walker at all.

24-06-2019, 08:08 AM
If Jamie Walker is the same player as 18 months ago, absolutely

24-06-2019, 08:11 AM

Yes I would have him, he was a little bit of a thorn in our side for a while when he was with them. Good signing for them imo.

24-06-2019, 08:14 AM

Think you’d have to go back longer than that. The Jamie Walker that left Hearts 18 months ago was dreadful, he looked like injuries had finished him. Hearts fans were happy to see the back of him I’m sure.

Apparently he’s also returning from knee surgery right now - yet another injury. There’s a good chance he’ll hardly kick a ball.

24-06-2019, 08:14 AM
Yes I would have him, he was a little bit of a thorn in our side for a while when he was with them. Good signing for them imo.

Ups his game when playing against us.

24-06-2019, 08:15 AM
I'm personally not too sure on Doidge from what I've seen and read, but the recruitment department and PH would have seen a lot more than I, so they have my faith.

James looks a talent, we've been crying out for competition and a continuity plan at right back for a couple of years now, so fingers crossed this one works out!

Christian Doidge will score goals for us.

If you have seen him play he scores all different types of goals including quite a few headers.

Would be happy if we signed him.

24-06-2019, 08:18 AM

If you have seen him play he scores all different types of goals including quite a few headers.

The headers are the big one for me, the amount of balls that the likes of Boyle and Horgan put in that are screaming out on someone just taking a gamble on, is incredible.

Hibernian32
24-06-2019, 08:19 AM

Not a chance in a million years I grew up with him no contact now like but he's a hearts man through and through be like riordan or leigh going to them

24-06-2019, 08:19 AM

Was he?

24-06-2019, 08:22 AM

Not being negative, but the exact same could have been said for James Collins...

24-06-2019, 08:22 AM

I'll be delighted to see that happen!

I think I'm more naturally skeptical of 'physical' strikers from the English lower leagues due to our questionable record in that market. Collins, Dagnall and Kuqi have damaged my perception. 😭

24-06-2019, 08:32 AM
Not being negative, but the exact same could have been said for James Collins...

I think James Collins playing in a side that created chances for him would have scored goals.

24-06-2019, 08:39 AM
I'll be delighted to see that happen!

I think I'm more naturally skeptical of 'physical' strikers from the English lower leagues due to our questionable record in that market. Collins, Dagnall and Kuqi have damaged my perception. 😭

Not sure Doidge is that physical. From the little highlights I've seen he looks more technical with good awareness in the box.

24-06-2019, 08:49 AM
Not sure Doidge is that physical. From the little highlights I've seen he looks more technical with good awareness in the box.

What he does appear to do is score with his head, which is something we have been lacking for a long time. I never see the point in playing with wingers if you don't have a striker who is good in the air.

sauzee=legend
24-06-2019, 09:19 AM

With his history of knee injuries...
I would be surprised if he is still the same player.
Passing medical might prove difficult, but hearts rugby club are happy to accept anyone.

24-06-2019, 09:25 AM
Not for me but he's great at falling over so he's probably going to a club where he'll fit right in.

If VAR reaches Scotland he'll need to retire.

Leitherhibs
24-06-2019, 09:42 AM
Sky now reporting we’re closing in on James. Love that ambiguous term.

24-06-2019, 09:50 AM
If VAR reaches Scotland he'll need to retire.Might even retire a few officials as well[emoji6]

24-06-2019, 09:57 AM

Which translates as 'deal done but can't announce it yet so we'll build up the story as if it were still in progress to keep you tuning in to us.'

24-06-2019, 10:01 AM

Sounds a bit like they're reading the gossip on here and passing it on. "Sky Sports understands" = "Sky Sports doesn't really know...".

24-06-2019, 10:10 AM
Few clips of Christian Doidge :aok:

Yes I know it's YouTube :greengrin and the opposition he is up against before you rip me to shreds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMNYNHmKt-4

Hibiza
24-06-2019, 10:28 AM
[QUOTE=DetroitHibs;5821727]What I really like about the way we are doing business, is these all seem like Heckingbottoms signings. Players he has knowledge off. With Lennon and previous managers, it seemed most players were put forward from agents and never perly scouted.[/QUOTE ]

Hibiza
24-06-2019, 10:29 AM
Spot on

24-06-2019, 10:29 AM
Sounds a bit like they're reading the gossip on here and passing it on. "Sky Sports understands" = "Sky Sports doesn't really know...".

Usually means they've been told off the record.

24-06-2019, 10:38 AM
Usually means they've been told off the record.

So they've just put it on the record! :greengrin

Luke Shanley was at Hanlon's testimonial do last night.

sean04
24-06-2019, 10:52 AM
Whittakers days surely numbered with this signing. Good cover along the defence now and defo not got the legs for center mid

24-06-2019, 10:57 AM
18 months ago lots of hearts fans didnt care walker was leaving them as he had apparently dropped both performance and effort levels when the huns started sniffing around him.

24-06-2019, 11:07 AM
18 months ago lots of hearts fans didnt care walker was leaving them as he had apparently dropped both performance and effort levels when the huns started sniffing around him.

From a few of them I know they're not too chuffed about him coming back either. Because of what you say above.

MacGruber
24-06-2019, 11:16 AM
Walker is a work shy, diving and injury prone player with little game time last few years. He is also a d**k with a crap attitude. However, if they can get him fit and his head on right he is a talent. Quick, direct, shoots early and is a danger with his diving for pens.
Halkett and Walker are 2 potentially good proven quality signings at this level.
Our signings aren't proven at this level so I'm a bit uneasy about it so far. That said our recruitment team have done well last couple of years so it might have a bit more risk but we can put a bit of trust in them and Heck that these players are better than the ones we know/are available.

Also plus point that Scott Allan will very likely be the best signing either team will make this summer

24-06-2019, 11:17 AM

Ones I know are creaming themselves at his return.

They reckon he’s the best signing any club will have or make outwith the Ugly Sisters this window. Guaranteeing them at least a top 4 finish [emoji23]

24-06-2019, 11:20 AM

They reckon he’s the best signing any club will have or make outwith the Ugly Sisters this window. Guaranteeing them at least a top 4 finish [emoji23]

Aye that sounds more like jambos.

Not like them to hype a player up

Same ones were probably calling him for everything when he was leaving

24-06-2019, 11:22 AM
Aye that sounds more like jambos.

Not like them to hype a player up

Same ones were probably calling him for everything when he was leaving

Indeed.

They don’t have a clue so if Potter is true to his word ([emoji23]) it’ll be 2 or 3 more and that’s it!

24-06-2019, 11:26 AM

Yes I know it's YouTube :greengrin and the opposition he is up against before you rip me to shreds.

While we have had somebody who can score regularly with their head.

24-06-2019, 11:29 AM
Walker's a good player, but they don't half like spending big chunks of their budget on injury-prone players who don't get many minutes on the pitch.

24-06-2019, 11:46 AM
Is walker the player who continually fell over for fouls and penalties? If same, he was a dirty little bassa too!

24-06-2019, 11:46 AM

That's the same old pish they come out with every season and they wonder why everyone laughs at them when they Hearts it. If Walker is the kind of player they're creaming themselves over i'm pretty sure we'll be laughing at them again.

24-06-2019, 11:50 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIs this the one where they win the Champions league by 2008 again.

All that cash and this signings it?

24-06-2019, 11:51 AM
Is this the one where they win the Champions league by 2008 again.

All that cash and this signings it?

Same last year when theY won the Aug (maybe Sept) 2018-19 SPFL Trophy and unfortunately let it slip and finished 6th! Close though

24-06-2019, 11:54 AM
Same last year when theY won the Aug (maybe Sept) 2018-19 SPFL Trophy and unfortunately let it slip and finished 6th! Close though

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkSurely they have recovered from Romanov's
brainwashing programme by now, or were they always drones in the first place?

Nevi_SOL
24-06-2019, 12:03 PM

Ahhh the Jambos eh. The only team ever to lose a one-horse race.

24-06-2019, 12:08 PM
Ahhh the Jambos eh. The only team ever to lose a one-horse race.

[emoji23][emoji23].

They tied the League in 1986 or so I was told [emoji23][emoji23]

24-06-2019, 12:37 PM
Another thing that worries me is that when Doidge made the step up to Bolton he scored 1 in 17. I don’t know the exact circumstances but it’s not great.

Also from my time as a hibs fan these sort of forwards never seem to do it for us, always think the young up and coming cocky types do better for us than a target man from League 2.

Aberdeen also interested in him.

24-06-2019, 12:40 PM
Another thing that worries me is that when Doidge made the step up to Bolton he scored 1 in 17. I don’t know the exact circumstances but it’s not great.

Also from my time as a hibs fan these sort of forwards never seem to do it for us, always think the young up and coming cocky types do better for us than a target man from League 2.

TBH, Bolton have been a basket case for years. Hard to judge with so much turmoil surrounding the club.

Wakeyhibee
24-06-2019, 12:48 PM

9 I think we're subs appearances. He scored 10 in 19 when he went back albeit a lower level.

I'm not sure on these type of signings but the Bolton stats are maybe a bit harsh on him.

24-06-2019, 12:49 PM

It’s a gamble but if PH thinks he is worth paying a transfer fee for and can do the job required, then that is all good for me. He’ll know that market better than ourselves.

He may end up like a Collins or potentially could end up like the lad Cosgrove from Aberdeen. He was banging them in last season when I don’t think his goal scoring record before last season was anything spectacular at all.

Torto7
24-06-2019, 12:50 PM
TBH, Bolton have been a basket case for years. Hard to judge with so much turmoil surrounding the club.

They also played some of the most negative football in the league. Sort of understandable considering what was going on behind the scenes but I'd give the lad the benefit of the doubt with the Bolton move.

It is high risk though, league 2 to the SPL is a huge jump.

If McNulty is off the table and the rumours around Flo then we'll be in for more strikers. The Hornby link from earlier would make sense.

HFC93
24-06-2019, 12:53 PM

I think he joined when they were really struggling and morale was low. Must be a Hibs/Bolton fan on here who can give us an assessment of his time there.

Robbo6-2
24-06-2019, 12:58 PM
Maybe getting our knickers in a twist over nothing. Nothing been officially confirmed.

Personally I can't see us paying out 250k for him and think this is rumours than actual facts.

24-06-2019, 12:58 PM

I think some forwards just need service and if they get it they’ll score.

Riordan could score out of nothing and the likes of Brewster and Mixu would hold the ball up even if the service was poor but some strikers will simply score goals if chances are created for them.

If you look at the likes of Ally Mccoist for example, certainly one of the best goal scorers in Scottish football in my lifetime, I bet if you were to have put him up front for a struggling English 2nd division side and played him up front himself he wouldn’t have been anything special.

Imo if he gets off to a good start and gets good service he’ll score goals.

24-06-2019, 12:59 PM
[emoji23][emoji23].

They tied the League in 1986 or so I was told [emoji23][emoji23]

They done the double the following week on a +4 handicap bet.

24-06-2019, 01:00 PM
They done the double the following week on a +4 handicap bet.

Boom. They did indeed!

24-06-2019, 01:01 PM
While we have had somebody who can score regularly with their head.

The 4 - 1 match against Chesterfield straight after the 50 goal video, Doidge did well but I thought the FGR midfielder number 25 was a standout.

147lothian
24-06-2019, 01:14 PM
I think some forwards just need service and if they get it they’ll score.

Riordan could score out of nothing and the likes of Brewster and Mixu would hold the ball up even if the service was poor but some strikers will simply score goals if chances are created for them.

If you look at the likes of Ally Mccoist for example, certainly one of the best goal scorers in Scottish football in my lifetime, I bet if you were to have put him up front for a struggling English 2nd division side and played him up front himself he wouldn’t have been anything special.

Imo if he gets off to a good start and gets good service he’ll score goals.

A good point Mccoist was garbage when he was at Sunderland

24-06-2019, 01:24 PM
There isn't a striker we could sign that doesn't have a dry spell to refer to. Sam Cosgrove took 17 games to score a goal for Aberdeen , he's now scored 21 in 42 starts. Doidge has a superb goals to starts ratio, which bodes well - but it isn't an exact science.

Louis Moult came from much lower down the English pyramid and was phenomenal for Motherwell. Other players have arrived in Scotland with massive reputations and delivered nothing. So many variables at play that determine how well a player will perform.

Be happy for us to spend £250K on someone with Doidge's scoring prowess though.

24-06-2019, 01:28 PM
Re: Walker, we counter that by allowing Porteous to do to Walker what Souttar did to Barker.

Simples.

24-06-2019, 01:29 PM
I'm amazed Jamie Walker's still only 23. Feels like he's been around forever.

24-06-2019, 01:29 PM
I'm amazed Jamie Walker's still only 23. Feels like he's been around forever.He's nearly 26

Steven79
24-06-2019, 01:30 PM
I'm amazed Jamie Walker's still only 23. Feels like he's been around forever.

He turns 26 tomorrow.

He's nearly 26

He turns 26 tomorrow.

Yup, read the Wikipedia article wrong. Slow day, sorry. :rolleyes:

Maybe getting our knickers in a twist over nothing. Nothing been officially confirmed.

Personally I can't see us paying out 250k for him and think this is rumours than actual facts.

He’s signing.

24-06-2019, 01:38 PM
Has Tommy James signed yet or is he asking for too much Mony Mony? :wink:

24-06-2019, 01:53 PM
Has Tommy James signed yet or is he asking for too much Mony Mony? :wink:

I'd be surprised if he doesn't sign, wouldn't think he'd have been at the testimonial dinner if he wasn't. Wish I'd realised who he was and I might have asked him.:greengrin

24-06-2019, 02:01 PM
I think he joined when they were really struggling and morale was low. Must be a Hibs/Bolton fan on here who can give us an assessment of his time there.

I await said assessment. The only thing I know about managers and players from Bolton is that you don't judge them on their time at Bolton! :wink:

kevo1875
24-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Agreed terms on a 3 year deal i have just read online

24-06-2019, 02:12 PM
Agreed terms on a 3 year deal i have just read online

Who has ?

kevo1875
24-06-2019, 02:14 PM
Who has ?

Tom james

24-06-2019, 02:15 PM
Tom james
Read it where online? Link?

Bob Box Fish
24-06-2019, 02:16 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-hibernian-set-to-sign-new-player-after-he-agrees-three-year-deal/

24-06-2019, 02:41 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-hibernian-set-to-sign-new-player-after-he-agrees-three-year-deal/

At the end of that it also suggests we are about to sign goalie Jon McCracken.

hibs#1
24-06-2019, 02:44 PM

Link at the bottom also says we're after a young keeper from Norwich.

24-06-2019, 02:44 PM

That’s old news, Jon’s not coming to Hibs

24-06-2019, 02:45 PM

I don't think that's what it suggests, just links to another article that claims that we're interested, alongside Blackburn and Newcastle, which isn't anything new IIRC.

24-06-2019, 02:50 PM
I don't think that's what it suggests, just links to another article that claims that we're interested, alongside Blackburn and Newcastle, which isn't anything new IIRC.

"In other Hibernian news, it can be REVEALED that the club are hoping to beat Newcastle United to the signing of a Scotland youth international."

24-06-2019, 03:04 PM

6 goals from right back very impressive

24-06-2019, 03:24 PM
"In other Hibernian news, it can be REVEALED that the club are hoping to beat Newcastle United to the signing of a Scotland youth international."

Yep, I read it. Says nothing about the deal being close and 'reveals' nothing new to the story that came out last week regarding McCracken.

24-06-2019, 03:35 PM

A lot of these were when he was playing vs Conference sides.

24-06-2019, 03:38 PM

Agree!

SDG 6:33 last season :greengrin

24-06-2019, 03:38 PM
A lot of these were when he was playing vs Conference sides.

Whilst I agree, some of them are bloody hard finishes or techniques to pull off. There's a volley in there that's absolutely incredible.

24-06-2019, 03:39 PM
Would those people that won’t get excited about bringing him in have been excited if we signed Shankland hmmm

24-06-2019, 03:40 PM

Yeah same as our current RB who also scored 6 last season, but from 11 less games :wink:

24-06-2019, 03:42 PM
Agree!

SDG 6:33 last season :greengrin

Yeah same as our current RB who also scored 6 last season, but from 11 less games :wink:

Yep , Strength in depth is healthy

24-06-2019, 03:55 PM
It’s nearly 5 O’Clock

Leith's finest
24-06-2019, 03:58 PM
Gary Mackay Steven has left the sheep, just been on SSN

K-Zazu
24-06-2019, 04:02 PM

He’s away to America

24-06-2019, 04:04 PM

Great move for him. Surprised more Scottish players don’t get their agents to offer them round teams like that.. 28 year old, living in NYC and probably earning £150k+ a year, will be some life for him.

24-06-2019, 04:13 PM
Great move for him. Surprised more Scottish players don’t get their agents to offer them round teams like that. 28 year old, living in NYC and probably earning £150k+ a year, will be some life for him.

His style of play should see him being pretty popular there. I've always thought he's a good player to watch and he's hurt us a few times with a decent end product too.

Just as long as he doesn't venture too close to the Hudson on nights out.........

24-06-2019, 04:15 PM
His style of play should see him being pretty popular there. I've always thought he's a good player to watch and he's hurt us a few times with a decent end product too.

Just as long as he doesn't venture too close to the Hudson on nights out.........

Yup, he’ll be well suited to the MLS from what I’ve saw of it. Glad to see the back of him as he seemed to almost exclusively turn it on against us.

24-06-2019, 04:16 PM

He's good at diving so should be okay.

24-06-2019, 04:23 PM
Great move for him. Surprised more Scottish players don’t get their agents to offer them round teams like that.. 28 year old, living in NYC and probably earning £150k+ a year, will be some life for him.
You think he's moving to the States for 3000 per week? Seriously?

24-06-2019, 04:30 PM

MLS has quite strict wage structure rules on players and unless he's a designated player (which I doubt he is) he'll most likely be on the 3-5k mark maybe

24-06-2019, 04:33 PM

What makes that wage unreasonable? I don't know much about the MLS, but given they release player's wages through the union over there, £150,000.00+ p/a seems reasonable no?

24-06-2019, 04:33 PM

I’m not sure if you’re suggesting he’ll be on more or less.

Other than the designated players in the MLS I’m sure I read they’re on the type of wages we pay?

24-06-2019, 04:36 PM
MLS has quite strict wage structure rules on players and unless he's a designated player (which I doubt he is) he'll most likely be on the 3-5k mark maybe
Johnny Russell made $700,000 in 2018 - plenty of money to be made there for an international player who has Celtic on his CV......

https://www.denverpost.com/2018/05/10/sporting-kansas-city-player-salaries-2018/

24-06-2019, 04:47 PM
Johnny Russell made $700,000 in 2018 - plenty of money to be made there for an international player who has Celtic on his CV......

https://www.denverpost.com/2018/05/10/sporting-kansas-city-player-salaries-2018/

https://www.denverpost.com/2018/05/10/new-york-city-fc-player-salaries-2018/

New York seem to be a bit less so GMS could be anywhere between the 150k to 500k mark. Doubt he'll be one of their highest earners above 500k

24-06-2019, 04:54 PM
Would those people that won’t get excited about bringing him in have been excited if we signed Shankland hmmm

My only concern is the transfer fee. No issue with signing guys from lower leagues, plenty of players have gone onto great things from that level.

But if the £250k figure is true, that would presumably be one of biggest fees we've ever paid. Plus whatever wages come with a player worth that kind of money.

I'm not knocking the player, Heck has done enough to get my support but that's a lot of money for us.

24-06-2019, 04:57 PM
My only concern is the transfer fee. No issue with signing guys from lower leagues, plenty of players have gone onto great things from that level.

But if the £250k figure is true, that would presumably be one of biggest fees we've ever paid. Plus whatever wages come with a player worth that kind of money.

I'm not knocking the player, Heck has done enough to get my support but that's a lot of money for us.

It’s not that much only as much as say a sponsor on your shirt 😜😂

24-06-2019, 04:58 PM
The MLS publish salaries so won’t be long till we find or what GMS earns.

Glad GMS is going as he always scored against us.

Any idea if Rocky was back training with Hibs today ?

24-06-2019, 04:58 PM

Did we not pay something quite similar for James Collins when we signed him?

Leitherhibs
24-06-2019, 05:01 PM
Did we not pay something quite similar for James Collins when we signed him?

Aye we did, and Alan O’Brien and Makalamby too, if I’m not mistaken.

24-06-2019, 05:08 PM
Aye we did, and Alan O’Brien and Makalamby too, if I’m not mistaken.

We rarely pay fees.

Hopefully we are due a return if he signs.

We paid a fee for SJM and that’s turned out well.

HFC93
24-06-2019, 05:09 PM
I trust Hecky's judgement on these guys. I think he had a reputation at Barnsley of recruiting well and he clearly knows the English market.

MikeyS
24-06-2019, 05:27 PM
https://www.denverpost.com/2018/05/10/new-york-city-fc-player-salaries-2018/

New York seem to be a bit less so GMS could be anywhere between the 150k to 500k mark. Doubt he'll be one of their highest earners above 500k

Johnny Russell is now their top earning at 27k per week!!!

Huge wages on offer over there now.

Wakeyhibee
24-06-2019, 05:38 PM
I trust Hecky's judgement on these guys. I think he had a reputation at Barnsley of recruiting well and he clearly knows the English market.

But as Hecky himself said the Scottish league is different compared (not talking quality necessarily). We've not had a lot of success at bringing on lower English league players. I'm not saying it can't be done and I've no reason to question Hecky's call but his record in England suits English football, and therefore still remains to be seen.

24-06-2019, 05:44 PM

You can't afford much on 150k in NYC.

24-06-2019, 05:49 PM
Peterborough United chairman has said on twitter that they had a bid today for Mark O'Harra from a Scottish Premier league team today. A hibs fan asked if it was us, their chairman didn't say anything but liked the tweet.

No idea who is in for him. No idea what kind of player O'hara is and no idea if their chairman is a chancer.

Just thought I'd share this pointless bit of info 😂

24-06-2019, 05:51 PM
Peterborough United chairman has said in twitter that they had a bit today for Mark O'Harra from a Scottish Premier league team today. A hibs fan asked if it was us, their chairman didn't say anything but liked the tweet.

No idea who is in for him. No idea what kind of player O'hara is and no idea if their chairman is a chancer.

Just thought I'd share this pointless bit I'd info 😂

Iv said before we should look at him, big powerful lad who can get about the pitch from centre mid and pops up with the odd goal.

exactly the type of centre mid id expect Hecky to like.

24-06-2019, 05:56 PM
Iv said before we should look at him, big powerful lad who can get about the pitch from centre mid and pops up with the odd goal.

I remember him being quite highly rated after he scored against the Rangers.

24-06-2019, 05:57 PM

Another player that Scott Allan will have played alongside also...

24-06-2019, 06:00 PM

£250k? That probably wouldn’t make the top 20 of fees we’ve paid. Remember that pre Bosman we would regularly sign players for fees. Even in the past 5-10 years we’ll have paid more several times

Would anyone take Kenny Miller as a squad player?

Leitherhibs
Fits the mould of players we’ve signed in the past.

Leitherhibs
24-06-2019, 06:01 PM

No. His best years are long behind him.

24-06-2019, 06:02 PM

I would’ve last year, probably not now

24-06-2019, 06:04 PM

Depends on wages tbh, think he would be good with some of the younger boys, I wouldn't want him taking up a wage and stunting the develoomeif one of our younger guys

24-06-2019, 06:05 PM
No. His best years are long behind him.

There is no doubting that but for a player to come on last 20m when looking for a goal he’d be a decent shout imo probably won’t happen and don’t expect it to just saying if it did I’d not be unhappy

24-06-2019, 06:05 PM
Another player that Scott Allan will have played alongside also...

He did. There is a great pass from Allan to O'Harra for one of his goals in this clip

https://youtu.be/Wbgk6Pj-vaU