Glen Middleton is currently at Pittodrie having a medical with Aberdeen
You're at the wind up ya cheeky minx
05-08-2019, 04:37 PM
05-08-2019, 04:52 PM
Thought it was only the English premiership?
Championship too.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 05:02 PM
There’s more chance of me having a medical at Pittodrie.
05-08-2019, 05:15 PM
After being a poster on Hibs Net for god knows how many years I thought I had seen everything.
Sadly not
I detest both Rangers & Celtic but if I were pushed I would probably dislike Celtic more.
As a wee boy Hibs had the measure or Rangers but struggled to beat a very good Celtic side and consequently I disliked them
I also hate the patronising wee cousin pish
We hate Rangers they hate us it’s far simpler
I am quite saddened and shocked at some of the posts here
As a couldn’t care less Protestant whose best pal is a couldnt care less Catholic, religion has never played any part in my life.
Whilst not all the anti sevco and anti Middleton posts are religiously motivated iI wonder if some are
I honestly thought we were above that
It’s the 21st century ffs.
I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the player's motives or loyalty.
As others have said giving anything other than their best is career suicide
That there are other Hibs fans that would put their dislike of any other team before what’s best for Hibs really saddens me.
Some of the posts I have read are wild
Paranoid doesn’t begin to describe some of them
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 05:20 PM
Source?
Yes please, brown. :wink:
05-08-2019, 05:28 PM
For anyone interested, here’s what their muppets think of Middleton on loan at ER.
https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/middleton-set-for-hibs-medical.84267/
05-08-2019, 05:29 PM
After being a poster on Hibs Net for god knows how many years I thought I had seen everything.
Sadly not
I detest both Rangers & Celtic but if I were pushed I would probably dislike Celtic more.
As a wee boy Hibs had the measure or Rangers but struggled to beat a very good Celtic side and consequently I disliked them
As a couldn’t care less Protestant whose best pal is a couldnt care less Catholic, religion has never played any part in my life.
Whilst not all the anti sevco and anti Middleton posts are religiously motivated iI wonder if some are
I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the players motives or loyalty.
As others have said giving anything other than there best is career suicide
That there are other Hibs fans that would be put their dislike of any other team before what’s best for Hibs really saddens me.
Couldn't agree more some poor posts to me there is no difference between any team in our league. Certainly as you say any reference to religion is everything Hibs are not about.
05-08-2019, 05:30 PM
For anyone interested, here’s what their muppets think of Middleton on loan at ER.
https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/middleton-set-for-hibs-medical.84267/
I couldn't bring myself to open that link.
I take it they're not exactly pleased?
HibeeJude
05-08-2019, 05:30 PM
Folk would honestly prefer we didn’t take a player from there because they hate them despite the fact he would obviously improve us. Mental
05-08-2019, 05:34 PM
Folk would honestly prefer we didn’t take a player from there because they hate them despite the fact he would obviously improve us. Mental
I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.
05-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Yup. He’d improve Hibs. I couldn’t really care less where he comes from. He could be Rudi Skacels laddie for all I care.
05-08-2019, 05:36 PM
Most of them see it as a good move for him. A surprising number in fact.
Seekyit
05-08-2019, 05:37 PM
It didn’t start too badly then someone called “Superrangers” came along.
05-08-2019, 05:38 PM
I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.
Huge difference between hating a club so much that you can't stand the thought of signing their players and bigotry imo.
Not saying that's the same for everyone because I'm sure some of it is bigotry but it won't all be.
I'm happy for us to sign him though, seen him play some of the euro games last season and he was great. Especially against Villareal (I think it was)
05-08-2019, 05:39 PM
I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the players motives or loyalty.
A wee bit perspective and I’ve edited out all that faith bluster, forgive me.
He’s maybe coming on loan. They’re hated, happily so. Fancy anyone young from Hearts to develop “on loan” then?
05-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Most of them see it as a good move for him. A surprising number in fact.
I was surprised to see the move probably being better received over there than on here.
Interesting how many of them mentioned that it would "benefit all parties".
05-08-2019, 05:41 PM
I was surprised to see the move probably being better received over there than on here.
Interesting how many of them mentioned that it would "benefit all parties".
Westminster chat!
05-08-2019, 05:56 PM
Off the top of my head, the following have all come to Hibs either directly or indirectly from Rangers (several of them having begun their careers at ER):
Darren McGregor, Dylan McGeouch, Dougie Bell, Iain Munro, Ian Murray, Kevin Thomson and Steven Whittaker and each has given their all for our club. If Middleton does the same I couldn't care less where he comes from.
Even guys like Craig Paterson and Andy Goram who we sold to Rangers gave us good service and netted us a lot of much needed money and Goram remains one of my all-time favourite Hibs players. As does Russell Latapy who also ended up at Ibrox for a spell.
There have been one or two like Colin Stein and Kenny Miller who jumped ship as soon as Rangers came calling which stuck in the craw at the time but the bottom line is that every single member of our current squad would sign for Rangers if the deal was right for them. There's no 'moral code' among players about that sort of thing. At the end of the day it's all about their career, no matter how much they may genuinely like a particular club.
05-08-2019, 05:59 PM
People have put forward good reasons for not wanting to do business with Sevco, and they have nothing to do with bigotry.
05-08-2019, 06:01 PM
People have put forward good reasons for not wanting to do business with Sevco, and they have nothing to do with bigotry.
Thankfully the club has the best interest of the team and not some agenda in that case. I ****in hate rangers but I’m not going to turn down a quality player that will help us.
05-08-2019, 06:03 PM
He’s maybe coming on loan. They’re hated, happily so. Fancy anyone young from Hearts to develop “on loan” then?
Have they got anyone to develop?
If it came to a transfer I'd take Naismith right away after all Willie Hamilton didn't do too badly.
05-08-2019, 06:04 PM
Maybe we are a wee team. Reads like it.
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 06:04 PM
Personally I would like if all clubs treated each other with more respect and that our game was enjoyed for what it is rather than what we’re against. A transaction like this can only help that along the way.
05-08-2019, 06:05 PM
Unless we loaned from Celtic. Then you would be all for it.
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 06:06 PM
Financially smaller than Rangers? Yes, we are.
Some false pride doesn’t change that.
If this guy makes us better and we turn him down because we’re afraid of looking small, well we’re a shrivelled prune already.
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 06:10 PM
Sadly not
I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the player's motives or loyalty.
That there are other Hibs fans that would put their dislike of any other team before what’s best for Hibs really saddens me.
Bang on sir...could not argue with any of that. :top marks
05-08-2019, 06:14 PM
Have they got anyone to develop?
If it came to a transfer I'd take Naismith right away after all Willie Hamilton didn't do too badly.
A few I think. And so have we.
Willie Hamilton. Jeez, another auld name dragged out with no perspective. Talking religion is one thing but that name is of biblical proportions to most users on here as it’s so long ago. Do you remember Hibs getting a loan of many from them back then or even since? I’ve been at it close to 50 years and can’t remember one. Martin Henderson was one Hun we trialled but he’d the sense to go to Leicester first....
05-08-2019, 06:14 PM
hopefully a loan to buy or such like. if he's excellent we keep him if he's pish then back to greyskull with him.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
05-08-2019, 06:17 PM
Unfair and back that up please. Iggy Pope is a Username my friend. I’m not really the Pope. Don’t make this about a Celtic love in unless you’re Hertz.
What I have seen of the lad he seems pacy and direct and chips in with goals. Few assists too.
If the management team have identified him as a player who can improve our team then I’m all for it.
This is about Hibs and when he pulls on the jersey and plays his part he’ll get my full support. (Especially when he tears the yams a new one)
05-08-2019, 06:24 PM
We got an unexpected injury to one of our key players and we get the opportunity to replace with a quality player who knows the league.
Leave the big team, wee team crap to others
05-08-2019, 06:25 PM
Sadly not
Bang on but still hate the Huns more
Horrible despicable club hate ( I know it’s a strong word) them and all they stand for
Saying that based on what I have seen HIBS to date this season and Middleton last season happy to take the boy on and give him a chance as I feel our options seem to be narrowing but would still like to see the addition of a midfielder and striker if possible
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 06:29 PM
Wee bit harsh no ? I , i am guessing are of the same generation or similar to BSEJVT , and like many Hiibby's over the years "faith is all we had. Never knock it mate.
In answer to your question .... no way would i condone us loaning and developing a ****bo which probably makes me a hypocrite as i abhor the Hun yet am quite open to the loan to us of the player in question.
Fine lines huh !!!
Just to clarify.... The FTB attempted to do worse to us than the Hun ever did...puts some "persective" on it as far as i am concerned.
05-08-2019, 06:34 PM
I would have thought someone of your vintage would have remembered when that sort of thing was commonplace, but I may be doing you a disservice.
But to answer your question, no problem at all.
If the player improves us and gets us out a hole then the fact that he may or may then not go back to Hearts and play for them is simply the price we would have to pay.
All I care about is Hibs, I hate Hearts as much as anyone but the idea of cutting off your nose to spite your face just strikes me as being stupid.
BTW
I used to coach a youth football team and was asked to go there and coach and I declined, for the simple reason it wouldn't benefit Hibs at all and may help them.
Similarly, my son, when he was very young was asked to go there for trials as a goalie, again we declined for the same reasons.
But if say Hibs didn't have a striker and they had one who would improve us for a season I would take him all day long.
You and I both know that that's never going to happen and I know you think yourself to be pretty clever trying to trap me into that answer but the answer I would give so there you go.
Fwiw I would seriously have to question the mentality of someone who gave a different answer.
If it is more important for you to do down hearts, even at Hibs expense than it is to help Hibs whilst maybe helping them then I would suggest you need to have a think about your priorities.
Finally
Just in case you wondered, I hate Rangers as much as anyone and beating them rather than anyone else in the cup final (except Hearts) given our recent history with them made the win all the sweeter, but all that matters is Hibs
Torto7
05-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Sadly not
That's great but you're the one mentioning religion.
Most of us against doing business with them don't like them because of their direct attack on our club and it's fanbase.
They also resemble something I'd expect to see at an EDL march and I'd favour cutting as many ties with them as possible.
MacGruber
05-08-2019, 06:36 PM
This is a hell of a medical they must be putting him through!
05-08-2019, 06:38 PM
We got an unexpected injury to one of our key players and we get the opportunity to replace with a quality player who knows the league.
Leave the big team, wee team crap to others
Aye. We’ve got an opportunity to borrow one from Rangers and help him develop as we are a team a bit smaller than them to send him back better, not replace one. Boyle’s injury is hardly unexpected. I’m still amazed he was brought into that last Friday. It had relapse written all over it from where I was standing.
I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.
05-08-2019, 06:39 PM
Zombies are bound to take a while surely.
05-08-2019, 06:39 PM
If you think about it Middleton coming to us is great. A youngster with great potential and it pisses off a large chunk of rangers fans.
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 06:41 PM
Aye. We’ve got an opportunity to borrow one from Rangers and help him develop as we are a team a bit smaller than them to send him back better, not replace one. Boyle’s injury is hardly unexpected. I’m still amazed he was brought into that last Friday. It had relapse written all over it from where I was standing.
I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.
At the very least we can expect to loan another quality winger next season, or perhaps by then we’ll have the resources to buy, certainly that’ll be easier if this guy helps us get European football this term.
05-08-2019, 06:43 PM
If you think about it Middleton coming to us is great. A youngster with great potential and it pisses off a large chunk of rangers fans.
And even though he’s a youngster with great potential (and a lot to offer now aswell) its pissed off a load of our own seemingly. I’m sure he’ll prove them wrong.
05-08-2019, 06:47 PM
Would you be as concerned if he was being loaned from Aberdeen?
Loan players are for the short term benefit of us. It may benefit them too, unfortunately, but I’m only concerned about us and this coming season.
05-08-2019, 06:49 PM
I would have thought someone of your vintage would have remembered when that sort of thing was commonplace, but I may be doing you a disservice.
But to answer your question, no problem at all.
If the player improves us and gets us out a hole then the fact that he may or may then not go back to Hearts and play for them is simply the price we would have to pay.
All I care about is Hibs, I hate Hearts as much as anyone but the idea of cutting off your nose to spite your face just strikes me as being stupid.
BTW
I used to coach a youth football team and was asked to go there and coach and I declined, for the simple reason it wouldn't benefit Hibs at all and may help them.
Similarly, my son, when he was very young was asked to go there for trials as a goalie, again we declined for the same reasons.
But if say Hibs didn't have a striker and they had one who would improve us for a season I would take him all day long.
You and I both know that that's never going to happen and I know you think yourself to be pretty clever trying to trap me into that answer but the answer I would give so there you go.
Fwiw I would seriously have to question the mentality of someone who gave a different answer.
If it is more important for you to do down hearts, even at Hibs expense than it is to help Hibs whilst maybe helping them then I would suggest you need to have a think about your priorities.
Finally
Just in case you wondered, I hate Rangers as much as anyone and betaing them rather than anyone else in the cup final (except Hearts) given our recent history with them made the win all the sweeter, but all that matters is Hibs
Now now, you’ve got my hand delivered all inclusive Media Memory Stick haven’t you of that day in 2016 :wink: if not all my memories, so no disservice. I never remember a player on loan from any of them.
You can question my mentality at the HSL meeting if you make yourself known again.
I’ll be the drunk fellah in the ould leprechaun outfit with the pig under his arm. Mines a Guiness .
05-08-2019, 06:51 PM
Would you be as concerned if he was being loaned from Aberdeen?
Loan players are for the short term benefit of us. It may benefit them too, unfortunately, but I’m only concerned about us and this coming season.
Hibernian32
How awkward will the jambos feel sitting in Middletons before a Derby if he's scored the winner in the previous😂😂
👍
05-08-2019, 06:59 PM
Now now, you’ve got my hand delivered all inclusive Media Memory Stick haven’t you of that day in 2016 :wink: if not all my memories, so no disservice. I never remember a player on loan from any of them.
You can question my mentality at the HSL meeting if you make yourself known again.
I’ll be the drunk fellah in the ould leprechaun outfit with the pig under his arm. Mines a Guiness .
I knew it was you S and we have a mutual friend in Hibernation and yes I still watch those clips regularly and for that you have my eternal gratitude.
I hope things are good with you?
Although I am pretty vocal about HSL and will attend that meeting I will be keeping a very low profile as my public pronouncements on HSL, which are mine and mine only, are let's say incompatible with my employment status, which is why I use a nom de plume, like you.
More than happy to buy you a pint as I am certainly due you one for the stick.
I have a firm recollection of loans between Hibs & Hearts happening but will need to re-read the old books to be sure when it last happened.
I know for certain it used to happen around the time of the Famous Five and yes I know you are not that old :-)
There was also movement between the 2 clubs for sure in the early TT days, but that may not have been loans
All the best
G
05-08-2019, 07:00 PM
hopefully a loan to buy or such like. if he's excellent we keep him if he's pish then back to greyskull with him.
I get the impression that this is purely to get the guy playing regularly at the top level in Scotland. He is very highly thought of at Ibrox but unfortunately for him just there at the wrong time to secure a place in their starting line-up.
MacGruber
05-08-2019, 07:05 PM
Zombies are bound to take a while surely.
Lol - true!
Small?
05-08-2019, 07:08 PM
Maybe he has failed it. :greengrin
05-08-2019, 07:12 PM
Of those dissenting on here I've not heard a single one mention religion. I can only properly speak for myself but that's not a factor in my misgivings about this.
We have a lot of threads on here giving Newco grief, saying how terrible they are, embarrassing club etc and now the same posters are delighted to be doing business with them.
It's the loan bit that really bothers me. He'll back at Ibrox in 10 months and potentially a better player for it. We're helping a club that has attacked our team over the last couple of years to improve their squad. That's doesn't sit well with me tbh.
05-08-2019, 07:17 PM
Maybe he has failed it. :greengrin
If part if it is to bleed green he has already failed.
05-08-2019, 07:30 PM
Of those dissenting on here I've not heard a single one mention religion. I can only properly speak for myself but that's not a factor in my misgivings about this.
We have a lot of threads on here giving Newco grief, saying how terrible they are, embarrassing club etc and now the same posters are delighted to be doing business with them.
It's the loan bit that really bothers me. He'll back at Ibrox in 10 months and potentially a better player for it. We're helping a club that has attacked our team over the last couple of years to improve their squad. That's doesn't sit well with me tbh.
We're helping our own team though, and that should take priority over everything.
I don't like doing business with Rangers but would we really want to see an inferior Hibs team over doing business with them?
05-08-2019, 07:32 PM
Takes a while to clense the Rangers filth out of the system
05-08-2019, 07:36 PM
Takes a while to clense the Rangers filth out of the system
Put him in quarantine for a week or so with the 2016 cup final on a continuous loop
That’ll cure him
05-08-2019, 07:38 PM
Yup. He’d improve Hibs. I couldn’t really care less where he comes from. He could be Rudi Skacels laddie for all I care.Now come on u took that too far faf
05-08-2019, 07:43 PM
Championship too.
Thanks. Didn't know that.
05-08-2019, 07:44 PM
If I am confused about whether something is or isn’t something I use the duck test.
If it looks like a duck
Walks like a duck and
Talks like a duck
Chances are it’s a duck
I don’t remember any comment at all when we signed Stokes Henderson & McGeouch, not one
Yet Celtic have screwed us over in the past (Riordan immediately springs to mind)
They tried to do it again with McGinn yet afterwards folk were orgasmic about getting Morgan & Briton to name just two on loan last year.
Anyone see any inconsistencies?
I get the argument that Rangers sins are arguably greater but we have never layed a glove on Celtic since 72
Not only did we deny The Rangers their first proper trophy but we then celebrated on the pitch in front of them and unquestionably assaulted at least one of their players
What were we expecting congratulations cards?
Their post match response was as predictable as it was pathetic. Pure deflection and a chance to have the orcs forget the defeat and rally behind their club in a siege mentality.
I am delighted they hate us it shows we have hurt them whereas Celtic pat us on the head and tell us well done wee bro.
For those that hate the idea of loaning anyone from any of our competitors, fair do’s not my position but it’s consistent.
For those that are selective in their hatred of loans depending on who is doing the loaning it a lot less clear.
05-08-2019, 07:49 PM
He’s passed his medical according to someone on Twitter.
Gordy M
05-08-2019, 08:01 PM
Couple of Rangers fans at work really rate him and are a bit surprised they are letting him out on loan. Both said he is a good player and think he will do well at us.
05-08-2019, 08:08 PM
We're helping our own team though, and that should take priority over everything.
I don't like doing business with Rangers but would we really want to see an inferior Hibs team over doing business with them?
I do get that but surely it isn't a binary choice, Middleton or no one? Is he the only winger available to us?
05-08-2019, 08:09 PM
I do get that but surely it isn't a binary choice, Middleton or no one? Is he the only winger available to us?
What if he's the best one available to us?
05-08-2019, 08:23 PM
Our football dept must think he is the best option available so that’s all that should matter imo
05-08-2019, 08:28 PM
I knew it was you S and we have a mutual friend in Hibernation and yes I still watch those clips regularly and for that you have my eternal gratitude.
I hope things are good with you?
Although I am pretty vocal about HSL and will attend that meeting I will be keeping a very low profile as my public pronouncements on HSL, which are mine and mine only, are let's say incompatible with my employment status, which is why I use a nom de plume, like you.
More than happy to buy you a pint as I am certainly due you one for the stick.
I have a firm recollection of loans between Hibs & Hearts happening but will need to re-read the old books to be sure when it last happened.
I know for certain it used to happen around the time of the Famous Five and yes I know you are not that old :-)
There was also movement between the 2 clubs for sure in the early TT days, but that may not have been loans
All the best
G
You too friend. And you and J need no introduction. We are the same vintage (maybe not girth) but speaking as a fat ****, I can’t remember any loans at all . Transfers, frees, swaps. Aye. Geez a lend o him? Not in yer puff. I’m 56. xx
Davy Mac
05-08-2019, 08:32 PM
Do we honestly think we are getting this guy to improve him prior to him going back to Rangers?
He is in the shop window pure and simple and in my opinion not in Gerrard's future plans, just my take on it.
05-08-2019, 08:34 PM
Unfair and back that up please. Iggy Pope is a Username my friend. I’m not really the Pope. Don’t make this about a Celtic love in unless you’re Hertz.
Gave it a while now and you’ve gone quiet so will you explain that snidely one or do I just ignore your bollox like I used to?
05-08-2019, 08:39 PM
If I am confused about whether something is or isn’t something I use the duck test.
If it looks like a duck
Walks like a duck and
Talks like a duck
Chances are it’s a duck
I don’t remember any comment at all when we signed Stokes Henderson & McGeouch, not one
Yet Celtic have screwed us over in the past (Riordan immediately springs to mind)
They tried to do it again with McGinn yet afterwards folk were orgasmic about getting Morgan & Briton to name just two on loan last year.
I get the argument that Rangers sins are arguably greater but we have never layed a glove on Celtic since 72
Not only did we deny The Rangers their first proper trophy but we then celebrated on the pitch in front of them and unquestionably assaulted at least one of their players
Their post match response was as predictable as it was pathetic. Pure deflection and a chance to have the orcs forget the defeat and rally behind their club in a siege mentality.
I am delighted they hate us it shows we have hurt them whereas Celtic pat us on the head and tell us well done wee bro.
For those that hate the idea of loaning anyone from any of our competitors, fair do’s not my position but it’s consistent.
For those that are selective in their hatred of loans depending on who is doing the loaning it a lot less clear.
Good post as well a Deek there is also Caldwell
05-08-2019, 08:39 PM
If it looks like a duck
Walks like a duck and
Talks like a duck
Chances are it’s a duck
1. We weren’t in the same division as Celtc for most of those loans, and they are still clearly a fair step ahead of us
2. Celtc haven’t run a propaganda campaign trying to punish our club because they are bad losers.
There are no inconsistencies, just a wilful refusal on your part to understand why people have reservations about doing business with Sevco.
None of this is Middleton’s fault though, and he will have my support if he signs.
05-08-2019, 08:40 PM
Wee bit harsh no ? I , i am guessing are of the same generation or similar to BSEJVT , and like many Hiibby's over the years "faith is all we had. Never knock it mate.
In answer to your question .... no way would i condone us loaning and developing a ****bo which probably makes me a hypocrite as i abhor the Hun yet am quite open to the loan to us of the player in question.
Fine lines huh !!!
Just to clarify.... The FTB attempted to do worse to us than the Hun ever did...puts some "persective" on it as far as i am concerned.
Caught this late Turnbulls Mate but I think you’ve misconstrued the term faith. Everything else you’ve written is correct. Never knock that.
05-08-2019, 08:40 PM
Ultimately, any player that makes Hibs stronger is a good player to have.
Sure, it’s frustrating to either develop a rivals player or put them in the shop window for them, but hell, that describes Liam Henderson, and I’m sure nobody regrets us doing that piece of business!
05-08-2019, 08:41 PM
Do we honestly think we are getting this guy to improve him prior to him going back to Rangers?
He is in the shop window pure and simple and in my opinion not in Gerrard's future plans, just my take on it.
He is a good player but like you I wonder if he will feature for them going forward. The Rangers want to win leagues he will be a bit part player at most. I'm surprised we aren't trying to buy him with a first option to buy back or/and a high percentage sell on fee.
05-08-2019, 08:42 PM
Ultimately, any player that makes Hibs stronger is a good player to have.
Sure, it’s frustrating to either develop a rivals player or put them in the shop window for them, but hell, that describes Liam Henderson, and I’m sure nobody regrets us doing that piece of business!
For Verona.
Mantis Toboggan
05-08-2019, 08:42 PM
We need cover for Boyle and this guy fits the bill. Anything else is secondary really
05-08-2019, 08:45 PM
In other news Agyepong has signed for Waasland-Beveren in Belgium, think it's another loan deal
05-08-2019, 08:53 PM
In other news Agyepong has signed for Waasland-Beveren in Belgium, think it's another loan deal
Thought he had signed for Killie
05-08-2019, 08:54 PM
Thought he had signed for Killie
Not sure where you heard that? Unless I have got it very wrong 😐
05-08-2019, 08:56 PM
Not sure where you heard that? Unless I have got it very wrong 😐
Sure that was a rumour a few weeks ago.
05-08-2019, 08:59 PM
He is a good player but like you I wonder if he will feature for them going forward. The Rangers want to win leagues he will be a bit part player at most. I'm surprised we aren't trying to buy him with a first option to buy back or/and a high percentage sell on fee.
If we are, then barry. I want to win another league before they get one though.
05-08-2019, 09:00 PM
Have Hibs ever loaned a player from a team in the same league before?
05-08-2019, 09:01 PM
Scott Allan from Celtc.
05-08-2019, 09:01 PM
Allan 🤷🏼*♂️
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:02 PM
Kilmarnock.
05-08-2019, 09:02 PM
All of a sudden we are not getting a player on loan, we are developing him for Rangers. Not once have I heard anyone on this board claim that we are developing a player for someone else with all of our previous loans. Now we get a player from Rangers on loan the outcry is hilarious. Get a grip FFS.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:03 PM
Scott Allan, surely?
05-08-2019, 09:03 PM
Scott Allan, surely?
2 others beat you to it
thegaffer12
05-08-2019, 09:05 PM
The player will be developing on loan to rangers' benefit regardless of whether it's at us or another club. The difference in this case is we benefit too.
05-08-2019, 09:05 PM
Kilmarnock.
What's Kilmarnock?
05-08-2019, 09:06 PM
All of a sudden we are not getting a player on loan, we are developing him for Rangers. Not once have I heard anyone on this board claim that we are developing a player for someone else with all of our previous loans. Now we get a player from Rangers on loan the outcry is hilarious. Get a grip FFS.
I don't agree but understand I think that thought process is down to his age and the likelihood he will never sign for Hibs. I bit like Barker i suppose though some thought we could sign him :greengrin
1. We weren’t in the same division as Celtc for most of those loans, and they are still clearly a fair step ahead of us
2. Celtc haven’t run a propaganda campaign trying to punish our club because they are bad losers.
There are no inconsistencies, just a wilful refusal on your part to understand why people have reservations about doing business with Sevco.
None of this is Middleton’s fault though, and he will have my support if he signs.
Sorry
Didn’t know you had first hand information on everyone’s motivations for not wanting to do business with Rangers but it’s great that you can speak for everyone so quickly and clearly
Explain to me the post McGinn discrepancy can you when we were most definitely both in the same division and for a long while Rangers were competing with Celtic for the league and not us for Europe?
Hibs escaped Scot free over Hamden, and although many supporters did not, I don’t think that the supporters experience had much to do with Rangers, more the police’s mishandling of the entire event which created the opportunity and their pathetic attempt at redeeming themselves
Personally I thought Rangers propaganda attempts laughable and most football fans of non Hibs or Rangers persuasion I know thought the same and that rangers embarrassed themselves by their actions
I think that too many folk are giving fatuous excuses as to why they treat a loan from Rangers differently to anyone else and whilst I am not saying for a moment all are for other reasons, my view is some may be, whether they themselves even recognise that difference is debatable.
Regardless neither of us can prove we are right unequivocally so it’s probably way past time to put this to rest.
What I will say in closing is that the Hibs I support and grew up supporting is an inclusive organisation without any of the intolerance or discrimination that sullies the Old Firm or to a far lesser extent Hearts.
If it were to become anything else, I couldn’t continue to support it
Here’s Lucy!
2 others beat you to it
Sorry, just logged in, saw the thread, answered.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:07 PM
What's Kilmarnock?
The team he has apparently signed for. :aok:
05-08-2019, 09:08 PM
The team he has apparently signed for. :aok:
Apparently you may be wrong 👍
05-08-2019, 09:10 PM
Thomas Agyepong
05-08-2019, 09:10 PM
Richie Towell from Celtc not so long ago And Scott Bain from Dundee the season before last.
05-08-2019, 09:11 PM
Richie Towell from Celtc not so long ago And Scott Bain from Dundee the season before last.
Right enough
05-08-2019, 09:12 PM
Scott Allan, surely?
You running out of Bobby Darin avatars now you one hit wonder?
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:13 PM
Apparently you may be wrong 👍
Well, that’s fine.
It’s what I read yesterday, pardon me.
Didn't realise it was a point scoring thread.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:15 PM
You running out of Bobby Darin avatars now you one hit wonder?
I’m veering towards Miss Winehouse now.
05-08-2019, 09:17 PM
Sorry
Didn’t know you had first hand information on everyone’s motivations for not wanting to do business with Rangers but it’s great that you can speak for everyone so quickly and clearly
Explain to me the post McGinn discrepancy can you when we were most definitely both in the same division and for a long while Rangers were competing with Celtic for the league and not us for Europe?
Hibs escaped Scot free over Hamden, and although many supporters did not, I don’t think that the supporters experience had much to do with Rangers, more the police’s mishandling of the entire event which created the opportunity and their pathetic attempt at redeeming themselves
Personally I thought Rangers propaganda attempts laughable and most football fans of non Hibs or Rangers persuasion I know thought the same and that rangers embarrassed themselves by their actions
I think that too many folk are giving fatuous excuses as to why they treat a loan from Rangers differently to anyone else and whilst I am not saying for a moment all are for other reasons, my view is some may be, whether they themselves even recognise that difference is debatable.
Regardless neither of us can prove we are right unequivocally so it’s probably way past time to put this to rest.
What I will say in closing is that the Hibs I support and grew up supporting is an inclusive organisation without any of the intolerance or discrimination that sullies the Old Firm or to a far lesser extent Hearts.
If it were to become anything else, I couldn’t continue to support it
You were accusing people of being bigots with very little to support your case. That doesn’t sit right with me.
05-08-2019, 09:18 PM
Well, that’s fine.
It’s what I read yesterday, pardon me.
Didn't realise it was a point scoring thread.
It's not point scoring
05-08-2019, 09:18 PM
Sure that was a rumour a few weeks ago.
Think training/on trial there.
Crunchie
05-08-2019, 09:19 PM
Bang on sir...could not argue with any of that. :top marks
I agree and would give him a :top marksfor all his other posts on the subject. It's a no brainer, we're getting a quality player for a season and I couldn't give a monkeys where he's coming from.
05-08-2019, 09:20 PM
Was Martin Boyle not signed on loan initially?
05-08-2019, 09:22 PM
He was from Dundee with Harris going the other way I think
Yes he was......
I’m veering towards Miss Winehouse now.
I’ve tried. Weirdo.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:23 PM
It's not point scoring
I'm not arguing, it’s not the way I party.
Have a good evening, Franck (no sarcasm by the way, your username is cool).
Luce
05-08-2019, 09:24 PM
And we have Craig Gordon to thank for getting Scott Allan out of Bain’s shortest loan ever.
05-08-2019, 09:24 PM
Thought this was meant to be a transfer thread
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 09:26 PM
Transferring insults and jibes to one another.
Togs91
05-08-2019, 09:26 PM
Surely the only dow side tk this loan deal is that we wont be able to play him against rangers? Surely one of our more difficult opponents this season?
05-08-2019, 09:27 PM
Gave it a while now and you’ve gone quiet so will you explain that snidely one or do I just ignore your bollox like I used to?
My bollox like you used to? I’ll give you a reply tomorrow Iggy, saying you don’t prefer Celtic over rangers though is ridiculous. It’s too late for reasoned debate so feel free to bash on with whatever you feel the need to do mate 👍
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:29 PM
I’ve tried. Weirdo.
I know you have.
You seem a genuinely decent bloke, my apologies to you, Iggy.
That, is 100% genuine by the way.
Sorry, mate.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:32 PM
I think I am due you chaps an apology.
I should not have logged in tonight.
Sorry
Lucy
Again transfer thread turns into petty jibes, insults and sarky comments, well done lads and lassies, I'm just surprised the pun brigade haven't started off their ***** again.
As for the lad Middleton, don't know a lot about him but if can improve us while Boyle recovers then I'm all for that, who cares where he comes from it's more important that the team gets improved, if they had 15 players to look at and they feel this boy is the best, then cool.
05-08-2019, 09:39 PM
Surely the only dow side tk this loan deal is that we wont be able to play him against rangers? Surely one of our more difficult opponents this season?
That's my main reservation too. I've absolutely no time for Sevco, but if they have a player who could help us get back to Europe then we should take him.
I genuinely can't remember anyone ever complaining about developing players for other teams before. The argument against loans has been from completely different perspectives.
In any case, I'd lay money that Middleton will never wear a Sevco shirt again.
05-08-2019, 09:39 PM
We were in the league below at the time though.
05-08-2019, 09:41 PM
We were in the league below at the time though.
We were still developing him, potentially for a rival team.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:42 PM
Again transfer thread turns into petty jibes, insults and sarky comments, well done lads and lassies, I'm just surprised the pun brigade haven't started off their ***** again.
As for the lad Middleton, don't know a lot about him but if can improve us while Boyle recovers then I'm all for that, who cares where he comes from it's more important that the team gets improved, if they had 15 players to look at and they feel this boy is the best, then cool.
Thanks for bringing this back on track (priceless, coming from me).
Middleton is a good player, he would definitely improve us and, apparently us getting him would really cheese off the Huns.
No negatives there!
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:43 PM
We were still developing him, potentially for a rival team.
That is what was so galling.
05-08-2019, 09:46 PM
That is what was so galling.
I don't remember anyone even discussing that at the time. In fact, I don't remember anyone who was even slightly negative about him coming on loan.
Here’s Lucy!
05-08-2019, 09:52 PM
I don't remember anyone even discussing that at the time. In fact, I don't remember anyone who was even slightly negative about him coming on loan.
I’m still not wrong.
Jesus! Can you breathe on here?
05-08-2019, 09:56 PM
My bollox like you used to? I’ll give you a reply tomorrow Iggy, saying you don’t prefer Celtic over rangers though is ridiculous. It’s too late for reasoned debate so feel free to bash on with whatever you feel the need to do mate 👍
1. Aye. Bollox.
2. Don’t cos I really don’t. I’d lose you on that one. Trust me. I’m not an actual Pope. I’ll lose you on it though.
3. Woooah we are not mates. You so much as look at the Famous Five Stand (or the East West or South East) the wrong way, swear to god I’ll ****ing knock you out!
05-08-2019, 09:56 PM
Some bad comedowns on a monday eh. :greengrin
05-08-2019, 09:59 PM
1. Aye. Bollox.
2. Don’t cos I really don’t. I’d lose you on that one. Trust me. I’m not an actual Pope. I’ll lose you on it though.
3. Woooah we are not mates. You so much as look at the Famous Five Stand (or the East West or South East) the wrong way, swear to god I’ll ****ing knock you out!
😂😅 That kickback thread still makes me laugh
05-08-2019, 10:00 PM
I’m still not wrong.
Jesus! Can you breathe on here?
Are you ok tonight?
I'm having a civilised discussion about loan players and in this case, Martin Boyle.
Are we all supposed to say nothing because you've made a statement, whether we agree with it or not?
05-08-2019, 10:02 PM
That's my main reservation too. I've absolutely no time for Sevco, but if they have a player who could help us get back to Europe then we should take him.
I genuinely can't remember anyone ever complaining about developing players for other teams before. The argument against loans has been from completely different perspectives.
In any case, I'd lay money that Middleton will never wear a Sevco shirt again.
That might be right, but seeing as we have watched the same sides most of our lives, when have you seen Hibs develop a young player for another side? We swapped Boyle with Harris if I recall. Developing players for the competition? Can not recall it my friend.
05-08-2019, 10:03 PM
Some bad comedowns on a monday eh. :greengrin
Any news? Nah? Thought so.
05-08-2019, 10:06 PM
1. Aye. Bollox.
No bother Iggy pal. Send me wee pm if you have an issue because I’ve not got a ****ing clue what you’re spraffing about, mate 👍
SideBurns
05-08-2019, 10:07 PM
Are you ok tonight?
I'm having a civilised discussion about loan players and in this case, Martin Boyle.
Are we all supposed to say nothing because you've made a statement, whether we agree with it or not?
Probably best not to encourage Lucy by replying to her. I thought she might've got bored by now...
Assuming Middleton is signing, he deserves the same support every other player receives. However, it'd be nice to have a bit of pace in the team at Ibrox next Sunday, and since he won't be eligible I'd like to think Hecky's still looking around at other attacking options too.
05-08-2019, 10:10 PM
Probably best not to encourage Lucy by replying to her. I thought she might've got bored by now...
Assuming Middleton is signing, he deserves the same support every other player receives. However, it'd be nice to have a bit of pace in the team at Ibrox next Sunday, and since he won't be eligible I'd like to think Hecky's still looking around at other attacking options too.
Going by this thread the guys on a hiding to nothing unless he’s outstanding.
Thankfully I reckon he’ll be very good for us.
05-08-2019, 10:10 PM
That might be right, but seeing as we have watched the same sides most of our lives, when have you seen Hibs develop a young player for another side? We swapped Boyle with Harris if I recall. Developing players for the competition? Can not recall it my friend.
Just the various Celtic players and Boyle that I can remember. Everyone was perfectly happy when we took Liam Henderson on loan. Sure, we were in the league below, but we were still developing him for Celtic.
The fact is, we're not recruiting players to develop them. We recruit them to improve our side.
If they learn a bit while they're here, it's no skin off our nose. I understand why you find it galling, and I'd rather we didn't have to go down that road, but if he improves us, then I'm happy to swallow a bit of pride.
05-08-2019, 10:14 PM
Can’t you remember us picking up Scotty Allan from the Celtic under 23s and potentially shop windowing him for other clubs? Only to be denied him once again because we decided to not bend over to Celtic over McGinn.
I’m sure you hated Allan back right enough.
05-08-2019, 10:18 PM
Can’t you remember us picking up Scotty Allan from the Celtic under 23s and potentially shop windowing him for other clubs? Only to be denied him once again because we decided to not bend over to Celtic over McGinn.
But Allan didn't go back to Celtic and play nor did he sign for anyone else, in fact on the back of that we agreed a pre-contract in Jan and tried to get him in the January window. We may never have signed him if we didn't do the loan deal
05-08-2019, 10:21 PM
But Allan didn't go back to Celtic and play nor did he sign for anyone else, in fact on the back of that we agreed a pre-contract in Jan and tried to get him in the January window. We may never have signed him if we didn't do the loan deal
We didn’t know if Allan was going to go back and play.
My guess, just like Allan, Middleton will be used at hibs as a shop window to get some money for the player. That’s why Allan was loaned to Rotherham then Dundee then us, to advertise him surplus, Middleton will be the same. Gerrard spends too much for him to ever get an actual chance at their cesspit.
The Leith Dutch
05-08-2019, 10:34 PM
100% this.
If he'll make our team better then I'm delighted. My only concern is Hibernian football club.
It's like this mad nonsense when people would prefer Hearts to lose even when them winning clearly benefited Hibs.
The only reason not to do the deal would be if there was a deal that we could do instead that got us a player as good or better that
could play in all the matches or we could sign properly and sell on for a profit.
05-08-2019, 10:38 PM
Thomas Agyepong
What is the big guy doing leaning on Thomas.
That'll be him out for a month!
Greenfly
05-08-2019, 10:42 PM
I don't think we should allow loans within the same league - too many potential compromises involved - but regardless of what I think, them's the rules and I'm very confident Middleton could do a right good job for us. Get him in please.
The Leith Dutch
05-08-2019, 10:50 PM
I don't think we should allow loans within the same league - too many potential compromises involved - but regardless of what I think, them's the rules and I'm very confident Middleton could do a right good job for us. Get him in please.
Not on the Middleton signing - I agree, sign him up.
But on the loan restriction: I'd actually go further - no loans at all.
I'd put in place a squad size cap and say no loans as it then makes better players available to more clubs.
It always galls me to see players barely getting a game or being rotated at Man City for example when they'd be first on the team sheet at all but a handful of other clubs.
One thing American Sport does well generally is that every club has superstars.
05-08-2019, 10:51 PM
Watched a video on YouTube of him. Never even realised until now he’s all left foot. Thought he was right. Can expect to see him on left unless hecky sees him on the right
05-08-2019, 10:54 PM
Just the various Celtic players and Boyle that I can remember. Everyone was perfectly happy when we took Liam Henderson on loan. Sure, we were in the league below, but we were still developing him for Celtic.
The fact is, we're not recruiting players to develop them. We recruit them to improve our side.
If they learn a bit while they're here, it's no skin off our nose. I understand why you find it galling, and I'd rather we didn't have to go down that road, but if he improves us, then I'm happy to swallow a bit of pride.
Bum.
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 11:11 PM
Bum.
Willy
05-08-2019, 11:16 PM
Willy
Not your fault Chefki. 40yr old joke. My fault.
06-08-2019, 12:37 AM
Watched a video on YouTube of him. Never even realised until now he’s all left foot. Thought he was right. Can expect to see him on left unless hecky sees him on the right
I'd honestly recommend a few more videos, he's predominantly left footed but look very comfortable on his right in the clips I have seen
06-08-2019, 01:41 AM
Can’t remember the last time Hibs got a player on loan from Rangers. I am sure some bright spark will remind me.
Suggests to me that Rangers are skint, with large legal bills coming down the pike and their loan dealings will be with whichever team is willing to pay more of the wages rather than a ‘preferred’ club.
We picked up Allan from WBA and then sold him to Celtic probably to spite Rangers at the time. Only reason he never came back to us on loan last summer or January is Lawell being a dick, Scotty had no hard feelings about the non loans and signed a pre contract.
06-08-2019, 06:32 AM
Does not matter to me where a player comes from he will have my support whenever he plays for our club.
06-08-2019, 06:42 AM
Derby hoping to appoint Wayne Rooney as Player Manager
06-08-2019, 06:44 AM
Think it’s just a player/coaching role. They’ve only just appointed Philip Cocu as manager.
Todi114
06-08-2019, 06:44 AM
McNulty , omeanga and Henderson
none of them had success with their parent club
its a shop window for the players to show other clubs what they can do
money saved on wages for both clubs
win win
The Leith Dutch
06-08-2019, 06:45 AM
Weirdly I'd forgotten that Wayne Rooney existed.
Mercifully, I've lost the brain cell holding the memory of the time I saw Wayne Rooney being interviewed in Hi Definition *shudders*
06-08-2019, 06:48 AM
Does player* improve Hibs?
Yes - sign
No - No sign
*where said player has criminal charges or is an unsavoury character then signing should be reviewed
06-08-2019, 06:49 AM
Think it’s just a player/coaching role. They’ve only just appointed Philip Cocu as manager.
Getting ahead of myself as usual
Of course they did
Good win last night. :greengrin
06-08-2019, 07:09 AM
Absolutely the bottom line. All that matters is a player to improve our team. Not rocket science.
06-08-2019, 07:11 AM
Not on the Middleton signing - I agree, sign him up.
But on the loan restriction: I'd actually go further - no loans at all.
I'd put in place a squad size cap and say no loans as it then makes better players available to more clubs.
It always galls me to see players barely getting a game or being rotated at Man City for example when they'd be first on the team sheet at all but a handful of other clubs.
One thing American Sport does well generally is that every club has superstars.
I think loan players should be able to play against their parent team as happens in other leagues.
06-08-2019, 07:30 AM
Wonder if there will be an announcement today?
06-08-2019, 07:30 AM
We picked up Allan from WBA and then sold him to Celtic probably to spite Rangers at the time. Only reason he never came back to us on loan last summer or January is Lawell being a dick, Scotty had no hard feelings about the non loans and signed a pre contract.
We didn't sell him to Celtic to spite The Rangers. We sold him to Celtic as they offered us money while The Rangers tapped him up all summer and offered us buttons then made out we denied him his boyhood dream.
MacGruber
06-08-2019, 07:31 AM
Putting aside the opinions on The Rangers and loan systems - any news on him signing or if he has had the medical yet?
06-08-2019, 07:36 AM
Wonder if there will be an announcement today?
2pm
NC1875
06-08-2019, 07:40 AM
Lafferty in the papers today basically begging to go back to hearts.
Surprisingly he also says he took a wage cut to sign for Rangers last year. How much were Hearts paying him ?
06-08-2019, 07:40 AM
Putting aside the opinions on The Rangers and loan systems - any news on him signing or if he has had the medical yet?
By all reports he completed his medical yesterday.
DetroitHibs
06-08-2019, 07:59 AM
No a position that we need cover in, but how the hell is Efe still a free agent. He’d improve us no doubt.
We didn't sell him to Celtic to spite The Rangers. We sold him to Celtic as they offered us money while The Rangers tapped him up all summer and offered us buttons then made out we denied him his boyhood dream.
This is true but also done to spite Rangers at the same time because of the tapping up.
06-08-2019, 08:06 AM
2pm
5PM. :greengrin
06-08-2019, 08:11 AM
No a position that we need cover in, but how the hell is Efe still a free agent. He’d improve us no doubt.
Could be that he's off to America or something. He's probably enjoying life sat on the beach, mojito in hand.
06-08-2019, 08:17 AM
By all reports he completed his medical yesterday.
I feel I have mild PTSD after the Ojo saga - keep expecting to log on to see reports hes been pinched last minute by Aberdeen or another :panic: hoping we can get this over the line, sounds exactly like what we need just now!
06-08-2019, 08:18 AM
I think loan players should be able to play against their parent team as happens in other leagues.
Not for me.
Imagine if Hibs had a keeper on loan from Dundee United in the 2016 semi-final ...
Or if Hibs had a couple of loan players for Sevco in the final ...
Or in any game against the parent club.
06-08-2019, 08:19 AM
Not for me.
Imagine if Hibs had a keeper on loan from Dundee United in the 2016 semi-final ...
Last time I recall it happening was when Callum Booth played against us in our defeat to Raith in the Scottish Cup
06-08-2019, 08:21 AM
Last time I recall it happening was when Callum Booth played against us in our defeat to Raith in the Scottish Cup
I'm not even sure how that was allowed to happen.
It's against the rules.
06-08-2019, 08:23 AM
Not sure where you heard that? Unless I have got it very wrong [emoji52]Hes deffo gone to the Belgian side.. saw it in his Insta
06-08-2019, 08:24 AM
Free agent.. god knows how.
Offer him "facilities" and get him back.
06-08-2019, 08:27 AM
Does anyone think there's a possibility of Rangers terminating (or threatening to terminate) Middleton's loan if/when the following happens (as has before):
The ticket allocation we give them at ER isn't to acceptable standard?
Our manager/owners say something they don't like?
They percieve the behaviour of our fans (probably in response to something they've done) to be unacceptable?
They decide they want one of our players in the January window, and we refuse to sell?
Since the Allan saga four years ago we've had a rocky relationship with them. I would hope this imminent signing is an indication that differences have been resolved, but I don't feel comfortable that we will shortly have a player whose stay at us is dependent on continued approval from Rangers.
I think our behind the scenes relationship with the The Rangers is now much better than with their ugly twin after the fall out with Lawell over McGinn/Allan. In their eyes that now makes us goodish guys
06-08-2019, 08:27 AM
Not for me.
That's just the way it goes gets away from this nonsense of not playing against parent club.
06-08-2019, 08:28 AM
I think our behind the scenes relationship with the The Rangers is now much better than with their ugly twin after the fall out with Lawell over McGinn/Allan. In their eyes that now makes us goodish guys
Was the guy Stewart Robertson not at Motherwell with Leeann
Auckland Hibs
06-08-2019, 08:29 AM
Wonder if Efe could end up at Aberdeen if McKenna leaves?
06-08-2019, 08:31 AM
Kyle Laugherty whoring himself to Hearts
06-08-2019, 08:38 AM
It's against the rules.
At the time you were not allowed to play against your parent club in the League but it was OK in the Cup
The respective Managers on that fateful day were Terry Butcher and Grant Murray. :confused:
06-08-2019, 08:38 AM
That's just the way it goes gets away from this nonsense of not playing against parent club.
It's not nonsense. It's to stop the possibility of players being influenced by the parent club.
Or is it only match officials who are corrupt? :wink:
06-08-2019, 08:40 AM
At the time you were not allowed to play against your parent club in the League but it was OK in the Cup
The respective Managers on that fateful day were Terry Butcher and Grant Murray. :confused:
Is that right? I didn't know that.
It's against the rules in all competitions now for obvious, (to me anyway) reasons.
06-08-2019, 08:46 AM
It's against the rules in all competitions now for obvious, (to me anyway) reasons.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/butcher-s-sympathy-for-under-pressure-callum-booth-1-3294707
06-08-2019, 08:48 AM
SSN saying Middleton has had medical but move not expected to go through until after the weekend !!
Strange unless Sevco want to
Pull the plug if we beat them on Sunday [emoji12]
06-08-2019, 08:48 AM
I very much doubt that any adult thinks that way.
That's like wee lassies in the playground.
"I'm not going to be friends with you because you like Kirsty and I hate her so I now hate you".
"Oh now that you've fallen out with Kirsty, we can be friends".
"What? You've made up with Kirsty?. I hate you".
Nah. That's not how it works in football. Jeez, I hope not.
06-08-2019, 08:50 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/butcher-s-sympathy-for-under-pressure-callum-booth-1-3294707
Cheers Bill. Every day's a school day.
I'm glad that can't happen anymore.
06-08-2019, 08:52 AM
5PM. :greengrin
Signing on pitch a 7.40 before Colts game...then playing.
angus hibby
06-08-2019, 08:52 AM
It's against the rules.
Not sure it’s even a rule, isn’t it just whatever the two clubs agree on, particularly the club who are loaning the player out. Most rightly say he won’t play against them but we were obviously OK with it with Booth.
06-08-2019, 09:05 AM
Wonder if Efe could end up at Aberdeen if McKenna leaves?
That would be some swap, a horrible prospect. Cash in the bank and a much better footballer added to the squad.
mayo hibee
06-08-2019, 09:10 AM
Lafferty in the papers today basically begging to go back to hearts.
Surprisingly he also says he took a wage cut to sign for Rangers last year. How much were Hearts paying him ?
Humiliating for Hearts that their star striker took a pay cut to leave them. Even more humiliating if they take him back now.
06-08-2019, 09:12 AM
Not sure it’s even a rule, isn’t it just whatever the two clubs agree on, particularly the club who are loaning the player out. Most rightly say he won’t play against them but we were obviously OK with it with Booth.
It's not the choice of the clubs.
It's an SFA rule.
06-08-2019, 09:16 AM
It's not the choice of the clubs.
It's an SFA rule.
Obviously wasn't a rule when we played Raith.
06-08-2019, 09:17 AM
It was a rule, but it didn't apply to the Scottish Cup.
It does now.
06-08-2019, 09:17 AM
It wasn’t - it’s a fairly recent change.
06-08-2019, 09:18 AM
Obviously wasn't a rule when we played Raith.as was earlier explained it used to only apply to the league. since it's been extended to the cups.
06-08-2019, 09:19 AM
Not all competitions. Patrick Roberts played for Celtic (and scored) against parent club Manchester City in the Champions League a couple of years or so back.
06-08-2019, 09:20 AM
For those still in doubt, here is the current rule;
Prohibition on Playing Against Transferor Club
64 During the term of a Temporary Transfer the Player concerned shall not Play for his transferee Club against his transferor Club in:
(i) a League Match;
(ii) a Play-Off Match;
(iii) a Scottish Professional Football League Cup Match;
(iv) a Scottish Professional Football
League Challenge Cup Match; and
(v) a Scottish Cup Match;
and during the term of a Temporary Transfer or during a Recall, the Player concerned shall not Play for his transferor Club in a Match in the Reserve League or in any Reserve Cup Match against his transferee Club or for his transferor Club in any Match involving an age limited team of his transferee Club.
06-08-2019, 09:21 AM
Not all competitions. Patrick Roberts played for Celtic (and scored) against parent club Manchester City in the Champions League a couple of years or so back.
Ok. It's an SPFL rule.
06-08-2019, 09:22 AM
It's not nonsense. It's to stop the possibility of players being influenced by the parent club.
Or is it only match officials who are corrupt? :wink:
Other leagues seem to think it is ok. Personally think it is unfair that certain players can only play against certain teams.
To me there is no doubt that the two offsides we have had recently were corrupt. The chances of two such obvious errors against the same club and same player within a week are off the scale. Obviously some officials have an issue with our club our manager or our players or all three.
06-08-2019, 09:29 AM
Any news on a striker or DM?
06-08-2019, 09:31 AM
Other leagues seem to think it is ok. Personally think it is unfair that certain players can only play against certain teams.
To me there is no doubt that the two offsides we have had recently were corrupt. The chances of two such obvious errors against the same club and same player within a week are off the scale. Obviously some officials have an issue with our club our manager or our players or all three.
I disagree, but that's a discussion for another thread.
However, back to the SPFL rule. what would be the fans reaction if a loan player, let's say from Sevco, made 1 or 2 serious mistakes against their parent club?
"Hard lines, son. You tried your best?" Somehow I doubt it.
06-08-2019, 09:33 AM
What do you mean, the same club?
06-08-2019, 09:37 AM
What do you mean, the same club?
Our club Hibs.
06-08-2019, 09:38 AM
I disagree, but that's a discussion for another thread.
However, back to the SPFL rule. what would be the fans reaction if a loan player, let's say from Sevco, made 1 or 2 serious mistakes against their parent club?
"Hard lines, son. You tried your best?" Somehow I doubt it.
That's football players make mistakes. :greengrin
06-08-2019, 09:44 AM
That's football players make mistakes. :greengrin
Cool. Officials don't though.
Would you trust, say Rangers, not to put pressure on one of their loan players to try a little less hard? Or make a mistake? Or give away a penalty?
What about Hearts?
If you think that a referee's assistant can be corrupt this early in the season, don't you think that a contracted player might be susceptible to that kind of pressure in more important games?
"Do you want a career in football after your loan's up, son?"
06-08-2019, 09:49 AM
Our club Hibs.
Gotcha.
06-08-2019, 09:51 AM
SSN saying Middleton has had medical but move not expected to go through until after the weekend !!
Strange unless Sevco want to
Pull the plug if we beat them on Sunday [emoji12]
Maybe we don't want him in before Sunday.
06-08-2019, 09:58 AM
Maybe Sevco are waiting on a signing and want Middleton on the bench until he arrives.
Let's face it, there's any number of possible reasons. If it's true at all.
06-08-2019, 10:09 AM
We’ll be saving a weeks wages if he can’t play until next week, the ghost of Petrie!
Ardenttwo
06-08-2019, 10:10 AM
Well has he signed or not ? The boy from Sevco
06-08-2019, 10:17 AM
Well has he signed or not ? The boy from Sevco
Not.
What happened to those Hornby rumours?
06-08-2019, 11:45 AM
Pie in the sky
06-08-2019, 11:50 AM
Ok. It's an SPFL rule.
In the case of paddy Roberts im sure his first loan was 2 years and that meant he could play as anything over a year doesnt seem to have that applied?
Here’s Lucy!
06-08-2019, 11:54 AM
Obviously just ‘rumours’.
Seems to have gone away, sadly.
06-08-2019, 11:59 AM
We also got Scotty on loan from Celtic last season 👍
Torto7
06-08-2019, 12:06 PM
Obviously just ‘rumours’.
Seems to have gone away, sadly.
He will move after or near to the end of the English window closing I'd imagine. The prem teams are still finalizing their squads. Whether that's to us or not remains to be seen.
06-08-2019, 12:14 PM
Did you know that Saturday's game was only the assistant referee's 9th senior game, and his first ever Premiership game?
Why would he make a deliberately wrong decision?
He'll pay for that mistake now. Back to the under 21s for him, methinks.
06-08-2019, 12:19 PM
I really dont think so just terrible decisions, what would be the reason for doing so what is the real benefit to them or others in two such low profile games when they know there are cameras to record their mistake.
As I say just two terrible decisions and fuel the drive for VAR in top flight games.
06-08-2019, 12:23 PM
Not a good club model, off the rails a lot.
06-08-2019, 12:24 PM
Wheelan to make a decision on Hearts move later this week.
06-08-2019, 12:34 PM
How hard are they scrubbing Middleton at East Mains? He must be clean by now surely?
06-08-2019, 12:34 PM
Did you know that Saturday's game was only the assistant referee's 9th senior game, and his first ever Premiership game?
So another honest mistake seems we have more of these than other clubs.
Making numerous game changing mistakes doesn't appear to have affected Wille Callum's career much.
06-08-2019, 12:36 PM
Bojan is a free agent.
Barman Stanton
06-08-2019, 12:39 PM
I agree, its likely more incompetence than deliberate cheating. They say these things level out but I very rarely remember us getting these types of big decisions going for us. The Shaw and Griffiths goals against Hearts instantly spring to mind as well.
06-08-2019, 12:40 PM
How hard are they scrubbing Middleton at East Mains? He must be clean by now surely?
There isn't a chemical in the world powerful enough to remove the stench of Ibrox......
Greenworld
06-08-2019, 12:42 PM
Bojan is a free agent.That would be some move
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
06-08-2019, 12:43 PM
Cool. Officials don't though.
Would you trust, say Rangers, not to put pressure on one of their loan players to try a little less hard? Or make a mistake? Or give away a penalty?
What about Hearts?
If you think that a referee's assistant can be corrupt this early in the season, don't you think that a contracted player might be susceptible to that kind of pressure in more important games?
"Do you want a career in football after your loan's up, son?"
Officials make mistakes however the mistakes we have had in our last two games are surely beyond the pale or are we just to say it is fair enough. To me Hibs should have been much more vocal on Saturday as that could clearly have cost us the win. Do the Old firm or indeed Hearts get these sort of decisions against them because I don't see it?
06-08-2019, 01:19 PM
Wayne Rooney signs for Derby Player Coach
Source: Daily Mail
Edit :
Joins in January
06-08-2019, 01:25 PM
Wayne Rooney signs for Derby Player Coach
Source: Daily Mail
They must have a big investor. Head couch is Ex Barcelona , Dutchman Phillip Cocu. He will not come cheep.
06-08-2019, 01:26 PM
Officials make mistakes however the mistakes we have had in our last two games are surely beyond the pale or are we just to say it is fair enough. To me Hibs should have been much more vocal on Saturday as that could clearly have cost us the win. Do the Old firm or indeed Hearts get these sort of decisions against them because I don't see it?
Agree with this. If this was the OF or even Aberdeen or Hearts their clubs and managers would be all over the papers talking about it.
06-08-2019, 01:50 PM
Agree with this. If this was the OF or even Aberdeen or Hearts their clubs and managers would be all over the papers talking about it.
It was that linesman’s first game at this level on Saturday I suppose someone has to get him if he’s deemed suitable Pre match. I know him and he’s always been murder
We also got Scotty on loan from Celtic last season 👍
Before the McGinn shenanigans 👍
06-08-2019, 02:05 PM
We seem to be at cross purposes.
I'm saying that allowing players to take the field against their parent club makes the possibility of cheating greater.
As far as the 2 off side decisions are concerned, I've pointed out that the Asst ref on Saturday was young guy, officiating at only his 9th senior game and his first in the Premiership. I don't believe he deliberately made a bad decision in order to cheat against us.
Regarding Heckingbottom's reaction, it's up to the press what stories they print. They hang on every word Gerrard and Lennon say because if the club's they manage.
Hecky was vocal in his criticism, but only the EEN ran with it.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-boss-paul-heckingbottom-slams-officials-for-decisions-in-win-over-st-mirren-1-4976469
And yes, other teams, including Rantic, have to accept poor decisions. Morelos not getting sent off when he stamped on Scott Brown was a shocking decision against Celtic for example.
But we're not going to agree so I'll leave it there.
jax67
06-08-2019, 02:14 PM
We seem to be at cross purposes.
I'm saying that allowing players to take the field against their parent club makes the possibility of cheating greater.
As far as the 2 off side decisions are concerned, I've pointed out that the Asst ref on Saturday was young guy, officiating at only his 9th senior game and his first in the Premiership. I don't believe he deliberately made a bad decision in order to cheat against us.
Regarding Heckingbottom's reaction, it's up to the press what stories they print. They hang on every word Gerrard and Lennon say because if the club's they manage.
Hecky was vocal in his criticism, but only the EEN ran with it.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-boss-paul-heckingbottom-slams-officials-for-decisions-in-win-over-st-mirren-1-4976469
And yes, other teams, including Rantic, have to accept poor decisions. Morelos not getting sent off when he stamped on Scott Brown was a shocking decision against Celtic for example.
But we're not going to agree so I'll leave it there.
Sportscene didn’t even show the challenge on James, wits that aboot?
06-08-2019, 02:16 PM
Wheelan to make a decision on Hearts move later this week.
Aye, waiting to see what offers are there for free agents when the English window shuts. He would be a great signing in all honesty.
06-08-2019, 02:17 PM
Before the McGinn shenanigans 👍
In my head they are both as ****my as each other so perhaps it’s tome for a rangers player or two. There’s no difference in my head.
Say we won the cup against Celtic and pitch invasion, it would have been the same statements etc.
The McGinn **** also annoyed our manager at the time, still I think the whole thing was engineered as a get it up us when Lennon got put on leave, then left with no fuss only to get the Celtic job with no compensation due. That was all staged. Yet if Lewis McLeod became available plenty people would forget that.
06-08-2019, 02:20 PM
There isn't a chemical in the world powerful enough to remove the stench of Ibrox......
Careful now lads. This is all Celtic minded talk!
Chefki Kuqi
06-08-2019, 02:23 PM
In my head they are both as ****my as each other so perhaps it’s tome for a rangers player or two. There’s no difference in my head.
Say we won the cup against Celtic and pitch invasion, it would have been the same statements etc.
The McGinn **** also annoyed our manager at the time, still I think the whole thing was engineered as a get it up us when Lennon got put on leave, then left with no fuss only to get the Celtic job with no compensation due. That was all staged. Yet if Lewis McLeod became available plenty people would forget that.
What has McGinn got to do with Lennon getting the Celtic job got to do with Lewis McLeod?
06-08-2019, 02:24 PM
Fantasy.
06-08-2019, 02:28 PM
It was that linesman’s first game at this level on Saturday I suppose someone has to get him if he’s deemed suitable Pre match. I know him and he’s always been murder
Interesting, someone else mentioned he's only officiated 9 games. I find it incredible that he's covering SPL games with his lack of experience. Surely a couple of seasons in the lower leagues would make sense before covering bigger games?
06-08-2019, 02:29 PM
Fantasy.
Sure it wasn’t for you at the time.
Trying to say they weren’t bitter after McGinn?
Possible Lennon knew Rodgers was leaving?
Lennon left for sod all now has a great job on a long CL tract at the biggest club in Scotland. What did Hibs get for releasing him? 4 **** months, no compensation and window shoved in face while trying to get Allan again on loan.
06-08-2019, 02:30 PM
What has McGinn got to do with Lennon getting the Celtic job got to do with Lewis McLeod?
Celtic pissed off they couldn’t cherry pick McGinn. Left us with no compensation when Lennon went to Celtic.
I didn’t mean Lewis McLeod, I meant the boy who went from st Mirren then to Sunderland on loan, seems to be doing no bad 10 mins at a time now.
06-08-2019, 02:35 PM
Lennon left for sod all now has a great job on a long CL tract at the biggest club in Scotland. What did Hibs get for releasing him? 4 **** months, no compensation and window shoved in face while trying to get Allan again on loan.
There was no conspiracy regarding Lennon leaving Hibs. I said all along that he did not get a pay off and that he had no inclination that Rodgers was leaving.
Indeed, he was heading to Europe to meet with representatives of an Australian club to finalise his contract with them when Celtic came calling at the last minute.
Celtic didn't know Rodgers was leaving FFS!. However, they had initially approached David Moyes. Lennon was not in the frame at that stage.
Were Celtic pissed off that they failed to get McGinn? I certainly hope so, but it was their own fault.
06-08-2019, 02:40 PM
There was no conspiracy regarding Lennon leaving Hibs. I said all along that he did not get a pay off and that he had no inclination that Rodgers was leaving.
Indeed, he was heading to Europe to meet with representatives of an Australian club to finalise his contract with them when Celtic came calling.
Celtic had initially approached David Moyes. Lennon was not in the frame at that stage.
We're Celtic pissed off that they failed to get McGinn? I certainly hope so, but it was their own fault.
Fair enough. I think Celtic spat the dummy refused to loan Allan and Lennon just happening to be available having orchestrated his removal of contact at us just seems to be too much of a coincidence. Celtic would have known Rodgers was going as Rodgers was the kind of guy to let them know he was off. There was only one man for the Celtic job and Moyes wasn’t the first choice otherwise they would have appointed him. They appointed Lennon regardless of how pish he had them towards the end of the season, that was always the plan.
Conspiracy or not, if it was the huns, and McLeish got himself sacked before taking over intern basis then got it for years more would be said and thought about it. Celtic ripped the piss after trying to rip the piss with McGinn. It’s gojng to cost them £50m now though and we have a better head coach.
06-08-2019, 02:40 PM
I think bitterness in the context of large football clubs doing business is a bit different from the obvious bitterness displayed by fans. It's all perspective, but Celtic and Hibs have fallen out before, they put it behind them when the circumstances required them to.
As for Lennon, he was very lucky to still be at the club as long as he was and it was probably the prospect of paying out on his contract that kept him in the job as long as he survived. There was mutual benefit to that situation and I'm delighted he ended up at Celtic. They'll not be feeling smug about it after they're pumped out of the Champions League by the mighty Cludjy.
Getting back to transfers though, what's the delay?
Also, what happened to MacKay-Steven and Efe. Would love to see those two at Hibs
06-08-2019, 02:43 PM
I think bitterness in the context of large football clubs doing business is a bit different from the obvious bitterness displayed by fans. It's all perspective, but Celtic and Hibs have fallen out before, they put it behind them when the circumstances required them to.
As for Lennon, he was very lucky to still be at the club as long as he was and it was probably the prospect of paying out on his contract that kept him in the job as long as he survived. There was mutual benefit to that situation and I'm delighted he ended up at Celtic. They'll not be feeling smug about it after they're pumped out of the Champions League by the mighty Cludjy.
Getting back to transfers though, what's the delay?
Also, what happened to MacKay-Steven and Efe. Would love to see those two at Hibs
GMS is in America and Efe is training with a Turkish mob.
It is time to move on, my point was Celtic are willing to go against us and shaft us as much as the huns at any given level. Well played Petrie if one of his final acts was to not sanction any idea of McGinn going to Celtic on the cheap - by the time they matched Villas offer, reluctantly he told them to bolt.
06-08-2019, 03:11 PM
Fair enough. I think Celtic spat the dummy refused to loan Allan and Lennon just happening to be available having orchestrated his removal of contact at us just seems to be too much of a coincidence. Celtic would have known Rodgers was going as Rodgers was the kind of guy to let them know he was off. There was only one man for the Celtic job and Moyes wasn’t the first choice otherwise they would have appointed him. They appointed Lennon regardless of how pish he had them towards the end of the season, that was always the plan.
Conspiracy or not, if it was the huns, and McLeish got himself sacked before taking over intern basis then got it for years more would be said and thought about it. Celtic ripped the piss after trying to rip the piss with McGinn. It’s gojng to cost them £50m now though and we have a better head coach.
Again, that's all fantasy, but crack on.
06-08-2019, 03:12 PM
GMS is in America and Efe is training with a Turkish mob.
It is time to move on, my point was Celtic are willing to go against us and shaft us as much as the huns at any given level. Well played Petrie if one of his final acts was to not sanction any idea of McGinn going to Celtic on the cheap - by the time they matched Villas offer, reluctantly he told them to bolt.
Hear hear. And I bet the bitterest thing for Celtic was that McGinn (one of their own allegedly) decided that a move to an English Championship club was one to much better and bigger things than Celtic 😀
hibeerealist
06-08-2019, 03:20 PM
Aye and we just seem to let these things go, Hecky made reference to the disallowed goal in his after match but he SHOULD be banging the drum - that is TWO in first couple of weeks of new season how many more?
Why Hibs? Don't see same (s h it decisions) against hertz or OF. We should make much more of it on the pitch when it happens AND after that would maybe let these refs/linos know we won't take it lying down, unfortunately it looks like we do!!!
inglisavhibs
06-08-2019, 03:20 PM
I agree, its likely more incompetence than deliberate cheating. They say these things level out but I very rarely remember us getting these types of big decisions going for us. The Shaw and Griffiths goals against Hearts instantly spring to mind as well.
Jordon Forster's header at Tynie is another that springs to mind.