View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

16-11-2024, 06:50 PM
1-0 Germany, Musiala

16-11-2024, 06:56 PM
Watching Holland v Hungary on YouTube

Someone on one of the benches is down, nae idea what happened. Big circle of staff surrounding them to block the camera

16-11-2024, 06:59 PM
Think it’s the Hungarian bench. Commentators haven’t said a thing. Looks very serious though

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 07:03 PM
Think it’s the Hungarian bench. Commentators haven’t said a thing. Looks very serious though

Whole Hungarian team over … hopefully they are ok .

16-11-2024, 07:07 PM
Plays just restarted with a var penalty given to Holland

Donegal Hibby
16-11-2024, 07:08 PM
It was a penalty in fairness

16-11-2024, 07:11 PM
2-0 Germany

16-11-2024, 07:31 PM
3-0 Germany, Havertz

16-11-2024, 08:03 PM
5-0 Germany

16-11-2024, 08:19 PM
6-0 Germany
3-0 Netherlands

Auckland Hibs
16-11-2024, 08:30 PM
He was in the running years back before allegedly seeing his hopes scuppered by a certain manager saying certain things about him.

He was subsequently offered the chance to succeed Strachan as Scotland boss but turned it down. Not sure if the Hibs thing soured his views about working here.

The irony being the word of the said manager who's well known as a degenerate gambler.

Would love MON to be our manager one day.

16-11-2024, 08:31 PM
7-0 Germany

16-11-2024, 08:44 PM
7-0 Germany

Greatest game in history ?

16-11-2024, 08:45 PM
4-0 Netherlands

16-11-2024, 09:55 PM
The irony being the word of the said manager who's well known as a degenerate gambler.

Would love MON to be our manager one day.

Obvious question would be why his word about Hibs would have any weight whatsoever

Auckland Hibs
17-11-2024, 05:49 AM
Obvious question would be why his word about Hibs would have any weight whatsoever

I'm not sure TBH.

It was posted on the PM board at the time that he was in the running but had been rejected due to personal issues and The Tash had turned him down for the role.

Could be BS, but the story has been around for a number of years.

17-11-2024, 08:27 AM
I'm not sure TBH.

It was posted on the PM board at the time that he was in the running but had been rejected due to personal issues and The Tash had turned him down for the role.

Could be BS, but the story has been around for a number of years.

Must have been his view was trusted by the tache. Can remember seeing an interview with O’Neill where he said he thought he had it had a number of very long interviews then was surprised when Fenlon announced. Said he didn’t get any real reason why he didn’t get it. Obviously Michael will have his interpretation around what happened around that time but would have liked to have seen him given a chance

17-11-2024, 03:57 PM
England v Ireland national anthems boo fest.

NC1875
17-11-2024, 04:01 PM
Tino Livramento debut for England. Was there not talk about him playing for Scotland at one point ?

ruthven_raiders
17-11-2024, 04:07 PM
England v Ireland national anthems boo fest.

Yup and they muted sound a bit to cover it up......hence no point in showing the live feed till anthems had ended...

Green forever
17-11-2024, 04:14 PM
Tino Livramento debut for England. Was there not talk about him playing for Scotland at one point ?
I think he qualified to play for England, Scotland and Italy.

17-11-2024, 04:16 PM
I think he qualified to play for England, Scotland and Italy.

Think his Dad is Portuguese. His Mum is Scottish and he was born in England. He’s a great wee player.

17-11-2024, 04:26 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

17-11-2024, 04:27 PM
Clear penalty ignored for Ireland var must be on the bevy

17-11-2024, 04:38 PM
Clear penalty ignored for Ireland var must be on the bevy
Clear?

17-11-2024, 04:39 PM
Clear?

Very clear Guehi pulls over Ferguson in the box. Linesman and var should have seen it. Stonewaller to me

17-11-2024, 04:45 PM
Very clear Guehi pulls over Ferguson in the box. Linesman and var should have seen it. Stonewaller to me
Ah OK, I was looking at Walker one, yes give you Ferguson.

17-11-2024, 04:47 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

17-11-2024, 05:11 PM
That's a clear penalty

17-11-2024, 05:14 PM
Kane scored last 23 pens, some stat that. We could do with our penalty takers watching all those back.

17-11-2024, 05:14 PM
Some pass and and control by Bellingham, until then I thought Kane had done nowt and looked a shadow of his former self.

17-11-2024, 05:16 PM
nice goal Greece Finland 0 Greece 2

17-11-2024, 05:16 PM
3-0 England

17-11-2024, 05:18 PM
Ireland falling to pieces.

17-11-2024, 05:23 PM
Ireland falling to pieces.

They were doing as well as could be expected until the red card/penalty.

17-11-2024, 05:29 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

17-11-2024, 05:34 PM
Kane scored last 23 pens, some stat that. We could do with our penalty takers watching all those back.

Missed when it mattered though 😆😆

17-11-2024, 05:34 PM
Massacre

17-11-2024, 05:35 PM
19:45 Italy v France

France screwed my bet the other night therefore i hope they get skelped tonight :)

17-11-2024, 05:39 PM
Massacre
Getting embarrassing

He's here!
17-11-2024, 06:08 PM
Getting embarrassing

We were at the women's derby so just seen the England score. Wasn't actually aware they were playing (not going to pretend I understand the point of the Nations League), but they're a cracking team when they're on song. Think Tuchel will do well with them.

andrew70
17-11-2024, 06:59 PM
https://footyinsight2.wordpress.com/2024/11/17/poland-v-scotland/

A Poland v Scotland preview.

17-11-2024, 07:01 PM
Italy France started well 1 0 France Rabiot

Donegal Hibby
17-11-2024, 07:24 PM
Italy 0-2 France .. 1-2 now . Italy will fall back now again.

hibstag
17-11-2024, 07:24 PM
We were at the women's derby so just seen the England score. Wasn't actually aware they were playing (not going to pretend I understand the point of the Nations League), but they're a cracking team when they're on song. Think Tuchel will do well with them.
Yep a good side playing below their real level in these current set of nations league matches, Scotland simarly find themselves playing above theirs, it's why I'm finding the media hysterics over Englands results in the competition hard to fathom, SKY Sports News was particularly cringe after the Greece result... Whereas Scotland have been slated despite being reasonable against Portugal.

17-11-2024, 08:12 PM
3-1 France

He's here!
17-11-2024, 08:20 PM
Yep a good side playing below their real level in these current set of nations league matches, Scotland simarly find themselves playing above theirs, it's why I'm finding the media hysterics over Englands results in the competition hard to fathom, SKY Sports News was particularly cringe after the Greece result... Whereas Scotland have been slated despite being reasonable against Portugal.

Haven't seen any of the games or the media response but probably fair to say Scotland didn't have much credit in the bank after one win in 16?

18-11-2024, 06:26 AM
Haven't seen any of the games or the media response but probably fair to say Scotland didn't have much credit in the bank after one win in 16?

But have actually competed really well in all games accepting we have contrived to lose the games with mostly poor errors. Virtually zero coverage from ssn despite beating Croatia then live coverage of England training. Allied to our games not been covered on any channel it is absolutely scandalous to be honest.

18-11-2024, 06:54 AM
But have actually competed really well in all games accepting we have contrived to lose the games with mostly poor errors. Virtually zero coverage from ssn despite beating Croatia then live coverage of England training. Allied to our games not been covered on any channel it is absolutely scandalous to be honest.

Sounds like another team I know...

18-11-2024, 07:59 AM
Sounds like another team I know...

No idea who that could be. 😄

18-11-2024, 09:30 AM
Hoilett got the winner for Canada last night against Suriname.

18-11-2024, 02:09 PM
Is the game on YouTube or TV tonight?

Trinity Hibee
18-11-2024, 02:09 PM
Is the game on YouTube or TV tonight?

Yeah Scotland national YouTube channel and also viaplays YouTube channel

https://www.live-footballontv.com/

Always find this site good for seeing where games are on

18-11-2024, 02:12 PM
Yeah Scotland national YouTube channel and also viaplays YouTube channel

https://www.live-footballontv.com/

Always find this site good for seeing where games are on

Cheers thanks. Know last one was on YouTube but didn't know if that included away games.

18-11-2024, 05:32 PM
Gordon

Ralston, Souttar, Hanley, Robertson

McLean, Gilmour

Doak, McTominay, McGinn,

Dykes

18-11-2024, 05:41 PM
How the hell are Hanley and McLean starting.

plhibs
18-11-2024, 05:50 PM
Hoilett got the winner for Canada last night against Suriname.

That game was played last Friday, they play the return game tomorrow in Toronto.

18-11-2024, 06:01 PM
We need a good win tonight and Portugal to get a decisive win v Croatia. I notice Ronaldo is taking no part.

18-11-2024, 06:49 PM
Yesss!!!!!

1-0 SJM

18-11-2024, 06:49 PM
I ****ing love that man.

18-11-2024, 06:50 PM
Wow a great goal!! SJM

18-11-2024, 06:50 PM
SJM :thumbsup::thumbsup:

18-11-2024, 06:51 PM
Made it look easy but that's a great through ball from Gilmour to start things off. SJM baby!

18-11-2024, 06:52 PM
Made it look easy but that's a great through ball from Gilmour to start things off. SJM baby!

Absolutely. Great pass from Gilmour. He’s a class act

18-11-2024, 06:52 PM
Ben Doak is absolutely class.

18-11-2024, 06:53 PM
Superb goal there. The pass from Gilmour was superb and the rest wasn’t bad either.

How the hell are Hanley and McLean starting.

McLean was good against Croatia

Doak has the potential to be world class.

pollution
18-11-2024, 06:54 PM
Ben Doak is absolutely class.

They can't cope with wee Jimmy Johnstone!

18-11-2024, 06:55 PM
So we win with a 3 goal swing = qualifying for nations league finals and top seed for WC Qualifiers

We win and no goal swing = League A/B play off and 3rd seeds for WC Qualifying

Is that right? Tonight is massive

18-11-2024, 06:56 PM
Still think it's a tall ask here - Poland look electric going forward.

18-11-2024, 06:58 PM
Tell you what , we’ve got some potential superstars coming through.

18-11-2024, 06:58 PM
So we win with a 3 goal swing = qualifying for nations league finals and top seed for WC Qualifiers

We win and no goal swing = League A/B play off and 3rd seeds for WC Qualifying

Is that right? Tonight is massive

Pretty much guaranteed if we stay in League A, we’re guaranteed a play-off spot for the next Euro’s.

18-11-2024, 07:02 PM
Pretty much guaranteed if we stay in League A, we’re guaranteed a play-off spot for the next Euro’s.

Didn't realise that was also part of the equation. Thanks Steve

18-11-2024, 07:04 PM
Being let off the hook bigly (:greengrin) here.

Bad miss Poland. Huge let off and indecisive defending. Lucky

ooft that was close for poland

18-11-2024, 07:06 PM
Can't get it out from the back. Closed down too easily with little to no out ball. Won't be long before they score at this rate.

18-11-2024, 07:06 PM
give them enough ball and they'll eventually score

18-11-2024, 07:07 PM
Hanging on at the back here. They're so fast and are getting in behind too easily.

18-11-2024, 07:11 PM
He might be 'one of them' but Craig Gordon is definitely one hell of an asset back there.

Souttar and Hanley really struggling to keep up back there - every single ball over the top of them is resulting in a chance.

18-11-2024, 07:11 PM
Dykes is a man down. Ball just bouncing off him. Needs to hold it to help us get out.

18-11-2024, 07:13 PM
Dykes is a man down. Ball just bouncing off him. Needs to hold it to help us get out.

So is Kenny McLean - generally forgot he was on the park til they mentioned him a second ago.

18-11-2024, 07:15 PM
Dykes doing nothing to take the pressure off us here.

cameronw-hfc
18-11-2024, 07:16 PM
I like Dykes for Scotland. Scored some hugely important goals but I always feel he's better off the bench. Bring him on last 20 to mix it up if needed, doesn't do enough from the start imo

18-11-2024, 07:17 PM
yellow card McLean

18-11-2024, 07:19 PM
Ooooft unlucky Dykes

Better.

ooft off the bar scotland

that would have been a cracker

Wow gilmour!!!!

So close from 30 yards

18-11-2024, 07:20 PM
Oh ya ****er.

McTominay caught sleeping twice. Waken up.

Portugal winning

18-11-2024, 07:21 PM
1-0 Portugal

18-11-2024, 07:21 PM
portugal score

18-11-2024, 07:22 PM
Been a great game so far.

18-11-2024, 07:23 PM
McTominay should have scored

404,770 watching on Youtube

Another chance. 3 in a couple mins. Unlucky McSauce

400,770 watching on Youtube

Hearts clearly no playing

18-11-2024, 07:25 PM
End to end this.

18-11-2024, 07:25 PM
End to end.

Scotland have been great but missed a few good chances.

18-11-2024, 07:26 PM
A great game of football so far with both teams going for it.

18-11-2024, 07:27 PM
croatia hit the post

18-11-2024, 07:28 PM
Quite like this main commentator. Andy someone I think?

18-11-2024, 07:28 PM
scotland hit the post

18-11-2024, 07:29 PM
Holy ****.

Off the bar
How’s that not 2

croatia hit the post

And so do we! McSauce again

Holy ****.

Bloody hell unlucky again.

18-11-2024, 07:32 PM
ralston done well with his hands behind his back there

poland just wide with a shot

18-11-2024, 07:33 PM
Ht 0-1

been a very good game

Poland look equally as dangerous when they attack. This could end up 3 each. Cracking game of football

Every one of their chances has come down Ralstons side.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Good game. Score could be anything really.

Some of our football has been really good.

18-11-2024, 07:34 PM
What a fantastic 45 mins of Football.

18-11-2024, 07:36 PM
Some game, could have been 3 all. Playing some lovely stuff but getting cut open too many times. The Polish defence looks awful.

18-11-2024, 07:37 PM
Loads of intent going forward. That passage around 40 minutes where we controlled the ball for 20-30 passes and 2-3 minutes before getting a shot away at the end of it is what we all want to see from Scotland.

We are going to give up chances because we are pretty wide open due to having to go for it but it's been a really good game to watch because both teams are playing with that attacking intent.

They can't cope with wee Jimmy Johnstone!

Would be saying he reminds me of the other Johnston Willie, same direct tricky style and fast.

HIBS NUTS
What a brilliant game of football

18-11-2024, 07:38 PM
Luxembourg 0 Northern Ireland 1

Great open game……… but I hope it’s not going to end in ‘glorious’ defeat.:greengrin

Scotland have played really well, it's been a really open game as well. We've hit the bar twice as well, Gordon's made a couple of good saves as well. Good game.

This half time tune reminds me of when you used to fall asleep watching a dvd and the menu would be playing on a loop

18-11-2024, 07:41 PM
Just hope Scotland don't try see it out.

Loads gaps to attack and get a 2nd.

Chorley Hibee
18-11-2024, 07:43 PM
I've not seen a half of football as enjoyable as that in a long time.

18-11-2024, 07:44 PM
Every one of their chances has come down Ralstons side.

He needs a bit help, Robertson is getting help from SJM on the left

18-11-2024, 07:49 PM
Just hope Scotland don't try see it out.

Loads gaps to attack and get a 2nd.

We can't really afford to try and see it out. As it stands we need another goal.

18-11-2024, 07:52 PM
Souttar has been great these past 2 games.

18-11-2024, 07:54 PM
Craig Gordon is a freak of nature to still be doing a decent job for us into his 40s. I wish he wasn’t a Jambo.

18-11-2024, 07:55 PM
Craig Gordon is a freak of nature to still be doing a decent job for us into his 40s. I wish he wasn’t a Jambo.

To come back from all of his injury setbacks as well. He’s a proper class act.

18-11-2024, 07:56 PM
McTominay has lost that bit of luck lately

18-11-2024, 08:01 PM
1-1 top corner

18-11-2024, 08:01 PM
1-1 what a goal :(

through SJM's legs

18-11-2024, 08:02 PM
No stopping that.

Off the bar
Ooft that’s a belter of a finish. 1-1

Worldly :rolleyes:

Great hit that

That’s sensational.

Some goal

18-11-2024, 08:03 PM
Been coming the whole game, rode our luck a good few times tonight.

Some goal.

Some goal

18-11-2024, 08:04 PM
Dykes has been nowhere near it tonight.

18-11-2024, 08:04 PM

Both teams have. Been a great game.

18-11-2024, 08:05 PM
Dykes has been nowhere near it tonight.

Done about as well as he can for Scotland but he's nowhere near the quality required to lead the line at this level. That said we don't have any players that are.

18-11-2024, 08:07 PM
Need a couple of changes to freshen us up. Christie for McLean and Conway for Dykes please

christie and shankland coming on

aw man great save polish keeper :(

What a save!! Good header Dykes I think

18-11-2024, 08:08 PM
Thought Dykes was going to make me eat humble pie there. What a save

18-11-2024, 08:09 PM
***** subs

Why is Doak off. Was still putting a shift in.

Would have been keeping Doak on the park.

Might have kept Doak on for an another 10

Not sure about that sub. Doak still looked lively when we got him on the ball.

18-11-2024, 08:10 PM
Christie and Shankland to the rescue with our most creative outlet going off :rolleyes:

got worse

1-1 croatia

var checking looks offside i think

Chorley Hibee
Doak better be absolutely ****ed because that's utter nonsense otherwise.

Poland will be delighted with that sub.

18-11-2024, 08:11 PM
Croatia 1-1 Portugal

18-11-2024, 08:11 PM
Subs :rolleyes: Stevie wants us relegated :faf:

18-11-2024, 08:12 PM
Disallowed for offside

scm70nyd1973

Yup but so have they - great game to watch - could go either way - draw is fair just now but come on Scotland

croatia goal chalked off

18-11-2024, 08:13 PM
Subs :rolleyes: Stevie wants us relegated :faf:
Strange ones

18-11-2024, 08:14 PM
Croatia score. 1-1

Clarke making David Gray like subs...

1-1 croatia this time

pity portugal didn't need to win

18-11-2024, 08:16 PM
Both teams have. Been a great game.

I agree, been a very open attacking game by both teams, surprised it took them so long to score.

Chorley Hibee
18-11-2024, 08:19 PM
Pace of the game starting to catch up with both sides now.

18-11-2024, 08:19 PM
McTominay off, been one of his poorer games tonight.

18-11-2024, 08:21 PM
Safe to say 2nd is gone now. But a winner here would be great!

18-11-2024, 08:21 PM
McTominay off, been one of his poorer games tonight.

He could have had a couple of goals, was unlucky off the post

18-11-2024, 08:22 PM
portugal dude misses a great chance

18-11-2024, 08:25 PM
Robertsons delivery has been shocking.

Christie has been honking since he came on.

Subs pretty much killed off our attack

18-11-2024, 08:26 PM
San Marino winning 3-1 away to Liechtenstein.

Means they will win their group and be in a play off to qualify for the world cup [emoji23]

18-11-2024, 08:27 PM
No out ball

18-11-2024, 08:28 PM
He could have had a couple of goals, was unlucky off the post

Must've missed that, I had a couple of things to do earlier in the game and missed 10mins, what I'd seen he wasn't as influential as he normally is, good to see both teams having a proper go though.

Chorley Hibee
18-11-2024, 08:29 PM

Means they will win their group and be in a play off to qualify for the world cup [emoji23]

Which should tell you all you need to know about how ridiculous this Nations League is.

18-11-2024, 08:30 PM
This is where we differ from some of the better nations. There's talent in the squad, but little depth when injuries/tiredness kick in.

18-11-2024, 08:31 PM
Christie playing narrow has killed off any threat on our right.

that's p@sh christie

Clarke making David Gray like subs...

SFA won’t get rid of Clarke.

18-11-2024, 08:33 PM
"A draw in Warsaw isn't a bad result"

Who is this commentator?

18-11-2024, 08:34 PM
4 mins

18-11-2024, 08:34 PM
And that’s the problem with Clarke. We need at least a goal and he replaces our main threat & brings on slab heid that’s score 1 goal all season. He needs to go.

18-11-2024, 08:35 PM
yassssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hibees1973
This is a real Scottish national team which is competitive at this level.

Organised, strong, robust, has steel and a genuine attacking threat.

Everything our current Hibs team is not.

Yassssss

18-11-2024, 08:36 PM
Never seen that coming, wow!

Yaaaaasssss

What a header! Great goal!!!

Based

What a goal.

Play off it is then.

bullet heider

What a goal, deserved that. We have been brilliant tonight. Proper Scotland performance

OtleyHibs
Deserved that tonight

And that’s the problem with Clarke. We need at least a goal and he replaces our main threat & brings on slab heid that’s score 1 goal all season. He needs to go.
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf: Wtf do I know. Clarke a genius :aok:

Those Portuguese *******s are going to shaft us

18-11-2024, 08:37 PM

Any need for a dig at Hibs for no reason, give a ****ing rest ffs.

18-11-2024, 08:38 PM
FT damn well done our boys

5 mins i think remain in croatia

**** me, glanced up at my screen and saw 2-1 and sighed assuming Poland had scored. I'll be damned.....:greengrin

That was very good

18-11-2024, 08:39 PM
Good win in a tough place to go to, showed good resilience, nice to get a win near the end for a change.

18-11-2024, 08:39 PM
Served Poland right for being on the attack and playing it back to the keeper

Another nod for Souttar been outstanding the last two games

18-11-2024, 08:40 PM
What a great game and win.

Can't believe some on here wanted Clarke out recently. One of the best ever Scotland managers.

18-11-2024, 08:41 PM
if only

Can't believe some on here wanted Clarke out recently. One of the best ever Scotland managers.

Wanted him out for the Euro display mate. Changed my mind.

Soapy has been majestic in the past two games.

Greenio
18-11-2024, 08:42 PM
How does this work again?

Into a playoff match for the top pool for draw for world cup group qualifying is it?

NC1875
That was a very enjoyable game of football. Refreshing.

Served Poland right for being on the attack and playing it back to the keeper

Another nod for Souttar been outstanding the last two games
Souttar has been top, top player in these 2 games, very impressed.

18-11-2024, 08:43 PM
could be Greece or Austria

Tbf any manager overseeing a run of one win in sixteen will be facing calls for the sack.

Good to see we have found our feet again though.

Yep ridiculous

norhfc
That was some finish to a great game, well done Scotland superb

Potential playoff opponents likely to be Greece, Austria, Ukraine or Wales. Oof

18-11-2024, 08:44 PM
Thought he'd killed it with these subs. Never expected that at all, Robertson was dreadful all night as well. But Poland seemed to run out of steam.

18-11-2024, 08:44 PM

Into a playoff match for the top pool for draw for world cup group qualifying is it?

Think we are pot 3 in WC qualifying unless Georgia beat Czechia tomorrow.

Play off is to stay in League A of the Nations League. We'll play a team who finished 2nd in one of the League B groups.

I think. All the pre game permutations were a bit confusing because so many different things could have happened.

18-11-2024, 08:46 PM
FT in Croatia 1-1

Chorley Hibee
18-11-2024, 08:46 PM
Did anyone see the guy in the crowd holding the Hibs clubshop carrier bag? 🤣

Greenio
18-11-2024, 08:47 PM

Play off is to stay in League A of the Nations League. We'll play a team who finished 2nd in one of the League B groups.

I think. All the pre game permutations were a bit confusing because so many different things could have happened.

Thanks

Ive still not wrapped my head around it all tbh!

18-11-2024, 08:47 PM
FT in Croatia 1-1

Just a pity Portugal had already won the group as basically fielded a second string team.

18-11-2024, 08:48 PM
if Czech beat Georgia we will be pot 3

Tbf any manager overseeing a run of one win in sixteen will be facing calls for the sack.

Good to see we have found our feet again though.

I think Clarke has saved his job by changing it up quite a bit. Our approach to the last few games has been much more like we showed at the start of the last qualifying campaign as opposed to the drab, safety first football we seemed to adopt after qualifying had been secured. We got into a rut at the wrong time and couldn't get out of it.

Fair play to Clarke for being brave enough to change things about but the pressure he was under was somewhat justified.

Playoff draw in November- games in March - 2nd leg at Hampden.

18-11-2024, 08:49 PM
FT Luxembourg 2 Northern Ireland 2, away side were two up

Norn Ireland promoted to League B

Tommy75
18-11-2024, 08:51 PM

Aye OK this is also a team that put together a run of 1 win in 16. And remind me of how this steely, organised, strong team did in the summer when it really mattered?

18-11-2024, 08:53 PM
Thought he'd killed it with these subs. Never expected that at all, Robertson was dreadful all night as well. But Poland seemed to run out of steam.

Shankland is never the international standard required, slow and very little intelligence

18-11-2024, 08:55 PM
Did anyone see the guy in the crowd holding the Hibs clubshop carrier bag? 🤣
Yeh I thought it looked like a hibs bag but wasn’t sure

Victor
18-11-2024, 08:58 PM
Shankland is never the international standard required, slow and very little intelligence

You have to wonder why he is there, unless they use his hat to keep the half-time snacks in.

18-11-2024, 08:59 PM
Aye OK this is also a team that put together a run of 1 win in 16. And remind me of how this steely, organised, strong team did in the summer when it really mattered?

Least they had games in the summer, guess you'd rather go back to not qualifying and watching other teams.

One step at a time.

HIBS NUTS
18-11-2024, 09:06 PM
Most enjoyable game I’ve seen all year, at any level.

18-11-2024, 09:07 PM

And it was on YouTube

18-11-2024, 09:10 PM
Honestly love this Scotland side so much. They're always be that frustration from the summer but that's in the past.

We had a tricky group and gave as good as we got in almost every match and at a time when the attitude towards the side from the casual fans was waning

Gordon. Souttar. Doak. 3 stand outs this week. Steve Clarke is the business

Musselbound
18-11-2024, 09:12 PM

It was certainly very entertaining - for a change.

18-11-2024, 09:15 PM
Honestly love this Scotland side so much. They're always be that frustration from the summer but that's in the past.

We had a tricky group and gave as good as we got in almost every match and at a time when the attitude towards the side from the casual fans was waning

Gordon. Souttar. Doak. 3 stand outs this week. Steve Clarke is the business

Frustration, for me, is that we had a must win game tonight and the approach was exactly the way it should be getting the ball and men forward at any opportunity we could. I think back to the Hungary game and just wish we’d shown half the intent to attack that we did tonight when there was an even bigger prize on offer for a win. Tonight was as good as I’ve seen from Scotland going forward, against a proper nation, as I’ve seen for a long time.

Donegal Hibby
18-11-2024, 09:16 PM
From a neutral point of view I thought Scotland played well in what was a end to end game at times played at a high tempo.. latter stages naturally enough I thought Scotland looked to be tiring and in truth didn’t see you getting a winner … your better players for me was Gordon , Robertson , McGinn , McTominay and Doak looks like he’s going to be something special…

On Scotland tiring and the subs ,I’m not sure they improved you much .. certainly far from convinced that Shankland is international class tbh …

I think Clarkes done a good job with Scotland and I certainly wouldn’t be in a rush to lose him ..

Anyhow well done 👍.

18-11-2024, 09:18 PM
think we're unbeaten on Youtube :greengrin

18-11-2024, 10:40 PM

We need a song for you since the festive seasons almost here. You're a mean one Mr Grinch....

18-11-2024, 10:42 PM

Its actually a bit more promising than that as we only need Czechia not to win v Georgia or Slovakia not to beat Estonia to guarantee us Pot 2 WC qualifier slot.

Whilst you'd expect Slovakia to win at home v Estonia, Georgia hammered Czechs 4-1 in the first game so they may be able to help us out tomorrow......

Good tweet here explaining everything

https://x.com/scotlandscoeff1/status/1858629148589387779?t=l-_riHfCHR-XsAdAKCiPWA&s=19

19-11-2024, 05:22 AM
Its actually a bit more promising than that as we only need Czechia not to win v Georgia or Slovakia not to beat Estonia to guarantee us Pot 2 WC qualifier slot.

Whilst you'd expect Slovakia to win at home v Estonia, Georgia hammered Czechs 4-1 in the first game so they may be able to help us out tomorrow......

https://x.com/scotlandscoeff1/status/1858629148589387779?t=l-_riHfCHR-XsAdAKCiPWA&s=19

He's also available on bluesky for those who prefer it 😁

https://bsky.app/profile/scotlandscoeff1.bsky.social/post/3lbax44ti6k24

19-11-2024, 05:49 AM

Think that only applies for the Euros, not the World Cup qualification.

19-11-2024, 06:05 AM

Would expect Czechia and Slovakia to win those games at home. Was he correct in saying Scotland would have been second place if Portugal won 1 0 and Scotland won 2 1. Thought we would have needed another goal

19-11-2024, 06:07 AM

Got the impression Poland were comfortable with a draw which given how they defended most of the night was surprising

19-11-2024, 06:21 AM
Would expect Czechia and Slovakia to win those games at home. Was he correct in saying Scotland would have been second place if Portugal won 1 0 and Scotland won 2 1. Thought we would have needed another goal

All on Georgia now! Pay us back for loads of us supporting them at the Euros. Seems fair.

19-11-2024, 06:52 AM

Yeah as we would’ve been level on goal difference and goals scored so would’ve went down to the 9th tie break which was away wins which we had more of