View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
11-07-2019, 03:29 PM
I don't think many will be leaving. Heckys already said the squad was too small last season with too many loans etc. I can't see us building a reasonable squad only to get rid of 3-4. Almost right back to having a tiny squad again. 1-2 will be leaving is my guess.
11-07-2019, 03:29 PM
I wonder if ojo will get the number 8 shirt
11-07-2019, 03:31 PM
Why is everyone so adamant Flo is leaving?
No idea, it is based on nothing. He is a cracking player and should be staying.
11-07-2019, 03:38 PM
I wonder if ojo will get the number 8 shirt
He'll get #6.
11-07-2019, 03:39 PM
I still think we'll see a couple of players leave with some fees involved. Slivka #1 to go with Rocky/Flo also possibles. Possibly also another couple released.
Why do people keep saying rocky and flo are leaving. There has been nothing to suggest they will.
Diddy clubs like Aberdeen can’t compete with us anymore.
11-07-2019, 03:42 PM
Mike White
@mikewhitesport
Sources tell me S****horpe United midfielder Funso Ojo is set to join previously-interested SPL side Hibernian after the two clubs agreed a fee for the Belgian. It’s understood he’s negotiated a deal with #Hibs having turned down an offer from Aberdeen. #uti #Iron
What’s this “SPL” he speaks of? No such a thing.
11-07-2019, 03:44 PM
Why is everyone so adamant Flo is leaving?
I've seen a few say they think he could be away, especially if we sign McNulty, but i have not seen anyone say he's definitely away?
And nobody is adamant, i know its a dog eat dog world, but there's still room at the top for him at Easter Road.
bill_reed
11-07-2019, 03:45 PM
Hibernian and Aberdeen have both had offers accepted by S****horpe United for defensive midfielder Funso Ojo.The Scottish Premiership clubs both submitted bids - thought to be in the region of £125,000 - for the Belgian. according to the BBC....
KdyHby
11-07-2019, 03:51 PM
https://www.iron-bru.co.uk/ojo-set-for-hibs-move-after-rejecting-aberdeen/
11-07-2019, 03:54 PM
Reports of Slivka moving out of his house today.
He could be off or just moving to another gaff 🤔
Be good to beat Aberdeen to a player . Also saying Sunderland were interested in Ojo but waiting to unload players first .
Why do people keep saying rocky and flo are leaving. There has been nothing to suggest they will.
There's actually been a couple of things. Rocky's 'bigger club' interview, often an indicator of a move & Flo's been linked with a few clubs, most recently from Croatia. I don't want them to go but right now we have 21 players listed in our squad & we're hopeful of another 2 or 3. That also doesn't include several development players with 1st team experience. PH also said he was a fan of the loan system & at present we have 1. If we bring in another 2 or 3 & lose nobody I'll be delighted & a bit surprised.
bigswissstriker
11-07-2019, 03:59 PM
There's actually been a couple of things. Rocky's 'bigger club' interview, often an indicator of a move & Flo's been linked with a few clubs, most recently from Croatia. I don't want them to go but right now we have 21 players listed in our squad & we're hopeful of another 2 or 3. That also doesn't include several development players with 1st team experience. PH also said he was a fan of the loan system & at present we have 1. If we bring in another 2 or 3 & lose nobody I'll be delighted & a bit surprised.
When he mentioned the loans was he not meaning the loaning out of development players ? Sure it was in the interview about us pulling out the reserve league
11-07-2019, 04:01 PM
Hopefully this Ojo thing isn't Dylan Bikey MK2. What a player he turned out to be after he was stolen away from us.
11-07-2019, 04:01 PM
Reports of Slivka moving out of his house today.
He could be off or just moving to another gaff 🤔
Be good to beat Aberdeen to a player . Also saying Sunderland were interested in Ojo but waiting to unload players first .
Like Dylan perhaps?
11-07-2019, 04:06 PM
Response to that from my mate -
He is a central mid, doesn’t like playing wide and it was obvious. Not sure he’s the defensive type though he isn’t scared of a tackle, in his good season he played alongside a grafter/terrier type so he could get forward.
Hmmmm....having never seen him play, thought we were getting a grafter/terrier type in Ojo. Don't get me wrong, happy we are signing him, but going by this, he isn't the d/m we were expecting.
yerauldda
11-07-2019, 04:09 PM
Hmmmm....having never seen him play, thought we were getting a grafter/terrier type in Ojo. Don't get me wrong, happy we are signing him, but going by this, he isn't the d/m we were expecting.
What I think PH is looking for is someone who can drive us up the park and is full of energy. If he favoured a guy to sit in and protect the back 4 we would’ve kept Bartley or Milligan.
When he mentioned the loans was he not meaning the loaning out of development players ? Sure it was in the interview about us pulling out the reserve league
It's certainly possible I misunderstood but I thought he gave an interview some time back where he said we had too many loan players but recognised it was a way for us to get players in we couldn't otherwise afford. Of course now that we're rich - - -! 😁
What I think PH is looking for is someone who can drive us up the park and is full of energy. If he favoured a guy to sit in and protect the back 4 we would’ve kept Bartley or Milligan.
Bartley was crap for the last two years. He simply wasn’t good enough for Hibs.
11-07-2019, 04:13 PM
Could well be correct, just a wee niggle having read the post about his style of play. Time will tell, will wait until he has played games for us before judging him.
11-07-2019, 04:14 PM
He was anything but rubbish for the last 2 years
yerauldda
11-07-2019, 04:15 PM
He was certainly regressing but to say he was crap is absolute nonsense. Don’t think he ever let us down when called upon.
11-07-2019, 04:17 PM
He was certainly regressing but to say he was crap is absolute nonsense. Don’t think he ever let us down when called upon.
Hahaha yerauldda, some username 😂
I agree he was regressing but definitely done a job
11-07-2019, 04:19 PM
I couldn't agree more with this. What I think Hecky is looking for is an all rounder but someone with drive, 100% effort and on the way to being box to box. Someone solid but who can keep the ball in tight situations and improve our presence and ball retention in midfield.
As you so simply put it, if he wanted a plain old DM he would have kept Milligan.
Here’s Lucy!
11-07-2019, 04:23 PM
Bartley was crap for the last two years.
Oh no he wasn’t!
He was anything but rubbish for the last 2 years
He was rubbish. He did well for us and I liked him but he was a championship level player and struggled after we got promoted.
11-07-2019, 04:26 PM
Why is everyone so adamant Flo is leaving?Flo and Rocky...doing my head in honestly
11-07-2019, 04:28 PM
He was rubbish. He did well for us and I liked him but he was a championship level player and struggled after we got promoted.
Aye ok then, strange that he played as many games as he did or has signed for another premier league team if he is a championship level player.
Was difficult for him no doubt about it. Crap maybe stretching it a bit.
Hope his sources are right. We'll know by tomorrow I'd say.
I hope his sources are the Ojo's agent. :greengrin
supermcginn
11-07-2019, 04:33 PM
What utter guff.
Tarrahib
11-07-2019, 04:38 PM
Behave man!
11-07-2019, 04:45 PM
I hope his sources are the Ojo's agent. :greengrin
Has he confirmed it that it’s Hibs he is joining?
11-07-2019, 04:49 PM
I hear we won't be offering a contract to Ryan Moon
mcfly
11-07-2019, 04:52 PM
What utter rubbish - Marv never let us down
Great player for us - will always be welcomed back
Never forget that selfie he took on the cup parade.
Awesome 😃
11-07-2019, 04:53 PM
Bit strange that the boy that broke the story said Ojo is signing for Hibs but his actual BBC column just says both clubs have had bids accepted. Maybe not very confident in his “sources”.
mcfly
11-07-2019, 04:54 PM
I think it’s you that’s talking rubbish mate.
Robbo6-2
11-07-2019, 04:55 PM
Hope Ojo signs as clearly he is the player Hecky wants in for that key position.
Again not a good career move for a ball playing centre mid to Aberdeen so hopefully he makes the right call.
11-07-2019, 04:57 PM
Where Ojo ends up will be really telling about how our newfound spending firepower stacks up Vs Aberdeen.
11-07-2019, 04:59 PM
Where Ojo ends up will be really telling about how our newfound spending firepower stacks up Vs Aberdeen.
He seems to be Heckingbottom’s first choice for that position. Would be brilliant to get him in for that reason alone. He was obviously happy with what we had agreed with him before so he’ll hopefully be happy enough to stick by that and come to us.
11-07-2019, 05:01 PM
Bit strange that the boy that broke the story said Ojo is signing for Hibs but his actual BBC column just says both clubs have had bids accepted. Maybe not very confident in his “sources”.
Maybe been told not to disclose anything from the BBC?
11-07-2019, 05:05 PM
Prob down to personal terms and contract detail. And with two teams in for him, his agent will probably prolong things by playing one off against the other. Who blinks first?
European football will be a possible draw that The Sheep have in their favour. Maybe he'll wait to see how they go tonight.
11-07-2019, 05:07 PM
Choice of living in Edinburgh or Aberdeen...no brainer if similar money offered.
11-07-2019, 05:09 PM
Oh no he wasn’t!
I see you’ve changed your avatar. Personally I prefer older, mature women so I’m a bit disappointed. :greengrin
mayo hibee
11-07-2019, 05:10 PM
Good news on Ojo by the sounds of things.
This isn't a link but I'd love to see us make a move for Daniel Mandroiu who plays for Bohemians in Ireland. I've been watching quite a few of there games over the last few months and also against Chelsea last night and he looks total class. If we wait another year we'll probably be priced out of it though.
Agree, he's tearing up the League of Ireland in the same way Daryl Horgan was a few years ago. Still an under 21 and keen to get back to the UK, he'd be a great (and cheap) signing for Hibs. I don't think the League of Ireland is a market our scouting team are really looking at though.
11-07-2019, 05:11 PM
Why do people keep saying rocky and flo are leaving. There has been nothing to suggest they will.It would weaken us massively and they have lengthy contracts. It's the kind of typical wallowing in loss, Hibs.net could do without.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
11-07-2019, 05:12 PM
One of those championship level players who just got a 3 year deal with a premier league side, after spending 2 years in the premier league with another side.
11-07-2019, 05:12 PM
This place will go into meltdown if he chooses Aberdeen 😂
11-07-2019, 05:16 PM
Agree, he's tearing up the League of Ireland in the same way Daryl Horgan was a few years ago. Still an under 21 and keen to get back to the UK, he'd be a great (and cheap) signing for Hibs. I don't think the League of Ireland is a market our scouting team are really looking at though.
Send this to George @ HTC.
Fuzzywuzzy
11-07-2019, 05:22 PM
Did I just hear walker correctly on the news saying his goal was scoring 50 goals this season?!?!!
Torto7
11-07-2019, 05:24 PM
I've sent an email already but it wouldn't hurt if someone else did.:thumbsup:
I think Brighton have made a big mistake releasing this guy.
11-07-2019, 05:24 PM
Looks like Bohemians payed a small fee for him so would probably want to get their money back at least, it does look like he's out of contract in the winter?
Think he'd be a buy and loan back as it look like he's an attacking midfield player and would probably want to play football every week
11-07-2019, 05:26 PM
Hopefully Aberdeen are pumped tonight to put him off going there. Bugger the coefficient
angus hibby
11-07-2019, 05:28 PM
STV Sport (Grampian) are at Pittodrie for their Euro game tonight and he said Ojo will be unveiled at Hibs tomorrow.
Northern Hibby
11-07-2019, 05:30 PM
Stv just said Hibs pipped Aberdeen to Ojo 😁
Here’s Lucy!
11-07-2019, 05:34 PM
I see you’ve changed your avatar. Personally I prefer older, mature women so I’m a bit disappointed. :greengrin
Sorry, Jim.
Just for you, I’ve reverted to type.
Happy now? :wink:
11-07-2019, 05:34 PM
Did I just hear walker correctly on the news saying his goal was scoring 50 goals this season?!?!!
That would've been ambitious for Walker 25 years ago ffs! He must really be losing his marbles
Did I just hear walker correctly on the news saying his goal was scoring 50 goals this season?!?!!Heard the same, 50 ****ing goals !!! 😆
Ardenttwo
11-07-2019, 05:41 PM
Unveiled at East Mains tomorrow according to STV
11-07-2019, 05:41 PM
50 :confused:
That's more than Hearts scored as a team last season and the season before?
Maybe it was 15 ? :confused:
Jpdhfc
11-07-2019, 05:47 PM
Maybe it was 15 ? :confused:
He said he wanted to continue scoring goal for them and hopefully hit 50 this season
Talking about career goals with them.
Fanforlife
11-07-2019, 05:50 PM
Maybe it was 15 ? :confused:😂 was 50 ,however to be fair to the plum he has already scored 40? For them in first spell so looking for 10 this season, good to see comedy is alive and well in Gorgay!😂
11-07-2019, 05:51 PM
Unveiled at East Mains tomorrow according to STV
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KmHNb21P7o4
11-07-2019, 05:52 PM
With Ojo looking very likely to be signing for us, I’d like to see us bring in 1 more midfielder & striker.
Obviously we may need to move a couple of players on to free up a wage or 2.
11-07-2019, 05:59 PM
Just drove past someone in a Hibs trackie and a couple of people on Colinton Road...Hard to say if it was Ojo..could literally be anybody.
11-07-2019, 06:03 PM
Ojo is signing.
The guy doesn't seem to stay long at teams so hopefully he settles here and we see the best of him
I just wonder where that leaves Omeonga. He's doing his own training and not with Genoa - is Ojo instead of Omeonga?!
Nope.
jax67
11-07-2019, 06:05 PM
Think he said get his total goals for Duncan’s up to 50.
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 06:13 PM
Who uz talking about??
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 06:14 PM
Nope.
Itk??
11-07-2019, 06:21 PM
What position does he play?
Think Eoin Doyle was the last player we signed from Ireland.
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 06:35 PM
If hes as desperate to sign for us as reported should be confirmed soon,if aberdeen have turned his head boys no right for us imo.
11-07-2019, 06:35 PM
🎣🎣🎣🎣 Ok . Sniff ,sniff 😂
11-07-2019, 06:36 PM
If hes as desperate to sign for us as reported should be confirmed soon,if aberdeen have turned his head boys no right for us imo.
Tomorrow according to STV
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 06:37 PM
Tomorrow according to STV
Ok,cheers 👍
11-07-2019, 07:00 PM
I transfered Ojo into my Hibs team on FIFA last week before starting a new career, just had a feeling he'd be joining.
Thanks for the kind PMs welcoming me into the ITK club, can't wait for the first banquet.
11-07-2019, 07:01 PM
I transfered Ojo into my Hibs team on FIFA last week before starting a new career, just had a feeling he'd be joining.
Thanks for the kind PMs welcoming me into the ITK club, can't wait for the first banquet.
What was his rating 👀
11-07-2019, 07:02 PM
Let the Funso begin
11-07-2019, 07:03 PM
What was his rating 👀
69 IIRC. Scunny's best player by a fair way. It's destiny.
11-07-2019, 07:06 PM
Sorry, Jim.
Just for you, I’ve reverted to type.
Happy now? :wink:
Sensible decision. You’ve made an old man very happy. :greengrin
1875godsgift
11-07-2019, 07:11 PM
I've seen a few say they think he could be away, especially if we sign McNulty, but i have not seen anyone say he's definitely away?
And nobody is adamant, i know its a dog eat dog world, but there's still room at the top for him at Easter Road.
:agree: He really needs to stand and deliver this season though
Here’s Lucy!
11-07-2019, 07:16 PM
Sensible decision. You’ve made an old man very happy. :greengrin
:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 07:17 PM
I've sent an email already but it wouldn't hurt if someone else did.:thumbsup:
I think Brighton have made a big mistake releasing this guy.
Who?
Bangkok Hibby
11-07-2019, 07:18 PM
Saw what you did there 😀
11-07-2019, 07:21 PM
Desperate but Not Serious post........
Torto7
11-07-2019, 07:22 PM
Who?
Daniel Mandroiu, he's playing for Bohemians in Ireland.
tonyrougier123
11-07-2019, 07:22 PM
👍 cheers
11-07-2019, 07:23 PM
Torto7
11-07-2019, 07:27 PM
AM. Which we're not exactly struggling for I know but this kid looks the business to me.
Chefki Kuqi
11-07-2019, 07:40 PM
Where would Omeonga play if we brought him in? I’d be tempted to give him a go at left wing, horgan on the right, and some combination of mallan, allan and ojo in the middle. Think we’d have a tenacious yet technically astute team midfield there, albeit perhaps slightly slow and relying on fullbacks bombing forward for pace, and hopefully a good mood kamberi.
DetroitHibs
11-07-2019, 07:42 PM
Where would Omeonga play if we brought him in? I’d be tempted to give him a go at left wing, horgan on the right, and some combination of mallan, allan and ojo in the middle. Think we’d have a tenacious yet technically astute team midfield there, albeit perhaps slightly slow and relying on fullbacks bombing forward for pace, and hopefully a good mood kamberi.
What about Boyle :boo hoo:
11-07-2019, 07:43 PM
Absolutely no way that Omeonga would be a good choice on the wing IMO.
If we do manage to get him in, it's all about competition for places, strength in numbers, and choosing particular set ups for certain opponents. It would be counterproductive to try and force our better players into a shape that doesn't suit them.
11-07-2019, 07:51 PM
Absolutely no way that Omeonga would be a good choice on the wing IMO.
If we do manage to get him in, it's all about competition for places, strength in numbers, and choosing particular set ups for certain opponents. It would be counterproductive to try and force our better players into a shape that doesn't suit them.
Agreed not a fan of Omeonga on the wing, I think he struggles on the Astro as well BTW. Didn't look great at Livingston and can't remember if it was Killie or Hamilton
11-07-2019, 08:12 PM
Agreed not a fan of Omeonga on the wing, I think he struggles on the Astro as well BTW. Didn't look great at Livingston and can't remember if it was Killie or Hamilton
I remember him being one of our better players v killie at rugby park in top 6
Cheshire Hibee
11-07-2019, 08:29 PM
HIBS LEADING OJO CHASE
Hibernian are leading the race to sign Funso Ojo, according to Sky sources.
S****horpe United have accepted bids from both Hibs and Aberdeen but the Edinburgh club - who held talks with the Belgian last month before a contract dispute halted any move - are in pole position to sign the 27-year old.
Sky reporting Hibs are in pole position to sign Ojo
11-07-2019, 08:36 PM
So:
GK: Marciano, Maxwell
RB: Gray, James
CB: Porteous, McGregor
CB: Hanlon, Jackson
LB: Stevenson, Mackie
DM: Ojo, Whittaker
CM: Mallan, Slivka
CM: Allan, F. Murray
RW: Boyle,
LW: Horgan, Newall
CF: Droidge, Kamberi, Shaw
11-07-2019, 08:38 PM
As previously mentioned, he’s brilliant on fifa and if anything to go by would be one of if not our best player :greengrin
Dont agree with Omeonga on the wing at all, nowhere near creative enough. He would be a handy option to have in the midfield but for me wouldn’t be a starter.
If we were to bring Ojo, Omeonga and McNulty it would certainly prove a lot of competition for places.
Not that it’s a massive issue, but our midfield must have an average height of about 5’8 so hope the new guys can mix it with the more physical teams
11-07-2019, 08:39 PM
So:
Based on that, I’d be hoping for another couple of central midfielders, a winger and a striker at least. Hopefully we can move on Whittaker.
11-07-2019, 08:41 PM
So:
Looks like we still have a couple of spaces available to fill? And that's assuming nobody moves on.
11-07-2019, 08:41 PM
That is your opinion of course from what you have seen and that's fair enough, I will give mine from what I have seen.
MB never IMO let Hibs down even when bit part player, he was vital in many many games over the whole of his tenure and for me will be fondly remembered for many years. Matty Jack is still talked about and so will Marvin.
Chefki Kuqi
11-07-2019, 08:51 PM
Based on that, I’d be hoping for another couple of central midfielders, a winger and a striker at least. Hopefully we can move on Whittaker.
I’d agree about getting another winger but I’m not sure about midfield, we could add Campbell and Stirling to that list and I think they will deserve gametime.
Unsure on a striker, depends on whether we play with one or two. If only one I’d say it’s not a priority.
Greenworld
11-07-2019, 08:52 PM
Where would Omeonga play if we brought him in? I’d be tempted to give him a go at left wing, horgan on the right, and some combination of mallan, allan and ojo in the middle. Think we’d have a tenacious yet technically astute team midfield there, albeit perhaps slightly slow and relying on fullbacks bombing forward for pace, and hopefully a good mood kamberi.He can play anywhere across the midfield astounded that fans don't see how good he is ill be astonished if we get him back the guy is quality
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
11-07-2019, 08:55 PM
I can see Hibs spending £1m on transfer fees this summer.
11-07-2019, 08:57 PM
I’d agree about getting another winger but I’m not sure about midfield, we could add Campbell and Stirling to that list and I think they will deserve gametime.
Unsure on a striker, depends on whether we play with one or two. If only one I’d say it’s not a priority.
Happy for Campbell, Murray and Stirling to be in the first team squad as all look good prospects but would be concerned about us competing on 3 fronts with just 4 senior central midfielders (Ojo, Allan, Mallan and Slivka)
11-07-2019, 09:00 PM
Doidge, McNulty, King-Ojo and Omeonga?
11-07-2019, 09:03 PM
Wakeyhibee
11-07-2019, 09:07 PM
That could well be part of the cash injection with the 500k saved going on wage budget. Only a guess with still 3 of those 4 to be confirmed :greengrin
Chefki Kuqi
11-07-2019, 09:09 PM
Happy for Campbell, Murray and Stirling to be in the first team squad as all look good prospects but would be concerned about us competing on 3 fronts with just 4 senior central midfielders (Ojo, Allan, Mallan and Slivka)
Probably about right with that. Would love Omeonga to come in as he could compete for any position, either as a starter or as a high quality sub.
11-07-2019, 09:10 PM
We couldn’t complain if they pulled that off. Would be superb effort
Hibs Giant
11-07-2019, 09:11 PM
He can play anywhere across the midfield. astounded that fans don't see how good he is. ill be astonished if we get him back the guy is quality
Agreed. I'd be over the moon if he came back.
11-07-2019, 09:11 PM
You reckon we could get those 4 for 1m. Would be fantastic business.
Would we have to bring money in through player sales?
Here’s Lucy!
11-07-2019, 09:13 PM
No danger. Far, far too much to wish/hope for.
11-07-2019, 09:15 PM
i've already got a song for Funso Ojo but i'm holding back publishing it incase he decides to ruin his career by joining the sheepies instead
11-07-2019, 09:15 PM
No danger. Far, far too much to wish/hope for.
I don’t think so either tbf
McNulty and Omeonga will both be on wages we couldn’t match so the the best bet for either of those two are loans IMO.
11-07-2019, 09:16 PM
He can play anywhere across the midfield astounded that fans don't see how good he is ill be astonished if we get him back the guy is quality
Personally I don’t see the huge fuss over him, he made a good impact at the time as he had plenty energy, great attitude and closed players down well.
On the ball however he wasn’t as good, he could make a yard of space or nip past someone but his final ball, pass or shot was often lacking.
I’m not convinced about him defensively either if he was told to sit or be disciplined.
I like the guy and think he’s a good player, but I think some fans have hyped him up way too much. I don’t know if it’s because he’s a very likeable guy or what.
11-07-2019, 09:18 PM
Personally I don’t see the huge fuss over him, he made a good impact at the time as he had plenty energy, great attitude and closed players down well.
On the ball however he wasn’t as good, he could make a yard of space or nip past someone but his final ball, pass or shot was often lacking.
I’m not convinced about him defensively either if he was told to sit or be disciplined.
I like the guy and think he’s a good player, but I think some fans have hyped him up way too much. I don’t know if it’s because he’s a very likeable guy or what.
I think we used him wrong towards the end of last season.
We really had no creativity so we had to play him further forward than he’s probably good at.
As a busy industrious midfielder to win the ball and give it to the likes of Allan would be a good signing imo.
Chefki Kuqi
11-07-2019, 09:21 PM
I can’t claim to have seen every game he played but I seem to remember him getting one or two assists after some good play. I’d agree that he’s not the answer defensively but I think he offers enough going forward, and enough energy for pressing, to be worth a punt. Like McNulty I’d be wary of paying a big fee but if we can get him for a reasonable price I think its a no brainer.
FWIW I think having a personality like him is good for the dressing room, I can’t quite put my finger on it but I reckon his sophisticated piano playing ways could set a good example for the rest of the chaps.
11-07-2019, 09:23 PM
Agree with this!
He was very good at nicking the ball off opponents
Final third lacking but is still a young player and if he added that to his game what a player he would be
Wee Tam was a likeable wee guy was electric when he came on up at Dundee but is made of paper
Whatever happened to Bigibigi?
Hopefully we get Ojo tied doon soon. 😁
11-07-2019, 09:24 PM
I can’t claim to have seen every game he played but I seem to remember him getting one or two assists after some good play. I’d agree that he’s not the answer defensively but I think he offers enough going forward, and enough energy for pressing, to be worth a punt. Like McNulty I’d be wary of paying a big fee but if we can get him for a reasonable price I think its a no brainer.
FWIW I think having a personality like him is good for the dressing room, I can’t quite put my finger on it but I reckon his sophisticated piano playing ways could set a good example for the rest of the chaps.
Think he got one assist and it was a peach against St Johnstone.
He certainly has ability but I think it’s just finding his proper position. I would take him back but like I said if we sign Ojo I can’t see him being a starter. Competition for places is always good though and we really need strength in depth.
To compete at or near the top we need as many decent quality players as possible, they need to be of a calibre to keep everyone on their toes, players cannot expect to be 1st picks and have to fight for the place in the team. At the moment Kamberi and Doidge are vying for the striker spot with Shaw able to fill in and can now play a bit wider, I can't see where McNulty fits in? and I can't us playing 4-4-2 very often as it leaves us light in the middle.
11-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Mark Atkinson tweets...
Derek McInnes didn’t sound overly confident on getting Funso Ojo to Aberdeen in post-match radio interview, although admittedly he’s often guarded on transfer stories. Hibs the slight favourites to win fight for his signature. No-nonsense No.6 who would fill Bartley/Milligan void
11-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Liked the look of Hallam Hope of Carlisle the other night. Wonder if he caught Heckys eye
Was he not a bit of a wonderkid for Everton a few years back, seem to remember his name mentioned about a loan deal when Stubbs 1st came.
11-07-2019, 09:31 PM
Think he got one assist and it was a peach against St Johnstone.
He certainly has ability but I think it’s just finding his proper position. I would take him back but like I said if we sign Ojo I can’t see him being a starter. Competition for places is always good though and we really need strength in depth.
Remember when he nicked the ball off the Hun attacker at ER broke away and we scored on the counter Slippy G saying Omeonga fouled his man! Oh ma aching sides 😂
11-07-2019, 09:37 PM
Was he not a bit of a wonderkid for Everton a few years back, seem to remember his name mentioned about a loan deal when Stubbs 1st came.
Yeah thats him
11-07-2019, 09:43 PM
From Mark Atkinson
Unless things have developed significantly this evening, it’s not a done deal
11-07-2019, 09:48 PM
From Mark Atkinson
Unless things have developed significantly this evening, it’s not a done deal
So many different versions of the story going about. Would be a kick in the teeth to lose out but a lot of places reporting we are favourites just now.
11-07-2019, 10:01 PM
So many different versions of the story going about. Would be a kick in the teeth to lose out but a lot of places reporting we are favourites just now.
I wouldn’t worry.
Many reliable outlets claiming that we've had a bid accepted.
I don’t think negotiations over the contract will be that difficult to agree when we had one agreed with him about a month ago. The club will know what the player and agent want.
11-07-2019, 10:03 PM
I wouldn’t worry.
Many reliable outlets claiming that we've had a bid accepted.
I don’t think negotiations over the contract will be that difficult to agree when we had one agreed with him about a month ago. The club will know what the player and agent want.
The difference being that he now has a counter offer.
I'd be surprised if he didn't have other offers before, highly rated player who had championship teams eying him up in january available on a free (we thought) transfer!
I assume Heck's powerpoint presentation had him totally convinced and see no reason why that would have changed.
11-07-2019, 10:12 PM
I assume Heck's powerpoint presentation had him totally convinced and see no reason why that would have changed.
Aye but Derek McInnes came in from left field with a keynote presentation. Craig Levine hastily prepared some Google slides but Hearts wouldn't match Scunny's valuation. As ever it will come down to wages.
11-07-2019, 10:22 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4475375/funso-ojo-aberdeen-hibs-transfer-bid-news-derek-mcinnes/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
11-07-2019, 10:33 PM
I'd be surprised if he didn't have other offers before, highly rated player who had championship teams eying him up in january available on a free (we thought) transfer!
Like someone’s said to me, the BBC reporter down there was interviewing Scunnys chairman and the players agent only last week so will be well clued up about goings on. He was the first to break Ojo to hibs in the first instance and first to reveal it was us and Aberdeen after him earlier today
The fact he says we’ve beaten Aberdeen to his signature is enough for this guy
11-07-2019, 10:39 PM
Like someone’s said to me, the BBC reporter down there was interviewing Scunnys chairman and the players agent only last week so will be well clued up about goings on. He was the first to break Ojo to hibs in the first instance and first to reveal it was us and Aberdeen after him earlier today
The fact he says we’ve beaten Aberdeen to his signature is enough for this guy
Where and when did his agent say we’ve beaten Aberdeen to his signature?
If that’s the case, then it couldn’t be anymore clearer that he’s coming.
11-07-2019, 10:41 PM
The BBC reported based down there said that, not his agent.
11-07-2019, 10:41 PM
His agent never said this, the BBC reporter said it.
11-07-2019, 10:46 PM
The BBC reported based down there said that, not his agent.
Ahh right, me bad! 🤦🏽*♂️
I’d love to see him back think he offered a little of what we where missing from Mcginn when he came in, not trying to compare the 2 but we missed mcginns work-rate massively and omeonga gave us that, I do see your point in his final ball and decision making but he’s a young guy we’d need to hope that would improve with regular game time and a team and manager that trust him
Love to see the wee man back
12-07-2019, 06:27 AM
You reckon we could get those 4 for 1m. Would be fantastic business.
Would we have to bring money in through player sales?
Cash injection £1.25m, £500k from mortgage cleared and £1 m for McGinn getting to EPL. £2.75 million in total.
12-07-2019, 06:36 AM
Cash injection £1.25m, £500k from mortgage cleared and £1 m for McGinn getting to EPL. £2.75 million in total.
Do we know for definite regarding the Mcginn money?
How much do we think it will cost to build the indoor facilities at HTC?
Was there cash in the bank or does that go with the old owners?
These are genuine questions as football finance is not my strong point as you may be aware 😁
Souter96Mac
12-07-2019, 06:46 AM
Aberdeen would be gutted if they lost out on Ojo, especially after losing out on Mcgeouch. Hopefully we can get this one over the line
12-07-2019, 06:57 AM
These are genuine questions as football finance is not my strong point as you may be aware [emoji16]
Any cash in the bank belongs to the club and would stay with the club.
Greenworld
12-07-2019, 07:00 AM
Any cash in the bank belongs to the club and would stay with the club.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTo Add to that STF hinted to the fact that this seasons accounts which will be announced in about 6 months will show hibs in fantastic financial health.
12-07-2019, 07:01 AM
Aberdeen would be gutted if they lost out on Ojo, especially after losing out on Mcgeouch. Hopefully we can get this one over the line
We’d be gutted if we lost him to Aberdeen at this point too
I’m not sure we will lose him! Hopefully some signing news today to brighten all our weekends up!
12-07-2019, 08:36 AM
I’m not sure we will lose him! Hopefully some signing news today to brighten all our weekends up!
Hope your tight mate Hecky getting his first picks is important still at this stage Chance to work with most of first team squad all though the upcoming cup games and Newcastle friendly
12-07-2019, 09:05 AM
I’d love to see us flex a bit of financial muscle.
TBF we did that last season. Mallan, Horgan, Kamberi & Milligan all involved significant outlays as did the loan signings of McNulty & Steph. 18,000 crowds & Premiership payments make a huge difference.
MacGruber
12-07-2019, 09:55 AM
Surely Ojo gets done today. Fee agreed with club, deal agreed with player.. maybe just medical?
12-07-2019, 10:02 AM
And nobody is adamant.
Stuart Goddard is Adam Ant. ☺
12-07-2019, 10:07 AM
Any updates on Ojo?
AugustaHibs
12-07-2019, 10:11 AM
Any updates on Ojo?
Seen some Aberdeen fan on twitter saying he had been spotted with mcinnes this morning, could be rubbish though
12-07-2019, 10:12 AM
11.10am
Watching SSN no news
What’s happening?
It’s great to have some dough in the bank
Raises expectations
Peter Crouch has retired
He’s big he’s red his feet stick out the bed!
12-07-2019, 10:15 AM
Surely Ojo gets done today. Fee agreed with club, deal agreed with player.. maybe just medical?
I hope its not a case pf an agent using Hibs as a springboard to get a "better" deal from Aberdeen or any other interested parties.
MacGruber
12-07-2019, 10:29 AM
I hope its not a case pf an agent using Hibs as a springboard to get a "better" deal from Aberdeen or any other interested parties.
The longer it goes now the more I feel like he will end up at the sheep. Not based on any sound reasoning just a gut feeling. If that happens I will be gutted. Never seen the guy play or indeed had heard of him a month ago - that's just the way some of us dafties are
Chefki Kuqi
12-07-2019, 10:38 AM
The longer it goes now the more I feel like he will end up at the sheep. Not based on any sound reasoning just a gut feeling. If that happens I will be gutted. Never seen the guy play or indeed had heard of him a month ago - that's just the way some of us dafties are
His move was back on less than 24 hours ago! Think we’ll be fine. Besides someone said they seen him at the Edinburgh clinic yesterday.
Cat Stanton
12-07-2019, 10:49 AM
If we do, what do we shout now we can't shout "Petrie!"?
Dr Jimmy
12-07-2019, 10:49 AM
His move was back on less than 24 hours ago! Think we’ll be fine. Besides someone said they seen him at the Edinburgh clinic yesterday.
Was told by a member of the press that Hibs had hoped the signing would be completed and announced yesterday. He said to expect an announcement of him signing today.
Niffy
12-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Was told by a member of the press that Hibs had hoped the signing would be completed and announced yesterday. He said to expect an announcement of him signing today.
Dr Jimmy and Mr Jim..... wiznae Tam McManus was it....
12-07-2019, 11:05 AM
These are genuine questions as football finance is not my strong point as you may be aware 😁
Ron has already said cash injection can ho on squad. Not sure about the 500k and McGinn money. I would say 2 to 3 million to build indoor facility. The floating charge agreement indicates some if not all will be funded by loan from Ron.
#persevered
12-07-2019, 11:05 AM
Yeah it's not as catchy to shout "scouting network, recruitment team, hecky and circumstances beyond our control!"
Dr Jimmy
12-07-2019, 11:07 AM
Dr Jimmy and Mr Jim..... wiznae Tam McManus was it....
No it wasn’t 😂
12-07-2019, 11:07 AM
It's still ok to shout "Petrie" - he'll still be getting blamed for stuff on here in five years time.....
12-07-2019, 11:10 AM
Deal was first negotiated when Petrie was still here, originally broke down on his watch.[emoji6]
Edinburgh Green
12-07-2019, 11:16 AM
Lewis MacLeod at Wigan finalising a deal according to Alan Nixon.
12-07-2019, 11:27 AM
There's a 27 year old one season wonder at S****horpe who is on strike because he can't play for who he wants to.
Aberdeen might sign a 27 year old one season wonder from S****horpe ahead of us.
And we're bothered about this?
All the reports were saying he had turned down Aberdeen. Pretty confident he'll be signing for us.
Here’s Lucy!
You know, the longer these things drag on, the less confident I become.
12-07-2019, 11:32 AM
There's a 27 year old one season wonder at S****horpe who is on strike because he can't play for who he wants to.
Aberdeen might sign a 27 year old one season wonder from S****horpe ahead of us.
I think people are bothered because Heckingbottom has identified him, he's a first pick and for a position we need to fill. If for some reason we don't sign him our 2nd and 3rd choices may be a while away from being completed
12-07-2019, 11:32 AM
Surely at the wind up so not sure why im rising to it but why wouldn't we be bothered about potentially losing a likely first-choice summer target to a league rival?
12-07-2019, 11:34 AM
I don't see many people who seem annoyed or overly bothered.
Of course we want the club to sign their first choice options. His age and current club are superfluous to that point.
12-07-2019, 11:38 AM
Ron has already said cash injection can ho on squad. Not sure about the 500k and McGinn money. I would say 2 to 3 million to build indoor facility. The floating charge agreement indicates some if not all will be funded by loan from Ron.
It doesn't indicate that at all though does it. We could realistically be looking at a cash balance in our accounts of anything from about £6-9M depending on how much we have received for McGinn so far. We recorded a small profit for 2017/18 from a starting cash balance of £3.5m so presuming budgets haven't changed much and our income hasn't dropped drastically then we should have a significant cash surplus to use on such a project.
Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 11:40 AM
I obviously don’t know just how serious you are being, but why would we not be bothered about a signing that looks like it has the potential to be a good one?
Should we be targeting players from Barcelona and Real Madrid in your opinion?
Tobias Funke
12-07-2019, 11:41 AM
You know, the longer these things drag on, the less confident I become.
How you feeling about Naismith signing for your team? That’s dragged on a bit...
12-07-2019, 11:44 AM
Surely at the wind up so not sure why im rising to it but why wouldn't we be bothered about potentially losing a likely first-choice summer target to a league rival?
Because pre-season has shown us the eye our manager has for players.
12-07-2019, 11:46 AM
I obviously don’t know just how serious you are being, but why would we not be bothered about a signing that looks like it has the potential to be a good one?
Yes, the extreme opposite to the point made should always apply.
Let’s target Bayern and PSG first teamers as well.
Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 11:49 AM
How you feeling about Naismith signing for your team? That’s dragged on a bit...
12-07-2019, 11:50 AM
The first few games in pre season mean absolutely nothing and you will be well aware of that, these games are for the players to get fit, get to know each others game.
I am in the Philippines and going to bed soon. I am dreaming of waking up to all three signings in the morning. I will probably get up about 3am to check here for definitive news.
Here’s Lucy!
Yes, the extreme opposite to the point made should always apply.
Let’s target Bayern and PSG first teamers as well.
Yeah, why not? :wink:
12-07-2019, 11:52 AM
Well, we once signed Steve Archibald from Barca ! Hope to get a chance to meet him at Pat's birthday bash.
12-07-2019, 11:54 AM
Eh?
12-07-2019, 11:56 AM
Time for a wee break from here I think. For you that is.
12-07-2019, 11:56 AM
Lewis Macleod going to Wigan.
12-07-2019, 12:00 PM
Pre season hasn’t told us anything apart from some of our fans seem to dislike Heckingbottom already, for some strange reason.
12-07-2019, 12:02 PM
We're writing off our new signings and our manager after 3 pre season games?
12-07-2019, 12:04 PM
We're writing off our new signings and our manager after 3 pre season games?
Nah, just Speedway fortunately.
HFC93
12-07-2019, 12:06 PM
Not sure if this a windup…
12-07-2019, 12:06 PM
Not sure if this a windup…
It always is.
Pre season hasn’t told us anything apart from some of our fans seem to dislike Heckingbottom already, for some strange reason.
Yip just waiting for the first get Stubbs in post. :confused:
12-07-2019, 12:07 PM
Imagine being that auld and spending your time prolifically posting attempts at the wind-up on a football message board....sad really.
12-07-2019, 12:08 PM
What a pathetic comment.
Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 12:11 PM
Agree. I really don't understand what some have against him. The minute we go on a bad run (which will happen) they will have the pitchforks out.
12-07-2019, 12:12 PM
Nah, just Speedway fortunately.
This!
Ojo will be announced and we will all be happy clappy again...at least until 4.40pm tomorrow :greengrin
Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 12:13 PM
Yip just waiting for the first get Stubbs in post. :confused:
Nah loads turned against Stubbs as well. Hardest to please support in Scotland at times.
badabing67
12-07-2019, 12:13 PM
Does anyone know if Ryan Hedges was our choice but he choose the sheep and then we signed Newell?.... is that right or am I wrong
12-07-2019, 12:14 PM
Does anyone know if Ryan Hedges was our choice but he choose the sheep and then we signed Newell?.... is that right or am I wrong
I think a few fans suggested him but don't remember anything to suggest we were definitely linked with him.
hibbie02
12-07-2019, 12:18 PM
This!
Ojo will be announced and we will all be happy clappy again...at least until 4.40pm tomorrow :greengrin
How? What's happening at 4:40 tomorrow? Spill the beans? Sauce? Are you on a wind up? Is your source reliable? Where will the 26 bus be at 4:40? Is the Edinburgh Clap Clinic open on a Saturday?
.............Ah! The big opening game! Should I order the Group some absorbant pants? :greengrin
MacGruber
12-07-2019, 12:20 PM
The Scotsman are reporting the Ojo fee as £350K
On top of the Doidge money this is one hell of a big spend so far for Hibs.
12-07-2019, 12:21 PM
It always is.
Agree. And its tediously boring and in every single transfer window.
12-07-2019, 12:28 PM
That's mental.
Greenworld
12-07-2019, 12:28 PM
On top of the Doidge money this is one hell of a big spend so far for Hibs.Saw that but the local reporter has said 125k was already accepted by both clubs I think click bate from Scotsman
12-07-2019, 12:30 PM
I think a few fans suggested him but don't remember anything to suggest we were definitely linked with him.
First I heard of us being linked with him was when Aberdeen signed him.
I've generally been underwhelmed with our transfer activity most seasons but this summer has displayed a real statement of intent from our board and manager, even before the takeover. I've always said I'll give credit when it's due, and I've been really impressed. Some people just want to moan.
K-Zazu
12-07-2019, 12:37 PM
Link?
Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 12:45 PM
If true, that’s proper spending by us, showing great ambition.
Fingers crossed.
badabing67
12-07-2019, 12:46 PM
Cheers thought we were as he worked with Hecky at Barnsley
12-07-2019, 12:51 PM
Link?
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/celtic/scottish-football-transfer-live-swede-close-to-joining-rangers-hibs-and-aberdeen-agree-350k-deal-celtic-face-leeds-competition-for-star-dundee-united-take-defender-on-trial-1-4963751?page=2
Half way down the page.
Inconsequential
12-07-2019, 12:57 PM
If true, that’s proper spending by us, showing great ambition.
Fingers crossed. I can't see us spending 350k on Ojo, Lucy. Seems a big jump from the free transfer we expected initially. Big gamble on a player despite all the good reports there's no guarantee he will be a success in Scottish football. Some of our signings are in the same boat which is a concern but of course I want all of the signings to do well. Time will tell.
craigiehibs
12-07-2019, 01:01 PM
I can't see us spending 350k on Ojo, Lucy. Seems a big jump from the free transfer we expected initially. Big gamble on a player despite all the good reports there's no guarantee he will be a success in Scottish football. Some of our signings are in the same boat which is a concern but of course I want all of the signings to do well. Time will tell.
feom what im told he was our no 1 target this summer so who knows?
12-07-2019, 01:03 PM
Might be the case we’ve both made bids of 125k and it’s 350k altogether? Maybe wires getting crossed
12-07-2019, 01:03 PM
Is it 5 o'clock at East mains time uet?
NC1875
12-07-2019, 01:04 PM
Might be the case we’ve both made bids of 125k and it’s 350k altogether? Maybe wires getting crossed
A masterclass in maths
12-07-2019, 01:05 PM
And a faulty calculator?
IncredibleHibee
12-07-2019, 01:05 PM
A masterclass in maths
🤣🤣🤣🤣
12-07-2019, 01:08 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/SZbFekMCHl9Yc/giphy.gif
12-07-2019, 01:15 PM
Yeah Hearts' 100k bid got rejected.
MikeyS
12-07-2019, 01:20 PM
Gaun yersel Rainman! 😂
12-07-2019, 01:22 PM
£125k + £125k =. £350k 😆
12-07-2019, 01:23 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/celtic/scottish-football-transfer-live-swede-close-to-joining-rangers-hibs-and-aberdeen-agree-350k-deal-celtic-face-leeds-competition-for-star-dundee-united-take-defender-on-trial-1-4963751?page=2
Half way down the page.
Can't read it as it wants me to register
12-07-2019, 01:23 PM
Gaun yersel Rainman! 😂
:greengrin :top marks
badabing67
12-07-2019, 01:29 PM
What time do they usually release the pre-match interviews on Hibs TV on a Friday. Hope those guys have an extra interview
Inconsequential
12-07-2019, 01:31 PM
£125k + £125k =. £350k 😆 I really, really fear for the future of this nation. :greengrin
12-07-2019, 01:37 PM
its approaching 5pm in zante hopefully we sign OJO today, itll make my Mythos taste sweeter while hopefully watching Dundee United pump hertz
12-07-2019, 01:42 PM
Why?
What a pathetic comment.
What an insipid response.
In case you were unaware, a message board is a place where popular, unpopular, thought through and non-thought through opinions are posted, sometimes even backed by evidence.
You can be happy, miserable or a nippy wee soul like Flash, often making a snidey comment in one sentence and then disappearing in a flash lest he/she/it be engaged in debate.
Best of all, there's an ignore button so I don't have to suffer your pish and you don't have to suffer mine. Use it if you want.
Now, Heckingbottom has spent money on non-impressive signings.
Non-impressive in pedigree, calibre and in pre-season; performance.
The one player that looks quality is the one signed by our two previous managers.
Add to this the uninspired displays we put in under his leadership, in the split fixtures last season, bar Tynecastle.
The early signs are not impressive and hopefully that will change.
In the meantime, I'm losing no sleep over potentially (hasn't even happened yet) losing out to the sheep on an injured 27 year old S****horpe player who has had one good season in his career.
Alright?
12-07-2019, 01:46 PM
And there was stuart93 taking the heat off you a bit too..
Torto7
12-07-2019, 01:49 PM
Why?
In case you were unaware, a message board is a place where popular, unpopular, thought through and non-thought through opinions are posted, sometimes even backed by evidence.
You can be happy, miserable or a nippy wee soul like Flash, often making a snidey comment in one sentence and then disappearing in a flash lest he/she/it be engaged in debate.
Best of all, there's an ignore button so I don't have to suffer your pish and you don't have to suffer mine. Use it if you want.
The one player that looks quality is the one signed by our two previous managers.
Add to this the uninspired displays we put in under his leadership, in the split fixtures last season, bar Tynecastle.
In the meantime, I'm losing no sleep over potentially (hasn't even happened yet) losing out to the sheep on an injured 27 year old S****horpe player who has had one good season in his career.
Alright?
Buy your season tickets folks we've got a new PR man.
12-07-2019, 01:51 PM
Why?
Alright?
You’ve had a one night stand with Gail, haven’t you?
12-07-2019, 01:52 PM
If only it had been the one night.
12-07-2019, 01:53 PM
Why?
Alright?
You just blanking out all the inspired displays we put in under Heckingbottom last season then?
Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 01:56 PM
Why?
Alright?
I think that if you can criticise the post split games you also have to give credit for turning our team around (with someone else's team). We went from free falling in 8th position to fighting for Europe.
You also have to realise where Scotland is now with signings. Financially we are miles behind other nations. Teams in league 1 and 2 in England can provide bigger wages than us. That's just where we are at now.
12-07-2019, 01:56 PM
You just blanking out all the inspired displays we put in under Heckingbottom last season then?
When we put the mighty Accies and St. Johnstone to the sword and the like?
Fair punching above our weight he got us there, right enough.
12-07-2019, 01:58 PM
Any transfer news?
12-07-2019, 01:59 PM
Fair punching above our weight he got us there, right enough.To be fair he got us firing much better than our previous manager was doing
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
12-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Probably the same people who thought Neil Lennon was god.
12-07-2019, 02:03 PM
Fair punching above our weight he got us there, right enough.
You have been at it on here for years.
12-07-2019, 02:04 PM
I think that if you can criticise the post split games you also have to give credit for turning our team around (with someone else's team). We went from free falling in 8th position to fighting for Europe.
You also have to realise where Scotland is now with signings. Financially we are miles behind other nations. Teams in league 1 and 2 in England can provide bigger wages than us. That's just where we are at now.
An actual thought out response rather than just a dig. Thank you Barman.
Credit to him for our pre-split results when he came in, with the caveat that it was teams I expect Hibs to beat. Unqualified credit also for the Tynecastle victory.
When we had to punch at or above our weight, we saw a team and a manager who didn't deliver.
Your point on financials is beyond debate and I agree. That's where the manager comes in. When we sign Newell and he says it was the manager's presentation that swung him to sign for Hibs, I'm not impressed.
When a manager attracts Ambrose, Marciano, Archibald, Goram, Zemmama, Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli, Stokes etc to the club, I am impressed.
12-07-2019, 02:05 PM
To be fair he got us firing much better than our previous manager was doing
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Lennon had run out of ideas, no question.
You have been at it on here for years.
Wee bit rich coming from you, pal.
12-07-2019, 02:07 PM
Credit to him for our pre-split results when he came in, with the caveat that it was teams I expect Hibs to beat. Unqualified credit also for the Tynecastle victory.
When we had to punch at or above our weight, we saw a team and a manager who didn't deliver.
Your point on financials is beyond debate and I agree. That's where the manager comes in. When we sign Newell and he says it was the manager's presentation that swung him to sign for Hibs, I'm not impressed.
When a manager attracts Ambrose, Marciano, Archibald, Goram, Zemmama, Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli, Stokes etc to the club, I am impressed.
What about the threadbare squad we had during his time? I will reserve judgement on all our signings and won’t make any ridiculous opinions based on Pre season game time. They might be good or crap time will tell, it the latter in sure PH will suffer the consequences with the backing he’s being given.
12-07-2019, 02:09 PM
What about the threadbare squad we had during his time? I will reserve judgement on all our signings and won’t make any ridiculous opinions based on Pre season game time. They might be good or crap time will tell, it the latter in sure PH will suffer the consequences with the backing he’s being given.
We'll all suffer consequences with the backing he's been given.
Lee Marvin
12-07-2019, 02:13 PM
We'll all suffer consequences with the backing he's been given.
You really can be such a drama queen.
How many minutes hsve you see the new players play? How many minutes have you seem them perform for hibs in a competitive game?
Unless you have been personally been scouting these players, how do you know how awful they are?
Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 02:14 PM
The football climate was way different when we were signing the likes of Sauzee, Latapy etc. I mean we even had Caniggia turn up at Dundee in those days. Even Celtic with all their champions league money are operating in a different market now. Wont change until we can sort out a better tv deal.
I like Hecky and think he will do well. Unfortunately I fear that the manner in which Lennon left has resulted in many not giving the new guy a chance (not saying you fall into this category).
12-07-2019, 02:16 PM
Any white smoke from Easter Road yet?
Why?
Alright?
Fairly threw your toys out the pram this time & you the wind up merchant par excellence. 😂
12-07-2019, 02:16 PM
Lennon had run out of ideas, no question.
Wee bit rich coming from you, pal.
Not really. You troll the whole forum and I amongst others, call you out for it.
Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 02:22 PM
Higgo, hope you’re not just going to leave it at that?
Bit of a accusatory comment to just leave hanging there, don’t you think?
12-07-2019, 02:23 PM
The football climate was way different when we were signing the likes of Sauzee, Latapy etc. I mean we even had Caniggia turn up at Dundee in those days. Even Celtic with all their champions league money are operating in a different market now. Wont change until we can sort out a better tv deal.
I like Hecky and think he will do well. Unfortunately I fear that the manner in which Lennon left has resulted in many not giving the new guy a chance (not saying you fall into this category).
Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.
I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.
He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus.
As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.
When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.
I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.
I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.
Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.
With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.
12-07-2019, 02:24 PM
Not really. You troll the whole forum and I amongst others, call you out for it.
You post snidey digs and disappear. What's your point?
KdyHby
12-07-2019, 02:28 PM
And, we have signed..........
Robbo6-2
12-07-2019, 02:29 PM
Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket. I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus. As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.The main point is you haven't seen any of his signings play in a competitive game for Hibs yet.Diodge could turn out to be the next Louis Moult and score 20 goals this season.You need to give them a chance to see what they can do first before spouting the negative bile.
12-07-2019, 02:30 PM
Any transfer news tho