View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

Gypsy King
29-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Me too.

It is worth remembering that we haven't really played anyone of any substance yet though. It will be interesting to see how the new boys get on when the serious business kicks off, especially against top 4 teams.

The phrase "quality over quantity" is one I've heard used before. It's an approach I like, and it could be used to describe our activity so far this window.

Yeah you are spot on. It looks encouraging though.

Back to back clean sheets. Allan and Kamberi linking up well.

Vela looking like caviar even if it was up against some Tesco value fish-sticks.

Wee Fraser looking more and more likely to reach his potential.

Exciting times!

29-07-2019, 11:59 AM
Because you end up recirculating the same old failed Scottish coaches.

I come on here to see if there are any signings imminent and I have to wade through 3 pages of pish about other clubs and other managers.

Chefki Kuqi
29-07-2019, 12:00 PM
Newell is a wide midfielder
as is Murray
Jackson is a centre half
James a fullback
So is whittaker

Mallan & Allan play the creative role (they will require a ball winner next to them)

Slivka I don't know what he is (that's not a dig-just an enigma)

So in terms of energetic ball winning CM's that give the centre half and full backs a link to Allan and Mallan id say we are one injury to vela away from having Whittaker being the scapegoat in an unbalanced midfield.

There isn't a player you have mentioned there other than vela that id fancy our chances with them playing that role against Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic, Hearts (at tynie) or an in form Motherwell

Forcing square pegs in round holes springs to mind.

I get what you are saying though - there are a lot of midfielders you have listed, Good ones. Maybe I am being greedy wanting cover for vela. Perhaps he has contingencies in the development squad. Time will tell.

Is Murray a wide mid? Thought he was akin to Allan/Mallan

29-07-2019, 12:01 PM

Murray is definitely a centre mid.

sean04
29-07-2019, 12:04 PM
Newell is a wide midfielder
as is Murray
Jackson is a centre half
James a fullback
So is whittaker

Mallan & Allan play the creative role (they will require a ball winner next to them)

Slivka I don't know what he is (that's not a dig-just an enigma)

So in terms of energetic ball winning CM's that give the centre half and full backs a link to Allan and Mallan id say we are one injury to vela away from having Whittaker being the scapegoat in an unbalanced midfield.

There isn't a player you have mentioned there other than vela that id fancy our chances with them playing that role against Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic, Hearts (at tynie) or an in form Motherwell

Forcing square pegs in round holes springs to mind.

I get what you are saying though - there are a lot of midfielders you have listed, Good ones. Maybe I am being greedy wanting cover for vela. Perhaps he has contingencies in the development squad. Time will tell.

I think slivka would be good in beside vela. Feel for him, seems to play well in games then dropped because we change shape or something. Defo a player in there

Gypsy King
29-07-2019, 12:35 PM

hmmm, I always thought he was getting played wide. Definitely more chance of breaking into the team out there.

He has definitely been played LM in the past.

29-07-2019, 12:58 PM

He is but is very capable of playing on either flank.

29-07-2019, 12:59 PM

Murray can play anywhere across the midfield.

LeithMike
29-07-2019, 01:01 PM
Are we short in midfield though?
Vela
Allan
Malan
Slivka
Newell
Murray

With
Jackson
James
Whitaker
And some youngsters capable of helpingYes, most definitely. It's not so much depth of cover that is the issue but I think we are clearly short in terms of the starting line-up.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

29-07-2019, 01:10 PM
Are we short in midfield though?
Vela
Allan
Malan
Slivka
Newell
Murray

With
Jackson
James
Whitaker
And some youngsters capable of helpingThat's 6 midfielders with 3 defenders as back up so yes I think we are a tough tackling midfielder short

29-07-2019, 01:17 PM
hmmm, I always thought he was getting played wide. Definitely more chance of breaking into the team out there.

He has definitely been played LM in the past.

Ach, he’s young, he looks like an attacking midfielder to me but maybe even he doesn’t know his best position yet.

Looks very much like he will be a big part of the first team squad this season so we will get to know more about him.

29-07-2019, 01:27 PM
Notice Aberdeen have turned down two £3m bids for McKenna. Thought they received £8m bid last year. Big drop in value.

29-07-2019, 01:32 PM
Notice Aberdeen have turned down two £3m bids for McKenna. Thought they received £8m bid last year. Big drop in value.

It's absolute madness. If he's worth more than 3 million what could we get for Hanlon?

29-07-2019, 01:39 PM
It's absolute madness. If he's worth more than 3 million what could we get for Hanlon?

A lot less. McKenna is only 22, a regular Scotland international and for some reason is highly regarded, not saying he’s a better player than PH but his market value will be considerably higher.
And the drop in value from last summer is only due to the shortening length of his current contract, his stock is still high in the football world

29-07-2019, 01:44 PM

Just shows you the difference between Aberdeen and the other "provincial" clubs when they're turning down 8 million quid

29-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Bolton are in deep trouble. Wonder if that could be to our advantage again.

29-07-2019, 01:50 PM

Are we interested in another Bolton player?

NC1875
29-07-2019, 01:50 PM

In what way ?

29-07-2019, 01:52 PM
In what way ?

According to Alan Nixon, they have a matter of hours to come to an agreement regarding debt and wages. If not, I think players can walk away.

Edit. I've misread the tweets I think, talking about a buyer.

29-07-2019, 01:58 PM

I don't believe they received a bid of £8M, they'd have bitten the bidders hand off.

29-07-2019, 01:59 PM
I think slivka would be good in beside vela. Feel for him, seems to play well in games then dropped because we change shape or something. Defo a player in there

For every game that he plays well there’s another where the game passes him by. He’s had two seasons to establish himself as a first choice and hasn’t done that, can’t all be down to bad luck. A decent squad player, no more no less IMO.

29-07-2019, 02:12 PM
For every game that he plays well there’s another where the game passes him by. He’s had two seasons to establish himself as a first choice and hasn’t done that, can’t all be down to bad luck. A decent squad player, no more no less IMO.

Slivka scored my favourite goal of last season but it really is time for him to deliver more consistently.

29-07-2019, 02:12 PM
I don't believe they received a bid of £8M, they'd have bitten the bidders hand off.

Definitely. Especially considering he’s not actually that good. Defenders like him come along not that infrequently in Scottish football. He’s worth nothing like that kind of money. £3m is a very good offer regardless of how long he has left on his deal.

29-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Definitely. Especially considering he’s not actually that good. Defenders like him come along not that infrequently in Scottish football. He’s worth nothing like that kind of money. £3m is a very good offer regardless of how long he has left on his deal.

Tend to agree with you. Suppose it depends on the £3m being upfront or in instalments.

Caversham Green
29-07-2019, 02:37 PM
Getting Tshibola in would be a very good signing and great bit of business. Had massive potential but hasn’t went the way he expected, still young with a lot of ability and is the sort of central midfielder we need. Can get stuck in and also play at the same time.

Unfortunately probably has better and more lucrative offers elsewhere.

Mark Ohara is another I think we should be looking at, very similar to Vela so would provide good competition and cover. Done well at Dundee and for Peterborough and Lincoln last year.

Now allowed to leave Peterborough however they’re looking for a fee which would make it unlikely.

Tshibola was probably the most exciting prospect I've seen at Reading but sadly he moved up a level (or two) a season too soon - Villa paid £5m for him at 20 years old so they obviously saw the potential too. If he can rediscover his Reading form he'd be a terrific signing. There's some talk of a return to the MadStad but given their financial woes it's probably just talk. If it isn't I think he'd be welcomed back by just about everyone.

Edit: As an aside, Reading signed Charlie Adam last week - I expected him to fill the useless midfielder role vacated by Meyler but he actually played some brilliant long passes against Chelsea yesterday.

29-07-2019, 02:56 PM
A lot less. McKenna is only 22, a regular Scotland international and for some reason is highly regarded, not saying he’s a better player than PH but his market value will be considerably higher.
And the drop in value from last summer is only due to the shortening length of his current contract, his stock is still high in the football world

He still has nearly 4 years left on his contract so I doubt that would be responsible for any drop in value. I suspect the £7m bid for him was in the same envelope as the £10m bid for Morelos! Pure fiction!

yerauldda
29-07-2019, 03:08 PM
He still has nearly 4 years left on his contract so I doubt that would be responsible for any drop in value. I suspect the £7m bid for him was in the same envelope as the £10m bid for Morelos! Pure fiction!

I think the offer was to take him on loan for the season/second half of the season then pay 8 million pounds this summer due to FFP reasons, at that stage I doubt Villa predicted they were going to get promoted so likely moved on to bigger targets this summer.

I'm assuming Aberdeen turned that down as it was on transfer day which meant they weren't getting the funds nor time to find a replacement. Villa may also have had the option not to sign him permanently at the end of the season which meant Aberdeen lost McKenna for a period of time and got nothing for him.

29-07-2019, 03:22 PM
20 million for Oli Mcburnie, the games ****ed i tell ye

29-07-2019, 03:26 PM
:hyper

Earlydelivery
29-07-2019, 03:37 PM
I believe Fraser Hornby at EM ... centre forward with Everton .

29-07-2019, 03:39 PM

Not doubting you but what makes you belive that?

badabing67
29-07-2019, 03:39 PM

Where did you hear that

29-07-2019, 05:59 PM
Hearts miss out on signing an exceptional talent

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/cletus-nombil-hearts-deal-is-dead-after-work-permit-appeal-rejected-1-4972516/amp?__twitter_impression=true

29-07-2019, 06:10 PM

I am so chuffed about this!

29-07-2019, 06:15 PM
Are we interested in another Bolton player?

How big is their playing squad? This can't be right?

https://www.bwfc.co.uk/teams/first-team/

29-07-2019, 06:20 PM
I am so chuffed about this!

Hopefully he bridges the gap between youth and first team 👍

29-07-2019, 07:30 PM
Hopefully he bridges the gap between youth and first team 👍

I wonder if he will drink in the Percy?

Earlydelivery
29-07-2019, 07:33 PM
Where did you hear that

From a friend who’s mate is a coach ... that’s what I’ve been told

BlackSheep
29-07-2019, 07:34 PM
I’d take Josh Magennis from Bolton if he becomes available....

29-07-2019, 07:38 PM
From a friend who’s mate is a coach ... that’s what I’ve been told

Does he know Thomas the tank?

29-07-2019, 07:44 PM
Don't think Hornby will make an instant impact but will come good by the end of the season - what they call a sleeper.

29-07-2019, 07:50 PM
Don't think Hornby will make an instant impact but will come good by the end of the season - what they call a sleeper.

Surely a better option is JC .... tried and tested?

29-07-2019, 08:01 PM
Hibs tried to get Christie as part of the Mcginn deal according to Lennon.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-missed-out-on-the-signing-of-ryan-christie-from-celtic-reveals-neil-lennon-1-4972696

29-07-2019, 08:01 PM
Who gave you the Signal to steam ahead with this

29-07-2019, 08:03 PM
Who gave you the Signal to steam ahead with this

The Fat Controller did.

29-07-2019, 08:04 PM

No it's because he had a pretty average season compared to the one before

29-07-2019, 08:09 PM
No it's because he had a pretty average season compared to the one before

Thought both seasons were pretty comparable tbh

horseflesh
29-07-2019, 08:09 PM

I heard the deal has hit the buffers

29-07-2019, 08:15 PM
Heard Cummings training with Hearts/or at their training today??

Jason is playing for forest tonight at Lincoln.

MacGruber
29-07-2019, 08:31 PM
Problem with Hornby is if he is due to arrive this window he might not turn up until January

29-07-2019, 08:34 PM
Thought both seasons were pretty comparable tbh

Probably quite true but for whatever reason his first season was incredibly overhyped. Still think Porteous has more potential as a defender, and obviously I'm not biased in any way ;)

sean04
29-07-2019, 08:50 PM
Wouldn't mind Jc coming back but is he a hecky type player. Talks about certain character to join in the squad. Does he have that hungry to succeed or is he billy big baws? Is he going to work hard and press from the front?

Goal scorer yes
All round team player not so sure

29-07-2019, 08:50 PM
More and more saying Hornby is done loan deal .
Six goals in eight starts for the Scotland under 21s .

29-07-2019, 08:58 PM
More and more saying Hornby is done loan deal .
Six goals in eight starts for the Scotland under 21s .

More and more people are probably saying it because more and more people are saying it 😉

Imo it’s a rumour that was started by someone putting 2 and 2 together when Everton said he was going out on loan.

It’s just a rumour that’s grown arms and legs.

29-07-2019, 09:08 PM
Hibs tried to get Christie as part of the Mcginn deal according to Lennon.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-missed-out-on-the-signing-of-ryan-christie-from-celtic-reveals-neil-lennon-1-4972696

Yes. We discussed that on here.

29-07-2019, 09:10 PM
Would Hornby get much game time at Hibs? Pointless loaning a youth player out to sit on the bench

29-07-2019, 09:10 PM
Would Hornby get much game time at Hibs? Pointless loaning a youth player out to sit on the bench

The boy is class.

29-07-2019, 09:11 PM
Yes. We discussed that on here.

Apologies I missed it

29-07-2019, 09:14 PM
Apologies I missed it

No worries. Apparently I was making it up.

29-07-2019, 09:14 PM
Jason is playing for forest tonight at Lincoln.

Proves the jambo is spouting pish then. Cheers.

29-07-2019, 09:18 PM

He’ll get more first team football with us than he would with Everton.

If we sign another forward they’ll probably be 3rd or 4th choice with a view to them making an impact coming off the bench and covering injuries.

If that is the case it’s likely to be a young player that’s maybe a bit raw but needing first team football and not someone that’ll be expecting to play 35-40 games a season.

29-07-2019, 09:19 PM
Proves the jambo is spouting pish then. Cheers.

29-07-2019, 09:36 PM
No idea. Source, my jambo brother in law - no reason to make it up

No reason at all.

29-07-2019, 09:37 PM
The boy is class.

Has he played at full professional level? Class act at u21 level is a hugely different thing altogether.

In addition to that, a lot of young players don't tend to play their best stuff until their 2nd or even 3rd loan spells, regardless of their quality.

29-07-2019, 09:56 PM
I've only seen bits and pieces of Hornby from his exploits for the Scotland Youth teams, but from what little I've seen, I'd be happy if we're in for him. Scored a double against Holland's U21s.

29-07-2019, 10:14 PM
If there was anything in the Horby rumour then the media would have picked up on it by now no?

29-07-2019, 10:21 PM

If he can play as a winger too then aye.

29-07-2019, 10:50 PM
If there was anything in the Horby rumour then the media would have picked up on it by now no?

Unless they are on the wrong tracks...

29-07-2019, 11:25 PM
The boy is class.

Can you confirm if that is 1st Class or 2nd Class?

I hope if he here for a trial that he will return.

29-07-2019, 11:30 PM
The boy is class.

Yes have a mate from Liverpool who is Everton and says a real talent.

29-07-2019, 11:31 PM
If he can play as a winger too then aye.

Yes you don't want his career to go down a siding.

29-07-2019, 11:32 PM

They missed the Vela one. Only picked up late on. Another train they missed.

29-07-2019, 11:34 PM

I have heard he can quickly skin a fullback and he leaves them on the line...

30-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Well worth a listen on Heckingbottom and some info on our new signings

https://t.co/8EriWfAD8R

30-07-2019, 10:09 AM

If he's going to get shunted out on loan I dont see it being to us

30-07-2019, 10:11 AM

My thoughts are on these lines so I won't get sidetracked.

30-07-2019, 10:13 AM

Well you are an old buffer after all

30-07-2019, 10:31 AM
Well you are an old buffer after all

I have heard he can quickly skin a fullback and he leaves them on the line...

They missed the Vela one. Only picked up late on. Another train they missed.

Can you confirm if that is 1st Class or 2nd Class?

I hope if he here for a trial that he will return.

I honestly hope we don’t sign him no matter how good he might be.

30-07-2019, 10:34 AM
I honestly hope we don’t sign him no matter how good he might be.

Used to love Harburn Hobbies (Home of Hornby) in Leith Walk.

Gregor
30-07-2019, 10:38 AM
Used to love Harburn Hobbies (Home of Hornby) in Leith Walk.

I remember when they were Marionville Models.

Edit:

Ooh. Marionville Models and Harburn Hobbies are not the same thing!

30-07-2019, 10:57 AM
I remember when they were Marionville Models.

Edit:

Ooh. Marionville Models and Harburn Hobbies are not the same thing!

You are Frank "Frankie Boy" MacAvennie and I claim my £10!

30-07-2019, 11:04 AM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;5863854]I honestly hope we don’t sign him no matter how good he might be.

Yes imagine the descriptions of his performances. Right on time Hornby delivers his usual reliable service.

He took no passengers.

30-07-2019, 11:09 AM
Transfer thread hammered with shan puns .. Really boring

30-07-2019, 11:10 AM

Totally. Always folk with ideas about their station.

30-07-2019, 11:11 AM

Worst thing about this place, brutal patter.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:16 AM
Does anyone looking in actually find this pun patter funny at all?

30-07-2019, 11:18 AM

I used to about 5 years ago but the"novelty" has sure worn off.

30-07-2019, 11:18 AM
As a punter? Yes it beats the boredom of reading invented pi$h until a genuine rumour we can all get on board with😉

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:21 AM
As a punter? Yes it beats the boredom of reading invented pi$h until a genuine rumour we can all get on board with😉

Really? Fair enough, I guess 'comedy' is subjective.

30-07-2019, 11:22 AM
Really? Fair enough, I guess 'comedy' is subjective.

Chuffing right it is.

30-07-2019, 11:25 AM
Transfer thread hammered with shan puns .. Really boringIt really is pathetic...so annoying

30-07-2019, 11:35 AM

Transfer thread hammered by complaints about puns. Really boring. :wink:

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:40 AM
Transfer thread hammered by complaints about puns. Really boring. :wink:

Surely you get that people come onto this thread for transfer news? Fair enough the usual crowd are having their jollys laughing with each other. But its pretty off putting for anyone not a fan of these hilarious puns. One of the reasons I have seen people criticise dot.net on other platforms.

30-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Surely you get that people come onto this thread for transfer news? Fair enough the usual crowd are having their jollys laughing with each other. But its pretty off putting for anyone not a fan of these hilarious puns. One of the reasons I have seen people criticise dot.net on other platforms.

Well done!

30-07-2019, 11:46 AM

I would agree with you 100%, unless the bold part was deliberate. :confused:

30-07-2019, 11:47 AM
Surely you get that people come onto this thread for transfer news?

Really?

I can't for the life of me understand why. If they do, then more fool them.

This thread has been running since April and I don't think there's been a single accurate rumour or piece of information posted on it that wasn't available first on the official site or elsewhere.

People just make stuff up then it gets discussed for a few days until it's proven to be false.

McNulty is a done deal.

Michael Appleton is in the stand at Parkhead.

Striker coming in.

McGeough on his way etc etc etc

Utter pish.

The puns are better than that crap, imo.

30-07-2019, 11:50 AM

Well done!

Well spotted. Are you a train spotter? I can see the objectors point but there seems to be more posts complaining about puns than there are actual punsters. They’re fighting a losing battle.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:52 AM
I would agree with you 100%, unless the bold part was deliberate. :confused:

Was meaning the Hibs FB pages etc. Its just one of the things I have seen have a go at.

30-07-2019, 11:53 AM
Really?

This thread has been running since April and I don't think there's been a single accurate rumour or piece of information posted on it that wasn't available first on the official site or elsewhere.

People just make stuff up then it gets discussed for a few days until it's proven to be false.

McNulty is a done deal.

Striker coming in.

Utter pish.

Yeah really , see its called summer transfer thread 2019. If i wanted puns then id just start a shan pun 2019 thread. Maybe you should give that a bash if its so amusing for you

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:56 AM
Really?

McNulty is a done deal.

Striker coming in.

Utter pish.

Well we are football fans. We constantly live in hope. In this case we live in hope that we may still make an exciting transfer. We have a transfer thread. So when I see 3 new pages or whatever, I stupidly think there may be actual transfer news. Or even transfer rumour's. If I knew it was only going to be more brutal puns I wouldn't click on the thread. Difficult to know without looking though huh.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Was meaning the Hibs FB pages etc. Its just one of the things I have seen have a go at.

Ah wait, I didnt even realise I contributed my own pun. :faf:

30-07-2019, 11:58 AM
Yeah really , see its called summer transfer thread 2019. If i wanted puns then id just start a shan pun 2019 thread. Maybe you should give that a bash if its so amusing for you

If you're looking for transfer information on this thread, you must be continually disappointed. There isn't any.

I'd bet there are more posts about puns than the puns themselves.

Puns are harmless nonsense.

Made up stories about players are exactly the same, but at least puns don't try to take advantage of gullible people.

30-07-2019, 12:04 PM
If you're looking for transfer information on this thread, you must be continually disappointed. There isn't any.

i'd bet there are more posts about puns than the puns themselves.

Puns are harmless nonsense.

Made up stories about players are exactly the same, but at least puns don't try to take advantage of gullible people.

You know what? As a Hibs fan i rely on this site for gossip and snippets about transfer information. I enjoy the speculation as its part and parcel of football. Im definitely never disappointed as thats nature of transfer speculation. Then there are the moments like when josh vela signed. Page after page of shan puns definitely disappoint me.

30-07-2019, 12:10 PM
Spot on. These attention seeking, self styled comedy geniuses know fine well the type of reaction that their brand of boring, repetitive and predictable humour provokes on here. It's hibs.net's own acceptable face of trolling.

I'm off to the PM Board to continue my complaints about the Main Board

30-07-2019, 12:11 PM
Well we are football fans. We constantly live in hope. In this case we live in hope that we may still make an exciting transfer. We have a transfer thread. So when I see 3 new pages or whatever, I stupidly think there may be actual transfer news. Or even transfer rumour's. If I knew it was only going to be more brutal puns I wouldn't click on the thread. Difficult to know without looking though huh.

If we all waited for a real rumour to come along then this thread would be buried down around page 55. The puns are like bumps that keep it on the front page otherwise it would become redundant and forgotten about

Bangkok Hibby
30-07-2019, 12:12 PM

Nope

30-07-2019, 12:13 PM
Spot on. These attention seeking, self styled comedy geniuses know fine well the type of reaction that their brand of boring, repetitive and predictable humour provokes on here. It's hibs.net's own acceptable face of trolling.

Unfortunately there are also pun addicts on the PM board!

30-07-2019, 12:16 PM
Nope

Self evidently, you're wrong.

However, back on topic. Has anyone got any transfer information?

Thought not.

Barman Stanton

Problem is, it creates a kind of clique mentality. It tends to be the same folk doing all the puns. Almost like the want to antagonize fellow fans as they know it annoys others.

And the argument seems to be 'If you don't like the puns then don't read the transfer thread'. :rolleyes:

justlikebrazil
The puns are boring and that is the reason hibs net is dying on its arse regarding the transfer thread. You get faster info on the facebook sites now. Admins may want to sort it.

30-07-2019, 12:23 PM
The puns are boring and that is the reason hibs net is dying on its arse regarding the transfer thread. You get faster info on the facebook sites now. Admins may want to sort it.

It is even worse push on the Facebook page- sure there are Jambo trolls on them. Recent example was almost every third day"McNulty and Omenga to be announced tomorrow ". Apart from that links to the official announcements on the HIBS SITE.

30-07-2019, 12:25 PM
The only thing worse than the puns is the righteous indignation of the main offenders when they are asked to keep puns off the thread,

The fact said posters know they could easily set up a dedicated thread for puns but choose not to suggests to me that eliciting a negative reaction from other users (trolling) is the main reason they keep posting them despite requests not to.

30-07-2019, 12:25 PM
The puns annoy me as I’m not smart or quick enough to get involved.

I don’t find them that funny any more but I wouldn’t expect an Internet forum to be dictated to by what I find funny or not. The nature of message boards really means that the posters get what the posters want IMO.

I think when there has been rumours they’ve been discussed, when there’s no rumours time gets filled with puns and other nonsense, it’s no big deal, it’s just an Internet messageboard.

FWIW if anyone is genuinely looking for new rumours and the like Constantly refreshing twitter every 20 seconds is a better idea imo.

30-07-2019, 12:27 PM
Problem is, it creates a kind of clique mentality. It tends to be the same folk doing all the puns. Almost like the want to antagonize fellow fans as they know it annoys others.

And the argument seems to be 'If you don't like the puns then don't read the transfer thread'. :rolleyes:

I haven't read that argument.

People just need to skip past the puns. It's easy to do because they're usually just one line posts.

Unfortunately, the attention seeking, made up posts about fantasy players we're about to sign from folk desperate to be thought of as if they're ITK or suggestions that we should go for xy or z who is on £20k a week in England, and ridiculous "worth a punt?" discussions are not.

I have to put up with all that. It's either that or, as you say, "don't read the transfer thread".

30-07-2019, 12:30 PM

People just need to skip past the puns. It's easy to do because they're usually just one line posts.

Unfortunately, the attention seeking, made up posts about fantasy players we're about to sign from folk desperate to be thought of as if they're ITK or suggestions that we should go for xy or z who is on £20k a week in England, and ridiculous "worth a punt?" discussions are not.

I have to put up with all that. It's either that or, as you say, "don't read the transfer thread".

Surely then it’s just as easy to skip past the fantasy players on 20k a week discussions as they’re so ridiculous?

30-07-2019, 12:30 PM

To know what to skip past you still have to read them..

30-07-2019, 12:31 PM

How do you identify a pun post unless you read it first?

30-07-2019, 12:33 PM
Surely then it’s just as easy to skip past the fantasy players on 20k a week discussions as they’re so ridiculous?

Indeed and I do.

I only ever complain about it when folk moan about puns.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 12:34 PM

You "have to put up" with transfer rumours on a transfer thread? I would expect to read nonsense rumours on it. Its transfer thread ffs.

Regardless, plenty have come on and said they don't like the puns. I really think you few guys that find the puns hilarious are in the minority. Who cares though eh.

30-07-2019, 12:34 PM
Indeed and I do.

I only ever complain about it when folk moan about puns.

So, to summarise, you complain about transfer rumours on the transfer rumours thread.

30-07-2019, 12:35 PM
Shirley on a public forum you skip past what you don't like and read what you like? Why complain about it? There is lots on here I don't like, there are threads I never open, there are threads I read every post on, and the magical thing is I make up my mind as to which they are. If you don't lie puns, skip past them, they are usually easy to spot, they are short and sometimes have smilies. I have spent the last week skipping past ISA and pensions advise on the Huns going broke thread, they haven't upset me or annoyed me, I just figure out in the first few words it's not a post I need to read and I skip it.

30-07-2019, 12:40 PM
The people complaining about anything is ruining this thread more than anything else tbh.

30-07-2019, 12:40 PM
To know what to skip past you still have to read them..

How do you identify a pun post unless you read it first?

Of course, but there's no need to allow yourself to become annoyed.

As you know, Dalianwanda, that's an individual's choice.

I think I've posted one pun (an excellent one obviously which most folk didn't get :greengrin) in the last couple of months, but I do like reading them. I don't find most of them particularly funny, but some are very clever and quick.

They won't stop, and neither will the made up wannabe ITK posts so we all just have to get on with it.

30-07-2019, 12:43 PM
So, to summarise, you complain about transfer rumours on the transfer rumours thread.

I'm primarily a pun defender.

30-07-2019, 12:44 PM

I'm primarily a pun defender.

It's all the inevitable consequence of signing players far too early in the window.

30-07-2019, 12:46 PM
It's all the inevitable consequence of signing players far too early in the window.

Well hopefully normality is resumed next summer and we can get back to scrambling about for exciting sounding last minute deals.

It’s almost like Heckers doesn’t care about the Hibs.net transfer window thread.

30-07-2019, 12:47 PM
my son used to find the puns quite funny, that was before he went to high school.

portyfelly

who are we signing today?

Well hopefully normality is resumed next summer and we can get back to scrambling about for exciting sounding last minute deals.

It’s almost like Heckers doesn’t care about the Hibs.net transfer window thread.
Who almost all turn out to be crap. The way it should be.

30-07-2019, 12:48 PM
Regardless, plenty have come on and said they don't like the puns. I really think you few guys that find the puns hilarious are in the minority. Who cares though eh.

Plenty folk post puns.

I don't think anyone finds them hilarious, mildly amusing is probably closer to the truth.

I also think the folk that get irritated by them are in the minority.

30-07-2019, 12:48 PM
my son used to find the puns quite funny, that was before he went to high school.

High school isn’t on in the summer so the last laugh is on you.

30-07-2019, 12:50 PM
If you get annoyed about puns because they are getting in the way of real transfer news, when there is no transfer news you must get easily annoyed.

When there is, we all talk about it.

There are plenty of threads i only scan through, as they have no real interest to me, they don't annoy me i just not like the subjects.

30-07-2019, 01:04 PM

What happened to him in high school?

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 01:07 PM
If you get annoyed about puns because they are getting in the way of real transfer news, when there is no transfer news you must get easily annoyed.

There are plenty of threads i only scan through, as they have no real interest to me, they don't annoy me i just not like the subjects.

Its more that brief hope that the new posts are transfer news, only to see puns which is pretty irritating. There are plenty posts I dont bother clicking on as I dont like or they dont interest me. The Rangers post being one. But a transfer rumours thread, is kind of the go to thread during close season.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 01:10 PM
Plenty folk post puns.

I don't think anyone finds them hilarious, mildly amusing is probably closer to the truth.

I also think the folk that get irritated by them are in the minority.

Can only go by personal experience. As most of my mates are Hibs fans, dotnet often comes up in conversation in the pub. Some of my mates dont go near the site now for various reasons. But pretty much everyone finds these cringy pun posts irritating and off putting.

30-07-2019, 01:12 PM
Why not just click on the last post button?

30-07-2019, 01:12 PM
Puns are utter cringe and a waste of everyone's time

30-07-2019, 01:15 PM

The Hornby rumour - whether it’s made up or not - was transfer news. Yet the minute it got posted the punsters were out in force to bore folk to tears with their shan banter about trains.

People read this thread for transfer news, that’s the problem. We all don’t open threads that don’t interest us. Thing is they threads are related to the title. This thread is nothing to do with transfers half the time and more to do with crap puns and folk dragging the life out it to keep it going as long as possible.

30-07-2019, 01:19 PM
People using puns are from the internet and have got no pattor.

30-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Why not just click on the last post button?

If I've not read the thread for a few days, I just go to the last page.

Invariably, I've missed nothing even slightly interesting or genuine.

ironically, the only time I scrolled back was to find the reason for the train puns because I'd missed the initial Hornby speculation.

30-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Can only go by personal experience. As most of my mates are Hibs fans, dotnet often comes up in conversation in the pub. Some of my mates dont go near the site now for various reasons. But pretty much everyone finds these cringy pun posts irritating and off putting.

Funnily enough when I mentioned dotnet to a group of Hibs fans they had never heard of it.

30-07-2019, 01:21 PM
People using puns are from the internet and have got no pattor.

And they can't spel eyethur.

30-07-2019, 01:21 PM

Its when you log on here and see there's been 3/4 new pages added to the transfer rumours thread and think there might be genuine rumours or info to read about and discuss to then have to read 4 pages of **** puns that irritates me.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 01:22 PM
Funnily enough when I mentioned dotnet to a group of Hibs fans they had never heard of it.

Really? May be a wee bit older in fairness :greengrin

30-07-2019, 01:24 PM

Its when you log on here and see there's been 3/4 new pages added to the transfer rumours thread and think there might be genuine rumours or info to read about and discuss to then have to read 4 pages of **** puns that irritates me.

By genuine rumour do you mean it really is a rumour or that it might have some substance? It seems to me that the vast majority of rumours are complete rubbish.

30-07-2019, 01:25 PM
Its when you log on here and see there's been 3/4 new pages added to the transfer rumours thread and think there might be genuine rumours or info to read about and discuss

You've been a member on here for over a decade.

You should really know better by now.

30-07-2019, 01:26 PM

You're mistaken.

30-07-2019, 01:26 PM
Really? May be a wee bit older in fairness :greengrin

That’s reasonable to think that but it was a mixed group.I was surprised.

30-07-2019, 01:28 PM
That’s reasonable to think that but it was a mixed group.I was surprised.

You're doing that deliberately now! :grr:

30-07-2019, 01:30 PM
No.Not me

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

30-07-2019, 01:31 PM
Woosh

30-07-2019, 01:33 PM
Woosh

A right proper whoosh in that case.

I considered that it might be deliberate, but I didn't think it could be and I'm still in the dark. :confused:

30-07-2019, 01:36 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;5864120]You're doing that deliberately now! :grr:[/QUOTE

Further posts will be in morse code..-

30-07-2019, 01:39 PM
You've been a member on here for over a decade.

You should really know better by now.

:faf: okay well maybe 'genuine rumour' was the wrong choice of phrase but you know what I mean :greengrin

30-07-2019, 01:41 PM

Perhaps if you're old, and that's not meant as a dig at posters, I'm just taking a guess it's probably an older crowd who find that sort of thing funny.

Barman Stanton
30-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Perhaps if you're old, and that's not meant as a dig at posters, I'm just taking a guess it's probably an older crowd who find that sort of thing funny.

I also have the same impression. But then I am 41 so should really be lapping it up :dunno:

30-07-2019, 01:47 PM
Dire stuff

King Cosell
30-07-2019, 01:51 PM
Jermaine Beckford?

Bury in all sorts of financial trouble. He's 35 now, but still banging them in.

30-07-2019, 01:52 PM
If you don't like puns, it's because you have a brain problem. :agree:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ye54NPc51Rc

30-07-2019, 01:55 PM
Talk from Hearts fans is that they are close to getting a guy in from Cardiff, can't recall ie his name. They are also discussing either Ledley or Morrison as well as the Cardiff boy. One guy who seems to be in the know reckons they will make a marquee signing by Friday but no news if that's Ledley or morrison.

Levein had dismissed the Morrison chat before.

Leitherhibs
30-07-2019, 01:58 PM
Jermaine Beckford?

Banging them in? 8 goals in last 2 seasons.

30-07-2019, 01:59 PM

That kind of thing can’t be trained unfortunately.

30-07-2019, 01:59 PM
Talk from Hearts fans is that they are close to getting a guy in from Cardiff, can't recall ie his name. They are also discussing either Ledley or Morrison as well as the Cardiff boy. One guy who seems to be in the know reckons they will make a marquee signing by Friday but no news if that's Ledley or morrison.

They misheard.

They are ordering a marquee. An actual marquee.

Budge is lining up a big bake sale on the piazza plaza but wants to make sure it doesn't get called off due to rain.

30-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Jermaine Beckford?

He played a total of 13 mins of football last season, scoring none...

30-07-2019, 02:02 PM

Hearts announce Marquee signing:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQJGokscOOMZyrgH56_pC71LpYpZZZNF 7dgcWbQr_qSnOfbpgOSfg

30-07-2019, 02:08 PM

Who’s Morrison?

30-07-2019, 02:10 PM
Who’s Morrison?

Someone undiscovered 👍

30-07-2019, 02:17 PM
Who’s Morrison?
James Morrison of West Brom perhaps?

30-07-2019, 02:20 PM

Eithor*

Read a book.

30-07-2019, 02:43 PM
James Morrison of West Brom perhaps?

Imagine Hertz will want that deal done early Doors.

30-07-2019, 02:47 PM

A genuine rumour is probably the last thing you will see on here. :greengrin

Whereas if you are looking for genuine puns, i know just where to look. :wink:

30-07-2019, 02:54 PM
Imagine Hertz will want that deal done early Doors.

Was somebody on here earlier saying that they don't find puns funny?

People are strange.

30-07-2019, 02:58 PM
[QUOTE=Smartie;5864210]Was somebody on here earlier saying that they don't find puns funny?

People are strange. The End.

Fixed that for you......

Wee Effen Bee
30-07-2019, 03:08 PM
[QUOTE=Smartie;5864210]Was somebody on here earlier saying that they don't find puns funny?

Fixed that for you......
Was it true that Handle collaborated with Ronnie Wood, Hinge and Bracket and formed the Doors?
I went into Virgin when I was younger and asked, “what have you got by the Doors?” The assistant said, “A bucket of sand and a fire blanket.”
And to keep everyone happy, I hear we are looking to sign Messi!

30-07-2019, 03:11 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;5864212]

Who would you drop for him?

I'm not saying my mother-in-law's fat.

30-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Was it true that Handle collaborated with Ronnie Wood, Hinge and Bracket and formed the Doors?
I went into Virgin when I was younger and asked, “what have you got by the Doors?” The assistant said, “A bucket of sand and a fire blanket.”
Well Handel did write Rinaldo - maybe he is an imminent signing?

30-07-2019, 03:12 PM
[QUOTE=Wee Effen Bee;5864220]

Everyone, he'd win the league by himself....

30-07-2019, 03:13 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;5864222]
Everyone, he'd win the league by himself....

:hyper

Wee Effen Bee
30-07-2019, 03:25 PM
[QUOTE=Wee Effen Bee;5864220]

I'm not saying my mother-in-law's fat.

Anyone he wanted us to! 😁

30-07-2019, 03:49 PM
It looks like the train puns haven’t signalled the end of the transfer thread after all.

30-07-2019, 04:01 PM

All Hibees together, but this suggests the folk who don't like puns are dense?
That'll go down well......

30-07-2019, 04:09 PM
High school isn’t on in the summer so the last laugh is on you.

He started high school last year, hence he doesnt find them funny this year

30-07-2019, 04:12 PM

Not this one, it is brutal and banal

30-07-2019, 04:12 PM
The manager has publicly announced that we aren't actively pursuing anyone else unless there is an unexpected change in events. It's fair to say that rumours have somewhat dried up since then, that's to be expected.

What is for certain is that if another potential signing pops up, someone will post it on here and we'll all be talking about transfers again, rather than debating the comical value of puns. These threads are rarely dull or off topic when a credible rumour is doing the rounds.

Here's hoping for another CM and/or a striker. 🤞

30-07-2019, 04:19 PM
The manager has publicly announced that we aren't actively pursuing anyone else unless there is an unexpected change in events. It's fair to say that rumours have somewhat dried up since then, that's to be expected.

What is for certain is that if another potential signing pops up, someone will post it on here and we'll all be talking about transfers again, rather than debating the comical value of puns. These threads are rarely dull or off topic when a credible rumour is doing the rounds.

Here's hoping for another CM and/or a striker. 🤞

I don't believe that the manager is telling the truth.

I believe we're still actively looking at players due to where the Hornby rumour came from.

30-07-2019, 04:29 PM
I don't believe that the manager is telling the truth.

I believe we're still actively looking at players due to where the Hornby rumour came from.

I agree with you on that point Speedway.

Strong wording from the manager, yet I think he was really suggesting we weren't in active talks with any players at that particular moment in time.

Turnbullsmate
30-07-2019, 05:01 PM

Fixed that for you......

Jim Morrison would have been the perfect fit as a hibby.... we got stuck with Fish :crazy:...lol in fairness i love the guy

30-07-2019, 05:02 PM

Jim Morrison would have been the perfect fit as a hibby.... we got stuck with Fish :crazy:...lol in fairness i love the guy

Me too. Easter Road is the plaice for him.

30-07-2019, 05:15 PM
[QUOTE=Turnballsmate;5864371]

Me too. Easter Road is the plaice for him.

Don't carp on about it.

davhibby
30-07-2019, 05:32 PM
Well we definitely need a winger in now

30-07-2019, 05:35 PM
Well with the news on Boyle I think our transfer business might be far from done.

30-07-2019, 05:38 PM
Need a winger a striker and a midfielder now

30-07-2019, 05:38 PM
Time for Ron to splash the cash to get a winger in.

30-07-2019, 05:42 PM
Need a winger a striker and a midfielder nowThat wont be happening...a winger on loan and a midfielder I hope that will be it I think

30-07-2019, 05:49 PM
That wont be happening...a winger on loan and a midfielder I hope that will be it I think

I’d take that

30-07-2019, 05:52 PM
I wonder if we'll take another look at the boy who scored against Newcastle U23s now.

30-07-2019, 05:54 PM
I wonder if we'll take another look at the boy who scored against Newcastle U23s now.

Hope not. But I'd take the Newcastle right winger on a loan!

30-07-2019, 06:03 PM
That wont be happening...a winger on loan and a midfielder I hope that will be it I think

We definitely need a winger now and I think we’re short up front. You could argue we have a good few in midfield but if we really are serious about challenging for third we need to back that claim up by having a better/ more complete squad. We shall see the level of ambition now that Boyle is out for months, I really hope they show some and bring more in. Gutted about Boyle 😕

Bob Box Fish
30-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Left back, centre mid , right winger and striker required if we want to push for top four this year IMO.

30-07-2019, 08:50 PM
Left back, centre mid , right winger and striker required if we want to push for top four this year IMO.

A left back would be a waste of money. Stevenson, Mackie, James , Hanlon and Whittaker in that order can all play or cover there.

30-07-2019, 08:51 PM

We're four players short if we want top 3 or 4 - absolutely no doubt about it. One thing we are lacking and one thing we need is searing pace up top. We don't have it. That's not based on tonight, just in general and always thought it. To have any ambition to finish higher than the last two seasons, beat the likes of Aberdeen and Hearts convincingly, we'll need to spend money.

30-07-2019, 08:55 PM
We're four players short if we want top 3 or 4 - absolutely no doubt about it. One thing we are lacking and one thing we need is searing pace up top. We don't have it. That's not based on tonight, just in general and always thought it. To have any ambition to finish higher than the last two seasons, beat the likes of Aberdeen and Hearts convincingly, we'll need to spend money.

Pace has been our Achilles heel got a while, Newcastle's pace when they attacked was different class to us.

30-07-2019, 08:55 PM
We need a defensive central midfielder, a winger and if funds allow, another striker.

30-07-2019, 08:56 PM
We need a defensive central midfielder, a winger and if funds allow, another striker.

Exactly how I see it.

30-07-2019, 09:01 PM

Yep, however will our new owner allow this to happen. Said he wanted to be best of the rest. Let's see if it will happen and we show more ambition.

RMQ1967
30-07-2019, 09:02 PM
[QUOTE=Speedway;5864374]

Don't carp on about it.

Hahahaha :)

30-07-2019, 09:03 PM
Yep, however will our new owner allow this to happen. Said he wanted to be best of the rest. Let's see if it will happen and we show more ambition.

Well he said he was happy with the budget in place so you’re going to be disappointed if you expect more money to be handed over

Rome wasn’t built in a day, PH said he wants to build the squad over 2 or 3 transfer windows

30-07-2019, 09:17 PM

Totally agree. Another striker is a must. Would be tempted to put Shaw on loan if we can get another one in

31-07-2019, 02:30 AM
Striker reported to be at training ground on Tuesday. Medical and signing today.

Hibernian32
31-07-2019, 02:35 AM
Striker reported to be at training ground on Tuesday. Medical and signing today.

Who? You canny leave me on a night shift guessing gees a clue ya dobber

31-07-2019, 05:43 AM
hopefully the return of JC lol

31-07-2019, 06:05 AM
Who? You canny leave me on a night shift guessing gees a clue ya dobber

I am trying to get the name but source wont divulge.

Souter96Mac
31-07-2019, 06:13 AM

I imagine it's Hornby.

Hibernian32
31-07-2019, 06:14 AM

Seems fair, I've got a feeling it could be Hornby

31-07-2019, 06:21 AM

Wonder if he was at the game last night!

31-07-2019, 06:28 AM
Is Hornby not just a name someone put out here on the MB? I’ve not seen anything else about him

31-07-2019, 06:28 AM
FWIW I think the Fraser Hornby thing was someone guessing as Everton have said he’s going out on loan and he’s a Scottish u21 player. Since then the rumour has grown arms and legs but I’m not convinced there’s anything in it.

I think we’ll be after a different kind of forward, someone fast that can play on the wings as well or a small penalty box striker to play off Doidge.

31-07-2019, 06:32 AM
Think it's a cert we'll bring someone in to cover Boyle

31-07-2019, 07:01 AM
Think it's a cert we'll bring someone in to cover Boyle

Having to now replace Boyle may mean cover for another position not being done. Hope not but suppose it depends on budget etc

31-07-2019, 07:05 AM
Is it Naismith?

31-07-2019, 07:44 AM
Is it Naismith?

I'd take Naismith in a second. Would be good cover until Boyle back.

The Leith Dutch
31-07-2019, 08:04 AM

Not saying I wouldn't take Naismith the player (can't stand him as an individual but a cracking player) but an odd use of budget surely?
Would give us superb depth in the striking positions with quite often 2 of Kamberi, Doidge and Naismith on the bench while leaving us light in other areas (Central midfielders and pacy wingers)

31-07-2019, 08:05 AM

Two injury prone players for the price of one?

31-07-2019, 08:14 AM
No way it's Naismith!

31-07-2019, 08:16 AM
No way it's Naismith!

I think that reply was tongue in cheek, it's not Naismith
I like the look of Hornby but would like something different someone who will buzz around Kamberi or Doidge

Souter96Mac
31-07-2019, 08:19 AM
Would take Brandon Barker back in a heartbeat. Still hasn't sorted a loan move yet, and doubt very much he'll be in the Citeh squad this season.

Greenworld
31-07-2019, 08:20 AM
Would take Brandon Barker back in a heartbeat. Still hasn't sorted a loan move yet, and doubt very much he'll be in the Citeh squad this season.Good shout

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Greenworld
31-07-2019, 08:23 AM
Is it Naismith?Would be funny but Hearts it is for him well for around 6 games then out for the season injured

Greenworld
31-07-2019, 08:25 AM
Still think another 2 players will come in most likely loan guys there will be plenty available shortly and there is no way Hibs have done all there business

31-07-2019, 08:28 AM
Would take Brandon Barker back in a heartbeat. Still hasn't sorted a loan move yet, and doubt very much he'll be in the Citeh squad this season.

I'd be absolutely delighted if BB were to return.

31-07-2019, 08:36 AM
I imagine it's Hornby.

Yes think he will be the next arrival.

31-07-2019, 08:41 AM
Naismith - his knees have gone and doubt he will play half the games for the yams this season.

Barker - Preston want him back but think City want a transfer fee.

A tricky winger with speed and another CM and possibly striker would be perfect.

31-07-2019, 08:51 AM
Wonder if the guy from city can play wide right and up front? If so then possibly sign him and a centre midfielder and we are good to go providing no departures

Souter96Mac
31-07-2019, 08:52 AM
Wonder if the guy from city can play wide right and up front? If so then possibly sign him and a centre midfielder and we are good to go providing no departures

Hornby is from Everton, and looks like he just plays upfront.

31-07-2019, 09:08 AM
Hornby is from Everton, and looks like he just plays upfront.

Think he meant Bristol City winger Jonny Smith who was training with us the other week

Also, it it just me that doesn’t really want Hornby? Untested at men’s football and is a target man which we already have. I’d rather a nippy, pacey, skilful striker than can add someone different and make something out of nothing.

My fear with Hornby is that he will look good at younger age groups because of his physicality, all of a sudden in men’s football he’s not so big.

31-07-2019, 09:10 AM
Think he meant Bristol City winger Jonny Smith who was training with us the other week

Also, it it just me that doesn’t really want Hornby? Untested at men’s football and is a target man which we already have. I’d rather a nippy, pacey, skilful striker than can add someone different and make something out of nothing.

My fear with Hornby is that he will look good at younger age groups because of his physicality, all of a sudden in men’s football he’s not so big.

👍

31-07-2019, 09:17 AM

I just hope we find a wide player with speed and who can dribble past a player plus has some sort of end product.

We need a Boyle replacement but these type of players are hard to find as lots of passers around and dribbling is a lost art.

31-07-2019, 09:19 AM

I thought he was just using training facilities as a courtesy.

31-07-2019, 09:22 AM

Smith was told he wasn’t getting a deal..even after scoring for U23s against Newcastle.

That was before Boyle injury.

The guy is rapid and would certainly add another dimension to us but not sure we will go back there.

Souter96Mac
31-07-2019, 09:43 AM

Ah right, apologies. I think we told that Smith a while back we are not offering him a deal.

31-07-2019, 09:52 AM

If you’re referyto Doidge as a target man then I get the feeling from articles and watching him that although tall and decent in air he is as quoted by pundits down south that he is more a poacher in the fox in the box style.

Does look to be particularly physical up against robust defenders but may develop that.

Similarly think Kamberi is far better with ball played into feet as well instead of playing as a target man.

However I’m sure Hecky will no better than all of us on here and I’ll trust his judgement.

From the limited amount I’ve seen of Hornsby he looks very powerful athletic and has a good strike on him

31-07-2019, 11:10 AM
Smith was told he wasn’t getting a deal..even after scoring for U23s against Newcastle.

That was before Boyle injury.

The guy is rapid and would certainly add another dimension to us but not sure we will go back there.
I watched that game against Newcastle under 23s( first half only ) and tbh the boy Smith done ok but didn’t look anything special and that’s playing against younger players.

31-07-2019, 11:33 AM

Oh well that explains everything....these damn sources

31-07-2019, 11:35 AM
Is the rumour that the new guy will be announced today?

31-07-2019, 11:48 AM
I have heard that there is a rumour.

31-07-2019, 11:49 AM
I have heard that there is a rumour.

Is that a rumour of a rumour or an actual factual rumour?

31-07-2019, 11:50 AM

Yes

31-07-2019, 11:53 AM

Heard in Middleton's last night that announced today.

31-07-2019, 12:00 PM
We still have a month until the end of the window.

It’s almost certain that went English transfer window closes in 10 days or so this will release opportunities for players to go on loan to clubs like ourselves.

Despite what some think we don’t need 5 players and Hecky has confirmed this. We might get 1-2 more players. We have time.