View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59

02-09-2019, 11:31 PM
I’m afraid that’s where I am across all area of the club - we seem to be drifting back into slow and steady rather than seizing the initiative. Awful signings, awful communication, awful (lack of) innovation and creativity. Feel good factor has left the building.

Seizing the initiative is the most important part of what you said there. If a pop star has a huge hit they keep the pressure on and seize the initiative of popularity and keep the songs coming. Hibs have 13,000 ST holders this last couple of years for the first time in the history of the club. They seem hell bent on getting rid of them, I can’t fathom the strategy it’s self destructive?

02-09-2019, 11:31 PM
Your at it.

You're*

And no, I'm not.

02-09-2019, 11:32 PM
Your at it.

Are you trying to pick arguments again?

RossScott1991
02-09-2019, 11:32 PM
You think Doidge has been less disappointing than Vela?? :confused:

Had less of a chance than Vela to be fair. Scored a couple of composed finishes in league cup, missed bad chances v st mirren but in a game we were struggling he came on made impact found space and set up winner. Midfield is our main problem area of the team and I’ve seen little evidence of Vela doing anything to make an impact. Fair he hadn’t played much football but he’s played how many games and 90mins soo far? How long are we going to keep saying he’s off the pace due to lack of match fitness

02-09-2019, 11:33 PM
**** deadline day for what we needed, but at least I made my first ITK post :thumbsup:

You did mate. Well done:top marks

mayo hibee
02-09-2019, 11:34 PM
Yep, he could win the next 4 in a row, thumping Hearts 3-0, but then lose the 5th game and the knife's would be sharply back out. He's onto a lost cause now because elements of our support make their minds up and theres no changing it at times

Football fans are a fickle bunch, if he managed that they'd come around to him quick enough.

The problem is there's absolutely no chance he can achieve anything close to that with the crap he's brought in.

02-09-2019, 11:34 PM
Not really sure any level of perceived failure in the transfer market merits personally abusing managers in every thread.

I'm not really sure on my thoughts, don't know if any of the guys have played consistently enough to be judged yet. We'll see.

FWIW I agree, and I'm not sure if my concerns regarding our "recruitment" are most accurately placed at the manager's door or elsewhere.

tonyrougier123
02-09-2019, 11:35 PM
You're*

And no, I'm not.

😄👏

02-09-2019, 11:35 PM
Yep, he could win the next 4 in a row, thumping Hearts 3-0, but then lose the 5th game and the knife's would be sharply back out. He's onto a lost cause now because elements of our support make their minds up and theres no changing it at times

Brought it on himself. Half expected a gegenpressing, high intensity, energetic team based on all of what he talked about. Instead we have a non existent press, a gaping hole in our midfield, players unable to stay with runners, and players clearly not able to cope with the physical requirements of the league (Mallan and Horgan especially but also many of his new signings).

His players got anxious at ER in a game against St Johnstone near the start of the season. I’d say he’s fighting a losing battle when you add up what he’s said. He’s starting to come out with excuses now. Some of them add up. Even if they do though, he should just call it how it is - I don’t think Moses plays for the opponents but there is definitely a parting going on... Centre of our midfield couldn’t be more open. It’s gaping.

02-09-2019, 11:38 PM
Yeah, it's actually pathetic. He isn't doing a good job at all but the level of poison on here is unparalleled with anything I've seen before. It was genuinely better after the hearts cup final, Malmö, play off failure, relegation etc

Never seen a manager take consistent personal abuse on this scale. Wondering if it isn't just the signings who are disliked because of where they come from...

So the manager is taking abuse because people dislike the players because of where they're from? Would people not just be slating the players in that case?

Or maybe it's because Hibs fans - who have tolerated some seriously **** stuff over the years - can see the complete mismatch between level of resources, squad, quality and outcomes on the park? And if we shouldn't be unhappy with the manager and/or the players, who should we be critical of?

tonyrougier123
02-09-2019, 11:38 PM
Are you trying to pick arguments again?

By claiming they are at it??
Don't think so.
That legitimate post you claim he had was b.s imo ofcourse.

02-09-2019, 11:39 PM
You're*

And no, I'm not.

It’s ma baw and am gone hame, FFS it’s a discussion with a bit of humour. Loosen up na man. GGTTH 👍

02-09-2019, 11:41 PM
FWIW I agree, and I'm not sure if my concerns regarding our "recruitment" are most accurately placed at the manager's door or elsewhere.

Time will tell really. Everyone on here expecting all the signings to just come in and play to their best and it's that simple really are daft. They are human beings, individuals. They make mistakes, they take time to learn and progress.

Stubbs had a rough start in the championship. Was David Gray lower league dross at that time? Probably was to a few. I'm pretty sure some of these lads will turn out to be good players for us, maybe even fantastic like Gray. And some won't but they'll go somewhere else and do well.

One thing I do hope is that none of them have been reading this place because it's a really sad reflection on Hibs fans right now

tonyrougier123
02-09-2019, 11:43 PM
It’s ma baw and am gone hame, FFS it’s a discussion with a bit of humour. Loosen up na man. GGTTH 👍

Exactly eh.

Honestly man,its unreal the folk on here,just canny stand other peoples opinions.

Ive took the bate tonight normally I would ignore them.

Same usernames all the time.

02-09-2019, 11:44 PM
So the manager is taking abuse because people dislike the players because of where they're from? Would people not just be slating the players in that case?

Or maybe it's because Hibs fans - who have tolerated some seriously **** stuff over the years - can see the complete mismatch between level of resources, squad, quality and outcomes on the park? And if we shouldn't be unhappy with the manager and/or the players, who should we be critical of?
No, I think the manager might be taking this much abuse because of where he is from. We've had more hopeless guys than him who have taken far less stick.

There is a big difference between being unhappy with the manager and this place right now. Toxic.

02-09-2019, 11:46 PM
Exactly eh.

Honestly man,its unreal the folk on here,just canny stand other peoples opinions.

Ive took the bate tonight normally I would ignore them.

Same usernames all the time.

What on earth are you two talking about? Off in your own little world. Strange.

Why would I be on a forum if I couldn't stand other people's opinions?

02-09-2019, 11:47 PM
Out of all the new signings

Josh Vela is the one I’m most disappointed in soo far. Guys like Newell I just had a feeling weren’t gonna be up to it, but Vela sounded like a great signing especially reaction from Bolton fans. Again he may be suffering due to our manager, but I don’t really know what type of midfielder he is. Confused, and he’s Probaly confused.

But anyway truth been told he has been absolutely useless soo far.

Excellent, played a small amount of games and they are deemed pish. I have no idea if these players will go on to do well or not after so few games.

tonyrougier123
02-09-2019, 11:47 PM
No, I think the manager might be taking this much abuse because of where he is from. We've had more hopeless guys than him who have taken far less stick.

There is a big difference between being unhappy with the manager and this place right now. Toxic.
Thats nonsense though,stubbs and mowbray are english and two of the most revered managers in our recent history,your arguement holds no weight.as I say your at it.

paddy1875
02-09-2019, 11:50 PM
Yeah, it's actually pathetic. He isn't doing a good job at all but the level of poison on here is unparalleled with anything I've seen before. It was genuinely better after the hearts cup final, Malmö, play off failure, relegation etc

Never seen a manager take consistent personal abuse on this scale. Wondering if it isn't just the signings who are disliked because of where they come from...

The guys a bare faced liar. He’s fed us a complete load of tripe with this high pressing style. I’ll let him off with the fitness levels never seen before as there’s players playing that haven’t had a full pre season.

From the first game this season we’ve been brutal. Team looks so all over the place and disorganised it’s laughable.

His signings aswell? Pedestrian at best. Players coming to hibs from wee clubs down south should be knocking their pan in to get the fans onside and hit the ground running. They look way out their depth.

He was on a rocky road after the league cup games. A 1 nil home win against st mirren. Then an absolute pumping against the huns! dropping 2 points in the dying minutes against st Johnstone was a hard enough blow to take. Then we have the comments he makes after the game. The arrogant one about taking off Scott Allan, then a spineless pass the buck onto the supporters about anxiousness spilling onto the park. His tactics had us anxious. Sitting in the last 30 mins.

Saturdays game was clear for all to see. We are simply not good enough. The current setup in midfield is terrible. Now if I can see it, you can see it and about 90% of us can see it. Why can’t he? Why can’t he address it?

No team, especially hibs will win every game. All we want is a team that will go out and run themselves into the ground and fight for every ball. There’s not one addition made this summer that has played that iv thought ‘he really wants this’

No wonder he’s getting such a hard time. He looks like a complete stranger in our dugout with no game plan.

02-09-2019, 11:53 PM

You really think the manager is getting abuse because of where he comes from? Seriously? You ever thought the guys more hopeless were at Hibs at a more hopeless time in our history? We were on the up and things have plummeted badly. The hopelessness of Hecky is clearer because he’s causing a Butcheresque decline at a time where footballing success should be easier to achieve, we’ve been taken over and are debt free plus we’ve got a training facility, HSL, record ST numbers.

You’ve suggested that fellow fans dislike managers and players based on where they come from. That will happen but you’ve made both those statements in a more sweeping manner while calling things toxic. Pretty toxic opinion of your fellow fans.

02-09-2019, 11:54 PM
The guys a bare faced liar. He’s fed us a complete load of tripe with this high pressing style. I’ll let him off with the fitness levels never seen before as there’s players playing that haven’t had a full pre season.

From the first game this season we’ve been brutal. Team looks so all over the place and disorganised it’s laughable.

His signings aswell? Pedestrian at best. Players coming to hibs from wee clubs down south should be knocking their pan in to get the fans onside and hit the ground running. They look way out their depth.

He was on a rocky road after the league cup games. A 1 nil home win against st mirren. Then an absolute pumping against the huns! dropping 2 points in the dying minutes against st Johnstone was a hard enough blow to take. Then we have the comments he makes after the game. The arrogant one about taking off Scott Allan, then a spineless pass the buck onto the supporters about anxiousness spilling onto the park. His tactics had us anxious. Sitting in the last 30 mins.

Saturdays game was clear for all to see. We are simply not good enough. The current setup in midfield is terrible. Now if I can see it, you can see it and about 90% of us can see it. Why can’t he? Why can’t he address it?

No team, especially hibs will win every game. All we want is a team that will go out and run themselves into the ground and fight for every ball. There’s not one addition made this summer that has played that iv thought ‘he really wants this’

No wonder he’s getting such a hard time. He looks like a complete stranger in our dugout with no game plan.

Nailed it mate. :applause:

02-09-2019, 11:54 PM
What on earth are you two talking about? Off in your own little world. Strange.

Why would I be on a forum if I couldn't stand other people's opinions?

You’re picking arguments though, I’m admiring your optimism but loads of folk are pissed off AGAIN with how quickly we’re descending. Folk who’ve followed Hibs for years have seen it all before and are concerned and angry. You are constantly having a go at them, fellow Hibs fans that are angry but you know better, Think about it, we’re all here for the same reason, to make Hibs better.

02-09-2019, 11:55 PM

That's a decent post mate. Disagree with a few wee bits but it's a damn decent view of our situation.

02-09-2019, 11:55 PM
Thats nonsense though,stubbs and mowbray are english and two of the most revered managers in our recent history,your arguement holds no weight.as I say your at it.

Totally different situations, though. Also both had experience in the game here, which helped them avoid the "don't know the game up here" nonsense.

I might be wrong but I definitely feel this abuse is well over the top, I'm just speculating as to why.

It's still you're* at it. Not your.

02-09-2019, 11:59 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;5917713]Totally different situations, though. Also both had experience in the game here, which helped them avoid the "don't know the game up here" nonsense.

I might be wrong but I definitely feel this abuse is well over the top, I'm just speculating as to why.

It's still you're* at it. Not your.[/QUOTE

You’re like a wasp at a picnic 😂 and that is a joke, hope you can take it.

tonyrougier123
03-09-2019, 12:00 AM

👍.

03-09-2019, 12:01 AM
I guess you can get a feeling about somebody. I was on Fenlons case quite early on if being honest.

03-09-2019, 12:03 AM
You really think the manager is getting abuse because of where he comes from? Seriously? You ever thought the guys more hopeless were at Hibs at a more hopeless time in our history? We were on the up and things have plummeted badly. The hopelessness of Hecky is clearer because he’s causing a Butcheresque decline at a time where footballing success should be easier to achieve, we’ve been taken over and are debt free plus we’ve got a training facility, HSL, record ST numbers.

You’ve suggested that fellow fans dislike managers and players based on where they come from. That will happen but you’ve made both those statements in a more sweeping manner while calling things toxic. Pretty toxic opinion of your fellow fans.
I'm just speculating really. I don't think it was because those guys were at Hibs in a more hopeless time. You are never more than 3/4 good results away from a good time in football. This abuse is definitely unwarranted imo.

You’re picking arguments though, I’m admiring your optimism but loads of folk are pissed off AGAIN with how quickly we’re descending. Folk who’ve followed Hibs for years have seen it all before and are concerned and angry. You are constantly having a go at them, fellow Hibs fans that are angry but you know better, Think about it, we’re all here for the same reason, to make Hibs better.

Ive followed Hibs for years, I'm concerned, I'm also not daft enough to think abusing someone makes them perform better.

No real interest if we're all Hibs fans or not, if I disagree with someone I will say it.

03-09-2019, 12:08 AM
Totally different situations, though. Also both had experience in the game here, which helped them avoid the "don't know the game up here" nonsense.

Fenlon had quite a few fans behind him for a long long time. Does that disprove your point? Or is your angle anti-English? People hated Calderwood and he was Scottish. I disliked Duffy...

Think you’re coming up with toxic opinions of fellow fans. Maybe speculate that the football has been dire and we want a head coach that can get a team to entertain us.

03-09-2019, 12:09 AM
I guess you can get a feeling about somebody. I was on Fenlons case quite early on if being honest.

Me too, it was never going to work out with him and eventually suffered the greatest humiliation I’ve ever had as a Hibs supporter with him in charge. This Hecky thing has the hairs standing up on my back again, he has no credentials, he has no medals, he’s won nothing and has spent his career in mediocrity in lower English leagues. He has no charisma or personality and doesn’t connect with the fans. Why why why did we employ him ???

tonyrougier123
03-09-2019, 12:12 AM

You're 😂👍 barking up the wrong tree with the racist stuff.

Honestly most of the stuff I've seen is based on how bad a team we are just now.

You are calling it abuse,but mostly the jokes have been about him being at the wheel.
All pretty light hearted stuff.

If it continues to be as bad as it has it will become alot worse.

People are passionate about their club.

seanshow
03-09-2019, 12:12 AM
I'm just speculating really. I don't think it was because those guys were at Hibs in a more hopeless time. You are never more than 3/4 good results away from a good time in football. This abuse is definitely unwarranted imo.

Ive followed Hibs for years, I'm concerned, I'm also not daft enough to think abusing someone makes them perform better.

No real interest if we're all Hibs fans or not, if I disagree with someone I will say it.

Imagine what the reaction would be like if it gets to a 2 wins in 14 game situ? lol

03-09-2019, 12:13 AM

What abuse are you talking about? He’s only had potentially two games where abuse has been notable. If a referee has to take abuse then a manager paid what they are should as well. Any manager, including Heckingbottom, will say that it comes with the job. Calling the guy hopeless on a fans forum is what happens. At Hibs and at any club. He’s had to endure abuse at the last two games but even that hasn’t been ridiculous...yet. You been aware of Bruce at Newcastle, right?

03-09-2019, 12:16 AM
Fenlon had quite a few fans behind him for a long long time. Does that disprove your point? Or is your angle anti-English? People hated Calderwood and he was Scottish. I disliked Duffy...

Think you’re coming up with toxic opinions of fellow fans. Maybe speculate that the football has been dire and we want a head coach that can get a team to entertain us.

Fenlon made decent improvement in his time. Calderwood, maybe you're right but Hecky definitely isn't that bad and is getting abuse that is at best on par with calderwood.

Remember these things happened many years ago, this place had alot of different users then. The current forum is very toxic and I'm simply speculating as to why.

As I've said I'm not really fussed if they are fellow fans. Hecky has managed more wins at Tynecastle than any of them and he's apparently a ****ing idiot so why would it matter who they support when they don't care who he works hard every day to try and help win games.

He might be hopeless but he's Hibs manager and that, in my view, earns him some respect at least.

tonyrougier123
03-09-2019, 12:16 AM

I was staunch pat fenlon for too long.
Think leigh swayed my opinion.

And I think omeonga saved some blushes for heckingbottom last season.

03-09-2019, 12:21 AM

Who’s abusing anyone? I have never booed a Hibs player at a match in my life , you’re making that up. When I play or watch any sport I always think I (we) can win even from a bad situation. I SUPPORT Hibs every time I’m at ER which has been a long long time but I will come on here to vent my anger when things are going wrong, it’s the right place to do that. If you don’t agree with lmy opinion that’s fine. That’s what discussion are all about.

03-09-2019, 12:21 AM
What abuse are you talking about? He’s only had potentially two games where abuse has been notable. If a referee has to take abuse then a manager paid what they are should as well. Any manager, including Heckingbottom, will say that it comes with the job. Calling the guy hopeless on a fans forum is what happens. At Hibs and at any club. He’s had to endure abuse at the last two games but even that hasn’t been ridiculous...yet. You been aware of Bruce at Newcastle, right?

It's pretty ridiculous from my perspective, the st Johnstone game was pretty embarrassing. There was one fud next to me who had a rant for a good 90 seconds, screaming abuse at Hecky.

Newcastle is a bit different and alot of them shut up after beating Spurs. Can't compare the 2 situations

DunblaneHibby
03-09-2019, 05:21 AM

Spot on exactly how I see it.

03-09-2019, 05:37 AM
Cant be bothered scrolling thru all the bickering in here but am clinging to hope that there has been no official round up on official site from Hibs?? Still a DM to come maybe Mulumbu??

03-09-2019, 05:39 AM
Cant be bothered scrolling thru all the bickering in here but am clinging to hope that there has been no official round up on official site from Hibs?? Still a DM to come maybe Mulumbu??

Absolutely no chance.

03-09-2019, 05:43 AM

If we sign a free agent now by the time they’re match fit Heckingbottom will be gone anyway.

03-09-2019, 05:49 AM
If we sign a free agent now by the time they’re match fit Heckingbottom will be gone anyway.Well that thought at least cheers me up this dull Tues morning

MacGruber
03-09-2019, 05:51 AM
We simply needed a stick the boot in strong defensive minded midfielder to shore us up. Sure we needed a striker too but the need for that midfielder was much greater and so very obvious. Not making that midfield signing will likely see us continue to be over run and we will likely suffer losing 3, 4, 5, 6 goals in matches again as teams drive a bus through the grand canyon-esque hole in our centre or else walk over the top of Mallan and his powder puff colleagues.

We sign a 4th right back.

I think Jason Naismith is a cracking signing btw. However if you need a car to get about because your old banger has given up on you and you need to get to work, a new 50 inch TV isn't going to help - even though it's good to have.

Unless the Swede is a hell of a player we could be in for a record goals against column this season.

Strap yourselves in

03-09-2019, 05:59 AM
We simply needed a stick the boot in strong defensive minded midfielder to shore us up. Sure we needed a striker too but the need for that midfielder was much greater and so very obvious. Not making that midfield signing will likely see us continue to be over run and we will likely suffer losing 3, 4, 5, 6 goals in matches again as teams drive a bus through the grand canyon-esque hole in our centre or else walk over the top of Mallan and his powder puff colleagues.

We sign a 4th right back.

I think Jason Naismith is a cracking signing btw. However if you need a car to get about because your old banger has given up on you and you need to get to work, a new 50 inch TV isn't going to help - even though it's good to have.

Unless the Swede is a hell of a player we could be in for a record goals against column this season.

Strap yourselves in
I've been strapped on for a while.
Edit: I mean in.

03-09-2019, 06:07 AM
Don't think I've ever seen this place so poisonous. Every thread, every post. I honestly don't think the new guys will ever get a fair chance again because of who signed them and where from.

Fenlon made decent improvement in his time. Calderwood, maybe you're right but Hecky definitely isn't that bad and is getting abuse that is at best on par with calderwood.

Remember these things happened many years ago, this place had alot of different users then. The current forum is very toxic and I'm simply speculating as to why.

As I've said I'm not really fussed if they are fellow fans. Hecky has managed more wins at Tynecastle than any of them and he's apparently a ****ing idiot so why would it matter who they support when they don't care who he works hard every day to try and help win games.

He might be hopeless but he's Hibs manager and that, in my view, earns him some respect at least.

I suggest you look up the definition of the words toxic and poisonous as you clearly dont know what either means. You were the same when allan was subbed last week coming out with all this ***** and over egging it. The atmosphere and feel on this board was as you described when we went down. Its not anywhere near those levels just now. Same at the matches. It wasnt "toxic" or "poisonous" when allan was brought off. The crowd booed.

Anything to have a go at fellow hibs fans seems to be the way on here at the minute. The constant moaning about the fans is more tedious than moaning and mocking a guy whos blatantly out his depth.

03-09-2019, 06:58 AM
‘Two players for every position’... sacrificed because we’ve had to make an emergency signing at right back?

Three strikers because we only play with one at a time... except when we play with two?

No defensive midfielders - we will even pay them off to leave - and we now have a midfield as soft as butter.

Our own development players being sent out on loan instead of given opportunities to prove themselves.

No wonder we fans are concerned. Does anyone know what the plan is here?

03-09-2019, 07:00 AM
Who knows. Like I've said over and over though - Vela will take a while to get up to speed

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Why will he take a while to get up to speed? Has he played less football than Allan over the last two years? More than Kamberi when he came in last winter? We signed Vela mid July and it’s now September.

03-09-2019, 07:08 AM
Signing Naismith seems a strange one but letting Mackie go out on loan is a ridiculous one. We’ve got 4 RBs and 1 LB. James is nearing fitness and does not look the worst of our summer signings. So why sign another RB? If he becomes first choice why sign James or extend Grays contract?
We now have no cover at LB and no defensive midfielders. The squad looks poor and imbalanced. Between now and January is going to be extremely tough

03-09-2019, 07:13 AM
Nothing worse than a pile on. I’m with MWHIBBIES. It’s far too early to say the signings are pish. A couple of goals from Doidge and this place will change it’s mind, a strong battling performance from Vela and this place will change it’s mind. 2 or 3 wins from Hecky and this place will slowly change it’s mind. It’s a pretty dull forum if it’s just full of people saying how pish we are.

03-09-2019, 07:18 AM
Signing Naismith seems a strange one but letting Mackie go out on loan is a ridiculous one. We’ve got 4 RBs and 1 LB. James is nearing fitness and does not look the worst of our summer signings. So why sign another RB? If he becomes first choice why sign James or extend Grays contract?
We now have no cover at LB and no defensive midfielders. The squad looks poor and imbalanced. Between now and January is going to be extremely tough

James, Whittaker and Naismith can all play LB...Mackie is not ready for regular first team games yet - the move will do him good..

I’m assuming Naismith has been signed for his versatility including ability to play across the. Defence and wingback ..perhaps can play DM too ??

03-09-2019, 07:19 AM
Nothing worse than a pile on. I’m with MWHIBBIES. It’s far too early to say the signings are pish. A couple of goals from Doidge and this place will change it’s mind, a strong battling performance from Vela and this place will change it’s mind. 2 or 3 wins from Hecky and this place will slowly change it’s mind. It’s a pretty dull forum if it’s just full of people saying how pish we are.

When are they couple of wins coming exactly? The problem is we can see the pumping and crap performance coming and guess what? They do?

03-09-2019, 07:19 AM
James, Whittaker and Naismith can all play LB...Mackie is not ready for regular first team games yet - the move will do him good..

I’m assuming Naismith has been signed for his versatility including ability to play across the. Defence and wingback ..perhaps can play DM too ??

Up top with Flo’ probably.

03-09-2019, 07:22 AM

I’m not writing off the signings either but I am baffled by the squad balance and how our manager sets up a team.

03-09-2019, 07:24 AM
Why will he take a while to get up to speed? Has he played less football than Allan over the last two years? More than Kamberi when he came in last winter? We signed Vela mid July and it’s now September.Some players are different

I'd suggest, while a bright spot for us so far Allan has hardly been at his scintillating best either

You could see Velas debut (even tho alot on here were raving about him) that he was well short with his sharpness

Only way that will come is games

Mind he might just be absolutely garbage but the least he deserves is a chance to get properly match sharp

03-09-2019, 07:26 AM

If I've learned anything over the years supporting Hibs, it's to keep the faith and remain optimistic. If people start panicking at the first sign of trouble then they'd better buckle up.

03-09-2019, 07:27 AM
Nothing worse than a pile on. I’m with MWHIBBIES. It’s far too early to say the signings are pish. A couple of goals from Doidge and this place will change it’s mind, a strong battling performance from Vela and this place will change it’s mind. 2 or 3 wins from Hecky and this place will slowly change it’s mind. It’s a pretty dull forum if it’s just full of people saying how pish we are.I get where your coming from mate and I would love to share your positivity. But that's exactly the attitude that got us relegated in 2014...do u remember the "just 1 more win" chat that went on from Feb to May??

Where are these wins and upturn in performances coming from??

We have been chronic in almost every league match so far - even the 1 win was far from convincing. Our 2 heavy away league defeats have massive alarm bells ringing.

We have 2 major issues in the squad - no defensively minded midfielders and only 3 senior strikers - only 1 of which looks capable of scoring on a regular basis. Yet both these issues have been ignored in the Summer window.

I'd love to share your enthusiasm I really would but I fear the worst over the coming months

03-09-2019, 07:28 AM

All we can base judgements on is what is in front of us. Poor results and poor performances with no signs or indications that things will change. We can say ifs and buts about any failed manager like you have mentioned above. What would it take for you to join the bandwagon?

03-09-2019, 07:39 AM

A couple of goals from Doidge? The guy can’t even get on the pitch let alone score 2 goals.

03-09-2019, 07:39 AM
All we can base judgements on is what is in front of us. Poor results and poor performances with no signs or indications that things will change. We can say ifs and buts about any failed manager like you have mentioned above. What would it take for you to join the bandwagon?

At the moment Hecky does not appear to be the man for the job. He must change the midfield setup. Even that minor change would make a huge difference to us defensively and in return result in us creating more chances.

MagicSwirlingShip
03-09-2019, 07:49 AM

With Whittaker being responsible for 2 goals and several chances at the weekend, maybe Heck felt it was more important to get a new right back in the building knowing Lewis’s fitness is usually reliable. A lot of Hibs fans have been screaming for Hibs to empty Whittaker, maybe this is the beginnings of the end for him?

It’s a gamble, but this way, Mackie gets games in a competitive league, we get a reliable RB, and James can cover as LB cover on his return (which can’t be far away)

I’m not 100% upto date on the progress of our development team, but could there be a younger LB that’s impressed recently?

03-09-2019, 07:58 AM
James will cover LB as required. He’s also an option at DM if we ever play one.

03-09-2019, 08:00 AM

The negative tone has been there since our first preseason friendly. For whatever reason many fans are looking for an excuse to have a go at hecky or the club in general. It certainly has put me off coming on here and going to games if the atmosphere is not exactly great. Folk moaning in here and at games must realise it just makes the atmosphere worse. Its s free country but constant barracking of the manager and certain players doesnt help. It would seem that most fans wont let up until hecky is away.Sad times.

Swindonfan
03-09-2019, 08:04 AM
You would hope the new owner knows how things are at Hibs. Can see a poor start, knows fans frustrations. I really did hope there would be a conversation to the manager saying how can I help ? What do you need ? And that conversation would have resulted in a defensive midfielder and a striker.

No guarantee those players who sadly didn't arrive would be any better than those that have but look to solve problems, look to give the supporters a lift, some hope.

03-09-2019, 08:06 AM
The negative tone has been there since our first preseason friendly. For whatever reason many fans are looking for an excuse to have a go at hecky or the club in general. It certainly has put me off coming on here and going to games if the atmosphere is not exactly great. Folk moaning in here and at games must realise it just makes the atmosphere worse. Its s free country but constant barracking of the manager and certain players doesnt help. It would seem that most fans wont let up until hecky is away.Sad times.

What has been positive since the first pre-season game? The players weren’t getting barracking at getting pumped 6-1 off Rangers and it was positive until 2 down on Saturday. Just another excuse to blame the extremely worried fans who have been proven correct game after game after game.

03-09-2019, 08:16 AM
What has been positive since the first pre-season game? The players weren’t getting barracking at getting pumped 6-1 off Rangers and it was positive until 2 down on Saturday. Just another excuse to blame the extremely worried fans who have been proven correct game after game after game.

Getting to a cup quarter final was a positive. Yet you would never have known it because some people were adamant we didn’t even win. Whatever way you want to look at that game, people were claiming we didn’t win because they were looking for an excuse to have a go as MJ said. If we’d went to ET in the Scottish Cup final and won the cup you could bet your life nobody would have been claiming then that we didn’t win that game.

03-09-2019, 08:17 AM
Ojo from what I can determine is a defensive midfielder. I can't work out why, when we missed out on him, we didn't move one of the other defensive midfielders on the list the recruitment team presumably made available to Heckingbottom. Instead we sign Vela, then Hallberg. Makes no sense to me whastsoever.

03-09-2019, 08:18 AM
Ojo from what I can determine is a defensive midfielder. I can't work out why, when we missed out on him, we didn't move one of the other defensive midfielders on the list the recruitment team presumably made available to Heckingbottom. Instead we sign Vela, then Hallberg. Makes no sense to me whastsoever.

I think Hallberg is meant to be that player going by what Hecky said in this article.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/melker-hallberg-paul-heckingbottom-unsure-16821278

03-09-2019, 08:23 AM
Getting to a cup quarter final was a positive. Yet you would never have known it because some people were adamant we didn’t even win. Whatever way you want to look at that game, people were claiming we didn’t win because they were looking for an excuse to have a go as MJ said. If we’d went to ET in the Scottish Cup final and won the cup you could bet your life nobody would have been claiming then that we didn’t win that game.

Cool, the one positive since pre-season is winning against Morton and making the quarters of the league cup.

See the problem yet?

03-09-2019, 08:24 AM
I think Hallberg is meant to be that player going by what Hecky said in this article.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/melker-hallberg-paul-heckingbottom-unsure-16821278

OK, it's only YouTube which isn't the most reliable, but he doesn't look an out and out defensive midfielder.

03-09-2019, 08:25 AM

Our main problem has been the lack of defensive cover in midfield. Its left huge gaps at the back and ended with our defenders getting rightly ripped apart. The recent 3 that have played in there have either been told to play in that way (which i doubt) or they haven't carried out instructions. Hopefully Hallberg will be that defensive player but tbh i thought Vela would be that player. The improvement just by putting a solid player in there will be night and day.

Cool, the one positive since pre-season is winning against Morton and making the quarters of the league cup.

See the problem yet?We are only 3 points off 4th

The signings are dreadful, add into this mix the established players are off form and leaking goals aplenty. Squad is unbalanced, lacking verve and creativity, and our injured players are consistently injured yet we give them the longest deals through sentiment rather than sound football judgement. We have a negative manager, a CEO who sounded unconvincing in her last interview, and a new owner who should be cracking the whip to get an exciting product on and off the pitch. We were riding the crest of a wave last season (first part) and we’re now slipping below the waterline due to failing to capitalise and get main targets in, add energy and vibrancy into the squad, and even off field the marketing and previously superb short videos, films, and online media has either disappeared, been ditched, or the club feels its ‘peaked’ and doesn’t feel the need to sustain the quality and brand that had the whole support reinvigorated and galvanised.

The last 8 months, in truth, have been utterly dreadful on and off the park in all areas of the business.

03-09-2019, 08:26 AM
OK, it's only YouTube which isn't the most reliable, but he doesn't look an out and out defensive midfielder.Probably would be said the same about Mcgeough at Celtic too I guess

03-09-2019, 08:28 AM
Our main problem has been the lack of defensive cover in midfield. Its left huge gaps at the back and ended with our defenders getting rightly ripped apart. The recent 3 that have played in there have either been told to play in that way (which i doubt) or they haven't carried out instructions. Hopefully Hallberg will be that defensive player but tbh i thought Vela would be that player. The improvement just by putting a solid player in there will be night and day.

I thought you previously said Heckingbottom didn't want to play with a defensive midfielder ? And I'm not having a go at you, just trying to get my head round what his plans are.

03-09-2019, 08:29 AM
We are only 3 points off 4th

We were back in the game v Rangers at 2-1 until the sending off. We played some lovely football against St Mirren, we also played some great stuff against Motherwell. Oh and the Morton game was fantastic entertainment.

03-09-2019, 08:30 AM
Probably would be said the same about Mcgeough at Celtic too I guess

McGeouch was never a defensive midfielder though.

03-09-2019, 08:30 AM
We were back in the game v Rangers at 2-1 until the sending off. We played some lovely football against St Mirren, we also played some great stuff against Motherwell. Oh and the Morton game was fantastic entertainment.

Come on, seriously????

Am I missing the wind-up here?

03-09-2019, 08:33 AM
I thought you previously said Heckingbottom didn't want to play with a defensive midfielder ? And I'm not having a go at you, just trying to get my head round what his plans are.

He doesn't... but he surely has to change his mind now. If he continues with the same shape he will 100% be sacked before the new year.

03-09-2019, 08:33 AM
The signings are dreadful, add into this mix the established players are off form and leaking goals aplenty. Squad is unbalanced, lacking verve and creativity, and our injured players are consistently injured yet we give them the longest deals through sentiment rather than sound football judgement. We have a negative manager, a CEO who sounded unconvincing in her last interview, and a new owner who should be cracking the whip to get an exciting product on and off the pitch. We were riding the crest of a wave last season (first part) and we’re now slipping below the waterline due to failing to capitalise and get main targets in, add energy and vibrancy into the squad, and even off field the marketing and previously superb short videos, films, and online media has either disappeared, been ditched, or the club feels its ‘peaked’ and doesn’t feel the need to sustain the quality and brand that had the whole support reinvigorated and galvanised.

The last 8 months, in truth, have been utterly dreadful on and off the park in all areas of the business.

See some of the ‘wee’ things that started to go downhill last year, it was all signs of complacency creeping in. This summer has been a complete and utter shambles. Because of Ron’s investment the accounts are going to look fantastic but a balance sheet can’t put the ball in the net, header a corner clear or help me get through the turnstiles.

When Leeann first came in it was very clear what she was doing. There was a purpose about everything. Now it just feels like we’re just back to the pre relegation days of drifting along.

rotherhamrob
03-09-2019, 08:35 AM
Hallelujah.
It's getting really tiresome, thread after thread of negative pi**.
Don't get me wrong, we've all been fu**** off with the results and performances and most of us will have had a moan about it but to carry it on for weeks on end is doing nobody any good.
I also think it's going to carry on till hecky has gone even if we do start picking up some wins.

03-09-2019, 08:35 AM

Your half time bovrils were laced with something if you believe any of the above. The Rangers could have scored double figures, St Mirren deserved a draw, Saints peppered our goal with 20 shots at home, ‘Well should have had another penalty and we never ever looked like scoring. The football is appalling and eye bleeding.

03-09-2019, 08:36 AM
Come on, seriously????

Am I missing the wind-up here?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl0QaSLBbzI&feature=onebox

I see plenty good football here.

03-09-2019, 08:37 AM
I get where your coming from mate and I would love to share your positivity. But that's exactly the attitude that got us relegated in 2014...do u remember the "just 1 more win" chat that went on from Feb to May??

I remember the part before that where Fenlon was hounded out in a similar manner to the way Heck is being treated. That was what got us relegated not the one more win chat

03-09-2019, 08:37 AM
Having an unbalanced squad removes the fear of having an unbalanced squad.

Do you remember the noise when Lennon apparently had the audacity to build an unbalanced side, even when he was winning games?

Now its silence from a couple of those posters on the same thing, apart from we are getting pumped and beating part timers on penalties.

03-09-2019, 08:39 AM
See some of the ‘wee’ things that started to go downhill last year, it was all signs of complacency creeping in. This summer has been a complete and utter shambles. Because of Ron’s investment the accounts are going to look fantastic but a balance sheet can’t put the ball in the net, header a corner clear or help me get through the turnstiles.

When Leeann first came in it was very clear what she was doing. There was a purpose about everything. Now it just feels like we’re just back to the pre relegation days of drifting along.

I think you’ve nailed it BHFC with the key word - complacent. Totally agree.

We have failed to maintain the drive that the club created, magnificently led by Leeann, and allowed standards to slip in all areas.

03-09-2019, 08:39 AM
He doesn't... but he surely has to change his mind now. If he continues with the same shape he will 100% be sacked before the new year.

Cheers. It's staggering that he hasn't signed anyone who can tackle, never mind play the DM role (unless Hallberg is indeed that player.) He then benches the one midfielder who does at least try to tackle then when we get overrun claims we were too soft. We could all see that beforehand, how our manager didn't is unbelievable.

green with envy
03-09-2019, 08:40 AM

One of the most patronising posts on this thread.

What would you expect from the fans, not just getting beat against Arbroath but getting played off the park too. It seems like there has been a continuous pattern since that first pre-season defeat.

As for Hecky as you like to call him, what do expect the fans to do. Yes, he's not getting results and after a dozen or so games this season inc friendlies, he still hasn't got a clue what his best team or formation that he want's to play. In otherwords he doesn't seem to have a clue. Fans having a go is the least that he should expect.

03-09-2019, 08:44 AM

You could make any game look good with a few highlights. The St Mirren game was so slow and pedestrian for a first game of the season when we should be flying out the blocks in front of our home crowd. This was us at home to a team in the doldrums.

We did play a few nice wee passing movements on Saturday but rarely did these look like ending in a goal.

03-09-2019, 08:45 AM

If you watched the first 40 mins of that game it could have been 5-0.

Same as the weekend - yes we had some chances against Motherwell but by the end of the game it was a comfortable win for them and we failed to score. Motherwell has several chances to score more.

St Johnstone - we hardly had any shots on goal and it felt like a loss. In a roundabout way it’s a positive as we got battered 2nd half and came away with a point. If they had a goalscorer it would have been 0 points.

Usually agree with your posts but there are severe warning signs here about setting up a team in this league and he’s been ignoring them this season.

03-09-2019, 08:46 AM
McGeouch was never a defensive midfielder though.But weren't Mcgeough Mcginn and Allan one of our best midfields?

No defensive mids there then, altho Mcgeough played deeper

03-09-2019, 08:46 AM

Were you at the game on Saturday? Considering the pish we'd been served up in previous games the atmosphere created by our fans was fantastic.

03-09-2019, 08:48 AM
But weren't Mcgeough Mcginn and Allan one of our best midfields?

McGinn basically does the work of 2 players.

Dylan often won the ball and was comfortable taking it from the back 4 or 3.

green with envy
03-09-2019, 08:50 AM
Were you at the game on Saturday? Considering the pish we'd been served up in previous games the atmosphere created by our fans was fantastic.

Totally agree with this... Looking down from the top tier, the fans right behind the goals gave the team fantastic support on Saturday, was really impressive to see after what we have been watching of late.

03-09-2019, 08:50 AM
McGeouch was never a defensive midfielder though.

He was an attacking midfielder when we signed him. Stubbs was clear about playing him deeper - but crucially, got the right blend in midfield to make it work.

03-09-2019, 08:51 AM

The Dundee team that had Kamara and Allan in it played some really nice football at times. They also almost got relegated.

03-09-2019, 08:52 AM

True but then if you were to flip that, you could easily say we are only 2 points above 12th placed St Johnstone. We also have a tough run of fixtures coming up. Really hope me and fellow other posters on here are proven wrong but on our current form and the product that we are witnessing on the park, I ain’t holding much confidence in these fixtures.

LeithMike
03-09-2019, 08:52 AM
McGinn basically does the work of 2 players.

Dylan often won the ball and was comfortable taking it from the back 4 or 3.Spot on. McGinn was the equivalent of two men and, with McGeouch (and some good movement ahead of him), we'd end up dominating the ball so there wasnt the same pressure put on the defence.

We are now significantly poorer in possession with Vela, Mallan and Alan all central midfielders who are relatively static and want to get on the ball. Where are the runners?! I'm not sure a defensive midfielder solves all our problems as there will still be a lack of movement. I'm hoping Mallberg has got a good engine on him and is not just going to sit deep.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

03-09-2019, 08:54 AM

How can he change, we don't have a defensive midfielder on the books?

Christ last season Lennon was slaughtered because he only had Bartley until Milligan came?

03-09-2019, 08:57 AM

It really was. You'd have thought we were top of the league and flying

03-09-2019, 08:58 AM
But weren't Mcgeough Mcginn and Allan one of our best midfields?

Yes they were, but SJM by his sheer energy and drive made up for what the other two lacked. Even then that midfield could never buy a win at Tynecastle where more often than not we needed Marv to step up. We also rarely got a result against Aberdeen despite having that midfield.

The balance in our current midfield is way off, everyone can see Mallan and Allan can't play together. IMO we need to provide a stable platform to allow Allan to do what he does best. I'm not convinced unless Hallberg is some player we have the personnel to do that.

03-09-2019, 08:59 AM

Having played St Johnstone and St Mirren at home already? 2 points off the bottom and check the fixtures coming up. 3 points off 4th with 4 games gone for the budget we are meant to have, with the first fixtures we’ve had had is criminal.

03-09-2019, 08:59 AM
If you watched the first 40 mins of that game it could have been 5-0.

Same as the weekend - yes we had some chances against Motherwell but by the end of the game it was a comfortable win for them and we failed to score. Motherwell has several chances to score more.

St Johnstone - we hardly had any shots on goal and it felt like a loss. In a roundabout way it’s a positive as we got battered 2nd half and came away with a point. If they had a goalscorer it would have been 0 points.

Usually agree with your posts but there are severe warning signs here about setting up a team in this league and he’s been ignoring them this season.

I totally agree that he has to change his setup. But we are still only a few points off 4th place. Im hoping he will change it. The squad should be more than good enough to be top 4.

Rumble de Thump
03-09-2019, 09:01 AM
One of the most patronising posts on this thread.

What would you expect from the fans, not just getting beat against Arbroath but getting played off the park too. It seems like there has been a continuous pattern since that first pre-season defeat.

As for Hecky as you like to call him, what do expect the fans to do. Yes, he's not getting results and after a dozen or so games this season inc friendlies, he still hasn't got a clue what his best team or formation that he want's to play. In otherwords he doesn't seem to have a clue. Fans having a go is the least that he should expect.

This sums it up. Some people decided to turn on the coaching staff and players because of a friendly pre-season game.

LeithMike
03-09-2019, 09:01 AM
We were back in the game v Rangers at 2-1 until the sending off. We played some lovely football against St Mirren, we also played some great stuff against Motherwell. Oh and the Morton game was fantastic entertainment.This post is as ridiculous as some of the overly-negative posts. Comes across as seeing what you want to see with little objectivity.

While our season is not beyond redemption there are very worrying signs. We're not there yet, but a collapse in confidence coupled with the lack of fight in our midfield could lead to a long winless run.

Its concerning how quickly this has come about after our upwards spiral. It just shows you that there is no magic formula to maintaining success and the only thing that will do that is a good football manager. Good football managers are a rare commodity and probably not identifiable through the interview process.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

03-09-2019, 09:06 AM

Morton game was a shambles.
Outplayed at home by St Johnstone.
Should have been 6 down before we scored at Ibrox.
Great, ineffective stuff against Motherwell.

Fair enough for trying to spin positives though.

03-09-2019, 09:07 AM
I totally agree that he has to change his setup. But we are still only a few points off 4th place. Im hoping he will change it. The squad should be more than good enough to be top 4.

We’re only a few points of fourth because we’re only a few games in to the season. He can change the midfield all he wants but it’ll still mean somebody won’t be playing in their natural position because none of them play that deeper position.

03-09-2019, 09:08 AM
This sums it up. Some people decided to turn on the coaching staff and players because of a friendly pre-season game.

Or they seen worrying things that has been completely justified. Drawing with Stirling in the cup ffs they haven’t won a point in the lowest league in professional football.

03-09-2019, 09:15 AM

You really cant believe that, if so i worry about your sanity? :wink:

03-09-2019, 09:16 AM
Your half time bovrils were laced with something if you believe any of the above. The Rangers could have scored double figures, St Mirren deserved a draw, Saints peppered our goal with 20 shots at home, ‘Well should have had another penalty and we never ever looked like scoring. The football is appalling and eye bleeding.

St Mirren never deserved a draw at all. We missed two open goals, two one on ones, hit the post twice, scored a goal that was miles onside yet was inexplicably ruled out and yet still won the game. St Mirren had a couple of half chances.

Again, as MJhibby said previously, people have been looking for reasons to complain and are making things up to be able to do it (of course they’ve been given plenty legitimate ammunition, but claiming things like we didn’t win the Morton game and St Mirren deserved a point because they had 2 half chances so that the 2 positives we have had can be poo-pood really adds to the effect).

03-09-2019, 09:16 AM

We have a good few players who should be capable of playing for a top 4 side, but a squad that has a midfield so poor at the defensive side of the game and is so vulnerable to injuries up front really should be lucky to be playing in the top flight.

And whilst we've looked ok in flashes, the bigger picture of all of our play since the first kick of a ball in the Stirling Albion game would reflect that we'll be doing well to stay in the league rather than make any sort of an impact on the top half of it.

green with envy
03-09-2019, 09:17 AM

Don't agree with that. However, the Stirling Albion game is a different matter, in saying that he did treat that one like a pre-season game and has never recovered from it.

Barman Stanton
03-09-2019, 09:18 AM
No message confirming activity done from Hibs? Cant remember them not doing that before. No idea what is going on at our club at the moment.

chippy
03-09-2019, 09:23 AM
No message confirming activity done from Hibs? Cant remember them not doing that before. No idea what is going on at our club at the moment.
Scanning the freeds list for CDM

03-09-2019, 09:23 AM
Stubbs lost 3 out of 4 league games in his first season. Bombed out the challenge cup in the first round and progressed in the League Cup. (We were out at Quarter Final stage that year) Some of the players who would become legends hadn't exactly stamped their personality on his team at that point. He also lost 2 of his first three league games in his second season and was bombed out the Challenge cup by The Rangers(Similar score at home and with 11 men), we had progressed as far as we could in the League Cup at that point. Very similar to Heck this year. There were concerns but nothing like the frothy mouthed reaction to the team's performance this year.

Lennon started his Hibs career with 5 straight League wins, but only got 3 points in the next 4 games. Similar to Heck but against worse opposition and Lennon had a squad of Cup Winners not the ramshackle hardly a win in months squad Heck inherited. I don't remember the level of panic we have now at that point. Of course we had also already been pumped 1-3 out of the League cup, at home, by QOTS at that point, out of Europe by Brondby and the bombed out the Challenge Cup by the mighty St Mirren. Before he exited his record was truly appalling and we couldn't even criticise his thoughts on the game because he started failing to do press conferences etc. Even after that run most posters wanted to let him see out the season. I never rated him and still wanted him to see out the season. Why the panic with Heck.

Heck did have the last part of last season to get his eye in and there is no doubt performances have not been up to scratch this season. The team and manager need to do better but we need to support them and be more patient. We are still well within reach of our goals, Top 4 and good runs in the cups. I'm most definitely a glass half empty type but I also hate when people are not given a chance. I feel that is the case with Heck. He is being hounded out before he has had the chance to fail and after succeeding last season somehow managing to get a top six finish and a win at Tiny and Bragging rights over our neighbours.

03-09-2019, 09:30 AM
Stubbs lost 3 out of 4 league games in his first season. Bombed out the challenge cup in the first round and progressed in the League Cup. (We were out at Quarter Final stage that year) Some of the players who would become legends hadn't exactly stamped their personality on his team at that point. He also lost 2 of his first three league games in his second season and was bombed out the Challenge cup by The Rangers(Similar score at home and with 11 men), we had progressed as far as we could in the League Cup at that point. Very similar to Heck this year. There were concerns but nothing like the frothy mouthed reaction to the team's performance this year.

Lennon started his Hibs career with 5 straight League wins, but only got 3 points in the next 4 games. Similar to Heck but against worse opposition and Lennon had a squad of Cup Winners not the ramshackle hardly a win in months squad Heck inherited. I don't remember the level of panic we have now at that point. Of course we had also already been pumped 1-3 out of the League cup, at home, by QOTS at that point, out of Europe by Brondby and the bombed out the Challenge Cup by the mighty St Mirren. Before he exited his record was truly appalling and we couldn't even criticise his thoughts on the game because he started failing to do press conferences etc. Even after that run most posters wanted to let him see out the season. I never rated him and still wanted him to see out the season. Why the panic with Heck.

Heck did have the last part of last season to get his eye in and there is no doubt performances have not been up to scratch this season. The team and manager need to do better but we need to support them and be more patient. We are still well within reach of our goals, Top 4 and good runs in the cups. I'm most definitely a glass half empty type but I also hate when people are not given a chance. I feel that is the case with Heck. He is being hounded out before he has had the chance to fail and after succeeding last season somehow managing to get a top six finish and a win at Tiny and Bragging rights over our neighbours.

Heckingbottoms problem now though is that although we’ve only played 4 league games, 3 of those 4 should have been very winnable and the fact we only have 4 points from those games means he’s put a hell of a pressure on himself and the team to get points in far more difficult games to come. If he couldn’t get us winning those games when we had a half decent side and on a good run what chance has he got now?

03-09-2019, 09:31 AM

If heckingbottom can’t get his midfield to do as simple a thing as track back and cover runs then I fear a new player won’t make much of a difference. For me Its got to be his instruction or tactics that are not allowing our midfield to cover. I must admit I am at a bit of a loss because I can’t actually see what the game plan is with this team. Players don’t seem to know what their job is, that’s something that angers coaches at under 13 level and shouldn’t be an issue at hibs.

03-09-2019, 09:33 AM
Heckingbottoms problem now though is that although we’ve only played 4 league games, 3 of those 4 should have been very winnable and the fact we only have 4 points from those games means he’s put a hell of a pressure on himself and the team to get points in far more difficult games to come. If he couldn’t get us winning those games when we had a half decent side and on a good run what chance has he got now?

Why is Motherwell away a very winnable game? And if Motherwell was a very winnable game then why is away to Killie who have started worse than Motherwell not as winnable? When did we become that good that we should be winning every single game other than the OF and Hearts and Aberdeen away? We’re Hibs. Every game is winnable, every game is also loseable, especially away from home. If we’re going to use not winning away to a traditionally mid table team as a yard stick for our managers then they’ll nearly all fail.

03-09-2019, 09:35 AM
People are saying have patience with the new signings and give them time.

Will time all of a sudden make Newell look interested?
Will time stop Doidge missing sitters?
Will time stop Jackson diving in and producing daft moments like saturday?

These are fundementals that footballers should be able to do whether theyve just walked in the door or been here for 6 months/1 year. They have looked so far off the pace at times its frightening. Not making 2nd balls, not pressing, passive out of posession, pedestrian in possession. Thats nothing to do with fitness or time

03-09-2019, 09:35 AM

Good post :aok:

NC1875
03-09-2019, 09:36 AM
People defending him are having a laugh surely.

He talks a good game but has shown post split and this season he hasn’t a clue how to implement it. Add to that his signings have been nothing more than average. He’s blamed the fans for the st. Johnstone shambles. Playing players out of position.

I could go on and on. Get him out sooner rather than later and give us half a chance of a decent season.

NC1875
03-09-2019, 09:38 AM
Why is Motherwell away a very winnable game? And if Motherwell was a very winnable game then why is away to Killie who have started worse than Motherwell not as winnable? When did we become that good that we should be winning every single game other than the OF and Hearts and Aberdeen away? We’re Hibs. Every game is winnable, every game is also loseable, especially away from home. If we’re going to use not winning away to a traditionally mid table team as a yard stick for our managers then they’ll nearly all fail.

So we shouldn’t be going to Motherwell expecting to win ? With probably 2-3 times there budget. Aye ok then.

green with envy
03-09-2019, 09:44 AM

Yeah and after a decent start by Butcher, he ended up winning only 2 league games in the calendar year of 2014 and was also defeated by lower league Raith Rovers at home in the SC. As the say, the rest is history.

03-09-2019, 09:45 AM

Did you see the Motherwell Hearts game? They were absolutely dreadful and we made them look like a decent side.

It should be winnable because they’re a poor side and it’s not exactly an intimidating place to go, if we’d gone there and lost a narrow game that could have gone either way then fine but we were pumped.

Kilmarnock game should also be winnable but I don’t think we will. They are finding their feet a bit under their new manager and it’s a place we normally struggle at.

I’m not writing Heckingbottom off because we lost one game at Motherwell, I think it’s inevitable he’ll fail as Hibs manager as he’s compete disregarded our midfield, and signed a bunch of slow players that can’t run or play the game he apparently wants to play.

Hopefully your using this post to laugh at me in a few weeks but I’ve got my doubts.

PH91
03-09-2019, 09:45 AM
I don't have so much of a problem with the players we've signed but with the players we've not signed.

Even those who have started slowly might improve and come good.

That midfield terrifies me and if we get an injury or two up front? Well........

This is where i am also. Other than Newell and Doidge i think the new signings could go on to do well with the right players around them.

Problem is the unbalanced midfield which has not been addressed by hibs over the last year since sjm left. That's 3 transfer windows now!!!! It is unbelievable.

Im clinging onto the hope that hallberg is the high energy battling type we desperately need to play alongside vela. Even if he is an injury to him leaves us short. Crazy that we haven't brought another in but signed another right back as well as letting stirling, the one youngster we have who seems like he can play that role, to go on loan.

03-09-2019, 09:46 AM

We’ve lost plenty times at Motherwell in the past and will do in the future. It was the manner of the defeat. As it was it Ibrox.

St Johnstone is another example. We’ve toiled against them before but because they’ve been stuffy and hard to beat. Not because they’ve played us off the park for long spells.

chippy
03-09-2019, 09:49 AM
Scanning the freeds list for CDM

BlackSheep
03-09-2019, 09:51 AM
So we shouldn’t be going to Motherwell expecting to win ? With probably 2-3 times there budget. Aye ok then.

We shouldn't go into any game expecting to win... thats the first step to failure.

We are not Barcelona or Liverpool or the like.... and even they don't win every game and I am in no doubt they don't walk into any game expecting a result.

Don't be so naive!

03-09-2019, 09:56 AM

If heckingbottom can’t get his midfield to do as simple a thing as track back and cover runs then I fear a new player won’t make much of a difference. For me Its got to be his instruction or tactics that are not allowing our midfield to cover. I must admit I am at a bit of a loss because I can’t actually see what the game plan is with this team. Players don’t seem to know what their job is, that’s something that angers coaches at under 13 level and shouldn’t be an issue at hibs.

03-09-2019, 09:57 AM

What is that based on? I can maybe see the argument that on paper the squad is good enough for the top 4 without necessarily agreeing with it. The reality though is that the squad is so light in certain areas, yet bloated in others and lacking much quality.

The defence - we can’t rely on Gray or McGregor being fit anymore. Hanlon & Stevenson (although in mitigation might still be getting match fit again after an interrupted pre-season) both look to be in, or on the cusp of, beginning to regress. Jackson & James look like they might be good additions but time will tell if that’s with the first team or the squad. We also have Porteous who I would give a chance to over Hanlon. I do feel sorry for the defence though given what is in front of them.

The midfield - an abomination! Allan is a first pick, and Middleton and the Swedish guy might turn out to be good, but as for the rest I’d select their names out of a hat each week. Mallan, Silvka, Newell & Vela (who you could also give the benefit of a very large doubt to is possibly still getting up to fitness) are all the same, slow, un-athletic, ineffective midfielders, all very “meh”. Horgan regularly goes missing and gives no help to his full back. We have made the same mistake as last season, thinking 3 wingers is enough. This time it’s Boyle (who may well have had his purple season in 17/18, but is still a big miss for us) injured instead of Aygepong. We are talking about Whittaker & James being able to play defensive midfield, that doesn’t to me sound like a top 4 squad.

Forwards - Kamberi looks to have found his loan form again. Doidge looks useful, although I’d expect a lot more for someone we paid a fee for, but can only play as a 2 and needs lots of chances to score. He’s better bringing others into the game, but we only play 1 up front. Shaw, has promise but has stagnated for a couple of seasons now so can’t see him making it at Hibs.

If Allan gets injured, or even Kamberi, who will create the chances? We are solely relying on Allan & Kamberi staying fit and on form for out attacking threat.

It’s another season of trying to limp along to January, perform major surgery, and then another squad re-build/clearout in the summer.

IMO we need to ship out Mallan, Slivka, Horgan, Whittaker, McGregor & Gray (transition them into their non playing roles at the end of the season). Probably Doidge & Newell, but in theory both could kick on. It may also be a season too far for Stevenson & Hanlon as automatic picks, particularly in Hanlon’s case. Also loan out Shaw, Murray & Mackie.

Basically I see Marciano, Porteous, Allan & Kamberi as our core to build around. I’d not lose any sleep at any of the others leaving.

03-09-2019, 09:58 AM
You really cant believe that, if so i worry about your sanity? :wink:

Only coz all the other teams look bang average.

NC1875
03-09-2019, 10:01 AM
We shouldn't go into any game expecting to win... thats the first step to failure.

We are not Barcelona or Liverpool or the like.... and even they don't win every game and I am in no doubt they don't walk into any game expecting a result.

Don't be so naive!

Expecting was probably the wrong choice of word. But with our budget we should be believing that we will win and we should more times than not.

03-09-2019, 10:07 AM
Expecting was probably the wrong choice of word. But with our budget we should be believing that we will win and we should more times than not.

That all sounds well and good. But if that was the case we’d have at least 22 games we should be expecting to win every season. Along with the other games that we win against the other 4 bigger clubs. We’d stroll third and possibly second every season. It’s not how it works.

03-09-2019, 10:13 AM

Motherwell got outplayed by Hearts at Fir Park. We should be able to set up a team to beat them. They also conceded five at home to Celtic, yet we go there early on in the season and are disjointed and flat.

Is it fair to say that Stirling Albion away and St Johnstone at home was very winnable or is that not fair on the worst team in Scotland?

03-09-2019, 10:15 AM
Motherwell got outplayed by Hearts at Fir Park. We should be able to set up a team to beat them. They also conceded five at home to Celtic, yet we go there early on in the season and are disjointed and flat.

Motherwell also scudded Morton 4-0 in the LC group stage. We scrape past them conceding 3 in the process...

03-09-2019, 10:15 AM

Don't be so naive!

The majority of our support plus the players on the pitch looked like they expected to lose and guess what?

03-09-2019, 10:16 AM
Motherwell also scudded Morton 4-0 in the LC group stage. We scrape past them conceding 3 in the process...

Yet there’s excuse after excuse for it.

03-09-2019, 10:17 AM
The majority of our support plus the players on the pitch looked like they expected to lose and guess what?

I posted on another thread that as soon as Motherwell scored their first we all knew deep down the writing was on the wall and we were going to lose the game, I didn't expect us to roll over like we did though.

NC1875
03-09-2019, 10:18 AM
That all sounds well and good. But if that was the case we’d have at least 22 games we should be expecting to win every season. Along with the other games that we win against the other 4 bigger clubs. We’d stroll third and possibly second every season. It’s not how it works.

You asked why should motherwell away be a winnable game ? I said we should go there expecting to win given our resources compared with there’s. No one said we would win every time but we’ve not even competed with them, we’ve been hammered in what should be a winnable game more times than not.

You’re arguing that because in football you will sometimes lose games against “lesser” opposition that you shouldn’t class a game against them winnable.

03-09-2019, 10:21 AM
I posted on another thread that as soon as Motherwell scored their first we all knew deep down the writing was on the wall and we were going to lose the game, I didn't expect us to roll over like we did though.

The writing was on the wall when they strolled past our midfield and cut us open with a minute gone only for Marciano to make a great save to his left. For then on it was a stroll in the park chance after chance from the left and that was to be expected.

03-09-2019, 10:21 AM
We are just 5hite, plain and simple. Still some fans refuse to acknowledge that though and continue to back the manager who couldn't set up a dinner table never mind a football team.

Yep. The sooner that realisation comes to everyone most importantly those in charge the better.

03-09-2019, 10:28 AM
We are just 5hite, plain and simple. Still some fans refuse to acknowledge that though and continue to back the manager who couldn't set up a dinner table never mind a football team.

Which is why the owner and board have to act now and bin PH now. It won’t improve any under his negative management and inability to craft a balanced side. I looked at the squad today and seriously depressed myself - only three strikers, only one genuine creator, wide players with no real pace bar Boyle, crocked and ageing defence and a clutch of ‘used to be rated’ players from down South who don’t have the ability to compete and excite. There’s not one player who literally gets me off my seat. Can’t hide my disappointment at this window and management team - and I I used to be the perennial happy clapper. Heckingbottom has sapped the energy from me.

03-09-2019, 10:29 AM
The writing was on the wall when they strolled past our midfield and cut us open with a minute gone only for Marciano to make a great save to his left. For then on it was a stroll in the park chance after chance from the left and that was to be expected.

Our left and right back positions are big problem areas. In fairness they are not helped by their midfielders who don't track back though.

03-09-2019, 10:32 AM
Which is why the owner and board have to act now and bin PH now. It won’t improve any under his negative management and inability to craft a balanced side. I looked at the squad today and seriously depressed myself - only three strikers, only one genuine creator, wide players with no real pace bar Boyle, crocked and ageing defence and a clutch of ‘used to be rated’ players from down South who don’t have the ability to compete and excite. There’s not one player who literally gets me off my seat. Can’t hide my disappointment at this window and management team - and I I used to be the perennial happy clapper. Heckingbottom has sapped the energy from me.
Welcome to the bedwetters. What kept you?

03-09-2019, 10:34 AM

Lets not kid ourselves here, this team could be fighting relegation in 6 months time, this is not bedwetting, its based on what we've seen so far with the players we have and a manager who thinks our squad is finely balanced.

MagicSwirlingShip
03-09-2019, 10:35 AM

I’m sorry but if a midfielder, at a club the size of Hibs, needs to be instructed or given tactics on how to track back and tackle then they shouldn’t be playing.

Do you honestly think Hecky is giving them instructions to do otherwise??

A lot of venom towards our manager, when a lot of our problems are down to serial underperforming by the players. Players who have previously performed well for us. The players need to take a hard look at themselves in my opinion as much, of not more so than the manager.

03-09-2019, 10:36 AM

Trust me I don’t like venting as such and want the best for Hibs. The squad is weak and lacks quality and it’s a real concern.

03-09-2019, 10:36 AM
Lets not kid ourselves here, this team could be fighting relegation in 6 months time, this is not bedwetting, its based on what we've seen so far with the players we have and a manager who thinks our squad is finely balanced.

🎣

03-09-2019, 10:38 AM
Trust me I don’t like venting as such and want the best for Hibs. The squad is weak and lacks quality and it’s a real concern.
I couldn't agree more, was a mistake to let Bartley and Milligan go.

I'm also a happy clapper by nature, and I was prepared to give Hibs a certain amount of benefit of the doubt as I thought it was inevitable we would have a period of transition as the cup winning team broke down and we adjusted to being back in the top league again. It was never going to be upwards trajectory all the way.

I was also prepared to write off last season as a "transition season" as long as we looked like we were going somewhere in the right direction this season.

We're not all that far away imo, but we're actually still miles away. A combative midfielder and another option up front and I think we'd be night and day from what we are now, even if these were youngsters from somewhere lower down the Scottish leagues who we could train up to being better players - or even hanging onto Gullan, Block and Stirling FFS.

There are many worrying signs coming out of ER that there are a good few people who just don't know what they are doing.

🎣

I'm not at lash here. You have been watching the pish as I have.

03-09-2019, 10:40 AM
I'm not at lash here. You have been watching the pish as I have.

Nope I was though!

green with envy

Although I agree with your point in general, the first minute chance that they should have scored with was not due to them cutting us open, it was a shocking pass by Slivka on to the players feet that lead to that particular chance.

Why do you support hibs?

PH91
Our left and right back positions are big problem areas. In fairness they are not helped by their midfielders who don't track back though.

Right back should be less of an issue with james coming back and naismith coming in. Stevenson at lb is literally the least of our worries (except maybe goalie), although letting his deputy go on loan is ridiculous.

A lot of our problems would be sorted by a decent midfield. Lennon didnt address it last summer, lennon/hibs didnt address it in january and now, unless hallberg is a superstar, hecky hasnt addressed it this summer.

Nope I was though!

Aye very good... proud are you?

03-09-2019, 10:42 AM
Why do you support hibs?

Its breed into me, much like you supporting the quakers.

MagicSwirlingShip
03-09-2019, 10:43 AM

Left back is not a problem area when Lewis is 100% fit

03-09-2019, 10:43 AM
Right back should be less of an issue with james coming back and naismith coming in. Stevenson at lb is literally the least of our worries (except maybe goalie), although letting his deputy go on loan is ridiculous.

A lot of our problems would be sorted by a decent midfield. Lennon didnt address it last summer, lennon/hibs didnt address it in january and now, unless hallberg is a superstar, hecky hasnt addressed it this summer.

We lose a lot of goals down our left. :confused:

03-09-2019, 10:44 AM
I couldn't agree more, was a mistake to let Bartley and Milligan go.

At the time I didn’t think it was a mistake.

I actually thought the way we got rid of Milligan, when the easy thing to do would have been to keep him, showed Heckingbottom was being ruthless and knew what he wanted to do. And Bartley hadn’t really been a regular for a couple of years.

It just what he has signed, or not signed, to replace them that is an issue.

03-09-2019, 10:45 AM
🎣

No, it’s fishing to say otherwise. At least the other poor teams like St Johnstone and St Mirren (lost narrowly to Rangers that scudded us and beat Aberdeen) have fight about them.

03-09-2019, 10:45 AM

Omeonga - closest we have had to SJM with energy, tackling and running with the ball.

I’ve said it several times but McNultys when he first arrived, Milligan Playing well after Asia Cup, Omeonga improving every game (he bossed Mulumbu) and a steady keeper in Bogdan meant we climbed the table.

If we didn’t have these players we would have finished bottom 6 the way Lennon started. I liked Lennon also but these players saved us.

03-09-2019, 10:46 AM
Its breed into me, much like you supporting the quakers.

I don't support the Quakers, I support hibs.

Through good and bad.

It's not exactly crisis time.

03-09-2019, 10:46 AM
You asked why should motherwell away be a winnable game ? I said we should go there expecting to win given our resources compared with there’s. No one said we would win every time but we’ve not even competed with them, we’ve been hammered in what should be a winnable game more times than not.

You’re arguing that because in football you will sometimes lose games against “lesser” opposition that you shouldn’t class a game against them winnable.

I’m not arguing that. I’m arguing that if not winning an away game against a team that are usually pretty decent at our level away from home is unacceptable, as was sort of suggested in the initial post, then we’ll never have a manager that is successful.

And I’m also unsure how a game against a decent enough Motherwell side away from home is less winnable than a Killie side who have toiled this season. But again, people are suggesting that to paint as negative a picture as possible.. Motherwell away was very winnable yet the two games away to Killie who are behind Motherwell in the league are apparently a lot less winnable and we’ve to be concerned that their part of some really difficult run we’ve got coming up (which also includes a Hearts team yet to win a league game). Why’s that? Because it makes things look even worse if you say it, that’s why.

03-09-2019, 10:47 AM
Watch Horgan when Motherwell score their 3rd. He looks like he is pulling a truck. If you look across the pitch and ignore what follows - Whittaker getting ripped apart - the middle of the pitch is wide open for them also.

Cant really be denied, our midfield is terrible. Individually they may be ok players but collectively they are rubbish. Bartley was treated like a hero even though he didn't do anything spectacular when on the pitch. He fought and tracked his man even when he was knackered, you could visibly see the strain on his face when he was sprinting back. That's why he was idolised by so many. We've lost that. Milligan was similar. No players in our midfield that take pride in the ugly stuff. McGinn had this. Certain players enjoy a block or tackle almost as much as scoring a goal. We've not got many of these now...

03-09-2019, 10:47 AM

Through good and bad.

How is it not crisis time?

03-09-2019, 10:48 AM

Through good and bad.

6 points from a possible 30 with a very poor team that has conceded 14 goals in their last 4 games is not a crisis?

03-09-2019, 10:49 AM
At the time I didn’t think it was a mistake.

I actually thought the way we got rid of Milligan, when the easy thing to do would have been to keep him, showed Heckingbottom was being ruthless and knew what he wanted to do. And Bartley hadn’t really been a regular for a couple of years.

It just what he has signed, or not signed, to replace them that is an issue.

I was the same. Bartley had some injuries and Milligan I understood if he was earning a lot...

BUT Bartley loved Hibs / hated Hearts and is playing every week for Livi.

Milligan was a leader and had experience - happy to sit and break up play by reading the game.

Unless Hallberg is an improvement we are more weak in that area.

A lot of derbies Hearts fans were raging as Bartley bossed it - now we don’t have someone like that and can see them running riot.

03-09-2019, 10:51 AM
How is it not crisis time?

Four games in, quarter finals league Cup.

We do operate within a budget.

My expectations are top four and good cup run.

He did get us to top six last season when that looked doubtful.

03-09-2019, 10:51 AM
I was the same. Bartley had some injuries and Milligan I understood if he was earning a lot...

Milligan was a leader and had experience - happy to sit and break up play by reading the game.

A lot of derbies Hearts fans were raging as Bartley bossed it - now we don’t have someone like that and can see them running riot.

Naismith is going to have a free reign in the area where Bartley or Milligan would occupy

03-09-2019, 10:54 AM
Naismith is going to have a free reign in the area where Bartley or Milligan would occupy

Get Porto on to clatter him in one of his dodgy knees early doors. Job done.

03-09-2019, 10:55 AM
Get Porto on to clatter him in one of his dodgy knees early doors. Job done.

Stick on for a red card if he plays.

03-09-2019, 10:55 AM

The bare minimum of playing lower league ***** is the quarter final.

No ****ing danger we are making the top four. Bottom four. I’ll bet you £100 with the loser donating to Dnipro that we are bottom six under that clown.

03-09-2019, 10:56 AM
Stick on for a red card if he plays.

Has he ever been sent off for us?

03-09-2019, 10:57 AM
The bare minimum of playing lower league ***** is the quarter final.

No ****ing danger we are making the top four. Bottom four. I’ll bet you £100 with the loser donating to Dnipro that we are bottom six under that clown.

100% :agree:

03-09-2019, 10:57 AM

You can see a team who haven’t won a league game running riot away from home? Let’s be honest, you can’t really see it.

Based on the evidence so far this season there’s more to suggest we’d be running riot than Hearts (not that I think we will). But why let that get in the way of bashing the club?

03-09-2019, 10:58 AM
Has he ever been sent off for us?

Not sure, they way he lunges into tackles he is a cert for a red card in the derby, especially with the play acting that goes on with the Hearts players.

03-09-2019, 11:02 AM
Not sure, they way he lunges into tackles he is a cert for a red card in the derby, especially with the play acting that goes on with the Hearts players.

He’s not a cert to be sent off at all. I don’t recall him ever having been sent off for us. The fact it’s a derby doesn’t mean it’s a cert for a guy who’s never been sent off to suddenly be sent off (apologies if he has been sent off but the point still stands, he’s hardly Sergio Ramos or Pepe). I don’t disagree he lunges in a bit though.

03-09-2019, 11:02 AM

He gets stuck in, and we'll need as many players as possible who are prepared to do that in the derby, including Porteous.

03-09-2019, 11:04 AM
He gets stuck in, and we'll need as many players as possible who are prepared to do that in the derby, including Porteous.

Agree with this.

03-09-2019, 11:05 AM
6 points from a possible 30 with a very poor team that has conceded 14 goals in their last 4 games is not a crisis?

Global warming is a crisis. This is just a poor run of results.

03-09-2019, 11:10 AM
We went into the Stirling game plus all the Betfred games with the attitude that they were glorified friendlies and being used as fitness builders. The players went in with this attitude and I think they still have it. There seems no urgency from the manager from day one, are we still ****ing gelling, how long does it take new players to bed in? It's been a shambles of a window.

03-09-2019, 11:11 AM
Anyway isn’t this a transfer thread?

03-09-2019, 11:15 AM
Anyway isn’t this a transfer thread?

Windows closed. Now it’s discussion as to how ***** a window it’s been.

03-09-2019, 11:15 AM
Jeez some posters are loving this.

03-09-2019, 11:16 AM
Jeez some posters are loving this.

Yes we love Hibs being terrible 😫

03-09-2019, 11:16 AM
Global warming is a crisis. This is just a poor run of results.

5 wins, 2 draws, 2 defeats this season. It isn't even that bad a run, from a results point of view.

03-09-2019, 11:17 AM

Steady on with your slightly realistic views mate. We're in the midst of a crisis here.

03-09-2019, 11:18 AM

To be honest mate you do seem to revel in it.

Fergos
03-09-2019, 11:19 AM
Watch Horgan when Motherwell score their 3rd. He looks like he is pulling a truck. If you look across the pitch and ignore what follows - Whittaker getting ripped apart - the middle of the pitch is wide open for them also.

Cant really be denied, our midfield is terrible. Individually they may be ok players but collectively they are rubbish. Bartley was treated like a hero even though he didn't do anything spectacular when on the pitch. He fought and tracked his man even when he was knackered, you could visibly see the strain on his face when he was sprinting back. That's why he was idolised by so many. We've lost that. Milligan was similar. No players in our midfield that take pride in the ugly stuff. McGinn had this. Certain players enjoy a block or tackle almost as much as scoring a goal. We've not got many of these now...

Agree re the Midfield, Mallans pathetic attempt at a challenge before Motherwells third is deserving of the bench until he ups his game. If he is capable which I seriously doubt now.

03-09-2019, 11:20 AM
Why do you support hibs?Is he wrong though, we are ****ing rubbish, do you think different ?

03-09-2019, 11:20 AM

Nobody loves that. We are all concerned. What I can't be arsed with is people making every second post on every thread in some strange attempt to make it seem that nobody could possibly be as angry as they are. It could be the manager it could be loyalty points it could even be the new owner.
Its relentless.

03-09-2019, 11:21 AM
Milligan was ok against the lesser teams but let’s not rewrite history and make him out to be better than he was. Against the better teams he was pish. Getting rid of him was entirely the correct decision, that wasn’t the mistake. The mistake was not signing someone to play in his position which we assumed Heckingbottom was going to do.

03-09-2019, 11:23 AM
Nobody loves that. We are all concerned. What I can't be arsed with is people making every second post on every thread in some strange attempt to make it seem that nobody could possibly be as angry as they are. It could be the manager it could be loyalty points it could even be the new owner.
Its relentless.

It’s become a competition to show how terrified/pissed off you are.

03-09-2019, 11:24 AM
Milligan was ok against the lesser teams but let’s not rewrite history and make him out to be better than he was. Against the better teams he was pish. Getting rid of him was entirely the correct decision, that wasn’t the mistake. The mistake was not signing someone to play in his position which we assumed Heckingbottom was going to do.

Absolutely. He was also totally incapable of man marking in the penalty area. Cost us several goals.

03-09-2019, 11:24 AM
To be honest mate you do seem to revel in it.

I’m just deeply concerned. Said my peace though I suppose. What I don’t like is posters painting a rosey picture when nothing could be further from the truth.

green with envy
03-09-2019, 11:25 AM

And there lies the problem, or at least one of them.

03-09-2019, 11:25 AM
Its relentless.

It’s more replies to posters saying there’s nothing wrong and ripping others for being concerned. Self ban on this thread from now. Windows closed, it’s been horrific let’s see what happens.

03-09-2019, 11:27 AM
Agree re the Midfield, Mallans pathetic attempt at a challenge before Motherwells third is deserving of the bench until he ups his game. If he is capable which I seriously doubt now.

Could certainly bench a few from Saturday.

03-09-2019, 11:28 AM
It’s more replies to posters saying there’s nothing wrong and ripping others for being concerned. Self ban on this thread from now. Windows closed, it’s been horrific let’s see what happens.

We just all need to remember we want the same thing I suppose.

03-09-2019, 11:35 AM
We just all need to remember we want the same thing I suppose.

Yeah 👍

03-09-2019, 11:36 AM
Yeah and after a decent start by Butcher, he ended up winning only 2 league games in the calendar year of 2014 and was also defeated by lower league Raith Rovers at home in the SC. As the say, the rest is history.

And Butcher came in because the fans hounded Fenlon out, lots of that was based on a couple of dreadful results which only happened by him getting some good results and being in a Cup Final and Europe. I wonder what fans would think of Heck if he had came in and continued or slightly improved the appalling run we were on under Lennon rather than transforming our league season and getting a top six position.. Bizarrely they may have been less critical just as they may have been if Fenlon had not got to that Cup Final. I have no issue saying we have made a poor start but he hasn't failed at Hibs yet and should not be subjected to the ridicule, some of which is personal like ripping his accent etc, that he has. He definitely needs to turn it round in the next month or two but if fans hound him out now we may get worse and Heck will not have had a chance.

So far Heck was successful in his first part season, is being successful in the cup and has had a poor/mediocre start in the league but still has 29/35 games to make up the 3 points that would see a successful season or the 4 points that would see a very good one. Yes, there have been poor performances but there has also been lots of injuries. I don't think he helps himself at times. Going two up top when losing and down to 10 men at Ibrox was cavalier and not playing Vela when we needed some stability at Fir Park seemed odd. However, who knows if Vela was fully fit and the fans are constantly telling him to go for it against the Uglies so it's a bit rich moaning so much when he does.

He needs to get the team playing better and the players working as a unit but the level of abuse is ridiculous. Give him the chance to fail before sacking him and who knows he might turn it round. The gloom and despondency in the support can't help and for all those that hailed Lennon as being a winnermany of those supporters see it as a fait a complet we will lose all future games.

03-09-2019, 11:38 AM
And Butcher came in because the fans hounded Fenlon out, lots of that was based on a couple of dreadful results which only happened by him getting some good results and being in a Cup Final and Europe. I wonder what fans would think of Heck if he had came in and continued or slightly improved the appalling run we were on under Lennon rather than transforming our league season and getting a top six position.. Bizarrely they may have been less critical just as they may have been if Fenlon had not got to that Cup Final. I have no issue saying we have made a poor start but he hasn't failed at Hibs yet and should not be subjected to the ridicule, some of which is personal like ripping his accent etc, that he has. He definitely needs to turn it round in the next month or two but if fans hound him out now we may get worse and Heck will not have had a chance.

So far Heck was successful in his first part season, is being successful in the cup and has had a poor/mediocre start in the league but still has 29/35 games to make up the 3 points that would see a successful season or the 4 points that would see a very good one. Yes, there have been poor performances but there has also been lots of injuries. I don't think he helps himself at times. Going two up top when losing and down to 10 men at Ibrox was cavalier and not playing Vela when we needed some stability at Fir Park seemed odd. However, who knows if Vela was fully fit and the fans are constantly telling him to go for it against the Uglies so it's a bit rich moaning so much when he does.

He needs to get the team playing better and the players working as a unit but the level of abuse is ridiculous. Give him the chance to fail before sacking him and who knows he might turn it round. The gloom and despondency in the support can't help and for all those that hailed Lennon as being a winnermany of those supporters see it as a fait a complet we will lose all future games.

Brilliantly put 👍

03-09-2019, 11:41 AM

Agree totally

03-09-2019, 11:48 AM

03-09-2019, 11:51 AM

Don’t want to nitpick as your overall post wasn’t about Fenlon. However Fenlon was a disaster, the fact Butcher subsequently managed to freefall off the cliff in terms of the job he did doesn’t make the job Fenlon did any better. Fenlon was death by a thousand papercuts. Some of the most turgid football I’ve seen, with the opposite scenario to Heckingbottom where he seemed to only sign defensive midfielders

In Fenlons defence he came into a club Petrie had run into the ground, but having had a season ticket from the McLeish days I stopped going for a few years around the time of Fenlon, returning under Stubbs.

03-09-2019, 11:59 AM

I won't argue that Horgan was blowing out his arse, he isn't that fit and hasn't been a great signing. Lennon signed him of course.

However we had 7 outfield players, and a goalie not that he made much of an effort to save the goal, to Motherwell's 2 that could affect the third goal as the scorer received the ball. The issue wasn't just Whitts being ripped but just as importantly Jackson not shuffling over and making Stevenson take the Centre Forward. Their scorer should have had two men to beat with Horgan arriving to make a third. If you look at Whitts part in the goal he drifts central to give help to Jackson and protect the danger area, he then quickly engages the scorer to be easily beaten with his teammates not making any real effort to help him. He never defended well but he is in no way solely to blame for being beaten in a 1 on 1 and I would hop Heck points out some of the decisions players are making and leaving their teammates to have 1 on 1s when there is no need.

If you want to blame Heck crack on but look at this freeze frame when the scorer receives the ball. I can't say the manager is at fault for formation or fitness there, two rows of defenders, plenty of men back, good spacing just terrible decision making from players and poor desire to help their teammates. I would certainly apportion some blame on the managers for that but the players should get the lion's share of blame.

Can you point out where in the middle of the pitch we were wide open. Definitely not when the scorer receives the ball and Even when their boy beats Mallan Slivka is covering over and we are in a decent position.

03-09-2019, 12:05 PM
Why's our transfer roundup not out yet?

03-09-2019, 12:06 PM
I won't argue that Horgan was blowing out his arse, he isn't that fit and hasn't been a great signing. Lennon signed him of course.

However we had 7 outfield players, and a goalie not that he made much of an effort to save the goal, to Motherwell's 2 that could affect the third goal as the scorer received the ball. The issue wasn't just Whitts being ripped but just as importantly Jackson not shuffling over and making Stevenson take the Centre Forward. Their scorer should have had two men to beat with Horgan arriving to make a third. If you look at Whitts part in the goal he drifts central to give help to Jackson and protect the danger area, he then quickly engages the scorer to be easily beaten with his teammates not making any real effort to help him. He never defended well but he is in no way solely to blame for being beaten in a 1 on 1 and I would hop Heck points out some of the decisions players are making and leaving their teammates to have 1 on 1s when there is no need.

If you want to blame Heck crack on but look at this freeze frame when the scorer receives the ball. I can't say the manager is at fault for formation or fitness there, two rows of defenders, plenty of men back, good spacing just terrible decision making from players and poor desire to help their teammates. I would certainly apportion some blame on the managers for that but the players should get the lion's share of blame.

Can you point out where in the middle of the pitch we were wide open. Definitely not when the scorer receives the ball and Even when their boy beats Mallan Slivka is covering over and we are in a decent position.

They moved from the right and side of the pitch it their own half to the left wing gluidong past two central midfielders and Horgan jogging back, that’s cut wide open whenever you look at it.

03-09-2019, 12:08 PM

I can get behind people providing freeze frames to back up their points. Good work :agree:

We've either not finished our business, we simply can't be arsed, or have taken a conscious decision that with all the flak flying it would be better to let it go quietly than shout from the rooftops about it.

Actually, that's a good shout... Maybe, just maybe.............:cb

03-09-2019, 12:20 PM
I'd take Malombi in a second

03-09-2019, 12:21 PM
In terms of positions provisioned for within a squad, I think this is what the club should have delivered by the end of the window.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/fc-burnley/kader/verein/1132

03-09-2019, 12:25 PM

Could be the ideal replacement for Marvin Bartley.

03-09-2019, 12:26 PM
In terms of positions provisioned for within a squad, I think this is what the club should have delivered by the end of the window.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/fc-burnley/kader/verein/1132

Only 2 right backs?

Defensive suicide.

03-09-2019, 12:27 PM
I can get behind people providing freeze frames to back up their points. Good work :agree:

All that photo proves is how poor we are as a defensive unit. Look how many Motherwell players are in the photo in comparison to Hibs players yet they were able to waltz through and score.

That was their right back in possession of the ball bu the way.

03-09-2019, 12:31 PM
I’m sorry but if a midfielder, at a club the size of Hibs, needs to be instructed or given tactics on how to track back and tackle then they shouldn’t be playing.

Do you honestly think Hecky is giving them instructions to do otherwise??

A lot of venom towards our manager, when a lot of our problems are down to serial underperforming by the players. Players who have previously performed well for us. The players need to take a hard look at themselves in my opinion as much, of not more so than the manager.

Why isn’t the manager saying this then?

Why is he not reacting from the technical area?

I see a team who aren’t playing as advertised and a head coach who goes on about 1v1s rather than do anything about it.

03-09-2019, 12:32 PM
Could be the ideal replacement for Marvin Bartley.
:cb

03-09-2019, 12:36 PM

Mulumbu could go a long long way in all of a sudden seeing us go from a struggling team to more than capable

03-09-2019, 12:37 PM
Only 2 right backs?

Defensive suicide.

Not known for leaking goals either.

03-09-2019, 12:39 PM
Mulumbu could go a long long way in all of a sudden seeing us go from a struggling team to more than capable

I don't think we're more than 1, maybe 2 players away from being a decent side.

03-09-2019, 12:42 PM

Can remember under Stubbs although we lost the first home game v Falkirk we were terrific with Kennedy putting loads of crosses in and Heffernan missing a few chances. The play was sharp and positive and it was obvious there was huge potential in the style of play unfortunately I don't see any of that. The play is slow and ponderous and we are a shambles defensively as a team.

Begbie79
03-09-2019, 12:42 PM

100% This.

The huge element of Hibs fans that are carrying the "fifa" mentality is unreal. Bad form shouldnt happen and players can be signed with a few flicks of your thumb. Its ludicrous.

New to the forum and this is an excellent point well put. First decent point ive read after reading my way through days of negative and "i love hibs more than you" dross.

03-09-2019, 12:43 PM
:cb

Similar type of player to Bartley & Agyepong IMO....

03-09-2019, 12:43 PM

Horgan hasnt been a bad signing at all

03-09-2019, 12:44 PM

Honestly think that with the addition of a decent DM and a “fox in the box” striker and most would be happy with our squad.....

03-09-2019, 12:47 PM

03-09-2019, 12:48 PM
Can remember under Stubbs although we lost the first home game v Falkirk we were terrific with Kennedy putting loads of crosses in and Heffernan missing a few chances. The play was sharp and positive and it was obvious there was huge potential in the style of play unfortunately I don't see any of that. The play is slow and ponderous and we are a shambles defensively as a team.

But we got beat?

I can remember many games under Stubbs where we were slow and ponderous. As for defence, it wasn't always sound. A good example was when Dundee Utd ripped us apart in the Cup Semi. We struggled to create anything.

Plenty of examples.

03-09-2019, 12:52 PM

We were wide open before that freeze frame. We had 3 players commit themselves one by one and then the rest is a case of midfielders chasing back. Chasing back as picked up by your freeze frame is all well and good but why are all our midfielders in the same place - chasing back and all pretty much at same pace as Horgan. Not a single midfielder is sprinting back to help out. My guess is they thought it was 2 on 4 and they felt the defence could handle it rather than pushing harder to get back.

Hecky is not solely at fault. However, if players are potentially deciding not to help colleagues because they are tired or dont think it is their problem/job on the pitch then, as the head coach, Hecky should be stamping that out.

As always the head coach/manager takes on most of the pressure. I'd rather be a head coach and get paid what Hecky does than be a referee. People talking about abuse when referencing a very well paid man and then quite happy hurl abuse at a man standing with a whistle in his hand...not saying you do but people do.

Before anyone says, I know referees get paid...just nowhere near how much Hecky does. Players are just as bad. Overpaid men who get protected by the notion of "we are supporters, we must support through thick and thin".

In our current plight, there are so many people at fault. Every club can only target a person of influence to create change. Cant bin every single player and keep the head coach...

Well said son. We are all a bit fed up but let’s get on with it or we will drive ourselves daft.

Couple of players ? Leigh Griffiths and Messi.

03-09-2019, 12:56 PM
But we got beat?

I can remember many games under Stubbs where we were slow and ponderous. As for defence, it wasn't always sound. A good example was when Dundee Utd ripped us apart in the Cup Semi. We struggled to create anything.

Plenty of examples.

Hardly. ****ing hardly!

03-09-2019, 12:57 PM
I'd take Mallanbu in a second.

03-09-2019, 12:58 PM
Hardly. ****ing hardly!

How many one-on-ones did big Conrad have to deal with? They sliced through us at will. Could've been out of site. :agree:

03-09-2019, 01:01 PM
How many one-on-ones did big Conrad have to deal with? They sliced through us at will. Could've been out of site. :agree:

Agree, good goalkeeping combined with poor finishing saved us that day.

03-09-2019, 01:04 PM
Agree, good goalkeeping combined with poor finishing saved us that day.

I'm not saying they played us off the park. Merely they split through our defence on numerous occasions like they weren't there. Thus, back to my original point that Stubb's team wasn't always defensively sound. And not always free flowing and attacking.

DetroitHibs
03-09-2019, 01:05 PM
My biggest worry isn’t so much results, but performances. We shouldn’t be getting pissed all over and rammed 3-0 from the likes of Motherwell. A defeat maybe, but that could have been 5-6. They probably have half the budget we do and lost some key players, there’s no excuse for that. That’s the biggest worry.

03-09-2019, 01:06 PM

I'm not saying they played us off the park. Merely they split through our defence on numerous occasions like they weren't there. Thus, back to my original point that Stubb's team wasn't always defensively sound. And not always free flowing and attacking.

Conceded 3 to Dumbarton on 2 separate occasions? 3 at home to Morton as well.

03-09-2019, 01:07 PM
Hardly. ****ing hardly!

We should have been well out of it, the Polar Bear had to male a couple of one-on-one saves in the first half.

03-09-2019, 01:07 PM

They ripped us apart. Ruined everything the *******s. :aok:

03-09-2019, 01:08 PM
We should have been well out of it, the Polar Bear had to male a couple of one-on-one saves in the first half.

Aye. I remember.

03-09-2019, 01:09 PM
5 wins, 2 draws, 2 defeats this season. It isn't even that bad a run, from a results point of view.

But forget the league cup games - all against lower league teams. One narrow win, a lucky draw and two heavy defeats in the league offer a more accurate picture.

03-09-2019, 01:09 PM
They moved from the right and side of the pitch it their own half to the left wing gluidong past two central midfielders and Horgan jogging back, that’s cut wide open whenever you look at it.

I was responding to a post that said we were wide open in the middle of the pitch during that 3rd goal. Being wide open is about positioning. The poster wasn't talking about what happened but our positioning. Or at least that was my understanding.

My point is around players positioning and their shape and their desire. At no point in that move were we lacking numbers or in a terrible position. At least up until the scorer cut inside. The shape wasn't the issue it was the players desire and the fact they were so passive. Mallan could bring the boy down, Slivka is pathetic in his attempt to stop the pass, Whitts backs off and then offers no resistance, Jackson and Lewis don't shuffle across and probably lastly Horgan is blowing out his arse. None of that was down to a hard tackling midfielder by the way as any competent midfielder would have done a better job that Slivka. Slivka is more than capable of doing better.

Yes, we were cut open but I am putting the point of view forward that the players are mostly responsible. No doubt Heck has to shoulder some of the blame but the players were in a position to stop that goal but there was no desire or even effort to do so. I'd actually argue Whitts was the only one during the whole move that looked like he wanted to stop the goal he just never had the legs to do so. Maybe the general hostility is affecting the players, who knows. It definitely won't be helping.

03-09-2019, 01:10 PM
But forget the league cup games - all against lower league teams. One narrow win, a lucky draw and two heavy defeats in the league offer a more accurate picture.

:agree:. Some folk trying to polish a turd here.

03-09-2019, 01:11 PM
Think there is something in the recruitment team wanting the last 3 players - Middleton, Hallberg and Naismith.

Which makes me think we will announce another player in the coming days. They will want to fill the void left and have a good squad regardless if PH is here or not.

03-09-2019, 01:11 PM

He’s always going to agree with anyone when there is a sniff of gloom though isn’t he? ****s sake man show me Dundee Utds medals. Grim stuff this so it is.

Percy Vere
03-09-2019, 01:12 PM
Not really sure any level of perceived failure in the transfer market merits personally abusing managers in every thread.

I'm not really sure on my thoughts, don't know if any of the guys have played consistently enough to be judged yet. We'll see.

I agree. Hardly any of the new guys have had a run of games. Too early to tell who’s going to come good. Some on here have discarded Halberg and he’s not kicked a ball yet.

03-09-2019, 01:13 PM
:agree:. Some folk trying to polish a turd here.

Polishing a turd might be better than repeatedly sucking it up and gobbing it over everyone.

03-09-2019, 01:15 PM
Polishing a turd might be better than repeatedly sucking it up and gobbing it over everyone.

03-09-2019, 01:16 PM
He’s always going to agree with anyone when there is a sniff of gloom though isn’t he? ****s sake man show me Dundee Utds medals. Grim stuff this so it is.

What on earth are you on about?