View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

20-08-2019, 05:21 PM
Shaw on loan St Mirren anyone heard anything on this?

Not heard anything re this but Jim Goodwin eas certainly very complimentary about Hibs a few weeks ago after our match

20-08-2019, 05:21 PM
Shaw on loan St Mirren anyone heard anything on this?

Just what Captain Trip's said on. Net haven't heard anything else. Wonder if we have someone lined up

20-08-2019, 05:24 PM
Just what Captain Trip's said on. Net haven't heard anything else. Wonder if we have someone lined up

Maybe we have, and maybe it's not a striker?

20-08-2019, 05:31 PM

Very cryptic

20-08-2019, 05:32 PM

Sounds like you maybe know something?

20-08-2019, 05:33 PM
This is getting ridiculous!

We've gone from Ally McLeod (both of them) to all the Stantons, moved onto the three Sowunmi brothers, somehow diverted to Joe and Gerry Baker (not forgetting Johnny and Ally Mcleod, again), thrown in a touch of Donald Trump and his old dear and now I’m thinking of Gerry Rafferty and Baker Street....

Whatever next? :dunno:

Two Willie Irvines at the same time!!!!!!

20-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Fire in a loan bid for Graham Shinnie if possible!

20-08-2019, 05:35 PM

Did they ever play at the same time? Willie Irvine 2 came in after selling Durie to Chelsea I think, sure he came in with Mark Caughey, Stuart Beadie and Billy Kirkwood? Most of what I have just said may off course have just been made up 😂

20-08-2019, 06:08 PM
Not to mention the 2 John Grants! ☺

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 06:13 PM

Indeed!

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 06:17 PM
Not to mention the 2 John Grants! ☺

You’ve got me with this name. Quite a while ago, I’d guess?

DMH0762
20-08-2019, 06:19 PM
You’ve got me with this name. Quite a while ago, I’d guess?

Mid sixties ? Name defo familiar

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 06:19 PM
Fire in a loan bid for Graham Shinnie if possible!

Now, that would be a no’ bad thing!

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 06:20 PM
Mid sixties ? Name defo familiar

Nup, not to me, Im afraid.

I’ll Google him (them!).

20-08-2019, 06:23 PM
Have we not had two McGraw's and aw.

DMH0762
20-08-2019, 06:24 PM
Nup, not to me, Im afraid.

I’ll Google him (them!).

John Grant was a defender far as i know.... 1950's...Johnny was a forward/inside forward in sixties

DMH0762
20-08-2019, 06:26 PM
Have we not had two McGraw's and aw.

Aye Allan and Mark, father and son

20-08-2019, 06:29 PM
Fraser Hornby joining a Belgian team on loan.

I don’t think we were ever interested in him but for those that think we were it looks like it’s one we can forget about.

20-08-2019, 06:33 PM

I don’t think we were ever interested in him but for those that think we were it looks like it’s one we can forget about.

Think it's for the team that beat Anderlecht at the weekend

20-08-2019, 06:37 PM

So no bid from us rather than our bid getting derailed?

K-Zazu
20-08-2019, 07:07 PM
Not long now till the 2nd of September and this thread will slip off the main page

Inconsequential
20-08-2019, 07:11 PM
Aye Allan and Mark, father and son Iirc Hibs had brothers Greg and Graeme Miller along with pop Alex all at the same time. :rolleyes:

20-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Alex Cropley and his son Jordan.....

20-08-2019, 07:33 PM
Garry and Simon Murray

20-08-2019, 07:35 PM
Willie Irvine and the real Willie Irvine

Tomsk
20-08-2019, 07:41 PM
Joe and Joe McBride
Lewis and Andy Goram

familyman
20-08-2019, 07:46 PM
WE have NO holding centre half type player
so how on earth can manager claim he is finished in transfer market?

Yup, might as well.

Confirmed in (8):
Scott Allan, three year contract (midfielder, Celtic)
Christian Doidge, three year contract (striker, Forest Green)
Adam Jackson, two year contract (defender, Barnsley)
Tom James, three year contract (defender, Yeovil)
Chris Maxwell, one year loan (goalkeeper, Preston)
Glenn Middleton, one year loan (midfielder, Rangers)
Joe Newell, two year contract (midfielder, Rotherham)
Josh Vela, three year contract (midfielder, Bolton)

Confirmed out (14):
Lewis Allan (Raith)
Marvin Bartley (Livingston)
Gael Bigirimana
Tommy Block (Queen's Park, loan)
Kevin Dabrowski (Cowdenbeath, loan)
Yrik Galantes (Gala, loan)
Jack Hodge (Civil Service, loan)
Ross Laidlaw (Ross County)
Dino Leddie (Gala, loan)
Mark Milligan (Southend)
Miquel Nelom
Jonathan Spector
Gregor Woods (Spartans, loan)
Callum Yeats (Civil Service, loan)

Confirmed new contracts (3):
David Gray (four years)
Sean Mackie (three years)
Darren McGregor (four years)

Rumoured in:
Jason Cummings (striker, Nottingham Forest)

Rumoured out:
Florian Kamberi (Basel, Osijek, Sunderland)
Ofir Marciano
Oli Shaw (Barnsley, Blackburn, St Johnstone, Wigan)

Rumoured new contracts:
None

20-08-2019, 07:49 PM

Id rather a good no8 a Mcginn type than a No6 Milligan type.

Robbo6-2
20-08-2019, 07:55 PM

Your correct but i think he signed Vela for that role but he clearly is never a holding midfielder

20-08-2019, 07:57 PM
Not long now till the 2nd of September and this thread will slip off the main page
Thank goodness

20-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Iirc Hibs had brothers Greg and Graeme Miller along with pop Alex all at the same time. :rolleyes:

Worse, both the boys actually got a game for us. Explains why nepotism has a bad name.

BlackSheep
20-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Your correct but i think he signed Vela for that role but he clearly is never a holding midfielder

How is he clearly not a holding midfielder? I think he has done a not bad job in that role so far, he is a bit off the pace in terms of fitness and match sharpness, but that will come.

Robbo6-2
20-08-2019, 08:08 PM
How is he clearly not a holding midfielder? I think he has done a not bad job in that role so far, he is a bit off the pace in terms of fitness and match sharpness, but that will come.

Slivka played deeper than him on Saturday. I think he will be a decent signing as he plays more games but you can tell he isnt in the same mould as Marv or Milligan

Fred Perry
20-08-2019, 08:34 PM
Worse, both the boys actually got a game for us. Explains why nepotism has a bad name.

Exactly, Graeme was at my school for a bit in 4th year and couldn’t get a game for school team, he was also at Tynie boys club when I was at Hutchison and couldnae get a game there. Year later he’s full time with hibs 🙄

20-08-2019, 09:09 PM

Perhaps the manager doesn’t want us to play with a DM in the team?

20-08-2019, 09:22 PM
We're not signing anyone else, are we? 😔

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 09:22 PM
Iirc Hibs had brothers Greg and Graeme Miller along with pop Alex all at the same time. :rolleyes:

You are both bang on, here.

Do you remember who one, or both, of them kept out of the team?

A really talented wee bloke called Paul Riley, that’s who.

Because the wonderful dad, Alex, wanted them either on the bench (an extra 50 sheets) or on the park (an extra 250). He brought Graeme on once in a game in the 90th minute to get him the extra pesetas.

Once a hun, always a hun.

20-08-2019, 09:24 PM

Not today.

20-08-2019, 09:35 PM

Nice passer of the ball to and can put himself about. Goes deep and collects ball from back four. Capable of a goal too. What more do people want Beckenbauer?

Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 09:39 PM

Probably no’.

20-08-2019, 10:03 PM

Don’t remind me.......please

20-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Looks like Ryan Kent is on his way back to Rangers

one day maybe...
20-08-2019, 10:25 PM

I really hope they go t*ts up again... Abhorrent team

20-08-2019, 10:29 PM

Huge game for them Thursday, if they don’t qualify following the 2 legs it be a big stab in the leg

20-08-2019, 10:34 PM

I hate those b******s but unless they drown in their own debt I think they will win the league. Celtic are asleep at the wheel....

BoyledEgg
20-08-2019, 10:34 PM

Nothings changed

Torto7
20-08-2019, 10:40 PM
Nothings changed

Nope. Not that the authorities give a toss.

Their demented thirst for revenge will make them gamble the lot again.

Here's hoping for elimination in the next round and a hefty sports direct bill.

20-08-2019, 10:46 PM
Huge game for them Thursday, if they don’t qualify following the 2 legs it be a big stab in the leg

Not when it comes to stopping Celtic Win the league it isn’t. Thursday sundays and playing catch up if one makes Europe and the other doesn’t could be telling.

20-08-2019, 10:48 PM
Not when it comes to stopping Celtic Win the league it isn’t. Thursday sundays and playing catch up if one makes Europe and the other doesn’t could be telling.

Financially it will be more affective. Although I think both will qualify for the group stages.

20-08-2019, 11:39 PM
Still a lot of good free agents that would come in and improve us

Josh Mceachran - Deep lying playmaker type, similar to McGeouch but with the passing of Allan
Callum Harriot - Rapid winger
Efe Ambrose
Danny Williams - Defensive midfielder
James Morrison
Jack Rodwell
Gary Hooper
Tom Adeymi - Defensive midfielder
Mulumbu

Obviously wages would be an issue for a few, but I’m not sure they would be in a position to demand this high wages anymore with a couple kicking on a bit. They will also be wanted signed up reasonable soon I would imagine.

Any chance to get any of them in we should jump at as they would massively improve us imo.

This is the best chance to get 3rd in the league in a while with Aberdeen not appearing as strong, let’s make a statement hibs and push.

21-08-2019, 04:22 AM

Is this not just according to that horrible odious reporter Keith Jackshun in the record.

Not sure he has any real knowledge and more just a guess as Kent threatening to down tools.

Hopefully Klopp hammers him with a fine and makes him stay.

21-08-2019, 05:15 AM

Josh Mceachran - Deep lying playmaker type, similar to McGeouch but with the passing of Allan
Efe Ambrose
James Morrison
Jack Rodwell
Gary Hooper
Mulumbu

Obviously wages would be an issue for a few, but I’m not sure they would be in a position to demand this high wages anymore with a couple kicking on a bit. They will also be wanted signed up reasonable soon I would imagine.

Any chance to get any of them in we should jump at as they would massively improve us imo.

This is the best chance to get 3rd in the league in a while with Aberdeen not appearing as strong, let’s make a statement hibs and push.

Jack Rodwell 😄

21-08-2019, 05:57 AM
Is this not just according to that horrible odious reporter Keith Jackshun in the record.

Not sure he has any real knowledge and more just a guess as Kent threatening to down tools.

Hopefully Klopp hammers him with a fine and makes him stay.

Jackson has good contacts, especially where they're concerned

21-08-2019, 06:01 AM

Barker will be gutted at that ..would reduce his chances of game time considerably

21-08-2019, 06:12 AM
Barker will be gutted at that ..would reduce his chances of game time considerablyHow long is Barkers deal with them ? Unless they manage to rack up a big injury list I can see him getting splinters on his erse from the bench

21-08-2019, 06:14 AM
Barker will be gutted at that ..would reduce his chances of game time considerably

How many wingers to they need?

Jones, Barker, Grezda, Ojo, Hastie, Murphy & Kent

21-08-2019, 06:15 AM
How long is Barkers deal with them ? Unless they manage to rack up a big injury list I can see him getting splinters on his erse from the bench

3 years

21-08-2019, 06:17 AM
How many wingers to they need?

Jones, Barker, Grezda, Ojo, Hastie, Murphy & Kent

They are wanting rid of Grezda and are looking to punt Murphy on loan. I’d imagine Hastie will go on loan too.

21-08-2019, 06:22 AM
They’d be aswell loaning Barker out now if they’re going to be signing him.

21-08-2019, 06:23 AM
How long is Barkers deal with them ? Unless they manage to rack up a big injury list I can see him getting splinters on his erse from the bench

I don’t think he’ll be anywhere near the bench to get splinters. He’ll be as involved with them as Allan was at Celtic.

21-08-2019, 06:32 AM
Rangers are going down the same route as celtic have in recent years of signing lots of players so they can loan them out to other clubs in scotland to try and hurt each other by making the opposition stronger.

I see Jack Hendry is going on loan to either Killie or Motherwell

21-08-2019, 06:37 AM
Rangers are going down the same route as celtic have in recent years of signing lots of players so they can loan them out to other clubs in scotland to try and hurt each other by making the opposition stronger.

That’ll hurt Killie or Motherwell, not Rangers!

21-08-2019, 07:08 AM
Financial Fair play - surely someone should be looking st the amount of ££ the Huns are spending and asking questions.

Dmas
21-08-2019, 07:48 AM

Also works in their favour if the player becomes first choice and can’t play against them weakening the loaning team, should really close that rule IMO you’re loaning a player for him to get game time and/or experience why should they miss games against bigger clubs what benefit is that to the player

21-08-2019, 08:50 AM
Financial Fair play - surely someone should be looking st the amount of ££ the Huns are spending and asking questions.

Scotland don’t have it otherwise hearts would be in **** too.

21-08-2019, 09:00 AM

How much are they spending though? I seriously doubt they are silly enough to risk the club again.

21-08-2019, 09:02 AM
How much are they spending though? I seriously doubt they are silly enough to risk the club again.

I’d imagine to get Ryan Kent they’d have to be paying £30k+ for wages to him. Wouldn’t be surprised if Defoe and Morelos would be on similar and I’d suspect a lot of them will be on £20k+.

When you consider the fact their squad is also massive id suspect they’ll be well above the 50% turnover to wages ratio that we always hear about (or something around that percentage anyway?)

21-08-2019, 09:07 AM
I’d imagine to get Ryan Kent they’d have to be paying £30k+ for wages to him. Wouldn’t be surprised if Defoe and Morelos would be on similar and I’d suspect a lot of them will be on £20k+.

When you consider the fact their squad is also massive id suspect they’ll be well above the 50% turnover to wages ratio that we always hear about (or something around that percentage anyway?)

Imagine if they died (again) without winning a major trophy

That would be nice....

21-08-2019, 09:09 AM
Imagine if they died (again) without winning a major trophy

That would be nice....

Sounds like you’ve forgotten about the Petrofac Training Cup already.

Caversham Green
21-08-2019, 09:10 AM

Efe Ambrose
James Morrison
Jack Rodwell
Gary Hooper
Mulumbu

I'm surprised to see Danny Williams there, but I wouldn't call him a defensive midfielder. From his time at Reading I would say he was more a John McGinn type player. I would say he was the main difference (along with Kermorgant) between Reading finishing third and reaching the play-off final when they had him and battling relegation after he left. Probably out of our price range though. I'm also a fan of Callum Harriott even though he didn't get much game time at Reading. I suspect he'd be nearer our price range, but do we need another left winger?

21-08-2019, 09:13 AM

You know what, I had

I must have celebrated them winning the premier cup in Scottish Football a little too much

21-08-2019, 09:41 AM
I'm surprised to see Danny Williams there, but I wouldn't call him a defensive midfielder. From his time at Reading I would say he was more a John McGinn type player. I would say he was the main difference (along with Kermorgant) between Reading finishing third and reaching the play-off final when they had him and battling relegation after he left. Probably out of our price range though. I'm also a fan of Callum Harriott even though he didn't get much game time at Reading. I suspect he'd be nearer our price range, but do we need another left winger?

Yeah would probably agree regarding Williams, think he would fit the void we have in midfield with his energy and work rate. Has a bit of bite about him too that would go well with Vela imo.

I still think we could go another out and out winger, we have Middleton and Horgan with Boyle injured. Newell and Murray can play there but aren’t really out and out wingers, both more suited to a central role. I think Harriot would be good for competition and he would stretch the game and be a handful, can’t imagine were in for another winger though.

21-08-2019, 09:45 AM

But you're assuming, imagining and suspecting, it isn't actually based on any facts? No offence, it really just seems like wishful thinking. Rangers are going nowhere.

21-08-2019, 09:50 AM
But you're assuming, imagining and suspecting, it isn't actually based on any facts? No offence, it really just seems like wishful thinking. Rangers are going nowhere.

You’re correct, unfortunately.

21-08-2019, 10:05 AM

I’m not even saying if my assumptions etc are correct that they’d go under. I agree they’ll probably be going nowhere.

I do think they’ll have a higher wages to turnover ratio then we always hear is recommended though. Of course I have no basis for it other than guesswork based on the players they have and the amount of them.

h18eeynick
21-08-2019, 10:28 AM
In terms of alledged £2 million enquiry for Kamberi from Basle I was speaking to a Hibby mate of mine this morning . His girlfried is just back from Basle visiting a friend and her son plays for them - development level i think. Apparently they are skint so dont think there is anything in that story

Hibernianinc
21-08-2019, 10:41 AM
You are both bang on, here.

Do you remember who one, or both, of them kept out of the team?

A really talented wee bloke called Paul Riley, that’s who.

Because the wonderful dad, Alex, wanted them either on the bench (an extra 50 sheets) or on the park (an extra 250). He brought Graeme on once in a game in the 90th minute to get him the extra pesetas.

Once a hun, always a hun.

Did Miller p1sh on your chips?

10 years service and won us a cup.

I assume you hold our hun-supporting CEO in the same contempt?

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 11:18 AM
Did Miller p1sh on your chips?

10 years service and won us a cup.

I assume you hold our hun-supporting CEO in the same contempt?

No, my chips are fine thanks.

You are taking my point (deliberately?) out of context.

No problem with our CEO.

Hibernianinc
21-08-2019, 11:29 AM
No, my chips are fine thanks.

You are taking my point (deliberately?) out of context.

No problem with our CEO.

Nope, if you want to bash nepotism that’s fine.

Just seemed you were binning everything Miller achieved for the club because of this particular irk and who he played for.

21-08-2019, 11:31 AM

Record season ticket sales, every home match pretty much a sellout except the away corner. A feel good factor at Ibrox now so hospitality, advertising and other commercial revenues will be raking it in. Decent Europa run last year, 180 minutes from the same this year. They'll be sound unfortunately.

However they'll throw everything into this season and more-so next should Celtic lift the league trophy in May. It will be interesting in 2 seasons time how Rangers are should Celtic get to 10 in a row. Hopefully alot of their directors and backers who are happily chucking money into them just now may think **** it whats the point....

21-08-2019, 11:42 AM

2016 Scottish cup too. Seeing Andy Halliday tell them all to calm down, he has this, broke my heart. Left the stadium and not been able to watch the highlights.

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 11:55 AM
Nope, if you want to bash nepotism that’s fine.

Just seemed you were binning everything Miller achieved for the club because of this particular irk and who he played for.

Ok, I see (and take) your point. :aok:

I probably shouldn't have mentioned Rangers, it has nothing whatsoever to do with the point I was making. I retract.

However, this was indeed nepotism at it’s most obvious. If you remember the young chap, Paul Riley, and indeed ever saw him play, you will be aware that he was a far better footballer, with a better attitude, than either of Alex Millers sons but they regularly gained squad places over him.

This was more than coincidence, in my opinion.

Thanks for responding in a pleasant manner, and I hope we now see each other’s viewpoint?

Hibernianinc
21-08-2019, 04:01 PM

I probably shouldn't have mentioned Rangers, it has nothing whatsoever to do with the point I was making. I retract.

However, this was indeed nepotism at it’s most obvious. If you remember the young chap, Paul Riley, and indeed ever saw him play, you will be aware that he was a far better footballer, with a better attitude, than either of Alex Millers sons but they regularly gained squad places over him.

Thanks for responding in a pleasant manner, and I hope we now see each other’s viewpoint?

Absolutely, see and agree with where you’re coming from 👍

hibs#1
21-08-2019, 05:07 PM

Don't know much about the huns financial situation but I think your right about their wages to turnover % being very high, I read an article about it late last season and I'm sure they where up about the 70% mark before this transfer window. (highest in the league by quite a bit if remember correctly.)

Of course I could be talking utter crap and haven't remebered the article correctly. (it's been known to happen.)

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 05:30 PM
Absolutely, see and agree with where you’re coming from 👍

21-08-2019, 05:39 PM
Can someone explain to me and direct me to information that Scotland doesn’t have financial fair play?

If Scotland doesn’t have it surely they need to introduce it ?

Assumed it was all teams in Euro leagues / team competing in Europe?

HIGHLANDLEITHER
21-08-2019, 05:53 PM

Try double that figure for Defoe plus others such as Pena who they are still paying. Betting the Big Hoose on Europe whilst SFA look the other way.

21-08-2019, 06:10 PM
Can someone explain to me and direct me to information that Scotland doesn’t have financial fair play?

If Scotland doesn’t have it surely they need to introduce it ?

Assumed it was all teams in Euro leagues / team competing in Europe?

UEFA has financial play. You need to follow the rules to compete in Europe.

21-08-2019, 06:20 PM
I was speaking to my mate on Saturday (he's a strange half Morton, half Rangers fan) and he's pretty sure King has been scouring the land trying to find wealthy huns who will pledge a million here, a million there to stop 10 in a row.

A lot of money came their way from their Europe run last year but it is easy to forget that there are an awful lot of them out there and they generate a lot of cash and a lot of interest.

Their problem for about 30 years (and seems to be ongoing) is that they have a rip-roaring sense of entitlement that will always see them want to spend more than they have to get the success that they think they deserve when in fact they should really have to live by the same financial realities all other clubs live by.

Anyone who wants Rangers to progress in Europe wants their head examining imo. The continued existence of a bloated Sevco is not a good thing for Scottish football in any way, I don't care about their contribution to any coefficient.

21-08-2019, 07:32 PM
I was speaking to my mate on Saturday (he's a strange half Morton, half Rangers fan) and he's pretty sure King has been scouring the land trying to find wealthy huns who will pledge a million here, a million there to stop 10 in a row.

A lot of money came their way from their Europe run last year but it is easy to forget that there are an awful lot of them out there and they generate a lot of cash and a lot of interest.

Their problem for about 30 years (and seems to be ongoing) is that they have a rip-roaring sense of entitlement that will always see them want to spend more than they have to get the success that they think they deserve when in fact they should really have to live by the same financial realities all other clubs live by.

Anyone who wants Rangers to progress in Europe wants their head examining imo. The continued existence of a bloated Sevco is not a good thing for Scottish football in any way, I don't care about their contribution to any coefficient.
I'll second the honourable gentleman on that.......

21-08-2019, 07:41 PM

I agree.

The most enjoyable football period I have known since 1978 has been the period since Rangers died.

Football was crap when old Rangers were around

The last thing we need is a bloated bigoted brand in Govan legitimising antisocial behaviours off the field and doing something "as close to match fixing as you will find" on the field of play

"As close to match fixing as you can get" - https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/19564493

hibeerealist
21-08-2019, 08:16 PM

it certainly was Lucy, had their dad not been AM neither would have kicked a ball for HFC and I don’t think they would have got professional contracts at any club as they were just not good enough. Nepotism - yes, big time.

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 09:12 PM
it certainly was Lucy, had their dad not been AM neither would have kicked a ball for HFC and I don’t think they would have got professional contracts at any club as they were just not good enough. Nepotism - yes, big time.

Thanks.

I swithered about posting this last night, but thought, why not?

Both Greg and Graeme Miller were a million miles away from being footballers, their dad made sure they got contracts with us and proceeded to make damn sure they got as much ‘appearance money’ as possible.

Dad and sons were regularly seen drinking in Champagne Charlie’s after some of ‘the boys’ cameo appearances for Hibs.

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 09:15 PM

Please allow me to third that, Harold.

hibeerealist
21-08-2019, 09:28 PM

mcfly
21-08-2019, 09:34 PM
It seems reading the last 10 pages that people have forgotten this is a transfer thread.

What relevance has Alex millers sons 😩😩

21-08-2019, 09:36 PM

Me three - to anyone’s two any day. 👍

Fourth, Doh.

21-08-2019, 09:37 PM
It seems reading the last 10 pages that people have forgotten this is a transfer thread.

There’s ****all happening mate. Sadly.

21-08-2019, 09:37 PM

There’s no rumours to discuss.

Here’s Lucy!
21-08-2019, 09:41 PM

Discuss all the transfer rumours then, go on.

DMH0762
21-08-2019, 09:48 PM
Discuss all the transfer rumours then, go on.

Andy Carroll comin' on loan :scarf::devil:

mcfly
21-08-2019, 09:49 PM
There’s ****all happening mate. Sadly.

Serious lack of ambition going on at Easter road in my opinion.

Glaringly obvious that the squad is not good enough to compete.

Either there is no money and the reason for that must be explained to season ticket holders.

Or the board are not giving the manager anymore cash given his signings so far not improving the team.

No more signings I’d expect a big fans backlash directed towards the board

21-08-2019, 10:09 PM

Beats puns.

21-08-2019, 11:53 PM

Always struggled to tell them apart. Both decidedly average.

One ended up coaching at Hibs.
One ended up being a relationship manager at RBS.
One ended up coaching at the The Rangers, or maybe just the Rangers.

Yes I know.
I said I struggled.

22-08-2019, 01:23 AM
Always struggled to tell them apart. Both decidedly average.

One ended up coaching at Hibs.
One ended up being a relationship manager at RBS.
One ended up coaching at the The Rangers, or maybe just the Rangers.

Yes I know.
I said I struggled.

Greg Miller was the better player of the 2 brothers and after retiring has spent his working life as a football coach and in banking.
He has been firmly on the coaching path this decade and is currently Head of the Coaching Academy at Barnsley.

Leitherhibs
22-08-2019, 08:27 AM

C’mon at least make semi realistic... He’s no even got a club to be loaned from.

22-08-2019, 08:34 AM
C’mon at least make semi realistic... He’s no even got a club to be loaned from.

He signed for Newcastle did he not?

DMH0762
22-08-2019, 08:44 AM

I embrace excess.... set sights high . :wink:

At Newcastle now far as i know

Leitherhibs
22-08-2019, 09:01 AM
He signed for Newcastle did he not?

You're right, he did! Must've missed that with all the excitement on English deadline day :wink:

Shocked he managed to pass a medical.

22-08-2019, 09:52 AM

Either there is no money and the reason for that must be explained to season ticket holders.

Or the board are not giving the manager anymore cash given his signings so far not improving the team.

The 2014 shock to the system led to Hibs (led by the newly-incumbent Leanne) treating the transfer market as a means to sporting success, for what felt (to me) like the first time.

Suddenly we were signing footballers who were hungry, talented and on-the-up that would win us stuff

It brought into glaring contrast the churn of squad-filler footballers in the preceding decade (as the incoming signings) that had been invariably cut-price versions of their predecessors (think Brian Kerr for Scott Brown) at a fraction of the money brought in. Dismal stuff in an industry like professional sports.

Things changed so much for the good with LD coming in, and the likes of McGinn, Allan, McGeough, Henderson, Stokes, Ambrose, Boyle, Keatings all coming in. But with the exception of Scott Allan (and perhaps Middleton, and maybe Vela, with the right team around them) this summer has felt like the Bad Old Days of the dismal transfer market. It's like we've given up on ambition.

There will rightly be questions asked of the board at the AGM about strategy - what's the aim, for a club with record receipts incoming, and in a rare two seasons period where the Old Firm may well have their eye off the ball in the domestic cups (as the 9IAR / 10iar bandwagons focus on the league to the point of obsession through the West)

22-08-2019, 09:57 AM

Injured right now - he's perfect!

Causewayside PR
22-08-2019, 11:06 AM

I feel that the board and management need to be told that the fans will not put up with the lack of ambition in getting in a more competitive squad for the season.
Heckingbottom has in no uncertain terms said we are not looking for more players unless players (with specific references to Shaw) leave.
I am near incredulous at that position though reluctantly believe him. It baffles me as to why we are not strengthening!
This talk about Ron not being sure that Heckingbottom is his man and therefore withholding funds that would otherwise be available sounds unlikely in the world of football. If that were the case then sack him and get the new man in. Such a policy of holding on can only serve to damage the club. Surely as a business man he would see that.
If Heckingbottom is literally lying I do not think that is on as he is the voice of the club and we as supporters deserve much better.
Either way, whatever the reasons, our squad is desperately short in terms of numbers and strength in depth.
It is tough though, do we have a banner or some sort of a demonstration on Saturday to let our voices be heard. Will that actually make any difference? Is there enough time for that to make a difference even if the board/management listen?
Equally, life is too short to let another season slip away into mediocrity when there is absolutely nothing whatsoever, as far as I can see, to stop us from improving and have a great season.

I feel a bit of a lost soul at the moment and want so much to believe in this club and look forward in optimism for the coming season.

MacGruber
22-08-2019, 11:22 AM
I feel that the board and management need to be told that the fans will not put up with the lack of ambition in getting in a more competitive squad for the season.
Heckingbottom has in no uncertain terms said we are not looking for more players unless players (with specific references to Shaw) leave.
I am near incredulous at that position though reluctantly believe him. It baffles me as to why we are not strengthening!
This talk about Ron not being sure that Heckingbottom is his man and therefore withholding funds that would otherwise be available sounds unlikely in the world of football. If that were the case then sack him and get the new man in. Such a policy of holding on can only serve to damage the club. Surely as a business man he would see that.
If Heckingbottom is literally lying I do not think that is on as he is the voice of the club and we as supporters deserve much better.
Either way, whatever the reasons, our squad is desperately short in terms of numbers and strength in depth.
It is tough though, do we have a banner or some sort of a demonstration on Saturday to let our voices be heard. Will that actually make any difference? Is there enough time for that to make a difference even if the board/management listen?
Equally, life is too short to let another season slip away into mediocrity when there is absolutely nothing whatsoever, as far as I can see, to stop us from improving and have a great season.

I feel a bit of a lost soul at the moment and want so much to believe in this club and look forward in optimism for the coming season.

Something isn't stacking up.

More out than in. Nearly 13000 season tickets. McGinn money and 7 figure investment. How does that leave us with no budget and hoping someone loans out one of only 3 forwards.

How in that enviroment have we left ourselves so short in midfield.

Numbers simply aren't adding up.

If the answer is that we are paying unproven players acquired from Forest Green and Yeovil Town massive wages and 90% of the investment is for training pitches and the like then questions are needing asked.

Still hopeful we are bringing in at least another 1 solid signing.

Like the poster above I'm a bit baffled at the financial position and feeling lost with the direction we are taking.

Not panic stations yet with Hibs, Heck and Ron but defo on a state of high alert.

I couldn't even say if Dempster is still at the club

22-08-2019, 11:22 AM
I’m not sure there is anything sinister in there not being any funds available. I think it is just how the manager has chosen to spend the budget.

All these boys coming up from England won’t be here for a grand a week. Take Newell as an example, he was playing in the championship last year so would have been on decent money. Rotherham wanted to keep him and, even relegated, would have been offering a decent wage.

22-08-2019, 11:26 AM

Every manager we’ve ever had has at least said that we’re always on the lookout for players and if opportunities arise there are funds available to react. This manager has categorically said we’re finished and I don’t buy into the bluffing thing. I’m in the same frame of mind as you and can’t understand why our football club has no desire to strengthen the squad further, it just doesn’t sit well with me at all. Is there something going on we don’t know or is the manager so rotten he can’t see we’re not strong enough?

22-08-2019, 11:28 AM
I’m not sure there is anything sinister in there not being any funds available. I think it is just how the manager has chosen to spend the budget.

All these boys coming up from England won’t be here for a grand a week. Take Newell as an example, he was playing in the championship last year so would have been on decent money. Rotherham wanted to keep him and, even relegated, would have been offering a decent wage.

No that just wont do, its a consipracy I tell you, a CONSPIRACY! Ron / Rod / STF / Leeann / Steven Whittaker are all in this together! It's all a pyramid ponzi scheme!

Or maybe you got it right? :wink:

22-08-2019, 11:55 AM

Ten out of ten for drama queenery if nothing else.

Torto7
22-08-2019, 12:44 PM

I've read this a few times now about Newell. I don't buy it though. Rotherham are tiny, they jump between League 1 and lower championship. Newell wasn't some star player for them he was as much an impact sub than he was a starter. Folk get carried away with the league average of 20k but that's like looking at the SPL average wage and assuming we pay close to what the Old Firm pay. Even Newell himself said that his only other options was dropping back down to league 1 level.

Agents fees will be an interesting one to watch however.

As well as the monstrosity we seem to be budgeting for at east mains.

22-08-2019, 01:17 PM

You might want to reflect on that before you post comments like the last one. Breathe. Enjoy a glass of wine. It's ok. Seriously.

22-08-2019, 01:31 PM

Can't disagree with Flash for once.

If even Speedway's telling you to calm down a bit, you might be slightly over-anxious.

22-08-2019, 01:31 PM
I've read this a few times now about Newell. I don't buy it though. Rotherham are tiny, they jump between League 1 and lower championship. Newell wasn't some star player for them he was as much an impact sub than he was a starter. Folk get carried away with the league average of 20k but that's like looking at the SPL average wage and assuming we pay close to what the Old Firm pay. Even Newell himself said that his only other options was dropping back down to league 1 level.

Agents fees will be an interesting one to watch however.

As well as the monstrosity we seem to be budgeting for at east mains.

I’m not suggesting that he was earning 10, 12 or 15 grand a week. But I think it’s a fair assumption to make that playing in that league he would have been on money that would make him well paid up here, which is anything over a couple of grand a week.

22-08-2019, 01:34 PM
You might want to reflect on that before you post comments like the last one. Breathe. Enjoy a glass of wine. It's ok. Seriously.

Okay some can point at the players brought in saying we expected better but the magnifying glass shouldn't just be focused on the new players but also the contracts given to existing players and the cost therein. Then the entire picture looked at to see if the budget was used wisely and to the optimum. At the moment it feels as though it wasn't but that might turn out to be only a feeling and things might turn out okay. I was concerned that DM and DG, despite being legends were given seven year contracts between them and neither look at this point capable of giving us a good ninety minutes, their respective ages might have been a clue. Also disappointed that nearly a million pounds is sitting in the HSL bank account, when I thought contributions would have already found there way to the club. All that added together means that the feel good factor has deteriorated, maybe it's just me though. Hopefully the dust will settle and things will look brighter as the season goes on and all the negativity we see in posts and hear at matches and in pubs turn positive. If not then ...........................

hibsforeurope
22-08-2019, 01:43 PM

He was at Easter Road yesterday. Not sure why but played for Hecky at Barnsley...

22-08-2019, 01:43 PM
I’m still clinging to the hope that the Head Coach knows we are short and will be pushing for players to keep his job and reputation.

Juice-Terry
22-08-2019, 01:47 PM

More out than in. Nearly 13000 season tickets. McGinn money and 7 figure investment. How does that leave us with no budget and hoping someone loans out one of only 3 forwards.

If the answer is that we are paying unproven players acquired from Forest Green and Yeovil Town massive wages and 90% of the investment is for training pitches and the like then questions are needing asked.

Like the poster above I'm a bit baffled at the financial position and feeling lost with the direction we are taking.

Not panic stations yet with Hibs, Heck and Ron but defo on a state of high alert.

Add to that 500K of debt written off.

22-08-2019, 01:47 PM

but is he totally wrong though. There are more negative views than positive one's towards the players we have, new and old. However, football isn't a matter of life and death, it's actually more important than that:wink:. If fans want to air their grievances or display their concerns in public then they should do so. It would then be open to the club to let them know why they have nothing to worry about and why. When Ron Gordon was asked if Hibs could mount a challenge to the O.F., he said along the lines that we have to see if our current plan takes us to a platform to do so eventually, which indicates that he simply doesn't know if we have a top six side. Hopefully he's had reassurances from L.D and P.H., but what if they are not being all that convincing about it. P.H kept saying we are work in progress, I don't think that's a lot to give you confidence at this stage. Maybe there is more hope than confidence coming out of ER these days, and if our budget was used well you'd think they'd be fairly confident, considering we have a better budget than at least seven other clubs. Of course maybe I'm just another drama queen minus the queen bit.

22-08-2019, 01:55 PM
He was at Easter Road yesterday. Not sure why but played for Hecky at Barnsley...

He's 100% not signing for Hibs, would be funny if he did though.

Torto7
22-08-2019, 01:59 PM
He's 100% not signing for Hibs, would be funny if he did though.

He'll probably be pals with Jackson. Maybe visiting him while Sevco have their euro tie.

22-08-2019, 02:08 PM

Couldnt have summarized it better myself.

22-08-2019, 02:12 PM
Celtic signing Fraser Forster

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

22-08-2019, 02:16 PM
Okay some can point at the players brought in saying we expected better but the magnifying glass shouldn't just be focused on the new players but also the contracts given to existing players and the cost therein. Then the entire picture looked at to see if the budget was used wisely and to the optimum. At the moment it feels as though it wasn't but that might turn out to be only a feeling and things might turn out okay. I was concerned that DM and DG, despite being legends were given seven year contracts between them and neither look at this point capable of giving us a good ninety minutes, their respective ages might have been a clue. Also disappointed that nearly a million pounds is sitting in the HSL bank account, when I thought contributions would have already found there way to the club. All that added together means that the feel good factor has deteriorated, maybe it's just me though. Hopefully the dust will settle and things will look brighter as the season goes on and all the negativity we see in posts and hear at matches and in pubs turn positive. If not then ...........................

A million pounds in hsl bank account??

Possibly means lennon not interested in Marciano then.

Causewayside PR
Can't disagree with Flash for once.

If even Speedway's telling you to calm down a bit, you might be slightly over-anxious.

I am simply raising a real concern I think many Hibs fans have; our squad needs improvement and it is not going to happen.

The question is; are you (and others) content with the squad as is?

FWIW, I think we have a good manager and the makings of a great squad and regardless of what happens the team has my full backing.

Percy Vere
22-08-2019, 02:17 PM

don’t think it’s sinister, it’s same old same old.
Just when Hibs need to loosen the shackles and make another couple of signings in order to really compete, they don’t.
All the other clubs around us are struggling. I reckon 3rd place is wide open. With a little more squad investment we could put ourselves 3rd or 4th. I think Heckingbottom is a sound manager but he needs Ron and LDs backing before the deadline.

22-08-2019, 02:18 PM
I am simply raising a real concern I think many Hibs fans have; our squad needs improvement and it is not going to happen.

FWIW, I think we have a good manager and the makings of a great squad and regardless of what happens the team has my full backing.

We will definitely sign more players before the window closes.

22-08-2019, 02:22 PM

I agree with last sentence. But I'm at a loss as to why you're are adamant we won't strengthen.

We will add to the squad. Of course we will. I'm not buying manager responses to journo questions.

Maybe living in a state of unfounded panic makes people feel better about themselves. Strange times.

22-08-2019, 02:23 PM
Possibly means lennon not interested in Marciano then.

That’s good news, Celtic and their biscuit tin can **** right off.

Torto7
22-08-2019, 02:23 PM
don’t think it’s sinister, it’s same old same old.
Just when Hibs need to loosen the shackles and make another couple of signings in order to really compete, they don’t.
All the other clubs around us are struggling. I reckon 3rd place is wide open. With a little more squad investment we could put ourselves 3rd or 4th. I think Heckingbottom is a sound manager but he needs Ron and LDs backing before the deadline.

Good post.

I'm frustrated because I think with a couple of the correct signings we'll be set for a cracking season.

22-08-2019, 02:27 PM
I agree with last sentence. But I'm at a loss as to why you're are adamant we won't strengthen.

We will add to the squad. Of course we will. I'm not buying manager responses to journo questions.

Maybe living in a state of unfounded panic makes people feel better about themselves. Strange times.
F*** off you. Far too sensible for this forum.....

22-08-2019, 02:31 PM

Not good enough to compete with who?
This place is mental at the moment.

Causewayside PR
22-08-2019, 02:36 PM

I really hope you (and others) are right and we sign some more players.

I get I am coming across as a worry-merchant but I am calm and relaxed but I know the team could and should be improved.

I haven't given it much thought but I do not recall a manager barefaced lying (as opposed to being coy etc) to the media and supporters about their transfer activity being done or otherwise. Can you?
It's pretty daft if so as people might (not saying they are) not back the club as much financially if they feel the squad is not be improved this window.
I don't think PH is lying btw. I am not sure what is going on though.

22-08-2019, 02:37 PM

I don’t see why you’d be at a loss.

Heckingbottom has said it in every interview. Now he may be lying but he’s getting more believable by the week imo.

I assumed he was telling porkies, as all managers do, but he’s certainly making a good job of convincing me. I know it’s a game of poker he’s maybe playing but managers up and down the country are telling the media when they’re done or if they’re still looking, if we are still in the market for a player or two I don’t think Heckingbottom needs to be as adamant as he’s been that nobody else will be signing unless a player leaves.

FWIW my gut instinct is telling me we must be signing other players, we have to be, I don’t blame other people for being concerned about what Heckingbottom is saying though as he’s playing a good part just now if he is making it up.

22-08-2019, 02:40 PM

I get I am coming across as a worry-merchant but I am calm and relaxed but I know the team could and should be improved.

I haven't given it much thought but I do not recall a manager barefaced lying (as opposed to being coy etc) to the media and supporters about their transfer activity being done or otherwise. Can you?
It's pretty daft if so as people might (not saying they are) not back the club as much financially if they feel the squad is not be improved this window.
Jesus wept - are you making it up as you go along or do you lack comprehension skills? He said "unless other things happen". He had his poker face on which a number of posters can't (or more likely won't) acknowledge.

DanishJohn
22-08-2019, 02:52 PM

Negativity Alert !!

Nearly a million pounds sitting in the HSL bank account

How do you know this?

Better still who is feeding you this?

Were you at any of the two meetings?

Causewayside PR
22-08-2019, 03:05 PM
Jesus wept - are you making it up as you go along or do you lack comprehension skills? He said "unless other things happen". He had his poker face on which a number of posters can't (or more likely won't) acknowledge.

No need for the condescending tone.
PH said no more are coming in unless other players leave and we will then look to get in replacements. So yes, we might see more bodies in but they will be replacements for what we already have.

22-08-2019, 03:05 PM

Dear oh dear. He said we wouldn't be signing unless things change which they could easily do by clubs/players/agents reducing their demands as we get nearer to the window. Also things change if players realise they are not in the picture at a club and are looking for games. Lets see where we are at September 2nd.

Percy Vere
22-08-2019, 03:33 PM

Not sure why you’re so sure.
I’ve supported Hibs for a long time and I’ve seen this happen many times.
We’ve stuck to tight budgets and wage structures which have ultimately seen us remain fiscally responsible unlike others!
I really hope you are right and we get a couple of decent signings but I don’t thing P.H. is bluffing.
Let’s hope he gets the funds.

22-08-2019, 03:35 PM
Heckingbottom was more enigmatic when asked about transfers in his latest press conference. Seemed to suggest there are still areas they want to strengthen.

22-08-2019, 03:46 PM

That’s the bit I’m struggling to get.

There’s no doubting we’re short. There’s no doubting because of that that we lack a bit quality as well. I also agree that a couple more good signings could see us have a very good chance of best of the rest.

But I just don’t see what people are seeing in other teams currently to make them think they’re better than us. Especially the folk that expect Hearts to demolish us. The very same Hearts team who if our two results go the way they’re expected to go at the weekend will be 5 behind us after 3 games with us having visited Ibrox.

22-08-2019, 03:49 PM
Heckingbottom was more enigmatic when asked about transfers in his latest press conference. Seemed to suggest there are still areas they want to strengthen.

That’s a relief

Lee Marvin
22-08-2019, 04:04 PM

Was just about to post this. Maybe picked up on the negativit amoungst the fans and changed tactic

Caversham Green
22-08-2019, 04:10 PM

That's just wrong.

On 31 January 2019 HSL had £1,170 in the bank and since then they have donated £109,800 to the club. There's not a chance in hell that they've raised £1.1m in the last 6 months.

22-08-2019, 04:13 PM

Definitely a bit more positive. Said they had an idea of what they wanted in for the squad in April/May and they are still working towards that.

Maybe some of that £1m from Ron has been redistributed.

Torto7
22-08-2019, 04:27 PM

:hyper:hyper:aok:.

22-08-2019, 04:36 PM
He did sound more possitive and made it clear it would be foolish to tell the media what's going on behind the scenes, although that was mentioned in relation to Shaw.

22-08-2019, 04:37 PM
We are 100% still looking to bring players in.

mcfly
22-08-2019, 04:39 PM

Mental ? How?

Why can’t we compete with rangers? Shouldn’t that be our aim? That defeat was appalling.

The manager and his signings need to up their game a bit.

My issue is the manager doesn’t come across as a positive upbeat get the fans buzzing sort of guy.

1 up front is dull, it’s boring and after the last few seasons rollercoaster it’s just not what we are used to.

Is obvious we need better players. I’d say at least 2-3, certainly a tough midfielder and a striker

22-08-2019, 04:42 PM
Mental ? How?

Why can’t we compete with rangers? Shouldn’t that be our aim? That defeat was appalling.

My issue is the manager doesn’t come across as a positive upbeat get the fans buzzing sort of guy.

1 up front is dull, it’s boring and after the last few seasons rollercoaster it’s just not what we are used to.

Is obvious we need better players. I’d say 3

Wait until St Johnstone compete with us as the weekend, and maybe even win the game. Why shouldn't they after all its their aim, budget is closer to ours than ours to Rangers. Time the St Johnstone team and manager upped their game, just hope it's not Saturday

James Stephen
22-08-2019, 05:01 PM
Mental ? How?

Is obvious we need better players. I’d say at least 2-3, certainly a tough midfielder and a striker

1 up front is not dull per se. Most teams in the world now only play with 1 central striker.

And Hibs scored 5 in the last match.

mcfly
22-08-2019, 05:06 PM
1 up front is not dull per se. Most teams in the world now only play with 1 central striker.

And Hibs scored 5 in the last match.

🤣🤣. Aye ok

9 conceded in last 2 or are u missing that

22-08-2019, 05:13 PM
Mental ? How?

If you think we can compete with Rangers you are deluded. They are spending huge amounts of money with the sole aim of stopping Celtic getting 10 in a row and to hell with the financial consequences. We won't be the only team that gets skelped by them this season and unless Celtic pull their finger out Sevco will win the league by a margin....

Pete70
22-08-2019, 05:13 PM
Anyone take Melker Hallberg, Swedish midfielder?

22-08-2019, 05:14 PM
mental ? How?

we do not play 1 up front

22-08-2019, 05:16 PM

Who?

22-08-2019, 05:17 PM

Never heard of him but he’s a midfielder, so yes

Was just about to post this. Maybe picked up on the negativit amoungst the fans and changed tactic
Really hope the manager isnt doing business because the fans moaned a bit. May as well leave now if that's the case.

Anyone take Melker Hallberg, Swedish midfielder?A midfielder who is devensive. Don't care what he is like sign him

Really hope the manager isnt doing business because the fans moaned a bit. May as well leave now if that's the case.That's doenst happen.

22-08-2019, 05:19 PM

Why do you ask Pete?

22-08-2019, 05:19 PM
We are 100% still looking to bring players in.

Definitely.

Didn’t believed Hecky when he said we were done. He was openly chasing 2 other players who we failed to get. I think there will still be 2 more to come in.

22-08-2019, 05:22 PM

Yes we do.

22-08-2019, 05:23 PM

I should add - even if this isn't based on any info whatsoever, congrats on posting the first genuine rumour in yonks.

We should get some criminal who has to do community service to trawl back through this thread and summarise all of the various tangents we've shot off on as some sort of punishment.

Pete70
22-08-2019, 05:29 PM
Why do you ask Pete?

Signing to tomorrow, so I'm told. Plays centre/defensive midfield.

Don't hold it against me if it doesn't happen.

22-08-2019, 05:29 PM
Yes we do.

That would mean Horgan and Middleton played in midfield on Saturday. They clearly didn't.

22-08-2019, 05:30 PM
Signing to tomorrow, so I'm told. Plays centre/defensive midfield

Ah good stuff. Thanks.

22-08-2019, 05:33 PM
Really hope the manager isnt doing business because the fans moaned a bit. May as well leave now if that's the case.
Aye, managers sit riveted to fans forums at night and make decisions the next day based on what they read. :faf::faf:

22-08-2019, 05:35 PM
That would mean Horgan and Middleton played in midfield on Saturday. They clearly didn't.

Yes, they did.

22-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Doesn't look so devensive. Decent goal at 49 seconds [emoji108]

https://youtu.be/3YbRKTwllMc

22-08-2019, 05:38 PM

Just watched video and thought same.

Some amazing goals and doesn’t look defensive. But would take him.

22-08-2019, 05:43 PM

We play one up front in the same way that Liverpool and Barcelona play one up front.

The wide man are forwards, they’re just not strikers.

Mr Grieves
22-08-2019, 05:53 PM

A rumour! :panic:

22-08-2019, 06:12 PM
That's doenst happen.

I know that, I was replying to the poster who suggested it was.

Lee Marvin
22-08-2019, 06:13 PM

I was implying that he has changed the narrative, not the strategy.

22-08-2019, 06:20 PM

Thanks for sharing Pete 👍

Torto7
22-08-2019, 06:27 PM
I've just been researching Melker. Apparently he likes to go on long runs but leaves his balls behind, oo er.

Anyway from what I can see he was highly rated 3 Swedish caps 1 goal. Got a move to Udinese then a couple of loans back home before moving to his last club where it seems to have gone wrong. They got relegated and he seemed to have bad injuries.

He's told the Swedish press that he was continuing abroad for his next move.

Combining the youtube compilation and his history what I've read about him he sounds like an exciting signing. The injury issues being the slight risk although I'm sure Hibs will get that thoroughly checked out.

If we sign him of course.

22-08-2019, 06:28 PM

Reliable source? I know how easy things can change with transfers though, only need to think back a few weeks to the Ojo shenanigans.

Be chuffed to get another central mid in though!

SiinDubai
22-08-2019, 06:30 PM

Doesn’t matter if it happens or not at least we have a rumour
👍

22-08-2019, 06:32 PM
No need for the condescending tone.
PH said no more are coming in unless other players leave and we will then look to get in replacements. So yes, we might see more bodies in but they will be replacements for what we already have.

Dont worry about the condescending tone. You get used to it with certain posters on here.

Souter96Mac
22-08-2019, 06:50 PM
Love these sorts of rumours. Get him in. Get anyone in

22-08-2019, 06:54 PM
There’s a crowd in his highlight reel - deal.

22-08-2019, 07:04 PM
I've just been researching Melker. Apparently he likes to go on long runs but leaves his balls behind, oo er.

Anyway from what I can see he was highly rated 3 Swedish caps 1 goal. Got a move to Udinese then a couple of loans back home before moving to his last club where it seems to have gone wrong. They got relegated and he seemed to have bad injuries.

He's told the Swedish press that he was continuing abroad for his next move.

Combining the youtube compilation and his history what I've read about him he sounds like an exciting signing. The injury issues being the slight risk although I'm sure Hibs will get that thoroughly checked out.

If we sign him of course.

Sounds interesting looked more like an all round midfielder. Decent physique looks athletic and decent on the ball. Only 23 and has had good international recognition 23 caps at u21 and 3 full caps. Looks like he hasn't played since May.

Torto7
22-08-2019, 07:15 PM
Sounds interesting looked more like an all round midfielder. Decent physique looks athletic and decent on the ball. Only 23 and has had good international recognition 23 caps at u21 and 3 full caps. Looks like he hasn't played since May.

He seems to be an all rounder like you say. From his clips he was taking up positions all over midfield. He seems to have a fierce shot as well and athletic.

The international part is really encouraging imo.

I'm hoping this is true it sounds more Omeonga than De Graaf.

22-08-2019, 07:15 PM
Looks like we’re signing the Swedish Stevie Mallan.

Swedey Mallan?

Godsahibby
22-08-2019, 07:19 PM

If only we had an all round midfielder, big physique and athletic who was decent on the ball who was around that age with a lot of international experience!

We need a ball winner in there who protects the defense i dont think he is what we need!

Torto7
22-08-2019, 07:23 PM

Swedey Mallan?

Yeah same profile/different style, lots of hype when younger a couple of iffy moves then Hibs move in. :aok:

Some more comments on twitter, when he broke through at 18/19 he was described as the most talented Swedish player since Ibrahimovic. Two years ago he finished behind Llorente and Asensio in key passes at the u21 Euros. A supporter at Vejle said he was the one bright spark in a poor season last year.

The more I read about this guy the more I like the sound of it.:thumbsup:

22-08-2019, 07:34 PM
If only we had an all round midfielder, big physique and athletic who was decent on the ball who was around that age with a lot of international experience!

We need a ball winner in there who protects the defense i dont think he is what we need!

Defence, FFS !

22-08-2019, 07:38 PM

Thanks Pete. Derek McInness just been spotted at Edinburgh airport wearing nothing but a smile with a rose between his beep beeps

Torto7
22-08-2019, 07:39 PM
Thanks Pete. Derek McInness just been spotted at Edinburgh airport with a rose between his beep beeps

:faf::faf:

22-08-2019, 07:44 PM

Swedey Mallan?

Lol

Good one

22-08-2019, 08:06 PM

Video started well, but last four minutes was pretty average.

Joking, he looks just what we need.

22-08-2019, 08:15 PM
Video started well, but last four minutes was pretty average.

Joking, he looks just what we need.

His name also sounds good. Hope he signs on that basis alone. Really like the name.

James Stephen
22-08-2019, 08:21 PM
🤣🤣. Aye ok

9 conceded in last 2 or are u missing that

Surely having a leaky defence would suggest that we are the opposite of negative and dull?

22-08-2019, 08:36 PM
On Wiki, he is a mid fielder, but can play as a defensive mf, Charles Otto are his names, when was the last Swedish player in the team, i can remember a couple of Norwegians in the 80s ( i think)
B
Edit, forgot about our goalies, i was meaning out field players

22-08-2019, 08:38 PM
On Wiki, he is a mid fielder, but can play as a defensive mf, Charles Otto are his names, when was the last Swedish player in the team, i can remember a couple of Norwegians in the 80s ( i think)
B

Daniel Anderson? Fantastic goalkeeper

22-08-2019, 08:39 PM
B

Daniel Anderson?

22-08-2019, 08:58 PM
B

Aaniel Dandersson?

22-08-2019, 08:59 PM
B

Pretty sure that there was a Norwegian player who played more recently than the 80s. Pretty sure there was a wee game at Hampden that he played in, though can't recall the score.

22-08-2019, 09:01 PM

Yeh, that's exactly what's happened 😶

22-08-2019, 09:14 PM

Someone who can play and also defend is exactly what we need.

22-08-2019, 09:14 PM

Managers do it all the time. Relax.

mcfly
22-08-2019, 09:44 PM

Yes we do

Dublin07
22-08-2019, 09:57 PM
Yes we do

We play 4-2-3-1 with Scott Allan in behind a striker and 2 wide forwards.
When we are attacking this gives you 4 forward players. If we played 2 strikers say in a 4-4-2 we would only have 2 forwards.

22-08-2019, 10:13 PM
B

Ulrik Laursen?

Edit - ignore me, he's Danish

22-08-2019, 10:18 PM
B
You talking about Isak Refvik and Sven Mathisen?

22-08-2019, 10:22 PM
When we are attacking this gives you 4 forward players. If we played 2 strikers say in a 4-4-2 we would only have 2 forwards.

Unless we played two out and out wingers and an attack minded cm in a 442 and then we’d have 5 attacking players.

Formations are important of course but almost any formation can be gung ho or negative.

22-08-2019, 10:22 PM
B

Isak Refvik and Svien Mathison

22-08-2019, 10:23 PM
You talking about Isak Refvik and Sven Mathisen?

Damn, beat me to it :thumbsup:

The Wireless
22-08-2019, 10:24 PM

The coaching term of the 3 is auxiliary strikers. :agree::agree:

22-08-2019, 10:25 PM
Damn, beat me to it :thumbsup:

You got the spelling correct and I didn't 😁

22-08-2019, 10:28 PM
You got the spelling correct and I didn't 😁

I'll take that. 😁👍

22-08-2019, 10:45 PM
You talking about Isak Refvik and Sven Mathisen?:agree: remember them. also think we had signingproblems /visa crap etc. never mind, Brexit will sort all this out

22-08-2019, 10:54 PM

I see some smart arse has already changed his Wiki page.
Which one of you did it?

22-08-2019, 11:22 PM
not me! huvnae a clue how to do it, but I liked most of the video. he scored some crackers while wearing the Brazilian colours .can we put him out ,wi those colours and nae beep beeps?

23-08-2019, 12:00 AM
Seems like another AM, are we planning on using him as box to box?

23-08-2019, 12:25 AM
:agree: remember them. also think we had signingproblems /visa crap etc. never mind, Brexit will sort all this out
Loved watching wee Refvik play for us even the few appearances that it was. Mathisen I remember as being a silky footballer and it was sad to hear at the time that he had died fairly young....

tonyrougier123
23-08-2019, 02:52 AM

You could be onto something pete,at the st mirren game a poster on here saw a guy who looked Scandinavian outside the west,i assumed it was glenn middleton but maybe he spotted this guy.cant mind who posted that though.said he looked like a player with burd and agent with him.

23-08-2019, 03:22 AM
Cheers guys, when you get auld you get forgetful. Imagine forgetting about Daniel Anderson,Oops, and yes D. Thats the 2 guys, very good players.
B

23-08-2019, 03:56 AM
You could be onto something pete,at the st mirren game a poster on here saw a guy who looked Scandinavian outside the west,i assumed it was glenn middleton but maybe he spotted this guy.cant mind who posted that though.said he looked like a player with burd and agent with him.

Sounds good

23-08-2019, 05:43 AM
The coaching term of the 3 is auxiliary strikers. :agree::agree:

I think the coaching term for the outside players in the 3 is wide attacking midfielders.

A lot of the modern systems 4411 4231 451 and 433 are very similar and are pretty interchangeable will depend on how attacking or not the coach wants to be and of course the players capabilities.

23-08-2019, 05:54 AM

That was me!!

Yeah, I just put it down to it being Middleton and that he must have looked different wearing his own gear but I was also pretty sure it wasn’t him (if that makes sense)

I’ve been trying to remember what the guy looked like and looking at pictures of this Swedish lad but in all honesty I’d be lying if I said either way if it was him or not. Should probably have taken a photo.

23-08-2019, 06:13 AM
That was me!!

Yeah, I just put it down to it being Middleton and that he must have looked different wearing his own gear but I was also pretty sure it wasn’t him (if that makes sense)

I’ve been trying to remember what the guy looked like and looking at pictures of this Swedish lad but in all honesty I’d be lying if I said either way if it was him or not. Should probably have taken a photo.

Is the normal Scandinavian look not blonde hair? This boy is dark.

23-08-2019, 06:24 AM
Is the normal Scandinavian look not blonde hair? This boy is dark.

Deary me, it’s 2019 Flash!

Nah, I think there’s a Scandinavian look that doesn’t involve blonde hair. Don’t ask me to describe it though, I just remember thinking the boy looked Scandinavian, despite him not having blonde hair.

Every chance it’s not him tbf as that was a few weeks ago, I’m just saying what I saw.

23-08-2019, 06:30 AM
If he doesn’t look like 2016 Icelandic Scottish Cup winner Niklas Gunnarsson my wife is going to be very disappointed

She’s have to go back to simply enjoying the Daily Darren

Juice-Terry
23-08-2019, 06:44 AM
I just received a not-so-glowing report on Hallberg from a Swedish mate who's very knowledgeable about their domestic league/ players. According to him Hallberg was a great talent a few years ago but flopped when playing abroad. (Udinese was it?) Loaned back to Hammarby but couldn't hold down a starting spot. Went back to Kalmar (where he first broke thorough) and has been a disappointment ever since. "Wouldn't excite me at all."

23-08-2019, 06:44 AM
If he doesn’t look like 2016 Icelandic Scottish Cup winner Niklas Gunnarsson my wife is going to be very disappointed

He was Norwegian

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niklas_Gunnarsson

23-08-2019, 06:45 AM
I just received a not-so-glowing report on Hallberg from a Swedish mate who's very knowledgeable about their domestic league/ players. According to him Hallberg was a great talent a few years ago but flopped when playing abroad. (Udinese was it?) Loaned back to Hammarby but couldn't hold down a starting spot. Went back to Kalmar (where he first broke thorough) and has been a disappointment ever since. "Wouldn't excite me at all."Perfect. Hecky out!

I'm boooooooing that Swedish imposter already, no matter if he signs or not

23-08-2019, 06:46 AM
I just received a not-so-glowing report on Hallberg from a Swedish mate who's very knowledgeable about their domestic league/ players. According to him Hallberg was a great talent a few years ago but flopped when playing abroad. (Udinese was it?) Loaned back to Hammarby but couldn't hold down a starting spot. Went back to Kalmar (where he first broke thorough) and has been a disappointment ever since. "Wouldn't excite me at all."

Thanks for pissing on our chips.

Juice-Terry
23-08-2019, 06:52 AM
Thanks for pissing on our chips.
My pleasure. Honestly.

23-08-2019, 06:59 AM

All subjective. You only have to read this forum to see spectacularly opposing views on players. I'll wait to see with my own eyes.

23-08-2019, 07:01 AM

Her "daily Darren"? Is that what they're calling it these days?

23-08-2019, 07:01 AM
My pleasure. Honestly.

Joking aside sounds like our type of signing. Talented player lost his way.

23-08-2019, 07:05 AM
Her "daily Darren"? Is that what they're calling it these days?

A robust physical encounter with some prime Leith meat.

AugustaHibs
23-08-2019, 07:06 AM

Sounds like how you’d describe Scott Allan before he arrived here

23-08-2019, 07:08 AM
Sounds like how you’d describe Scott Allan before he arrived here

Good shout.

23-08-2019, 07:08 AM

Hermit Crab is Swedish. NAP.

23-08-2019, 07:12 AM
Would love our big defender back from Denmark. Gunnarsson?

23-08-2019, 07:15 AM
417 pages :greengrin Remind me how many signings have we made :confused: :greengrin

Juice-Terry
23-08-2019, 07:21 AM
Joking aside sounds like our type of signing. Talented player lost his way.
Certainly. We might be the club to kick start/resurrect his career.

23-08-2019, 07:25 AM
Hermit Crab is Swedish. NAP.

eremitkräfta

23-08-2019, 07:26 AM
School boy error from me there on Niklas’ Nationality

I’ll watch the cup final dvd this afternoon as punishment