View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

13-07-2019, 07:48 AM
The fact that Aberdeen can offer higher wages than Hibs is hardly new.

They have a much bigger revenue stream.

Others who have a bigger budget, are Celtic, Rangers and Hearts.

Generally speaking, players with no emotional attachment to Hibs or an attachment to Edinburgh, will sign for the team offering the most money.

Nature of the beast.

We move on and sign somebody those clubs are not interested in.

13-07-2019, 07:52 AM
I'm more shocked that Ojo seems immune to the famous Heckingbottom sales pitch. "Look into the eyes, the eyes, not around the eyes, the eyes, 1, 2, 3 you're under"

13-07-2019, 07:54 AM
I'm more shocked that Ojo seems immune to the famous Heckingbottom sales pitch. "Look into the eyes, the eyes, not around the eyes, the eyes, 1, 2, 3 you're under"

[emoji23][emoji23]

13-07-2019, 07:55 AM
I had a bizarre dream last night. We signed John McGinn's brother who isn't Stephen or Paul and looks like him, he scored against Stirling, started fighting with their fans who were now Dundee fans, and was sent off. I don't know how the rest of the game went.

So, transfer rumour I guess?

Tarrahib
13-07-2019, 08:01 AM
I had a bizarre dream last night. We signed John McGinn's brother who isn't Stephen or Paul and looks like him, he scored against Stirling, started fighting with their fans who were now Dundee fans, and was sent off. I don't know how the rest of the game went.

I hope his name wasn't Duncan

13-07-2019, 08:02 AM

I’m all for this becoming reality :agree:

13-07-2019, 08:02 AM

It’s as relevant as most of the stuff posted on this thread tbh.

Greenworld
13-07-2019, 08:04 AM
Its a way of selling in which the price keeps going down until a buyer is found.Well described [emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

13-07-2019, 08:05 AM
I think more money and European football might be more of a deciding factor in fairness.

I think you are right with one of these, never believe a player who says "I signed for euro fitba, its all about the cash" :greengrin

13-07-2019, 08:09 AM
I didn’t want to start a new thread on this as it’s probably a daft question, but does anyone know if pro players get paid in their off season?

13-07-2019, 08:13 AM
"We're short in midfield,” he admitted. “Defensive midfield? We don't do defensive midfielders - you're midfield, you do everything.”

“I’m very close to having the squad I want. Central midfield is where we’re short. That’s it“

Interesting quotes from PH yesterday. Certainly hope we see more than a couple of central midfielders come in though. Definitely need another striker.

13-07-2019, 08:13 AM

Don't eat cheese before bed

13-07-2019, 08:14 AM
The coaches are telling the Board that they need an indoor facility to help develop these players.

Fair enough as part of a medium term plan but we need to find ways to grow income in order to compete with Aberdeen wage wise Will an indoor facility really develop better young players ? I have no idea only asking if the outlay at present would be the right priority

13-07-2019, 08:15 AM
Flo wanted by four Championship clubs.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-18194573.amp#click=https://t.co/D47c7skTXp

Don’t understand how his old club can’t be entitled to a sell on? We took advantage of a contract clause and got him for £100k, surely no other add ons were included?

13-07-2019, 08:17 AM
He has started well scoring goals His stock will increase We really need to be keeping him this Season imo as with Allan Boyle and Horgan he will get back to his old self and we will make more money out him in the long run

Leitherhibs
13-07-2019, 08:17 AM
I didn’t want to start a new thread on this as it’s probably a daft question, but does anyone know if pro players get paid in their off season?

They do aye, contracts typically run until end of JUNE/Early July in UK and players are paid right up until then. Usually paid monthly as well, but we still quote figures in weekly wages which i’ve often thought was odd.

13-07-2019, 08:20 AM
Its a way of selling in which the price keeps going down until a buyer is found.

OCD creeping in but this is a reverse Dutch auction.

13-07-2019, 08:20 AM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-18194573.amp#click=https://t.co/D47c7skTXp

Don’t understand how his old club can’t be entitled to a sell on? We took advantage of a contract clause and got him for £100k, surely no other add ons were included?

£2M? Bite their hands off!

13-07-2019, 08:22 AM
Fair enough as part of a medium term plan but we need to find ways to grow income in order to compete with Aberdeen wage wise Will an indoor facility really develop better young players ? I have no idea only asking if the outlay at present would be the right priority

I wonder if the strategy to grow income includes using Ron's media contacts to grow the Hibs brand.

13-07-2019, 08:25 AM
£2M? Bite their hands off!

I was all set to reply to that message defending Flo as I think he’s a cracking player.

£2m though? Aye, I’d be taking that thanks very much.

MacGruber
13-07-2019, 08:25 AM
The fact that Aberdeen can offer higher wages than Hibs is hardly new.

They have a much bigger revenue stream.

Others who have a bigger budget, are Celtic, Rangers and Hearts.

Generally speaking, players with no emotional attachment to Hibs or an attachment to Edinburgh, will sign for the team offering the most money.

Nature of the beast.

We move on and sign somebody those clubs are not interested in.

There is trurh in this. More so we are more often than not shopping in the same market. That's why SPL teams are often linked with being after fighting over the same players.

We more often than not lose out to these teams with bigger budgets, we more often than not finish below these teams, it goes hand in hand. If the practice is to sign players the others aren't interested in then more often than not it will be because they are not as good as the ones they have. Hence we generally end up worse than them.

You break the mould by increasing the budget to compete for the top end players in our pool. By investing more in youth and facilities to produce our own players or hoping we pick up gems in the lesser fancied players and do that better than others. Either way it all comes down to money. As always

13-07-2019, 08:26 AM
Don't take 2 million. Especially if it's not being reinvested in the squad.

13-07-2019, 08:27 AM
Don't take 2 million. Especially if it's not being reinvested in the squad.

If we sold Flo for that amount I’m pretty certain we’d sign McNulty. Probably Omeonga as well.

13-07-2019, 08:28 AM
Have to say I don't really agree with this chat that if all Ojo cares about is money then we don't want him ect.

99% of football players from down south will have no emotional connection to Hibs so will in all likelihood go to where pays the highest wage. He's obviously a player Heckingbottom really likes and it will be a sore one if he leaves.

The sad reality is generally the better wage you pay the better player you get. Ojo probably doesn't really care if he plays at Hibs or Aberdeen but if he's as good as being made out then it's a loss IMO.

13-07-2019, 08:33 AM
If Kamberi applies himself properly there is a player worth a lot of money in there. Based on what he showed last year we’d get closer to £200k than £2m.

13-07-2019, 08:35 AM
Have to say I don't really agree with this chat that if all Ojo cares about is money then we don't want him ect.

99% of football players from down south will have no emotional connection to Hibs so will in all likelihood go to where pays the highest wage. He's obviously a player Heckingbottom really likes and it will be a sore one if he leaves.

The sad reality is generally the better wage you pay the better player you get. Ojo probably doesn't really care if he plays at Hibs or Aberdeen but if he's as good as being made out then it's a loss IMO.

Agreed, I bet we have plenty of players who were offered contracts when we bought them and joined us because we paid them more.

hibeejeebies
13-07-2019, 08:36 AM
Millipedigan.

This 😂

13-07-2019, 08:36 AM

2m? Yes please

13-07-2019, 08:37 AM
"We're short in midfield,” he admitted. “Defensive midfield? We don't do defensive midfielders - you're midfield, you do everything.”

“I’m very close to having the squad I want. Central midfield is where we’re short. That’s it“

Interesting quotes from PH yesterday. Certainly hope we see more than a couple of central midfielders come in though. Definitely need another striker.

Basically just described John McGinn in a nutshell.

13-07-2019, 08:39 AM
Basically just described John McGinn in a nutshell.

Omeonga as well.

13-07-2019, 08:40 AM
Brett our sponsorship manager going to Newcastle United

13-07-2019, 08:41 AM
Omeonga as well.

Disagree. Ommy needs to work on taking the ball from defence.

We getting a fee? Is there a sell on clause?

Omeonga as well.

And the reason our manager wants him back and also the reason a lot of fans took to him in his short time here.

Brentford got in 12m from a sale maybe time we got paid better money. John McGinn price just shows that was robbery.

The club will continue to function fine without the sale for £2m so tell them £4m.

Strikers are key here and we need to sign one not sell one and look for two.

Put it this way forget money do you want us to not have Flo and try to sign new players or keep him and only need 1 more.

13-07-2019, 08:45 AM
£2m rated - per the journalists view - is now the gospel fee we will get!!!
A journalist for a “rag” that most berate.
Slightly lower fee than we got for McGinn about right yeah?

We would be lucky to get half of that in reality for him which would be cut substantially if the story is correct about his old club getting a chunk.

A few months back most would have taken a quarter of that as his touch was rank and his attitude worse than mine.

13-07-2019, 08:46 AM
Brentford got in 12m from a sale maybe time we got paid better money. John McGinn price just shows that was robbery.

The club will continue to function fine without the sale for £2m so tell them £4m.

I like Flo and when he's in the mood he's a cracking player but I do still have a feeling that unless he's treated as our no.1 he goes a wee bit in the huff and looks disinterested like he did playing wide of a front 3 last season. I think Hecky likes team players who'll knock their pan in wherever on the pitch for the sake of the team, maybe Lennon wasn't too far off the mark re Flo but his handling of the situation left a lot to be desired, remember he fell out with his coach at Grasshopper's for not being given enough game time.

13-07-2019, 08:58 AM
They do aye, contracts typically run until end of JUNE/Early July in UK and players are paid right up until then. Usually paid monthly as well, but we still quote figures in weekly wages which i’ve often thought was odd.

Cheers Leitherhibs!

I find it a bit strange too now you mention it.

13-07-2019, 09:17 AM
I think more money and European football might be more of a deciding factor in fairness.

Presumably he won't be eligible to play in the 2nd leg for them so it would be hilarious if they lose 1-0 and get knocked out.

13-07-2019, 09:18 AM

The whole team has been poor for a few years now.

The Leith Dutch
13-07-2019, 09:26 AM
The problem with £2m for Flo is that it's another hole in the team.
I suspect other posters on here are right and we could have made a larger offer to Ojo but chose not to.

Which brings me to my point - the £2m for Flo may be a great bit of business but I doubt it's of any realistic
use in terms of acquiring players.

I reckon we can pay the fee for any player whose wages we can afford and we're sensibly operating a wages cap.
So at this point of the season I'd rather have Flo than £2m in the bank even though £2m would be an amazing amount given his trials last season.

13-07-2019, 09:27 AM

No idea who he is but can only be a good thing given the lack of commercial income we are bringing in.

13-07-2019, 09:29 AM

A very nice guy as well, was he at Sunderland before he came to Hibs?

13-07-2019, 09:29 AM
The problem with £2m for Flo is that it's another hole in the team.
I suspect other posters on here are right and we could have made a larger offer to Ojo but chose not to.

Which brings me to my point - the £2m for Flo may be a great bit of business but I doubt it's of any realistic
use in terms of acquiring players.

I reckon we can pay the fee for any player whose wages we can afford and we're sensibly operating a wages cap.
So at this point of the season I'd rather have Flo than £2m in the bank even though £2m would be an amazing amount given his trials last season.

That’s it. I don’t understand why people want us to get rid of our players. The money won’t be spent on the squad anyway.

13-07-2019, 09:30 AM

Put it this way forget money do you want us to not have Flo and try to sign new players or keep him and only need 1 more.

I agree with this. What are we going to do with £2m? Sign McNulty probably but we'd be overpaying based on our own valuation and I'm not sure he's a better player than Flo.

Scottish teams get taken for a ride time and again on transfer fees. He's a young guy with time left on his contract and we have no pressure to sell. If they really want him it needs to be a eye catching offer.

The Leith Dutch
13-07-2019, 09:30 AM

100%

£2m is of no real use to us in terms of the playing squad for the upcoming season.

Given how Flo has started this season and adding in the fact that Doidge is an unknown and Shaw is still raw I wouldn't want to be looking for what may be our first choice striker plus the central midfield we're still missing in mid July.

13-07-2019, 09:34 AM
That’s it. I don’t understand why people want us to get rid of our players. The money won’t be spent on the squad anyway.

I asked about this before, it’s probably more difficult than it sounds to spend an unexpected windfall of money that you can’t budget for receiving again.

The answer I got from one of those numbers folk is that it will be accounted for and included in the budget for the next 3 years. Essentially, it will improve the playing budget, but not in an exciting way that’ll be obvious to the general public.

That’s why I would rather we spent money like that on the infrastructure to improve the players we bring through.

We are at the other end of the football spectrum but essentially I’d rather we copied Ajax model than Man City’s.

13-07-2019, 09:36 AM
I have only seen Flo once this season and that was against Dunfermline. In that short period of time he did look a different player and looked bigger and fitter. If that's the Flo we are going to have then I'd keep him.
The management team will know if he looks sharper than last season.
If we lose him now we'd be looking at trying to get 2 forwards in

13-07-2019, 09:38 AM
I have no issues with players weighing up offers and picking the best one for them at that time.

I do have issues with anyone, agreeing a deal then when it takes their fancy reneging on that or simply playing it off to get more money somewhere else.

trouble at one club is usually trouble at another too and when he had a decent season and the old firm came knocking we wanted a Mcginn, not what that lad did with scunny.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-07-2019, 09:39 AM

Come on now.

13-07-2019, 09:50 AM
Come on now.

Genuinely do we know that? Indoor training centre sounds like the priority and is supposed to cost £3-4m, with RG indicating he isn't going to pay for all of that out of his own pocket.

It would hardly be the first time in the clubs history that player sales have gone into other areas of the club.

MikeyS
13-07-2019, 09:50 AM
True, the more i think about it I really don’t get how Daz got a 4 year deal. I don’t get why they incorporated the player mentor and player within the same contract?

On defensive mids, would anyone take Aaron Tshibola? Last year of his contract and was a key part of Killies success last year.

I'm not convinced that PH was that thrilled with Daz & SDG getting such lengthy new deals. Seem to mind his interview at the time being a bit strained.

13-07-2019, 09:53 AM

Which is a fair point but for people en masse to decide that Hibs are prioritising infrastructure over the first team.....it’s not accurate. We have a football department and they are being supported. Look at the fees we’ve paid in the last 18 months.

Actions are clearly being taken to try to close that gap with Aberdeen. Unfortunately we’ve got posters like Ozy who are descending into trolls. Asking mundane questions that we all know the answers to. Always taking a negative view.

Things don’t change overnight.

MikeyS
13-07-2019, 09:54 AM

The Toon Army Community Foundation will be thrilled.....

13-07-2019, 09:55 AM
Despite the frustrations of last season, I don’t want to see Flo leave.

BlackSheep
13-07-2019, 09:55 AM
The Toon Army Community Foundation will be thrilled.....

lol... but I don’t think Brett was directly responsible for short sponsorship, despite his title.

BlackSheep
13-07-2019, 09:56 AM
Despite the frustrations of last season, I don’t want to see Flo leave.

I think most would agree but would we be able to turn down an offer like 2M

13-07-2019, 10:01 AM
Which is a fair point but for people en masse to decide that Hibs are prioritising infrastructure over the first team.....it’s not accurate. We have a football department and they are being supported. Look at the fees we’ve paid in the last 18 months.

Actions are clearly being taken to try to close that gap with Aberdeen. Unfortunately we’ve got posters like Ozy who are descending into trolls. Asking mundane questions that we all know the answers to. Always taking a negative view.

Things don’t change overnight.

I always felt that we took the pain early of getting our infrastructure sorted at the expense of the playing side but once everything was in place we would kick on and see an advantage over other similar competitors. However it now looks like our competitors can tackle infrastructure without any apparent impact on their playing budget whatsoever.

13-07-2019, 10:06 AM
I´m probably in the minority here as I was with the McGinn value(5m), but I think he is in the 2m bracket and I think, if he is sold, we will get 2m for him, as some are saying is true, he is fitter and seems more focused than before and he seems up for the game.
There´s a good striker in there, I would rather he stayed with us than is sold this season, unless its for silly money of course.

13-07-2019, 10:07 AM

Punishment for not getting a shirt sponsor😜

13-07-2019, 10:09 AM

Every club is a selling club.

But surely after our recent take over we don’t have to sell players as much as we used to.

Especially if we don’t have ready made replacements.

I like Flo and he’s 1st season form was exceptional.

Last year he was up and down but so was the team with the whole Lennon saga.

Regarding Ojo - he’s a decent player but like others have said would rather have someone who buys into the club and it isn’t fully all about money. It’s a shame as seems Hecky identified him early and seems Aberdeen like Sunderland last season have got involved once they heard interest.

13-07-2019, 10:09 AM

Daily Record reporting Grasshoppers would be due a substantial sell-on fee. I don't remember seeing any mention of a sell-on fee for him before, does anyone know anything about this?https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-18194573.amp#live-event-entry-326898

13-07-2019, 10:10 AM
Punishment for not getting a shirt sponsor😜

😂😂😂😂👍

13-07-2019, 10:12 AM
😂😂😂😂👍

Brett’s actually a good lad, don’t think shirt sponsorship was his remit
He’ll be a miss at Hibs

13-07-2019, 10:14 AM
He’ll be a miss at Hibs

Agreed dealt with him on a few occasions, can't rember what his role in the club was when I dealt with him but he was fantastic thought all my dealings

13-07-2019, 10:16 AM
He’ll be a miss at Hibs

Does he get to remain as a mister if he goes to Newcastle?

The Leith Dutch
13-07-2019, 10:22 AM
Genuinely do we know that? Indoor training centre sounds like the priority and is supposed to cost £3-4m, with RG indicating he isn't going to pay for all of that out of his own pocket.

It would hardly be the first time in the clubs history that player sales have gone into other areas of the club.

That in itself though isn't an agenda as such (and not claiming you're making it out to be but others certainly are).

Hibs as a club have some money and, like any other business, will budget that money.

Transfer money - at least in the sense of buying players that are later sold on - is sporadic and unpredictable. It's therefore highly unlikely to be included in the wages budget due to wages being a sustained cost (and it's wages rather than transfer fees that is our issue in securing quality players).

There's also the issue that identifying targets that will offer good resale value is almost a science now and the larger clubs with their resources are very rarely going to miss a hidden gem playing at a lower level.

So the issue for me is not whether transfer fees are invested into other parts of the business but whether they are being put into those other areas at the expense of the playing side.
Could we, given other budgetary constraints and our wage structure, utilise that money to improve the playing staff we have?

The answer isn't always yes though I don't doubt that there are times in the past where that has been the case.

I've said it before but if we want to bring players into the club who cost more money then the wage budget needs to rise and that will require an increase to the incoming revenue that is sustainable and predictable.

Someone earlier mentioned the Ajax model over the Man City model which is spot on.

Developing our own players is an approach that, if done correctly, yields value on the pitch and in revenue - a good academy should lead to a relatively stable income in player sales.
Our youth system hasn't really delivered on either side of that over the last 10 - 12 years.

If you wanted where I'd put whatever money we have it would be into eye bleeding wages for those responsible for identifying and developing young talent to ensure we had world class people in those jobs at the club and then the accompanying budget to back them in producing a conveyor belt of players.

</$0.02>

13-07-2019, 10:26 AM
Dealt with Brett a few times the guy was sound

😁👍🏾🏆🇳🇬⚽️

13-07-2019, 10:31 AM
So we got into a bidding war with Aberdeen over Ojo.

With any auction you have to know your limit. What you can afford. What the item is worth to you. Can you get the same elsewhere for less. When to stop bidding.

No point winning the bidding just for the sake of it.

Buyer's regret they call it.

You don't worry about the other guy outbidding you. They have weighed up the factors as they see it and bid more. Or they have panicked and overspent.

Time will tell who got the good deal.

Too much angst on here with people using it to have a kick at the club. Probably the same people who would have been on here having a go about signing some no mark from S****horpe if the original deal had quietly gone through without the circus that ensued.

Get a grip.

Get a grip, absolutely correct.

It's not even a week yet.

We have a budget.

He is looking to increase value in the club, ie his core business.

Investment in the infrastructure and academy.

13-07-2019, 10:36 AM
That in itself though isn't an agenda as such (and not claiming you're making it out to be but others certainly are).

Hibs as a club have some money and, like any other business, will budget that money.

Transfer money - at least in the sense of buying players that are later sold on - is sporadic and unpredictable. It's therefore highly unlikely to be included in the wages budget due to wages being a sustained cost (and it's wages rather than transfer fees that is our issue in securing quality players).

There's also the issue that identifying targets that will offer good resale value is almost a science now and the larger clubs with their resources are very rarely going to miss a hidden gem playing at a lower level.

So the issue for me is not whether transfer fees are invested into other parts of the business but whether they are being put into those other areas at the expense of the playing side.
Could we, given other budgetary constraints and our wage structure, utilise that money to improve the playing staff we have?

The answer isn't always yes though I don't doubt that there are times in the past where that has been the case.

I've said it before but if we want to bring players into the club who cost more money then the wage budget needs to rise and that will require an increase to the incoming revenue that is sustainable and predictable.

Someone earlier mentioned the Ajax model over the Man City model which is spot on.

Developing our own players is an approach that, if done correctly, yields value on the pitch and in revenue - a good academy should lead to a relatively stable income in player sales.
Our youth system hasn't really delivered on either side of that over the last 10 - 12 years.

If you wanted where I'd put whatever money we have it would be into eye bleeding wages for those responsible for identifying and developing young talent to ensure we had world class people in those jobs at the club and then the accompanying budget to back them in producing a conveyor belt of players.

</$0.02>

I agree with you to some extent, youth development is important but to be honest I don't think a conveyor belt of talent is really a thing. Clubs get a player here and there or if their lucky, a group come through like with ourselves a few years back, Man United in the 90s or Ajax now. But no one club is really able to keep doing it consistently. Ajax have had some great teams in the past and have one now but there are decades in between where they weren't producing many top level young players.

The other factor is, will we offer the wages and prospects to keep these youngsters at the Hibs? I'm all for youth development but not if they only stay for a year before leaving for the pastures new as they can get 5 times as much in England.

To me priority still needs to be moneys invested in the first team, not training facilities or the youth team.

13-07-2019, 10:40 AM
I agree with you to some extent, youth development is important but to be honest I don't think a conveyor belt of talent is really a thing. Clubs get a player here and there or if their lucky, a group come through like with ourselves a few years back, Man United in the 90s or Ajax now. But no one club is really able to keep doing it consistently. Ajax have had some great teams in the past and have one now but there are decades in between where they weren't producing many top level young players.

The other factor is, will we offer the wages and prospects to keep these youngsters at the Hibs? I'm all for youth development but not if they only stay for a year before leaving for the pastures new as they can get 5 times as much in England.

To me priority still needs to be moneys invested in the first team, not training facilities or the, the youth team.
Neil

Re your last paragraph, the board think the opposite.

Bob Box Fish
13-07-2019, 10:41 AM
I'm not convinced that PH was that thrilled with Daz & SDG getting such lengthy new deals. Seem to mind his interview at the time being a bit strained.

Yup, I recall it, he said the comings / goings in the summer would be affected by them
getting new contracts and he would have to see what the outcome was. Think those were driven by Leanne as she mentioned it about a year previously saying she wanted SDG at the club for as long as possible. There are big positives to that type of role but I would have just went with SDG personally and tried to improve the first 11 on the pitch.

13-07-2019, 10:41 AM
Think this boy on twitter may be a bit of a slaver but here we go...

Just been told by a good source the now that @HibernianFC will offer a swap deal which includes Karmberi to @ReadingFC for Macnulty. https://t.co/npJCDKpLLc

13-07-2019, 10:44 AM
Think this boy on twitter may be a bit of a slaver but here we go...

Just been told by a good source the now that @HibernianFC will offer a swap deal which includes Karmberi to @ReadingFC for Macnulty. https://t.co/npJCDKpLLc

Total guesswork imo

13-07-2019, 10:44 AM
If Funso Ojo wants to move to Aberdeen to play hoofball for a spare £500 per week then he can jog on. Absolute tip of a place (I lived there for 6 years) with a very underwhelming local support, which will only dwindle once they move out into the middle of the countryside in Aberdeenshire. If he has genuine ambition, he will come to us.

13-07-2019, 10:45 AM
Total guesswork imo

Exactly my thoughts

JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 10:52 AM
Total guesswork imo

Like 99% of this thread.

13-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Like 99% of this thread.

Are u guessing the percentage? 🤔

Tobias Funke
13-07-2019, 10:57 AM

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DDoncJckows

JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 10:58 AM

Ok i'll put neck on the line , 100% 👍🇳🇬

13-07-2019, 11:00 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DDoncJckows

That's brilliant

supermcginn
13-07-2019, 11:00 AM
If we sold Flo for that amount I’m pretty certain we’d sign McNulty. Probably Omeonga as well.

Flo is a better player than Mcnulty will ever be.

JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 11:04 AM

That fact.

supermcginn
13-07-2019, 11:07 AM
That fact.

Yes. Some people have very short memories.

13-07-2019, 11:09 AM

Both are good players but both are also replaceable.

JimboHibs
13-07-2019, 11:12 AM

Care to divulge ?

My own opinion, i rate them both equally both capable of doing the biz , i don't reckon either has outdone each other to start putting one on a pedestal before the other.

13-07-2019, 11:17 AM
That fact.

Only if we ignore last season

13-07-2019, 11:26 AM

Exactly this.

MikeyS
13-07-2019, 11:33 AM
Yup, I recall it, he said the comings / goings in the summer would be affected by them
getting new contracts and he would have to see what the outcome was. Think those were driven by Leanne as she mentioned it about a year previously saying she wanted SDG at the club for as long as possible. There are big positives to that type of role but I would have just went with SDG personally and tried to improve the first 11 on the pitch.

I'm glad someone else remembers it, thought I was losing it!

Personally think we will get more out of Daz than SDG in the next season but I agree that 4 year deals weren't required for them.

13-07-2019, 11:38 AM
Neil

Re your last paragraph, the board think the opposite.

Based on what exactly.The board has never stated that infrastructure is more important than the playing side.

13-07-2019, 11:51 AM

Flo is a bit like Benji. He's got some real quality that shows in flashes, but getting the best out of him is hard work. McNulty probably isn't as talented, but he'll graft hard enough that he could well be a more effective player across a whole season.

13-07-2019, 11:56 AM
Can someone tell me how aberdeen can pay higher wages than us

13-07-2019, 11:56 AM
Additionally, if we sell Flo, it would be nice to make an enquiry about Louis Moult.

13-07-2019, 11:58 AM
I'm not that fussed about mcnulty. I think there's better for cheaper out there. I also think a fully motivated and supported flo is better.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-07-2019, 11:58 AM

Combination of being unchallenged when we were relegated, with Milne pumping money into them via commercial deals (although that last bit is based on fairly hazy recall of news from when he wrote off their debt.)

13-07-2019, 12:00 PM
If flo wants to go then let him....2 million is a great piece of business for an average player

13-07-2019, 12:01 PM
Combination of being unchallenged when we were relegated, with Milne pumping money into them via commercial deals (although that last bit is based on fairly hazy recall of news from when he wrote off their debt.)

Thanks....hopefully thier bubble bursts soon

13-07-2019, 12:05 PM

No mention of Milne pumping in money here?
https://www.afc.co.uk/2018/11/24/latest-accounts-show-strong-results-for-aberdeen-football-club/

CorrieHibs
13-07-2019, 12:17 PM
If Funso Ojo wants to move to Aberdeen to play hoofball for a spare £500 per week then he can jog on. Absolute tip of a place (I lived there for 6 years) with a very underwhelming local support, which will only dwindle once they move out into the middle of the countryside in Aberdeenshire. If he has genuine ambition, he will come to us.

How is Aberdeen’s support so poor up there? One team city and a population of 200k. To only have 10/11k season ticket holders is pretty poor. Considering their recent success. Plus their glory days in the 80s.

13-07-2019, 12:19 PM
How is Aberdeen’s support so poor up there? One team city and a population of 200k. To only have 10/11k season ticket holders is pretty poor. Considering their recent success. Plus their glory days in the 80s.

Their crowds will worsen when they move to their new ground in the middle of nowhere.

13-07-2019, 12:22 PM
There is still nothing concrete on Ojo .. Everbody seems to be taking the media reports that he is signing for Aberdeen as gospel. Whos to say there wont be another twist in the tale. Same sources had him signed for Hibs 2 days ago remember

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 12:27 PM
There is still nothing concrete on Ojo .. Everbody seems to be taking the media reports that he is signing for Aberdeen as gospel. Whos to say there wont be another twist in the tale. Same sources had him signed for Hibs 2 days ago remember

Hope you're right.

A few folk would have to carry out some serious backtracking if he does sign for us mind!

13-07-2019, 12:30 PM
No mention of Milne pumping in money here?
https://www.afc.co.uk/2018/11/24/latest-accounts-show-strong-results-for-aberdeen-football-club/

Don't think it was as straightforward as handing over cash. Think the twitter talk at the time was "commercial investment". Corporate jollies and partners from the building and oil sector. It would make sense, because FFP rules don't really allow an owner to just hand over wads of cash these days.

Its a road I'd like us to look at to be fair, given our new owner's special business interests. Could lead to exposure for the Scottish game as a whole too.

13-07-2019, 12:34 PM
Hope you're right.

A few folk would have to carry out some serious backtracking if he does sign for us mind!

Why would anyone have to backtrack? I would still have a big question mark over the guy’s character.

Macaroon
13-07-2019, 12:34 PM

Or perhaps they are willing to pay more wages to this particular player? Why should we compromise our valuation of Ojo and our wage structure to "send a message"? As Hecky has said, we made an offer we're happy with and pitched to him his place in the squad. It's up to the player from that point, and I'd rather we move on than get drawn into a pishing war with McInnes when there are other targets available.

13-07-2019, 12:42 PM
Or perhaps they are willing to pay more wages to this particular player? Why should we compromise our valuation of Ojo and our wage structure to "send a message"? As Hecky has said, we made an offer we're happy with and pitched to him his place in the squad. It's up to the player from that point, and I'd rather we move on than get drawn into a pishing war with McInnes when there are other targets available.

Which is all well and good but will be little consolation if they qualify for Europe again and we don’t.

13-07-2019, 12:44 PM
there has to be at least one end of the ground open for emergency access, such as ambulances and fire engines...

Another poster put forward and excellent photo shop of the corners boxed in.

My personal view is that we should have buildings at either side of the east stand a la Genoa.

We really don’t need more seats. Our 100 year average gate is less than 12500.

Macaroon
13-07-2019, 12:49 PM
Which is all well and good but will be little consolation if they qualify for Europe again and we don’t.

Well if we can somehow pin that gap on who had Ojo, then we could question the ability of the recruitment team to effectively value a target. But I somehow doubt that. My point is we shouldn't abandon our budget/valuation of a player and subsequently overpay for them just because a rival came in and we want to get one over them.

13-07-2019, 12:50 PM

For me Aberdeen have noticeably smaller fan base than Hibs.

13-07-2019, 12:56 PM
I wonder if sir David Gray could play Defensive midfielder role

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 12:57 PM
Why would anyone have to backtrack? I would still have a big question mark over the guy’s character.

You and me both. :aok:

But, there were comments like ‘dodged a bullet’ yesterday. How could these people then come out and say that they were glad he’d signed for us instead of Aberdeen?

It would probably have been wiser to wait until his final decision was definite before making rash comments. Do you not agree? (not saying you did that, btw!).

For what it’s worth, I think he’s going to Pittodrie.

13-07-2019, 12:58 PM
No Kamberi in the squad today...

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 12:58 PM

Injured? Or something more sinister?

13-07-2019, 01:01 PM
Injured? Or something more sinister?

Not clear yet. Hope it's not connected with the press rumours today re interest from English clubs

13-07-2019, 01:01 PM
Well, this window is going south.

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 01:03 PM
Not clear yet. Hope it's not connected with the press rumours today re interest from English clubs

Hope not too.

In a funny way, it’d be better if he was absent from the squad due to a wee injury! If you know what I mean?

13-07-2019, 01:11 PM
Injured? Or something more sinister?Well that's interesting.

Was rumored earlier last month that Kamberi wanted to leave--wouldn't entirely surprise me

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

chippy
13-07-2019, 01:16 PM
Well that's interesting.

Was rumored earlier last month that Kamberi wanted to leave--wouldn't entirely surprise me

Gone by Monday? Release clause in his contract would not surprise me. Use the cash to get McNulty back. He’s class and a better partner for Doidge but can also play single striker role reasonably well

13-07-2019, 01:32 PM
You and me both. :aok:

But, there were comments like ‘dodged a bullet’ yesterday. How could these people then come out and say that they were glad he’d signed for us instead of Aberdeen?

It would probably have been wiser to wait until his final decision was definite before making rash comments. Do you not agree? (not saying you did that, btw!).

For what it’s worth, I think he’s going to Pittodrie.

I don’t know anything about the boy’s qualities as a footballer but Hecky clearly sees something in him. I suspect a lot of the other negative comments about Ojo have also been based on his behaviour and also questioning his ability to “fit in” to what seems like a good tight knit group. There have been a small number questioning his playing attributes and they will probably still hold those views until he proves differently. Should he end up signing for us of course.

13-07-2019, 01:35 PM

This week Heckingbottom indicated that he would rest (or not risk) key players

Hope we don’t have much to read into this

13-07-2019, 01:36 PM

Impossible on this board I’m afraid 😀

13-07-2019, 01:37 PM

Hope we don’t have much to read into thisI'd suspect he would be on the bench tho? That's what makes me think injured or possibly transfer stories are true

13-07-2019, 01:37 PM

He’s the only one to miss out today that is fully fit (as far as I know). As you say, hopefully nothing in it.

13-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Flo is away to trnsmt according to his agent 😂

13-07-2019, 01:47 PM

?

13-07-2019, 01:48 PM

😂 before he heads to English championship

13-07-2019, 01:49 PM
?

The music festival.

13-07-2019, 01:54 PM

Has to be a wind up surely 😂

13-07-2019, 01:59 PM
The music festival.

Ah ok, fair enough. Showing my age.

Weegreenman
13-07-2019, 02:01 PM
😂 before he heads to English championship

English 2nd Division more like :rolleyes:

13-07-2019, 02:02 PM
Boro interested according to some rag from glasgow

13-07-2019, 02:27 PM

Apparently he went early so he could get a spot as far up front and close as possible, but he’s ended up out on the left a fair distance from the action.

13-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Be gutted if Flo leaves. Reckon he was on for a good season. Had a bit of renewed energy about him in the friendly games.

13-07-2019, 02:50 PM
Kamberi was/is at HTC today for training along with some of the squad.

13-07-2019, 02:56 PM
Be gutted if Flo leaves. Reckon he was on for a good season. Had a bit of renewed energy about him in the friendly games.

13-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Boro interested according to some rag from glasgow

DR mentione Brentford/Flo this morning. They are selling two forward players for big bucks. No comments from/clubs/agents/players though.

13-07-2019, 05:17 PM
Ojo deal definitely off according to Hecky:

“We’re not going to do it, it’s not for us,” Heckingbottom said. “We don’t want to do it. We made a really good offer but it’s not just about that. We have to sign players who want to come here for the right reasons. We want the dressing room to be unbelievable and make sure we’ve got players coming in want to be here. We have to share the same values.

“I thought the deal was done in May but there was a clause in his contract that didn’t allow it to happen. The next thing we know is S****horpe have accepted a bid from Aberdeen so we matched it and then within the negotiations things began to change for us. We saw the red lights.

"It’s up to us what we do so good luck to him. The circumstances were totally different second time round so you see things differently. We have to be really careful who we bring into this football club.”

13-07-2019, 05:18 PM

“We’re not going to do it, it’s not for us,” Heckingbottom said. “We don’t want to do it. We made a really good offer but it’s not just about that. We have to sign players who want to come here for the right reasons. We want the dressing room to be unbelievable and make sure we’ve got players coming in want to be here. We have to share the same values.

“I thought the deal was done in May but there was a clause in his contract that didn’t allow it to happen. The next thing we know is S****horpe have accepted a bid from Aberdeen so we matched it and then within the negotiations things began to change for us. We saw the red lights.

"It’s up to us what we do so good luck to him. The circumstances were totally different second time round so you see things differently. We have to be really careful who we bring into this football club.”

Sensible in my opinion.
Hope we get a couple of bodies in soon

13-07-2019, 05:23 PM
Interesting that Aberdeen had a bid accepted first of which we then matched

Bob Box Fish
13-07-2019, 05:32 PM
Hopefully with the next signings the recruitment team will do some proper due diligence on targets Newell wouldn’t get a game for most Sunday league teams and James is not much better. Hard to think a few years ago we were signing Stokes, McGinn, McGeough, Bartley, Fyvie, Rockie Et al and now we are bringing in guys who can do basics like find a player in the same shirt from 5 yards away.

13-07-2019, 05:36 PM
Hopefully with the next signings the recruitment team will do some proper due diligence on targets Newell wouldn’t get a game for most Sunday league teams and James is not much better. Hard to think a few years ago we were signing Stokes, McGinn, McGeough, Bartley, Fyvie, Rockie Et al and now we are bringing in guys who can do basics like find a player in the same shirt from 5 yards away.

Totally agree, no improvement on last years squad who were miserable against the top 6

Newell/James didn’t even look like they wanted to impress

13-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Totally agree, no improvement on last years squad who were miserable against the top 6

The two of them just kind of floated about.

Will give James the benefit of the doubt as he was playing out of position. Have been totally unimpressed with Newell in all each of the games though.

thebausburst
13-07-2019, 05:51 PM

This 100%, standard of signings clearly very poor we’ve been there many times down the years signing lower league English players and it VERY rarely works out for us.

13-07-2019, 05:58 PM
This 100%, standard of signings clearly very poor we’ve been there many times down the years signing lower league English players and it VERY rarely works out for us.

We’ve signed a couple from the championship and a couple from League 2, although they were highly rated and wanted by Championship clubs as well.

We need to give them the rest of the betfred games and let the manager and board sign the players we badly need in midfield. If we are still struggling as badly once the injured players have returned and we’ve got the rest of the signings in then I’ll start to really panic.

Just now I’m at a mild worry, but could move to full on panic stations if we **** up this group stage.

13-07-2019, 06:18 PM
Did I not remember reading that Graham Mathie from Hibs maybe along with someone else were going to a conference alongside some of the top European teams. The idea is to discuss amongst other things young players who may be availble for loan and to network. I don't know if this has happened or to happen? If it happened was it worthwhile. Or am I just making this up?

13-07-2019, 06:28 PM
David Gray, Marvin Bartley, Liam Fontaine, Grant Holt were from league 1/2.

Let's wait and see how the new guys do.

Lee Marvin
13-07-2019, 06:33 PM
David Gray, Marvin Bartley, Liam Fontaine, Grant Holt were from league 1/2.

Let's wait and see how the new guys do.

Na, I've made up my mind already and they are all p#sh. I've not seen them yet, but my mind is made up as i fully trust those thst have said so on here. I'll no be goin back until everyone who I've never heard of before leaves the club.

13-07-2019, 06:35 PM
They've barely played six hours and they're *****. I despair sometimes.

13-07-2019, 06:42 PM
How do you think they’ve played so far?

People are saying what they see, deal with it.

13-07-2019, 06:50 PM
How do you think they’ve played so far?

People are saying what they see, deal with it.

Absolutely this. When we sign players and people question their ability before they've played there's always shouts of "deary me, they haven't even kicked a ball yet".

Well guess what? Now they have and people are still not allowed an opinion on them unless it's a positive one.

13-07-2019, 06:52 PM
Absolutely this. When we sign players and people question their ability before they've played there's always shouts of "deary me, they haven't even kicked a ball yet".

Well guess what? Now they have and people are still not allowed an opinion on the new signings unless it's a positive one.

One of the benefits with getting folk in early is that we can say they are useless earlier.

13-07-2019, 06:52 PM

Is discussing how the players played not a valid topic of discussion for a Hibs message board on the day we drew with Stirling Albion in a competitive game?

badabing67
13-07-2019, 06:53 PM
Did I not remember reading that Graham Mathie from Hibs maybe along with someone else were going to a conference alongside some of the top European teams. The idea is to discuss amongst other things young players who may be availble for loan and to network. I don't know if this has happened or to happen? If it happened was it worthwhile. Or am I just making this up?

Your not making it up, it happened this has been going on for a few years as far as were concerned the last one was at the beginning of the year in Barcelona. I'm pretty sure this was how we got Slivka from Juventus. It wouldn't surprise me if this is how we got Omeonga. Can't remember what that exhibition was called

Leitherhibs
13-07-2019, 06:54 PM
I think some of the new lads may turn out alright jury’s out on James, Doidge and Maxwell. Think Jackson has looked more than decent but Newell has been utterly brutal in the time I’ve seen him, not sure what value there is in a wide man with no trickery, little pace and can’t win a header.

13-07-2019, 06:56 PM

Lets wait until the league starts before judging the quality if the squad eh?

Lee Marvin
13-07-2019, 06:56 PM
Is discussing how the players played not a valid topic of discussion for a Hibs message board on the day we drew with Stirling Albion in a competitive game?

It is. But writing them off forevermore after seeing a handful of friendlies is nonsensical.

supermcginn
13-07-2019, 07:00 PM
After watching the new players, got a bad feeling. Recruitment team Will be sweating in the coming weeks.

I think some of the new lads may turn out alright jury’s out on James, Doidge and Maxwell. Think Jackson has looked more than decent but Newell has been utterly brutal in the time I’ve seen him, not sure what value there is in a wide man with no trickery, little pace and can’t win a header.

Agree with this Newell looked good warming up that was where it ended crossing was woeful

Jackson looks composed and calm on the ball reminded me of Tommy McIntyre wonder what he is like taking pens? 😁

Well guess what? Now they have and people are still not allowed an opinion on them unless it's a positive one.

Or people can’t post a ‘negative’ opinion without getting arsey about someone disagreeing with them.

Do you see the irony in your post?

13-07-2019, 07:03 PM

Why?

13-07-2019, 07:03 PM
Or people can’t post a ‘negative’ opinion without getting arsey about someone disagreeing with them.

Do you see the irony in your post?

In other words then, people should respect each others opinions without giving it the "deary me" treatment.

13-07-2019, 07:04 PM
It is. But writing them off forevermore after seeing a handful of friendlies is nonsensical.

They’re not being written off forever more.

If they play well in their next game people will praise them.

13-07-2019, 07:08 PM

First time for me seeing the new boys in person..

I think Doidge will be decent, nice touch and unlucky with the header. will be more than a handful once we start playing though him but we played the game today often bypassing him with long diagonals and very little product into the box. I though Maxwell come and collected the crosses that were there to collect, was very vocal with his defence, could do nothing about the goal and saved two penalties. not sure what more he could have done in the game tbh. James I agree didnt look anywhere near as comfortable on the left as he did previously on the right against Dunfermline.

Newell looked almost uninterested today, no pace at all. I dont think he put one telling ball into the box and to top it all off he missed a sitter at the back post from 6yards. Maybe a player that will grow with confidence but he'll need to start getting some soon. (the hibs fan behind the goals shouting you're sh*te at him when he missed the header wont have helped the confidence any either.)

Was pretty impressed with Jackson though looks a solid defender.

13-07-2019, 07:10 PM
Why?

People making judgements on players before the real action starts or before the first eleven have even played together and writing them off is a bit premature imo. I’ll reserve any judgement for a while yet. I don’t see what benefit there is in slagging players off when they’ve barely started. Newall already emerging as the new whipping boy.

Lee Marvin
13-07-2019, 07:11 PM
First time for me seeing the new boys in person..

I think Doidge will be decent, nice touch and unlucky with the header. will be more than a handful once we start playing though him but we played the game today often bypassing him with long diagonals and very little product into the box. I though Maxwell come and collected the crosses that were there to collect, was very vocal with his defence, could do nothing about the goal and saved two penalties. not sure what more he could have done in the game tbh. James I agree didnt look anywhere near as comfortable on the left as he did previously on the right against Dunfermline.

Newell looked almost uninterested today, no pace at all. I dont think he put one telling ball into the box and to top it all off he missed a sitter at the back post from 6yards. Maybe a player that will grow with confidence but he'll need to start getting some soon. (the hibs fan behind the goals shouting you're sh*te at him when he missed the header wont have helped the confidence any either.)

Was pretty impressed with Jackson though looks a solid defender.

Finally. A rationale synopsis. Thank you.

13-07-2019, 07:12 PM
In other words then, people should respect each others opinions without giving it the "deary me" treatment.

Well ideally, but if someone posts an opinion here, regardless of what it is, it’s there to be agreed or disagreed with.

It’s not helpful when an exchange like this happens:

“That player’s rubbish”

“Eh? He’s only been here ten minutes. “

“You are not allowed an opinion on here!”

Both people were allowed their opinion.

13-07-2019, 07:13 PM
People making judgements on players before the real action starts or before the first eleven have even played together and writing them off is a bit premature imo. I’ll reserve any judgement for a while yet. I don’t see what benefit there is in slagging players off when they’ve barely started. Newall already emerging as the new whipping boy.

I hear you, however the season started today so we should have at least started to look like a team imo. It’s early doors, I agree, however we should be able to beat a League 2 team no matter what stage of the season we are at

13-07-2019, 07:17 PM

How often will we have our ‘first 11’ available? Not often is my guess.

I haven’t seen too much evidence of players being written off. Just comments on their performances to date. In the case of Newell he was abysmal today but worse than that, he looked completely uninterested and shirked a number of challenges. It’s not the best way to get people on your side.

13-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Well ideally, but if someone posts an opinion here, regardless of what it is, it’s there to be agreed or disagreed with.

It’s not helpful when an exchange like this happens:

“That player’s rubbish”

“Eh? He’s only been here ten minutes. “

“You are not allowed an opinion on here!”

Both people were allowed their opinion.

That's all well and good but I haven't seen many call players rubbish. I've seen plenty say the Jury's out, they're unconvinced or they don't look interested.

Then people who see that as a negative are giving it "deary me, they're only just in the door give them time to gel"

Nobody said they won't do that, they've simple given an opinion on what they've seen so far. I bet every single one of them are absolutely buzzing for them to even have a class 10 minute spell in a game that gives them hope.

13-07-2019, 07:19 PM
The real action started today and like it or not, Newell is being criticised for his poor performances, not just because of some unspecified, arbitrary reason.

13-07-2019, 07:21 PM
The real action started today and like it or not, Newell is being criticised for his poor performances, not just because of some unspecified, arbitrary reason.

And that doesn't mean he won't become amazing for us or that anyones written him off.. it means that in their opinion he hasn't been good so far and that's a perfectly understandable thing to be worried about.

13-07-2019, 07:22 PM
That's all well and good but I haven't seen many call players rubbish. I've seen plenty say the Jury's out, they're unconvinced or they don't look interested.

Then people who see that as a negative are giving it "deary me, they're only just in the door give them time to gel"

Nobody said they won't do that, they've simple given an opinion on what they've seen so far. I bet every single one of them are absolutely buzzing for them to even have a class 10 minute spell in a game that gives them hope.

I should maybe have been clearer that I wasn’t using real quotes.

I get what you mean though, basically you should be able to have doubts about a player without anyone challenging or discussing that.

13-07-2019, 07:22 PM

Who was the old whipping boy?

13-07-2019, 07:24 PM

Whittaker

13-07-2019, 07:26 PM
Whittaker

So a player ultimately not good enough the second time around given a three year contract?

13-07-2019, 07:29 PM

I’ve only saw them at Carlisle and Dunfermline so far and I was half cut and late at Carlisle and also late at Dunfermline so I’ve not made up my mind as of yet.

However, it will generally take players a lot less than 6 hours to show something if they’re actually any good. Fans know enough about football that it doesn’t take that long to spot a good player. I can’t think of many players who have been ganting in their first few appearances like people are saying Newell has (I’m just taking folks word for that for the most part of course) who have turned it round.

13-07-2019, 07:30 PM
Whittaker

His treatment really annoyed me today.

I would say he was possibly our best player today but to a lot of folk standing around me he was a source of amusement, ironic cheers and laughter whenever he did anything good.

He’s not as good as what he was but he’s nowhere near as bad as some people make out. He deserves more respect than he was getting from some idiots today.

Some of the folk giving him stick were probably late teens, struck me that they probably won’t even remember that he was a very good player for us in his first spell.

13-07-2019, 07:30 PM

Just 'cos

random sub
13-07-2019, 07:31 PM
It is early days and hopefully the new boys will find their stride. What is perhaps worrying is the all eggs in lower league English players basket approach to a signing strategy.

Hopefully Ojo will be pish for the Dons and we will sign some quality for the defensive mid.

13-07-2019, 07:33 PM

I would say he was possibly our best player today but to a lot of folk standing around me he was a source of amusement, ironic cheers and laughter whenever he did anything good.

He’s not as good as what he was but he’s nowhere near as bad as some people make out. He deserves more respect than he was getting from some idiots today.

Some of the folk giving him stick were probably late teens, struck me that they probably won’t even remember that he was a very good player for us in his first spell.

And a cup winning legend who made us a lot of money. Deserves a bit more respect imo

13-07-2019, 07:33 PM

We’ve got greater problems than him, that’s for sure.

MikeyS
13-07-2019, 07:35 PM

There is a lot of that going on at the moment and not just at games. Loads of wee digs on here too.

Folk should remember that he's not picking himself, ifbthey have an issue with it at least aim it at the coach.

13-07-2019, 07:37 PM
I should maybe have been clearer that I wasn’t using real quotes.

I get what you mean though, basically you should be able to have doubts about a player without anyone challenging or discussing that.

Nah what I'm saying is having doubts about a player is completely rational at this stage of the season and just because you do, doesn't mean you're writing them off entirely. Question that all you like but come up with better than "deary me, they're just in the door and you're writing them off"

I knew your quotes weren't real.

13-07-2019, 07:38 PM
Have to agree with others so far Newell hasn't impressed, I'm not sure what he really brings to the team.

Early doors obviously so hopefully he improves, the least he could do is bust a gut for his first competitive game for Hibs and our first of the season...

13-07-2019, 07:40 PM

Stevenson, Whittaker, Milligan, Mallan - they’ve all had their fair share over the past couple of seasons.

BlackSheep
13-07-2019, 07:44 PM
Have to agree with others so far Newell hasn't impressed, I'm not sure what he really brings to the team.

Early doors obviously so hopefully he improves, the least he could do is bust a gut for his first competitive game for Hibs and our first of the season...

I can see Newell as being back up to Horgan on the left once we get up to speed.

13-07-2019, 07:46 PM
Stevenson, Whittaker, Milligan, Mallan - they’ve all had their fair share over the past couple of seasons.

You're right. None of them have ever put a foot wrong. They're all glorious players who we should appreciate and never say a bad word about. That wouldn't at all be head in sand stuff.

13-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Nah what I'm saying is having doubts about a player is completely rational at this stage of the season and just because you do, doesn't mean you're writing them off entirely. Question that all you like but come up with better than "deary me, they're just in the door and you're writing them off"

I knew your quotes weren't real.
So is it just “deary me” that’s not allowed?

13-07-2019, 07:56 PM

TBF people can only say what they see, and the fact is that this was our first competitive game of the season and it didn’t look great.

13-07-2019, 07:57 PM
I can see Newell as being back up to Horgan on the left once we get up to speed.

That’s disappointing that one of our summer signings seems to be back up when we need players in to enhance the first team.

13-07-2019, 08:01 PM
So is it just “deary me” that’s not allowed?

It shouldn't be. Deary me brigade out in force.

13-07-2019, 08:04 PM
That’s disappointing that one of our summer signings seems to be back up when we need players in to enhance the first team.

On todays performance he isn’t even worth a place as back up.
Shaw/Murray would put in in far more effort for the team than he did today.
I know it is early days for him with the Hibs but he will need to do an awful lot better than today to merit a starting place in the team.

13-07-2019, 08:15 PM
Honestly though, an example I'll give is around this time last season in a European game. (Runavik I think)

I posted a thread about Mallan, highlighting that he hadn't stood out as much as McGinn, Mcgeouch or Allan did in their first few games and that I was having doubts about his general ability (goals aside).

I was greeted with the above and accusations of being a troll.

One poster in particular simply replied "wow". Followed by another post in which, I think, he was questioning my eyesight.

Around 4/5 months later and a majority of posters on this messageboard were saying a lot worse than I had about him and the poster mentioned above was absolutely scathing in his criticism of Mallan (on twitter by this point, having secured a bosman)

I was absolutely buzzing for Stevie to be brilliant and admittedly he didn't turn out too badly in the end (definitely with room for improvement) but I think by and large my comments are still true to this day.

And I still hope he'll be as good as either of those guys now.

13-07-2019, 08:17 PM

Thought Whitts was up with Horgan and Jackson for our best performer. He was nowhere near as bad as folk made out last year and is good enough as a utility squad player imo and possibly a started if fully fit

Squirrel 1875
13-07-2019, 08:23 PM
Honestly though, an example I'll give is around this time last season in a European game. (Runavik I think)

I posted a thread about Mallan, highlighting that he hadn't stood out as much as McGinn, Mcgeouch or Allan did in their first few games and that I was having doubts about his general ability (goals aside).

I was greeted with the above and accusations of being a troll.

Around 4/5 months later and a majority of posters on this messageboard were saying a lot worse than I had about him.

One poster in particular simply said "wow". Followed by another post I think questioning my eyesight.

A few months later (on Twitter by this point, having secured a free transfer) he was absolutely slating Mallan.

I was absolutely buzzing for Stevie to be brilliant, he didn't turn out too badly in the end (definitely with room for improvement) but I think by and large my comments are still true to this day.

And I still hope he'll be as good as either of those guys.

Funnily, I was being slated on this forum for having the audacity to criticize Heckingbottom, his tactics and his signings. Noticed a few of the posters, many of them private members who I have been told were having a good chat about me on the PM board, have changed their tune after today. Very interesting.

13-07-2019, 08:26 PM

If he doesn't show anything in the next few games I see him being emptied - seriously unimpressed with Joe Newell. In play, body language, and effort. Looks like he's here on a holiday.

13-07-2019, 08:28 PM
If he doesn't show anything in the next few games I see him being emptied - seriously unimpressed with Joe Newell. In play, body language, and effort. Looks like he's here on a holiday.

That’s it. Not having done anything outstanding from a football perspective isn’t the end of the world. But he actually looks like he has absolutely no interest in being here at all.

13-07-2019, 08:29 PM

The fans of his previous club said he was one of those players that is better coming off the bench.

I suspect if we’re to see the best of him he will start the season on the bench which might help take the heat off him for the time being as well.

13-07-2019, 08:30 PM
That’s it. Not having done anything outstanding from a football perspective isn’t the end of the world. But he actually looks like he has absolutely no interest in being here at all.

Completely the opposite of when I met him at the PH testimonial night
Said he was absolutely buzzing to be at Hibs.

Hibs4185
13-07-2019, 08:32 PM
Dylan was Aberdeen’s first choice because he is tried and tested in the SPL. We know what we are going to get.

The signings so far are all from the championship and lower, and considering the comments so far it doesn’t seem that they are setting the world on fire. Ojo is is a similar standard to our signings, so for me this makes Dylan and absolute no brainier and I think PH needs to reconsider.

Even if Dylan has signed at Sunderland for another season, it sounded like previously he was open to come back to Scotland.

After today’s performance he sounds like the missing link

13-07-2019, 08:36 PM
Completely the opposite of when I met him at PH’a testimonial night
Said he was absolutely buzzing to be at Hibs.

He better start showing it on the pitch then Billy, so far, he looks an awful signing. Never a winger in a million years and albeit it's pre-season I think he's below average. Offered zero threat so far against weak opposition. That's a huge worry when you're trying to make an impression on new fans. Doidge looks decent if he has a front partner and James looks okay. If you were to mark the new signings after 4 games I would class them all as 'trialists' - none have me thinking they're an upgrade.

13-07-2019, 08:36 PM
You're right. None of them have ever put a foot wrong. They're all glorious players who we should appreciate and never say a bad word about. That wouldn't at all be head in sand stuff.

That's not what he said, nobody is above criticism esp if they have a bad game.

It was about being the whipping boy.

The players above had all taken a shot, and the list - hilariously - includes the current POTY.

So, aye - sometimes fans do get it very badly wrong in player assessment.

13-07-2019, 08:42 PM

It's actually embarrassing at times the Treatment Whittaker gets. Aye he's not a young guy anymore. But you can guarantee every time he steps on the pitch he gives everything. And he's never our best p;ayer but very rarely is he our worst.

My best mates Dad, who has a season ticket with us genuinely gives the guy stick for everything. Think the guys around us can't stand my mates Dad haha.

13-07-2019, 08:43 PM
Funnily, I was being slated on this forum for having the audacity to criticize Heckingbottom, his tactics and his signings. Noticed a few of the posters, many of them private members who I have been told were having a good chat about me on the PM board, have changed their tune after today. Very interesting.

So the PM board is a place were people gossip on posters they don't agree with then gang up on them on the public threads? Explains a lot. Waiting for a barrage now🙄

13-07-2019, 08:48 PM
So the PM board is a place were people gossip on posters they don't agree with then gang up on them on the public threads? Explains a lot. Waiting for a barrage now🙄

No, it’s not.

13-07-2019, 08:57 PM

All of them appear to be back ups apart from Doidge and Allan.

13-07-2019, 09:00 PM
I thought one of the rules is that posters are not allowed to discuss other posters especially if they cannot defend themselves if they are not members of the PM Board?

13-07-2019, 09:03 PM

Have you seen any evidence of this? I post on the PM board and any insults are very broad - ie. "the Main Board is a cesspit". I've never seen any individuals being targeted.

SideBurns
13-07-2019, 09:06 PM
Today was my first game of the season. I thought Jackson played well, Doidge competed and was unlucky not to score but hard to judge him as he was isolated in that set up, but the other two new signings on the left were poor. James is a right back filling in for Lewis, and so can be excused for looking uncomfortable, but I'm afraid Newell seems out of his depth and lacking any confidence.

13-07-2019, 09:08 PM
I thought one of the rules is that posters are not allowed to discuss other posters especially if they cannot defend themselves if they are not members of the PM Board?

If that happens on the PM board the admins are very quick to close the threads.

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 09:12 PM

All decent professionals who bust a gut for the club every time they put the shirt on. Deserve more respect from in the main numpties who have never kicked a ball in their life.

You got slated because you jumped in with two feet twice on the manager and his signings only for us to go on and win. That is to be expected. Grow up and deal with the fact that some folk will disagree with you in life.

13-07-2019, 09:13 PM

Quite embarrassing if it does happen at all to be honest.

But anyway, from what I've seen so far we're desperate for a proper defensive mid and another few players to be pushing the main squad. The next week or so is massive on how the season shapes up. I'd expect/hope for at least one more body in before the next league cup game.

13-07-2019, 09:17 PM
Today was my first game of the season. I thought Jackson played well, Doidge competed and was unlucky not to score but hard to judge him as he was isolated in that set up, but the other two new signings on the left were poor. James is a right back filling in for Lewis, and so can be excused for looking uncomfortable, but I'm afraid Newell seems out of his depth and lacking any confidence.

They are all P H s first picks so you have to assume he sees them as being capable of performing in the first team

13-07-2019, 09:18 PM
Yeah just double checked that particular thread was eventually closed on 11/7/19 🤔

13-07-2019, 09:25 PM

That doesn’t happen at all. Trust me.

If you don’t believe me, sign up to help run this fine site. I’ve never ganged up on anyone ever and if I had seen it based on the PM forum I wouldn’t be posting this.

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 09:30 PM

If you don’t believe me, sign up to help run this fine site. I’ve never ganged up on anyone ever and if I had seen it based on the PM forum I wouldn’t be posting this.

I actually like you, chap.

You don’t muck about and seem like a decent fellow.

13-07-2019, 09:40 PM
Anybody in Greggs today and picked up on any rumours?

Hibs4185
13-07-2019, 09:45 PM

Would happily sign up to help run this fine site but I’ve heard the initiation is pretty brutal 😂

Here’s Lucy!
13-07-2019, 09:48 PM

Got a greasy pie and a cup of disgusting coffee from a wee schemie girl working in there.

No rumours though.

13-07-2019, 09:51 PM

Standing in Greggs in Stirling waiting on the Steakbakes to be ready heard that Brentford in for Flo and that the Sheep had offered more up front to S****horpe for Ojo and a 2.5k a month more than HIBS

They all had HIBS strips on but like my Steakbakes I took it all with a pinch of salt 😁

13-07-2019, 10:18 PM

Good to hear that if it does happen it is closed down quickly. I can carry on posting with the knowledge that a lot of people here independently tell me I
I am talking c**p.

13-07-2019, 10:19 PM
I actually like you, chap.

You don’t muck about and seem like a decent fellow.

Thanks pal 👍

13-07-2019, 10:19 PM
Good to hear that if it does happen it is closed down quickly. I can carry on posting with the knowledge that a lot of people here independently tell me I
I am talking c**p.

Squirrel 1875
13-07-2019, 10:39 PM

Not what the screenshots I’ve been sent say. I’ll say no more.

On to the important stuff, really hope Ron gets the wallet out and we can add a real bit of quality up top.

13-07-2019, 10:49 PM

👍

13-07-2019, 10:58 PM

On to the important stuff, really hope Ron gets the wallet out and we can add a real bit of quality up top.

You have screenshots of various private members conspiring to gang up against other members? I don’t believe that for a second. Pardon if I’m wrong, sorry.

It’s more important we get the middle of the pitch sorted imo.

13-07-2019, 10:59 PM

Not sure what you’re referring to but I can only see a fleeting reference to your ridiculous post from the other night. And the comment was accurate in that there was a bit of a backlash to said post. Not sure what other ones there were that you have in your screenshots.

13-07-2019, 10:59 PM

In short Ojo is a greedy cock. Toys out the pram at S****horpe should have been a warning sign.

13-07-2019, 11:02 PM
In short Ojo is a greedy cock. Toys out the pram at S****horpe should have been a warning sign.

PH said the deal was dead for Ojo. His agent then found him another team who has bid money for him. How’s that being greedy?

tonyrougier123
13-07-2019, 11:05 PM
PH said the deal was dead for Ojo. His agent then found him another team who has bid money for him. How’s that being greedy?

Can we move on?? Hibs have! 😴.

Any more news on omeonga or any rumours for this thread?

13-07-2019, 11:09 PM

Is he? Then so are any of our players who we signed that had another offer on table but we paid more so joined us.

13-07-2019, 11:20 PM

I'm starting to worry that in trying too hard to build a team of professional robots we might lose that x factor (or swagger if you like) that such players bring.

Would there be a place for a character like Stokes in Hecky's thinking? I doubt it but a character like Stokes made the difference in the Scottish cup final.

I'm not trying to say that Ojo would have any sort of impact like Stokes. More point out that his appearing to be an ******** doesn't mean he couldn't have had a positive impact on our team. After all some of big winners in world football seem to be the biggest ********s going.

I wonder who brings that arrogance - that sheer belief that they deserve to win - to our current squad. Nobody that played against Stirling that is for sure.

13-07-2019, 11:36 PM

Hold on a minute, when we were pissing all over European clubs last season, we had an unbalanced side and some players who were sheite/

Now we are drawing with Stirling, losing to Arbroath, suddenly we need to wait until the league starts before judging things.

I'm sure those who were criticising our woeful team last season will be along soon to explain things.

13-07-2019, 11:40 PM
Hold on a minute, when we were pissing all over European clubs last season, we had an unbalanced side and some players who were sheite/

Now we are drawing with Stirling, losing to Arbroath, suddenly we need to wait until the league starts before judging things.

I'm sure those who were criticising our woeful team last season will be along soon to explain things.
My comment was in response to someone who already appeared to have made up their mind that this seasons squad was poorer than last’s. Whats your beef with that? The squads not even complete yet.

14-07-2019, 12:11 AM
I'm starting to worry that in trying too hard to build a team of professional robots we might lose that x factor (or swagger if you like) that such players bring.

Would there be a place for a character like Stokes in Hecky's thinking? I doubt it but a character like Stokes made the difference in the Scottish cup final.

I'm not trying to say that Ojo would have any sort of impact like Stokes. More point out that his appearing to be an ******** doesn't mean he couldn't have had a positive impact on our team. After all some of big winners in world football seem to be the biggest ********s going.

I wonder who brings that arrogance - that sheer belief that they deserve to win - to our current squad. Nobody that played against Stirling that is for sure.

I know what you’re getting at.

Scott Allan maybe? Kamberi at times?

We need a Cummings type player & his over confident style

A pantomime villain

14-07-2019, 12:20 AM

No. Ojo agreed a deal with us, based on his mistaken or dishonest interpretation of his contract clause. He then went on strike once his contract clause was denied. Hibs offered his club money to ease things over. Ojo then got wind of another offer, and renaged on a deal which he very possibly lied about his current contractual situation to get.

I'm not saying he's definately dishonest or two faced, but there are a few red flags going up.

14-07-2019, 12:23 AM
Arsenal have reportedly bid £25m for Tierney. Baffled if Celtic reject that.

14-07-2019, 12:45 AM
No. Ojo agreed a deal with us, based on his mistaken or dishonest interpretation of his contract clause. He then went on strike once his contract clause was denied. Hibs offered his club money to ease things over. Ojo then got wind of another offer, and renaged on a deal which he very possibly lied about his current contractual situation to get.

I'm not saying he's definately dishonest or two faced, but there are a few red flags going up.

PH said himself that Aberdeen offered S****horpe money first which we then matched.

Seems like we were too slow off the mark

Mantis Toboggan
14-07-2019, 12:53 AM
Arsenal have reportedly bid £25m for Tierney. Baffled if Celtic reject that.

Theres no way you would reject that. It's also what we should have got for McGinn

14-07-2019, 01:49 AM

I'm not saying he's definately dishonest or two faced, but there are a few red flags going up.Biggest red flag is why we waited until another bid had been accepted before matching it

14-07-2019, 01:49 AM
Arsenal have reportedly bid £25m for Tierney. Baffled if Celtic reject that.Surely to christ they are accepting that

14-07-2019, 03:41 AM
Theres no way you would reject that. It's also what we should have got for McGinn

Agree that McGinn was worth far more than we received but Tierney's got 4 years on his contract.

14-07-2019, 06:15 AM

McGinn was out of contract in a years time and could sign a pre contract in 6 months time. I think Tierney had something ridiculous like a 5 year contract at Celtic.

The simple fact is also bigger clubs command bigger fees than smaller clubs , rightly or wrongly. Arsenal will look at the fact he's played with a reasonably big club and all the additional pressure that brings.

Similarly if he does well at Arsenal he will command a much bigger fee than what Celtic will get. It's just the upward spiral of playing for a bigger club equals more money.

Unfortunately for us Hibs will never in our history receive a transfer fee of £25 million , it's highly unlikely we will ever get half that.

14-07-2019, 06:18 AM

Are you going to also dismiss any and all concerns about the squad and repeat your mantra that quality only becomes available at the end of the window if we’re harking back to what was being said last summer?

14-07-2019, 06:47 AM
PH said himself that Aberdeen offered S****horpe money first which we then matched.

Seems like we were too slow off the mark

Yet it was reported he has agreed terms with hibs first and was ready to tell Aberdeen no. Aberdeen have came in with more money and he's went there. Don't know why people are doing mental gymnastics about all this it's pretty obvious. Fair enough to him. Let's hope we can finally get a midfielder in who raises the current standards in midfield and is able to control/boss games who puts Aberdeen and players like Ojo in their place.

Hawick hibee
14-07-2019, 07:01 AM
Here we go again!!! Journey men pro etc... give our new signings a chance!!!
Q- what team did we sign Sir David Gray from?
A- the rest is history!!
Hibs again offered money (2nd time this window) made a good offer and sold the club to Ojo. He went another way, good luck but as the manager said he only wants players who wants us!!!
Next target will be identified and hopefully they get their man.

What about lee cattermole? Sunderland connection at the club freed from there, there is a DCM

14-07-2019, 07:05 AM

There's nothing dishonest about taking a better offer. Only a complete ****ing idiot would take the offer of less money

14-07-2019, 07:28 AM

As has been noted earlier - it doesnt.

e.g. You got into some fairly heated debates regarding Rons shareholding etc on the MB and while there is a thread on the takeover on the PM board, your name is mentioned re some of the share numbers stuff - but you dont get a negative mention, never mind a barrage.

As a general point, sometimes people retire to the PM board when the arguing gets too much on here - I understand that, and do it myself as it can get a bit much.

What I dont understand (this isnt you, by the way) is people seeming to manufacture all sorts of arguments - I didnt bite, but sometimes people seem to be attempting to get reactions rather than having any reasoned debate - then coming back and crying about it if people suggest they are at it.