View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread
04-08-2019, 11:18 AM
looks like boyle is out for the season, we dont need cover for him we need a full time replacement.
And we would get him on a season long loan which is a replacement for Boyle.
We may be after more than Middleton
#2 Double Tap
04-08-2019, 11:20 AM
And we would get him on a season long loan which is a replacement for Boyle.
We may be after more than Middleton
I hope we are!
04-08-2019, 11:34 AM
Most players miss 4 games per season through other things anyway. Rubbish that it's 4 of our bigger games but the only reason folk are complaining is because he's a rangers player and we've competed with them in recent years.
But the reality is they're starting to widen the gap between themselves and the rest of the league again so we need to be realistic.
He's a good player and I'd rather have him for all of the games bar 4 than play some rubbish free agent or youngster that's not ready, just so they can play against everyone.
It’s nothing to do with Rangers, just don’t think we should be developing other Scottish clubs players. Just my opinion
04-08-2019, 11:38 AM
We need players able to take on and go past a man. That’s what unlocks the tight defences we can expect to see for most games at ER. Doesn’t matter where in the field it comes from, yesterday only Allan, Horgan and Whittaker seemed willing to try it.
If Middleton is able to offer this, then that’ll do me.
04-08-2019, 11:38 AM
It’s nothing to do with Rangers, just don’t think we should be developing other Scottish clubs players. Just my opinion
How much will he really develop in the six months before Boyle is back, given he’s already played European football?
04-08-2019, 11:40 AM
We know what we are getting with middleton, we got Agyepong last season and it was a disaster
04-08-2019, 11:43 AM
We need players able to take on and go past a man. That’s what unlocks the tight defences we can expect to see for most games at ER. Doesn’t matter where in the field it comes from, yesterday only Allan, Horgan and Whittaker seemed willing to try it.
If Middleton is able to offer this, then that’ll do me.
Any time iv seen him thats exactly what he does , he's quick , direct and likes to run at defenders .
04-08-2019, 11:47 AM
Anything in this Lee Cattermole chat online?
04-08-2019, 11:48 AM
Jesus I hope not.
04-08-2019, 11:50 AM
Apparently he's only 31?! Genuinely thought he was at least 35 haha.
04-08-2019, 11:51 AM
Would be happy with that.
04-08-2019, 11:56 AM
Would be happy with that.
Certainly fits the bill of ‘combative midfielder’ Just perhaps a bit too well.
04-08-2019, 11:59 AM
Surprised Hearts didn't go after him over Whelan. A good player although a player you absolutely hate, dirty, niggles away, winds up away fans.
Worked with Stockdale.
Can't see anything in it though
04-08-2019, 12:04 PM
He's being signed to cover the injured Boyle , a loan is the way to go . as long as he does the job until Boyle is fit again
No the way to go is be always looking to improve why settle for Boyle on return. It's unfortunate but let's look to see if we can bring in players better than we have and Boyle can fight not walk right in.
04-08-2019, 12:05 PM
Apparently he's only 31?! Genuinely thought he was at least 35 haha.
Must admit I thought he'd be older than that as well! Still not sure convinced he's what we need. Loves a yellow card and won't ofter much-loved going forward. Wouldn't sorely ask for a massive wage as well.
04-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Anything in this Lee Cattermole chat online?Where's the chat?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
04-08-2019, 12:11 PM
Would take him in a second
04-08-2019, 12:13 PM
If they are not good enough for their primary team at the moment then why for Hibs? Nothing to do with what team they are from.
Chris Commons, Liam Henderson, Anthony Stokes, Scott Allan, Scott Bain ...
04-08-2019, 12:14 PM
Why would people be okay to take Celtic players on loan if not rangers if it wasn’t for being a bigot?
I personally hate that Rangers cheated the Scottish game for over a decade. Does that make me a bigot?
04-08-2019, 12:16 PM
I'm already hoping the boy has thick sick
You're weird. :wink:
04-08-2019, 12:17 PM
Cattermole is garbage and was finished years ago.
04-08-2019, 12:18 PM
Where's the chat?
Done a search for his name on twitter and facebook and nothing came up about him coming to hibs from anyone
04-08-2019, 12:19 PM
Did he not get almost double figures for goals last season? I didnt see much of him but from what I did see I wouldn't say he is finished, doubt he will be at hibs regardless
04-08-2019, 12:20 PM
You're weird. :wink:
I really need to review my posts before I hit the submit reply button 😂😂 I blame my phone
HFC93
04-08-2019, 12:20 PM
Done a search for his name on twitter and facebook and nothing came up about him coming to hibs from anyone
Me neither. Not even on the daft Hibs transfer rumour accounts that just post made up nonsense.
04-08-2019, 12:21 PM
Did he not get almost double figures for goals last season? I didnt see much of him but from what I did see I wouldn't say he is finished, doubt he will be at hibs regardless
04-08-2019, 12:21 PM
32 games 7 goals 2 assists he's not finished and won't end up at Hibs
04-08-2019, 12:22 PM
He's had rings run round him in the Sunderland midfield for years.
I can't believe they managed to get rid of him.
A few injuries have taken their toll but if anyone thought yesterday was slow and ponderous they need to see a midfield with this guy in it.
Good player 10 years ago right enough.
04-08-2019, 12:23 PM
He's had rings run round him in the Sunderland midfield for years.
I can't believe they managed to get rid of him.
A few injuries have taken their toll but if anyone thought yesterday was slow and ponderous they need to see a midfield with this guy in it.
Good player 10 years ago right enough.
Did his contract not just end?
Greenworld
04-08-2019, 12:24 PM
Cattermole is garbage and was finished years ago.Was on 40k a week at Sunderland had to go. Lots of experience but not quite what I would hope the type player hibs are looking for.
We need a pairing up front I hate this 1 up top approach no wonder flo toils in that format quite simply he can't play it.
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
04-08-2019, 12:25 PM
32 games 7 goals 2 assists he's not finished and won't end up at Hibs
There will be championship teams looking at him surely
04-08-2019, 12:27 PM
You’re not searching very well are you.
Someone called ‘Jackie Breslin’ on one of the Hibs groups on Facebook.
04-08-2019, 12:28 PM
Good question.
Billy Kirkwood?
Steven Dobbie?
04-08-2019, 12:32 PM
That would be fair enough if our number one priority was developing players but it’s not, our number one priority is winning football matches and if he improves our ability to do that then he is more than welcome here.
04-08-2019, 12:44 PM
There will be championship teams looking at him surely
If his reported 40k per week wages at Sunderland is true then he's not coming here for sure
04-08-2019, 12:46 PM
If his reported 40k per week wages at Sunderland is true then he's not coming here for sure
Crazy that sunderland were still paying that amount of money last year
04-08-2019, 12:52 PM
Steven Dobbie?
Darren McGregor🤷*♂️
04-08-2019, 12:58 PM
Did his contract not just end?
I think they came to an agreement to end his contract mutually, not sure how much of a payoff he got but I think he might have had a year left.
He got something like a 5 year contract, the agent was Margaret Byrne who used to be the CEO at Sunderland. Some very questionable contracts were given out when she was at the club, and she managed to get some pretty good deals for some of her players after she left.
These are the main reasons Sunderland are where they are today - paying insane amounts of money to players and agents for very little return.
Cattermole should be set for life financially off the back of that so might be prepared to take something on for less than you'd expect. I can't see clubs queuing up to give him anything like the money he's been on though.
04-08-2019, 01:06 PM
That would be fair enough if our number one priority was developing players but it’s not, our number one priority is winning football matches and if he improves our ability to do that then he is more than welcome here.
All you ever do on here, is disagree with everyone’s posts
mcfly
04-08-2019, 01:18 PM
So yesterday you said that none of doidges misses were sitters but today lee cattermole is garbage. He’s 31 and far from finished.
Would be ideal for us and walk into our first team
I know football is all about opinions but you are way off mate
04-08-2019, 01:20 PM
I don't want a player to fill gap until Boyle return I want a player to join us and make Boyles return very very difficult for him once fit.
04-08-2019, 01:27 PM
I don't want a player to fill gap until Boyle return I want a player to join us and make Boyles return very very difficult for him once fit.
This! We don't know if Boyle will break down again/ever be the same again so let's sign for long term
04-08-2019, 01:27 PM
So yesterday you said that none of doidges misses were sitters but today lee cattermole is garbage. He’s 31 and far from finished.
Would be ideal for us and walk into our first team
I know football is all about opinions but you are way off mate
How often have you seen Cattermole play in recent years?
If you put to one side the fact that you've heard his name on MOTD and use your eyes, you'll see that he's finished.
It's not about age - injuries have done him and he's too slow to play in midfield at anything like a decent level.
04-08-2019, 01:33 PM
We will be lucky to see Boyle play this season. We need a year long loan ASAP.
04-08-2019, 01:35 PM
Anything in this Middleton thing?
04-08-2019, 01:36 PM
Anything in this Middleton thing?Lol I imagine Heckinbottom is a decent source
04-08-2019, 01:37 PM
Anything in this Middleton thing?
The manager has already confirmed it
04-08-2019, 01:37 PM
Lol I imagine Heckinbottom is a decent source
I haven't seen anything from him. Apologies.
04-08-2019, 01:39 PM
I haven't seen anything from him. Apologies.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/49222047
Quoted here
mcfly
04-08-2019, 01:42 PM
How often have you seen Cattermole play in recent years?
If you put to one side the fact that you've heard his name on MOTD and use your eyes, you'll see that he's finished.
It's not about age - injuries have done him and he's too slow to play in midfield at anything like a decent level.
No need to be patronising when someone questions your opinion.
You aren’t always right mate and my opinion is you are wrong
04-08-2019, 01:47 PM
No need to be patronising when someone questions your opinion.
You aren’t always right mate and my opinion is you are wrong
I accept I'm not always right, and this is purely a matter of opinion. Not sure which part of my post is patronising. I'm yet to see the sitters from yesterday and tbh I'm expecting to be proved well and truly wrong when I see them back.
I occasionally go to see Sunderland and Cattermole has been a big part of their drop through the divisions. He's the kind of player I quietly pray Sevco will sign as he's one of those whose name and reputation as a decent player in his day count for a lot more than his footballing contribution in recent years.
TBH since he left Sunderland I've been kind of dreading us being linked with him.
04-08-2019, 01:48 PM
Why? If its the same injury again then it took him about 4-5 months to recover last time. There was even chat that if required he could have potentially have been back for the split.
04-08-2019, 01:53 PM
Why? If its the same injury again then it took him about 4-5 months to recover last time. There was even chat that if required he could have potentially have been back for the split.
Not sure we want to be taking any risks with Martin. Take as long as it needs to get him 100%
What actually is his injury, meniscus or ligament
04-08-2019, 01:53 PM
I saw him yesterday and he seemed to be walking reasonably ok. I thought he was due back in October as the knee injury proved to be not as bad as expected?
04-08-2019, 01:54 PM
I saw him yesterday and he seemed to be walking reasonably ok. I thought he was due back in October as the knee injury proved to be not as bad as expected?
That’s better news. Someone said think he’s getting an op this week!
04-08-2019, 01:58 PM
Yip theres no chance he will be back in October, gets the op early this week, cant see him being fit before the turn of the year, different operation to the last one
04-08-2019, 01:58 PM
Well if the case maybe then Hibs may well be in a position were Boyle and others are not certain to start. I would be looking at permanent players always looking to improve if we can.
04-08-2019, 01:59 PM
Hibs tweeted the other day that he is getting surgery on Tuesday.
Most people are bigots so why get so worked up about it? I have an unshakeable belief that Hibernian FC are the greatest club on planet Earth - this makes me a bigot, and I'm quite proud of it. If you don't want Middleton because he plays for the huns then that is maybe bigoted in not such a good way. If he improves us as a team then I'll roll out the welcome mat.
No, that makes you biased in favour of a football club that plays professional sport, nothing like a bigot.
04-08-2019, 03:13 PM
I'm not sure I'm a fan of us signing loan players from clubs we cant field them against. Imagine if this kid turns out to be a fixture for us and we get to a stage where we have to get a result against his parent club to make Europe or meet them in a cup final. I don't know about anybody else, but I haven't forgotten that if it hadn't been for the Huns shocking Sellik in the semis of the 2016 Scottish cup we would have taken the field on 21/05/16 without Stokes or Henderson.
04-08-2019, 03:54 PM
Yip theres no chance he will be back in October, gets the op early this week, cant see him being fit before the turn of the year, different operation to the last one
A couple of the newspapers were reporting that the scan showed that the damage was not as bad as expected. Apparently the knee requires to be cleaned up as there are fragments of bone/tissue floating about from the previous operation.
We live in hope.
1875Sean
04-08-2019, 03:56 PM
Daz was a free agent . last i can remember is Dobbie
He was a free too
04-08-2019, 04:38 PM
Martin definitely going for his op on Tuesday.
K-Zazu
04-08-2019, 04:54 PM
I reckon we need a defensive mid, winger and a striker
04-08-2019, 04:56 PM
Exactly where I am. And FWIW I'm convinced we will have these 3 players in (whoever they are) before transfer window ends.
04-08-2019, 05:04 PM
So do I and I think we may still get them in, not sure if that means moving people on but I have no idea who we could move on now.
04-08-2019, 05:16 PM
Is Middleton not another technically good player without being particularly fast?
Not saying he’s slow but we desperately need a speed merchant in the team.
Hecky said at end of last season he would recruit players with power and pace to play a high tempo game I didn’t see a lot of evidence of that yesterday so if Middleton can’t provide that then it’s a no for me
04-08-2019, 05:45 PM
Still alarmed hecky said he was happy with the squad before Boyler injury. Total contradiction for me cause if he got his own way omenonga and mcnulty would be here. So surely we’re still two players light. Make no mistake hecky loses a couple of games and the pressure is on with the signings been made.
04-08-2019, 05:47 PM
Still alarmed hecky said he was happy with the squad before Boyler injury. Total contradiction for me cause if he got his own way omenonga and mcnulty would be here. So surely we’re still two players light. Make no mistake hecky loses a couple of games and the pressure is on with the signings been made.
He’s keeping agents prices down.
04-08-2019, 05:49 PM
At the very least.
04-08-2019, 05:55 PM
At the very least.
At most. That's 10 new players in a window ,which is bordering on mental.
04-08-2019, 06:10 PM
If he loses a couple of games? Really? If that's the case we are a pretty **** set of supporters.
04-08-2019, 06:19 PM
At most. That's 10 new players in a window ,which is bordering on mental.
Check what many other clubs do/have done.
Key here is most are on decent length deals. PH has stated we are building for the long term. Stubbs team has dissipated and Lennon never planned ahead.
I guess the plan now is to overhaul the squad, to avoid huge player turnover in the future.
Why do you think it is 'mental?'
04-08-2019, 06:20 PM
My thoughts too. He also said yesterday that we are a work in progress and would be for a long long time???
It's probably the nature of football that every team is a work in progress all of the time but it sent alarm bells ringing with me. Why did he say that and what was he getting at? Bizarre thing to say! When he said he likes his teams to play with pace, power and press high (or words to that effect) a fan on the Barnsley forum said he was blathering poo as he'd never played like that. Makes me a wee bit nervous.
04-08-2019, 06:22 PM
Hecky said at end of last season he would recruit players with power and pace to play a high tempo game I didn’t see a lot of evidence of that yesterday so if Middleton can’t provide that then it’s a no for me
He also said that building the squad will take more than one transfer window. Funny how people hear what they want to hear.
04-08-2019, 06:31 PM
I'd be delighted if he came on a permanent deal, but I don't want us to develop a Rangers player for them.
Realistically we aren’t challenging for second any time soon, so if we took a loanee from Rangers that could make the difference in getting us third then I’ll take them every day of the week.
04-08-2019, 06:34 PM
NOW!
04-08-2019, 06:57 PM
He also said that building the squad will take more than one transfer window. Funny how people hear what they want to hear.
But my point is he clearly stated the type of player he wanted and all be it yesterday was first game I have seen I saw no evidence that We are capable of playing that way You would of expected some progress in that direction Boyle wasn’t his signing but with him missing the lack of pace and power was clear for all to see
I accept it was only first league game and we need to see who else he brings in and how we are playing after five or six games in
But against a poor St Mirren team I expected a bit more than what I saw yesterday
Only my opinion , but maybe I am expecting too much too soon
SideBurns
04-08-2019, 07:08 PM
But my point is he clearly stated the type of player he wanted and all be it yesterday was first game I have seen I saw no evidence that We are capable of playing that way You would of expected some progress in that direction Boyle wasn’t his signing but with him missing the lack of pace and power was clear for all to see
I accept it was only first league game and we need to see who else he brings in and how we are playing after five or six games in
But against a poor St Mirren team I expected a bit more than what I saw yesterday
Only my opinion , but maybe I am expecting too much too soon
The performances I've seen don't support Hecky's apparent desire for a high tempo pressing game either. Yesterday was tough viewing over the piece, although we did play some decent fitba at times. Clearly, he has no intention of going down the 'hoofball' route, but the build up has to be quicker.
04-08-2019, 07:09 PM
Likewise, the first two being the priority imo.
04-08-2019, 07:26 PM
My thoughts too. He also said yesterday that we are a work in progress and would be for a long long time???
It's probably the nature of football that every team is a work in progress all of the time but it sent alarm bells ringing with me. Why did he say that and what was he getting at? Bizarre thing to say! When he said he likes his teams to play with pace, power and press high (or words to that effect) a fan on the Barnsley forum said he was blathering poo as he'd never played like that. Makes me a wee bit nervous.
Probably the same Barnsley fan who celebrated at Wembley? Or celebrated when they got promoted to the championship?
'A fan' also said on a forum he was a brilliant manager for them. Who do we believe?
What I do know is that he totally salvaged our team from freefall last season.
Nuts in knots and all that.
04-08-2019, 07:29 PM
He’s keeping agents prices down.
I'd hope people would get this in 2019
04-08-2019, 07:47 PM
Probably the same Barnsley fan who celebrated at Wembley? Or celebrated when they got promoted to the championship?
'A fan' also said on a forum he was a brilliant manager for them. Who do we believe?
What I do know is that he totally salvaged our team from freefall last season.
Nuts in knots and all that.
Yes but there is no evidence of pace power and high press, is there?
04-08-2019, 08:04 PM
Yes but there is no evidence of pace power and high press, is there?
We haven’t played against teams were that would be in place though. Let’s see how we play against rangers.
04-08-2019, 08:13 PM
We haven’t played against teams were that would be in place though. Let’s see how we play against rangers.
While I sort of get the argument about the high press I've seen little to no evidence of pace and power either, surely that should be evident regardless of opposition ?
04-08-2019, 08:18 PM
No, that makes you biased in favour of a football club that plays professional sport, nothing like a bigot.
bigot noun (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/noun)
big·ot | \ ˈbi-gət
(https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bigot?pronunciation&lang=en_us&dir=b&file=bigot001) \
Definition of bigot
: a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices
I am somewhat prejudiced towards HFC, therefore bigoted. I understand the other meanings but lets not try and re define a word.
04-08-2019, 08:37 PM
Middleton having a medical tomorrow
04-08-2019, 08:44 PM
Whilst I’m happy to wait and pleased with 3 points, we have no pace in the team and that was his philosophy, that’s my point really.
04-08-2019, 08:45 PM
Great!
Put him in against the Hun!
No we cannae! :confused:
04-08-2019, 09:02 PM
Have we ever had one of that mob on loan before?
Souter96Mac
04-08-2019, 09:05 PM
Great!
Put him in against the Hun!
No we cannae! :confused:
Maybe try and put him in the cup game Vs Elgin? Not sure how much of a preseason he has had.
04-08-2019, 09:12 PM
Happy enough with that. Seems a decent player.
04-08-2019, 09:17 PM
Happy enough with that. Seems a decent player.
A Hun at my work thinks he's a great player but he has been known to talk some amount of rubbish. He has looked good on the occasions I have seen him. This looks like a decent clip of him
https://twitter.com/SpiffyClyro/status/1157738248728403968?s=09
04-08-2019, 09:18 PM
Watching the huns today im worried that he can't get in their team
04-08-2019, 09:18 PM
I wonder if getting all our players in early was a good thing, especially when better players become available towards the end of the transfer window?
04-08-2019, 09:19 PM
Ambrose couldnt get in the celtic defence and they weren't exactly great at the back at the time
04-08-2019, 09:20 PM
Maybe try and put him in the cup game Vs Elgin? Not sure how much of a preseason he has had.
Greenock Morton
darwenhibby
04-08-2019, 09:20 PM
I wonder if getting all our players in early was a good thing, especially when better players become available towards the end of the transfer window?
Do you think so G
Always felt we picked up the dregs 🙄🙄
04-08-2019, 09:25 PM
Scott Allan couldn't get in a Celtic team last season that was crying out for a Scott Allan.
Kamara didn't start for rangers, Jones didn't start, Hastie wasn't quoted, I'm sure there are a number of decent players who didn't play or weren't on the bench
04-08-2019, 09:28 PM
I think our approach to the window has been better this year.
We’re in to the next round of the league cup as a seeded team and we’ve won our first league game. It’s not been great but, had we not had the bulk of our team in place, we might have slipped up. That said, the new players and manager still have it all to prove.
Even allowing for Middleton, I’m still not convinced we’re finished. There is a month to go and players not previously available will become available.
BlackSheep
04-08-2019, 09:28 PM
Greenock Morton
He means the colts cup game...
04-08-2019, 09:29 PM
Do you think so G
Always felt we picked up the dregs 🙄🙄
Off the top of my head, the below players were all brought in during summer transfer windows, on or after July 31st.
Marciano
Fontaine
McGinn
McGeouch
McGregor
Barker
04-08-2019, 09:48 PM
Scott Allan couldn't get in the Celtic squad never mind team.
04-08-2019, 09:53 PM
It may or may not be case but it is a very fair point.
04-08-2019, 09:57 PM
I think our approach to the window has been better this year.
We’re in to the next round of the league cup as a seeded team and we’ve won our first league game. It’s not been great but, had we not had the bulk of our team in place, we might have slipped up. That said, the new players and manager still have it all to prove.
Even allowing for Middleton, I’m still not convinced we’re finished. There is a month to go and players not previously available will become available.
I think another signing or two will come. Ron won’t be able to help himself will he?
04-08-2019, 10:01 PM
Scott Allan couldn't get in the Celtic squad never mind team.
But Celtic won the treble last year. And the year before that. And the year before that. They're several levels above Rangers.
Rangers will be better than us this year but on the evidence of today's showing not by much. And he's not even getting on the bench for them.
If the guy signs he gets my full support but must admit I'm finding it hard to get excited about this one.
04-08-2019, 10:11 PM
Off the top of my head, the below players were all brought in during summer transfer windows, on or after July 31st.
Marciano
Fontaine
McGinn
McGeouch
McGregor
Barker
Without going back through it and looking for a ton of examples we’ve previously had Griffiths, Flo, Allan, Mallan, Efe, Gray, Boyle who came in early in the window. Rockys permanent deal was also early in the window.
Good players are available before the window even opens. Good players are available at the beginning of the window. Good players are available in the final few weeks of the window and good players are available in the last day or so. The benefit to getting them in early is that they’re up to speed and know their team mates for the season starting.
04-08-2019, 10:13 PM
But Celtic won the treble last year. And the year before that. And the year before that. They're several levels above Rangers.
Rangers will be better than us this year but on the evidence of today's showing not by much. And he's not even getting on the bench for them.
If the guy signs he gets my full support but must admit I'm finding it hard to get excited about this one.
I hate to say it, but The Rangers will be a distance ahead of us this year. They weren’t great today but they were miles ahead last year (24 points) and look to have improved if anything.
If we’re within single figures of them by the end of the season then I’d suggest well be delighted because it’ll probably mean third place imo.
The Leith Dutch
04-08-2019, 10:20 PM
bigot
noun (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/noun)
big·ot | \ ˈbi-gət
(https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bigot?pronunciation&lang=en_us&dir=b&file=bigot001) \
Definition of bigot
: a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices
I am somewhat prejudiced towards HFC, therefore bigoted. I understand the other meanings but lets not try and re define a word.
That's one dictionaries definition - Merriam Webster.
Most dictionaries define it with much more specifc direction towards the rejection of other people's positions.
E.g.
Oxford : A person who is intolerant towards those holding different opinions.
Cambridge: a person who has strong, unreasonable beliefs and who does not like other people who have different beliefs or a different way of life
The MW definition is quite unusually broad.
Also brings up the issue with quoting dictionary definitions in that they often reflect the prejudice of the writer(s) - usually white upper middle class who, in this case especially, are often ill suited to offering a definition.
04-08-2019, 10:23 PM
Delighted that we're getting Glenn in. Think he'll end up being one hell of a signing for us.
04-08-2019, 10:23 PM
He means the colts cup game...
Oh!
The Leith Dutch
04-08-2019, 10:24 PM
I hate to say it, but The Rangers will be a distance ahead of us this year. They weren’t great today but they were miles ahead last year and look to have improved if anything.
If we’re within single figures of them by the end of the season then I’d suggest well be delighted because it’ll probably mean third place imo.
100% agree. - finishing single figures behind the Rangers would almost certainly mean we finish comfortably 3rd.
I detest them but they're annoyingly back to a notch above the rest of the league.
Still think Celtic will finish top without breaking sweat but sevco won't be too far behind.
04-08-2019, 10:32 PM
Without going back through it and looking for a ton of examples we’ve previously had Griffiths, Flo, Allan, Mallan, Efe, Gray, Boyle who came in early in the window. Rockys permanent deal was also early in the window.
Good players are available before the window even opens. Good players are available at the beginning of the window. Good players are available in the final few weeks of the window and good players are available in the last day or so. The benefit to getting them in early is that they’re up to speed and know their team mates for the season starting.
All this is true however I wasn’t arguing against getting business done early, I was dismissing the point that we only pick up dregs later in the window as this is patently false.
04-08-2019, 10:39 PM
Middleton seems like it will happen.
Will be an odd one but he will add depth since Boyle is injured.
Christie went to Aberdeen played well and is flying now - I can see this going the same way.
Does feel weird in such a small league loaning players off rival clubs. Pretty rare.
Couple things..
Thought he played left wing ?
What does that say about our youth? If you were a Hibs youth you would be pretty gutted - or do we not have any decent wide players - hence Shaw being played left at times.
1875Sean
04-08-2019, 10:41 PM
Christie went to Aberdeen played well and is flying now - I can see this going the same way.
Does feel weird in such a small league loaning players off rival clubs. Pretty rare.
Couple things..
What does that say about our youth? If you were a Hibs youth you would be pretty gutted - or do we not have any decent wide players - hence Shaw being played left at times.
The brief times I have seen him play he was been on the right wing cutting in on his left, Horgan has proved he can play right or left too
1875STEVE
04-08-2019, 11:24 PM
Couple things..
Don't really see what it has to do with our youth??
He's not exactly a "youth player". He's young but has played 27 games last season, including 10 in europe.
He also never came through thier youth system, they signed him from Norwich.
Id say our youth system is in good health.
Shaw, Porteous, Murray and Mackie (yes we signed him from another team but he was a youth at the time and spent 3 years playing for our academy team) all playing regulary
Doig, Campbell and Gullan all floating about the squad.
04-08-2019, 11:30 PM
Middleton will be a very good bit of business imo.
A natural left winger with plenty pace, power and ability on the ball. He will cause a lot of problems with his directness and ability to stretch the game.
Dissapointing he won’t be able to play against rangers but he’s another good addition.
Another couple to come.
I also fail to see how it looks bad on our own youth set up. He is a better player, it’s simple. Rangers signed him from Norwich and in his first full season at 18 scored about 5 goals.
Our own youth players can get many when they hit his standards, until then keep improving and use him and the others in the first team as motivation.
If a player makes us better, which he will then I’m all for it.
04-08-2019, 11:52 PM
Middleton would be a great acquisition for Hibs.
A perfect fit for what we need in Boyle's absence.
Pace, power and precision.
The kid would get a couple of weeks familiarity with the team before playing his 1st League game for Hibs.
He would be raring to go.
05-08-2019, 06:36 AM
It's probably the nature of football that every team is a work in progress all of the time but it sent alarm bells ringing with me. Why did he say that and what was he getting at? Bizarre thing to say! When he said he likes his teams to play with pace, power and press high (or words to that effect) a fan on the Barnsley forum said he was blathering poo as he'd never played like that. Makes me a wee bit nervous.Of course we are a work in progress?? We lost 11 players at end of last summer with 7 new players signed- about to become 8. You dont just knit all that overnight into a cohesive team it takes time. Not sure why Hecky is being criticized on here for saying that?? And then we have others saying if we lose 2 matches the knives will be out for him??
Yet we had some crying over Lennon last Jan when we had won something like 2 in 16 matches and were lying in 8th.
Me...I'm prepared to give Hecky a bit more of a chance than that...or listen to 1 dissenting voice on a Barnsley forum - when most of their fans loved him
05-08-2019, 07:07 AM
Saints looking to sign Kane Hemmings.
Should he be an option for us?
05-08-2019, 07:12 AM
Looked good for Dundee with Stewart in the team. Decent record down south.
hibs#1
05-08-2019, 07:35 AM
Rangers aren't very good at developing players they want the the finished article or as near as, to appease there entitled fans who think they should walk the league.
Leitherhibs
05-08-2019, 08:05 AM
Yes. He’s a decent player, quite athletic as well which we lack up top.
mayo hibee
05-08-2019, 08:23 AM
Rangers aren't very good at developing players they want the the finished article or as near as, to appease there entitled fans who think they should walk the league.
That doesn't mean we should do it for them. Have no idea whether this lad is any good or not but think we should be looking elsewhere as a point of principle. Loads of loan options out there at this time of year without us needing to develop players for them.
05-08-2019, 08:27 AM
That doesn't mean we should do it for them. Have no idea whether this lad is any good or not but think we should be looking elsewhere as a point of principle. Loads of loan options out there at this time of year without us needing to develop players for them.
We are doing it for our benefit not theirs.
05-08-2019, 08:47 AM
Has Efe Ambrose fallen off the face of the earth? Where is he now?
05-08-2019, 08:50 AM
Do you think we should avoid loanees from Celtic as a point of principle? Because we’ve done very well in the market for a few years now. You could probably say we’d have unlikely won the cup without it.
05-08-2019, 08:50 AM
Free agent.. god knows how.
05-08-2019, 08:59 AM
How did you feel about us developing Liam Henderson for Celtic when he swung those two corners in at Hampden?
05-08-2019, 09:14 AM
Does anyone think there's a possibility of Rangers terminating (or threatening to terminate) Middleton's loan if/when the following happens (as has before):
The ticket allocation we give them at ER isn't to acceptable standard?
Our manager/owners say something they don't like?
They percieve the behaviour of our fans (probably in response to something they've done) to be unacceptable?
They decide they want one of our players in the January window, and we refuse to sell?
Since the Allan saga four years ago we've had a rocky relationship with them. I would hope this imminent signing is an indication that differences have been resolved, but I don't feel comfortable that we will shortly have a player whose stay at us is dependent on continued approval from Rangers.
05-08-2019, 09:17 AM
How did you feel about us developing Liam Henderson for Celtic when he swung those two corners in at Hampden?
To be fair we weren't in the same league as Celtic then.
05-08-2019, 09:20 AM
Does anyone think there's a possibility of Rangers terminating (or threatening to terminate) Middleton's loan if/when the following happens (as has before):
They percieve the behaviour of our fans (probably in response to something they've done) to be unacceptable?
They decide they want one of our players in the January window, and we refuse to sell?
Since the Allan saga four years ago we've had a rocky relationship with them. I would hope this imminent signing is an indication that differences have been resolved, but I don't feel comfortable that we will shortly have a player whose stay at us is dependent on continued approval from Rangers.
The can’t do that.
05-08-2019, 09:24 AM
I'd hope we'd only reach an agreement where there was no recall clause. Or one where there was harsh penalties on The Rangers should they do so. Unless we also want a break option of course...
HFC93
05-08-2019, 09:26 AM
I can't remember this level of deliberation when we were linked with loan moves for Mikey Johnston and Lewis Morgan last season.
Chefki Kuqi
05-08-2019, 09:34 AM
I can't remember this level of deliberation when we were linked with loan moves for Mikey Johnston and Lewis Morgan last season.
Its probably motivated by a stronger dislike of Rangers than Celtic but if we weren’t so ***** last season it wasn’t completely out of the question to compete with Rangers, as it was the season before and during our years in the championship. Celtic on the other hand was impossible. My sense is Rangers have joined them now but it still feels stramge as there is greater animosity between the clubs.
05-08-2019, 09:35 AM
I think it's ingrained in a lot of people's heads that Rangers have been main rivals over the last 5 years. It's hard to switch off from that mindset when you've been challenging for leagues and cups with them and continuously pumping them on the park. Celtic have been in a different stratosphere from us so loaning players from them isn't really an issue.
05-08-2019, 09:37 AM
Middleton to sign today or tomorrow at latest and Scott McKenna has handed in a transfer request at Aberdeen. Usually a good source but you never know.
05-08-2019, 09:38 AM
Sticking all emotion to one side, it favours neither Hibs nor Rangers for the clubs not to have a working relationship.
If Hibs have a player for sale, Rangers might again one day potentially be the highest bidder. We might be the ideal destination for a player of theirs to develop whilst we get some top notch football out of the player for the duration of a loan.
As I say, for the 2 clubs to remove themselves altogether from potentially doing business damages both clubs.
If they try bully boy tactics without the means to back it up again, we can tell them to get stuffed again.
05-08-2019, 09:39 AM
Middleton to sign today or tomorrow at latest and Scott McKenna has handed in a transfer request at Aberdeen. Usually a good source but you never know.
Being flattened by Uche must have made up his mind.
hibs#1
05-08-2019, 09:43 AM
Being flattened by Uche must have made up his mind.
If a tackle ever summed up Craig levein's hearts team that was it.
05-08-2019, 09:48 AM
Sticking all emotion to one side, it favours neither Hibs nor Rangers for the clubs not to have a working relationship.
If Hibs have a player for sale, Rangers might again one day potentially be the highest bidder. We might be the ideal destination for a player of theirs to develop whilst we get some top notch football out of the player for the duration of a loan.
As I say, for the 2 clubs to remove themselves altogether from potentially doing business damages both clubs.
If they try bully boy tactics without the means to back it up again, we can tell them to get stuffed again.
Not losing players to Rangers or Celtic isn't damaging Hibs. I'd much rather lose them down south, even for a small initial fee.
05-08-2019, 09:48 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if being present at an Aberdeen vs Hearts game made him fall out of love with football and give up playing altogether.
05-08-2019, 09:50 AM
Johnston/Morgan's club haven't made multiple club statements directed towards us over the last few years.
05-08-2019, 09:51 AM
Not losing players to Rangers or Celtic isn't damaging Hibs. I'd much rather lose them down south, even for a small initial fee.
The more interest you have the better, even if it just bumps up the money you might receive from down South.
NOT putting emotion to one side I'm not sure I ever want Hibs to do business with Rangers of any sort, but I have to accept that this approach damages both clubs.
05-08-2019, 09:51 AM
To be fair we weren't in the same league as Celtic then.
Fair enough, although I don’t think the league situation is the issue for anyone that has a problem with this potential deal. I imagine Griffiths on loan, for example, would be met with universal delight. I think even their young winger Dembele would be accepted without anyone worrying about us developing a rival player
05-08-2019, 09:52 AM
Gerrard rates us as a club
We have been a thorn in his side ever since he ventured north of the border
He is a football man and reading between the lines of recent interviews I can see that he likes how we go about our business
05-08-2019, 09:57 AM
If a tackle ever summed up Craig levein's hearts team that was it.
Who cares, we gave him game time to get his residency visa and he buggered off on a freebie in January, Lennon done his mate a we favour and that was it.
05-08-2019, 10:01 AM
Who cares, we gave him game time to get his residency visa and he buggered off on a freebie in January, Lennon done his mate a we favour and that was it.
Not like he repaid us by being arguably our best player for over 18 months
05-08-2019, 10:04 AM
And Hibs got an absolutely excellent player for 2 years
05-08-2019, 10:05 AM
Sorry for speaking. Ffs this place is getting worse by the day.
Not like he repaid us by being arguably our best player for over 18 months
Not doubting that but he probably doesn't give a hoot about us, he could have given us a wee bit transfer money but used his get out clause to leave on a free, as I said he was here because Lennon was his mate and it suited both parties, he's gone and we move on to our new squad players.
05-08-2019, 10:09 AM
Not doubting that but he probably doesn't give a hoot about us, he could have given us a wee bit transfer money but used his get out clause to leave on a free, as I said he was here because Lennon was his mate and it suited both parties, he's gone and we move on to our new squad players.
We offered him a good I think three year deal too. He must be regretting not taking it.
05-08-2019, 10:11 AM
I imagine we would never have got him if that wasn't part of the plan. The club would have known that he would have exercised that option if someone was willing to take him. I would much rather we let him do that and had him for the 2 years and lose him for nothing than never have had him at all.
We offered him a good I think three year deal too. He must be regretting not taking it.
So I'd heard, I thought he would've stayed till at least the end of the season, very disappointed he left when he did and for nowt.
05-08-2019, 10:13 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/rangers-glenn-middleton-to-have-hibs-medical-as-clubs-agree-loan-deal-1-4976706
#2 Double Tap
05-08-2019, 10:30 AM
switch rangers to hearts. do you still feel like that?
IMO we should never have a working relationship with our fiercest rivals, and rangers are our 2nd biggest! It might make good business sense but in times of war you never borrow bullets from the enemy!
05-08-2019, 10:32 AM
IMO we should never have a working relationship with our fiercest rivals, and rangers are our 2nd biggest! It might make good business sense but in times of war you never borrow bullets from the enemy!
Rangers aren't our rivals.
05-08-2019, 10:33 AM
I dislike Rangers far more than Hearts.
Any time Hearts want to give us £275,000 for a modern day equivalent of Brian Hamilton then yes, I'm more than happy to do business with them too. If they're the highest bidder and the deal suits us.........
If they need £5k to get a deal over the line for Hoofy McHoof-face and are prepared to let their highly rated young left-back come to us for that amount, we do business with them.
jax67
05-08-2019, 11:16 AM
Johnston/Morgan's club haven't made multiple club statements directed towards us over the last few years.
Nor did they accuse(FALSELY) Hibs fans of assaulting all of their players.
mayo hibee
05-08-2019, 11:35 AM
I felt like they were in a different division to us so it didn't matter.
Even now though, while we're in the same division as them they're basically in a different league to everyone else in Scotland so less of an issue with Celtic. We shouldn't be developing loan players for The Rangers (or any of the other nine teams in the division) though.
HFC93
05-08-2019, 11:39 AM
I get that but all I'm interested in is if the player will improve us, which I think Middleton will. Based on what Ive seen of him I think he could be massive for us. I think that's all Hecky is interested in as well.
05-08-2019, 11:47 AM
I felt like they were in a different division to us so it didn't matter.
Even now though, while we're in the same division as them they're basically in a different league to everyone else in Scotland so less of an issue with Celtic. We shouldn't be developing loan players for The Rangers (or any of the other nine teams in the division) though.
Realistically Rangers are in a different league to us now aswell. We were 24 points behind them last season and they’ve probably got better over the summer. I’d be surprised if we’re much closer to them this year.
05-08-2019, 11:48 AM
I get that but all I'm interested in is if the player will improve us, which I think Middleton will. Based what Ive seen of him I think he could be massive for us. I think that's all Hecky is interested in as well.
This! Middleton would be an excellent signing for us and I would have though all those people worrying about us having a lack of pace would feel this way too.
05-08-2019, 11:59 AM
My only worry about the middleton deal is that now rangers have done us a favour , will they be chapping on our door next season wanting scott allan
05-08-2019, 12:02 PM
I would be more worried about leaks if we sign from a rival.
For example - Middleton knows our starting team before we play the huns - I'm sure his team mates / or just general mates will be asking him about what happens at Hibs etc and will possibly spill any internal info.
Maybe paranoia but it does happen.
I think he will definitely add something to the team - he's left footed so not sure where he will fit it - possibly Horgan / Newell or Middleton playing on right and left.
05-08-2019, 12:04 PM
My only worry about the middleton deal is that now rangers have done us a favour , will they be chapping on our door next season wanting scott allan
And we can answer that door, exchange pleasantries, and kindly tell them to do one like we did last time. :greengrin
05-08-2019, 12:08 PM
I also think that there is no way on earth that Rangers are doing us any favours here. It's a mutually beneficial, win-win deal for Rangers.
If he does well for us, we've helped developed one of their younger talents, whilst probably paying his wages and putting him up against Scottish Premiership opposition. If it flops a bit, Rangers have saved some money on a player that wasn't going to benefit them this season. We're basically just a better development option than a team in the second division of Dutch football.
Rangers aren't in the business of doing us any favours and the feeling is mutual. Business is business.
K-Zazu
05-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Imagine if Lenny was still here 😂. Maybe Heck and Gerrard are pals?
05-08-2019, 12:23 PM
I don't like the idea of us developing a The Rangers player for them. Surely somewhere there is an equal or better winger. I'm concerned also that an element of our fans won't get behind this move and therefore won't get behind the young player but we will see.
05-08-2019, 12:28 PM
Rangers aren't our rivals.
I disagree and the poisonous atmosphere every time we play them suggests we’re certainly rivals.
They're not our biggest rivals and we aren’t theirs, but the mutual hatred is tantamount to a rivalry in my book.
05-08-2019, 12:28 PM
How did that go when Celtic wanted McGinn?
RossScott1991
05-08-2019, 12:29 PM
No problems with getting players on loan from Celtic who help us, neither do i I have a problem getting players on loan from rangers who will help us and more importantly a position we need. Let lad come do well for us, he can go back to rangers we will have Boyle back again. Win win
05-08-2019, 12:37 PM
I don't like the idea of us developing a The Rangers player for them. Surely somewhere there is an equal or better winger. I'm concerned also that an element of our fans won't get behind this move and therefore won't get behind the young player but we will see.
Hey, there's an element of our fans who don't get behind some of our own players.
05-08-2019, 12:43 PM
pointless bit of trivia - if middleton signs and gets a game, i think he would be our first player to play in the league to have been born this millenium (i think josh campbell edges it if you include the league cup)
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 12:47 PM
I get that but all I'm interested in is if the player will improve us, which I think Middleton will. Based on what Ive seen of him I think he could be massive for us. I think that's all Hecky is interested in as well.
Inclined to agree HFC. I abhor The Rangers but have no issue with the player in question as an individual. If he improves us then it's all good as far as i am concerned.
05-08-2019, 12:49 PM
It’s improving our team, I don’t care who his parent club is. It didn’t upset many when we got Scotty back on loan from Celtic. I care about Hibs, not where a player comes from.
05-08-2019, 12:50 PM
I disagree and the poisonous atmosphere every time we play them suggests we’re certainly rivals.
They're not our biggest rivals and we aren’t theirs, but the mutual hatred is tantamount to a rivalry in my book.
In terms of going for similar league position and size of club they aren’t our rivals.
badabing67
05-08-2019, 12:54 PM
He's being signed to cover the injured Boyle , a loan is the way to go . as long as he does the job until Boyle is fit again
With a bit of luck Boyle will be back at some point during the season which means would have 2 effective pacey wingers for the run in
05-08-2019, 01:00 PM
It’s improving our team, I don’t care who his parent club is. It didn’t upset many when we got Scotty back on loan from Celtic. I care about Hibs, not where a player comes from.
Do you think that he'd give us 100% and keep what happens at our club in our club? My problem is I don't think so on both accounts.
05-08-2019, 01:03 PM
Do you think that he'd give us 100% and keep what happens at our club in our club? My problem is I don't think so on both accounts.Henderson and stokes didn't seem to have an issue
BlackSheep
05-08-2019, 01:08 PM
Do you think that he'd give us 100% and keep what happens at our club in our club? My problem is I don't think so on both accounts.
This isn't some TV reality show, these boys are professionals and are doing a job, such suggestions of industrial sabotage are absolutely ridiculous!
Of course he will give 100%, he is on loan to better his situation at his parent club, if he plays badly then he will stand no more of a chance to break into the rangers first team, if he performs well then it helps his career. IF at the end of the loan there is still no sign of him succeeding at rangers then he will need to have had a good season to attract interest from elsewhere...
This is playground stuff, take off the green tinted specs and get behind the boy if he does come to ply his trade at Easter Road!
05-08-2019, 01:09 PM
I do. He’s a young guy trying to make his way in the game. It would be career suicide for him to come here on loan and deliberately make an arse of it.
05-08-2019, 01:10 PM
Why wouldn’t he? Allan did? Commons did? Ambrose and hendo did? Just because the player plays for a vile club doesn’t make him a monster as a professional footballer. He will want the best for us and to make a massive impression probably to get a move back down South.
05-08-2019, 01:11 PM
I do. He’s a young guy trying to make his way in the game. It would be career suicide for him to come here on loan and deliberately make an arse of it.
Exactly. There would be no gain from him coming to act unprofessional.
05-08-2019, 01:12 PM
Wow.
05-08-2019, 01:16 PM
Rangers have only beaten us 6 times since 2014. We have beaten them 9 times. So people are correct, they arent our rivals.
05-08-2019, 01:18 PM
Rangers have only beaten us 6 times since 2014. We have beaten them 9 times. So people are correct, they arent our rivals.
Yup.
We're above them now. The real derby is with Hearts. :agree:
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 01:26 PM
Yup.
We're above them now. The real derby is with Hearts . :agree:
Eh ? Hasn't that always been the case :confused: :wink:
05-08-2019, 01:29 PM
Why wouldn’t he? Allan did? Commons did? Ambrose and hendo did? Just because the player plays for a vile club doesn’t make him a monster as a professional footballer. He will want the best for us and to make a massive impression probably to get a move back down South.
Good, I'm hoping posters can convince me and you are getting there. I'm obviously biased against his parent club compared with say Celtic for example. However, Hendo was/is a Hibby, Commons days as a Celtic player were over as were Ambrose and even Allan who couldn't get a game for them. This lad though appears to be part of their plans for the future, unlike the other names you mentioned from Celtic. Never mind though because I want to be convinced that this is a good move for everyone, but as you can tell I'm having problems believing it. I think we need to be looking permanently beyond squirrel now because there is a good chance that having had six months to recover and then the injury recurring there is a strong chance that it'll be an ongoing weakness. I'd like to see us find a signing rather than a loan, especially from them but admittedly that's my bias coming out. A loan from England though would at least mean the player is eligible against all Scottish clubs as would a permanent signing of course.
05-08-2019, 01:29 PM
Old firm levels of paranoia
05-08-2019, 01:31 PM
do you think that he'd give us 100% and keep what happens at our club in our club? My problem is i don't think so on both accounts.
ffs.
05-08-2019, 01:34 PM
Wow.
I'm glad you are confident, I wish I had your level of confidence and ability not to be biased against one of theirs, but as you can tell I'm having problems with that. I'm always going to see a blue nose playing in a Hibs strip. I know you are right though and I'm out of step and out of order probably, but decades of bitter rivalry (putting it mildly) does that to some folk, me esp.
05-08-2019, 01:35 PM
ffs.
Famous Five Stand?
05-08-2019, 01:38 PM
Of course he would try his best. It's silly to suggest otherwise
05-08-2019, 01:38 PM
Eh ? Hasn't that always been the case :confused: :wink:
It's a reference to the early Romanov years when a few idiots on KB decided that because they'd humped us a couple times that "the real derby was with Celtic".
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 01:39 PM
It's a reference to the early Romanov years when a few idiots on KB decided that because they'd humped us a couple times that "the real derby was with Celtic".
Ah right.... Apologies.
05-08-2019, 01:42 PM
Of course he would try his best. It's silly to suggest otherwise
And when he does how will that go down with his Rangers fans?
05-08-2019, 01:44 PM
I don’t see any problems about the value of loanees from other clubs in Scotland, for the reasons that have already been given. Although it will never happen, my only reservation would be a loan from the Jambos, where it appears the players are systematically brainwashed into hating our club and players.
05-08-2019, 01:45 PM
Probably the most childish and stupid comment on a thread that has become full of them. A young footballer given the chance to play at the highest level, as opposed to sitting in the reserves, to progress his career, yeah that's right he won't give a ****. Honestly some folk need to get a grip. Would he improve the team is the only question we should be asking. Not where he came from, what school he went to, who he supported as a boy. I remember the Hun in the 70s and 80s getting slaughtered for just that kind of talk
ElginHibbie
05-08-2019, 01:46 PM
If it's against Celtic they'll love it, otherwise they'll be indifferent to it at worst
05-08-2019, 01:47 PM
Scott McKenna hands in transfer request.
05-08-2019, 01:51 PM
I'd feel for the boy if he came to us. The Rangers fans would be baying for his blood and calling him a fenian this and that and some of our fans would pounce apon any mistake he made. Too much bad blood between the support. Sad but true.
Turnbullsmate
05-08-2019, 01:54 PM
Do i care? You obviously do so why not go ask then on Follow Follow and give us a break here.
Your conspiracy theory would be laughable were it not so ridiculous.
05-08-2019, 02:01 PM
Good, I'm hoping posters can convince me and you are getting there. I'm obviously biased against his parent club compared with say Celtic for example. However, Hendo was/is a Hibby, Commons days as a Celtic player were over as were Ambrose and even Allan who couldn't get a game for them. This lad though appears to be part of their plans for the future, unlike the other names you mentioned from Celtic. Never mind though because I want to be convinced that this is a good move for everyone, but as you can tell I'm having problems believing it. I think we need to be looking permanently beyond squirrel now because there is a good chance that having had six months to recover and then the injury recurring there is a strong chance that it'll be an ongoing weakness. I'd like to see us find a signing rather than a loan, especially from them but admittedly that's my bias coming out. A loan from England though would at least mean the player is eligible against all Scottish clubs as would a permanent signing of course.
👍 I think you’ve forgot your tin hat though. I would start have a better player on loan for a year than a inferior one on a permanent but that’s just my opinion.
Hecky is on record saying he doesn’t like loans much so hopefully he’s coming in after being well scouted as someone with a good attitude willing to blend in with the others.
#2 Double Tap
05-08-2019, 02:01 PM
Do i care? You obviously do so why not go ask then on Follow Follow and give us a break here.
aint all conspiracy theories ridiculous?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlvS-GrA00I
05-08-2019, 02:03 PM
Scott McKenna hands in transfer request.
They only want over £7m. or he stays put. :rolleyes: Well I suppose he is twice the player John McGinn was when he left us. :greengrin
craigiehibs
finding it hard to undrstand the bitterness here. ffs he is a young professional football player...and a very peomising one at that. why would he not try 100% to prove himself and really wtf does ir matter if hes spent a year at greyskull? if he doesnt peeform hes no picked and if hes no picked his career goes downhill.
Turnbullsmate
aint all conspiracy theories ridiculous?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlvS-GrA00I
Maybes aye, maybes naw :wink:
05-08-2019, 02:07 PM
Only have to look at Billy Brown going to meet Pishy pants Locke the night before the cup final in 2012 for "tickets".... Leaks happen. Rats too.
05-08-2019, 02:09 PM
Only have to look at Billy Brown going to meet Pishy pants Locke the night before the cup final in 2012 for "tickets".... Leaks happen. Rats too.
I would imagine that Middleton won’t be near the first team plans the weeks we play the huns.
#2 Double Tap
05-08-2019, 02:15 PM
I would imagine that Middleton won’t be near the first team plans the weeks we play the huns.
but he will be privy to the the daily comings and goings, and general instructions of how we plan to play.
05-08-2019, 02:18 PM
I'm not overly keen on a Rangers player coming to us on loan because I don't think we should develop their players for them. However, the suggestion that he'll be unprofessional and try to undermine us in his time here is a bit OTT.
Even assuming for a second that the player would actually want to go behind his loan club's back, doing so could severely damage his credibility as a professional football player. He's got a long career ahead of him.
05-08-2019, 02:22 PM
The boy will come in and do his best I have no fears, I am just not sure about not looking for somebody that will push Boyle rather than keep his seat warm. I prefer loans were we have realistic chance to buy.
05-08-2019, 02:28 PM
but he will be privy to the the daily comings and goings, and general instructions of how we plan to play.
So will anyone who scouts our matches. Middleton will be a young laddie doing his job trying to get a place in our team and impress and not some kind of master spy who knows everything about tactics and major insider information the rest of the world are privy to.
05-08-2019, 02:29 PM
If we don't have an option to buy we shouldn't be entertaining it
05-08-2019, 02:29 PM
Why? Two of our best players last season were loans with no option to buy.
05-08-2019, 02:38 PM
Even if we did it'd be something ridiculous like £1 million. Rangers want him for the future.
To be fair though, if he has a great season for us we could probably convince Ron to pay it.
#2 Double Tap
05-08-2019, 02:39 PM
So will anyone who scouts our matches. Middleton will be a young laddie doing his job trying to get a place in our team and impress and not some kind of master spy who knows everything about tactics and major insider information the rest of the world are privy to.
i agree with you re the master spy bit, but he will be aware of things that people on the outside would not be, small things such as wee niggles that are keeping a player out, these can change a game plan greatly, sharing that info would most definitely give the other team an advantage.
05-08-2019, 02:41 PM
Noticed Docherty wasn't even on the bench at the weekend for Rangers. Were Hibs ever interested in him or was it just paper talk
05-08-2019, 02:42 PM
Can we all just agree it's ok to boo him? 😉
That's a very blinkered view.
How many players from clubs down south have we had on loan with an option to buy ???. Loan players come in and are here to help, while they represent our club they get my support, no matter what club there from.
B
05-08-2019, 02:47 PM
Noticed Docherty wasn't even on the bench at the weekend for Rangers. Were Hibs ever interested in him or was it just paper talk
Lennon wanted him from Hamilton I’m sure.
05-08-2019, 02:52 PM
Lennon wanted him from Hamilton I’m sure.
He'd still be a good signing for us.
05-08-2019, 02:58 PM
He'd still be a good signing for us.
He'd be an excellent signing but I'm sure clubs down south are after him after his successful loan at Shrewsbury. Top player, very tenacious which is what we need in midfield.
MikeyS
05-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Do you know the laddie personally then? Thats some judge of character you've made!
InchHibby
05-08-2019, 02:59 PM
Can’t believe some of the posts on here, if the lads good enough take him for the season, we can still hate The Rangers. I think he’s a smashing wee player and you never know if he does okay, which I think he will, then there might even be a chance of keeping him.
The only down side I see is that you can’t play him against his parent team.
05-08-2019, 03:03 PM
Can’t believe some of the posts on here, if the lads good enough take him for the season, we can still hate The Rangers. I think he’s a smashing wee player and you never know if he does okay, which I think he will, then there might even be a chance of keeping him.
After speaking to a couple of sevco fans at work today they are surprised they are letting him go as they both felt he should be in the 1st team this season
Ardenttwo
05-08-2019, 03:04 PM
The boy will come in and do his best I have no fears, I am just not sure about not looking for somebody that will push Boyle rather than keep his seat warm. I prefer loans were we have realistic chance to buy.
I hope I am 100% wrong but I worry that Boyle might not be the same player he was. He is bound to be nervous in any tackles it’s human nature. It’s not like it was two minor injuries but maybe someone who has had a similar injury can alay my fears
05-08-2019, 03:08 PM
I'd welcome any player with open arms if he improves our team and I don't really understand anyone who doesn't see it that way.
Torto7
05-08-2019, 03:23 PM
I have no issue with Middleton, I have every issue with the cesspit of a club he plays for. Folk talking about working relationships and Gerard being impressed with us. Who cares?
I wouldn't even answer if they phoned. Far less than phoning them for a player.
Why would we want a working relationship with a club and a support that resembles an EDL rally?
Add in the fact they and their lodge mates in the police actively targeted Hibs fans in a witch hunt after the final. Getting Middleton isn't enough for me to remove my zero relationship status with the zombies in perpetuity position. I am bloody minded though and acknowledge others see if differently.
He will however get my full support if he signs, anyone suggesting booing him needs their head examined.
05-08-2019, 03:24 PM
Is Middleton a Rangers fan?
Only fans bother about which team is which. Players want money and minutes.
If they get those, whose shirt they're in, is irrelevant.
05-08-2019, 03:30 PM
He'd be an excellent signing but I'm sure clubs down south are after him after his successful loan at Shrewsbury. Top player, very tenacious which is what we need in midfield.
The English window closes this week I think - I wonder if we'd try to get him again if he isn't away by then.
05-08-2019, 03:40 PM
Loan signings can work out really well for the player and the clubs involved but I would rather that the player came without strings attached.
05-08-2019, 03:42 PM
Is Middleton a Rangers fan?
Only fans bother about which team is which. Players want money and minutes.
If they get those, whose shirt they're in, is irrelevant.
He is.
craigiehibs
05-08-2019, 03:57 PM
He is.
so wad scotty allan..allgedly. ur point?
05-08-2019, 03:58 PM
He is.
Then he'll just have to bring his flute with him. Either that or he won't care at all.
MacGruber
05-08-2019, 04:01 PM
Glen Middleton is currently at Pittodrie having a medical with Aberdeen
hhibs
05-08-2019, 04:05 PM
That will go down well there too !!
05-08-2019, 04:06 PM
Now that would make no sense.
05-08-2019, 04:08 PM
I'd feel for the boy if he came to us. The Rangers fans would be baying for his blood and calling him a fenian this and that and some of our fans would pounce apon any mistake he made. Too much bad blood between the support. Sad but true.
It will be a good move for both parties he gets regular game time and we get a talented player. Don't give a jot which club he plays for.
05-08-2019, 04:10 PM
Now that would make no sense.
They're just joking.
Whether it's funny or not, that's up to the audience!
05-08-2019, 04:11 PM
so wad scotty allan..allgedly. ur point?
It was a question pal, I answered it. That’s the point :greengrin
05-08-2019, 04:12 PM
Then he'll just have to bring his flute with him. Either that or he won't care at all.
Being brought up down South I would suspect he doesn’t.
05-08-2019, 04:13 PM
Why did you ask the question incidentally?
05-08-2019, 04:13 PM
Source?
05-08-2019, 04:19 PM
The English window closes this week I think - I wonder if we'd try to get him again if he isn't away by then.
Thought it was only the English premiership?
05-08-2019, 04:19 PM
Behave.
05-08-2019, 04:26 PM
Anyone who improves the team will be welcomed, the thought of doing business, and having a good working relationship with that particular club disgusts many of us though.