View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
02-08-2019, 04:50 PM
This IS the transfers rumours thread isn't it ?
02-08-2019, 04:53 PM
Fine , i'm not splitting hairs here. If that's an option then fine. FWIW @BILLYHIBS a strong infrastructure is crucial for any organisation to progress
It is already in place
Wee Ron can pay for that as he will sell it on one day at no doubt a huge profit
I understand he has agreed to build a full sized indoor pitch at EM and bought some land from us
Quite happy to pay for new players but not pump money in to his real estate portfolio
02-08-2019, 04:54 PM
Quite simply we wouldn’t. Wee Ron might have it as his spends for all we know.
We’d ask the club and specifically LD to act in good
faith and use the money for its intended purpose like FoH does.
Ron is holding 2 meetings. First for HSL in West Stand a week on Wed. The next a week later in the Hibs Club for members there. The details may come out then.
02-08-2019, 05:02 PM
Back to transfers and although not directly Hibs related, staggered to read that Oli McBurnie has been bought by Sheffield Utd for an eye watering £20 million. Wow. Just WOW!!
Now I don’t profess to follow his career week in, week out but he’s hardly looked a £20 mil striker in his few Scotland appearances.
When will the English transfer fee madness end?
02-08-2019, 05:04 PM
Back to transfers and although not directly Hibs related, staggered to read that Oli McBurnie has been bought by Sheffield Utd for an eye watering £20 million. Wow. Just WOW!!
Now I don’t profess to follow his career week in, week out but he’s hardly looked a £20 mil striker in his few Scotland appearances.
It has, I personally think he’s useless!
Arsenal only offering £25m for Tierney as well
02-08-2019, 05:05 PM
He has looked pretty Humpty for Scotland but 22 goals last season is similar to Abraham who played with promoted Villa last season.
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 05:06 PM
It is already in place
Wee Ron can pay for that as he will sell it on one day at no doubt a huge profit
I understand he has agreed to build a full sized indoor pitch at EM and bought some land from us
Quite happy to pay for new players but not pump money in to his real estate portfolio
i Do not get you sometimes.... why would he pay for a full size indoor pitch and then raze it to the ground ?...if real estate is his motivation he would not improve the the facility but let it decay and sell it as land for development..... just as Strachan let Yesterdays (list 2 building ) hotel in corrie rot until it was declared unsafe and had to be demolished whereby Strachan could sell the plot to developers.
BTW Jambo **** are watching and you are re-enforcing their view that Ron is more interested in profiteering by selling our assets and lining his own pockets
02-08-2019, 05:09 PM
Wow!
I thought he was quite quick for such a tall guy but apart from that offered little
I do not think Neil Lennon is on his Christmas card list :greengrin
02-08-2019, 05:19 PM
The place to go to make a fortune out of very modest talent is the English Championship.
McBurnie has looked garbage every time I've seen him. Not average, garbage.
It's crazy to think the talented players of the 80s and before who are still working to make a living when you consider it to the lot who lucky enough to happen to be around at this time.
Oli Burke and Oli McBurnie, jeez.
02-08-2019, 05:21 PM
Wow!
I thought he was quite quick for such a tall guy but apart from that offered little
I do not think Neil Lennon is on his Christmas card list :greengrin
You mixing up McBurnie and Burke there mate?
02-08-2019, 05:22 PM
i Do not get you sometimes.... why would he pay for a full size indoor pitch and then raze it to the ground ?...if real estate is his motivation he would not improve the the facility but let it decay and sell it as land for development..... just as Strachan let Yesterdays (list 2 building ) hotel in corrie rot until it was declared unsafe and had to be demolished whereby Strachan could sell the plot to developers.
BTW Jambo **** are watching and you are re-enforcing their view that Ron is more interested in profiteering by selling our assets and lining his own pockets
Understand your view point and I am happy that Wee Ron is benevolent enough to build us a full sized indoor football pitch but like many fellow HSL members I feel that our immediate priority as we approach the new season is to strengthen our squad on the park and continue to do so going forward
I like many older hibbies of my generation was sort of hoping that the days of sacrificing quality of team on the park to pay for new stadia were behind us and we could look forward to a brand new era of success on the pitch
I do not think Wee Ron will raise anything to the ground but will sell it on as a going concern when the time comes hopefully to HSL or HIBS minded people
You lost me on the Gordon Strachan Hotel
By the way I trust Wee Ron implicitly I feel his intentions are true but would rather see my money being spent on the park and I am sure he would agree with that
02-08-2019, 05:23 PM
You mixing up McBurnie and Burke there mate?
Aye realised that after I posted
I am an arse
02-08-2019, 05:29 PM
It is already in place
Where on earth do you get the idea from that Ron has bought land from the Hibs? In fact the ownership of the parts of the training ground Hibs did not own has been transferred TO Hibs.
02-08-2019, 05:36 PM
Aye realised that after I posted
I am an arse
Oh don't be too hard on yourself, you seem to be a fairly likeable arse.....
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Understand your view point and I am happy that Wee Ron is benevolent enough to build us a full sized indoor football pitch but like many fellow HSL members I feel that our immediate priority as we approach the new season is to strengthen our squad on the park and continue to do so going forward
I like many older hibbies of my generation was sort of hoping that the days of sacrificing quality of team on the park to pay for new stadia were behind us and we could look forward to a brand new era of success on the pitch
I do not think Wee Ron will raise anything to the ground but will sell it on as a going concern when the time comes hopefully to HSL or HIBS minded people
You lost me on the Gordon Strachan Hotel
By the way I trust Wee Ron implicitly I feel his intentions are true but would rather see my money being spent on the park and I am sure he would agree with that
i am older too,,,,i know you from Gracie lol "Yogi" ???
did i say it was Gordon Strachan ?...hmmm
In Hecky we believe :aok:
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Oh don't be too hard on yourself, you seem to be a fairly likeable arse.....
lmao what will the homophobes think !!! apologies, couldn't resist
02-08-2019, 05:51 PM
lmao what will the homophobes think !!! apologies, couldn't resist
Ltlgbtyf 😀
K-Zazu
02-08-2019, 06:15 PM
20 years ago 20 million could buy u Andrei Shevchenko. Nowadays it’s Oli McBurnie.
02-08-2019, 06:17 PM
Where on earth do you get the idea from that Ron has bought land from the Hibs? In fact the ownership of the parts of the training ground Hibs did not own has been transferred TO Hibs.
HIBS.net of course HTC an additional 14 acres of land and the TO
It’s a HIBS.net fact so must be true 😁
02-08-2019, 06:23 PM
HIBS.net of course HTC an additional 14 acres of land and the TO
It’s a HIBS.net fact so must be true 😁
I think you’re getting a bit mixed up
02-08-2019, 06:23 PM
Thanks, was wondering if I was missing something.
I love the idea of HSL becoming a transfer fund. I can't see why we couldn't initially having 4k supporters putting in £10 per moth.
It’s taken us years to get just over 2 ,000 so can’t see us getting to 4 ,O00 any time soon
02-08-2019, 06:24 PM
Are they building a brand new pitch onto east mains or using a current one and building around it for the indoor pitch?
02-08-2019, 06:28 PM
I think you’re getting a bit mixed up
Auld age! 😁
02-08-2019, 06:33 PM
It’s taken us years to get just over 2 ,000 so can’t see us getting to 4 ,O00 any time soon
Depends what people want, don't see how difficult it would be to launch it as a transfer fund and 4000 should be easily achievable. In my opinion of course
02-08-2019, 06:39 PM
20 years ago 20 million could buy u Andrei Shevchenko. Nowadays it’s Oli McBurnie.
50 years ago £100,000 bought Colin Stein. Broke a 10 year old’s heart.
02-08-2019, 06:42 PM
Dinnae go there!
I developed a stammer and ma wee brother went cockeyed
02-08-2019, 06:51 PM
We sold many great players, John McN, Neil Martin, Marinello & Cormack but Stein being sold was the only one that had me in tears. But his replacement Joe McBride was the sensational. Scored about 50 goals for his previous club Celtic before Xmas in one season before getting injured.
02-08-2019, 06:53 PM
................... and a 16 year old's.
02-08-2019, 06:56 PM
Remains to be seen which one will be more effective in the epl though!
02-08-2019, 07:01 PM
some say Petrie still won’t pay the £200,000 for Griffiths
02-08-2019, 07:01 PM
We sold many great players, John McN, Neil Martin, Marinello & Cormack but Stein being sold was the only one that had me in tears. But his replacement Joe McBride was the sensational. Scored about 50 goals for his previous club Celtic before Xmas in one season before getting injured.
Scored 58 in 89 appearances for the first to wear the green
Hatricks galore
I remember the game versus Hamburg two disallowed for offside because
their keeper had a green top on
Tom Hart told Willie Macfarlane to drop him for the Liverpool game
There was only going to be one winner
02-08-2019, 07:07 PM
The only way to get fitba news in those days was in the newspapers. My dad used to buy the Scottish Express. Had the pics wi Stein in a hun strip. Had my tea, down my school homework then went to my bed and cried. My mum came into my bedroom I shared with my younger brother and asked me if I was ok ‘ Naw Ma we sold Colin Stein. She left me alone. I
02-08-2019, 07:16 PM
Scored 58 in 89 appearances for the first to wear the green
Hatricks galore
I remember the game versus Hamburg two disallowed for offside because
their keeper had a green top on
Tom Hart told Willie Macfarlane to drop him for the Liverpool game
There was only going to be one winner
The 2 against tic at ER in P Latchfords first game were a thing of beauty.
02-08-2019, 07:25 PM
Every find out why Billy ? Joe & Johnny G both dropped. Willie McF sacked and Dave ‘Rangers are rubbish’ Ewing appointed. I met Willie quite a few times, he was insistent that if Hart had left our team alone we might well have won a trophy before the TT team.
02-08-2019, 07:37 PM
man u pay £80m for that Maguire dude...EIGHTY freakin million
02-08-2019, 07:43 PM
man u pay £80m for that Maguire dude...EIGHTY freakin million
It’s all just Monopoly money now.
Doesn’t interest me at all.
02-08-2019, 07:46 PM
when there's humans starving it's utterly obscene :agree:
hhibs
02-08-2019, 07:50 PM
HSL
It needs a complete reboot and rebrand, you may not like me saying it but it has been a limited success.
And yes I have been in HSL almost from the start, despite all the hard work and effort from those involved,it has never really caught the imagination or support of many Hibs fans.
All of the above is ,of course,only one mans opinion.
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 07:51 PM
We are paupers
https://youtu.be/_03uXQiz6eY
02-08-2019, 07:51 PM
They’re all just swapping money though.
Leicester will now pay £50m for some slightly above average player from Burnley or somewhere like that and the cycle will go on and on. I know it’s just economics but I don’t find the value of these players shocking any more, it’s like getting annoyed at fantasy football imo.
HibeeDaz6270
02-08-2019, 07:52 PM
Heard we are interested in Lewis Vaughan from Raith.
02-08-2019, 07:52 PM
You really cant judge him based on a few first caps in a poor Scotland team
The 2 against tic at ER in P Latchfords first game were a thing of beauty.
It was Tom Hart's first game after he came into Hibs in 1970, Peter Latchford joined Celtic about five years later.
02-08-2019, 07:54 PM
Not due back from injury until September so we can forget that one
Injured is he not. Still recovering from an ACL injury??
02-08-2019, 07:55 PM
Every find out why Billy ? Joe & Johnny G both dropped. Willie McF sacked and Dave ‘Rangers are rubbish’ Ewing appointed. I met Willie quite a few times, he was insistent that if Hart had left our team alone we might well have won a trophy before the TT team.
Dunno
I think Joe McBride fell out with Tom Hart over wages came on as a sub at ER versus Liverpool
His last game was Liverpool away
Johnny Graham a big hero of mine played Liverpool away but was let go/sold the end of that season he was not fancied by ET
Alan Gordon became a bigger hero
02-08-2019, 07:56 PM
Yawn.
He's injured, isn't he?
02-08-2019, 08:09 PM
Covered a couple of days ago and nonsense rumour.....
HibeeDaz6270
02-08-2019, 08:19 PM
Covered a couple of days ago and nonsense rumour.....
No worries . Haven't read it all through .
The old man was told today that he was expected to sign. Thought I was maybe passing on useful info . But maybe not then 😂
02-08-2019, 08:21 PM
The old man was told today that he was expected to sign. Thought I was maybe passing on useful info . But maybe not then 😂
This is hardly the thread to be passing on rumours you’ve heard.
Anyone got any real puns we can talk about?
Worst transfer thread ever
02-08-2019, 08:22 PM
You done right it's a rumours thread, it's not easy to keep up with everything that's gone on in this thread.
02-08-2019, 08:28 PM
ross wallace is available im sure
02-08-2019, 08:33 PM
ross wallace is available im sure
Fantastic for Sheffield wednesday even in his last season and was surprised he was allowed to leave. He's tricky without the pace. Don't think he's waht Heckingbottom would be looking at. Think he's looking for a pacy Boyle type player
02-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Don't get me wrong, I get what you mean but you couldn't take the same approach to Hibs. Doidge cost what, £300k of so? How many hungry mouths could that feed in the UK or abroad?
I do think England has gone off the deep end but the whole of football is a terrible use of money compared to global problems we face.
I'm still paying my £23 to go tomorrow though!
02-08-2019, 08:39 PM
Damn!! I’d managed to put my first Hibs heartbreak to the back of my mind.
I was 11 (maybe 12?) at the time and cried like a big bairn. Just couldn’t understand!!
Sadly, I now know the full SP on that traumatic episode in my life and the many other OF steals that have happened since.
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 08:51 PM
Damn!! I’d managed to put my first Hibs heartbreak to the back of my mind.
I was 11 (maybe 12?) at the time and cried like a big bairn. Just couldn’t understand!!
Sadly, I now know the full SP on that traumatic episode in my life and the many other OF steals that have happened since.
Could have ben worse hibby6270, i was at ipox when he banged in his third hat trick in three games.....6-1 they done us that day...mind you a year later same place , 78,000 huns and our tiny band witnessed "Marinello makes a bee line for goal".. 3-1 to US Marinello two and Joe McBride one as i recall.
02-08-2019, 09:56 PM
Depends what people want, don't see how difficult it would be to launch it as a transfer fund and 4000 should be easily achievable. In my opinion of course
It is a transfer fund in effect just now and it hasn’t persuaded people to join in those numbers
I have been in since the early days For me it’s a no brainer
02-08-2019, 10:02 PM
It is a transfer fund in effect just now and it hasn’t persuaded people to join in those numbers
I have been in since the early days For me it’s a no brainer
It was sold also as a vehicle for fan ownership whxih seems to me people didn't buy into
For what it's worh Id buy into a managers fund
1875Sean
02-08-2019, 10:13 PM
Fantastic for Sheffield wednesday even in his last season and was surprised he was allowed to leave. He's tricky without the pace. Don't think he's waht Heckingbottom would be looking at. Think he's looking for a pacy Boyle type player
He was at fleetwood last season
02-08-2019, 10:31 PM
He was at fleetwood last season
Yip joined them when he left Wednesday
02-08-2019, 10:53 PM
Could have ben worse hibby6270, i was at ipox when he banged in his third hat trick in three games.....6-1 they done us that day...mind you a year later same place , 78,000 huns and our tiny band witnessed "Marinello makes a bee line for goal".. 3-1 to US Marinello two and Joe McBride one as i recall.
Sorry to be pedantic but his hat trick v us was his second one. Only scored 2 On his outing v Arbroath.
02-08-2019, 11:01 PM
Jason Cummings being linked with Swansea
Also, he's being linked with a switch to Australia...
Sorry to be pedantic but his hat trick v us was his second one. Only scored 2 On his outing v Arbroath.
You're both wrong. Stein only scored 2 hat tricks in succession. 5 0 away to Arbroath on his debut then 6 1 against us at home. I remember seeing Colin in the Trial when we played Possibles vs Probables & he went from a possible to a certainty in 90 minutes!!
Turnbullsmate
02-08-2019, 11:41 PM
i stand corrected if wrong...as i recall he scored hat tricks against arbroath , dundalk and sadly us...no matter
K-Zazu
03-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Hibs trying to sign Glenn Middleton from Rangers
1875Sean
03-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Glenn Middleton is linked with us on loan from Rangers, was in the stands today and Hecky confirmed he is interested
03-08-2019, 04:37 PM
Hmmmm. Not sure how I feel about that one.
03-08-2019, 04:37 PM
Glenn Middleton is linked with us on loan from Rangers, was in the stands today and Hecky confirmed he is interested
Thought he was going on loan to some Dutch team, he is a decent wee player
K-Zazu
03-08-2019, 04:39 PM
Thought he was going on loan to some Dutch team, he is a decent wee player
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/glenn-middleton-transfer-update-hibs-18823388.amp
03-08-2019, 04:49 PM
Would be very happy with Middleton.
03-08-2019, 04:57 PM
Is Middleton not another technically good player without being particularly fast?
Not saying he’s slow but we desperately need a speed merchant in the team.
BegbieHSC
03-08-2019, 04:59 PM
This may sound tribal, but **** developing players for the huns. No thanks.
03-08-2019, 05:02 PM
Is Middleton not another technically good player without being particularly fast?
Not saying he’s slow but we desperately need a speed merchant in the team.From what I seen he had a bit of both. His final ball wasn't that great though
Probably a decent loan
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Torto7
03-08-2019, 05:03 PM
Not saying he’s slow but we desperately need a speed merchant in the team.
He's average pace wise. Tbh anytime I've watched him he's been on the periphery of games. He is however highly rated in the game and has good technical skills.
It'll be a hard sell for some bringing in a 19 year old on loan from them though.
I would hope it would be someone and Middleton.
03-08-2019, 05:06 PM
Yup. Sorry, but signing either S****l or players on loan from Rangers is where I draw the line.
03-08-2019, 05:08 PM
You’d be happy with a player on loan from Celtc though? What’s the difference?
03-08-2019, 05:08 PM
Yup. Sorry, but signing either S****l or players on loan from Rangers is where I draw the line.
I don't want us to sign Rangers players on loan. Surely there's better options out there.
This may sound tribal, but **** developing players for the huns. No thanks.The flip side is though if he can improve us then why not, looking at that insipid performance today we certainly need something
hibs#1
03-08-2019, 05:09 PM
From what I've seen of Middleton I think he's a very good wee player. I'm really surprised The Rangers would even entertain us after the Scott Allan transfer.
K-Zazu
03-08-2019, 05:09 PM
From what I've seen of Middleton I think he's a very good wee player. I'm really surprised The Rangers would even entertain us after the Scott Allan transfer.
Or after the cup final.
hibeerealist
03-08-2019, 05:10 PM
from memory we had a pretty decent away support at the hunnery that day, tiny band ....no
03-08-2019, 05:11 PM
I don't want us to sign Rangers players on loan. Surely there's better options out there.
If it's a permanent deal then fine, if not then yeah, let's look somewhere else.
Feel very uncomfortable loaning a player from Rangers. Doesn't sit right at all. We should be looking to compete with them not loaning their players.
BegbieHSC
Loans have worked for us from the OF in the past (2 in particular), but for where we are now, I’d rather not.
I do concede - it’s totally tribal - I hate Celtic, but Rangers are on a completely different level of ****.
03-08-2019, 05:13 PM
Feel very uncomfortable loaning a player from Rangers. Doesn't sit right at all. We should be looking to compete with them not loaning their players.
Compete with them?!? Seriously? They spent over £3m on one player this summer ffs!
03-08-2019, 05:13 PM
If it's a permanent deal then fine, if not then yeah, let's look somewhere else.
NC1875
03-08-2019, 05:14 PM
Let’s not kid ourselves on. The days of us competing with them are gone. They’ll finish the season closer to Celtic than they do us.
If he comes in and improves the team while Boyle is injured then it’s job done.
03-08-2019, 05:15 PM
He's average pace wise. Tbh anytime I've watched him he's been on the periphery of games. He is however highly rated in the game and has good technical skills.
It'll be a hard sell for some bringing in a 19 year old on loan from them though.
I would hope it would be someone and Middleton.
Yeah that’s what I thought as well.
Not as excited as some about the prospect of him signing, don’t care that he’s coming from Rangers.
Compete with them?!? Seriously? They spent over £3m on one player this summer ffs!
Competed with them in the numerous times weve pumped them in the last 5 years
BegbieHSC
Agreed! Happy to sign him on a perm. Not happy to develop, and have to put up wae their ***** for a year.
hibs#1
A loan deal could put us in good stead for any possible future permanent deal for Middleton on the flip side though
1875Sean
03-08-2019, 05:16 PM
People are dreaming thinking if it would a permanent deal, Rangers rate the boy highly and want him back, if it a choice of him to go to us or somewhere else I’d rather improve our squad
03-08-2019, 05:18 PM
Do we have plans to bring in a DM? I'm still not convinced Mallan and Allan can play together.
MacGruber
03-08-2019, 05:18 PM
I have no problem loaning the young lad from The Rangers or from anywhere else. No difference from them and Celtic.. loaning Liam Henderson and Dylan McGeough never done us any harm!
03-08-2019, 05:19 PM
Imagine having to not play a player against Rangers because we're developing him for them. Boak inducing stuff. If it was up to me Rangers/Sevco or whatever they're called would be getting told to bolt. Rancid club. Hope we never do any business with them again.
1875Sean
03-08-2019, 05:20 PM
Imagine having to not play a player against Rangers because we're developing him for them. Boak inducing stuff.
And if it was Lewis Morgan from Celtic you would have no issues? Bit short sighted
BegbieHSC
03-08-2019, 05:21 PM
Imagine having to not play a player against Rangers because we're developing him for them. Boak inducing stuff.
My objections too.
03-08-2019, 05:22 PM
When was the last time we signed a player directly from Rangers (excluding free transfers)?
random sub
03-08-2019, 05:23 PM
If Rangers aren’t wanting him, Is he good enough?
After today I am thinking we need to splash the cash on a loan for a premiership winger or striker.
random sub
03-08-2019, 05:25 PM
After today I am thinking we need to splash the cash on a loan for a young premiership winger or striker needing some game time- a Barker style signing
03-08-2019, 05:27 PM
After today I am thinking we need to splash the cash on a loan for a young premiership winger or striker needing some game time- a Barker style signingBased on what I've seen he's good enough
Dunno why folk would have an issue with signing a young player on loan from rangers and not celtic
Same argument could be said of Liam Henderson when we took him
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
mentalhibee
03-08-2019, 05:27 PM
After today I am thinking we need to splash the cash on a loan for a premiership winger or striker.
Doesn’t seem like Ron wants to spend any cash if we are loaning in the rangers rejects
hhibs
03-08-2019, 05:31 PM
Loans have worked for us from the OF in the past (2 in particular), but for where we are now, I’d rather not.
I do concede - it’s totally tribal - I hate Celtic, but Rangers are on a completely different level of ****.
Agreed ,two cheeks one arse but one also is the ersehole and full of crap.
03-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Forgetting the club rivalry and the rights and wrongs of loan deals from clubs in the same league, has he actually had any good games in first team football or does his reputation just come from playing in the younger age groups?
I’ve never thought he was particularly any good in the games I saw of him, which admittedly wasn’t many.
03-08-2019, 05:35 PM
As predicted, folk losing it because it’s a player on loan from the huns and not Celtc. Hardly anyone would’ve been bothered if it was Celtc we were getting him from.
He’s got a good reputation and is a quick winger which is what we need. A loan suits us until Boyle is back up and running next year.
BegbieHSC
03-08-2019, 05:39 PM
As predicted, folk losing it because it’s a player on loan from the huns and not Celtc. Hardly anyone would’ve been bothered if it was Celtc we were getting him from.
He’s got a good reputation and is a quick winger which is what we need. A loan suits us until Boyle is back up and running next year.
Rangers adds to my objections yes, but given the fact we want to be chasing Europe, I’d rather not have a key player who has to sit out for 4 games a season, when every point matters.
When we loaned players from Celtic, we were in the Championship, so didn’t have those worries.
That’s the practical reason to look elsewhere. I’d rather not loan a player from the same league in general.
03-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Great wee player, can uses both feet comfortably. I'd rather not have a loan deal from any other Scottish top flight club but if it makes us better then I guess I'm happy with it.
03-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Absolutely no thanks.
Developing players for them now? Seriously?
Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 05:42 PM
We are screaming out for a decent centre mid- vela was honking today hopefully just needs time to settle. Slivka made a difference when he came on today.
Just my opinion but with the exception of maybe Jackson none of hecky’s signings are an improvement on what we had last season.
03-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Absolutely no thanks.
Developing players for them now? Seriously?
If it makes us a better team then absolutely no issue for me. We miss him for 4 games a season but if he does the business in the rest of them I won’t give a ****.
03-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Imagine having to not play a player against Rangers because we're developing him for them. Boak inducing stuff. If it was up to me Rangers/Sevco or whatever they're called would be getting told to bolt. Rancid club. Hope we never do any business with them again.
No particularly keen on the idea, but if it was a young Celtic player I don’t think we’d have this type of reaction.
03-08-2019, 05:45 PM
We are screaming out for a decent centre mid- vela was honking today hopefully just needs time to settle. Slivka made a difference when he came on today.
Just my opinion but with the exception of maybe Jackson none of hecky’s signings are an improvement on what we had last season.
Totally agree. Vela is no better than Milligan from what I’ve seen so far. I just don’t think we’ve improved.
We need a CM/winger and striker along with Gray and Stevenson straight back in when fit
03-08-2019, 05:46 PM
If it makes us a better team then absolutely no issue for me. We miss him for 4 games a season but if he does the business in the rest of them I won’t give a ****.
4 games a season that could make the difference to our season.
I'll pass.
03-08-2019, 05:47 PM
If Middleton makes us better, then where he comes from is irrelevant IMO.
03-08-2019, 05:48 PM
Without wanting to state the obvious, it's the first league game of the season and these players need time to adjust and adapt after being here for so little time. I just don't get why people are writing them off so quickly!?!
We won today, foundations to build on and the manager right in saying we are a work in progress.
03-08-2019, 05:51 PM
4 games a season that could make the difference to our season.
I'll pass.
Mind when we had Scott Allan on loan from Celtc and he missed that game? Aye, we beat them. Horgan/Newell/Murray will step up if needed for these one off games against the huns.
Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 05:54 PM
Without wanting to state the obvious, it's the first league game of the season and these players need time to adjust and adapt after being here for so little time. I just don't get why people are writing them off so quickly!?!
We won today, foundations to build on and the manager right in saying we are a work in progress.
I agree with your perspective, I’m not writing them off. I watched ojo play midweek for Aberdeen and he is on a different planet to our midfield. Mallan and Allan can’t play in the same team the balance is completely wrong.
rotherhamrob
03-08-2019, 05:57 PM
👍 My opinion as well.
I'd take a player from any team if they make us better.
03-08-2019, 05:57 PM
Mind when we had Scott Allan on loan from Celtc and he missed that game? Aye, we beat them. Horgan/Newell/Murray will step up if needed for these one off games against the huns.
So he missed one game?
Middleton would miss minimum 2 potentially 4 which is alot more damaging to the season if he turned out to be a key player.
03-08-2019, 06:00 PM
I agree with your perspective, I’m not writing them off. I watched ojo play midweek for Aberdeen and he is on a different planet to our midfield. Mallan and Allan can’t play in the same team the balance is completely wrong.
You’ve already kind of written off Vela by stating Ojo is on a different planet despite seeing him once against a rotten team.
Vela looked like he wanted way too much time on the ball. He’ll get up to speed in the coming weeks. Mallan was awful, I’d 100% drop him for Slivka next week but it won’t happen.
03-08-2019, 06:02 PM
You’ve already kind of written off Vela by stating Ojo is on a different planet despite seeing him once against a rotten team.
Vela looked like he wanted way too much time on the ball. He’ll get up to speed in the coming weeks. Mallan was awful, I’d 100% drop him for Slivka next week but it won’t happen.
And it will take the players new to the league time to adapt to the pace and style of the opposition and how little time they will get on the ball at times, we just need a little patience.
03-08-2019, 06:05 PM
Someone with pace please.
03-08-2019, 06:09 PM
The Turkish guy who played on the left wing for St Mirren looked a cracking player with no end of pace.
Surely there is a good winger out there somewhere who would meet our needs.
03-08-2019, 06:11 PM
So he missed one game?
Middleton would miss minimum 2 potentially 4 which is alot more damaging to the season if he turned out to be a key player.
Potentially six.
03-08-2019, 06:15 PM
In other non Middleton news did anybody see someone that looked like they might be a footballer outside the main stand at about 2:30ish?
He was a wee guy but had that sort of footballer look about him (no, not a full kit, shin pads and boot bag), had a sort of Scandinavian look and a very pleasing on the eye blonde girlfriend/wife, guy they were with was dressed in business dress which made me think he could be an agent.
Absolutely opening myself up to ridicule here as I know anybody can look like a footballer now but just wondering if anybody else saw them and thought the same as me.
RossScott1991
03-08-2019, 06:17 PM
Middleton and Cummings please.
I’d be happy, I just want to see some bums off seat players , dread to think how we will play away from home with a crab style of play. Incredibly pedestrian today.
Brandon Barker, Ivan sproule, all players who dragged folk all over the shop and created space for others. May not have good final 3rd finishing but atleast they caused havoc.
03-08-2019, 06:20 PM
Don't know how I missed this Middleton talk. Big yes from me, he was an absolute standout against any team I saw him face for the Norwich U23s. He was always playing above his age group too. I was gutted when Rangers signed him.
03-08-2019, 06:25 PM
Pacy winger will give us an outball.
Personally think Newell really needs to work at his game in terms of being available/ being an outball.
As a team we are too slow to bother teams higher than 8th - and if we are not careful this season that's where we could end up ourselves on today's jittery showing.
A bit of pace would go a long way tho
03-08-2019, 06:46 PM
Potentially six.
Potentially three.
03-08-2019, 06:48 PM
Potentially three.
Potentially none.
03-08-2019, 06:49 PM
Pacy winger will give us an outball.
Personally think Newell really needs to work at his game in terms of being available/ being an outball.
As a team we are too slow to bother teams higher than 8th - and if we are not careful this season that's where we could end up ourselves on today's jittery showing.
A bit of pace would go a long way tho
Being available was one of his pluses today for me. If only his team mates would use him. Perhaps he needs to be a bit more vocal. I though he must have pissed in Mackies beer at one point.
03-08-2019, 06:51 PM
Celtic have better players?[emoji6]
03-08-2019, 06:51 PM
Potentially three.
potentially 2 if not signed by next week and der hun dont make top 6, maybe 0 if it doesnt go through
03-08-2019, 07:49 PM
100% with you on that - we should have nothing whatsover to do with them ........... apart from gubbing them !
03-08-2019, 07:52 PM
100% with you on that - we should have nothing whatsover to do with them ........... apart from gubbing them !
I agree with this. Past few years have been most refreshing as we had a realistic understanding between both clubs. One of absolute dislike and contempt. I prefer it that way.
03-08-2019, 07:54 PM
I agree with this. Past few years have been most refreshing as we had a realistic understanding between both clubs. One of absolute dislike and contempt. I prefer it that way.
It’s not just them, I personally don’t think we should be developing players for other Scottish teams, unless we have the option to buy them
Torto7
03-08-2019, 07:58 PM
It's how I see things too. I want nothing to do with them.
03-08-2019, 07:59 PM
In other non Middleton news did anybody see someone that looked like they might be a footballer outside the main stand at about 2:30ish?
He was a wee guy but had that sort of footballer look about him (no, not a full kit, shin pads and boot bag), had a sort of Scandinavian look and a very pleasing on the eye blonde girlfriend/wife, guy they were with was dressed in business dress which made me think he could be an agent.
Absolutely opening myself up to ridicule here as I know anybody can look like a footballer now but just wondering if anybody else saw them and thought the same as me.
That was me, my mother and my social worker you big voyeur you. Mum was in the suit.
tonyrougier123
03-08-2019, 08:02 PM
Middleton was at the game with his agent,think it might be him you spotted 👍
BegbieHSC
03-08-2019, 08:08 PM
This, this, and some more of this!
Fergos
03-08-2019, 08:10 PM
When was the last time we signed a player directly from Rangers (excluding free transfers)?
Good question.
Billy Kirkwood?
03-08-2019, 08:11 PM
A quick google search of his girlfriend suggests you may be right.
Looked nothing like him although in fairness I wasn’t really looking at him, he could have had 2 heads for all I know.
03-08-2019, 08:16 PM
A quick google search of his girlfriend suggests you may be right.
Looked nothing like him although in fairness I wasn’t really looking at him, he could have had 2 heads for all I know.
Disappointed no photos from you Bingo, need to up your game
03-08-2019, 08:16 PM
Bit of an unhealthy, irrational, hateful vibe going on here over the potential signing of Middleton.
Fortunately the management will be more pragmatic.
03-08-2019, 08:19 PM
Bit of an unhealthy, irrational, hateful vibe going on here over the potential signing of Middleton.
I'd be delighted if he came on a permanent deal, but I don't want us to develop a Rangers player for them.
03-08-2019, 08:20 PM
Nothing to do with the player, as most have said.
Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 08:22 PM
I would happily take a player from rangers that improves us it’s no different from a player from Celtic. If Ron wants to focus on indoor pitches over improving the team on the park then that’s where we are as a club at this point in time.
03-08-2019, 08:38 PM
If he improves us take him
Couldn’t care where he comes from
03-08-2019, 08:44 PM
100% was.
Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 08:46 PM
100% was.
I’m sure you are the cat123
03-08-2019, 08:51 PM
Middleton would fit the bill perfectly. We're desperate for pace, can't remember seeing such a ponderous Hibs team for a long time.
03-08-2019, 08:55 PM
I’m sure you’re a Hibee from York.
What’s the game we are playing and what has a cat got to do with things?
03-08-2019, 08:56 PM
Middleton would fit the bill perfectly. We're desperate for pace, can't remember seeing such a ponderous Hibs team for a long time.
Definitely. He’s quality.
03-08-2019, 08:56 PM
It’s not just them, I personally don’t think we should be developing players for other Scottish teams, unless we have the option to buy them
So no Stokes, Allan or Henderson then. Got to disagree there Billy.
03-08-2019, 08:57 PM
Nothing to do with the player, as most have said.
I know, it's the daft blue green thing.
supermcginn
03-08-2019, 09:00 PM
Hilarious. Folk lap up loan players from celtic but not rangers. Bigots! If he is improving hibs I couldn't care less where he comes from.
03-08-2019, 09:04 PM
He isn't.
03-08-2019, 09:04 PM
Hilarious. Folk lap up loan players from celtic but not rangers. Bigots! If he is improving hibs I couldn't care less where he comes from.
Bigots? What an absolutely moronic comment.
03-08-2019, 09:05 PM
Middleton's done a lot more at our level than Morgan has. Yet folk would be playing with themselves over the latter.
Chefki Kuqi
03-08-2019, 09:05 PM
I suppose there was a point where we maybe could have caught rangers and thus developing their players not really in our interests, but I think they’re a step above now and as such if we can benefit from loans so be it.
03-08-2019, 09:09 PM
He isn't.
Do I know you Horde? :greengrin
03-08-2019, 09:09 PM
03-08-2019, 09:10 PM
Why would people be okay to take Celtic players on loan if not rangers if it wasn’t for being a bigot?
Bob Box Fish
03-08-2019, 09:15 PM
He isn't.
Fair doos just very similar posts
Torto7
03-08-2019, 09:17 PM
I hate Rangers far more than Celtic and I'm not ashamed of admitting it. The lies told about our support after the final,, The Scott Allan affair, mass cheating and corruption not to mention having to sit and listen to the 'minority' abuse both Alan Stubbs and Neil Lennon for being catholic. They make my skin crawl with their KKK like atmosphere. I want nothing to do with them. There's a big difference between Celtic and Rangers as far as I'm concerned.
hhibs
03-08-2019, 09:17 PM
Why would people be okay to take Celtic players on loan if not rangers if it wasn’t for being a bigot?
In an alternative Universe,perhaps
03-08-2019, 09:39 PM
I hate Rangers far more than Celtic and I'm not ashamed of admitting it. The lies told about our support after the final,, The Scott Allan affair, mass cheating and corruption not to mention having to sit and listen to the 'minority' abuse both Alan Stubbs and Neil Lennon for being catholic. They make my skin crawl with their KKK like atmosphere. I want nothing to do with them. There's a big difference between Celtic and Rangers as far as I'm concerned.
Hate is a strong feeling for something as trivial as a football club.
Hate is how the football supporting community got itself in a mess and how it is sustained.
It is thoroughly pointless.
Best left to the dafties to obsess and fight over whilst the rest of us get on with our lives.
03-08-2019, 09:40 PM
Do I know you Horde? :greengrin
03-08-2019, 09:47 PM
Maybe because we have no chance of finishing above Celtic . 🤔
That may change but The Rangers are more beatable as it stands just now.
supermcginn
03-08-2019, 10:14 PM
Truth hurts.
supermcginn
03-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Exactly. Both of them are **** theres no difference beteween the two.
supermcginn
03-08-2019, 10:18 PM
I suppose there was a point where we maybe could have caught rangers and thus developing their players not really in our interests, but I think they’re a step above now and as such if we can benefit from loans so be it.
Spot on. We are playing for 3rd and a cup. If Middleton helps us do that then happy days.
tonyrougier123
03-08-2019, 10:21 PM
Middleton will be a class act for hibs.
The only thing that disappoints me is our lack of youngsters of his style coming through at htc.
Our youth system needs to be better imo.
We should be churning out good players of our own down there.
Clarence
03-08-2019, 10:23 PM
People can dislike Rangers for many many reasons, not just for so called bigoted reasons. I think we’ve had a much bigger rivalry with rangers over the last few years and I can understand why it might feel stranger to get a Ranger on loan than a Celtic player. If he adds to our squad then I’d take him FWIW.
Hibernian32
03-08-2019, 10:24 PM
At the end eh the day mon the hibs that's aww that matters tbh
03-08-2019, 10:26 PM
Because people can dislike a football club for more than religious reasons. Its a nonsense comment.
03-08-2019, 10:28 PM
Truth hurts.
What a clown. You do realise you can hate a football club without it being related to religion? I hate Aberdeen. I dont like the way they play, their manager, their self entitled fans. Does that make me a bigot? Absolutely moronic statement to make and you should take a look at yourself.
Criswell
03-08-2019, 10:30 PM
Heckingbottom apparently interested in taking Middleton from Rangers on loan. Can't really see this happening.
The only thing that disappoints me is our lack of youngsters of his style coming through at htc.
Middleton didnt come thru at Sevco. He did at Norwich.
I was v upset when they signed him Doesnt look like they really rate him, if we can steal him away from them then that may be a bonus.
03-08-2019, 10:31 PM
Heckingbottom apparently interested in taking Middleton from Rangers on loan. Can't really see this happening.
see the transfer thread
03-08-2019, 10:32 PM
Rangers want it, Hecky wants it and Middleton wants it. Was in the stand today. It's happening pal.
Torto7
03-08-2019, 10:32 PM
Hate is a strong feeling for something as trivial as a football club.
Hate is how the football supporting community got itself in a mess and how it is sustained.
It is thoroughly pointless.
Best left to the dafties to obsess and fight over whilst the rest of us get on with our lives.
Hate is a strong word but it's justified in the case of Rangers and there bigotry imo. They stand on the wrong side of history as far as I'm concerned and I don't want a progressive club like ours to do business with them.
If as looks likely we sign Middleton then he'll get my full support. This is more of a club stance for me.
03-08-2019, 10:33 PM
Without clouding the issue, which maybe I’ve invented, I was of the understanding that, because of recent transfer friction ( ie. McGinn with Celtic and Allan with Sevco, ) with both the ugly sisters, we were personna non grata and unlikely to do deals with them. :dunno:
Tobias Funke
03-08-2019, 10:34 PM
No, he is RubyHibee/IvanDrago and a million other previously banned usernames on here.
tonyrougier123
03-08-2019, 10:34 PM
Its nearly nailed on he will be at hibs.
He was a guest at the game with his agent and talks have been very positive.
Laddie will have a great platform to show what he can do.
graciehfc
03-08-2019, 10:42 PM
Glenn Middleton would improve our squad and bring robust aggressive qualities to the squad that we lack. Don’t care where he comes from if he improves the team take him !! At the game
Today there was a few moans and groans last year we all cried out for a certain Scott Allan ( match winner ) well today we got that man and people still left grumbling !! We will only get better and fans will see what this management team bring have some faith and patience GGTTH
03-08-2019, 10:46 PM
Definitely. He’s quality.
Is he? Honestly cant remember him standing out. Would he not be a replacement for Joe
03-08-2019, 10:48 PM
Yip seems a done deal. It is a funny one he will not play against the Rangers and is very young. His impact last season was good do we expect him to play most weeks.
03-08-2019, 10:49 PM
Most people are bigots so why get so worked up about it? I have an unshakeable belief that Hibernian FC are the greatest club on planet Earth - this makes me a bigot, and I'm quite proud of it. If you don't want Middleton because he plays for the huns then that is maybe bigoted in not such a good way. If he improves us as a team then I'll roll out the welcome mat.
AB Hibby
03-08-2019, 10:53 PM
Erm, do you not remember the teams Pat Fenlon put out?? We played with 4 central midfielders, all 5ft 7, no pace. Watching made my eyes bleed.
03-08-2019, 10:53 PM
If Heckingbottom thinks that Middleton will be a good player for us then my only concern is that, as supermcginn says, many of our fans will be waiting to pounce on his first mistake because of who he came from.
03-08-2019, 10:54 PM
Most people are bigots so why get so worked up about it? I have an unshakeable belief that Hibernian FC are the greatest club on planet Earth - this makes me a bigot, and I'm quite proud of it. If you don't want Middleton because he plays for the huns then that is maybe bigoted in not such a good way. If he improves us as a team then I'll roll out the welcome mat.
Well said but what you say doesn't meet bigot criteria. However rightly so rangers won't offer us a player who may improve us as they are bigots
Torto7
03-08-2019, 10:55 PM
Is it? I don't want anything to do with them because they are **** and lied about our fanbase as well as abusing our previous two managers.
AB Hibby
03-08-2019, 10:56 PM
I think we do, just we haven't had a crowd pleasing winger progress fir quite a long time.
Inconsequential
03-08-2019, 10:57 PM
Middleton didnt come thru at Sevco. He did at Norwich.
I was v upset when they signed him Doesnt look like they really rate him, if we can steal him away from them then that may be a bonus. Iirc Middleton has a five year contract so perhaps they do rate him. My concern is if he were to become a first pick at Hibs he would miss four games against his parent club and we could be drawn against them in the two cups too. I would look elsewhere there's fifteen on the list! :agree:
03-08-2019, 11:00 PM
This is a fair point.
In the championship taking loan players from Celtc was a no brainer. Taking Allan back in Jan 2018 was a good decision too.
But loaning a player from a direct rival who won’t be able to play against them in the league (plus cup ties of course) is a bigger issue.
Also, Sevco campaigned to have us punished more severely after the 2016 cup final. They are ****. I would feel queasy doing business with them.
BegbieHSC
03-08-2019, 11:02 PM
Agree completely
03-08-2019, 11:05 PM
Agree completely
Except we're not signing their atmosphere or their fans.
hibIBZ
03-08-2019, 11:06 PM
Agree completely
Nah. For me both of them are the same, they are good for reasons that have nothing to do with football. Showed by Celtics massive fall in attendance without rangers in the league. They live for each other and in turn destroy Scottish football
03-08-2019, 11:09 PM
Is it? I don't want anything to do with them because they are **** and lied about our fanbase as well as abusing our previous two managers.
Well, yes, but we're not loaning him from their fans (if we do)
Torto7
03-08-2019, 11:18 PM
Nah. For me both of them are the same, they are good for reasons that have nothing to do with football. Showed by Celtics massive fall in attendance without rangers in the league. They live for each other and in turn destroy Scottish football
I've got no desire to stick up for Celtic in this and this will be my last post on the matter.
Celtic have not attacked our club and it's fanbase like the huns did after the final. They and their creepy cronies in the media and most likely the police as well went on a witch hunt against our supporters that I won't ever forget or forgive. They also have a bigotry epidemic and dance closely with xenophobia, the far right and all things staunch and supremacist. They're a sleazy club and I don't want a progressive club like Hibs to be associated with them at all.
Celtic singing about the RA and there weird Americanised version of what Ireland is isn't even in the ballpark of ****mery that Scotland's shame display on a daily basis.
shamo9
03-08-2019, 11:29 PM
I've got no desire to stick up for Celtic in this and this will be my last post on the matter.
Celtic have not attacked our club and it's fanbase like the huns did after the final. They and their creepy cronies in the media and most likely the police as well went on a witch hunt against our supporters that I won't ever forget or forgive. They also have a bigotry epidemic and dance closely with xenophobia, the far right and all things staunch and supremacist. They're a sleazy club and I don't want a progressive club like Hibs to be associated with them at all.
Celtic singing about the RA and there weird Americanised version of what Ireland is isn't even in the ballpark of ****mery that Scotland's shame display on a daily basis.
Didn't Celtic's actions after they were formed almost force Hibs out of existence in the 1880s and 90s?
They're two cheeks of the same arse IMO and I don't care about either of them. My only concern is Hibs and if this guy helps us have a good season (Europe) then so be it.
JimmyL
03-08-2019, 11:46 PM
Hibs should not be loaning anyone from a team in the same league! Surely the recruitment team can do better?
shamo9
03-08-2019, 11:55 PM
Hibs should not be loaning anyone from a team in the same league! Surely the recruitment team can do better?
Aberdeen did it (Ryan Christie/Celtic) and it worked out well for them. When was the last time we finished above them?
04-08-2019, 12:41 AM
People can dislike Rangers for many many reasons, not just for so called bigoted reasons. I think we’ve had a much bigger rivalry with rangers over the last few years and I can understand why it might feel stranger to get a Ranger on loan than a Celtic player. If he adds to our squad then I’d take him FWIW.Does Kevin Thomson still work in youth development at Ibrox? If so, does this indicate we have a 'friend' in Mordor?
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
JimmyL
04-08-2019, 01:17 AM
Aberdeen did it (Ryan Christie/Celtic) and it worked out well for them. When was the last time we finished above them?
Ryan Christie who by all accounts Aberdeen have developed .We seemingly have a great development and recruitment strategy but now linked with a loan player from a rival who can’t play against them! Sorry not for me
04-08-2019, 01:40 AM
I don’t care where a player comes from as long as he gives 100% and has a good impact on our club
shamo9
04-08-2019, 01:47 AM
Ryan Christie who by all accounts Aberdeen have developed .We seemingly have a great development and recruitment strategy but now linked with a loan player from a rival who can’t play against them! Sorry not for me
Ryan Christie who played a part in Aberdeen finishing second on multiple occasions. It was good business for all parties involved.
And in regards to our recruitment strategy. This signing would be a quick fix reaction to Boyle getting another long term injury. If Boyle had stayed fit we wouldn't have made the move. We've had to adapt and getting in a player of (apparently) decent pedigree so quickly is good going I think. If he does sign hopefully he can fill the void until Boyle returns.
04-08-2019, 01:47 AM
I don’t care where a player comes from as long as he gives 100% and has a good impact on our club
Totally. Why do people care if Middleton is a Rangers player? If they want to loan him out and we can benefit from it then let's do it.
Suppose the same folk moaning about Middleton wouldn't have loaned Liam Henderson cause he plays for one of the old firm? Bizarre.
JimmyL
04-08-2019, 01:59 AM
If they are not good enough for their primary team at the moment then why for Hibs? Nothing to do with what team they are from.
04-08-2019, 02:04 AM
If they are not good enough for their primary team at the moment then why for Hibs? Nothing to do with what team they are from.
Scott Allan’s not too bad for someone who didn’t get a look in at his previous club
04-08-2019, 02:05 AM
Liam Henderson.
04-08-2019, 02:36 AM
Heckingbottom has confirmed our interest in him so there’s no point talking him down too much but there is a difference between signing someone on loan from Rangers as there is signing someone from Celtic, nothing to do with hating one club more than the other, it’s just that Celtic have been a million times better than Rangers recently.
Other than Kent I don’t think Rangers were particularly strong on the wings last season, think Kent was also injured or suspended quite a lot so I’m a wee bit concerned he never seemed to make much of an impact in first team football.
Time will tell if he signs or not but I’m pretty meh about the prospect of him joining. Will back him and support him if he does join though.
04-08-2019, 05:21 AM
I’m sure there was an interview with a hun coach at the end of last season where he was quite heavily praising Hibs as a club for developing young players. No surprise that we’ve got a player off them going by that, although Greg Docherty would’ve been better.
Clarence
04-08-2019, 05:37 AM
I’m sure there was an interview with a hun coach at the end of last season where he was quite heavily praising Hibs as a club for developing young players. No surprise that we’ve got a player off them going by that, although Greg Docherty would’ve been better.
If he helps us take points off Celtic it also benefits them. He obvs won’t play against his parent club so it’s a win win for them.
04-08-2019, 05:39 AM
No, he is RubyHibee/IvanDrago and a million other previously banned usernames on here.
Based on me knowing Middleton has signed until the end of the season yeah? Get your facts right columbo I’ve never been banned from here
04-08-2019, 06:05 AM
Did you seriously just ask that question?
04-08-2019, 06:15 AM
Ah! Primary School fitba!
The team would be picked oan a Friday usually by the School Janny
12 of ye would proudly get handed the ancient ex rugby tops to wear roond yer necks at 3.00pm
You would turn up at Meggatland the next morning in the freezing cauld at the crack o dawn sporting your new strips and your Winfield Topdog bits
You would take a run at the Mouldmaster fitba - boot it with all your might it would move aboot three feet repeat until you get brought down by a mistimed tackle
Nothing worse than getting hit on the legs full pelt by a Mouldmaster oan a cauld day the only way to explain it would be like getting hit by the lash oan the legs this followed by a sound 0-12 drubbing to bring you back doon to earth
The afternoons usually filled by a trip in a number one bus doon the cobbles of Easter Road followed by a climb up to the top of the old East terracing where the players would run oot in the famous green and white looking like subbuteo players
I digress :greengrin
04-08-2019, 06:26 AM
a concern for me is that Rangers are apparently still looking for wide players but are happy to let him go,
what isn't a concern for me is what club he comes from.
04-08-2019, 06:30 AM
a concern for me is that Rangers are apparently still looking for wide players but are happy to let him go,
what isn't a concern for me is what club he comes from.
Might be because they have signed the left sided Northern Irish player from Kilmarnock
I forget his name :confused:
04-08-2019, 06:33 AM
Might be because they have signed the left sided Northern Irish player from Kilmarnock
I forget his name :confused:
Jordan Jones
I know little of Middleton but not keen on losing him against any team we see as rivals. Someone mentioned loaning from Celtic and said they're not a rival and Christie at Aberdeen proved that, they were more interested in 2nd spot. Rangers are a decent team but I still feel confident in taking points off them and not so much Celtic.
04-08-2019, 06:37 AM
Jordan Jones
Auld age and a lack of interest in the Hun
No one likes them they don’t care
04-08-2019, 06:47 AM
I would really only loan from same league if there is a decent chance of a permanent deal as well on board. Christie may well have done well at Aberdeen but that experience in helping develop the player means he can now damage them when playing for Celtic.
If there is a possibility of him joining permanent yes, but I'd rather not we developed rival teams players for their benefit in long term.
04-08-2019, 07:01 AM
Do not care where he comes from if he does the job for us then I will fully support him when he plays for us
04-08-2019, 07:16 AM
Some people need to be a bit more realistic.
Do I like the idea of developing players for Rangers? Nah. Do I think he'll be a world beater for us? Not really. But we're now reacting to an injury that will set one of our star players out for the majority of this year. We were never going to be able to sign another star player to replace him, so we need to look at the loan market and it just so happens Rangers have the ideal man for us and we're the ideal club for him. We could try and loan someone from League 1 and 2 with an option to buy but the odds are they won't be of the standard we want. And anyone above that will probably cost money to buy. Apart from Flo and McGeouch how many successful loanees have we ever bought or made permanent following their loan? Anyone that impresses while with us on loan will us cost money.
I think he's a good young laddie trying to make his break in the game and especially at a club in our league so will be keen to show he can do it against the same opposition. I think it's a good deal all round and some people need to realise that this isn't a case of taking Rangers dregs.
04-08-2019, 07:40 AM
I'm already hoping the boy has thick sick, first wayward pass or first bad cross, I can just imagine the stick from the terraces
04-08-2019, 07:43 AM
I'm already hoping the boy has thick sick, first wayward pass or first bad cross, I can just imagine the stick from the terraces
First goal or beating a man and it’ll all be forgotten. See Scott Allan or Ian Murray for previous examples.
04-08-2019, 07:49 AM
So no Stokes, Allan or Henderson then. Got to disagree there Billy.
We were in a different division back then, so didn't have to drop them for 4 league games a season
04-08-2019, 08:02 AM
We were in a different division back then, so didn't have to drop them for 4 league games a season
I wouldn't put Middleton up against Tavernier anyway, I'd put Scott Allan in instead. He seems to struggle against that kind of player more than pacy wingers.
04-08-2019, 08:29 AM
Most players miss 4 games per season through other things anyway. Rubbish that it's 4 of our bigger games but the only reason folk are complaining is because he's a rangers player and we've competed with them in recent years.
But the reality is they're starting to widen the gap between themselves and the rest of the league again so we need to be realistic.
He's a good player and I'd rather have him for all of the games bar 4 than play some rubbish free agent or youngster that's not ready, just so they can play against everyone.
HFC93
04-08-2019, 08:35 AM
Because Sevco have a stronger team than us. Also see Scott Allan.
04-08-2019, 10:15 AM
Yip seems a done deal. It is a funny one he will not play against the Rangers and is very young. His impact last season was good do we expect him to play most weeks.
Showed up pretty well at the start of last season then drifted out of the picture. Quick and direct.
I'd much rather see Fraser Murray get game time but obviously they play different positions and we do have a lack of pace without Boyle.
04-08-2019, 10:18 AM
Those folk bit wanting him cause he’s coming from rangers on loan are as bad as the mutant rangers fans going mad cause he’s coming to Hibs. As has been said on here lots of previous examples of loans from the OF being beneficial to clubs, I’d he does well for Hibs and makes us a better team I couldn’t care who he came from. All this stuff about developing one of their players is an excuse because it’s Rangers imo. We didn’t have a problem with Scotty, Hendo etc and who knows if he does well he loves his time here and he isn’t going to get a look in at rangers in the future who would likely be his first pick of where he wants to go?
Rangers are getting stronger we need to accept that and if players of a good standard come available I’d certianly be hoping we were in the hunt rather than say lose out to Hearts or Aberdeen just because he’s a rangers player.
04-08-2019, 10:21 AM
Who knows the boy might love it here and decide to stay?
HFC93
04-08-2019, 10:33 AM
Who was the last player Hibs directly bought or loaned from Rangers/Sevco/The team formerly know as Rangers/etc? I genuinely can't remember.
04-08-2019, 10:36 AM
My hero Ally Scott and his wee pal Graham Fyfe 😁
04-08-2019, 10:37 AM
Who was the last player Hibs directly bought or loaned from Rangers/Sevco/The team formerly know as Rangers/etc? I genuinely can't remember.
Darren Mcgregor? Or does he not count?
04-08-2019, 10:40 AM
Daz was a free agent . last i can remember is Dobbie
stantonsboots
Ah! Primary School fitba!
The team would be picked oan a Friday usually by the School Janny
12 of ye would proudly get handed the ancient ex rugby tops to wear roond yer necks at 3.00pm
You would turn up at Meggatland the next morning in the freezing cauld at the crack o dawn sporting your new strips and your Winfield Topdog bits
You would take a run at the Mouldmaster fitba - boot it with all your might it would move aboot three feet repeat until you get brought down by a mistimed tackle
Nothing worse than getting hit on the legs full pelt by a Mouldmaster oan a cauld day the only way to explain it would be like getting hit by the lash oan the legs this followed by a sound 0-12 drubbing to bring you back doon to earth
The afternoons usually filled by a trip in a number one bus doon the cobbles of Easter Road followed by a climb up to the top of the old East terracing where the players would run oot in the famous green and white looking like subbuteo players
I digress :greengrinThose were the days!:greengrin
NC1875
Rangers in previous seasons have been our rivals. They are not anymore. Sooner people realise that the better. We may beat them in one off games but they will consistently finish above us in the league.
We’re still probably miles behind Aberdeen and people are expecting us to be challenging Rangers. Behave
HFC93
Forgot he played for them but I think he was free agent. I was thinking more direct transfer business between the clubs other than us selling to them.
04-08-2019, 10:49 AM
I'm not comfortable loaning players from "rivals" if we are not in a decent position to sign them. Every team in this league is a rival regardless if they finish 2pts or 20pts ahead. There are cups to play for as well.
If we are looking to buy him then OK if not then I would like to think there are other irons in fire. Some are talking like Aberdeen and Sevco are like Barcelona and Real Madrid.
Greenworld
04-08-2019, 10:52 AM
Time to splash the cash on a couple of experienced guys, names we have actually heard off there must be a large number available now we getting close to transfer window closing .
I feel that's what this hibs team needs down the spine to help settle down the other players.
Very much like naysmith does at hearts .
I've not seen anything in any of the games so far to think we can go with what we have .
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
04-08-2019, 10:56 AM
Time to splash the cash on a couple of experienced guys, names we have actually heard off there must be a large number available now we getting close to transfer window closing .
I feel that's what this hibs team needs down the spine to help settle down the other players.
Very much like naysmith does at hearts .
I've not seen anything in any of the games so far to think we can go with what we have .
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
I think you just said what we are all thinking and hoping for but were afraid to say before the transfer window closes
Our only other realistic hope of same would be the English loans market once their business has finished which I think is what Hecky is hoping for
Might be wrong as he keeps saying we are done
Hope not for our sakes
04-08-2019, 10:59 AM
If he helps us take points off Celtic it also benefits them. He obvs won’t play against his parent club so it’s a win win for them.
That's a good point.
Folk on here strongly dislike the old firm but they can be a good source of players for Hibs given they have twice as many players as they need most of the time. Remember 2016.
Heckingbottom doesn't have the old firm baggage that lots of our supporters do. He will just see the old firm as a source of good players.
Heckingbottom will also use the English loan market once their transfer window closes.
He will keep scrambling to improve the team until the money runs out or all the windows close.
04-08-2019, 10:59 AM
What a clown. You do realise you can hate a football club without it being related to religion? I hate Aberdeen. I dont like the way they play, their manager, their self entitled fans. Does that make me a bigot? Absolutely moronic statement to make and you should take a look at yourself.
You and I don't normally agree but you are absolutely bang on with this comment.
04-08-2019, 11:00 AM
I'm not comfortable loaning players from "rivals" if we are not in a decent position to sign them. Every team in this league is a rival regardless if they finish 2pts or 20pts ahead. There are cups to play for as well.
If we are looking to buy him then OK if not then I would like to think there are other irons in fire. Some are talking like Aberdeen and Sevco are like Barcelona and Real Madrid.
He's being signed to cover the injured Boyle , a loan is the way to go . as long as he does the job until Boyle is fit again
#2 Double Tap
04-08-2019, 11:10 AM
He's being signed to cover the injured Boyle , a loan is the way to go . as long as he does the job until Boyle is fit again
looks like boyle is out for the season, we dont need cover for him we need a full time replacement.
Souter96Mac
04-08-2019, 11:16 AM
I think Middleton would be a great signing for us. Every time I saw him for the Huns last season he looked creative and dangerous, I was surprised he didn't get more game time than he did.