View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
23-08-2019, 07:27 AM
I think the coaching term for the outside players in the 3 is wide attacking midfielders.
A lot of the modern systems 4411 4231 451 and 433 are very similar and are pretty interchangeable will depend on how attacking or not the coach wants to be and of course the players capabilities.
We play 433 this season so far. We play with a 3 man forward line. No idea why people continue to think we don’t.
23-08-2019, 07:31 AM
We play 433 this season so far. We play with a 3 man forward line. No idea why people continue to think we don’t.
I don't really understand why it matters.
The Rangers game was the only one where we struggled to get men up in support of our striker.
I mentioned on Saturday that with Allan playing as advanced as he does and with the wide players being very positive, we've effectively got four up front. In addition to that, Vela got a goal and Slivka a few assists.
We're not the finished article but we're also not a negative team in my opinion.
23-08-2019, 07:34 AM
Tbh...I think you know the answer to that .. ....The formation is more fluid than a straight 433...our shape is different with the ball and without the ball...and with Allan sometimes in the 10 role - neither is that a 433
23-08-2019, 07:57 AM
Fair enough to be honest it absolutely isn't always clear that it is and if it is maybe explains why the midfield is overrun at times. It does appear to be the in vogue system at present.
23-08-2019, 08:00 AM
We did not line up at Ibrox in a 433 formation.
147lothian
23-08-2019, 08:01 AM
Signing to tomorrow, so I'm told. Plays centre/defensive midfield.
Don't hold it against me if it doesn't happen.
Thanks for getting this thread back on track, now lets just see if anything comes out of this
23-08-2019, 08:19 AM
Thanks for getting this thread back on track, now lets just see if anything comes out of this
So nae pressure Pete! :wink:
23-08-2019, 08:31 AM
We did not line up at Ibrox in a 433 formation.
What did we line up with? Wingers are forwards, not midfielders. We played Newell on one wing, Horgan on the other and Doidge up top. That's a 4-3-3 to me.
Saying we don't play 4-3-3 is like saying Liverpool don't play 4-3-3 because Mane and Salah aren't strikers.
23-08-2019, 08:34 AM
So nae pressure Pete! :wink:
Someone's changed his wiki and gave him the number 5 shirt. IT MUST BE TRUE.
23-08-2019, 08:36 AM
We play one up front. The two wingers are not forwards.
Amazes me that anyone would call that three up front. It's not.
23-08-2019, 08:40 AM
Someone's changed his wiki and gave him the number 5 shirt. IT MUST BE TRUE.
Paul Heckingbottom probably has access to the internet, wherefore he can visit and edit wikipedia!
Must have been him so it must be true!
23-08-2019, 08:51 AM
Wingers are forwards. If they weren’t then 4-3-3 literally wouldn’t exist as nobody is playing 3 strikers.
Barman Stanton
23-08-2019, 08:57 AM
But the old 433 formation is 1 forward and 2 wingers. No one ever said that was 1 up front. It all depends on the shape. 1 up front is not necessarily non attacking.
23-08-2019, 08:59 AM
The 451 system for me has morphed into the 433 it’s one of the most commonly used formations now but let’s not kid on it’s a 451 with wide of the striker playing higher in possession and goes back into a 5 in midfield out of it.
Paul Heckingbottom probably has access to the internet, wherefore he can visit and edit wikipedia!
Must have been him so it must be true!
Still dial up down east mains tho...
PETRIE :grr:
EastThomasSTboy
23-08-2019, 09:24 AM
[QUOTE=Steve20;5899990]We play one up front. The two wingers are not forwards.
Smith and Ormond were Wingers (and forwards!!) thats why they called it the most feared Forward line in Fitba....The Famous Five.:wink::wink::wink::flag::flag::flag:
23-08-2019, 09:25 AM
Wingers are forwards. If they weren’t then 4-3-3 literally wouldn’t exist as nobody is playing 3 strikers.
He knows that but it's much more fun putting the boot into Hibs.
23-08-2019, 09:30 AM
Perfect. Hecky out!
I'm boooooooing that Swedish imposter already, no matter if he signs or not
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Sooner we ship him back to Sweden the better imo. Another Hecky signing thats flopped. That's his time up now. Pathetic. The club dont give a **** about us. Also if i decide to rock up to the stadium at 14.55 tomorrow to see him and I'm stuck in a queue and miss kick off Dempster is getting it tight. Failure of a CEO. Kind of ****ing sponsor is Beep Beep anyway?
23-08-2019, 09:33 AM
Sooner we ship him back to Sweden the better imo. Another Hecky signing thats flopped. That's his time up now. Pathetic. The club dont give a **** about us. Also if i decide to rock up to the stadium at 14.55 tomorrow to see him and I'm stuck in a queue and miss kick off Dempster is getting it tight. Failure of a CEO. Kind of ****ing sponsor is Beep Beep anyway?Agree.
The boy's a turnip.
23-08-2019, 09:36 AM
Agree.
The boy's a turnip.
Who scouts these players? Would never happen under Lenny thats for sure
malcolm
23-08-2019, 09:47 AM
Wing backs are not forwards but are defenders expected to push up. Wingers are forward players and always have been.. often hoping to take the ball to the byeline cutting it back to the centre forward.
Formations are not really rigid either by instruction these days or in practice in response to play but the idea we only play one in a forward position is daft. At best, if you define up front as being the narrow bit in the middle, I’d maybe give you setting up with only one primarily in the middle as being ‘one up front’.
I wonder if the discussion of tactics, formations and positions is polluted by many folk’s experience of playing various digital football games and the labels for positions and formations therein rather from the game in reality.:greengrin
Lee Marvin
23-08-2019, 09:53 AM
Who scouts these players? Would never happen under Lenny thats for sure
Correct. Born winner that lad
The two wingers are not forwards.
New one on me.
23-08-2019, 10:00 AM
This "one up front" stuff has to stop.
It's a lazy stick to beat the club with. I can guarantee that it probably won't even take until the match has kicked off before someone on here has posted along the lines of "FFS, one up front at home to St Johnstone, glad I never went now".
Anyone who actually watches the games will see that if anything the opposite of what is being inferred is true. The criticism is that we are tentative, negative and are playing too few attacking players. The reality is that we have a lot of players who are not necessarily strikers who take part in our attacking play. Ok, we play with one striker. We get Scott Allan right up there playing off him. The wingers are very advanced. the fullbacks get forward and take part in our attacking play. The deeper midfield players make a contribution towards our attacking play.
If you actually watch our games and want to criticise, you'll see that our wingers are probably not providing our fullbacks with enough defensive cover and that our midfield is struggling to stop chances being created against us right through the middle of it. If anything, we're too open and attacking.
This is not a great situation, and is worthy of criticism. The "one up front" stuff is a loadypish.
23-08-2019, 10:07 AM
New one on me.
They're wide players. They can be forwards, midfielders and sometimes even extra defendeds during the course of a game, I don't think anyone is debating that.
I also don't think anyone could ever describe them as being "up top" though. That's just simply not true.
Heckys wingers, for me, are more or less wide playing attacking midfielders.
23-08-2019, 10:09 AM
Come on the Swede, we’re waiting.
23-08-2019, 10:10 AM
It's a lazy stick to beat the club with. I can guarantee that it probably won't even take until the match has kicked off before someone on here has posted along the lines of "FFS, one up front at home to St Johnstone, glad I never went now".
Anyone who actually watches the games will see that if anything the opposite of what is being inferred is true. The criticism is that we are tentative, negative and are playing too few attacking players. The reality is that we have a lot of players who are not necessarily strikers who take part in our attacking play. Ok, we play with one striker. We get Scott Allan right up there playing off him. The wingers are very advanced. the fullbacks get forward and take part in our attacking play. The deeper midfield players make a contribution towards our attacking play.
If you actually watch our games and want to criticise, you'll see that our wingers are probably not providing our fullbacks with enough defensive cover and that our midfield is struggling to stop chances being created right through the middle of it. If anything, we're too open and attacking.
This is not a great situation, and is worthy of criticism. The "one up front" stuff is a loadypish.
Good post our biggest concern is we aren't strong enough defensively not that we don't have enough attacking players. A midfield or attacking line up including Mallan Allan Horgan Middleton Kamberi is nothing other than attacking supported by full backs who get forward. Our issue appears to be defence working together and also the transition when we lose the ball.
Wingers are attacking wide players, either staying wide or cutting in, the no.9 is not an out and out striker nowadays and all the front 3 are expected to interchange during the game.
23-08-2019, 10:13 AM
Just noticed that Jonathan Spector has retired. That's a shame, he's only 33.
23-08-2019, 10:14 AM
Just noticed that Jonathan Spector has retired. That's a shame, he's only 33.
Hmmm a year younger than me and he's retired - damn
I just received a not-so-glowing report on Hallberg from a Swedish mate who's very knowledgeable about their domestic league/ players. According to him Hallberg was a great talent a few years ago but flopped when playing abroad. (Udinese was it?) Loaned back to Hammarby but couldn't hold down a starting spot. Went back to Kalmar (where he first broke thorough) and has been a disappointment ever since. "Wouldn't excite me at all."
Sounds similar to Vela, promising start to his career but lost his way a bit, we've got a habit of picking up these players, Allan, Fyvie etc.
23-08-2019, 10:27 AM
23 year old, looks like he has plenty of running power, good pass and a great shot. Appreciate it’s a YouTube reel but he does look very promising.
Does he look exactly like what we need? Not really but a good player is a good player. Maybe the energy of him, Vela and Allan would all work well together. Vela is certainly better defensively than I thought and YouTube videos suggested so maybe this guy is the same.
I think the need for an out and out defensive mid is dying. A lot of teams are now going down the route of mobile players that are comfortable on the Ball.
He has 3 caps for Sweden already and they are no mugs.
He looks some type of Stevie Mallan/Slivka hybrid :greengrin
23-08-2019, 10:42 AM
23 year old, looks like he has plenty of running power, good pass and a great shot. Appreciate it’s a YouTube reel but he does look very promising.
Does he look exactly like what we need? Not really but a good player is a good player. Maybe the energy of him, Vela and Allan would all work well together. Vela is certainly better defensively than I thought and YouTube videos suggested so maybe this guy is the same.
I think the need for an out and out defensive mid is dying. A lot of teams are now going down the route of mobile players that are comfortable on the Ball.
He has 3 caps for Sweden already and they are no mugs.
He looks some type of Stevie Mallan/Slivka hybrid :greengrin
If he can win the ball in the middle of the park and has a physical side then that's fine.
joe_hfc
23-08-2019, 10:46 AM
A 23 year old with 3 caps for Sweden is not to be sniffed at. Hopefully he can play a bit deeper in the centre of the park alongside Vela.
23-08-2019, 10:47 AM
Correct. Born winner that lad
Surely you mean Bjorn winner? :greengrin
23-08-2019, 10:50 AM
People are idiots.
23-08-2019, 10:53 AM
People are idiots.
What people and why??
23-08-2019, 10:55 AM
It's true
They voted for the nazis and listen to Coldplay
Correct and brexit. And they think a 433 is defensive.
23-08-2019, 10:56 AM
People are idiots.
This is surely not new news?
23-08-2019, 10:58 AM
We didn’t play 433 v rangers? Someone better tell the players. Seriously just watch The ****** games. That’s me done. Off to the golf course now.
23-08-2019, 11:05 AM
We didn’t play 433 v rangers? Someone better tell the players. Seriously just watch The ****** games. That’s me done. Off to the golf course now.
Fine plan mate - going to Kansas City this weekend and a couple of rounds is on the agenda for me too :agree:
23-08-2019, 11:12 AM
I think you need to calm down.
23-08-2019, 11:14 AM
I think you need to calm down.
Fairly ominous for Underscore if he’s that angry before he’s even reached the first tee.
Hope he’s a better golfer than me.
23-08-2019, 11:17 AM
433 is just a set of numbers. A formation is all about execution. No formation is offensive or defensive, it's how a team plays it.
Sheffield United play 5 at the back but they have the wide central defenders overlapping the midfield like Hanlon has done for us at times. That isn't a defensive team despite starting 5 defenders. Burnley play 442 but they kick and fight and strap with 2 banks of 4 and 2 big forwards. That isn't an offense team despite 2 strikers and 2 "wingers"
23-08-2019, 11:30 AM
Nobody up for creating a formation thread naw?
23-08-2019, 11:31 AM
If you actually watch our games and want to criticise, you'll see that our wingers are probably not providing our fullbacks with enough defensive cover and that our midfield is struggling to stop chances being created against us right through the middle of it. If anything, we're too open and attacking.
This is not a great situation, and is worthy of criticism. The "one up front" stuff is a loadypish.Spot on...its becoming ridiculous
23-08-2019, 11:33 AM
Nobody up for creating a formation thread naw?Cant wait to read that. Be riveting stuff mate [emoji42][emoji42][emoji42]
23-08-2019, 11:34 AM
23-08-2019, 11:35 AM
Cant wait to read that. Be riveting stuff mate [emoji42][emoji42][emoji42]
supermcginn
23-08-2019, 11:43 AM
Yet again you are acting aggressive and like everyone else is thick. Stinking attitude.
23-08-2019, 12:06 PM
Any news on this Swedish lad? Says on his Wikipedia he hates Hearts. Would be silly not to sign him.
Torto7
23-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Deleted post
This is the summer transfer thread.
23-08-2019, 12:09 PM
Please take note of this folks. Thanks.
23-08-2019, 12:26 PM
Announce Hallberg.
itslegaltender
23-08-2019, 12:28 PM
Asked my son who is working at the airport if some big Swedish looking guy arrived last night. He said there were loads, a flight from Stockholm came in. Good enough for me, signing is on. :flag:
BlackSheep
23-08-2019, 12:32 PM
Can we just leave this thread alone if there’s no transfer chat then don’t fill it with other rubbish... login to check for any news and have to trawl through posts about government and formations...!!
Saint Hibee
23-08-2019, 12:33 PM
I just walked through George Square and there were some pretty tall guys at the festival speaking a foreign language - might be Swedish? Possibly Hallberg on route to Easter Road?
23-08-2019, 12:50 PM
Can we just leave this thread alone if there’s no transfer chat then don’t fill it with other rubbish... login to check for any news and have to trawl through posts about government and formations...!!
Just go straight to the last post then?
If anyone signs there will be an official thread.
Not that difficult really. Absolutely no need to read through every post.
23-08-2019, 12:54 PM
Just go straight to the last post then?
If anyone signs there will be an official thread.
Not that difficult really. Absolutely no need to read through every post.
No, BlackSheep is correct. This is not a thread for political debate. It's for summer transfers and things related to that, such as budgets, targets, areas we need to strengthen etc.
I've just deleted a load of posts discussing political nonsense which was sparked by someone not getting a Peep Show reference.
If the thread doesn't stay on topic it'll need to be closed.
23-08-2019, 01:11 PM
Rangers to bid 6million for Ryan Kent, where are they getting the cash from?
23-08-2019, 01:17 PM
Maybe their rich fans are ponying up.
23-08-2019, 01:19 PM
No, BlackSheep is correct. This is not a thread for political debate. It's for summer transfers and things related to that, such as budgets, targets, areas we need to strengthen etc.
I've just deleted a load of posts discussing political nonsense which was sparked by someone not getting a Peep Show reference.
I wasn't suggesting he was incorrect. Just saying what I do to avoid having to trawl through page upon page of 'chat' to see any rumours. I haven't even seen the political stuff yet lol
Agree though. Plenty other threads open for non-transfer chat.
23-08-2019, 01:23 PM
I’m ok. Been fed now. It’s too hot but teeing off in an hour. Announce anyone. 😂
23-08-2019, 01:29 PM
I wasn't suggesting he was incorrect. Just saying what I do to avoid having to trawl through page upon page of 'chat' to see any rumours. I haven't even seen the political stuff yet lol
Agree though. Plenty other threads open for non-transfer chat.
No problem, I'm just saying that solution is for the threads to stay on topic, rather than finding ways to ignore irrelevant posts. :aok:
Anyway, here's hoping for an incoming Swede.
I’m ok. Been fed now. It’s too hot but teeing off in an hour. Announce anyone. 😂
Too hot? Where are you mate? I will be playing in around the 25 degree mark at the weekend....
If that's not a banning offence then I don't know what is :greengrin
23-08-2019, 01:30 PM
I thought it was the summer pun thread? 🙂
Torto7
23-08-2019, 01:32 PM
Probably a fake bid to appease their demented fanbase. Liverpool will want more. Rumour has it they weren't too impressed with Sevco's loan offer.
23-08-2019, 01:35 PM
Probably a fake bid to appease their demented fanbase. Liverpool will want more. Rumour has it they weren't too impressed with Sevco's loan offer.
I’m not sure with their start they need to appease any fans m.
23-08-2019, 01:36 PM
:hyper
23-08-2019, 01:36 PM
Hammer is away back to Raith on loan.
23-08-2019, 01:37 PM
If that's not a banning offence then I don't know what is :greengrin
Agreed, but I'm not sure how well it would go down as site policy. :greengrin
Torto7
23-08-2019, 01:37 PM
I’m not sure with their start they need to appease any fans m.
You'd have thought so but they're a different breed when it comes to entitlement.
23-08-2019, 01:38 PM
Good stuff, he seemed to do well for them toward the end of last season.
23-08-2019, 01:40 PM
You'd have thought so but they're a different breed when it comes to entitlement.
Fair point 👍
23-08-2019, 01:43 PM
I just received a not-so-glowing report on Hallberg from a Swedish mate who's very knowledgeable about their domestic league/ players. According to him Hallberg was a great talent a few years ago but flopped when playing abroad. (Udinese was it?) Loaned back to Hammarby but couldn't hold down a starting spot. Went back to Kalmar (where he first broke thorough) and has been a disappointment ever since. "Wouldn't excite me at all."
Spoilsport
23-08-2019, 01:47 PM
One in looks likely on that basis.
23-08-2019, 02:26 PM
Mind boggling
23-08-2019, 02:26 PM
Hammer is Gullan yes? Where on earth does Hammer come from?
23-08-2019, 02:28 PM
Must be gambling on being able to sell him on for a lot more.
From his days at boys football, think it was a coach called him that as he had a hard shot. Think it stayed with him thorough his young career.
Someone I think told me it's because he's got a monster shot on him that feels like being hit with a hammer when it strikes you. I think that was how Dabrowski's injury to his hand came about a few years ago
23-08-2019, 02:29 PM
He idolises Thor.
23-08-2019, 02:36 PM
Straight from a family members mouth😄
He told me that when Jamie was about 10, he broke the crosssbar with a shot, and then was named Hammer
Probably been mentioned on here before, but he’s the Grandson of Jim Souness, who played for Hibs and hearts in the 50’s
23-08-2019, 02:39 PM
Really surprised Gullan hasn’t been given a chance, especially pre season.
Tricky, can beat a man and scores for fun in development. Done well out on loan too.
23-08-2019, 02:49 PM
Tricky, can beat a man and scores for fun in development. Done well out on loan too.
According to Wiki he scored 1 in about 20 games? Although 14 of they games are listed under others so I’ve no idea what’s going on with the stats. Raith fans seem happy about it.
23-08-2019, 02:53 PM
Had a wee injury pre season, meant he wasn’t fit for a lot of the pre season games
Catching up now though
23-08-2019, 02:53 PM
Hallberg confirmed.
Head Coach Paul Heckingbottom was delighted to add Melker Hallberg to his squad for the new season.
️ "Melker is a young player who has a lot of attributes and potential. He is comfortable on the ball, plays with a lot of energy and is tactically very good."
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1164913469646364673
Head Coach Paul Heckingbottom was delighted to add Melker Hallberg to his squad for the new season.
🗣️ "Melker is a young player who has a lot of attributes and potential. He is comfortable on the ball, plays with a lot of energy and is tactically very good."
3 Year Deal.
23-08-2019, 02:54 PM
My god. Heckingbottom has played us all.
23-08-2019, 02:55 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10235
23-08-2019, 02:56 PM
My god. Heckingbottom has played us all.
We’ve just been merked.
Hope he’s as mobile as he looked in his YouTube video cause that certainly made it look like he can get about.
Wonder if he’ll be in the squad tomorrow?
Great scoop Pete70 :aok:
Never mind the religious stuff, has he signed yet?
23-08-2019, 02:57 PM
Never mind the religious stuff, has he signed yet?
He has
23-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Swedishhibee will be happy 😊🇸🇪🇸🇪
Pete70 moves to No.1 ITK poster
indeed that was miles left of leftfield, well done that man👍
Souter96Mac
Love it. Number 5, go on Melky son.
23-08-2019, 02:59 PM
Yes all hail pete70. All hail Pete.
23-08-2019, 02:59 PM
Is he available for tomorrow
Torto7
23-08-2019, 03:00 PM
Seconded. :aok:
23-08-2019, 03:02 PM
Valkommen Melker👍🇳🇬👍🇳🇬
23-08-2019, 03:03 PM
Doubt he’ll be fit.
23-08-2019, 03:06 PM
Sounds promising, great pedigree, looks energetic and has a great shot. Hopefully he is the missing link in midfield that we need
Interesting that we first made contact months ago.
Great info Pete70 👍🏻
But.....but......but we don’t have any money, everybody’s been saying so for days now?
Hecky was satisfied with his squad of lower league duds and we weren’t going to be signing any more players?
23-08-2019, 03:09 PM
Hecky did say the work for new signings started when he first became manager. One thing about Heckingbottom is he doesn't muck around. Hopefully this lad is the missing link we need.
23-08-2019, 03:10 PM
But.....but......but we don’t have any money, everybody’s been saying so for days now?
Hecky was satisfied with his squad of lower league duds and we weren’t going to be signing any more players?
He might be playing for free, how do you know we are paying a wage.
Only joking by the way 😂
23-08-2019, 03:10 PM
This. Pedro for ITK President.
23-08-2019, 03:11 PM
Sounds promising, great pedigree, looks energetic and has a great shot. Hopefully he is the missing link in midfield that we need
Interesting that we first made contact months ago.
Great info Pete70
Mad isn't it. Almost as if scouting and signing the right players can't be done in 15 seconds flat.
Excited about this signing, Scandinavian players generally do well in Scotland and a 3 year deal is great.
Hecky did say the work for new signings started when he first became manager. One thing about Heckingbottom is he doesn't muck around. Hopefully this lad is the missing link we need.
We need a goal scorer.
This. Pedro for ITK President.
I second this motion.
23-08-2019, 03:14 PM
We need a goal scorer.
We’ve got Scott Allan. 25 goals for the sexy ******* this year.
23-08-2019, 03:16 PM
Well that came from nowhere.
Hope he does as well as we hope he will.
We've got history of finding good Scandanavian defenders, does anyone remember John Madsen in the centre of defence?
23-08-2019, 03:17 PM
We need a goal scorer.
Flo has 4 and 2 wrongly disallowed already, he'll do just fine.
23-08-2019, 03:18 PM
Josh Campbell and Ben Stirling away to arbroath on loan
23-08-2019, 03:22 PM
https://www.arbroathfc.co.uk/campbell-and-stirling/
Think this is a great move for both of them. An experienced manager, and chase to play against older and full time players
Only down side, is the maroon shirts
23-08-2019, 03:25 PM
Pete 70 cracking call ma man :aok:
sean04
23-08-2019, 03:26 PM
Well done Pete!! Great scoop
23-08-2019, 03:27 PM
Think this is a great move for both of them. An experienced manager, and chase to play against older and full time players
Only down side, is the maroon shirts��
Surprised we’ve let both go but it is a good move for them :agree:
Souter96Mac
Club have confirmed via twitter he's got clearance for tomorrow. Whether or not he's fit enough
Anymore Pete70? :greengrin
sean04
23-08-2019, 03:28 PM
Club have confirmed via twitter he's got clearance for tomorrow. Whether or not he's fit enough
Don’t think he’s had a pre season so may be a bit behind
bill_reed
23-08-2019, 03:28 PM
Well that came from nowhere.
Hope he does as well as we hope he will.
We've got history of finding good Scandanavian defenders, does anyone remember John Madsen in the centre of defence?
Remember big John Marsen with his short blond hair, tuff as nails too.....
23-08-2019, 03:29 PM
He's a slaver. We could all name drop 23 year old Swedes and get lucky. Having none of it.
23-08-2019, 03:31 PM
But Hecky said there was no money left?
🙄
Hopefully adds more balance to the midfield
23-08-2019, 03:31 PM
He's a slaver. We could all name drop 23 year old Swedes and get lucky. Having none of it.
23-08-2019, 03:33 PM
A striker and we're done?
23-08-2019, 03:36 PM
Only is Shaw goes on loan? Another fast auxiliary forward would be good though 😉
houstonhibbee
23-08-2019, 03:37 PM
Straight from a family members mouth😄
He told me that when Jamie was about 10, he broke the crosssbar with a shot, and then was named Hammer
Probably been mentioned on here before, but he’s the Grandson of Jim Souness, who played for Hibs and hearts in the 50’s
Also Scotland cricket captain
Both families are hearts daft from barnton/ blackhall
23-08-2019, 03:38 PM
Good move for both.
With Gullan away to Raith that’s three of our ‘on the fringe’ youngsters hopefully getting valuable first team experience.
23-08-2019, 03:43 PM
Also Scotland cricket captain
Both families are hearts daft from barnton/ blackhall
He should clearly be called Hot Shot Hamish!!
23-08-2019, 03:46 PM
Yas. Hecky in!
ShadesLongThrow
23-08-2019, 03:51 PM
Only down side, is the maroon shirts��
Having sat behind the away dugout at the League Cup game, I think they’re in for an interesting time. Felt sorry for the Arbroath players who made a mistake that night as Dick Campbell certainly let them know all about it. A great learning curve for young players though and they should return harder and more street wise.
23-08-2019, 04:01 PM
Who's our best young prospect?
tonyrougier123
23-08-2019, 04:05 PM
Well done the 70s,pete and bingo.
ITK BOYS 😎.
bingo I th ink this was defo the guy u seen outside the west.
Your hibee senses were tingling 👍
23-08-2019, 04:05 PM
Who's our best young prospect?
Hard to pick between Porto and Shaw ( The best young striker in Europe)
In all seriousness I genuinely think we have a couple of good ones coming through in Mackie, Murray and Gullan.
Sadiki, Stirling and Campbell going out on loan bodes well too.
23-08-2019, 04:15 PM
Absolutely
Well done Pete
23-08-2019, 04:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbNUiw_dpaU
23-08-2019, 04:21 PM
Hard to pick between Porto and Shaw ( The best young striker in Europe)
In all seriousness I genuinely think we have a couple of good ones coming through in Mackie, Murray and Gullan.
Sadiki, Stirling and Campbell going out on loan bodes well too.
Futures looking green and white 😊
23-08-2019, 04:22 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbNUiw_dpaU
Think Mallan has serious competition for free kicks
23-08-2019, 04:23 PM
Fingers crossed for a striker next
Brunswickbill
23-08-2019, 04:25 PM
Having sat behind the away dugout at the League Cup game, I think they’re in for an interesting time. Felt sorry for the Arbroath players who made a mistake that night as Dick Campbell certainly let them know all about it. A great learning curve for young players though and they should return harder and more street wise.
I hear that his team talk follows an Irn Bru advert - “Don’t be a Cant , be a can.”
147lothian
23-08-2019, 04:25 PM
Signing to tomorrow, so I'm told. Plays centre/defensive midfield.
Don't hold it against me if it doesn't happen.
After trolling through boring chat about formations and other non transfer related drivel I came across this post which I wasn't sure if it was real ITK material or just an attempt to get the thread back on track. Pete70 take a bow sir your the new ITK poster on dotnet any other scoops? Please tell!
23-08-2019, 04:28 PM
Think Mallan has serious competition for free kicks
The boy can hit them thats for sure! :agree:
23-08-2019, 04:31 PM
Well done the 70s,pete and bingo.
ITK BOYS 😎.
bingo I th ink this was defo the guy u seen outside the west.
Your hibee senses were tingling 👍
Ha ha I’d love to claim the scoop but don’t think it’s the same boy, he looks quite a big lad, the boy I saw was smaller.
Pete70 is the man to take the credit for this one.
23-08-2019, 04:50 PM
Ha ha I’d love to claim the scoop but don’t think it’s the same boy, he looks quite a big lad, the boy I saw was smaller.
Pete70 is the man to take the credit for this one.
So we're signing someone else 👍😁
Bob Box Fish
23-08-2019, 05:01 PM
Surely by the law of averages, one of Hecky’s signings has to be decent ? :wink:
Too many pretty boys in midfield we need a big ugly ogre to win the ball ...
23-08-2019, 05:09 PM
My god. Heckingbottom has played us all.He sure has. Wouldn't wanna play poker with Hecky
madsen5
23-08-2019, 05:14 PM
Remember big John Marsen with his short blond hair, tuff as nails too.....
Definitely, proper centre half.
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 05:18 PM
Surely by the law of averages, one of Hecky’s signings has to be decent ? :wink:
Too many pretty boys in midfield we need a big ugly ogre to win the ball ...
He’s hardly ugly :wink: but I get your drift. :aok:
Eaststand
23-08-2019, 05:28 PM
Yep, if you're reading this, we'll done Pete70 :-)
23-08-2019, 06:08 PM
He sure has. Wouldn't wanna play poker with Hecky
Some on here would be fine but the rest, dear o dear :rolleyes:
Gullible is the word.
23-08-2019, 06:12 PM
Anyone take Melker Hallberg, Swedish midfielder?
Post of the summer. Well done Pete!
23-08-2019, 06:13 PM
Even if Oli stays, we still need a striker
23-08-2019, 06:24 PM
So, where’s all the negative gadgies at? Who were crying that we wouldn’t be bringing anyone else in? That we’re set up for failure this season?
23-08-2019, 06:29 PM
So, where’s all the negative gadgies at? Who were crying that we wouldn’t be bringing anyone else in? That we’re set up for failure this season?
I was one of them.
I was just taking the manager at face value as he played a very believable part over the last couple of weeks.
FWIW I’m much happier now.
I was one of them.
I was just taking the manager at face value as he played a very believable part over the last couple of weeks.
FWIW I’m much happier now.
Like a dug with 2 tails I would suspect Bingo!!
23-08-2019, 07:53 PM
So we're looking something like this when everyone fit. Well covered in every position really.
Yeah I'm bored tonight [emoji23][emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190823/5a2b95ffab2c91ed311a90c228a403bd.jpg
23-08-2019, 08:04 PM
So we're looking something like this when everyone fit. Well covered in every position really.
Yeah I'm bored tonight [emoji23][emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190823/5a2b95ffab2c91ed311a90c228a403bd.jpg
And probably within that you could still move players about if you really had to. Whittaker could play left back and CH or in the midfield, Newell can play in one, Boyle can play up front, wingers could play either side. James can play other positions. We definitely have what Heckingbottom wanted and that's players who can play in a few positions
23-08-2019, 08:05 PM
And probably within that you could still move players about if you really had to. Whittaker could play left back and CH or in the midfield, Newell can play in one, Boyle can play up front, wingers could play either side. James can play other positions. We definitely have what Hexkingbi2 wanted and that's players who can play in a few positions
Yeah very promising and clever from the manager imo. I think we'll be strong towards the end of the season when teams are struggling with knocks etc.
23-08-2019, 08:53 PM
Definitely feel more positive knowing that Heckingbottom sees and has addressed the issue in central midfield. One more up top and we have a decent looking squad on paper. Hopefully we can build a style and tempo for the seasons ahead 👍
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 09:18 PM
Cool signing like but, until the central midfield slot is addressed, we will continue to be over-run, out-thought and sadly, outclassed in that particular area of the park.
We need wee McGinn back!
Celtic, Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen will take our midfield apart. Rangers already have.
23-08-2019, 09:20 PM
Cool signing like but, until the central midfield slot is addressed, we will continue to be over-run, out- thought and, sadly outclassed in that particular area of the park.
We need wee McGinn back!
Celtic, Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen will take our midfield apart. Rangers already have.
Well the idea is surely that this signing will address the central midfield slot?
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 09:26 PM
Well the idea is surely that this signing will address the central midfield slot?
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
Reason? Look at other teams resources. Look at ours.
The answer/result is plain to see.
23-08-2019, 09:28 PM
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
So you’ve written him off before the ink is even dry on his contract?
Sound 👍🏼
So you’ve written him off before the ink is even dry on his contract?
Sound 👍🏼Think Lucy has been on the sherries 😆
23-08-2019, 09:30 PM
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
Which teams resources
23-08-2019, 09:31 PM
Cool signing like but, until the central midfield slot is addressed, we will continue to be over-run, out-thought and sadly, outclassed in that particular area of the park.
We need wee McGinn back!
Aberdeens midfield doesn't have the same bite with Ojo in there instead of shinnie and rangers will tear hearts midfield to shreds too.
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
Wow! How to turn a positive into a negative.
23-08-2019, 09:35 PM
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
You are just plain trolling now ...seeking a negative where it doesn’t exist ....
SideBurns
23-08-2019, 09:37 PM
Think Lucy has been on the sherries 😆
I can't believe folk still reply to Lucy. She's been having a laugh since the day she came on here.
23-08-2019, 09:37 PM
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
The answer result is plain to see despite having never seen him play. Cool attitude.
23-08-2019, 09:38 PM
You are just plain trolling now ...seeking a negative where it doesn’t exist ....
Obviously worried we finish above her/his team again.
23-08-2019, 09:43 PM
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
You are a joy
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 09:54 PM
You are a joy
Not really.
A few sherries with the girls, a couple of posts, it’s a Friday night, sir, what should one be up to?
Yup, trolling.
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 10:00 PM
I can't believe folk still reply to Lucy. She's been having a laugh since the day she came on here.
Folk have been extremely pleasant on here, by the way. There are some really decent people that post regularly, I’ve certainly noticed that. :aok:
What is your particular beef with myself?
Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 10:04 PM
Yup, trolling.
Wrong.
Pete70
23-08-2019, 10:05 PM
Another piece of the jigsaw in place. Welcome to the club Melky.
I've no knowledge of anyone else coming in but like most folk on here, I still think we need another striker.
It's also good to see some of the young lads go out on loan.
AugustaHibs
23-08-2019, 10:05 PM
Are Scotland ladies playing soon?
In theory, yes.
In practice, no.
Yup, trolling.
Wrong.
Ok so how can this signing address the central midfield slot in theory but not in practice when he hasn't even kicked a ball for us yet?
23-08-2019, 10:36 PM
Ok so how can this signing address the central midfield slot in theory but not in practice when he hasn't even kicked a ball for us yet?
That was my thinking. Strange summary. Sherries no excuse.
I can't believe folk still reply to Lucy. She's been having a laugh since the day she came on here.Oh I know its at it mate 👍
Usual trolls and their negativity.
Hallberg looks on paper a signing that should go some way to filling the McGinn role. He was highly thought of a few years back but has lost his way a little, this is the type of player our recruitment team look for, we did the same with McGeouch, Fyvie, Allan etc.
Vela is another who has slipped into a bit of mediocrity and has something to prove.
24-08-2019, 07:03 AM
We need wee McGinn back!
I don't get this Hearts talk. What have they done so far that should worry us? They could end the weekend bottom of the league with 1 point from a scraped home draw with Ross County.
24-08-2019, 07:18 AM
I don't get this Hearts talk. What have they done so far that should worry us? They could end the weekend bottom of the league with 1 point from a scraped home draw with Ross County.
They could also finish it on 4 points 1 point above us?
I don’t really see the argument, it’s the 3rd game so everyone is within touching distance, it doesn’t count for much.
Fwiw I think Hearts have recruited well, I’m not scared or particularly bothered by them however.
mayo hibee
24-08-2019, 07:38 AM
We were interested in Jamie Devitt this summer based on his performances for Carlisle in League 2 but he signed for Blackpool instead. They have now loaned him back out to League 2 Bradford only two months after signing him - so he must have turned out to be a bit of a dud at League 1 level.
24-08-2019, 07:45 AM
We were interested in Jamie Devitt this summer based on his performances for Carlisle in League 2 but he signed for Blackpool instead. They have now loaned him back out to League 2 Bradford only two months after signing him - so he must have turned out to be a bit of a dud at League 1 level.
We were never in for him.
24-08-2019, 07:56 AM
Hecky sold everyone a dummy, the outrage it created was memorable 😂
24-08-2019, 08:18 AM
He didn't really though. He said we weren't looking anymore and he wasn't lying on that front, we'd been talking to Hallberg for ages.
24-08-2019, 08:27 AM
He didn't really though. He said we weren't looking anymore and he wasn't lying on that front, we'd been talking to Hallberg for ages.
Hopefully we're talking to one or two more! :greengrin
24-08-2019, 08:45 AM
This is the key. Shaw out on loan and another striker in and that will most likely be that.
24-08-2019, 08:48 AM
I'm not sure we were interested I think it was a rumour on here
24-08-2019, 08:49 AM
This is the key. Shaw out on loan and another striker in and that will most likely be that.
I think I'd be happy with that. Key is also getting everyone back fit and new players up to speed and gelling.
Clearly anything beyond that and I'd be delighted.
24-08-2019, 08:53 AM
I'm not sure really. I actually think he's been pretty truthful. From memory it was no movement unless their are outgoings. I don't think it's a coincidence we loaned out 3 young players the day this signing was announced.
And it looks like another striker is going to be tied to Shaw leaving.
So I'd say the manager was pretty much truthful. Middleton also only arrived after the Boyle injury. I think we will have been looking in knowledge we're likely to be seeing players leave but I do think he wasn't lying in that the budget was largely spent.
24-08-2019, 08:57 AM
Nice work! Mind you, looking at the permutations available, a back 4 of Mackie, Hanlon, McGregor and Whittaker is a very scary thought 😱
24-08-2019, 09:00 AM
Nice work! Mind you, looking at the permutations available, a back 4 of Mackie, Hanlon, McGregor and Whittaker is a very scary thought [emoji33]
Really ? Other than Mackie looks fine to me...
24-08-2019, 09:16 AM
Nice work! Mind you, looking at the permutations available, a back 4 of Mackie, Hanlon, McGregor and Whittaker is a very scary thought 😱
Good few of them are interchangeable too which is good
24-08-2019, 09:29 AM
That is a good enough squad for 4th place I should think!!
MacGruber
24-08-2019, 09:35 AM
4th might be Europe but we should be targetting 3rd.
Celtic and the The Rangers are out of sight but not much between the Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Killie...
24-08-2019, 09:38 AM
4th might be Europe but we should be targetting 3rd.
Celtic and the The Rangers are out of sight but not much between the Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Killie...
Aberdeen unfortunately have splashed more cash than us (again) and look like they have recruited well. 3rd would be nice but feel for this season 4th is the realistic target!
mayo hibee
24-08-2019, 09:40 AM
It's good enough for top six. Not at all convinced it's good enough for fourth or better. Maybe if Hallberg turns out to be a hidden gem that every other club in northern Europe passed on but I doubt it.
There are at least half a dozen players in that graphic that are either not good enough or past it.
Torto7
24-08-2019, 09:44 AM
I'm not sure we were interested I think it was a rumour on here
That Alan Nixon guy at the Sun was pushing it. There was never any interest from us. He's like a knockoff version of Scott Allan.
Torto7
24-08-2019, 09:48 AM
Aberdeen unfortunately have splashed more cash than us (again) and look like they have recruited well. 3rd would be nice but feel for this season 4th is the realistic target!
Third is more than realistic. The gap between Hibs and Aberdeens finances isn't high enough to be judged as unrealistic. Their signings are not getting much love from their support so far, I don't know what you're basing they've recruited well line on?
24-08-2019, 10:17 AM
Think it'll be between ourselves and Aberdeen for 3rd. Don't think I've ever seen our squad stronger in terms of cover for every position. That will be key as the season goes on.
24-08-2019, 10:25 AM
Think it'll be between ourselves and Aberdeen for 3rd. Don't think I've ever seen our squad stronger in terms of cover for every position. That will be key as the season goes on.
When you actually write it down as you have it’s actually a pretty impressive squad. If we can get Shaw out on loan and a quick striker in I think we’d be looking pretty decent.
24-08-2019, 10:32 AM
When you actually write it down as you have it’s actually a pretty impressive squad. If we can get Shaw out on loan and a quick striker in I think we’d be looking pretty decent.
When you write down their reputations and pedigrees on paper it does. When you see some of them play (up to now) the sums do not add up correctly.
Hopefully we'll start to see their value soon. It's impossible that all the signings will work out
24-08-2019, 10:40 AM
When you write down their reputations and pedigrees on paper it does. When you see some of them play (up to now) the sums do not add up correctly.
Hopefully we'll start to see their value soon. It's impossible that all the signings will work out
Again you could say the same about the dons and hearts as their fans actually are saying that. Too early doors, we’ve had a massive turnover of players which takes time to gel and for me won’t be another couple of months before we see the best of all these squads probably as you also factor in injuries which distrups momentum.
24-08-2019, 10:43 AM
He did in the sense that folk took what they wanted from what he said and went into meltdown.
DMH0762
24-08-2019, 11:01 AM
https://youtu.be/BKQ9--_ZgB4
BlackSheep
24-08-2019, 07:43 PM
I’ve said it a few times in the past few years and based on today’s performance we should be looking seriously at O’Halloran... he dragged St Johnstone back into that game and others followed suit. His attitude is exactly what we are missing.
24-08-2019, 07:57 PM
I’ve said it a few times in the past few years and based on today’s performance we should be looking seriously at O’Halloran... he dragged St Johnstone back into that game and others followed suit. His attitude is exactly what we are missing.
Him and Kennedy are very good options out wide. Tricky players with pace and are direct.
i was screaming for us to sign Declan Mcdaid in the summer as he was out of contract from Ayr, signed for Dundee and gave Aberdeen an absolutely torrid time last week. Sort of player we are screaming out for
supermcginn
24-08-2019, 07:57 PM
He had a great game.
BlackSheep
24-08-2019, 08:04 PM
He had a great game.
When he was in limbo at Rangers and he an uncertain future that was a good time to make a move... but I don’t think Lennon could bare to sign a player from Rangers!
There was a counter attack by us today that O’Halloran stopped himself by sprinting back to tackle Horgan.... that pace coupled with his determination... exactly what we need to get.
24-08-2019, 08:35 PM
Bogdan at the game today.
BlackSheep
24-08-2019, 08:39 PM
Bogdan at the game today.
I had hoped Maxwell would be a good backup, but so far he hasn’t impressed, his slowness and lack of distribution bothers me.
I’d love to see Bogdan back as a challenge for Rocky.
If Rocky has wakes for that reckless challenge today we’d have more problems!!
Fogzie
24-08-2019, 08:45 PM
I had hoped Maxwell would be a good backup, but so far he hasn’t impressed, his slowness and lack of distribution bothers me.
I disagree. Maxwells distribution is a helluva lot faster than Marciano
BlackSheep
24-08-2019, 08:47 PM
I disagree. Maxwells distribution is a helluva lot faster than Marciano
Eh! I guess you weren’t at the Morton game??
He was slower than a week in jail!!!
24-08-2019, 09:12 PM
I wish the sub goalies distribution was our problem
24-08-2019, 09:23 PM
Eh! I guess you weren’t at the Morton game??
He was slower than a week in jail!!!I wasn`t actually in the Holy Ground at the Morton game but from my seat at home watching on Hibs TV I was very impressed by Maxwell`s distribution and was surprised not to read more positive comments about that here .
24-08-2019, 09:23 PM
I’m starting to feel like I’d take Bogdan back and punt Marciano, as good as he can be he’s also cost us a few goals this season and clearly wants to progress if he can even at this stage I recon. Sell him and bring in Bogdan wouldn’t bother me too much which I know won’t be popular
lenny leith
24-08-2019, 09:30 PM
I agree. Marciano is good but not brilliant. I’m so annoyed watching all the dramatics and diving. Just catch the ball and stop taking so long to kick out.
24-08-2019, 09:32 PM
I agree. Marciano is good but not brilliant. I’m so annoyed watching all the dramatics and diving. Just catch the ball and stop taking so long to kick out.
More annoyed by diving out the way on the first tbh
24-08-2019, 10:21 PM
Bogdan was in the West stand today.
24-08-2019, 10:25 PM
Shame we didn't sign Shankland. The guy is a goal machine.
BlackSheep
24-08-2019, 10:32 PM
I wish the sub goalies distribution was our problem
Yeah I wish too, but in context with the chat about bogdan my point stands... I’d take bogdan and Rocky over Maxwell.
24-08-2019, 10:44 PM
I’m starting to feel like I’d take Bogdan back and punt Marciano, as good as he can be he’s also cost us a few goals this season and clearly wants to progress if he can even at this stage I recon. Sell him and bring in Bogdan wouldn’t bother me too much which I know won’t be popular
Not as mental as it sounds.
If Bogdan hadn’t got injured I’m not sure Rocky would have got back in the team last year.
Rocky not convincing just now.
24-08-2019, 11:20 PM
Not as mental as it sounds.
If Bogdan hadn’t got injured I’m not sure Rocky would have got back in the team last year.
Rocky not convincing just now.
I would be 100% behind this, bit of cash for rocky and then Bogdan in goals who is of a similar calibre but better distribution.
25-08-2019, 08:59 AM
Just said the same on another thread.
He makes some very good saves, but a lot are camera saves and he also has a habit of keeping the ball alive in dangerous positions. His distribution is poor and he has an error in him - 2 against rangers and 1 yesterday.
Just said the same on another thread.
He makes some very good saves, but a lot are camera saves and he also has a habit of keeping the ball alive in dangerous positions. His distribution is poor and he has an error in him - 2 against rangers and 1 yesterday.
Great shot stopper but a liability under the high ball and poor distribution.
Even the “great shot stopper” he’s cost us 4 goals this season already
25-08-2019, 10:18 AM
Even the “great shot stopper” he’s cost us 4 goals this season already
There is not a goalkeeper in the history of football who hasn’t occasionally cost his team goals. Hopefully we can put a defence in front of him that won’t leave him so terribly exposed as he was against Rangers.
25-08-2019, 02:59 PM
Bogdan was in the West stand today.
Take it he still without a club, if so s upprised.
25-08-2019, 03:02 PM
Oh ****ing yawn. Admins, get the name Shankland on the filter for ****s sake.
25-08-2019, 03:03 PM
There is not a goalkeeper in the history of football who hasn’t occasionally cost his team goals. Hopefully we can put a defence in front of him that won’t leave him so terribly exposed as he was against Rangers.
You obviously never saw me play for Edina Hibs under 14’s.
Most improved player of the year award winner no less.
25-08-2019, 03:09 PM
he's going to get caught by a nippy striker one of those times
Torto7
25-08-2019, 03:11 PM
I've no idea if this is true but my Arab mate who kens all things Dun Utd says they're paying him 4k a week, a 300k signing on fee and the promise of a wage rise if they go up:eek:. Now I know Utd are splashing the cash but those numbers seem insane for that level.
25-08-2019, 03:22 PM
I've no idea if this is true but my Arab mate who kens all things Dun Utd says they're paying him 4k a week, a 300k signing on fee and the promise of a wage rise if they go up:eek:. Now I know Utd are splashing the cash but those numbers seem insane for that level.
While we pay similar to that on big Doidge.
25-08-2019, 03:24 PM
Yep, such a shame. But money talks.
26-08-2019, 07:41 AM
One week left. Any more signings?
26-08-2019, 09:49 AM
You obviously never saw me play for Edina Hibs under 14’s.
Most improved player of the year award winner no less.
Does that mean that you were really ***** the year before? 😁
26-08-2019, 09:50 AM
Does that mean that you were really ***** the year before? 😁
Something I may have discovered later in life is that may have been a possibility.
I try not to dwell on that though.
26-08-2019, 10:48 AM
Agree, missed a trick their but our biggest issue right now isn't scoring goals, its conceding them.
Midfield and defence need the most work.
26-08-2019, 03:56 PM
Talk of wee Josh O'Connor a target for rangers and Chelsea.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/josh-o-connor-son-of-ex-hibs-and-birmingham-striker-garry-o-connor-a-target-for-rangers-and-chelsea-1-4991413
26-08-2019, 03:56 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibernian/josh-o-connor-son-of-ex-hibs-and-birmingham-striker-garry-o-connor-a-target-for-rangers-and-chelsea-1-4991413
Rule number one: never listen to Big Gaz on transfer rumours.
26-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Thought chelsea had a transfer ban
Percy Vere
26-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Excellent
Well said