View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

Robbo6-2
08-08-2019, 08:57 AM
Could we go for Scott Sinclair on loan? We'd be in a strong position as the window closes in England today. Even if we could offer 25% of his wages or something?

Try 5%

08-08-2019, 09:01 AM
Disappointed at this, doubt we could ever have afforded his wages but far rather have him than Middleton, or Newall for that matter.

08-08-2019, 09:02 AM
Could we go for Scott Sinclair on loan? We'd be in a strong position as the window closes in England today. Even if we could offer 25% of his wages or something?

It’s been suggested he was Celtics highest earner. Way out of our league....

08-08-2019, 09:03 AM
To sign a 3 year contract for the govan mob.
Any thoughts ??

Decent mobile player but with poor finishing ability. Some punters are expressing disappointment at him going there but he’s a whole season away from being with Hibs. It’s not as if he has just gone straight from us to them. My feelings ........, meh!

08-08-2019, 09:03 AM
Kent was a carbon copy of Barker for us imo. End product wasn’t great but could beat people for fun.

Would have loved him back at Hibs and reckon he’ll do very well at the Huns unfortunately. If he can keep fit that is.

0 for 12 at PNE in the league.

08-08-2019, 09:04 AM
One hard tackle from SDG to rattle his bones like a xylophone you will never see him again

No end product unless he has improved

08-08-2019, 09:10 AM
SJM must now be a very wealthy young man.

Good luck to him.

08-08-2019, 09:16 AM
Think Barker was overrated by some Hibs fans, but that being said I would much rather sign him than take Middleton on loan.

And I say that as someone who rates Middleton quite highly

Greenworld
08-08-2019, 09:18 AM
No money for hibs well done John though https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190808/73f501175b870c9f074ab3154b5a3965.jpg

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

08-08-2019, 09:19 AM
No money for hibs well done John though https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190808/73f501175b870c9f074ab3154b5a3965.jpg

No money for Hibs? This just makes it more likely that we get a massive sell on fee

08-08-2019, 09:24 AM
Kane Hemmings rejoins Dundee on three year deal

08-08-2019, 09:25 AM
Probably just doubled his wages.

08-08-2019, 09:26 AM
Sol Bamba a pundit on SSN Deadline Day

08-08-2019, 09:27 AM

Good signing for them. Both Dundee teams splashing the cash this summer.

Souter96Mac
08-08-2019, 09:31 AM

Sounds like he chose them over st Johnstone. If they don't get in a striker, they will be scunnered for this season.

08-08-2019, 09:31 AM
Some players suit some clubs, and others don't

I expect Jordan Jones to play a lot more for Rangers than BB

Can't see the Copeland Road being happy at him shirking challenges, or beating one player too many on a mazy run (losing the ball)

Whereas we are much more tolerant of that at ER, and give wingers and mercurial no.10s a lot more latitude to try things

Barker just doesnt seem to suit the RedWite&BlueBrexitBears style, to me.

08-08-2019, 09:34 AM
Think Barker was overrated by some Hibs fans, but that being said I would much rather sign him than take Middleton on loan.

And I say that as someone who rates Middleton quite highly

Barker - Got you on the edge of your seat ..yet very little end product ....

08-08-2019, 09:36 AM
Sickner. As much as I like him his wages combined with his injury proneness it's to much of a high risk for hibs. Would be 1 of our top earners

Add in that he's a free then wages/cash incentive would be way beyond us.

sean04
08-08-2019, 09:37 AM
Add in that he's a free then wages/cash incentive would be way beyond us.

Sure his Man City contract was about 10k a week. Couldn't see him dropping to 2.5/3k a week

08-08-2019, 09:39 AM
Mcginn is the type of player Dean Smith and our ownership group want to build our club around: determined, athletic, technically gifted and passionate about winning

Says Villa CEO

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

08-08-2019, 09:41 AM
Aberdeen have told Notts County they want 7m for Scott McKenna ?

08-08-2019, 09:42 AM
Some Rangers fans are claiming he was our best player in a "mediocre hibs side". He was mostly on the bench and a good impact player. And im sure maclaren, kamberi, mcgeouch, allan, mcginn, boyle, efe ect would all have something to say about best player that season. They all contributed more than barker did.

08-08-2019, 09:44 AM

Notts County😄

08-08-2019, 09:44 AM
Some Rangers fans are claiming he was our best player in a "mediocre hibs side". He was mostly on the bench and a good impact player. And im sure maclaren, kamberi, mcgeouch, allan, mcginn, boyle, efe ect would all have something to say about best player that season. They all contributed more than barker did.

The penny did not drop with Barker until the Kilmarnock game at home where he looked more of a genuine goal threat

08-08-2019, 09:45 AM
I get that but what’s the harm in saying that he has passed a medical and will join his new team mates on Monday morning next week. The medical, I assume, has gone ok, but to say nowt at all just prolongs doubt and more speculation. :dunno:

I completely agree with this comment. The fans deserve to be kept informed.

08-08-2019, 09:46 AM

They must’ve forgotten the two scuddings we gave them at Ibrox and the 5-5 game at Easter road, with the only win they got against us that season coming very very fortunately. ****s.

08-08-2019, 09:48 AM
Notts County😄

Scott McKenna 7m? 😁

08-08-2019, 09:49 AM
They must’ve forgotten the two scuddings we gave them at Ibrox and the 5-5 game at Easter road, with the only win they got against us that season coming very very fortunately. ****s.

He was outstanding against them in the second half of that home defeat.

Still no end product to prevent the defeat right enough.........

Scott McKenna 7m? 😁

You mean Forest I presume

King Cosell
Wonder if Liam Boyce is on our radar. 1 year left at Burton Albion, injuries behind him. Pre-contract in Jan?

HFC93

No money for hibs?

08-08-2019, 09:50 AM
I completely agree with this comment. The fans deserve to be kept informed.

What difference does it make? :dunno:

We're interested in talking him on loan, but he's not signed yet. He may not. We're informed and up to date.

We'll be told more when they've got something different to say.

08-08-2019, 09:51 AM
Notts County😄

They are skint, having to borrow shirts from Juventus.

08-08-2019, 09:51 AM
No money for hibs?

Why would there be money for Hibs?

08-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Hemmings to Dundee. Great signing for them.

HFC93
08-08-2019, 09:53 AM
Why would there be money for Hibs?

I was questioning that point in the original post

08-08-2019, 09:54 AM
Disappointed at this, doubt we could ever have afforded his wages but far rather have him than Middleton, or Newall for that matter.

It would be good to think we at least inquired about him, although I don't know I have my doubts. It's gutting that he came on loan to us, was a big hit with the fans, was really exciting to watch and he ends up at Rangers on a free! We are really lacking pace in our team and i would rather pay to watch Barker than Newall any day of the week. Disappointing.

We're interested in talking him on loan, but he's not signed yet. He may not. We're informed and up to date.

Rubbish about being kept informed. Delay looks like something to do with playing the Huns on Sunday. Double agent comes to mind. We do not need or should not know the ins and outs of what goes on behind closed doors.

Hemmings to Dundee. Great signing for them.

Agreed - got to think its between the two Dundee teams for the Championship title this season, should be a very intriguing league!

08-08-2019, 09:57 AM
I was questioning that point in the original post

I was questioning the same thing.

08-08-2019, 09:58 AM

Can't see Notts County affording £7 million. :greengrin

08-08-2019, 09:59 AM
Rubbish about being kept informed. Delay looks like something to do with playing the Huns on Sunday. Double agent comes to mind. We do not need or should not know the ins and outs of what goes on behind closed doors.

I'm not sure if you're agreeing with me or disagreeing, but I agree with you.

We know all we need to know.

08-08-2019, 10:05 AM
£7m for McKenna!! Aye good one. Thing is thats chicken feed to Championship clubs in England

sean04
08-08-2019, 10:06 AM

Maybe we have something better lined up? Not itk but hecky was handed a list of 15 potential players

08-08-2019, 10:08 AM

Yes I agree with you on that. Medical done. Loan announced on Monday so no conflict of interest with the Huns game.

Greenworld
08-08-2019, 10:11 AM
No money for hibs?If he had moved to another club would have been a nice windfall

08-08-2019, 10:17 AM
If he had moved to another club would have been a nice windfall

We are due add ons when he reaches targets in the Premiership so it has probably worked out well for us.

08-08-2019, 10:19 AM
You mean Forest I presume

Naw County

Source: SSN

Maybe someone is struggling to keep up to date with everything that is going down

Edit:

Definitely Forest

08-08-2019, 10:19 AM
David Luis to Arsenal?????

hhibs
08-08-2019, 10:20 AM
We are due add ons when he reaches targets in the Premiership so it has probably worked out well for us.

Any idea what they might be ?

sean04
08-08-2019, 10:24 AM
£7m for McKenna!! Aye good one. Thing is thats chicken feed to Championship clubs in England

He's in Croatia with Aberdeen so don't see any deal for happening today

08-08-2019, 10:25 AM

No chance a deal will happen today, not in England anyway.

sean04
08-08-2019, 10:28 AM

Dunno if you can process the transfer pending a medical before the window shuts or if you have to have it done and dusted by 5pm

BlackSheep
08-08-2019, 10:29 AM

Is his agent in Croatia....?

These days deals can be done from anywhere.... as can a medical be undertaken anywhere... I wouldn't expect a deal to be done, but never say never.

08-08-2019, 10:29 AM
David Luis to Arsenal?????

Bomb scare Luis - Arsenal season over before it starts

08-08-2019, 10:30 AM
Glasgow papers on twitter reporting £10m bid for Morelos has been turned down. I'm not sure if this was another bid that was refused after it wasn't made.

For all I don't want to see other clubs benefiting, it's good for Scottish football if clubs are holding out for more money from English clubs. £7m for McKenna seems ludicrous but when you see what centre halves are going for in England then it's fair enough. Why shouldn't Aberdeen ask for the same value for their player?

We only need to look at the figures reported for McGinn to see that we undersold him, really (unless we benefit from a huge sell-on clause).

£25m for Tierney to Arsenal is fair enough in that market.

If Scottish clubs keep their nerve it's a good thing for us - that money should see its way back through the system.

08-08-2019, 10:31 AM

Not confirmed yet but I hear ye!

👍🏾

08-08-2019, 10:35 AM
Glasgow papers on twitter reporting £10m bid for Morelos has been turned down. I'm not sure if this was another bid that was refused after it wasn't made.

For all I don't want to see other clubs benefiting, it's good for Scottish football if clubs are holding out for more money from English clubs. £7m for McKenna seems ludicrous but when you see what centre halves are going for in England then it's fair enough. Why shouldn't Aberdeen ask for the same value for their player?

We only need to look at the figures reported for McGinn to see that we undersold him, really (unless we benefit from a huge sell-on clause).

If Scottish clubs keep their nerve it's a good thing for us - that money should see its way back through the system.

If you read between the lines in the Morelos story it's all "possibles" & "could reach" £10m. An extra £2m when he scores the winning goal in the WC final etc!!! Sounds like true offer is 50% of the £10m max.

sean04
08-08-2019, 10:35 AM
Is his agent in Croatia....?

These days deals can be done from anywhere.... as can a medical be undertaken anywhere... I wouldn't expect a deal to be done, but never say never.

Think his agent will be in the uk. Will have other clients with potential moves today. If forest really want the deal done then I'm sure they will find a way

08-08-2019, 10:37 AM
Jumbos after Glen Whelan, free to sign
Apologies if already mentioned

Caversham Green
08-08-2019, 10:38 AM
I get that but what’s the harm in saying that he has passed a medical and will join his new team mates on Monday morning next week. The medical, I assume, has gone ok, but to say nowt at all just prolongs doubt and more speculation. :dunno:

a) It still might not happen - if for example a "Rangers" player gets injured and they decide to keep him for back-up.
b) Since he won't be playing anyway, a few days of keeping quiet is of very little consequence in the grand scheme of things.
c) Maybe the player himself has yet to agree to the move.

08-08-2019, 10:38 AM
Not confirmed yet but I hear ye!

👍🏾

Scared for the Gunners already

08-08-2019, 10:40 AM
To sign a 3 year contract for the govan mob.
Any thoughts ??
If he signs for them he can go and **** himself.

08-08-2019, 10:41 AM

Celtic have until 2nd September to get him

08-08-2019, 10:43 AM
Scared for the Gunners already

My father was Brasilian and children followed Arsenal when lived in London. Focus soley on Hibs now.

Gloucester Hibs
08-08-2019, 10:45 AM
a) It still might not happen - if for example a "Rangers" player gets injured and they decide to keep him for back-up.
b) Since he won't be playing anyway, a few days of keeping quiet is of very little consequence in the grand scheme of things.
c) Maybe the player himself has yet to agree to the move.

Or we beat them on Sunday and Sevco refuse to loan him to us out of spite/pressure from their fans!

08-08-2019, 10:48 AM
Just because we havnt announced it doesn't mean the deal isn't done

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

08-08-2019, 10:49 AM
Jumbos after Glen Whelan, free to sign
Apologies if already mentioned

You're only about a week late :greengrin

08-08-2019, 10:50 AM
You're only about a week late :greengrin

Oops, on Sky today

08-08-2019, 10:52 AM
I would have been delighted if Barker had come back to us, so I’m not going to pretend that I’m not gutted he’s (apparently) gone to them.

I read on Twitter that since barker signed for us and including Preston he has only been fit for selection in 1/3 of the games he could have played In

tonyrougier123
08-08-2019, 10:52 AM
Barker is another player who struggles to stay fit.
If he plays 15-20 games for rangers he will no doubt create a fair few chances/goals for them.
Linked well in our team,and I enjoyed watching him at easter road.

08-08-2019, 10:53 AM
SSN saying jumbos moves for Damur and Whelan unlikely to go ahead

But watch this space

08-08-2019, 10:54 AM

But watch this space

Sure it wasn’t likely to go ahead? Damour supposed to be close to signing for them on loan.

Souter96Mac
08-08-2019, 10:55 AM

But watch this space

Who's Damur?

08-08-2019, 10:59 AM
Who's Damur?

Chanson Damur? :greengrin

08-08-2019, 11:02 AM

But watch this space

Both will be fit for the derby

08-08-2019, 11:02 AM
Who's Damur?

Damour. 😁

vuefrom1875
08-08-2019, 11:07 AM

Transferred to Manhattan 😉

08-08-2019, 11:11 AM
Keekback already calling him Chanson

Hoping for a Manhattan Transfer

Rat ta tat ta tat! 😁

08-08-2019, 11:19 AM
John McGinn not going anywhere.
New 5 year deal signed at Villa , kerching.

*Oops, just saw the other thread 🙄

08-08-2019, 11:33 AM
Any idea what they might be ?

We didn't get anything like £1m when Villa got promoted, more like half that. The add ons will make up the difference and are supposedly easily achievable this season.

St Mirren obviously get their cut.

HibsGW
08-08-2019, 11:34 AM
Disappointing to hear about Barker to Rangers, would have loved him back at us. In saying that, Rangers still shopping in similar markets to us at points, probably need better than that to catch Celtic

08-08-2019, 11:35 AM
Sure it wasn’t likely to go ahead? Damour supposed to be close to signing for them on loan.

Said both were unlikely

Damour due to money issues initially but the clubs are talking again.

Whelan unlikely as he is considering offers as still in ROI set up

All according to SSN !

08-08-2019, 11:37 AM

If Harry Maguire is worth £80m then McKenna looks an absolute steal at that price.

08-08-2019, 11:41 AM
If Harry Maguire is worth £80m then McKenna looks an absolute steal at that price.

Tricky one

I think McKenna is a really poor player but at less than a tenth of Maguire's value can see where you are coming from.

If McKenna wasn't 8ft tall he would be a nobody:greengrin

08-08-2019, 11:42 AM
Said both were unlikely

Damour due to money issues initially but the clubs are talking again.

Whelan unlikely as he is considering offers as still in ROI set up

All according to SSN !

👍🏾

Cheers mate!

Thought I was hearing things but rewound it and defo said unlikely

Never say never down to finance and Hearts have loads ( apparently)

08-08-2019, 11:44 AM
Tricky one

I think McKenna is a really poor player but at less than a tenth of Maguire's value can see where you are coming from.

Yeah, but a very big nobody :greengrin

08-08-2019, 11:49 AM
We didn't get anything like £1m when Villa got promoted, more like half that. The add ons will make up the difference and are supposedly easily achievable this season.

St Mirren obviously get their cut.

SM to get a cut of our add ons?

08-08-2019, 11:50 AM
[emoji1474]

Cheers mate!

Thought I was hearing things but rewound it and defo said unlikely

Never say never down to finance and Hearts have loads ( apparently)

Hilarious if neither come off [emoji1787]

They’ve been bigging up the Whelan deal as close through their version of Keith Jackshun - wee ginger Banderson

08-08-2019, 11:50 AM
Transferred to Manhattan 😉

👏

08-08-2019, 11:59 AM
SM to get a cut of our add ons?

Yes

Turnbullsmate
08-08-2019, 12:08 PM
Tricky one

McGuire is a joke at £80 quid never mind £80 Million. See nothing in McKenna either to justify a £7 million price tag. Porteous will develop into a much better centre back than either and inevitably be sold for a very large sum.

08-08-2019, 12:14 PM
McGuire is a joke at £80 quid never mind £80 Million. See nothing in McKenna either to justify a £7 million price tag. Porteous will develop into a much better centre back than either and inevitably be sold for a very large sum.

Whilst Porteous is a better footballer and defender than McKenna I think if he had another couple of inches in height he would be worth even more.

He makes up with his aggression and physicality in SPFL but might not be as strong in EPL.

I reckon he will be in the championship in next 2-3 years , develop even more physically and can hopefully follow a similar path to SJM

08-08-2019, 12:17 PM
Whilst Porteous is a better footballer and defender than McKenna I think if he had another couple of inches in height he would be worth even more.

He makes up with his aggression and physicality in SPFL but might not be as strong in EPL.

I reckon he will be in the championship in next 2-3 years , develop even more physically and can hopefully follow a similar path to SJM

Porteous is younger so has a great chance to develop - but imho he is neither a better footballer or defender than McKenna at this time - I’d say he is less experienced and still behind McKenna in development terms at the moment

Every chance for McKenna to do well - equally, every chance to Porteous to have a top career too

08-08-2019, 12:17 PM

Hes not yet. Porteous is potentially a top class defender but still has a lot of learning.

08-08-2019, 12:18 PM

I'm very much in two minds about the money quoted for McKenna. I don't think he's anything special but the game has gone mad in England in terms of player valuations.

Up here though we are still guilty of selling for peanuts. On the one hand it's great to see Aberdeen demanding a big fee but the reverse is I don't want one of our competitors getting a massive cash injections with 3 weeks left in the Scottish transfer window.

If Scottish football is to keep up though clubs need to grow a pair and start taking their queues from down south and what they're demand for their key players. Ultimately it will benefit Hibs when the likes of Porteous are ready to move on if the bench mark for a young and highly desired centre half is £7m.

Chefki Kuqi
08-08-2019, 12:20 PM

Joking? Folk underrate Maguire so much, great player.

08-08-2019, 12:29 PM

There’s underrating him then there’s the fact he is the most expensive defender of all time, Harry Maguire!

08-08-2019, 12:29 PM
Yes

Really?
They’ve got themselves a decent deal in that case.

08-08-2019, 12:30 PM
Assuming we would need to loan an EPL player by 5pm today or are we able to loan them up to our window?

08-08-2019, 12:35 PM
Assuming we would need to loan an EPL player by 5pm today or are we able to loan them up to our window?
I read that the English window ending today only stops them buying players - they can still sell or loan players out. Seems odd to me....

08-08-2019, 12:36 PM

Yeah

Moves are determined by the open window

So, after 5pm today, we can sign a player from any club or country (in theory) until 2nd September, but players can't be bought into any English Premiership or Championship team (but they can sign players on a free transfer outwith contracts)

08-08-2019, 12:37 PM
There’s underrating him then there’s the fact he is the most expensive defender of all time, Harry Maguire!of course but the fact is valuations at that level mean nothing to you or me really. United needed and wanted a centre back so Leicester named their price.

English players also have a price bump.
United pay more because of who they are.

is he worth 80mill. absolutely not but no player is really.
does he improve United. absolutely.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

08-08-2019, 12:38 PM
Porteous is younger so has a great chance to develop - but imho he is neither a better footballer or defender than McKenna at this time - I’d say he is less experienced and still behind McKenna in development terms at the moment

Every chance for McKenna to do well - equally, every chance to Porteous to have a top career too

I agree on their respective merits at this stage of Ryan's career

But Ryan is a far far better footballer who carries much more of a goal threat at set-pieces

I honestly think McKenna is an extremely limited footballer

K-Zazu
08-08-2019, 12:38 PM
Aberdeen have had a good transfer window as have the yams. We really need 2 quality players to come in.

08-08-2019, 12:39 PM
Aberdeen have had a good transfer window as have the yams. We really need 2 quality players to come in.

Have they?

Turnbullsmate
08-08-2019, 12:40 PM

Not just me that thinks he is vastly overrated...

https://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/manchester-united-should-avoid-harry-3003287

K-Zazu
08-08-2019, 12:42 PM
Have they?

Halkett and Naismith are good signings.

08-08-2019, 12:47 PM

Hearts?
Have they?

08-08-2019, 12:51 PM
I agree on their respective merits at this stage of Ryan's career

But Ryan is a far far better footballer who carries much more of a goal threat at set-pieces

I honestly think McKenna is an extremely limited footballer

I think we’ve still to see if Ryan develops into a quality footballer ..there are signs ..but still raw at moments also ..

I think McKenna is a better on the ball than people give him credit for..good on the ball for a big guy ...

The post earlier that someone said (can’t recall who) that Ryan will end up better than Harry Maguire is impressive green tinted optimism in my view ...he’s the current England Centre Half ..what a career he is having ...

08-08-2019, 12:53 PM
Aberdeen sign Zak Vyner on season long loan from Bristol City ( right back )

08-08-2019, 12:55 PM
There’s underrating him then there’s the fact he is the most expensive defender of all time, Harry Maguire!

Who's available that would be more expensive? :dunno:

08-08-2019, 01:01 PM
Hearts?
Have they?

I think their window will depend on how many games they get out of Naismith and Walker.

On the face of it, they've strengthened their defence with Halkett.

Added creativity with Walker.

If they get Naismith for a full season, then they've strengthened up front compared to last year. If he doesn't play too many games though, they're toiling imo.

08-08-2019, 01:06 PM

Everyone is available. If you chuck enough money about.

08-08-2019, 01:07 PM
of course but the fact is valuations at that level mean nothing to you or me really. United needed and wanted a centre back so Leicester named their price.

English players also have a price bump.
United pay more because of who they are.

is he worth 80mill. absolutely not but no player is really.
does he improve United. absolutely.

Fair comments, although my post was in relation to someone saying he was underrated. I don’t think he is. He’s a good defender that is good in the air, no more no less. He will improve Man U’s defence, but will he have the kind of overall impact on the defence Van Dijk did at Liverpool, I don’t think he will.

08-08-2019, 01:10 PM
Barker to Rangers a done deal?

08-08-2019, 01:10 PM

Alderweireld was available earlier in the summer for £25m. Not sure what his release clause is now sure I read it’s now about £40m or £50m.

08-08-2019, 01:15 PM

It definitely isn't, that would be the 10th or 11th highest fee ever paid in that league. It would be a record for many sides in the league.

08-08-2019, 01:22 PM

Bonucci is a class above

Turnbullsmate
08-08-2019, 01:23 PM
I think we’ve still to see if Ryan develops into a quality footballer ..there are signs ..but still raw at moments also ..

I think McKenna is a better on the ball than people give him credit for..good on the ball for a big guy ...

The post earlier that someone said (can’t recall who) that Ryan will end up better than Harry Maguire is impressive green tinted optimism in my view ...he’s the current England Centre Half ..what a career he is having ...

That was me bigwheel and i see no reason to alter my opinion.

Pretty damned impressive for his age i'd say whilst acknowledging he is still learning and maturing

08-08-2019, 01:25 PM
[/B]That was me bigwheel and i see no reason to alter my opinion.

Pretty damned impressive for his age i'd say whilst acknowledging he is still learning and maturing

Hope you are right TM...he’s not yet established himself as a first pic at ER, and you are calling that he will be better than current England first pick CH ...if you are right , you need to be running our academy ! [emoji2][emoji106][emoji106]

08-08-2019, 01:38 PM

Arsenal having their best transfer window in years, Luiz for a year until Saliba joins and they can sign another defender would be a very good piece of business. He can be erratic but the bomscare rep is ridiculous, much life Efe Ambrose.

Turnbullsmate
08-08-2019, 01:42 PM
Hope you are right TM...he’s not yet established himself as a first pic at ER, and you are calling that he will be better than current England first pick CH ...if you are right , you need to be running our academy ! [emoji2][emoji106][emoji106]

Maybe i am hahaha. FWIW i thought EFE and Ryan were our strongest defensive partnership in a long while. Ryan listens and learns and comes across as a lad with his head firmly screwed on the right way. The future is bright.

08-08-2019, 02:14 PM
Have they?

Eh?

08-08-2019, 02:15 PM
Maybe i am hahaha. FWIW i thought EFE and Ryan were our strongest defensive partnership in a long while. Ryan listens and learns and comes across as a lad with his head firmly screwed on the right way. The future is bright.

Ryan spent most of last season battering in to tackles and almost wrecking his legs in the process. He must learn to relax and anticipate better.

08-08-2019, 02:17 PM
Fair comments, although my post was in relation to someone saying he was underrated. I don’t think he is. He’s a good defender that is good in the air, no more no less. He will improve Man U’s defence, but will he have the kind of overall impact on the defence Van Dijk did at Liverpool, I don’t think he will.I agree with all of that. I'm not a huge fan of Maguire but I think if they could get a better player beside him they'd have a pretty good back line. I have no idea why they didn't sign Alderweirald for 25 mill when they had the chance.

08-08-2019, 02:19 PM

All done and dusted.

Not sure but he may well be training with us.

Will be announced Sunday night or Monday.

08-08-2019, 02:21 PM
All done and dusted.

Good to hear. Looks a player than can cause disruption in the oppositions back line ....

Turnbullsmate
08-08-2019, 02:23 PM
Ryan spent most of last season battering in to tackles and almost wrecking his legs in the process. He must learn to relax and anticipate better.

Big John McNamee reborn :greengrin..i take your point underscore but i am excited about this lads potential.

08-08-2019, 02:25 PM
Eh?

Not convinced Hearts transfer window has been a good one. Are you?

K-Zazu
08-08-2019, 02:26 PM
Do u think Sky Sports News will do a deadline special for Scotland on the 2nd of September?

08-08-2019, 02:26 PM
All done and dusted.

Is this Middleton you are referring too?

08-08-2019, 02:27 PM

That'll have flown way over his head🙄

08-08-2019, 02:28 PM
Is this Middleton you are referring too?

Yes, wasn't too obvious I admit.

08-08-2019, 02:29 PM
Yes, wasn't too obvious I admit.

Good to hear :thumbsup:

08-08-2019, 02:44 PM
All done and dusted.

Any particular reason why Hibs are waiting to announce?

08-08-2019, 02:46 PM

Play his parent team on Sunday afternoon?

At a guess because we play each other at the weekend.

Both will have agreed not to announce bearing in mind the clash on Sunday.

08-08-2019, 02:48 PM
At a guess because we play each other at the weekend.
Whoopsie of course, my bad..... :doh:

08-08-2019, 02:49 PM
Middleton training this week and not able to play until next week would be opening him up to accusations of disclosing tactics and team information to his parent club. Later in the season that’ll be unavoidable but for this game it’s the sensible thing for the club and player to hang fire until after the game imo.

badabing67
08-08-2019, 03:15 PM
Are rangers getting Barker for £250 K sure we could have afforded that

08-08-2019, 03:17 PM

What about his wages?

Paloschi
08-08-2019, 03:18 PM

We are Hibs, we don't generally pay money or show ambition. We have a 'wage structure' that has existed since 2003. I'd like to see us maybe show a bit more ruthlessness and maybe have 1 or 2 windows where we spend a bit more. We have the core of a good squad but are still 3 or 4 quality players missing from challenging Aberdeen. Looking at other rivals, Hearts, on paper, have had a better window.

We are back to stagnation in my humble and honest opinion. I know it won't be popular.

08-08-2019, 03:20 PM
Middleton training this week and not able to play until next week would be opening him up to accusations of disclosing tactics and team information to his parent club. Later in the season that’ll be unavoidable but for this game it’s the sensible thing for the club and player to hang fire until after the game imo.

Fair enough, I understand the logic. But, as I said earlier, what’s to stop them announcing the deal. It would stop all the speculation and put an end to folk like me/us questioning what’s going on and are we still looking for someone in case the deal isn’t going to happen etc. etc.

08-08-2019, 03:21 PM
Get the wallet oot Ron.

08-08-2019, 03:21 PM
We are Hibs, we don't generally pay money or show ambition. We have a 'wage structure' that has existed since 2003. I'd like to see us maybe show a bit more ruthlessness and maybe have 1 or 2 windows where we spend a bit more. We have the core of a good squad but are still 3 or 4 quality players missing from challenging Aberdeen. Looking at other rivals, Hearts, on paper, have had a better window.

We are back to stagnation in my humble and honest opinion. I know it won't be popular.

Apart from for Doidge this window?
Apart from Kamberi in the last summer window?

08-08-2019, 03:22 PM

Haven't we already spent £350k on one player this window.

Is that Hearts we've finished above the last 2 years? They have to challenge us and struggling vs East Fife shows they aren't anything special.

We've spent money in the last 2 summers and have shown plenty of ambition.

Barker was on 10k a week at City, pretty delighted we aren't going to be paying him that honestly.

It isnt popular because it is nonsense. We have invested well recently however expecting us to compete financially with Rangers is pie in the sky.

08-08-2019, 03:23 PM
It would stop all the speculation and put an end to folk like me/us questioning what’s going on and are we still looking for someone in case the deal isn’t going to happen etc. etc.

To be fair, that's not a particularly persuasive reason.

08-08-2019, 03:31 PM
We are Hibs, we don't generally pay money or show ambition. We have a 'wage structure' that has existed since 2003. I'd like to see us maybe show a bit more ruthlessness and maybe have 1 or 2 windows where we spend a bit more. We have the core of a good squad but are still 3 or 4 quality players missing from challenging Aberdeen and Hearts, on paper, have had a better window.

The owner may have changed and STF and RP rode off into the sunset but the rhetoric from some supporters remains the same.

Here's a scenario for you:

You earn £2000 net per month

Your fixed expenditure comes to £1500

You have £500 to play with

This month you stay in and only spend £300 of that

So next month if you want you can spend £700 or if you are feeling really gallus or have say an extra £500 cash coming in from a homer, you can spend £1200

You might have that same £500 extra coming in next month and fancy a holiday so spend £1700, borrowing £500 to be repaid from next months homer

That's it

You cant spend £4,000 as you can't repay it.

Why on earth do folk think football clubs should behave differently?

I take the point that you could borrow the extra £2300 and pay it back over 2 years, but the problem with that is that you no longer have £500 a month spare, you have £400 and all your costs are going up so this time next year will only have £300

Then:

Disaster - roof leaks £1000, car breaks down £400, vet bill £600 and before you know it you are f~cked, just like Hearts, Rangers, Dundee Motherwell and a truckload of English clubs.

I would love us to spend more than we do, but the only way we can do that is by bringing in more, I would hate for someone to put the club's future in jeopardy by following others who have gone down that routes business model.

If we spent as much time thinking how to raise more revenue as we did bemoaning the fact we don't pay enough or splash the boat out type of stuff then maybe we would have a better team on the park

08-08-2019, 03:32 PM

Stagnation, but from a cup win and two fourth place finishes on the bounce, with a new owner just in the door and 30 years of ownership being done away with. That kind of stagnation.

08-08-2019, 03:37 PM
It isnt popular because it is nonsense. We have invested well recently however expecting us to compete financially with Rangers is pie in the sky.

It remains to be seen if the investments have been invested wellZ

08-08-2019, 03:37 PM
Stagnation, but from a cup win and two fourth place finishes on the bounce, with a new owner just in the door and 30 years of ownership being done away with. That kind of stagnation.

Very nearly ... :wink:

08-08-2019, 03:38 PM

The team and squad looks a lot lot poorer than it did two years ago or even last year imo, it’s not developed. We haven’t moved forward therefor is a stagnation.

ElginHibbie
08-08-2019, 03:43 PM
It remains to be seen if the investments have been invested well

We haven’t moved forward therefor is a stagnation.

Didn't take long to see...

Greenworld
08-08-2019, 03:44 PM
I'm living in hope that our moves will happen when the window closes at 5pm Loans or guys out of contract

Tobias Funke
08-08-2019, 03:44 PM
Didn't take long to see...

Paloschi
08-08-2019, 03:46 PM

I mean stagnating in terms of last season and going into this. Our first season back up was tremendous. I say back to stagnation meaning from 18/19. The signings, the squad. We still have Whittaker playing! He may have been good against St Mirren but I don't think he has much left at this level.

We've lost Ambrose, McGinn, McGeouch and Boyle through injury have not replaced them IMO. Vela could turn out to be a gem. McGinn got us £2m and I have not seen that reinvested. Not adequate to be satisfied with £350k on Doidge and £150k on Kamberi... where is the rest?

To the posters that commented on £350k for Doidge. I mean generally, we don't, we look for free's and loans. I'd also like us to spend more than £350k in one window. I am disappointed if that is our marquee signing.

I just want us to be better and do better, we don't need to say we are putting the club at risk by signing one or two more talented players for fees (I'm talking to similar figures to Doidge not pie in the sky money) and we could even sell them on for a lot more if they are talented enough.

08-08-2019, 03:51 PM
To be fair, that's not a particularly persuasive reason.

I can’t disagree with you but, by the same token, what’s the persuasive reason for not announcing it? We wait till Monday and we feign satisfaction and relief at old news we knew a week ago. A bit daft in my opinion. :greengrin

08-08-2019, 03:52 PM
The team and squad looks a lot lot poorer than it did two years ago or even last year imo, it’s not developed. We haven’t moved forward therefor is a stagnation.

:faf: We have played one league game and the window isn't closed.

08-08-2019, 03:53 PM

The slavering is peaking again. 😀

08-08-2019, 03:54 PM

Also Mallan & Horgan last season & James, Jackson, Newell & Scotty will have received sizeable signing on fees this summer. Some people live in a dream world.

08-08-2019, 03:55 PM
The slavering is peaking again. 😀

Did we not also pay money for Mallan and Horgan?

08-08-2019, 03:57 PM
Hoping we announce someone soon enough cause this threads became full of tiresome pish. With some talking out their arse

We’re ONE game into the season how can people say we’ve stagnated? Just because they aren’t happy with how the squad looks?

Unreal

Torto7
08-08-2019, 03:57 PM

Wouldn't Doidge and Kamberi's fees be well covered by the McGinn money with a fair chunk leftover? I think there are subtle signs that money's being put away for the training centre.

McLaren by all accounts was on 8k at his German club and we were paying a good percentage of that-I doubt Doidge will be on more than McLaren.
Vela and Milligan probably are about the same wage wise.
Bogdan and Maxwell similar again I'd imagine.
Jackson is likely cheaper than Efe.
James and Allan along with renewals for SDG and big Daz probably match or slightly exceeds what we were giving the other lads who have left Marv, MM, Steph, Spector etc.

All in all though we do seem to be similar to the last couple of seasons which isn't really encouraging in my opinion. With the improved crowds and received transfer income along with the extra 500k from the debt being paid off, I would be hoping for a little more. There's still time in the window though.

08-08-2019, 03:59 PM

It look like that to you.

08-08-2019, 04:02 PM
:faf: We have played one league game and the window isn't closed.

There’s going to be no magic last end to the window that will see us have a better squad or team than last year or the season before though. Not grumbling about it that much but the poster was being ripped for saying we’ve not moved forward.

08-08-2019, 04:04 PM
It look like that to you.

Okay, so it isn’t true then? Our squad and team is better now than the one that started the season 2 years ago or last year? It’s almost impossible to replace a few of the players we have lost no but it’s worse shape now in terms of personnel.

08-08-2019, 04:04 PM
There’s going to be no magic last end to the window that will see us have a better squad or team than last year or the season before though. Not grumbling about it that much but the poster was being ripped for saying we’ve not moved forward.

And you said it was too early to tell :confused:

08-08-2019, 04:07 PM
Wouldn't Doidge and Kamberi's fees be well covered by the McGinn money with a fair chunk leftover? I think there are subtle signs that money's being put away for the training centre.

McLaren by all accounts was on 8k at his German club and we were paying a good percentage of that-I doubt Doidge will be on more than McLaren.
Vela and Milligan probably are about the same wage wise.
Bogdan and Maxwell similar again I'd imagine.
Jackson is likely cheaper than Efe.
James and Allan along with renewals for SDG and big Daz probably match or slightly exceeds what we were giving the other lads who have left Marv, MM, Steph, Spector etc.

All in all though we do seem to be similar to the last couple of seasons which isn't really encouraging in my opinion. With the improved crowds and received transfer income along with the extra 500k from the debt being paid off, I would be hoping for a little more. There's still time in the window though.

They should have been covered yes, with the leftover spent on the wings or the glaring miss of a defensive midfielder Trojan that’s been needed sjnce before the end of last season when Bartley was looking to be slower.

We’ve lost Ambrose in defence, McGinn McGeough, Barker, Fyvie even commins in midfield and Stokes, McLaren, Cummings up top.

No position in the team at the moment looks stronger than any of the departments half was through our promotion season or the start of last season. Marciano perhaps the one but he came in st the start of the 16 season.

08-08-2019, 04:08 PM
He was ripped for saying we never show ambition, never pay transfer fees & have the same pay structure as 2003. All total nonsense.

08-08-2019, 04:09 PM

It’s too early to tell how the players will fit in and perform yes, but last season was worse than the season before and we look weaker now than the start of last season. There can be no claim in any department we have moved forward and that’s what the poster was being ripped for.

Paloschi
08-08-2019, 04:10 PM
Wow. People on here can't handle an opinion different from their own. Instead of discussion it's dismissive or indirect slurs.

90+2 just agrees with my valid opinion. No need to gang up.

08-08-2019, 04:10 PM
Tierney signs for Arsenal.

08-08-2019, 04:11 PM
He was ripped for saying we never show ambition, never pay transfer fees & have the same pay structure as 2003. All total nonsense.

He didn’t say we didn’t ever pay transfer fees. He said there’s lack of ambition in maybe signing players for more money with a cue to sell on later - just like Barker and Ojo. People would have liked some kind of statement of intent and when you do look across the road you see Haulket and Naismith you have to wonder why we fail to attract or look for that type of player.

08-08-2019, 04:12 PM
It’s too early to tell how the players will fit in and perform yes, but last season was worse than the season before and we look weaker now than the start of last season. There can be no claim in any department we have moved forward and that’s what the poster was being ripped for.

No he wasn't.

He was getting challenged for saying we don't invest.

But crack on.

YanYansen
08-08-2019, 04:12 PM

Alas, I'm inclined to agree. We've plateaued at best (and that's being generous).

08-08-2019, 04:13 PM
Wow. People on here can't handle an opinion different from their own. Instead of discussion it's dismissive or indirect slurs.

It’s worth debating imo. But seems to be getting shot down as nothing to see here. Pre-season hasn’t been the best nor was Saturday so it may prove to be premature and all the new guys will in large be better than what is there or was there but right now the jury is out.

08-08-2019, 04:13 PM
No he wasn't.

He was getting challenged for saying we don't invest.

But crack on.

He acknowledged investing in Doidge.

08-08-2019, 04:14 PM
He didn’t say we didn’t ever pay transfer fees. He said there’s lack of ambition in maybe signing players for more money with a cue to sell on later - just like Barker and Ojo. People would have liked some kind of statement of intent and when you do look across the road you see Haulket and Naismith you have to wonder why we fail to attract or look for that type of player.

This is what he said. It doesn't resemble what you said in the slightest.

"We are Hibs, we don't generally pay money or show ambition. We have a 'wage structure' that has existed since 2003. I'd like to see us maybe show a bit more ruthlessness and maybe have 1 or 2 windows where we spend a bit more. We have the core of a good squad but are still 3 or 4 quality players missing from challenging Aberdeen. Looking at other rivals, Hearts, on paper, have had a better window.

We are back to stagnation in my humble and honest opinion. I know it won't be popular."

08-08-2019, 04:15 PM
It’s worth debating imo. But seems to be getting shot down as nothing to see here. Pre-season hasn’t been the best nor was Saturday so it may prove to be premature and all the new guys will in large be better than what is there or was there but right now the jury is out.

If the jury’s out mate surely that suggests we’re better waiting to see how things go before claiming we’ve stagnated?

Last season sitting 8th was stagnating

He acknowledged investing in Doidge.

After it was pointed out to him.

Tierney signs for Arsenal.

Wonder who Celtic will spend some of their £25m windfall on

tonyrougier123

I agree with you.👍

allan is the player we all wanted and I'm delighted he is here.

Doidge I like the look of,what I've seen anyway.

Apart from that who that we signed will be first team regulars in 6months??.....maybe jackson.

Its no been a good window,yet heckingbottom seems to know how to get the results.

It leaves me tbh a wee bit comflicted in my point of view regarding where the sqaud is at.

We definitely need pace and directness.and thankfully that is what we are trying to bring in.

Paloschi
08-08-2019, 04:17 PM
After it was pointed out to him.

I was fully aware of Doidge transfer. It was taken the wrong way or posters chose to ignore the use of the word 'generally.'

08-08-2019, 04:18 PM
Zach Clough and Cummings both still at Nottingham Forrest. Can see us going for one of them, think we’ve been linked with Clough a couple of times before.

08-08-2019, 04:22 PM
Zach Clough and Cummings both still at Nottingham Forrest. Can see us going for one of them, think we’ve been linked with Clough a couple of times before.

Not sure if it was down to injuries but Clough doesn't seem to have played much the last 2 years.

Still can't see Cummings back at Hibs.

08-08-2019, 04:23 PM

I agree with you too, apart from having lower quality, we don’t even have sufficient numbers in our squad as was shown last year when we lost out forwards to injury and had nothing as back up. IF the manager is to be believed and we are finished in the market, I think we are even weaker than last season on what I’ve seen so far from our new recruits. It’s an opinion on the state of our current squad and not a negative dig at the club.

08-08-2019, 04:25 PM

It’s never too early to tell on Hibs.net :)

08-08-2019, 04:26 PM
I was fully aware of Doidge transfer. It was taken the wrong way or posters chose to ignore the use of the word 'generally.'

That's not the point. 90+2 said that you had acknowledged Doige, but you hadn't.

However, you were criticising Hibs when you said, "we don't generally pay money" when they clearly just have.

It's like giving someone a row for usually being late when they've just turned up early.

See #PMT for further details! :hilarious

K-Zazu
08-08-2019, 04:27 PM
Celtic get 25m for Tierney and we got 2.5m for McGinn.

08-08-2019, 04:28 PM

With Stevie May apparently not going to St Johnstone now, could see them push harder for Cummings

tonyrougier123
08-08-2019, 04:28 PM
I agree with you too, apart from having lower quality, we don’t even have sufficient numbers in our squad as was shown last year when we lost out forwards to injury and had nothing as back up. IF the manager is to be believed and we are finished in the market, I think we are even weaker than last season on what I’ve seen so far from our new recruits. It’s an opinion on the state of our current squad and not a negative dig at the club.

Boyle getting injured shows how light we are imo

No one to step in to that position.

If flo was to pick up an injury we would be very one dimensional up top.

And the midfield needs addressed also.

Vela was a start slivka coming back is a plus imo.but one more needed in there.

Torto7
08-08-2019, 04:30 PM
Wonder who Celtic will spend some of their £25m windfall on

They'll bid 1 million spread out over 5 years for Mckenna probably.

Paloschi
08-08-2019, 04:30 PM
That's not the point. 90+2 said that you had acknowledged Doige, but you hadn't.

However, you were criticising Hibs when you said, "we don't generally pay money" when they clearly just have.

It's like giving someone a row for usually being late when they've just turned up early.

Yes I was criticising Hibs as I generally feel we are not being ambitious enough. Certainly has been the case in the past too.

08-08-2019, 04:34 PM
They'll bid 1 million spread out over 5 years for Mckenna probably.

A whole £1 million. As much as that! :greengrin

08-08-2019, 04:34 PM
Yes I was criticising Hibs as I generally feel we are not being ambitious enough. Certainly has been the case in the past too.

What could they do different to show ambition? Could they sign guys who have proven themselves in the lower leagues in england and possibly the championship in england? Could they sign a midfielder, who on his day is one of the best attacking midfielders in the country?

08-08-2019, 04:36 PM

I can think of a few players that we paid a fee for - Kamberi, Marciano, Mallan, Horgan for instance.

08-08-2019, 04:37 PM

Bigger club buying, years on contract, lack of good left backs in world. Really not that hard to understand. We'll get big bucks for McGinn if he ever moves on.

08-08-2019, 04:39 PM
The Jury seems to be out a lot. How does one go about getting a place on it?

08-08-2019, 04:40 PM
Okay, so it isn’t true then? Our squad and team is better now than the one that started the season 2 years ago or last year? It’s almost impossible to replace a few of the players we have lost no but it’s worse shape now in terms of personnel.

If it's almost impossible what are you griping on about?

08-08-2019, 04:40 PM

Longer contract and on much bigger money too
Wonder if we ever offered SJM a longer contract

08-08-2019, 04:47 PM
Is it just me, but the Premier League and Championship transfer window been a bit of a damp squib
Be interested to hear how much they’ve spent against previous years

CLASS OF 72 -73
08-08-2019, 04:48 PM
Heckingbottom talks the talk and I have bought into the faith and trust in what he is doing and ambition he appears to have to walk the walk. However the intake was unknown to most Hibbys which is fine but seemed uninspiring which IMO has turned out to be just that if we look at all pre season games and last Saturday at home.
A prime indicator albeit early is if we take a pasting away against the huns on Sunday its pretty much what we are worried about with the english lower league signings he's made, ( I include Bolton and Rotherham in that) if we handle it with a draw, win or even a one goal defeat there is some hope in his masterplan.

08-08-2019, 04:51 PM

All Jim44 was saying was that if what the itk folk were saying about the Middleton deal being done and dusted and would be announced after Sunday’s match at Ibrox, then why couldn’t the club put out an official note to that effect and I think that is a perfectly reasonable comment.
As things stand (not being an itk person myself) perhaps the player failed the medical, perhaps he has changed his mind about joining Hibs, perhaps the clubs have failed to agree the terms of the loan arrangement, perhaps a better alternative has been brought to Hecky’s notice and he has put a freeze on the move.
I personally hope it goes ahead. I saw Middleton play in the Huns first team at the start of last season and he was impressive. Strong, robust, quick going past defenders. Prepared to move in off his wing and shoot at goal. In my opinion he is a Hecky type player.
I just don’t think there is any need to get argumentative about someone passing a reasonable comment. We are all Hibs fans and want the best for the club.

08-08-2019, 04:53 PM
This thread's going well.

08-08-2019, 04:55 PM
Love these arguments about progressing or cracking on. We cant "crack on" from third or fourth. Its impossible unless we get some ridiculous investment, we'll never finish higher.

What are people actually expecting?

I've said it before but Hibs over the last 30-40 years average mid table pish, somewhere between 7th and 8th.

When was the last time we had a run of 3 or 4 top half finishes?

We just need to accept the rough with the smooth and accept that success is continuing top half finishes and pushing for europe. Nothing to suggest so far this year we'll be finishing bottom half

08-08-2019, 04:55 PM
People do realise the Scottish window is still open?

Torto7
08-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Heckingbottom talks the talk and I have bought into the faith and trust in what he is doing and ambition he appears to have to walk the walk. However the intake was unknown to most Hibbys which is fine but seemed uninspiring which IMO has turned out to be just that if we look at all pre season games and last Saturday at home.
A prime indicator albeit early is if we take a pasting away against the huns on Sunday its pretty much what we are worried about with the english lower league signings he's made, ( I include Bolton and Rotherham in that) if we handle it with a draw, win or even a one goal defeat there is some hope in his masterplan.

I'm not against signing lower league players especially if he knows that market. There are good players down there and most of the guys we've signed don't look like bad players to me.

We just look too short in certain positions. A few injuries to certain players will give me the fear. If Vela gets injured for instance.

08-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Is it just me, but the Premier League and Championship transfer window been a bit of a damp squib
Be interested to hear how much they’ve spent against previous years

Sure they said on the radio close to a billion pounds, I probably heard wrong though as that's a lot

08-08-2019, 04:58 PM

Yeah
Most of the loans from the Premier League etc, will start kicking in, next week or so

08-08-2019, 04:58 PM

Yeah but only for about another month.

08-08-2019, 05:03 PM
Depending on how we get on vs Rangers might depend how much more we do in the window. Will show us where we are at and what we are missing.

Still seems everyone is of the same opinion that we need a defensive midfielder, winger and striker.

What we need is quality that will be instant starters

08-08-2019, 05:04 PM

But we are finished apart from a winger (according to the manager), that doesn’t fill me with hope that we will see anyone else, that’s my concern.

08-08-2019, 05:04 PM
I mean stagnating in terms of last season and going into this. Our first season back up was tremendous. I say back to stagnation meaning from 18/19. The signings, the squad. We still have Whittaker playing! He may have been good against St Mirren but I don't think he has much left at this level.

We've lost Ambrose, McGinn, McGeouch and Boyle through injury have not replaced them IMO. Vela could turn out to be a gem. McGinn got us £2m and I have not seen that reinvested. Not adequate to be satisfied with £350k on Doidge and £150k on Kamberi... where is the rest?

To the posters that commented on £350k for Doidge. I mean generally, we don't, we look for free's and loans. I'd also like us to spend more than £350k in one window. I am disappointed if that is our marquee signing.

I just want us to be better and do better, we don't need to say we are putting the club at risk by signing one or two more talented players for fees (I'm talking to similar figures to Doidge not pie in the sky money) and we could even sell them on for a lot more if they are talented enough.

I'm probably taking you to task a bit too much in the word itself, and I'd think an unconvincing season of scrambling around to finish fifth, sixth or seventh would see us in danger of stagnating. The way you put it seems unnecessarily harsh though for a time that have started the season alright, we're a bit in transition, plus we don't know what having Gordon in charge will really mean over the next year.

It's less exciting than it was which is what worries folk about Heckingbottom, but we probably fluked out a bit during that six months in 2018 - our better players were coming to the end of things with us, Scottish clubs don't often replace like with like, that's just the way it is. The money's not there (yet?) to do things differently, but no one knows if we're stagnating or progressing (or regressing) quite yet.

Torto7
08-08-2019, 05:05 PM
Yeah
Most of the loans from the Premier League etc, will start kicking in, next week or so

I think folk are getting nervy about PH's comments of being finished in the market. Albeit I don't believe him.

Some very good players suddenly become available when the other markets close and their options narrow. I hope Hibs strategy this year has been to get the core guys in and lower the age of the squad and then supplement it later in the window.

08-08-2019, 05:10 PM
This thread's going well.

What were you expecting?

That’s not a dig at you or the forum, I’m just a bit surprised anybody would still come on to page 1 million of the transfer window thread, with no new transfer rumours and expect the thread to still be on topic?

08-08-2019, 05:11 PM

I would have been horrified had we signed either

Halkett isn't all that, I would rather have Porteous

Naismith and Hearts are a match made in heaven and he would never have come here

Let's see who scores more Kamberi or Naismith

Doidge or Washington

It seems a peculiarly Hibs phenomenon that every other team has made better signings than we have before the season starts.

Whilst there may well be a valid argument in there, football is a results business and it is only after the results are in that anyone can say for sure.

Folk see to get themselves right agitated about anything these days rather than waiting to see what transpires.

Health aside which is completely separate issues with all other sorts of variables.

Few things in life ever turn out as bad as folk fear.

08-08-2019, 05:12 PM
Love these arguments about progressing or cracking on. We cant "crack on" from third or fourth. Its impossible unless we get some ridiculous investment, we'll never finish higher.

I've said it before but Hibs over the last 30-40 years average mid table pish, somewhere between 7th and 8th.

We just need to accept the rough with the smooth and accept that success is continuing top half finishes and pushing for europe. Nothing to suggest so far this year we'll be finishing bottom half

We haven’t finished 3rd in the top league for 15 years, surely that’s an achievable next step in terms of progression, and then look to try and consistently finish top 3. Aberdeen have achieved it the last 5 or 6 years so no reason why it’s not achievable.

The top 6 should be a bare minimum not an achievementIMO, regardless of historical finishing positions. Otherwise what are we actually building towards and what was the point of building East Mains and finishing the stadium.

08-08-2019, 05:13 PM
I think folk are getting nervy about PH's comments of being finished in the market. Albeit I don't believe him.

Some very good players suddenly become available when the other markets close and their options narrow. I hope Hibs strategy this year has been to get the core guys in and lower the age of the squad and then supplement it later in the window.

He shouldn’t have said it then, it certainly wouldn’t have helped to shift more season tickets. The normal statements from managers is that they are always on the lookout for players and will see what becomes available. Trying to make it out to be a bit of a poker strategy just doesn’t cut it for me. Who else would actually care if Hibs are still trying to strengthen.

08-08-2019, 05:19 PM
All Jim44 was saying was that if what the itk folk were saying about the Middleton deal being done and dusted and would be announced after Sunday’s match at Ibrox, then why couldn’t the club put out an official note to that effect and I think that is a perfectly reasonable comment.
As things stand (not being an itk person myself) perhaps the player failed the medical, perhaps he has changed his mind about joining Hibs, perhaps the clubs have failed to agree the terms of the loan arrangement, perhaps a better alternative has been brought to Hecky’s notice and he has put a freeze on the move.
I personally hope it goes ahead. I saw Middleton play in the Huns first team at the start of last season and he was impressive. Strong, robust, quick going past defenders. Prepared to move in off his wing and shoot at goal. In my opinion he is a Hecky type player.
I just don’t think there is any need to get argumentative about someone passing a reasonable comment. We are all Hibs fans and want the best for the club.

I wasn't arguing. I was asking a reasonable question and making a reasonable point.

08-08-2019, 05:19 PM

We finished top 6 about 6 years in a row, 2005-2010

08-08-2019, 05:20 PM

Naismith and Hearts are a match made in heaven and he would never have come here

Doidge or Washington

It seems a peculiarly Hibs phenomenon that every other team has made better signings than we have before the season starts.

Whilst there may well be a valid argument in there, football is a results business and it is only after the results are in that anyone can say for sure.

Folk see to get themselves right agitated about anything these days rather than waiting to see what transpires.

Health aside which is completely separate issues with all other sorts of variables.

Halkett is superb.

08-08-2019, 05:23 PM
Halkett is superb.
Aw cmon. He's decent but in no stretch of the imagination is he superb

08-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Aw cmon. He's decent but in no stretch of the imagination is he superb

He's an outstanding player in this division. Can defend, can play, has the heart of a lion and has a knack for scoring.

Hate to say it cos he's signed for them but he's a future Scotland regular.

08-08-2019, 05:37 PM
He's an outstanding player in this division. Can defend, can play, has the heart of a lion and has a knack for scoring.

Jeezo someone has found a fairly pure and highly potent new source of Class A intoxitant

08-08-2019, 05:37 PM

Doidge or Washington

I think hearts have recruited well, I don’t see how people could deny that. Getting Halkett, Walker, Washington and Naismith are good signings, if none had hearts connections I’m sure we would be delighted with those. All 4 would probably start or be important players for us too imo.

Naismith, for as horrible a guy he is is a good player and has a very good goal scoring record for hearts, he also offers a lot off the ball and in the build up.

If they get the guys they’re rumoured with - Lafferty, Whelan and Damour then they will be looking strong and provide serious competition for 4th place.

Its still early to judge our guys and they’re largely unknown, some fans have took to them and some haven’t.

Jackson - Looks solid, good addition. Been impressed with him so far
Vela - Looks good, energetic and likes getting on the ball. Sloppy in his debut on the ball
Allan - Brilliant but fear we will be way too reliant on him
Newell - seems to have divided fans, composed and has quality on the ball but it’s getting his right position and him doing it regularly.
James - Undoubted quality on the ball, still to be tested defensively.
Doidge - Works hard and looks a threat but never helped his case with missing 3 very good sitters on his debut.

A lot seem to have not taken to Newell and James based on their languid body language when playing

Personally I’m happy with our signings so far and think all have good quality, are comfortable on the ball and will provide good strength to the squad. No one, bar Allan has wowed me though thinking “what a player/signing he is going to me”.

I still think we need 3 more additions of real quality and then we will be looking good..

08-08-2019, 05:43 PM

He said "we don't generally pay transfer fees or show ambition". That was it. You've just put your own interpretation on what he meant by that. As for them signing Halkett, I think he's decent but he's had 1 season, with Livi, in the Scottish top flight. We signed Jackson who had 3 seasons in League 1 & the Championship for Barnsley. You could easily make a case that our signing showed more ambition & imagination!

Hakim Sar
The pessimism on here is a joke at times. We have a forward thinking, ambitious, young manager who has put his neck on the line in shaping our squad with players from a market that he knows well and clearly has faith in. I applaud the decision to back our manager and "go for it" with his plans. It is not without its risks, but the rewards could be phenomenal. Scoffing at lower league English players? Wake up... 6 of the Scot Prem teams are usually so bad it's laughable. There is loads to be positive about with our new team. The experienced core is still there. The new players are from similar experiences and backgrounds which should foster a good team spirit. Heck is our leader, and Ron Gordon has only had half a transfer window, give them both your full backing.

Christ I was reading back the way and thought you were referring to Tierney.

Halkett stood out in an average Livingston team. That’s it. I would have thought he’d be a decent signing, but he went to Hearts and I’m loosing no sleep over that whatsoever.

08-08-2019, 05:48 PM
I'm just surprised/disappointed we didn't seem interested in trying to re-sign Omeonga - I thought he was superb for us !

Btw - see Morelos's value has plumeted by some £20m -

Weegie Herald

'Rangers have knocked back a bid in excess of £10 million from West Bromwich Albion for Colombian striker Alfredo Morelos, according to the Daily Record'
(https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/alfredo-morelos-transfer-latest-rangers-18858883)

Of course, once you see what 'paper' this 'info' is coming from it's difficult to decide if it's Traynor or the Huns Daily-fanzine making it up !

(https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/alfredo-morelos-transfer-latest-rangers-18858883)

08-08-2019, 05:49 PM

Halkett stood out in an average Livingston team. That’s it. I would have thought he’d be a decent signing, but he went to Hearts and I’m loosing no sleep over that whatsoever.

Exactly, he is a decent CH and that's about it, I wouldnt swap any of our 4 CH's for him

Torto7
He shouldn’t have said it then, it certainly wouldn’t have helped to shift more season tickets. The normal statements from managers is that they are always on the lookout for players and will see what becomes available. Trying to make it out to be a bit of a poker strategy just doesn’t cut it for me. Who else would actually care if Hibs are still trying to strengthen.

I agree he shouldn't have said it and if it turns out to be a truthful statement then I won't be happy with the window we've had. Heckingbottom is quite blunt in his press conferences though and constantly contradicts himself like most managers do.

We were going to pay a fee for Ojo and I don't believe that Velas signing on fee was anywhere near the six figures sum we agreed with S****horpe. McNulty and Omeonga were targets apparently. That money must have been budgeted for. I don't buy for a second that we're finished in the market.

He stood out against every single opposition. Including the big two.

08-08-2019, 05:50 PM
Halkett is superb.

Dearie me, that's a bit OTT

Torto7
08-08-2019, 05:53 PM
Dearie me, that's a bit OTT

I know Livvy fans that rated Declan Gallagher as being better than Halkett.

08-08-2019, 05:55 PM
Allan is that type, much better signing than either of those.

08-08-2019, 05:56 PM
I'm surprised we didn't seem interested in trying to re-sign Omeonga - I thought he was superb for us !

Eh??? Our manager repeatedly said we were trying our best to get him back but in terms of cash he was out of our reach

Are people just saying things for the sake of it?

Everton have thrown some money about and recruited quite well I think. Cmon the Toffees!

Halkett is superb.

No he isn't.

08-08-2019, 06:04 PM
I know Livvy fans that rated Declan Gallagher as being better than Halkett.

Hipsters. There were Hibs fans who'd have you believe Mcgeouch was better than Mcginn for long enough.

08-08-2019, 06:05 PM
That's Hibs, that's Scottish football, that's life, get use to it.

08-08-2019, 06:07 PM
I don't know much about Halkett. Time will tell if he's a good signing or not.

Spudster
08-08-2019, 06:15 PM
Everton have thrown some money about and recruited quite well I think. Cmon the Toffees!
Iwobi for £40m is the pinnacle of ridiculous English transfers IMO

08-08-2019, 06:19 PM
Iwobi for £40m is the pinnacle of ridiculous English transfers IMO

£28m up front. Still a lot, but a third of the price of Zaha And 3 years younger. Will get more regular gametime at Everton to develop. Completes a exciting front 3 with Richarlison & Kean.

hibeerealist
08-08-2019, 06:19 PM
Longer contract and on much bigger money too
Wonder if we ever offered SJM a longer contract

we did and couple of times, he politely said he was happy to run with contract he had.

08-08-2019, 06:24 PM
I'm just surprised/disappointed we didn't seem interested in trying to re-sign Omeonga - I thought he was superb for us !

We tried our best to get him, but weren't able to match his wages as well as others. We apparently tried all summer.

08-08-2019, 06:27 PM
So Did Hornby or Moult go out on loan before the window slammed shut ?

If not does that mean IF they move it can’t be to EPL or Championship clubs but free to go to Leagues 1 or 2, abroad or Scotland ?