View Full Version : Greggs Summer 2020-21 transfer thread
13-07-2020, 09:39 PM
I can exclusively confirm that my sources indicate that Docherty is definitely on a higher or lower wage than Kamberi.
Unless they earn exactly the same.If any of that's true, I swear I'll do time.
Petrie out. Ponzi scheme etc .....
13-07-2020, 09:40 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5807938/hibs-talks-st-gallen-florian-kamberi-rangers/
Flo back to Switzerland is the latest story.
Good stuff. Hope it starts a bidding war and we get a few hundred grand for the cant.
Greenworld
13-07-2020, 09:43 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5807938/hibs-talks-st-gallen-florian-kamberi-rangers/amp/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
13-07-2020, 09:45 PM
Why not? Kevin Kyle was on £10k.
Kyle was an internationalist who played at a much higher level.
13-07-2020, 09:46 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5807938/hibs-talks-st-gallen-florian-kamberi-rangers/
Would be happy enough with that. He wants a permanent move but The Rangers aren’t going to be that fussed about him unless they can do a straight loan swap with Docherty IMO.
If he goes elsewhere it might give us the funds to do something with Docherty still.
13-07-2020, 09:57 PM
Some Yong Boys in that team who 😏
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/fc-st-gallen/kader/verein/257
13-07-2020, 10:00 PM
He doesn't play for his boyhood heroes, though. He has played made as many league games for Rangers in the last 2 years as I have.
Whats in it for him as a career in football. Maybe going out on loan suits him but he gains very little from that long term.
If he wants to be like Gordon Ramsay and tell people he played for Rangers once then fine. If he wants a good career then he'll be demanding a permanent move this summer.
He is signed as a player for the huns.
Why wouldn’t going out on loan suit him? It’s the same shop windows mate he’s putting himself in regardless.
Again, why would going away in a perm be beneficial to going on loan?
Bronson
13-07-2020, 10:15 PM
St Gallen are top of the swiss league ahead of basel and young boys who were both in the europa league this season. 6 games off the title which actually gets you a CL qualifier.
It’s not outwith the realms of possibility that he could be playing CL football next season, let that sink in. Whatever he pays his agent, it’s not enough.
13-07-2020, 10:22 PM
St Gallen are top of the swiss league ahead of basel and young boys who were both in the europa league this season. 6 games off the title which actually gets you a CL qualifier.
It’s not outwith the realms of possibility that he could be playing CL football next season, let that sink in. Whatever he pays his agent, it’s not enough.
Plus, they're the club he's always dreamt of playing for, ever since his agent first mentioned them.
13-07-2020, 10:31 PM
The Sun quoting Norwich as being interested in Kamberi in that article. 🤣
Anwqy, here's hoping they're right about the Swiss team and we see the back of him soon. At a profit would be an absolute dream.
HendoDelivered
13-07-2020, 11:52 PM
See that Hibs fan account on twitter saying the young lad Fairley could be off to Hearts. Any truth in that?? Meant to be a promising youngster from what I’ve heard, so would be disappointing IF true.
14-07-2020, 12:13 AM
I can exclusively confirm that my sources indicate that Docherty is definitely on a higher or lower wage than Kamberi.
Unless they earn exactly the same.
Nonsense.
Unless it is true,
Oh god, what if it is true?
And if they were meant to be exactly on the same wage, then that is even more suspicious!
Just saying, but extra orders of tin foil in the MA household, from any supplier who does home delivery have been arranged. Other Hibernian households may wish to also consider this. I trust Leann and senior players will do podcasts showing how to make Bacofoil into hats. We are one family, etc.
badabing67
14-07-2020, 12:20 AM
Also been linked with Norwich, Middlesbourgh and Rangers requesting to be kept informed of his plans. Norwich could be a interesting move for him, they could bounce straight back up. He must have a similar market value to Boyler. He is worth away more than the £100-150K getting mentioned on this thread earlier. If we get a good price for him we might be able to tempt Boyle to stay. If Rangers don't come up with a decent offer.
14-07-2020, 05:22 AM
It's always been his dream to play for St Gallen so he'll be pushing for it
14-07-2020, 05:58 AM
Looks like Flo will be playing in the green with white sleeves this coming season after all😉
14-07-2020, 06:28 AM
See that Hibs fan account on twitter saying the young lad Fairley could be off to Hearts. Any truth in that?? Meant to be a promising youngster from what I’ve heard, so would be disappointing IF true.
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10332
He’s under contract until 2022
14-07-2020, 06:45 AM
Which account?
14-07-2020, 07:07 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10332
He’s under contract until 2022
Maybe it's a loan. We're usually willing to help out lower league teams with our promising youngsters. :greengrin
14-07-2020, 07:11 AM
He actually liked one of the comments that called it out as nonsense.
The boy has seen it on the Bounce and posted it like it's his news
14-07-2020, 07:26 AM
which account?
bmd.
14-07-2020, 08:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200714/483acab123d194d50ca27c9f4907f98f.jpg
14-07-2020, 08:57 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200714/483acab123d194d50ca27c9f4907f98f.jpg
It's incredible to think we could be 12 or so games in to the season and still be signing or offloading players.
I can understand why the window has been extended though
14-07-2020, 09:18 AM
It's incredible to think we could be 12 or so games in to the season and still be signing or offloading players.
Just like the good old days
14-07-2020, 09:21 AM
Just like the good old days
I loved the good old days
Loved the night I went to watch Motherwell, no Internet in these days and no transfer window. Get to the game and there is Andy Watson warming up for Hibs after signing him from Hearts. Not a peep beforehand
14-07-2020, 09:22 AM
Loved the night I went to watch Motherwell, no Internet in these days and no transfer window. Get to the game and there is Andy Watson warming up for Hibs after signing him from Hearts. Not a peep beforehand
Remember when we were in the old First Division under McLeish it seemed like we signed anyone who had a good game against us
14-07-2020, 09:24 AM
This season we will have played 10 games by the time the window closes. In 2019 we had played 9 games when the closed and in 2018 we had played 10 games.
14-07-2020, 09:28 AM
This season we will have played 10 games by the time the window closes. In 2019 we had played 9 games when the closed and in 2018 we had played 10 games.
Ok sorry i meant league games a quarter of the league.
Im guessing the previous seasons would take into account European games and League Cup games
14-07-2020, 09:29 AM
I confidently predict that Kamberi will be playing in green and white (https://www.fcsg.ch/home/espen-inside/) this season.
hughio
14-07-2020, 09:40 AM
Yeah...Leonard Sachs anyone....
I think that was just a scurrilous rumour.
14-07-2020, 09:43 AM
Was it not the case years ago that the window shut in March?
14-07-2020, 09:47 AM
I may have misremembered this but I’m sure Hibs signed Dougie Bell, Tommy McIntyre and Graham Mitchell on the morning of a game at Brockville and them all playing that day?
14-07-2020, 09:54 AM
I may have misremembered this but I’m sure Hibs signed Dougie Bell, Tommy McIntyre and Graham Mitchell on the morning of a game at Brockville and them all playing that day?
You aren't and they did, sure it was over the Xmas new year period and it was a cold day at Brockvile?
14-07-2020, 09:56 AM
You aren't and they did, sure it was over the Xmas new year period and it was a cold day at Brockvile?
Was it ever anything other than cold and miserable at Brockville? [emoji3]
14-07-2020, 10:20 AM
Was it ever anything other than cold and miserable at Brockville? [emoji3]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThere used to be a fair bit of heat came off Hoosty's heid when he was raging about the many injustices he thought Falkirk seemed to suffer.
14-07-2020, 10:21 AM
Does the window slam shut before Hearts kick off their season?
Wee Effen Bee
14-07-2020, 10:28 AM
It was a surprise to Tommy Mc too. He was sitting in the pub in Motherwell on the Friday night drinking a pint and watching the news. The sports news came on and said he was signing for Hibs and was in the squad for the next day!
G15 Hibs
14-07-2020, 10:55 AM
Does the window slam shut before Hearts kick off their season?
Indeed. They're not due to start until 17 October.
14-07-2020, 03:00 PM
With all these teams linked with flo the past 2 days, then if any truth then we should be looking at a little more than 150/250k.
14-07-2020, 03:03 PM
Belter from Kickback
"They've spent 850k on two strikers over the past two years. 500k for Tap-in Tommy and 350k for Roy Chubby.
Meanwhile we got Naismith, Washington and Boyce for the grand total of around 250k (boyce was the only one we paid a fee for i believe). They must be spewing".
One of us got relegated. Spewing lol.
14-07-2020, 03:07 PM
Belter from Kickback
"They've spent 850k on two strikers over the past two years. 500k for Tap-in Tommy and 350k for Roy Chubby.
Meanwhile we got Naismith, Washington and Boyce for the grand total of around 250k (boyce was the only one we paid a fee for i believe). They must be spewing".
Doidge alone must have more SPL goals than all of those guys last season, right?
Its amazing how far that lot are from reality. I have plenty of debates on here with people I disagree with but there is always logic behind their thinking. Over there, there is absolutely no common sense or brains applied at all. They are genuinely thick.
14-07-2020, 03:21 PM
Doidge alone must have more SPL goals than all of those guys last season, right?
Its amazing how far that lot are from reality. I have plenty of debates on here with people I disagree with but there is always logic behind their thinking. Over there, there is absolutely no common sense or brains applied at all. They are genuinely thick.
Denial and delusion
Belter from Kickback
Priceless..... o and how many goals between them??
14-07-2020, 03:27 PM
Belter from Kickback
Can guarantee Doidge and Nisbet haven't cost us those amounts and I wonder how much Boyce, Washington and Naismith are rimming them for per week
Belter from Kickback
Surely that's a wind-up? Or is it referring to some team other than Hibs? We haven't spent £500k on anyone and if the writer thinks that Doidge is fat or in any other way resembles Roy Chubby Brown then they really are living in some bizarre alternate reality.
As for the goal stats for last season: Doidge = 18; Naismith = 5; Washington = 4; Boyce = 16 (including 14 with Burton Albion). I wonder what the £s to goals ratio is for Naismith.
14-07-2020, 03:49 PM
Belter from Kickback
I don't even understand who they are talking about.
w pilton hibby
14-07-2020, 04:07 PM
I don't even understand who they are talking about.
I'm assuming they're meaning Doidge (tap in Tommy) and Nisbet (Roy Chubby).
I thought it was Kamberi & Doidge but who knows!
14-07-2020, 04:23 PM
I thought it was Kamberi & Doidge but who knows!
Nisbet and Doidge.
The latest Kickback fact is that Nisbet is fat.
And, naturally, Doidge’s ability to put the ball in the net from inside the box is a bad thing.
14-07-2020, 04:30 PM
I like that logic.
Take largest reported fee at the time and double it for effect. Genius.
14-07-2020, 04:31 PM
The guys over on Kickback are beyond delusion.
They've been the worst side in the country for a year and a half, yet despite this are singing all their players praises and would make you believe Sean Clare is one of the best players in the country.
We have paid nowhere near 850k for Doidge and Nisbet, probably closer to 350-400k. Do they think guys like Washington, Naismith and Bryce are on low wages with no transfer fee? Behave
They may have good players on paper but the fact of the matter is football is played on grass and they’ve been hopeless. Doidge must have scored more than every hearts striker combined last season.
For anyone querying if Nisbet is fat, go on his Instagram - he’s ripped.
sean04
14-07-2020, 04:41 PM
Belter from Kickback
Naismith, Boyce and Washington 10goals
Doidge 14 goals
14-07-2020, 04:47 PM
Naismith, Boyce and Washington 10goals
Doidge 14 goals
Not to mention they got relegated.
14-07-2020, 04:53 PM
Tap in Tommy :hilarious:hilarious
Yeah cause John Robertson's goals were all outside the box eh ?
Numbskulls
Tug Wilson
14-07-2020, 05:13 PM
For anyone querying if Nisbet is fat, go on his Instagram - he’s ripped.
I think that it is a known fact that Kevin Nisbet was a little less than professional when at Partick. Hence not achieving the level his talent merits and getting binned.
He was given the chance of redemption at Raith and improved his attitude. He then took it to the next level with Dunfermline.
If anything, the penny has dropped with the lad that he needs to have a proper level of fitness to progress up the football ladder and that fitness has to be maintained.
It seems to me that Hibs have signed a very talented striker who has learnt the hard way about fitness and is now totally focused.
So he might have been "fat" at one time but that is not now. Not like Jambos to make things up.
Paul1642
14-07-2020, 05:45 PM
Unless we are getting Docherty or a healthy transfer fee I would be happy to keep Flo. Along with Nisbet, Doidge, and Gullane we would have great forwards next year and if he hits top form he is possibly one of the best forwards outside the OF.
14-07-2020, 06:15 PM
Unless we are getting Docherty or a healthy transfer fee I would be happy to keep Flo. Along with Nisbet, Doidge, Nisbet and Gullane we would have great forwards next year and if he hits top form he is possibly one of the best forwards outside the OF.
Nisbet, Nisbet so good you named him twice
Nisbet, Nisbet all the scandal and the vice
Paul1642
14-07-2020, 06:26 PM
Nisbet, Nisbet so good you named him twice
Nisbet, Nisbet all the scandal and the vice
Amended now :)
14-07-2020, 06:43 PM
Nisbet and Doidge.
The latest Kickback fact is that Nisbet is fat.
And, naturally, Doidge’s ability to put the ball in the net from inside the box is a bad thing.
It's a very bad thing at the Tiny PBS, where they prefer forwards who can't put the ball in the net at all.
14-07-2020, 06:48 PM
It's a very bad thing at the Tiny PBS, where they prefer forwards who can't put the ball in the net at all.
It’s not the forwards fault that every time they shoot - the ball is expelled from the net.
Court action will follow regarding this scandal!!
14-07-2020, 06:51 PM
It's always been his dream to play for St Gallen so he'll be pushing for it
St Gallen are a smaller club than Hibs with average attendances of less than 14,000.
UEFA club coefficient: Scotland 14th best league and Switzerland 18th.
Backward step for the big time player.
I think that it is a known fact that Kevin Nisbet was a little less than professional when at Partick. Hence not achieving the level his talent merits and getting binned.
He was given the chance of redemption at Raith and improved his attitude. He then took it to the next level with Dunfermline.
If anything, the penny has dropped with the lad that he needs to have a proper level of fitness to progress up the football ladder and that fitness has to be maintained.
It seems to me that Hibs have signed a very talented striker who has learnt the hard way about fitness and is now totally focused.
So he might have been "fat" at one time but that is not now. Not like Jambos to make things up.
He mentions his attitude during his interview on YouTube, very honest about it which is good to see.
14-07-2020, 07:42 PM
Lots in common with Shankland. Ended up at Dundee United because of his attitude when lots of other clubs were looking at him and got his head down, worked away and has now made himself a proper star for United.
14-07-2020, 07:45 PM
Lots in common with Shankland. Ended up at Dundee United because of his attitude when lots of other clubs were looking at him and got his head down, worked away and has now made himself a proper star for United.
Ayr was were Shankland made his name. Otherwise yeah, similar story.
14-07-2020, 07:49 PM
So two and a half weeks until kick off and a few bounce games scheduled do we think we may get another body or 2 in this week or will we be waiting to move a couple of players out?
When are the squad numbers likely to be announced?
14-07-2020, 08:08 PM
So two and a half weeks until kick off and a few bounce games scheduled do we think we may get another body or 2 in this week or will we be waiting to move a couple of players out?
When are the squad numbers likely to be announced?
Not sure we’ll rush to do anything else before the season starts.
What we have won’t get us through the season but we can make a positive start to the season with it. I can imagine those we have signed (particularly Nisbet and Gogic) being our absolute top targets so I think we’ll try to get the likes of Kamberi and James out and wait to see what becomes available.
14-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Ayr was were Shankland made his name. Otherwise yeah, similar story.
He came to the attention of clubs north and south of the border at Ayr and seemingly the only club to come in with a concrete offer for him were Dundee United. His attitude has been much improved this year and his next move will be big money.
Goes to show that a poor attitude can genuinely hold you back in football irrelevant of the ability.
Souter96Mac
14-07-2020, 08:51 PM
It seems to have gone fairly quiet about Boyle's future. If it was up to me, I'd love him to stay of course, but can't see the club letting him go for nothing next summer. Hope we're trying to organise an extension - similar to what we did with Cummings.
14-07-2020, 09:01 PM
It seems to have gone fairly quiet about Boyle's future. If it was up to me, I'd love him to stay of course, but can't see the club letting him go for nothing next summer. Hope we're trying to organise an extension - similar to what we did with Cummings.
I think JR will be concerned that Boyle is not being offered a contract extension. It gives the impression that the board want to invite offers and recoup some cash? If so, it's a poor decision in my opinion.
King Cosell
14-07-2020, 09:03 PM
All potential suitors cutting their cloth, he'd probably get a better contract next summer.
w pilton hibby
14-07-2020, 09:10 PM
I think JR will be concerned that Boyle is not being offered a contract extension. It gives the impression that the board want to invite offers and recoup some cash? If so, it's a poor decision in my opinion.
How do you know that Boyle is not being offered a contract extension?
14-07-2020, 09:55 PM
What makes you think he hasn’t been offered a new contract?
Inconsequential
14-07-2020, 11:17 PM
What makes you think he hasn’t been offered a new contract? May be very complicated trying to offer him a new contract in the present circumstances. Usually you would expect the new contract to be improved from the player's current one but are the club not trying to re-negotiate on current deals i.e. reduce terms? Bit of a dilemma no? :agree:
15-07-2020, 03:37 AM
Which players can you see moving out on loan to help some of the lower league clubs out?
hibeesjoe
15-07-2020, 04:20 AM
Anymore news on whether Jason Naismith might be coming back? He seemed to love it here before his injury and always talks highly of the club.
Sent from my MI 8 using Tapatalk
Anymore news on whether Jason Naismith might be coming back? He seemed to love it here before his injury and always talks highly of the club.
We have 3 RB's at the club, he won't be back.
James was brought in to cover Gray, both he and Gray were injured and we brought in Naismith on loan, he got injured so we got McGinn, at the moment al 3 are fit.
15-07-2020, 06:08 AM
What makes you think he hasn’t been offered a new contract?
May be very complicated trying to offer him a new contract in the present circumstances. Usually you would expect the new contract to be improved from the player's current one but are the club not trying to re-negotiate on current deals i.e. reduce terms? Bit of a dilemma no? :agree:
Maybe I’m jumping to conclusions at hearing nothing about the Boyle situation. Maybe things are happening in the background.
15-07-2020, 06:56 AM
Maybe I’m jumping to conclusions at hearing nothing about the Boyle situation. Maybe things are happening in the background.
Hibs are much better and keeping things under wraps nowadays so we wouldn't hear anything until it was announced. Have faith!
15-07-2020, 09:06 AM
like to see McNulty back
Greenworld
15-07-2020, 09:10 AM
like to see McNulty backNot for me thought he was way over rated
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
15-07-2020, 09:11 AM
like to see McNulty back
Nope.
15-07-2020, 09:15 AM
like to see McNulty back
I think there’s a good player in there but I question his hunger - in the football sense, not in the scran sense, as his chunkiness suggests his appetite is just fine.
He’s sitting on a contract the like of which he’ll never get again, going out repeatedly on loan and coasting.
I have a hunch he’ll buck his ideas up in a big way the next time he needs to actually earn a contract.
15-07-2020, 09:23 AM
We already have 3 right backs and Naismith has now had two serious knee injuries so a fair bet number three will be along at some point. Drey Wright and Ryan Porteous are a similar worry.
15-07-2020, 09:28 AM
like to see McNulty back
Can't see it happening with Nisbet signing.
15-07-2020, 09:33 AM
Mcnulty clearly wasn’t match fit and didn’t hit the ground running when he came back but there’s obviously a player in there. I didn’t feel Omeonga was anywhere near like he was the first time either so I wouldn’t be writing any of them off. Maybe they just came into a poorer team with poorer form?
18Craig75
15-07-2020, 09:36 AM
We won’t be bringing McNulty back now with Doidge, Nisbet and Gullane all hungry.
I’m not fussed to be honest - was disappointed in his shape and contribution when he came back. The kick out against hearts kind of summed up his second spell.
Whilst understanding it’s a short career, if he was really keen and hungry he would’ve left Reading 2 years ago, despite his financial loss, to get settled and playing regularly again.
15-07-2020, 09:44 AM
like to see McNulty back
You will be waiting a long time.
He has 2 years left on a big fat contract at Reading which far exceeds his ability.
They are pretty much stuck with him especially given the economic effects of the pandemic.
Nisbet has been purchased to replace McNulty/Kamberi and will be on a Hibs level wage.
Maybe we will see McNulty at Easter Road in a year or perhaps two but on a Hibs level wage.
15-07-2020, 09:46 AM
like to see McNulty back
Nah, would far prefer Gullan to get games then bring him back based on last season.
15-07-2020, 09:53 AM
Nisbet signing knocks Mcnulty coming back out the park. If we get rid of Kamberi I’d like to see us sign another Gogic type player. I really think he will make a huge difference to the team with much less pressure on the back four and up our possession stats. It’s the one area we are lacking.
15-07-2020, 09:57 AM
Nah, would far prefer Gullan to get games then bring him back based on last season.
Gullan seems to be getting forgotten about a wee bit. He’d just managed to force his way in to the team and got his first goal when lockdown came along. And, even though it was a bounce game, getting a goal against St Mirren at the weekend won’t have done him any harm.
Could be a decent fight between him and Nisbet to partner Doidge.
supermcginn
15-07-2020, 09:58 AM
like to see McNulty back
I wouldn't take him even if he offered to play for free. No thanks.
15-07-2020, 09:59 AM
I do remember a certain mr Robertson being called fat. I believe he scored a few even with his alleged obesity.🤣
15-07-2020, 10:02 AM
Gullan seems to be getting forgotten about a wee bit. He’d just managed to force his way in to the team and got his first goal when lockdown came along. And, even though it was a bounce game, getting a goal against St Mirren at the weekend won’t have done him any harm.
Maybe we will go to a 343. :wink:
15-07-2020, 10:02 AM
I wouldn't take him even if he offered to play for free. No thanks.
Based on what exactly? He’s a Scottish international.
sean04
15-07-2020, 10:07 AM
I’m hoping for a left winger, an experienced back up keeper and potentially another defensive minded midfielder
supermcginn
15-07-2020, 10:15 AM
Based on his footballing ability and professionalism. He is poor I'd much rather gullan gets his chance.
15-07-2020, 10:18 AM
Mcnulty clearly wasn’t match fit and didn’t hit the ground running when he came back but there’s obviously a player in there. I didn’t feel Omeonga was anywhere near like he was the first time either so I wouldn’t be writing any of them off. Maybe they just came into a poorer team with poorer form?
I really like his movement, his ability to play on the shoulder of the last defender and to time a run. This is something that we have lacked at times.
His signing, and that of Omeonga, really turned around the season before last.
Whilst it didn't come off as often as we might want you could see that Scott Allan was trying to pick him out last season, he was trying to pull defenders around and link up with Scott as much as possible.
He was overweight, out of shape and unfit, but a fitter McNulty could definitely be an asset.
I think we have that position covered for now but I wouldn't rule out a move for him in future.
Or even partnering Nisbet, Doidge isn't guaranteed to be 1st pick as it should be.
1 international game and he was brutal doesn't make him an internationalist, far from it. Winning a Scotland cap isn't as big a deal as it used to be, wee Lewis has got one and I wouldn't call him an internationalist.
15-07-2020, 10:25 AM
Based on his footballing ability and professionalism. He is poor I'd much rather gullan gets his chance.
Tell me about his professionalism
15-07-2020, 10:29 AM
I was glad he scored in the bounce game.It's what you would want a player to do when his position is threatened by a new signing.Puts down a marker.
15-07-2020, 10:31 AM
Or even partnering Nisbet, Doidge isn't guaranteed to be 1st pick as it should be.
1 international game and he was brutal doesn't make him an internationalist, far from it. Winning a Scotland cap isn't as big a deal as it used to be, wee Lewis has got one and I wouldn't call him an internationalist.
Doidge is guaranteed to start the season with the jersey. He’s earned that. Unless he’s done something daft like came back really unfit after lockdown. Which he won’t have.
Pretty Green
15-07-2020, 11:05 AM
Does anyone else think we should sign another left back before we sign any more front players?
supermcginn
15-07-2020, 11:09 AM
Tell me about his professionalism
Both times he joined us he was overweight, clearly doesn't look after himself. Also stamping on someones back in a massive derby at home in front of a sell out crowd at 0 0 is just about the most unprofessional thing you can do, he wont be back here.
supermcginn
15-07-2020, 11:10 AM
Yes mcnulty played for 5 minutes and managed to miss an open goal. Not quite something to brag about.
15-07-2020, 11:16 AM
Does anyone else think we should sign another left back before we sign any more front players?
I don’t think the order we do it is that important, to be honest.
15-07-2020, 11:23 AM
Has it been 114 days since lockdown? (Near enough.)
What's kept you Kamberi?
St Gallen to deliver..........please.
15-07-2020, 11:24 AM
He was unfit and what about his professionalism? He’s done fantastically well in his career to get where he is now.
15-07-2020, 11:25 AM
I really like his movement, his ability to play on the shoulder of the last defender and to time a run. This is something that we have lacked at times.
His signing, and that of Omeonga, really turned around the season before last.
Whilst it didn't come off as often as we might want you could see that Scott Allan was trying to pick him out last season, he was trying to pull defenders around and link up with Scott as much as possible.
He was overweight, out of shape and unfit, but a fitter McNulty could definitely be an asset.
I think we have that position covered for now but I wouldn't rule out a move for him in future.
Yeah you’ve pretty much nailed it. 👍
15-07-2020, 11:25 AM
Left back and a centre half, yes.
15-07-2020, 11:31 AM
Left back and a centre half, yes.
I was to see Josh given a chance in these bounce games.
15-07-2020, 11:32 AM
I'd like to see us replace Kamberi with someone other than Shanley.
15-07-2020, 11:36 AM
I was to see Josh given a chance in these bounce games.
Good call in fact mate.
15-07-2020, 11:43 AM
Yes mcnulty played for 5 minutes and managed to miss an open goal. Not quite something to brag about.
He came on in the first half so hardly 5 mins yes he missed a chance he should have scored but did ok.
sean04
15-07-2020, 11:45 AM
Norwich supposedly interested in Kamberi
15-07-2020, 11:50 AM
like to see McNulty back
No for me. KN puts paid to that. Wouldn’t fancy him back anyway
GreenArmy1875
15-07-2020, 12:47 PM
If Mcgregor or Porteous stamped on a hearts player they would be hailed heroes by some. Mcnulty was a good signing for us and could still be. He has missed a lot of football since leaving Coventry. A good pre season and regular playing time would do him the world of good to get him back scoring goals again. That might not be with us but will go on and score goals again if given regular games at the right club.
JXM73
15-07-2020, 12:47 PM
Boys been a canary since he was a kid, can't wait to play for his boyhood heroes from norfolk
15-07-2020, 12:50 PM
If Mcgregor or Porteous stamped on a hearts player they would be hailed heroes by some. Mcnulty was a good signing for us and could still be. He has missed a lot of football since leaving Coventry. A good pre season and regular playing time would do him the world of good to get him back scoring goals again. That might not be with us but will go on and score goals again if given regular games at the right club.
The problem is we'd have to pay stupid money for him and he simply isn't worth it.
15-07-2020, 12:52 PM
Aye like others have said I’m not sure he’d be worth the risk when we’d be paying his full wage.
If he’d shown more on loan especially 2nd time around I would’ve been more keen but always thought he looked a bit unfit.
I have no qualms going with Doidge, Nisbet & Gullan under the circumstances
Where are ya ? Lets be avin ya?
hhibs
15-07-2020, 01:01 PM
May be very complicated trying to offer him a new contract in the present circumstances. Usually you would expect the new contract to be improved from the player's current one but are the club not trying to re-negotiate on current deals i.e. reduce terms? Bit of a dilemma no? :agree:
Possibly by a re-signing on lump sum payment as the incentive or increased share of future transfer fee? Sure there are ways and means.
15-07-2020, 01:21 PM
Norwich after Kamberi? 😂😂😂
Oh sorry I mean, I would be gutted if we lost him. Great player, fantastic attitude and scores lots of goals. Would need a big fee to even contemplate allowing a player of his ability to leave :greengrin
In all seriousness if the rumours are true that Norwich, Middlesbrough, Hull and St Gallen are all after him we should be getting way more than 150-250k that was rumoured.
15-07-2020, 01:43 PM
There can't be anything in the Norwich connection.
At least I hope there's not as I don't want that snake staying anywhere near me. :greengrin
I think the paper has just thrown a random club or two in there, there's nothing to stop them really. Maybe his agent is trying to create false interest.
15-07-2020, 01:55 PM
If there’s any truth to Norwich wanting him, his agent must be absolutely top notch.
15-07-2020, 02:04 PM
If there’s any truth to Norwich wanting him, his agent must be absolutely top notch.
Was reported in one newspaper when they reported the Swiss link, every newspaper has picked up on that since
At least I hope there's not as I don't want that snake staying anywhere near me. :greengrin
I think the paper has just thrown a random club or two in there, there's nothing to stop them really. Maybe his agent is trying to create false interest.
I heard that he had enquired about the flat next door to you and as a duty to your beloved Hibs, you should make sure he feels very welcome :agree:
15-07-2020, 02:34 PM
I think the paper has just thrown a random club or two in there, there's nothing to stop them really. Maybe his agent is trying to create false interest.Was looking forward to maybe getting a chance to get a ticket to get back to Naaarj next season, a chance to support the Canaries and booh Kamberi would be different[emoji16]
15-07-2020, 02:39 PM
I heard that he had enquired about the flat next door to you and as a duty to your beloved Hibs, you should make sure he feels very welcome :agree:
That's plenty from you, I don't want nightmares!
Was looking forward to maybe getting a chance to get a ticket to get back to Naaarj next season, a chance to support the Canaries and booh the Kamberi would be different[emoji16]
Different indeed! I'd love to call that petty, but I used to give Lafferty a few boos when he was playing for the Naaarj U23s, so I can't blame you. Steven Whittaker always received god-like treatment though. :greengrin
15-07-2020, 02:42 PM
Chris Erskine signs for East Kilbride. Bit of an odd one that. A few seasons ago I hoped Hibs would make a move. Now in the Lowland league.
15-07-2020, 02:43 PM
Chris Erskine signs for East Kilbride. Bit of an odd one that. A few seasons ago I hoped Hibs would make a move. Now in the Lowland league.
Some team they are putting together btw
That's plenty from you, I don't want nightmares!
You could live with it! the nightmare would be me going for the flat! :flag:
15-07-2020, 02:50 PM
Some team they are putting together btw
Aye noticed Paul Paton had signed for them too
15-07-2020, 02:50 PM
They just signed Paul Paton and a few other players that we probably came up against in the championship.
Kallum Higginbotham signed for Kelty as well. Quite a few dropping down to that level.
15-07-2020, 02:55 PM
They just signed Paul Paton and a few other players that we probably came up against in the championship.
Kallum Higginbotham signed for Kelty as well. Quite a few dropping down to that level.
They’re probably not far off getting the same wage either.
15-07-2020, 03:02 PM
They’re probably not far off getting the same wage either.
Who’s bank rolling them
15-07-2020, 03:03 PM
Poor players though really. They should try to snap up good young players, not washes up ones like Erskine and Higginbotham. Those guys are going nowhere but down.
15-07-2020, 03:04 PM
Poor players though really. They should try to snap up good young players, not washes up ones like Erskine and Higginbotham. Those guys are going nowhere but down.
Higginbotham was always a thorn in our side
15-07-2020, 03:14 PM
Doidge is guaranteed to start the season with the jersey. He’s earned that. Unless he’s done something daft like came back really unfit after lockdown. Which he won’t have.
Doidge is for my money the best striker outwith Glasgow in the top flight. Nobody else has the knack he has for being in the right place and finding the net, irrelevant of how attractive or not his goals are.
15-07-2020, 03:16 PM
Doidge is for my money the best striker outwith Glasgow in the top flight. Nobody else has the knack he has for being in the right place and finding the net, irrelevant of how attractive or not his goals are.
Completely agree. Sam Cosgrove gets plaudits for tap-ins whereas Doidge is seen as lucky. I really like him.
15-07-2020, 03:23 PM
Completely agree. Sam Cosgrove gets plaudits for tap-ins whereas Doidge is seen as lucky. I really like him.
Absolutely
15-07-2020, 03:33 PM
He’s up there. Think he needs to tuck away a couple in high profile games to get the recognition his play deserves.
badabing67
15-07-2020, 03:47 PM
Aye like others have said I’m not sure he’d be worth the risk when we’d be paying his full wage.
If he’d shown more on loan especially 2nd time around I would’ve been more keen but always thought he looked a bit unfit.
I have no qualms going with Doidge, Nisbet & Gullan under the circumstances
Plus he came out and said he would jump at the chance to g0back to Coventry. Should get to Coventry then.
15-07-2020, 03:50 PM
Was he? I remember him scoring a penalty and celebrating like a fanny Infront of us only to lose 3-1.
Also remember him equalising at Easter road in a game we were strolling till a Fontaine injury and a gray mistake.
Otherwise don't think he has ever done anything in his career. John Robertson, Paul Hartley, Gary Hooper. Those guys were always thorns in our side. Higginbotham scored the odd penalty in the championship.
Leitherhibs
15-07-2020, 04:00 PM
Agree. But on JKB they're calling him Tap-in Tommy. They really know how to hurt us.
badabing67
15-07-2020, 04:02 PM
Think there could be something in the Norwich connection. They have just been relegated and need to regroup they are bound to at least aiming for the play offs next season. They are a well run club and do shrewd business. They are a club that has done well recruiting from the SPFL over a period. I think they will be well aware of Kamberi and what he has to offer. I think Chris Sutton still has strong links with his old club and he is well informed about the Scottish scene, I think he would advise them on who would or wouldn't be worth a punt. I think Kamberi would do ok there. Would love them to put a bid in. Seriously hope they are interested along with Middlesbrough and they rest to put us in a strong negotiating position for his signature. There has been a few that have played for Norwich and Hibs fairly recently Marc Libbra, Whitty, Grant Holt to name a few cant think of any others of the top of my head. But you see my point
15-07-2020, 04:08 PM
Was he? I remember him scoring a penalty and celebrating like a fanny Infront of us only to lose 3-1.
Also remember him equalising at Easter road in a game we were strolling till a Fontaine injury and a gray mistake.
Otherwise don't think he has ever done anything in his career. John Robertson, Paul Hartley, Gary Hooper. Those guys were always thorns in our side. Higginbotham scored the odd penalty in the championship.
Always played well against us. Far from a poor player from what I saw of him. Didn't watch every week mind you.
15-07-2020, 04:18 PM
Agree. But on JKB they're calling him Tap-in Tommy. They really know how to hurt us.
Wonder how many Doidge tap-ins would have kept Hearts up?
15-07-2020, 04:21 PM
Scored an amazing overhead kick against us in a 4-1 defeat by Motherwell. https://youtu.be/mjKifmO9uaA
He played against Hibs 9 times scoring 5 goals and getting 2 assists. Fair to say he was often a thorn in our side IMO.
15-07-2020, 04:22 PM
Think there could be something in the Norwich connection. They have just been relegated and need to regroup they are bound to at least aiming for the play offs next season. They are a well run club and do shrewd business. They are a club that has done well recruiting from the SPFL over a period. I think they will be well aware of Kamberi and what he has to offer. I think Chris Sutton still has strong links with his old club and he is well informed about the Scottish scene, I think he would advise them on who would or wouldn't be worth a punt. I think Kamberi would do ok there. Would love them to put a bid in. Seriously hope they are interested along with Middlesbrough and they rest to put us in a strong negotiating position for his signature. There has been a few that have played for Norwich and Hibs fairly recently Marc Libbra, Whitty, Grant Holt to name a few cant think of any others of the top of my head. But you see my point
Norwich definitely keep a keen eye on the Scottish Premiership, there's no doubting that, they've had a strong Scottish contingent for a good while. I just don't think they'll be interested in Flo, he doesn't really fit the profile for players they sign from Scotland. They also have 4 strikers on the books, as far as I'm aware none of them are rumoured to be out the door.
Stranger things have happened, I just don't think Kamberi is anything like good enough to be of interest to a Championship club with their eyes set on winning the league.
Inconsequential
15-07-2020, 04:26 PM
If Mcgregor or Porteous stamped on a hearts player they would be hailed heroes by some. Mcnulty was a good signing for us and could still be. He has missed a lot of football since leaving Coventry. A good pre season and regular playing time would do him the world of good to get him back scoring goals again. That might not be with us but will go on and score goals again if given regular games at the right club. Iirc Ivan Sproule stamped on a Hearts player too. He remains a Hibs leg end and folk hero to this day. :agree:
15-07-2020, 04:35 PM
Scored an amazing overhead kick against us in a 4-1 defeat by Motherwell. https://youtu.be/mjKifmO9uaA
He played against Hibs 9 times scoring 5 goals and getting 2 assists. Fair to say he was often a thorn in our side IMO.
My point exactly
15-07-2020, 04:44 PM
I’d call that a thorn in our side tbh.
This rebuttal should be interesting
supermcginn
15-07-2020, 04:47 PM
Iirc Ivan Sproule stamped on a Hearts player too. He remains a Hibs leg end and folk hero to this day. :agree:
At least Ivan done it when the game had gone and was a great player for the club, even then it was still pathetic. McNulty was the opposite.
15-07-2020, 04:49 PM
Wonder how many Doidge tap-ins would have kept Hearts up?Their guy who "scores in every city", but doesn't, he had an important tap in and completely missed the ball and fell over if I remember correctly.
15-07-2020, 04:53 PM
TBF, the boy can argue.
15-07-2020, 04:55 PM
At least Ivan done it when the game had gone and was a great player for the club, even then it was still pathetic. McNulty was the opposite.
There’s no difference. And I include Deek in that when he just went full out assault mode on Skacel (which ive no complaints about). No idea why you hate sparky that much.
15-07-2020, 04:55 PM
Their guy who "scores in every city", but doesn't, he had an important tap in and completely missed the ball and fell over if I remember correctly.
Looked like he fainted with excitement. Besides Dingwall isn't a city.
15-07-2020, 04:57 PM
Looked like he fainted with excitement. Besides Dingwall isn't a city.Good point, that's probably why he decided not to score.
Mind you that doesn't explain his failure to score in cities, sounds like more maroon ***** to me.
15-07-2020, 04:57 PM
Their guy who "scores in every city", but doesn't, he had an important tap in and completely missed the ball and fell over if I remember correctly.
Do you mean THIS (https://twitter.com/i/status/1223693098544439297) guy?
15-07-2020, 04:58 PM
:dunno:A tremendous effort I agree but I'm thinking of the mouthy guy that Stendel brought in.
15-07-2020, 04:59 PM
A tremendous effort I agree but I'm thinking of the mouthy guy that Stendel brought in.
They have a multiplicity of talent.
15-07-2020, 05:02 PM
No that's the guy they said would stop Kevin Nisbet getting a game for them
15-07-2020, 05:03 PM
They have a multiplicity of talent.Donis Avdijaj I think, no goals in any cities, or towns.
"There is no country, no city in the world where I don't score. I score everywhere," Avdijaj said.
15-07-2020, 05:04 PM
He was / is a very good footballer. Tremendous against us in a Championship game at ER v Dunfermline.
15-07-2020, 05:06 PM
Dazzjw1875
15-07-2020, 05:18 PM
It was vaneckic or something big set up waited 6months for him and boy was he *** brutal lol
15-07-2020, 05:21 PM
Decent record actually, didn't know it was so good. If he tried as hard against everyone he might have done better than Kilmarnock and Partick.
Never thought he was ever that impressive against us still. Lennon apparently turned down the chance to sign him for us as well.
Inconsequential
15-07-2020, 05:21 PM
There’s no difference. And I include Deek in that when he just went full out assault mode on Skacel (which ive no complaints about). No idea why you hate sparky that much. I tend to agree. There's no difference.
15-07-2020, 05:22 PM
It was vaneckic or something big set up waited 6months for him and boy was he *** brutal lolTo be fair on Vanacek, he thought Hearts were a basketball team so it wasn't his fault they signed then bigged up a guy who couldn't kick a ball.
15-07-2020, 05:24 PM
Happy to admit I'm wrong when someone presents a good argument and backs it up.
Even better when they can do it without pathetic personal comments.
15-07-2020, 05:29 PM
Happy to admit I'm wrong when someone presents a good argument and backs it up.
Even better when they can do it without pathetic personal comments.
the poster did & a very good job at that
Not one personal comment aimed in your direction either as far as I can see
15-07-2020, 05:36 PM
the poster did & a very good job at that
Not one personal comment aimed in your direction either as far as I can see
Yes, he did a very good job. The others, including yourself, who decided to make snidey jibes didn't do such a good job. Shame.
15-07-2020, 05:36 PM
I tend to agree. There's no difference.
Don’t you like Sproule and Riordan?
15-07-2020, 05:53 PM
Yes, he did a very good job. The others, including yourself, who decided to make snidey jibes didn't do such a good job. Shame.
I was just interested to see your reply is all.
I’m glad you were able to accept you were wrong on this occasion, well in
15-07-2020, 05:58 PM
Can someone tell me what’s going on? I’ve got two pages of ignored posts.
Fritz
15-07-2020, 06:06 PM
Decent record actually, didn't know it was so good. If he tried as hard against everyone he might have done better than Kilmarnock and Partick.
Never thought he was ever that impressive against us still. Lennon apparently turned down the chance to sign him for us as well.
How do you have any idea how hard he “tried”? What a silly thing to say. Played professional football for 3 different sides in the Scottish top flight, plenty would love to have had a career that bad.
Iirc Ivan Sproule stamped on a Hearts player too. He remains a Hibs leg end and folk hero to this day. :agree:
.I dont the stamp is why Hibs fans rate him.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
15-07-2020, 06:22 PM
How do you have any idea how hard he “tried”? What a silly thing to say. Played professional football for 3 different sides in the Scottish top flight, plenty would love to have had a career that bad.
I'm not really serious mate. Yes, of course plenty would love to have that career. He's had a decent career. Willing to bet plenty more sides fans don't rate him because he was anonymous against them, though. Obviously not a very consistent player
JammyDoidger
15-07-2020, 06:23 PM
Andy Halliday could be a decent signing. Can play midfield and left back, brings a bit of dig and plenty experience, wouldn't be overly against this tbh. Comes across pretty well in his latest Si ferry interviews.
Inconsequential
15-07-2020, 06:25 PM
I dont the stamp is why Hibs fans rate him.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk Controversial statement.
Inconsequential
15-07-2020, 06:28 PM
Don’t you like Sproule and Riordan? I like them both for their footballing ability but don't condone violence from anyone.
Can someone tell me what’s going on? I’ve got two pages of ignored posts.
Maybe you've been cancelled 🤔
15-07-2020, 08:18 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/exclusive-rangers-talks-sign-ps38m-south-african-star-2914583
Rangers looking likely to sign another centre mid for 3.8 million, could this force Docherty to leave?
St Johnstone also has Craig Conway in trial today in their match against us.
15-07-2020, 08:29 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/rangers/exclusive-rangers-talks-sign-ps38m-south-african-star-2914583
Rangers looking likely to sign another centre mid for 3.8 million, could this force Docherty to leave?
Had heard Conway was training at Dundee Utd. He was still very good when Hibs played Blackburn Rovers a couple of seasons back
Somebody already been on the Rangers Target Wiki par has place of Birth as Larkhall 😅
15-07-2020, 08:42 PM
Had heard Conway was training at Dundee Utd. He was still very good when Hibs played Blackburn Rovers a couple of seasons back
Somebody already been on the Rangers Target Wiki par has place of Birth as Larkhall 😅
Aye mind him coming on, changed the game for Blackburn that day
Nearly £4m and a long term deal for a 27 yr old, more money chucked away down govan way, here’s hoping Docherty can see his times up there now would absolutely love to get him in permanently
Souter96Mac
16-07-2020, 07:20 AM
Nearly £4m and a long term deal for a 27 yr old, more money chucked away down govan way, here’s hoping Docherty can see his times up there now would absolutely love to get him in permanently
Here's hoping! This would most likely push Docherty to 5th choice behind this lad, Jack, Kamara, and Davis. Not to mention Arfield, but think he plays further forward?
16-07-2020, 08:04 AM
Here's hoping! This would most likely push Docherty to 5th choice behind this lad, Jack, Kamara, and Davis. Not to mention Arfield, but think he plays further forward?
Pretty sure they use Arfield in a variety of roles but often play him centre mid so safe to say Docherty is at best 6th choice there now - might be even further down the pecking order as did they not play a couple of youngsters in midfield a few times last season?
16-07-2020, 09:20 AM
What's wrong with a long term deal for a 27 year old? Hibs do that all the time, Scott Allan a recent example.
Their spending £4m we spent nothing? If your spending big money on players, especially at a club in smaller leagues or a smaller team in the bigger leagues, you want it to initially strengthen your first 11 but then sell on to make a profit to then re-invest again it’s how your team grows. He’s 27 say the long term deal is 4 years, to make a good profit on that deal he needs to be sold with 2 years at least on his contract for maximum profit...who’s going to buy a 29 yr old from the spfl for north of £5m?
If there ever going to close the gap on celtic that’s not how there going to do it, but if we get a young hungry midfielder for buttons because of it I’m all for it
16-07-2020, 09:34 AM
Their spending £4m we spent nothing? If your spending big money on players, especially at a club in smaller leagues or a smaller team in the bigger leagues, you want it to initially strengthen your first 11 but then sell on to make a profit to then re-invest again it’s how your team grows. He’s 27 say the long term deal is 4 years, to make a good profit on that deal he needs to be sold with 2 years at least on his contract for maximum profit...who’s going to buy a 29 yr old from the spfl for north of £5m?
If there ever going to close the gap on celtic that’s not how there going to do it, but if we get a young hungry midfielder for buttons because of it I’m all for it
They have one focus, win the league. They are making shortsighted decisions to achieve that. This guy could be a top quality player they have been after for a while, we've no idea. I don't think there a thing wrong with giving a 27 year old a 4 year deal. If he is good enough someone definitely would buy him at 29 for 5 million.
inglisavhibs
16-07-2020, 09:34 AM
​
Must be good reason why he is so far down the pecking order. He is a fitness fanatic but not sure he has a lot of quality. He had a chance against Hearts to show his talent but was dreadful ( along with most others I admit). Personally would rather see us try and develop Fraser Murray.
16-07-2020, 09:45 AM
They have one focus, win the league. They are making shortsighted decisions to achieve that. This guy could be a top quality player they have been after for a while, we've no idea. I don't think there a thing wrong with giving a 27 year old a 4 year deal. If he is good enough someone definitely would buy him at 29 for 5 million.
Got to agree. £4m for a guy in his prime to hit the ground running is exactly what they need. Isn’t that what clubs may be requesting of Boyle should be go?
I’m no doubting he could be a good player and I’m sure nothing I’m saying matters to them more than stopping 10 in a row, however if they or any other team spending money on transfer fee’s in this country think blasting it on guys entering the time of “last big contracts” is the way to get better I don’t think it is.
Us for example spending on Nesbitt, in the back of the mind of Mathie will be the thoughts of another mcginn situation sell down south and get a sell on clause it’s the only way we’re going to get better, sign well, improve player and sell on
It’s also how we’ll be able to offer better terms to players so they don’t end up on the last year of contracts and ultimately leave for free I.e Boyle, Marciano.
Got to agree. £4m for a guy in his prime to hit the ground running is exactly what they need. Isn’t that what clubs may be requesting of Boyle should be go?
Boyle won’t be anywhere close to £4m or command the wages a £4m player would though far less of a gamble.
£4m is a lot of money especially for rangers these days all I’m saying is they should be using it to attempt to be turning a tidy profit along the same lines as VVD Wanyama dembele they won’t get close to celtic unless there making the same amounts of revenue, as celtic will always have the ability to get that little more quality in by paying a bit more
16-07-2020, 10:16 AM
I’m no doubting he could be a good player and I’m sure nothing I’m saying matters to them more than stopping 10 in a row, however if they or any other team spending money on transfer fee’s in this country think blasting it on guys entering the time of “last big contracts” is the way to get better I don’t think it is.
Us for example spending on Nesbitt, in the back of the mind of Mathie will be the thoughts of another mcginn situation sell down south and get a sell on clause it’s the only way we’re going to get better, sign well, improve player and sell on
It’s also how we’ll be able to offer better terms to players so they don’t end up on the last year of contracts and ultimately leave for free I.e Boyle, Marciano.
Our outlook and Rangers' outlook are very different right now though.
Their goals are all short term - stop 10 in a row at all costs. We have medium and long term to think about as well as getting a team onto the park for the start of the season.
If they can stop 10 in a row then the medium and long term will probably end up taking care of themselves, whereas spending money on sensible long term projects whilst letting 10 in a row happen might just lead to their club dying again.
16-07-2020, 10:19 AM
When on earth did 27 become last big contact? 27 is the prime.
If the guy is actually good and helps the Huns win the league he'll go for 10x what we'd ever get for Nisbit.
16-07-2020, 10:20 AM
If The Rangers had any sense they'd concede to 10 in a row already and start sustainably building a team ready to challenge and stop 15 in a row.
If they keep chucking teams together spending wads and not turning profit they'll be in the exact same place come 15 in a row, and probably going by the name The The Rangers by then too.
GreenPJ
16-07-2020, 10:23 AM
If the guy is actually good and helps the Huns win the league he'll go for 10x what we'd ever get for Nisbit.
Just look at what the big transfers out of Scotland have looked like - Dembele - £20M?, Tierney - £25M. Now apply COVID and the fact that if this guy was going to be a superstar (considering he is in his prime now) then Rangers would be nowhere near getting him and your big and medium sized clubs in England, Spain, Germany and Italy would be way further up the list of suitors.
Am not suggesting he won't be a good player and they may make money on him but to suggest a £40M transfer is highly unlikely.
16-07-2020, 10:27 AM
Just look at what the big transfers out of Scotland have looked like - Dembele - £20M?, Tierney - £25M. Now apply COVID and the fact that if this guy was going to be a superstar (considering he is in his prime now) then Rangers would be nowhere near getting him and your big and medium sized clubs in England, Spain, Germany and Italy would be way further up the list of suitors.
Am not suggesting he won't be a good player and they may make money on him but to suggest a £40M transfer is highly unlikely.
I didn't suggest a 40 million transfer at all.
davhibby
16-07-2020, 10:32 AM
Guys that age don’t have that sort of sell on potential in Scotland. They’d probably be able to recoup what the spend on him, maybe a million or 2 more.
The main point here is that you don’t see celtic spending big fees on guys this age. For the OF to make money they need to spend on young guys with big sell on potential. Celtic tend to do this pretty well, the only guy rangers have got that fits that mould currently is Morelos
16-07-2020, 10:40 AM
Does anyone know how to block a user's posts on a mobile phone? I clicked on the user's name but it doesn't give me that option. Tried the 'User CP' at the top but again no option for this. His posts are making almost every thread unbearable.
I’m suggesting that a guy who turns 28 in October this year won’t get another 4 year contract anywhere else after the one he signs with rangers and judging by historic transfers out of this league rangers won’t make a profit selling him half way through his deal when he’s turning 30.
16-07-2020, 11:17 AM
Does anyone know how to block a user's posts on a mobile phone? I clicked on the user's name but it doesn't give me that option. Tried the 'User CP' at the top but again no option for this. His posts are making almost every thread unbearable.
If you scroll down you can go to default style thing that might help
Guys that age don’t have that sort of sell on potential in Scotland. They’d probably be able to recoup what the spend on him, maybe a million or 2 more.
The main point here is that you don’t see celtic spending big fees on guys this age. For the OF to make money they need to spend on young guys with big sell on potential. Celtic tend to do this pretty well, the only guy rangers have got that fits that mould currently is Morelos
Agree 100%, I understand the importance of stopping celtics 10 I do, but it can’t be the whole driving force even if celtic loose the league their in the position where they can step it up and start all over again, rangers can’t compete long term and won’t be able too until they start building something sustainable and spending that amount of money on 27/28 year old guys isn’t it
The Hagi signing, £5m 21yrs old, perfect, including this year by the time he’s approaching the end of his deal (2years) he’ll have had 2.5 yrs European football exposure lots of first team games under his belt and depending on the level of European competition they could treble the fee spent on him initially (depending on Covid impact of course)
Signings like that as well as euro prize money push them away from the rest of us and closer to celtic, £4m on hellander and this guy couple years down the line there away for peanuts and the cycle continues
16-07-2020, 11:21 AM
Maybe but no every player has to be sold for a big profit. Sometimes signings are just needed and need to the ground running and their contribution to the club is more important than a sell on. Think of Frank Sauzee. Would you be turning him or Latapy down because of their ages? How about David Gray or Darren McGregor? Players who are just quality and contribute a lot are just as important as ones who are sold on.
Celtic have done this plenty with guys like Commons, rogic, stokes, Griffith's.
Maybe but no every player has to be sold for a big profit. Sometimes signings are just needed and need to the ground running and their contribution to the club is more important than a sell on. Think of Frank Sauzee. Would you be turning him or Latapy down because of their ages? How about David Gray or Darren McGregor? Players who are just quality and contribute a lot are just as important as ones who are sold on.
Celtic have done this plenty with guys like Commons, rogic, stokes, Griffith's.
Not every player does need to be sold your right, but with a £4m transfer fee at our level you’d be hoping to get that players service and prime years for longer than 1 contract.
The celtic players you mentioned I don’t think that they collectively cost the club £4m and 3/4 where bought with the prime years very much ahead of them (can’t remember the age of commons when he signed)
As for us I’m not suggesting we shouldn’t sign 27 years or above, I am suggesting we don’t pay a fee for a player of that age and any player we pay a fee for should be looked at as to improve and sell on so we can reinvest in the team with better quality each time (hopefully) and keep the important players who are reaching peak ages before the contracts reach last year and our position is weakened
16-07-2020, 12:06 PM
Boyle won’t be anywhere close to £4m or command the wages a £4m player would though far less of a gamble.
£4m is a lot of money especially for rangers these days all I’m saying is they should be using it to attempt to be turning a tidy profit along the same lines as VVD Wanyama dembele they won’t get close to celtic unless there making the same amounts of revenue, as celtic will always have the ability to get that little more quality in by paying a bit more
£4m for a player in his prime of his abilities isn’t a gamble if you’re the size of the huns. One great season they win the league he goes for double. He’s here for a shop window to England.
16-07-2020, 12:10 PM
£4m for a player in his prime of his abilities isn’t a gamble if you’re the size of the huns. One great season they win the league he goes for double. He’s here for a shop window to England.
If Sevco had 4M to spend they would be looking for a player to excite their fans. There's no evidence to suggest they have that much free money lying around.....
Rangers win the league and match this years euro league run still wouldn’t persuade a team in England to part with £8m for a 29 year old midfielder playing in scotland.
16-07-2020, 12:22 PM
If Sevco had 4M to spend they would be looking for a player to excite their fans. There's no evidence to suggest they have that much free money lying around.....
There is evidence if they’re willing to spend that. How much did Hagi cost?
16-07-2020, 12:22 PM
Rangers win the league and match this years euro league run still wouldn’t persuade a team in England to part with £8m for a 29 year old midfielder playing in scotland.
Dembele Armstrong Forster Van Dijk suggest otherwise
16-07-2020, 12:24 PM
There is evidence if they’re willing to spend that. How much did Hagi cost?
No idea. Look it up in the Daily Record or the Sun, they are well known for their accuracy in reporting all things Sevco.......
Dembele Armstrong Forster Van Dijk suggest otherwise
How many of them where 29?
16-07-2020, 12:49 PM
Dunfermline about to announce another signing, and they are certainly moving in the transfer market
16-07-2020, 12:52 PM
Dunfermline about to announce another signing, and they are certainly moving in the transfer market
Short league in the lower leagues. An ambitious team that recruits well may be able to spring a surprise over 27 games.[emoji1696]
16-07-2020, 01:24 PM
​
Must be good reason why he is so far down the pecking order. He is a fitness fanatic but not sure he has a lot of quality. He had a chance against Hearts to show his talent but was dreadful ( along with most others I admit). Personally would rather see us try and develop Fraser Murray.
You’d genuinely rather play Fraser Murray than Greg Docherty?
We’ve signed plenty players over the years that have been down the pecking order at the old firm but have went on to be one of our best players - Allan, Henderson, Stokes. McGeouch etc. Just because he’s not good enough for Rangers doesn’t mean he’s not good enough for us.
He hadn’t kicked a ball in anger in 6 months before joining us and came straight into the team and was one of our best players. He is the sort of player you hate to play against as he run run all day and takes you into areas of the pitch you don’t want to be. He has so much potential and I’d love for him to progress it here.
Fraser Murray hasn’t shown anywhere near the same ability as Docherty, doesn’t mean he’s a bad player but imo they’re completely different types and it shouldn’t be one or another.
Currently we have
CM/CDM
Gogic
Newell
Hallberg
CM/CAM
Allan
Mallan
Murray
The introduction of Gogic completely changes us and even without Docherty I’d feel quite confident with Newell or Hallberg beside him.
HendoDelivered
16-07-2020, 01:48 PM
You’d genuinely rather play Fraser Murray than Greg Docherty?
We’ve signed plenty players over the years that have been down the pecking order at the old firm but have went on to be one of our best players - Allan, Henderson, Stokes. McGeouch etc. Just because he’s not good enough for Rangers doesn’t mean he’s not good enough for us.
He hadn’t kicked a ball in anger in 6 months before joining us and came straight into the team and was one of our best players. He is the sort of player you hate to play against as he run run all day and takes you into areas of the pitch you don’t want to be. He has so much potential and I’d love for him to progress it here.
Fraser Murray hasn’t shown anywhere near the same ability as Docherty, doesn’t mean he’s a bad player but imo they’re completely different types and it shouldn’t be one or another.
Currently we have
CM/CDM
Gogic
Newell
Hallberg
CM/CAM
Allan
Mallan
Murray
The introduction of Gogic completely changes us and even without Docherty I’d feel quite confident with Newell or Hallberg beside him.
Newell more of a CM/CAM I’d say. Never a defensive minded CM.
LeithMike
16-07-2020, 04:58 PM
Rangers win the league and match this years euro league run still wouldn’t persuade a team in England to part with £8m for a 29 year old midfielder playing in scotland.Do you think Rangers would care? If the boy delivers the title it will be £4m well spent. Don't always agree with MWHibbies but he's right here. Buying a player shouldn't always be about selling a player on for profit. And it certainly doesn't always work - look what happened when wwe sold on the golden generation and acquired young but unproven players expecting to do the same?
What age was Gazza when he signed for Rangers?
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
16-07-2020, 05:11 PM
16 days until kick off, it will be interesting to see if we start the season with what we have.
16-07-2020, 05:21 PM
16 days until kick off, it will be interesting to see if we start the season with what we have.
I’m a lot more happier now starting with what we have than this time last week
16-07-2020, 05:32 PM
I’m a lot more happier now starting with what we have than this time last week
We can put a pretty strong 11 out. We should be able to get of to a decent start with what we have. Window is open for another three months. I don’t feel like we need to rush things now.
I’d like to see us bring in another goalkeeper, maybe another midfielder if I’m being greedy
Dazzjw1875
16-07-2020, 07:36 PM
I dont think we will bring in anyone else until we can ship a couple, we will prob play waiting game see how things shape up.. but I think we have filled in positions that were required..
16-07-2020, 09:11 PM
It may have already been said but this 4m centre mid at 27 years old played 10 games last season and 5 the season before. Spoke to a hun today who couldn't believe they were throwing more money away.
Amiens were relegated this year too. He must be some player.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
16-07-2020, 09:12 PM
It may have already been said but this 4m centre mid at 27 years old played 10 games last season and 5 the season before. Spoke to a hun today who couldn't believe they were throwing more money away.
Didn't realise that was the case. Why has he played so little?
16-07-2020, 09:14 PM
Didn't realise that was the case. Why has he played so little?I haven't looked into it enough I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and say injuries. Must be prone. His club was relegated this year, it just seems mental but Gerrard has previous.
16-07-2020, 09:25 PM
Amiens were relegated this year too. He must be some player.
You sure soccerbase would suggest he played more than that
16-07-2020, 09:29 PM
Feel we could do with freshening it up at the back to be honest. Where we are at the moment still feel we look that 5th/6th/7th range. Another few to elevate us, like others have said though it’s a strange market so let’s wait and see.
16-07-2020, 09:43 PM
You sure soccerbase would suggest he played more than thatJust what I was told by said hun
You sure soccerbase would suggest he played more than that
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/bongani-zungu/profil/spieler/240892
21 games on there, 1 assist 0 goals
16-07-2020, 10:50 PM
Can we get a Hibs transfer thread.
16-07-2020, 11:16 PM
Can we get a Hibs transfer thread.
Certainly. What news have you got?
17-07-2020, 06:54 AM
Lennon has absolutely slaughtered LG in the media... sounds like his time at Celtic May be up.
Bring him home.
17-07-2020, 07:08 AM
Lennon has absolutely slaughtered LG in the media... sounds like his time at Celtic May be up.
Bring him home.
About his fitness?
And his wages would be a massive issue
Juice-Terry
17-07-2020, 07:12 AM
Bring him home.
Link?
17-07-2020, 07:18 AM
Bring him home.
At the same time as praising the Polish boy they signed in January.
I’m not any fan of Celtic but they seem to have stood by Griffiths. If he wasn’t on his last chance with them he is now.
17-07-2020, 07:26 AM
Bring him home.
Not so sure we should. Once a player starts his decline it can be pretty rapid and if there is an attitude problem then it can be bad for the dressing room.
17-07-2020, 07:32 AM
Not so sure we should. Once a player starts his decline it can be pretty rapid and if there is an attitude problem then it can be bad for the dressing room.
I'd love to see him back at ER - Doidge, Griffiths, Gullan & Nisbet - not too shabby!
Obviously I'm only guessing, but I think any perceived atttitude problem comes from him not getting game time despite scoring plenty whenever he gets a chance.
17-07-2020, 07:37 AM
Bring him home.
More excellent man management from Lennon.
17-07-2020, 07:47 AM
About his fitness?
And his wages would be a massive issue
Neil Lennon on Leigh Griffiths
I’m not happy. I think that’s fairly obvious by the fact that we’ve left him behind.
“He’s come back out of condition and overweight. Any physical work we asked him to do he was coming out of saying he was injured. That’s going to be the case because he’s out of condition.
“It would have been absolutely pointless bringing him with us. We had an extensive week in Loughborough and he wouldn’t have been fit to play the games here. The ball is firmly in his court in terms of getting in the right condition. “He needs to stop all the social media nonsense with all these slogans he puts out there.
“The boys here are all top professionals and I have a great staff who are all professional as well. They deserve better and he should know better.
“He needs to get his head down and get fit because that’s what we pay him for.”
Lennon admitted he gave Griffiths a blast. He said: “Did I have words with him? I did, yeah. I told him he wouldn’t be coming on the trip and that we were bitterly disappointed in how he’s come back.
“Since then I’m disappointed with his reaction on social media when we’ve asked him not to engage on it because it just becomes a downward spiral.
“We’ve done everything we possibly could. He’s had a long lay-off, he came back and he got back into the team. For me he was still a bit short fitness-wise but enough to get through the Scottish games.
“But if he wants to have a future here at the club it’s down to himself. We’re not prepared to do a lot more for him. Everything’s there for him. He’s let himself down and he’s let us down.
“You can never say never about chances but he’s got a lot to do to get back around it. It shouldn’t have come to this. He shouldn’t have been out of condition and shouldn’t have. been heavier.”
17-07-2020, 07:48 AM
Link?
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/neil-lennon-fires-warning-leigh-22368948.amp
17-07-2020, 07:49 AM
BBC summary of ins and outs. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53432796
Looking at this it must be odds-on Hamilton to struggle to beat the drop?
Mind you a neutral reading this might think we have lost better players than we have brought in.
17-07-2020, 07:52 AM
I think Lennon is pretty much saying to Leigh now. Shape up or ship off.
Would he come back to hibs? Yes
Would Celtic allow him to come back to hibs? Hmmm
17-07-2020, 07:53 AM
More excellent man management from Lennon.
Aye, sounds just like his public slagging of Kamberi. That worked well, eh?
17-07-2020, 08:02 AM
Not sure I'd actually want him here. Making Kamberi look professional these days. His twitter is just embarrassing as well.
17-07-2020, 08:02 AM
Aye, sounds just like his public slagging of Kamberi. That worked well, eh?
Kamberi never done anything like this. Lennon quite right to go through griffiths here.
17-07-2020, 08:26 AM
Kamberi never done anything like this. Lennon quite right to go through griffiths here.
A half fit Griffiths would score more goals for us than a fit Kamberi .
Kamberi has shown his true colours and imo Lennon had his number .
17-07-2020, 08:26 AM
BBC summary of ins and outs. https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53432796
Looking at this it must be odds-on Hamilton to struggle to beat the drop?
Mind you a neutral reading this might think we have lost better players than we have brought in.
Kilmarnock & Livingston lost a few players as well. They didn't have big squads to start with.
Couldn't find Hearts. Why not??
17-07-2020, 08:31 AM
A half fit Griffiths would score more goals for us than a fit Kamberi .
Kamberi has shown his true colours and imo Lennon had his number .
I don't want any half fit players at Hibs. Bringing back Riordan worked to a certain extent, O'Connor less so. I'd far prefer someone who works hard. Time to move on from Sparky.