View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
Chefki Kuqi
18-08-2019, 11:31 AM
I wouldn’t blame Flo if he wanted to go, would personally hold out for higher than £2 million as we don’t need to sell but if we do I’d like to see us try and acquire that Hornby on a loan with option to buy, then possibly make a move for Middleton too if he’s good. Both saleable assets in the future one would imagine.
gegs70
18-08-2019, 11:31 AM
I agree, the loss of physicality in midfield is worrying, its putting defence under pressure as teams get free rein to run at the back four. Have seen no evidence that vela, slivka or mallon can win the ball in midfield.
Totally I think if he doesn't bring in 1-2 decent midfielders we could be up sh*t creek. The only other thing is to push Jackson into midfield and take vela out?
18-08-2019, 11:35 AM
Flo’s decision making has been much better this year as well, instead of taking the ball in with back to goal and trying to turn every time he has been trying a lot of flicks and dummies and also playing the ball back to oncoming midfielders then spinning off... these little adjustments to his game have made a huge difference, and the crowd have less to moan at die to this.
Flo is definitely a player who takes the crowds criticism to heart and it affects his game and his confidence. A confident Flo is a game winning Flo and as much as I would love a cash injection like £2M I’m not sure we would replace him well enough right now.
Whoever started the rumour about Basel done us a favour cos it got Flo up for it and back to what we saw when he first came in. Yes there have been signs of improvement prior to this week but there has also been prior speculation that he might be available and he is in the shop window.
Can we start a similar rumour every week please. Would be worth Hibs paying for a different visiting scout to come and sit in the stand each week if it keeps Flo on form.
18-08-2019, 11:36 AM
push Jackson into midfield and take vela out?
Let’s not
18-08-2019, 11:36 AM
Kyle Lafferty anyone?
Yes. I'd take him, he can score goals and would improve us up front.
Here’s Lucy!
18-08-2019, 11:38 AM
Kyle Lafferty anyone?
Holy mother of God! No.
18-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Hearts who got beat by Aberdeen and drew with Ross County at home? Aberdeen who got beat by St Mirren?
Both of them are strong enough to be top six.
18-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Yes. I'd take him, he can score goals and would improve us up front.
I would rather have Flo’.
18-08-2019, 11:42 AM
I would rather have Flo’.
Him and Flo together?
Barman Stanton
18-08-2019, 11:44 AM
Both of them are strong enough to be top six.
I totally agree. As are we.
18-08-2019, 11:47 AM
Him and Flo together?
I really, really couldn’t see that working for a whole lot of reasons.
Lafferty could actually work alright with Doidge but again I would rather keep Flo’.
gegs70
18-08-2019, 03:18 PM
Let’s not
Got to be a better combination than what's currently on show!
18-08-2019, 03:23 PM
I'd take Lafferty in a heartbeat. He knows how to score at this level. Mad how people would want Jason Cummings but not Lafferty.
18-08-2019, 03:28 PM
I'd take Lafferty in a heartbeat. He knows how to score at this level. Mad how people would want Jason Cummings but not Lafferty.Cummings is a club legend
lafferty is a bigoted prick.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
18-08-2019, 03:41 PM
Lafferty has turned down Kilmarnock. Sign the **** out of him, don't care what he's done before.
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 03:56 PM
That would probably be just about the most divisive signing we could make. Not what we need right now
Wouldn't go anywhere near ER if that horrible ******* joined us.
18-08-2019, 03:58 PM
Lafferty? My god no, he's the antithesis of everything I love about Hibs. An odious, bigoted Neanderthal
with a very limited shelf life.
It's not the Rangers/Hearts thing, I'm more than happy we have Middleton; Lafferty is another thing altogether.
Just gonny no, Hibs. Really hoping this is just another random piece of bxllxcks from someone who's completely
NITN.
Saint Hibee
18-08-2019, 03:58 PM
Why is everyone rating Lafferty all of a sudden? He really isn’t very good.
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:03 PM
Lafferty? My god no, he's the antithesis of everything I love about Hibs. An odious, bigoted Neanderthal
with a very limited shelf life.
It's not the Rangers/Hearts thing, I'm more than happy we have Middleton; Lafferty is another thing altogether.
Just gonny no, Hibs. Really hoping this is just another random piece of bxllxcks from someone who's completely
NITN.
Excellent post 👏👏👏
Barman Stanton
18-08-2019, 04:09 PM
You would stop going to watch Hibs cause we signed someone you didn’t like? Sorry, I just don’t understand that at all.
Would you celebrate if he signed and scored the winner v Hearts?
18-08-2019, 04:24 PM
You would stop going to watch Hibs cause we signed someone you didn’t like? Sorry, I just don’t understand that at all.
Would you celebrate if he signed and scored the winner v Hearts?
He wouldn't be there to celebrate tbh
18-08-2019, 04:25 PM
Strange. You'd stop going because we signed a quality striker?
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:26 PM
I've been a Hibs supporter for over 50 years mate, and would not buy my season ticket if they signed a bigot like KL.
I really detest that horrible ******* and all he stands for.
As for your second question ?
It would be a big no.
18-08-2019, 04:28 PM
I've been a Hibs supporter for over 50 years mate, and would not buy my season ticket if they signed a bigot like KL.
It would be a big no.
Thats up to you but I find that bizarre. You'd stop going to see Hibs altogether because of 1 player. :crazy:
18-08-2019, 04:28 PM
TBF he got the date of our Scottish Cup win tattooed on him, he must be desperate to impress :greengrin
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:30 PM
Strange. You'd stop going because we signed a quality striker?
I don't rate him as a player,
never mind quality striker.
18-08-2019, 04:31 PM
It would be a big no.
A protestant that was married to a catholic yet he is a bigot?
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:34 PM
Thats up to you but I find that bizarre. You'd stop going to see Hibs altogether because of 1 player. :crazy:
It called having principles mate!
Without them you're nothing.
18-08-2019, 04:36 PM
It would be a big no.
I've stopped going for less reasons but I dont wish to bring up the A. Miller times once more, if he had a Hibs top on and scored goals then I wouldnie give a ****. We need better than we have as a strike force.outwith Flo and who knows if he'll go or not. Hibs get offered cash for him you know well what our record is like wi that.
18-08-2019, 04:37 PM
All good stuff but never go to court on principles.
Saint Hibee
18-08-2019, 04:39 PM
He is not a quality striker. 4 in 19 for the Huns.
18-08-2019, 04:39 PM
I’d rather Lafferty over Cummings not popular but he’s got quality regardless of being a ****
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:40 PM
Was? " say's it all " really.
Red hand salute to away fan's just the type of player we need.🙄
18-08-2019, 04:41 PM
I’d rather Lafferty over Cummings not popular but he’s got quality regardless of being a ****
Makes no difference we have no money left, the budget is gone, nothing left in the tin.
18-08-2019, 04:41 PM
He is not a quality striker. 4 in 19 for the Huns.
Banged them in for Hearts. Was always worried about him in derbys
18-08-2019, 04:48 PM
Exactly. He is an erse but hardly a bigot.
18-08-2019, 04:51 PM
Was? " say's it all " really.
Red hand salute to away fan's just the type of player we need.🙄
What does it say?
I'm sure it was against celtic. Of course he should not have done it but he done it knowing it would wind them up, I dunno if the guy is a bigot or not but it's a strong accusation to make based on that one thing, pretty sure one of our best ever forwards was done for homophobic abuse, would you have stopped going if we had signed him again?
18-08-2019, 04:51 PM
Is loyalty one of your principles?
18-08-2019, 04:53 PM
Why are we debating Lafferty? I don't think it's a genuine rumour.
18-08-2019, 04:54 PM
Probably based on us trying to sign him previously and him now being a free agent
18-08-2019, 04:56 PM
Tbf to Lafferty he gave us a great laugh when he bragged on twitter about how he was going to score the winner at easter road for hearts before simon murray shut him up after 3 minutes on the night.
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:58 PM
Is loyalty one of your principles?
To the right cause absolutely !
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 04:59 PM
What does it say?
I'm sure it was against celtic. Of course he should not have done it but he done it knowing it would wind them up, I dunno if the guy is a bigot or not but it's a strong accusation to make based on that one thing, pretty sure one of our best ever forwards was done for homophobic abuse, would you have stopped going if we had signed him again?
Read your post again !
18-08-2019, 04:59 PM
To the right cause absolutely !
So Hibs aren't the right cause? or are you only loyal to your perfect idea of Hibs?
18-08-2019, 05:01 PM
Read your post again !
Again what does it matter if he is divorced and again I dunno if he is a bigot or not, as someone else said, he is definitely an erse and that proved it but possibly not a bigot?. You clearly know him though to be saying this about him so I'll take your word for it
Torto7
18-08-2019, 05:07 PM
Lafferty-no thanks. He's pish and he already turned us down to join that other mob.
Not to mention he's a bigot. He's a Rangers fan after all that's all the proof you need.
18-08-2019, 05:10 PM
...... an unprincipled bigot at that.
timewilltell
18-08-2019, 05:10 PM
Lafferty-no thanks. He's pish and he already turned us down to join that other mob.
Not to mention he's a bigot. He's a Rangers fan after all that's all the proof you need.
Very thoughtful...
18-08-2019, 05:11 PM
Absolutely no way I want Lafferty anywhere near this club.
Barman Stanton
18-08-2019, 05:12 PM
I couldn’t care less who a player played for or what his religious leanings are. If he plays for Hibs he will get my support.
Imagine not celebrating a goal against Hearts cause you don’t like the player. Some of our support are just f***** weird!
Torto7
18-08-2019, 05:17 PM
Very thoughtful...
Alright I'll be thoughtful. Lafferty if he was with us would be utterly toxic. Can you really see him fighting for the shirt if the chips are down? Do you think the fans might single him out if we go on a bad run?
He's not worth it, way too much risk. It wouldn't do him any good either if it turned sour.
Plus he's pish and a bigot.:na na:
18-08-2019, 05:19 PM
Lafferty coming here and scoring goals against Hearts would send kickback into meltdown.
He'd be a gamble though, he's got a lot of baggage.
18-08-2019, 05:19 PM
I couldn’t care less who a player played for or what his religious leanings are. If he plays for Hibs he will get my support.
Imagine not celebrating a goal against Hearts cause you don’t like the player. Some of our support are just f***** weird!
:agree: Rangers-esque.
18-08-2019, 05:33 PM
Celtic minded folk would be bothered. I would only care if it meant because we sold Flo’.
Victor
18-08-2019, 05:33 PM
...... an unprincipled bigot at that.
[emoji16]
18-08-2019, 05:34 PM
Lafferty coming here and scoring goals against Hearts would send kickback into meltdown.
He'd be a gamble though, he's got a lot of baggage.
The guy would bless himself too :greengrin
18-08-2019, 05:35 PM
Neil Lennon fan club would combust if it’s more.
18-08-2019, 05:37 PM
Celtic minded folk would be bothered. I would only care if it meant because we sold Flo’.
Hopefully we arent in that position in a few weeks time as I think flo will be a big player for us this season
18-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Was married to a Catholic? Understandable that he couldn’t help himself. Maybe he got out before he got the old Bobby McKean.
18-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Just because he parked his Bentley over three disabled bays at a supermarket carpark and sent pictures of his knob to a young woman when his wife was about to give birth.................. does that seriously make him someone who Hibs fans couldn't admire?
Dublin07
18-08-2019, 05:44 PM
50 k ? have you seen the contract. Total guesswork
It was reported last season his contract allowed either party to terminate with 3 months notice. The 50k is a guess based on that might not even be as much as that.
Tbf to Lafferty he gave us a great laugh when he bragged on twitter about how he was going to score the winner at easter road for hearts before simon murray shut him up after 3 minutes on the night.
Can we get Simon back , rather have him than Lafferty.
18-08-2019, 06:21 PM
Best part of Simon Murray’s goal that night was his nutmeg on Soapy Soutar in the build up shortly before hammering the ball into the roof of the Jambo net!
18-08-2019, 06:26 PM
Because he's potentially a really good player in the right system and they have scouts who are smart enough to realise this.
Agree
18-08-2019, 06:45 PM
Just because he parked his Bentley over three disabled bays at a supermarket carpark and sent pictures of his knob to a young woman when his wife was about to give birth.................. does that seriously make him someone who Hibs fans couldn't admire?
Dunno. Was it a big knob?
18-08-2019, 10:00 PM
Dunno. Was it a big knob?
according to some it was and it’s named Kyle Lafferty. 😉
SON OF PADDY
18-08-2019, 10:36 PM
according to some it was and it’s named Kyle Lafferty. 😉
👏👏👏👏
19-08-2019, 06:50 AM
[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
Some would say Stokes was a bigot, did you feel the same when he was joining or scoring goals in a cup final?
[emoji102]
19-08-2019, 06:54 AM
Do folk not remember Lafferty was meant to turn up to meet Lennon but never even showed.
I would rather we play a youngster than sign him. The guy can’t stand us.
Anyway - any defensive midfielder rumours ?
Greenworld
19-08-2019, 07:19 AM
Do folk not remember Lafferty was meant to turn up to meet Lennon but never even showed.
I would rather we play a youngster than sign him. The guy can’t stand us.
Anyway - any defensive midfielder rumours ?That was funny his agents showed up but he never .
Yup we need a playmaker deep midfielder first and foremost .
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
HibbySpurs
19-08-2019, 07:26 AM
Some would say Stokes was a bigot, did you feel the same when he was joining or scoring goals in a cup final?
[emoji102]
My concern about Lafferty wouldn’t be so much his ability as I’m sure he’d score goals but much like Stokes I’d be concerned that he’d be a disruptive and bad influence on other players within the squad.
MacGruber
19-08-2019, 07:28 AM
Question - if we still had Bartley or Milligan just now on top of who we have and we were playing Hearts next week - or any tough away game, would you play one of them at the expense of someone we have brought in/still have on the books?
If the answer is yes and we aren't bringing anyone else in it has been a balls up
19-08-2019, 07:38 AM
Question - if we still had Bartley or Milligan just now on top of who we have and we were playing Hearts next week - or any tough away game, would you play one of them at the expense of someone we have brought in/still have on the books?
If the answer is yes and we aren't bringing anyone else in it has been a balls up
We played plenty tough games without bartley and Milligan and won them, DM isnt the most important role on the park
19-08-2019, 07:43 AM
That was funny his agents showed up but he never .
He had a good laugh at us 2 years ago. I wanted him at the time but now? Fool me once and all that
SON OF PADDY
19-08-2019, 07:50 AM
[emoji102]
News to me!
Can't say I've seen anything to back up you're post?
19-08-2019, 08:04 AM
News to me!
Can't say I've seen anything to back up you're post?
Thread is going off track again but it's seriously news to you that stokes has never had any issues due to his pals in the IRA?
19-08-2019, 08:07 AM
Stokes dad is an IRA sympathiser. Sure Anthony was caught up in it too. Add to the assault on the Elvis impersonator, the cheating and getting himself sacked from Hibs he was far from an angel.
Remember the "Stokeys da" song sung by a few clowns?
19-08-2019, 08:15 AM
Thread is going off track again but it's seriously news to you that stokes has never had any issues due to his pals in the IRA?
Being a republican doesn’t make you a bigot though..(republicanism is not a religious thing ). which the poster was asking about ....
19-08-2019, 08:27 AM
Being a republican doesn’t make you a bigot though..(republicanism is not a religious thing ). which the poster was asking about ....
Yes I know, but he was slating lafferty for something very similar and stated he would not watch hibs with someone like that at the club, hence the stokes comparison
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2019, 08:28 AM
We played plenty tough games without bartley and Milligan and won them, DM isnt the most important role on the park
I agree that there's probably too much focus on DM but that said I don't think we have the right players in right now midfield wise.
We're heavy on attacking players that aren't strikers and very light on proper Centre mids - DMs or otherwise.
Right now I'd be playing Vela and Slivka in every team not necessarily because I like the players but because they're the only two senior centre mids we have and I think we need two to give the platform for the rest of the team to play.
MacGruber
19-08-2019, 08:30 AM
No. But it is a role and one we are short of options for.
If you were putting an 11 out though as per the question, would you include Bartley or Milligan.. or would you go with one of the combinations we have - Vela, Allan, Mallan, Slivka etc. Just genuinely interested
19-08-2019, 08:32 AM
If you were putting an 11 out though as per the question, would you include Bartley or Milligan.. or would you go with one of the combinations we have - Vela, Allan, Mallan, Slivka etc. Just genuinely interested
I would personally go for the latter to start the game and if we were needing to shore up towards the end I'd bring on a more defensive midfielder
19-08-2019, 08:37 AM
You weren’t asking me but I would play Milligan or Bartley just now.
A DM, Vela and Allan would be a decent midfield and have a good balance to it IMO.
19-08-2019, 08:39 AM
We didn't have to play with a defensive mid with SJM and McGeough because they had an understanding. I think Vela and Slivka could develop that.
19-08-2019, 08:40 AM
That was funny his agents showed up but he never .
Think Vela is that man .Spraying the ball about like Beckenbauer on Saturday.
19-08-2019, 08:44 AM
We didn't have to play with a defensive mid with SJM and McGeough because they had an understanding. I think Vela and Slivka could develop that.
Slivka isn’t good enough to be a first pick and never will be IMO. We have bigger problems than Slivka in terms of midfield balance, but don’t think I’d particularly notice if Slivka was to leave.
It's not necessarily a tough tackling DM we need, our best midfield in recent years was Dylan, McGinn and Allan, not a DM in sight, it's the balance that's needed.
19-08-2019, 09:41 AM
It's not necessarily a tough tackling DM we need, our best midfield in recent years was Dylan, McGinn and Allan, not a DM in sight, it's the balance that's needed.
To turn draws into wins we need some physicality in the midfield area to either break up play and start attacks or defend a narrow lead - someone with energy too. For me we are a striker short and a midfielder. The goals we are losing are all coming from losing easy possession and wide areas.........the space we are allowing centrally is unbelievable at present, much of that to do with no pressing the opponents.
19-08-2019, 09:51 AM
True, however SJM was like an extra three players in the midfield for us. How often are Hibs going to have the luxury of a player of his level?
MacGruber
19-08-2019, 09:57 AM
I would personally go for the latter to start the game and if we were needing to shore up towards the end I'd bring on a more defensive midfielder
Fair enough. Personally I would start Bartley with what we have just now though each to their own
MacGruber
19-08-2019, 10:02 AM
You weren’t asking me but I would play Milligan or Bartley just now.
A DM, Vela and Allan would be a decent midfield and have a good balance to it IMO.
It was an open question to basically see if the consensus was that we were too quick to get rid, or if it was right time to move them have we failed to adequately replace.
I agree with you though, I would go with a DM and Allan with either Vela or Mallan.
We got results without a DM with McGinn, McGeough and Allan however McGinn gave us plenty strength,drive, ball winning, defensive cover aswell as his other qualities
19-08-2019, 10:10 AM
Milligan would have been ideal in this team. I'm lead to believe he was on a very high wage which is we let him go.
#2 Double Tap
19-08-2019, 10:16 AM
Milligan would have been ideal in this team. I'm lead to believe he was on a very high wage which is we let him go.
milligan was rubbish, players just glided past him regularly.......much the same as mallan at ibrox......
Chefki Kuqi
19-08-2019, 10:19 AM
Milligan was good but if he was one of our higher earners then he didn’t quite justify it. Obviously we’re not fully sure on our midfield since then but I believe we were right to look for someone either cheaper or who would justify those wages.
MagicSwirlingShip
19-08-2019, 10:20 AM
milligan was rubbish, players just glided past him regularly.......much the same as mallan at ibrox......
Preferred him as a CB. Turned far too slow to be an effective midfielder in my opinion.
19-08-2019, 10:21 AM
If you analyse the goals conceded when Heckingbottom came in, Milligan played a part in most of them :agree: couldn't press, head, or tackle once a game got beyond 60 minutes. A definite case of 'legs gone' :agree: same with Marvin who as much as I love him became a liability even when he came on and had cameo appearances.We need younger, fitter and stronger in that area of midfield.
19-08-2019, 10:34 AM
According to the EEN Kamberi doesn't seem too bothered by the Basel interest.
19-08-2019, 10:42 AM
According to the EEN Kamberi doesn't seem too bothered by the Basel interest.
Alternatively, it’s spun elsewhere that the interest is driving him on. I can’t see him going so late in the window.
Chefki Kuqi
19-08-2019, 10:47 AM
Alternatively, it’s spun elsewhere that the interest is driving him on. I can’t see him going so late in the window.
He’s a good lad I think, may want to fulfil on the promise he had when signing for us before moving on.
DMH0762
19-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Some bright innovative poster, (apologies, can't remember whom), thinking outside the envelope suggested Lewie as a DM and investing in a young upcoming LB.
One thing for sure, Lewie would not be found wanting for lack of effort and also enjoys his forays forward when given the chance.
Thought it was an intriguing idea .
19-08-2019, 10:52 AM
He’s a good lad I think, may want to fulfil on the promise he had when signing for us before moving on.
Hope so mate. If so we’ve done our job and he’s done his.
Edinburgh Green
19-08-2019, 10:54 AM
If you analyse the goals conceded when Heckingbottom came in, Milligan played a part in most of them :agree: couldn't press, head, or tackle once a game got beyond 60 minutes. A definite case of 'legs gone' :agree: same with Marvin who as much as I love him became a liability even when he came on and had cameo appearances.We need younger, fitter and stronger in that area of midfield.
I like the look of Alan Campbell at Motherwell, a wee terrier in midfield that can use the ball.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 11:27 AM
Some bright innovative poster, (apologies, can't remember whom), thinking outside the envelope suggested Lewie as a DM and investing in a young upcoming LB.
One thing for sure, Lewie would not be found wanting for lack of effort and also enjoys his forays forward when given the chance.
I could see that actually. He was decent in Midfield under Collins. Getting a LB to replace him would be more the problem.
19-08-2019, 11:30 AM
I like the look of Alan Campbell at Motherwell, a wee terrier in midfield that can use the ball.
Yep agreed. Fits the mould of signing young Scottish players already with decent experience but with the potential to improve/develop and with sell on value.
The type if fee demanded from Motherwell would probably be prohibitive (unless nearing the end of his contract?).
19-08-2019, 11:31 AM
Once these guys have broken into a top
League first team ..it usually puts them outside our affordability....
19-08-2019, 11:49 AM
I could see that actually. He was decent in Midfield under Collins. Getting a LB to replace him would be more the problem.
He was mediocre in midfield under anyone and couldn't pass the ball longer than 10 yards, hence why he became our left back.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:06 PM
He was mediocre in midfield under anyone and couldn't pass the ball longer than 10 yards, hence why he became our left back.
So mediocre he got man of the match in the League Cup final as kid (although I think Benji was the man of the match). Totally disagree with you.
19-08-2019, 12:08 PM
So mediocre he got man of the match in the League Cup final as kid (although I think Benji was the man of the match). Totally disagree with you.
Ross Chisholm ended up taking his position in the middle of the park. One good game didn’t make him great in the role.
Torto7
19-08-2019, 12:13 PM
That would be me.:greengrin:wink:
Lewis is a superior footballer to Shinnie whilst having the same energy and tenacity. Vela/Lewis with Allan in front could be intriguing in the bigger games. We could move Hanlon to left back in the interim as we're done in the transfer market apparently.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:17 PM
Ross Chisholm ended up taking his position in the middle of the park. One good game didn’t make him great in the role.
I didnt think it was one good game though. Thought he looked decent in midfield when coming through.
Torto7
19-08-2019, 12:19 PM
I didnt think it was one good game though. Thought he looked decent in midfield when coming through.
He's also older now and a far better player. He struggled at left back plenty early on as well. I still remember the abuse he used to take.:crazy:
19-08-2019, 12:21 PM
Lewis is a superior footballer to Shinnie whilst having the same energy and tenacity. Vela/Lewis with Allan in front could be intriguing in the bigger games. We could move Hanlon to left back in the interim as we're done in the transfer market apparently.
I'm not sure Paul Hanlon would want to be our left back - not sure he's got the legs for that at Prem level
I think you're undr-rating Shinnie in your post fwiw - he was annoying and all the rest, but he could play in there, no doubt
I think Lewis is a really effective LB for us
I don't think Defensive Mid is a position he'd do well at over the course of a season though - not a criticism just a viewpoint, that I think LB is Lewie's natural position.
19-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Lewis is my favourite modern day Hibs player...love the guy ...he is not superior to Shinnie though ...that’s taking it a little far ...
19-08-2019, 12:23 PM
He's also older now and a far better player. He struggled at left back plenty early on as well. I still remember the abuse he used to take.:crazy:
The threads on here were disgraceful.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:24 PM
Yeah, he should actually have all the attributes needed for a CDM. He is good in the tackle, strong enough, can pass and has a great engine.
And yeah, well some are just not happy unless they are putting someone else down huh.
19-08-2019, 12:31 PM
I know it was during one of our less successful spells but was he not POTY for us during at least one season when he was playing there?
I always liked Lewis in central midfield, although I thought shunting him about from position to position did him no favours and he has played his best and most consistent football when he's been allowed to establish himself as first choice left back.
One thing is for sure though, and you referred to it in an above post - he has the attributes our midfield is absolutely screaming out for at the minute, as well as experience of playing at this level for our club in the past.
The biggest argument against it is the amount we'd miss him at left back.
Torto7
19-08-2019, 12:34 PM
I'm not sure Paul Hanlon would want to be our left back - not sure he's got the legs for that at Prem level
I think you're undr-rating Shinnie in your post fwiw - he was annoying and all the rest, but he could play in there, no doubt
I think Lewis is a really effective LB for us
I don't think Defensive Mid is a position he'd do well at over the course of a season though - not a criticism just a viewpoint, that I think LB is Lewie's natural position.
If I'm being honest I don't want Paul at centre half anymore. Porteous is better already and will become even better with more experience. I think Paul becomes skittish if he gets rattled during a game. I wouldn't be proposing him at left back for long.
Yeah the Shinnie comment was a little tongue in cheek.
Fair enough mate, I only really suggested it because it doesn't look like we're bringing anyone else in.
19-08-2019, 12:34 PM
He looked very promising but that’s where it stopped. When we lost Brown and Mikey Stewart he looked lost the previous season.
19-08-2019, 12:36 PM
Lewis in midfield I reckon would work, he's got the ability and brain to play there, however not until we had a left back good enough to replace him, and definitely not if it meant Hanlon playing in there. I know he played as a left back early in his career but he's a centre back now and any time he's had to cover as a left back he's shown that's not a position suited to his abilities.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:41 PM
He looked very promising but that’s where it stopped. When we lost Brown and Mikey Stewart he looked lost the previous season.
So not just 1 good game then? As has been said, he didnt exactly shine initially in LB. He was originally in a midfield with Scott Brown, Beuzelin, Stewart, Sproule, Zemmama etc. Im sure most youngsters would struggle when they start to lose those players around him.
Regardless all I said was he looked 'decent' in midfield, didn't call him a world beater or anything.
paddy1875
19-08-2019, 12:42 PM
Lewis is the first choice left back when fit at the club just now.
People wanting him to be moved into midfield are wanting to upset a very suspect defence at the minute.
Bring in a defensive midfielder to play in the team is the best and more sensible option. Everyone is bricking it at the minute because we look terrible defensively are wanting to move Lewis into a different position yet again are forgetting the amount of times the wee man has passed from position to position in the past.
He’s done very well at left back for a good few years now and that’s where he plays when fit for me.
DMH0762
19-08-2019, 12:45 PM
So not just 1 good game then? As has been said, he didnt exactly shine initially in LB. He was originally in a midfield with Scott Brown, Beuzelin, Stewart, Sproule, Zemmama etc. Im sure most youngsters would struggle when they start to lose those players around him.
Regardless all I said was he looked 'decent' in midfield, didn't call him a world beater or anything. Honestly, some people on here are constantly on their periods or something :dunno:
Oh Dear !!! Brace yourself BS mate
19-08-2019, 12:46 PM
Regardless all I said was he looked 'decent' in midfield, didn't call him a world beater or anything. Honestly, some people on here are constantly on their periods or something :dunno:
Calm down mate, I only said he wasn’t that good and got replaced by Ross Chisholm, he had one great game in that final then was generally poor once the gloss of the promising youngster failed to deliver. I don’t think it would be appropriate at all to put him in centre midfield because if he does it will be an admittance that we’ve failed to address the issue this window.
Lewis does a fine job at left back, keep him there. The defence is already all over the shop without taking his stability away.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:47 PM
Oh Dear !!! Brace yourself BS mate
Haha, its true though. Never seen such a collection of misserable b*****s in my life than on this forum :faf: I say one of our legends looked 'decent' in a different position and its jumped upon lol.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:49 PM
Calm down mate, I only said he wasn’t that good and got replaced by Ross Chisholm, he had one great game in that final then was generally poor once the gloss of the promising youngster failed to deliver. I don’t think it would be appropriate at all to put him in centre midfield because if he does it will be an admittance that we’ve failed to address the issue this window.
Lewis does a fine job at left back, keep him there. The defence is already all over the shop without taking his stability away.
Im perfectly calm man. I do also agree about not moving him as I think we would struggle to replace him. But I think he would easily do a 'decent' job as a CDM :agree:
19-08-2019, 12:50 PM
Haha, its true though. Never seen such a collection of misserable b*****s in my life than on this forum :faf: I say one of our legends looked 'decent' in a different position and its jumped upon lol.
What’s him being a legend got to do with anything? There’s a reason he plays left back now. You suggested he be moved in midfield, it’s not “jumped on” at all, the merit is being discussed.
19-08-2019, 12:50 PM
Im perfectly calm man. I do also agree about not moving him as I think we would struggle to replace him. But I think he would easily do a 'decent' job as a CDM :agree:
Fair enough, I beg to differ but it’s all good 👍
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 12:51 PM
What’s him being a legend got to do with anything? There’s a reason he plays left back now. You suggested he be moved in midfield, it’s not “jumped on” at all, the merit is being discussed.
No I didnt suggest it at all. I merely agreed he could work there as I feel he has all the attributes to do so. Never once suggested moving him there.
19-08-2019, 12:59 PM
Greg Docherty been told he can leave Rangers, I would love if we could somehow afford him.
19-08-2019, 01:00 PM
No I didnt suggest it at all. I merely agreed he could work there as I feel he has all the attributes to do so. Never once suggested moving him there.
Cool, sorry 👍
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 01:00 PM
Cool, sorry 👍
All good mate :cool2:
He played left midfield in front of Murphy and covered for him when Murphy bombed forward, he also did this when McGivern was here, hence why he slipped into LB easily.
19-08-2019, 01:08 PM
Lewis is the first choice left back when fit at the club just now.
People wanting him to be moved into midfield are wanting to upset a very suspect defence at the minute.
Bring in a defensive midfielder to play in the team is the best and more sensible option. Everyone is bricking it at the minute because we look terrible defensively are wanting to move Lewis into a different position yet again are forgetting the amount of times the wee man has passed from position to position in the past.
He’s done very well at left back for a good few years now and that’s where he plays when fit for me.
Or maybe people are trying to come up with ways to help provide some protection for a defence that should be more than good enough but is currently being exposed?
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 01:13 PM
At least most seem to agree we need a more defensive minded midfielder in the squad. We shouldnt have let Bartley go until we had an alternative. He was great to have in the squad for games against Hearts, Celtic etc. Im surprised we have not went for a plan B after losing out on Ojo (dont think Vela is the same kind of player at all).
Torto7
19-08-2019, 01:15 PM
Or maybe people are trying to come up with ways to help provide some protection for a defence that should be more than good enough but is currently being exposed?
That was my line of thinking. If we can't bring someone in he could give us an option there.
19-08-2019, 01:19 PM
Greg Docherty been told he can leave Rangers, I would love if we could somehow afford him.
If true we should be pushing the boat out.
Nearest we’ll get to McGinn.
Is it allowed out on loan or for sale
Edinburgh Green
19-08-2019, 01:20 PM
Where are you seeing that? I'd take him in a second.
19-08-2019, 01:23 PM
Where are you seeing that? I'd take him in a second.
All I can see is he is dropped from Europa league squad and one tweed from Huddersfield afc saying he is going on loan to Sunderland
paddy1875
19-08-2019, 01:27 PM
More than good enough?
Maybe they are, maybe they’re not. But moving an established left back into midfield doesn’t fill me with confidence either. Lewis started in there and eventually moved because he wasn’t good enough. He’s older and wiser now but he’s also maybe not got what it takes to cover all the space for a very top heavy midfield.
Given he’s been out injured since the end of last season and had his first competitive 120 mins on Saturday. Do you think it’s worthy of putting him into a DM position? A position that requires a lot more tackling and arguably cover more ground?
Lewis has been fortunate enough to not have picked up many injuries through his time with us. But I wouldn’t want to put him in a position where he been dragged out of a position that he’s made his own over the years to putting in a harder graft for a manager that’s failed to recognise a key position that’s not been addressed.
I think we’ll see another midfielder come into the club anyway so I think this chatter will be forgotten soon enough. But I’m just giving my own opinion of course.
19-08-2019, 01:33 PM
I don’t think we need someone who can do a decent job. We need someone in there who is really going to make a difference.
I think we need to be setting our expectations higher than playing someone out of position, even if they might do a job.
19-08-2019, 01:36 PM
More than good enough?
Maybe they are, maybe they’re not. But moving an established left back into midfield doesn’t fill me with confidence either. Lewis started in there and eventually moved because he wasn’t good enough. He’s older and wiser now but he’s also maybe not got what it takes to cover all the space for a very top heavy midfield.
Given he’s been out injured since the end of last season and had his first competitive 120 mins on Saturday. Do you think it’s worthy of putting him into a DM position? A position that requires a lot more tackling and arguably cover more ground?
Lewis has been fortunate enough to not have picked up many injuries through his time with us. But I wouldn’t want to put him in a position where he been dragged out of a position that he’s made his own over the years to putting in a harder graft for a manager that’s failed to recognise a key position that’s not been addressed.
I think we’ll see another midfielder come into the club anyway so I think this chatter will be forgotten soon enough. But I’m just giving my own opinion of course.
I think we need to add a defensive midfielder to the squad. I had a bit of a vent the other night after Heckingbottom announced our business was done as I think that we are badly deficient in that area and it needs to be addressed, and addressed with an addition to the squad.
If what he said was true and we're going with what we have then it is more just a case that we might fix a glaring problem by using Lewis there. I'd rather keep him at left back, a position he has played well for a number of years now but if we were to bring nobody else in and we were to continue to struggle defensively in the middle of the park then I don't think it would be long before we were trying to play him there.
The biggest argument against moving Lewis is that it would potentially give us a problem at left back, a position that has been a strength of ours for a few years with Lewis playing there to a very high standard.
I think we agree really. :wink:
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 01:37 PM
I don’t think we need someone who can do a decent job. We need someone in there who is really going to make a difference.
I think we need to be setting our expectations higher than playing someone out of position, even if they might do a job.
I don't disagree. I think most just see it as a problem postion in the squad. And people are thinking outside the box. If Hecky is to be believed, we have no budget left and are not looking to bring anyone in for that position. Which is a concern.
19-08-2019, 01:47 PM
Docherty would be a brilliant signing however can’t imagine we would stand a chance of getting him after his form last season at Shrewsbury, there will will a lot more teams interested who could offer more than us.
He would be good at the high press and getting in peoples faces, however again isn’t exactly defensive minded and big. He is mainly suited to getting forward and getting goals imo.
Would be similar to Vela in that role I think.
paddy1875
19-08-2019, 01:48 PM
I think we need to add a defensive midfielder to the squad. I had a bit of a vent the other night after Heckingbottom announced our business was done as I think that we are badly deficient in that area and it needs to be addressed, and addressed with an addition to the squad.
If what he said was true and we're going with what we have then it is more just a case that we might fix a glaring problem by using Lewis there. I'd rather keep him at left back, a position he has played well for a number of years now but if we were to bring nobody else in and we were to continue to struggle defensively in the middle of the park then I don't think it would be long before we were trying to play him there.
The biggest argument against moving Lewis is that it would potentially give us a problem at left back, a position that has been a strength of ours for a few years with Lewis playing there to a very high standard.
I think we agree really. :wink:
Of course we agree.
I get we’re just thinking of options incase nobody else arrives, which of course is what the manager has said.
But iv got a feeling that we’ll see at least a couple of additions to the squad before the window closes. I don’t know anything but it’s just a feeling.
However if there is no new arrivals then it could be a possibility to move Lewis into that hole in midfield. But doing that will just leave a lot of us wondering if heckingbottom is the right man for the job.
I’m trying to remain as positive as possible at the minute. Glass half full kind guy you know
19-08-2019, 01:52 PM
I knew you'd play that card as it's the only evidence the boy was ever a decent midfielder.
Now name 4 more games where he was MoTM in midfield.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 01:55 PM
I knew you'd play that card as it's the only evidence the boy was ever a decent midfielder.
FFS, I can hardly remember last week never mind random games over 10 years ago!! I couldnt tell you who was man of the match in any games that season other than the Cup Final.
19-08-2019, 02:05 PM
The threads on here were disgraceful.
It was mental. He was slaughtered every week and he started bottling it on the pitch as time went on.
If I'm being honest I don't want Paul at centre half anymore. Porteous is better already and will become even better with more experience. I think Paul becomes skittish if he gets rattled during a game. I wouldn't be proposing him at left back for long.
Agree, never known a CB to 'slip' when he's beaten for pace as often as Hanlon.
At least most seem to agree we need a more defensive minded midfielder in the squad. We shouldnt have let Bartley go until we had an alternative. He was great to have in the squad for games against Hearts, Celtic etc. Im surprised we have not went for a plan B after losing out on Ojo (dont think Vela is the same kind of player at all).
It seem Heckingbottom is prepared for us to play the season without one. I agree, poor idea.
FFS, I can hardly remember last week never mind random games over 10 years ago!! I couldnt tell you who was man of the match in any games that season other than the Cup Final.
I'll help you, he didn't get 4 more, 'decent' wasn't good enough for us then and it's not now, which is why I want Lewis at LB and nowhere near our midfield.
Barman Stanton
19-08-2019, 02:07 PM
It was mental. He was slaughtered every week and he started bottling it on the pitch as time went on.
Agree, never known a CB to 'slip' when he's beaten for pace as often as Hanlon.
It seem Heckingbottom is prepared for us to play the season without one. I agree, poor idea.
I'll help you, he didn't get 4 more, 'decent' wasn't good enough for us then and it's not now, which is why I want Lewis at LB and nowhere near our midfield.
You really remember who got MOM in random games in 2007? That's impressive!
As it happens, I don't want him to move position either. But where we disagree is I think he could do a good job there. But it would just be creating a problem with a different position.
Gypsy King
19-08-2019, 02:08 PM
If that's true.
SIGN HIM. PAY WHAT IT COSTS.
PONY UP
19-08-2019, 02:10 PM
If that's true.
SIGN HIM. PAY WHAT IT COSTS.
PONY UP
Whilst I agree with you I very much doubt there is anywhere near sufficient funds to bring him in unless Rangers sell him cheap and he takes a hell of a wage cut.
19-08-2019, 02:13 PM
You really remember who got MOM in random games in 2007? That's impressive!
As it happens, I don't want him to move position either. But where we disagree is I think he could do a good job there. But it would just be creating a problem with a different position.
It would as Mackie doesn't appear to be ready at LB but Lewis in the Rocky/Matty Jack/Marvin Bartley/Mark Milligan role? Big no thanks from me.
19-08-2019, 02:17 PM
Not Hibs related but I see Celtic have lost their promising center back to Bayern Munich. Good on the laddie for having the courage to be able to see beyond Glasgow.....
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49381989
MagicSwirlingShip
19-08-2019, 02:17 PM
Lewis is one of the best left backs in the league. I wouldn’t even consider moving him into midfield.
19-08-2019, 02:20 PM
I’d rather Mackie in midfield than Lewis.
19-08-2019, 02:29 PM
Haven't seen it anywhere that Docherty can leave Rangers, I know he's been dropped from their UEFA squad. I'm sure Rangers paid in the region of £650k to Hamilton for him, this may have included add ons which they won't have to pay should he be punted. The other problem Rangers have is that he can only go abroad or lower English leagues. Not sure who would want to pay decent money for him. I'd love him at Hibs but would reckon it would take an offer northwords of 300k and can't see us spending that much
19-08-2019, 02:34 PM
All I can see is he is dropped from Europa league squad and one tweed from Huddersfield afc saying he is going on loan to Sunderland
The following is not aimed at AlbertK86
Helander their £3.5 million centre half is the other player dropped from their European squad.
It is only for one match and means absolutely nothing other than they can't play in that match.
it does not mean Rangers want rid of them.
Torto7
19-08-2019, 02:35 PM
Not Hibs related but I see Celtic have lost their promising center back to Bayern Munich. Good on the laddie for having the courage to be able to see beyond Glasgow.....
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49381989
It's good for the player but I'm not sure if it's a good thing for Scottish clubs.
We've lost out on McPake going to Sevco recently. I even seen he might be moving on again to Roma. The competition for players at that age is getting fierce and it's another drain on the quality of player potentially available to the SPFL clubs.
The kid Gilmour at Chelsea already looks like he's top class. The huns got 500k I think. That's not really appropriate compensation for a guy of his ability.
Gypsy King
19-08-2019, 02:43 PM
Whilst I agree with you I very much doubt there is anywhere near sufficient funds to bring him in unless Rangers sell him cheap and he takes a hell of a wage cut.
we need to make it available.
Investments like this boy can make Hibs millions.
Speculate to accumulate
19-08-2019, 02:43 PM
The following is not aimed at AlbertK86
Helander their £3.5 million centre half is the other player dropped from their European squad.
It is only for one match and means absolutely nothing other than they can't play in that match.
it does not mean Rangers want rid of them.
Totally agree that was my point to 90 + 2 who posted that Docherty has been told he’s free to leave
19-08-2019, 02:47 PM
It's good for the player but I'm not sure if it's a good thing for Scottish clubs.
We've lost out on McPake going to Sevco recently. I even seen he might be moving on again to Roma. The competition for players at that age is getting fierce and it's another drain on the quality of player potentially available to the SPFL clubs.
The kid Gilmour at Chelsea already looks like he's top class. The huns got 500k I think. That's not really appropriate compensation for a guy of his ability.
At international level it will make us far stronger down the road to have these players coached there instead of playing weekly in the SPL against the likes of the hoof and blooter Hearts/Aberdeen. While some will deny it, if we can improve at international level the domestic game will get more attention and be better off for it....
19-08-2019, 02:57 PM
Haven't seen it anywhere that Docherty can leave Rangers, I know he's been dropped from their UEFA squad. I'm sure Rangers paid in the region of £650k to Hamilton for him, this may have included add ons which they won't have to pay should he be punted. The other problem Rangers have is that he can only go abroad or lower English leagues. Not sure who would want to pay decent money for him. I'd love him at Hibs but would reckon it would take an offer northwords of 300k and can't see us spending that much
If any chance we can get Docherty we should.
19-08-2019, 02:59 PM
We need 2 or 3 starters not just guys who are strengthening the squad.
19-08-2019, 03:00 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tj4IkSi4I0g
Here is one, brilliant pass leading to the goal, touch over 10 yards as well.
19-08-2019, 03:02 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tj4IkSi4I0g
Here is one, brilliant pass leading to the goal, touch over 10 yards as well.
Did he get MoTM?
19-08-2019, 03:04 PM
Did he get MoTM?
Yes. There you go. Fact.
Gypsy King
19-08-2019, 03:07 PM
We need 2 or 3 starters not just guys who are strengthening the squad.
Someone like Greg Docherty or Mulumbu
h18eeynick
19-08-2019, 03:12 PM
If any chance we can get Docherty we should.
Watched the game yesterday and nothing he did that we dont already have . Not for me . Also Barker didnt do much when he came on . Rangers were very average but only Defoe started from their europeon team so just puts in to context that they have a massive squad - good luck keeping them all happy !
19-08-2019, 03:21 PM
Watched the game yesterday and nothing he did that we dont already have . Not for me . Also Barker didnt do much when he came on . Rangers were very average but only Defoe started from their europeon team so just puts in to context that they have a massive squad - good luck keeping them all happy !
Young athletic good on the ball and dig exactly what we need IMO.
h18eeynick
19-08-2019, 03:31 PM
Young athletic good on the ball and dig exactly what we need IMO.
Would you not see those qualities in Murray ? I do and a lot cheaper option I would think
19-08-2019, 03:32 PM
Yes. There you go. Fact.
2 more to find.
Gypsy King
19-08-2019, 03:40 PM
Another one that should be near the top of our list if he becomes available.
19-08-2019, 04:34 PM
Well they’re not there yet and Slivka isn’t even a first pick.
Deek01
19-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Anyone else log in to this, see multiple pages on the transfer thread to catch up on and thought finally we must be trying to get new bodies in only to be left disappointed 😂
19-08-2019, 04:40 PM
Anyone else log in to this, see multiple pages on the transfer thread to catch up on and thought finally we must be trying to get new bodies in only to be left disappointed 😂
Every.Single.Day 🤣
19-08-2019, 04:40 PM
Would you not see those qualities in Murray ? I do and a lot cheaper option I would think
Murray is good on the ball, but wouldn’t say he is athletic or got dig (which isn’t a criticism of Murray).
huggie1875
19-08-2019, 04:41 PM
everyday
19-08-2019, 04:55 PM
Anyone else log in to this, see multiple pages on the transfer thread to catch up on and thought finally we must be trying to get new bodies in only to be left disappointed [emoji23]Daily mate [emoji85]
Torto7
19-08-2019, 04:58 PM
At international level it will make us far stronger down the road to have these players coached there instead of playing weekly in the SPL against the likes of the hoof and blooter Hearts/Aberdeen. While some will deny it, if we can improve at international level the domestic game will get more attention and be better off for it....
Yeah I take your point and agree with a lot of it.
There's a part of me that worries though that we're going to end up in a League of Ireland situation ten or twenty years down the line if the quality of the league continues to dilute. The amount of kids that only follow the big clubs down south scares me.
DMH0762
19-08-2019, 05:53 PM
2 more to find.
3 Surely, Speedway ??? Try to keep up eh :wink:
Hibernian32
19-08-2019, 06:04 PM
Does anyone not think we could loan a few youth players to Bury or Bolton in good jesture just to help them out, and tbh they'd be playing at much better level than league 1 or 2 up here? Not sure if the emergency loan is still in place down there with the window being shut.
Daily mate [emoji85]
Don't see any evidence coming out of ER that there will be anyone else coming in. Beginning to believe Heckie when he says we're done, worrying.
19-08-2019, 06:37 PM
Don't see any evidence coming out of ER that there will be anyone else coming in. Beginning to believe Heckie when he says we're done, worrying.
What evidence would you ever get?
That boy King that has signed for Rangers apparently said we were talking to him, surely that’s as strong evidence as you’re likely to get other than somebody actually signing?
He’s certainly been very believable when saying we’ve no money left but I just can’t believe we won’t sign another midfielder.
19-08-2019, 07:01 PM
I think we'll make a big signing before the window shuts. Not ITK or anything but just a hunch
CorrieHibs
19-08-2019, 07:02 PM
Mark O’Hara looks like he is out the picture at Peterborough. Surely he would be worth a punt at Defensive Midfield?
There was rumours before he was moving back to Scotland. But, nothing has materialised.
19-08-2019, 07:04 PM
I think we'll make a big signing before the window shuts. Not ITK or anything but just a hunch
God I hope you’re right
19-08-2019, 07:06 PM
Mark O’Hara looks like he is out the picture at Peterborough. Surely he would be worth a punt at Defensive Midfield?
There was rumours before he was moving back to Scotland. But, nothing has materialised.
The rumours came from the Peterborough chairman sayignba Scottish club had bid for him then hinted it might have been Hibs. He was just at the wind up though as it came out it was Killie who were eventually priced out of a deal.
FWIW I thought he was pretty ***** when he was at Dundee and the only reason he’s ever been discussed is because people have heard of him.
CorrieHibs
19-08-2019, 07:13 PM
The rumours came from the Peterborough chairman sayignba Scottish club had bid for him then hinted it might have been Hibs. He was just at the wind up though as it came out it was Killie who were eventually priced out of a deal.
FWIW I thought he was pretty ***** when he was at Dundee and the only reason he’s ever been discussed is because people have heard of him.
I always thought he was pretty decent at Dundee. But, I saw only saw him against us and if Dundee were on TV.
19-08-2019, 07:19 PM
Think it was Killie that put the bid in. Is he a DM? Thought he was a box to box?
19-08-2019, 07:20 PM
I always thought he was pretty decent at Dundee. But, I saw only saw him against us and if Dundee were on TV.
Think I remember people were raving about him after he scored a goal (maybe 2 actually) against Celtic but I thought he was gash.
Not really done much since then.
19-08-2019, 07:23 PM
Thought the boy who was in loan at Killie from Via last season looked decent. Aaron Tshobila?
CorrieHibs
19-08-2019, 07:24 PM
Thought the boy who was in loan at Killie from Via last season looked decent. Aaron Tshobila?
Aye, he looked quite decent.
19-08-2019, 07:37 PM
He’s not very good, didn’t play all that much for Killie last season.
19-08-2019, 07:40 PM
Where is he now?
19-08-2019, 07:43 PM
21 starts and 6 sub appearances for the team who finished in a European place. Killie had Dicker and Power in that midfield. Thought he looked good when I seen him, granted I didn't see him every game he played.
19-08-2019, 07:44 PM
Where is he now?
Just checked and Sunderland are supposedly interested in him 😂😂
19-08-2019, 07:45 PM
Just checked and Sunderland are supposedly interested in him 😂😂
Surprise surprise.......not!
Torto7
19-08-2019, 07:50 PM
What evidence would you ever get?
That boy King that has signed for Rangers apparently said we were talking to him, surely that’s as strong evidence as you’re likely to get other than somebody actually signing?
He’s certainly been very believable when saying we’ve no money left but I just can’t believe we won’t sign another midfielder.
According to one of the evening news journalists(can't remember which one, sorry) we were talking to him earlier in the window but quickly realised it would cost too much.
19-08-2019, 07:58 PM
According to one of the evening news journalists(can't remember which one, sorry) we were talking to him earlier in the window but quickly realised it would cost too much.
It was a guy called Alan Temple and this is what he said...
Wouldn't read too much into the King thing. Hibs pretty quickly realised he would be out of their price range and interest ended a while back. Wouldn't be surprised to see a new face in - but it needs to be paid for; GM loan deal would not have been budgeted for before MB injury
19-08-2019, 08:10 PM
It was a guy called Alan Temple and this is what he said...
Wouldn't read too much into the King thing. Hibs pretty quickly realised he would be out of their price range and interest ended a while back. Wouldn't be surprised to see a new face in - but it needs to be paid for; GM loan deal would not have been budgeted for before MB injury
I dont think that last part is true, I was told about the Middleton deal being possible at the last window, before or around the time Lennon went, from a Rangers supporting friend I was extremely sceptical (understandable) but did post it on here. If it's not a coincidence then we must have known and had the budget aside for it.
mcfly
20-08-2019, 08:20 AM
All gone quiet on transfer situation.
Really hope we get in that strong defensive midfielder we really need someone.
Shipping far too many goals and we do look weak in midfield
20-08-2019, 08:36 AM
Remember the days when there was no transfer window and signings and sellings happened all season long?
MikeyS
20-08-2019, 08:47 AM
Remember the days when there was no transfer window and signings and sellings happened all season long?
It was exciting in the Duffy days. I would walk home from school, nip in to the newsagent each day to see what dross we had signed. Power, Tosh, Shannon, McQuilken, Elliot, McLaughlin. Those were the days!
Barman Stanton
20-08-2019, 08:49 AM
And you wouldnt know about them until you got the Evening News and saw it on the back page!
Leitherhibs
20-08-2019, 08:49 AM
I think we'll bring in at least another 2, one as a replacement for Shaw and another midfielder.
DMH0762
20-08-2019, 08:53 AM
Aye !!! pick up the EEN, straight to the back page and yahoo "Hibs sign Alex Edwards £13,000" .
Far as can see only the agents love the current set up as it lumps up the fees and hence their percentage as the transfer deadline looms.
MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2019, 09:32 AM
I remember going home for lunch at school and seeing on teletext we had signed Shaun Dennis. 😂
20-08-2019, 10:01 AM
Ladies and gents, the most random transfer story of the summer: Sam Cosgrove to erm Lazio.
badabing67
20-08-2019, 10:14 AM
I don't think English clubs can sign him now if there is a fee. they can only sign players on loan or out of contract but i think they can sell
20-08-2019, 11:24 AM
I don't think English clubs can sign him now if there is a fee. they can only sign players on loan or out of contract but i think they can sell
I had it in my mind for some reason that lower league clubs could still make transfers, clubs in league 1 and below
20-08-2019, 11:26 AM
I had it in my mind for some reason that lower league clubs could still make transfers, clubs in league 1 and below
They can
20-08-2019, 11:34 AM
I remember going home for lunch at school and seeing on teletext we had signed Shaun Dennis. 😂
The only signing rumours you got was in the pub from those ITK.
20-08-2019, 11:35 AM
I remember going home for lunch at school and seeing on teletext we had signed Shaun Dennis. [emoji23]Ah good old Oracle and Ceefax...now those were the days [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Roxyhibee
20-08-2019, 11:36 AM
It was exciting in the Duffy days. I would walk home from school, nip in to the newsagent each day to see what dross we had signed. Power, Tosh, Shannon, McQuilken, Elliot, McLaughlin. Those were the days!
Oh you’ve just sent horrendous shivers down my spine with that gallery of names.! We were desperately out of control by then and the classic slow car crash.
Hard to believe just a couple of years later those names were replaced with Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli, Laursen, O’Neill, Mixu etc.
20-08-2019, 11:44 AM
I remember buying an EEN one lunch and the billboard was announcing hibs had signed Mathias, i genuinely went into buy it thinking we has signed Lothar Matthaus and not our Matty Jack
Also remember going to Motherwell away one midweek and getting to the game the team were doing the warm up and it was only then that we found out we had signed Andy watson
Ah good old Oracle and Ceefax...now those were the days [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Waiting for the Pink on a Saturday night, those were the days BH.
And when we had real ITK ers on here, come back The Cat all is forgiven.
Gypsy King
20-08-2019, 12:04 PM
Yeah he would be a good signing.
20-08-2019, 12:05 PM
Ladies and gents, the most random transfer story of the summer: Sam Cosgrove to erm Lazio.
Kambo to the sheep?
I remember buying an EEN one lunch and the billboard was announcing hibs had signed Mathias, i genuinely went into buy it thinking we has signed Lothar Matthaus and not our Matty Jack
Also remember going to Motherwell away one midweek and getting to the game the team were doing the warm up and it was only then that we found out we had signed Andy watson
Would Lothar have got a look in ahead of Justin Skinner though?
20-08-2019, 12:06 PM
Waiting for the Pink on a Saturday night, those were the days BH.
And when we had real ITK ers on here, come back The Cat all is forgiven. Used to love going to get a Pink news after the match if wed won I used to keep the cuttings in a scrap book...good times...although as a kid in 80s being a Hibee back then was pretty grim. The bed wetters these days dont know they are living Lago lol
20-08-2019, 12:15 PM
Now THAT is a ****ing rumour.
20-08-2019, 12:18 PM
Used to love going to get a Pink news after the match if wed won I used to keep the cuttings in a scrap book...good times...although as a kid in 80s being a Hibee back then was pretty grim. The bed wetters these days dont know they are living Lago lol
Imagine what they would make of the likes of Ally McLeod? He'd get shredded on here every week and I loved watching him play.....
20-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Now THAT is a ****ing rumour.
It'll be big Christian Doidge next season,
Mantis Toboggan
20-08-2019, 12:26 PM
Me and my pal found out Leighton was leaving to go to Aberdeen in the Evening News one summer day, prompting him to rip it up into little pieces in the middle of the street. To be fair it was quite disappointing.
Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 12:30 PM
Imagine what they would make of the likes of Ally McLeod? He'd get shredded on here every week and I loved watching him play.....
Going by your avatar, that’s pretty evident!
20-08-2019, 12:32 PM
Going by your avatar, that’s pretty evident!
No attempt to hide that - one of my favorite ever Hibs players, up there with John Blackley and Franck Sauzee....
Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 12:36 PM
No attempt to hide that - one of my favorite ever Hibs players, up there with John Blackley and Franck Sauzee....
Onion and Sojer for me!
20-08-2019, 12:37 PM
Me and my pal found out Leighton was leaving to go to Aberdeen in the Evening News one summer day, prompting him to rip it up into little pieces in the middle of the street. To be fair it was quite disappointing.
I was in the bath at my mum and dad's house when my younger brother started to have a borderline tantrum. He managed to relay the message to me through the bathroom door, laced with all sorts of expletives that if things weren't bad enough we've only gone and signed Mixu f******g Paatelainen, he'd just read it on teletext.
It was performance from my brother quite far removed from the slightly more polished one he puts forward in public these days.
MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2019, 12:44 PM
Spot on. A personal favourite was overhearing we were signing Jorge Albertz in the Loch Inn toilets
20-08-2019, 12:56 PM
Spot on. A personal favourite was overhearing we were signing Jorge Albertz in the Loch Inn toilets
What a bizarre place to conclude a transfer
stantonsboots
20-08-2019, 01:28 PM
Imagine what they would make of the likes of Ally McLeod? He'd get shredded on here every week and I loved watching him play.....Ally Macleod what a player , didnae run more than 10 feet at a time but could that boy play fitba! it wasn't until recently that i found out he was Murdo's brother.
Barman Stanton
20-08-2019, 01:41 PM
Ally Macleod what a player , didnae run more than 10 feet at a time but could that boy play fitba! it wasn't until recently that i found out he was Murdo's brother.
Murdo Macleod his brother? :faf:
20-08-2019, 01:44 PM
Murdo Macleod his brother? :faf:
Comment had me baffled as well and searching Google. Poster maybe had a few pints in him when he heard that one.....
Barman Stanton
20-08-2019, 01:51 PM
Comment had me baffled as well and searching Google. Poster maybe had a few pints in him when he heard that one.....
Yeah I think one of his mates must be on the wind up.
Inconsequential
20-08-2019, 02:03 PM
I seem to recall Murdo McLeod had a brother called Ally and they were both at Dumbarton together but then it could be my imagination. The Ally who played for Hibs was actually the son and namesake of Ally McLeod the former Scotland manager who also played for Hibs. Confused.com. :wink:
DMH0762
20-08-2019, 02:15 PM
Jim McCarthur was in the bar of the Marriott hotel where i was barman. Had a couple of suits with him who he instructed to "Hush, the barmans a Hibby".
I was convinced he was brokering a deal for Nemzadze and i was right....but it was rep's of Dundee who he was talking with and that's where Nemzadze ended up.
So much for me being ITK on that occasion. :rolleyes:
20-08-2019, 02:16 PM
I seem recall Murdo McLeod had a brother called Ally and they were both at Dumbarton together but then it could be my imagination. The Ally who played for Hibs was actually the son and namesake of Ally McLeod the former Scotland manager who also played for Hibs. Confused.com. :wink:
The Ally McLeod who managed Scotland played for Hibs and I don't think the two are related but I'm going to join in with this. I think stantonsboots, Barman Stanton along with Sam Stanton are all brothers and the nephews of Pat Stanton.
Barman Stanton
20-08-2019, 02:20 PM
The Ally McLeod who managed Scotland played for Hibs and I don't think the two are related but I'm going to join in with this. I think stantonsboots, Barman Stanton along with Sam Stanton are all brothers and the nephews of Pat Stanton.
We could all be. However, I can confirm that none of us are related to Davide Santon, the Roma rightback who wishes he was a Stanton.
DMH0762
20-08-2019, 02:23 PM
@MickO'Rourke from here IS Jimmy's brother.
Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 02:36 PM
I seem recall Murdo McLeod had a brother called Ally and they were both at Dumbarton together but then it could be my imagination. The Ally who played for Hibs was actually the son and namesake of Ally McLeod the former Scotland manager who also played for Hibs. Confused.com. :wink:
Sorry, I think you’re wrong.
Ally McLeod (Scotland manager, 1978 World Cup) was not related at all to Ally McLeod (Hibs player), as far as I’m aware.
Inconsequential
20-08-2019, 02:46 PM
Ally McLeod (Scotland manager, 1978 World Cup) was not related at all to Ally McLeod (Hibs player), as far as I’m aware. Yes indeed Lucy! Well spotted! Yes I am wrong! Total rubbish in fact. :greengrin
stantonsboots
20-08-2019, 02:51 PM
Yeah I think one of his mates must be on the wind up.i think it was one of the bams on radio Scotland open all mikes said it? like I say I was surprised because i'd never heard it before!
20-08-2019, 02:51 PM
Ally McLeod (Scotland manager, 1978 World Cup) was not related at all to Ally McLeod (Hibs player), as far as I’m aware.
That confused the heckingbottom out of me for years
2 players called Ally McLeod
Barman Stanton
20-08-2019, 03:31 PM
i think it was one of the bams on radio Scotland open all mikes said it? like I say I was surprised because i'd never heard it before!
It’s like the Sowunmi brothers all over again.
20-08-2019, 03:41 PM
No but he was also Ally McLeod(Hibs player)and was of course part of the Baker and McLeod replacing Baker and McLeod transfer sensation.
20-08-2019, 04:03 PM
They were some players, those three.
Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 04:06 PM
No but he was also Ally McLeod(Hibs player)and was of course part of the Baker and McLeod replacing Baker and McLeod transfer sensation.
Johnny McLeod, wasn’t it?
20-08-2019, 04:25 PM
That confused the heckingbottom out of me for years
2 players called Ally McLeod
Both related to trumps maw Mary Ann Macleod. She did her bit for football and politics 😂
20-08-2019, 04:46 PM
Johnny McLeod, wasn’t it?
Yes and Joe and Gerry Baker who actually were brothers.
Here’s Lucy!
20-08-2019, 04:59 PM
Both related to trumps maw Mary Ann Macleod. She did her bit for football and politics 😂
Yes and Joe and Gerry Baker who actually were brothers.
This is getting ridiculous!
We've gone from Ally McLeod (both of them) to all the Stantons, moved onto the three Sowunmi brothers, somehow diverted to Joe and Gerry Baker (not forgetting Johnny and Ally Mcleod, again), thrown in a touch of Donald Trump and his old dear and now I’m thinking of Gerry Rafferty and Baker Street....
Whatever next? :dunno:
20-08-2019, 05:01 PM
This is getting ridiculous!
We've gone from Ally McLeod (both of them) to all the Stantons, moved onto the three Sowunmi brothers, somehow diverted to Joe and Gerry Baker (not forgetting Johnny and Ally Mcleod, again), thrown in a touch of Donald Trump and his old dear and now I’m thinking of Gerry Rafferty and Baker Street....
Whatever next? :dunno:
The man in your current avatar was known on the ER terraces as Ali the Wicked.
20-08-2019, 05:02 PM
Shaw on loan St Mirren anyone heard anything on this?