View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
03-09-2020, 07:39 AM
Simon Murray set to sign for Queens Park which will end the chat about him being our 4th choice striker
Na, it will start the ''well, Andy Robertson was at that level and look at him now'' patter :greengrin
BlackSheep
03-09-2020, 07:59 AM
Simon Murray set to sign for Queens Park which will end the chat about him being our 4th choice striker
Until he starts banging them in and we are in a slump....
Josh Doig was at Queen's Park last season wasn't he....? Maybe they're our feeder team lololololololol.
03-09-2020, 08:00 AM
Phenomenal signing for them. Far far better than league two level. Must be a short term thing
03-09-2020, 08:09 AM
Phenomenal signing for them. Far far better than league two level. Must be a short term thing
Now they have sold Hampden and turned professional they probably have one of the biggest budgets in the country.
blaikie
03-09-2020, 08:12 AM
Surprised he’s not found a club yet. Would be a decent option to have in the squad.
I think he’s on record saying he doesn’t want to play against Rangers.
If he can overcome that, I’d take him in a heartbeat he’s good friends with Scott Allan and comes across as a decent enough guy on Open Goal despite his Hun tendencies.
03-09-2020, 08:14 AM
If he can overcome that, I’d take him in a heartbeat he’s good friends with Scott Allan and comes across as a decent enough guy on Open Goal despite his Hun tendencies.
Absolute melt if he is passing up offers because he doesn't want to play against the huns. Still pandering to the knuckledraggers despite them binning him. Tosser.
03-09-2020, 08:24 AM
Now they have sold Hampden and turned professional they probably have one of the biggest budgets in the country.
They have some big backers also.
03-09-2020, 08:34 AM
Did they sell it? I thought they gave it away on the basis that the SFA would revamp lesser Hampden meaning that they’d be able to slash their costs?
03-09-2020, 08:48 AM
Na, it will start the ''well, Andy Robertson was at that level and look at him now'' patter :greengrin
Andy Robertson was at that level and look where he is now!
03-09-2020, 08:56 AM
Pfft **** hin in that case
03-09-2020, 09:13 AM
Wonder if they'll go back to dominating Scottish football 😉. Maybe win their 11th Scottish Cup
03-09-2020, 09:15 AM
His injury must have long term consequences then, or he's got a job/ business starting up, because he's far better than that.
Leitherhibs
03-09-2020, 09:17 AM
I'd be surprised if we sign Jackson Irvine, would imagine he's get better financial offers, according to various transfer sites he was earning c.10k a week last year. You'd think that puts us out of contention but the longer he goes without a club, the Boyle connection, along with Mark Milligan talking up the club you just never know....
03-09-2020, 09:38 AM
Wonder if they'll go back to dominating Scottish football 😉. Maybe win their 11th Scottish Cup
That would be something.
03-09-2020, 10:12 AM
and you think Murphy will do better?
In a word, Yes. Played at a better level most of his career.
03-09-2020, 10:25 AM
I really don't get the negativity about Murphy. Guy was Burton's best player for 11 games down there earlier this year. Think he's a terrific signing and huge upgrade on Horgan.
EI255
03-09-2020, 10:55 AM
We've been through some amount of goalies!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
03-09-2020, 11:11 AM
I see the Griffiths on loan story every window has started on Twitter
03-09-2020, 11:15 AM
I see the Griffiths on loan story every window has started on Twitter
Who’s twitter page?
03-09-2020, 11:17 AM
Who’s twitter page?
Page called Hibernian fans
03-09-2020, 11:18 AM
hahahaha. Block that page. Your life will be better.
HFC93
03-09-2020, 11:20 AM
I really don't get the negativity about Murphy. Guy was Burton's best player for 11 games down there earlier this year. Think he's a terrific signing and huge upgrade on Horgan.
Aye, he could be a fantastic player for us. It's weird that a a lot folk seem not fussed about the signing.
03-09-2020, 11:35 AM
Hope we can get at least 1 midfielder in before St.Mirren.
03-09-2020, 11:44 AM
The page that tweeted the below? 🙄🙄
HIBERNIAN FANS EXCLUSIVE: Jack Ross is planning an audacious swoop to bring a former Hibs hero back to where he belong !!! 25 LIKES AND WE WILL REVEAL !!! If we only get 15 I will post a photo of my wang
03-09-2020, 11:50 AM
HIBERNIAN FANS EXCLUSIVE: Jack Ross is planning an audacious swoop to bring a former Hibs hero back to where he belong !!! 25 LIKES AND WE WILL REVEAL !!! If we only get 15 I will post a photo of my wang
Dear god
03-09-2020, 11:57 AM
:greengrin in isolation the comment amuses me so a thumbs up :aok:
03-09-2020, 12:17 PM
A question from a dinosaur. Do you get anything tangible for likes? Or is it just for folks ego’s how many likes they can get? 👴🏻
03-09-2020, 12:25 PM
Really? I thought he was a Dundee fan?
03-09-2020, 12:29 PM
Celtic have signed Duffy on loan. Good player out of the Everton academy.
03-09-2020, 01:02 PM
Really? I thought he was a Dundee fan?
That's Charlie Adam. Halliday a bona fide currant
03-09-2020, 01:06 PM
That's Charlie Adam. Halliday a bona fide currant
Ah right that makes Halliday a massive welt then.
03-09-2020, 01:35 PM
Sky Sports Scotland tweets
An agreement between Hearts & Bologna for Aaron Hickey is edging closer & is expected to be completed next week. The 18 year old defender has been told he will be part of the first team & will play his part in the season ahead in Serie A @JamTarts @BfcOfficialPage https://t.co/Jtv2wAz9md
Green-Hibee-7
03-09-2020, 01:59 PM
Couple of colleagues telling me McGeady has been seen in Edinburgh this morning.
03-09-2020, 02:09 PM
Ah right that makes Halliday a massive welt then.
A bit like his best pal then?
Leitherhibs
03-09-2020, 02:13 PM
Couple of colleagues telling me McGeady has been seen in Edinburgh this morning.
He's had a place in North West Edinburgh for years. Wouldn't read too much into that.
03-09-2020, 02:17 PM
They have some big backers also.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkLooking at Glasgow teams, the bigots and Hearts' mates Patrick, I might be tempted by Queens Park if I was over in the Weedge.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
03-09-2020, 02:31 PM
Celtic have signed Duffy on loan. Good player out of the Everton academy.
He’s 28 that was a few years ago, you had me confused for a minute (which isn’t hard)😁.
03-09-2020, 02:47 PM
Seriously hope there is nothing in the McGeady rumours.
03-09-2020, 02:54 PM
A bit like his best pal then?
I’m not sure Scott Allan has said what Halliday has allegedly said?
03-09-2020, 02:56 PM
Maybe jack fancies turning him into our Jonny Hayes, play him at left back
Don’t think McGeady could tackle a fish supper though
ThatDayInMay
03-09-2020, 03:16 PM
Maybe jack fancies turning him into our Jonny Hayes, play him at left back
Don’t think McGeady could tackle a fish supper though
He’d play centrally in the Allan role.
03-09-2020, 05:05 PM
He’d play centrally in the Allan role.
Just what we need. Competition for Allan, Mallan, Newell and Murray. It would be last year's attempt to sign every RB in the world revisited.
03-09-2020, 05:07 PM
McGeady would be a cracking signing imo . Quality player and would definitely add to our team .
03-09-2020, 05:08 PM
The moment McGeady to Hibs is mentioned in the media, McInnes will no doubt hijack it and sign him for Aberdeen 😂
Percy Vere
03-09-2020, 05:08 PM
Sounds like something a Heart of Midlothian fan would say.
ThatDayInMay
03-09-2020, 05:11 PM
Just what we need. Competition for Allan, Mallan, Newell and Murray. It would be last year's attempt to sign every RB in the world revisited.
You’re correct with Allan & Mallan but Newell plays deeper or wide left. Allan hasn’t been at the races recently. Murray is going out on loan.
03-09-2020, 05:23 PM
It’s funny. The match day threads are full of the fact not one player is good enough but when it comes to the transfer thread people seem awfully worried about those players being replaced.
03-09-2020, 05:28 PM
It’s funny. The match day threads are full of the fact not one player is good enough but when it comes to the transfer thread people seem awfully worried about those players being replaced.
Or the Horgan thread where nobody hardly picked him in starting line ups but devastated he’s left?
03-09-2020, 05:40 PM
You’re correct with Allan & Mallan but Newell plays deeper or wide left. Allan hasn’t been at the races recently. Murray is going out on loan.
If Murray does go then that still leaves us with three players able to fill that role and at least one of them stuck on the bench.
I'd be relaxed about replacing any of Allan, Mallan, Newell or Murray if their replacement was clearly better but we're not discussing replacing them, just displacing them from the first team. That's hardly a sensible use of the budget when we have greater needs elsewhere.
LeithMike
03-09-2020, 07:47 PM
It’s funny. The match day threads are full of the fact not one player is good enough but when it comes to the transfer thread people seem awfully worried about those players being replaced.I think it's the fact that we should be finding a replacement for John McGinn rather than Scott Allan.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
davhibby
03-09-2020, 09:48 PM
They’ve gone full time and seem to be chucking money at folk. He’ll probably be on more than most Championship teams would be offering
badabing67
03-09-2020, 11:16 PM
I think it's the fact that we should be finding a replacement for John McGinn rather than Scott Allan.
Absolutely
Barman Stanton
04-09-2020, 07:03 AM
I think it's the fact that we should be finding a replacement for John McGinn rather than Scott Allan.
If it was that easy every team would have a ‘John McGinn’ in their team. In my time watching Hibs the only box to box player that was close to him is Brown. Perhaps McGinlay at a push.
04-09-2020, 07:17 AM
If it was that easy every team would have a ‘John McGinn’ in their team. In my time watching Hibs the only box to box player that was close to him is Brown. Perhaps McGinlay at a push.
Agreed but the issue is weve so far not made much of an attempt to replace him. Midfield has been a glaring issue for us for well over a year now and it really is time the much vaunted recruitment team and Mathie sorted this.
04-09-2020, 07:28 AM
Its not the type of player, its just a quality central midfield player. We signed Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson, Mcginn and Marv in the championship. There is no excuse for not getting quality while in the premiership.
04-09-2020, 08:33 AM
Its not the type of player, its just a quality central midfield player. We signed Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson, Mcginn and Marv in the championship. There is no excuse for not getting quality while in the premiership.
You could say that midfield spent a long time in the championship and struggled to get beyond Falkirk. We are currently second in the Premiership.
04-09-2020, 08:51 AM
You could say that midfield spent a long time in the championship and struggled to get beyond Falkirk. We are currently second in the Premiership.
Yeah, I mean, I guess that is one way of looking at it.
Another is they got to both cup finals in one season, something Hibs have never ever achieved. Won the cup, which was far beyond any achievement by a Hibs team in at least half a century.
Imagine winning the cup and 4 years later people still actually speak about us finishing behind Falkirk on goal difference.
Seriously...
That midfield, well, the McGinn, Bartley, McGeouch part of it at least, finished 4th with a brilliant points total our first year back up.
There is really no comparison between them and our current midfield IMO.
MikeyS
04-09-2020, 08:52 AM
And all of them would still get a game in our midfield!
Not aimed at you Andy, but I keep seeing people demanding a box to box midfielder. I'm not too sure those type of players really exist anymore, fitba has changed in that most teams play with 1 or 2 sitting CMs then maybe 3 more forward thinking players and 1 striker.
Off the top of my head I can only really think of maybe De Bruyne, Pogba, Henderson, Rakitic, Vidal as being "box to box" but they are obviously on a different level to us.
04-09-2020, 08:55 AM
Another is they got to both cup finals in one season, something Hibs have never ever achieved. Won the cup, which was far beyond any achievement by a Hibs team in at least half a century.
Imagine winning the cup and 4 years later people still actually speak about us finishing behind Falkirk on goal difference.
Seriously...
That midfield, well, the McGinn, Bartley, McGeouch part of it at least, finished 4th with a brilliant points total our first year back up.
If we had lost that Cup Final, which could easily have happened, that season would have been an absolute disaster.
Small margins.
04-09-2020, 08:59 AM
Seriously...
Take McGinn out and it is always going to look very different. Bartley wouldn’t get a game for us and it seems we passed on McGeouch.
Our current midfield have contributed to us currently being second and not having lost a goal from open play. Aberdeen was a bit disappointing but we didn’t have Gogic and we had more possession - we just didn’t really create enough. Which happens against Aberdeen.
We could use another type in there but I think the panic over the midfield is a bit OTT.
The midfield you quoted also had its days when it was losing to the likes of Alloa and Dumbarton. And that was with McGinn.
04-09-2020, 09:01 AM
Not aimed at you Andy, but I keep seeing people demanding a box to box midfielder. I'm not too sure those type of players really exist anymore, fitba has changed in that most teams play with 1 or 2 sitting CMs then maybe 3 more forward thinking players and 1 striker.
Off the top of my head I can only really think of maybe De Bruyne, Pogba, Henderson, Rakitic, Vidal as being "box to box" but they are obviously on a different level to us.
There's still a good few players playing at a lower level who could be described as playing a 'box to box' role: Jackson Irvine, Greg Docherty, Alan Campbell, possibly Ali McCann but I haven't seen as much of him.
04-09-2020, 09:04 AM
What I think the "box to box" description relates to is a solid all round game. In the Dutch "total football" system do they not get players comfortable playing all positions and then tend to play the best players in the centre of midfield to have the biggest impact on the game?
What we really need is a player who has an all-round game, without a glaring deficiency in it. We're currently trying to build a midfield out of someone who can tackle and run but not much more, someone who plays killer passes behind the defence but does nothing else, someone who has a good shot etc.
We'd be a far better team for having someone who could run, tackle, pass, win the odd header, still be running on 90 minutes, get into the box and get the odd goal etc. That's what midfielders used to do, now they all seem to be specialists at something.
John McGinn had an excellent all round game. Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson all had their strengths but didn't have as many weaknesses as our current players. McCrorie looked to be a balanced all-round player without an obvious weakness.
The solution doesn't lie in with a player who has one, outstanding attribute, we need someone who has a bit of everything. I reckon we need at least 2 midfielders like that tbh, before we get close to fixing our midfield problems, and we're going to be carrying a fair bit of dead wood for a while, as we realise we still need at least 2 new players to complement any 1 of Gogic, Mallan, Allan or Newell.
04-09-2020, 09:05 AM
Take McGinn out and it is always going to look very different. Bartley wouldn’t get a game for us and it seems we passed on McGeouch.
Our current midfield have contributed to us currently being second and not having lost as goal from open play. Aberdeen was a bit disappointing but we didn’t have Gogic and we had more possession - we just didn’t really create enough. Which happens against Aberdeen.
We could use another type in there but I think the panic over the midfield is a bit OTT.
The midfield you quoted also has its days when it was losing to the likes of Alloa and Dumbarton. And that was with McGinn.Marv wouldn't get a game now. I'm not saying we should be resigning any of them, I'm saying we brought in better players in the championship that we are now.
Aberdeen was extremely disappointing. Chance to go 10 points clear of them, at home. That is a big big chance missed. No excuses, no nonsense. Big chance missed.
Yes, that midfield did lose occasionally to those teams. Again, mental how that is remembered and not the amazing things they achieved. They had many, many more brilliant games than bad.
Currently being second is great. Didn't Fenlon and Collins have us top at this point? Means **** all right now tbh. Its about a 38 game season and if our midfield doesn't improve, we will struggle.
If we had lost that Cup Final, which could easily have happened, that season would have been an absolute disaster.
Small margins.
Yeah sure. But we could also have won the league cup on top of the scottish cup. Small margins go both ways.
MikeyS
04-09-2020, 09:07 AM
There's still a good few players playing at a lower level who could be described as playing a 'box to box' role: Jackson Irvine, Greg Docherty, Alan Campbell, possibly Ali McCann but I haven't seen as much of him.
Yeah there are definitely players out there who could do that role but if they are in our price range is another matter.
I'd love Irvine or Campbell at Hibs but I doubt we could afford either. Id suggest we could have more luck getting Irvine as he is currently not earning. Cant see Motherweell allowing Campbell to us seeing as they just lost Turnbull.
I'm not familiar with McCann, who does he play for?
MikeyS
04-09-2020, 09:11 AM
What I think the "box to box" description relates to is a solid all round game. In the Dutch "total football" system do they not get players comfortable playing all positions and then tend to play the best players in the centre of midfield to have the biggest impact on the game?
What we really need is a player who has an all-round game, without a glaring deficiency in it. We're currently trying to build a midfield out of someone who can tackle and run but not much more, someone who plays killer passes behind the defence but does nothing else, someone who has a good shot etc.
We'd be a far better team for having someone who could run, tackle, pass, win the odd header, still be running on 90 minutes, get into the box and get the odd goal etc. That's what midfielders used to do, now they all seem to be specialists at something.
John McGinn had an excellent all round game. Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson all had their strengths but didn't have as many weaknesses as our current players. McCrorie looked to be a balanced all-round player without an obvious weakness.
The solution doesn't lie in with a player who has one, outstanding attribute, we need someone who has a bit of everything. I reckon we need at least 2 midfielders like that tbh, before we get close to fixing our midfield problems, and we're going to be carrying a fair bit of dead wood for a while, as we realise we still need at least 2 new players to complement any 1 of Gogic, Mallan, Allan or Newell.
I agree with all that actually, and that's what I'd hope/expect our youth teams to be doing. As a country we need to get away from the old big = CH, small = FB or Winger mentality.
I suppose there is an argument that we are seeing it happen in way right now. Gogic was a CH & Joe Newell was a winger not so long ago.
Leitherhibs
04-09-2020, 09:12 AM
Ali McCann at ST J will be a real star, didn't stand out at all against us a couple of games ago, but has been getting rave reviews the past 18months - Got a really well-rounded game and bags of energy. Think he'll play in the English Prem in time, and he's not going to do that from St J, perhaps we could be that stepping stone for him..
04-09-2020, 09:18 AM
Seriously...
But we did finish behind Falkirk and also lost to them over two legs in the playoffs. Reaching both cup finals was great but those players weren't good enough in the league. They weren't great the following season either with 14 draws against some poor teams but at least they won it.
McGinn was the guy that carried and drove the rest of the team lot of the time. Our midfield would still be brilliant with him in it.
JammyDoidger
04-09-2020, 09:22 AM
3 players available right now.
Jackson Irvine
Andy Halliday
Charlie Mulgrew
would improve us, our particularly the first 2 as it's runners in midfield we need.
Definitely worth enquiring about
Ali Mccann
Scott Pittman
Alan Campbell would be the ideal one, but can't see that happening.
04-09-2020, 09:32 AM
Jackson Irvine
Andy Halliday
Charlie Mulgrew
would improve us, our particularly the first 2 as it's runners in midfield we need.
Ali Mccann
Scott Pittman
Alan Campbell would be the ideal one, but can't see that happening.
Are we just bringing charlie on for free kicks.
04-09-2020, 09:46 AM
Marv wouldn't get a game now. I'm not saying we should be resigning any of them, I'm saying we brought in better players in the championship that we are now.
Aberdeen was extremely disappointing. Chance to go 10 points clear of them, at home. That is a big big chance missed. No excuses, no nonsense. Big chance missed.
Yes, that midfield did lose occasionally to those teams. Again, mental how that is remembered and not the amazing things they achieved. They had many, many more brilliant games than bad.
Currently being second is great. Didn't Fenlon and Collins have us top at this point? Means **** all right now tbh. Its about a 38 game season and if our midfield doesn't improve, we will struggle.
Yeah sure. But we could also have won the league cup on top of the scottish cup. Small margins go both ways.
Absolutely.
Just_Jimmy
04-09-2020, 09:46 AM
Marv wouldn't get a game now. I'm not saying we should be resigning any of them, I'm saying we brought in better players in the championship that we are now.
Yeah sure. But we could also have won the league cup on top of the scottish cup. Small margins go both ways.Should have. I don't think I've seen a Hibs team so dominant in a final at Hampden that they didn't win. We got mugged.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Rumble de Thump
04-09-2020, 09:52 AM
But we did finish behind Falkirk and also lost to them over two legs in the playoffs. Reaching both cup finals was great but those players weren't good enough in the league. They weren't great the following season either with 14 draws against some poor teams but at least they won it.
McGinn was the guy that carried and drove the rest of the team lot of the time. Our midfield would still be brilliant with him in it.
Falkirk shouldn't have finished either leg of the playoffs with 11 players on the pitch, and the ref also let them off with a couple of deliberate handballs in the penalty box during first leg.
Feed McGraw
04-09-2020, 09:57 AM
Jackson Irvine
Andy Halliday
Charlie Mulgrew
Ali Mccann
Scott Pittman
Alan Campbell would be the ideal one, but can't see that happening. Andy Halliday would be the first signing to already have his own song in place , he`s a good player. Wouldn`t it be ironic if he signed and won the cup with us !!!! We could change the words of the song around a wee bit. :greengrin
Robbo6-2
04-09-2020, 10:01 AM
If you have listened to Andy Halliday on open goal recently there is absolutely no chance he would sign for hibs
No player that we could sign would cause the team to become free of individual errors like the one that saw Aberdeen get a penalty out of absolutely nothing.
04-09-2020, 10:03 AM
Right, but again, on goal difference, while managing 2 amazing cup runs. We got majorly cheated in the playoffs. Hand ball first leg, red card not given second leg.
McGinn definitely wasn't the guy that carried. McGeouch, Henderson and Fyvie were all very good players. McGinn wasn't carrying them, especially not McGeouch. We lost 4 league games in a row in Feb/March. McGinn played in them all. Fyvie played none. McGeouch played 70 minutes of the first one. We also lost the league cup final in that run. McGinn played that, the other 2 didn't.
That midfield was an excellent unit.
04-09-2020, 10:05 AM
No player that we could sign would cause the team to become free of individual errors like the one that saw Aberdeen get a penalty out of absolutely nothing.
No player in the world that anyone could sign would not make a mistake.
The point isn't the mistake. Its the 45 minutes of pish that followed it.
04-09-2020, 10:18 AM
Right, but again, on goal difference, while managing 2 amazing cup runs. We got majorly cheated in the playoffs. Hand ball first leg, red card not given second leg.
McGinn definitely wasn't the guy that carried. McGeouch, Henderson and Fyvie were all very good players. McGinn wasn't carrying them, especially not McGeouch. We lost 4 league games in a row in Feb/March. McGinn played in them all. Fyvie played none. McGeouch played 70 minutes of the first one. We also lost the league cup final in that run. McGinn played that, the other 2 didn't.
That midfield was an excellent unit.
Gogic, McGinn and Allan would also be an excellent unit though.
JammyDoidger
04-09-2020, 10:21 AM
Haha he would would be a good signing, cover for gogic. Can play left back aswell as centre back in a 2 or 3.
04-09-2020, 10:30 AM
Gogic, McGinn and Allan would also be an excellent unit though.
Eh, maybe. Still no one to bring the ball out of defence and move it forward. That isn't McGinns game, he'd be wasted doing that.
McGinn and Marv was never especially effective in terms of playing football.
04-09-2020, 10:36 AM
Eh, maybe. Still no one to bring the ball out of defence and move it forward. That isn't McGinns game, he'd be wasted doing that.
I don't know about that. McGinn was perfectly effective at getting the ball off the defence and rolling folk with that stick arse out thing he did. McGinn was an excellent all-rounder, didn't have any weaknesses. He was as strong at the other end of the park too.
Marv played less football, obviously, but he's arguably played a bit more going forward at Livingston.
04-09-2020, 10:36 AM
Haha he would would be a good signing, cover for gogic. Can play left back aswell as centre back in a 2 or 3.
Mulgrew would be a fantastic signing imo
If we got him and Irvine (somehow) then we'd be clear favourites imo for third
04-09-2020, 10:43 AM
Mulgrew would be a fantastic signing imo
If we got him and Irvine (somehow) then we'd be clear favourites imo for third
Mulgrew is an excellent player, but I just don't think he's what we're needing most.
Our fortunes this season depend on us fixing the midfield, and it's not going to be fixed by an ageing, holding player.
Great set pieces, great left foot, very versatile, but not what we are absolutely screaming out for.
04-09-2020, 10:59 AM
I don't know about that. McGinn was perfectly effective at getting the ball off the defence and rolling folk with that stick arse out thing he did. McGinn was an excellent all-rounder, didn't have any weaknesses. He was as strong at the other end of the park too.
Marv played less football, obviously, but he's arguably played a bit more going forward at Livingston.
McGinn was all action, winning it back, driving the team forward. That is his strength. He isn't a deep playmaker type. That isn't his game.
JammyDoidger
04-09-2020, 11:19 AM
JammyDoidger
04-09-2020, 11:34 AM
Another player that would be ideal for us is graeme shinnie. Worth an enquiry? Even on loan. Beram Kayal also a free agent.
04-09-2020, 11:51 AM
Another player that would be ideal for us is graeme shinnie. Worth an enquiry? Even on loan. Beram Kayal also a free agent.
Kayal would be a fantastic signing
Seems he already has a number of clubs chasing his signature and has stated he'd love a move back to Parkhead
04-09-2020, 11:59 AM
Well okay, if you don’t think McGinn would transform our midfield then I think you’re going to be really, really disappointed with whoever we do bring in, if anyone.
04-09-2020, 12:01 PM
Well okay, if you don’t think McGinn would transform our midfield then I think you’re going to be really, really disappointed with whoever we do bring in, if anyone.
At no point in any of my posts did I say McGinn wouldn't transform out midfield. Kevin De Bruyne would also totally transform out midfield. We aren't signing him either. You are totally missing my point.
My point was and still is, we were signing better quality midfielders in the championship. We need to get back to signing that level of quality if we want to do well this season.
04-09-2020, 12:12 PM
McGinn was all action, winning it back, driving the team forward. That is his strength. He isn't a deep playmaker type. That isn't his game.
Had a nice long pass and great shot on him to.
04-09-2020, 12:19 PM
At no point in any of my posts did I say McGinn wouldn't transform out midfield. Kevin De Bruyne would also totally transform out midfield. We aren't signing him either. You are totally missing my point.
My point was and still is, we were signing better quality midfielders in the championship. We need to get back to signing that level of quality if we want to do well this season.
The point though that some are making is that they had McGinn with them - and they still were losing at places we wouldn’t have expected to.
We are now in second place in the Premiership. Apart from McGinn there really isn’t much in any of the other players.
You were suggesting that Gogic, McGinn and Allan wouldn’t make a good unit as no one would be taking the all forward. If you think anyone is coming in that is able to take the ball forward better than McGinn then you will be disappointed.
04-09-2020, 12:30 PM
I
Let me get this right.Are you saying that what McGinn does is not effective in playing football?
MikeyS
04-09-2020, 12:45 PM
I
Let me get this right.Are you saying that what McGinn does is not effective in playing football?
I dont think he has said that, well certainly that isnt the way I interpreted it. More that McGinn's game wasnt/isnt about taking the ball from the centre half and starting play that way. That was McGeough's job and he was superb at it. McGinn was more about driving the whole team up the park, harassing opposition in to mistakes, using his @rse to win fouls and his long passing was a great option for Boyle in particular. We were very very lucky that he could play football very well too but at times his short passing did let him down. And that isn't a criticism cos he was a great talent to watch and he has improved even further since leaving.
04-09-2020, 12:54 PM
I
Let me get this right.Are you saying that what McGinn does is not effective in playing football?You got it quite wrong. I meant the duo of Marv and McGinn were never particularly good at controlling the game and playing good football. Their strengths lay elswhere.
The point though that some are making is that they had McGinn with them - and they still were losing at places we wouldn’t have expected to.
We are now in second place in the Premiership. Apart from McGinn there really isn’t much in any of the other players.
You were suggesting that Gogic, McGinn and Allan wouldn’t make a good unit as no one would be taking the all forward. If you think anyone is coming in that is able to take the ball forward better than McGinn then you will be disappointed.
McGinn also had them with him. As I've said, he was never as effective without them beside him.
There is a good difference in the other players. McGeouch at his best here was better than any central midfielder we currently have. Fyvie definitely as good as anyone we currently have in there.
Of course they could make a good unit. Not as good as McGeouch, McGinn and Allan did, though. They would be very good but its not happening. I'm not really interested in talking about McGinn, Allan and Gogic because it will never happen. Again, my point is that we should be aiming to sign similar quality to what we did in the championship. Our current central midfield options of Gogic, Hallberg, Newall and Mallan definitely isn't as good as McGeouch, Fyvie, Henderson, Marv and McGinn.
McGinn was great at taking the ball forward. He wasn't great at getting it from the back 4 and moving it around. That wasn't his game.
04-09-2020, 12:59 PM
We’re second in the table just now despite our midfield, not because of them. Much like Hearts being top a few seasons ago, the glaring deficiencies were evident and they eventually finished 6th. As is stands that’s a very possible outcome for us as well despite sitting second as things stand.
You can argue the individual merits of that midfield and the impact McGinn had, what is undeniable is that midfield was balanced. It was also a midfield with raw potential, potential that began to be realised the longer we had it. Our current midfield has a number of identikit midfielders with little to no athleticism, movement or drive. I’ve said before, if we had a balanced midfield the last 3 seasons but the quality wasn’t there I’d be a lot more accepting than the shambles we’ve had to endure with no clear plan evident.
04-09-2020, 01:02 PM
Any rumours 😁
04-09-2020, 01:34 PM
Any rumours [emoji16]
Clearly not
If you have listened to Andy Halliday on open goal recently there is absolutely no chance he would sign for hibs
So he would rather be unemployed, strange attitude 🤔
04-09-2020, 01:44 PM
What did he say?
04-09-2020, 02:06 PM
You got it quite wrong. I meant the duo of Marv and McGinn were never particularly good at controlling the game and playing good football. Their strengths lay elswhere.
McGinn also had them with him. As I've said, he was never as effective without them beside him.
There is a good difference in the other players. McGeouch at his best here was better than any central midfielder we currently have. Fyvie definitely as good as anyone we currently have in there.
Of course they could make a good unit. Not as good as McGeouch, McGinn and Allan did, though. They would be very good but its not happening. I'm not really interested in talking about McGinn, Allan and Gogic because it will never happen. Again, my point is that we should be aiming to sign similar quality to what we did in the championship. Our current central midfield options of Gogic, Hallberg, Newall and Mallan definitely isn't as good as McGeouch, Fyvie, Henderson, Marv and McGinn.
McGinn was great at taking the ball forward. He wasn't great at getting it from the back 4 and moving it around. That wasn't his game.
The point is, without McGinn there isn’t much in it and their struggles in the championship illustrate that. The idea of them now, and the cup win of course, is better than the week to week reality.
We also signed something like 30 or 31 players under Stubbs. There seems to be this idea we only recruited well. We didn’t have a great hit rate, we just got some very good players within that but probably over half of them were not great.
Charlie M can't tackle & he now can't run. As Underscore says if it was American Football & we could bring him on for free kicks then great. Otherwise it's a big no from me. I still shudder when I remember him running back on to the goal line against Germany, like a kid in the playground, instead of trying to tackle. Then he missed the ball anyway & Germany scored the winner!!
04-09-2020, 02:21 PM
The point is, without McGinn there isn’t much in it and their struggles in the championship illustrate that. The idea of them now, and the cup win of course, is better than the week to week reality.
We also signed something like 30 or 31 players under Stubbs. There seems to be this idea we only recruited well. We didn’t have a great hit rate, we just got some very good players within that but probably over half of them were not great.
Nah, I just can't have that.
Every manager signs duds. Stubbs' duds were moved on quickly and were hardly damaging.
Look at some of the midfielders that came to the club under him. We toiled for ages before, and we've toiled since. You cannot seriously try to put a negative slant on someone who managed to bring Allan, Bartley, Fyvie, McGinn, McGeough and Henderson to the club during just 2 years, can you?
Nobody has got even close to Stubbs' record in the transfer market during my time watching Hibs, no amount of Franck Dja Dje Dje comments will make me change my mind on that one.
When we were "struggling" in the Championship, we were also regularly beating premier league teams in the cups. Lennon kept Stubbs' midfielders and when Lennon got the blend right up front and at the back, we had one of the best Hibs teams we've had in recent years.
Daydreamer
04-09-2020, 02:27 PM
Any rumours 😁
Hearing John Collins back as Head of Recruitment.
04-09-2020, 02:32 PM
Without McGinn, McGeouch is still better than anything we have now.
The week to week reality is they were all quality players. Before McGinn even bloody joined they were quality players.
Stubbs signed Gray, Allan, Fontaine, Fyvie, Malonga, Boyle, Keatings, Bartley, McGinn, McGeouch, McGregor, Stokes and Henderson. Also Conrad Logan. Very few failures and the bad ones were moved on quickly. Farid also would've been very good if not for injury IMO.
We recruited very well. As well as any Hibs manager I can remember.
04-09-2020, 02:37 PM
A bus load of French trialists are delighted with this news.
04-09-2020, 02:47 PM
Joint role as player relations
04-09-2020, 02:50 PM
Nah, I just can't have that.
Every manager signs duds. Stubbs' duds were moved on quickly and were hardly damaging.
Look at some of the midfielders that came to the club under him. We toiled for ages before, and we've toiled since. You cannot seriously try to put a negative slant on someone who managed to bring Allan, Bartley, Fyvie, McGinn, McGeough and Henderson to the club during just 2 years, can you?
Nobody has got even close to Stubbs' record in the transfer market during my time watching Hibs, no amount of Franck Dja Dje Dje comments will make me change my mind on that one.
When we were "struggling" in the Championship, we were also regularly beating premier league teams in the cups. Lennon kept Stubbs' midfielders and when Lennon got the blend right up front and at the back, we had one of the best Hibs teams we've had in recent years.
Other than the cup win we toiled when he was here too. If you are going to compare to our current toil, which is second in the top league.
He did sign some cracking players. Mostly in midfield. He signed a lot of rubbish too, like most managers. He also had the relatively good position of not having many players here when he arrived so he could bring in people without worrying too much about moving players on.
McGinn was certainly the key to the midfield - when he went then we were not seeing the same level from Bartley and McGeouch.
I’m not having a go at Stubbs, just this idea that we signed much better players when he was here. We didn’t really - McGinn being a once in a generation type exception.
Without McGinn, McGeouch is still better than anything we have now.
What are you basing this on? He rarely started for Sunderland and he rarely starts for Aberdeen.
04-09-2020, 03:09 PM
What are you basing this on? He rarely started for Sunderland and he rarely starts for Aberdeen.
I was speaking about his time here. I'm not advocating signing him. I'm comparing the quality we signed then with now. McGeouch of then would be our best midfielder. We shouldn't be signing worse players now than we were then.
04-09-2020, 03:10 PM
Other than the cup win we toiled when he was here too. If you are going to compare to our current toil, which is second in the top league.
He did sign some cracking players. Mostly in midfield. He signed a lot of rubbish too, like most managers. He also had the relatively good position of not having many players here when he arrived so he could bring in people without worrying too much about moving players on.
McGinn was certainly the key to the midfield - when he went then we were not seeing the same level from Bartley and McGeouch.
I’m not having a go at Stubbs, just this idea that we signed much better players when he was here. We didn’t really - McGinn being a once in a generation type exception.
Mcgeouch left at the same time as McGinn. Did you miss his excellent loan spell before McGinn joined?
LeithMike
04-09-2020, 03:34 PM
I’m not having a go at Stubbs, just this idea that we signed much better players when he was here. We didn’t really - McGinn being a once in a generation type exception.Some good posts on this thread. I have to say that under Stubbs our midfield was far from perfect and I didnt particularly like the diamond which often rendered us impotent. McGeouch was most often deployed on the right of it (with Fyvie at the base) and this wasted the best part of Dylan's game (deep lying playmaker). With no wingers it also meant everything pretty much had to go through Allan so we were a good side but a bit one dimensional.
For those 6 months under Lennon everything clicked though and McGeouch, McGinn and Allan with Boyle at RWB was near perfection. Even better than Jack, O'Neil and Latapy.
Looking forward, to get the best out of Allan we are going to need a player in the ilk of McGinn. Somebody posted plenty of examples we we could look to sign (I'd still take a chance on Omeonga). It doesnt make any sense to sign another creative player to replace Allan if we dont get a more industrious player alongside him. While Allan has not been great, he's in his peak years, seems to have a good attitude, has not grumbled about being left out and we all know what he's capable of in a well balanced midfield.
04-09-2020, 03:37 PM
Mcgeouch left at the same time as McGinn. Did you miss his excellent loan spell before McGinn joined?
Apologies, I meant he hadn’t really played at that level consistently since then.
04-09-2020, 03:44 PM
I was speaking about his time here. I'm not advocating signing him. I'm comparing the quality we signed then with now. McGeouch of then would be our best midfielder. We shouldn't be signing worse players now than we were then.
If you are looking for the same quality as John McGinn to be signed (even the one that was signed for us) then I’m afraid you’ll be waiting a very long time. Gogic is an upgrade on Bartley, Newell is a very good footballer in the role he’s asked to play for us and certainly no worse than Fyvie. Allan is still here. Our shape and style is evolving. What we lack is our fullbacks bombing forward and our front 3-4 interchanging and creating chances.
04-09-2020, 03:57 PM
If you are looking for the same quality as John McGinn to be signed (even the one that was signed for us) then I’m afraid you’ll be waiting a very long time. Gogic is an upgrade on Bartley, Newell is a very good footballer in the role he’s asked to play for us and certainly no worse than Fyvie. Allan is still here. Our shape and style is evolving. What we lack is our fullbacks bombing forward and our front 3-4 interchanging and creating chances.
Agree with some of that, but not the bit about Newell. He may have talent but he offers nowhere near enough IMO. Fyvie had some really poor games for us, but when he was good, he was very good. At one point in his time with us up until an injury I thought he'd been our best performing midfielder.
LeithMike
04-09-2020, 04:00 PM
McGinn was a good player in his first year with us but he wasnt amazing (playing on the left of a diamond didnt really suit him that much either). He really grew as a player in his time.
I dont think anyone expects to sign anyone at his level now but we've had players like Omeonga and Docherty on loan who have done well as box to box midfielders. Surely then, it cant be that difficult to get someone in like that? And taking SJM out the equation why haven't we replaced them?
Newell isn't cut out for the role he's been asked to play. While we might be ok against bottom 6 teams we'll get found out against the better teams or even teams who press the midfield well.
Hibiza
04-09-2020, 04:19 PM
The midfielder were all describing is Greg Docherty. Missed out , again.
04-09-2020, 04:21 PM
Agree with some of that, but not the bit about Newell. He may have talent but he offers nowhere near enough IMO. Fyvie had some really poor games for us, but when he was good, he was very good. At one point in his time with us up until an injury I thought he'd been our best performing midfielder.
Agree with this, Fyvie offered more than Newell has ever done.
With regard to our midfield blend, in my view talent prevails and guys like Newell and Hallberg aren’t really good enough if the team does want to improve and play consistently well, We need better, but it’s no easy task working out how to find the right players.
So far I’ve been impressed by Hibs’ signings this season. Ross is assembly a team and we’re seeing backing from the owner and fans. Confident that we will be signing a few more, maybe see a couple exit too.
04-09-2020, 04:23 PM
He has far and away the best pass completion stats of anyone that’s played a meaningful amount of minutes for us this season (before Aberdeen so presuming still the same). His job is to sit deep, and keep the ball moving. Him and Gogic are being asked to do what Kamara and Jack do at Rangers. None of them go forward, they don’t need to. Their wing backs flood forward and their front 3/4 do what they are supposed to. Our whole style would have to change for us to replace Newell and it just won’t happen. We need far more from our wingers and Allan.
04-09-2020, 04:23 PM
Fact. Every player that leaves is always much better than when he played here.
04-09-2020, 04:26 PM
What did he say?
Watched that interview thought he spoke well and said on two or three occasions no doubt Hbs deserved to win the final.
04-09-2020, 04:27 PM
A bus load of French trialists are delighted with this news.
04-09-2020, 04:31 PM
Watched that interview thought he spoke well and said on two or three occasions no doubt Hbs deserved to win the final.
Correct i thought he spoke well about Hibs
04-09-2020, 04:43 PM
Fact. Every player that leaves is always much better than when he played here.Not at all. All those players were excellent and higher rated when here.
I'm looking for the same quality as McGeouch and Fyvie to be signed. Why should I be waiting a long time for another McGinn. Motherwell had Turnbull, Kilmarnock had Mulumbu, Dundee had Kamara, Aberdeen had Shinnie. No reason we cant go and get quality like that.
LeithMike
04-09-2020, 04:52 PM
LeithMike
04-09-2020, 04:56 PM
So far I’ve been impressed by Hibs’ signings this season. Ross is assembly a team and we’re seeing backing from the owner and fans. Confident that we will be signing a few more, maybe see a couple exit too.
I think the signings have been good but, for whatever reason, there is a glaring omission in the midfield. If we were to compare it to putting a car together - we've got a decent body, metallic paint, lovely leather interior and nice alloys.
Signing McGeady feels a bit like putting in a sunroof - possibly nice to have - but not much use if you've forgotten to put the engine in.
04-09-2020, 04:59 PM
I agree.
hibeerealist
04-09-2020, 05:06 PM
He has far and away the best pass completion stats of anyone that’s played a meaningful amount of minutes for us this season (before Aberdeen so presuming still the same). His job is to sit deep, and keep the ball moving. Him and Gogic are being asked to do what Kamara and Jack do at Rangers. None of them go forward, they don’t need to. Their wing backs flood forward and their front 3/4 do what they are supposed to. Our whole style would have to change for us to replace Newell and it just won’t happen. We need far more from our wingers and Allan.
Pass completion is a much easier proposition when rolling the ball 3-5 yards sideways or 10-15 yards backwards!! Pass completion in that respect tells us very little about a players' contribution to the game.
04-09-2020, 05:25 PM
Where you reading this?
04-09-2020, 05:44 PM
I think the signings have been good but, for whatever reason, there is a glaring omission in the midfield. If we were to compare it to putting a car together - we've got a decent body, metallic paint, lovely leather interior and nice alloys.
Signing McGeady feels a bit like putting in a sunroof - possibly nice to have - but not much use if you've forgotten to put the engine in.
You must be exhausted after writing that!
04-09-2020, 05:47 PM
You must be exhausted after writing that!
Careful - people get tyred of puns very easily.
04-09-2020, 05:58 PM
Would be an epic signing, hope we can get it over the line
04-09-2020, 06:15 PM
Certainly mobile.
Hibiza
04-09-2020, 06:18 PM
Jack won't stall , steering us to a top three finish.
04-09-2020, 06:30 PM
Jack won't stall , steering us to a top three finish.
I’m just happy he’s managed to stable us.
04-09-2020, 06:37 PM
That signing will clinch the league for us. May aswell start the celebrations early.
04-09-2020, 07:36 PM
Pass completion is a much easier proposition when rolling the ball 3-5 yards sideways or 10-15 yards backwards!! Pass completion in that respect tells us very little about a players' contribution to the game.
His role in the team is literally to pop the ball sideways and keep it moving, or pop it into Allan. It’s then up to our attacking 4 to go and work with it. That’s the way we play. Ross isn’t going to change that, the problem isn’t back to middle, the problem is what happens when it gets into the final third when our 3 behind the striker are off it and our full backs don’t get up to support.
Percy Vere
04-09-2020, 07:45 PM
Oh dear
Percy Vere
04-09-2020, 07:55 PM
Mulgrew is an excellent player, but I just don't think he's what we're needing most.
Our fortunes this season depend on us fixing the midfield, and it's not going to be fixed by an ageing, holding player.
Great set pieces, great left foot, very versatile, but not what we are absolutely screaming out for.
I think sometimes you have to take quality even if it’s not exactly what your after. Mulgrew and MGeady fall into that category imo.
Experienced quality is never going to hurt!
04-09-2020, 08:02 PM
I think sometimes you have to take quality even if it’s not exactly what your after. Mulgrew and MGeady fall into that category imo.
Experienced quality is never going to hurt!
A certain poster will probably lose the plot if we signed even one more over 30, never mind two! 😂
04-09-2020, 08:11 PM
Oh dear
Coliins scouts for Celtic
Brought Ajer to Celtic and another young Scandinavian player last week
Considering how critical of Hibs v Aberdeen, would be surprised at this
04-09-2020, 09:13 PM
wouldn’t say we missed out when he wanted to play down south.
tonyrougier123
04-09-2020, 09:32 PM
Islambek kuat scored against Lithuania for the Kazakhs tonight.
This guy would be the ideal signing in midfield,free agent and only linked with teams we surely could compete with in the market.they call him the Kazakh warrior.mobile,strong and 27 so must be looking for a steady move somewhere.
Stood out against either Celtic or rangers in europa league for Almaty.
And was class against Scotland when they gubbed us 3nil.
04-09-2020, 09:38 PM
Missed out purely because he had zero interest in coming here.
#2 Double Tap
04-09-2020, 09:53 PM
i am glad we missed out. guy is way over hyped on here. he had one good game for us against killie.
MagicSwirlingShip
05-09-2020, 03:24 AM
Islambek kuat scored against Lithuania for the Kazakhs tonight.
This guy would be the ideal signing in midfield,free agent and only linked with teams we surely could compete with in the market.they call him the Kazakh warrior.mobile,strong and 27 so must be looking for a steady move somewhere.
Stood out against either Celtic or rangers in europa league for Almaty.
And was class against Scotland when they gubbed us 3nil.
Send it onto Hibs recruitment team, surely someone has Mathie’s email?
JammyDoidger
05-09-2020, 06:00 AM
Thinking this myself. Hibs probably aren't even aware of the boy.
05-09-2020, 07:42 AM
Can’t see the image or whatever it is
Can someone elaborate please
05-09-2020, 07:45 AM
Still think Andy Halliday would be a terrific signing. Yes he's a massive Hun but would improve our team.
05-09-2020, 07:48 AM
McGeady, Halliday 😂
No. Lets get two midfielders in, one who can control a game and a box to box man
05-09-2020, 07:49 AM
Still think Andy Halliday would be a terrific signing. Yes he's a massive Hun but would improve our team.
If Halliday was any good he would be signed up with a club, simple as.
05-09-2020, 09:00 AM
Doesn't really work like that. At all.
05-09-2020, 09:01 AM
Can’t see the image or whatever it is
Can someone elaborate please
We are having a giggle, whatever was attempted to be posted wasnt and all that got posted was the thing from his phone
05-09-2020, 09:08 AM
Halliday is a good player imho and would improve us. Versatile player with a good pass and a bit of dig about him!
05-09-2020, 10:31 AM
We are having a giggle, whatever was attempted to be posted wasnt and all that got posted was the thing from his phone
Ah
Lol, cheers! Total whoosh moment for me there!
05-09-2020, 10:32 AM
i am glad we missed out. guy is way over hyped on here. he had one good game for us against killie.
Stevie Wonder is in the house (guys assessment of Docherty)
HendoDelivered
05-09-2020, 11:07 AM
Not necessarily, could have had plenty offers but not fancied them.
05-09-2020, 11:39 AM
]Stevie Wonder is in the house [/B](guys assessment of Docherty)
Probably in your mirror :wink:
05-09-2020, 12:05 PM
https://www.instagram.com/p/CEwPEovFCUf/?igshid=1j5rjoytx830y
Steph on the move
MagicSwirlingShip
05-09-2020, 12:05 PM
Perhaps one of the Longbangers guys / KP could pass onto Mathie?
05-09-2020, 12:20 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/40a533862cef75179575f015bacda60c.png
BegbieHSC
05-09-2020, 12:26 PM
Given he said he’d struggle to play against The Rangers, who we play 4 times a season, I reckon that should rule him out of ever playing in the same league as them. No chance!
Dazzjw1875
05-09-2020, 12:28 PM
Looks like Steph is moving on, whats the odds on him being announced by us? Think he would be a good addition which I would be happy about, but not sure if he is what we need right now.
05-09-2020, 12:33 PM
Looks like Steph is moving on, whats the odds on him being announced by us? Think he would be a good addition which I would be happy about, but not sure if he is what we need right now.
Thought he was still under contact at Genoa, unless he’s agreed a settlement
05-09-2020, 12:38 PM
I’d have no problem with Omeonga coming in as a squad player as we’re really short in the middle , not his biggest fan as I don’t think he’s particularly great on the ball but he works hard and wins the ball back.
If he comes in we will still need one more centre mid who is of real quality and a started though.
JammyDoidger
05-09-2020, 12:48 PM
Get the wee man in!
05-09-2020, 12:49 PM
I think Steph could be a quality player for us. He isnt finished article but with time and coaching he could be great
05-09-2020, 12:54 PM
If he is one of two midfielders to come, get Steph in.
If we can only sign one, I'd look elsewhere.
05-09-2020, 12:59 PM
Would love Omeonga back but think he may stay in Italy.
Seems Pescara are looking to sign him.
Greenio
05-09-2020, 01:02 PM
Is Omeonga not the 'fetch and carry' midfielder we need?
I don't think he'll be back though.
HendoDelivered
05-09-2020, 01:23 PM
Saul Goodman, where you at?
05-09-2020, 01:25 PM
Is Omeonga not the 'fetch and carry' midfielder we need?
I don't think he'll be back though.
I’m not 100% convinced about the carry part (although I do think he is competent and can probably develop that part of his game). His energy and tenacity would make a big difference IMO. He’s still quite raw but think he could develop into a very good midfielder.
05-09-2020, 01:32 PM
The fact Omeonga isn't a square ball merchant and is at least a bit unpredictable and entertaining is reason enough to get him.
05-09-2020, 01:32 PM
The fact Omeonga isn't a square ball merchant and is at least a bit unpredictable and entertaining is reason enough to get him.
I think he has potential to be much better than he showed the last time. I’d take him no problem.
05-09-2020, 01:48 PM
He seems to have been written off by a few on the basis of 1 month under Jack Ross. He showed in his first spell over 2/3 months that hes capable and that he would merit being given another opportunity. I think hes staying in Italy though.
zitelli62
05-09-2020, 02:19 PM
Better call saul.
Hibiza
05-09-2020, 02:34 PM
Beat me too it Hendo. Come back Steph.
tonyrougier123
05-09-2020, 03:04 PM
We should be signing omeonga without doubt.exactly what we lack in midfield.come on hibs do us another solid here.💚
a certain poster should be checking flight paths as we speak🧐
05-09-2020, 03:05 PM
I like Omeonga. Bit raw but offers something the majority of our midfield struggle with, winning the ball back. Picks up loose balls and is energetic. Also moves off the ball which is something many players in Scottish football struggle with.
As above if he's one of two then great. If we're only to get one though I'd like someone who is able to retain the ball better from the off. Worth noting though that I'm not convinced Jack Ross is all that keen.
tonyrougier123
05-09-2020, 03:07 PM
Exactly,perfect foil for the blend we have.
05-09-2020, 03:24 PM
First time round Omeonga helped turn a midfield like the one we currently have into a far more effective unit.
Second time he was upstaged by Docherty and didn’t really get going, but there should still have been a lot of football still to play.
I like him, he has a lot of what we lack and I’d welcome him back.
I’ve never really had the feeling that he’d ever genuinely want to join us though. He’s a perennial potential January loan signing.
05-09-2020, 03:28 PM
Pretty much sums it up
05-09-2020, 03:31 PM
I can imagine that there will be a couple more manoeuvres like the Murphy in-Horgan out one. I can see anyone from Hallberg, Newell, Mallan and Allan going and a Ross taking the chance to bring in more of his own men.
My own view is that the first three names are not good enough and I wouldn't displeased to see all of them involved in transfers if it allowed others to come in. We need more from all the central midfield, including Gogic. More quality and class is required in order to compete at the top end of the league. Because of the latter, I want Allan to have the chance to play with guys that bring out the best in him. Have to say though, I'm not sure Ross feels the same way.
tonyrougier123
05-09-2020, 03:34 PM
Totally disagree I hope he comes back and changes your mind,boy is class imo
05-09-2020, 03:37 PM
Totally disagree I hope he comes back and changes your mind,boy is class imo
I said I'd like him to join...
He just wouldn't provide that ideal missing link on his own in my opinion. I like Omeonga, there's nothing he needs to change my mind about.
tonyrougier123
05-09-2020, 03:48 PM
I said I'd like him to join...
He just wouldn't provide that ideal missing link on his own in my opinion. I like Omeonga, there's nothing he needs to change my mind about.
That’s what I mean,I think he would be that link we need.not so much change your mind but prove a few wrong 😉👍
EI255
05-09-2020, 04:17 PM
Celtic have signed Duffy on loan. Good player out of the Everton academy.Very good player.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
05-09-2020, 04:21 PM
Blackpool signed ex Man Utd and Hearts loanee Demetri Mitchell on a 2 year deal
Davy Mac
05-09-2020, 04:23 PM
No doubt Budge will be claiming a share of the fee.
05-09-2020, 04:24 PM
Was good 1st time around at Tynie, pretty rubbish the 2nd time
05-09-2020, 04:34 PM
An Omeonga with a full pre season and a few consecutive games behind him? Yes. An Omeonga desperately lacking in match sharpness? No. He was like playing with a man short last season. He isn't good enough to hit the ground running. We can't afford passengers.
05-09-2020, 04:36 PM
An Omeonga with a full pre season and a few consecutive games behind him? Yes. An Omeonga desperately lacking in match sharpness? No. He was like playing with a man short last season. He isn't good enough to hit the ground running. We can't afford passengers.
Sorry, what games was he a man short in?
05-09-2020, 04:37 PM
Would love to see Omeonga return.
05-09-2020, 04:38 PM
The derby springs to mind
05-09-2020, 04:39 PM
There were 11+ players in green who were ***** that night.
05-09-2020, 04:40 PM
The Horgan game, where he was excellent, also springs to mind.
05-09-2020, 04:40 PM
No doubt Budge will be claiming a share of the fee.
Are they not possibly entitled to a fee for helping develop him? (If there was one).
Did we not get something for Claros, and he was only with us on loan?
05-09-2020, 04:41 PM
Ah does it. We'd have no players left and a new manager if you judged on that disaster.
05-09-2020, 04:52 PM
Ah does it. We'd have no players left and a new manager if you judged on that disaster.
No need to be arsey about it just my opinion
05-09-2020, 05:13 PM
No need to be arsey about it just my opinion
Its just bizarre to hold a game in which every single person was awful against him. As I said, you would be binning every based on that night.
05-09-2020, 05:22 PM
Probably in your mirror :wink:
nah, he's on ma turntable.
05-09-2020, 05:23 PM
Derby at home
05-09-2020, 05:24 PM
Its just bizarre to hold a game in which every single person was awful against him. As I said, you would be binning every based on that night.
Do you think he was good when he was here last season? I thought he was pretty poor. The fact he ended up on the bench towards the end would suggest Ross felt that way eventually as well.
Id rather we spent our money elsewhere than on Omeonga to be honest. Don’t get me wrong, not the worst player in the world and plenty effort but also not that good imo. Passing is poor (cue the harking back to his one pass to McNulty about 18 months ago), lacks physicality to an extent and provides little going forward.
05-09-2020, 05:33 PM
Do you think he was good when he was here last season? I thought he was pretty poor. The fact he ended up on the bench towards the end would suggest Ross felt that way eventually as well.
Id rather we spent our money elsewhere than on Omeonga to be honest. Don’t get me wrong, not the worst player in the world and plenty effort but also not that good imo. Passing is poor (cue the harking back to his one pass to McNulty about 18 months ago), lacks physicality to an extent and provides little going forward.
I don't think he was great. Don't think he was awful either. Young, exciting player, bags of talent, could improve a lot if given proper game time.
Jack Ross fancied him so little he started him in the derby...
05-09-2020, 05:41 PM
I don't think he was great. Don't think he was awful either. Young, exciting player, bags of talent, could improve a lot if given proper game time.
Jack Ross fancied him so little he started him in the derby...
He could definitely improve, I’m not sure he’ll improve to anything other than a squad player level. If he’s coming in as a squad player then fair enough but I think we need better for our starting 11.
I do stand corrected though on being dropped - I could have sworn he was but it appears he was only on the bench once last season
Hibiza
05-09-2020, 05:48 PM
A class player when given the chance. Remember his performance ,full game , against Celtic at ER.
05-09-2020, 06:08 PM
I like Omeonga and think he offers us the energy that we need to complement Allan and Gogic.
05-09-2020, 06:10 PM
I like Omeonga and think he offers us the energy that we need to complement Allan and Gogic.
Why is his name entering the fray again? Did he not get snapped up?
Sorry - saw the insta. Hmmm.
05-09-2020, 06:14 PM
Why is his name entering the fray again? Did he not get snapped up?
He may be leaving Genoa.
05-09-2020, 06:26 PM
He may be leaving Genoa.
If his Wiki is up to date, his contract with Genoa finished today. I’d like to see him back in our squad.
05-09-2020, 06:30 PM
If his Wiki is up to date, his contract with Genoa finished today. I’d like to see him back in our squad.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/stephane-omeonga/profil/spieler/342472
June 2022
05-09-2020, 06:45 PM
Totally agree. That was a shocking performance by all and the Hertz, a team that finished bottom, fully deserved to win it. However, over the season, we were far better than the Hertz. So that game was not typical of the season thus far.
Leitherhibs
05-09-2020, 06:46 PM
Euan Henderson at Celtic, Liam’s younger and apparently more talented, dynamic brother is being sold to Dundee Utd. One that I thought we might have been interested in, albeit we’ve probably got a few very similar centre mids.
05-09-2020, 06:58 PM
Euan Henderson at Celtic, Liam’s younger and apparently more talented, dynamic brother is being sold to Dundee Utd. One that I thought we might have been interested in, albeit we’ve probably got a few very similar centre mids.
Should have left Celtic a year or so ago, but signed a contact extension with them
We were interested at the time, but he’s not kicked on
Remember Stevie Frail is the assistant at Dundee Utd, he probably worked with Euan when he was coming through the ranks
05-09-2020, 07:07 PM
Should have left Celtic a year or so ago, but signed a contact extension with them
We were interested at the time, but he’s not kicked on
Remember Stevie Frail is the assistant at Dundee Utd, he probably worked with Euan when he was coming through the ranks
He only turned 20 this year. I actually think it shows a bit of desire for him to leave now when contracted. There are a lot of boys who would hang on at Celtic well beyond that.
05-09-2020, 07:08 PM
Was at Ross County on loan last season i think? Not sure how he got on.
05-09-2020, 07:19 PM
Having watched both, Liam is/was the better player. Ewan may have better technical skills but he lacks the physicality to play top league - that’s not to say that won’t come in time. When Liam was the age Ewan is now (20) he had made 4 times as many appearances with Celtic, Rosenborg and Hibs winning a league title and a cup with the latter two.
tonyrougier123
05-09-2020, 07:57 PM
He was on the bench a lot and hardly had much time on the park before it shut down in March,baring in mind he only signed mid to late January,I don’t see anyone harking about one pass that is a bit harsh on folks opinion who like the player bud.
05-09-2020, 08:02 PM
He was on the bench a lot and hardly had much time on the park before it shut down in March,baring in mind he only signed mid to late January,I don’t see anyone harking about one pass that is a bit harsh on folks opinion who like the player bud.
The pass is brought up very often on here when folk want to point out he’s a good player. No issues with that btw or people liking him, I just think it says a lot when one pass a long time ago is what’s used to talk him up. There’s not been much else since imo.
05-09-2020, 08:08 PM
The pass is brought up very often on here when folk want to point out he’s a good player. No issues with that btw or people liking him, I just think it says a lot when one pass a long time ago is what’s used to talk him up. There’s not been much else since imo.
Only one person has mentioned it on this thread and that was yourself.
Green Man
05-09-2020, 08:16 PM
Are they not possibly entitled to a fee for helping develop him? (If there was one).
Did we not get something for Claros, and he was only with us on loan?
Was the Claros money not for him playing at the World Cup when he’d been with us? Same as Maclaren in the last World Cup.
05-09-2020, 08:52 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/stephane-omeonga/profil/spieler/342472
June 2022
According to this:
Oméonga signed for Scottish Premiership club Hibernian in January 2019.[4]
On 22 July 2019, he joined Jupiter Pro League club Cercle Brugge on loan, with an option to buy.[5][6]
He rejoined Hibernian in January 2020.[7] However, following the formal conclusion of the truncated Season 2019/20 in May, Omeonga returned to his parent club once more.[8]
On 5 September 2020, Omeonga departed Serie A club Genoa, ending a three-year stint with the club. [9]
I don’t know which is correct.
According to this:
On 22 July 2019, he joined Jupiter Pro League club Cercle Brugge on loan, with an option to buy.[5][6]
He rejoined Hibernian in January 2020.[7] However, following the formal conclusion of the truncated Season 2019/20 in May, Omeonga returned to his parent club once more.[8]
On 5 September 2020, Omeonga departed Serie A club Genoa, ending a three-year stint with the club. [9]
I think he was still under contract but appears to have been released today so both are correct.
LeithMike
05-09-2020, 10:25 PM
Would love Stephane back but dont see Ross going for it unfortunately. Folk give him a hard time for the derby but he was the only one of the midfield who showed up and put himself about in the second half. He was completely outnumbered with no one to pass to so not surprised he didnt look great. Hes shown more than enough for us to give him a long contract. He'd grow into a top player if he plays regularly and has a manager to build his confidence.
Now, if we could get McGeouch back too .... (I'd love a central three of McGeouch, Omeonga and Allan (with Gogic rotating in there too)).
05-09-2020, 11:00 PM
Would love Stephane back but dont see Ross going for it unfortunately. Folk give him a hard time for the derby but he was the only one of the midfield who showed up and put himself about in the second half. He was completely outnumbered with no one to pass to so not surprised he didnt look great. Hes shown more than enough for us to give him a long contract. He'd grow into a top player if he plays regularly and has a manager to build his confidence.
Now, if we could get McGeouch back too .... (I'd love a central three of McGeouch, Omeonga and Allan (with Gogic rotating in there too)).
Mathie loves him. It really wouldn’t surprise me if he was back permanently. Given time he would be a fantastic signing.
06-09-2020, 07:05 AM
That 3 would get battered.
06-09-2020, 07:35 AM
Those three would be the best footballers in the league. It’s a shame they’d get the **** kicked out of them by the cloggers.
According to this:
I think he was still under contract but appears to have been released today so both are correct.
He must surely have a club lined up if he's agreed a termination 2 years early (unless Genoa are the Italian Hearts with their clause 12 nonsense). Would expect there to be news about where he's going soon. I'd be happy if it was to us.
It might not have been his decision though.
I seem to remember when he signed for us the first time he was in the team at Genoa but then fell out of favour under a new manager and went out on loan.
Genoa have changed manager a few times more since then and he hasn’t got back in the team so might just be a case of the club cutting him loose in preparation for the next season.
Either way I would like to see him back, while he might be short or sharpness and fitness right now if we could get him permanently on a 3 or 4 year deal it would be a good bit of business for us and can see him being a good fit for this team when he gets back up to speed.
sean04
06-09-2020, 08:38 AM
Would Omeonga be better with gogic in there with him?
euro Hibby
06-09-2020, 10:00 AM
Papers in Italy give him as signed by Pescara ( SO )
06-09-2020, 10:00 AM
Would Omeonga be better with gogic in there with him?
Yes. I think he would.
Green Man
06-09-2020, 10:13 AM
Papers in Italy give him as signed by Pescara ( SO )
Sounds fishy.
Only one person has mentioned it on this thread and that was yourself.
I didn’t say on this thread.
From Italian media
Stephane Omeonga is a new Pescara player.
The Belgian midfielder, born in 1996, returning from a season spent on loan between Cercle Brugge and Hibernian, has moved on to the Abruzzo club that bought him from Genoa.
Omeonga had arrived in rossoblù from Avellino in the summer of 2017 but despite some good performances he greeted the Lanterna a year and a half later. First on a temporary basis, now definitively.
06-09-2020, 10:17 AM
Omeonga will remembered for being better than he actually was. A bit like Jorge Claros.
06-09-2020, 10:30 AM
Omeonga will remembered for being better than he actually was. A bit like Jorge Claros.
Claros will be remembered for weeding out the ones who know very little about football. Very good player and his career shows it. Exactly the type we could do with now really.
Omeonga is a raw talent but undoubtedly has real talent. An u21 international for one of the best teams in the world, 20+ games in Serie A aged 22. I'd take my chances with him coming back every time. Good move Pescara is for him. Were in Serie A not along ago and have a history of producing or developing quality players (Insigne, Immobile and Veratti all played for them)
Just my opinion of course. :aok:
06-09-2020, 10:43 AM
Claros will be remembered for weeding out the ones who know very little about football. Very good player and his career shows it. Exactly the type we could do with now really.
Omeonga is a raw talent but undoubtedly has real talent. An u21 international for one of the best teams in the world, 20+ games in Serie A aged 22. I'd take my chances with him coming back every time. Good move Pescara is for him. Were in Serie A not along ago and have a history of producing or developing quality players (Insigne, Immobile and Veratti all played for them)
Agree with you completely. Claros struggled when he originally came in due to the fact he was in a different continent and a different style of football. He was also surrounded by poor players in midfield. The next season he really kicked on and was one of our best players outside of Griffiths. One of the few wanting to put their foot on the ball and try and control the game around that time.
06-09-2020, 10:46 AM
On the Hearts transfer thread on kickback they reckon they are in for Glenn Middleton
06-09-2020, 10:57 AM
Mathie loves him. It really wouldn’t surprise me if he was back permanently. Given time he would be a fantastic signing.
No chance imo. I thought his 2nd spell was a let down. Don't want to see us give players 3 spells, when average at best
06-09-2020, 10:57 AM
On the Hearts transfer thread on kickback they reckon they are in for Glenn Middleton
He was poor in his loan spell here imo
06-09-2020, 10:58 AM
Hope so cause he’s gash
06-09-2020, 11:13 AM
Hope so cause he’s gash
Another modern with no tricks. We have seemed to have signed a couple recently.
06-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Agree with you completely. Claros struggled when he originally came in due to the fact he was in a different continent and a different style of football. He was also surrounded by poor players in midfield. The next season he really kicked on and was one of our best players outside of Griffiths. One of the few wanting to put their foot on the ball and try and control the game around that time.
Probably struggled a bit because he was shot in the face a few months prior as well :greengrin
06-09-2020, 11:31 AM
That sounds a bit like “fitbaw folk Ken”. It’s possible to acknowledge he has had a good career but still think his time at Hibs is overrated. I think McPake was similar, by virtue of not being wasters passing through for the paycheque they stood out from their teammates and are remembered more fondly than their contributions merit, while still acknowledging they were decent.
SJNB Hibby
06-09-2020, 11:36 AM
Horgan on the bench for WW today
06-09-2020, 11:36 AM
That sounds a bit like “fitbaw folk Ken”. It’s possible to acknowledge he has had a good career but still think his time at Hibs is overrated. I think McPake was similar, by virtue of not being wasters passing through for the paycheque they stood out from their teammates and are remembered more fondly than their contributions merit, while still acknowledging they were decent.
That role always goes unappreciated in our team. McGeouch, Fyvie, Claros. Even Kevin Thomson at times.
McPake was good for a few months, gash after. Claros was actually quality.
06-09-2020, 11:37 AM
Hope so cause he’s gash
Writing was on the wall for him when everyone was going so over The top about him having a lovely touch after his debut.
I want more than that from a winger but he never showed it.
06-09-2020, 11:48 AM
Middleton is one of those overhyped players. Might do alright in the championship mind you.
06-09-2020, 11:48 AM
Hope so cause he’s gash
Yup, he’s rotten.
I was really excited when we signed him and thought he’d be excellent but he was dreadful.