View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53

sorrow sorrow
31-07-2020, 09:37 PM
Just catching up with this thread...all about opinions but McNulty and Docherty would 100% improve our squad.
McNulty getting stick on here but he is a great wee player imo.
On our budget though I think we should spend any money we have on two full backs,all successful teams have two modern day style full backs.
We have been crying out for it since the days of Whittaker and Murphy bombing up and down.

31-07-2020, 09:56 PM
No more in even after Flo leaves, says JR.

31-07-2020, 09:58 PM

We’ve a couple of months yet. Hopefully when English lower leagues resume training they can take a few of the bit parts and even try to get Horgan on the move.

K-Zazu
31-07-2020, 09:59 PM

So we are stuck with the same shady defence yet again

31-07-2020, 10:01 PM

Derek McInnes said last week that they wouldn’t be signing anyone else unless he got players of their books. Noticed they signed two players today without signing any.

I’m not sure he actually said what you are saying he did anyway but if we were to go with what we’ve got I’d be happy enough with that.

31-07-2020, 10:01 PM
I always thought Gogic and Wright coming in was to provide better balance, quality and to boost numbers as we have lost 7 so far. Both were also free and will be on relatively low wages.

The fee paid for Nisbet and his wages will likely be the same as what we will get for Kamberi so will balance out.

Any other incoming players will result in guys like James being moved on imo.

The youngsters can’t go on loan either so they will free up wages in September/October when they leave.

There will be more coming in yet.

31-07-2020, 10:03 PM

You defend as a team.

We’ve brought in Gogic to help protect the defence and it looks like Doig will be pushing Stevenson hard for his place.

Imo with those changes along with a possible change in formation to 3/5 at the back then I don’t think we are stuck with the same defence at all.

31-07-2020, 10:05 PM

I doubt that will actually be the case.

31-07-2020, 10:05 PM
Well Hamilton did it with Gogic! Hibs new defensive midfielder. Matty Jack was a centre half too who became the very best at the Matty Jack role in midfield. Spike Milligan the Aussie from last season played centre half for his country. It ain't unusual.

Aye that’s not my point. My point is why would we move hanlon to defensive midfield now when we’ve just brought one in

ElginHibbie
31-07-2020, 10:06 PM

Feel like every window our manager comes out with this line and then we go and sign at least 3 more

sorrow sorrow
31-07-2020, 10:09 PM
We have heard that before.
We r not done,very active in fact.

LeithMike
31-07-2020, 10:18 PM
Squad seems reasonable. I'm happy with the defence and think Gogic and, hopefully, improved coaching will help. Stevenson is still perfectly competent with Doig as back up and Newell as an option as LWB.

For me the two top priorities are both midfield. If Mallan and Alan both start then I think we'll struggle. I think we need two industrious players in there. Omeonga would be first choice for me followed by Docherty.

That would give us a fairly complete squad able to play a variety of formations but probably best suited to 3-5-2:

Marciano
McGinnn-Porteous/Mcgregor/Jackson-Hanlon
Boyle-Omeonga-Gogic-Newell
Docherty/Alan
Doidge-Nisbet

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

31-07-2020, 10:24 PM
You defend as a team.

We’ve brought in Gogic to help protect the defence and it looks like Doig will be pushing Stevenson hard for his place.

Imo with those changes along with a possible change in formation to 3/5 at the back then I don’t think we are stuck with the same defence at all.

Our defence last season was bottom 4 (statistically)

Yes, you defend as a team.

But...the number of goals we lost from crosses and slow reactions in the box will not get any better this season with the same lads, just a year older (and slower)

31-07-2020, 10:25 PM
Yes, but defending is the job of 11 players and a coaching staff. Signing 4 new defenders solves nothing.

Man C are looking at Nathan Ake who was part of a poor defence in England, if this is true the Pep looks past the poor team defending and looks at the qualities Ake can add to his defence, remembering Man C's defence wasn't up to their usual standard.
We've not defended as a team for the past 2 seasons, hopefully with a more balanced squad and players who are willing to fight for the jersey, it'll see a vast improvement on the pitch.

31-07-2020, 10:32 PM
Our defence last season was bottom 4 (statistically)

Yes, you defend as a team.

But...the number of goals we lost from crosses and slow reactions in the box will not get any better this season with the same lads, just a year older (and slower)

Surely having a midfielder to protect the defence is significant?

Changing to 3 centre backs instead of 2 could be significant?

Changing one of the full backs (Doig for Stevenson) could be significant?

Our centre half’s are fine imo, I think they just need a bit more protection and with the changes we are making i think they’ll get that.

31-07-2020, 10:39 PM

Our centre half’s are fine imo, I think they just need a bit more protection and with the changes we are making i think they’ll get that.

We changed to three centre backs before we finished and we were still crap defensively.

Back three or back four, it’s the part of our team with the least quality.

31-07-2020, 10:45 PM
We changed to three centre backs before we finished and we were still crap defensively.

Back three or back four, it’s the part of our team with the least quality.

From memory, and I’m happy to be corrected if I’m wrong which I may well be, but I thought we tried it in spells here and there towards the end of last season. That’s different to making it your main formation and working on it for a full pre-season.

Regardless though, I think the biggest factor of all the ones I mentioned is that we’re now going to have someone offering protection to the defence. I thought it was absolutely mental that Heckingbottom didn’t signs defensive midfielder last summer, I didn’t really understand why Ross didn’t address that in January but I did sort of get the logic that Docherty and Omeonga may have been enough.

31-07-2020, 10:51 PM
The defence gets a lot of criticism as we were losing a lot, let’s not forget Doidge wasn’t scoring so a lot of points dropped was 1 goal in it with us not scoring much.

You can’t rely on a clean sheet every game to win a game, and vice versa you can’t expect strikers to score 3 or 4 goals per game.

Gogic will make a big difference.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but under Ross we’re we not joint 3/4th with Motherwell based on his games in charge? It certainly was at one point. Proving we have the players but it was the system.

All the defenders are good individual players and would walk into some of the teams that finished above us - St Johnstone, Livingston and even Motherwell and Aberdeen would take interest in some I have no doubt.

31-07-2020, 10:54 PM
From memory, and I’m happy to be corrected if I’m wrong which I may well be, but I thought we tried it in spells here and there towards the end of last season. That’s different to making it your main formation and working on it for a full pre-season.

Regardless though, I think the biggest factor of all the ones I mentioned is that we’re now going to have someone offering protection to the defence. I thought it was absolutely mental that Heckingbottom didn’t signs defensive midfielder last summer, I didn’t really understand why Ross didn’t address that in January but I did sort of get the logic that Docherty and Omeonga may have been enough.

I don’t think we’ll have a ‘main’ formation. Will depend on who is fit at the time. After the January window we switched to a 352 because it let us get most of our good players in the team in the areas they’re most effective. It’ll be the same again depending on what we have available .

I do agree that Gogic could make a difference. He might stop folk wandering through us. But he won’t be able to stop crosses and be at centre half at the same time .

Same personnel at the back will produce the same results over the course IMO. Could just be the case of trying something different with what we have which, IMO, means leaving Hanlon out as he was the constant.

31-07-2020, 11:02 PM
The defence gets a lot of criticism as we were losing a lot, let’s not forget Doidge wasn’t scoring so a lot of points dropped was 1 goal in it with us not scoring much.

You can’t rely on a clean sheet every game to win a game, and vice versa you can’t expect strikers to score 3 or 4 goals per game.

Gogic will make a big difference.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but under Ross we’re we not joint 3/4th with Motherwell based on his games in charge? It certainly was at one point. Proving we have the players but it was the system.

All the defenders are good individual players and would walk into some of the teams that finished above us - St Johnstone, Livingston and even Motherwell and Aberdeen would take interest in some I have no doubt.

Don’t think you can simply blame the system(s). Ross played various from a diamond to three at the back and the results were mixed whatever we did.

Brummie_Hibs
31-07-2020, 11:23 PM
'Defending as a team' is the type of baloney I'd expect to hear from myopic Stendal worshippers.

You are either:
1.playing too much championship manager
2. Listening to the crap pundits on Sky or MOTD
3. So distanced from the realities Scottish football
4. ALL 3 ABOVE

Liverpool, Barca, PSG, Real, City, Utd, etc etc, etc. Can all afford to select the world's best players to enact the visions of the world's best managers. And even then they get it wrong.

In Scottish football you just have to try to get the few dregs you have budget for, to play to the best of their ability, and hopefully that inspires others in the team to further themselves.

Therefore defending starts at the back with a few solid-ish defenders who don't fanny about, and, maybe, just maybe, can play the ball out of defence without screwing up

31-07-2020, 11:47 PM

Porteous will add a bit zest to the defence and Gogic will add much better protection from the midfield.

31-07-2020, 11:49 PM

Im with you bingo . Porteous,Doig and Gogic will make a massive improvement in our team .

31-07-2020, 11:52 PM
'Defending as a team' is the type of baloney I'd expect to hear from myopic Stendal worshippers.

You are either:
4. ALL 3 ABOVE

Liverpool, Barca, PSG, Real, City, Utd, etc etc, etc. Can all afford to select the world's best players to enact the visions of the world's best managers. And even then they get it wrong.

In Scottish football you just have to try to get the few dregs you have budget for, to play to the best of their ability, and hopefully that inspires others in the team to further themselves.

Therefore defending starts at the back with a few solid-ish defenders who don't fanny about, and, maybe, just maybe, can play the ball out of defence without screwing up

Quality is reletive. We aren't playing against the quality those sides are, no excuse for not having the same standards though.

Defending as a team is how it is done at the top level. It is even how it is does by the 2 best sides here. Rangers especially defend brilliantly from the front.

Its nothing to do with any of the points on your very stupid list. It is how the best teams play, simple as that.

01-08-2020, 02:47 AM

You are either:
4. ALL 3 ABOVE

Not defending as a team was John Barnes philosophy. How did that go again?

01-08-2020, 05:17 AM
I do think we could have done with a first choice centre half. Our best centre back of the last 4 or 5 years (McGregor) is 35 next week and I'm not sold on Jackson. That leaves us Hanlon who's form varies massively and young Porteous.

I appreciate funds are limited but I'd loved to have seen us make a significant signing at centre half.

01-08-2020, 06:27 AM

You are either:
4. ALL 3 ABOVE

So were you happy to see Kamberi not track back or close down his man, or Vela just standing in the same 10 yard space doing sod all, or the majority of the midfield not putting in a tackle or closing anybody down. I expect 100% effort from every player at Hibs, if it turns out that the other team were better on the day then fair enough but I want 11 players on that pitch chasing, closing down and tackling and at the very least look as if they want to win at Hibs.
You don't have to be brilliant players to defend as a team as Motherwell, St Mirren etc all did it against us last season and to good effect.

01-08-2020, 06:29 AM

Too much sense in this post.

01-08-2020, 06:31 AM

You are either:
4. ALL 3 ABOVE

Defenders who don’t fanny about. That statement is everything that holds Scottish football back. Unfortunately there are still people in the SFA that thinks like this.

01-08-2020, 06:34 AM
Definitely still need to sign a centre half. A quick, strong, left footed centre half would be ideal. Doig looks promising but the lad has only just turned 18.

01-08-2020, 06:50 AM
Too much sense in this post.

In an ideal world we'd have centre halfs who are technically wonderful,great with the ball at their feet and can also defend brilliantly. The reality is that standard of player just doesn't exist on the budget we operate at.

Look at Motherwell last season, setup at the back with big strong physical defenders who first and foremost bully forwards and know how to defend.

If it's a choice between someone like Declan Gallagher who is physically imposing,wins 90% of balls in the air and will be able to bully most forwards or Hanlon who undoubtedly has good technique but can be ragdolled it's a no brainer.

01-08-2020, 06:52 AM
Porteous will add a bit zest to the defence and Gogic will add much better protection from the midfield.
Hoping so cos when he got back in last season on the right of a 3-man defence he was shown up sometimes, maybe cos he wasn't quite up to speed or maybe cos he
has lost a bit of zip with the serious knee injury. I really hope I am proved wrong but I'll be nervous if we play a back three with him on the right cos I think teams will try to pull him out wide and take him on, either to get crosses in to a stretched defence or to lure him into some lunging tackles to induce a card. I still want to see those robust challenges but sensibly so and keeping the heid.

01-08-2020, 08:06 AM

A huge season for Ryan really hope he shows how good he is and fulfils his potential.

01-08-2020, 08:30 AM
Sheep on the urgent hunt for a striker with both Cosgrove and now Main out. Has Kamberi's boyhood dream not always to have been a sheep?Been lost in the translation, think he said he always wanted to have a sheep as a pal.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200801/6d3b94861ffa6043cf08fec737436acc.jpg

01-08-2020, 08:40 AM
"When I first played for Hibs at Pittodrie, I called my agent and told me this is where I want to be. Aberdeen have the most disciplined fans I've ever seen. Not only were the fans so committed to a vow of silence no matter if their team were scoring or not, most of them actually dressed in such a way that they looked like seats! It is my dream to be paid to be invisible on the pitch so I knew I wanted to go there."

percy veer
01-08-2020, 08:42 AM

Don't think ryan will last the season , need another centre half in as cover.

01-08-2020, 08:49 AM
Some people seem to be ignoring the glaring individual errors our defence made last season and want to shift the entire blame onto the midfield. A defender losing his man has nothing to do with the midfield.

01-08-2020, 08:51 AM

Why don't you think he will last the season?

01-08-2020, 08:57 AM
Some people seem to be ignoring the glaring individual errors our defence made last season and want to shift the entire blame onto the midfield. A defender losing his man has nothing to do with the midfield.

Don't think anyone is saying that. Defenders make plenty errors in games. Last season there was more due to them being under the cosh a lot more than previously when we had a Milligan / Bartley type in there. We need to work harder to protect the defence. Too often we were exposed due to poor defending as a team. The defenders were far from perfect but nowhere near as bad as some continue to point out.

01-08-2020, 09:00 AM
Don't think anyone is saying that. Defenders make plenty errors in games. Last season there was more due to them being under the cosh a lot more than previously when we had a Milligan / Bartley type in there. We need to work harder to protect the defence. Too often we were exposed due to poor defending as a team. The defenders were far from perfect but nowhere near as bad as some continue to point out.

Its not even Milligan/Bartley. Its McGeouch and McGinn. They kept the ball and took it forward. That meant the defence had way less pressure on it. I hope Gogic isn't just a big kicker because we need someone who can pass it and keep it.

h18eeynick
01-08-2020, 09:03 AM
Its not even Milligan/Bartley. Its McGeouch and McGinn. They kept the ball and took it forward. That meant the defence had way less pressure on it. I hope Gogic isn't just a big kicker because we need someone who can pass it and keep it.

I was well impressed with Gogic last year in the few times I saw him and was outstanding against Rangers. I think he maybe played centre half in that game and won everything coming his way.

01-08-2020, 09:13 AM

I think Gogic can pass the ball well but his main strength is his defensive capability he also used to be at Swansea. Main concern around him I think is how strict refs may be with him as he has a bit of a tough man reputation. Looking forward to see him play as he will be wanting to impress and has something to prove here.

01-08-2020, 09:13 AM
So were you happy to see Kamberi not track back or close down his man, or Vela just standing in the same 10 yard space doing sod all, or the majority of the midfield not putting in a tackle or closing anybody down. I expect 100% effort from every player at Hibs, if it turns out that the other team were better on the day then fair enough but I want 11 players on that pitch chasing, closing down and tackling and at the very least look as if they want to win at Hibs.
You don't have to be brilliant players to defend as a team as Motherwell, St Mirren etc all did it against us last season and to good effect.

I wasn't, but i was also not happy at full backs being easily beaten and failing to stop crosses or passes into the box more than i believe they should.

I was also unhappy at our centre halves being beaten to those crosses, by imitating statues and watching their man run off them without going with them and making a challenge too many times over the course of the season.

Yes, defend as a team, but FFS defenders have to do the basics better too in my humble opinion. :greengrin

01-08-2020, 09:19 AM
Wonder if the injury to Doidge in pre season will be enough to convince Ross to sign another striker. With him out it leaves two very inexperienced strikers in Nisbet and Gullan.

Found it interesting how upfront he was in his interview about signing players/renewing contracts etc and he just has a wish list which others handle.

01-08-2020, 09:25 AM
Wonder if the injury to Doidge in pre season will be enough to convince Ross to sign another striker. With him out it leaves two very inexperienced strikers in Nisbet and Gullan.

Found it interesting how upfront he was in his interview about signing players/renewing contracts etc and he just has a wish list which others handle.

Don't think Doidge is a million miles away and we have gone with 3 for most seasons. We can go with 1 up to with 3 behind (Allan, Boyle, Wright) or similar. We could play Boyle up top mot the best I know
The thing is we have options
In saying all that I'd always be happier with 4 forwards.

Still think there will be some ins and outs, but think I still expect Boyle to go unfortunately and kamberi and James maybe even 1 other, that will give us space and funds to strengthen and ballance the squad more

01-08-2020, 09:33 AM
Talking about a shortage of strikers when we have an expensive one on the books, who we won’t be using, is bizarre.

Not that I’m saying we should be using him by the way, it’s just a bit unusual.

01-08-2020, 09:38 AM
Talking about a shortage of strikers when we have an expensive one on the books, who we won’t be using, is bizarre.

Not that I’m saying we should be using him by the way, it’s just a bit unusual.

JR has obviously made the assessment that Kamberi would be more hassle than he is worth trying to reintegrate him into the squad.

Kamberi was a decent player but he's not a world beater so it's probably fair enough.

01-08-2020, 12:18 PM
I wasn't, but i was also not happy at full backs being easily beaten and failing to stop crosses or passes into the box more than i believe they should.

I was also unhappy at our centre halves being beaten to those crosses, by imitating statues and watching their man run off them without going with them and making a challenge too many times over the course of the season.

Yes, defend as a team, but FFS defenders have to do the basics better too in my humble opinion. :greengrin

Agree 100%, players need to start stepping up, no matter what we think of them after 2016 they may have to be replaced if they don't show it on the pitch.

01-08-2020, 01:14 PM
Docherty not even in the squad today...

01-08-2020, 07:30 PM
After seeing our first game today and winning against a tough Kilmarnock team, where do people think we need to strengthen?

Still the same as before or opinion changes? For me I still think we need

Left back (If Doig plays like that regularly but willing to give him more games. A loan for a season may be more beneficial)

Centre mid - Doc or similar with lots of energy and puts his man under pressure

Striker - One that can drift wide and beat a man at ease with skill or pace and make things happen.

JammyDoidger
01-08-2020, 07:34 PM
After seeing our first game today and winning against a tough Kilmarnock team, where do people think we need to strengthen?

Left back (If Doig plays like that regularly but willing to give him more games. A loan for a season may be more beneficial)

Striker - One that can drift wide and beat a man at ease with skill or pace and make things happen.

That was the worst killie side we've seen in years. Won't get many easier games than that.

01-08-2020, 07:44 PM
That was the worst killie side we've seen in years. Won't get many easier games than that.

Tough as in competed well and made it hard for us to stamp our authority on the game. They’re sorely missing a creative player.

If they sign a creative player and get Brophy fit I think they’ll do fine.

01-08-2020, 07:56 PM

Definitely still need to sign a centre half. A quick, strong, left footed centre half would be ideal. Doig looks promising but the lad has only just turned 18.

I think today was a perfect example of what's needed at Hibernian FC.

The much aligned defence repelled almost ever cross into the box. The problem was that the midfield offered little protection and was unable to stop ball after ball being launched into our box.

We need more athletes in the midfield that will work hard to close down the oppositions options from midfield. I lost count of the times that the Killie defenders were able to run into our half unopposed in the second half.

PH91
01-08-2020, 08:04 PM

Left back - if hibs see doig as the long term replacement for stevenson then there is no need for a new left back or to send him out on loan. They will share the position whilst doig learns the role here at hibs. We also have mackie to cover injuries and hanlon and newell capable as last resorts.

Midfielder - agree we need another. Ideally docherty in. Wouldn't be surprised to see hallberg move on.

Striker - any other striker coming in would likely be a 4th choice on a low wage so i cant see it, especially with boyle still here. Can the player you have described be gullan? Similar to doig, if hibs see him as a future first team player he needs to start getting game time now.

01-08-2020, 08:04 PM

The much aligned defence repelled almost ever cross into the box. The problem was that the midfield offered little protection and was unable to stop ball after ball being launched into our box.

We need more athletes in the midfield that will work hard to close down the oppositions options from midfield. I lost count of the times that the Killie defenders were able to run into our half unopposed in the second half.

Also can I address another massive misnomer/faux pas on here as of late.

It’s Nisbet. Not Nesbet or Nesbit.

This will save a lot of Rab C puns on future threads.

Thank you.

BlackSheep
01-08-2020, 09:20 PM
Also can I address another massive misnomer/faux pas on here as of late.

It’s Nisbet. Not Nesbet or Nesbit.

This will save a lot of Rab C puns on future threads.

Thank you.

Nor is it Nisbit

147lothian
01-08-2020, 09:25 PM

This can't be based on today's performance because I thought he was the best of three good defenders who cleared everything

JammyDoidger
01-08-2020, 09:39 PM
This can't be based on today's performance because I thought he was the best of three good defenders who cleared everything

He twisted his ankle. He's injury prone.

01-08-2020, 09:55 PM
Raman Bhardwag tweets

St Mirren have made an approach to Celtic to sign striker Bayo. Saints made move for Bayo in Jan window.

01-08-2020, 10:10 PM

Disagree usual stuffy team who pose a threat. Alll teams will take a few games to get to speed.

01-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Serie A side Bologna want to sign Hearts kid Aaron Hickey.

The Italians are the latest big club to register an interest in the £1.5million-rated full back. MailSport can reveal that Premier League side Aston Villa are now also in the race for Hickey, alongside the likes of Bayern Munich.

But Bologna lead the race and are expected to contact the Tynecastle hierarchy this week.

Sinisa Mihajlovic’s side are currently 12th in Serie A as it heads to a conclusion.

01-08-2020, 10:25 PM
They ****s need some money then

147lothian
01-08-2020, 11:28 PM

:aok: nailed it!

02-08-2020, 01:42 AM

Definitely his ankle? I was getting the fear it was his knee again and he was playing through the pain!

Having him back and fit is a huge boost and he makes a massive difference. Dominates the striker, reads the game well and wins everything in the air.

If he stays fit we have some player on our hands, needs to cut out the daft challenges though which hopefully he learns.

02-08-2020, 07:11 AM
Definitely his ankle? I was getting the fear it was his knee again and he was playing through the pain!

Having him back and fit is a huge boost and he makes a massive difference. Dominates the striker, reads the game well and wins everything in the air.

If he stays fit we have some player on our hands, needs to cut out the daft challenges though which hopefully he learns.Yeh was either his ankle or Achilles. He hurt it in the first half and played on the rest of the game, you could see him grimacing at times so I'm hoping it's not bad.

Not sure where people seem to have gotten the knee thing from, was it commentary? Either way, definitely not his knee so that's very good news.

02-08-2020, 07:43 AM
Yeh was either his ankle or Achilles. He hurt it in the first half and played on the rest of the game, you could see him grimacing at times so I'm hoping it's not bad.

Not sure where people seem to have gotten the knee thing from, was it commentary? Either way, definitely not his knee so that's very good news.

It was the fact he was limping and no one knew why, only to be expected that we thought it was his knee again.

02-08-2020, 07:46 AM

The Italians are the latest big club to register an interest in the £1.5million-rated full back. MailSport can reveal that Premier League side Aston Villa are now also in the race for Hickey, alongside the likes of Bayern Munich.

But Bologna lead the race and are expected to contact the Tynecastle hierarchy this week.

Sinisa Mihajlovic’s side are currently 12th in Serie A as it heads to a conclusion.

Is this his last year of contract?

Greenworld
02-08-2020, 08:05 AM
Is this his last year of contract?Yes , he should sit tight [emoji16][emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

02-08-2020, 08:08 AM

We’l get this pish till October until he lines up against Dundee and gives away the first goal.🙄

Greenworld
02-08-2020, 08:12 AM
Left back - if hibs see doig as the long term replacement for stevenson then there is no need for a new left back or to send him out on loan. They will share the position whilst doig learns the role here at hibs. We also have mackie to cover injuries and hanlon and newell capable as last resorts.

Midfielder - agree we need another. Ideally docherty in. Wouldn't be surprised to see hallberg move on.

Striker - any other striker coming in would likely be a 4th choice on a low wage so i cant see it, especially with boyle still here. Can the player you have described be gullan? Similar to doig, if hibs see him as a future first team player he needs to start getting game time now.First and foremost the midfield needs addressed. Might not be popular but don't think Docherty is the answer.
We still don't have a playmaker right in front of gogic that position to me is the key to this team.
Scott allan once again struggled to get past 60 mins ..
We won the game , just! Which is good but team selection I'm not sure it was right.

02-08-2020, 08:15 AM

100% agree.

We need ENERGY in the midfield. We have lost Docherty and Omeonga who closed players down.

Newell I like as he adds calmness and SA versus Mallan debate will be discussed all season. Both add assists and goals but rarely play in same team.

Gogic was everywhere and need another player who is involved like him.
Would love to see his stats from yesterday. We can’t fall into the Vela, Mallan and Allan slow non tackling midfield ever again.

I still would love a fast left winger - I would probably take Jordan Jones but he seems to have an ego. (Maybe what we need it he’s ok in the dressing room). But on loan from Rangers wouldn’t be ideal.

Boyle situation needs sorted - sign on and say he’s committed or prepare to replace him as he will be missed massively.

Doidge and Nisbet together I think could work but we haven’t seen it yet. Would still like a 4th striker - as if Boyle leaves 3 isn’t enough.

02-08-2020, 08:24 AM

That would be a good move for him. Mihajlovic is a good manager and was an excellent defender.

02-08-2020, 08:31 AM
Yeh was either his ankle or Achilles. He hurt it in the first half and played on the rest of the game, you could see him grimacing at times so I'm hoping it's not bad.

Ross said after the game that Porteous had gone over on his ankle, but wanted to keep playing. Admirable commitment, but we've been here before with the laddie. I suppose we have to trust the judgement of the people on the spot, saying that, the past history shows judgement that isn't always the wisest. If you're grimacing, hitting the turf in frustration ( as implied by another poster earlier) etc, doesn't sound that smart to keep going.

02-08-2020, 08:37 AM
100% agree.

We need ENERGY in the midfield. We have lost Docherty and Omeonga who closed players down.

Newell I like as he adds calmness and SA versus Mallan debate will be discussed all season. Both add assists and goals but rarely play in same team.

Gogic was everywhere and need another player who is involved like him.
Would love to see his stats from yesterday. We can’t fall into the Vela, Mallan and Allan slow non tackling midfield ever again.

I still would love a fast left winger - I would probably take Jordan Jones but he seems to have an ego. (Maybe what we need it he’s ok in the dressing room). But on loan from Rangers wouldn’t be ideal.

Boyle situation needs sorted - sign on and say he’s committed or prepare to replace him as he will be missed massively.

Doidge and Nisbet together I think could work but we haven’t seen it yet. Would still like a 4th striker - as if Boyle leaves 3 isn’t enough.

I've been thinking about this since yesterday and i cant decide if we need an energy in midfield or someone who is great at taking the ball and controlling it and recycling it. Something that Dylan used to do for us

02-08-2020, 08:43 AM
I've been thinking about this since yesterday and i cant decide if we need an energy in midfield or someone who is great at taking the ball and controlling it and recycling it. Something that Dylan used to do for us

Energy for me. Based on yesterday Gogic is a definiite first pick. When Bartley played along with McGeouch I felt they got in each others way, as although totally different players they played in the same part of the pitch.

Scott Allan wasn't great yesterday, but the one bit of class he showed yesterday resulted in a goal. Rather than focus on his failings I'd rather we signed players to allow him a free role, let him do what he does best.

02-08-2020, 08:50 AM

Hearts are due Celtic a big cut of any transfer I believe

02-08-2020, 08:54 AM

Bit of both but these come with a price tag.

I feel Dylan or SJM would be the missing piece. But good point about getting in the way of each other and nothing in front to pass to.

Thing is when they played we moaned they didn’t score enough. Then we add Mallan and Allan and complain they don’t tackle - track back / close down enough.

I think Docherty would definitely improve us - should try sign him and even have a buy back clause if huns want him 2 years later.

02-08-2020, 08:58 AM
I don’t think we are able to play Allan, Mallan or Newal together. The allow the opposition too much space in midfield. All three are good with the ball at their feet but that is only half of what is needed to be in a team which want to be challenging for Europe. They need to be closing players down and working hard to control the midfield. None of those three do that.

JammyDoidger
02-08-2020, 08:59 AM
My thoughts on yesterday was the back 3 was good enough, read the game well.
Felt Drey Wright had a safe debut. Made sure he done the basics well and rarely tried anything too adventurous, same goes for doig. Hopefully see both produce better when they settle.

Felt Nisbit gave the killie backline an easy shift if I'm honest, good movement for the first goal though.

We still allowed too many early crosses into the box.

Gogic was good. would have liked him to be more involved when Tschibola started his nonsense though!

Boyle was the difference. We must keep him!

Greenworld
02-08-2020, 09:00 AM
I've been thinking about this since yesterday and i cant decide if we need an energy in midfield or someone who is great at taking the ball and controlling it and recycling it. Something that Dylan used to do for usExactley what we need

02-08-2020, 11:22 AM
Gogic was good. would have liked him to be more involved when Tschibola started his nonsense though!

Boyle was the difference. We must keep him!

Porteous stepped in to look after Boyle. Adding Gogic would have been overkill.

rossevenil
02-08-2020, 12:10 PM

It was mentioned on the BBC Sportsound coverage can`t remember if it was Michael Stewart or the commentator who suggested it was a knee problem but they definitely initimated it was a
knee issue.

Pete70
02-08-2020, 03:00 PM
It was mentioned on the BBC Sportsound coverage can`t remember if it was Michael Stewart or the commentator who suggested it was a knee problem but they definitely initimated it was a
knee issue.

JR said post match that Porteous rolled his ankle in the first half but wanted to play on.

02-08-2020, 03:04 PM
I don’t think we are able to play Allan, Mallan or Newal together. The allow the opposition too much space in midfield. All three are good with the ball at their feet but that is only half of what is needed to be in a team which want to be challenging for Europe. They need to be closing players down and working hard to control the midfield. None of those three do that.

Joe Newell put himself about well yesterday and made some good tactical fouls aswell.

02-08-2020, 03:06 PM
Joe Newell put himself about well yesterday and made some good tactical fouls aswell.

He's a good balance of attack and defence. One of Allan/Mallan will be just fine in there with him and Gogic.

02-08-2020, 03:41 PM

He's a good balance of attack and defence. One of Allan/Mallan will be just fine in there with him and Gogic.

We still lost control of the midfield totally though. I don’t think that was down to Gogic though as I thought he was good. Newall and Allan give players far too much space on the ball. Newall had a decent game when he had the ball but off the ball he was slow to get to the man. Put in some good tackles but not enough to dominate the space. I haven’t seen anyone say we had control of that midfield so there has to be a reason for that?

02-08-2020, 04:19 PM
We still lost control of the midfield totally though. I don’t think that was down to Gogic though as I thought he was good. Newall and Allan give players far too much space on the ball. Newall had a decent game when he had the ball but off the ball he was slow to get to the man. Put in some good tackles but not enough to dominate the space. I haven’t seen anyone say we had control of that midfield so there has to be a reason for that?

They had 2/3 strong boys in there, however they done absolutely nothing with the ball. When we got the ball we created chances. Not the game plan we would have wanted but in reality it’s not the end of the world, we’re so quick on the break that it sometimes works soaking pressure up, inviting teams and then turning play over very quickly.

02-08-2020, 04:21 PM

I think it’s because we want to have our cake and eat it formation and line up wise.

We want 2 strikers. We want Scott Allan to effectively play a free role and be able to create. We want a defensive midfielder. We want numbers in the middle of defence to be able to dunt crosses away.

Every formation we can come up with we have to cede something, to make a sacrifice somewhere. I do think that this formation probably best suits our current group of players but we probably have to accept that from time to time we’ll get ganged up in out wide, leading to lots of crosses coming in, and that in carrying Scott Allan (and arguably to an extent -Newell) that we might lose the midfield a bit.

I’m happy with the result and don’t think the performance was all that bad but I don’t think we’re quite there yet. Doidge coming in up front and Boyle going to RWB might help us hold it up front a bit better. I like all the individuals in and around the first team at the moment and I think we’ll have a decent season, but I still think there’s something missing - and I can’t quite put my finger on what.

Robbo6-2
02-08-2020, 04:27 PM
Scott Allan is not performing well enough and if we are being brutally honest it has been for a long period.

He cant keep giving away the ball hoping for that killer pass. People argue his assist stats are up there with the best in the league but his pass success rate must be one of the lowest in the league. You can't argue that when it comes off it looks good but you cant give away the ball 15 times in a row before it. I think hes lost at least a yard of pace as well which doesnt help him. Right now he is a luxury we cant afford imo.

02-08-2020, 04:29 PM
Scott Allan is not performing well enough and if we are being brutally honest it has been for a long period.

He cant keep giving away the ball hoping for that killer pass. People argue his assist stats are up there with the best in the league but his pass success rate must be one of the lowest in the league. You can't argue that when it comes off it looks good but you cant give away the ball 15 times in a row before it. I think hes lost at least a yard of pace as well which doesnt help him. Right now he is a luxury we cant afford imo.

Setup the winner but we can’t afford it...

02-08-2020, 04:31 PM
I think it’s because we want to have our cake and eat it formation and line up wise.

We want 2 strikers. We want Scott Allan to effectively play a free role and be able to create. We want a defensive midfielder. We want numbers in the middle of defence to be able to dunt crosses away.

Every formation we can come up with we have to cede something, to make a sacrifice somewhere. I do think that this formation probably best suits our current group of players but we probably have to accept that from time to time we’ll get ganged up in out wide, leading to lots of crosses coming in, and that in carrying Scott Allan (and arguably to an extent -Newell) that we might lose the midfield a bit.

I’m happy with the result and don’t think the performance was all that bad but I don’t think we’re quite there yet. Doidge coming in up front and Boyle going to RWB might help us hold it up front a bit better. I like all the individuals in and around the first team at the moment and I think we’ll have a decent season, but I still think there’s something missing - and I can’t quite put my finger on what.

I said yesterday I think our changes at half time let Killie back into the game. The formation we started with was the right option for me as it allowed us to play on the front foot but we had enough to protect us still. The changes seemed to mostly invite pressure onto us but also kill off our threat going forward. 3-5-2 going forward for me.

Robbo6-2
02-08-2020, 04:35 PM

Boyle had alot to do to finish it off.

Forgot the 10 plus times he gave the ball up during the first half.

There was reason why he was taken off at 59mins.

02-08-2020, 04:50 PM
Boyle had alot to do to finish it off.

Forgot the 10 plus times he gave the ball up during the first half.

There was reason why he was taken off at 59mins.

Of course, no one is arguing he was great. But he provides assists even at his worst. Boyle May have had a bit to do however Allan skinned a boy on the edge of our box, got us over half way and put Boyle one on one with the defender. I’d back Boyle time after time in that situation. We can certainly afford him if he’s setting up our winning goal. There’s no guarantee we win that game without Scott Allan first half.

02-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Energy for me. Based on yesterday Gogic is a definiite first pick. When Bartley played along with McGeouch I felt they got in each others way, as although totally different players they played in the same part of the pitch.

Scott Allan wasn't great yesterday, but the one bit of class he showed yesterday resulted in a goal. Rather than focus on his failings I'd rather we signed players to allow him a free role, let him do what he does best.

Spot on re Allan. He scores or provides an assist near enough 2 out of every three games.

As he says himself he tries the unexpected. This won’t always come off but that is why he gets so many assists.

All for each having their own opinion but I feel he gets for too much stick cause of what he can do and fans expect these high standards for 90 mins.

If he could do that he would never be at Hibs

02-08-2020, 05:17 PM
Of course, no one is arguing he was great. But he provides assists even at his worst. Boyle May have had a bit to do however Allan skinned a boy on the edge of our box, got us over half way and put Boyle one on one with the defender. I’d back Boyle time after time in that situation. We can certainly afford him if he’s setting up our winning goal. There’s no guarantee we win that game without Scott Allan first half.

That’s where I am with Allan.

It’s easy to point out the mistakes and the imperfections.

He wins points with his creativity and I’m not convinced we win that game yesterday with a more workmanlike player on in his place.

02-08-2020, 05:25 PM
Folk pretending Allan is always that poor. He really isn't. That was a poor performance from him overall and they are pretty rare.

147lothian
02-08-2020, 05:49 PM
Scott Allan picks out passes that win games, that is what he does on a regular basis, I'm totally onboard with others who have said that we need players that can play round him, an absolutely vital part of the team for me.

02-08-2020, 05:54 PM
Spot on re Allan. He scores or provides an assist near enough 2 out of every three games.

As he says himself he tries the unexpected. This won’t always come off but that is why he gets so many assists.

All for each having their own opinion but I feel he gets for too much stick cause of what he can do and fans expect these high standards for 90 mins.

If he could do that he would never be at Hibs

Is scoring or providing an assist 2 out of 3 enough in itself? Folk like McLaren, and McNulty to a lesser extent, had their critics (me included) as it could be like playing with 10 men the other 89 minutes they weren’t scoring in. I think it’s just as relevant to ask the same kind of questions about Allan and his overall contribution.

I still don’t think we have the right balance playing Allan & Newell, they are too similar and doing too similar jobs IMO. I’d choose one of them beside Gogic, at this moment Newell, and get some energy in there beside them like Docherty.

02-08-2020, 05:59 PM
Games where Scott Allan plays well are games where we dominate. He's very good player who makes football worth watching. However, there will be games where we benefit from playing conventional wingers, and Scott might be a bench player who allows us to change shape in those games.

Against Livi, I think we'd do better with conventional wingers rather than finding through balls on a narrow pitch against midfielders that don't give you time in possession.

smithy_hibees
02-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Scott Allan picks out passes that win games, that is what he does on a regular basis, I'm totally onboard with others who have said that we need players that can play round him, an absolutely vital part of the team for me.

Great post.. Allan wins us football matches on a regular basis, he assists yesterday in 2-1 win, no Allan it ends 1-1

02-08-2020, 06:04 PM
Great post.. Allan wins us football matches on a regular basis, he assists yesterday in 2-1 win, no Allan it ends 1-1

That’s school boy logic. Maybe his replacement allows us to dominate the game and we win 3-1.
Scott Allan is good but it does not give him a free pass to not work hard.

02-08-2020, 06:31 PM
Is scoring or providing an assist 2 out of 3 enough in itself? Folk like McLaren, and McNulty to a lesser extent, had their critics (me included) as it could be like playing with 10 men the other 89 minutes they weren’t scoring in. I think it’s just as relevant to ask the same kind of questions about Allan and his overall contribution.

I still don’t think we have the right balance playing Allan & Newell, they are too similar and doing too similar jobs IMO. I’d choose one of them beside Gogic, at this moment Newell, and get some energy in there beside them like Docherty.

Totally respect others views however who else is going to get near providing that amount of assists / goals ? Even the goals he isn’t direct assist he is more often or not the creative spark that is one or two passes prior to the assist.

Only Boyle is a more valuable player to the team in my opinion.

02-08-2020, 06:36 PM
That’s school boy logic. Maybe his replacement allows us to dominate the game and we win 3-1.

I’ll let our stats men at the club to determine how hard he works. I could go and play for hibs and run about for 70/80 minutes straight, I pay my money to watch folk like Scott Allan do things like he done yesterday. Sat a very good player on his arse before driving forward and providing an assist. Moments of magic. He was replaced and we went slightly more conventional and seen the game out.

We ‘may’ have won by more had he not played, however that’s questionable. No one can say for certain. What we can say for certain is we definitely won with him. Would you rather take a 50/50 chance we don’t win that game just so we can have more runners in midfield?

Cabbage-Patch
02-08-2020, 06:49 PM
I had to double check I clicked into the right thread. Are there any actual transfer rumours....

Robbo6-2
02-08-2020, 07:50 PM
I would love it if someone watched the game back and counted Scott Allan pass success.

I reckon no higher than 30%

02-08-2020, 07:56 PM
I would love it if someone watched the game back and counted Scott Allan pass success.

I reckon no higher than 30%

Means nothing if he’s trying more difficult passes.

He could easily stand in the centre of the park and pass it sideways or backwards and have a much higher % but we would be losing what he’s all about, trying that difficult but effective pass when it works.

Don’t actually disagree with the general point you’re making, he was poor yesterday, I just hate these stats that are becoming so common in football these days that don’t really mean anything.

LeithMike
02-08-2020, 08:11 PM
The three in midfield are all good players but the balance is off. While Newell might be able to put himself about he's not really one for running ahead of the ball - as is the case with Gogic and Allan. They all want to get on the ball and pass but that's no good if you've not got enough players running ahead of the ball and finding space for a pass. It also makes the opposition defenders' jobs easier as they can just make the strikers and not worry about runs from deep. It ends up making Hibs look static and, no doubt, Allan's ability to find passes.

For me, its Gogic, one of Newell/Allan (although don't mind Newell at LWB) and one other. That other has to get around the park and make runs ahead of the ball. In our price bracket, I think Omeonga and Docherty are the most likely options. Such a signing could be the key to unlocking the potential of all of our other players.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

02-08-2020, 08:12 PM
Cmon guys ! Can we keep this for transfer rumours.

02-08-2020, 08:21 PM
I’m a huge Scotty Allan fan however yesterday and before lock down his performances were off imo.

Yes his passes are a bit more risk so they won’t always come off, but yesterday especially it was like every time he had the ball he was trying to to force it. On one occasion we had a good spell of the ball in the first half and it went to him with no one near him, he waited about 5-10 seconds until he was closed down before playing the pass that was blocked.

My main thing with Scotty is that with the ball id like to see him on the move more often. Short pass, make a small but effective movement then get it back again or run with the ball and then play the pass - like he did for the goal. A lot of the time he is standing virtually still trying to make it happen.

The best players drag the opposition about, find small spaces and do it all at pace and whilst moving. Ryan Christie at Celtic has become brilliant at it.

If he recycles the ball a bit more with 1 or 2 touches, moves and gets it back again then he will drag the opposition about and the key pass he is trying to make will open up.

He could be a brilliant player for us but he needs to be better with this, especially at times when as a team we’re not keeping the ball great, give us a breather. Maybe Ross is saying he wants that quick turn over and to hit teams on the counter and to take risk? I’m sure he’s said that before.

The issue we have is trying to get guys like Allan, Mallan, Newell, Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet into our team but also stay solid defensively and not give much up.

We might have to accept that some days we won’t have much possession but when we do we’re going to attack quickly and effectively.

As much as Allan frustrates me and I mention the above, at the end of the day I’d much rather a Hibs team with Scott Allan in it than not.

Re the argument of if we played another midfielder instead of him we may have more control of the game. I remember when Griffiths left and we signed Collins, some thought it might be better as he’s big and would link the play better and be a vocal point of the attack......never happened.

02-08-2020, 09:40 PM

This is how i see it too.

02-08-2020, 09:42 PM
I’m a huge Scotty Allan fan however yesterday and before lock down his performances were off imo.

Yes his passes are a bit more risk so they won’t always come off, but yesterday especially it was like every time he had the ball he was trying to to force it. On one occasion we had a good spell of the ball in the first half and it went to him with no one near him, he waited about 5-10 seconds until he was closed down before playing the pass that was blocked.

My main thing with Scotty is that with the ball id like to see him on the move more often. Short pass, make a small but effective movement then get it back again or run with the ball and then play the pass - like he did for the goal. A lot of the time he is standing virtually still trying to make it happen.

The best players drag the opposition about, find small spaces and do it all at pace and whilst moving. Ryan Christie at Celtic has become brilliant at it.

If he recycles the ball a bit more with 1 or 2 touches, moves and gets it back again then he will drag the opposition about and the key pass he is trying to make will open up.

He could be a brilliant player for us but he needs to be better with this, especially at times when as a team we’re not keeping the ball great, give us a breather. Maybe Ross is saying he wants that quick turn over and to hit teams on the counter and to take risk? I’m sure he’s said that before.

The issue we have is trying to get guys like Allan, Mallan, Newell, Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet into our team but also stay solid defensively and not give much up.

We might have to accept that some days we won’t have much possession but when we do we’re going to attack quickly and effectively.

As much as Allan frustrates me and I mention the above, at the end of the day I’d much rather a Hibs team with Scott Allan in it than not.

Re the argument of if we played another midfielder instead of him we may have more control of the game. I remember when Griffiths left and we signed Collins, some thought it might be better as he’s big and would link the play better and be a vocal point of the attack......never happened.

Agree with this.

Im also not sure he’s been as conscientious as some others with his training during lockdown. He could lose a kilo or two.

02-08-2020, 09:43 PM
Scott Allan

https://totalfootballanalysis.com/player-analysis/scott-allan-2019-20-scout-report-tactcical-analysis-tactics

HendoDelivered
02-08-2020, 09:48 PM
Transfer thread now becomes a Scott Allan debate...

02-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Transfer thread now becomes a Scott Allan debate...

Maybe that means in a sliding doors moment we are signing Andy Halliday?

02-08-2020, 09:54 PM

Wow all u have to do is pass ten yards once or twice to be a hero. He did not play Boyle in the way Nisbet did. He is capable but will cause more problems for us than he will solve unless something changes.

02-08-2020, 09:57 PM
Wow all u have to do is pass ten yards once or twice to be a hero. He did not play Boyle in the way Nisbet did. He is capable but will cause more problems for us than he will solve unless something changes.

There’s a lot more wrong in the team than Scott Allan.

02-08-2020, 10:07 PM
There’s a lot more wrong in the team than Scott Allan.

I am sure we won our first game?!?

02-08-2020, 10:10 PM
I am sure we won our first game?!?

Yes. Partially to do with Scotty.

02-08-2020, 10:11 PM
Yes. Partially to do with Scotty.

Well yes he set up our winning goal with a lovely big of energy and skill to drive the team forward 👍

I just wondered if I had seen this in a parallel universe perhaps? 😁

02-08-2020, 10:12 PM

He put a very good midfielder on his arse, carried them ball 30/40 yards, put Boyle one on one with the defender, thus set up a goal. He never caused us any problems on Saturday. He wasn’t at his best but it’s the first game of a season and he’s set up the winner. You’d think we conceded 3 from open play all from allans misplaced passes the way your going on.

I’d also say that if it were Allan running through in the second half and not Gogic, Drey Wright would have been in one on one with the keeper as Allan would take the right choice.

02-08-2020, 10:13 PM
Scott Allan

https://totalfootballanalysis.com/player-analysis/scott-allan-2019-20-scout-report-tactcical-analysis-tactics

This should be shown to everyone who questions his impact. Wonderful player who was excellent last season.

02-08-2020, 10:14 PM
Agree with this.

Im also not sure he’s been as conscientious as some others with his training during lockdown. He could lose a kilo or two.

Probably due to the fact that as a diabetic with health problems, I’d imagine he was shielding for a very large part of it. Couldn’t say for certain but would imagine he was in that category.

02-08-2020, 10:15 PM
Probably due to the fact that as a diabetic with health problems, I’d imagine he was shielding for a very large part of it. Couldn’t say for certain but would imagine he was in that category.

He was, it was mentioned in commentary.

02-08-2020, 10:28 PM
Well yes he set up our winning goal with a lovely big of energy and skill to drive the team forward 👍

I just wondered if I had seen this in a parallel universe perhaps? 😁

If you have mate I’m not there: 👀😃

02-08-2020, 10:30 PM
I'm not a type 1 diabetic, but maybe if you ask Scott Allan to do all the chasing back and closing down some fans want he wouldn't be able to then do the things he's good at. .

The guy in my avatar is my favourite Hibs player of all time, I can only imagine the stick he'd receive if he was playing these days. Watching players like him and Scott Allan are why I enjoy going to football matches. It will be a sad day for me when we can't find a place for him in a Hibs team. Doesn't mean he is immune from criticism though, his passing yesterday was poor and he tried to force it too often when he should probably have played a simpler ball. It is worth bearing in mind though yesterday was his first game playing with a new striker, it will take some time 'til they get used to each others game.

02-08-2020, 10:32 PM
This should be shown to everyone who questions his impact. Wonderful player who was excellent last season.

The posters ripping Scott Allan but seem to think Hallberg or before that Slivka waiting for them to produce get me annoyed more than I should. Allan is the best footballer we have and was gutted he came off yesterday. Hallberg would do zero ever and still be liked.!

Every single player on the park include JN (who I rate) look to pass the ball to Scotty. All the time.

02-08-2020, 10:45 PM
The posters ripping Scott Allan but seem to think Hallberg or before that Slivka waiting for them to produce get me annoyed more than I should. Allan is the best footballer we have and was gutted he came off yesterday. Hallberg would do zero ever and still be liked.!

Every single player on the park include JN (who I rate) look to pass the ball to Scotty. All the time.

Allan is quality. My point is only that if you play Allan then you need more than Newall. That’s hard on Newall because I feel he can be decent on the ball but if you have Allan then you need another ball winner in midfield.

02-08-2020, 10:50 PM
Allan is quality. My point is only that if you play Allan then you need more than Newall. That’s hard on Newall because I feel he can be decent on the ball but if you have Allan then you need another ball winner in midfield.

I wouldn’t want to be the manager making the decisions. It’s a good thing to have. Bring in Mallan Horgan and maybe Docherty then it’s horrible to have the say so. Horgan is a fabulous footballer too, he’s overlooked but must be on good money.

02-08-2020, 11:24 PM
I wouldn’t want to be the manager making the decisions. It’s a good thing to have. Bring in Mallan Horgan and maybe Docherty then it’s horrible to have the say so. Horgan is a fabulous footballer too, he’s overlooked but must be on good money.

There have been some absolute garbage footballers at Hibs over the years. I don’t think any of the current lot fit that bill. It’s just that the balance isn’t right. A lot of our current midfielders are very tidy on the ball but not very good at closing the space when we don’t have it. JR needs to get more ball winners in.

1875godsgift
02-08-2020, 11:46 PM

Not trying to be a smart-arse, but that's school boy logic. Maybe his replacement allows us to dominate the game and we lose 3-2?
Fact is he assists in a 2-1 win :thumbsup:

03-08-2020, 05:17 AM

This is a far better argument than is Scotty worth it or not. Newell is decent but he is not what is needed to balance the midfield, we need some energy around Scott, if we could bring in either Docherty or Omeonga to give you that bit of bite and energy then the midfield would probably be better.

03-08-2020, 05:24 AM

Horgan is not fabulous, a wee bit OTT, he's another decent player who is wildly inconsistent. One game he'll beat players, set up a goal and score a 20 yarder, the next 4 games he'll blow out his arse after 50 mins, run with his head down and blast crosses way too hard. Horgan is an over paid squad player, he has enough talent to be a regular starter but he isn't and has been in and out the team under most managers here.

03-08-2020, 06:43 AM
There have been some absolute garbage footballers at Hibs over the years. I don’t think any of the current lot fit that bill. It’s just that the balance isn’t right. A lot of our current midfielders are very tidy on the ball but not very good at closing the space when we don’t have it. JR needs to get more ball winners in.

The Count
03-08-2020, 06:57 AM
I come on this thread thinking great 3 new pages there must be some serious transfer rumours.Then disappointment its not really a transfer rumour thread.Hopefully this week it will revert back to transfer rumours.Just saying.

03-08-2020, 07:11 AM
Scott Allan is a top player but the idea that he shouldnt have to work harder due to his diabetes is nonsense. Everyone wanting us to be challenging for 3rd surely wants every player to work harder. It how you win more games.

03-08-2020, 07:15 AM
I come on this thread thinking great 3 new pages there must be some serious transfer rumours.Then disappointment its not really a transfer rumour thread.Hopefully this week it will revert back to transfer rumours.Just saying.
Here's the transfer news.
Nathan Duin at Hibs for signing talks.

03-08-2020, 07:23 AM
Scott Allan is a top player but the idea that he should have to work harder due to his diabetes is nonsense. Everyone wanting us to be challenging for 3rd surely wants every player to work harder. It how you win more games.

I’m guessing by your last two sentences you meant ‘shouldn’t have to’ - in which case I don’t think anyone has said he shouldn’t work hard. I’d suggest that none of our players don’t work hard otherwise they wouldn’t be in the side. Some run about more than others but that’s there role. Allan does the majority of his work on the ball, but also does a fair amount off it, just doesn’t chase lost causes.

03-08-2020, 07:27 AM
I’m guessing by your last two sentences you meant ‘shouldn’t have to’ - in which case I don’t think anyone has said he shouldn’t work hard. I’d suggest that none of our players don’t work hard otherwise they wouldn’t be in the side. Some run about more than others but that’s there role. Allan does the majority of his work on the ball, but also does a fair amount off it, just doesn’t chase lost causes.

We need to chase lost causes. As they turn into opponent attacks. We saw it on many occasions v Killie. If we are going to cut down the crosses into the box all midfielders need to close down players. We aren’t good enough to have “luxury” players and that’s why he ended up being subbed.

03-08-2020, 07:31 AM
We need to chase lost causes. As they turn into opponent attacks. We saw it on many occasions v Killie. If we are going to cut down the crosses into the box all midfielders need to close down players. We aren’t good enough to have “luxury” players and that’s why he ended up being subbed.

I disagree. Scott Allan does his best work on the ball, not off it. His skill helped us into a lead. He was then sacrificed to make us more solid and see the game out. There’s room for both in a 90 minute game.

Been argued already that we may have won easier without him, but we also may not have won if we just had grafters for 90 minutes (essentially what Kilmarnock had). We won 2-1 and every player made their mark in their own way.

03-08-2020, 07:47 AM

Maybe, let’s see. I wouldn’t mind Newell and Gogic as a central pairing, I don’t see why they can’t work with another body in there too.

It wasn’t a brilliant performance on Saturday but all the new signings got a start and I think there is a lot more to come.

03-08-2020, 07:52 AM
Maybe, let’s see. I wouldn’t mind Newell and Gogic as a central pairing, I don’t see why they can’t work with another body in there too.

It wasn’t a brilliant performance on Saturday but all the new signings got a start and I think there is a lot more to come.

I think generally it will take a few games before teams are fully at it.

03-08-2020, 08:06 AM
This is what kris Commons thinks..

Ex-Celtic and Hibs star Kris Commons reckons a bid of £250,000 would interest the Easter Road club.

03-08-2020, 08:07 AM

Ex-Celtic and Hibs star Kris Commons reckons a bid of £250,000 would interest the Easter Road club.

250k for who?

03-08-2020, 08:09 AM

Ex-Celtic and Hibs star Kris Commons reckons a bid of £250,000 would interest the Easter Road club.He's surely not talking about Martin Boyle? [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

03-08-2020, 08:10 AM
250k for who?

Boyle. We wouldn't even entertain a bid that low. Boyle can carry us in to European spot which alone would make up that.

03-08-2020, 08:17 AM
He's surely not talking about Martin Boyle? [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Yes boyle in today's scotsman.

03-08-2020, 08:19 AM
Yes boyle in today's scotsman.

Christ they'd have to chuck £250k and and 2 or 3 quality players at us 😂

Souter96Mac
03-08-2020, 08:19 AM
Boyle. We wouldn't even entertain a bid that low. Boyle can carry us in to European spot which alone would make up that.

Definitely, and I think Hibs will be aware of this. There will be a certain value threshold that other clubs will need to entertain at least to get Hibs interested.

03-08-2020, 08:24 AM
Was Stevie Mallan injured that he missed Saturday. Sorry off topic I know.

03-08-2020, 08:28 AM
BARGAIN HUNT Celtic and Rangers should test Hibs with £250k transfer bid for Martin Boyle, says Kris Commons

WTF. I’d expect 3 or 4 times that. Funny how pundits are furious when the old firm get derisory offers for their players yet encourage this stuff

03-08-2020, 08:31 AM
Commons is a complete moron so unsurprising hes coming out with pish like that.

03-08-2020, 08:31 AM

He’s Lenny’s pal

03-08-2020, 08:41 AM
Was Stevie Mallan injured that he missed Saturday. Sorry off topic I know.

Aye I never really seen much on that. Worrying if he’s injured again after just getting over another injury

03-08-2020, 08:45 AM
Aye I never really seen much on that. Worrying if he’s injured again after just getting over another injury

Slight knock, sure It was mentioned in the press conference

Clarence
03-08-2020, 08:46 AM

Would it aye? Given we’ve just spent £250k on Nisbet, I don’t really get his maths on that one. If we were only going to get that, surely we’d just let the player score valuable goals all season for us and then let him leave for nothing.

03-08-2020, 08:47 AM
BARGAIN HUNT Celtic and Rangers should test Hibs with £250k transfer bid for Martin Boyle, says Kris Commons

WTF. I’d expect 3 or 4 times that. Funny how pundits are furious when the old firm get derisory offers for their players yet encourage this stuff

It’s to set a narrative so they can paint us as unreasonable when we knock back double that. At least now we know the bid is coming.

Clarence
03-08-2020, 08:47 AM

Which Kris is thicker? Boyd or Commons? Difficult one.

03-08-2020, 08:53 AM

Leeanne Dempster should give a two-word response to any call from Celtic:

"John McGinn".

03-08-2020, 08:56 AM
@dundeeunitedfc are hoping to seal a move for @RyanEdwards_5 this week. The experienced defender, who is a long-term target of Micky Mellon, has secured his exit from @BlackpoolFC and has been offered a 2 year deal at Tannadice. See today's @ScotExpress and @Record_Sport. https://t.co/xdR2Ll3GKO

03-08-2020, 09:13 AM

He’s just doing Lennons job.

03-08-2020, 09:14 AM
@dundeeunitedfc are hoping to seal a move for @RyanEdwards_5 this week. The experienced defender, who is a long-term target of Micky Mellon, has secured his exit from @BlackpoolFC and has been offered a 2 year deal at Tannadice. See today's @ScotExpress and @Record_Sport. https://t.co/xdR2Ll3GKO

anyone got that footage of Livi fans ripping him in a Partick-Livi game: "You're just a sh*t Jack Sparrow" :greengrin

Souter96Mac
03-08-2020, 09:16 AM
anyone got that footage of Livi fans ripping him in a Partick-Livi game: "You're just a sh*t Jack Sparrow" :greengrin

It isn't the same Ryan Edwards. But yes, I remember that 😂

HendoDelivered
03-08-2020, 11:37 AM
250k for who?

That wouldn’t even buy his right foot.

03-08-2020, 01:12 PM
McNulty to Aberdeen

03-08-2020, 01:33 PM
McNulty to Aberdeen

Their one in/one out policy is looking pretty good at the moment. Think that's 3 in and none out. Be interesting to see if they get slaughtered in the media like we did.

03-08-2020, 01:36 PM
Their one in/one out policy is looking pretty good at the moment. Think that's 3 in and none out. Be interesting to see if they get slaughtered in the media like we did.

Has he signed?
That would be McNulty, Hobbin and the boy from Leeds with nobody going out. Wonder if they will pay a transfer fee soon.

Like you say we would get slated.

03-08-2020, 01:38 PM

Of course not, Dave Cormack is a Smart Businessman so this is just Smart Businessman wheeling and dealing, especially as Mcnulty will be on about £15k a week !!

03-08-2020, 01:42 PM
McNulty to Aberdeen

They're welcome to him.

03-08-2020, 02:55 PM

Of course they won’t.

We’re the only ones who’ve been slated for this across Scottish football.

HendoDelivered
03-08-2020, 03:24 PM
McNulty to Aberdeen

They were interested but not happening anymore according his old boy.

03-08-2020, 03:27 PM
Not a transfer rumour as such but

Motherwell boss Stephen Robinson is a contender to become Bournemouth’s new manager, the PA news agency understands

https://t.co/ENUAdHTNj5 https://t.co/ZyUWNFkIzT

03-08-2020, 03:27 PM
They were interested but not happening anymore according his old boy.

Wouldn't rule out him going back to Coventry just a hunch

03-08-2020, 03:28 PM
Not a transfer rumour as such but

Motherwell boss Stephen Robinson is a contender to become Bournemouth’s new manager, the PA news agency understands

https://t.co/ENUAdHTNj5 https://t.co/ZyUWNFkIzT

Can't see that at all but stranger things have happened

03-08-2020, 03:36 PM
Wouldn't rule out him going back to Coventry just a hunch

That’s the preferred destination for him.

Dmas
03-08-2020, 03:50 PM
Can't see that at all but stranger things have happened

I think Bournemouth are teetering on the brink, a drop down the leagues wouldn’t surprise me.

03-08-2020, 04:04 PM

Has now signed for Dundee Utd

03-08-2020, 04:06 PM

Utter tosh!

He put a very good midfielder on his arse, carried them ball 30/40 yards, put Boyle one on one with the defender, thus set up a goal. He never caused us any problems on Saturday. He wasn’t at his best but it’s the first game of a season and he’s set up the winner. You’d think we conceded 3 from open play all from allans misplaced passes the way your going on.

I’d also say that if it were Allan running through in the second half and not Gogic, Drey Wright would have been in one on one with the keeper as Allan would take the right choice.

Exactly, he picked up a ball just outside his own box, pulled a bit of skill to beat a man and leave him for dead, carried the ball 50+ yards into the opposition half, and played a pass to Boyle which allowed him to take on and square up a defender immediately, and then shoot and score. That goal doesn't happen if Allan doesn't do every single part of that exactly as he did, with credit to McGinn for a nice tackle that won the ball for Allan at the start of it.

To dismiss Allan's work here as "
Wow all u have to do is pass ten yards once or twice to be a hero" is very poor. There's a good argument that there wasn't another player on the park who could have done what Allan did in that sequence.

03-08-2020, 04:08 PM
Utter tosh!

Exactly, he picked up a ball just outside his own box, pulled a bit of skill to beat a man and leave him for dead, carried the ball 50+ yards into the opposition half, and played a pass to Boyle which allowed him to take on and square up a defender immediately, and then shoot and score. That goal doesn't happen if Allan doesn't do every single part of that exactly as he did, with credit to McGinn for a nice tackle that won the ball for Allan at the start of it.

To dismiss Allan's work here as "
Wow all u have to do is pass ten yards once or twice to be a hero" is very poor. There's a good argument that there wasn't another player on the park who could have done what Allan did in that sequence. Same for those who say Nisbet had a poor debut apart from the assist.

03-08-2020, 04:18 PM
McNulty to Aberdeen

The sheep are welcome to him.

03-08-2020, 04:36 PM

Neither of them can spell Chris right 😉

03-08-2020, 04:49 PM
We apparently tried to get Toby Sibbick but he’s going on loan to Belgium instead.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/toby-sibbick-transfer-latest-hibs-22463034.amp#click=https://t.co/w87M0qPfAY

At least it seems we are still in the market for defensive reinforcements (I actually think he played defensive midfield for Hearts in the two games he played?).

03-08-2020, 04:55 PM
We apparently tried to get Toby Sibbick but he’s going on loan to Belgium instead.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/toby-sibbick-transfer-latest-hibs-22463034.amp#click=https://t.co/w87M0qPfAY

At least it seems we are still in the market for defensive reinforcements.

Think he was a defensive midfielder was he not? Maybe more of a ball carrier actually. Not sure he played in defence though.

03-08-2020, 04:55 PM
Wasn’t he a midfielder with energy?

Yeah I actually think he played defensive midfield for Hearts, post edited.

03-08-2020, 05:00 PM
We should be at Liam Henderson every transfer window to see if he's open to a move here. Technically good, drives forward and absolutely tireless. Better than Docherty, who is a good player himself.

03-08-2020, 05:03 PM
We should be at Liam Henderson every transfer window to see if he's open to a move here. Technically good, drives forward and absolutely tireless. Better than Docherty, who is a good player himself.

Different players to be fair ..but a Henderson is technically better I agree ..great football brain too

03-08-2020, 05:17 PM
Same for those who say Nisbet had a poor debut apart from the assist.

agreed

03-08-2020, 05:26 PM
I’m happy that we’re still looking to bring more in

03-08-2020, 05:57 PM

At least it seems we are still in the market for defensive reinforcements (I actually think he played defensive midfield for Hearts in the two games he played?).

Good to see we're still trying to bring in players. Pitty for the lad Barnsley said no. Would have been nice for him to see what a proper football club in Edinburgh is like

JammyDoidger
03-08-2020, 06:00 PM
The boy Alan campbell on the bench for motherwell tonight, I'd take him. Probably out our price range though!

03-08-2020, 06:06 PM
The boy Alan campbell on the bench for motherwell tonight, I'd take him. Probably out our price range though!

He must have a knock as he’s a starter every week
Motherwell will be looking for a £1m for him, so out of our price range

03-08-2020, 06:18 PM

Is that the lad who nearly went to Celtic? If so, def our our price range.
Lewis Smith at Hamilton looks a decent prospect though.

03-08-2020, 06:20 PM
Is that the lad who nearly went to Celtic? If so, def our our price range.

Turnbull is the boy that was close to signing for Celtic

03-08-2020, 06:20 PM
Turnbull is the boy that was close to signing for Celtic

Ah ok, not sure about Campbell then.

JammyDoidger
03-08-2020, 06:21 PM
Ah ok, not sure about Campbell then.

well are the team to beat for third imo. Good squad they've got.

03-08-2020, 06:23 PM
well are the team to beat for third imo. Good squad they've got.

Been a fair bit of hype about them. Interested to see if they can live up to it tonight.

hibsmad
03-08-2020, 06:26 PM
I can't believe anyone would think we're not still in the market for a midfielder with a bit of dig.

We struggled there last season and since then we have lost Docherty, Omeonga, Slivka and Whittaker.

We have Gogic and we will probably be okay in there so long as he's fit, however we are absolutely screwed if he picks up an injury.

03-08-2020, 06:32 PM
On Motherwell I wonder if we could get Scott on loan, the guy they sold to newly relegated Hull in January? He looked a fantastic talent.

03-08-2020, 06:35 PM
From twitter

Understand Brentford are close to agreeing a transfer fee with Peterborough for Celtic target Ivan Toney. Celtic’s bid of £5m for the striker was rejected over a week ago.

03-08-2020, 06:39 PM
DONE DEAL! Airdrieonians sign midfielder Griffin Sabatini on loan from Dnipro 1

Something dodgy going on at Airdrie this summer, interesting to see how that pans out.

03-08-2020, 06:50 PM

Something dodgy going on at Airdrie this summer, interesting to see how that pans out.

Nid won’t be complaining :greengrin

JammyDoidger
03-08-2020, 06:56 PM
On Motherwell I wonder if we could get Scott on loan, the guy they sold to newly relegated Hull in January? He looked a fantastic talent.

Good player Hull will be desperate to keep him to get them back up!

03-08-2020, 06:58 PM
That Ross Stewart we were linked with from Ross County has started this game pretty well

Scored a pen just now

03-08-2020, 07:03 PM
https://twitter.com/anthonyrjoseph/status/1290361464226820096?s=21

Flo on his way finally?

03-08-2020, 07:04 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Sell on fee? 🤣

03-08-2020, 07:05 PM
Good player Hull will be desperate to keep him to get them back up!

Probably yeah.

03-08-2020, 07:05 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Fingers crossed.

03-08-2020, 07:07 PM
That Ross Stewart we were linked with from Ross County has started this game pretty well

Scored a pen just now

Big and strong too

03-08-2020, 07:16 PM

Harry Redknapp has invested in them.

03-08-2020, 07:20 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Fingers crossed this is true. The sooner he leaves, we get some kind of fee and his big wage off the books the better. Safe to say he won't be missed.

03-08-2020, 07:22 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Wonder if him going and us being after Sibbick are linked? Freed up money? We could do with another couple imo.

03-08-2020, 07:23 PM
EEN saying we’ve recouped what we paid and got a sell on clause.

03-08-2020, 07:23 PM
Wonder if him going and us being after Sibbick are linked? Freed up money? We could do with another couple imo.

If we are after Sibbick, Docherty deal must be dead

03-08-2020, 07:25 PM

Pleased enough with that I suppose

EAZY-ME
03-08-2020, 07:29 PM
Excellent news regarding kamberi ... never been so happy to see a player leave

JammyDoidger
03-08-2020, 07:31 PM
Andy halliday would be a perfect signing for us, energy in midfield and can slot in at left back:rolleyes:

03-08-2020, 07:33 PM

Who is Sibbick?

03-08-2020, 07:37 PM
Who is Sibbick?
He’s the lad who played, I think one game for Hearts last season against Rangers
Looked like we tried for him, reading the previous page

Newry Hibs
03-08-2020, 07:40 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Nice strip
https://images.app.goo.gl/ZjuszWjskC2b7qe98

03-08-2020, 07:40 PM
Andy halliday would be a perfect signing for us, energy in midfield and can slot in at left back:rolleyes:

Said this since he left The Rangers

03-08-2020, 07:41 PM

I wonder if we splashed out on Nisbet knowing it would be covered by money for Kamberi or if this will free up budget for a player or 2?

03-08-2020, 07:41 PM

Reported in the Daily Record Billy 😉The only truth in that rag ,is the date .
I’m hoping this might give us a bit cash to get Docherty permanent. 🤞

03-08-2020, 07:42 PM

He’s going to America.

03-08-2020, 07:44 PM
Fee not agreed according to this report

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/kamberi-hibs-rangers-st-gallen-18710365.amp?__twitter_impression=true

03-08-2020, 07:49 PM

Does not want to ever play against Rangers

03-08-2020, 07:51 PM
Does not want to ever play against Rangers

The reason Beckham never signed for a Prem team in England, could never play against Man U.

03-08-2020, 07:52 PM
Bye Flo, cheers for some important goals and a personal recommendation to improve your bloody attitude.

03-08-2020, 07:53 PM
The reason Beckham never signed for a Prem team in England, could never play against Man U.

Nothing to do with the £millions of Paris and LA and him making it up to his wife for banging the Nanny then? 😂😂

Sorry Burnley.....😎

EI255
03-08-2020, 07:55 PM
Bye Flo, cheers for some important goals and a personal recommendation to improve your bloody attitude.Promised so much. Didn't deliver though. He has the physical attributes, just needs to start learning the game now. Good luck!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

03-08-2020, 07:56 PM

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/kamberi-hibs-rangers-st-gallen-18710365.amp?__twitter_impression=true

Bit of a dampener on it then. Hopefully it’s agreed soon.

EI255
03-08-2020, 07:57 PM
Nice strip
https://images.app.goo.gl/ZjuszWjskC2b7qe98That's weirdly similar to ours in every way!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

03-08-2020, 07:58 PM

I’d ignore the Sibbick chat.

03-08-2020, 08:00 PM

Hibs correspondent for EEN and Sky Sports News Editor both saying it’s been agreed and I’d imagine they will have decent sources within the club to confirm that with before running with the story so will hopefully be a goer.

glad to be rid of him so we can move on. Liking the look of Ross Stewart playing for County just now. Big lad but quite mobile and lots of tracking back and tackling while playing on the left of a front three.

03-08-2020, 08:01 PM
Edinburgh Live isn’t even a proper news outlet.

03-08-2020, 08:05 PM
Maybe not but he's been at the Bounce games, and the press conference and I'm sure he was at ER on Saturday.

All the above may off course be made up 👀😁

03-08-2020, 08:10 PM

Flo on his way finally?

Familiar surroundings for him if he does sign for them...

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcRWhBPIRIeo_SnQMnd1uT6PlTb__dd 40aKD2A&usqp=CAU

03-08-2020, 08:10 PM

According to reports at the time ,we got him for 100k as part of our loan agreement 😉With Sunderland put off by his parent club wanting 1.7 m .
Would we let him go for 100k ? Maybe just cutting our losses and freeing up a wage ( He would have been one of our higher earners)

G15 Hibs
03-08-2020, 08:19 PM

It's part of Reach plc, formerly the Mirror Group, so essentially the same sports news as the Daily Record.

03-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Nice strip
https://images.app.goo.gl/ZjuszWjskC2b7qe98

Bought that strip off classic football shirts for around £15 last year. :aok:

Souter96Mac
03-08-2020, 08:21 PM
Not a rumour but Ziggy Gordon leaving Central Coast Mariners after one season. Don't even know if he's moving back to Scotland, but could be an option at full back?

badabing67
03-08-2020, 08:22 PM
This is a far better argument than is Scotty worth it or not. Newell is decent but he is not what is needed to balance the midfield, we need some energy around Scott, if we could bring in either Docherty or Omeonga to give you that bit of bite and energy then the midfield would probably be better.

I would love to see both of them back, big ask but stranger things have happened

03-08-2020, 08:24 PM
Rangers are currently linked with the St Gallen striker, wonder if Flo’s move is dependent on that one going through.

So disappointed with how the signing of Flo has actually went. When we got him on loan I was a massive fan and thought he has everything the modern day striker needed and thought it was an absolute certainty that he would leave us for a couple of million to a top championship team.

His performance against Rangers in the 5-5 game was brilliant and he made the defenders look like amateurs on numerous occasions.

Unfortunately we have rarely seen that since.

03-08-2020, 08:26 PM
Not a rumour but Ziggy Gordon leaving Central Coast Mariners after one season. Don't even know if he's moving back to Scotland, but could be an option at full back?

Id rather Jack Ross got his boots back on than sign Ziggy Gordon.

03-08-2020, 08:29 PM
According to reports at the time ,we got him for 100k as part of our loan agreement 😉With Sunderland put off by his parent club wanting 1.7 m .
Would we let him go for 100k ? Maybe just cutting our losses and freeing up a wage ( He would have been one of our higher earners)

Leaving aside the blame game, it’s clearly gone wrong for Flo Kamberi at Hibs. Recouping the transfer fee + sell on clause would be decent outcome.

03-08-2020, 08:35 PM
I just can’t believe we would let him go for 100k.

Yes we want him gone because of his comments but surely we would still manage 250-500k. Both parties have spat their dummies out but he’s a good player on his day and it would be a steal for a club with money getting him for less than that (if hes in the mood)

03-08-2020, 08:54 PM
Hearts currently have Elliott Frear on trial, former Motherwell winger who turns 30 next month. Was released by League 2 Forest Green after only 7 starts last season.

03-08-2020, 09:00 PM
Hearts currently have Elliott Frear on trial, former Motherwell winger who turns 30 next month. Was released by League 2 Forest Green after only 7 starts last season.
Actually thought he was decent with Motherwell, had played with Forrest Green before signing for Motherwell.
A few Forrest Green players finding their way yo to Scotland

03-08-2020, 09:17 PM
Actually thought he was decent with Motherwell, had played with Forrest Green before signing for Motherwell.
A few Forrest Green players finding their way yo to Scotland

We got the best one of course.

03-08-2020, 09:18 PM
We got the best one of course.
Absolutely

03-08-2020, 09:29 PM

That’s news to really strike frear into the Alloa and Arbroath defenders when they’re at their work tomorrow.

03-08-2020, 10:27 PM
Rangers are currently linked with the St Gallen striker, wonder if Flo’s move is dependent on that one going through.

So disappointed with how the signing of Flo has actually went. When we got him on loan I was a massive fan and thought he has everything the modern day striker needed and thought it was an absolute certainty that he would leave us for a couple of million to a top championship team.

His performance against Rangers in the 5-5 game was brilliant and he made the defenders look like amateurs on numerous occasions.

Unfortunately we have rarely seen that since.

Not unsurprised by Flo, he fell out with his coach at Grasshoppers to get his move to us, it seems to be his way.