View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

19-07-2020, 10:21 AM
They can be either, depends how the clubs negotiate the deal, however % of profit is becoming more popular.

I think people misunderstand what this means though - it isn’t any future profits through the various deals. That would be a separate add on which is much less common.

The profit things is where if you signed a player for £20m and sold him for £50m the profit would be £30m and the percentage is worked out on that £30m rather than a percentage of the fee which would have been £50m.

IrnBru22
19-07-2020, 10:23 AM
I didn’t say it was common place, I said it was becoming more common place as in its prevalence was increasing.

The most prominent example of recent times would be Harry Maguire. Sheff United received a fee from Hull City when Maguire joined Man Utd from Leicester.

Also, I’m sure Celtic got a % of the fee when VVD signed for Liverpool

19-07-2020, 11:19 AM
ACCIES REUNION Hibs midfielder Gogic hopes to talk Rangers ace Docherty into reunion at Easter Road

19-07-2020, 11:24 AM
ACCIES REUNION Hibs midfielder Gogic hopes to talk Rangers ace Docherty into reunion at Easter Road

“I think Greg is an amazing player. Him coming back and me playing with him again would be brilliant.

He’s strong, a powerful runner and I enjoyed playing with him when I came to Hamilton. Him scoring in the play-offs was an amazing memory too.

We’re still in touch and I talk to him often. If he does decide to come back I think that would be great for Hibs."

19-07-2020, 11:31 AM
St mirren deal was from hibs sell on. They don’t own shares in the player. Hibs get the cut from Aston Villa sale then we’re done. Don’t get anymore from future transfers
But we did when Fletcher moved again . Steve Bruce ( who signed McGinn for Villa ) said ,he had never came across such clauses ,that was inserted in the McGinn deal .

HendoDelivered
19-07-2020, 11:46 AM

Cmon Goga!!

19-07-2020, 11:55 AM
Thinking about the McGinn deal and all those clauses - is it likely that we’ll want him to stay for a reasonable amount of time before moving on for big bucks, so we trigger all of the bonuses related to appearances, caps etc.

Presumably we already got one when Villa got promoted?

19-07-2020, 11:58 AM
Cmon Goga!!

Gogic Docherty

Allan

Would be very tasty.

19-07-2020, 12:05 PM
Gogic Docherty

Allan

Would be very tasty.

A defender away from having a very good crack at 3rd

Could be greedy and ask for a GK 2 defenders and another attacking option but that would be rediculous

19-07-2020, 12:30 PM
That’s totally wrong, not sure where you got your information from or whether you just made it up, but it’s bonkers.

Steven Fletcher's transfer was similar to that. We got a sell on fee for every move he made

19-07-2020, 01:21 PM
A defender away from having a very good crack at 3rd

Could be greedy and ask for a GK 2 defenders and another attacking option but that would be rediculous

Would like a LB and if we can get Doherty and another CF I’d be happy!

Think a few will be outgoing.... Flo maybe Boyle if bids come in... (would love Boyle to sign extension)

badabing67
19-07-2020, 01:27 PM
Noticed O’Donnell has followed a couple Hibs players on instagram

Which ones

HendoDelivered
19-07-2020, 01:27 PM
One of the Hibs fan twitter accounts have lifted the Harvie and O’donnell posts from here by the looks of it.

19-07-2020, 01:41 PM
One of the Hibs fan twitter accounts have lifted the Harvie and O’donnell posts from here by the looks of it.

Hibs Central and he makes it out as if it's his info

19-07-2020, 01:42 PM
Which ones

Porteous, Mallan, Allan and Boyle

Souter96Mac
19-07-2020, 01:50 PM
Marciano
Jackson Porteous Hanlon
O'Donnell Gogic Docherty Harvie
Allan
Doidge Nisbet

That would be assuming Boyle would be away, but that would be some first team imo.

19-07-2020, 01:53 PM
Steven Fletcher's transfer was similar to that. We got a sell on fee for every move he made

Every chance he'd take, every move he'd make, Hibs were cashing in 😁

JammyDoidger
19-07-2020, 02:24 PM
Same boy that told me about Daniel harvie, says it's picking up pace.

19-07-2020, 02:39 PM
Same boy that told me about Daniel harvie, says it's picking up pace.

What's picking up pace mate

19-07-2020, 03:45 PM
Murray makes perfect sense as another option up front,will run all day and will be a wee bit more cultured after his jaunt in SA.daft as a brush tae,be good for the dressing room.I hope O'Donnell is another we are looking at.

He was great for a bit but he was caught offside constantly, not good enough if we aspire to be better in the top 3.

19-07-2020, 04:00 PM
He was great for a bit but he was caught offside constantly, not good enough if we aspire to be better in the top 3.

Likeable enough lad who was a cheap option that Lennon took a punt on, started on fire but was eventually found out to be another who wasn't good enough, if he was he wouldn't have been allowed to leave.

19-07-2020, 04:03 PM
Every chance he'd take, every move he'd make, Hibs were cashing in 😁

I see what you did there 👍

Bronson
19-07-2020, 05:41 PM
Hibs Central and he makes it out as if it's his info

He’s a roaster and best ignored

19-07-2020, 05:42 PM
Harvie sounds like he’d be decent going by what I’ve read from Ayr fans, good number of appearances for his age. Mackie surely out the door if we bring another left back in. Doig probably back out on loan too?

19-07-2020, 05:46 PM
Harvie sounds like he’d be decent going by what I’ve read from Ayr fans, good number of appearances for his age. Mackie surely out the door if we bring another left back in. Doig probably back out on loan too?

Mackie won’t make it at Hibs. Pretty sure he would be moved on if the club could find someone to take him.

19-07-2020, 05:53 PM
He’s a roaster and best ignored

Is that the poster that used to be on here BMD?

Tug Wilson
19-07-2020, 06:05 PM
Marciano
Jackson Porteous Hanlon
O'Donnell Gogic Docherty Harvie
Allan
Doidge Nisbet

That would be assuming Boyle would be away, but that would be some first team imo.

I like that team. Know little of Harvie but seems decent.

Would need to move both James and Mackie on to make space.

Still leaves Hallberg, Newell and Mallan as back up/competition in the middle.

Horgan and Wright for additional width when required.

A decent squad that should do well.

19-07-2020, 06:08 PM
So Harvie, Docherty, SOD and striker still to come in and James, Mackie, Kamberi and Hallberg still to exit?

Bronson
19-07-2020, 06:10 PM
Is that the poster that used to be on here BMD?

Think so, seen a few people mention it. Would make a lot of sense

19-07-2020, 06:11 PM
Mackie won’t make it at Hibs. Pretty sure he would be moved on if the club could find someone to take him.

Maybe wait till the laddie recovers from his injury and Ross has a chance to see him before throwing him on the football scrap heap. Amazed we have anyone come through the ranks with the negativity on here at times.

Think so, seen a few people mention it. Would make a lot of sense

Think he’s best ignored tbh. (You probably do that already)

So Harvie, Docherty, SOD and striker still to come in and James, Mackie, Kamberi and Hallberg still to exit?

That would be some window if this all comes to fruition!

King Cosell
19-07-2020, 06:18 PM
We've got 10 games before the window closes. I'd be happy starting the season with what we've got.

19-07-2020, 06:27 PM
Maybe wait till the laddie recovers from his injury and Ross has a chance to see him before throwing him on the football scrap heap. Amazed we have anyone come through the ranks with the negativity on here at times.

Gullan being spoken about positively at the moment. Porteous spoken about positively. At times, possibly even more than his form last year deserves.

Folk are generally positive if they see something to be positive about. Mackie hasn’t shown anything positive in a Hibs shirt for 18 months now.

19-07-2020, 06:28 PM
Gullan being spoken about positively at the moment. Porteous spoken about positively. At times, possibly even more than his form last year deserves.

Folk are generally positive if they see something to be positive about. Mackie hasn’t shown anything positive in a Hibs shirt for 18 months now.

Aye I agree with this

Watched Mackie a few times for Dundee and looked average for them at best

19-07-2020, 06:34 PM
A 4th striker makes sense if we go 2 up. Only takes Nisbet or Doidge to pick up an injury then we have no forward to bring off the bench if Gullan starts in place of the injured player. Hopefully it isnt Simon Murray though.

We have 4 strikers already

19-07-2020, 06:35 PM
We have 4 strikers already

And whats the chances of Kamberi being here like? :rolleyes:

19-07-2020, 06:37 PM

Not really had much chance to do hat though played fairly well early doors last season until his mistake against Rangers then totally ignored by Heckinbottom and punted to Dundee on loan where McPake was very happy with his contribution. He's injured right now but meant to be back training before 1st August.

19-07-2020, 06:51 PM
And whats the chances of Kamberi being here like? :rolleyes:

Depends if anybody wants to pay the going rate for him.
Rangers won't sign him if they are chucking everything at their attempt to stop Celtic.
The market will be flooded with good player deal options so we could end up with Kamberi staying unless we are willing to let him away on the cheap.

Decent player so not the end of the world for us if he has to stay.
In that case he needs to do well to get teams interested in signing him next summer when he is out of contract.

19-07-2020, 06:58 PM
Looking at the Kilmarnock forums and it would appear they didn't rate O'Donell that highly, not sure if it's a bit bitterness because he left them or if they genuinely didn't rate him?

19-07-2020, 07:03 PM

I think JR will know enough about Sean Mackie to know if he is good enough or not but as it stands just now I suspect we need to hold onto him 2 we have cover on that left side of defence midfield area... When we do I suspect he will be off.. He hasn't developed enough I don't think in his 3-4 years he's been here and isn't the quality we need to progress, we need to stop shipping goals down that side and we need a first choice left back in.. As well as right back!!

19-07-2020, 07:15 PM
With Gogic's arrival, Hallberg's shackles are off. Might see a bit more from him. Looked lively, and scored, when he came on against Hearts.

I think Hallberg has a lot to give us still he has a good engine and can get bout the park reads the game well and in many games last year was playing alongside a midfield that was full of sbirkers, hinders and non markers.. Who didn't work hard enough.. I agree that having a holding midfielder still needs another midfielder who can do a bit of everything as well... Allan is and can be lazy too often and Mallan is even less mobile, or to challenge or Mark, Newell and Hallberg and Newell are similar quality I think we need both..

19-07-2020, 07:24 PM
Looking at the Kilmarnock forums and it would appear they didn't rate O'Donell that highly, not sure if it's a bit bitterness because he left them or if they genuinely didn't rate him?

Ive always thought he was poor when I’ve seen him. When he sprints it looks painful

19-07-2020, 07:42 PM
Ive always thought he was poor when I’ve seen him. When he sprints it looks painful

I've not really got an opinion on him as he's never stood out for me.

Clarence
19-07-2020, 08:08 PM

Luton fans apparently didn’t rate him much either. I wonder if he makes up for some dodgy defending with his ability to strike a ball into the bottom right corner from outside the box. Watch his highlights - he practically hits the same spot every time.

Dazzjw1875
19-07-2020, 08:38 PM
Just off the cuff Halberg always looked t have a good engine in him and defensively sound how Bout him as RWB? Might take time to settle but think he could be OK..

Dazzjw1875
19-07-2020, 08:41 PM
for me odonnell is too overated at a time when scotland RBs are non existent. I don't think we should blow money on him I dont think he would enhance what we have in mcginn who is solid without being a flair player. Imo

19-07-2020, 09:06 PM
for me odonnell is too overated at a time when scotland RBs are non existent. I don't think we should blow money on him I dont think he would enhance what we have in mcginn who is solid without being a flair player. Imo

Are you saying he is no better than McGinn?

19-07-2020, 09:16 PM
Just off the cuff Halberg always looked t have a good engine in him and defensively sound how Bout him as RWB? Might take time to settle but think he could be OK..

What a mental suggestion. Let’s not play players in positions they don’t play in

19-07-2020, 09:33 PM
Probably wishful thinking but if we were to add O’Donnell, Harvie & Docherty on top of our summer additions already in Gogic, Wright & Nesbit. Then we look like we are building a very good, strong side for the upcoming season. Quite exciting.

Still think we are a wee bit short in a few areas and need a CB, another DM and winger (if Boyle leaves).

19-07-2020, 09:48 PM
Probably wishful thinking but if we were to add O’Donnell, Harvie & Docherty on top of our summer additions already in Gogic, Wright & Nesbit. Then we look like we are building a very good, strong side for the upcoming season. Quite exciting.

Still think we are a wee bit short in a few areas and need a CB, another DM and winger (if Boyle leaves).

Compared to the rest of the league right now we already look strong. Adding them would be a massive boost.

Inconsequential
19-07-2020, 10:01 PM
What a mental suggestion. Let’s not play players in positions they don’t play in May well be mental but that is something Hibs have repeatedly done over the seasons. Halberg played the holding midfielder role when he came to the club iirc. What is Halberg's position is he an attacking midfielder? Defensive midfielder? A central midfielder or just a midfielder? I've never been sure. Gogic was a centre half originally at Hamilton and most Hibs fans have great hopes for him as our new holding midfielder. Mental As Anything! Live It Up.

King Cosell
19-07-2020, 10:54 PM
Eamonn Brophy on the move? Contract up next summer. They'd struggle without him, but are they in a position to turn down a decent offer? If he does go, let's hope it's this month.

19-07-2020, 11:15 PM
Eamonn Brophy on the move? Contract up next summer. They'd struggle without him, but are they in a position to turn down a decent offer? If he does go, let's hope it's this month.Very decent player too

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

HendoDelivered
20-07-2020, 12:00 AM

We have 4 CB’s. Can’t see anymore coming in unless one leaves mate. But agree on the rest, if we can get Harvie, SOD & Doc in then it good times ahead. Even 2 out of the 3 would be good.

20-07-2020, 07:03 AM
We have 4 CB’s. Can’t see anymore coming in unless one leaves mate. But agree on the rest, if we can get Harvie, SOD & Doc in then it good times ahead. Even 2 out of the 3 would be good.
We need to invest wisely and with an eye on future values. All this talk of SOD surely means SDG would hardly get a game with McGinn probably being the more versatile option for the bench. I hope with the decent rest and pre-season behind him that we are going to get one more good season out of SDG, even if he needs to be managed and say play every two games out of three to allow him good recovery time. McGinn is decent enough for back-up. But he is no spring chicken either. So looking ahead I'd rather we were trying to get in/develop a younger successor who might have a decent sell-on value if they develop well. If we bring in SOD ok we'd hopefully get a a few good years out of him but no sell-on value once he is into his 30s. Would it be an investment which brings value? Maybe so on the pitch but how much more than a fit SDG? And it would be another player on the books who won't turn us a profit. So I'm sat firmly on the fence on this one.

The Count
20-07-2020, 07:18 AM
What about the left hand side of our defence is Harvie the only rumour?

JDT
20-07-2020, 07:28 AM
We need to invest wisely and with an eye on future values. All this talk of SOD surely means SDG would hardly get a game with McGinn probably being the more versatile option for the bench. I hope with the decent rest and pre-season behind him that we are going to get one more good season out of SDG, even if he needs to be managed and say play every two games out of three to allow him good recovery time. McGinn is decent enough for back-up. But he is no spring chicken either. So looking ahead I'd rather we were trying to get in/develop a younger successor who might have a decent sell-on value if they develop well. If we bring in SOD ok we'd hopefully get a a few good years out of him but no sell-on value once he is into his 30s. Would it be an investment which brings value? Maybe so on the pitch but how much more than a fit SDG? And it would be another player on the books who won't turn us a profit. So I'm sat firmly on the fence on this one.

100% in agreement with this. I'd like to see what Doig is all about, as the above suggested with SDG we could do the same with Stevenson but I trust JR to know if he's good enough and if Harvie would be better.

20-07-2020, 07:40 AM
May well be mental but that is something Hibs have repeatedly done over the seasons. Halberg played the holding midfielder role when he came to the club iirc. What is Halberg's position is he an attacking midfielder? Defensive midfielder? A central midfielder or just a midfielder? I've never been sure. Gogic was a centre half originally at Hamilton and most Hibs fans have great hopes for him as our new holding midfielder. Mental As Anything! Live It Up.

I’m lost on your post tbh especially Gogic!

Gogic played DM at Accies for last couple of seasons and if you look at his stats he was up there in the top few in the league regarding his stats.... (tackling passing etc) he’s proved he can play DM and do that job very well!

So what are you saying? It’s mental he’s been brought in to play DM because he used to be a CH?

Matty Jack mastered that role. Wasn’t the greatest CH but was excellent as a DM!

20-07-2020, 07:42 AM
May well be mental but that is something Hibs have repeatedly done over the seasons. Halberg played the holding midfielder role when he came to the club iirc. What is Halberg's position is he an attacking midfielder? Defensive midfielder? A central midfielder or just a midfielder? I've never been sure. Gogic was a centre half originally at Hamilton and most Hibs fans have great hopes for him as our new holding midfielder. Mental As Anything! Live It Up.

Well exactly, as you’ve said hallberg’s position is somewhere in the midfield, he’s not a RWB so let’s not try play him there. Especially when we have both Gray & McGinn capable of playing in that position. The suggestion doesn’t make any sense

20-07-2020, 07:53 AM
Probably nothing we don't already know but Birmingham Mail reporting McGinn's sell on is 10-15%.

Also mentions we're due St Mirren money as well.

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/john-mcginn-transfer-details-revealed-18625595

20-07-2020, 08:06 AM
Probably nothing we don't already know but Birmingham Mail reporting McGinn's sell on is 10-15%.

Also mentions we're due St Mirren money as well.

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/john-mcginn-transfer-details-revealed-18625595

That’s just guesswork.

Clarence
20-07-2020, 08:07 AM

Hallberg came as a box to box style player but was then asked to play the holding role by JR.

20-07-2020, 08:17 AM
That’s just guesswork.

Certainly St Mirren think they still get 33% of any money we get. But we will never find out for sure.

20-07-2020, 08:21 AM
Hallberg came as a box to box style player but was then asked to play the holding role by JR.This is why I'd hope we're not considering getting rid of Hallberg. He's not played a single game of football for us in his preferred position, he's been asked to play a role that in his words he has never played before but he's done his best for the team in that role and not looked too out of place either.

I hope we give him a shot as a box to box midfielder before we write him off.

20-07-2020, 08:47 AM
This is why I'd hope we're not considering getting rid of Hallberg. He's not played a single game of football for us in his preferred position, he's been asked to play a role that in his words he has never played before but he's done his best for the team in that role and not looked too out of place either.

I hope we give him a shot as a box to box midfielder before we write him off.

If Jack Ross felt Hallberg was good enough to play in whatever position he believed is his preferred position, he'd have at least tried him there already, surely?

Where does this "box to box midfielder" thing even come from? Nobody knew anything about Hallberg before he came, so who's decided that's the kind of player he's meant to be? He's certainly not got a history of scoring goals, but other than that, it's hard to know much more about him.

20-07-2020, 08:51 AM
If Jack Ross felt Hallberg was good enough to play in whatever position he believed is his preferred position, he'd have at least tried him there already, surely?

Where does this "box to box midfielder" thing even come from? Nobody knew anything about Hallberg before he came, so who's decided that's the kind of player he's meant to be? He's certainly not got a history of scoring goals, but other than that, it's hard to know much more about him.

The YouTube videos we watched when he sighed, showed him playing wide right

20-07-2020, 09:29 AM
The YouTube videos we watched when he sighed, showed him playing wide right

I saw a YouTube video of Kujabi scoring a screamer of a freekick. Turns out he was more Bobby Davro than Bobby Carlos.

20-07-2020, 10:36 AM
I saw a YouTube video of Kujabi scoring a screamer of a freekick. Turns out he was more Bobby Davro than Bobby Carlos.

You could see the quality of Hallberg when he scored against celtic. should be further up the pitch, not holding.

Keyser Sauzee
20-07-2020, 10:53 AM
You could see the quality of Hallberg when he scored against celtic. should be further up the pitch, not holding.

What game did he score against them?

20-07-2020, 10:55 AM

Cup semi i seem to remember

Keyser Sauzee
20-07-2020, 10:56 AM
Cup semi i seem to remember

Yeah I just looked that up

EHZERO7
20-07-2020, 10:56 AM
League cup semi final at Hampden

20-07-2020, 10:57 AM
If the O’Donnell rumour is true. Is it only me that thinks McGinn could be used more as a utility player, he stated he is in that mould. I could see him, centre half, even emergency cover for left back, even cover for Gogic in the holding role.

20-07-2020, 11:02 AM

Semi final at Hampden.

20-07-2020, 11:05 AM
If the O’Donnell rumour is true. Is it only me that thinks McGinn could be used more as a utility player, he stated he is in that mould. I could see him, centre half, even emergency cover for left back, even cover for Gogic in the holding role.

I mean, everyone is a utility player if we had that many injuries. Doubt it will be required, though.

20-07-2020, 11:13 AM

Have you seen how many games we have from October to end of the year. With the Betfred cup games now squeezed in, we’ll need every fit player we have

20-07-2020, 11:16 AM
I'm not fussed about SOD tbh. He's not dynamic enough to do much offensively and also cover us defensively. We really need a properly fit David Gray! Or better.

20-07-2020, 11:18 AM

Where does this "box to box midfielder" thing even come from? Nobody knew anything about Hallberg before he came, so who's decided that's the kind of player he's meant to be? He's certainly not got a history of scoring goals, but other than that, it's hard to know much more about him.It's easy to say that now that we have Gogic, but last season we had no one to play DM and allow Hallberg to play further up. Wasn't really a matter of choice it was necessity.

I agree to an extent though that you'd think Ross would have at least tried something out by now if he thought it would be successful. I'd just like to see him given a run out in a more standard midfield role.

I mean look at the amount of time Mallan got to try and make something work as a centre mid before Ross came in, I feel like Hallberg has shown enough to warrant a shot in there other than as a DM.

20-07-2020, 11:22 AM
Have you seen how many games we have from October to end of the year. With the Betfred cup games now squeezed in, we’ll need every fit player we have

I accept we've had bad luck with injuries to certain players and certain departments but we've also been blessed with good luck in others. A proper striker crisis could have seen us screwed (remember the time Yogi had to chuck David Stephens on up front for Nish when he was having a nightmare up there on his own?) I also remember Fenlon's relegation team being done for when Harris and Cairney, our only 2 wide players, got injured meaning the terrible strikers got very few chances to miss.

We only realistically had Kamberi and McLaren for half a season and we were outstanding. Since then we've had very little depth up front but got away with it, even accepting that we had to endure an unfit and clearly out of sorts Kamberi playing for a while.

You mention the number of games. I realise money is going to be tight but we're going to need to have a squad where we can use every last player, and players like McGinn who can put in a shift in several positions/ formations, will be invaluable.

20-07-2020, 11:24 AM
I accept we've had bad luck with injuries to certain players and certain departments but we've also been blessed with good luck in others. A proper striker crisis could have seen us screwed (remember the time Yogi had to chuck David Stephens on up front for Nish when he was having a nightmare up there on his own?) I also remember Fenlon's relegation team being done for when Harris and Cairney, our only 2 wide players, got injured meaning the terrible strikers got very few chances to miss.

We only realistically had Kamberi and McLaren for half a season and we were outstanding. Since then we've had very little depth up front but got away with it, even accepting that we had to endure an unfit and clearly out of sorts Kamberi playing for a while.

You mention the number of games. I realise money is going to be tight but we're going to need to have a squad where we can use every last player, and players like McGinn who can put in a shift in several positions/ formations, will be invaluable.

That’s what I’m saying😄

20-07-2020, 12:10 PM

Yogi still gets laughed at for the goalkeeper school.

What people tend to forget is by the end of the season we were down to the last one being fit.

20-07-2020, 12:15 PM

For the record, it was Butcher that got us relegated.

20-07-2020, 12:17 PM
It's easy to say that now that we have Gogic, but last season we had no one to play DM and allow Hallberg to play further up. Wasn't really a matter of choice it was necessity.

I agree to an extent though that you'd think Ross would have at least tried something out by now if he thought it would be successful. I'd just like to see him given a run out in a more standard midfield role.

I mean look at the amount of time Mallan got to try and make something work as a centre mid before Ross came in, I feel like Hallberg has shown enough to warrant a shot in there other than as a DM.

If the option is Hallberg playing further forward, or Mallan playing there...I'm picking Mallan every single time.

20-07-2020, 01:04 PM
If the option is Hallberg playing further forward, or Mallan playing there...I'm picking Mallan every single time.By further forward I mean moving from DM forward to a more all round CM/box to box, not an AM like Allan.

If its between Hallberg and Mallan for a CM/box to box position then there's is literally no question Hallberg is better suited than Mallan to that role.

20-07-2020, 01:08 PM
If the option is Hallberg playing further forward, or Mallan playing there...I'm picking Mallan every single time.

100% agree.

It drives me crazy the lack of respect Mallan gets on here at times. He was our POTY and top goal scorer in his first season despite being played in a new deeper position. This season again he was deeper or wide right under Heckingbottom, when Ross came in and he was playing either from the start or the bench his performances picked up a lot.

Out-with the old firm there are not many players who have the technical ability of Mallan, if used correctly he’s a massive asset imo.

I also just can’t see Hallberg playing an attacking role, not seen anything so far that shows that he’s got it in him to either take a man or or beat a man in a tight position. I actually think he suits the deep lying playmaker role but needs to stamp his authority on the game a bit more, Gogic would massively help him do that.

20-07-2020, 01:37 PM
100% agree.

It drives me crazy the lack of respect Mallan gets on here at times. He was our POTY and top goal scorer in his first season despite being played in a new deeper position. This season again he was deeper or wide right under Heckingbottom, when Ross came in and he was playing either from the start or the bench his performances picked up a lot.

Out-with the old firm there are not many players who have the technical ability of Mallan, if used correctly he’s a massive asset imo.

I also just can’t see Hallberg playing an attacking role, not seen anything so far that shows that he’s got it in him to either take a man or or beat a man in a tight position. I actually think he suits the deep lying playmaker role but needs to stamp his authority on the game a bit more, Gogic would massively help him do that.

Yeah, I agree that if used correctly Mallan has the potential to be one of the most dangerous players in the league.

The problem we have is that we have someone better for that position, the 2 of them can't play in the same team and if the truth be told, Mallan is absolutely hopeless whenever we try to shoehorn him into one of the positions that he's clearly unsuited to. He's been played in that position so often that many fans have formed their opinions of him based on his performances there.

He's an injury to Scott Allan away from having an opportunity to finally establish himself in his best position in a decent team, and FWIW I think he'd really thrive with some of the players the player playing in that position will have around them next season.

20-07-2020, 01:41 PM
For the record, it was Butcher that got us relegated.

In terms of putting the squad together it was Fenlon's squad, Butcher worked with the squad he inherited, give or take 3 loan signings.

And in the context of the "leaving ourselves thin in certain departments" conversation, it was under Fenlon that all our wide players were out injured. It was a minor miracle he managed to get the results he did whilst playing the likes of Liam Craig there.

Harris and Cairney were both back under Butcher, but he saw to it that they were shadows of their former selves.

20-07-2020, 01:51 PM
Yeah, I agree that if used correctly Mallan has the potential to be one of the most dangerous players in the league.

The problem we have is that we have someone better for that position, the 2 of them can't play in the same team and if the truth be told, Mallan is absolutely hopeless whenever we try to shoehorn him into one of the positions that he's clearly unsuited to. He's been played in that position so often that many fans have formed their opinions of him based on his performances there.

He's an injury to Scott Allan away from having an opportunity to finally establish himself in his best position in a decent team, and FWIW I think he'd really thrive with some of the players the player playing in that position will have around them next season.

Think with Allan it also needs to be remembered that, more often than not, he doesn’t complete 90 minutes. Mallan could be an important player to have around, as long as he’s used where he can actually be effective.

JammyDoidger
20-07-2020, 02:03 PM
I'm not sure we couldn't play allan and Mallan together. For me Mallan could play a Kris commons role in the hole. Scott allan is better when he can see what's in front of him. So either side of a 3 man midfield or a diamond for me is where allan should play. We have gogic in there now to do the dirty work, we never had anyone in there before when allan and Mallan played together.

20-07-2020, 02:44 PM
A midfield 3 of Mallan, gogic, Newell could be a nice balance.

Hopefully Gogic can back up all the hype and get stuck in first whistle on August 1st and not let teams walk through us, from what I seen joe Newell doesn't mind getting stuck into a tackle which could free up mallan and give him more freedom, as the start of last season he looked like he was scared to tackle.

20-07-2020, 05:09 PM
A midfield 3 of Mallan, gogic, Newell could be a nice balance.

Hopefully Gogic can back up all the hype and get stuck in first whistle on August 1st and not let teams walk through us, from what I seen joe Newell doesn't mind getting stuck into a tackle which could free up mallan and give him more freedom, as the start of last season he looked like he was scared to tackle.

Don’t let the naysayers say otherwise - Mallan was fantastic in his first season with us - double figures on goals and assists, fans player of the year, players player of the year - if we can get him back to close to that form then it’s as good as a marquee signing.

20-07-2020, 05:17 PM
Don’t let the naysayers say otherwise - Mallan was fantastic in his first season with us - double figures on goals and assists, fans player of the year, players player of the year - if we can get him back to close to that form then it’s as good as a marquee signing.

Agreed. I really rate him.

HendoDelivered
20-07-2020, 05:19 PM

Spot on. Mallan is majorly underrated.

20-07-2020, 05:26 PM

No doubt, if we had every player playing at their very best every week we'd be sorted. Reality is, he has been poor to average for the best part of 18 months now. Big season for him. Must do better.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 05:36 PM
Spot on. Mallan is majorly underrated.I would say the complete opposite and think that mallan is way over rated down to ability to hit a baw and the fact he scored a few goals at the start of the season before last. He's never good enough to hold down the no 10 role even at our level and never will be IMO.
People are still hanging on to a purple patch he hit when he first arrived and if Efe ambrose had stayed for the season then he was by far our player of the year in that season. Which was a case of who hasn't been brutal instead of who has been superb for us in the season 18/19

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

The Count
20-07-2020, 05:44 PM
Having watched Hibs a long time we must be in a decent place when people say Mallen is brutel.We have all seen over the years really brutel players at Hibs and ok Mallen is not fantastic but he is decent and we have had a lot lot worse.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 05:54 PM
Having watched Hibs a long time we must be in a decent place when people say Mallen is brutel.We have all seen over the years really brutel players at Hibs and ok Mallen is not fantastic but he is decent and we have had a lot lot worse.If your quoting me with the "brutal" comment then I'd ask you to read my post again. I said that he was one out of the very few who wasn't "Brutal" hence him bagging our player off the year awards but let's be honest who else deserved it that year? Cos it certainly wasn't a vintage year and was a bit of a he wasn't as crap as the rest rather than a standout couldn't cope without him player off the year award

JammyDoidger
20-07-2020, 05:55 PM
I would say the complete opposite and think that mallan is way over rated down to ability to hit a baw and the fact he scored a few goals at the start of the season before last. He's never good enough to hold down the no 10 role even at our level and never will be IMO.
People are still hanging on to a purple patch he hit when he first arrived and if Efe ambrose had stayed for the season then he was by far our player of the year in that season. Which was a case of who hasn't been brutal instead of who has been superb for us in the season 18/19

We need to get him in a position where he can have a few pops at goal. Not sitting in front of the defence which is where he's played the majority of his hibs career, as a ball winning midfielder isn't his game. If we play as a front foot team it will bring the best out in him.

20-07-2020, 05:58 PM
We need to get him in a position where he can have a few pops at goal. Not sitting in front of the defence which is where he's played the majority of his hibs career, as a ball winning midfielder isn't his game. If we play as a front foot team it will bring the best out in him.

Correct. Mallan has made 52 appearances for us in the league scoring 10 goals and assisting 12. A lot of those appearances have been playing deep and, even more bizarrely, on the right of midfield. If you look at how those were spread out, it wasn’t simply a purple patch when he first came in and it’s pretty good numbers considering how he’s been used IMO.

That’s not me saying he has been brilliant by the way, but I think he had a bit of a raw deal in terms of how he’s been asked to play. And he’d have contributed more in an attacking sense, if he’d been playing further up the pitch.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 05:58 PM
We need to get him in a position where he can have a few pops at goal. Not sitting in front of the defence which is where he's played the majority of his hibs career, as a ball winning midfielder isn't his game. If we play as a front foot team it will bring the best out in him.It might well do mate but the problem there is that Scott Alan is better in that position and even he wasn't good enough to be player of the year last year
The year mallan got player of the year was a season to forget really

20-07-2020, 05:59 PM

Yep, Mallan was Player of the year for a reason, I rate the guy and if we can get him in his best position then he's a real asset.

King Cosell
20-07-2020, 06:00 PM
Having watched Hibs a long time we must be in a decent place when people say Mallen is brutel.We have all seen over the years really brutel players at Hibs and ok Mallen is not fantastic but he is decent and we have had a lot lot worse.

Allan will miss games this season and won't often play the full 90 mins. Mallen is a handy player to have.

20-07-2020, 06:01 PM
I would say the complete opposite and think that mallan is way over rated down to ability to hit a baw and the fact he scored a few goals at the start of the season before last. He's never good enough to hold down the no 10 role even at our level and never will be IMO.

That's just blatantly not true. For that entire first season he was dangerous, supplied assists later on in the season like the millimetre perfect passes at Tynecastle, supplied goals later on in the season like the sublime solo effort against Livingston. He's not rated just because he "scored a few goals at the start of the season before last", he's highly rated for his techical ability and vision.

If he has a couple of hard working midfielders around him - like Newell and Gogic have the potential to be, then he has the space to conjure up magic. He's not the quickest or the strongest but if we went to make Hibs a quality football team we need technical players as well as your traditional hoof it and run type players too.

HendoDelivered
20-07-2020, 06:14 PM

The Count
20-07-2020, 06:19 PM
If your quoting me with the "brutal" comment then I'd ask you to read my post again. I said that he was one out of the very few who wasn't "Brutal" hence him bagging our player off the year awards but let's be honest who else deserved it that year? Cos it certainly wasn't a vintage year and was a bit of a he wasn't as crap as the rest rather than a standout couldn't cope without him player off the year award

Sorry did not know you had the trademark of the word "Brutal".As a matter of fact i was not referring to your post but general anti Mallen posts over the last year.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 06:21 PM
That's just blatantly not true. For that entire first season he was dangerous, supplied assists later on in the season like the millimetre perfect passes at Tynecastle, supplied goals later on in the season like the sublime solo effort against Livingston. He's not rated just because he "scored a few goals at the start of the season before last", he's highly rated for his techical ability and vision.

If he has a couple of hard working midfielders around him - like Newell and Gogic have the potential to be, then he has the space to conjure up magic. He's not the quickest or the strongest but if we went to make Hibs a quality football team we need technical players as well as your traditional hoof it and run type players too.All about opinions mate. He scored in the two legs against the fisherman fae the Faroes he then scored in the first league game against Motherwell then he scored against Ross County in the league Cup then two more league goals against killie and Hamilton in matches 5 and 8. He then didn't score another league goal until round 23 and 27 against St mirren and Dundee. He went a right few games without scoring or assisting.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 06:22 PM
Sorry did not know you had the trademark of the word "Brutal".As a matter of fact i was not referring to your post but general anti Mallen posts over the last year.I didn't say I had a trademark on anything so no need to apologise
Again read my post there's a big IF in there bud

20-07-2020, 06:26 PM
Mallans supposed best position is Scott Allans actual best position, he isn't getting into that position anytime soon because Allan is a much better player.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 06:28 PM
Mallans supposed best position is Scott Allans actual best position, he isn't getting into that position anytime soon because Allan is a much better player.But he can't be stevie mallan was our player of year last year!!! [emoji23]

20-07-2020, 06:34 PM
But he can't be stevie mallan was our player of year last year!!! [emoji23]

He started that season very well then massively fell off. His general play was very poor yet he never ever found himself benched.

Scott Allan has been getting patter like ''not as his best'' or ''not as his usual high standards'' but his season passed was better than Mallans POTY season easily.

Mallan has to earn his chance, not get given it because he has a decent shot. Other than that and his good set pieces, he does nothing on the level of Allan and should not be picked ahead of him.

20-07-2020, 06:35 PM
Mallans supposed best position is Scott Allans actual best position, he isn't getting into that position anytime soon because Allan is a much better player.

Allan also doesn’t play 90 minutes all that often. And we can expect changes to the team as we get up and running again. Plenty opportunities will be there for players who wouldn’t necessarily be first pick in a certain position.

20-07-2020, 06:36 PM
Probably, but what a player to come off the bench to provide fresh impetus in the same role, or to slot in when Allan is out. Given how often Allan gets booted, we need a good second option. Mallan fits the bill.
Routine half-time chat from JR "Right Scotty, run yourself into the ground for 20 then Stevie will come on."
But will Mallan be happy playing second fiddle?

20-07-2020, 06:37 PM
Allan also doesn’t play 90 minutes all that often. And we can expect changes to the team as we get up and running again. Plenty opportunities will be there for players who wouldn’t necessarily be first pick in a certain position.

Maybe, maybe not. Allan didn't miss many games last season.

Honestly, we are really struggling to fit 2 strikers, wingers and Scott Allan in the same team. It is worth it for Allan because he is quality. I don't think Mallan is worth that. I don't think that position is actually there for Mallan.

20-07-2020, 06:39 PM
Probably, but what a player to come off the bench to provide fresh impetus in the same role, or to slot in when Allan is out. Given how often Allan gets booted, we need a good second option. Mallan fits the bill.
Routine half-time chat from JR "Right Scotty, run yourself into the ground for 20 then Stevie will come on."
But will Mallan be happy playing second fiddle?

If he doesn't score from 20 yards, what exactly is Mallan offering off the bench? Certainly isn't pace. Wouldn't say keeping it and securing a lead is his game either.

If an offer came in for Mallan, I'd be taking it and signing someone who can actually join and take a spot, not fill one on the bench.

Stanton Spence
20-07-2020, 06:42 PM
He started that season very well then massively fell off. His general play was very poor yet he never ever found himself benched.

Scott Allan has been getting patter like ''not as his best'' or ''not as his usual high standards'' but his season passed was better than Mallans POTY season easily.

Mallan has to earn his chance, not get given it because he has a decent shot. Other than that and his good set pieces, he does nothing on the level of Allan and should not be picked ahead of him.I agree with you completely and especially your first sentence
Apart from the first 8 to 10 games when he looked a player, he was bang average to not very good and if he's not scoring or assisting then he does absolutely nothing or even worse than nothing

20-07-2020, 06:45 PM

Mallan has to earn his chance, not get given it because he has a decent shot. Other than that and his good set pieces, he does nothing on the level of Allan and should not be picked ahead of him.

Easily better? I don’t see it. Mallan got more goals and assists than Allan in his POTY season. That’s not to say Allan didn’t have a good season but your doing Mallan a massive disservice here. Mallan didn’t hit the same heights last season but he’s easily good enough to get into our team going forwards.

20-07-2020, 06:50 PM
If he doesn't score from 20 yards, what exactly is Mallan offering off the bench? Certainly isn't pace. Wouldn't say keeping it and securing a lead is his game either.

If an offer came in for Mallan, I'd be taking it and signing someone who can actually join and take a spot, not fill one on the bench.

If Scott Allan doesn’t thread a defence splitting pass he can be as a man down, there are games last season where he could have been hooked at HT.

Scott Allan needs Stevie at his heels or it’s a straight swap. IMO Scott Allan isn’t untouchable and needs to get his finger out this season and show us where the old Scott Allan vanished to last season.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

20-07-2020, 06:55 PM
It’s the wrong thread but on some days Scott Allan or Stevie Mallan might not get in the team.

A midfield of Newell, Docherty, Gogic and Boyle with Nesbit and Doidge up top isn’t exactly too shabby.

20-07-2020, 07:02 PM
Easily better? I don’t see it. Mallan got more goals and assists than Allan in his POTY season. That’s not to say Allan didn’t have a good season but your doing Mallan a massive disservice here. Mallan didn’t hit the same heights last season but he’s easily good enough to get into our team going forwards.

Allan is behind by 3 goals and is level on assists despite playing over 1000 less minutes. If he is good enough to get in our team, who is he replacing? Definitely isn't Allan.

If Scott Allan doesn’t thread a defence splitting pass he can be as a man down, there are games last season where he could have been hooked at HT.

Scott Allan needs Stevie at his heels or it’s a straight swap. IMO Scott Allan isn’t untouchable and needs to get his finger out this season and show us where the old Scott Allan vanished to last season.

Na, even on his worst day Allan drives us forward and draws fouls far, far better than Mallan ever will. He's had many less bad games than Mallans POTY season.

Allan got 10 goals and 11 assists last season. If he puts up those numbers again, I'll be delighted. As I've said, Allan was better last season than Mallan in 18/19.

20-07-2020, 07:03 PM
I don't think Mallan should be starting for us, and I think that the extended period with Mallan playing CM made for some really turgid watching.

That being said, when he came back from injury last season and we had him coming on at 70 mins for a tired Scott Allan in the number 10 role, I quite liked that balance. Allan is the better player hands down, but Mallan with the ball at the edge of the box pinging the odd shot against a tired defence might work.

Keyser Sauzee
20-07-2020, 07:10 PM
Allan is behind by 3 goals and is level on assists despite playing over 1000 less minutes. If he is good enough to get in our team, who is he replacing? Definitely isn't Allan.

Na, even on his worst day Allan drives us forward and draws fouls far, far better than Mallan ever will. He's had many less bad games than Mallans POTY season.

Allan got 10 goals and 11 assists last season. If he puts up those numbers again, I'll be delighted. As I've said, Allan was better last season than Mallan in 18/19.

Agree completely. It’s not a personal attack on the guy he’s just not as good as Allan to get a game before him.

20-07-2020, 07:12 PM
There is talk of five substitutes for Scottish football for the coming season.

Having Mallan replace Allan most games, and vice versa for a few, means we can take full advantage of the extra substitutions whilst keeping Allan fresh.

20-07-2020, 07:12 PM
Agree completely. It’s not a personal attack on the guy he’s just not as good as Allan to get a game before him.

Indeed. I have no issue with Mallan. Never doubted his effort, I think he would probably be a star in a bottom six side (like a Danny Swanson) but I don't think he has anywhere near enough to his game to be a regular for a good Hibs side.

20-07-2020, 07:18 PM

I don’t think anybody is arguing Mallan is a better player than Allan to be fair.

But we need a squad. We’re going to go through periods where we play a lot of games this season. And Allan’s form was questionable at times last year as well, particularly after the turn of the year.

Allan is mainly judged on his creativity but Mallan’s numbers are right up there with his. And they weren’t all right at the start of his first season contrary to what some think.

If anybody asked me to pick one or the other it’d be Allan. But there is a place here for Mallan as well IMO.

20-07-2020, 07:23 PM
I don’t think anybody is arguing Mallan is a better player than Allan to be fair.

But we need a squad. We’re going to go through periods where we play a lot of games this season. And Allan’s form was questionable at times last year as well, particularly after the turn of the year.

Allan is mainly judged on his creativity but Mallan’s numbers are right up there with his. And they weren’t all right at the start of his first season contrary to what some think.

If anybody asked me to pick one or the other it’d be Allan. But there is a place here for Mallan as well IMO.

Goal vs St Mirren
Assist vs Ross County
Assist vs Aberdeen

Assist away at United
Goal at home vs United
Goal vs Inverness

All after the turn of the year.

Mallan has a lot of assists because he takes all corners and free kicks. Obviously still relevant but he isn't close to the creative player Allan is.

Inconsequential
20-07-2020, 07:23 PM
Indeed. I have no issue with Mallan. Never doubted his effort, I think he would probably be a star in a bottom six side (like a Danny Swanson) but I don't think he has anywhere near enough to his game to be a regular for a good Hibs side. Hibs are a bottom six side could Steve Mallan not be a star for Hibs?

20-07-2020, 07:40 PM
It’s happening again.

20-07-2020, 07:41 PM
It’s happening again.

??

20-07-2020, 07:42 PM
Mallan himself will know he didn't offer us enough last season.

He's a player whose attitude it appears to me is absolutely spot on, so getting a player like him back into the fold fully fit and with a point to prove could be a huge asset.

Shame though that it is can only ever really be either/ or with him and Scott Allan though. I cannot for the life of me see a team that contains them both and doesn't get murdered defensively in midfield, albeit with the odd nice pass or shot thrown in.

20-07-2020, 07:43 PM
It’s happening again.
Another year of sorrow?

20-07-2020, 07:45 PM
??

We are going to get 3 ****** pages about Mallan V Allan when neither player is being transferred. 😂

20-07-2020, 07:45 PM
Goal vs St Mirren
Assist vs Ross County
Assist vs Aberdeen

Assist away at United
Goal at home vs United
Goal vs Inverness

Mallan has a lot of assists because he takes all corners and free kicks. Obviously still relevant but he isn't close to the creative player Allan is.

Could also talk about the numerous games he was poor and ended up hooked early as a result. Nine league games after the year and he contributed a goal and a couple of assists. That was a drop off from before Christmas.

20-07-2020, 07:46 PM
We are going to get 3 ****** pages about Mallan V Allan when neither player is being transferred. [emoji23]

Ahh. True. Always the case when rumours quieten down unfortunately.

20-07-2020, 07:47 PM
We are going to get 3 ****** pages about Mallan V Allan when neither player is being transferred. 😂

Yeah, and we're going to get you trying to moderate the forum again. If the admins have an issue, they will tell us and the discussion will stop. Its a perfectly civil discussion about our players and if we should be looking to move one on or need better. Doing absolutely no harm.

20-07-2020, 07:49 PM
Could also talk about the numerous games he was poor and ended up hooked early as a result. Nine league games after the year and he contributed a goal and a couple of assists. That was a drop off from before Christmas.

Yeah, I mean I don't think he was amazing but teams were always going to knuckle down on him and make things harder, especially as games came every 3 days, pitches got worse. Boyle and Doidge also stepped up.

I think we also changed formation around this time as well, going from the 4-3-3 to 4-4-2 with McNulty and Doidge, could explain less output from Allan.

Dazzjw1875
20-07-2020, 07:51 PM
Geldhardt Wigan player?

20-07-2020, 07:53 PM
Yeah, and we're going to get you trying to moderate the forum again. If the admins have an issue, they will tell us and the discussion will stop. Its a perfectly civil discussion about our players and if we should be looking to move one on or need better. Doing absolutely no harm.

You are allowed to create a thread. No reason not to have thread for a nice Allan v Mallan debate. 👍

Inconsequential
20-07-2020, 07:55 PM
Geldhardt Wigan player? He is.

Souter96Mac
20-07-2020, 07:56 PM
Geldhardt Wigan player?

Haven't heard of the lad before, but a quick Google reveals articles on how Celtic and Leeds are interested.

20-07-2020, 07:57 PM
Geldhardt Wigan player?

For us? He’s highly rated. Leeds were looking at him.

Dazzjw1875
20-07-2020, 08:12 PM
Someone posted on twitter he was up chatting with us today.

20-07-2020, 08:13 PM
For us? He’s highly rated. Leeds were looking at him.

I think the poster, or his source, might be confused as Leeds fans on Twitter were saying he was seen at ER earlier.

Unfortunately I assume that means Elland Road rather than Easter Road.

(I know as I made the same mistake myself 😂)

20-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Someone posted on twitter he was up chatting with us today.

Is this the guy that was taking to Alan Nixon? If so I think ER means Elland Road not Easter Road.

Edit: Bingo beat me to it :greengrin

20-07-2020, 08:18 PM
Goal vs St Mirren
Assist vs Ross County
Assist vs Aberdeen

Assist away at United
Goal at home vs United
Goal vs Inverness

He’s not taken all the corners and free kicks though. Newell has taken plenty (with a fantastic assist rate)

Inconsequential
20-07-2020, 08:22 PM
I think the poster, or his source, might be confused as Leeds fans on Twitter were saying he was seen at ER earlier.

Unfortunately I assume that means Elland Road rather than Easter Road.

(I know as I made the same mistake myself 😂) Might mean he was in the ER, County General, Chicago.

20-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Yeah, I mean I don't think he was amazing but teams were always going to knuckle down on him and make things harder, especially as games came every 3 days, pitches got worse. Boyle and Doidge also stepped up.

I think we also changed formation around this time as well, going from the 4-3-3 to 4-4-2 with McNulty and Doidge, could explain less output from Allan.
So you're firmly in the camp of Allan ahead of Mallan. But even you have to admit there is not much between them.
What's a consonant between friends?

Inconsequential
20-07-2020, 08:35 PM
So you're firmly in the camp of Allan ahead of Mallan. But even you have to admit there is not much between them.
What's a consonant between friends? Thank you Rachel.

gorgie greens
20-07-2020, 08:35 PM

yes Mallan did very well first season but i would look good with the 2 other midfielders we had playing , last season he was not missed when he got injured as he was non participant when he was on the field and brought nothing to us, he is only a very small fraction of the player he was since his goals dried up.
Halberg all day long if given the choice

20-07-2020, 08:48 PM

Whilst I agree here, I think he is a good backup to Scott Allan and a good option from the bench

20-07-2020, 09:07 PM

Yes so you get my point then 👍

20-07-2020, 09:16 PM
yes Mallan did very well first season but i would look good with the 2 other midfielders we had playing , last season he was not missed when he got injured as he was non participant when he was on the field and brought nothing to us, he is only a very small fraction of the player he was since his goals dried up.
Halberg all day long if given the choice

What other two midfielders, Milligan and Hyndman

20-07-2020, 09:18 PM
For me the problem last year is hecky didn’t sign the players to a system he wanted. He shoe-horned players in to positions that regularly didn’t work. Allan as a right winger, Mallan as a right winger, Mallan deployed as a holding midfielder.

Personally If you play Allan at Easter road where your expected to have bulk of possession bar old firm he should play tucked in behind 2 strikers.

If we’re away from home he doesn’t work back the way enough to play a central midfield job. He would be used as an attacking midfielder behind a solo striker or benched.

The good thing with signing wright and Nisbet , the gaffer has a good few options in forward areas, I’d like to see Boyle played higher up and not worry about defending. Defenders are so scared of his pace running across the back line will ask all sorts of questions. Definatley a few options Ross has to tinker with for the season. But I’d hope he has an idea of a formation he sees being the default attacking way especially at home. Ggtth

20-07-2020, 09:18 PM
Whilst I agree here, I think he is a good backup to Scott Allan and a good option from the bench

I'd like to see Mallan get a run there. He won't give the ball away as much and will score more. That being said Allan has really improved his goal scoring. Mallan scored plenty playing much deeper than Allan does and it would be interesting to see how many he would get 20 yards closer to goal than he normally plays

20-07-2020, 09:19 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.footballinsider247.com/rangers-offer-to-midfielder-as-talks-held-over-docherty-exit/amp/

20-07-2020, 09:26 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.footballinsider247.com/rangers-offer-to-midfielder-as-talks-held-over-docherty-exit/amp/

A midfield 3 of gogic docherty & allan would be very horny

20-07-2020, 09:28 PM

Make the Gogic - Docherty - Allan trinity come to life, Hibs. Sauce.

20-07-2020, 09:29 PM

Is this dates today? Is this a credible site

20-07-2020, 09:35 PM
Is this dates today? Is this a credible site

Dated today and FI is as reliable as most other sports media tbf, some hit and some miss.

20-07-2020, 09:48 PM
A midfield 3 of gogic docherty & allan would be very horny

Agreed mate, a potential starting 11 of

.....................Marciano..............

.....Porteous....Jackson....Hanlon...

Boyle.......Gogic....Docherty........Newell
........................Allan........

................Nisbet......Doidge.....

Looks very very good to me.

Still good options on the bench/squad too

Dabrowski
Gray
McGinn
James
Stirling
McGregor
Stevenson
Mackie
Doig
Hallberg
Mallan
Murray
Horgan
Wright
Gullan

Would still imagine a couple from the above would leave though with another couple coming in. But we’re looking strong.

20-07-2020, 09:56 PM

Two CB and a LWB required

20-07-2020, 10:03 PM
Two CB and a LWB required

The bigger problem is that Docherty isn’t a Hibs player, unless I’ve missed something.

20-07-2020, 10:09 PM

Yes please.

One thought comes to mind though. A lot of us, myself very much included, are excited about the thought of Gogic, Docherty and Allan as a midfield trio.

That being said, that's basically Hamilton's midfield from a couple years ago plus Scott Allan. Are we getting over excited?

I'm still excited, just hadn't thought about that until just now..

20-07-2020, 10:16 PM
Yes please.

One thought comes to mind though. A lot of us, myself very much included, are excited about the thought of Gogic, Docherty and Allan as a midfield trio.

That being said, that's basically Hamilton's midfield from a couple years ago plus Scott Allan. Are we getting over excited?

I think it's similar to St Mirren getting relegated with John McGinn, Kenny McLean and Stevie Mallan in midfield. All three quality players (two of them playing for us and in the English Premier League), but the rest of the team just wasn't up to their level.

Also these players were all still developing, which I think is important.

Gogic had an outstanding season last year, but prior to that had been an okay centre half and somewhat makeshift midfielder. Docherty was in his late teens/very early twenties and has still been developing as a player since then.

These kind of anomalies just seem to occur, weak teams can have two or three standouts who are well worth signing - Doc and Goga are two of those IMO.

20-07-2020, 10:24 PM
Yes please.

What about St Mirrens midfield of mcginn and McLean both playing in the EPL 🤷🏼*♂️

20-07-2020, 10:34 PM
Yes please.

Did Gogic play in midfield with Docherty or was he still playing CH? Genuine question

20-07-2020, 10:47 PM
What's a consonant between friends?

Enjoyed that

20-07-2020, 10:58 PM
My only concern with the formation/players selected I posted is I can’t see Docherty and Gogic linking the play by dropping deep and making things happen.

I think our style would then have to change and guys like Porto and Hanlon would try and step into midfield to pull the opposition out with Gogic providing cover. When they do that it gives Allan and Doc more room to manoeuvre in.

A lot of ifs and buts, we don’t even know if we will sign Doc.

I think we’re gearing up to be a good side though, a lot of quality in the team and we’re now getting a better balance.

20-07-2020, 11:37 PM
If we get Docherty in on a season loan or permanent I believe it would be the catalyst for a few moving on. Perhaps Mallan and Hallberg. Saying that I still think getting Docherty is a tough ask.

Clarence
21-07-2020, 07:16 AM
Did Gogic play in midfield with Docherty or was he still playing CH? Genuine question

Centre half I believe but he was in and out of the side

Willis1875
21-07-2020, 09:01 AM
Simon Murrays Instagram post today will have tongues wagging

21-07-2020, 09:04 AM
Simon Murrays Instagram post today will have tongues wagging

?

21-07-2020, 09:05 AM
Just seen it. Photo of him celebrating a goal for Hibs with ⚽️💚 underneath!

21-07-2020, 09:06 AM
?

21-07-2020, 09:07 AM
?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200721/3d4192254323120828700fa64c19a4c8.jpg

21-07-2020, 09:07 AM

OK cheers.

21-07-2020, 09:49 AM
Its worth pointing out that Simon never got to play with a proper creative midfielder like Allan, Mallan or Horgan. Plus, if you want to play a high press, he is absolutely tireless.

21-07-2020, 09:54 AM
Personally I think it would be a fantastic signing if there is any mileage in it. His desire, workrate, courage and never giving defenders peace is an asset. And chips in with important goals. Far too often we allowed teams too much time at the back and immediately put pressure on our weak midfield.

Doidge and Nisbet first choice, with Gullan and Murray as back up..........I'm in :aok:

21-07-2020, 09:58 AM
I’d take Simon Murray back if we could get him in for a reasonable wage.

21-07-2020, 10:00 AM
Its worth pointing out that Simon never got to play with a proper creative midfielder like Allan, Mallan or Horgan. Plus, if you want to play a high press, he is absolutely tireless.

Personally I think it would be a fantastic signing if there is any mileage in it. His desire, workrate, courage and never giving defenders peace is an asset. And chips in with important goals. Far too often we allowed teams too much time at the back and immediately put pressure on our weak midfield.

Doidge and Nisbet first choice, with Gullan and Murray as back up..........I'm in :aok:

I’d take Simon Murray back if we could get him in for a reasonable wage.

Agree with all of the above.

21-07-2020, 10:04 AM
Murray would be fine as backup.

If we want high a high pressing game then Murray and Boyle are the players for it. Both got speed in abundance and it forces teams to play further back as the don’t want to give room between themselves and their goalkeeper to exploit.

If Murray could learn to stay onside he would be an amazing threat to have in our team.

Plus he knows the lay out what would be expected etc so for me this would be a good signing.

He did have Boyle and Barker, plus McGinn and McGeouch so not too shabby.

I’m up for him signing as a squad player but he had plenty chances before with a good team around him.

21-07-2020, 10:07 AM
He did have Boyle and Barker, plus McGinn and McGeouch so not too shabby.

I’m up for him signing as a squad player but he had plenty chances before with a good team around him.

14 goals from 28 appearances (22 starts). I've seen worse.

Hibi
21-07-2020, 10:11 AM
14 goals from 28 appearances (22 starts). I've seeen worse.

I agree, also scored one of my favourite derby goals as well.

21-07-2020, 10:16 AM
Rangers are in talks to offload Greg Docherty as they make progress on signing Amiens midfielder Bongani Zungu, Football Insider understands.
The Light Blues are working to strengthen their central midfield options and have held extensive talks about bringing in South Africa international Zungu.
:cbStraight swap for Kamberi .

21-07-2020, 10:16 AM
Simon Murray IMHO is exactly what we need, could see him playing with Doidge or Nisbet, with the number of games to be played before Xmas and having the likes of Doidge, Nisbet, Gullane Gullan and Murray to choose from would be more than decent. Add to that the possibility of being able to use 5 subs and his pave and energy. I'd be happy to see him back

Souter96Mac
21-07-2020, 10:19 AM
Would have him back happily with the current situation we are with strikers.

21-07-2020, 10:22 AM
Would be a hard pass from me. Didnt think he was good enough last time and hes done little in his career since to change my mind.

MacGruber
21-07-2020, 10:25 AM
Also in the camp of Murray being a very good signing for the squad. Energy, pace, effort and goals. No world beater but effective and god loves a trier

21-07-2020, 10:28 AM
Great hard working attitude who can score a goal think he would be an asset.

21-07-2020, 10:30 AM
Murray would be a handy option to have as back up but I’d really like to see us improve our full back options. Maybe we can do both though.

21-07-2020, 10:31 AM
If JR thinks we need 4 strikers then Murray is a good option for the squad. No surprises from him. Works hard. No nonsense. Good addition for cover and different game types.

21-07-2020, 10:33 AM
If JR thinks we need 4 strikers then Murray is a good option for the squad. No surprises from him. Works hard. No nonsense. Good addition for cover and different game types.

Surely not. It’s no surprise our form improved that season after Christmas

21-07-2020, 10:36 AM

Are you putting that down to Simon Murray leaving?

21-07-2020, 10:36 AM

And it was only the departure of Murray that improved our form off course

21-07-2020, 10:37 AM
https://youtu.be/brtGccgIb9U

21-07-2020, 10:39 AM
Really don’t fancy Murray coming back. I know everyone bangs on about the goals against Rangers and Hearts but I’m sure as a whole he wasn’t the best hence being sold in January. I also dont think he’s played a game since undergoing his knee operation.

I suppose he could also play a bit wider aswell as upfront and he would be coming in as 3rd/4th choice.....could we get better? Unsure

Does he still have the same pace?

When you watch the below you would think he was on course to win the Balon Dor:greengrin

21-07-2020, 10:43 AM

And nothing to do with Allan, McLaren and Kamberi all coming in to the team?

21-07-2020, 10:44 AM
Murray started well for us, but was less effective as time went on. Maybe could do a job for a season?

21-07-2020, 10:45 AM
Murray in as a cheap 4th option? works for me

If we can also get the swap done for Kamberi/Docherty then it will have been a very good window for us

Hibiza
21-07-2020, 10:58 AM

supermcginn
21-07-2020, 10:59 AM
We won't get better than Murray for a fourth choice squad player. Hope it's a done deal.

21-07-2020, 11:07 AM
So is Simon Murray signing? Or are we just discussing our opinions on him?

21-07-2020, 11:19 AM
And nothing to do with Allan, McLaren and Kamberi all coming in to the team?

What and improving our strike force you mean .....

21-07-2020, 11:21 AM
Really don’t fancy Murray coming back. I know everyone bangs on about the goals against Rangers and Hearts but I’m sure as a whole he wasn’t the best hence being sold in January. I also dont think he’s played a game since undergoing his knee operation.

I suppose he could also play a bit wider aswell as upfront and he would be coming in as 3rd/4th choice.....could we get better? Unsure

Does he still have the same pace?

When you watch the below you would think he was on course to win the Balon Dor:greengrin

He was pretty howling at the end. All the hard work in the world but couldn't finish a fish supper.

GreenPJ
21-07-2020, 11:24 AM
He was pretty howling at the end. All the hard work in the world but couldn't finish a fish supper.

True although his confidence was a bit knocked and he wasn't getting regular game time.

21-07-2020, 11:25 AM
I think as a option off the bench he’d be useful. Probably not ideal if he’s one of our top 2 strikers. But a good player to bring on with 20 mins to go as teams tire.

21-07-2020, 11:25 AM
Murray was a bit of a goal machine in the early part of the season, left everything out on the park too. Derby goal was brilliant. Seemed to have an almighty confidence crash though.

14 goals in 29 appearances going by his Wikipedia (I know).

Greenworld
21-07-2020, 11:28 AM
Its worth pointing out that Simon never got to play with a proper creative midfielder like Allan, Mallan or Horgan. Plus, if you want to play a high press, he is absolutely tireless.This is a great point ...he can run the channels and Allan / mallan would find him i think he would be great addition this time round

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

21-07-2020, 11:35 AM
Whilst I'd be happy with Murray back, I'd worry about who provides the physical presence if Doidge is injured.

mentalhibee
21-07-2020, 11:39 AM
I’d be happy to see Murray back, great work rate and team player. Reckon he’d link up well with doidge

21-07-2020, 11:40 AM
Simon Murray's goal return with us:

3 v Arbroath
2 v Alloa
2 v Montrose
1 v Ayr
1 v Dundee
1 v Hamilton
1 v Hearts
1 v Kilmarnock
1 v Partick
1 v Rangers

Not the worst we've seen from a striker.

21-07-2020, 11:45 AM
Simon Murray's goal return with us:

3 v Arbroath
2 v Alloa
2 v Montrose
1 v Ayr
1 v Dundee
1 v Hamilton
1 v Hearts
1 v Kilmarnock
1 v Partick
1 v Rangers

Not the worst we've seen from a striker.

He knows where the goals are. Happy to see him back at Hibs.

21-07-2020, 11:50 AM
Has Simon Murray improved since he’s been away? He’s 28 and if he’s still as raw as the one that left it’s probably a no from me. Particularly as he’s not played an awful lot of football since leaving us, although think he suffered a bad injury which will be a big part of why.

21-07-2020, 11:51 AM
Whilst I'd be happy with Murray back, I'd worry about who provides the physical presence if Doidge is injured.
Nisbet is no midget 😉

21-07-2020, 12:01 PM
As long as he’s 4th choice behind Doidge, Nisbet & Gullan id be happy enough but I do feel the wage, despite it probably being minimal, could be put to better use elsewhere

21-07-2020, 12:11 PM
As long as he’s 4th choice behind Doidge, Nisbet & Gullan id be happy enough but I do feel the wage, despite it probably being minimal, could be put to better use elsewhere

I wouldn't want him if he accepted being 4th choice.

He's also scored more goals in the top league than 2 of the 3 you think he should be behind.

NC1875
21-07-2020, 12:14 PM
Would take 110% effort and work rate from Simon Murray before a half arsed Kamberi any day of the week.

And that nutmeg and then finish on 10 million pound man Souttar in the derby was 👌🏼

21-07-2020, 12:21 PM
True although his confidence was a bit knocked and he wasn't getting regular game time.

I think the issue is he kind of has the same problem that we mock Uche Ikpeazu for - as soon as you figure out his one attribute (in Murray's case, work rate and the tendency to look for a nutmeg to beat a man, in Ikpeazu's case his strength and looking for penalty kicks or free kicks) then they have nothing else to offer. Neither have a first touch, neither are good at finishing and you can only use one in a high press scenario and the other in a hoofball style.

If Murray was on very low wages then maybe, but I'd rather give Gullan a chance so he'd need to explicitly be fourth choice.

21-07-2020, 12:22 PM
I wouldn't want him if he accepted being 4th choice.

He's also scored more goals in the top league than 2 of the 3 you think he should be behind.

That’s true but the 2 I think should be ahead of him have a lot more potential

DTS
21-07-2020, 12:26 PM
I’d be very happy to see murray come in and provide competition for the 3 we currently have. I’d imagine he’d start as 4th choice however I don’t think having someone who’d come in confident he can score goals in this league and also with his pace would be a bad thing. I highly doubt his wage will be high, he’s been here before for a small period which I think overall was alright his goal return was solid. He came in before as a starter, he wouldn’t this time. Having someone like murray would take the burden off Gullan especially if he doesn’t fully kick on as much as expected/hope

21-07-2020, 12:26 PM
Loved his goal versus the Hearts

Just getting into ma seat Simon Murray drifts into the box nutmeg on ‘Soapy Soutar’ then BANG! right into the roof of the Hearts’ pokey!

21-07-2020, 12:32 PM
Would take 110% effort and work rate from Simon Murray before a half arsed Kamberi any day of the week.

And that nutmeg and then finish on 10 million pound man Souttar in the derby was 👌🏼

Fair points.

HendoDelivered
21-07-2020, 12:40 PM
I’d take SM back.

21-07-2020, 12:49 PM
I'm glad the .net amnesia around what we thought of him last time is disappearing.

This board was very keen to see the back of him when he left.

21-07-2020, 12:51 PM
I'm glad the .net amnesia around what we thought of him last time is disappearing.

I wasn't & I remember it fine.

21-07-2020, 12:53 PM
I wasn't & I remember it fine.

Then you'll recall the clamour.

21-07-2020, 12:55 PM
With the news that the Scottish Cup semi will be getting replayed and that new signings are eligible to play, will this push the board to further spend money and recruit new players?

Massive incentive for us and also id imagine will help us attract players knowing they have a semi final and potentially a final to be part of.

21-07-2020, 01:05 PM

I don't think folk were keen on him as a starter/first choice striker.

That's not what's being suggested here.

21-07-2020, 01:06 PM

Is there now a clamour to have him back?

2 clamours over the same guy

21-07-2020, 01:07 PM
Kilmarnock sign Danny Whitehall on a 6 month deal

21-07-2020, 01:07 PM
With the news that the Scottish Cup semi will be getting replayed and that new signings are eligible to play, will this push the board to further spend money and recruit new players?

Massive incentive for us and also id imagine will help us attract players knowing they have a semi final and potentially a final to be part of.

Doubt it. The board would've known the semi was happening a while ago. They cant spend money if there is none to spend. This isn't a case of the board being stingey, its about the club surviving.

21-07-2020, 01:08 PM

People wanted him replaced as one of our first choice strikers, he’d be returning as a back up striker.

As for Hibs.net amnesia, here’s the thread on his departure. Most posters sad that he is going out on loan and hoping that he’ll play for Hibs again in the future.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?328209-Simon-Murray

21-07-2020, 01:08 PM
Is there now a clamour to have him back?

2 clamours over the same guy

It's clamourtastic!

21-07-2020, 01:16 PM
Ayr sign a new left back. Just saying the young boy we are linked with....... might see some movement soon.

duffers
21-07-2020, 01:17 PM
Aye United just signed a new left back. I’m not to sure if Daniel Harvie was still under contract or not, but Ayr fans were certainly hopeful of him being there next season. Putting 2 + 2 together, that doesn’t seem like he is going to be there....

We now have a global pandemic that will likely cost the club a huge sum of money and two strikers who we've paid fees for.

Basically the world has changed and he'd be coming in as part of the squad rather than a guaranteed starter.

On that basis I'd be happy with him back in the squad. Good player to bring on if your looking for legs to stretch the opposition. Hopefully he'd learned a bit playing abroad as well.

duffers
Ayr sign a new left back. Just saying the young boy we are linked with....... might see some movement soon.

Beat me to it!

HFC93
21-07-2020, 01:19 PM

I genuinely can't remember that!

Leitherhibs
21-07-2020, 01:22 PM
Aye United just signed a new left back. I’m not to sure if Daniel Harvie was still under contract or not, but Ayr fans were certainly hopeful of him being there next season. Putting 2 + 2 together, that doesn’t seem like he is going to be there....

He's had a couple better offers.

21-07-2020, 01:24 PM
Murray meh! He was ok 1st time around, very raw but didn't seem to learn quickly enough. Lennon took a punt as he was cheap so nothing really lost, once opposition sussed him out he was ineffectual and the reason he got punted, if we want to push for best of the rest then Murray isn't the answer.

JDT
21-07-2020, 01:29 PM
Signing Murray would be a risk, he was out injured for 9 months so he would likely have to prove his fitness first. I personally can't see it unless it's been kept well under wraps and he's cheap

21-07-2020, 01:32 PM
Nisbet is no midget 😉

Right then you songwriters - get your creative brains onto that!:greengrin

Souter96Mac
21-07-2020, 01:33 PM
Checking Harvie on the transfermarket website, it says his contract has expired

21-07-2020, 01:35 PM
Right then you songwriters - get your creative brains onto that!:greengrin

Nisbet's no a midget
He wears a giant hat
It makes him even taller
Improves his vital stats
He tried to leave his house
But he was out of luck
To make it through the doorway
He'll need to f***ing duck

What's this thread about? :confused:

21-07-2020, 01:59 PM
Nisbet's no a midget
He wears a giant hat
It makes him even taller
Improves his vital stats
He tried to leave his house
But he was out of luck
To make it through the doorway
He'll need to f***ing duck

What's this thread about? :confused:
Bridget the midget I think. Must be Nisbet's wife or something.......

21-07-2020, 02:04 PM
We won't get better than Murray for a fourth choice squad player. Hope it's a done deal.

Super Leigh Griffiths?

He’s fallen out with Lennon and surely working his ticket back to the mighty Hibees.

21-07-2020, 02:06 PM
Super Leigh Griffiths?

He’s fallen out with Lennon and surely working his ticket back to the mighty Hibees.

Think he's eaten his ticket by the sounds of it

21-07-2020, 02:12 PM
Think he's eaten his ticket by the sounds of it

:greengrin Was the ticket made of deep fried pastry?