View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
24-07-2019, 10:30 PM
How do we gauge how good he is?
Is there really any need to take this thread off track? I’m not sure he will be a first class signing.
24-07-2019, 10:32 PM
So we have been unable to get the only 2 loan signings we wanted from last season, McNulty & Omeonga. And we binned the other 6 or 7 loanees from last season who were either hopeless or pulled a sicky.
What a waste of time and to our resources loanees have been. There has been a zero return on our investment in loan signings from last season. How much has this cost us?
Very disappointed we could not get McNulty & Omeonga over the line for this season, especially McNulty. He potentially could have scored plenty for us.
Thank christ our strategy for this season so far is only one loan signing, think it is the goalie, Maxwell.
Dempster must be scrutinising the people in our ‘recruitment team’. If she is not she bloody well should be. Last year’s strike rate was a very poor one for new players. Even for the decent ones brought in, Mallan and Horgan, for quite a few posters on here the jury is still out on them.
I have always felt progression is bringing in better players than those you already have. Given we now have a new owner who has allegedly injected a 7 figure sum, does our squad look significantly better now compared to last season? Most of them are unproven lower English division players. I can’t get over the feeling that the standard of players we have brought in should be no better than players we are bringing through our development squad. If our development squad are no better than lower English division players what is happening with our youth development.
The only signing I would hang my hat on is Allan. Having 8 out of 9 new signings with little or no knowledge of the SPL is a huge risk.
No one can doubt now that what we have is a Hecky team. He was brought in with the expectation that he had to fit in with our current rigid structure. i.e. our heavily influential recruitment team.
This now begs the question, if our new signings are not up to it and Hibs have a similar season to last.......out of the cups before the semis and a mediocre league campaign, who do we blame.
Hecky or our recruitment team?
Cor blimey. That’s a corker. Wow.
24-07-2019, 10:34 PM
We can't we can only give him a platform
1875STEVE
24-07-2019, 10:37 PM
So we have been unable to get the only 2 loan signings we wanted from last season, McNulty & Omeonga. And we binned the other 6 or 7 loanees from last season who were either hopeless or pulled a sicky.
What a waste of time and to our resources loanees have been. There has been a zero return on our investment in loan signings from last season. How much has this cost us?
Very disappointed we could not get McNulty & Omeonga over the line for this season, especially McNulty. He potentially could have scored plenty for us.
Thank christ our strategy for this season so far is only one loan signing, think it is the goalie, Maxwell.
Dempster must be scrutinising the people in our ‘recruitment team’. If she is not she bloody well should be. Last year’s strike rate was a very poor one for new players. Even for the decent ones brought in, Mallan and Horgan, for quite a few posters on here the jury is still out on them.
I have always felt progression is bringing in better players than those you already have. Given we now have a new owner who has allegedly injected a 7 figure sum, does our squad look significantly better now compared to last season? Most of them are unproven lower English division players. I can’t get over the feeling that the standard of players we have brought in should be no better than players we are bringing through our development squad. If our development squad are no better than lower English division players what is happening with our youth development.
The only signing I would hang my hat on is Allan. Having 8 out of 9 new signings with little or no knowledge of the SPL is a huge risk.
No one can doubt now that what we have is a Hecky team. He was brought in with the expectation that he had to fit in with our current rigid structure. i.e. our heavily influential recruitment team.
This now begs the question, if our new signings are not up to it and Hibs have a similar season to last.......out of the cups before the semis and a mediocre league campaign, who do we blame.
Where about are these "lower league english" players unproven?
Vela, Newell and Jackson have all played most of there career in the Championship. and Maxwell has plenty Championship experience.
Doidge, ok, has played lower but he has smashed goals in, there is always players doing this and over the years teams have taken a chance on them and it's worked. Charlie Austin, Jamie Vardy, Adam Le Fondre.
James has clearly proved himself as West Brom tried to sign him last year.
Vela had Hull this summer after him, and there was talk of clubs bidding £5m for him last year.
None of these players are "unproven"
Maybe last post was a bit OTT with short changed.
however the facts are hecky has missed out on 2 players he openly said he wanted.
3 if you include Ojo.
Not sure what point you are trying to make. Yes, we wanted McNulty and Omeonga but their clubs were after more than we wanted to pay. How many clubs get every single player they want?
As for Ojo, who's to say Vela wasn't our preferred choice over Ojo anyway. We brought in Vela very quickly after we knew Ojo wasn't coming so had obviously been in discussions with him.
I haven't seen anyone on here saying they'd rather we'd got Ojo instead of Vela, unless that's what you're getting at. Who would you choose, Ojo or Vela?
25-07-2019, 12:38 AM
If Hornby comes will he be given the 00 squad number?
Quality chat :top marks
25-07-2019, 12:50 AM
He's so good he doesn't have any need for coaches.....
25-07-2019, 05:18 AM
I have heard he is a model professional
25-07-2019, 05:36 AM
Hope if we do sign him he doesnt hit the buffers
SANH 1875
25-07-2019, 05:46 AM
Hope if we do sign him he doesnt hit the buffers
Has a drink problem, he's always steaming
25-07-2019, 06:04 AM
He's so good he doesn't have any need for coaches.....
You should see him train. Runs like a locomotive.
25-07-2019, 06:10 AM
This thread has become a train wreck.
25-07-2019, 06:15 AM
Hornby would be a great signing for Wee Rons train set
MacGruber
25-07-2019, 06:33 AM
The Everton Kid Fraser Hornby has the same surname as the model train sets you get - the Hornby ones.. lolz
25-07-2019, 06:35 AM
He's going to pump her....
25-07-2019, 06:41 AM
If we sign this Everton boy I will be chuffed to bits
25-07-2019, 06:45 AM
He will get ideas above his station.
25-07-2019, 06:51 AM
I’m really hoping he choo-chooses us
25-07-2019, 06:58 AM
What absolutely howfing chat you have. Ridiculous post.
We have just installed Vela and Scott Allan into our midfield. We are very fortunate to have them both. We are also building upon an already strong squad from last season that finished 5th and was in the running for European places despite a managerial meltdown and injury crisis. 90% of our signings have played consistently at a higher level and recently attracted interest from clubs with much deeper pockets than us. Doige is the only exception, but it is widely regarded that this is a clever signing.
Gaffer1875
25-07-2019, 07:02 AM
Don't think he's ever played first team football?
Seen him a couple of times for Scotland u21’s and looks good
25-07-2019, 07:08 AM
That's what I'm basing him on his performances got Scotland U21s where he looked fantastic, played in the team with Porteous and Mallan
25-07-2019, 07:18 AM
You've lost me with all these train puns, what's the link?
25-07-2019, 07:40 AM
Unless you are being funny and there is an in depth train pun in your post that I am missing, the Everton lads name is Hornby. Like the toy train manufacturers
25-07-2019, 07:41 AM
I’m really hoping he choo-chooses us
It would be a signal of intent. :greengrin
Barman Stanton
25-07-2019, 07:41 AM
Its really clever, the guys name is Hornby. Like the trains. So there is now a couple of pages of train puns. Pretty hilarious.
25-07-2019, 07:52 AM
One thing that's bothering me about all this is that when I were a lad there was an alternative model train manufacturer called Lima. given our newfound Peruvian connection, I'm not sure this Hornby thing's going to happen.
mcfly
25-07-2019, 08:16 AM
This must be a wind up or your fishing for a bite.
Ridiculous post and you must be loads of fun to sit beside at Easter road although I’d doubt very much you can cope watching such mediocrity.
25-07-2019, 08:21 AM
Unless you are being funny and there is an in depth train pun in your post that I am missing, the Everton lads name is Hornby. Like the toy train manufacturers
Its really clever, the guys name is Hornby. Like the trains. So there is now a couple of pages of train puns. Pretty hilarious.
Ah, okay. Aye great patter right enough. OR SHOULD I SAY GREAT TRAIN-ER LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
25-07-2019, 08:41 AM
His career is at a crossing.
25-07-2019, 08:44 AM
Unsworth has confirmed that Hornby is leaving on loan, I certainly hope it's to us. He had a significant injury/recovery period last season, so he'll be looking to make a real impact this year.
25-07-2019, 08:53 AM
This thread has become a train wreck.
Aw the puns make some folk chuffing furious.
25-07-2019, 09:03 AM
Unsworth has confirmed that Hornby is leaving on loan, I certainly hope it's to us. He had a significant injury/recovery period last season, so he'll be looking to make a real impact this year.
I hope this doesn't become another case of us rehabbing another club's player, if he does indeed make tracks for the Hibees.
Saw him score a hat trick & he looked good. A couple of other times he looked ponderous. He does have a happy knack of grabbing a goal & he's good in the air. I'd be surprised if he's coming here as we couldn't guarantee him game time.
25-07-2019, 09:30 AM
Saw him score a hat trick & he looked good. A couple of other times he looked ponderous. He does have a happy knack of grabbing a goal & he's good in the air. I'd be surprised if he's coming here as we couldn't guarantee him game time.
........ he’d be a bit of a passenger.
25-07-2019, 09:31 AM
What did we pay for Vela ?
A whopping signing on fee. Just because he was on a free doesn't mean he was signed for nowt.
25-07-2019, 09:36 AM
Don't fancy taking a 19 year old Everton player on loan. Would rather give our own youth players a chance.
Agreed. Some short sighted posters want us to put Shaw out on loan to get experience and we repkace him with a loanee placed with us to get the experience Shaw needs?
25-07-2019, 09:40 AM
Agreed. Some short sighted posters want us to put Shaw out on loan to get experience and we repkace him with a loanee placed with us to get the experience Shaw needs?
Maybe Hornby is better than Shaw? What if Shaw produces 10 goals this season And hornby can get us 15? Have we to just stick with Shaw because he's came through the academy?
3 pages of pun carnage, 3 mins I'll never get back
25-07-2019, 09:55 AM
There should really be some sort of replacement bus service to take you around it all.
Or give these pun posters a good shunt.
Barman Stanton
25-07-2019, 09:59 AM
Just kind of makes me cringe when I scroll through them all. Others seem to get a real kick from them though so no harm I guess. :dunno:
25-07-2019, 10:06 AM
Can folk please **** right off with your pish pun ‘bantz’.
Caversham Green
25-07-2019, 10:06 AM
One thing that's bothering me about all this is that when I were a lad there was an alternative model train manufacturer called Lima. given our newfound Peruvian connection, I'm not sure this Hornby thing's going to happen.
There's probably a joke about TRI-ANGles in there too, but I'm not going to be the one to make it.
25-07-2019, 10:08 AM
Hornby is a great player. He was a standout for Scotland U21s at Tynecastle last season, scoring a hat-trick when he was a few years younger than most other players.
25-07-2019, 10:14 AM
Can folk please **** right off with your pish pun ‘bantz’.
Correct! 2100 with that sort of thing! 😏
25-07-2019, 10:17 AM
Just kind of makes me cringe when I scroll through them all. Others seem to get a real kick from them though so no harm I guess. :dunno:
There ain't many genuine rumours around to distract us.
25-07-2019, 10:19 AM
Hornby’s got some engine on him to be fair. Leads the line well and concentrates well, very much on his guard.
If he’s departing Everton, even on loan, we’ll need to have significant pull to make Hibs his next stop.
Like Vela though, we’ll get him if we show him how much he is wanted.
We need to see it, say it, sorted!
Barman Stanton
25-07-2019, 10:22 AM
There ain't many genuine rumours around to distract us.
I know, but people see 3 new pages and think something must be happening. Only to see page after page of bad puns. Hey each to their own man.
Silversand
25-07-2019, 10:35 AM
I know, but people see 3 new pages and think something must be happening. Only to see page after page of bad puns. Hey each to their own man.
Agree - End of the line for the puns, please.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
BonnieFitbaTeam
25-07-2019, 10:37 AM
Hornby’s got some engine on him to be fair. Leads the line well and concentrates well, very much on his guard.
If he’s departing Everton, even on loan, we’ll need to have significant pull to make Hibs his next stop.
https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPANEAAP///729vVn/yAAAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh/sFodHRwOi8vd3d3LnJ0bHNvZnQuY29tL2FuaW1hZ2ljLwoKQ3J lYXRlZCB3aXRoIEFuaW1hZ2ljIEdJRiBWIDEuMjEKYnkgUmlna HQgdG8gTGVmdCBTb2Z0d2FyZSBJbmMuCgpUbyBzdXBwcmVzcyB 0aGlzIG1lc3NhZ2UgaW4gdGhlIHJlZ2lzdGVyZWQgdmVyc2lvb gp1bmNoZWNrICJPcHRpb25zIHwgQW5pbWFnaWMgY29tbWVudCB mcmFtZSIKACH5BAkeAAEALAAAAAAPAA8AAAI6jD2Zx5EC4WIjW nmqeFIPtElh GnX SiqulUDALyw7LozHM/tdveuw5PlfsAWjvMBtRQYiqnTyKgaBQAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOYw9mceRAuFiI1p5qnhbbtSF3OB cplQpqrqlADC88Ju6M023G86nZRzD Uot2SiDUmAomsik4VA1CgAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOow9mceRAuFiI1p5qnhSD7RJYfh p1/koqrpVAwC8sOy6MxzP7Xb3rsOT5X7AFo7zAbUUGIqp08ioGgUA IfkECR4AAQAsAAAAAA8ADwAAAjqMPZnHkQLhYkM8WcfJ0nbtRK KoVeNpZcqqpBYADHAMqy9d166M41ko49F odTsAiqyJI1LZNJwrBoFACH5BAkeAAEALAAAAAAPAA8AAAI6jD 2Zx5EC4WIjWnmqeFIPtElh GnX SiqulUDALyw7LozHM/tdveuw5PlfsAWjvMBtRQYiqnTyKgaBQAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOow9mceRAuFiQzxZx8nSdu1Eoqh V42llyqqkFgAMcAyrL13XrozjWSjj0X6h1OwCKrIkjUtk0nCsG gUAIfkECR4AAQAsAAAAAA8ADwAAAjqMPZnHkQLhYiNaeap4Ug 0SWH4adf5KKq6VQMAvLDsujMcz 12967Dk V wBaO8wG1FBiKqdPIqBoFADs= That last one will have a fairly limited audience, I suspect.
25-07-2019, 10:47 AM
From an Everton Supporting mate
“Fraser Hornby came on yesterday for 1st team, played well caused issues for Wigan defence”
25-07-2019, 10:56 AM
Hornby sounds like he’d be an upgrade on Shaw. No harm done if someone develops Shaw for us and we develop Hornby for Everton and have a better player for the season as well.
25-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Ardenttwo
25-07-2019, 11:12 AM
........ he’d be a bit of a passenger.
Just my train of thought but is he any good ?
More than month until the transfer window closes, Heckingbottom says we're done so genuine rumours might be few and far between. I'd recommend you stay away from this thread over the coming weeks for the good of your sanity.
That said, I'm guessing we'll still bring another 1 or 2 in. Although Heckingbottom has said our transfer business is done. Maybe he is separating the transfer market from the loan market and is looking at 1 or 2 loan deals, given that we'd wanted Omeonga and McNulty.
25-07-2019, 11:30 AM
He's also said previously that he quite likes the loan system, I'd guess there will be 2 further loan deals
25-07-2019, 12:29 PM
I can’t beleive people seriously want Stevie May, he is absolutely rotten.
He scored 2 in 32 last season.
dchibs
25-07-2019, 12:33 PM
Just my train of thought but is he any good ?
heard he was really quick and is known as the flying scotsman.
25-07-2019, 12:33 PM
There is nothing in this Hornby thing
25-07-2019, 12:35 PM
We would be guaranteed a few extra points with Hornby onboard
25-07-2019, 12:35 PM
More than month until the transfer window closes, Heckingbottom says we're done so genuine rumours might be few and far between. I'd recommend you stay away from this thread over the coming weeks for the good of your sanity.
That said, I'm guessing we'll still bring another 1 or 2 in. Although Heckingbottom has said our transfer business is done. Maybe he is separating the transfer market from the loan market and is looking at 1 or 2 loan deals, given that we'd wanted Omeonga and McNulty.
May be departures before we get any new arrivals.
25-07-2019, 12:39 PM
May be departures before we get any new arrivals.
9 3/4 I heard.....
25-07-2019, 12:40 PM
Dreadful.
25-07-2019, 01:04 PM
Can’t bear them
25-07-2019, 01:07 PM
Dreadful.
If folk want to bash out the same puns time and again then fair play to them. I'd rather just not click on a transfer rumour thread and have 3 pages of them to shift through.
Torto7
25-07-2019, 01:19 PM
Can’t bear them
Agreed people should leave out the puns and only stick to the the bear necessities.
25-07-2019, 03:27 PM
Agreed people should leave out the puns and only stick to the the bear necessities.
Message received. Let’s all paws for thought at this point.
25-07-2019, 03:30 PM
Message received. Let’s all paws for thought at this point.
You're right - we need to claw this back......
25-07-2019, 03:33 PM
You're right - we need to claw this back......
Nail on the head mate!
25-07-2019, 04:19 PM
If folk want to bash out the same puns time and again then fair play to them. I'd rather just not click on a transfer rumour thread and have 3 pages of them to shift through.
You just need to mind the gap between puns.
25-07-2019, 04:47 PM
The tendancy towards puns on this site is absolutely grim.
Does this happen on the bounce?
Mango Man
25-07-2019, 04:50 PM
It's very rare that puns are funny, I think most would agree, now it's just people doing them to annoy the people complaining about them, it's all painfully unfunny, cheese and fish ones are the worst.
25-07-2019, 05:16 PM
If you're not happy about the puns, then complain to Hibs about the lack of transfer activity instead of complaining that someone is having a laugh.
I'm just annoyed that I'm too late for the train puns.
25-07-2019, 06:04 PM
Away and find out and give us punsters peace....
25-07-2019, 06:06 PM
They spring up from time to time.
25-07-2019, 06:23 PM
Away and find out and give us punsters peace....
Can't wait for someone to start a pun thread I'm going to fill it with transfer rumours and genuine news
MacGruber
25-07-2019, 06:26 PM
Even if Hecky prefers one up top there will be plenty times the occasion will call for 2 up top. Then there will be games we go behind in and need to throw on another striker to chase the game. We really need another striker option. Considering the type of striker we have someone like though not necessarily Jason Cummings would be ideal
thegaffer12
25-07-2019, 06:27 PM
Stevie May's transfer to St Johnstone has fallen through, thanks to demands from his agent... A Mr Rowan Vine 😂
25-07-2019, 06:51 PM
Ojo getting slated on Sportsound...dodged a bullet spring to mind.
Wee Effen Bee
25-07-2019, 07:08 PM
If you're not happy about the puns, then complain to Hibs about the lack of transfer activity instead of complaining that someone is having a laugh.
I'm just annoyed that I'm too late for the train puns.
Should’ve checked the timetable at Haymarket then you might have caught them.
Ya choo-choob!:greengrin
25-07-2019, 07:13 PM
Ojo getting slated on Sportsound...dodged a bullet spring to mind.
Couple of my aberdeen supporting mates sound really happy with him, concedes a pen but sounded soft according to them...
25-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Can't wait for someone to start a pun thread I'm going to fill it with transfer rumours and genuine news
Laughed out loud at that one :top marks
25-07-2019, 07:24 PM
:top marks :greengrin
Couple of my aberdeen supporting mates sound really happy with him, concedes a pen but sounded soft according to them...
Have they seen him play? Is this not his 1st game?
25-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Have they seen him play? Is this not his 1st game?
Aye happy with him based on his debut tonight
Was it on tv somewhere? I'm assuming they're not in Georgia. Not being smart, genuinely interested & of course hoping he's garbage!
25-07-2019, 07:42 PM
So your Aberdeen mates were in deepest darkest middle Eurasia watching him? The BBC pundits ripped him a new one, particularly the head sheep hearder Willie Miller and they were there watching the game. OJO apparently got a midfield nose bleed if he strayed more than 10 yards from his own box
As for soft penalty all penalties will be soft this season due to the rule changes.
25-07-2019, 07:46 PM
So your Aberdeen mates were in deepest darkest middle Eurasia watching him? The BBC pundits ripped him a new one, particularly the head sheep hearder Willie Miller and they were there watching the game. OJO apparently got a midfield nose bleed if he strayed more than 10 yards from his own box
As for soft penalty all penalties will be soft this season due to the rule changes.
Think we all know the BBC pundits are murder
And not all penalties will be soft just due to a rule change
h18eeynick
25-07-2019, 07:51 PM
Says on BBC Scotland report that he could have been sent off before the penalty for a 2 footed lunge ! Early days but happy if we missed nothing special
25-07-2019, 07:51 PM
They spring up from time to time.
That my friend is an absolute quality quip.:faf::faf::faf: Totally wasted hiding on this thread.:top marks
Wee Scottie Dug
25-07-2019, 07:56 PM
Was it on tv somewhere? I'm assuming they're not in Georgia. Not being smart, genuinely interested & of course hoping he's garbage!
It was on Premier Sports ...... I watched about 25 minutes of it and Ojo looked OK but nothing special. Based on the 58 minutes I saw of Vela on Tuesday and the wee bit of Ojo tonight I'm happy with the outcome (assuming of course we weren't in for both of them!) ...... Pretty limited sampling albeit :greengrin
25-07-2019, 08:05 PM
In a dodgy pub that shows premier sports/Aberdeen TV :greengrin
25-07-2019, 08:24 PM
Puns are tragic.
25-07-2019, 08:39 PM
Puns are tragic.
That's a bit harsh. They won 2-0.
It was on Premier Sports ...... I watched about 25 minutes of it and Ojo looked OK but nothing special. Based on the 58 minutes I saw of Vela on Tuesday and the wee bit of Ojo tonight I'm happy with the outcome (assuming of course we weren't in for both of them!) ...... Pretty limited sampling albeit :greengrin
OK, cheers!
Wee Effen Bee
25-07-2019, 10:26 PM
That's a bit harsh. They won 2-0.
He said puns not Huns! Keep up with the (football) programme Flash!
Maybe last post was a bit OTT with short changed.
however the facts are hecky has missed out on 2 players he openly said he wanted.
3 if you include Ojo.
If PH openly said he wanted Messi, Van Dijk and Harry Kane, and Hibs weren’t able to get the deals over the line this summer, you be criticising Hibs recruitment team, is that correct?
25-07-2019, 11:10 PM
We tried really hard to get him. Wouldn't it be a concern if he did turn out to be garbage? I don't expect he will.
25-07-2019, 11:18 PM
We tried really hard to get him. Wouldn't it be a concern if he did turn out to be garbage? I don't expect he will.
Even if it doesn’t work out for him up there, it doesn’t mean he would’ve been bad for us. Loads of variables to take into account.
Look at Greg Stewart last year, two underwhelming periods at the Dons, with a very good spell at Killie in between.
I hope Ojo is ***** for them.
25-07-2019, 11:25 PM
If we don't get him it won't be for the want of triang.
26-07-2019, 12:35 AM
Where is all this Horny chat coming from? Are we genuinely interested?
Iv never seen him play but noticed he scored a couple for the Scotland 21’s.
My only concern would be is he the sort of striker we need? A 19 year old target man with no first team experience? I think he would be too similar a striker to what we already have.
It was also be a huge sign to Shaw that he doesn’t have a place in the team - as a striker anyway, might get the odd 15 minutes out wide.
Would rather Cummings.
26-07-2019, 12:41 AM
My only concern would be is he the sort of striker we need? A 19 year old target man with no first team experience? I think he would be too similar a striker to what we already have.
It was also be a huge sign to Shaw that he doesn’t have a place in the team - as a striker anyway, might get the odd 15 minutes out wide.
Would rather Cummings.
Think it was someone expressing a train of thought.....
26-07-2019, 01:42 AM
Out of curiosity, we were linked with these players on here earlier in the season
Anthony Forde
Jon Taylor
Josh Mceachran
Anyone know if their was anything in them? It was a load of rubbish or were still trying?
All are still free agents with Mceachran having an unsuccessful trial with Sheffield Wednesday.
percy veer
26-07-2019, 01:57 AM
Would rather Cummings.
Would be criminal if we never spoke to Cummings, have a feeling he us hearts bound, he'll score goals
Robbo6-2
26-07-2019, 06:21 AM
Cummings looks like he has put some amount of timber on over the summer
26-07-2019, 06:34 AM
He's been sitting on his arse all summer. I seen a video of him down Crammond last week and he's been back in Nottingham this week. He needs to be very careful as he's quickly heading down the Gary O'Connor/Riordan route of chucking it all away.
Barman Stanton
26-07-2019, 07:46 AM
He's been sitting on his arse all summer. I seen a video of him down Crammond last week and he's been back in Nottingham this week. He needs to be very careful as he's quickly heading down the Gary O'Connor/Riordan route of chucking it all away.
To be honest, if the rest of Cummings career is like those 2 he will be doing well! (playing in the EPL, playing for Scotland, scoring shedloads for Hibs etc)
26-07-2019, 08:12 AM
If PH openly said he wanted Messi, Van Dijk and Harry Kane, and Hibs weren’t able to get the deals over the line this summer, you be criticising Hibs recruitment team, is that correct?
That is an absolutely ***** comparison :agree:
Leitherhibs
26-07-2019, 08:23 AM
Cummings will have a Goodwillie-esque ending to his career, playing football in lowland league or for a side like Clyde in the lower echelons of the football league.
26-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Would rather Cummings.
Read your post and not one bit of it made me horny. Try harder.
26-07-2019, 08:29 AM
I was always under the impression that in order to get "horny chat" you had to phone one of the 0898 numbers at the back of a 90s scud mag.
smithy_hibees
26-07-2019, 08:42 AM
Cummings will have a Goodwillie-esque ending to his career, playing football in lowland league or for a side like Clyde in the lower echelons of the football league.
Think this is more down to his appearances in court
26-07-2019, 08:44 AM
Read it again but this time rubbing your nipples. Game changer.
jax67
26-07-2019, 08:46 AM
Stone wall penalty mate.
Paloschi
26-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Out of curiosity, we were linked with these players on here earlier in the season
Anthony Forde
Jon Taylor
Josh Mceachran
Anyone know if their was anything in them? It was a load of rubbish or were still trying?
All are still free agents with Mceachran having an unsuccessful trial with Sheffield Wednesday.
Forde was the one I heard but perhaps that wasn't progressed as Boyle is fit again. We have Horgan, Boyle and Newell who can play on the wing. Not heard anything about the other two. Allan will be our playmaker and now we have Vela so I can't see McEacheran coming in, or Lewis MacLeod who we have been monitoring for ages.
Maybe Vela had always been our preferred target and now he is here the others are not being brought in.
26-07-2019, 09:40 AM
Read it again but this time rubbing your nipples. Game changer.
Nasty
badabing67
26-07-2019, 09:55 AM
Should that not of been sheep flocker :dunno:
26-07-2019, 09:55 AM
I hope the rumours linking Fraser Hornby with Hibs are false.
He's Azuma.
26-07-2019, 10:00 AM
If we don't get him it won't be for the want of triang.
That's for sure.
https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/lot-images.atgmedia.com/SR/36105/2906082/2222-201442516719_540x360.jpg
26-07-2019, 10:03 AM
Jason Cummings needs to make the right choice in his next move as that will decide if he does well whether he gets one more crack at the big time. He needs to be at a club that are going to play him week in week out.
Surely the club he goes to is irrelevant, it's up to him to make sure he plays every week.
26-07-2019, 10:25 AM
Surely the club he goes to is irrelevant, it's up to him to make sure he plays every week.
Were is he more likely to play each week Hibs or say St Johnstone or Livingston? I think its very relevant
dchibs
26-07-2019, 10:52 AM
Would be criminal if we never spoke to Cummings, have a feeling he us hearts bound, he'll score goals
don't think Jason would fit into Levines style of hoofball, there was times when we played a ball over the top for him to run onto he hadn't a clue where the ball was. hes good with the ball at his feet about 18 yard box where he could curl a shot into the net and in the box, also felt not so good in one on onesv defender as against Wilson in cup final but would still take him back.:agree:
26-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Reading Funso had a nightmare for the sheep last night and gave away a penalty - pleasing
Were is he more likely to play each week Hibs or say St Johnstone or Livingston? I think its very relevant
Makes no difference where he goes, if he's performing to his best and being professional he'll play every week, it's up to him.
Turnbullsmate
26-07-2019, 11:13 AM
HAHAHA i like that
26-07-2019, 11:36 AM
I hope the rumours linking Fraser Hornby with Hibs are false.
He's Azuma.
That will go overhead of the pun police
If that is the case then we are best steering clear.
Have you got a link to the video clip?
26-07-2019, 01:27 PM
Wright saying JC isn't going to Perth. Was interested in January but not now.
26-07-2019, 01:35 PM
Forde was the one I heard but perhaps that wasn't progressed as Boyle is fit again. We have Horgan, Boyle and Newell who can play on the wing. Not heard anything about the other two. Allan will be our playmaker and now we have Vela so I can't see McEacheran coming in, or Lewis MacLeod who we have been monitoring for ages.
Maybe Vela had always been our preferred target and now he is here the others are not being brought in.
Not a winger. Says so himself.
26-07-2019, 01:54 PM
If that is the case then we are best steering clear.
Have you got a link to the video clip?
Apparently has lost his passion for the game and is looking at different career paths.
https://youtu.be/PmDIcYUgJdg
About 2 minutes in.
26-07-2019, 02:08 PM
O'Connor and Riordan were in a different stratosphere to Cummings talent wise and their ability probably got them through their misdemeanours to a certain extent. Cummings doesn't have that luxury. If the likes of St Johnstone aren't interested at Cummings age then its worrying for the lad. Hope he screws the nut and works hard.
26-07-2019, 02:15 PM
It’s a bit strange that’s where he’s played all pre-season I think.
26-07-2019, 02:19 PM
He said he's not an out and out winger, not that he can't/won't play there. Quite a difference.
Crazyhorse
26-07-2019, 02:44 PM
You should go on puns.net and do that.
26-07-2019, 03:11 PM
That's for sure.
https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/lot-images.atgmedia.com/SR/36105/2906082/2222-201442516719_540x360.jpg
Beautiful pic. Reminds me of the carefree days before Hibs became more than a hobby.
26-07-2019, 03:22 PM
Personally would jump at the chance to bring Cummings back on Loan. I think there's still plenty of time for him to get his head right back near his friends and family and enjoy his football again where it all properly started for him.
26-07-2019, 03:43 PM
Personally would jump at the chance to bring Cummings back on Loan. I think there's still plenty of time for him to get his head right back near his friends and family and enjoy his football again where it all properly started for him.
I concur
Lee Marvin
26-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Why are we still talking about bringing cummings back!? It's not happening regardless of how many hibs fans would like to see it happen
26-07-2019, 03:55 PM
It’s a bit strange that’s where he’s played all pre-season I think.
He talks about it in his interview here........
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o09TRnwF72Y&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR0KhGgdehq_m7atph-XJvW8Xlq6WOffFJ10CXkaT351Pj8LTJVJUooPp1Q
Sioux
26-07-2019, 04:07 PM
The last thing we need is taking on Cummings on the basis that he might do something, with no evidence to suggest he might.
Marvellous
26-07-2019, 04:11 PM
He talks about it in his interview here........
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o09TRnwF72Y&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR0KhGgdehq_m7atph-XJvW8Xlq6WOffFJ10CXkaT351Pj8LTJVJUooPp1Q
Said it before but I'll say it again, that away top is absolutely glorious.
Bangkok Hibby
26-07-2019, 04:23 PM
That will go overhead of the pun police
Aye you're right
26-07-2019, 04:26 PM
Chat amongst Jambos is that Mark O'Hara should be announced by them soon.
26-07-2019, 05:04 PM
Hecky again reiterating in his presser we are done and hes happy with the squad??
If we are planning in signing more players hes playing a very good game of bluff
26-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Hecky again reiterating in his presser we are done and hes happy with the squad??
If we are planning in signing more players hes playing a very good game of bluff
He’s probably telling the truth unless one or two leave or we get a free loan come up from England.
26-07-2019, 05:11 PM
He obviously has a lot of confidence in Stirling or Campbell to provide cover for Vela and/or close out a tight game for us.
26-07-2019, 05:17 PM
He obviously has a lot of confidence in Stirling or Campbell to provide cover for Vela and/or close out a tight game for us.
So you think he should go and buy a backup for a player we just signed?
26-07-2019, 05:22 PM
Aye you're right
Whoosh!
26-07-2019, 05:29 PM
So you think he should go and buy a backup for a player we just signed?
We were more than one player short in that area before Vela signed. So yes, we should imo.
26-07-2019, 05:30 PM
I don’t think we need another cover CM, got to remember James can play in there and although not popular Whittaker can too. You could probably play Stevenson and Horgan in there if really toiling and an sure Jackson aswell. Probably no point bringing in someone unless he’s going to go straight in.
Fraser Murray for me will feature more than not and maybe surprise people he will be that extra midfielder I recon with Josh Campbell being the Fraser Murray cover
26-07-2019, 05:50 PM
I don’t think we need another cover CM, got to remember James can play in there and although not popular Whittaker can too. You could probably play Stevenson and Horgan in there if really toiling and an sure Jackson aswell. Probably no point bringing in someone unless he’s going to go straight in.
Fraser Murray for me will feature more than not and maybe surprise people he will be that extra midfielder I recon with Josh Campbell being the Fraser Murray cover
The players you mentioned could fill in and do a job here and there but none are suitable replacements longer term for Allan, Mallan or Vela if they get injured for any significant length of time (Maybe with the exception of Murray but it’s yet to be seen how he handles playing week in week out against top league teams).
26-07-2019, 06:01 PM
We were more than one player short in that area before Vela signed. So yes, we should imo.
Fair enough. Maybe we will.
26-07-2019, 06:21 PM
The players you mentioned could fill in and do a job here and there but none are suitable replacements longer term for Allan, Mallan or Vela if they get injured for any significant length of time (Maybe with the exception of Murray but it’s yet to be seen how he handles playing week in week out against top league teams).
I think we could come with one of them injured if all 3 for injured there’s not a team in the league that wouldn’t be impacted by losing 3 key players and they defo won’t have suitable replacements
26-07-2019, 06:27 PM
I think it's no question that we need 1 more quality CM in with a bit of dig about him. We literally have Vela and that's it other than the untested Campbell.
Hecky has said he wants 2 in every position and importantly let's not forget that if there was 1 position we were crying out for at this start of this window and the last then it was a proper CM, I'd rather we didn't mess around on this one.
26-07-2019, 06:30 PM
I think it's no question that we need 1 more quality CM in with a bit of dig about him. We literally have Vela and that's it other than the untested Campbell.
Hecky has said he wants 2 in every position and importantly let's not forget that if there was 1 position we were crying out for at this start of this window and the last then it was a proper CM, I'd rather we didn't mess around on this one.
When have we messed around so far in this window. Genuinely interested in your view.
hibsquaker
26-07-2019, 06:32 PM
We also have Slivka.
26-07-2019, 06:44 PM
When have we messed around so far in this window. Genuinely interested in your view.
Didn't mean to imply that we had messed around already this window as I don't think we have - I think we've done some really good business and early as well.
I just meant that it seemed as though we might be trying to get away with just going the whole season with what I see as 1 genuine CM. That would be what I was referring to as "messing around".
26-07-2019, 07:25 PM
The last thing we need is taking on Cummings on the basis that he might do something, with no evidence to suggest he might.
We sign everyone on the basis that they might do something. Football isn't a guaranteed science. But I'd say his first spell with us is some evidence to suggest he might do something here.
We have Allan, Mallan, Vela, Slivka, Murray all vying for either 2 or 3 in midfield, add into that Sterling, Campbell as backup plus James and Jackson and there's plenty cover.
26-07-2019, 08:25 PM
Tommy Block is out on loan and Jack Hodge is for the development team.
We are signing CMs but as prospects. I think the 1st team squad still looks light there.
26-07-2019, 08:45 PM
We also have Slivka.
Yup we have a good squad. Josh Vela 💚
Chefki Kuqi
26-07-2019, 09:29 PM
Vela’s understudies are Campbell and Stirling. If you think we need more cover for that position so be it, but it puts meaningful first team chances for youngsters further out of reach.
As others have pointed out we can also use Whitaker/James/Stevenson/Hanlon/Jackson there if needbe, and we have the likes of Slivka available if we want to be more attacking.
I don’t know who else is out there, but I think other positions need more cover, on the wings specifically and possibly up top. Thus I can’t see us spending big to bring in quality there, and if we’re not buying quality then why are we not playing youth? I don’t think there’s a position we’re more covered for, genuinely.
26-07-2019, 09:30 PM
Vela’s understudies are Campbell and Stirling. If you think we need more cover for that position so be it, but it puts first team chances for youngsters further out of reach.
As others have pointed out we can also use Whitaker/James/Stevenson/Hanlon/Jackson there if needbe, and we have the likes of Slivka available if we want to be more attacking.
I don’t think there’s a position we’re more covered for, genuinely.
It’s up to the youngsters to earn their first team opportunities, not rely on the lack of depth. I want us to be putting out the strongest squad possible every single week to achieve our aim of winning as many games as possible.
Chefki Kuqi
26-07-2019, 09:47 PM
It’s up to the youngsters to earn their first team opportunities, not rely on the lack of depth. I want us to be putting out the strongest squad possible every single week to achieve our aim of winning as many games as possible.
I don’t think the priority is to sign a big wage chap who would necessarily be better than the youth so I don’t really see the point. My point is that they’re capable and should be given a chance, and bringing in another bloke who may not be better than them is going to harm those chances and possibly deprive us of resources for other areas of the team.
26-07-2019, 10:20 PM
We've plenty of central midfielders but, other than Vela, how many of them are defensive players?
That is why we need one more. If Heckingbottom thinks that Stirling of Campbell are ready then fair enough, but until we see them perform on the pitch then it's a reasonable question to ask as a fan.
supermcginn
26-07-2019, 10:21 PM
We've plenty of central midfielders but, other than Vela, how many of them are defensive players?
That is why we need one more. If Heckingbottom thinks that Stirling of Campbell are ready then fair enough, but until we see them perform on the pitch then it's a reasonable question to ask as a fan.
100 percent need another midfielder with a bit bite. Mallan is so timid in there at times.
26-07-2019, 10:24 PM
Agree
MagicSwirlingShip
26-07-2019, 10:32 PM
I don’t think the priority is to sign a big wage chap who would necessarily be better than the youth so I don’t really see the point. My point is that they’re capable and should be given a chance, and bringing in another bloke who may not be better than them is going to harm those chances and possibly deprive us of resources for other areas of the team.
I'd rather we promoted youth than sign another midfielder on a substantial wage that's going to be kicking his heels on the bench most weeks while Vela is fit.
26-07-2019, 10:35 PM
Still another centre mid needed, Stirling and Campbell look good but it’s unfair to expect them to come in and play well st their age.
The difference having Vela in there has been huge, completed dominated the games, added tempo and a calmness on the ball. If he were to get injured, we would be in trouble.
Said it before I still want another winger in, Newell isn’t an out and out winger, Boyle is back from an injury and may take a while to get back properly. We need someone with pace and skill to come in be able to stretch defences, not having thah last season cost us imo.
26-07-2019, 10:49 PM
Still another centre mid needed, Stirling and Campbell look good but it’s unfair to expect them to come in and play well st their age.
The difference having Vela in there has been huge, completed dominated the games, added tempo and a calmness on the ball. If he were to get injured, we would be in trouble.
Said it before I still want another winger in, Newell isn’t an out and out winger, Boyle is back from an injury and may take a while to get back properly. We need someone with pace and skill to come in be able to stretch defences, not having thah last season cost us imo.
We do need another central midfielder.
Campbell has just turned 19 so he deserves the chance to prove himself and improve. Stirling is just about to turn 21 so he’s at a different stage. It’s down to him now.
I hope if we sign another midfielder we get a Bartley type, a bit of dig and not afraid to get stuck in. We'll miss him when we play the likes of Hearts and Aberdeen
27-07-2019, 07:26 AM
One thing is apparent, we have signed players of real quality without them being loan deals which is a breath of fresh air.
Jackson, James,Vela, Allan, Doidge, Newell all look good.
27-07-2019, 07:49 AM
I hope if we sign another midfielder we get a Bartley type, a bit of dig and not afraid to get stuck in. We'll miss him when we play the likes of Hearts and Aberdeen
Vela looks like he likes to get stuck in and also has a bit of quality to go with it
27-07-2019, 07:58 AM
100 percent need another midfielder with a bit bite. Mallan is so timid in there at times.
He didn't look too timid to me last night, hence the booking.
Heedersnvolleys
27-07-2019, 08:00 AM
I just hope we don’t need Boyle cover
27-07-2019, 08:05 AM
Ah yes, our George Watson's College graduate player.
27-07-2019, 08:14 AM
One thing is apparent, we have signed players of real quality without them being loan deals which is a breath of fresh air.
Jackson, James,Vela, Allan, Doidge, Newell all look good.
Totally agree impressed by the players with to me James Vela and Allan being standouts.
27-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Not sure about age comment, if they are capable enough, which they are, then play them. The merricks have a 16 year old full back in their team.
27-07-2019, 09:55 AM
All not well at Killie it would appear
Although actually it's not a great but of journalism
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/killie-players-hand-in-transfer-requests-over-angelo-alessio-s-methods-1-4972183
27-07-2019, 10:06 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/killie-players-hand-in-transfer-requests-over-angelo-alessio-s-methods-1-4972183
They've undone all Steve Clarke's hard work with one appointment. Can't believe they didn't go for an experienced British manager to steady the ship. Looks like the Italian experiment is already a disaster.
Marvellous
27-07-2019, 10:12 AM
They've undone all Steve Clarke's hard work with one appointment. Can't believe they didn't go for an experienced British manager to steady the ship. Looks like the Italian experiment is already a disaster.
You sound like The Sun mate.
Marvellous
27-07-2019, 10:19 AM
It's quite something the way the Scottish (mainly tabloid) reporters turn on foreign coaches. Reminds me of this absolute cracker about "Wee Pat" Fenlon and "Big Courteous Terry" Butcher.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scott-mcdermott-pat-fenlon-wrong-3364259
Chefki Kuqi
27-07-2019, 10:26 AM
You sound like The Sun mate.
I still think not giving the job to O’Dwyer is a missed opportunity though. Seemed like a capable understudy and a link with Clark both in spirit and in terms of being able to get advice dispensed at will.
I’d also say its about being realistic, we’re talking about professional football players here. Professional up until a point, but if they have someone speaking broken English or relying on a translator AND they don’t like his methods then they can easily lump him in as being someone who doesn’t have a clue.
27-07-2019, 10:33 AM
Not this window but last window we definitely messed around replacing McGeough, eventually bringing in Milligan after the window closed and him not really performing until February and being away for 2 months at a championship.
Marvellous
27-07-2019, 10:39 AM
I still think not giving the job to O’Dwyer is a missed opportunity though. Seemed like a capable understudy and a link with Clark both in spirit and in terms of being able to get advice dispensed at will.
I’d also say its about being realistic, we’re talking about professional football players here. Professional up until a point, but if they have someone speaking broken English or relying on a translator AND they don’t like his methods then they can easily lump him in as being someone who doesn’t have a clue.
Not speaking the language is a definite hinderance but there are plenty foreign coaches who speak perfect English. It doesn't need to be a British v foreign coach issue. Scottish football feels like an inward looking closed circuit at times, and it's not as if we're top of the food chain in terms of football so I think it's a good idea to be more open minded when it comes to new people and new ideas.
27-07-2019, 10:40 AM
Not this window but last window we definitely messed around replacing McGeough, eventually bringing in Milligan after the window closed and him not really performing until February and being away for 2 months at a championship.
Incorrect. He started the season really well.
HFC93
27-07-2019, 10:47 AM
On the Killie situation, Gary Dicker did the pre & post match chat on Sportsound for the Nomads game. This is almost always done by the manager or his assistant. Just struck me as odd at the time. I know Donati can speak fluent English and they also have Dyer. Something not right.
27-07-2019, 10:51 AM
If Brophy or Taylor want to be rescued they're more than welcome at Hibs. 👀
27-07-2019, 10:55 AM
Incorrect. He started the season really well.
He was excellent up to that Celtic game where he was left exposed to their pace.
27-07-2019, 11:32 AM
It's quite something the way the Scottish (mainly tabloid) reporters turn on foreign coaches. Reminds me of this absolute cracker about "Wee Pat" Fenlon and "Big Courteous Terry" Butcher.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scott-mcdermott-pat-fenlon-wrong-3364259
I remember that article. Absolute shambles. Why the **** should Fenlon have told a Daily Record journo he’s never met before-over the phone-that he’s about to be interviewed for a job or that he was trying to get a signing over the line. Absolute sense of entitlement off the scale. Big courageous Terry was a bully and the worst manager in our history. Fenlon was spot on about him getting an easier ride for being an ex Rangers captain.
Chefki Kuqi
27-07-2019, 12:25 PM
Not speaking the language is a definite hinderance but there are plenty foreign coaches who speak perfect English. It doesn't need to be a British v foreign coach issue. Scottish football feels like an inward looking closed circuit at times, and it's not as if we're top of the food chain in terms of football so I think it's a good idea to be more open minded when it comes to new people and new ideas.
Indeed, look to the likes of Pochettino and Pep and frankly it sounds more impressive than most Native speakers, barring Dyche and our very own Paul of course.
I suppose you’re right in the sense that speaking English is perhaps less important than the contents of your CV, but take computer programming for example. You can have extremely clever ideas but if the audience you’re explaining it to can’t interpret what’s being said then its lost in translation, and that time perhaps might have been better spent learning something more intuitive.
I agree though, Scottish football is a closed circuit at times and attitudes like I’ve expressed, whilst valid, probably limit the possibility of expanding our game with new ideas. As such I hope this guy does well and picks up the language.
27-07-2019, 12:54 PM
Why British and not Scottish?
Because you end up recirculating the same old failed Scottish coaches.
He was excellent up to that Celtic game where he was left exposed to their pace.
Agreed but the whole team was left exposed due to our ridiculous team selection & formation. A back 3 featuring a barely fit Daz & Lewis still gives me nightmares!
You mean like Gary Locke? 😁
Benjeloon
27-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Jesus, that article is absolutely howling. Makes your skin crawl knowing that there's football journalists out there paid to write self-aggrandizing guff like that.
27-07-2019, 02:59 PM
I remember that article. Absolute shambles. Why the **** should Fenlon have told a Daily Record journo he’s never met before-over the phone-that he’s about to be interviewed for a job or that he was trying to get a signing over the line. Absolute sense of entitlement off the scale. Big courageous Terry was a bully and the worst manager in our history. Fenlon was spot on about him getting an easier ride for being an ex Rangers captain.
Couldn't agree more. Yes mate I am having a secret meeting in London wtf.
He goes on to say attitudes like Fenlons re the Rangers captain comment aren't needed in Scottish football. Laughable to be honest.
27-07-2019, 05:29 PM
Presumably because Alex Dyer is English.
27-07-2019, 11:42 PM
Son heard in Elgin City Social club on Friday night that Hornby defo coming on loan.
Gloucester Hibs
28-07-2019, 12:05 AM
Indeed, look to the likes of Pochettino and Pep and frankly it sounds more impressive than most Native speakers, barring Dyche and our very own Paul of course.
I suppose you’re right in the sense that speaking English is perhaps less important than the contents of your CV, but take computer programming for example. You can have extremely clever ideas but if the audience you’re explaining it to can’t interpret what’s being said then its lost in translation, and that time perhaps might have been better spent learning something more intuitive.
I agree though, Scottish football is a closed circuit at times and attitudes like I’ve expressed, whilst valid, probably limit the possibility of expanding our game with new ideas. As such I hope this guy does well and picks up the language.
Think even Poch initially did most of his interviews at Southampton via an interpreter and was predictably criticised by your 5Live and Talksport types
tonyrougier123
28-07-2019, 12:06 AM
Son heard in Elgin City Social club on Friday night that Hornby defo coming on loan.
Goodstuff👍.could be a good signing.
No he never.
He heard someone slavering.
28-07-2019, 03:11 AM
No he never.
He heard someone slavering.
We will see😀
28-07-2019, 06:35 AM
Jesus, that article is absolutely howling. Makes your skin crawl knowing that there's football journalists out there paid to write self-aggrandizing guff like that.
I'll always remember, on Fenlon's first day a Journo asked him "if this goes well the ultimate aim has to be the Celtic job doesnt it?" - why? Because hes Irish?
Have tried to find the interview to no avail.
28-07-2019, 08:06 AM
I'll always remember, on Fenlon's first day a Journo asked him "if this goes well the ultimate aim has to be the Celtic job doesnt it?" - why? Because hes Irish?
Have tried to find the interview to no avail.
He was a Celtic fan though. Used to come over for games. Once got a lift in taxi in Dublin and the driver was Pat's mate. Pat had said there was no money for transfers or long term deals. So had to do with short term loans.
I'm quite astounded that if Cummings is going on a free transfer we haven't made contact with him.
28-07-2019, 08:09 AM
I'm quite astounded that if Cummings is going on a free transfer we haven't made contact with him.
Hearts fans want him.
I'm sure some do, he divides opinion. He reminds me of Scott Allan in some respects, I think he likes playing here and the staff etc and that we could get the best from him again.
28-07-2019, 08:33 AM
Could dorrans at rangers be an option?
28-07-2019, 08:40 AM
Could dorrans at rangers be an option?
Good player real injury issues though.
28-07-2019, 08:40 AM
I'm sure some do, he divides opinion. He reminds me of Scott Allan in some respects, I think he likes playing here and the staff etc and that we could get the best from him again.
Great goal scorer. Flamboyant and a dressing room character. Can play a pass to. I would take him back. Would compliment our current forwards.
smithy_hibees
28-07-2019, 09:06 AM
Who's this?? Not heard the name before
28-07-2019, 09:10 AM
Young Everton striker. Scotland under 21 international
28-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Stop. Don’t start the ****** puns
Turnbullsmate
28-07-2019, 09:22 AM
Hearts fans want him.
If he goes there he will come back to haunt us for sure. in all my days i seen us be punished by ex players, wee corky was the most painful when he got the winner against us at Muirton park v St J..........Paul wright double to empty us out the SC Cup at ER on what must have been the coldest day ever nearly had me *****in arrested. Ex players love shovin' it up us
28-07-2019, 09:27 AM
If he goes there he will come back to haunt us for sure. in all my days i seen us be punished by ex players, wee corky was the most painful when he got the winner against us at Muirton park v St J..........Paul wright double to empty us out the SC Cup at ER on what must have been the coldest day ever nearly had me *****in arrested. Ex players love shovin' it up us
Folk said the same when he joined the stickies. Cummings will end up at Alloa in a few years, he's wasted his talent.
28-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Yeah right. The Elgin Social Club whete all the ITK Doric speakers trade facts...and sherbets
28-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Yeah right. The Elgin Social Club whete all the ITK Doric speakers trade facts...and sherbets
It's a rumours thread and it's a rumour
28-07-2019, 09:54 AM
Could it not have been another hibs fan?
28-07-2019, 10:00 AM
It's a rumours thread and it's a rumour
Exactly it’s just a rumours thread, people shouldn’t get so precious about folk having a laugh about the source of rumours.
Two of the longest running memes on Hibs.net started from posters joking about the location of where rumours had originated, namely Greggs on Easter Road and the Number 26 bus.
Dazzjw1875
28-07-2019, 10:09 AM
I actually thought the young number 9 for Elgin looked decent very direct and quick,could potentially be a good winger and prob not cost alot. There are lots of good players just needing a wee break at lower level.
Turnbullsmate
28-07-2019, 10:15 AM
Exactly it’s just a rumours thread, people shouldn’t get so precious about folk having a laugh about the source of rumours.
Two of the longest running memes on Hibs.net started from posters joking about the location of where rumours had originated, namely Greggs on Easter Road and the Number 26 bus.
i used to get the No 26 from ootside the auld Oak Inn...having been in to see the loyal jambos who inhabited there.......could nae find Swinie with a map most of them.
There was usually only me and my boy on the bus wearing the green so never heard any rumours other than the lies i told him ....it's what any self respecting hibby parent would do :greengrin
28-07-2019, 01:01 PM
This needs de railed or shunted I agree
28-07-2019, 04:06 PM
This needs de railed or shunted I agree
Aaaaggggghhhhhhh Ronnie, just gonay no.
28-07-2019, 04:08 PM
I actually thought the young number 9 for Elgin looked decent very direct and quick,could potentially be a good winger and prob not cost alot. There are lots of good players just needing a wee break at lower level.
Number 8 for them, looked a class above his team-mates.
28-07-2019, 05:13 PM
Number 8 for them, looked a class above his team-mates.
Agreed, he was probably about League 1 standard.
28-07-2019, 11:42 PM
Aaron Tshibola is free to leave Aston Villa, he will be a decent signing for someone
29-07-2019, 12:09 AM
Yep, we need to keep on track
29-07-2019, 12:14 AM
There were a large number of Hibs fans including those officially connected to the club there. It was the latter who divulged the information. I am very rarely ITK - last time was when Leigh's auntie told me in Scotmid he was going to Celtic. As we say here we will wait and see.
29-07-2019, 12:18 AM
Would like to see us sign Insigne from Napoli based on today's performance. :hyper
29-07-2019, 12:19 AM
Awa min, you dinna even ken furry boots Elgin is.........
Sweet Left Peg
29-07-2019, 12:46 AM
Would like to see us sign Insigne from Napoli based on today's performance. :hyper
Outstanding. My son asked if I thought Hibs could sign him. I think he understood in the end...
29-07-2019, 06:24 AM
Getting Tshibola in would be a very good signing and great bit of business. Had massive potential but hasn’t went the way he expected, still young with a lot of ability and is the sort of central midfielder we need. Can get stuck in and also play at the same time.
Unfortunately probably has better and more lucrative offers elsewhere.
Mark Ohara is another I think we should be looking at, very similar to Vela so would provide good competition and cover. Done well at Dundee and for Peterborough and Lincoln last year.
Now allowed to leave Peterborough however they’re looking for a fee which would make it unlikely.
Edinburgh Green
29-07-2019, 08:00 AM
Getting Tshibola in would be a very good signing and great bit of business. Had massive potential but hasn’t went the way he expected, still young with a lot of ability and is the sort of central midfielder we need. Can get stuck in and also play at the same time.
Mark Ohara is another I think we should be looking at, very similar to Vela so would provide good competition and cover. Done well at Dundee and for Peterborough and Lincoln last year.
Now allowed to leave Peterborough however they’re looking for a fee which would make it unlikely.
Thought Tshibola looked very average at Killie. Wouldn’t want Hibs to looking at him tbh
29-07-2019, 08:13 AM
A number of Hearts fans reckon O'Hara will be signing for them this week, how true this is I have no idea. Although we aren't in for Tshibola he could be a good fit for Hibs, very tall and athletic, has a bit of dig about him and is a good passer of the ball. Played nearly 30 times for a kilmarnock side that finished 3rd in the league
Aubenas
29-07-2019, 08:30 AM
Aaaaggggghhhhhhh Ronnie, just gonay no.
If Hornby signed would his number be double 0 .....😉
29-07-2019, 08:38 AM
If Hornby signed would his number be double 0 .....😉
And we're off - full steam ahead with the puns! :greengrin
Gypsy King
29-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Some of the pessimism on here is honking. Personally, I think we have added really well. I think a couple more still required if we are going to challenge Aberdeen though.
Squad depth is important and we are light in midfield.
Hope Hecky saying we are finished is just to throw people like Jack Ross of the scent of who we are speaking too.
29-07-2019, 09:44 AM
Some of the pessimism on here is honking. Personally, I think we have added really well. I think a couple more still required if we are going to challenge Aberdeen though.
Hope Hecky saying we are finished is just to throw people like Jack Ross of the scent of who we are speaking too.
Are we short in midfield though?
Vela
Allan
Malan
Slivka
Newell
Murray
With
Jackson
James
Whitaker
And some youngsters capable of helping
29-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Me too.
It is worth remembering that we haven't really played anyone of any substance yet though. It will be interesting to see how the new boys get on when the serious business kicks off, especially against top 4 teams.
The phrase "quality over quantity" is one I've heard used before. It's an approach I like, and it could be used to describe our activity so far this window.
29-07-2019, 09:53 AM
Heard Cummings training with Hearts/or at their training today??
29-07-2019, 10:13 AM
Heard Cummings training with Hearts/or at their training today??
On their day off? Must be a punishment session😉
29-07-2019, 10:31 AM
Mark Milligan appointed Club Captain Southend Utd
Source: SSN
29-07-2019, 11:16 AM
On their day off? Must be a punishment session😉
No idea. Source, my jambo brother in law - no reason to make it up
29-07-2019, 11:25 AM
Mark Milligan appointed Club Captain Southend Utd
Source: SSN
After Olly Lee too.
A lot of movement in that centre mid partnership! :cb
29-07-2019, 11:27 AM
No idea. Source, my jambo brother in law - no reason to make it up
Probably talking ***** then :wink::greengrin
Gypsy King
29-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Vela
Allan
Malan
Slivka
Newell
Murray
With
Jackson
James
Whitaker
And some youngsters capable of helping
Newell is a wide midfielder
as is Murray
Jackson is a centre half
James a fullback
So is whittaker
Mallan & Allan play the creative role (they will require a ball winner next to them)
Slivka I don't know what he is (that's not a dig-just an enigma)
So in terms of energetic ball winning CM's that give the centre half and full backs a link to Allan and Mallan id say we are one injury to vela away from having Whittaker being the scapegoat in an unbalanced midfield.
There isn't a player you have mentioned there other than vela that id fancy our chances with them playing that role against Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic, Hearts (at tynie) or an in form Motherwell
Forcing square pegs in round holes springs to mind.
I get what you are saying though - there are a lot of midfielders you have listed, Good ones. Maybe I am being greedy wanting cover for vela. Perhaps he has contingencies in the development squad. Time will tell.
29-07-2019, 11:53 AM
Vela
Allan
Malan
Slivka
Newell
Murray
With
Jackson
James