View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
22-06-2020, 04:49 PM
St Mirren sign keeper Jack Alnwick. Decent signing for them. If Rocky goes, I’d take Hladky.
Is he actually any good?
I know he was at Newcastle but he seems to have lived off that reputation a bit imo and done actually done much, came to Rangers for a while but again can’t remember him standing out.
For St Mirren I’m sure he will be a decent replacement for Hladky. I actually think them signing Richard Tait is a good move too, they’ll have plenty experience and solid pros in that defence.
TelaStella
22-06-2020, 04:50 PM
St Mirren sign keeper Jack Alnwick. Decent signing for them. If Rocky goes, I’d take Hladky.
St mirren seem to be making all the right noises for a team who only just beat relegation. Alnwick and the boy Tait from Motherwell with talk of them going for Gordon and Gogic prior, could be a promising season for them coming, you feel they’re perhaps due one.
22-06-2020, 04:57 PM
St mirren seem to be making all the right noises for a team who only just beat relegation. Alnwick and the boy Tait from Motherwell with talk of them going for Gordon and Gogic prior, could be a promising season for them coming, you feel they’re perhaps due one.
I actually think in Goodwin they’ve a good promising manager on their hands too. Seems to know what blend is needed and also plays quite good football. Couldn’t stand him as a player mind but I think he comes across well.
Like you say I think they could have a good season if they continue to sign the players they’re linked with.
22-06-2020, 05:20 PM
He's also blowing out his erse after 60 mins every game, one of the unfittest players I've seen for a while, seemingly likes a wee ciggie to himself.
Agree I would get shot if we can. Very inconsistent, runs out of steam and seems better off the bench
22-06-2020, 05:26 PM
Scott Fox signs for Motherwell.
Haven't been impressed with him anytime I have seen him play.
Robbo6-2
22-06-2020, 05:32 PM
If we signed Jordan White, Fox and a left back from Forest Green this place would be in uproar
22-06-2020, 05:44 PM
If we signed Jordan White, Fox and a left back from Forest Green this place would be in uproar
We might cut the club some slack if it was on the back of 2 or 3 seasons of over achieving and still having 2 or 3 highly rated youngsters in the team.
22-06-2020, 06:02 PM
Aye that's a poor signing IMO. Especially if he's to be their new number 1.
Bronson
22-06-2020, 06:11 PM
You have to be kidding Horgan is not one of our best players. He is best starting from the bench imo. He can't play centre mid he drifts in and out of games when he starts and usually looks shattered after 60 mins. I think he is an ok squad player. Definitely not one of our best, after all he is a left sided winger and that is an area we need to improve. Think Mikel Miller offers more than Horgan does.
I genuinely think he is. Very two-footed, can beat a man and is a goal threat. If his final ball was better and he improved the defensive side of his game he’d be top drawer. As i said earlier, if you’re looking for a bit of magic then him, allan, mallan and boyle are the ones you’re looking to.
22-06-2020, 06:12 PM
Presumably this means plukey puss Gordon will be going to the Yams.
22-06-2020, 06:43 PM
St.Johnstone sign full back Shaun Rooney from Inverness on a free
22-06-2020, 07:18 PM
He's gash and a real downgrade on Gillespie who has just left them
He only got it cause Efe left, can't believe we didn't sign him back up in January
Did anyone sign Effe?
22-06-2020, 07:27 PM
Did anyone sign Effe?
Livingston, unless it was just short term
22-06-2020, 07:33 PM
Livingston, unless it was just short term
He signed a 18 month contract with them .
HendoDelivered
22-06-2020, 08:28 PM
Wonder if we are still in for the Stanley winger?
He signed a 18 month contract with them .
👍
22-06-2020, 08:34 PM
Wonder if we are still in for the Stanley winger?
No idea but I know the Accrington fans think highly of him and his YouTube real is impressive 😁
22-06-2020, 08:45 PM
No idea but I know the Accrington fans think highly of him and his YouTube real is impressive 😁
What is his name?
Greenworld
22-06-2020, 08:58 PM
[emoji106]
What is his name?Think its jordan clark
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Greenworld
22-06-2020, 09:00 PM
No idea but I know the Accrington fans think highly of him and his YouTube real is impressive [emoji16]Would be good signing along with nisbet ...if Boyle goes the funds would be there
Keyser Sauzee
22-06-2020, 09:07 PM
Would be good signing along with nisbet ...if Boyle goes the funds would be there
If Boyle goes the funds would be used to fill a hole in our finances due to Covid not shelled out in transfer fees.
22-06-2020, 09:09 PM
If Boyle goes the funds would be used to fill a hole in our finances due to Covid not shelled out in transfer fees.
I think part of it would be invested back into the squad
Keyser Sauzee
22-06-2020, 09:10 PM
I think part of it would be invested back into the squad
Maybe in terms of wages but I highly doubt we’ll spend money on transfer fees.
22-06-2020, 09:11 PM
Maybe in terms of wages but I highly doubt we’ll spend money on transfer fees.
We would for the right player and deal
Greenworld
22-06-2020, 10:08 PM
If Boyle goes the funds would be used to fill a hole in our finances due to Covid not shelled out in transfer fees.We have lost a lot of players i don't think our financials are bad . I expect us to spend on some if required
22-06-2020, 10:13 PM
Ron said income is down 50% and cuts will be made. It’s safe to conclude the playing budget will be lower next season.
I’d assume that means that unless players take cuts, we’re going to need to move players on before we can make significant moves in. This isn’t going to be a normal window and it’s probably best not to think of it as one...
Greenworld
22-06-2020, 10:18 PM
Ron said income is down 50% and cuts will be made. It’s safe to conclude the playing budget will be lower next season.
I’d assume that means that unless players take cuts, we’re going to need to move players on before we can make significant moves in. This isn’t going to be a normal window and it’s probably best not to think of it as one...Unless there is no relegation this season we can go with the young guns
[emoji16][emoji38]
23-06-2020, 12:52 AM
Iv seen St Mirren have also had an offer accepted by Peterborough for Mark Ohara.
Decent player imo that would do a job for us, big athletic lad that is decent defensively and going forward.
chippy
23-06-2020, 11:33 AM
Iv seen St Mirren have also had an offer accepted by Peterborough for Mark Ohara.
Decent player imo that would do a job for us, big athletic lad that is decent defensively and going forward.
Might that mean we’ve got Gogic as Saints offered him a deal apparently?
23-06-2020, 11:36 AM
Aberdeen sign Hayes. Great signing
Leitherhibs
23-06-2020, 11:38 AM
Hopefully!
23-06-2020, 01:07 PM
You could be right on that one.
I was also wondering is the limited cameras at HTC also to do with us having guys like Gogic, Clark and Wright in for a couple of days to see what they’re like?
Was quite well reported Gogic was going to train with us before he signed.
This would limit leaks and put less pressure on it.
Causewayside PR
23-06-2020, 01:11 PM
I think Jack Ross really likes Mallan so I think he will be part of his plans for next season. Plus Scottie has diabetes making him more vulnerable to covid, so I think it would be prudent to keep Mallan.
Re diabetes type 1- whilst that is technically true it really is of next to no significance. I have type 1 diabetic and all things being equal he will be fine. He is no more likely to get it than anyone else- in fact less so that BAME team-mates. And if he gets it the chances of him dying, and or being ill for longer, and or having more severe symptoms is only fractionally higher than the average person in his circumstances. Again, BAMEs would be more vulnerable.
I am not trying to attack you and I note that the media have done a very poor job of bundling type 1 and 2 diabetes. The latter is a totally distinct condition and has a significant vulnerability to covid.
I read a lot of stuff on this forum re diabetes (type 1 in particular obviously) which is just wrong and a lot of the time is conveys it in a way that is more limiting or problematic than is the reality. Perhaps the conflation between type 1 and 2 is in part to blame. It is quite sad to read so many people think I am a lot more restricted and prone to issues than is the reality. Type 1 diabetes is little more than an occasional nuisance IF controlled well, especially for the ages and fitness of a professional footballer.
23-06-2020, 02:28 PM
Hmm, almost 33, not played many games last few years. Would rather have Boyle, hopefully we can keep him.
craigiehibs
23-06-2020, 02:33 PM
Hmm, almost 33, not played many games last few years. Would rather have Boyle, hopefully we can keep him.
question...where is jack ross in all this? havent heard from him in a while?
23-06-2020, 02:37 PM
I'm sure we'll hear from him soon enough. We haven't heard much from any of the other managers either.
TelaStella
23-06-2020, 02:55 PM
Jon McLaughlin to the huns on a 2 year deal. Didn’t see that at all.
23-06-2020, 03:03 PM
Just seen that, Sunderland announced he left about the same time Rangers announced him signing
23-06-2020, 03:06 PM
Hes a good signing for them. I wouldnt be surprised to see him displace McGregor.
23-06-2020, 03:14 PM
Been on Furlough. Has been doing some work for the SFA though on the UEFA A license coaching.
23-06-2020, 03:21 PM
Wonder if we all fancy the St Mirren keeper Hladky now, thought he was a stick on for rangers.
23-06-2020, 03:24 PM
Wonder if we all fancy the St Mirren keeper Hladky now, thought he was a stick on for rangers.
Not with Ofir on the books. I think he'll take a step up from this league anyway tbh.
23-06-2020, 03:46 PM
Could mean McCrorie is available again after we tried for him in January.
HendoDelivered
23-06-2020, 03:56 PM
If we lose boyle I’d like to see us go for Barrie McKay.
23-06-2020, 03:58 PM
Could mean McCrorie is available again after we tried for him in January.
Hope so. Although, surely Dabrowski deserves a chance? They are pretty much same age (if not same). Is Dabrowski not very good?
23-06-2020, 04:06 PM
If we lose by I’d like to see us go for Barrie McKay.
Martin Boyle? Nope. Martin, by. :boo hoo:
Green Manalishi
23-06-2020, 05:23 PM
Aberdeen sign Hayes. Great signing Thats the sort of player i would love to see at ER but unfortuantly we will never match Aberdeen for wages
23-06-2020, 05:27 PM
Thats the sort of player i would love to see at ER but unfortuantly we will never match Aberdeen for wages
By all accounts the wage Aberdeen have given him is a massive cut on his Celtic wage. I think it was a forgone conclusion as soon as he knew Aberdeen wanted him back
23-06-2020, 05:36 PM
If we lose boyle I’d like to see us go for Barrie McKay.
Would be a great signing but think he would be well out of our budget.
Green Manalishi
23-06-2020, 05:39 PM
By all accounts the wage Aberdeen have given him is a massive cut on his Celtic wage. I think it was a forgone conclusion as soon as he knew Aberdeen wanted him back Anyone who signs for another Scottish club after Celtic is going to take a massive wage cut. I was thinking about Funso Ojo and Dylan McGeouch who were both linked with us but ended up at Aberdeen
23-06-2020, 06:40 PM
That's a really good signing for Aberdeen.
Can't see us getting anywhere near them next season.
23-06-2020, 06:45 PM
Any news from East mains?
Thought we mightve heard from Jack Ross or something today
6 weeks from seasons start.... Will there be pre season friendlies etc?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
23-06-2020, 06:53 PM
That's a really good signing for Aberdeen.
Can't see us getting anywhere near them next season.
They have a manager that knows how to grind out enough wins time and time again. But can’t say I am too concerned about the threat of Johnny Hayes tbh.
23-06-2020, 07:08 PM
But can’t say I am too concerned about the threat of Johnny Hayes tbh.
He's an excellent player but I'm with you on that- he's 32 now and been deployed as a back up full-back by Celtic. Not sure I'd be all that chuffed if Hibs had signed him on big wages.
23-06-2020, 07:14 PM
Any news from East mains?
Thought we mightve heard from Jack Ross or something today
6 weeks from seasons start.... Will there be pre season friendlies etc?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
I’m sure someone posted that the media team was working with minimal staff. Also due to COVID safety measures they were staying away from EM for the first 2 days of training. So hopefully something tomorrow night.
23-06-2020, 08:42 PM
They have a manager that knows how to grind out enough wins time and time again. But can’t say I am too concerned about the threat of Johnny Hayes tbh.
Not so much a threat but he’ll provide legs in midfield.
Between him, McGeouch and Ferguson they’ve got a very solid middle that we’ll be nowhere near matching.
23-06-2020, 08:46 PM
Not so much a threat but he’ll provide legs in midfield.
Between him, McGeouch and Ferguson they’ve got a very solid middle that we’ll be nowhere near matching.
That said we probably should have hammered them every time we’ve played them recently.
23-06-2020, 08:50 PM
That said we probably should have hammered them every time we’ve played them recently.
True.
But they’ve signed exactly what they’ve been lacking.
If we do likewise then we might be ok. With limited funds and lots of work needing done to our midfield, I think they might slaughter us in there.
1875STEVE
23-06-2020, 08:55 PM
Can't say im that fussed about Hayes.
Been a good player, getting on a bit now.
23-06-2020, 09:01 PM
By all accounts the wage Aberdeen have given him is a massive cut on his Celtic wage. I think it was a forgone conclusion as soon as he knew Aberdeen wanted him back
No doubt Celtc tempted him to leave the Dons with a big wage offer, didn’t play him that much, now he’s older and gone back to the Dons after his Celtc contract expired.
No great surprise he’s on less money.
stuart-farquhar
23-06-2020, 09:15 PM
Thats the sort of player i would love to see at ER but unfortuantly we will never match Aberdeen for wages
Never. Well we better bow to the financial acumen of AFC. And our neighbours I guess too. Let's be 5th and just suck it up.
EVENTUALLY
23-06-2020, 09:22 PM
Does anyone know if Gogic has been trialing at East Mains?
23-06-2020, 09:40 PM
Hayes has agreed to defer his wages for a full year.
23-06-2020, 09:56 PM
Hayes has agreed to defer his wages for a full year.
But it’s positive headlines about it.
If that was us it would be all about “cash strapped” Hibs.
Greenworld
23-06-2020, 09:58 PM
That would some Transfer LD to Hearts
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5734692/hearts-ann-budge-consider-hibs-leeann-dempster/amp/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter
23-06-2020, 10:23 PM
That would some Transfer LD to Hearts
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5734692/hearts-ann-budge-consider-hibs-leeann-dempster/amp/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter
What an unbelievable story. Sadly could happen, we can talk about loyalty but its a balancing act - not sure if she would want to have the type of fan ownership Hearts are going to have shortly...imagine the board meetings...However, she may not get on with Ron or something else. We just don't know.
Every positive story coming out of Hibs gets a negative story to act as a dampener on the same day. Pathetic to be honest, clear intent to it.
24-06-2020, 08:47 AM
What an unbelievable story. Sadly could happen, we can talk about loyalty but its a balancing act - not sure if she would want to have the type of fan ownership Hearts are going to have shortly...imagine the board meetings...However, she may not get on with Ron or something else. We just don't know.
Every positive story coming out of Hibs gets a negative story to act as a dampener on the same day. Pathetic to be honest, clear intent to it.
Spot on at the end there. Forget about the press. Jokers when it comes to their negative hibs stories. Not sure what we’ve done to piss them all off mind you!
24-06-2020, 08:52 AM
Spot on at the end there. Forget about the press. Jokers when it comes to their negative hibs stories. Not sure what we’ve done to piss them all off mind you!
By not being Hearts.
Clear intent, from who & why?
24-06-2020, 12:38 PM
St Mirren fans reckon O'Harra likely to sign for Motherwell
24-06-2020, 12:55 PM
Gogic appears to be in London.
24-06-2020, 02:07 PM
Gogic appears to be in London.
He's not been in with us this week.
24-06-2020, 02:16 PM
Clear intent, from who & why?
In the space of two weeks (not even), we are "bust" and now our closest rival has our CEO on a shortlist...this news was released around Ron Gordon's don't panic videos. Think it says it all that there is not a single quote in the article. Think the intent is clear - disrupt any positive vibes coming out of Hibs. Who? Well it is either the journalists themselves or their bosses. I'd like them to supply one credible source to these stories about Hibs. As I said, no quotes normally gives away the fact they are just forum surfers masquerading as journalists. I bet Rangers fans would've loved reading the stories about Hibs and buying the rags...intent no 2.
I mean what kind of statement is: "A lot of their top players are unhappy with the way the situation has been handled and the fact it was leaked to the media and then put out via club channels before they were told.". If that is the truth, are we talking about most of our players talking to the media, or are we talking about maybe 1 feeding "journalists" hearsay? Or maybe even no players saying anything and "journalists" just inventing things. That statement would not look out of place on a fans forum page about a rival club - e.g. Kickback saying "Hibs are skint, we don't want Leeann as she can't manage money" or some other rubbish that is typed.
Shameful standard of reporting, especially in the west. Pandering is all they do.
Leitherhibs
24-06-2020, 03:30 PM
Drey Wright to be announced shortly according to twitter.
24-06-2020, 03:39 PM
Im not seeing anything on twitter about it
I'd be underwhelmed at signing him
24-06-2020, 03:41 PM
Wonder where they got that from... 🙄
24-06-2020, 03:41 PM
Im not seeing anything on twitter about it
just search for his name. Its the cat saying it.
24-06-2020, 03:42 PM
Freddie White is the one reporting it. He's never given me duff info before 😁
24-06-2020, 03:49 PM
Good signing imo, better than Horgan so instantly improves the squad. Quick, direct and has a good cross.
Normally plays on the right however, hopefully doesn’t signal the end for Boyle.
24-06-2020, 03:50 PM
St J fan assessment on twitter
I liked him - people harp on about his stats etc but he’s was getting back to his best for us and will be a loss for us. A good signing
Robbo6-2
24-06-2020, 03:51 PM
I would be really happy with Drey Wright, absolutely rapid and very skillful.
I know a few St Johnstone fans from work and they rate him high
supermcginn
24-06-2020, 04:06 PM
I'd be underwhelmed at signing him
I'm not. Cracking player.
24-06-2020, 04:07 PM
Unless they're playing us I don't really see much of St Johnstone. I generally read the match reports, and watch the highlights, of SPL games though...and I don't remember seeing him do anything, or read about him doing anything.
I can't picture him doing anything at all. Just looked him up on YouTube...couldn't find a thing.
What am I missing? What/where/when have other people seen in him?
Seems like a weird signing to me.
24-06-2020, 04:11 PM
Unless they're playing us I don't really see much of St Johnstone. I generally read the match reports, and watch the highlights, of SPL games though...and I don't remember seeing him do anything, or read about him doing anything.
I can't picture him doing anything at all. Just looked him up on YouTube...couldn't find a thing.
Seems like a weird signing to me.
Folk said the same about Boyle.
24-06-2020, 04:14 PM
A couple of Hibs pages in Twitter now saying it’s done and he has had a medical. However I imagine the people running the page are just taking a jump because it’s in here and the cat said it was done.
24-06-2020, 04:16 PM
A couple of Hibs pages in Twitter now saying it’s done and he has had a medical. However I imagine the people running the page are just taking a jump because it’s in here and the cat said it was done.
Yep these pages rumours popped up after it was posted in here so take of that what you will :greengrin
HFC93
24-06-2020, 04:18 PM
My Saints supporting colleague rates him highly.
24-06-2020, 04:33 PM
Folk said the same about Boyle.
Did they? I don't remember that. I think I'd seen nowt of Boyle pre-Hibs cos he was 21, and we'd been playing in a different division from Dundee for the year and a half he'd properly broke into their team. Drey Wright is 25, and has been playing SPL for a couple of years, I don't recall anything about him.
I'll give the guy a chance if he signs obviously. I'm just saying he's never stood out when I've seen St Johnstone, and I can't remember him being spoken about, written about...nothing.
24-06-2020, 04:33 PM
Not a player transfer, but Motherwell give permission for Robinson to talk about the Northern Ireland vacancy.
24-06-2020, 04:35 PM
Not a player transfer, but Motherwell give permission for Robinson to talk about the Northern Ireland vacancy.
Hell be a big loss. What a job he has done there
24-06-2020, 04:36 PM
Tommy Wright interviewed as well
Leitherhibs
24-06-2020, 04:37 PM
Did they? I don't remember that. I think I'd seen nowt of Boyle pre-Hibs cos he was 21, and we'd been playing in a different division from Dundee for the year and a half he'd properly broke into their team. Drey Wright is 25, and has been playing SPL for a couple of years, I don't recall anything about him.
I'll give the guy a chance if he signs obviously. I'm just saying he's never stood out when I've seen St Johnstone, and I can't remember him being spoken about, written about...nothing.
Don’t think he’s played against us this season, some injury issues.
I do recall him giving Stevenson a rough time in the game we won 2-2 at their place last season.
24-06-2020, 04:38 PM
Last season yeah but Hibs and Hearts were both rubbish. Otherwise he done okay. No better than McCall.
Souter96Mac
24-06-2020, 04:40 PM
Would be happy with Wright. Sort of signing that if Aberdeen made, we'd be gutted.
24-06-2020, 04:41 PM
Last season yeah but Hibs and Hearts were both rubbish. Otherwise he done okay. No better than McCall.
He got thm to both cup finals and finished third with them. Amazing job.
24-06-2020, 04:42 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/drey-wright-hibs-medical-former-22247009
Looking likely.
24-06-2020, 04:43 PM
Nah. That’s way off. They got to European places in the league. With a bottom six budget ..two cup finals - he was significantly over achieved there
In the space of two weeks (not even), we are "bust" and now our closest rival has our CEO on a shortlist...this news was released around Ron Gordon's don't panic videos. Think it says it all that there is not a single quote in the article. Think the intent is clear - disrupt any positive vibes coming out of Hibs. Who? Well it is either the journalists themselves or their bosses. I'd like them to supply one credible source to these stories about Hibs. As I said, no quotes normally gives away the fact they are just forum surfers masquerading as journalists. I bet Rangers fans would've loved reading the stories about Hibs and buying the rags...intent no 2.
I mean what kind of statement is: "A lot of their top players are unhappy with the way the situation has been handled and the fact it was leaked to the media and then put out via club channels before they were told.". If that is the truth, are we talking about most of our players talking to the media, or are we talking about maybe 1 feeding "journalists" hearsay? Or maybe even no players saying anything and "journalists" just inventing things. That statement would not look out of place on a fans forum page about a rival club - e.g. Kickback saying "Hibs are skint, we don't want Leeann as she can't manage money" or some other rubbish that is typed.
Shameful standard of reporting, especially in the west. Pandering is all they do.
So you theory is that it's a concerted effort by a number of individuals /organisations to effectively destabilise Hibs. Surely if that is the case Hibs should be challenging these media releases.
24-06-2020, 04:50 PM
He got thm to both cup finals and finished third with them. Amazing job.McCall got to a cup final didn't he? And he finished second. He has done well in the last 12 months. Otherwise nothing special.
Nah. That’s way off. They got to European places in the league. With a bottom six budget ..two cup finals - he was significantly over achieved thereHe done well last season no doubt. Pat Fenlon also lost 2 cup finals. Is it that big an achievement?
Totally agree.
24-06-2020, 04:53 PM
McCall got to a cup final didn't he? And he finished second. He has done well in the last 12 months. Otherwise nothing special.
He done well last season no doubt. Pat Fenlon also lost 2 cup finals. Is it that big an achievement?
He has had about half the budget, Probably even less, than Fenlon. Fenlon never finished 3rd in the league , nor got to two finals in the same season.
Fenlon underachieved, Robinson well over achieved. Not sure why you wouldn’t recognise that
24-06-2020, 04:55 PM
Hearts missed the boat not getting Robinson when they had the chance
24-06-2020, 04:56 PM
He has had about half the budget, Probably even less, than Fenlon. Fenlon never finished 3rd in the league , nor got to two finals in the same season.
Fenlon underachieved, Robinson well over achieved. Not sure why you wouldn’t recognise that
No. I have already said he done very well last season. Thats about the 3rd time I'm saying that.
He was pretty average otherwise. Never been that impressed with them against us either. Only beat us twice in 3 years. We've beat them five times.
24-06-2020, 04:58 PM
So on one hand he's done okay and on the other he's well over achieved?
TelaStella
24-06-2020, 04:59 PM
Record now reporting Wrights had the medical.
Inconsequential
24-06-2020, 04:59 PM
Seems like a weird signing to me. I saw him score a absolute peach on a YouTube video. Should have gone to Specsavers... :wink:
Another signing if he is signing written off before he has kicked a ball for Hibs. Ochone.
24-06-2020, 05:02 PM
I saw him score a absolute peach on a YouTube video. Should have gone to Specsavers... :wink:
Another signing if he is signing written off before he has kicked a ball for Hibs. Ochone.
I’m not writing anyone off, I’m just saying that in the 2 years he’s played in the league, I can’t remember him doing anything at all.
24-06-2020, 05:06 PM
Spoke to a Colchester fan who described him in a similar fashion to how Dundee fans described Boyle all those years ago. 'Very, very quick and works hard, but his end product is questionable. Can see him doing well for you.'
I'm all for more pace in the squad.
Inconsequential
24-06-2020, 05:09 PM
I’m not writing anyone off, I’m just saying that in the 2 years he’s played in the league, I can’t remember him doing anything at all. You said you can't see him doing anything at all. Your opinion which is fine although it's based on not seeing him or you not remembering him doing anything. Weird...:wink:
24-06-2020, 05:09 PM
Sounds like the Prestons views of Horgan I seem to recall
24-06-2020, 05:12 PM
Record now reporting Wrights had the medical.
Pay a tenner for private membership and you would have heard this hours ago ;-)
Lee Marvin
24-06-2020, 05:14 PM
Never heard of him but the St Johnstone fans seem to rate him very highly before he got injured...
https://www.weareperth.co.uk/wapforum/index.php?/topic/26112-drey-wright/#comments
24-06-2020, 05:23 PM
I can't remember Wright doing anything either in our games against St Johnstone or whenever I've watched other St Johnstone games or highlights. Couldn't even tell you if he is left or right footed. He's scored once in 36 appearances for St Johnstone by the looks of it. Sounds like a squad filler of a signing to me. Suppose time will tell though.
24-06-2020, 05:24 PM
St Johnsone fan at work raving about him. I don't know much about him.
24-06-2020, 05:33 PM
You said you can't see him doing anything at all. Your opinion which is fine although it's based on not seeing him or you not remembering him doing anything. Weird...:wink:
Is it weird? That I watch St Johnstone highlights and can’t remember seeing him contribute anything, I don’t think it’s a weird way to form an opinion at all.
24-06-2020, 05:35 PM
Motherwell sign O'Harra on a permanent deal
24-06-2020, 05:38 PM
That's a great signing for Well, he's a class talent.
Potty78
24-06-2020, 05:38 PM
I can't remember Wright doing anything either in our games against St Johnstone or whenever I've watched other St Johnstone games or highlights. Couldn't even tell you if he is left or right footed. He's scored once in 36 appearances for St Johnstone by the looks of it. Sounds like a squad filler of a signing to me. Suppose time will tell though.
Mind people saying the same when Boyle signed! Spoke to a saints fan who likes him but he has apparently lost a bit pace due to being out for 18 months. Time will tell!
Robbo6-2
24-06-2020, 05:41 PM
That's a great signing for Well, he's a class talent.
He couldny get a game fir them last year.
He was the size of house when he came on at easter road looked miles off it i thot
24-06-2020, 05:42 PM
Mind people saying the same when Boyle signed! Spoke to a saints fan who likes him but he has apparently lost a bit pace due to being out for 18 months. Time will tell!
Do you actually remember that? Cos I don’t at all.
Besides, there’s a slight difference. Boyle was 21, Wrights 25. Boyle spent the 18 months previous to joining Hibs playing in a different division to Hibs. Wright has been in our division.
I’m open to giving players a chance, I just find it strange I have no memory of this guy doing anything
24-06-2020, 05:55 PM
Is it weird? That I watch St Johnstone highlights and can’t remember seeing him contribute anything, I don’t think it’s a weird way to form an opinion at all.
Don’t worry, i’ve never even heard of him nevermind seen anything in highlights. 😂 I must be blinkered when watching games and only see Hibs players.
Must be something to him. First of many to follow hopefully.
Pay a tenner for private membership and you would have heard this hours ago ;-)
And what difference would that have made, end result would be the same.
TelaStella
24-06-2020, 06:07 PM
Hopefully good bit of business for them. I always thought of him highly and was disappointed we were never in for him before his Dundee departure. Looking at the midfield issues we’ve had since then and the loss of M&M for us it may have been a good bit of business at the time, who knows. Didn’t seem as impressive last season at Fir Park but there’s still a player in there.
24-06-2020, 06:08 PM
I suspect some of the folk who are trying to downplay the job he has done probably don’t really think that but will argue that point anyway.
He’s also brought through a number of promising youngsters. He’s done a great job and vastly overachieved IMO. I quite liked Motherwell doing well, but if their levels fall away that can only be good for us.
24-06-2020, 06:19 PM
And what difference would that have made, end result would be the same.
True.
24-06-2020, 06:24 PM
https://twitter.com/sjfcnews/status/1211737827848916993?s=21
tonyrougier123
24-06-2020, 06:30 PM
Drey wright medical with hibs,a relation of ian wright as well.had to get his wiki up to have a deek.remember wrighty being at easter road when we played west ham at easter road in a friendly,rio and lampard there too I think.
24-06-2020, 06:34 PM
Drey wright medical with hibs,a relation of ian wright as well.had to get his wiki up to have a deek.remember wrighty being at easter road when we played west ham at easter road in a friendly,rio and lampard there too I think.
The Sun
FootballScottish Premiership
WRIGHTS 'N WRONGS St Johnstone star Drey Wright reveals hilarious story behind his ‘relation’ to Arsenal hero Ian Wright
The Saints winger was the victim of a prank back when he was at school and he's not been allowed to forget about it
By Robert Thomson
23:32, 6 Oct 2018
Comment now
HE doesn’t mind being asked if he’s related to Arsenal legend Ian Wright — even though it was all an internet hoax.
St Johnstone winger Drey Wright has revealed he rushed home from school to ask his dad Jermaine why he hadn’t once mentioned their famous cousin.
Wright has been in good form for Saints
Wright has been in good form for SaintsCredit: Andy Barr - The Sun Glasgow
His old man — who played for Ipswich, Leeds and Southampton — burst out laughing and told him he’d been tricked by a prankster.
To this day, a Wikipedia search of Drey’s family still claims Ian is his cousin — and the Saints attacker still gets quizzed about it.
He said: “Ian Wright isn’t any relation to me at all!
“I remember seeing this on Wikipedia when I was at school and went home to my dad and asked why he’d never mentioned it.
Drey says Ian Wright is no relation
Drey says Ian Wright is no relationCredit: News Group Newspapers Ltd
“He replied that Ian needs to stop telling people he’s part of our family. That was my dad just having a joke, but Ian isn’t a relation.
“I don’t know how this has come about. I don’t mind people asking about it because I believed it myself when I read it on the internet, so I can’t complain!
“My dad played with Bradley Wright-Phillips at Southampton, so I don’t know if someone has made a connection there and got things wrong.
“I guess we will never know how it came about, but people have asked me about it a lot.”
Wright has followed in his father’s footsteps to become a pro footballer and so has his younger brother Diaz, who recently made his debut for Colchester.
With the game in their blood, you would think pulling on boots was Drey’s destiny from a young age.
But the 23-year-old admits nothing could have been further by the truth, as he was only picked up by fluke as a teenager.
He said: “I always wanted to be a footballer and with my dad having played it was something I had the ambition to do.
Wright followed in the footsteps of his father
Wright followed in the footsteps of his fatherCredit: Callan Media - The Sun Glasgow
“But I didn’t get picked up by a professional side until my last year of school.
“There was an element of good fortune to it because by that time I felt it wasn’t going to happen.
“I was getting ready to go to sixth-form college and think about what career I could have.
“But I was playing for my local Sunday League team, Hadleigh United, against Lexiton Saints and a Colchester scout, Adrian Webster, saw me play.
“He was actually there to watch someone in the opposing team, but he didn’t play and I caught his eye.
“He watched a few more games and then invited me in for a six-week trial, which I did and it all followed on from there.
“It had nothing to do with my dad. He had no links to Colchester. It was just Adrian coming to see that one game that did it, so I was quite lucky, I think.
“It is totally the opposite of my brother, who was on trial at Chelsea and Arsenal and turned down going to Arsenal when he was ten.
MOST READ
COMING OUTEx-Hull footballer comes out as gay - the first English player in 30 years
DERBY DAZEHearts owner Budge considers Hibs chief Dempster for same role at Tynecastle
“He just wanted to carry on with his friends, but decided when he was about 15 to go to Colchester.
“He made his debut a few weeks ago and is a good player, so hopefully he will get a chance down there.
“He was always the one we thought would be the player. From a very early age he played in the best teams and was scoring 60 or 70 goals a season.
“But he was always a laid-back character, so when those big clubs were after him he wasn’t interested.
DOUBLE SWOOP Rangers ace Lee Wallace and Hearts star John Souttar pinpointed by Wigan as January transfer targets
“I was never jealous of him going to the trials. I wanted him to do well and couldn’t understand why he never went to Arsenal.
“We were competitive about computer games and stuff, but never football. He always travelled into London to play for his teams, so we didn’t come up against each other.
“It was strange when he came in at Colchester, though, because one day in training I tried to run by him and he smashed me!
“He caught me up and wiped me out, so the lads all took the p*** for a while after that.”
Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers from Scottish football plus fixtures, results and live match commentary
Rio Ferdinand and Paul Scholes celebrate in the studio as Manchester United complete Newcastle comeback
TOPICS
ArsenalSt Johnstone
LeithMike
24-06-2020, 06:35 PM
I quite liked Motherwell doing well, but if their levels fall away that can only be good for us.
I see your logic but it would be better if Motherwell could maintain their level (or improve) and that spur Hibs on to be even better.
Healthy competition is a good thing and something Scottish football needs to embrace rather than choke (much like the old firm has done at the sign of any challenge outside Glasgow).
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
HendoDelivered
24-06-2020, 06:37 PM
St J fan on Twitter: He is full of tricks and skills and likes taking on the full backs. Usually sits wide on the right. Not the quickest but can get back and defend ok when needs to. We had him at right wing back before shutdown and done well.
tonyrougier123
24-06-2020, 06:37 PM
The Sun
FootballScottish Premiership
WRIGHTS 'N WRONGS St Johnstone star Drey Wright reveals hilarious story behind his ‘relation’ to Arsenal hero Ian Wright
The Saints winger was the victim of a prank back when he was at school and he's not been allowed to forget about it
By Robert Thomson
23:32, 6 Oct 2018
Comment now
HE doesn’t mind being asked if he’s related to Arsenal legend Ian Wright — even though it was all an internet hoax.
St Johnstone winger Drey Wright has revealed he rushed home from school to ask his dad Jermaine why he hadn’t once mentioned their famous cousin.
Wright has been in good form for Saints
Wright has been in good form for SaintsCredit: Andy Barr - The Sun Glasgow
His old man — who played for Ipswich, Leeds and Southampton — burst out laughing and told him he’d been tricked by a prankster.
To this day, a Wikipedia search of Drey’s family still claims Ian is his cousin — and the Saints attacker still gets quizzed about it.
He said: “Ian Wright isn’t any relation to me at all!
“I remember seeing this on Wikipedia when I was at school and went home to my dad and asked why he’d never mentioned it.
Drey says Ian Wright is no relation
Drey says Ian Wright is no relationCredit: News Group Newspapers Ltd
“He replied that Ian needs to stop telling people he’s part of our family. That was my dad just having a joke, but Ian isn’t a relation.
“I don’t know how this has come about. I don’t mind people asking about it because I believed it myself when I read it on the internet, so I can’t complain!
“My dad played with Bradley Wright-Phillips at Southampton, so I don’t know if someone has made a connection there and got things wrong.
“I guess we will never know how it came about, but people have asked me about it a lot.”
Wright has followed in his father’s footsteps to become a pro footballer and so has his younger brother Diaz, who recently made his debut for Colchester.
With the game in their blood, you would think pulling on boots was Drey’s destiny from a young age.
But the 23-year-old admits nothing could have been further by the truth, as he was only picked up by fluke as a teenager.
He said: “I always wanted to be a footballer and with my dad having played it was something I had the ambition to do.
Wright followed in the footsteps of his father
Wright followed in the footsteps of his fatherCredit: Callan Media - The Sun Glasgow
“But I didn’t get picked up by a professional side until my last year of school.
“There was an element of good fortune to it because by that time I felt it wasn’t going to happen.
“I was getting ready to go to sixth-form college and think about what career I could have.
“But I was playing for my local Sunday League team, Hadleigh United, against Lexiton Saints and a Colchester scout, Adrian Webster, saw me play.
“He was actually there to watch someone in the opposing team, but he didn’t play and I caught his eye.
“He watched a few more games and then invited me in for a six-week trial, which I did and it all followed on from there.
“It had nothing to do with my dad. He had no links to Colchester. It was just Adrian coming to see that one game that did it, so I was quite lucky, I think.
“It is totally the opposite of my brother, who was on trial at Chelsea and Arsenal and turned down going to Arsenal when he was ten.
MOST READ
COMING OUTEx-Hull footballer comes out as gay - the first English player in 30 years
DERBY DAZEHearts owner Budge considers Hibs chief Dempster for same role at Tynecastle
“He just wanted to carry on with his friends, but decided when he was about 15 to go to Colchester.
“He made his debut a few weeks ago and is a good player, so hopefully he will get a chance down there.
“He was always the one we thought would be the player. From a very early age he played in the best teams and was scoring 60 or 70 goals a season.
“But he was always a laid-back character, so when those big clubs were after him he wasn’t interested.
DOUBLE SWOOP Rangers ace Lee Wallace and Hearts star John Souttar pinpointed by Wigan as January transfer targets
“I was never jealous of him going to the trials. I wanted him to do well and couldn’t understand why he never went to Arsenal.
“We were competitive about computer games and stuff, but never football. He always travelled into London to play for his teams, so we didn’t come up against each other.
“It was strange when he came in at Colchester, though, because one day in training I tried to run by him and he smashed me!
“He caught me up and wiped me out, so the lads all took the p*** for a while after that.”
Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers from Scottish football plus fixtures, results and live match commentary
Rio Ferdinand and Paul Scholes celebrate in the studio as Manchester United complete Newcastle comeback
TOPICS
ArsenalSt Johnstone
😂😂 and now ive fell for it tae.deary me!im never quoting wiki again man
24-06-2020, 06:38 PM
😂😂 and now ive fell for it tae.deary me!im never quoting wiki again man
😂 I hadn't even heard the story before Tbf, easy done
King Cosell
24-06-2020, 06:40 PM
Villa 1-0 down at Newcastle. McGinn likely to leave if they're relegated? Sell-on fee would be handy right now.
Tug Wilson
24-06-2020, 06:54 PM
Villa 1-0 down at Newcastle. McGinn likely to leave if they're relegated? Sell-on fee would be handy right now.
I know, but part of me still wants Villa to do well.
24-06-2020, 06:57 PM
I know, but part of me still wants Villa to do well.
Me too, who can want McGinn to fail, gave everything at Hibs
24-06-2020, 07:00 PM
Grealish would almost certainly go and I’m not sure they’d let both leave.
24-06-2020, 07:07 PM
Think I want Villa to stay up, likely to get more in the future that way and wouldn't really want to have our sell on hampered by any odd covid prices
Inconsequential
24-06-2020, 07:38 PM
Is it weird? That I watch St Johnstone highlights and can’t remember seeing him contribute anything, I don’t think it’s a weird way to form an opinion at all. You said he was a weird signing. So you're judging a player on highlights and match reports. Hmm... The time to judge the player is when he starts his new career with Hibs. What he has or hasn't done in the past doesn't matter. It's how he performs for his new club that is important.
hibeejeebies
24-06-2020, 08:31 PM
Alan O'Brien on a Vespa.
24-06-2020, 08:44 PM
You said he was a weird signing. So you're judging a player on highlights and match reports. Hmm... The time to judge the player is when he starts his new career with Hibs. What he has or hasn't done in the past doesn't matter. It's how he performs for his new club that is important.
Ok...from this day forth I’ll only judge a footballer based on what he’s done at Hibs. That’s not weird at all.
Inconsequential
24-06-2020, 08:54 PM
Ok...from this day forth I’ll only judge a footballer based on what he’s done at Hibs. That’s not weird at all. I'm glad the penny has finally dropped. Prejudice, now that is weird.
24-06-2020, 09:40 PM
Media reporting that Derby are in for Craig Gordon
24-06-2020, 11:04 PM
Alan O'Brien on a Vespa.
Danny Carmichael in a Sinclair C5
25-06-2020, 09:04 AM
Mark Milligan released by Southend.
25-06-2020, 09:07 AM
Mark Milligan released by Southend.
That's odd. I thought he was taking up a player/coach role down there
25-06-2020, 11:03 AM
Wonder what the script is with Drey Wright then. He's apparently had the medical right?
mixu83
25-06-2020, 11:15 AM
Wonder what the script is with Drey Wright then. He's apparently had the medical right?
According to the sun "Hibs players have been asked to take wage cuts ahead of next season but the club are still looking to strengthen as they secured Drey Wright from St Johnstone."
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5739799/hibs-chief-dempster-rumours-club-bust/
25-06-2020, 11:19 AM
According to the sun "Hibs players have been asked to take wage cuts ahead of next season but the club are still looking to strengthen as they secured Drey Wright from St Johnstone."
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5739799/hibs-chief-dempster-rumours-club-bust/
Interesting! Should get an announcement soon then if that's to be believed.
25-06-2020, 11:27 AM
Connor Randall signs for Ross County
Hope he's better now than he was for Hearts, one of the worst players I have seen
25-06-2020, 11:58 AM
Connor Randall signs for Ross County
Hope he's better now than he was for Hearts, one of the worst players I have seen
I hope he’s still *****
25-06-2020, 12:00 PM
That's odd. I thought he was taking up a player/coach role down there
I thought that as well. He is now being reported as being a free agent. He is 34 could be cover for 2 areas of the team if he still has the legs?
25-06-2020, 12:03 PM
I hope he’s still *****
That's actually what I meant to say 😁
There used to be a clip of him making a shop front off things in a Derby at ER. Need to hunt it down
25-06-2020, 12:04 PM
That's actually what I meant to say 😁
There used to be a clip of him making a shop front off things in a Derby at ER. Need to hunt it down
Was that the miskick straight out the park?
He was woeful
HendoDelivered
25-06-2020, 12:05 PM
Gogic next please
25-06-2020, 12:10 PM
Was that the miskick straight out the park?
He was woeful
That's the very one dreadful player
25-06-2020, 12:24 PM
How easy is it to get the media all to allude to rumours of a club going bust?
If I tweet: “Hearts going bust”, will this be the lead story on the back pages tomorrow? It seems to work for us.
HendoDelivered
25-06-2020, 12:29 PM
Seen on Twitter Rotherham in for Mikel Miller. No idea how true that is though.
Greenworld
25-06-2020, 03:03 PM
How easy is it to get the media all to allude to rumours of a club going bust?
If I tweet: “Hearts going bust”, will this be the lead story on the back pages tomorrow? It seems to work for us.Im hearing in the corridors of the outer court chamber that Hearts if the do not get a substantial settlement will indeed call Administration jacamo .
25-06-2020, 06:01 PM
Wonder if he’ll be able to play in the Scottish cup final v Aberdeen
25-06-2020, 06:03 PM
Wonder if he’ll be able to play in the Scottish cup final v Aberdeen
He would be cup tied (presuming he’s played for Celtic in it)
davhibby
25-06-2020, 06:04 PM
Presumably there’s going to have to be a change in the rules, wouldn’t be surprised if things like that are let go if all teams agree to it
25-06-2020, 06:16 PM
He would under the current rules, be interesting to see what the SFA do for the tournament that would have ended last month
25-06-2020, 06:37 PM
Im hearing in the corridors of the outer court chamber that Hearts if the do not get a substantial settlement will indeed call Administration jacamo .
Would administration allow them to give players the choice between reduced wages and having their contract torn up?
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 07:28 PM
I see that Man United have released Dimitri Mitchell who plays left back and had 2 seasons on loan at Hearts. Always thought he was pretty direct and aggresive. Decent prospect for us ?
25-06-2020, 07:32 PM
Im hearing in the corridors of the outer court chamber that Hearts if the do not get a substantial settlement will indeed call Administration jacamo .
As sickbagonians say "pleasing"
Leitherhibs
25-06-2020, 07:35 PM
I see that Man United have released Dimitri Mitchell who plays left back and had 2 seasons on loan at Hearts. Always thought he was pretty direct and aggresive. Decent prospect for us ?
He’s a dreadful footballer IMO.
25-06-2020, 07:40 PM
The young Edinburgh boy the have released looks decent, midfield player and an absolute unit
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Quite a few seasons on Man United books - can't be that bad surely ?
Leitherhibs
25-06-2020, 07:51 PM
Joel Pereira has had quite a few seasons on the books at Man United. Did you see him last season?
Leitherhibs
25-06-2020, 07:51 PM
The young Edinburgh boy the have released looks decent, midfield player and an absolute unit
He was at one point highly rated at MU, like you say big lad and has played some first team football in League 1.
25-06-2020, 08:00 PM
Who’s that
25-06-2020, 08:06 PM
Who’s that
It's Ethan Hamilton Billy
Greenworld
25-06-2020, 08:06 PM
Would administration allow them to give players the choice between reduced wages and having their contract torn up?[emoji1787][emoji1787] nothings changed your right
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 08:07 PM
Joel Pereira has had quite a few seasons on the books at Man United. Did you see him last season?
Not sure comparing a goalie to an oufield player is comparable as only one goalie can play in a game and different skill set. My point is that a club like Man United won't keep players for several years , even if sending out on loan , if they don't see potential. Maybe he is not up to the grade but he caught my eye in games against us hence reason for a reasonable question. Lewis admitted himself recently that he needs to up his game this season to stay at Hibs and a bit of competition will surely help ?
25-06-2020, 08:10 PM
You’d probably be surprised at some of the dross the EPL clubs have in their Academy’s
25-06-2020, 08:23 PM
Any word on us trying to get Docherty back? It would almost certainly need to be another loan since we ain't scraping together a decent fee any time soon.
Rangers may well throw everything they have at stopping 10 in a row, with Douglas Park bankrolling the madness.
New faces will push Docherty further down the pecking order, so we might have a wee chance.
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 08:23 PM
You’d probably be surprised at some of the dross the EPL clubs have in their Academy’s
I assume you include us then you are supportive of Hibs cutting back on our development team ? The problem is clubs sign up kids often less than 10 years of age and ditch them when they don't develop. My take on it is that if you survive the system until early 20's then you have a place in football but the level you achieve is then down to your physical and dare I say , mental ability to cope with the demands. To call them "dross" is very poor and frankly embarrassing
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 08:37 PM
Neil McCann on BBC podcast today was describing a top goal scorer in his under 20's Dundee team who refused to go out on loan . McCann had him training with the first team but he didn't have the skills or ability to use arms etc and hold the ball up against seasoned players. McCann wanted him to play regularly for a lower team but the lad and his dad refused so he ended up leaving the first team training
25-06-2020, 08:42 PM
Hearts fans I know say he looked a good player when he first came but ended up utterly dreadful. Would be a no from me.
25-06-2020, 08:45 PM
Neil McCann on BBC podcast today was describing a top goal scorer in his under 20's Dundee team who refused to go out on loan . McCann had him training with the first team but he didn't have the skills or ability to use arms etc and hold the ball up against seasoned players. McCann wanted him to play regularly for a lower team but the lad and his dad refused so he ended up leaving the first team training
Any idea who the player was?
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 08:48 PM
Hearts fans I know say he looked a good player when he first came but ended up utterly dreadful. Would be a no from me.
Maybe asked to play a different way ? Look at Tevanier at Rangers. Rubbish defending but good going forward . Depends what a manager wants. Tierney also not fantastic defending but got a £25 million move . Frimpong also similar , attacking can be the new defending !
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 08:49 PM
Any idea who the player was?
He refused to name him !
He had a great left foot & I remember him causing us a few problems when we played them. Really has to play as a wingback though as his defensive qualities are not great.
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 09:27 PM
He had a great left foot & I remember him causing us a few problems when we played them. Really has to play as a wingback though as his defensive qualities are not great.
Which I totally agree with ! Getting the balance correct on the left is crucial
25-06-2020, 09:30 PM
It's Ethan Hamilton Billy
Pretty sure I heard he was a Hibs fan (a few years back).
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 09:34 PM
Going back to an earier post by myself , did anybody foresee Andy Robertson making his level after being "dross" at Queens Park or our own Rob Jones not making it until later in life. Add Doidge to that after signing from a lower league side in Forest Green . Players develop at different levels and to keep it on track I think Mitchell would be a good free addition to our squad !
25-06-2020, 09:37 PM
Not sure if he has anything lined up, only seen Internet clips and he looks decent, reckon he will have a pick of a few clubs
25-06-2020, 09:43 PM
Going back to an earier post by myself , did anybody foresee Andy Robertson making his level after being "dross" at Queens Park or our own Rob Jones not making it until later in life. Add Doidge to that after signing from a lower league side in Forest Green . Players develop at different levels and to keep it on track I think Mitchell would be a good free addition to our squad !
Was Andy Robertson dross at Queen’s Park?
I thought he was pretty decent and got himself a move to a Dundee Utd team who were really good at the time?
Logie Green
25-06-2020, 09:47 PM
He’s from a family of Celtic supporters.
25-06-2020, 09:53 PM
He’s from a family of Celtic supporters.
Oh well, at least he isn't a Hearts or Rangers fan I guess...
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 09:57 PM
I thought he was pretty decent and got himself a move to a Dundee Utd team who were really good at the time?
I used him as an example as he was released by Celtic at 15 being too small. He made his debut at 18 for Queens Park. According to a previous poster , he must have been dross in an academy
25-06-2020, 10:02 PM
You mean like the captain of the Arsenal youth team (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Boateng) we had on loan back when Arsenal were still a decent side?
"Dross" is a relative term - he'll still be a far better footballer when he's fifty than most of us ever were in our prime, but his career hasn't gone the way you'd expect from that starting point. Airdrie seems to be his level.
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 10:06 PM
As an aside , I had a trial as a centre forward with Dundee United in 1981 when they were good. I turned down a potential contract as I didnt like how they treated players and didnt believe in myself. I scored a hattrick in the week before they got beat 2- 1 by Rangers in the League Cup Final against Scotlands top defence in a training game In those days , squads were only about 20 players and Richard Gough was just breaking in to the team . I was on the same money after 6 months as a banking trainee.
Funniest bit about it I was playing against a team from Innerleithen a few weeks later and after 10 minutes the centre half, who knew about my trial as it was in the Sunday Mail, said "youre no very good are you ?" I left the pitch after 75 minutes for a rest after scoring 5 goals !
h18eeynick
25-06-2020, 10:09 PM
You mean like the captain of the Arsenal youth team (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Boateng) we had on loan back when Arsenal were still a decent side?
"Dross" is a relative term - he'll still be a far better footballer when he's fifty than most of us ever were in our prime, but his career hasn't gone the way you'd expect from that starting point. Airdrie seems to be his level.
If this site had a like buton like Facebook then I would be liking it !
1875STEVE
26-06-2020, 01:18 AM
Did Boateng play 4 games for us???
I didn't think he'd made an appearance.
Strange signing, a bit like that laddie we signed from Leicester, who's name i've forgotten, defender, played against Celtic, sent off at Parkhead and was never seen again.
Just_Jimmy
26-06-2020, 05:30 AM
Did Boateng play 4 games for us???
I didn't think he'd made an appearance.
Strange signing, a bit like that laddie we signed from Leicester, who's name i've forgotten, defender, played against Celtic, sent off at Parkhead and was never seen again.Darnel Johnson.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
26-06-2020, 06:05 AM
As an aside , I had a trial as a centre forward with Dundee United in 1981 when they were good. I turned down a potential contract as I didnt like how they treated players and didnt believe in myself. I scored a hattrick in the week before they got beat 2- 1 by Rangers in the League Cup Final against Scotlands top defence in a training game In those days , squads were only about 20 players and Richard Gough was just breaking in to the team . I was on the same money after 6 months as a banking trainee.
Funniest bit about it I was playing against a team from Innerleithen a few weeks later and after 10 minutes the centre half, who knew about my trial as it was in the Sunday Mail, said "youre no very good are you ?" I left the pitch after 75 minutes for a rest after scoring 5 goals !
You still got your boots? Sound like you could do a job !!
MacGruber
26-06-2020, 08:02 AM
This is one extensive medical Drey Wright is having!
26-06-2020, 08:05 AM
This is one extensive medical Drey Wright is having!
Possibly waiting until wage cuts are agreed before announcing it?
26-06-2020, 08:12 AM
Given what Dempster has said publicly about us looking to strengthen the squad, I don’t think so.
The players will know what is going on and if they don’t like it they don’t have to agree to cutting anything. Would be surprised if they all agreed to the same thing anyway.
26-06-2020, 08:23 AM
Correct.
26-06-2020, 08:58 AM
Did people actually think captaining the youth team is an achievement? Really shouldn't have expected much from him. The Arsenal youth players who were actually good at the time (Wilshere, Szczesny, Gibbs) were in the first team.
Another thing is, which players from big PL who were actually good got loaned to Scotland? They get sent to the championship or other premier league sides if they've got it. Not a rubbish Hibs team.
Did people actually think captaining the youth team is an achievement? Really shouldn't have expected much from him. The Arsenal youth players who were actually good at the time (Wilshere, Szczesny, Gibbs) were in the first team.
Another thing is, which players from big PL who were actually good got loaned to Scotland? They get sent to the championship or other premier league sides if they've got it. Not a rubbish Hibs team.
Off the top of my head: Kasper Schmeichel and Anthony Stokes. Falkirk did pretty well out of the loan system.
26-06-2020, 09:32 AM
Off the top of my head: Kasper Schmeichel and Anthony Stokes. Falkirk did pretty well out of the loan system.
Add in James Madisson,Paul Dunmet and Jay Rodriguez to that list
26-06-2020, 09:35 AM
Stirling Albion had Jay Rodriguez.
Spionen
26-06-2020, 09:49 AM
Slow and cumbersome, can’t run, really immobile.
Demitri Mitchell can’t defend either. More a winger than a left back I’d say.
JXM73
26-06-2020, 10:02 AM
Read some ***** on here but that takes the biscuit
HFC93
26-06-2020, 10:15 AM
Did ye aye?
26-06-2020, 10:35 AM
Grealish would almost certainly go and I’m not sure they’d let both leave.
Would Grealish not be more likely to stay as he’s a born and bred Villa fan
Keyser Sauzee
26-06-2020, 10:39 AM
Would Grealish not be more likely to stay as he’s a born and bred Villa fan
There’s only so much time u can spend in the 2nd tier with someone like his ability, for the sake of his progression he needs to move if villa go down.
26-06-2020, 10:39 AM
If its a guessing game as to what your name is I'm going for Walter Mitty. I could be wrong though.
26-06-2020, 12:25 PM
If its a guessing game as to what your name is I'm going for Walter Mitty. I could be wrong though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RYxqPsKfEE
Hibiza
26-06-2020, 12:28 PM
Good call.
26-06-2020, 12:35 PM
Ross County make their 3rd signing a Central Defender Alex Lacovitti. Not sure of his pedegree. Good to see clubs are still active in the transfer market
Leitherhibs
26-06-2020, 12:42 PM
For those in any doubt, Hibs will definitely wait until all cuts are agreed before announcing any new signings, that doesn't mean however there isn't business that's not being done. Dempster was cute about in her various statements. Would expect a multiple player unveiling once it's done, just like this..
https://i2-prod.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/article15625091.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_5979907.jpg
26-06-2020, 12:43 PM
For those in any doubt, Hibs will definitely wait until all cuts are agreed before announcing any new signings, that doesn't mean however there isn't business that's not being done. Dempster was cute about in her various statements. Would expect a multiple player unveiling once it's done, just like this..
https://i2-prod.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/article15625091.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_5979907.jpg
Hope it’s better than that one.[emoji51]
26-06-2020, 12:43 PM
Did you have to? :greengrin
If it's just like that then social distancing in the stadium won't be a problem.
Saint Hibee
26-06-2020, 12:50 PM
I had a season ticket throughout Fenlon's reign, but have no recollection of O'Donovan whatsoever. Did he actually play for us, or am I just slowly losing my memory?
Did you have to? :greengrin
Another famous 5....
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200626/4654ce8429fbe573dc65938e0df46591.jpg
Leitherhibs
26-06-2020, 12:54 PM
I had a season ticket throughout Fenlon's reign, but have no recollection of O'Donovan whatsoever. Did he actually play for us, or am I just slowly losing my memory?
He did, and he scored away at Killie I seem to remember, has had a decent career in the A-League but he was truly hopeless for us.
26-06-2020, 12:55 PM
He did. Scored a couple of goals I think.
I wish I had lost my memory from that period of time.
26-06-2020, 01:17 PM
That absolutely has to be our worst transfer window we've had.
26-06-2020, 01:19 PM
Scored against Kilmarnock and IIRC his goal was in the running for goal of the week/season (not sure which though)
26-06-2020, 01:21 PM
Not really. Before that we were headed for relegation. We weren’t brilliant of course after they all arrived but they were better than what we had.
26-06-2020, 01:25 PM
He did, and he scored away at Killie I seem to remember, has had a decent career in the A-League but he was truly hopeless for us.
Also scored away at Ayr in the Cup iirc
HendoDelivered
26-06-2020, 01:38 PM
Class players. Lucky to have them at the time!
26-06-2020, 01:41 PM
I heard we're waiting for the new kit to be unve.. Hold on.
Inconsequential
26-06-2020, 01:52 PM
Another famous 5
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk George McCluskey, Mark Caughey, Willie Irvine (the other Willie Irvine), Stewart Beedie, Billy Kirkwood.
26-06-2020, 02:00 PM
January 2014.
Leitherhibs
26-06-2020, 02:07 PM
January 2014.
This. I would doubt whether any of those signings could be topped for ineptitude, not a single one of them had a positive impact and TB went back to playing the players he inherited but also didn't rate.
Boateng, Haynes and Watmore - The Terrible Trio.
26-06-2020, 02:17 PM
This. I would doubt whether any of those signings could be topped for ineptitude, not a single one of them had a positive impact and TB went back to playing the players he inherited but also didn't rate.
Boateng, Haynes and Watmore - The Terrible Trio.
I think quite a lot of folk would disagree regarding Claros.
26-06-2020, 02:18 PM
What does that have to do with Daniel Boeteng? Yeah, the odd decent player does end up here on loan at a very young age. If they do well they go to the championship or premier League. Stokes was never going to make it at Arsenal and KS didn't really become a brilliant goalie until later in his career. He bounced around on loan for years.
26-06-2020, 02:21 PM
I have to add Whatmore as well. He did nowt wrong except he expected the ref to protect him from opponents who carried out GBH attacks on his person.
26-06-2020, 02:35 PM
Class players. Lucky to have them at the time!
Greatest winter transfer window we’ve had.
Leitherhibs
26-06-2020, 02:40 PM
Wrong window mate.
Watmore did ok in the very few minutes he played, but his time at Hibs was a pretty accurate depiction of his career. Injury-prone, some promise but ultimately failed to deliver.
26-06-2020, 02:56 PM
Tin hat on - that was possibly up there with our best transfer windows.
To take a hopeless shower of garbage that was destined for relegation/ avoid relegation comfortably in the end and also reach a cup final was a quite outstanding achievement with just a few loan signings. All those players played a part and were an improvement on what was already there.
We're all bit scarred by what happened in that cup final but Pat deserves immense credit for turning that team around that season.
Lennon is still very highly regarded but he was given one of the best starting positions any Hibs manager has ever had or could dream of having.
Same goes for Collins.
Worst window was Stokes and Bamba out, Darryl Duffy, Valdas Trakys, Michael Hart and Edwin DeGraaf in.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010–11_Hibernian_F.C._season
Read the players in/ players out section and weep.
Jesus.
26-06-2020, 03:02 PM
Another famous 5....
All signed with the Durie money I think?
26-06-2020, 03:39 PM
To take a hopeless shower of garbage that was destined for relegation/ avoid relegation comfortably in the end and also reach a cup final was a quite outstanding achievement with just a few loan signings. All those players played a part and were an improvement on what was already there.
We're all bit scarred by what happened in that cup final but Pat deserves immense credit for turning that team around that season.
Lennon is still very highly regarded but he was given one of the best starting positions any Hibs manager has ever had or could dream of having.
Same goes for Collins.
Worst window was Stokes and Bamba out, Darryl Duffy, Valdas Trakys, Michael Hart and Edwin DeGraaf in.
Jesus.
**** me. that is absolutely horrific.
graeme smith leaving in that window stops it being the worst one we’ve had though :greengrin
26-06-2020, 03:47 PM
Same goes for Collins.
Jesus.
While I think you make some good points, I always thought it was a fallacy that we improved when Fenlon came in. I’m sure we were 10th (albeit someone did have a game in hand) when he arrived and we finished 11th. Only securing safety in the second or third last game against Dunfermline.
I thought Fenlon did a poor job, but he was dealt a bad hand in coming into a club that was a shambles under Petrie. I don’t blame him for how poor a season it was, but don’t agree that we improved. I felt we were as poor as we had been.
26-06-2020, 03:49 PM
Wrong window mate.
Watmore did ok in the very few minutes he played, but his time at Hibs was a pretty accurate depiction of his career. Injury-prone, some promise but ultimately failed to deliver.
The picture in that post clearly showed Claros - I think the name on his shirt gave it away :wink:
26-06-2020, 03:57 PM
How can someone be truly hopeless if they've scored?
26-06-2020, 04:41 PM
While I think you make some good points, I always thought it was a fallacy that we improved when Fenlon came in. I’m sure we were 10th (albeit someone did have a game in hand) when he arrived and we finished 11th. Only securing safety in the second or third last game against Dunfermline.
I thought Fenlon did a poor job, but he was dealt a bad hand in coming into a club that was a shambles under Petrie. I don’t blame him for how poor a season it was, but don’t agree that we improved. I felt we were as poor as we had been.
Regardless of position we were certainly well on the way down. The other teams around us had games in hand and we had just lost fairly easily at home to Dunfermline who were bottom. We stayed up and showed when we played Dunfermline again that we had turned things around massively. Regardless of the result in the final getting to a cup final was also an achievement.
We were certainly much improved the next again year too. We spent most of our time in the top 3 or 4 positions in the league and hit top at some point. We did time a little slump badly and ended up slipping into the bottom six at the wrong time - two horrendous decisions against us in the games before the split didn't help.
We then won something like 4 or of our last 5 games, beat Hearts and got to another cup final.
We didn't start the next season brilliantly but we were still top 6.
Anyone saying Fenlon was out of his depth or not good enough must be comparing him with some fictional Hibs managers because there's been very few have had us much higher in the league on any sort of consistent basis and with 2 Scottish cup finals.
From where he took over he was far from the failure he was made out to be.
Leitherhibs
26-06-2020, 04:43 PM
The picture in that post clearly showed Claros - I think the name on his shirt gave it away :wink:
We'd clearly moved on to talking about another window. Keep up.
Robbo6-2
26-06-2020, 04:53 PM
Strange that there has been no news on Drey Wright?
Are we waiting to agree wage cuts before announcing new signings maybe
26-06-2020, 04:58 PM
How can someone be truly hopeless if they've scored?
See Amadou Konte.
26-06-2020, 05:05 PM
Regardless of position we were certainly well on the way down. The other teams around us had games in hand and we had just lost fairly easily at home to Dunfermline who were bottom. We stayed up and showed when we played Dunfermline again that we had turned things around massively. Regardless of the result in the final getting to a cup final was also an achievement.
We were certainly much improved the next again year too. We spent most of our time in the top 3 or 4 positions in the league and hit top at some point. We did time a little slump badly and ended up slipping into the bottom six at the wrong time - two horrendous decisions against us in the games before the split didn't help.
We then won something like 4 or of our last 5 games, beat Hearts and got to another cup final.
We didn't start the next season brilliantly but we were still top 6.
Anyone saying Fenlon was out of his depth or not good enough must be comparing him with some fictional Hibs managers because there's been very few have had us much higher in the league on any sort of consistent basis and with 2 Scottish cup finals.
From where he took over he was far from the failure he was made out to be.
Only Williamson and Calderwood have been worse than him this century I think, in terms of league finishes. You could argue Stubbs of course but he managed to get to cup final and actually win it, as opposed to fail to make a game of it, at the same time as helping rebuild the club.
When you’re talking about spending ‘most of our time our time in the top 3 or 4 positions’ when we actually finished 7th and winning a few bottom 6 fixtures as being positives, I think that tells it’s own story.
26-06-2020, 05:23 PM
Only Williamson and Calderwood have been worse than him this century I think, in terms of league finishes. You could argue Stubbs of course but he managed to get to cup final and actually win it, as opposed to fail to make a game of it, at the same time as helping rebuild the club.
When you’re talking about spending ‘most of our time our time in the top 3 or 4 positions’ when we actually finished 7th and winning a few bottom 6 fixtures as being positives, I think that tells it’s own story.
Worse than who ? Fenlon ! Butcher was worse than your first two names . Stubbs is nearer to the top list of our good managers than our crap ones .