View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread
Paulie Walnuts
30-08-2024, 02:38 PM
Proves how watered down Euro competitions are.
I mean Larne, Shamrock and them in the group stages. They can't buy a win in Europe these days.
Much as it is lucrative to qualify, let's be honest there is little to no prestige at Euro Conf Group level.
Overblown World & Euro competitions has been the norm in last 20 years. Are they ever going to stop tinkering with them.
Would agree there’s more prestige, main thing for me is the fans could get some great trips.
Stairway 2 7
30-08-2024, 03:01 PM
I think Minsk play their home games in Europe in Hungary with no spectators.
Yep so hearts get 2 away trips
Up-the-slope
30-08-2024, 07:17 PM
would be good to see Hibs Women get a result against Celtic tonight... 0-0 just be fore HT... could be a big result
30-08-2024, 07:27 PM
Would agree there’s more prestige, main thing for me is the fans could get some great trips.
They moan at the moment about the cost of following Hibs, how would they manage to fund trips abroad and extra home games?
30-08-2024, 08:02 PM
Proves how watered down Euro competitions are.
I mean Larne, Shamrock and them in the group stages. They can't buy a win in Europe these days.
Much as it is lucrative to qualify, let's be honest there is little to no prestige at Euro Conf Group level.
Overblown World & Euro competitions has been the norm in last 20 years. Are they ever going to stop tinkering with them.
I was reading that the champions league changes basically mean theyve gone from 96 group stage games to get rid of 16 teams, to 144 group stage games to get rid of just 9 teams. Basically its just months and months of glorified friendlies for the top teams and no jeopardy at all. I might start watching when the knockout stages start. Remember when two top teams playing each other in Europe was a big deal?
30-08-2024, 08:03 PM
I was reading that the champions league changes basically mean theyve gone from 96 group stage games to get rid of 16 teams, to 144 group stage games to get rid of just 9 teams. Basically its just months and months of glorified friendlies for the top teams and no jeopardy at all. I might start watching when the knockout stages start. Remember when two top teams playing each other in Europe was a big deal?
I prefer the new one to the old group stages
Teams played each other too many times
30-08-2024, 08:20 PM
I prefer the new one to the old group stages
Teams played each other too many times
First time i remember a British team winning a european trophy was Aston Villa in 80-81. The route to the trophy? They only had to win 5 games on the bounce. Beat Reykjavik, Dynamo Berlin, Dynamo Kyiv, Anderlecht, Bayern Munich. Changed days.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/that-1980s-sports-blog/2016/may/26/aston-villa-european-cup-relegated-1982
31-08-2024, 12:15 AM
I was reading that the champions league changes basically mean theyve gone from 96 group stage games to get rid of 16 teams, to 144 group stage games to get rid of just 9 teams. Basically its just months and months of glorified friendlies for the top teams and no jeopardy at all. I might start watching when the knockout stages start. Remember when two top teams playing each other in Europe was a big deal?The old system was also a bunch of glorified friendly games.
Don't bother watching it until the quarters at least.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
31-08-2024, 01:00 PM
Arsenal 1-1 Brighton
31-08-2024, 01:07 PM
Arsenal 1-1 Brighton
That Rice second yellow is hilarious. Never seen a yellow like it.
31-08-2024, 01:11 PM
The lad Hodge we were linked with scores for Huddersfield
31-08-2024, 02:12 PM
st johnstone 0 Motherwell 1
Partick Thistle 1 Queen's Park 0
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 02:18 PM
Referee was a clown .
31-08-2024, 02:19 PM
Dunfy 1 Ayr 1
Edin City 0 Peterhead 2
Morton 2 Falkirk 1
Dundee 1 st mirren 1
31-08-2024, 02:31 PM
Dundee 0 St Mirren 1. Scrappy game but Dundee been slightly better.
31-08-2024, 02:34 PM
Dundee equalise.
31-08-2024, 02:34 PM
Dundee 1 v 1 St Mirren
Main
31-08-2024, 02:40 PM
2-1 st Mirren. Lovely strike on the half volley.
31-08-2024, 02:44 PM
Referee was a clown .
Yeah, I think so. Bizarre decisions.
LunasBoots
31-08-2024, 02:46 PM
St Mirren looking decent.
31-08-2024, 02:47 PM
Morton 2 Falkirk 2, dylan tait
31-08-2024, 02:52 PM
Amazingly ridiculous decision. 2nd yellow so, no VAR.
31-08-2024, 02:55 PM
Yeah, I think so. Bizarre decisions.
The poor man’s Jeff Stelling on GSS says it was a stupid booking for kicking the ball away
31-08-2024, 02:56 PM
2-1 st Mirren. Lovely strike on the half volley.
Good. F*** Dundee. The S**t*bags.
31-08-2024, 03:09 PM
The poor man’s Jeff Stelling on GSS says it was a stupid booking for kicking the ball away
He tapped it away to stop a quick free kick (that was never ever a free kick) then the Brighton guy absolutely blootered him. Booking for Rice, nothing for Veltman.
31-08-2024, 03:10 PM
He tapped it away to stop a quick free kick (that was never ever a free kick) then the Brighton guy absolutely blootered him. Booking for Rice, nothing for Veltman.
I think he got booked too, did he not? 🤔
31-08-2024, 03:12 PM
I think he got booked too, did he not? 🤔
I've just checked and it would appear not, even more ridiculous. 😳
31-08-2024, 03:16 PM
2-2 at Dens
31-08-2024, 03:16 PM
2-2 Dundee
Pytheas
31-08-2024, 03:20 PM
Good game at Dens.
Both these teams are absolutely mingin at the back, but very well put together middle to front.
Lyle Cameron with a nice assist to make it 2-2
31-08-2024, 03:21 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;7763051]Morton 2 Falkirk 2, dylan tait[/good to see Tait scoring with regular game time
31-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Leeds 1 Hull City 0
Pompey 0 Sunderland 3, mackems going great this season
Edin City 0 Peterhead 4
31-08-2024, 03:23 PM
St Mirren looking decent.
And that’s without Van Veen
LunasBoots
31-08-2024, 03:27 PM
Yeah, good game, both teams look pretty handy.
31-08-2024, 03:29 PM
Murray just squandered a one on one. Dundee looking the likelier winner
31-08-2024, 03:31 PM
St Johnston equalise, Mgunga-Kimpioka 🤷*♂️
31-08-2024, 03:31 PM
Reuben McAllister on the bench for Cove Rangers today. I know he's still young, but expected him to be starting in Legue One.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 03:32 PM
As a former Southampton season ticket holder, I can't help but notice that that's the third goal Saints have conceded in three games trying to play it out from the back. And that's from a team that's just spent £100m in the transfer window. I guess it's not only Hibs who come unstuck trying to play Pep ball!
31-08-2024, 03:32 PM
Simon Murray hasn’t half turned into a niggly wee *****house. I noticed it last week at the kick offs. He was at it from the off. Shoving and standing on feet before it’s even kicked off. Just the kind off wee **** you want in your team and by definition one you wouldn’t get tired of going right through.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 03:33 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;7763051]Morton 2 Falkirk 2, dylan tait[/good to see Tait scoring with regular game time
I never fully understood why he didn't get more of a chance with us.
31-08-2024, 03:34 PM
Watching on saints tv. They don’t seem to rate their keeper.
31-08-2024, 03:37 PM
Hamilton 2 Airdrie 0, Brace for Oli Shaw
Morton 2 Falkirk 3
31-08-2024, 03:38 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;7763108]
I never fully understood why he didn't get more of a chance with us.
iirc it was maybe more to do with attitude/whatever sommit like that
31-08-2024, 03:39 PM
Hamilton 2 Airdrie 1
Leeds 2 Hull City 0
31-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Hamilton blow it Hamilton 2 Airdrie 2
Oxford 3 Preston 1
Rooney 0 Stoke 1
3-0 Maryhill Magyars
31-08-2024, 03:46 PM
As a former Southampton season ticket holder, I can't help but notice that that's the third goal Saints have conceded in three games trying to play it out from the back. And that's from a team that's just spent £100m in the transfer window. I guess it's not only Hibs who come unstuck trying to play Pep ball!
Apparently that approach is backed up by stats but I still find it hard to believe that some of the play teams try to get away with at the back these days is worthwhile.
I have reservations, like you.
31-08-2024, 03:47 PM
Hamilton blow it Hamilton 2 Airdrie 2
Oxford 3 Preston 1
Rooney 0 Stoke 1
Murray Aitken equalising for Airdrie.
31-08-2024, 03:49 PM
Murray Aitken equalising for Airdrie.
M Johnson in goal, that our dude ?
31-08-2024, 03:50 PM
M Johnson in goal, that our dude ?
Both them
31-08-2024, 03:51 PM
against the run of play Raith 0 Livi 1
31-08-2024, 03:54 PM
Everton 🫣
Paul1642
31-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Bournemouth win 3-2 from being 2-0 down in the 87th. Amazing
31-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Last minute winner from Bournemouth
Some comeback
31-08-2024, 03:56 PM
Everton 🤝 Hibs
Everton [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]
Renfrew_Hibby
31-08-2024, 03:59 PM
Bournemouth win 3-2 from being 2-0 down in the 87th. Amazing
Looks like the last few seasons of terminal decline will finally catch up with Everton this year of all years! Toffees fan I know reckons they had a bad transfer window are doomed already.
Hibs take note
LunasBoots
31-08-2024, 04:00 PM
I suppose only Everton could be 2 up in the 87th minute and lose 3 goals from then 😂
31-08-2024, 04:02 PM
I suppose only Everton could be 2 up in the 87th minute and lose 3 goals from then 😂
🤔
He's here!
31-08-2024, 04:03 PM
Looks like the last few seasons of terminal decline will finally catch up with Everton this year of all years! Toffees fan I know reckons they had a bad transfer window are doomed already.
Hibs take note
They are the English top flight's equivalent of Hibs.
31-08-2024, 04:05 PM
that's a good win for Bournemouth
31-08-2024, 04:06 PM
Motherwell sneaked a win in the 94th minute
31-08-2024, 04:09 PM
Scott Wright scores the Birmingham winner on 90+1 2-1 v Wigan
31-08-2024, 04:44 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
that's a good win for Bournemouth
Need to get some of their coaching expertise up to ER:agree:
31-08-2024, 04:46 PM
7-0 Barca
31-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Atmosphere is almost non existent at that new west ham stadium. Nothing at all like Upton Park.
Edit: bit noisier now!
31-08-2024, 04:49 PM
West Ham 1 v 1 Man City
Dias og
31-08-2024, 05:00 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
31-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Ross County 1-0 Aberdeen
A Doidge type goal :greengrin
31-08-2024, 05:04 PM
Ross Co 1 v 0 Aberdeen
31-08-2024, 05:06 PM
Nisbet done well to keep his shot on target
looks like Mr Var may chalk it off
Goal disallowed
County goal disallowed for marginal offside. Sheep are truly lucky this season so far
31-08-2024, 05:20 PM
Nisbet inbound
31-08-2024, 05:27 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
A goal a game now in the prem.
badabing67
31-08-2024, 05:30 PM
Did Jair get minutes for Motherwell today
Donegal Hibby
I forgot it was on , a couple of questions … what’s Aberdeen like ? And how has Nisbet of Ross County looked so far?
Did Jair get minutes for Motherwell today
Wasn’t in squad
badabing67
31-08-2024, 05:33 PM
Wasn’t in squad
31-08-2024, 05:39 PM
County and Dons knocking 10 bells out of each
31-08-2024, 05:41 PM
Wasn’t in squad
Didn’t take them long to work out he was pish 🤣
31-08-2024, 05:45 PM
I forgot it was on , a couple of questions … what’s Aberdeen like ? And how has Nisbet of Ross County looked so far?
Nisbet has been neat and tidy without doing much in a creative sense
Not done anything to think we’ve missed out - but it’s 45 minutes of football
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Nisbet has been neat and tidy without doing much in a creative sense
Not done anything to think we’ve missed out - but it’s 45 minutes of football
Thanks 👍
31-08-2024, 05:50 PM
County and Dons knocking 10 bells out of each
31-08-2024, 05:50 PM
I’ve been impressed with Josh Nisbet - was involved with the offside goal. He’s small but technically good and glides around the pitch well.
31-08-2024, 05:58 PM
I’ve been impressed with Josh Nisbet - was involved with the offside goal. He’s small but technically good and glides around the pitch well.
What was the reason we never signed him?
Pretty sure he was touted to join us months ago? Too small maybe?
31-08-2024, 05:59 PM
No goal - never over the line from Dons
Also looked offside from freekick.
Officials having a nightmare giving a goal which didn’t go over the line.
31-08-2024, 06:00 PM
What was the reason we never signed him?
Pretty sure he was touted to join us months ago? Too small maybe?
No idea - maybe change of manager ? Monty would have taken him I think.
31-08-2024, 06:05 PM
Scottish officials are absolutely hopeless 😔
If that goal from the sheep wasn't offside a goal would have been given despite it being clear the ball hadn't fully crossed the line
31-08-2024, 06:10 PM
Surely a penalty for Ross County?
Looked a handball
Surely a pen against Aberdeen.
31-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Pen coming up here for County
31-08-2024, 06:13 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
31-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Less of a pen than when Devlin handballed it Vs us last season.
But nice to have a goalie who can make saves....
31-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Some save that.
Mitov is class. Wish we could have signed him.
31-08-2024, 06:21 PM
Mitov is class. Wish we could have signed him.
Everyone and their dug wanted Mitov at Hibs... Well everyone except those employed at Hibs that is.
31-08-2024, 06:27 PM
7 PL hat-tricks for haaland in 68 games, to put it into context Owen 8 in 326 games Kane 8 in 320 games Henry 8 in 258 games.
Some might say it's because of the amount of chances City create a game, still incredible numbers.
Now level with 3 great strikers after a week 😄
Another record, most goals after the first 3 games with 7 goals.
31-08-2024, 06:32 PM
Everyone and their dug wanted Mitov at Hibs... Well everyone except those employed at Hibs that is.
Hey, why sign Mitov when you could loan a keeper from a foreign league who's barely played the last year or so? Don't be so stupid.
31-08-2024, 06:37 PM
Now level with 3 great strikers after a week 😄
Another record, most goals after the first 3 games with 7 goals.
He's fantastic.
31-08-2024, 06:46 PM
Nisbet scores for Aberdeen
badabing67
31-08-2024, 06:47 PM
Ffs
Kevin Nisbet winner - typical Nisbet finish from a cutback
Ross County been pretty decent too - won’t be easy to get points against either team.
Hibs 11 points behind Dons with a game in hand. (3 game swing).
They are such jammy bassas.
You sign a proven quality player though and that's the difference
31-08-2024, 06:48 PM
Nisbet scores for Aberdeen No surprise there. I expect he will score more than either Bowie or Myko. He may be a moan but he knows where the net is and scores even when he isn't playing great. Not sure if that is a good goal for us or not. A draw would probably have been decent but the more teams with very few points at the moment the better
He's here!
I had Hearts as a stick-on for third but Aberdeen are almost out of sight already.
Done **** all since he came on then scores 🙄
Proven quality signings (Nisbet gets winner and goalie from St Johnstone saves pen) and experienced head coach (9 wins in a row, in early to rebuild)
This could and should have been us from when Montgomery was leaving.
31-08-2024, 06:49 PM
Not been impressed by Aberdeen
Clearly have a winning feel and confidence about them
9 out of 9 is some going for the new manager
31-08-2024, 06:50 PM
**** I hate Aberdeen :grr:
31-08-2024, 06:51 PM
Not been impressed by Aberdeen
Clearly have a winning feel and confidence about them
9 out of 9 is some going for the new manager
Aberdeen haven’t been great but…
Keeper who makes saves
Striker who scores goals in the box
Keeping a clean sheet - something we struggle to do
So a typical 3 points without playing well cliche
Stairway 2 7
31-08-2024, 06:52 PM
KN had a tremendous record for us before leaving he'll fly this season. Looks as fit as a butchers dug too
LunasBoots
31-08-2024, 06:53 PM
Done **** all since he came on then scores 🙄
His job and will do it all season securing vital points like he's done elsewhere in Scotland
Bridge hibs
We signed 2 quality forwards, they have both scored, and thats the difference
Keeper who makes saves
Tell you what, if the boy wright plays like that for county most weeks we should be signing him in January
Brilliant game
NC1875
Proven quality signings (Nisbet gets winner and goalie from St Johnstone saves pen) and experienced head coach (9 wins in a row, in early to rebuild)
This could and should have been us from when Montgomery was leaving.
Don’t be silly. David Gray was the right man for the job and in the building the whole time.
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2024, 06:55 PM
Proven quality signings (Nisbet gets winner and goalie from St Johnstone saves pen) and experienced head coach (9 wins in a row, in early)
This could and should have been use from when Montgomery was leaving.
Weren't we fortunate though that the best manager we could have got was already at the club, the best performance manager was already at the club, the best Sporting Director was the pal of our chairman, the best striker was a guy who was here a few years ago, and the best addition to our midfield, on deadline day, was a guy who was thoroughly underwhelming here last season.
No need for investment when you're that bloody fortunate.
31-08-2024, 06:56 PM
We signed 2 quality forwards, they have both scored, and thats the difference
I would say bringing Nisbet back was a no brainer. Our two signings have qualities but doubt they will get a goal tally like Nisbet.
NC1875
31-08-2024, 06:58 PM
Weren't we fortunate though that the best manager we could have got was already at the club, the best performance manager was already at the club, the best Sporting Director was the pal of our chairman, the best striker was a guy who was here a few years ago, and the best addition to our midfield, on deadline day, was a guy who was thoroughly underwhelming here last season.
😂 and people say Hearts are jammy.
31-08-2024, 06:59 PM
****in hell Aberdeen manage 4 out 4 with Nisbet scoring the winner and we start losing our **** all over again. :faf::faf::faf:
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2024, 07:03 PM
****in hell Aberdeen manage 4 out 4 with Nisbet scoring the winner and we start losing our **** all over again. :faf::faf::faf:
Likely to happen when one of your rivals seems to be doing all the things that we should be doing.
Don't worry though, we can worry about it next summer whilst our rivals are in Europe once again.
31-08-2024, 07:04 PM
Likely to happen when one of your rivals seems to be doing all the things that we should be doing.
Don't worry though, we can worry about it next summer whilst our rivals are in Europe once again.
Wasted energy. There’s nothing you or I or even Hibs can do about Aberdeen.
LunasBoots
31-08-2024, 07:09 PM
Well one teams been a good defensive unit, the other team hasn't....
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2024, 07:09 PM
Wasted energy. There’s nothing you or I or even Hibs can do about Aberdeen.
Of course, but it's more what we are doing (or not doing) that is my cause for concern.
1875M
31-08-2024, 07:13 PM
Amazing what happens when you get an experienced manager in and proven players with a bit of quality.
31-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Natural to compare us to a club of similar size who had a similar rebuild to do and seem to have done it a hell of lot better (so far).
31-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Wonder if Nisbet will celebrate against Hibs if he scores…
Cammy
31-08-2024, 07:15 PM
If you mean Nisbet, I agree. Hibs have also signed quality in Myko and Bowie up front who have also scored, just wish we could get our defence working better.
Keepthefaith
31-08-2024, 07:16 PM
Calm down eh? They've been fortunate beating Killie and st mirren at home and have beaten st j and county away narrowly. Let's see how they do in the next few games. It's all very early still, can't believe someone suggested they were out of reach for 3rd already...and suggestion that nisbet will score more than Bowie
My money is on Bowie really setting things alight and we'll do an awful lot better than folk think
31-08-2024, 07:16 PM
He celebrated bamming us up after scoring for us. You better believe he'll celebrate if he scores against us;
https://media1.tenor.com/m/nqxRsmV90NQAAAAd/corncfc-adebayor.gif
Cammy
31-08-2024, 07:20 PM
No surprise there. I expect he will score more than either Bowie or Myko. He may be a moan but he knows where the net is and scores even when he isn't playing great. Not sure if that is a good goal for us or not. A draw would probably have been decent but the more teams with very few points at the moment the better
Not sure about that, I like our forwards and both have scored and looked threatening. Nisbet is also quality hopefully he doesn’t score too many more, but he does position himself well for those kind of cutbacks.
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2024, 07:20 PM
Calm down eh? They've been fortunate beating Killie and st mirren at home and have beaten st j and county away narrowly. Let's see how they do in the next few games. It's all very early still, can't believe someone suggested they were out of reach for 3rd already...and suggestion that nisbet will score more than Bowie
My money is on Bowie really setting things alight and we'll do an awful lot better than folk think
It's amazing how the teams winning, and invariably finishing ahead of us, are always fortunate and we (who mainly lose) are just unfortunate.
I think it might have more to do with them being better than us.
Cammy
31-08-2024, 07:34 PM
:agree: Bowie looks a very good prospect and you can see why we paid the fee we did.
31-08-2024, 07:36 PM
How did Josh Nisbet play?
He's here!
31-08-2024, 07:37 PM
I guess at least it keeps County just a point clear of us down at the other end of the table.
Can someone please tell me exactly what David Marshall's job is at Hibs, he seems to have disappeared. :confused:
31-08-2024, 07:55 PM
No wondering about it. Riordan celebrated against us so why wouldn't Nisbet?
31-08-2024, 07:56 PM
Can someone please tell me exactly what David Marshall's job is at Hibs, he seems to have disappeared. :confused:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT1SvvPRPJrbr_rO8BUWdF2sRqbifNW_ LPImQ&s
31-08-2024, 08:01 PM
No wondering about it. Riordan celebrated against us so why wouldn't Nisbet?
He didn't really.
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2024, 08:04 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT1SvvPRPJrbr_rO8BUWdF2sRqbifNW_ LPImQ&s
Performance Manager.
Stop laughing at the back...
Hibees1973
31-08-2024, 08:10 PM
Nisbet scoring last minute.
It's karma boys.
We are a shambles.
Bridge hibs
31-08-2024, 08:23 PM
It's karma boys.
We are a shambles.
Get tae bed ffs 🤣
31-08-2024, 08:38 PM
It's karma boys.
We are a shambles.
The sheep were bang average and KN did nothing in 70 minutes untill that goal. Their bubble will bust soon.
31-08-2024, 08:54 PM
Malky s understudy
31-08-2024, 09:01 PM
How did Josh Nisbet play?
Never done much at all.
Looked to get it to feet and kept it moving, neat and tidy.
Never caused Aberdeen any dangers.
The centre half Wright was exceptional and the striker Hale looks a handful.
31-08-2024, 09:31 PM
Never done much at all.
Looked to get it to feet and kept it moving, neat and tidy.
Never caused Aberdeen any dangers.
The centre half Wright was exceptional and the striker Hale looks a handful.
The little i watched thought he looked good
31-08-2024, 09:32 PM
It's karma boys.
We are a shambles.
Spoken like a jambo
31-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Amazing what happens when you get an experienced manager in and proven players with a bit of quality.
Genuinely thought they looked nothing special and clearly fortunate with County having goal chopped off and penalty miss. On a good run their luck will change
31-08-2024, 09:36 PM
I had Hearts as a stick-on for third but Aberdeen are almost out of sight already.
:greengrin Out of sight
31-08-2024, 09:40 PM
If you mean Nisbet, I agree. Hibs have also signed quality in Myko and Bowie up front who have also scored, just wish we could get our defence working better.
We didn't have a problem scoring last year and we [probably] won't this year. The big difference appears to be in the recruitment in the goalkeeping position.
13 minutes of extra time in the 2nd half of the Aberdeen game, does anybody know if that was about the correct amount?
31-08-2024, 09:48 PM
13 minutes of extra time in the 2nd half of the Aberdeen game, does anybody know if that was about the correct amount?
9 minutes added injury time but another 3-4 minutes added on top after they scored and got the mini pitch invasion under control.
Keepthefaith
31-08-2024, 09:51 PM
It's amazing how the teams winning, and invariably finishing ahead of us, are always fortunate and we (who mainly lose) are just unfortunate.
I think it might have more to do with them being better than us.
from what I remember, they've not set the world alight with their performances yet - killie had a man sent off in their defeat, and they've played 2 of the favourites for relegation? lets see how it's looking after the first round of 10 games. Aberdeen may turn out to be better than us, but I find it incredible how our fans almost seem to want to write us off so quickly whilst at the same time praising other teams who have had more favourable fixtures to date.
Aberdeen have improved from last season sure, but look at the goals we have given away this season - you can't deny that our results have been impacted by avoidable errors and therefore to some degree we've been unfortunate?
Hibees1973
31-08-2024, 10:01 PM
Spoken like a jambo
I can assure you not a Jambo.
If necessary I can provide proof of my share certificate from 1990.
It's painful watching these clowns in charge for any genuine Hibs supporter.
Brilliant 👏
Stokesy's on fire
01-09-2024, 12:01 AM
If nisbet does well come January what's stopping us taking him back? Millwall want rid and we have first refusal....but to be honest I don't think nisbet will do well for the northern huns
01-09-2024, 06:43 AM
If nisbet does well come January what's stopping us taking him back? Millwall want rid and we have first refusal....but to be honest I don't think nisbet will do well for the northern huns
First refusal means literally nothing.
If he does well for Aberdeen he'll want to stay there, Aberdeen would want to keep him and Millwall would want a few.
Stokesy's on fire
01-09-2024, 07:49 AM
First refusal means literally nothing.
If he does well for Aberdeen he'll want to stay there, Aberdeen would want to keep him and Millwall would want a few.
A buy back clause means something though. And we want him we will get him over them I'm sure he won't like living in city like aberdeen or playing for a club like aberdeen which is well known for being dull.
Trinity Hibee
01-09-2024, 07:57 AM
Everton’s collapse v Bournemouth was quite something.
Haalands finishing is just incredible. 102 games, 97 goals for City
01-09-2024, 07:57 AM
The little i watched
Bit personal, his name’s Josh
01-09-2024, 08:00 AM
A buy back clause means something though. And we want him we will get him over them I'm sure he won't like living in city like aberdeen or playing for a club like aberdeen which is well known for being dull.
We don't have a buy back clause.
We won't. He will go to the place offering the most money. He literally chose to join Aberdeen.
01-09-2024, 08:01 AM
from what I remember, they've not set the world alight with their performances yet - killie had a man sent off in their defeat, and they've played 2 of the favourites for relegation? lets see how it's looking after the first round of 10 games. Aberdeen may turn out to be better than us, but I find it incredible how our fans almost seem to want to write us off so quickly whilst at the same time praising other teams who have had more favourable fixtures to date.
Aberdeen have improved from last season sure, but look at the goals we have given away this season - you can't deny that our results have been impacted by avoidable errors and therefore to some degree we've been unfortunate?
I'm not sure I'd call making avoidable errors 'unfortunate'. It's simply poor play, which football has a tendency to punish.
Unfortunate is getting a dodgy penalty decision or red card against you, or hitting the post or bar 5 times in a game
Stokesy's on fire
01-09-2024, 08:10 AM
We don't have a buy back clause.
We won't. He will go to the place offering the most money. He literally chose to join Aberdeen.
That was his only choice he had no other options or offers. You have to wonder where it all went wrong for him from Hibs to links with celtic then off to try himself in the championship and ending up at a club like Aberdeen. It's a huge collapse for the lad. Only himself to blame.
01-09-2024, 08:14 AM
If fit and head in the right place Nisbet will score goals up here
Winning games becomes a habit even if not playing well
i Haven’t seen any of Thier games But they have points on the board and that will give them confidence
01-09-2024, 08:17 AM
That was his only choice he had no other options or offers. You have to wonder where it all went wrong for him from Hibs to links with celtic then off to try himself in the championship and ending up at a club like Aberdeen. It's a huge collapse for the lad. Only himself to blame.
Harry Cochrane going from 'the next Zidane' to Scottish league one is a huge collapse.
Hibs to Aberdeen isn't. Not really.
He's here!
01-09-2024, 08:20 AM
Aberdeen are a significantly more successful club than Hibs.
01-09-2024, 08:36 AM
Bit personal, his name’s Josh
😄
01-09-2024, 08:37 AM
I think you’re painting a rather false picture there. Don’t think it reflects reality at all. To say the least.
01-09-2024, 08:38 AM
Decent move for him and think he will do well. New environment in the same league he has done well in. Why were we not in for him?
What Chanel are they ugly sisters on ? See sky have Newcastle / spurs at 1:30
01-09-2024, 10:08 AM
Keeper who makes saves
They wont put up with that for long, scraping games by the odd goal is not good enough, glad we dont do that.
01-09-2024, 10:10 AM
OF game on Sky main (401) and Sky football (403).
Newcastle v Spurs 402
OF game on Sky main (401) and Sky football (403).
Newcastle v Spurs 402
01-09-2024, 10:20 AM
He didn't really.
He did actually. Now sure why you are saying he didn't.
01-09-2024, 10:24 AM
He did actually. Now sure why you are saying he didn't.I can only remember him scoring once against us, in the Celtic 2-1 game. He couldn't really not celebrate, as he'd ended up in the front row of the Celtic end and got swamped.
If there was other goals he might well have, can't recall though. Always just thought the Celtic one was an unfortunate footnote in that the records would show he got booked for celebrating against Hibs, when it was anything but at the time.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
01-09-2024, 10:31 AM
I’m hoping that the Huns get a bit of a doing today :greengrin
01-09-2024, 10:33 AM
Aberdeen are unbeaten in last 15 - winning 14 of those games.
They are improving and doing well - Hibs could really do with a decent run of wins / games. Can hardly win 2 in a row in the last 12 months.
01-09-2024, 10:37 AM
Looking at Celtic team and bench today - so many options and players who are way above the rest of the league. Biggest gulf between Celtic and the rest I can remember.
Trinity Hibee
01-09-2024, 10:39 AM
Looking at Celtic team and bench today - so many options and players who are way above the rest of the league. Biggest gulf between Celtic and the rest I can remember.
Agreed. Celtic have outgrown the league now. Since Brendan came in first time (2016) they have really got themselves together domestically and appear to have spent wisely.
McGruber
01-09-2024, 10:40 AM
They are improving and doing well - Hibs could really do with a decent run of wins / games. Can hardly win 2 in a row in the last 12 months.
Wish someone told them it takes 3 or 4 windows to turn it round 😂
01-09-2024, 11:13 AM
McCowan on the bench for Celtic today.
01-09-2024, 11:24 AM
Crazy Celtic haven't signed better than Scales. Porteous is comfortably better than him I'd say.
01-09-2024, 11:27 AM
Bet McCowan is absolutely buzzing
Some jump for him
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
01-09-2024, 11:27 AM
Between than giant pope banner and that cringe as **** intro video, hopefully the laughs don't stop here. Plenty of red mist and cards please.
Paul1642
01-09-2024, 11:30 AM
Celtic will scoosh the league but if things go the way they are it wouldn’t be beyond possible that Aberdeen give Rangers a run for 2nd place.
Paul1642
01-09-2024, 11:31 AM
Between than giant pope banner and that cringe as **** intro video, hopefully the laughs don't stop here. Plenty of red mist and cards please.
I don’t know why I’m bothering to watch this. Couldn’t dislike the two teams more if I tired.
01-09-2024, 11:31 AM
Usually couldn’t give 2 hoots who wins a Glasgow derby, unless it impacts on hibs, which is rare. This time? Rangers 1-0, McCowan OG in the 90th minute please.
Paul1642
01-09-2024, 11:32 AM
Usually couldn’t give 2 hoots who wins a Glasgow derby, unless it impacts on hibs, which is rare. This time? Rangers 1-0, McCowan OG in the 90th minute please.
I could get behind this 😂
Donegal Hibby
01-09-2024, 11:33 AM
Maybe just me though find Celtic singing “ you’ll never walk alone “ pretty sickening.
01-09-2024, 11:34 AM
McCowan on the bench for Celtic today.
Hope its comfy because, a token cameo here and there aside, that's generally where he will stay
Maybe just me though find Celtic singing “ you’ll never walk alone “ pretty sickening.
Me too. Pure cringe.
Celtic will scoosh the league but if things go the way they are it wouldn’t be beyond possible that Aberdeen give Rangers a run for 2nd place.
Don't forget Hearts. They said they would be competing for 2nd place too.
Still don't know why Celtic sing a song by a Liverpool 60's legend that is used by the said Liverpool team, do they not have any ideas of their own, copied our example when setting up their team, used one of our old strips and nicked someone else's anthem.
This game is like who do you dislike the most, both equally repugnant as clubs.
Paul1642
01-09-2024, 11:35 AM
Hope its comfy because, a token cameo here and there aside, that's generally where he will stay
Probably on 4-5 times the wages he was on a few days ago. Suspect he won’t mind.
01-09-2024, 11:36 AM
I know it won’t last but shaky start from sellick
01-09-2024, 11:37 AM
Between than giant pope banner and that cringe as **** intro video, hopefully the laughs don't stop here. Plenty of red mist and cards please.I thought that was Carter Vickers?
[emoji1787]
They're like Scrooge McDuck. Swimming in money.
It's so over used by them as well. They bring it out nearly every home game.
Much prefer how we use Sunshine on Leith.
01-09-2024, 11:38 AM
I know it won’t last but shaky start from sellickVery shaky
Kyogo probably score next 5 mins with first shot on goal
01-09-2024, 11:39 AM
Probably on 4-5 times the wages he was on a few days ago. Suspect he won’t mind.
Probably not and good luck to him. Each to their own and all that but it still seems an awful waste of football talent to me.
And yes,I'm bitter as hell :greengrin
01-09-2024, 11:41 AM
1-0 Celtic
01-09-2024, 11:42 AM
1-0 Celtic
Offside surely?
Very shaky
Kyogo probably score next 5 mins with first shot on goal
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkWell. Lol
Offside surely?
Apparently so :greengrin
Offside surely?
Definitely
Offside surely?
Looks like it
01-09-2024, 11:43 AM
Geez, that was a tight offside call.
01-09-2024, 11:44 AM
1-0 Celtic
What a move though, rapid and lethal. Bawhair offside as well.
01-09-2024, 11:45 AM
I'm not convinced that even is offside.
HendoDelivered
01-09-2024, 11:45 AM
Right call but one of the reasons why I hate VAR. Celebrate a goal for it to be chopped off 🫣
01-09-2024, 11:46 AM
I'm not convinced that even is offside.It's just a guess when it gets to that stage with the angles we have up here
It didn't look offside to me based on the lines.
01-09-2024, 11:46 AM
Geez, that was a tight offside call.
How can they possibly tell from that wonky camera angle that its offside? Sutton said its a factual offside but its all about where the lines are drawn. Like Boyle's last year in the semi, just think its not clear.
01-09-2024, 11:47 AM
It's definitely 1-0 now
01-09-2024, 11:48 AM
Well that one counts. Celtic’s pace and movement off the ball is pretty impressive. More goals to come.
Donegal Hibby
01-09-2024, 11:51 AM
Celtic’s pace and movement is very good though Sevco defence also looks suspect.
01-09-2024, 11:51 AM
I am fairly indifferent to them but to be honest if I had to choose, I would normally favour Celtic. For bitter and childish reasons, I wouldn’t mind if the Huns put one over them today. Can’t see it, however.
01-09-2024, 11:52 AM
Tavernier is absolute mince.
Trinity Hibee
01-09-2024, 11:53 AM
Maeda is a fantastic player. Works so hard and scores his fair share
01-09-2024, 11:54 AM
I hope Sevco get pumped.
01-09-2024, 11:55 AM
That McCann cannae half change back and forth from being a Jumbo then a hun
WillowbraeHibby
01-09-2024, 11:55 AM
I hope Sevco get pumped.
Agreed....
Especially as he might have been running out a Killie in front of a few thousand supporters, he'll be quite happy.
Paulie Walnuts
01-09-2024, 11:57 AM
Another Tavernier disasterclass for that goal :agree:
01-09-2024, 11:59 AM
This commentator annoys me.
Watch him commentate on any other scottish game not featuring either of these teams and count how many times he manages to shoehorn Celtic or Rangers into the conversation.
Even on 21st May 2016 he couldn't help himself. "Anthony Stokes, on loan from Celtic, scores against Rangers"... aye mate, that's the real story here..
01-09-2024, 11:59 AM
That McCann cannae half change back and forth from being a Jumbo then a hun
It’s not much of a leap.
01-09-2024, 12:01 PM
It’s not much of a leap.
😂😂
01-09-2024, 12:01 PM
I hope people see what Celtic are doing to rangers and realise they’re just different class
Of course we could have played better and of course we gifted them goals, but we shouldn’t be doom and gloom and ripping everything uo because we lost twice to them in a week
01-09-2024, 12:02 PM
The Rangers are hanging on by their fingertips just now.
01-09-2024, 12:02 PM
I hope Sevco get pumped.
I'd like them both pumped
DIXIHIBS
01-09-2024, 12:04 PM
I hope people see what Celtic are doing to rangers and realise they’re just different class
Of course we could have played better and of course we gifted them goals, but we shouldn’t be doom and gloom and ripping everything uo because we lost twice to them in a week
I think this Celtic team are capable of an unbeatable season. I know it only takes one bad game from them but they are miles ahead.
01-09-2024, 12:07 PM
I think this Celtic team are capable of an unbeatable season. I know it only takes one bad game from them but they are miles ahead.
It’s possible. When you can spend £11 million on a midfielder and £9.5 million on a striker, you should be dominant in Scotland.
01-09-2024, 12:09 PM
Will be interesting to see how they do in Europe. Looks to me like they're finally bridging the gap there... and that inevitably means they're widening the gap between them and the rest of us. With all that money in the bank, they should be able to compete in Europe and get into the knockout stages
01-09-2024, 12:09 PM
Just so boring, wish both would just f off to some other country.
Failing that always want the hun to get pumped.
01-09-2024, 12:10 PM
That's some goal
2-0
Don’t like either but do love a Sevco hammering
01-09-2024, 12:11 PM
2-0 Kyogo. That was a beauty and was coming.
Paul1642
Very good strike
That's some goal
2-0
Not even a real competition. Celtic absolutely ragdolling them.
Kyogo is some player.
Tully
Celtic are miles ahead, Huns are 2nd rate
Poor goalkeeping
That's some goal
2-0
Placed it from 20 odd yards.
Will be interesting to see how they do in Europe. Looks to me like they're finally bridging the gap there... and that inevitably means they're widening the gap between them and the rest of us. With all that money in the bank, they should be able to compete in Europe and get into the knockout stages
I don’t think they’ve bridged any gap in Europe, miles ahead here no doubt about it but I fully expect them to get egg on their faces in champs league
01-09-2024, 12:12 PM
Game over….a Sevco pumping would now be very pleasing.
01-09-2024, 12:13 PM
The gap in quality between the 2 teams is huge. If Hibs had McCausland and Barron in midfield I’d no think that was a great midfield even for us!
Trinity Hibee
That’s the league over now
bringbackbenny
Not even a real competition. Celtic absolutely ragdolling them.
Kyogo is some player.
He is, great finish. But helped by Souter running away tracking man outside instead of engaging.