View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2019 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59

Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 02:31 PM
And, we have signed..........

Lionel Messi.

:not worth

12-07-2019, 02:32 PM
And, we have signed..........

,,,,,,,,,,,, our contracts for peg-selling licences.

12-07-2019, 02:33 PM
:hyper

Any transfer news tho

Greizmann signed for Barca 100 odd mill

Wakeyhibee
Any transfer news tho

That would be much better !!!!

12-07-2019, 02:34 PM
Poor Singhibs is going to wake up to 4 pages and think Ojo has signed then realise it's just bickering

Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 02:34 PM
That would be much better !!!!

Hear hear!

12-07-2019, 02:35 PM
Lionel Messi.

:not worth

Dunno, getting on a bit.

The main point is you haven't seen any of his signings play in a competitive game for Hibs yet.Diodge could turn out to be the next Louis Moult and score 20 goals this season.You need to give them a chance to see what they can do first before spouting the negative bile.

Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

The signings look unimpressive to me, I've said so. Where's the crime?

Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 02:37 PM
Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.

I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.

He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus.

As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.

When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.

I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.

I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.

Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.

With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.

In the Lexo days there was not the gulf in finances there was now. We were able to sign Archibald from Barca, the year after he was a first choice for them. I mean, thats unthinkable now. Even signing a player like Houchen right after he scored in the FA Cup final would be impossible now.

I get what your saying, with Lennon able to sign the likes of Ambrose and Marciano, proven internationals. But in reality no one really has any idea how good our new players are. 3 friendlies are no place to judge them. I remember people being unimpressed with David Murphy after his first friendly game. If I remember rightly Darren Jackson also took a while to settle in and went a while before scoring his first goal for us.

Anyway, we all want the same thing. A top quality Hibs team :cool2:

GreenPJ
12-07-2019, 02:37 PM
Dunno, getting on a bit.

Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

Do you account for the fact that its pre-season in your assessment?

Torto7
12-07-2019, 02:38 PM
Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.

I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.

As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.

When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.

I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.

I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.

Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.

With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.

We lacked playmakers to open up the better defences the top six have. Part of this was because Hyndman wasn't able to give us what we needed in the earlier part of the campaign and Petrie/Lawell were having there little spat which denied us Scott Allan. We lost Mcginn and Dylan too. Mallan is now bedded in and hopefully between Ojo/Omeonga they can replicate some of what SJM and Dylan managed to bring.

The one area I've got question marks about is the central defence. Jackson seems like a journeyman(i'm happy to be proven wrong) and big Daz is fine for certain types of game. Hanlon is very inconsistent over his career. Porteous is more comfortable on the left side, it's the right centre half position that worries me. Efe really was a star for us and often the source of our incisive attacks.

James, Newell seem like backups to me. Doidge is someone I think will surprise people. I don't think we're too far away from being a really good side.

12-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Dunno, getting on a bit.

I think you'll find the answer to that in the financial activities of a certain club in Glagow and an Edinburgh club that is not us.

12-07-2019, 02:39 PM
£125k + £125k =. £350k 😆

Romanovomics

12-07-2019, 02:45 PM
Dunno, getting on a bit.

Speedo, there’s a boy on the bounce works for a social enterprise/registered charity if you fancy putting your time to better use?

The break from here and the good feeling you’d get helping others would hopefully be of great benefit you.

All the best for the future whatever you decide.

12-07-2019, 02:47 PM
In the Lexo days there was not the gulf in finances there was now. We were able to sign Archibald from Barca, the year after he was a first choice for them. I mean, thats unthinkable now. Even signing a player like Houchen right after he scored in the FA Cup final would be impossible now.

I get what your saying, with Lennon able to sign the likes of Ambrose and Marciano, proven internationals. But in reality no one really has any idea how good our new players are. 3 friendlies are no place to judge them. I remember people being unimpressed with David Murphy after his first friendly game. If I remember rightly Darren Jackson also took a while to settle in and went a while before scoring his first goal for us.

Anyway, we all want the same thing. A top quality Hibs team :cool2:

You're spot on with both of your examples re: Murph and Jackson. Where I would differ is that you can tell something from the level as player in his mid to late 20s has got to in his career, their stats and the ease if which they may have been signed. These can also act as early indicators of the quality of the player we've brought in. Not always, but often.

A recent example would be the heat I took for my criticism of MacLaren. Again a player who hadn't set the heather alight before coming to Hibs, scored some goals and .net decided he was superb except for I think around six posters who saw that he was never a player and would soon be found out.

Do you account for the fact that its pre-season in your assessment?

Not massively as I don't see the evidence that you only learn how to kick, run, head, mark and pass a ball once a season starts.

Some players come good when they find form of course but more often than not, if you and I see someone we think is a player, we see one regardless of the nature of the fixture. Example: Scott Allan.

We lacked playmakers to open up the better defences the top six have. Part of this was because Hyndman wasn't able to give us what we needed in the earlier part of the campaign and Petrie/Lawell were having there little spat which denied us Scott Allan. We lost Mcginn and Dylan too. Mallan is now bedded in and hopefully between Ojo/Omeonga they can replicate some of what SJM and Dylan managed to bring.

The one area I've got question marks about is the central defence. Jackson seems like a journeyman(i'm happy to be proven wrong) and big Daz is fine for certain types of game. Hanlon is very inconsistent over his career. Porteous is more comfortable on the left side, it's the right centre half position that worries me. Efe really was a star for us and often the source of our incisive attacks.

James, Newell seem like backups to me. Doidge is someone I think will surprise people. I don't think we're too far away from being a really good side.

Obviously I hope that's right. I catch heat for not liking players that the majority do and vice versa. So far all the signings scream 'backup' to me with the exception of SA who I think has shown his quality immediately.

12-07-2019, 02:49 PM
I think you'll find the answer to that in the financial activities of a certain club in Glagow and an Edinburgh club that is not us.

Speedo, there’s a boy on the bounce works for a social enterprise/registered charity if you fancy putting your time to better use?

The break from here and the good feeling you’d get helping others would hopefully be of great benefit you.

All the best for the future whatever you decide.

HFC93
12-07-2019, 02:53 PM
Why?

What an insipid response.

In case you were unaware, a message board is a place where popular, unpopular, thought through and non-thought through opinions are posted, sometimes even backed by evidence.

You can be happy, miserable or a nippy wee soul like Flash, often making a snidey comment in one sentence and then disappearing in a flash lest he/she/it be engaged in debate.

Best of all, there's an ignore button so I don't have to suffer your pish and you don't have to suffer mine. Use it if you want.

Now, Heckingbottom has spent money on non-impressive signings.

Non-impressive in pedigree, calibre and in pre-season; performance.

The one player that looks quality is the one signed by our two previous managers.

Add to this the uninspired displays we put in under his leadership, in the split fixtures last season, bar Tynecastle.

The early signs are not impressive and hopefully that will change.

In the meantime, I'm losing no sleep over potentially (hasn't even happened yet) losing out to the sheep on an injured 27 year old S****horpe player who has had one good season in his career.

Alright?

On your point that Ojo has had one good season in his career, what’s that based on?

12-07-2019, 02:56 PM
It's fine, I'll just make a new thread for transfer discussion and close this one if we're just going to have endless bickering about the performance of our new signings after three friendly games.

12-07-2019, 03:00 PM
It's fine, I'll just make a new thread for transfer discussion and close this one if we're just going to have endless bickering about the performance of our new signings after three friendly games.

In which we've won our last two 🙄

hibbie02
12-07-2019, 03:01 PM
You're spot on with both of your examples re: Murph and Jackson. Where I would differ is that you can tell something from the level as player in his mid to late 20s has got to in his career, their stats and the ease if which they may have been signed. These can also act as early indicators of the quality of the player we've brought in. Not always, but often.

A recent example would be the heat I took for my criticism of MacLaren. Again a player who hadn't set the heather alight before coming to Hibs, scored some goals and .net decided he was superb except for I think around six posters who saw that he was never a player and would soon be found out.

Not massively as I don't see the evidence that you only learn how to kick, run, head, mark and pass a ball once a season starts.

Some players come good when they find form of course but more often than not, if you and I see someone we think is a player, we see one regardless of the nature of the fixture. Example: Scott Allan.

Obviously I hope that's right. I catch heat for not liking players that the majority do and vice versa. So far all the signings scream 'backup' to me with the exception of SA who I think has shown his quality immediately.

I find myself agreeing with you Speedy. I am just hoping out of those who have signed, we find 1 or 2 who will do a job for us. Although we have unearthed a couple of gems over the years, our forays into the depths of the English Leagues have provided more duds than gems. The fact that none of the new guys has stood out ahead of wheat we already had is a concern. Still a bit early to judge properly but I am prepared to see how it goes before writing any of them off.

12-07-2019, 03:03 PM
On your point that Ojo has had one good season in his career, what’s that based on?

12 seasons as a pro, played more than 30 games in only 4 of them, the only time buzz has been created around him was after he ascended to the lofty heights of S****horpe.

So either:

1. Doesn't get picked much
2. Gets picked and gets injured a lot
3. His standout season that has caught our eye is at English 3rd Division level.
4. The last time he played at Europa League level (the level we're told we should be achieving each season) was a decade ago.
5. He's 28 next month.

12-07-2019, 03:04 PM
Barcelona announce Griezmann 108m

Atletico dispute deal saying his release clause should have been 180m. :confused:

I know but at least it is transfer gossip

Source: SSN

12-07-2019, 03:04 PM
Lots of people looking to jump onto speedway for calling out the signings.

I don’t particularly agree BUT if you look at the thread on our starting 11 for next season many posters are indicating similar without saying so. What I don’t agree with is his/her assessment of PH as HC, he got us top six with a squad that wasn’t his and was in free fall, the squad was threadbare alsoncome the end of the season and other teams had more to play for. Also Hecky has been on record saying he was raging it looked like we downed tools after we finished above Hearts.

12-07-2019, 03:05 PM
12 seasons as a pro, played more than 30 games in only 4 of them, the only time buzz has been created around him was after he ascended to the lofty heights of S****horpe.

So either:

3. His standout season that has caught our eye is at English 3rd Division level.
4. The last time he played at Europa League level (the level we're told we should be achieving each season) was a decade ago.
5. He's 28 next month.

There must be a reason a lot of clubs are sniffing about him including Aberdeen? It doesn’t just seem to be a Random Calderwood signing picked out from down the road.

BegbieHSC
12-07-2019, 03:09 PM
According to theRecord, Ojo is now rejecting US, and going to Aberdeen...

BoyledEgg
12-07-2019, 03:09 PM
Daily Record saying Ojo going to Aberdeen

12-07-2019, 03:10 PM
Ojo signing for Aberdeen. Sounds like PH isn’t too pleased about it.

Aaaand meltdown in 3, 2, 1 ....

Bob Box Fish
Daily Record reporting Ojo on his way to Pittodrie for talks.

12-07-2019, 03:11 PM
This is going to be ****ing fun.

12-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Ojo signing for Aberdeen. Sounds like PH isn’t too pleased about it.

What's he said?

12-07-2019, 03:13 PM

So either:

5. He's 28 next month.

Another way to spin it is that since 2014, he’s played 174 games, an average of pretty much 35 games a season for the last 5 seasons. 79 of those games were in the Dutch top flight.

Doesn’t tell us he’s brilliant but in that period he can’t have been injured or not picked that often.

12-07-2019, 03:14 PM
Another way to spin it is that since 2014, he’s played 174 games, an average of pretty much 35 games a season for the last 5 seasons. 79 of those games were in the Dutch top flight.

Doesn’t tell us he’s brilliant but in that period he can’t have been injured or not picked that often.

Edit, if he’s signing for Aberdeen he’s pish.

K-Zazu
12-07-2019, 03:15 PM
Oh dear

12-07-2019, 03:16 PM
This is Dylan Bikey all over again 😂

Forget about him and we move on to our next target.

Aaaand meltdown in 3, 2, 1 ....

If we lose out on one of our main targets to a rival, when we’re massively short in that particular position, then people will be disappointed.

Doesn't mean we are out of it. Can't blame the player for properly weighing up his options. And like I said before, with two clubs interested, his agent will be playing one against the other to boost his contract terms (and his commision) to the max.
Wait until he can't get the stink o' fish out of his nostrils then he'll be ours.

12-07-2019, 03:17 PM
It could very well be that they have just simply offered more than us and there is not much we can do - especially if the budget isn't changing as RG has said.

Forget about him and we move on to our next target.

The player has every right to meet the sheep before deciding. It will be disappointing though considering he’s meant to have given his word to Hecky if he ends up there.

Unless Gordon has some sort of massive transfer investment planned in the next few seasons, we're going to keep losing out to Aberdeen for players.

I'm now having visions of him shutting down our midfield in the latest 0-1 at ER.

PH91
12-07-2019, 03:18 PM
Speedway has voiced his opinion that the signings his summer are not the calibre he expects at hibs. Although i can see his/her argument with regards to the calibre of league they have come from and with the pre-season performances, until these players have had time to bed in and until we witness them playing competitive games amongst a strong 11, i think this assessment is premature.

On the flip side, though, there have been plenty of posters delighted with the signings and stating what a brilliant transfer window it has been. I think this is also premature for exactly the same reasons.

I am sure the argument of both sides will continue for first couple of months of the season until the new signings are looking like a success or failure, at which point those arguing will be ready to jump on here and tell everyone how right they were (with their complete guess).

12-07-2019, 03:18 PM
Unless Gordon has some sort of massive transfer investment planned in the next few seasons, we're going to keep losing out to Aberdeen for players.

I'm now having visions of him shutting down our midfield in the latest 0-1 at ER.

Which is shocking when you look at what the crowds are between the clubs. Hibs really need to go their game commercially.

12-07-2019, 03:19 PM
If we lose out on one of our main targets to a rival, when we’re massively short in that particular position, then people will be disappointed.

There'll be a DM kicking about somewhere that Aberdeen don't want, I'm sure. :boo hoo:

12-07-2019, 03:22 PM
Heckingbottom said it's just a wait and see situation with Ojo. He's been offered a deal by us.

12-07-2019, 03:22 PM
Which is shocking when you look at what the crowds are between the clubs. Hibs really need to go their game commercially.

If Gordon can't/won't put in as much money as their seemingly endless crowd of American investors, there's not a lot we can do. We certainly can't compete with them as he clearly wants us to.

12-07-2019, 03:23 PM
What's Heckinbottom saying - read he had some pointed words but wasn't revealed what they were

Looks like we are losing a top target at 11th hour

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/funso-ojo-aberdeen-dons-look-18090181

Little Judas!

If Gordon can't/won't put in as much money as their seemingly endless crowd of American investors, there's not a lot we can do. We certainly can't compete with them as he clearly wants us to.

Their investors don’t even own the club either. Pretty pish outlook.

vercol36
12-07-2019, 03:24 PM
I would hope that, given time, the backing of someone like Gordon can help us attract players over a team like Aberdeen. As it stands, however, you can’t blame the guy if he chooses Aberdeen - excellent record in the last few years, and great manager. Good chance of Europa footy to boot.

What's Heckinbottom saying - read he had some pointed words but wasn't revealed what they were

Looks like we are losing a top target at 11th hour

Aye that’s what I saw. I don’t actually know what he’s said, just that he said some pointed words about it.

Bob Box Fish
Just watching the PH press conference, he just said we have made him an offer and he’s waiting on the outcome. It’s within the players rights to find the best deal / club that suits himself, as it is for hibs to find the right players for the club.

I personally think there is a whiff of the Jim Duffy era about our pre-season signings tbh. I hope I’m wrong here it’s just my gut feel and like Speedway I’m very underwhelmed on that front. I’m going along to the game tomorrow in Stirling and still full of new season optimism regardless...

12-07-2019, 03:26 PM
Press conference was fine. Said we have made him a really good offer and now it's a waiting game. Looking for players who buy into what we're trying to build so won't break the bank for anyone. Seems fair enough to me.

https://youtu.be/J0gKr3H-BiU

12-07-2019, 03:26 PM
So he spoke with Heckingbottom yesterday and is now going to go up to Aberdeen and speak with McIness. Nothing saying definitely is signing for them.

Seems like he is just weighing up both options before deciding which one to go for. Nothing wrong with that.

12-07-2019, 03:27 PM
Press conference was fine. Said we have made him a really good offer and now it's a waiting game. Looking for players who buy into what we're trying to build so won't break the bank for anyone. Seems fair enough to me.

https://youtu.be/J0gKr3H-BiU

Don’t know where Alan Temple got the “pointed words” patter from then. Seems pretty normal. We’ve offered him the best we can. If it’s not good enough then so be it.

stantonsboots
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0gKr3H-BiU heres what hecky said

Sounds like the DR (and I) have jumped the gun again.

We still have plenty time before the season starts to identify a backup. At least we're identifying this as a problem position.

Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 03:28 PM
That's fine. If he goes there then we should just nip in and get Aberdeen's first choice for the position McGeouch back home.

Know nothing about the player really, but it would be losing him to Aberdeen that's the disappointing thing here. Was hoping that with the debt gone and funds in the club that we would at least be able to match them wages wise.

12-07-2019, 03:32 PM
So he spoke with Heckingbottom yesterday and is now going to go up to Aberdeen and speak with McIness. Nothing saying definitely is signing for them.

Seems like he is just weighing up both options before deciding which one to go for. Nothing wrong with that.

It's kinda funny given all our fans were slagging their chairman for being dodgy with the clause. Ojo was a martyr under the yoke of S****horpes boot and being denied his one wish to join Hibs. Now he's assessing his options...

Know nothing about the player really, but it would be losing him to Aberdeen that's the disappointing thing here. Was hoping that with the debt gone and funds in the club that we would at least be able to match them wages wise.

If we are going to consistently compete with them then we need to simple as that.

Ojo looking at both bags of sweeties it seems.

Agrees a deal with a new club, when his existing club tells him he doesn't followed correct protocol to join new club he responds by claiming he's ill and going on strike, resurrects deal with new club once they stump up cash and then plays them off against new club 2.0.

This boy or his agent are showing their true colours big time. Sheep are welcome to him. I hope we withdraw our offer while he's travelling up there.

I will be raging if he goes to Aberdeen, mainly because Hecky clearly really wants him.

What I will say is Iv never seen him play, but he doesn’t appear to be coming across the best.

Confusion over contract
refusing to train
handing in transfer request
changing club he had already agreed a deal with

Maybe a bit of an attitude problem.

12-07-2019, 03:33 PM
I will be raging if he goes to Aberdeen, mainly because Hecky clearly really wants him.

What I will say is Iv never seen him play, but he doesn’t appear to be coming across the best.

Confusion over contract
refusing to train

Raging? As strong as that?

I’ll be a little miffed but we move on ffs

Steven79
12-07-2019, 03:34 PM

Confusion over contract
refusing to train

All things considered maybe it's a blessing if he ends up going to Aberdeen.

Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 03:35 PM

Agrees a deal with a new club, when his existing club tells him he doesn't followed correct protocol to join new club he responds by claiming he's ill and going on strike, resurrects deal with new club once they stump up cash and then plays them off against new club 2.0.

This boy or his agent are showing their true colours big time. Sheep are welcome to him. I hope we withdraw our offer while he's travelling up there.

I do agree Ojo is not coming out of this looking great. The refusing to train with his current club rang alarm bells right away.

12-07-2019, 03:37 PM
Yeah just listened to the press conference, quite happy with what he is saying.

12-07-2019, 03:37 PM

I didn't have much sympathy for him when I first heard the story tbh. Agents job is to make sure their clients interests are looked after, including the contracts they sign. S****horpe are getting a fee so clearly in the right. Pulling a Neymar and not turning up to training is a big red flag. If one of our players behaved like him to force a move we'd be raging.

12-07-2019, 03:38 PM
We really need to start beating Aberdeen on the park as our record against them since promotion has been *****. They get on my nerves. Another season of them scraping out *****y time wasting 1 goal wins at Easter road can't happen.

Wakeyhibee
12-07-2019, 03:38 PM
I was concerned that Ojo "downed tools" at Scunny. It appears it was his agents fault not Scunnys for the resulting mess.

If this is PH s top target then I would still like to get him but there is a question mark over whether he would play these type of games with Hibs also long term when it suited him.

He'd already agreed terms, Omeonga has bigged us up apparantly..... dunno if we might dodge a bullet here????

12-07-2019, 03:39 PM

Confusion over contract
refusing to train

Yup.

If he has one good season with us or Aberdeen and clubs are after him next summer then he'll pull the same antics again, no matter the length of contract. Showing his true colours.

thegaffer12
12-07-2019, 03:39 PM
The Record also reported Maclaren wasn't coming last summer. Look how that turned out.

12-07-2019, 03:40 PM
McInness will be playing him like a fiddle. Moving to new state of the art stadium, playing in Europe every season, cup finals etc. Sounds much better than not being able to attract 10k season ticket holders, one or two European qualifiers and one trophy since 1995 i guess

12-07-2019, 03:40 PM
We really need to start beating Aberdeen on the park as our record against them since promotion has been *****. They get on my nerves. Another season of them scraping out *****y time wasting 1 goal wins at Easter road can't happen.

Until we can compete with them financially McInnes will just do the usual - kick the **** out of us, score a flukey goal and play 6 defenders for half an hour. They have the financial muscle to do it and unless Gordon is prepared to invest in the squad we can all just prepare ourselves for it because it will happen time and again.

Barman Stanton
12-07-2019, 03:41 PM

Yup. The kick us all over the park. Play to get the one goal needed then park the bus and use every sneaky move in the book. I would honestly hate if we played like them.

12-07-2019, 03:43 PM
Sounds like the DR (and I) have jumped the gun again.

We still have plenty time before the season starts to identify a backup. At least we're identifying this as a problem position.

We’ve got about 22 hours until the season starts!

Now I fully expect us to take care of our league cup group but I’ll be disappointed if we don’t have a midfielder in for at least a couple of those games so they’re up to speed for the league season starting.

HFC93
12-07-2019, 03:44 PM

So either:

5. He's 28 next month.

Out of interest, which was his good season at Scunny 17/18 or 18/19? Last player I can remember moving from Scunny to the Scottish Premiership was Gary Hopper and he did very well. Surprised Hibs fans turn their nose up at that level but hey ho.

Tarrahib

If he wants to come to E R fine .If not we move on. we want players who want to be here.Im sure Hecky has a plan B .Hopefully we won't need plan B.

Not at the club though, at this little ****** for stringing us along and choosing another team ahead of us at the last minute

12-07-2019, 03:45 PM
It would be pretty disappointing if a guy who is clearly a key target ends up at a rival.

If we have made him the best offer we can and Aberdeen out muscle us financially there isn't really much we can do though. It's disappointing, annoying and various other things but there is no magic money tree. Aberdeen have more money than us so these things will happen.

Frogga
12-07-2019, 03:48 PM

Not at the club though, at this little ****** for stringing us along and choosing another team ahead of us at the last minuteHe's not even signed yet.

Plus he's got a right to choose who he wants. I'm sure Hibs would be equally brutal with him if it suited us.

Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk

12-07-2019, 03:48 PM

Not at the club though, at this little ****** for stringing us along and choosing another team ahead of us at the last minute

Aye that’s fair enough but wouldn’t go as far as raging

As long as when he comes to ER one of our players let’s them know they’re there

12-07-2019, 03:49 PM
Sure we will find out soon enough!

sean04
12-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Love what hecky said in the interview, offered a good deal but it's up to the player to buy into what the others in the squad have done. Not just a financial desicion to make

12-07-2019, 03:51 PM
Sure we will find out soon enough!

Indeed. He hasn’t signed for anyone yet. Just weighing up his options which I don’t see what the problem is unless he had given his word to Heckingbottom that he was definitely coming and to try and get some something sorted with s***thorpe

12-07-2019, 03:51 PM
It would be pretty disappointing if a guy who is clearly a key target ends up at a rival.

If we have made him the best offer we can and Aberdeen out muscle us financially there isn't really much we can do though. It's disappointing, annoying and various other things but there is no magic money tree. Aberdeen have more money than us so these things will happen.

It’s time the board addressed the fact that Aberdeen have more money than us. We are turning up in bigger numbers than Aberdeen fans and are entitled to ask why it’s 6 years since we finished above them.

12-07-2019, 03:53 PM

My biggest disagreement with you was your comment about the manager’s eye for a player based on pre-season warm-ups. It’s a foolhardy and hasty comment to make at this early stage. We’ve not played a competitive game yet. If the new signings still haven’t fired after a few months your pish may become a bit more palatable. If these guys turn out to be stars your earlier comment will look even more outlandish.

12-07-2019, 03:55 PM
Love what hecky said in the interview, offered a good deal but it's up to the player to buy into what the others in the squad have done. Not just a financial desicion to make

:agree: This. You either want to be here or you don't. Your choice. But we move on to players who want to be here, either way.

12-07-2019, 03:55 PM
It’s time the board addressed the fact that Aberdeen have more money than us. We are turning up in bigger numbers than Aberdeen fans and are entitled to ask why it’s 6 years since we finished above them.

This isn't an issue about money. Its whether or not a player wants to buy into our philosophy of playing football or into McInnes philosphy of kicking anything that moves. Simples

12-07-2019, 03:56 PM

Given some of the noises our new owner is making it think its an important point to keep in mind. This is not a criticism of RG but to keep with Aberdeen we need to match or better their offers. A new training centre won't be enough.

12-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Ojo might still sign on here. If not, I hope we go for a more dynamic, box to box alternative. The same money would get Jamie Lindsay.

12-07-2019, 03:58 PM
He's not even signed yet.

Plus he's got a right to choose who he wants. I'm sure Hibs would be equally brutal with him if it suited us.

Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk

He does have a right, but where we’re Aberdeen before it all came out about his contract and he agreed to join us? He clearly wasn’t first choice for them as they were chasing McGeouch.

I would suggest he’s signing for Aberdeen before he’s travelling up to speak to them at this time on a Friday. Must have heard enough on the phone to want to go there and I would imagine it would just be the formality left.

If he spoke with hibs today and was genuinely happy and excited he would have signed, he would have had a rough idea What Aberdeen’s offer was without going up.

12-07-2019, 04:02 PM
He does have a right, but where we’re Aberdeen before it all came out about his contract and he agreed to join us? He clearly wasn’t first choice for them as they were chasing McGeouch.

I would suggest he’s signing for Aberdeen before he’s travelling up to speak to them at this time on a Friday. Must have heard enough on the phone to want to go there and I would imagine it would just be the formality left.

If he spoke with hibs today and was genuinely happy and excited he would have signed, he would have had a rough idea What Aberdeen’s offer was without going up.

I think after missing out on DMcG Aberdeen have chucked cash at this guy in terms of wages, probably wasn’t even a target for them until they seen us linked.

chippy
12-07-2019, 04:02 PM
:agree: This. You either want to be here or you don't. Your choice. But we move on to players who want to be here, either way.

I want to play for Hibs and would do for nowt but I’m crap and 64. Think the criteria needs to be more than if someone is willing to sign for us

12-07-2019, 04:06 PM
I want to play for Hibs and would do for nowt but I’m crap and 64. Think the criteria needs to be more than if someone is willing to sign for us

I remember the last time we built a team of players who weren’t overly fussed if they were here or not. We got spanked 5-1 in a cup final and relegation soon followed.

I want players who actually want to be here not players who’re just happy enough to pick up a wage every week

12-07-2019, 04:06 PM

Confusion over contract
refusing to train

The refusing to train bit was bad patter in my book. Shows a lack of professionalism and arrogance. I don’t know anything about the guy but that kind of behaviour doesn’t paint him in a good light.

12-07-2019, 04:07 PM

Seems we have done Aberdeens scouting for them

12-07-2019, 04:07 PM

Exactly. All that chat is just BS for the fans. Only criteria that really matters is if a player is good enough.

12-07-2019, 04:12 PM
On McNulty...

“We can’t get it done at the minute,” Heckingbottom confirmed. “It’ll cost too much money. We’re not in a position to do it because either we’ve not got enough finance or what they’re asking is too much.

“If either of those change then maybe."

12-07-2019, 04:19 PM
On McNulty...

“We can’t get it done at the minute,” Heckingbottom confirmed. “It’ll cost too much money. We’re not in a position to do it because either we’ve not got enough finance or what they’re asking is too much.

Is that him asking upstairs for more money? :cb

12-07-2019, 04:23 PM

I'm understanding your point, but my comment was about professional footballers that we offer contracts to - they want to come or not - I wasn't remotely referring to any body that could, should or would consider playing for the mighty Hibees.

BTW, I'm 64 too! And female. And I'd play for the Hibees if they asked me! :agree:

12-07-2019, 04:24 PM
On McNulty...

Even if we had the money he’s not worth it. £1m is an English transfer amount.

12-07-2019, 04:29 PM
Even if we had the money he’s not worth it. £1m is an English transfer amount.

I agree.

12-07-2019, 04:29 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/football/48969641

12-07-2019, 04:30 PM
On McNulty...

I'd be ecstatic if we could get McNulty in.
Not sure what the chances are. I'm hoping we don't wait around to long.
In saying that I'm sure the management team know exactly what they are doing.

12-07-2019, 04:32 PM
So funso's off to aberdeen...2 bags of sweeties again

12-07-2019, 04:32 PM
Would far rather sign Mulumbu

12-07-2019, 04:33 PM
On McNulty...

Is this "wee" Ron's Griffiths moment? If the 'Tache were still here it would be all foaming at the mouth and "Petrie get it done"🙄🙄🙄

12-07-2019, 04:37 PM
Interesting Heckingbottom says we’re in a similar position with a couple of players.

Any idea who?

12-07-2019, 04:39 PM
Interesting Heckingbottom says we’re in a similar position with a couple of players.

Any idea who?

Dylan? Omeonga?

1875STEVE
12-07-2019, 04:40 PM
That Daily Record article doesn't really say much IMO.

Two clubs have had bids accepted, he's spoken to one, he's away to speak to the other, that's normal.

He may choose Aberdeen, but IMO it just looks like he's away to have a look at his options.

12-07-2019, 04:43 PM
Robert Thomson at the Sun saying we were on the verge of getting him signed last week but Aberdeen have now “blown us out the water”.

K-Zazu
12-07-2019, 04:47 PM
Aberdeen can offer better wages. The end.

12-07-2019, 04:50 PM
Robert Thomson at the Sun saying we were on the verge of getting him signed last week but Aberdeen have now “blown us out the water”.Be quite ironic given how most on her were desperate for Mcgeough to turn down Aberdeen... Which leads us to today....

craigiehibs
12-07-2019, 04:51 PM
Robert Thomson at the Sun saying we were on the verge of getting him signed last week but Aberdeen have now “blown us out the water”.

if true this puts us in our place in terms of our standing in the game. whilst my disappointment would be high indeed if true, it will pale into insignificence compared to heckys whatever he says publicly. this was to be the fulcrum oh his team and anyone else is 2nd choice at best. not much sign of ambition after all our support and the 'new dawn' under a bew owner.

12-07-2019, 04:52 PM
St Mirren have signed Oan Djorkaeff, the son of France 1998 World Cup winner Youri Djorkaeff

12-07-2019, 04:53 PM
if true this puts us in our place in terms of our standing in the game. whilst my disappointment would be high indeed if true, it will pale into insignificence compared to heckys whatever he says publicly. this was to be the fulcrum oh his team and anyone else is 2nd choice at best. not much sign of ambition after all our support and the 'new dawn' under a bew owner.

So much pish on here the now. Aberdeen have more money than us, they make more money than us, they’ve threw money at this guy to get him to join. He’s had his head turned and went for the cash

12-07-2019, 04:54 PM

The New Owner has made it clear he is happy with our current playing budget and that it will take him time to get to grips with what’s going on But did mention growing the Club , Infradture and new indoor Yrsining Facility and Community Links
It seems to me he is clear at present there is no new huge cash injection for players and therefore Aberdeen continue to be able to offer players more than us
I would argue as things stand Aberdeen have improved their squad more than I had expected so we really need to be looking to match them or we will finish behind them yet again
Up till now Heck has said he has got his first priority signings over the line This would be the first one he has missed out on If reports are true the guy has opted for the Dons
So it’s a test of what other players have been identified in that role to try and get the next one on the list over the line

Aberdeen can offer better wages. The end.

So that's it. Aberdeen will always sign better players than us. We should just accept it.

Nonsense, we don't know how much we offered or what's aberdeen offered. If Aberdeen want to chuck money at the boy then fair play.

12-07-2019, 04:59 PM
So that's it. Aberdeen will always sign better players than us. We should just accept it.

We will just have to hump them on the park

12-07-2019, 05:00 PM
i've already got a song for Funso Ojo but i'm holding back publishing it incase he decides to ruin his career by joining the sheepies instead

**** yi, yer not getting any wee song now....and besides, yer [email protected]

12-07-2019, 05:02 PM
Aberdeen in pole position on ojo apparently

BlackSheep
Don’t think the DR article is anything worth worrying about.

I don't think that's the conclusion to draw. It's unavoidable that in a 1v1 pursuit of the same player, the team that can offer more money and European football is going to have a bigger draw.

We need to be clever with our acquisitions. Players like McGinn, McGeouch and Ambrose were all certainly better than most of the Aberdeen squad, but that didn't stop them coming to us.

Hopefully there's still hope Re Ojo.

This wouldn't surprise me tbh. We are still working under our original transfer budget apparently and Aberdeen have just been knocked back from their top target in a similar role. If he buys into the club and what PH have told him then he will sign for us. If not then he is not for us and we move on. It's not too complicated. If he doesn't want to be here then find someone that does. Team spirit and unity are what will make us strong.

12-07-2019, 05:03 PM

Not for me. Aberdeen are paying way more than they should be for a club of their size. They've benefited from continued investment. To be fair to them it's all above board and working.

HibeesLittleHel
12-07-2019, 05:06 PM
Would far rather sign Mulumbu

Legs gone wrong side of 30 - no thanks

12-07-2019, 05:08 PM
Really hope we can close the gap on Aberdeen soon as they’re in a very strong position if you think about it.

Can offer 3rd most wages in the league - by a distance
New stadium and training ground coming
Europe most seasons and decent records of getting to finals lately

And have signed Bryson, Hedges and by the looks of it Ojo - 3 players we were rumoured with. How genuine the Bryson and Hedges ones were I don’t know.

12-07-2019, 05:09 PM

Or we can just be realistic. Over the last few years Aberdeen have had a bigger turnover than us and have 2 guys who seem willing to pump in a fair bit of money without getting much in return.

We have a new owner, he's been in the door 5 minutes. I'd hope he will be looking seriously at why Aberdeen have been able to generate more interest in external investment than us in recent times, why their turnover is higher (even if it's as simple as say catering or the club shop being in house) and how we can redress things.

Nothing was going to change overnight, Aberdeen could pay more than us last week, they can pay more than us today and they will likely be able to pay more than us this time next week. If we are still being blown away by them a year or 18 months down the line it might be time to ask a few questions. As it is RG hasn't even sat down at a board meeting yet.

It's frustrating that we look like we may miss out here but if we have offered the best package we can and Aberdeen throw an extra £500 a week at the guy what can we do?

12-07-2019, 05:09 PM

Would you rather have Omeonga or Ojo ?

Not sure I'm wanting a player who according to his previous club's fans 'downed tools' when the chips were down and who has an agent clearly working the situation. Give me SO, McNulty and a proven player in Mulumbu any day of the week :aok:

I'm certainly not going to lose sleep if he goes to the Dons.

Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 05:10 PM

Would take him in a heartbeat.

Are you being serious?

IncredibleHibee
12-07-2019, 05:12 PM

So we potentially don’t get one player and you’re saying we are lacking ambition? We have apparently shelled out a good amount of money on Doidge and James. Were also willing to pay a fee for Funso. Hecky has had most of his first choices. All of a sudden we might not get one and it’s the end of the world? Grow up

12-07-2019, 05:13 PM
Hecky: We’ve a fantastic stadium, 3rd largest average attendance in Scotland, new owner, our own state of the art training centre all bought and paid for. We are trying to build a team to play attacking football and bring some excitement back to our fans. You will love it here and we’ll give you 3.5k p/w, what do you think?
Ojo: Sounds great, i’ll let you know.

McInnes: We’ll give you 4K p/w.
Ojo: ok, where do I sign!

12-07-2019, 05:13 PM
So we potentially don’t get one player and you’re saying we are lacking ambition? We have apparently shelled out a good amount of money on Doidge and James. Were also willing to pay a fee for Funso. Hecky has had most of his first choices. All of a sudden we might not get one and it’s the end of the world? Grow up

First choice player joining a rival does show luck of ambition to push the boat out rightly or wrongly.

Are you saying if we beat Aberdeen to the signing it won’t be proclaimed as showing out ambition?

12-07-2019, 05:14 PM
Guy who broke the story now changing his tune....

“Now been told Aberdeen came back in with an improved ‘couldn’t refuse’ offer for Funso Ojo who has reversed his previous decision to join Hibernian. As we’ve already seen by now though, we’ll know for sure once the ink dries on the contract. #Dons #Hibs #uti #Iron”

So it looks like it’s down to money. Aberdeen got desperate and chucked cash at him after losing out on Dylan.

NC1875
12-07-2019, 05:14 PM
If he wants to live in Aberdeen. Play dirty hoof ball under orange face Mcinnes. **** him.

I Want players who want to be here and play for Hibs

NEXT

12-07-2019, 05:15 PM

“Now been told Aberdeen came back in with an improved ‘couldn’t refuse’ offer for Funso Ojo who has reversed his previous decision to join Hibernian. As we’ve already seen by now though, we’ll know for sure once the ink dries on the contract. #Dons #Hibs #uti #Iron”

So it looks like it’s down to money. Aberdeen got desperate and chucked cash at him after losing out on Dylan.

We are desperate too and the money we have bid for him and waited for him shows this.

IncredibleHibee
12-07-2019, 05:17 PM
First choice player joining a rival does show luck of ambition to push the boat out rightly or wrongly.

Are you saying if we beat Aberdeen to the signing it won’t be proclaimed as showing out ambition?

Ambition has nothing to do with anything here. It’s about money. We’ve already spent a lot. If Aberdeen can afford to offer more money they can offer more money.

12-07-2019, 05:17 PM

Looks like he’s covering all bases so he can appear as though he knew

12-07-2019, 05:18 PM
We are desperate too and the money we have bid for him and waited for him shows this.

He was our first choice target who we had already agreed a deal with previously. Aberdeen didn’t get their first choice target and have panicked to make sure they get their second. If we can’t match their financial package then so be it. If he’s only interested in the money on offer then it’s not a big loss.

Our other signings have come here as they bought into the club and what we want to achieve.

His agent ****ing up the clause in the contract initially has cost us.

so

NEXT

Wakeyhibee
Hecky: We’ve a fantastic stadium, 3rd largest average attendance in Scotland, new owner, our own state of the art training centre all bought and paid for. We are trying to build a team to play attacking football and bring some excitement back to our fans. You will love it here and we’ll give you 3.5k p/w, what do you think?

McInnes: 'At the bottom where it says "No get out clause" ' :greengrin

12-07-2019, 05:21 PM
Has nobody told Ojo if he goes to Aberdeen he'll be training in the park and it'll probably be peein' doon half the time?

12-07-2019, 05:22 PM
Has nobody told Ojo if he goes to Aberdeen he'll be training in the park and it'll probably be peein' doon half the time?

extra £500/week will make up for that

12-07-2019, 05:23 PM
The alarm bells rung for me when I read the story of his contract disputes and refusal to train. Didn’t sound like a Hibs style personality or someone who would “get” the club like others who have come here have.
Looked like he was the managers prime target in a position that is much needed, so that’s disappointing, but we’ll find better I’m sure.

12-07-2019, 05:25 PM

Legs gone, how do you come to that conclusion

12-07-2019, 05:26 PM
Aberdeen pay more in wages, nothing we can do about that at present, going forward I'd like to see us compete with them in wages but it is what it is, if he signs for us then great but if not we move on and get the 2nd choice, wont be the first time it's happened and wont be the last

12-07-2019, 05:27 PM
Mulumbu is a decent player but he’s not a defensive midfielder. He would be in a midfield 3 with either Power, Dicker or Tshibola doing his dirty work

12-07-2019, 05:27 PM

Hardly - we negotiated a deal end of season, thought it was done, agent and club chairman put things out into the public domain, other clubs ignite interest and money talks.

When we are chasing priority targets in SO and MM then those players are the main focus of negotiations. Hundreds of players out there to choose from in the defensive midfielder role (now and before the window shuts).

Heckingbottom was relaxed in the presser, if we lose out on him, we move for other targets - that's football, not lack of ambition. The O'Hara link is interesting too.......we'll be very competitive v Aberdeen regardless.

12-07-2019, 05:28 PM
Ambition has nothing to do with anything here. It’s about money. We’ve already spent a lot. If Aberdeen can afford to offer more money they can offer more money.

More money, more ambitious. How’s it not?

Here’s Lucy!
12-07-2019, 05:29 PM
Would take him in a heartbeat.

Are you being serious?

Legs gone, how do you come to that conclusion

12-07-2019, 05:31 PM
Hardly - we negotiated a deal end of season, thought it was done, agent and club chairman put things out into the public domain, other clubs ignite interest and money talks.

When we are chasing priority targets in SO and MM then those players are the main focus of negotiations. Hundreds of players out there to choose from in the defensive midfielder role (now and before the window shuts).

Heckingbottom was relaxed in the presser, if we lose out on him, we move for other targets - that's football, not lack of ambition. The O'Hara link is interesting too.......we'll be very competitive v Aberdeen regardless.

Hardly aye? The season begins tomorrow and our number one choice is possibly joining Aberdeen. It seems we have waited since the end of last season to sign him why? Because we are desperate to have him on board. The HC may be relaxed but let’s not pretend it’s a blow or Aberdeen are more desperate to sign a player we have waited weeks to sign because they are more desperate.

12-07-2019, 05:32 PM
End of the day. His club accepted 2 bids. He came and spoke to us. Now he’s going to Aberdeen to speak to them. His agent is doing his job presenting his client with all the options. Believe in hibs a f the Hecky sales pitch

Have To say, and I said it early on, a player that refuses to train and disrespects the club; do you want him at the club? I’m not saying I wouldn’t welcome Ojo if he signs but what happens when he wants his next move?

12-07-2019, 05:32 PM
He was our first choice target who we had already agreed a deal with previously. Aberdeen didn’t get their first choice target and have panicked to make sure they get their second. If we can’t match their financial package then so be it. If he’s only interested in the money on offer then it’s not a big loss.

Our other signings have come here as they bought into the club and what we want to achieve.

His agent ****ing up the clause in the contract initially has cost us.

It is a big loss, I agree with the rest but we’ve waited weeks for a reason IF he goes there instead especially considering Aberdeen want him as their back up plan.

12-07-2019, 05:33 PM
More money, more ambitious. How’s it not?

Club caves in to agent and pays more on a contract than they originally wanted to.Rod for their own back.

12-07-2019, 05:33 PM
End of the day. His club accepted 2 bids. He came and spoke to us. Now he’s going to Aberdeen to speak to them. His agent is doing his job presenting his client with all the options. Believe in hibs a f the Hecky sales pitch

Have To say, and I said it early on, a player that refuses to train and disrespects the club; do you want him at the club? I’m not saying I wouldn’t welcome Ojo if he signs but what happens when he wants his next move?

You could be describing Scott Allan and yes I’m delighted he’s back.

12-07-2019, 05:34 PM

I agree, I'm not that bothered about Ojo for that reason.

12-07-2019, 05:35 PM
Club caves in to agent and pays more on a contract than they originally wanted to.Rod for their own back.

While we go to the good old trusted back up plan of old? It’s Aber ****ing deen it’s not even the old firm. Are they that far ahead they can do that?

12-07-2019, 05:35 PM

This 100%. All the bull**** people talk about facilities, team vision and Edinburgh is just spin. Cold hard cash wins most of the time.

12-07-2019, 05:36 PM
My next door neighbour always goes on great holidays. This year I really fancied outdoing him so I booked a 5 star cruise round the Caribbean, I saved for years to pay for it and it cleaned me out. He's just informed me that he's booked the same cruise but he's added a week in Vegas to the end staying in a suite in a top hotel. I'm fuming he has managed to outdo me again but I just can't afford what he can.

Can someone advise how I can conjure up money that doesn't exist so I can match his ambition?

12-07-2019, 05:37 PM
Hardly aye? The season begins tomorrow and our number one choice is possibly joining Aberdeen. It seems we have waited since the end of last season to sign him why? Because we are desperate to have him on board. The HC may be relaxed but let’s not pretend it’s a blow or Aberdeen are more desperate to sign a player we have waited weeks to sign because they are more desperate.

The season begins against Stirling Albion and then games v opposition we should beat. Other clubs went for Doidge, Newell, and James.........we won the day..........that's football.

All I'm saying is it's far from desperate, rather a player and agent have looked for the best financial deal. Window is open for weeks, let's see what evolves and I'm sure we'll have 3 or 4 in before we play Aberdeen - and our midfield (and team) will be hungry to prove he made the wrong move :aok:

12-07-2019, 05:39 PM
My next door neighbour always goes on great holidays. This year I really fancied outdoing him so I booked a 5 star cruise round the Caribbean, I saved for years to pay for it and it cleaned me out. He's just informed me that he's booked the same cruise but he's added a week in Vegas to the end staying in a suite in a top hotel. I'm fuming he has managed to outdo me again but I just can't afford what he can.

Can someone advise how I can conjure up money that doesn't exist so I can match his ambition?

I have an email from a guy in Nigeria saying I'm getting millions, maybe check your inbox!!!

12-07-2019, 05:41 PM
**** him, if he wants to go to the sheep molesters then let him, im sure there are others that want to sign for us

12-07-2019, 05:41 PM
While we go to the good old trusted back up plan of old? It’s Aber ****ing deen it’s not even the old firm. Are they that far ahead they can do that?

You don’t get every single player you try to sign.

The quality of the signings is yet to be seen but I think it’s fair to say we have got a number of our first choices this year. And did last year as well. You can’t get them all.

My issue is more that we still haven’t got anyone for that position having made the decision before the end of last season that Milligan and Bartley would be going.

12-07-2019, 05:44 PM

We do have the money though. The new owner says the club will decide what to spend it on. Looks like it might be facilities again instead of first choice targets.

Fuzzywuzzy
12-07-2019, 05:44 PM
This is why I prefer quiet business

12-07-2019, 05:45 PM

Why always so negative Ozy?!?

Wakeyhibee

And Hibs do what? Get involved in a bidding war, blow all the cash?

I don't know how good he is to know how disappointed I should be. My guess is there will be other irons in the fire.

If I'm honest I think that's where Hibs should be investing ....scouting/development of talent, because no matter how much money is put in at this level, there will always be a club to gazump us.

This is why I prefer quiet business

Can’t be quiet when the agents putting his name out there and using us to drum up a better deal which is what I feel has happened

EskbankHibby
12-07-2019, 05:49 PM
If he comes here, great.

If not, **** him.

All involved being played by an agent here I think, guys not kicked a ball since end of last season but his stock has went up over the close season. Agent played a blinder.

Hecky happy enough with the situation so trust his judgment on this guy or indeed the next guy.

Buzzing for the season ahead, few signings ahead before window closes no doubt. Great time to be a hibby.👍

12-07-2019, 05:51 PM
If he comes here, great.

If not, **** him.

All involved being played by an agent here I think, guys not kicked a ball since end of last season but his stock has went up over the close season. Agent played a blinder.

Hecky happy enough with the situation so trust his judgment on this guy or indeed the next guy.

Buzzing for the season ahead, few signings ahead before window closes no doubt. Great time to be a hibby.👍

Exactly :agree::aok:

12-07-2019, 05:53 PM
Why always so negative Ozy?!?

In this case he has a great point, Dons Commercial revenue dwarfs Hibs, and has done for years. They’ve been rewarded by having a 2nd place finish many times

12-07-2019, 05:53 PM
We do have the money though. The new owner says the club will decide what to spend it on. Looks like it might be facilities again instead of first choice targets.

How do you figure that out? Pretty sure its been said every player we have signed so far has been first choice

12-07-2019, 05:54 PM
In this case he has a great point, Dons Commercial revenue dwarfs Hibs, and has done for years. They’ve been rewarded by having a 2nd place finish many times

Is it simply that the oil and gas industry still pay for a lot of hospitality and corporate days out that other industries are cutting out these days?

rotherhamrob
12-07-2019, 05:55 PM
So a player that agreed to join us at the end of May but due to his contract situation couldn't, is now looking at joining one of our rivals after we had waited and then agreed a fee with scunny,personally if that's what happens then f*** him.
Maybe he's not the type of character you'd want in your dressing room.

12-07-2019, 05:56 PM

Borrow it and don't pay it back or just don't pay other bills.

12-07-2019, 05:56 PM

Think what you are meant to do is max the credit card out, borrow everything you can from family and put it all on 07 during your week in the suite in Vegas. You then just pick up your winnings and pay everything back.

Simple. Can’t see where it could go wrong [emoji1787][emoji23]

12-07-2019, 05:57 PM
And Hibs do what? Get involved in a bidding war, blow all the cash?

I don't know how good he is to know how disappointed I should be. My guess is there will be other irons in the fire.

If I'm honest I think that's where Hibs should be investing ....scouting/development of talent, because no matter how much money is put in at this level, there will always be a club to gazump us.

Blow all what cash? It’s bloody Aberdeen ffs. We have more supporters through the gate than them. If they can give more money to players meaning we lose top targets it’s the fault of the club. There’s no two ways about it.

12-07-2019, 05:58 PM
Is it simply that the oil and gas industry still pay for a lot of hospitality and corporate days out that other industries are cutting out these days?

No idea, but they have a lot of big name sponsors

12-07-2019, 05:58 PM
Borrow it and don't pay it back or just don't pay other bills.

Or do what your next door neighbour does and make more money even though you are more popular and get more customers than your neighbour work.

12-07-2019, 05:59 PM
No idea, but they have a lot of big name sponsors

What attracts them to a ****hole like Aberdeen that we can’t attract?

12-07-2019, 06:04 PM
what attracts them to a ****hole like aberdeen that we can’t attract?

more money

12-07-2019, 06:07 PM
In other news Iv been told were looking at Kyle Dempsey currently at Fleetwood Town.

Not claiming to be ITK but seems a bit of a random one to just pluck out of nowhere

12-07-2019, 06:10 PM

Yet we've won more cups and been in more finals in the 2000's than them Billy despite the revenue gulf and being relegated. Despite their revenue and salary position, we have been more successful in silverware. We're going into our third season back in the top flight, very stable, good manager who knows what he wants, debt free, and there is good harmony between club and fans..........great crowds, good season ticket numbers (again), great CEO.........we lose out on a League 2 player and folk wet themselves (not you I hasten to add mate).......let PH build the side and give him a couple of seasons to see where we get to :aok:

K-Zazu
12-07-2019, 06:11 PM
In other news Iv been told were looking at Kyle Dempsey currently at Fleetwood Town.

Not claiming to be ITK but seems a bit of a random one to just pluck out of nowhere

Watch out Derek mcinnes is reading this message board

12-07-2019, 06:13 PM
What attracts them to a ****hole like Aberdeen that we can’t attract?

https://www.afc.co.uk/2018/11/24/latest-accounts-show-strong-results-for-aberdeen-football-club/

Turnover was £15.2m
Read paragraph 4

Hibs turnover for 2017 to 2018 financial year was £9.5m

12-07-2019, 06:13 PM

been out on loan a few times

Hibs4185
12-07-2019, 06:14 PM
So Dylan was McInnes’ first choice.

They couldn’t get him.

They then went for our first choice who is unproven in SPL.

Can we not just one back over them and get Dylan then??

Maybe it was Heck’s plan all along! Take a bow son!!

12-07-2019, 06:14 PM
I was concerned that Ojo "downed tools" at Scunny. It appears it was his agents fault not Scunnys for the resulting mess.

If this is PH s top target then I would still like to get him but there is a question mark over whether he would play these type of games with Hibs also long term when it suited him.

He'd already agreed terms, Omeonga has bigged us up apparantly..... dunno if we might dodge a bullet here????

The more I look at it, the more I agree with you here, it looks like his agent has played a fly one thinking Scunny wouldn't remember the release clause and it's came back to bite them, now he's looking for more cash as another club is interested. If he had agreed terms, then why have these same terms suddenly became not good enough, if he wants to squeeze more cash from us, the he can **** off.

12-07-2019, 06:15 PM

But that is reality, don't have to make it a negative thing? We will put our best foot forward and if players don't want to buy into that then that's ok and we move on

Sorry about your holiday ambitions prettyboy, can only suggest you go see a money-lender or perhaps crowd-fund, you could start up something like a prettyboy supporters club and get a whole load of people to send you in cash so you could spend this on your ambitions. It may take a bit of time but eventually you will be able to compete with your neighbour if this is really important to you.

been out on loan a few times

Yeah noticed that, also wonder with Rossiter going there on loan if it’s now a goer?

Wakeyhibee
12-07-2019, 06:16 PM
Blow all what cash? It’s bloody Aberdeen ffs. We have more supporters through the gate than them. If they can give more money to players meaning we lose top targets it’s the fault of the club. There’s no two ways about it.

Ah I forgot we had a bigger turnover than them. Last count we were £6m behind I believe it was. Unless Ron's largesse is in this region or bigger, yes should we blow all our cash on these kind of deals?

PH91
12-07-2019, 06:19 PM
No way this should be used as a stick to beat Hibs with. We made him an offer which he accepted. There was a hold up through his own fault and, because of that, we actually ended up having to agree a decent fee with his club. After all of that he has backed out of his word at the last minute and chosen to go to a rival for a bit more money, even though they weren't interested in the first place!! Shameful and disrespectful. We were quite right not to up our offer.

Assuming he does go to them, Big Daz, Gray and Porto will have an eye on him when he comes to play at Easter Road, that's for sure. I predict he will get a dull one.

12-07-2019, 06:20 PM
Ah I forgot we had a bigger turnover than them. Last count we were £6m behind I believe it was. Unless Ron's largesse is in this region or bigger, yes should we blow all our cash on these kind of deals?

Who’s fault is it we are £6m behind them when our fans do our bit and have much larger gates than them season after season? Is that finally admitting defeat that they are a bigger club than us? Or is the club not maximising potential revenue while they are?

12-07-2019, 06:20 PM
The more I look at it, the more I agree with you here, it looks like his agent has played a fly one thinking Scunny wouldn't remember the release clause and it's came back to bite them, now he's looking for more cash as another club is interested. If he had agreed terms, then why have these same terms suddenly became not good enough, if he wants to squeeze more cash from us, the he can **** off.

its just business nothing else, not fussed if the guy arrives at Hibs or not, we will get another to fill the role, we need 3 or 4 good players in to begin to compete at the higher end of the table.

12-07-2019, 06:21 PM
No way this should be used as a stick to beat Hibs with. We made him an offer which he accepted. There was a hold up through his own fault and, because of that, we actually ended up having to agree a decent fee with his club. After all of that he has backed out of his word at the last minute and chosen to go to a rival for a bit more money, even though they weren't interested in the first place!! Shameful. We were quite right not to up our offer.

Assuming he does go to them, Big Daz, Gray and Porto will have an eye on him when he comes to play at Easter Road, that's for sure. I predict he will get a dull one.

Absolutely agree with all of this.

12-07-2019, 06:21 PM
Who’s fault is it we are £6m behind them when our fans do our bit and have much larger gates than them season after season? Is that finally admitting defeat that they are a bigger club than us? Or is the club not maximising potential revenue while they are?

We could always get a sponsor to re-name the stadium and blow the sheep out the water.

tonyrougier123
12-07-2019, 06:22 PM
I really hope he signs for aberdeen,his agent spraffing and him not training was a huge no already in my book.but once aberdeen came in to then have your head turned like that,says alot about his professionalism.huge alarm bells!!

Pull the plug imo.

12-07-2019, 06:23 PM
We could always get a sponsor to re-name the stadium and blow the sheep out the water.

Have they got a stadium sponsor?

We could always have a kit sponsor and try keep up with them.

Wakeyhibee

Ours and we know why, But Ron's been in the door 2 minutes. A bit early for a complete reversal

But that is reality, don't have to make it a negative thing? We will put our best foot forward and if players don't want to buy into that then that's ok and we move on

If Ojo wants to play for Dons, that’s his decision. I’m just saying that with them having a much bigger budget than Hibs, unless we can catch them, Ron won’t be able to make us best of the rest

Hibs4185
12-07-2019, 06:24 PM
Ojo was a free transfer. Due to his and his agents balls up, he’s already cost us a £125k transfer fee that we weren't anticipating.

Now that there is competition, maybe an extra grand a week as well. Over 3 years including the transfer fee that’s nearly £300k more than we had originally planned:

If he chooses to sign for the sheep, the he’ll soon realise the errors of his way. I’m sure PH will be able to use that £309k better elsewhere.

12-07-2019, 06:25 PM
Ours and we know why, But Ron's been in the door 2 minutes. A bit early for a complete reversal

It should never have been allowed to happen even before our new guy.

It’s major disappointing to lose out on a player to Aberdeen in a position desperate for and have been waiting on the player. Now making excuses why it’s a good thing is mental. “Didnae want him anyway he’s a bad attitude” it’s a blow, a blow in the same way it was about to be a signal of intent and ambition had he signed.

12-07-2019, 06:26 PM

Agree with that while other teams appear to have brought in external revenue we seem to have fallen behind in that respect, makes the decision to go without a shirt sponsor this season all the more bewildering. That could have been the difference between signing Ojo and him choosing Aberdeen.

Ojo was a free transfer. Due to his and his agents balls up, he’s already cost us a £125k transfer fee that we weren't anticipating.

Now that there is competition, maybe an extra grand a week as well. Over 3 years including the transfer fee that’s nearly £300k more than we had originally planned:

If he chooses to sign for the sheep, the he’ll soon realise the errors of his way. I’m sure PH will be able to use that £309k better elsewhere.

That's okay. I read we have an extra 500k a year now.

If he could use the money elsewhere the player wouldn’t be the number one target.

NC1875
12-07-2019, 06:28 PM
Who said Ojo was the number one target ?

Have they got a stadium sponsor?

We could always have a kit sponsor and try keep up with them.

Not sure but reckon they will when the new ones finished, could we get a kit sponsor to pony up 6mill for us just to keep up wi them, as things stand?

Something that is conveniently ignored when this point is continually raised, is our relegation. In simple terms, Aberdeen took advantage of a league missing us, Hearts and Rangers and that gave them a head start. They finished second and did well enough in Europe to benefit from the prize money.

The latest financial statements published to give a source of comparison, are from our first season back in the top league. Did anyone expect us to be on a level financial footing with Aberdeen after one year back?

The fact is we are closing the gap every year. We’ve done better in our attendance and our player trading. And we improved on prize money from Europe (although that will be reversed this year of course). The board have attracted what appears to be a fantastic new owner which again, enhances our football budget.

People need to have some perspective.

DetroitHibs
12-07-2019, 06:29 PM
Aberdeen have been marginally outspending us for years and it’s paid off. They have consistently finished higher than us and we need to start competing with them. If we don’t, then overtaking them will be very difficult.

12-07-2019, 06:29 PM
Who said Ojo was the number one target ?

Behave.

NC1875
12-07-2019, 06:31 PM
Behave.

Do you know we’ve not already missed out on number 1 ?

Or we have 4 or 5 choices and no particular preference. Could be working on a few at the same time

Not sure but reckon they will when the new ones finished, could we get a kit sponsor to pony up 6mill for us just to keep up wi them, as things stand?

So they haven’t just now then?

They have managed to secure £6m more funding pa than us, them across the road also get more income DESPITE us having bigger crowds and more season tickets. That’s a massive failure somewhere and not having a ****ing kit sponsor can’t help matters.

Something that is conveniently ignored when this point is continually raised, is our relegation. In simple terms, Aberdeen took advantage of a league missing us, Hearts and Rangers and that gave them a head start. They finished second and did well enough in Europe to benefit from the prize money.

The latest financial statements published to give a source of comparison, are from our first season back in the top league. Did anyone expect us to be on a level financial footing with Aberdeen after one year back?

The fact is we are closing the gap every year. We’ve done better in our attendance and our player trading. And we improved on prize money from Europe (although that will be reversed this year of course). The board have attracted what appears to be a fantastic new owner which again, enhances our football budget.

Valid points Tyler

12-07-2019, 06:32 PM
Do you know we’ve not already missed out on number 1 ?

No we offered the boy a contract a month or so ago and have now bid for him for ****s and giggles. Our number one target is still on holiday somewhere awaiting an offer.

scuttle

Change your name to THE Pretty boy and don't pay yer bills and you will end up with better holidays than the neighbour

12-07-2019, 06:34 PM
Change your name to THE Pretty boy and don't pay yer bills and you will end up with better holidays than the neighbour

The neighbour pays the bills - they just seem to have a higher income yearly despite having less customers.

12-07-2019, 06:35 PM

They have managed to secure £6m more funding pa than us, them across the road also get more income DESPITE us having bigger crowds and more season tickets. That’s a massive failure somewhere and not having a ****ing kit sponsor can’t help matters.

Them over the road bring in more money because more of their supporters give more cash to the manky ones simples really.

12-07-2019, 06:35 PM
Them over the road bring in more money because more of their supporters give more cash to the manky ones simples really.

True.

tonyrougier123
12-07-2019, 06:37 PM

It’s major disappointing to lose out on a player to Aberdeen in a position desperate for and have been waiting on the player. Now making excuses why it’s a good thing is mental. “Didnae want him anyway he’s a bad attitude” it’s a blow, a blow in the same way it was about to be a signal of intent and ambition had he signed.

Its no an excuse though is it.
I would be delighted if he goes to aberdeen and thats been the way ive seen it since he refused to train.

Alan stubbs said a player needs to be the right type,and thats stood us in good health as a club.excellent ethos,which we still reap the rewards from to this day.

craigiehibs
12-07-2019, 06:39 PM
If he could use the money elsewhere the player wouldn’t be the number one target.

1000% he was

12-07-2019, 06:39 PM

It’s not an actual gap of £6m. It’s been mentioned many times before about certain commercial arrangements at Hibs being outsourced, which isn’t the case at Aberdeen. Their costs will be significantly higher than ours as a consequence.

There could be many reasons for the sponsorship decision this year, it’s not going to have a material impact. It’s been reiterated several times.

Wakeyhibee
12-07-2019, 06:41 PM

I argued the same point 10 years and more back. But STF did more than he ever had to and unfortunately until LD we've not had someone capable enough on the footballing side IMO. We had no one in the wings to take it off STF either.

Ron's expertise is in Communications and business in general hopefully we will now close the gap and surpass it.

So no it's not disappointing as it stands. In 3-5 years yes it will be.

12-07-2019, 06:44 PM
I argued the same point 10 years and more back. But STF did more than he ever had to and unfortunately until LD we've not had someone capable enough on the footballing side IMO. We had no one in the wings to take it off STF either.

Ron's expertise is in Communications and business in general hopefully we will now close the gap and surpass it.

So no it's not disappointing as it stands. In 3-5 years yes it will be.

I’m hoping the Director he appointed, Archie Stewart Paton,has a few contacts in this area

12-07-2019, 06:44 PM
I’m hoping the Director he appointed, Archie Stewart, has a few contacts in this area

Archie Paton?

12-07-2019, 06:45 PM
Archie Paton?

Him too😄

12-07-2019, 06:45 PM

This is the issue for me. Players don't choose Aberdeen for the weather - they pay more than us. A new training centre is understandable but it won't compensate for our rivals paying more in wages than us.

RG is just in the door and has been clear about growing the club which is to be applauded. But if the ambition is to be one of the best teams in the country the focus must be on the playing budget. Infrastructure shouldn't be an immediate priority.

hhibs
12-07-2019, 06:47 PM

All good points ,I have banged on for years about our dreadful lack of even competent marketing and commercial drive.

I really hope RG can generate the staff ,contacts and ambition we need,there has in the past been the dead hand of indifference and failure which I really hope to hell is now gone.

heid the baw
12-07-2019, 06:55 PM
At the erse end of last season this guy had probably never heard of Hibs or Aberdeen. His team gets relegated. Heckys connections probably alerted hibs. He listens to offers, takes the best paying one and that's where he will go. Whichever club don't end up signing will sign someone else.
If he was hot property he would be staying in England. Probably do OK in the spl, but not worth all the hand wringing on here about the state of club finance. As someone here pointed out, we spent 3 years in the championship whilst Aberdeen were finishing 2nd, TV money, Europe guaranteed. That is why they can pay more

12-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Shankland scores within 10 minutes against Hearts

12-07-2019, 07:00 PM
Reported that Ojo is away to with a 2 year deal with Aberdeen.

i was really looking forward to this guy but sometimes there are signs it’s just not meant to be and there has been plenty for this one.

12-07-2019, 07:01 PM
Shankland scores within 10 minutes against Hearts

I'm sure he won't be the last player to score against Hearts.
Well set up by Stanton btw

12-07-2019, 07:02 PM

i was really looking forward to this guy but sometimes there are signs it’s just not meant to be and there has been plenty for this one.

Just like busses there will be another one along soon.

12-07-2019, 07:03 PM

The Sun now reporting he’s signed for them and will be announced in the next 24 hours.

12-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Just like busses there will be another one along soon.

Correct mate.

Ceazy how 24 hours can have such a big impact on how fans were feeling. This time last night everyone was excited about the prospect of him joining along with potentially McNulty and Omeonga.

Fast forward to now and everyone is dejected.

Thats football I suppose.

K-Zazu
12-07-2019, 07:05 PM
Actually hate Aberdeen

Torto7
12-07-2019, 07:07 PM
I'll probably take flak for this but this is piss poor from Hibs and it's a massive PR blow imo. I don't buy for a second we couldn't match what they're offering if we wanted to. I've thought for years that our wage structure is far too rigid.

12-07-2019, 07:08 PM
I'll probably take flak for this but this is piss poor from Hibs and it's a massive PR blow imo. I don't buy for a second we couldn't match what they're offering if we wanted to. I've thought for years that our wage structure is far too rigid.

I can easily believe Aberdeen can offer more than us. The stats and wages don’t lie

12-07-2019, 07:08 PM
Ojo sounds like a bit of a James Blunt. He'll be whoring himself to sevco at the end of the season if he's any good

12-07-2019, 07:09 PM
Actually hate Aberdeen

Naw, just done like the fitba team and their sheep ****ging support.

12-07-2019, 07:10 PM

Even if that was true, I wouldn’t go chucking loads of cash at him. He agreed to sign for us before but has changed his mind at the sight of a bit more cash. Aberdeen coming in for him shouldn’t force us to up our offer significantly, if at all.

hhibs

Seems like other clubs are more flexible and therefore able to clinch deals we cannot.

A decent season and he’ll be chucking the toys out the pram again cause Aberdeen won’t let him move to an English championship team

Disappointing as we’d clearly identified him as a target

But a leopard doesn’t change its spots

We move on

12-07-2019, 07:11 PM
We were too slow to act.

Aberdeen missed there first choice target end of last week..... We had since the end of May to come to an agreement

We took the risk and looks like we have lost out

12-07-2019, 07:13 PM
I must admit that PH’s press conference makes these situations easier. Clear idea of the type of person he wants in and don’t think he will be long in moving on.

From a fans perspective feels like the Luke Whatever deal from a few seasons ago: nice to be talking about transfers through.

12-07-2019, 07:14 PM
Seems like other clubs are more flexible and therefore able to clinch deals we cannot.

Or other clubs have more money? What’re people not understanding about this? ABERDEEN HAVE MORE MONEY THAN US AND CAN THEREFORE OFFER MORE MONEY

Fergos
12-07-2019, 07:15 PM

I’d be more disappointed if we didn’t have a contingency plan of at least 3 other choices.

Heck makes a salient point today, why bust the wage structure? Especially for one player none of us had heard off until the last few weeks. As others have noted he’ll be off somewhere else as soon as there’s a sniff of interest.

12-07-2019, 07:17 PM
I can easily believe Aberdeen can offer more than us. The stats and wages don’t lie

Irrespective of turnover I thought they had a new stadium and training centre to finance ??? If we can't match or better Aberdeen for players we want in this situation then surely our short term goal of being 'best of the rest' seem a tad unrealistic no?