View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

Greenworld
14-07-2019, 07:48 AM
Hearing the players have been up to see Rod P complaining about the management

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

14-07-2019, 07:50 AM
It was interesting that Heckingbottom said Aberdeen had a bid accepted last week for Ojo, we heard about it and matched them. Surely indicates we had moved on to other targets already. Hopefully see one or two come in shortly.

Us, Aberdeen and Hearts all after James Morrison according to Keith Downie. Good player but not exactly the energy and power I was expecting.

14-07-2019, 07:55 AM
Biggest red flag is why we waited until another bid had been accepted before matching it

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Between our original agreement with the player & his contract dispute we changed owners & received a cash injection. By that time however Sheep had made a bid. Not sure how anyone at ER can be blamed in this case.

14-07-2019, 07:58 AM
Between our original agreement with the player & his contract dispute we changed owners & received a cash injection. By that time however Sheep had made a bid. Not sure how anyone at ER can be blamed in this case.

Yet the new owner/board/manager all say the budget for this year remains unchanged?

14-07-2019, 08:06 AM
Arsenal have reportedly bid £25m for Tierney. Baffled if Celtic reject that.

I hope other clubs in Scotland take note. Celtic refused a number of lower offers, waited patiently and Arsenal gone from apparently offering £15m to £25m.

Of course the value is way above the what any other SPL player outwith the OF would go for but far too many chairman up here are ready to sell for peanuts.

14-07-2019, 08:06 AM
There's nothing dishonest about taking a better offer. Only a complete ****ing idiot would take the offer of less money

It's dishonest when you've already told us that you're happy with our offer, which he did before he was caught out with his contract.

Then he refused to even train with S****horpe when it was found he couldn't leave on a technicality. It was poor form from Scunny imo, because it was such a minor technicality, and it forced him to take a severe wage cut after relegation, but he still decided to throw the toys out the pram and bump training. Hibs wait until the dispute is resolved. Then his club name their price when Aberdeen come calling, and we match it. He comes up the road, we offer the same terms we agreed to, and he decides that, actually, after already messing the club about regarding his contract, bhe wants to go haggle the pennies with Aberdeen. They can have him, and hopefully a sound shoeing from big Darren when he comes up against us.

Greenworld
14-07-2019, 08:07 AM
If both marciano and Flo move on as reported we will be unrecognisable as a team. It is no wonder there is as of yet little chemistry in the team it will take time .
The main thing is is any money coming in from these players should be spent on the the team.
That could bring in some proven talent to make a immediate difference.
I'm not keen on marciano leaving he is an exceptional keeper .

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

14-07-2019, 08:12 AM
It was interesting that Heckingbottom said Aberdeen had a bid accepted last week for Ojo, we heard about it and matched them. Surely indicates we had moved on to other targets already. Hopefully see one or two come in shortly.

Us, Aberdeen and Hearts all after James Morrison according to Keith Downie. Good player but not exactly the energy and power I was expecting.

Experienced and I’d imagine would still have something to offer up here. He was coming through the youth academy the same time Robbie Stockdale was at Middlesbrough so there is a connection of some sort.

14-07-2019, 08:15 AM
I hope other clubs in Scotland take note. Celtic refused a number of lower offers, waited patiently and Arsenal gone from apparently offering £15m to £25m.

Of course the value is way above the what any other SPL player outwith the OF would go for but far too many chairmant up here are ready to sell for peanuts.

He's got 4 years left on his current contract and on good wages. That strengthens Celtic's hand considerably and increases value far beyond any player outwith the OF.

e.g. you can't pay someone say 2.5k pw and say he's a £15m player.

14-07-2019, 08:24 AM
It's dishonest when you've already told us that you're happy with our offer, which he did before he was caught out with his contract.

Then he refused to even train with S****horpe when it was found he couldn't leave on a technicality. It was poor form from Scunny imo, because it was such a minor technicality, and it forced him to take a severe wage cut after relegation, but he still decided to throw the toys out the pram and bump training. Hibs wait until the dispute is resolved. Then his club name their price when Aberdeen come calling, and we match it. He comes up the road, we offer the same terms we agreed to, and he decides that, actually, after already messing the club about regarding his contract, bhe wants to go haggle the pennies with Aberdeen. They can have him, and hopefully a sound shoeing from big Darren when he comes up against us.

My point exactly

14-07-2019, 08:27 AM
Between our original agreement with the player & his contract dispute we changed owners & received a cash injection. By that time however Sheep had made a bid. Not sure how anyone at ER can be blamed in this case.Didn't we sign Doidge near the end of June

The football dept was still functioning

Seems odd we didn't get a deal done first but possibly reasons unknown for that

14-07-2019, 08:34 AM

Regarding Morrison, I never really saw what others seen in him. Always thought he was a bit of a passanger for Scotland, albeit neat and tidy. Rather have mcgeouch.

14-07-2019, 08:36 AM
Regarding Morrison, I never really saw what others seen in him. Always thought he was a bit of a passanger for Scotland, albeit neat and tidy. Rather have mcgeouch.

Absolutely. Morrison is 33 now. It’s all downhill from here for him.

ac1
14-07-2019, 08:38 AM
I would take Morrison. Maybe his best days behind him but has played at a top level for years in England. Thing is if Aberdeen and Hearts are interested then they will probably pay more than us again and he won’t be coming to Easter Road.

ac1
14-07-2019, 08:42 AM
To add to that another older player I would give a years contract to is Glenn Whelan. 35 but still a good football player and available on a free. Wages would probably be miles out of our league though.

14-07-2019, 08:43 AM
Morrison would be a cracking signing.

He's also one where money most likely won't be the driving factor. He will be minted already so getting an extra grand a week or so probably won't be a massive incentive you'd like to think.

HibeeMackenzie
14-07-2019, 08:51 AM
Morrison seemed to be first pick over Mulumbu at West Brom, reckon he could be a cracking signing if we managed it

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 08:52 AM
We already have Whits at 33 years old, we don't need competition between 33 to 35 year olds for the role of dynamic midfielder. I am concerned enough about the signings so far and the possibility of losing Rocky and Flo before the League season starts. We seriously need to get at least two quality players in quickly or this season is going to go downhill fast. Before I get accused of bed-wetting, does anyone think that result yesterday was acceptable? Did anyone enjoy watching it? Did it fill you with optimism that we are going in the right direction?

There is a reason that players play in English League 2. That is probably their level. Yes, you can find the occasional gems in the lower leagues, but bulk buying from there is just the sort of thing we laugh about with that lot over the road.

14-07-2019, 08:53 AM
Wouldn’t be keen on Morrison, a short term signing with no sell on value. I’d like youth, energy and drive to be key requirements of the two first team midfielders we still need IMO.

14-07-2019, 09:00 AM
We already have Whits at 33 years old, we don't need competition between 33 to 35 year olds for the role of dynamic midfielder. I am concerned enough about the signings so far and the possibility of losing Rocky and Flo before the League season starts. We seriously need to get at least two quality players in quickly or this season is going to go downhill fast. Before I get accused of bed-wetting, does anyone think that result yesterday was acceptable? Did anyone enjoy watching it? Did it fill you with optimism that we are going in the right direction?

There is a reason that players play in English League 2. That is probably their level. Yes, you can find the occasional gems in the lower leagues, but bulk buying from there is just the sort of thing we laugh about with that lot over the road.

Bulk buying :hilarious

Two of our signings played in league 2 last season, and even then one of them spent half the season playing in the championship. The other one has been one of the better performers in the team during pre-season.

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 09:03 AM
Bulk buying :hilarious

Two of our signings played in league 2 last season, and even then one of them spent half the season playing in the championship. The other one has been one of the better performers in the team during pre-season.

So you have been impressed with them then? Have they added something to the team? Have they improved us since this time last season when we were playing in Europe? We also tried to buy another player from Scunny who were relegated to League 2.

Squirrel 1875
14-07-2019, 09:06 AM
So you have been impressed with them then? Have they added something to the team? Have they improved us since this time last season when we were playing in Europe? We also tried to buy another player from Scunny who were relegated to League 2.

This is where I am. We’ve regressed massively on this time last season.

14-07-2019, 09:07 AM
Thought his first album was good

14-07-2019, 09:10 AM
This is where I am. We’ve regressed massively on this time last season.

This time last season?! Wtf.

14-07-2019, 09:11 AM

Your term “bulk buying” was ridiculous and is easily disproven. We have signed players from various levels. It remains to be seen whether they’ll do a good turn for us or not.

14-07-2019, 09:13 AM

Always thought Morrison was a fantastic player. Haven't seen much of him of late, I don't think he's a defensive midfield player

andybev1
14-07-2019, 09:13 AM
Rumoured out:
Florian Kamberi (Osijek, Sunderland)
Ofir Marciano
Vykintas Slivka

Was slivka on the bench or playing yesterday - no way should he be sold.

14-07-2019, 09:15 AM
Was slivka on the bench or playing yesterday - no way should be be sold.

He’s not close to being fit enough.

14-07-2019, 09:17 AM
Always thought Morrison was a fantastic player. Haven't seen much of him of late, I don't think he's a defensive midfield player

Similar to Mallan for me

andybev1
14-07-2019, 09:18 AM
He’s not close to being fit enough.

Really? when was he injured, last season?

BlackSheep
14-07-2019, 09:19 AM
Really? when was he injured, last season?

Injured on international duty and then aggravated it on his holidays.

14-07-2019, 09:19 AM
If Aberdeen are in for Morrison then we can forget about signing him - we've already established this. Who's our backup?

andybev1
14-07-2019, 09:20 AM
Injured on international duty and then aggravated it on his holidays.

Thanks, I really had no idea. Just what we need.
I also wonder if not taking loans is now a good idea with time running out - it worked well for us in recent seasons. Stokes was a loan when we won the scottish cup, say no more.

I would take a short term omeonga over a long term huddy any day

14-07-2019, 09:22 AM
Non-Hibs news, but SSN reporting Arsenal have made new £25 million bid for Tierney. Enough to tempt Celtc?

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 09:22 AM
Your term “bulk buying” was ridiculous and is easily disproven. We have signed players from various levels. It remains to be seen whether they’ll do a good turn for us or not.

I said bulk buying from the lower leagues, not just League 2. Quibbling over semantics doesn't answer my questions. Are you happy with our recruits?

MacGruber
14-07-2019, 09:25 AM
Morrison is a very good player. Technical, neat and tidy with great game intelligence. If he signs he will improve the team. It's a no from me though.

Very similar to what we already have. He's quite slight and an attcking mid which we have. He would go in at a big wage. 33 years old so in the veteran years. Question mark over these types for motivation to give the same effort at a lower level.

Spend the cash on a more defensive minded player or dynamic box to box player

14-07-2019, 09:27 AM
If Aberdeen are in for Morrison then we can forget about signing him - we've already established this. Who's our backup?

Losing out on 2 players to the North East billionaires in 1 window would be a real kick in the nuts

14-07-2019, 09:28 AM
I really hope Aberdeen or Hearts win the battle for Morrison.

14-07-2019, 09:29 AM
Losing out on 2 players to the North East billionaires in 1 window would be a real kick in the nuts

Aye, but players will almost always follow the money.

14-07-2019, 09:31 AM

Then we'd best accept it because it will happen. There's no point in trying to compete for the same players as them until we increase our budget.

14-07-2019, 09:32 AM
He looks almost identical to every other hecky signing

jonny
14-07-2019, 09:33 AM
Was slivka on the bench or playing yesterday - no way should he be sold.

Lewis has been injured, I'm sure I read he'll start his preseason training this coming week.

14-07-2019, 09:33 AM
I said bulk buying from the lower leagues, not just League 2. Quibbling over semantics doesn't answer my questions. Are you happy with our recruits?

Well what do you expect? Teams in this league cannot go out and buy top level players. The majority of signings from teams outwith the top two are from the lower leagues. Most Aberdeen signings this pre season are from the lower leagues, for example. If they aren’t good enough it’s more to do with the individual rather than the league they’ve come from.

As I said, I don’t know. It remains to be seen how well they’ll perform over a prolonged period of time. There are some worrying signs with a few of them but I’m not losing my **** about it quite yet. We’ve got about 5 first teamers out with injury or fitness issues and a few more signings to come in.

MacGruber
14-07-2019, 09:36 AM
Purely based on what I have seen so far the first 11 would be.

Rocky
Gray
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

I think Porteous would be the only one at this minute that could be argued to be switched in

None of Heckingbottom's signings in so far. However, would qualify that with none of them having had long enough to prove themselves. So far it looks like Doidge and Jackson are the ones looking most likely to stake claims.

Still - disappointing we have had a big turnover and a big spend and haven't improved our starting 11 at all so far.

Hopeful some of the youngsters step up.

14-07-2019, 09:38 AM
Lee Bridcutt has been told he can leave Forrest. The type of player that would be ideal for Hibs, onlly thing is he's hardly kicked a ball for a year

BlackSheep
14-07-2019, 09:41 AM

I’ve said it once and I’ll say again, I hope Ron has a competitive spirit and doesn’t let lightning strike twice.

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 09:43 AM
Well what do you expect? Teams in this league cannot go out and buy top level players. The majority of signings from teams outwith the top two are from the lower leagues. Most Aberdeen signings this pre season are from the lower leagues, for example. If they aren’t good enough it’s more to do with the individual rather than the league they’ve come from.

As I said, I don’t know. It remains to be seen how well they’ll perform over a prolonged period of time. There are some worrying signs with a few of them but I’m not losing my **** about it quite yet. We’ve got about 5 first teamers out with injury or fitness issues and a few more signings to come in.

What concerns me is that these recruits have been players Hecky has identified. What happened to our famed recruitment team, that scours the world for players? We need to be competing against The Uglies and the Sheepies. Instead we are in danger of dropping to the level of the Yams.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

14-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Lee Bridcutt has been told he can leave Forrest. The type of player that would be ideal for Hibs, onlly thing is he's hardly kicked a ball for a year

Would be a brilliant signing.

14-07-2019, 10:06 AM

Rocky
Gray
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

I think Porteous would be the only one at this minute that could be argued to be switched in

None of Heckingbottom's signings in so far. However, would qualify that with none of them having had long enough to prove themselves. So far it looks like Doidge and Jackson are the ones looking most likely to stake claims.

Still - disappointing we have had a big turnover and a big spend and haven't improved our starting 11 at all so far.

Fair point.

I said on match day thread this team (minus Allan) were boosted by Omeonga and McNulty arrivals in January plus Milligan and Horgan finding form.

3 out the 4 aren’t here anymore and replacements haven’t reached their levels yet. Still early but usually you get glimpses. Doidge will be fine and add competition. Jackson add depth too.

Midfield needs more and still short of a fast left winger.

We definitely need to sign someone this week though with a bit of quality.

14-07-2019, 10:09 AM
No. Ojo agreed a deal with us, based on his mistaken or dishonest interpretation of his contract clause. He then went on strike once his contract clause was denied. Hibs offered his club money to ease things over. Ojo then got wind of another offer, and renaged on a deal which he very possibly lied about his current contractual situation to get.

I'm not saying he's definately dishonest or two faced, but there are a few red flags going up.

No. We offered a contract that was accepted then realised there was a clause in the contract that meant a transfer fee was needed and Hecky publicly said the deal was dead.

Do you want the player to just fart about not looking for other avenues not to player league two football on the off chance we come back in? Which obviously we did.

14-07-2019, 10:18 AM
Time to sign some better known and established quality players. Gambling on English lower league journeymen is a risky option, especially when they cost transfer fees.

Last year we were signing three internationalists , as well as Mallan and Flo.

Time for action and for the owner to show their intent.

14-07-2019, 10:19 AM
Non-Hibs news, but SSN reporting Arsenal have made new £25 million bid for Tierney. Enough to tempt Celtc?

He will be away. The press will say its £30m.

14-07-2019, 10:21 AM
Are you going to also dismiss any and all concerns about the squad and repeat your mantra that quality only becomes available at the end of the window if we’re harking back to what was being said last summer?

Not at all, what i will say is quality players are quality players, it makes no difference when you get them in, you just need to get them in.

Pish you can sign every day of the week.

14-07-2019, 10:32 AM
Because they have directors who made a large amount of money in oil that they invest.

We don't have that.

But everyone knows that, so not sure why it needs covered ad nauseum.

You're correct, I don't know why folk are still asking the same question.

14-07-2019, 10:34 AM
Time to sign some better known and established quality players. Gambling on English lower league journeymen is a risky option, especially when they cost transfer fees.

We haven’t signed journeymen though.

On the whole, we have signed players with potential and come with good reports from their previous clubs.

I don’t think it’s time to panic yet, but if none of these players deliver on their potential then obviously we are going to struggle.

14-07-2019, 10:35 AM
The recruitment dept found these players. Most were in the lists last year. We are a few games in. Calm down.

14-07-2019, 10:38 AM
As has been noted earlier - it doesnt.

e.g. You got into some fairly heated debates regarding Rons shareholding etc on the MB and while there is a thread on the takeover on the PM board, your name is mentioned re some of the share numbers stuff - but you dont get a negative mention, never mind a barrage.

As a general point, sometimes people retire to the PM board when the arguing gets too much on here - I understand that, and do it myself as it can get a bit much.

What I dont understand (this isnt you, by the way) is people seeming to manufacture all sorts of arguments - I didnt bite, but sometimes people seem to be attempting to get reactions rather than having any reasoned debate - then coming back and crying about it if people suggest they are at it.

My point was light hearted. I have been trolled by the SNP dogs on Twitter so you guys are like pussy cats. Main thing is we are all Hibs fans and want the best for the club. We have different views and insights and that makes us stronger as a whole than individual s. Just now I am hurting on our sub standard pre-season and new signings except for Allan. Losing Oji and of course our draw yesterday. I am hoping against hope we somehow turn things around but agree with folks that we have signed a group of lower level players who probably wont make it here. SPL somewhere between English Championship and their League 1. We seem to be signing players slightly below that level in the hope they raise their game.

14-07-2019, 10:44 AM
What concerns me is that these recruits have been players Hecky has identified. What happened to our famed recruitment team, that scours the world for players? We need to be competing against The Uglies and the Sheepies. Instead we are in danger of dropping to the level of the Yams.

The recruitment team will have their list of players as usual but ultimately it's the head coach who chooses who we try and sign, Hecky will have his own contacts and players lists as he'll know them from his work down south, my only worry is the players he's identifying aren't s good as possibly the ones being looked at by out recruitment team.

14-07-2019, 10:44 AM
My point was light hearted. I have been trolled by the SNP dogs on Twitter so you guys are like pussy cats. Main thing is we are all Hibs fans and want the best for the club. We have different views and insights and that makes us stronger as a whole than individual s. Just now I am hurting on our sub standard pre-season and new signings except for Allan. Losing Oji and of course our draw yesterday. I am hoping against hope we somehow turn things around but agree with folks that we have signed a group of lower level players who probably wont make it here. SPL somewhere between English Championship and their League 1. We seem to be signing players slightly below that level in the hope they raise their game.

Can't work out if you are on the wind up or just need to develop some perspective on things and a bit of a Hibs supporting thicker skin! This is not a panic situation it is still effectively preseason and it shows in the performance levels and the new players bedding in. This is nowhere near squeaky bum time so calm and relax and enjoy the summer weather :-)

We didn't lose ojo he chose to go elsewhere

14-07-2019, 10:47 AM
Brett our sponsorship manager going to Newcastle United

Isnae needed if we don't even need a shirt sponsor.

14-07-2019, 10:50 AM

Rocky
Gray
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

I’d agree with that starting 11 and that Doidge and Jackson have shown more than the other Hecky signings. We still badly need more physicality and drive.
I’ve also yet to see any evidence of a clear Hecky playing style.

14-07-2019, 11:01 AM

We are debt free six years early.

The new ownership have given us a seven figure sum.

The manager is fully committed to the budget and the club strategy.

Still, no intent there 🙄

14-07-2019, 11:02 AM
We are debt free six years early.

The new ownership have given us a seven figure sum.

The manager is fully committed to the budget and the club strategy.

Still, no intent there 🙄

The intent needs to be shown now, not just talked about.

Weegreenman
14-07-2019, 11:03 AM

Rocky
Gray
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

Its way too soon to make any judgement on players. I remember Horgan took a good while to hit the ground running. Early days guys, keep the faith.

14-07-2019, 11:04 AM
The intent needs to be shown now, not just talked about.

You have lost me?

What would you do

14-07-2019, 11:07 AM
We won't sign Morrison and we just need to accept it, apparently. Our place is below Aberdeen. We shouldn't show any ambition and should learn our place!

14-07-2019, 11:09 AM
You have lost me?

What would you do

I'm guessing he'd like us to bring in some better players than we already have?

Wait until PH bring his own players in was the cry last season, wait until he gets to work with his team.

When does the season start for PH?

14-07-2019, 11:09 AM
We won't sign Morrison and we just need to accept it, apparently. Our place is below Aberdeen. We shouldn't show any ambition and should learn our place!

What an arsey pointless post! We offered what we thought was our best offer for Ojo, he chose to go elsewhere for a value we didn't put on him, get over it.

14-07-2019, 11:12 AM
What an arsey pointless post! We offered what we thought was our best offer for Ojo, he chose to go elsewhere for a value we didn't put on him, get over it.

I probably wouldn’t be quite the drama queen as the poster you quoted but we probably should accept that if Aberdeen or Hearts want him we’re unlikely to get him.

14-07-2019, 11:15 AM
I probably wouldn’t be quite the drama queen as the poster you quoted but we probably should accept that if Aberdeen or Hearts want him we’re unlikely to get him.

I get the frustration. When you see a club with Aberdeens infrastructure and fanbase blowing us out the water it's depressing.

Wait until PH bring his own players in was the cry last season, wait until he gets to work with his team.

Yeah pretty much this. Actions need to speak louder than words now.

Trying to not to hold that slightly defeatest view and would hope we can match either of them for players we value highly. Throwing the toys out if the pram because some midfielder we hasn't heard of 2 weeks ago has joined Aberdeen for more money is pretty pointless use of energy and overtly negative.

14-07-2019, 11:17 AM
I get the frustration. When you see a club with Aberdeens infrastructure and fanbase blowing us out the water it's depressing.

Blowing us out the water with what exactly? They signed Ojo because they can throw money at people due to an American backer? So what? Why get worked up about it so much?

14-07-2019, 11:20 AM

It started yesterday and I'm sure there is lots of work going on in the background

14-07-2019, 11:21 AM

Absolutely no idea what you are rambling on about. You're the one getting arsey. I'm talking about hibs fans saying we can't match Aberdeen so that's that. It's Aberdeen ffs not real Madrid and we aren't talking thousands they're offering more in. This whole idea of "fresh investment" was meant to stop this kind of thing happening, no?

thebausburst
14-07-2019, 11:21 AM

Reality is we can’t compete financially with Aberdeen, that is simply a fact and has been for many years, signing the likes of Bryson is simply beyond us. Great to have wiped out the debt and have funds to invest, dissapointing though that on the face of it the squad looks poorer than the 2016 championship one.

14-07-2019, 11:22 AM
Blowing us out the water with what exactly? They signed Ojo because they can throw money at people due to an American backer? So what? Why get worked up about it so much?

You've answered your own question. Because we want to be "best of the rest" but can't compete financially with Aberdeen who have just signed out first choice target.

The Leith Dutch
14-07-2019, 11:22 AM

Rocky
Gray
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka
Allan
Horgan
Kamberi

Wouldn't disagree with the XI you've picked as the best option but that in itself highlights the problem - Kamberi, Boyle, Allan, Horgan and Mallan are all attacking players primarily.
For me there should be a maximum of 4 of those players on the pitch at the same time with the possible exception of chasing a goal in the latter stages of a game.

Two Centre midfielders are an absolute must for me.

14-07-2019, 11:23 AM

The chickens will come home to roost at some point with Aberdeen. Spending way beyond their means for a number of years, stadium build to come, training facilities to be built. It won't go on for ever with people throwing money at them. Look at Dundee Utd, artificially propped up by the owner for years, once he went they had to start tightening the spend and look where they are now. It may not be as drastic with Aberdeen but I'm pretty certain it will happen.

14-07-2019, 11:24 AM
Because we want to be "best of the rest" but can't compete financially with Aberdeen who have just signed out first choice target.

He can’t have been that much of a ‘first choice target’ given we wanted him for no fee and only offered a fee once Aberdeen had. If he was the first choice target then someone at Hibs needs their arse handed to them for leaving it long enough to allow Aberdeen to get involved and pip us.

14-07-2019, 11:25 AM
It started yesterday and I'm sure there is lots of work going on in the background

I know there's work going on in the background, i just hope its better work than He's currently done.

We’ve got one of them now as well now but we are going to choose to spend money on other areas of the club it seems.

Because we want to be "best of the rest" but can't compete financially with Aberdeen who have just signed out first choice target.

We can compete financially with Aberdeen, they aren’t that far ahead of us. It looks like a decision was made not to offer anymore than what we originally thought he was worth. I’m assuming we have other players identified for that role.

14-07-2019, 11:27 AM
Absolutely no idea what you are rambling on about. You're the one getting arsey. I'm talking about hibs fans saying we can't match Aberdeen so that's that. It's Aberdeen ffs not real Madrid and we aren't talking thousands they're offering more in. This whole idea of "fresh investment" was meant to stop this kind of thing happening, no?

Did you miss the bit where Hecky said we made a good offer, presumably at the price point we were happy to pay him, Aberdeen chose to offer more and he went there? I just cannot understand why people get so worked up about it and then use this kinda thing keep finding new and ingenious ways to beat up Hibs based on very little factual information.

What is this fresh investment you are quoting? It has been stated by Ron that the football budget will stay as it was set.

14-07-2019, 11:27 AM
We can compete financially with Aberdeen, they aren’t that far ahead of us. It looks like a decision was made not to offer anymore than what we originally thought he was worth. I’m assuming we have other players identified for that role.

Common sense prevails :-)

14-07-2019, 11:29 AM
To add to that another older player I would give a years contract to is Glenn Whelan. 35 but still a good football player and available on a free. Wages would probably be miles out of our league though.

Sorry, no. Morrison was/is an energetic midfield player who could also play wide & come up with a few goals. Whelan never moves out of his own half & passes backwards 90% of the time. We could have kept Marv if that's what we wanted. If Morrison still has the legs for it he could do a job.

Green Reaper
14-07-2019, 11:30 AM

Sensible post, why offer more for someone than you think they are worth, doesn't make sense to me

14-07-2019, 11:34 AM
Sensible post, why offer more for someone than you think they are worth, doesn't make sense to me

Does that mean the players means more to Aberdeen then? Because in that case it’s no wonder he’s chosen to go where wanted most.

14-07-2019, 11:34 AM

Is there anywhere where we’ve been quoted as being unable to match Aberdeen’s offer?

Being able to and being willing you are two entirely different things.

14-07-2019, 11:36 AM
Two of our bigger clubs fighting it out over a player in English fourth tier shows the standard of the game up here.

14-07-2019, 11:37 AM

I don't know where it's suddenly become a Net Fact that we can't compete with Hearts. We're almost identical to them on wages & I suspect next accounts will show us paying more. Sheep are a bit ahead but they've now signed Ojo so are probably about done this window unless they sell.

14-07-2019, 11:39 AM
Does that mean the players means more to Aberdeen then? Because in that case it’s no wonder he’s chosen to go where wanted most.

What if we offered 5k and they offered 7k? Should we have gone to 8 just to show how much we cared? That is how clubs go tits up. Offering more than a player is actually worth would be mental. Also it lets every other agent out there know that you can be pushed for more and more cash.
Even with Ron's additional investment I don't want to see us get back to the days of paying players way too much. All that leads to is a rollercoaster of a couple of good seasons followed by about eight really white ones. We have seen that happening as Hibs fans. I'd prefer the gradual improvement rather than the boom or bust

14-07-2019, 11:41 AM

Here's what you said, bold below. You clearly inferred you were talking about League 2. Regardless, there's still only 2 lower league players, that's not bulk buying. I can't speak for Heisenberg but I'll wait more than 1 game to give an opinion on our new recruits.

Green Reaper
14-07-2019, 11:47 AM

Aberdeen obviously valued him differently from us and only time will tell if that was correct or not

14-07-2019, 11:48 AM
I don't know where it's suddenly become a Net Fact that we can't compete with Hearts. We're almost identical to them on wages & I suspect next accounts will show us paying more. Sheep are a bit ahead but they've now signed Ojo so are probably about done this window unless they sell.

I just can’t remember getting into a ‘transfer battle’ with them and winning?

John O’neil was probably the only one and that was years ago.

14-07-2019, 11:49 AM
I know there's work going on in the background, i just hope its better work than He's currently done.

This. I'm certainly no snob, but are these signings really the best we can do? I bloody hope not.

14-07-2019, 11:50 AM
We've finished above Aberdeen once in about 10 years. That's 10 years of them receiving more money through league positions. About five of those years have included European money for them. They also have an owner pumping money in. Our attendances have only recently dwarfed theirs as well but hopefully we maintain that. So I can see why they can offer more money than us.

We need to find a way to start beating and finishing above them. That will obviously even things out.

MacGruber
14-07-2019, 11:52 AM
Wouldn't disagree with the XI you've picked as the best option but that in itself highlights the problem - Kamberi, Boyle, Allan, Horgan and Mallan are all attacking players primarily.
For me there should be a maximum of 4 of those players on the pitch at the same time with the possible exception of chasing a goal in the latter stages of a game.

Two Centre midfielders are an absolute must for me.

Yeah, totally agree with that. 2 centres needed

14-07-2019, 12:04 PM
The issue is the players dicked us about twice. Maybe hibs would've pushed the boat out for him, but you can't blame us for pulling the plug after the 2nd time he let us down.

He's clearly only out for himself and whilst most people are, you still want people who are true to their word and appreciate what they've got.

14-07-2019, 12:04 PM
What if we offered 5k and they offered 7k? Should we have gone to 8 just to show how much we cared? That is how clubs go tits up. Offering more than a player is actually worth would be mental. Also it lets every other agent out there know that you can be pushed for more and more cash.
Even with Ron's additional investment I don't want to see us get back to the days of paying players way too much. All that leads to is a rollercoaster of a couple of good seasons followed by about eight really white ones. We have seen that happening as Hibs fans. I'd prefer the gradual improvement rather than the boom or bust

So they value the player higher in wages terms then? Either that or we can’t compete with them financially. The rest is guesswork.

14-07-2019, 12:06 PM
The issue is the players dicked us about twice. Maybe hibs would've pushed the boat out for him, but you can't blame us for pulling the plug after the 2nd time he let us down.

He's clearly only out for himself and whilst most people are, you still want people who are true to their word and appreciate what they've got.

I’m not sure how he has at all.

He agreed a deal with us
S****horpe had a clause in contract meaning money was dues
Hecky walked away
Aberdeen offered a transfer fee that was accepted
We then did similar
Player goes to them.

14-07-2019, 12:07 PM
So they value the player higher in wages terms then? Either that or we can’t compete with them financially. The rest is guesswork.

Nobody will know. The money will be there for the right player. But I think Hibs have decided they won't be held to ransom by the player after he messed us about twice and I can't say I blame them either.

14-07-2019, 12:10 PM
I’m not sure how he has at all.

He agreed a deal with us
S****horpe had a clause in contract meaning money was dues
Hecky walked away
Aberdeen offered a transfer fee that was accepted
We then did similar
Player goes to them.

His agent fudged up the clause. Hibs gave him the benefit of the doubt.

Then he refused to train, had a mystery illness and then chose us again and told Aberdeen to bolt.

Aberdeen then came in with more money and the alarm bells are now ringing for Hibs, benefit of the doubt removed and players true colours shining through (poor attitude shown to his present club etc). Hibs are unwilling to go above their offer as such as a final test of the player's character.

He accepts Aberdeen's offer and it's pretty evident money means more to him than his word, our plans for him and what we're trying to achieve and so we pull the plug

14-07-2019, 12:17 PM

Then he refused to train, had a mystery illness and then chose us again and told Aberdeen to bolt.

Aberdeen then came in with more money and the alarm bells are now ringing for Hibs, benefit of the doubt removed and players true colours shining through (poor attitude shown to his present club etc). Hibs are unwilling to go above their offer as such as a final test of the player's character.

He accepts Aberdeen's offer and it's pretty evident money means more to him than his word, our plans for him and what we're trying to achieve and so we pull the plug

I don't know why people don't get that.

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 12:29 PM

I think that is exactly the way it went.

Most logical and sensible scenario.

14-07-2019, 12:31 PM
I don't know why people don't get that.
Because it’s only one of a few possible scenarios

14-07-2019, 12:33 PM

And the last thing any of us want to do is believe a scenario which Hibs come out of well.

14-07-2019, 12:33 PM
Just read we are after james morrison,along with hearts and aberdeen,was the daily record so dunno how true it is

sauzee=legend
14-07-2019, 12:34 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4483129/aberdeen-hibs-hearts-james-morrison-free-transfer-west-brom/

DanishJohn
14-07-2019, 12:42 PM
Some of the older fans will remember this one.

In the late 1960s early 1970s Joe Harper was the darling of the Aberdeen fans. King Joey.
He then got his big move to Everton. Done reasonably well but wanted to come "home".

Hibs offered Everton £100,000. Aberdeen then came in and matched the offer. The king was coming home to Aberdeen !
Hibs then upped the offer to £120,000.

Joe Harper (King Joey) signed for Hibs.

It could be argued that two things were in play.

Eddie Turnbull's footballing brain or Tom Hart's burning ambition. We will never know, though Hart and Turnbull did think Hibs were bigger than Aberdeen.

Joe Harper was a bit of a mixed bag at ER and the move was not what would be called an overwhelming success.

He then returned to Aberdeen for about £80,000 where he once again started rattling goals in for fun and regained his crown.

Some moves are meant and others aren't.

14-07-2019, 12:45 PM

In the late 1960s early 1970s Joe Harper was the darling of the Aberdeen fans. King Joey.
He then got his big move to Everton. Done reasonably well but wanted to come "home".

Hibs offered Everton £100,000. Aberdeen then came in and matched the offer. The king was coming home to Aberdeen !

Eddie Turnbull's footballing brain or Tom Hart's burning ambition. We will never know, though Hart and Turnbull did think Hibs were bigger than Aberdeen.

Joe Harper was a bit of a mixed bag at ER and the move was not what would be called an overwhelming success.

He then returned to Aberdeen for about £80,000 where he once again started rattling goals in for fun and regained his crown.

The mention of Harper always reminds me when he came on as substitute playing for Hibs in a game at ER and the crowd broke out into a spontaneous rendition of "Roll out the barrel". :greengrin

14-07-2019, 12:48 PM

Tom Hart couldnae wait to recoup his dough by selling Cropley ORourke and Gordon
Joe Harper was the beginning of the end for the Tornadoes
Joe Harper once said “Do you think I left Everton for less money?”
He was a great player for HIBS but was never truly accepted by HIBS fans

Played 99 scored 49

14-07-2019, 12:54 PM
And the last thing any of us want to do is believe a scenario which Hibs come out of well.
Speak for yourself

14-07-2019, 12:57 PM

All scenarios come back to us being beaten by wages anyway, that take is hugely derived from Heckingbottom's most recent interview.

IMO hibs could well afford the same as Aberdeen have offered, but they're not willing to. This could be for a number of reasons but we'll never find out for sure.

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 01:05 PM
Here's what you said, bold below. You clearly inferred you were talking about League 2. Regardless, there's still only 2 lower league players, that's not bulk buying. I can't speak for Heisenberg but I'll wait more than 1 game to give an opinion on our new recruits.

If we are being pedantic take away the first 2 sentences and read again. Ojo, if we got him would be Div 2 now as well, we can classify him as relegated from Div 1 if you like. My point is we have gone from signing international calibre players to English lower leagues.

14-07-2019, 01:14 PM
If we are being pedantic take away the first 2 sentences and read again. Ojo, if we got him would be Div 2 now as well, we can classify him as relegated from Div 1 if you like. My point is we have gone from signing international calibre players to English lower leagues.

You are of course accurate, and much was made last season about signing all these international players. However the majority of them hardly played or offered very little when they did.

14-07-2019, 01:18 PM

That'll do for me !

14-07-2019, 01:21 PM
Two of our bigger clubs fighting it out over a player in English fourth tier shows the standard of the game up here.
Yip 2nd rate in all honesty.

14-07-2019, 01:37 PM

No

Where did you read that?

14-07-2019, 01:40 PM
James Morrison would be an exciting signing for me. Legitimate good premiership player and international not long ago. Just turned 33. I'd like to see him in a Hibs top.

mcfly
14-07-2019, 01:50 PM
I’ve been reading these pages and if players don’t want to come to hibs then that’s fine.

What does get me is we are getting 17-18k crowds. We took in a lot of money for McGinn.

I would have thought we could attract some better quality but you have to trust the manager and expect full research has been done.

Yes the football is perhaps not as exciting to watch but if you don’t like it then fans will stay away.

Season has only just started, I’m pretty confident we will get a couple of good loan players in also.

14-07-2019, 01:53 PM
The mention of Harper always reminds me when he came on as substitute playing for Hibs in a game at ER and the crowd broke out into a spontaneous rendition of "Roll out the barrel". :greengrinYes remember that. Ever the eternal optimist I thought fat Joe would turn the Torrnadoes into league champions. Careful with your promises Ron.

14-07-2019, 01:55 PM
The signing internationals to English league 2 one is pointless imo and doesn’t mean anything.

Nelom
Mavrias
Big Dave
Milligan
Hyndman
Gauld
Faycal Rherras

Are all players that came with big reputations or internationals and were poor.

HFC93
14-07-2019, 02:00 PM
Would be great to see David Gray and James Morrison in the same side. Hopefully Hecky goes for Chris Martin as well.

Green forever
14-07-2019, 02:00 PM
The signing internationals to English league 2 one is pointless imo and doesn’t mean anything.

Nelom
Mavrias
Big Dave
Milligan
Hyndman
Gauld
Faycal Rherras

It's a matter of opinion but for me, Milligan was very far from being poor.

14-07-2019, 02:01 PM

I thought he was ok in the second half of the season. First half of the season he was miles off it.

14-07-2019, 02:06 PM

Tbf I would agree that he wasn’t poor and was good in a lot of games he played. That being said I probably expected more from him given the international status and the fact he was a higher earner.

You get my point though, being an international doesn’t stand for much and for me Lennon seemed a bit obsessed with getting them in.

14-07-2019, 02:12 PM

His agent did, yes.

It’s never once been said or quoted he told Aberdeen to bolt and join us, Hecky has even said he found out Aberdeen had an offer accepted before we put a bid in.

The player being greedy is sounding sour grapes. We wouldn’t have been able to speak to the player again until a bid was accepted and by that time he had already been in discussions with Aberdeen, who knew of hibs wage offer and offered more, we pull out the deal again.

14-07-2019, 02:22 PM

Harper says of the move that he had the choice of which team to sign for and he looked at Hibs with Stanton, Cropley, Brownlie, Blackley, Edwards and so on and that was what made his mind up. The ironic thing about him rejoining Aberdeen, his last game for Hibs was a reserve fixture where he scored five goals and Hibs struggled for goals the rest of that decade into the next and as you said, he was rattling them in for fun at Pittodrie. He won four caps while at Hibs and Aberdeen paid Hibs around 50k to get him back.

14-07-2019, 02:37 PM
His agent did, yes.

It’s never once been said or quoted he told Aberdeen to bolt and join us, Hecky has even said he found out Aberdeen had an offer accepted before we put a bid in.

The player being greedy is sounding sour grapes. We wouldn’t have been able to speak to the player again until a bid was accepted and by that time he had already been in discussions with Aberdeen, who knew of hibs wage offer and offered more, we pull out the deal again.

It's logical though. He's went there for more money, that has been quoted. ("Blown us out the water")

And he did initially tell Aberdeen he was signing for us according to the source who initially released the info. Hence they offered improved terms..

BegbieHSC
14-07-2019, 02:38 PM
Just read we are after james morrison,along with hearts and aberdeen,was the daily record so dunno how true it is

Reckon Hearts have got in first, and are leaking that us and Aberdeen are interested so it can be spun that pipped us both.

Classic Levein obsessive ****baggery.

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 02:43 PM

Nelom
Mavrias
Big Dave
Milligan
Hyndman
Gauld
Faycal Rherras

Nelom , Mav and Faycal never got a look in. Dave, I think left us at the start of last season. Hyndman was a loan and had done okay previously at Der Hun. Gauld was on loan and injured most of the time and Milligan was fine.

I don’t recall anyone saying they weren’t happy with any of them coming in and most were happy at the standard of our recruitment. We are now looking at the level we looked at when in the Championship.

14-07-2019, 02:49 PM
Nelom , Mav and Faycal never got a look in. Dave, I think left us at the start of last season. Hyndman was a loan and had done okay previously at Der Hun. Gauld was on loan and injured most of the time and Milligan was fine.

I don’t recall anyone saying they weren’t happy with any of them coming in and most were happy at the standard of our recruitment. We are now looking at the level we looked at when in the Championship.

The level we looked at when in the Championship? So we’ll be getting ourselves players that give us what the likes of Bartley, Gray and Fontaine gave us? Sounds good to me.

It doesn’t matter if the fans were happy with the level of recruitment at the time. It’s fact that all the players mentioned there were poor signings for us. I only care how they perform for hibs, not where they’ve come from.

14-07-2019, 02:54 PM
Big Dave at rapid Bucharest and scored 12 in 14 lol

14-07-2019, 02:55 PM
The level we looked at when in the Championship? So we’ll be getting ourselves players that give us what the likes of Bartley, Gray and Fontaine gave us? Sounds good to me.

It doesn’t matter if the fans were happy with the level of recruitment at the time. It’s fact that all the players mentioned there were poor signings for us. I only care how they perform for hibs, not where they’ve come from.
And don’t forget King Dom. An artist.

hibbie02
14-07-2019, 02:57 PM

3 out of how many?

14-07-2019, 02:59 PM
Man Utd agree 80m deal to sign Harry Maguire from Leicester

Source: The Sun

14-07-2019, 03:07 PM
Stmirren.net must be in meltdown at HT [emoji23][emoji23]

14-07-2019, 03:17 PM
3 out of how many?

How many players did we sign from the championship/League One/League Two when we were down there?

I really don’t get why folk are getting so hung up on where our signings have come from. If they turn out to be good players for Hibs then amazing, if they don’t cut it then we move on. You cannot solely judge a player based on where we sign them from.

We have signed players with experience from a good level previously and they’ve been pish. We’ve signed players from nowhere that have been brilliant servants.

Kilmarnock have a squad rammed full of players from the level we have been shopping in this window and it’s worked out ok for them. Aberdeen and Motherwell have also had decent success in this market too.

14-07-2019, 03:26 PM
I suspect we are seeing the bulk of the squad put together now with the intention to add in a loan or two for that extra bit of quality nearer the end of the window and once the English window has closed.

Heckingbottom has said he likes the loan market but hasn’t used it yet so I think there are still some surprises in store for us.

He also said on Friday that Ojo wasn’t the only player we were waiting on answers from but that hasn’t really been picked up here.

bigswissstriker
14-07-2019, 03:31 PM
Kenny millar hitting the James Morrison link on the head

14-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Kenny millar hitting the James Morrison link on the head

Can you post a link please?

14-07-2019, 03:35 PM
I suspect we are seeing the bulk of the squad put together now with the intention to add in a loan or two for that extra bit of quality nearer the end of the window and once the English window has closed.

Heckingbottom has said he likes the loan market but hasn’t used it yet so I think there are still some surprises in store for us.

He also said on Friday that Ojo wasn’t the only player we were waiting on answers from but that hasn’t really been picked up here.

The goalie Maxwell is a loan no?

bigswissstriker
14-07-2019, 03:39 PM

Was a tweet, replied to a guy saying something along the lines of “there’s nothing in it from our end, looking elsewhere”

14-07-2019, 03:41 PM

He is replying to someone on twitter saying we are looking elsewhere and doubts hearts are in for him either

14-07-2019, 03:41 PM

Yes. Season long loan from Preston NE

14-07-2019, 03:49 PM
How many players did we sign from the championship/League One/League Two when we were down there?

I really don’t get why folk are getting so hung up on where our signings have come from. If they turn out to be good players for Hibs then amazing, if they don’t cut it then we move on. You cannot solely judge a player based on where we sign them from.

We have signed players with experience from a good level previously and they’ve been pish. We’ve signed players from nowhere that have been brilliant servants.

Kilmarnock have a squad rammed full of players from the level we have been shopping in this window and it’s worked out ok for them. Aberdeen and Motherwell have also had decent success in this market too.

Players we have signed from ‘lower leagues’ of England since being relegated.

Oxley
Gray
Fontaine
Fyvie
Allan
El Alagui
Bartley
Insall
Logan (played for Leicester but spent most of time out on loan in the lower leagues)
Humprey
Holt
Shinnie
Stokes
Whittaker
Mallan
Horgan
McNulty

seven scottish cup winning squad members including the two scorers, our current club captain, a player we have just resigned for the third time that everyone was desperate to see come back, our player of the season last season and the best player on the pitch in most of our pre-season games.

not too bad a record

14-07-2019, 03:54 PM
I wouldn’t define Championship as lower league, I would L1 L2 and even the Conf.

14-07-2019, 04:00 PM
I wouldn’t define Championship as lower league, I would L1 L2 and even the Conf.

Joe Newell and Adam Jackson played in the championship and Doidge spent the first half of last season with a championship team.

14-07-2019, 04:02 PM
Joe Newell and Adam Jackson played in the championship and Doidge spent the first half of last season with a championship team.

Yeah I know, was more of some sort of clarification in general :greengrin

MichaelBrown
14-07-2019, 04:06 PM

A Championship side was also prepared to spend 1m+ on Doidge.

14-07-2019, 04:08 PM
A Championship side was also prepared to spend 1m+ on Doidge.

Aye a club that reckless they have ended up in the ****ter 😁

14-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Yeah I know, was more of some sort of clarification in general :greengrin

I’m just trying to figure out people’s definition of a lower league player. It seems to change dependant on how good they think the player is :hilarious

the funny thing is the player we signed from a team who got relegated from league 2 is the one that has probably done the best for us, out of the new signings, in pre-season at both right and left back when needed.

MichaelBrown
14-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Aye a club that reckless they have ended up in the ****ter 😁

A championship club none the less.

14-07-2019, 04:11 PM
Players we have signed from ‘lower leagues’ of England since being relegated.

Oxley
Gray
Fontaine
Fyvie
Allan
El Alagui
Bartley
Insall
Logan (played for Leicester but spent most of time out on loan in the lower leagues)
Humprey
Holt
Shinnie
Stokes
Whittaker
Mallan
Horgan
McNulty

seven scottish cup winning squad members including the two scorers, our current club captain, a player we have just resigned for the third time that everyone was desperate to see come back, our player of the season last season and the best player on the pitch in most of our pre-season games.

not too bad a record

No recollection of us signing Humphrey

14-07-2019, 04:13 PM

He no score against Bonnyrigg at Tynecastle

14-07-2019, 04:14 PM

Humphrey was excellent first half against Dundee utd new year 2017. Injured in the first 2 minutes against hearts in the cup replay and I don't think he played again

14-07-2019, 04:32 PM
I’m just trying to figure out people’s definition of a lower league player. It seems to change dependant on how good they think the player is :hilarious

the funny thing is the player we signed from a team who got relegated from league 2 is the one that has probably done the best for us, out of the new signings, in pre-season at both right and left back when needed.

I agree and I’ve no idea where a player is signed from if they are good enough regardless. A slight concern might be though that Hecky has misjudged the standard of the league in terms with down south like CC did. Gray came up through Stubbsy who knew the leagues.

14-07-2019, 04:34 PM
He no score against Bonnyrigg at Tynecastle

To be fair i think i did too

14-07-2019, 04:34 PM
Was a tweet, replied to a guy saying something along the lines of “there’s nothing in it from our end, looking elsewhere”

Good

Hibees1973
14-07-2019, 04:35 PM
Early days, but my gut feeling is that we have regressed at this point in time. Doidge is a strange one for me, especially if he cost £350k. Apart from Allan, can anyone here categorically say the players signed are better than the one’s we already have.

It is disappointing to lose out on a player to Aberdeen as they are the club we need to target and overtake. Size wise, city and fan base we are bigger than them. Sends out a message that we are unable to compete with them for even a minor signing.

I would be interested to find out the targets set by the new owner, Dempster and the recruitment team.

Still time to get players in. McGeouch, Morrison, Ambrose and McNulty are the calibre we must look at getting. If we signed this lot in a week we would rocket past the season ticket sales record and have momentum going into the first game against St Mirren.

Fully understand we must balance budget with common sense, but Gordon has cash to ‘invest’ we need to see it soon or next season will be similar to the last one.

14-07-2019, 04:38 PM
Early days, but my gut feeling is that we have regressed at this point in time. Doidge is a strange one for me, especially if he cost £350k. Apart from Allan, can anyone here categorically say the players signed are better than the one’s we already have.

It is disappointing to lose out on a player to Aberdeen as they are the club we need to target and overtake. Size wise, city and fan base we are bigger than them. Sends out a message that we are unable to compete with them for even a minor signing.

I would be interested to find out the targets set by the new owner, Dempster and the recruitment team.

Still time to get players in. McGeouch, Morrison, Ambrose and McNulty are the calibre we must look at getting. If we signed this lot in a week we would rocket past the season ticket sales record and have momentum going into the first game against St Mirren.

Fully understand we must balance budget with common sense, but Gordon has cash to ‘invest’ we need to see it soon or next season will be similar to the last one.

On first impressions (or fourth impressions) the new guys look like squad players to me. Will come in handy when injuries hit but never starters in a million years. The worrying thing for me is i don't think they were bought for that purpose.

Partyraiser
14-07-2019, 04:58 PM
Humphrey was excellent first half against Dundee utd new year 2017. Injured in the first 2 minutes against hearts in the cup replay and I don't think he played again

:agree: He was electric in that 1st game against dundee utd!

He spent last season warming the bench for east kilbride and now manages Gretna 2008 in the lowland league!

14-07-2019, 05:00 PM
On first impressions (or fourth impressions) the new guys look like squad players to me. Will come in handy when injuries hit but never starters in a million years. The worrying thing for me is i don't think they were bought for that purpose.

Agree

14-07-2019, 05:04 PM
I think, if it’s ok with everyone else, I’ll give Heckingbottom and our new signings a good few games before I make judgements on them.

14-07-2019, 05:07 PM
I think, if it’s ok with everyone else, I’ll give Heckingbottom and our new signings a good few games before I make judgements on them.

No way.
Grab a pitchfork and join the rest of us. :greengrin

14-07-2019, 05:08 PM

Suit yourself.

Hibernian32
14-07-2019, 05:09 PM

Agree I'm no impressed but I'll see where we stand after Ibrox

14-07-2019, 05:09 PM

Fully understand we must balance budget with common sense, but Gordon has cash to ‘invest’ we need to see it soon or next season will be similar to the last one.Doidge, my English pals and also son in law to be (Sutton fan!), to a man, all seem to think we got a good 'un...... I'm waiting to be convinced, is he as good as they're saying or are they under estimating our league?

Re Aberdeen, the boss seems to really want a team that is all for one and one for all as a starter for ten, I get the feeling that wasn't the case in this instance so hell be feeling happy he's not wasted money on a possible dead weight.

14-07-2019, 05:14 PM
Doidge, my English pals and also son in law to be (Sutton fan!), to a man, all seem to think we got a good 'un...... I'm waiting to be convinced, is he as good as they're saying or are they under estimating our league?

Re Aberdeen, the boss seems to really want a team that is all for one and one for all as a starter for ten, I get the feeling that wasn't the case in this instance so hell be feeling happy he's not wasted money on a possible dead weight.

English lower league fans certainly underestimate our league and overestimate their own. I would take what we see with our own eyes as a better indicator.

Certainly give the new boys some time. However, many of us have seen many duff signings over many transfer windows. If the alarm bells are ringing it may be with good reason!

14-07-2019, 05:28 PM
I agree and I’ve no idea where a player is signed from if they are good enough regardless. A slight concern might be though that Hecky has misjudged the standard of the league in terms with down south like CC did. Gray came up through Stubbsy who knew the leagues.

Rather than Heckingbottom having misjudged the standard of the league, maybe it's more a case of some people being too judgmental of players that are just in the door. I get that this is a place for discussion/debate but some are going way over the top. I'd say give them a chance before deciding whether or not they are good enough.

14-07-2019, 05:36 PM
Rather than Heckingbottom having misjudged the standard of the league, maybe it's more a case of some people being too judgmental of players that are just in the door. I get that this is a place for discussion/debate but some are going way over the top. I'd say give them a chance before deciding whether or not they are good enough.

It’s initial thoughts, it’s allowed. I was quite excited at the standard the players have came from tbh but so far there’s been no outstanding or even a decent standard initially.

14-07-2019, 05:44 PM

Doidge looks very decent, Jackson and James competent, Newell simply awful - that's my very early assessment. Midfield totally unbalanced and we lack genuine pace on the left and a genuine holding/combative midfielder. Horgan has had a good pre-season and looks 'on it', good to see Flo scoring again too (and Scott Allan). Not sure Allan and Mallan can play together, certainly not if Mallan is playing deeper. Maxwell looks a very good shot stopper and more than able deputy for Rocky.

Still four or five players short for me if we are to be genuine top 4 contenders. Lots of work to do in the recruitment department before the St.Mirren game.

14-07-2019, 05:49 PM
Doidge looks very decent, Jackson and James competent, Newell simply awful - that's my very early assessment. Midfield totally unbalanced and we lack genuine pace on the left and a genuine holding/combative midfielder. Horgan has had a good pre-season and looks 'on it', good to see Flo scoring again too (and Scott Allan). Not sure Allan and Mallan can play together, certainly not if Mallan is playing deeper. Maxwell looks a very good shot stopper and more than able deputy for Rocky.

Still four or five players short for me if we are to be genuine top 4 contenders. Lots of work to do in the recruitment department before the St.Mirren game.

I’ve agreed with most you’ve had to say recently but in no way has Doidge looked very decent. I’d prefer Kamberi over him from what I’ve seen.

I also don’t think James looks that interested and I’d have Daz or Porteous ahead of Jackson .... opinions eh

14-07-2019, 05:57 PM
I’ve agreed with most you’ve had to say recently but in no way has Doidge looked very decent. I’d prefer Kamberi over him from what I’ve seen.

I also don’t think James looks that interested and I’d have Daz or Porteous ahead of Jackson .... opinions eh

I like Doidge's work ethic and hold up play, he looks strong. But he needs a strike partner who can feed off that. I'd also have Kamberi up top (if he continues his work rate).

Like you, really keen to see Porteous back and fit :aok:

14-07-2019, 06:02 PM
Ojo confirmed for Aberdeen. 3 year deal.

14-07-2019, 06:11 PM

How can anyone categorically say anything after 1 competitive game!

14-07-2019, 06:12 PM

Judas

ThatDayInMay
14-07-2019, 06:12 PM
Morrison will not be a Hibs player. Not even pursuing a deal for him.

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 06:17 PM

They're welcome to him. He’s crap anyway.

And he’s a Judas.

14-07-2019, 06:19 PM

Yeah forgot about him, still relatively unused compared to how much we have used it in previous seasons.

14-07-2019, 06:21 PM
Are people really thinking the manager is underestimating the league, he hasnt just joined the club in the last month, he has been here long enough now to know what the league is like and what players are required, let's see how we get on in the league before having a go at them after the 1st meaningful game of the season, especially one that we didnt lose(yes we should have won) with an almost reserve team

Prick.

This Ojo saga leaves a bitter taste but if they're willing to pay more than what we've budgeted for then so be it. If we want to compete with them and be the so called 'best of the rest' then our signings need to improve. As it stands only one player we've brought in looks to be an improvement on what we had and we've known for 6 months that he was coming. There's time yet for things to turn around but I'm yet to be convinced.

14-07-2019, 06:24 PM
Are people really thinking the manager is underestimating the league, he hasnt just joined the club in the last month, he has been here long enough now to know what the league is like and what players are required, let's see how we get on in the league before having a go at them after the 1st meaningful game of the season, especially one that we didnt lose(yes we should have won) with an almost reserve team

I would agree with this, I think the games at the tail end of the season should give our management all the information they need on the quality of the league.

14-07-2019, 06:48 PM
Im disappointed the Ojo deal didnt happen as I honestly think PH really wanted him and IMO is probably playing down not getting him but he has probably been offered more money and at this level £500 pw or even 1k pw extra is massive he doesnt owe us anything so im not going to be bitter about something that happens every week in transfers. I wonder how many of our players turned down clubs because we offered more money.

Hopefully there is Plan A pt2. Some serious quality is required.

14-07-2019, 06:53 PM
I still think we need at least 4 players. Left Winger, defensive mid, striker and a back up left back. Don't mind a few of those being loan players. But we need at least one in this week to pick the fans up again.

I appreciate we aren't signing players for the sake of it anymore. But we make such a big deal of how amazing our recruitment team is surely we're deep into talks with the required players. We didn't get Ojo so I'm hoping we moved on quickly with the second choice.

14-07-2019, 08:27 PM
Hopefully one or two signings this week to lift the mood a bit

LeithMike
14-07-2019, 09:01 PM
I still think we need at least 4 players. Left Winger, defensive mid, striker and a back up left back. Don't mind a few of those being loan players.

Happy enough with Stevenson/Mackie/Whittaker for left back but think we certainly need more than one in for central midfield or we are going to struggle there. We need both a holding player (Dylan) and a box to box dynamo (Stephane).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

14-07-2019, 09:02 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190714/811a3aed9cdee75c9cd6e030ebd27bb4.jpg

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 09:06 PM
Happy enough with Stevenson/Mackie/Whittaker for left back but think we certainly need more than one in for central midfield or we are going to struggle there. We need both a holding player (Dylan) and a box to box dynamo (Stephane).

Fair enough with your comment about our left-back being either Lewis or Mackie but, Whittaker?

He’s slower than a week in jail nowadays.

Yesterdays man, I’m afraid.

14-07-2019, 09:07 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190714/811a3aed9cdee75c9cd6e030ebd27bb4.jpg

In other words "Mcinnes was phoning me in the middle of the night asking me what money it would take to change my mind"

CLASS OF 72 -73
14-07-2019, 09:09 PM

Agree what you say. I am worried that Heck has underestimated the game here. Its early and we have to be patient but none of the games so far have I been close to being impressed. We need to put the positive take over into big decisions and not let the likes of Aberdeen out do us.

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 09:17 PM
In other words "Mcinnes was phoning me in the middle of the night asking me what money it would take to change my mind"

Bang on! :thumbsup:

14-07-2019, 09:20 PM
Fair enough with your comment about our left-back being either Lewis or Mackie but, Whittaker?

He’s slower than a week in jail nowadays.

Yesterdays man, I’m afraid.

Not even yesterday's. Maybe the day before that!

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 09:24 PM
Not even yesterday's. Maybe the day before that!

I can’t argue with you there.

He should be nowhere near our starting 11.

14-07-2019, 09:32 PM
Steven Whittaker was one of our better players yesterday

14-07-2019, 09:37 PM

Correct, people have made their minds up though so you’re wasting your time.

If James played as well as Whittaker yesterday people would be raving about him.

14-07-2019, 09:39 PM

I can believe that on yesterday's performance although I can't find the positive in your point.

14-07-2019, 09:44 PM
I can believe that on yesterday's performance although I can't find the positive in your point.

PH is on record as saying that Steven Whittaker has a future in his team

He is in the twilight of his career but has loads to offer in passing on his experience to our younger players and is an experienced campaigner

He was one of our better players yesterday and strolled it

Did you go to the game yesterday?
( Serious question)

14-07-2019, 09:54 PM
Celtic knock back Arsenal’s bid of £25m for Tierney.

Shocking the way that club are standing in the way of him achieving Premiership football.

14-07-2019, 09:56 PM

Shocking the way that club are standing in the way of him achieving Premiership football.

Greed

14-07-2019, 09:59 PM

I think we need at least 2 central midfielders, a striker and a winger.

2 decent midfielders to play with Allan, a winger to compete properly with Horgan and Boyle, a first-choice striker who is better than Doidge and Kamberi.

The goalkeeper and defence from last season are fine, Porteous and Jackson to compete for places and James as back-up.

I can't see us getting top six this year as I don't believe Hibs think we're as short as we actually are, but we will go into January with a deficient squad that needs serious work to salvage our season yet again. You don't need to be far off to be losing points all over the place (see the last 2 seasons where a couple of smart Janury signings turned our fortunes around massively).

The nature of the signings we have made so far is that they will be hit or miss. One will probably thrive, a few will be ok, one will stink the place out. I think Heckingbottom has underestimated how difficult it is to get top 4 and I think we are going to be a good bit short of the quality required to get in there. We're much better than the poorest teams in the league but will be scrapping out somewhere in the middle.

Allan is the only player to come in who looks like a definite starter, we need a few more of those.

14-07-2019, 10:01 PM
Ojos going to get the biggest reception committee since Craig Paterson became a Hun the next time Aberdeen roll into town

14-07-2019, 10:04 PM
Ojos going to get the biggest reception committee since Craig Paterson became a Hun the next time Aberdeen roll into town

If he’s even playing for them. Will be interesting to see how he fits in there.

14-07-2019, 10:04 PM
PH is on record as saying that Steven Whittaker has a future in his team

He is in the twilight of his career but has loads to offer in passing on his experience to our younger players and is an experienced campaigner

He was one of our better players yesterday and strolled it

Did you go to the game yesterday?
( Serious question)

Can't be a serious question really.

Anyone watching the game would have seen his contribution. Just the usual tired moaning that gets trotted out.

14-07-2019, 10:05 PM
If he’s even playing for them. Will be interesting to see how he fits in there.

Apparently has missed preseason training and is injured

Barry! 😂

14-07-2019, 10:07 PM
Greed
Can't imagine why it's greed? We can't complain about English clubs low balling Scottish clubs then accuse Celtic of being greedy for asking for an amount closer to what Arsenal would have to pay another English club for a player of Tierney's talent.....

14-07-2019, 10:08 PM
Arsenal have reportedly bid £25m for Tierney. Baffled if Celtic reject that.

Bid rejected

14-07-2019, 10:11 PM
Correct, people have made their minds up though so you’re wasting your time.

If James played as well as Whittaker yesterday people would be raving about him.

People have made their minds up based on the last 2 seasons on which he has been average at best. He of course has had good games but the ones IMO that he has not really done much far outweigh.

14-07-2019, 10:14 PM
Can't imagine why it's greed? We can't complain about English clubs low balling Scottish clubs then accuse Celtic of being greedy for asking for an amount closer to what Arsenal would have to pay another English club for a player of Tierney's talent.....
I have no doubt Celtic want to sell KT but I think they would rather have 50m than 25m perhaps the actual figure will be somewhere in between after all it is only their second offer and it is only the second week in July
I agree you cannot blame them but will only serve to make them even stronger domestically
They have no doubt learned from their mistakes re Andy Robertson and SJM and won’t be fooled again

14-07-2019, 10:14 PM
Bid rejected

Arsenal supposedly tried to do a hun deal and spread the cost over various different instalments.

Wakeyhibee
14-07-2019, 10:19 PM

If they want a better one it might cost them more,. Might be greed but I think they're a lot weaker at the moment. Losing Tierney and having to pay more to replace might not be a great idea right now.

Hope he goes on a personal level :)

14-07-2019, 10:20 PM

God f******* help us.

14-07-2019, 10:25 PM
Arsenal supposedly tried to do a hun deal and spread the cost over various different instalments.

Third consecutive season without Champions League football, one of their best players leaving on a free transfer and their captain refusing to even turn up to training. Unless their board put a bit of backing into them I think they could be the ones to drop out of the top 6 next season

14-07-2019, 10:38 PM
What other defensive midfielders are there in league 2.

1875STEVE
14-07-2019, 10:38 PM
How can anyone categorically say anything after 1 competitive game!

Exactly.

This place is mental sometimes.

These players need to bed in and get used to the game up here and how their team mates play.

Im confident we will have a good season

14-07-2019, 10:41 PM
Third consecutive season without Champions League football, one of their best players leaving on a free transfer and their captain refusing to even turn up to training. Unless their board put a bit of backing into them I think they could be the ones to drop out of the top 6 next season2 forwards alone will see them easily top 6. Their captain us no loss, holding and sokratis much better options now.

Standard thing to do all across world.

On the subject of Ojo, if he was in Edinburgh and we let him slip away that is really out fault. Shouldn't be letting important targets sleep on it. Convince them to sign.

14-07-2019, 10:50 PM
Even better going forward we keep it zipped until they have signed 😁

14-07-2019, 10:50 PM
God f******* help us.

Nice.

Hibernian32
14-07-2019, 11:02 PM
I have no doubt Celtic want to sell KT but I think they would rather have 50m than 25m perhaps the actual figure will be somewhere in between after all it is only their second offer and it is only the second week in July
I agree you cannot blame them but will only serve to make them even stronger domestically
They have no doubt learned from their mistakes re Andy Robertson and SJM and won’t be fooled again
They don't have the funds for zaha at 40mil no danger Celtic are getting past 25 for a left back.

14-07-2019, 11:04 PM
Even better going forward we keep it zipped until they have signed 😁

It was the S****horpe chairman who went blabbing.

14-07-2019, 11:04 PM
On the subject of Ojo, if he was in Edinburgh and we let him slip away that is really out fault. Shouldn't be letting important targets sleep on it. Convince them to sign.

Tbh, while I am all for players making the most of their career, but to go as far as agreeing terms, doing medical, terms agreed......then offski to the Dons?

Him and the agent played us, it's hardly Hibs fault.

14-07-2019, 11:07 PM
They don't have the funds for zaha at 40mil no danger Celtic are getting past 25 for a left back.

Not from Arsenal then

14-07-2019, 11:09 PM

Andy Robertson cost something like £8M and he's 8M times better than KT.

14-07-2019, 11:09 PM
It was the S****horpe chairman who went blabbing.

The Chairman and then the Agent

Played us like a fiddle

14-07-2019, 11:11 PM
Tbh, while I am all for players making the most of their career, but to go as far as agreeing terms, doing medical, terms agreed......then offski to the Dons?

Him and the agent played us, it's hardly Hibs fault.
So we done all that, he agreed terms, and we let him go to sleep? Why if it's all agreed didn't he sign something?

14-07-2019, 11:19 PM
Heard at the game yesterday that allegedly the sheep had upped their bid to Scunny to £150000 and offered the player 2.5k per month more than we had offered him (allegedly) :confused:

I have forgotten about him already as Stubbsy would say “ time to pull a rabbit out of the hat.”

14-07-2019, 11:49 PM
Whoever we recruit now is going to be compared with McGeough and how Ojo is getting on at Aberdeen.

14-07-2019, 11:52 PM
Whoever we recruit now is going to be compared with McGeough and how Ojo is getting on at Aberdeen.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBe really interesting how Ojo does at Aberdeen

McInnes seems to see him as a key man

MacGruber
15-07-2019, 12:02 AM

We should reduce the complexity of that 3 way by signing McGeough!

15-07-2019, 12:30 AM
We should reduce the complexity of that 3 way by signing McGeough!

We can't afford him. He left to get better wages. We'd have to match or more than likely better his current contract at Sunderland. Then theres the small matter of a fee as well. Forget about him.

DetroitHibs
15-07-2019, 01:08 AM
The comments, never heard about him are mildly amusing. I hadn’t heard of any of our signings apart from Allan.

MagicSwirlingShip
15-07-2019, 02:29 AM
Andy Robertson cost something like £8M and he's 8M times better than KT.

That is highly debatable.

Tierney could move to Arsenal and turn out to be just as successful as Robertson. Unlikely yes, considering the state of Arsenal as a football club - but there's no chance Robertson is a much better player than Tierney, he has excelled at the highest level he has played at (International/Champions League/Europa League)

15-07-2019, 02:32 AM
That is highly debatable.

Tierney could move to Arsenal and turn out to be just as successful as Robertson. Unlikely yes, considering the state of Arsenal as a football club - but there's no chance Robertson is a much better player than Robertson, he has excelled at the highest level he has played at (International/Champions League/Europa League)

I think Robertson is the equal of Robertson personally....😂

MagicSwirlingShip
15-07-2019, 02:34 AM
I think Robertson is the equal of Robertson personally....😂

haha! typo - cheers mate, amended

15-07-2019, 05:31 AM
We can't afford him. He left to get better wages. We'd have to match or more than likely better his current contract at Sunderland. Then theres the small matter of a fee as well. Forget about him.

He left because of Lennon and the wages he's on are not much more than the deal we offered him to stay, that same deal may not be on offer now though.

15-07-2019, 05:32 AM
So we done all that, he agreed terms, and we let him go to sleep? Why if it's all agreed didn't he sign something?

Have you never slept on a big decision?

Hibs can hardly lock him up at East Mains until he signs a contract!

He said that McInnes called him in the night to up the deal........wouldn't exactly be a big surprise if that was about 15 minutes after Ojos agent texted McInnes with the details of Hibs deal.

We have been played - it happens - we move on.

Robbo6-2
15-07-2019, 06:21 AM
These sort of deals happen all the time.

Just so happens this one was made public very early doors.

Wouldn't lose any sleep over it and we move on.

15-07-2019, 06:23 AM
Heard at the game yesterday that allegedly the sheep had upped their bid to Scunny to £150000 and offered the player 2.5k per month more than we had offered him (allegedly) :confused:

I have forgotten about him already as Stubbsy would say “ time to pull a rabbit out of the hat.”
Good chance that isn’t true. Aberdeen had no need to increase their bid to Scunny.

15-07-2019, 06:27 AM
Good chance that isn’t true. Aberdeen had no need to increase their bid to Scunny.

Exactly what I thought

Nuts!

Salary was the deciding factor

The Finns scored in the last minute to score the all important away goal so Aberdeen’s run in Europe might be all too short. :greengrin

Hecky was spot on we only want players that want to be here

Moody Blues
15-07-2019, 06:39 AM
Exactly what I thought

Nuts!

Salary was the deciding factor

The Finns scored in the last minute to score the all important away goal so Aberdeen’s run in Europe might be all too short. :greengrin

Hecky was spot on we only want players that want to be here

And look at this seasons signings so far. It looks like only the dross want to come here.

DetroitHibs
15-07-2019, 06:42 AM
If you take the green specs off, McInnes is probably the best manager in Scotland. No real surprise when a player chooses a better team and manager over us.

15-07-2019, 06:43 AM
And look at this seasons signings so far. It looks like only the dross want to come here.

**** sake. All new signings labelled as dross already. It’s good to have the football back.

15-07-2019, 06:46 AM
And look at this seasons signings so far. It looks like only the dross want to come here.Couldn't have chosen a better user name mate. [emoji106]

15-07-2019, 06:56 AM
Some people on here really hate Hibs.

15-07-2019, 07:03 AM
I think, if it’s ok with everyone else, I’ll give Heckingbottom and our new signings a good few games before I make judgements on them.Surely not....1 x competitive game and it's time to get the knives out, sack the lot of them and start doubting the new owner is it not?? [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

15-07-2019, 07:08 AM
Still early days into the season

Loads of time to bring in new recruits

I am convinced we can recruit better than Ojo for the package we were offering him

A couple of Marquee signings will push STs through the roof

Loads of water to run under the bridge between now and the St Mirren game

Flo might be away for 2m SJM might be at Man Utd?

Who knew?

Who wants to live in Aberdeen play in a delapidated out of date stadium and play a rotten brand of non football anyway?

The futures bright the futures green and white

chippy
15-07-2019, 07:10 AM
Still early days into the season

Loads of time to bring in new recruits

I am convinced we can recruit better than Ojo for the package we were offering him

A couple of Marquee signings will push STs through the roof

Loads of water to run under the bridge between now and the St Mirren game

Flo might be away for 2m SJM might be at Man Utd?

Who knew?

Who wants to live in Aberdeen play in a delapidated out of date stadium and play a rotten brand of non football anyway?

The futures bright the futures green and white
Positive post I hope your correct

Moody Blues
15-07-2019, 07:13 AM
**** sake. All new signings labelled as dross already. It’s good to have the football back.

we are all allowed our opinion's. I was there on Saturday and the team display was embarrassing. Absolute crap. And all this s***
that people are coming out with about players being tired!