View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
18-06-2019, 02:09 AM
He wants back up the road. Reading have made clear he’s not part of the plans, I think he will be released.
You think wrong, I’m afraid.
18-06-2019, 02:11 AM
He didn’t get the choice not to.
Nothing personal but that’s 2 posts from you I’ve quoted that are absolute lies. I’d find a new source if I was you 😂
Hibernian32
18-06-2019, 02:53 AM
I'd take GMS all day long little ******* but I'd have him in my team
18-06-2019, 03:03 PM
"Hearing Hibs have agreed a deal to sign 32 year old ex-Chelsea hardman John Obi Mikel, Mikel has just been released by Middlesbrough"
https://twitter.com/HibernianFans/status/1140935487286386690?s=08
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
18-06-2019, 03:07 PM
"Hearing Hibs have agreed a deal to sign 32 year old ex-Chelsea hardman John Obi Mikel, Mikel has just been released by Middlesbrough"
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
I am in complete agreement. Absolutely no chance!
18-06-2019, 03:08 PM
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
😂😂
18-06-2019, 03:08 PM
But it's a Hibs rumour so I'm allowed to post it! :greengrin
18-06-2019, 03:15 PM
That twitter account is a piece of work..... :faf:
Fuzzywuzzy
18-06-2019, 03:19 PM
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
Boy/girl/binary/non-binary seems adamant it's happening going by the posts.
More chance of Messi coming on loan
Tiny_Tim
18-06-2019, 03:20 PM
Looks a big powerful and slightly awkward player.
Seems capable of playing numerous positions.
I’d imagine with who else is interested we won’t stand much of a chance.
Correct can’t think of us ever beating the Yams to a signing
18-06-2019, 03:22 PM
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/john-mikel-obi/erfolge/spieler/30739
Semi decent career I suppose :greengrin
18-06-2019, 03:24 PM
Boy/girl/binary/non-binary seems adamant it's happening going by the posts.
More chance of Messi coming on loan
Someone said that it's a fake account run by a Jambo troll.
18-06-2019, 03:28 PM
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
I have him blocked on twitter, he's an utter trumpet
Fuzzywuzzy
18-06-2019, 03:29 PM
Someone said that it's a fake account run by a Jambo troll.
Could we at least make an enquiry about Messi coming on loan??
18-06-2019, 04:05 PM
That twitter account is a piece of work..... :faf:
:agree:The person just howls abuse at people!! :faf:
Fuzzywuzzy
18-06-2019, 04:09 PM
What did Liam do wrong?
I have him blocked on twitter, he's an utter trumpet
I did that after I questioned him in January, who ever it is, is an erse.
18-06-2019, 04:21 PM
I did that after I questioned him in January, who ever it is, is an erse.
Did they reply?
HFC93
18-06-2019, 04:42 PM
NAE CHANCE!!! lol
Why do these accounts post this stuff on Twitter/Facebook? Attention seeking? I just don’t get it
18-06-2019, 05:01 PM
Why do these accounts post this stuff on Twitter/Facebook? Attention seeking? I just don’t get it
So they can laugh at all the hibs fans believing that we’re signing a certain player outwith our reach
But non of us are falling for it
18-06-2019, 06:53 PM
Hibs should make a bid for Turnbull now that Celtic have pulled out. If the lad genuinely wants a move for football reasons and not money then Hibs could put together a deal that could see him get the right move eventually like McGinn.
18-06-2019, 06:55 PM
Hibs should make a bid for Turnbull now that Celtic have pulled out. If the lad genuinely wants a move for football reasons and not money then Hibs could put together a deal that could see him get the right move eventually like McGinn.
The only issue being Well's 3m valuation...
18-06-2019, 06:55 PM
Celtic will have pulled out because another club will look like they've pulled ahead and Lawell wants to make it look like they've been decisive.
Robbo6-2
18-06-2019, 06:59 PM
And 20k a week 😂😂
18-06-2019, 06:59 PM
Hibs had a valuation of McGinn. Playing the long game we will get it eventually.
18-06-2019, 07:00 PM
Wonder what the actual reasons are for the move collapsing?
Be interesting to see where he ends up
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Did they reply?
Nope, who ever runs it just spouts nonsense, there's a lot of crappy fan sites on twitter, like most rumour sites, I take them all with a pinch of salt. Jackson was a player mentioned and has a connection to Hecky but the Newell signing was right out the blue, not one rumour or mention of him, which shows not everyone is ITK.
percy veer
18-06-2019, 07:15 PM
meanwhile in the real world.....
18-06-2019, 07:28 PM
meanwhile in the real world.....
Not suggesting we offer £3m and £20k a week.
However you can load a deal in such a way that Motherwell get massive sell ons and the player pretty much gets guaranteed first team football, a decent wage increase and a potential big move in the future.
If the player is genuine about not going to Celtic for football reasons and has a good head on his shoulders it might be a wise move. If he only wants money he will head South for the biggest offer. We aren’t talking about a 30 year old Champions league winner we are talking about a young lad who had a decent first season at bottom six Motherwell.
Worth asking. If we don’t Aberdeen or Hearts might.
18-06-2019, 07:35 PM
However you can load a deal in such a way that Motherwell get massive sell ons and the player pretty much gets guaranteed first team football, a decent wage increase and a potential big move in the future.
If the player is genuine about not going to Celtic for football reasons and has a good head on his shoulders it might be a wise move. If he only wants money he will head South for the biggest offer. We aren’t talking about a 30 year old Champions league winner we are talking about a young lad who had a decent first season at bottom six Motherwell.
Aberdeen, Hibs and Hearts together could maybe make an offer Motherwell would accept. They have no reason to sell.
18-06-2019, 07:41 PM
Shaun Byrne has just signed for Dundee. That's a fantastic bit of business for Dundee.
Livingston will have some rebuilding job on their hands
18-06-2019, 07:44 PM
Shaun Byrne has just signed for Dundee. That's a fantastic bit of business for Dundee.
Livingston will have some rebuilding job on their hands
I thought he looked really good for Livi at the start of the season but seems to have dropped out the team at the end.
18-06-2019, 07:46 PM
I thought he looked really good for Livi at the start of the season but seems to have dropped out the team at the end.
Will be fantastic for Dundee in the Championship. I'm sure there was paper talk about us being interested in him in January past.
18-06-2019, 07:47 PM
Aberdeen, Hibs and Hearts together could maybe make an offer Motherwell would accept. They have no reason to sell.
Yeah I agree it is very unlikely. The only barometer I have is that we somehow managed to sign John McGinn whilst we were in the Championship.
18-06-2019, 07:53 PM
No chance. We will just be wasting our time bidding for a player that Motherwell have made clear that they want £3M for which we cannot afford.
They rejected £2M from Barnsley for him last week.
18-06-2019, 07:56 PM
If all the Scottish Premiership clubs outside Glasgow put in a combined offer for Turnbull and offered to share him on a weekly basis that might work. We would hopefully get a few good games out of him.
18-06-2019, 07:57 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how utterly detached some people are from reality.🙄
HFC93
18-06-2019, 08:00 PM
Genuinely not sure if this is a wind up....
MacGruber
18-06-2019, 08:01 PM
Turnbull has it all to prove for me. Very good half a season - goalscoring anyway. Be interesting to see how he develops.
Never watched Motherwell and thought who is this boy running the show that looked a 3 million pound player. Though I did find myself thinking is that Turnbull scored again! Maybe will be a superstar just think he is being judged a hell of an early. Personally thought Hastie looked the better of the 2. Time will tell all.
DetroitHibs
18-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Yeah kinda what I was thinking, just didn’t wanna **** all over the guys pipe dream :lips seal
18-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Didn't we put a bid in for Naismith a few years back to put the price up for oldco.... Pretty sure we wouldn't have been able to match them back then...
18-06-2019, 08:06 PM
Hey we can all dream of better things. Sometimes we need additional help though....... :smokin
18-06-2019, 08:09 PM
Yeah I agree it is very unlikely. The only barometer I have is that we somehow managed to sign John McGinn whilst we were in the Championship.
He was out of contract at a relegated club and was suing them? Little bit different.
18-06-2019, 08:13 PM
Didn't we put a bid in for Naismith a few years back to put the price up for oldco.... Pretty sure we wouldn't have been able to match them back then...
I personally cannot remember that.
Unless very unlikely Motherwell significantly drop their value for Turnbull that ends up being within our budget, then yes we might as well enquire but they have stated publicly the figure that they want - £3M.
They rejected bids of around £2M for him last week. We cannot afford even half of that.
We are just going to look silly and wasting our time going for a player that we can’t afford.
18-06-2019, 08:19 PM
I personally cannot remember that.
Unless very unlikely Motherwell significantly drop their value for Turnbull that ends up being within our budget, then yes we might as well enquire but they have stated publicly the figure that they want - £3M.
They rejected bids of around £2M for him last week. We cannot afford even half of that.
We are just going to look silly and wasting our time going for a player that we can’t afford.
Jefferies confirmed that Kilmarnock have rejected a fourth bid from Rangers for Naismith, while Hibs made an offer in the region of 750,000 for the player which was also turned down.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/premiership/rangers-losing-race-for-naismith-while-hibs-also-have-bid-rejected-1-907940
18-06-2019, 08:19 PM
There was talk of us having put in a bid of over £1m I’m sure. As people pointed out though we were never going to pay the wages that go with it. Seemed more like posturing and an attempt to make it look like we were going to reinvest more into the playing side than we did (not that there was anything wrong with spending the money the way that we did btw).
18-06-2019, 08:20 PM
Sure John Collins wanted to sign him. I think this was even before the old rangers had him in their sights, sure we were quoted around 500k
147lothian
18-06-2019, 08:35 PM
Sure John Collins wanted to sign him. I think this was even before the old rangers had him in their sights, sure we were quoted around 500k
Collins wanted to sign him on the back of the money that came in for Brown Thompson and Fletcher, in hindsight Collins wanted the money for the right reasons, as it would have been a fantastic bit of business back then.
18-06-2019, 08:43 PM
Intrigued by the Newell signing - although the opinions of the Rotherham fans that I’d read were very positive, it was mentioned more than once that defending is completely alien to him. I didn’t think that Heckingbottom would make allowances for such a player.
Yet I’m sure I read PH say that he’d seen him play at wingback before, which is a position that is 50% defending. I know he’ll obviously look to develop him further, but surely he can’t be as lazy as has been suggested?
18-06-2019, 08:48 PM
Intrigued by the Newell signing - although the opinions of the Rotherham fans that I’d read were very positive, it was mentioned more than once that defending is completely alien to him. I didn’t think that Heckingbottom would make allowances for such a player.
Yet I’m sure I read PH say that he’d seen him play at wingback before, which is a position that is 50% defending. I know he’ll obviously look to develop him further, but surely he can’t be as lazy as has been suggested?
I mean, the same could've been said for Allan at one point. He was certainly going it in his last spell. Players develope under different managers and systems.
18-06-2019, 08:49 PM
I mean, the same could've been said for Allan at one point. He was certainly going it in his last spell. Players develope under different managers and systems.
Allan puts a shift in though. The implication was that Newell does not. I’m really looking forward to seeing both anyway.
18-06-2019, 08:53 PM
One will replace the other by the looks of it
18-06-2019, 08:59 PM
Allan puts a shift in though. The implication was that Newell does not. I’m really looking forward to seeing both anyway.
In his first spell Allan was a bit of a lazy ****er. Other 3 in midfield done a lot of running for him.
18-06-2019, 09:03 PM
Turnbull has it all to prove for me. Very good half a season - goalscoring anyway. Be interesting to see how he develops.
Never watched Motherwell and thought who is this boy running the show that looked a 3 million pound player. Though I did find myself thinking is that Turnbull scored again! Maybe will be a superstar just think he is being judged a hell of an early. Personally thought Hastie looked the better of the 2. Time will tell all.
30 games in the league is not half a season.
MacGruber
18-06-2019, 09:10 PM
30 games in the league is not half a season.
True. But I never said he played half a season, he was very good for half a season. Motherwell weren't good for 30 games, neither was Turnbull
18-06-2019, 09:13 PM
In his first spell Allan was a bit of a lazy ****er. Other 3 in midfield done a lot of running for him.
Lazy? Fair enough. I'd disagree slightly though.
Spudster
18-06-2019, 09:40 PM
I’d argue that full back let alone wing back is 50% defending nowadays unfortunately
19-06-2019, 07:32 AM
https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/1141246333740814337?s=19
Looks like we aren't in for the MK boy.
19-06-2019, 07:44 AM
There was talk of us having put in a bid of over £1m I’m sure. As people pointed out though we were never going to pay the wages that go with it. Seemed more like posturing and an attempt to make it look like we were going to reinvest more into the playing side than we did (not that there was anything wrong with spending the money the way that we did btw).
Hibs put in a million pound bid for a player, and it was just 'posturing'...………….
19-06-2019, 09:01 AM
Worth asking. If we don’t Aberdeen or Hearts might.Your dreaming mate...neither us Aberdeen or Them have any chance
Souter96Mac
19-06-2019, 09:37 AM
https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/1141246333740814337?s=19
Looks like we aren't in for the MK boy.
Oh well, we move on.
19-06-2019, 03:29 PM
Craig Bryson signs for Aberdeen.
19-06-2019, 03:29 PM
Replacement for Shinnie I'd imagine
19-06-2019, 03:34 PM
Good signing for the Sheepies I'd say.
19-06-2019, 03:36 PM
Not massively bothered about this. I think he's the kind of player who suits an Aberdeen or hearts rather than us
Souter96Mac
19-06-2019, 03:40 PM
Aberdeen's summer signings have been garbage. Happy with this
19-06-2019, 03:43 PM
Jambos wanted him
EHZERO7
19-06-2019, 03:48 PM
Watched Bryson a couple of times when we were allegedly interested.
Wasn't impressed so not worried that he has gone to the sheep.
19-06-2019, 03:50 PM
Watched Bryson a couple of times when we were allegedly interested.
Wasn't impressed so not worried that he has gone to the sheep.
He’s coming off a bad injury aswell im sure. We could definitely do with a player similar to him in midfield though.
19-06-2019, 04:05 PM
Good signing for Aberdeen, no two ways about it .
However I’m not overly fussed about not getting him ( if we were in for him) , always think younger players on the up play better for us than signing older players.
Unsure of his fitness but can see Heckingbottom wanting real legs in his midfield.
19-06-2019, 04:12 PM
Interesting to read Paddy McCourt saying he was very close to joining us in 2013 after training with us for a couple of weeks.
bookert
19-06-2019, 04:16 PM
Good signing for Aberdeen, no two ways about it .
However I’m not overly fussed about not getting him ( if we were in for him) , always think younger players on the up play better for us than signing older players.
Unsure of his fitness but can see Heckingbottom wanting real legs in his midfield.
Watched him last season playing against a young Leeds winger, who gave him a very torrid afternoon, ran past him as if he wasn't there.
19-06-2019, 04:16 PM
Jambos wanted him
Did we not want him too ?
19-06-2019, 04:18 PM
Interesting to read Paddy McCourt saying he was very close to joining us in 2013 after training with us for a couple of weeks.
Hasn't he been linked with us every window since he was born?
19-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Hasn't he been linked with us every window since he was born?
Started even before that seems like......
19-06-2019, 04:38 PM
Bryson will be decent, but really only like for like for Shinnie. Looks like a downgrade actually if you think that Derby have taken Shinnie and sheep have Bryson in return. Clearly Derby think Shinnie is better
19-06-2019, 04:39 PM
Bryson will be decent, but really only like for like for Shinnie. Looks like a downgrade actually if you think that Derby have taken Shinnie and sheep have Bryson in return. Clearly Derby think Shinnie is better
Pretty sure Derby offered him a new deal.
Not similar players either imo.
19-06-2019, 04:41 PM
Decent signing for Aberdeen
19-06-2019, 04:46 PM
Need a new rumour. The only live one at the moment is Gravenberch..
The rest have all signed for other clubs or been ruled out.
19-06-2019, 04:58 PM
Need a new rumour. The only live one at the moment is Gravenberch..
The rest have all signed for other clubs or been ruled out.
Preston goalie, Maxwell?
Jack Grimmer?
19-06-2019, 04:59 PM
Preston goalie, Maxwell?
Jack Grimmer?
Well reminded! I stand corrected.
Grimmer is an ancient one, forgot all about him.
19-06-2019, 05:00 PM
Preston goalie, Maxwell?
Jack Grimmer?
That Grimmer rumour has gone dead quiet. Actually had forgotten about him.
Don’t know if we are even in for him?
19-06-2019, 05:14 PM
On holiday and speaking to a Carlisle season ticket holder who was saying seemingly one of their players is coming to us, sure he’s been mentioned on here attacking midfielder. Says he’s class
19-06-2019, 05:16 PM
On holiday and speaking to a Carlisle season ticket holder who was saying seemingly one of their players is coming to us, sure he’s been mentioned on here attacking midfielder. Says he’s class
The lad we were linked with has gone to Blackpool, SMAXXA
19-06-2019, 05:16 PM
Not sure the Jamie Cureton or Marc Libbra rumours have ever been put to bed.
MagicSwirlingShip
19-06-2019, 05:23 PM
Jamie Devitt?
19-06-2019, 05:26 PM
Don't think he's signed for anyone else yet Billy. Blackpool were said to be the head of the pack though.
19-06-2019, 05:29 PM
Jamie Devitt?
Yes that’s the lad he was on about said he’s out of contract now. Funny he was moaning about them playing Ross County away in a Pre season game lol told him it’s no that far 😂
19-06-2019, 05:32 PM
Don't think he's signed for anyone else yet Billy. Blackpool were said to be the head of the pack though.
Ok Vault Boy, thought he’d signed
19-06-2019, 05:35 PM
He’s still listed down as a Carlisle United player.
Blackpool haven’t signed him. They are one of a number of clubs that are in for him.
19-06-2019, 05:43 PM
I'd be surprised if we were to sign Devitt to be honest.
We have Allan, Mallan, Newell and Murray as attacking midfield options. Squad balance is calling for box to box/defensive midfielders, strikers, goalies and a right back.
I suppose you can never have too many good players though.
19-06-2019, 05:44 PM
We have Allan, Mallan, Newell and Murray as attacking midfield options. Squad balance is calling for box to box/defensive midfielders, strikers, goalies and a right back.
The Marvin Bartley role as its known now, but yeah.. Totally agree with you.
19-06-2019, 05:45 PM
I’m bored now can we make a signing please and thanks
Totally agree. I actually think Slivka's best position would be an advanced one as well as he always looks to get in the box. I don't think we will ever see him play there.
hibbycraig
19-06-2019, 06:39 PM
Craig Bryson signed for Aberdeen. Think we were linked at one point.
Not sure we'll bring in another right back, Whittaker will probably be cover for SDG.
19-06-2019, 06:50 PM
Craig Bryson signed for Aberdeen. Think we were linked at one point.
Described as a pre contract but does that just mean he signs for them on 1st July.
I know a number of fans wanted him but I’ve not been following his time at Derby. Is this a big miss for us?
19-06-2019, 06:51 PM
Not sure we'll bring in another right back, Whittaker will probably be cover for SDG.
That didn't stop Hecky signing Spector to be fair. I think SW isn't really being considered going forward.
hibbycraig
19-06-2019, 07:18 PM
Described as a pre contract but does that just mean he signs for them on 1st July.
I know a number of fans wanted him but I’ve not been following his time at Derby. Is this a big miss for us?
Yeah, Derby contract won't end till then so can't sign with another team till then. I'm not too sure, didn't watch much of Derby myself apart from the playoffs.
That didn't stop Hecky signing Spector to be fair. I think SW isn't really being considered going forward.
You may well be right though Whittaker was injured when Spector was signed and he seems to think he'll be involved.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/he-seemed-pretty-keen-on-me-being-involved-steven-whittaker-ready-to-prove-value-to-paul-heckingbottom-1-4948362
MacGruber
19-06-2019, 07:56 PM
Yeah, we need a physically strong defensive midfielder. Someone experienced to let the others play. A no nonesense destroyer. Someone that knows the Scottish game and can be relied on and good for the dressingroom..... I can't be the only one thinking that is Marvin Bartley 🤔😅
19-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Ross County are looking for £200k for Jamie Lindsay. We should be all over that.
19-06-2019, 07:59 PM
Ross County are looking for £200k for Jamie Lindsay. We should be all over that.
What kind of player is he? I can't recall seeing him play.
K-Zazu
19-06-2019, 08:00 PM
Bryson is a cracking signing for Aberdeen
19-06-2019, 08:17 PM
What kind of player is he? I can't recall seeing him play.
Box to box, can carry the ball, can score goals, enjoys a tackle.
nellio
19-06-2019, 08:37 PM
Was great for Cardiff season before last. Unless he's had a huge drop off last year he will be decent.
Souter96Mac
20-06-2019, 05:36 AM
'We are Scottish FB' on twitter saying that both us and hearts are interested in Mulumbu. Not sure how reliable, if at all, this account is.
MacGruber
20-06-2019, 05:41 AM
'We are Scottish FB' on twitter saying that both us and hearts are interested in Mulumbu. Not sure how reliable, if at all, this account is.
Its reliability rating is 8 out of 10.
Mine is zero
20-06-2019, 06:23 AM
Actually think a better footballer than Shinnie though age of both would need to be taken into account..
20-06-2019, 06:27 AM
Are Celtic talking to us after we were such big nasty meanies over the McGinn transfer?
20-06-2019, 07:08 AM
He would be a great signing.
Mango Man
20-06-2019, 07:29 AM
Yup, he's just what we need in midfield.
20-06-2019, 07:40 AM
Are Celtic talking to us after we were such big nasty meanies over the McGinn transfer?
Id be very surprised if we get a player from Celtic any time soon.
20-06-2019, 07:44 AM
I'd be over the moon if we signed him. I thought he was immense when we last played Killie at ER. Would be brilliant foil for Allan.
20-06-2019, 07:48 AM
Actually think a better footballer than Shinnie though age of both would need to be taken into account..
Shinnie is a better Referee though
20-06-2019, 07:58 AM
We got one last week. :wink:
20-06-2019, 07:58 AM
Shinnie is a better Referee though
We will find out next season. :greengrin
Souter96Mac
20-06-2019, 08:26 AM
I'd be over the moon if we signed him. I thought he was immense when we last played Killie at ER. Would be brilliant foil for Allan.
I agree. A midfield three of Mallan Mulumbu Allan would be v good.
20-06-2019, 08:33 AM
I agree. A midfield three of Mallan Mulumbu Allan would be v good.
Mulumbu would be a good addition but that midfield wouldn’t have much drive or energy IMO. Good footballers but I think you would possibly have to replace Mallan with someone with the energy of Omeonga.
Yeah, we need a physically strong defensive midfielder. Someone experienced to let the others play. A no nonesense destroyer. Someone that knows the Scottish game and can be relied on and good for the dressingroom..... I can't be the only one thinking that is Marvin Bartley 🤔😅
I think we are looking more for a McGinn type rather than Bartley.
Marv was great at what he did but didn’t contribute much to us going forward. We need a more dynamic, high energy, box to box midfielder who can get stuck in and defend but also drive us forward when in possession.
Marv got a nosebleed if he went beyond the centre circle :greengrin
20-06-2019, 09:00 AM
Anyone away hiding in the bushes at EM to see if there are any more new signings? :greengrin
20-06-2019, 09:23 AM
The Turnbull non transfer will have made their chief exec Peter even angrier with the diddy teams again refusing to just hand over their players
Bob Box Fish
20-06-2019, 09:24 AM
I asked a while back and got informed today that we received 1 million from Aston Villa’s promotion with St Mirren receiving a third of the money. Still a decent chunk of cash, hopefully get invested in Omeonga 🤞.
20-06-2019, 09:27 AM
The Turnbull non transfer will have made their chief exec Peter even angrier with the diddy teams again refusing to just hand over their players
That was the player though and not Motherwell refusing to 'hand over' their player. They accepted Celtics offer. Ironically if they had offered the same for McGinn last year, the chances are he would now be at Celtic.
20-06-2019, 09:35 AM
I asked a while back and got informed today that we received 1 million from Aston Villa’s promotion with St Mirren receiving a third of the money. Still a decent chunk of cash, hopefully get invested in Omeonga .
Not what I have been told. You are right about the 3rd to St Mirren though. The bonus is in instalments and while the first instalment was chunky it was nowhere near £1m.
Heedersnvolleys
20-06-2019, 09:38 AM
I think we are looking more for a McGinn type rather than Bartley.
Marv was great at what he did but didn’t contribute much to us going forward. We need a more dynamic, high energy, box to box midfielder who can get stuck in and defend but also drive us forward when in possession.
Marv got a nosebleed if he went beyond the centre circle :greengrin
Nah I would say the opposite, we definitely need a Marv type player as we need someone who is willing to put the boot in. Remember a lot of the time we played marv and McGinn
Bob Box Fish
20-06-2019, 09:47 AM
Not what I have been told. You are right about the 3rd to St Mirren though. The bonus is in instalments and while the first instalment was chunky it was nowhere near £1m.
Think you misread my post, Hibs £666k and St Mirren £333k total of the 1 million total...
20-06-2019, 09:52 AM
Nah I would say the opposite, we definitely need a Marv type player as we need someone who is willing to put the boot in. Remember a lot of the time we played marv and McGinn
We seem to have options in wide areas now so I wonder if he will go 451 with one up top and Boyle Horgan right and left midfield and asked to get forward. Then a stopper midfielder, a dynamic midfielder and a attacking mid. That would be Scott A in the attacking spot most likely and the other two to be recruited. Would McNulty if we get him fit the loan striker role. It's fun to speculate but probably a bit early as we don't know what formation we are likely to see and what type and number of central mids the Heck will choose.
20-06-2019, 09:57 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/new-hearts-signing-craig-halkett-sets-three-major-targets-after-tynecastle-move-1-4950180
'Craig Halkett is targeting European football, silverware and a Scotland cap as he prepares to get his Hearts career underway'
New signing, same old pish - cups, silverware, play for Scotland ............. yadda-yadda-yadda ! Obviously their PR-team has the same high opinion of their support as we do :faf:
20-06-2019, 09:58 AM
Think you misread my post, Hibs £666k and St Mirren £333k total of the 1 million total...
Regardless, still a nice, little Brucie bonus! :greengrin
20-06-2019, 10:06 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/new-hearts-signing-craig-halkett-sets-three-major-targets-after-tynecastle-move-1-4950180
'Craig Halkett is targeting European football, silverware and a Scotland cap as he prepares to get his Hearts career underway'
New signing, same old pish - cups, silverware, play for Scotland ............. yadda-yadda-yadda ! Obviously their PR-team has the same high opinion of their support as we do :faf:
P.S don’t forget to buy your season ticket 0800- option 2.
Propaganda from them is mental.
20-06-2019, 10:10 AM
That was the player though and not Motherwell refusing to 'hand over' their player. They accepted Celtics offer. Ironically if they had offered the same for McGinn last year, the chances are he would now be at Celtic.
Getting their nose bloodied by scottish players from provincial clubs (ootside Glasgow) is a new experience for them :greengrin
But, but, but...................we are the famous Glasgow Celtic wimper wimper.
20-06-2019, 10:11 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
No being funny but what would you expect him to say? targeting a 6th place finish, round 1 or 2 of a cup? Pretty sure our new players would answer the same way (with the exception of a international cap, depending on where they are from)
Groathillgrump
20-06-2019, 10:14 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
Cups and Silverware, eh? Levein's the last gaffer I'd sign for if I wanted to guarantee myself a few winners medals! :greengrin
20-06-2019, 10:20 AM
Mulumbu and Omeonga would be good.
Mulumbu is 32 and not the most mobile but could do well with Omeonga doing a bit extra running
20-06-2019, 10:26 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
That's more or less what all our new signings say.
And rightly so. Those are our ambitions.
Greenworld
20-06-2019, 10:28 AM
He would be a great signing.100% he would be a great signing would almost complete the midfield
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
20-06-2019, 10:43 AM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
Tbf all new signings from every club have the buzz words they have to say. Hibs are no different. Every new signing mentions how the managers vision was for them, how good the stadium and training facilities are, how fantastic the support is.
20-06-2019, 10:43 AM
That's more or less what all our new signings say.
And rightly so. Those are our ambitions.
People pick the strangest things to laugh at just cause it's got something to with Hearts.
20-06-2019, 10:51 AM
Nope I read your post correct and we have not received £666k and therefore do not have this available to spend on players. Over time we may receive roughly that but it is nowhere near that in this instalment.
Greenworld
20-06-2019, 10:57 AM
Nope I read your post correct and we have not received £666k and therefore do not have this available to spend on players. Over time we may receive roughly that but it is nowhere near that in this instalment.Roughly how much is it then
Bob Box Fish
20-06-2019, 10:58 AM
Nope I read your post correct and we have not received £666k and therefore do not have this available to spend on players. Over time we may receive roughly that but it is nowhere near that in this instalment.
Deary me... regardless of instalments the amount I posted is what we will receive as a bonus from Villa being promoted.
Can't he be both? Haha.
Iv said before that i think we need 2 centre mids in. One box to box, high energy type who will be a first pick. Id like to see hibs spend a bit of money on this position as i think it is key position for us, we havent adequately replaced mcginn yet. I also think there will be a more defensive minded player who will compete with others for a spot and may be used in some games and not others. Someone with more of a physical presence but still athletic and able to get about the pitch.
I think both omeonga and mulumbu are good players but im not convinced either would give a good midfield balance when played with mallan, allan or slivka.
20-06-2019, 11:32 AM
Was great for Cardiff season before last. Unless he's had a huge drop off last year he will be decent.
Huge drop offs around about that age are almost guaranteed. If not this season then next.
20-06-2019, 11:39 AM
Shirley the most important signing this closed season will be Marc McNulty and if not him, a player with the same number of syllables in his name, otherwise "Hecky's at the wheel" will be totally ruined! :greengrin
20-06-2019, 11:47 AM
Mulumbu is a very good player but again doesn’t have much energy or great defensively
Heedersnvolleys
20-06-2019, 12:10 PM
Can't he be both? Haha.
Iv said before that i think we need 2 centre mids in. One box to box, high energy type who will be a first pick. Id like to see hibs spend a bit of money on this position as i think it is key position for us, we havent adequately replaced mcginn yet. I also think there will be a more defensive minded player who will compete with others for a spot and may be used in some games and not others. Someone with more of a physical presence but still athletic and able to get about the pitch.
I think both omeonga and mulumbu are good players but im not convinced either would give a good midfield balance when played with mallan, allan or slivka.
I think we need a defensive midfielder who will sit break up play and make an easy pass. No need for him to stray to far past the half way line all the rest of the current midfielders all do that.
20-06-2019, 12:17 PM
NHC
Jambos new signing -
New signing, same old pish - cups, silverware, play for Scotland ............. yadda-yadda-yadda ! Obviously their PR-team has the same high opinion of their support as we do :faf:Lowered expectations then, I thought it'd be along the lines of Halkett is going to build a megasuperhotelstadium, win the champions league by 2008, replace celtc as the top club in the country, blah blah etc.
I'm surprised he's not said he owns a bank.
StevieT
20-06-2019, 12:20 PM
Shirley the most important signing this closed season will be Marc McNulty and if not him, a player with the same number of syllables in his name, otherwise "Hecky's at the wheel" will be totally ruined! :greengrin
Not if you swap Flo Kamberi for Scotty Allan, and Marc McNulty for Flo Kamberi
20-06-2019, 12:22 PM
Lowered expectations then, I thought it'd be along the lines of Halkett is going to build a megasuperhotelstadium, win the champions league by 2008, replace celtc as the top club in the country, blah blah etc.
I'm surprised he's not said he owns a bank.
20-06-2019, 12:24 PM
Not if you swap Flo Kamberi for Scotty Allan, and Marc McNulty for Flo Kamberi
Aye that works! I have a feeling I will be singing the old version until December though.
I think we need a defensive midfielder who will sit break up play and make an easy pass. No need for him to stray to far past the half way line all the rest of the current midfielders all do that.
Yep and they would be the second player i was describing. Need to be able to get about quickly tho, or at least quicker than bartley (towards the end), milligan and whittaker who have done that job recently.
Add in a good quality box to box player and you have a good balance of midfielders to choose from.
20-06-2019, 12:51 PM
James Devitt signs for Blackpool
20-06-2019, 12:55 PM
Good thing we weren't interested then. 👍
20-06-2019, 12:56 PM
Better think of some replacement words then. :boo hoo:
NC1875
20-06-2019, 12:58 PM
Are Blackpool still a shambles or have they got new owners/sorted themselves out ?
Remember a couple seasons ago they were in a right mess.
20-06-2019, 01:55 PM
Are Blackpool still a shambles or have they got new owners/sorted themselves out ?
Remember a couple seasons ago they were in a right mess.
Oyston’s gone. New era at the club.
20-06-2019, 05:06 PM
Ravel Morrison released by Ostersunds. Could we make a Scott Allan out of him?
20-06-2019, 05:17 PM
Ravel Morrison released by Ostersunds. Could we make a Scott Allan out of him?
He is now looking for his ninth club in 7 years!
Seems to have an attitude problem where he thinks he is better than what he is. Man Utd & West Ham released him for this reason.
Would rather steer clear.
20-06-2019, 05:36 PM
He is now looking for his ninth club in 7 years!
Seems to have an attitude problem where he thinks he is better than what he is. Man Utd & West Ham released him for this reason.
Would rather steer clear.
He had problems then, many interviews since he's been quite honest and seemed much more sensible. Don't believe the media when it comes to him, the agenda is ridiculous.
Been stories today that he ''walked away'' from the club when actually his contract just ran out.
He had problems then, many interviews since he's been quite honest and seemed much more sensible. Don't believe the media when it comes to him, the agenda is ridiculous.
Been stories today that he ''walked away'' from the club when actually his contract just ran out.
I went to a Palace Birmingham game about 5 years ago. Brum were shock 4 0 winners & Morrison & Nathan Redmond were outstanding. IIRC 2nd half Palace had Kevin Phillips up front alongside The Dobster! Worth the admission alone!
Greenworld
20-06-2019, 06:35 PM
Over in spain and been told hibs have enquired about Kamara at rangers . On a long contract but only got 12 games last season .
Guy seems to know a few agents could be pish but I have always liked the guy .
20-06-2019, 06:38 PM
Over in spain and been told hibs have enquired about Kamara at rangers . On a long contract but only got 12 games last season .
Their fans would have a meltdown if they done any deal with us...
20-06-2019, 06:39 PM
Hun in my work absolutely raves about him. Said he has also played well with Finland recently. I'd be very surprised if he is sold or goes on loan
20-06-2019, 06:40 PM
Someone’s having you on.
Kamara is very highly rated and played in all 16 of Rangers’ games since signing for them
20-06-2019, 06:40 PM
Glen Kamara has been a first pick just about his whole time at Rangers.
Greenworld
20-06-2019, 06:41 PM
Their fans would have a meltdown if they done any deal with us...Even better lol can't see it personally but thought I'd pass it on .
Didn't he only sign at the end of January? 12 games probably isn’t bad for only having a few months
20-06-2019, 06:41 PM
He only played 12 games because he signed for them on January 31st.
20-06-2019, 06:42 PM
Glen Kamara has been a first pick just about his whole time at Rangers.
This. Rangers had 16 game and Kamara started 15 of them and came on as a sub in the other
Hibernian32
20-06-2019, 06:43 PM
Not really transfer related but has every player started pre season today? I noticed rocky is still in Israel celebrating his anniversary today. No problem at all with giving him a extra day or two.
But does anyone know when he's due back or has he been given extra time to think over other options and not just a extra couple days?
20-06-2019, 06:43 PM
Not a chance Kamara is coming to us.
Rangers fans absolutely love him and he has been brilliant since signing for them.
20-06-2019, 06:44 PM
Not really transfer related but has every player started pre season today? I noticed rocky is still in Israel celebrating his anniversary today. No problem at all with giving him a extra day or two.
But does anyone know when he's due back or has he been given extra time to think over other options and not just a extra couple days?
Marciano, Slivka and Newell given an extra couple of days off. Presumably back in on Monday but don’t know for sure.
Hibernian32
20-06-2019, 06:47 PM
Marciano, Slivka and Newell given an extra couple of days off. Presumably back in on Monday but don’t know for sure.
Thought that was more than likely the case, is Boyle back thought he'd be on his honey moon?
NC1875
20-06-2019, 06:50 PM
Lol. He’s never leaving Rangers for us.
bigswissstriker
20-06-2019, 06:52 PM
Surely a wind up?
20-06-2019, 06:59 PM
Slivka has been playing for Lithuania, no idea why Rocky is off still?
Presume Newell had something fixed up for this week before he sighed!
20-06-2019, 07:02 PM
Slivka has been playing for Lithuania, no idea why Rocky is off still?
Presume Newell had something fixed up for this week before he sighed!
Rocky was in the Israel squad at the same time as Slivka was playing for Lithuania.
Benny Brazil
20-06-2019, 07:08 PM
He only joined them in January??
20-06-2019, 07:33 PM
Alex Harris signs for Edinburgh City.
Safe to say his career hasn’t went the way we all expected.
Callum Antell, Handling, Harris and Callum Crane all there now.
Basically a mini hibs
He came from nowhere, had a very decent 3/4 of a season and then broke his leg, Butcher and Malpass brought him back too soon then bullied the lad to such an extent his mother wanted to buy out his contract, it happens happens with young players.
20-06-2019, 07:41 PM
He came from nowhere, had a very decent 3/4 of a season and then broke his leg, Butcher and Malpass brought him back too soon then bullied the lad to such an extent his mother wanted to buy out his contract, it happens happens with young players.
Thought it was ligaments injury he had? Didn't realise he'd broken his leg.
It was actually an ankle break.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/alex-harris-speaks-on-injuries-hibs-release-and-terry-butcher-1-4444558
20-06-2019, 07:47 PM
Basically a mini hibs
Broke through at a young age, lost his Dad tragically young, got a bad injury, then ruined by Butcher
Wish Alex all the best at City, deserves some luck and and Support
NikGunnarsson
20-06-2019, 07:48 PM
Flying back from the World Cup match in Paris, McNulty on the flight also going to Edinburgh. Wearing the Hibs top and got a smile and thumbs up - can only hope!
Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
20-06-2019, 07:49 PM
This. Rangers had 16 game and Kamara started 15 of them and came on as a sub in the other
Seemingly he was raging at being dropped for that 16th game and was banging on Gerrard's door demanding a move to the cabbage.
NikGunnarsson
20-06-2019, 07:49 PM
Flying back from the World Cup match in Paris, McNulty on the flight also going to Edinburgh. Wearing the Hibs top and got a smile and thumbs up - can only hope!
Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using TapatalkShould say it's me with the Hibs top on. [emoji846]
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 07:53 PM
Alex Harris didn’t have the mentality to make it as a professional footballer. Blaming it on Butcher and Malpas is a piss poor excuse. If he had the will, he’d want to show them and everyone else they were wrong and he could make it. Look at Cummings. Got a worse injury at Hearts, was dumped and then picked up with us. Nothing knocked that lads confidence. He missed a penalty that relegated us, missed one in the semi of the SC and still had the plums to take the last one in the shoot out. He scored for fun against Hearts as he wanted to shove it up them and prove them wrong. Harris simply doesn’t have what it takes mentally.
20-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Alex Harris didn’t have the mentality to make it as a professional footballer. Blaming it on Butcher and Malpas is a piss poor excuse. If he had the will, he’d want to show them and everyone else they were wrong and he could make it. Look at Cummings. Got a worse injury at Hearts, was dumped and then picked up with us. Nothing knocked that lads confidence. He missed a penalty that relegated us, missed one in the semi of the SC and still had the plums to take the last one in the shoot out. He scored for fun against Hearts as he wanted to shove it up them and prove them wrong. Harris simply doesn’t have what it takes mentally.
He’s already been a professional footballer ?
No offence but he’s played for Hibs and you haven’t.
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Why is there a question mark after your statement. I’m not disputing that he was a professional football player. My statement was, he doesn’t have the mentality to make it as a professional player. Just because you have played at a professional level, doesn’t mean you made it. How many players, play a season or two and just drop off in to obscurity. Alex fits the bill.
20-06-2019, 08:20 PM
Why is there a question mark after your statement. I’m not disputing that he was a professional football player. My statement was, he doesn’t have the mentality to make it as a professional player. Just because you have played at a professional level, doesn’t mean you made it. How many players, play a season or two and just drop off in to obscurity. Alex fits the bill.
You know him well aye?
I know a few guys who were very good young players, signed pro contracts but then struggled to establish a career as a footballer.
The margins are very fine, luck plays a part, sometimes it just doesn’t work out.
I wouldn’t accuse any of them of not having the mentality or not wanting it enough.
MountcastleHibs
20-06-2019, 08:20 PM
He’s playing in a charity match at Ainslie Park tomorrow evening.
20-06-2019, 08:26 PM
Big news coming out of Hibs tomorrow, no signings, no new strips and no investment 😘
20-06-2019, 08:27 PM
Big news coming out of Hibs tomorrow, no signings, no new strips and no investment 😘
Fixtures 😜
20-06-2019, 08:28 PM
Around 9ish? 😜
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 08:32 PM
You know him well aye?
I know a few guys who were very good young players, signed pro contracts but then struggled to establish a career as a footballer.
The margins are very fine, luck plays a part, sometimes it just doesn’t work out.
I wouldn’t accuse any of them of not having the mentality or not wanting it enough.
I don’t know him, just know his career has taken a nose dive since leaving us. I think a strong mentality plays a huge part. Some players get swayed by nights out and booze, other are more strong willed and want to make it.
For me the reason Alex hasn’t made it, is because of Alex, not Butcher and Malpas.
20-06-2019, 08:34 PM
Doranns has been offered around Scotland.
20-06-2019, 08:36 PM
Should say it's me with the Hibs top on. [emoji846]
You ****ing tease.😂😂😂
20-06-2019, 08:36 PM
You're good at this game.
20-06-2019, 08:47 PM
He often posts stuff like this. Best ignoring.
20-06-2019, 08:54 PM
I don’t know him, just know his career has taken a nose dive since leaving us. I think a strong mentality plays a huge part. Some players get swayed by nights out and booze, other are more strong willed and want to make it.
For me the reason Alex hasn’t made it, is because of Alex, not Butcher and Malpas.
Is there any particular reason why you are putting the boot in? Harris was an excellent prospect who was unlucky with injury? He played for Hibs at a young age and almost single handedly won a Scottish Cup semi final at Hampden for us. In my mind that constitutes making it. I cant comment on his mental strength bit my guess would be closer to the truth than yours.
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 08:54 PM
He often posts stuff like this. Best ignoring.
Sorry it doesn’t fit your happy clapping narrative. I just posted the facts, much easier to blame it on Butcher and Malpas though :rolleyes:
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 08:57 PM
Is there any particular reason why you are putting the boot in? Harris was an excellent prospect who was unlucky with injury? He played for Hibs at a young age and almost single handedly won a Scottish Cup semi final at Hampden for us. In my mind that constitutes making it. I cant comment on his mental strength bit my guess would be closer to the truth than yours.
I’m not putting the boot in, nor do I really care about many ex players when they leave. I’m simply saying that blaming a players career failing on a manager is a poor excuse. It’s a forum your entitled to your opinions. I don’t think he made it as a professional player, you do.
HFC93
20-06-2019, 09:03 PM
Have you got any evidence to suggest Alex Harris was swayed by nights out on the booze?
I have no knowledge of that but his nickname was " Boozy"
DetroitHibs
20-06-2019, 09:12 PM
No and that’s not what I’m accusing him off, not even in the slightest.
HFC93
20-06-2019, 09:15 PM
No and that’s not what I’m accusing him off, not even in the slightest.
Why bring that or mental weakness up then in the context of Alex Harris?
20-06-2019, 09:16 PM
https://www.snsgroup.co.uk/20-06-19-hibs-training
Pictures from Hibs training today. Search the website and there are a few more.
Flo and Whittaker both there..no Marciano - has he been given extended leave or do we think he’s off / been given more time to sort his future ?
Good to see Ryan back after his meniscus injury.
20-06-2019, 09:17 PM
That was because of his hair not nights out :faf:
Alex had a real set back with his father passing in his teens and I would argue 'made it' at Hibs in a very dramatic (albeit short) debut season. He then had a terrible (potentially career ending) injury and was rushed back from it too soon v Aberdeen at Pittodrie if I remember rightly by a failing and desperate Butcher - something he should be held accountable for (Butcher). Definitely a 'what could have been' with Alex but having watched him as a young boy and posting about him since he was in is early teens there is no doubt in my mind he was a very, very talented footballer and a graceful attacking player. Like every footballer he had weaknesses but for me Butcher absolutely ruined any chance he had of fulfilling potential.
He's worked hard to be where he is and I'm sure even in his mind he thinks what could have been with a bit of luck and better guidance (in football). I wish him all the very best in life and football :aok:
20-06-2019, 09:18 PM
I’m not putting the boot in, nor do I really care about many ex players when they leave. I’m simply saying that blaming a players career failing on a manager is a poor excuse. It’s a forum your entitled to your opinions. I don’t think he made it as a professional player, you do.
He obviously didn’t have a great time of it under TB however that was a 29 game spell. If that has ruined his career than I’d agree with you, it’s more his fault than Butchers. Seems like a nice laddie but it’s a cop out to absolve him of any blame regarding how his career has panned out.
20-06-2019, 09:18 PM
I think that was a reference to Guillaume Beuzelin and his hairstyle and nothing at all to do with the bevvy.
20-06-2019, 09:20 PM
Alex had a real set back with his father passing in his teens and I would argue 'made it' at Hibs in a very dramatic (albeit short) debut season. He then had a terrible (potentially career ending) injury and was rushed back from it too soon v Aberdeen at Pittodrie if I remember rightly by a failing and desperate Butcher - something he should be held accountable for (Butcher). Definitely a 'what could have been' with Alex but having watched him as a young boy and posting about him since he was in is early teens there is no doubt in my mind he was a very, very talented footballer and a graceful attacking player. Like every footballer he had weaknesses but for me Butcher absolutely ruined any chance he had of fulfilling potential.
He's worked hard to be where he is and I'm sure even in his mind he thinks what could have been with a bit of luck and better guidance (in football). I wish him all the very best in life and football :aok:
Good post!
20-06-2019, 09:21 PM
Well he obviously has made it as a professional footballer as he’s played for Hibs amp gary other teams.
You could say many Scottish players aren’t mentally strong enough to play higher level hence why they are in Scotland only rather than La Liga.
Many players have short careers due to injuries / bad luck / poor management - so many variables.
Your original post about Alex just seemed over the top considering you have no idea what the guy is like and what he’s been through.
tonyrougier123
20-06-2019, 09:26 PM
Not a chance Kamara is coming to us.
Rangers fans absolutely love him and he has been brilliant since signing for them.
Great player,unfortunate that he ended up at ibrox,shrewd by gerrard getting him in ,guy has undoubted potential in my mind.definately the type we need imo.👍
20-06-2019, 09:48 PM
Flo and Whittaker both there..no Marciano - has he been given extended leave or do we think he’s off / been given more time to sort his future.
Couple of extra days off along with Slivka and Newell.
Lewiehas2
20-06-2019, 09:49 PM
Having known Alex as a friend of a friend, this is far more accurate than anything else being posted
20-06-2019, 09:50 PM
Great player,unfortunate that he ended up at ibrox,shrewd by gerrard getting him in ,guy has undoubted potential in my mind.definately the type we need imo.👍
A lot of people on here wanted Kamara for Hibs last summer. Too late now.
20-06-2019, 10:05 PM
Think we should’ve tried our best to get him in
20-06-2019, 10:06 PM
I think we did.
I would be surprised if we didn't enquire, would have been a great signing. I was desperate for him and allan to be brought in at the time as replacements for mcginn and allan!!
I am nit any way in the know but i imagine he was looking for a 'bigger' move than us and knew with his contract situation he would get good offers in january.
20-06-2019, 10:09 PM
There's only so much we should really boot Hibs for this.
As soon as he was at Dundee and playing well they slapped a big price tag on him, the kind of price we just don't pay.
With hindsight, and seeing how well he's done at Rangers, we'll argue we should have pushed the boat out for him. If we'd paid the £1m Dundee were looking for and he'd been a dud, we'd really be giving it in the neck to Hibs.
20-06-2019, 10:21 PM
I think Alex just wasn’t good enough for us.
He burst into the scene when we were terrible and he provided a much needed spark, great link up play with Mcgivern? Down the left at times
Maybe he never got on great with Butcher but I wouldn’t say he ruined him.
He was given a chance by Stubbs, Lennon, Dundee, Queen of the South and Falkirk without kicking on.
i really thought he would grow into a great player but maybe he was just what we needed for that 5 months.
confidence comes and goes in football but that was a very long time ago and he’s yet to show that form again. We can’t blame that on Butcher bringing him back too early.
MagicSwirlingShip
20-06-2019, 10:29 PM
Basically a mini hibs
James Mcdonaugh their managed worked with them all during his time as our head of academy.
20-06-2019, 10:39 PM
James Mcdonaugh their managed worked with them all during his time as our head of academy.
Just a shame none of them really trained on from their youth days. Handling had the talent.
20-06-2019, 11:06 PM
Apparently Turnbull to Celtic is back on
20-06-2019, 11:18 PM
Agents played a blinder here.
21-06-2019, 03:55 AM
And all the Celtic fan will love him again
MagicSwirlingShip
21-06-2019, 05:35 AM
Le Heck ruling out any move to Hull here, :thumbsup:
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/11745868/paul-heckingbottom-interview-my-personal-ambitions-align-with-hibs
I know that, I forgot to put a smiley after, just noticed that now.
I did mention in my original post on this subject about his injury, being brought back too soon and the bullying by the then management, just shows that if you miss a simple smiley in a post, the context gets lost as it was meant to be posted in jest.
21-06-2019, 05:49 AM
I thought he was going to turn out to be our next big thing, the way he burst onto the scene was so good, but he was injured and that was that.
I think to blame Butcher is not right, he hardly played for him, and he never followed him around the country to the various clubs he's been to since.
Harris in my opinion is just one of those who showed a bit of promise, but failed to follow it up long term.
I wish him well, football is a cut throat business, and while he did well for a short period of time, i think we did well getting Boyle in exchange.
MagicSwirlingShip
21-06-2019, 06:05 AM
Just a shame none of them really trained on from their youth days. Handling had the talent.
Didn't get the Handling hype at all.
21-06-2019, 07:06 AM
Deary me... regardless of instalments the amount I posted is what we will receive as a bonus from Villa being promoted.
Not being cheeky but who did you ask to be told all this or are they ITK
21-06-2019, 07:25 AM
Me either. Or Santon.
21-06-2019, 07:29 AM
I thought he was going to turn out to be our next big thing, the way he burst onto the scene was so good, but he was injured and that was that.
I think to blame Butcher is not right, he hardly played for him, and he never followed him around the country to the various clubs he's been to since.
Harris in my opinion is just one of those who showed a bit of promise, but failed to follow it up long term.
I wish him well, football is a cut throat business, and while he did well for a short period of time, i think we did well getting Boyle in exchange.
I don't know Harris at all but i wonder if he was mentally strong enough to play for Hibs. He maybe over thought it and took things to heart. Some guys brains are in their feet and they just get on with it but by all accounts Harris was a very bright lad and maybe couldn't handle it. His confidence looked absolutely shot under Butcher and Malpass.
21-06-2019, 07:32 AM
Le Heck ruling out any move to Hull here, :thumbsup:
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/11745868/paul-heckingbottom-interview-my-personal-ambitions-align-with-hibs
Have yet to read or see an interview with him where I haven't come away impressed.
21-06-2019, 07:40 AM
I did, he was young, on loan to Berwick he was scoring for fun and has loads of time to develop. Unfortunately injuries alongside other factors meant that he never quite met that potential.
21-06-2019, 07:49 AM
I did, he was young, on loan to Berwick he was scoring for fun and has loads of time to develop. Unfortunately injuries alongside other factors meant that he never quite met that potential.
I always thought for someone that seemed so confident off the park he really lacked belief on the pitch.
He just never influenced matches, he just seemed to want to come on and play safe all the time. Maybe to do with how he was managed at the time and not encouraged to take risks, I’ve no idea but he may have had all the ability, unfortunately that’s not the only factor in making it at a club like Hibs.
21-06-2019, 07:54 AM
Heard the St Mirren manager is going to chuck it because of transfer ideas and funds.
21-06-2019, 07:54 AM
I always thought for someone that seemed so confident off the park he really lacked belief on the pitch.
He just never influenced matches, he just seemed to want to come on and play safe all the time. Maybe to do with how he was managed at the time and not encouraged to take risks, I’ve no idea but he may have had all the ability, unfortunately that’s not the only factor in making it at a club like Hibs.
Injuries killed Danny. Some talent the boy has.
21-06-2019, 07:55 AM
Heard the St Mirren manager is going to chuck it because of transfer ideas and funds.
Have the made any signings this summer?
Not great for a top 4 club
21-06-2019, 07:56 AM
There were strong rumours he was going back to Ireland before the play-offs
21-06-2019, 08:19 AM
Likewise. Never looked like he was going to make it here from the moment he broke through imo.
There’s a lot to be said for Cummings and his sometimes over confidence. If the likes of Stanton, Handling and Harris they may well have stood half a chance.
21-06-2019, 08:23 AM
Have the made any signings this summer?
Not great for a top 4 club
Part of the issue I think.
21-06-2019, 08:25 AM
Sorry it doesn’t fit your happy clapping narrative. I just posted the facts, much easier to blame it on Butcher and Malpas though :rolleyes:
You’re not posting facts, you’re posting an opinion.
You are entitled to do so, but the big problem right now is that people neither know nor care about the difference between the two.
21-06-2019, 08:50 AM
James signing yet another ex Hibs at Edin City. Has he not updated his phone book for 6 years?
21-06-2019, 08:51 AM
There can be some of many factors why players don't make it and I don't know facts around why Danny didn't at Hibs so could only speculate. I did feel there was a big jump between Berwick and first team football and another loam to a slightly higher standard, even if it was the same league as us, would have served him well. The 4 year deal almost set him up to fail as immediately some were questioning it and expecting because of it that he should be a world beater.
21-06-2019, 08:51 AM
James signing yet another ex Hibs at Edin City. Has he not updated his phone book for 6 years?
It seems to be working though?
21-06-2019, 08:52 AM
Injuries killed Danny. Some talent the boy has.
It's a shame rate him highly hope he comes back up leagues
Hibernian32
21-06-2019, 08:53 AM
At least he's not got 12 year old girls in his phone book like one of his players.
Disgraceful club
21-06-2019, 08:53 AM
There can be some of many factors why players don't make it and I don't know facts around why Danny didn't at Hibs so could only speculate. I did feel there was a big jump between Berwick and first team football and another loam to a slightly higher standard, even if it was the same league as us, would have served him well. The 4 year deal almost set him up to fail as immediately some were questioning it and expecting because of it that he should be a world beater.
Danny was outstanding for us in two matches. Away at Livi and that time he farcically got sent off in Glasgow then lost his place in the side to Scotty Rob, both times bang in the middle of the park, confidence flowing.